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These instructions aren’t a complete statement of laws
and Oregon Department of Revenue rules. You may need
more information or forms. See page 36.

If you have disabilities and need special accommodations,
see page 36 for numbers to call and places to get help.

Labels. If you received a label with this tax booklet,
please use it on the income tax return you mail to the
department. Make sure the label is correct. If it isn’t, mark
through the incorrect information and make corrections
on the label. If someone else prepares your return, ask
the preparer to use your label. Your return will be pro-
cessed faster.
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Dear Oregonians,
On behalf of the Department of Revenue, I invite you
to take the time to look through this tax booklet before
you file. Many changes to tax law have occurred during
the past year and we want to make sure you have all
the “tools” you need to complete your tax return.

Fresh from the 1997 Legislature are two new tax credits
for low-income families: the earned income credit and
the working family credit. You will find instructions con-
cerning these credits on pages 9–10 and 29–30. The Leg-
islature also passed a law that permanently ties the
Oregon personal income tax to changes in the federal
Internal Revenue Code. This means that in the future
Oregon will adopt federal tax law changes as they oc-
cur, and there will be more consistency between your
federal and state returns.

Earlier I referred to providing you with all the necessary
tools to file your taxes. We recently updated our Inter-
net website and it is full of informative publications, per-
tinent answers to your questions, and forms to help you
file. When you’re done touring our site, please respond
to our survey so we can better serve you in the future.
Our Internet address is http://www.dor.state.or.us

Here at the Oregon Department of Revenue we take our
mission seriously: to make tax systems work effectively
to fund services to Oregonians. Our role is to equitably
and fairly administer the tax laws the Legislature has
passed. We collect taxes for 30 tax programs, create and
provide forms and publications, and help you, the tax-
payer, with your questions.

We want to make sure we are providing you with great
service. To do that, we invite you to give us feedback
on this booklet, forms, and publications. We are very in-
terested in your views and opinions, and look forward
to working with you in making the filing process easy
and understandable.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Harchenko
Director
Oregon Department of Revenue
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Do I need to file?
(Amounts apply to full-year residents only.)
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In addition, file a return if:
• You are required to file a federal return.
• You had $5 or more of Oregon income tax withheld from your wages.

included in Oregon, but not federal income, you should
amend your 1996 return to claim this credit.

Earned income credit. Oregon now allows a credit
equal to 5 percent of your federal earned income credit.
The credit is limited to your Oregon tax liability with no
carryover allowed.

Working family credit. You may qualify to claim a per-
centage of your child care expenses as part of the new
working family credit. This credit is in addition to the
existing child care credit. It is limited to your Oregon tax
liability with no carryover allowed.

Federal tax subtraction. When taking this subtraction,
you no longer have to reduce your federal tax liability
by the amount of your federal earned income credit.

Rural medical credit. This credit has been extended to
include certain optometrists. Contact the Office of Rural
Health at (503) 494-4450 for information.

Estimated tax. Oregon laws now differ from federal laws
for estimated tax. You must still make estimated tax pay-
ments for Oregon if you expect to owe more than $500.

New in 1998
Oregon Lottery winnings. Beginning January 1, 1998,
Oregon Lottery winnings over $600 will be subject to
Oregon income tax. Prizes paid on winning tickets
bought before this date will not be taxed by Oregon.

Unemployment withholding. Beginning January 1, 1998,
individuals receiving unemployment compensation may
request that Oregon state tax be withheld each pay period.

New information
Federal law. Oregon is now permanently tied to fed-
eral law. Most items are treated the same way on your
Oregon and federal returns. Any future federal law
changes will automatically be adopted by Oregon. You
may amend prior year Oregon returns for any retroac-
tive federal changes. For example, you may amend your
1995 and 1996 Oregon returns if you received educa-
tion assistance from your employer and included those
payments in Oregon income.

Depreciation difference. (1981–1985 ACRS assets.)
The 1996 law requiring a mandatory one-time adjustment
to align Oregon basis with federal basis for these assets
has been revised to make the adjustment elective. If you
received no benefit from making this adjustment in 1996,
you may now revoke it by amending your 1996 return.
By revoking the adjustment, you will need to report a
depreciation difference each year. If you elect to make
the adjustment, you should not have depreciation dif-
ferences for these assets.

Retirement income credit and Special Oregon medi-
cal deduction. The minimum age requirement is 61.

Retirement income credit. Effective January 1, 1996,
the credit is figured on pension income only if it is in-
cluded in Oregon taxable income. Prior to 1996, this
credit was figured on pension income included in fed-
eral taxable income. If you claimed a credit in 1996 on
pension income that was not included in Oregon tax-
able income, you should amend to pay the tax. If you
did not claim a credit or the credit was denied by the
department in 1996 because the pension income was

If Gross Income
Marital Status Filing Status Age

is More Than:



General information
• See page 36 to order the information circular “Married

Persons Filing Separate Returns.”

Armed forces
I was in the armed forces in 1997. How should I file?

• You may file as a nonresident if you meet all of the
following requirements:

— You didn’t have a personal residence in Oregon for
yourself or for your family during any part of 1997.

— Your personal residence was outside of Oregon
during all of 1997.

— You spent less than 31 days in Oregon in 1997.

File Form 40N to get a refund of Oregon tax withheld
from your military wages. Form 40N is in the nonresi-
dent and part-year resident booklet. See page 36 to or-
der that booklet.

• If you don’t meet all three requirements, file Form
40 in this booklet.

• Nonresidents stationed in Oregon. Oregon doesn’t
tax your military income, but Oregon does tax other
income earned in Oregon by you or your spouse.
Nonresident members of the Oregon National Guard
or reserves may exclude only active duty pay. If you
have income taxed by Oregon, use Form 40N in the
nonresident and part-year resident booklet.

What form do I use?
Use Form 40S if ALL of the following are true:

• You are a full-year Oregon resident.
• Your income is only from wages, interest, ordinary divi-

dends, unemployment, taxable scholarships, and fel-
lowship grants.

• You claim the standard deduction on your return.
• Your Oregon taxable income is $50,000 or less.
• You do not have pension or annuity income.
• You do not owe penalty or interest.
• You did not pay estimated tax during the year.

Use Form 40 if:

• You are a full-year Oregon resident, and
• You can’t use Form 40S.

You’ll need to use Form 40 even if only one of the
following is true:

• You paid or should have paid estimated tax during the
year.

• You have adjustments on Form 1040, line 31, or Form
1040A, line 15. Examples are alimony and IRA
deductions.

• You have Oregon “additions” or “subtractions” other
than the federal tax subtraction. The most common
ones are listed on the return.
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What income does Oregon tax?
An Oregon resident is taxed on all income, including in-
come from outside the state. A nonresident of Oregon
is taxed only on income from Oregon sources.

Residency
Am I a resident, a nonresident, or a part-year
resident?

The following definitions will help you decide.

• You are an Oregon resident, even though you live out-
side Oregon, if all of the following are true:

— You think of Oregon as your permanent home.
— Oregon is the center of your financial, social, and

family life.
— Oregon is the place you intend to come back to

when you are away.

• You are a nonresident if your permanent home is out-
side Oregon all year.

• You are a part-year resident if you moved into or out
of Oregon during the tax year. You are still a full-year
resident if:

— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary ab-

sence.

Special-case Oregon residents. You are considered a
nonresident if all the following are true:

• You are an Oregon resident who lived outside Oregon
the entire year.

• You didn’t keep a home in Oregon during any part of
the year.

• You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during the year.

Filing status. Generally, you must use the same filing
status for your Oregon and federal returns.

Exceptions for married persons when spouses are:

• Full-year resident and part-year resident. You may
file separate Oregon returns. The full-year resident will
file on Form 40 and the part-year resident will file on
Form 40P. If you choose to file a joint return for Or-
egon, file on Form 40P.

• Full-year resident and nonresident. You may file
separate Oregon returns. The full-year resident will file
on Form 40 and the nonresident will file on Form 40N.
If you choose to file a joint return for Oregon, file on
Form 40N.

• Part-year resident and nonresident. You may file
separate Oregon returns. The part-year resident will file
on Form 40P and the nonresident will file on Form
40N. If you choose to file a joint return for Oregon,
file on Form 40N.



• You itemize deductions on your Oregon return.
• You are married filing separately and your spouse is

itemizing.
• You are claiming tax credits other than the exemption

credit or those listed on page 10.
• You received Social Security, pension, or annuity

income.
• You are in the military and are claiming the subtrac-

tion for military active duty pay.
• You owe penalty or interest.
• You want to apply all or part of your refund to your

1998 estimated tax.

Use Form 40P if:

• You are a part-year resident, or
• You are a part-year resident filing a joint return, and

your spouse is a full-year resident, or
• You and your spouse are part-year residents filing

jointly.

Use Form 40N if:

• You are a nonresident, or
• You are a nonresident filing a joint return, and your

spouse is a full-year or part-year resident, or
• You and your spouse are nonresidents filing jointly.

To order forms 40P and 40N and instructions, see
page 36.

When should I file my return?
File as soon as possible. The filing deadline for calen-
dar year 1997 is April 15, 1998.

Returns for other tax periods are due by the 15th day of
the fourth month after the close of your tax year.

Need more time to file?
• If you need more time to file both your federal and

your Oregon returns:

— Generally, Oregon allows you the same extension
you have for your federal return. If you filed a fed-
eral extension, do not attach a copy to the Oregon
return. Make sure you check the “Extension Filed”
box on your Oregon return when you file.

— To avoid penalty and interest, mail any tax due by
April 15, 1998. Attach payment to a copy of your
federal extension and mail to the department.

— Include the amount you paid with your extension
on Form 40, line 45, when you file your return.

• If you need an extension of time to file for Oregon
only, send us a federal extension form. Write “For
Oregon only” across the top. Include your payment.
Send your extension and payment to: Extension Clerk,
Oregon Department of Revenue, PO Box 14950, Sa-
lem OR 97309-0980.

