
$1,          $5,          $10,         Other $ _____

  8  Wages, salaries, tips, commissions, scholarships, and other pay for work   . . . . . . . . . . 

  9  Interest:  9a ____________________  plus  Dividends:  9b _____________________   

10  Unemployment compensation.  See instructions, page 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

11  Total income.  Add lines 8 through 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

12  1997 federal tax liability.  ($0 - $3,000, see instructions for the correct amount) . . . . . . .  

13  Standard deduction on the back of this form  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

14  Add lines 12 and 13  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   

15  Oregon taxable income.  Line 11 minus line 14.  If line 14 is more than line 11, fill in -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

16  Tax from tables, pages 21 through 23  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

17  EXEMPTION CREDIT.  Multiply your total exemptions on line 6e by $128 . . . . . . . . . . .  

18  Earned income credit.  See instructions, page 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

19  Working family credit.  See instructions, page 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

20  Child and dependent care credit.  See instructions, page 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

21  Other credits (see instructions). Identify  _________________________________ . . . . 

22  Total credits.  Add lines 17 through 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

23  Net income tax.  Line 16 minus line 22.  If line 22 is more than line 16, fill in -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

24  Oregon tax withheld from wages.  Attach your W-2 wage slips  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

25  TAX-TO-PAY.  If line 23 is more than line 24, you have tax to pay.  Line 23 minus 24  . . . . . .    TAX-TO-PAY

26  REFUND.  If line 24 is more than line 23, you have a refund.  Line 24 minus line 23  . . . . . . . . . . .   REFUND

      I wish to donate part of my tax refund to the following fund(s):

27  Oregon Nongame Wildlife  . . . . . . . . .         

28  Child Abuse Prevention  . . . . . . . . . . .        

29  Alzheimer’s Disease Research . . . . . .

30  Stop Domestic & Sexual Violence . . . . . .

31  AIDS/HIV Education and Services  . . .                        

32  Total donations.  Add lines 27 through 31.  Total can’t be more than your refund on line 26  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

33  NET REFUND.  Line 26 minus line 32.  This is your net refund   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   NET REFUND
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your refund

$1,          $5,          $10,         Other $ _____

$1,          $5,          $10,         Other $ _____

$1,          $5,          $10,         Other $ _____
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$1,          $5,          $10,         Other $ _____ 31 ▲•
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OREGON
INDIVIDUAL 
INCOME TAX
RETURN

••

1997 For office use only

Payment amount

Date received

Penalty date

FULL-YEAR RESIDENTS ONLY
1 2 3

   USE
 LABEL

Otherwise,
   please
     print
       or
    type.

Place label here

Last name

Spouse’s last name if different and joint return

Current mailing address

City

Social Security number (SSN)

Spouse’s SSN, if joint return

Telephone number

ZIP CodeState

First name and initial

Spouse’s first name and initial if joint return

• Filing
Status

Check 
only one
box

             Single

             Married filing jointly

             Married filing separately 

                                                    

             Head of household 

(Spouse’s name)

1

5

(Spouse’s Social Security number)

(Person who qualifies you)

Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child

2

3

4

 

Exemptions
6a  Yourself

6b  Spouse

6c  All dependents

6d  Disabled 
      children only

Regular
Severely

Total

(First names)

(First names)  Total

6a
  b 

  c

  d  

e

•
disabled

•
•
•

(            )

Spouse’s age

Your age

Check if you filed an extension ➝

Form

40S
SHORT FORM

Make check or money order payable to Oregon Department of Revenue. Write your Social Security number and “1997 Form 40S” on your payment.

Your signature                                                               Date

15
0-

10
1-

04
4 

(R
ev

. 9
-9

7)

Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and
belief it is true, correct and complete.  If prepared by a person other than taxpayer, this declaration is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

SIGN
HERE

➨

➨ Spouse’s signature (If filing jointly, BOTH must sign even if only one had income)

Signature of preparer other than taxpayer                                     License No.

Address

Mail tax-to-pay returns to:
Oregon Department of Revenue, PO Box 14555 Salem OR 97309-0940

Mail refund returns and no tax due returns to:
REFUND, PO Box 14700, Salem OR 97309-0930

If someone else can claim you
as a dependent, check here ➝7  Check if: 65 or older:             You                 Spouse       Blind:                  You                   Spouse

•• ••

12•

14

••

17

•



Your standard deduction
for line 13, Form 40S

Generally, your standard deduction is based on your
filing status as follows:

Single $1,800
Married filing jointly 3,000
Married filing separately 1,500
Head of household 2,640
Qualifying widow(er) 3,000

If you can be claimed as a dependent on an-
other person’s return, your standard deduction is
limited to the greater of:

1. Your earned income, but no more than the
maximum allowed for your filing status, as
shown above, or

2. $650

This limit applies even if the other person can, but
does not, claim you as a dependent on his or her
return.

Additional deduction:

You are allowed an additional deduction amount if you
or your spouse are age 65 or older, or blind. The
additional amount is based on your filing status:

Single or Head of household—$1,200
All others—$1,000

Example. Al and Amy Edwards are filing a joint return.
Al is 70 years old and blind. Amy is 68. Their standard
deduction is figured as follows:

Married filing jointly $3,000
Additional amount due to Al’s age 1,000
Additional amount due to
Amy’s age 1,000

Additional amount due to
Al’s blindness 1,000

Total standard deduction $6,000

Fill in your total standard deduction on line 13, Form
40S.