— Check the extension filed box on your Oregon re-
turn when you file. We’ll notify you only if your
extension is denied.

More time to file doesn’t
mean more time to pay!

You must pay any tax due when filing your extension.

If you don’t pay all of the tax due with your extension,
you will owe interest after April 15, 1998, to the date of
your payment. The current interest rate is 10 percent per
year. If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the
interest rate increases to 14 percent per year.

Were you stationed in the Persian Gulf or another
designated combat zone? Did you receive additional
time to file your 1997 federal return? If so, Oregon al-
lows the same additional time to file. Write “combat zone”
in blue ink at the top of the form.

Penalties
You must pay a penalty if:

• You don’t file your return or pay your tax by the origi-
nal due date of the return (even if you have an exten-
sion). The penalty is 5 percent of your unpaid tax.

• Your return isn’t filed within three months after the
due date (including extensions). The penalty is 20
percent of the tax due and is in addition to the 5 per-
cent penalty.

Exception: You don’t have to pay a penalty if you do
all of the following:

1. Get an extension of time to file your return.
2. Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due by April 15,

1998.
3. Pay the balance of tax due at the time you file within

the extension period.
4. Pay the interest on the balance of tax due at the time

you file your return or within 30 days of our billing
date.

If you don’t file three consecutive years’ returns by the
due date (including extensions) of the third year, a 100
percent penalty is imposed on each of the three years’
tax returns.

1998 estimated tax
Oregon estimated tax laws have not changed. But, some
federal estimated tax laws have changed. Use Oregon
instructions to determine if: 1) you need to make esti-
mated tax payments for 1998, or 2) you had an under-
payment in 1997. See page 36 for more information.

Estimated tax is the amount of tax you expect to owe
when you file your 1998 Oregon individual income tax
return. The tax you owe is net income tax less your an-
ticipated Oregon withholding.
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Who must pay estimated tax?

In most cases, people who expect to owe $500 or
more on their 1998 Oregon income tax return.

For example:

• Self-employed people who don’t have Oregon tax
withheld from their income.

• Others who don’t have Oregon tax withheld from their
income. Such income can include unemployment com-
pensation, pensions, interest, or dividends.

There are other limitations based on income. See page
36 to order the estimated tax coupons and instructions
or the information circular “Estimated Tax.”

• Wage earners. If you expect to owe $500 or more on
your 1998 return, you may want to increase the amount
your employer withholds from your wages for Oregon.
If you and your spouse both work, see page 36 to or-
der the information circular, “Oregon Income Tax With-
holding: Some Special Cases.”

Exception: You don’t have to pay estimated tax if at
least two-thirds of your gross income is from farming
or fishing. Attach Form 10, “Underpayment of Oregon
Estimated Tax,” to your Oregon income tax return.
Check the box on Form 10 to tell us you qualify for the
farmer’s and fisher’s exception. See page 36 to order
Form 10.

How do I make estimated tax payments?

Complete an Oregon estimated tax Form 40ES. Forms are
included with the Oregon estimated tax instruction book-
let. The Oregon Department of Revenue mails estimated
tax booklets and forms to taxpayers who may need to
pay estimated tax, based on past tax returns.

If you don’t get your Oregon estimated tax forms by the
end of February, see page 36 to order the forms.

When do I pay?

First-period estimated tax—due April 15, 1998.*
Second-period estimated tax—due June 15, 1998.
Third-period estimated tax—due Sept. 15, 1998.
Fourth-period estimated tax—due Jan. 15, 1999.

* Don’t send your 1998 Oregon estimated tax Form
40ES and payment with your 1997 Oregon income
tax return. Mail Form 40ES with your estimated tax
payment separately to: Oregon Department of Rev-
enue, PO Box 14950, Salem OR 97309-0980.

Elderly Rental Assistance (ERA)
To qualify for an ERA refund you must be a renter who
resided in Oregon on December 31, 1997, be age 58 or
older on December 31, 1997, have household income less
than $10,000, and use more than 20 percent of your
household income to pay for rent, fuel, and utilities. If
you qualify, see page 36 to order an ERA booklet.

Are you self-employed?
If you are self-employed and do business in Washing-
ton, Multnomah, or Clackamas counties, you may need
to file Form TM, Tri-Met Self-Employment tax return. If
you are self-employed and do business in Lane County,
you may need to file Form LTD, Lane Transit District Self-
Employment tax return. See page 36 to order forms or
receive information.

Questions answered
What tax records do I need to keep?

Keep a complete copy of your federal and state returns.
Also, keep all receipts, cancelled checks, statements, and
documentation you used to prepare your return. Save
these records for at least three years. If your return is
audited, the law says you must show proof of your in-
come and expenses.

Also, save all records from the sale or purchase of prop-
erty and investments. Keep these records for at least three
years after you sell the property or investment.

For more information, see page 36 to order the infor-
mation circular “Record Keeping Requirements.”

I’m getting an income tax refund this year. When
will I get my check?

• If you mail your return by April 1:

— and use your label, allow 4–6 weeks.
— and don’t use your label, allow 6–8 weeks.

• If you mail your return after April 1:

— Add 2–3 weeks to the above.

• If you file your return electronically:

— Allow 10–21 days to receive your refund.

Exceptions: If there is a mistake on your return, your
refund will be delayed. By law, the Department of Rev-
enue cannot issue refund amounts less than $5. Gener-
ally, the department cannot issue a refund when your
return is filed more than three years after the due date.

What is electronic filing?

Oregon has joined many other states in the federal/state
electronic filing program. This program allows federal
and state returns to be sent together electronically.

Electronic filing offers efficient and accurate one-stop fil-
ing for taxpayers. This service will be available January
16 and will continue through October 15.

Generally, you need to file electronically through a tax
preparer or a company registered with the Internal Rev-
enue Service (IRS). You can prepare your own return and
then pay a professional to transmit it or you can pay to
have your return both prepared and transmitted. To find
a tax professional to file your return electronically, look
in your local telephone directory under “Tax Return

6/Questions answered



Preparation.” The program is open to full-year residents
who are expecting refunds or have tax to pay. If you owe
additional tax, you can file your return any time before
the due date and you will have until April 15, 1998, to
pay the tax.

I’m moving. Will my refund check be forwarded
to me?

Yes. If you move after you mail your return, let us know
your new address for a faster refund. Write to: Address
Change, Oregon Department of Revenue, 955 Center St.
NE, Salem OR 97310-2501. Or, you can call one of the
numbers listed on page 36. Also, fill out a change of
address form at your post office.

May I round off cents to the nearest whole dollar?

Yes. You may round off cents to the nearest whole dol-
lar on your return and schedules. If you round off, do
so for all amounts. You may drop amounts less than 50
cents. Increase amounts from 50 to 99 cents to the next
dollar. For example, $12.15 becomes $12 and $233.50
becomes $234.

Is my tax return private information?

Yes. Any Oregon Department of Revenue employee who
gives out unauthorized information about your return
may be convicted of a class C felony.

Should I put my return together in a special order?

Yes. Put your Oregon return in the following order to
speed processing. Top to bottom:

1. Form 40 or Form 40S with Form W-2s and all 1099s
showing Oregon tax withholding stapled to the
lower front.

2. Attach any payment on top of the W-2 forms.
3. Copy of front and back of federal Form 1040, 1040A,

1040EZ, or 1040PC. Form 40S filers don’t need to at-
tach this item.

4. If applicable, Oregon Form 10, “Underpayment of
Oregon Estimated Tax.”

5. If applicable, proof to claim “Credit for Income Tax
Paid to Another State.”

6. If applicable, the form “Oregon Deferral of Reinvested
Gain.”

Staple all the pages of your return together in the top
left-hand corner.

Don’t attach extension requests or any federal schedules
such as A, B, C, D, Form 2441, etc. We receive some fed-
eral schedule information electronically from the IRS. We
may, however, ask you for schedules or additional in-
formation later.

When do I need to file an amended Oregon return?

File Form 40X (Oregon amended return) any time you
need to correct your Oregon return. Generally, you are
allowed three years from the due date of the return or
the date the return was filed, whichever is later, to file
an amended return to claim a refund. If you amend your
federal return, usually you’ll need to amend your Oregon
return. See page 36 to order Form 40X.

What if I’m audited by the IRS?

File an amended Oregon return if any changes are made.
Generally, you must file within two years after the date
of the federal audit report to receive a refund.

Return order/7



Form 40S instructions
exemption credit. You are considered to have a se-
vere disability if any of the following apply:

• You permanently lost the use of one or both feet.
• You permanently lost the use of both hands.
• You have a permanent condition that, without special

equipment or help, limits your ability:

— To earn a living, or
— To maintain a household, or
— To transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include such items as glasses,
ordinary crutches, hearing aids, or contact lenses.

You don’t qualify for this exemption if:

• You have a temporary disability from an injury or ill-
ness and are expected to recover, or

• Your condition keeps you from doing your former
work but allows you to do other kinds of work with-
out special equipment.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your physi-
cian must write a letter describing your disability. Keep
the letter with your tax records.

Check the “Severely disabled” exemption box. If your
spouse qualifies, he or she may also claim this exemp-
tion. You and your spouse may also qualify for the
credit for the loss of use of limbs. See instructions on
page 10.

6c. Dependents. Enter the number of your children
claimed as dependents and other dependents in box 6c.
Fill in the first names of your children and other depen-
dents. In most cases, you must claim the same number
of dependents as claimed on your federal return.

6d. Disabled child. You may have an additional ex-
emption for your dependent child with a disability. To
qualify, your child must meet all of the following:

• Qualify as your dependent.
• Be age 17 or younger on December 31, 1997.
• Be eligible for “early intervention services” or diag-

nosed with a disability for special education purposes.
Learning disabilities alone don’t qualify for this
exemption.

• Your child must have a health-related disability requir-
ing special education as defined by the Oregon De-
partment of Education. This includes:

— Autism.
— Visual impairment.
— Mental retardation.
— Serious emotional disturbance.
— Traumatic brain injury.
— Hearing impairment.
— Orthopedic impairment.
— Multiple disabilities.

8/Form 40S instructions

Caution: Not everyone may file Form 40S (short form).
See page 4 to see if this is the right form for you.

Do your federal return first. Use the information from
your federal return to complete your Oregon return.

Keep a complete copy of your federal and state re-
turns. Also, keep the original of all papers or re-
ceipts you used to prepare your return. Save these
records for at least three years.

Address section
Label. If you received a label with this tax booklet, please
use it on the Form 40S you mail to the department. Your
return will be processed faster. Don’t attach the label to
your return until the return is completed. If someone else
prepares your return, ask them to use your label.

Make sure the label is correct. If it isn’t, mark through
the incorrect information and make corrections on the
label. If you don’t have a label, print or type your name,
address, and Social Security number on your return.

Social Security number. The request for your Social
Security number(s) is authorized by Section 405, Title 42,
of the United States Code. You must give us this infor-
mation. It will be used to establish your identity for tax
purposes only.

Age. Fill in your age as of December 31, 1997.

Check the boxes
Filing status
Check the box next to your filing status. Check the same
filing status you checked on your federal return. If you and
your spouse don’t have the same residency status, you may
file separate returns for Oregon even if you filed married
filing jointly for federal. See page 4 for exceptions.

If you are married filing separately, fill in your
spouse’s name and Social Security number by box num-
ber 3. Don’t fill in your spouse’s name or Social Secu-
rity number in the heading of the return.

If you are filing as head of household, fill in the name
of the qualifying person from your federal return by box
number 4.

Exemptions
6a and 6b. Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself”
and other boxes that apply. If you can be claimed as
a dependent on someone else’s return, you can’t
claim an exemption for yourself on your Oregon
return.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability
at the end of 1997? If so, you may claim an additional



Fill in your federal tax liability from:

• Form 1040EZ, line 10, or
• Form 1040A, line 25, or
• Form 1040, line 46, or
• Telefile Tax Record, line J (tax).

Is the IRS figuring your federal tax for you? Do not
write an amount on line 12. Attach a copy of your fed-
eral Form 1040, 1040A, or 1040EZ. We will use that in-
formation to determine your federal tax liability. If you
need help, see page 36 for numbers to call.

15. Oregon taxable income. Caution: Is the amount
more than $50,000? If so, you must use Form 40.

18. Earned income credit. You are allowed an Or-
egon earned income credit only if you qualify for and
claim the earned income credit on your federal return.

Use the following formula to compute your credit:

1. Enter your federal earned income __________
credit (1040EZ, line 8a; 1040A, line
29c; 1040, line 56a; or Telefile, line K).

2. Multiply line 1 by 5 percent (.05). __________
Enter the result here and on line 18
of your Oregon Form 40S.

The Oregon earned income credit is limited to your tax
liability. You cannot carryover any amount that exceeds
your tax liability.

19. Working family credit. This credit is available to
persons with qualifying child care expenses and income
that is less than 200 percent of the federal poverty level.

General limits

You don’t qualify for this credit if:

• Your expenses are for a dependent over age 12 (un-
less they qualify as a disabled child, see page 8),

• Care is provided by the child’s parent or guardian (un-
less provided in a licensed child care facility),

• Care is provided by a brother or sister under age 19,
• You have earned income of $6,000 or less,
• You have more than $2,200 of investment income (in-

vestment income is generally interest, dividends, and
capital gains), or,

• You are married filing separately (unless legally sepa-
rated or living apart on 12/31/97).

Use the following worksheet to figure your credit:

Household size

1. Enter the number of exemptions __________
reported on your federal return.

2. Add any dependents you have __________
custody of but can not claim their
exemptions on your return.

3. Line 1 plus line 2. This is your __________
household size.
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• Your child must have been diagnosed as of Decem-
ber 31, 1997, through the child’s local school district
by a qualified examiner authorized by the Oregon
Department of Education.

Get a statement of eligibility that confirms one of the
disabilities listed above and the cover sheet from one of
the following:

• The child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP).
• The child’s Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP).

Keep the statement and cover sheet with your tax
records. Write in your child’s name on “Disabled chil-
dren only,” line 6d. Also be sure to include the child’s
name on line 6c for “Dependents.”

7. Age 65 or older, or blind. Check the boxes on line
7 if you or your spouse were age 65 or older or were
blind on December 31, 1997. Use this information to
compute your standard deduction. If you or your spouse
are blind, you may also qualify for an additional exemp-
tion credit. See lines 6a and 6b above.

Line instructions
The following instructions are for lines not fully
explained on the form.

8. Wages. Fill in all pay for work (shown on your W-2s)
plus your taxable scholarships and fellowship grants.

9. Interest and dividends.

9a. Fill in your total interest. Include:

• Any interest received or credited to your account
so you could withdraw it.

• Any interest received on tax refunds.

If you have interest from the U.S. government, other
than tax refund interest, file Oregon Form 40.

9b. Fill in your total dividends. If you have dividends that
are nontaxable distributions, you can’t use Form 40S.
Use Form 40 instead.

Add lines 9a and 9b. Fill in the total on line 9.

10. Unemployment. Fill in all unemployment com-
pensation. This is the amount on federal Form 1040, line
19; Form 1040A, line 12; Form 1040EZ, line 3; or Telefile
Tax Record, line D.

12. 1997 federal tax liability.

Caution: Carefully follow the instructions below. Don’t
confuse your federal tax liability on your federal re-
turn with the federal tax withheld on your W-2. They
are not the same.

Limit: You may deduct up to $3,000 of your total fed-
eral income tax liability after credits. Don’t fill in less
than -0- or more than $3,000 ($1,500 if married fil-
ing separately).



Credit amount

4. Enter your federal adjusted gross __________
income (Form 1040A, line 16 or
Form 1040, line 32).

5. Enter the decimal amount from the __________
correct table on page 30. The tables
are based on household size (line 3
from above). For example, if the
amount on line 3 is 7, use Table 7.

6. Enter your total child care expenses __________
for 1997.

7. Multiply line 5 by line 6. Enter the __________
result here and on Form 40S, line 19.

For example, a married couple with one qualifying child
had a federal adjusted gross income of $21,436 and to-
tal child care expenses of $2,650 in 1997. With a house-
hold size of three, they use Table 3 to find the correct
decimal (.32) and multiply it by $2,650 to figure their
credit of $848.

The working family credit is limited to your tax liability.
You cannot carryover any amount that exceeds your tax
liability. This credit may be claimed in addition to the
child and dependent care credit.

20. Child and dependent care credit. You are al-
lowed an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the fed-
eral child and dependent care credit. You may still be
able to claim the Oregon credit even if you can’t use all
of your federal credit.

Use the following worksheet:

1. Enter the amount from federal 1. _________
Form 2441, line 6, or Form
1040A, Schedule 2, line 6.

2. Enter the decimal amount from 2. ×
the following table.

If your federal
taxable income
from Form 1040, Your

line 38, or decimal
Form 1040A, amount

line 22 is: is:

Over— But not over—
—— $  5,000 .30

$ 5,000 10,000 .15
 10,000 15,000 .08
 15,000 25,000 .06
 25,000 35,000 .05
 35,000 45,000 .04
 45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the child care expenses 3. _________
on line 1 by the decimal amount
on line 2. Enter the result here.

4. Multiply your 1996 child and depen- 4. _________
dent care expenses you included
in the computation of your federal

1997 credit by the decimal amount
that applies to your 1996 federal
taxable income. Enter the result.

5. Add the amounts on lines 3 and 4. 5. _________
Enter here and on Form 40S, line 20.

Carryover. Your total 1997 child care credit can’t be
more than your tax liability for Oregon. Any excess credit
can be carried forward over the next five years. If the
excess isn’t used within five years, it’s lost. See instruc-
tions for line 21.

21. Other credits.

• Political contribution credit. Fill in your total politi-
cal contributions, but not more than $100 on a joint
return or $50 on all others. The contribution must have
been made during 1997. It must have been a dona-
tion of money to any of the following: a political party;
a qualified candidate (or the candidate’s principal cam-
paign committee) for federal, state, or local office to
be voted on in Oregon; or a political committee orga-
nized only to support or oppose ballot measures to be
voted on in Oregon.

• Child and dependent care credit carryover from
prior years. Fill in the carryover amount on line 21.
See page 33 of Form 40 instructions.

• Credit for the elderly or the disabled. You get an
Oregon credit only if you qualify for the federal credit.
The Oregon credit is 40 percent of the federal credit.

Multiply the amount on federal Schedule R, line 20,
or Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 20 by .40 (40%).

• Credit for income tax paid to another state. You
may be eligible for this credit if you paid income tax
to another state. See page 32 of Form 40 instructions
to figure your credit.

• Credit for home care of an elderly person. See
page 33 of Form 40 instructions.

• Credit for loss of use of limbs. If you have a per-
manent and complete loss of the use of two limbs, you
may take a tax credit of $50. If your spouse qualifies,
he or she may also claim a $50 credit. You can’t claim
this credit for a dependent.

Obtain a Disability Certification Form the first year you
file for the credit. Get the form from your county public
health officer. The health officer must sign the form.
Keep the form with your tax records.

You also qualify for an additional exemption for se-
verely disabled persons. See page 8.

The following credits apply to only a few people and
aren’t explained in this booklet. See page 36 to get more
information on these credits.

• Child development.
• Rural medical practitioners, dentists, or optometrists.
• Involuntary moving of a mobile home.

10/Credits



24. Oregon income tax withheld. Fill in the total Or-
egon tax withheld from your wages and other income.
That’s the amount shown on your W-2 forms in box 18
or 1099R forms, box 10. Don’t use the FICA (Social Se-
curity) amount.

Staple readable copies of your wage slips and 1099s
with Oregon withholding to the lower front of your re-
turn. If you don’t have a W-2 form, you must provide
other proof of any tax withheld from your wages. Proof
may include a final paycheck stub or a letter from your
employer. We can’t accept anything but W-2 forms until
after February 1.

If you paid estimated tax for 1997, you must use Form 40.

If you have tax to pay, you may want to increase the
amount your employer withholds from your wages for
Oregon. If you and your spouse both work, see page
36 to order the information circular, “Oregon Income Tax
Withholding: Some Special Cases.”

25. Tax-to-pay. Make your check or money order pay-
able to “Oregon Department of Revenue” and attach
to your return on top of the W-2s. Use blue ink. Do not
make your check out to “IRS” or “Internal Revenue Ser-
vice.” Write your Social Security number and “1997 Form
40S” on your check or money order. Don’t send cash or
a postdated check. Stop here on the form.

If you owe more than $500, you should have made esti-
mated tax payments. See instructions for interest on un-
derpayment of estimated tax on page 34.

Lines 27–31. You must have a refund of $5 or
greater on line 26 to use lines 27–31. Donations will
reduce your refund. If you don’t have a refund on line
26 but you want to contribute, mail your donations to
the addresses below.

27. Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your donation will
fund the protection of nongame wildlife and its habitat.

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
Attention: Fiscal Manager
PO Box 59
Portland OR 97207

28. Child Abuse Prevention. Your donation will fund
programs through the Children’s Trust Fund to help pre-
vent child abuse and neglect.

Children’s Trust Fund
800 NE Oregon St., Suite 1140
Portland OR 97232

29. Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your donation
goes to the Alzheimer’s Research Alliance of Oregon for
research on Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders.

Alzheimer’s Research Alliance
PO Box 10051
Portland OR 97296

30. Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence. Your do-
nation will fund programs through the Oregon Coalition
Against Domestic and Sexual Violence.

OCADSV
520 NW Davis, Suite 310
Portland OR 97209

31. AIDS/HIV Research, Education, and Services.
Your donation will fund AIDS/HIV research, education,
and services by the Living With HIV Fund.

The Research and Education Group
PO Box 40104
Portland OR 97240

33. Net refund. By law, the Oregon Department of
Revenue cannot refund amounts less than $5. Generally,
the department cannot issue a refund when the return
is filed more than three years after the due date of the
return.

Remember to:
Double-check your figures, including your Social
Security number. The most common mistakes are
math errors and the amount claimed for the federal
tax subtraction. Accuracy speeds the processing of
your return.

Sign your return (both spouses must sign a
joint return).

Staple readable copies of wage slips and 1099s
showing Oregon withholding to the front of the
return.

Use your label to speed processing of your return.
If you received a label, please attach it to the re-
turn you mail to the department.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use a
business envelope (4 × 9 1⁄2 inches) to speed process-
ing of your return. Be sure to use enough postage.

Mail refund returns or no-tax-due returns to:

REFUND
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-0930

Mail tax-to-pay returns to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

If you can’t pay now, file your return anyway. The De-
partment of Revenue will work with you to set up a pay-
ment plan on a case-by-case basis. You may send a
written request for a payment plan, or see page 36 for
numbers to call.

Donations from refund/11



Form 40/40S tables/21

Tax tables for Form 40S and Form 40
Use column S if you are Use column J if you are

• Married filing jointly
• Single • Head of household
• Married filing separately • Widow(er) with dependent child

If income If income If income If income
from Form from Form from Form from Form

40S line 15, 40S line 15, 40S line 15, 40S line 15,
or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you
line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column

But But But But
At less At less At less At less

least than least than least than least than

$0 – 4,650 $4,650 – 9,450 $9,450 – 14,250 $14,250 – 19,050

S J

JS JS JS JS
0– 20 0 0 4650– 4750 284 239 9450– 9550 696 575 14250– 14350 1128 969

20– 50 2 2 4750– 4850 291 246 9550– 9650 705 582 14350– 14450 1137 978
50– 150 5 5 4850– 4950 298 253 9650– 9750 714 589 14450– 14550 1146 987

150– 250 10 10 4950– 5050 305 260 9750– 9850 723 596 14550– 14650 1155 996
250– 350 15 15 5050– 5150 312 267 9850– 9950 732 603 14650– 14750 1164 1005
350– 450 20 20 5150– 5250 319 274 9950– 10050 741 610 14750– 14850 1173 1014

450– 550 25 25 5250– 5350 326 281 10050– 10150 750 617 14850– 14950 1182 1023
550– 650 30 30 5350– 5450 333 288 10150– 10250 759 624 14950– 15050 1191 1032
650– 750 35 35 5450– 5550 340 295 10250– 10350 768 631 15050– 15150 1200 1041
750– 850 40 40 5550– 5650 347 302 10350– 10450 777 638 15150– 15250 1209 1050
850– 950 45 45 5650– 5750 354 309 10450– 10550 786 645 15250– 15350 1218 1059
950– 1050 50 50 5750– 5850 363 316 10550– 10650 795 652 15350– 15450 1227 1068

1050– 1150 55 55 5850– 5950 372 323 10650– 10750 804 659 15450– 15550 1236 1077
1150– 1250 60 60 5950– 6050 381 330 10750– 10850 813 666 15550– 15650 1245 1086
1250– 1350 65 65 6050– 6150 390 337 10850– 10950 822 673 15650– 15750 1254 1095
1350– 1450 70 70 6150– 6250 399 344 10950– 11050 831 680 15750– 15850 1263 1104
1450– 1550 75 75 6250– 6350 408 351 11050– 11150 840 687 15850– 15950 1272 1113
1550– 1650 80 80 6350– 6450 417 358 11150– 11250 849 694 15950– 16050 1281 1122

1650– 1750 85 85 6450– 6550 426 365 11250– 11350 858 701 16050– 16150 1290 1131
1750– 1850 90 90 6550– 6650 435 372 11350– 11450 867 708 16150– 16250 1299 1140
1850– 1950 95 95 6650– 6750 444 379 11450– 11550 876 717 16250– 16350 1308 1149
1950– 2050 100 100 6750– 6850 453 386 11550– 11650 885 726 16350– 16450 1317 1158
2050– 2150 105 105 6850– 6950 462 393 11650– 11750 894 735 16450– 16550 1326 1167
2150– 2250 110 110 6950– 7050 471 400 11750– 11850 903 744 16550– 16650 1335 1176

2250– 2350 116 115 7050– 7150 480 407 11850– 11950 912 753 16650– 16750 1344 1185
2350– 2450 123 120 7150– 7250 489 414 11950– 12050 921 762 16750– 16850 1353 1194
2450– 2550 130 125 7250– 7350 498 421 12050– 12150 930 771 16850– 16950 1362 1203
2550– 2650 137 130 7350– 7450 507 428 12150– 12250 939 780 16950– 17050 1371 1212
2650– 2750 144 135 7450– 7550 516 435 12250– 12350 948 789 17050– 17150 1380 1221
2750– 2850 151 140 7550– 7650 525 442 12350– 12450 957 798 17150– 17250 1389 1230

2850– 2950 158 145 7650– 7750 534 449 12450– 12550 966 807 17250– 17350 1398 1239
2950– 3050 165 150 7750– 7850 543 456 12550– 12650 975 816 17350– 17450 1407 1248
3050– 3150 172 155 7850– 7950 552 463 12650– 12750 984 825 17450– 17550 1416 1257
3150– 3250 179 160 7950– 8050 561 470 12750– 12850 993 834 17550– 17650 1425 1266
3250– 3350 186 165 8050– 8150 570 477 12850– 12950 1002 843 17650– 17750 1434 1275
3350– 3450 193 170 8150– 8250 579 484 12950– 13050 1011 852 17750– 17850 1443 1284

3450– 3550 200 175 8250– 8350 588 491 13050– 13150 1020 861 17850– 17950 1452 1293
3550– 3650 207 180 8350– 8450 597 498 13150– 13250 1029 870 17950– 18050 1461 1302
3650– 3750 214 185 8450– 8550 606 505 13250– 13350 1038 879 18050– 18150 1470 1311
3750– 3850 221 190 8550– 8650 615 512 13350– 13450 1047 888 18150– 18250 1479 1320
3850– 3950 228 195 8650– 8750 624 519 13450– 13550 1056 897 18250– 18350 1488 1329
3950– 4050 235 200 8750– 8850 633 526 13550– 13650 1065 906 18350– 18450 1497 1338

4050– 4150 242 205 8850– 8950 642 533 13650– 13750 1074 915 18450– 18550 1506 1347
4150– 4250 249 210 8950– 9050 651 540 13750– 13850 1083 924 18550– 18650 1515 1356
4250– 4350 256 215 9050– 9150 660 547 13850– 13950 1092 933 18650– 18750 1524 1365
4350– 4450 263 220 9150– 9250 669 554 13950– 14050 1101 942 18750– 18850 1533 1374
4450– 4550 270 225 9250– 9350 678 561 14050– 14150 1110 951 18850– 18950 1542 1383
4550– 4650 277 232 9350– 9450 687 568 14150– 14250 1119 960 18950– 19050 1551 1392



22/Form 40/40S tables

Tax tables for Form 40S and Form 40
Use column S if you are Use column J if you are

• Married filing jointly
• Single • Head of household
• Married filing separately • Widow(er) with dependent child

If income If income If income If income
from Form from Form from Form from Form

40S line 15, 40S line 15, 40S line 15, 40S line 15,
or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you
line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column

But But But But
At less At less At less At less

least than least than least than least than

$19,050 – 23,850 $23,850 – 28,650 $28,650 – 33,450 $33,450 – 38,250

S J

JS JJS S S J
19050– 19150 1560 1401 23850– 23950 1992 1833 28650– 28750 2424 2265 33450– 33550 2856 2697
19150– 19250 1569 1410 23950– 24050 2001 1842 28750– 28850 2433 2274 33550– 33650 2865 2706
19250– 19350 1578 1419 24050– 24150 2010 1851 28850– 28950 2442 2283 33650– 33750 2874 2715
19350– 19450 1587 1428 24150– 24250 2019 1860 28950– 29050 2451 2292 33750– 33850 2883 2724
19450– 19550 1596 1437 24250– 24350 2028 1869 29050– 29150 2460 2301 33850– 33950 2892 2733
19550– 19650 1605 1446 24350– 24450 2037 1878 29150– 29250 2469 2310 33950– 34050 2901 2742

19650– 19750 1614 1455 24450– 24550 2046 1887 29250– 29350 2478 2319 34050– 34150 2910 2751
19750– 19850 1623 1464 24550– 24650 2055 1896 29350– 29450 2487 2328 34150– 34250 2919 2760
19850– 19950 1632 1473 24650– 24750 2064 1905 29450– 29550 2496 2337 34250– 34350 2928 2769
19950– 20050 1641 1482 24750– 24850 2073 1914 29550– 29650 2505 2346 34350– 34450 2937 2778
20050– 20150 1650 1491 24850– 24950 2082 1923 29650– 29750 2514 2355 34450– 34550 2946 2787
20150– 20250 1659 1500 24950– 25050 2091 1932 29750– 29850 2523 2364 34550– 34650 2955 2796

20250– 20350 1668 1509 25050– 25150 2100 1941 29850– 29950 2532 2373 34650– 34750 2964 2805
20350– 20450 1677 1518 25150– 25250 2109 1950 29950– 30050 2541 2382 34750– 34850 2973 2814
20450– 20550 1686 1527 25250– 25350 2118 1959 30050– 30150 2550 2391 34850– 34950 2982 2823
20550– 20650 1695 1536 25350– 25450 2127 1968 30150– 30250 2559 2400 34950– 35050 2991 2832
20650– 20750 1704 1545 25450– 25550 2136 1977 30250– 30350 2568 2409 35050– 35150 3000 2841
20750– 20850 1713 1554 25550– 25650 2145 1986 30350– 30450 2577 2418 35150– 35250 3009 2850

20850– 20950 1722 1563 25650– 25750 2154 1995 30450– 30550 2586 2427 35250– 35350 3018 2859
20950– 21050 1731 1572 25750– 25850 2163 2004 30550– 30650 2595 2436 35350– 35450 3027 2868
21050– 21150 1740 1581 25850– 25950 2172 2013 30650– 30750 2604 2445 35450– 35550 3036 2877
21150– 21250 1749 1590 25950– 26050 2181 2022 30750– 30850 2613 2454 35550– 35650 3045 2886
21250– 21350 1758 1599 26050– 26150 2190 2031 30850– 30950 2622 2463 35650– 35750 3054 2895
21350– 21450 1767 1608 26150– 26250 2199 2040 30950– 31050 2631 2472 35750– 35850 3063 2904

21450– 21550 1776 1617 26250– 26350 2208 2049 31050– 31150 2640 2481 35850– 35950 3072 2913
21550– 21650 1785 1626 26350– 26450 2217 2058 31150– 31250 2649 2490 35950– 36050 3081 2922
21650– 21750 1794 1635 26450– 26550 2226 2067 31250– 31350 2658 2499 36050– 36150 3090 2931
21750– 21850 1803 1644 26550– 26650 2235 2076 31350– 31450 2667 2508 36150– 36250 3099 2940
21850– 21950 1812 1653 26650– 26750 2244 2085 31450– 31550 2676 2517 36250– 36350 3108 2949
21950– 22050 1821 1662 26750– 26850 2253 2094 31550– 31650 2685 2526 36350– 36450 3117 2958

22050– 22150 1830 1671 26850– 26950 2262 2103 31650– 31750 2694 2535 36450– 36550 3126 2967
22150– 22250 1839 1680 26950– 27050 2271 2112 31750– 31850 2703 2544 36550– 36650 3135 2976
22250– 22350 1848 1689 27050– 27150 2280 2121 31850– 31950 2712 2553 36650– 36750 3144 2985
22350– 22450 1857 1698 27150– 27250 2289 2130 31950– 32050 2721 2562 36750– 36850 3153 2994
22450– 22550 1866 1707 27250– 27350 2298 2139 32050– 32150 2730 2571 36850– 36950 3162 3003
22550– 22650 1875 1716 27350– 27450 2307 2148 32150– 32250 2739 2580 36950– 37050 3171 3012

22650– 22750 1884 1725 27450– 27550 2316 2157 32250– 32350 2748 2589 37050– 37150 3180 3021
22750– 22850 1893 1734 27550– 27650 2325 2166 32350– 32450 2757 2598 37150– 37250 3189 3030
22850– 22950 1902 1743 27650– 27750 2334 2175 32450– 32550 2766 2607 37250– 37350 3198 3039
22950– 23050 1911 1752 27750– 27850 2343 2184 32550– 32650 2775 2616 37350– 37450 3207 3048
23050– 23150 1920 1761 27850– 27950 2352 2193 32650– 32750 2784 2625 37450– 37550 3216 3057
23150– 23250 1929 1770 27950– 28050 2361 2202 32750– 32850 2793 2634 37550– 37650 3225 3066

23250– 23350 1938 1779 28050– 28150 2370 2211 32850– 32950 2802 2643 37650– 37750 3234 3075
23350– 23450 1947 1788 28150– 28250 2379 2220 32950– 33050 2811 2652 37750– 37850 3243 3084
23450– 23550 1956 1797 28250– 28350 2388 2229 33050– 33150 2820 2661 37850– 37950 3252 3093
23550– 23650 1965 1806 28350– 28450 2397 2238 33150– 33250 2829 2670 37950– 38050 3261 3102
23650– 23750 1974 1815 28450– 28550 2406 2247 33250– 33350 2838 2679 38050– 38150 3270 3111
23750– 23850 1983 1824 28550– 28650 2415 2256 33350– 33450 2847 2688 38150– 38250 3279 3120



Form 40/40S tables/23

Tax tables for Form 40S and Form 40
Use column S if you are Use column J if you are

• Married filing jointly
• Single • Head of household
• Married filing separately • Widow(er) with dependent child

If income If income If income If income
from Form from Form from Form from Form

40S line 15, 40S line 15, 40S line 15, 40S line 15,
or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you
line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column

But But But But
At less At less At less At less

least than least than least than least than

$38,250 – 41,250 $41,250 – 44,250 $44,250 – 47,250 $47,250 – 50,001

S J

JS JJS S S J
38250– 38350 3288 3129 41250– 41350 3558 3399 44250– 44350 3828 3669 47250– 47350 4098 3939
38350– 38450 3297 3138 41350– 41450 3567 3408 44350– 44450 3837 3678 47350– 47450 4107 3948
38450– 38550 3306 3147 41450– 41550 3576 3417 44450– 44550 3846 3687 47450– 47550 4116 3957
38550– 38650 3315 3156 41550– 41650 3585 3426 44550– 44650 3855 3696 47550– 47650 4125 3966
38650– 38750 3324 3165 41650– 41750 3594 3435 44650– 44750 3864 3705 47650– 47750 4134 3975
38750– 38850 3333 3174 41750– 41850 3603 3444 44750– 44850 3873 3714 47750– 47850 4143 3984

38850– 38950 3342 3183 41850– 41950 3612 3453 44850– 44950 3882 3723 47850– 47950 4152 3993
38950– 39050 3351 3192 41950– 42050 3621 3462 44950– 45050 3891 3732 47950– 48050 4161 4002
39050– 39150 3360 3201 42050– 42150 3630 3471 45050– 45150 3900 3741 48050– 48150 4170 4011
39150– 39250 3369 3210 42150– 42250 3639 3480 45150– 45250 3909 3750 48150– 48250 4179 4020
39250– 39350 3378 3219 42250– 42350 3648 3489 45250– 45350 3918 3759 48250– 48350 4188 4029
39350– 39450 3387 3228 42350– 42450 3657 3498 45350– 45450 3927 3768 48350– 48450 4197 4038

39450– 39550 3396 3237 42450– 42550 3666 3507 45450– 45550 3936 3777 48450– 48550 4206 4047
39550– 39650 3405 3246 42550– 42650 3675 3516 45550– 45650 3945 3786 48550– 48650 4215 4056
39650– 39750 3414 3255 42650– 42750 3684 3525 45650– 45750 3954 3795 48650– 48750 4224 4065
39750– 39850 3423 3264 42750– 42850 3693 3534 45750– 45850 3963 3804 48750– 48850 4233 4074
39850– 39950 3432 3273 42850– 42950 3702 3543 45850– 45950 3972 3813 48850– 48950 4242 4083
39950– 40050 3441 3282 42950– 43050 3711 3552 45950– 46050 3981 3822 48950– 49050 4251 4092

40050– 40150 3450 3291 43050– 43150 3720 3561 46050– 46150 3990 3831 49050– 49150 4260 4101
40150– 40250 3459 3300 43150– 43250 3729 3570 46150– 46250 3999 3840 49150– 49250 4269 4110
40250– 40350 3468 3309 43250– 43350 3738 3579 46250– 46350 4008 3849 49250– 49350 4278 4119
40350– 40450 3477 3318 43350– 43450 3747 3588 46350– 46450 4017 3858 49350– 49450 4287 4128
40450– 40550 3486 3327 43450– 43550 3756 3597 46450– 46550 4026 3867 49450– 49550 4296 4137
40550– 40650 3495 3336 43550– 43650 3765 3606 46550– 46650 4035 3876 49550– 49650 4305 4146

40650– 40750 3504 3345 43650– 43750 3774 3615 46650– 46750 4044 3885 49650– 49750 4314 4155
40750– 40850 3513 3354 43750– 43850 3783 3624 46750– 46850 4053 3894 49750– 49850 4323 4164
40850– 40950 3522 3363 43850– 43950 3792 3633 46850– 46950 4062 3903 49850– 49950 4332 4173
40950– 41050 3531 3372 43950– 44050 3801 3642 46950– 47050 4071 3912 49950– 50001 4341 4182
41050– 41150 3540 3381 44050– 44150 3810 3651 47050– 47150 4080 3921
41150– 41250 3549 3390 44150– 44250 3819 3660 47150– 47250 4089 3930

TAX RATE CHARTS

If your taxable income from Form 40, line 29 is more than $50,000, you must use the tax rate charts below to
compute your tax liability.

Tax Rate Chart B:

For persons filing
JOINTLY, HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD or QUALIFYING

WIDOW(ER) WITH DEPENDENT CHILD

If your taxable income is: Your tax is:

Over $50,000 ........................... $4,182 plus 9% of excess over $50,000

Tax Rate Chart A:

For persons filing
SINGLE OR MARRIED FILING SEPARATELY

If your taxable income is: Your tax is:

Over $50,000 ........................ $4,341 plus 9% of excess over $50,000



Form 40 instructions
Exemptions
6a and 6b. Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself”
and other boxes that apply. If you can be claimed as
a dependent on someone else’s return, you can’t
claim an exemption for yourself on your Oregon
return.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability at
the end of 1997? If so, you may claim an additional ex-
emption credit. You are considered to have a severe dis-
ability if any of the following apply:

• You permanently lost the use of one or both feet.
• You permanently lost the use of both hands.
• You have a permanent condition that, without special

equipment or help, limits your ability:

— To earn a living, or
— To maintain a household, or
— To transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include such items as glasses,
ordinary crutches, hearing aids, or contact lenses.

You don’t qualify for this exemption if:

• You have a temporary disability from an injury or ill-
ness and are expected to recover, or

• Your condition keeps you from doing your former
work but allows you to do other kinds of work with-
out special equipment.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your physi-
cian must write a letter describing your disability. Keep
the letter with your tax records.

Check the “Severely disabled” exemption box. If your
spouse qualifies, he or she may also claim this exemp-
tion. You and your spouse may also qualify for the
credit for the loss of use of limbs. See instructions on
page 33.

6c. Dependents. Enter the number of your children
claimed as dependents and other dependents in box 6c.
In most cases, you must claim the same number of de-
pendents as claimed on your federal return.

6d. Disabled child. You may have an additional ex-
emption for your dependent child with a disability. To
qualify, your child must meet all of the following:

• Qualify as your dependent.
• Be age 17 or younger on December 31, 1997.
• Be eligible for “early intervention services” or diag-

nosed with a disability for special education purposes.
Learning disabilities alone don’t qualify for this
exemption.

• Your child must have a health-related disability requir-
ing special education as defined by the Oregon De-
partment of Education. This includes:

Do your federal return first. Use the information from
your federal return to complete your Oregon return.

You must attach a copy (front and back) of your fed-
eral 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040PC to your Oregon
tax return. Don’t attach any federal schedules such
as A, B, C, D, Form 2441, etc.

Keep a complete copy of your federal and state re-
turns. Also, keep the original of all papers or re-
ceipts you used to prepare your return. Save these
records for at least three years.

Fiscal year filers
Write “Fiscal Year” in the center at the top of the form.
Use blue ink. Fill in the date your fiscal year ended.

Address section
Label. If you received a label with this tax booklet,
please use it on the Form 40 you mail to the depart-
ment. Your return will be processed faster. Don’t attach
the label to your return until the return is completed. If
someone else prepares your return, ask them to
use your label.

Make sure the label is correct. If it isn’t, mark through
the incorrect information and make corrections on the
label. If you don’t have a label, print or type your name,
address, and Social Security number on your return.

Social Security number. The request for your Social
Security number(s) is authorized by Section 405, Title 42,
of the United States Code. You must give us this infor-
mation. It will be used to establish your identity for tax
purposes only.

Age. Fill in your age as of December 31, 1997.

Check the boxes
Filing status
Check the box next to your filing status. Check the
same filing status you checked on your federal return.
If you and your spouse don’t have the same residency
status, you may file separate returns for Oregon even
if you filed married filing jointly for federal. See page
4 for exceptions.

If you are married filing separately, fill in your
spouse’s name and Social Security number next to box
number 3. Don’t fill in your spouse’s name or Social Se-
curity number in the heading of the return.

If you are filing as head of household, fill in the name
of the qualifying person from your federal return by box
number 4.

24/Form 40 instructions
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— Autism.
— Visual impairment.
— Mental retardation.
— Serious emotional disturbance.
— Traumatic brain injury.
— Hearing impairment.
— Orthopedic impairment.
— Multiple disabilities.

• Your child must have been diagnosed as of Decem-
ber 31, 1997, through the child’s local school district,
by a qualified examiner authorized by the Oregon
Department of Education.

Get a statement of eligibility which confirms one of the
disabilities listed above and the cover sheet from one of
the following:

• The child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP).
• The child’s Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP).

Keep the statement and cover sheet with your tax
records. Write in your child’s name on “Disabled chil-
dren only,” line 6d. Also be sure to include the child as
a dependent in the total for line 6c.

7. Age 65 or older, or blind. Check the boxes on line
7 if you or your spouse were age 65 or older or were
blind on December 31, 1997. Use this information to com-
pute your standard deduction. If you or your spouse are
blind, you may also qualify for an additional exemption
credit. See lines 6a and 6b on page 24.

Line instructions
The following instructions are for lines not fully
explained on the form.

Additions
Additions increase your federal adjusted gross income.

9. Interest and dividends on government bonds of
other states. You must add to Oregon income any in-
terest and dividends you received from state and local
governments other than Oregon. Generally, you don’t
pay federal tax on this interest, but you do pay Oregon
tax. Example: Include interest from State of Washing-
ton bonds or from San Francisco city bonds. Leave out
interest from Oregon government bonds and interest
from U.S. territories or possessions (such as Guam, Puerto
Rico, and the Virgin Islands).

10. Other additions. Identify the additions you are
reporting in the space on the form.

• Federal election on interest and dividends of a mi-
nor child. Did you make the election to report inter-
est or dividends of your minor child on your federal

return? If so, you must add the amount that is subject
to the special federal tax to Oregon income. On Form
40, line 10, fill in the smaller of line 6 or 7 from federal
Form 8814.

• Federal income tax refunds. Did you get a federal
tax refund in 1997 because you filed an amended fed-
eral return for a prior year, or because you were au-
dited? If so, you may need to include the refund on
line 10. If you need help, see page 36 for numbers
to call.

• Unused business credits. Did you claim a deduc-
tion on your federal return for unused business
credits? If so, these must be added back to Oregon
income.

• Difference in depreciation for Oregon. You may
have a depreciation difference for Oregon and may
need the Oregon Depreciation Schedule and instruc-
tions. See page 36 to order or for numbers to call. Is
your Oregon depreciation less than your federal de-
preciation? If so, fill in the amount from line 2 of the
Oregon Depreciation Schedule. If not, see instructions
for Form 40, line 18.

• Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduc-
tion. Did you claim Oregon gambling losses as an
itemized deduction on your federal Schedule A? For
Oregon purposes, gambling losses are limited to gam-
bling winnings taxed by Oregon. If you need help, see
page 36 for numbers to call.

• Lump-sum payment from a qualified retire-
ment plan. Did you use the 5- or 10-year averag-
ing method for federal purposes? If so, all or part
of your lump-sum distribution must be added to in-
come on your Oregon return. The amount of the
addition is the total of your ordinary income por-
tion and your capital gain portion. Include the capi-
tal gain portion only if you did not include it in
your federal adjusted gross income. This informa-
tion is on the federal Form 1099R your employer
gave you. Fill in this sum on line 10. Attach a copy
of federal Form 1099R to your Oregon return with
your wage slips.

• Other additions. The following additions apply to
only a few people and are not explained in this book-
let. If you need help, see page 36.

— Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property.
— Depletion in excess of property basis.
— Sale of Oregon inherited farm or forest property

acquired from a decedent who died before Janu-
ary 1, 1987.

— Passive losses.
— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and

simple or complex trusts.
— Previously deferred reinvested gain.
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Subtractions
Subtractions reduce your federal adjusted gross income.

13. 1997 federal tax liability. Caution: Carefully fol-
low the instructions below. Don’t confuse your federal
tax liability calculated on your federal return with the
federal tax withheld on your W-2. They are not the
same.

Limit: You may deduct up to $3,000 of your total fed-
eral income tax liability after credits. Don’t fill in less
than -0- or more than $3,000 ($1,500 if married fil-
ing separately).

Fill in your federal tax liability from:

• Form 1040, line 46, or
• Form 1040A, line 25, or
• Form 1040EZ, line 10, or
• Telefile Tax Record, line J (tax).

On your federal return did you have:

• Alternative minimum tax, Form 1040, line 48?
• Tax on qualified retirement plans, Form 1040, line 50?

If so, include these in your federal tax subtraction.

Caution: Don’t add:

• Self-employment tax, Form 1040, line 47.
• Social Security and Medicare tax on tips, Form 1040,

line 49.
• Advance earned income credit payments, Form 1040,

line 51, or Form 1040A, line 26.
• Household employment taxes, Form 1040, line 52, or

Form 1040A, line 27.

Did you pay additional federal tax in 1997 because
you were audited or you filed an amended return?
If so, read the instructions for line 18.

Note: Your federal tax subtraction, line 13, plus your
foreign tax subtraction (from “Other subtractions,” line
18) can’t exceed $3,000.

14. Social Security income. Write in the amount, if
any, from federal Form 1040, line 20b, or Form 1040A,
line 13b. If you have Tier 2, windfall/dual-vested, or
supplemental Railroad retirement benefits, read the in-
structions for line 18.

15. Oregon income tax refund included in federal
income. Fill in your Oregon income tax refund from
your federal Form 1040, line 10.

16. Interest and dividends from U.S. government.
Fill in interest and dividends from the U.S. government
that you included on your federal return. Include U.S.
government interest and dividends you got through part-
nerships or grantor trusts. Examples: interest from U.S.
Series EE or HH bonds, and Treasury bills or notes. You
may also subtract interest and dividends paid to you by

organizations that invest in U.S. government securities.
Check the information on your Form 1099. The payer
may have given the percentage of interest and dividends
from U.S. government securities.

U.S. government interest and dividends must be reduced
by any interest expense relating to U.S. government ob-
ligations you deducted on your federal Schedule A.

When you sell or dispose of a U.S. government obliga-
tion, you must include any gain or loss in income.

17. Deferral of reinvested gain. You may defer gain
on the sale of certain business assets if you reinvest pro-
ceeds in qualifying business assets within six months.
Attach the form “Oregon Deferral of Reinvested Gain”
to the back of your return. For more information or to
get the form, see page 36.

18. Other subtractions. You may qualify for other sub-
tractions explained below. Identify the subtraction in the
space on the form.

• Military active duty. You may qualify for three dif-
ferent subtractions for U.S. military active duty pay. To
be eligible for the subtractions, the active duty pay
must be included in federal income.

The Oregon military active duty pay subtractions are
as follows:

1. If you entered the military for the first time in 1997
or if you were discharged from military service in
1997, you can subtract all military active duty in-
come earned outside Oregon.

2. You can subtract active duty pay earned outside
Oregon from January 1 through the date the Presi-
dent sets as the end of combat activities in the Per-
sian Gulf. The date was not set when this
publication was printed.

3. Whether or not you are eligible for the other mili-
tary subtractions, you may still subtract up to $3,000
of active duty pay. The subtraction for each spouse
receiving active duty pay is limited to $3,000.

Reserve summer camp is active duty. However, drills
and weekend meetings of reserve units aren’t active
duty. If you are in the guards or the reserves, and your
W-2 form doesn’t show a separate amount for active
duty, contact your paymaster.

Note: You may qualify for more than one military ac-
tive duty pay subtraction. However, your total subtrac-
tion cannot exceed your total active duty pay income.

Enter the total of your military subtractions on line 18.
Label it “Military active duty pay.”

Example 1. Denise enlisted in the Navy in 1993. From
January 1, 1997, until August 15, 1997, she was sta-
tioned in Hawaii. From August 15 until the end of the
year she served in Oregon as a recruiter. For 1997 she
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earned the following active duty pay: $10,000 in Ha-
waii and $6,000 in Oregon. Combat activities have not
ended in the Persian Gulf. She is eligible for the fol-
lowing subtractions: $10,000 earned outside of Oregon
during the time of the Persian Gulf crisis, and $3,000
earned within the state, for a total of $13,000.

Example 2. In 1997, Andy was stationed in Omaha,
Nebraska. He spent more than 30 days in Oregon.
Andy had lived in Oregon before enlisting in the Army.
He earned $25,000 for the year—$3,200 earned after
December 1. If the President declared the end of the
combat activities in the Persian Gulf on December 1,
his subtraction is figured as follows: Active duty pay
earned outside of Oregon before Persian Gulf combat
activities ended is $21,800 ($25,000 – $3,200). Active
duty pay earned in Oregon is limited to $3,000 for a
total subtraction of $24,800.

Example 3. Paul is an officer in the Air Force Reserve.
He earned $3,300 from reserve summer camp and ad-
ditional active duty days in Oregon. He earned $4,200
during the year for weekend drills and meetings of his
reserve unit. Since all of his active duty pay was earned
in Oregon, he only qualifies for the $3,000 subtraction.
Therefore, his total subtraction is $3,000.

Example 4. Natasha enlisted in the Army April 15 and
was stationed overseas. She earned $8,000 in 1997. She
qualifies for the year-of-entry subtraction of $8,000 and
for the $3,000 subtraction. She also qualifies for a sub-
traction for active duty pay earned outside of Oregon.
However, her total military active duty pay subtraction
cannot exceed $8,000.

Example 5. Ryan served in a combat zone from Janu-
ary 1 until May 9. He filed jointly with his wife who
lives in and maintains a residence in Oregon. He
earned $8,000 combat pay. He was transferred to Ger-
many for the rest of 1997 where he earned an addi-
tional $15,000 of active duty pay. The President did
not declare an end to the combat activities in 1997.
Ryan excluded his $8,000 combat pay on his federal
return, so he can’t subtract it on his Oregon return.
Therefore, his Oregon subtraction is limited to $15,000,
the amount earned outside of Oregon and included in
federal income.

• Federal tax from a prior year. Did you pay addi-
tional federal tax in 1997 because you were audited
or you amended a prior year’s return? If so, you may
be able to subtract the additional tax. This subtraction
applies only to additional tax you paid because your
return was changed. It doesn’t include the tax from the
original return or interest or penalties you paid.

To figure your subtraction for federal tax from a prior
year, follow these steps:

Step 1: From $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing sepa-
rately) subtract your federal tax, Form 40,
line 13.

Step 2: On Form 40, line 18, fill in the lesser of:

— The amount you figured in step 1, or
— Additional federal tax from a prior year.

Label the line “Prior year’s federal tax” and list the
year(s) involved.

• Difference in depreciation for Oregon. You may
have a depreciation difference for Oregon and may
need the Oregon Depreciation Schedule and instruc-
tions. See page 36 to order or for numbers to call. Is
your Oregon depreciation more than your federal
depreciation? If so, fill in the amount from line 2 of
the Oregon Depreciation Schedule. If not, see the in-
structions for Form 40, line 10.

• Difference in home mortgage interest for Oregon.
Did you claim a mortgage interest credit on your fed-
eral return? If so, you may claim a subtraction on your
Oregon return for the home mortgage interest not in-
cluded in your itemized deductions reported on your
federal return. You must itemize deductions for Oregon
to claim this subtraction.

• Payments from IRAs, Keoghs, 403(b), and 457
plans. You may be able to subtract some of your pay-
ments if all of the following apply:

— You contributed to an IRA, Keogh, 403(b), or 457
plan when you were a nonresident;

— You paid tax on these contributions in your state
of residence; and

— You did not receive a tax benefit for these contri-
butions by any other state.

If you qualify, you may subtract an amount equal
to the amount of contributions that were taxed in an-
other state. Once your subtractions equal the contri-
butions that were previously taxed, all other payments
are taxable.

• Lottery winnings included on your federal return.
Did you include winnings from the Oregon Lottery or
Powerball on your federal return? These winnings are
not taxed by Oregon. Fill in the total Oregon Lottery
and Powerball winnings from your federal return. La-
bel the line, “Oregon Lottery.” Do not subtract win-
nings from tribal gaming centers. Do you have Oregon
Lottery losses claimed as an itemized deduction? If so,
see page 25. Note: Some lottery winnings will be tax-
able in 1998. See “New information,” page 3.

• Logger’s and construction worker’s commuting
costs. You may claim the cost of getting to job sites
more than 50 miles from your home. You must be a
bucker or a faller with your own equipment and be
paid on a per unit cut basis or be a member of a rec-
ognized construction trade, craft, or union.

Commuting costs are gas, oil, upkeep, and repairs. You
may claim only the actual costs of commuting. Don’t
use the federal mileage rate. You can’t claim meals or
lodging. Construction workers can’t claim more than



Deductions
You may claim either net itemized deductions or
Oregon’s standard deduction, whichever is larger.

• If you claim itemized deductions, fill in lines 21–25.
• If you claim the standard deduction, fill in line 26.

Note: Married persons filing separate returns must item-
ize deductions if their spouse itemizes. Don’t claim the
standard deduction if your spouse itemizes.

21. Itemized deductions. Generally, you may claim
your total itemized deductions after federal limitations as
shown on federal Schedule A, line 28. You may claim
itemized deductions for Oregon, even if you couldn’t on
your federal return. If you itemize for Oregon only,

fill out a separate Schedule A for Oregon. Use your fed-
eral adjusted gross income to figure the Schedule A limi-
tations. Keep the Schedule A with your tax records.

22. Special Oregon medical deduction. Were you or
your spouse age 61 or older on December 31, 1997? If
so, your deduction is the lesser of line 1 or line 3 from
your federal Schedule A. To claim this deduction, you
must itemize deductions. You can do this by filling out
a Schedule A for both federal and Oregon or filling out
one for Oregon only. (Keep your Schedule A with your
tax records.)

24. State income tax claimed as an itemized de-
duction. Fill in the amount of Oregon income tax
you claimed as an itemized deduction on federal
Schedule A.

Are you claiming a credit for income taxes paid to an-
other state? If so, include the other state’s tax after cred-
its on the mutually taxed income or the other state’s tax
claimed as an itemized deduction, whichever is less. See
instructions for line 40, page 32.

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal return
because your adjusted gross income exceeded $121,200
($60,600 if married filing separately)? If so, you may need
to complete a worksheet to figure how much Oregon
income tax to subtract from itemized deductions. See
page 36 to order the information circular “Limit on Item-
ized Deductions.”

26. Standard deduction. Generally, your standard de-
duction is based on your filing status as follows:

Single $1,800
Married filing jointly 3,000
Married filing separately 1,500
Head of household 2,640
Qualifying widow(er) 3,000

Caution: If you can be claimed as a dependent on an-
other person’s return, your standard deduction is limited
to the greater of:

1. Your earned income, but no more than the maximum
allowed for your filing status, as shown above, or

2. $650.

This limit applies even if the other person can, but does
not, claim you as a dependent on his or her return.

Also: You are allowed an additional deduction amount
if you or your spouse are age 65 or older or blind. The
additional amount is based on your filing status:

Single or head of household—$1,200
All others—$1,000

Example. Al and Amy Edwards are filing a joint return.
Al is 70 years old and blind. Amy is 68. Their standard
deduction is figured as follows:
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one year of commuting costs for the same job site.
Keep a record of your actual costs. Be sure to label
this subtraction as “Commuting costs.” Don’t include
any costs you claimed as employee business expenses
in your itemized deductions.

• American Indian. Are you an enrolled member of
a federally recognized tribe? If so, you may subtract
any income earned while living and working in “In-
dian country.” Indian country means those areas set
aside for the residence of tribal Indians. It includes
reservation land and other land held in trust by the
United States for a tribe. Label the line “American
Indian” and include your tribal enrollment number
on line 18.

• Federal tax credits. Did you claim a federal tax
credit, such as a jobs credit or business credit? If so,
you may have been required to reduce your federal
expenses because you claimed that credit. You may
also claim those unallowed expenses as a subtraction
for Oregon.

• Interest on government bonds of Oregon. Were
you required to include interest from Oregon state and
local government bonds in your federal income? If so,
fill in the amount included on federal Form 1040, line
8a, and label it “Interest on Oregon bonds.”

• Other subtractions. The following subtractions ap-
ply to only a few people and are not explained in this
booklet. If you need help, see page 36.

— Foreign tax.
— Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property.
— Artists who make a charitable art donation.
— Tier 2, windfall/dual-vested, or supplemental

Railroad retirement and Railroad unemployment
benefits.

— Passive losses.
— Local private activity bond interest.
— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and

simple or complex trusts.
— Underground storage tank pollution grant.
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Married filing jointly $3,000
Additional amount due to Al’s age 1,000
Additional amount due to Amy’s age 1,000
Additional amount due to Al’s blindness +1,000

Total standard deduction $6,000

Fill in the total standard deduction on line 26, Form 40.

27. Total deductions. Enter line 25 or line 26, which-
ever is larger.

Oregon tax
30. Oregon tax. Figure the tax on your Oregon tax-
able income, line 29. Use the tax tables or rate charts
on pages 21–23.

Example 1. A single Oregon taxpayer has taxable in-
come of $19,500. The tax from the table on page 22 is
$1,596.

Example 2. A married couple has Oregon taxable in-
come of $69,500. They are filing jointly. They use the
married filing jointly rate chart B. They figure their tax
like this:

Oregon taxable income $69,500
Subtract –50,000

19,500
Multiply by 9% × .09

1,755
Then add + 4,182

Their Oregon tax is $ 5,937

31. Interest on certain installment sales. Do you
have installment sales on which you were required to
pay interest on the deferred tax liability for federal pur-
poses? If so, you must also compute interest for Oregon.
The amount due for Oregon is computed the same way
as federal. The current interest rate is .8333 percent per
month (10 percent per year).

Credits
Credits reduce your Oregon tax.

34. Earned income credit. You are allowed an Or-
egon earned income credit only if you qualify for and
claim the earned income credit on your federal return.

Use the following formula to compute your credit:

1. Enter your federal earned income __________
credit (1040EZ, line 8a; 1040A, line
29c; 1040, line 56a; or Telefile, line K).

2. Multiply line 1 by 5 percent (.05). __________
Enter the result here and on line 34
of your Oregon return.

The Oregon earned income credit is limited to your tax
liability. You cannot carry over any amount that exceeds
your tax liability.

35. Working family credit. This credit is available to
persons with qualifying child care expenses and income
that is less than 200 percent of the federal poverty level.

General Limits

You don’t qualify for this credit if:

• Your expenses are for a dependent over age 12 (un-
less they qualify as a disabled child, see page 8),

• Care is provided by the child’s parent or guardian (un-
less provided in a licensed child care facility),

• Care is provided by a brother or sister under age 19,
• You have earned income of $6,000 or less,
• You have more than $2,200 of investment income (in-

vestment income is generally interest, dividends, and
capital gains), or,

• You are married filing separately (unless legally sepa-
rated or living apart on 12/31/97).

Use the following worksheet to figure your credit:

Household size

1. Enter the number of exemptions __________
reported on your federal return.

2. Add any dependents you have __________
custody of but can not claim their
exemptions on your return.

3. Line 1 plus line 2. This is your __________
household size.

Credit amount

4. Enter your federal adjusted gross __________
income (Form 1040A, line 16 or
Form 1040, line 32).

5. Enter the decimal amount from the __________
correct table on page 30. The tables
are based on household size (line 3
from above). For example, if the
amount on line 3 is 7, use Table 7.

6. Enter your total child care expenses __________
for 1997.

7. Multiply line 5 by line 6. Enter the __________
result here and on Form 40, line 35.

For example, a married couple with one qualifying child
had a federal adjusted gross income of $21,436 and to-
tal child care expenses of $2,650 in 1997. With a house-
hold size of three, they use Table 3 to find the correct
decimal (.32) and multiply it by $2,650 to figure their
credit of $848.

The working family credit is limited to your tax liability.
You cannot carry over any amount that exceeds your tax
liability. This credit may be claimed in addition to the
child and dependent care credit.
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Table 1, household size = 1

If the Enter this
amount on decimal amount

line 4 is: on line 5:

at least— but less than—
—— $11,850 .40

$11,850 12,600 .36
12,600 13,400 .32
13,400 14,200 .24
14,200 15,000 .16
15,000 15,800 .08
15,800 —— .00

Table 3, household size = 3

If the Enter this
amount on decimal amount

line 4 is: on line 5:

at least— but less than—
—— $20,000 .40

$20,000 21,350 .36
21,350 22,650 .32
22,650 24,000 .24
24,000 25,350 .16
25,350 26,650 .08
26,650 —— .00

Table 5, household size = 5

If the Enter this
amount on decimal amount

line 4 is: on line 5:

at least— but less than—
—— $28,150 .40

$28,150 30,000 .36
30,000 31,900 .32
31,900 33,800 .24
33,800 35,650 .16
35,650 37,550 .08
37,550 —— .00

Table 7, household size = 7

If the Enter this
amount on decimal amount

line 4 is: on line 5:

at least— but less than—
—— $36,300 .40

$36,300 38,750 .36
38,750 41,150 .32
41,150 43,600 .24
43,600 46,000 .16
46,000 48,400 .08
48,400 —— .00

Table 2, household size = 2

If the Enter this
amount on decimal amount

line 4 is: on line 5:

at least— but less than—
—— $15,900 .40

$15,900 17,000 .36
17,000 18,050 .32
18,050 19,100 .24
19,100 20,150 .16
20,150 21,200 .08
21,200 —— .00

Table 4, household size = 4

If the Enter this
amount on decimal amount

line 4 is: on line 5:

at least— but less than—
—— $24,100 .40

$24,100 25,700 .36
25,700 27,300 .32
27,300 28,900 .24
28,900 30,500 .16
30,500 32,100 .08
32,100 —— .00

Table 6, household size = 6

If the Enter this
amount on decimal amount

line 4 is: on line 5:

at least— but less than—
—— $32,250 .40

$32,250 34,400 .36
34,400 36,550 .32
36,550 38,700 .24
38,700 40,850 .16
40,850 43,000 .08
43,000 —— .00

Table 8, household size = 8 or more

If the Enter this
amount on decimal amount

line 4 is: on line 5:

at least— but less than—
—— $40,400 .40

$40,400 43,100 .36
43,100 45,800 .32
45,800 48,450 .24
48,450 51,150 .16
51,150 53,850 .08
53,850 —— .00
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36. Retirement income credit. Were you age 61 or
older on December 31, 1997, and receiving retirement
income? If so, you may qualify for a credit. Retirement
income includes payments included in Oregon taxable
income from a:

• U.S. government pension (includes military).
• State or local government pension.
• Employee pension.
• Individual retirement plan.
• Deferred compensation plan including defined benefit,

profit sharing, and 401(k).
• Employee annuity plan.

Use the worksheet below to figure your credit.

PART 1

• General Limits

You don’t qualify for this credit if:

— The person receiving the retirement income was
less than age 61 on December 31, 1997,

— Your household income is $22,500 or more
($45,000 or more if married filing jointly), or

— You received more than $7,500 ($15,000 if married
filing jointly) in Social Security and/or Tier 1 Rail-
road retirement benefits.

PART 2

• Determining Household Income Limits

See “What is included in household income?” below
to determine your household income.

1. Enter household income. 1. __________
2. Household income base. 2. __________

Enter $15,000 ($30,000
if married filing jointly).

3. Line 1 minus line 2, but 3. __________
not less than -0-.

PART 3

• Determining Credit Amount

1. Enter $7,500 ($15,000 if married 1. __________
filing jointly).

2. Enter both spouses’ total Social 2. __________
Security and Tier 1 Railroad
retirement benefits.

3. Line 1 minus line 2 but not 3. __________
less than -0-.

4. Enter household income limit 4. __________
from Part 2, line 3.

5. Line 3 minus line 4, but not 5. __________
less than -0-.

6. Enter Oregon taxable 6. __________
retirement income of the
eligible individual(s).

7. Enter the lesser of line 5 7. __________
or line 6.

8. Multiply line 7 by .09 (9%) 8. __________
and enter the result here
and on Form 40, line 36.

The credit is limited to your tax liability. There is no
carryover. You may claim this credit or the credit for the
elderly or the disabled, but not both.

What is included in household income? Household
income includes all income (both taxable and nontax-
able) received during the year except Social Security and
Tier 1 Railroad retirement benefits. Include gross income
reduced by adjustments reported in your federal adjusted
gross income (AGI).

What is not included in household income? State tax
refunds received during the year are not included in
household income. Also, pension income received that
is a return of your contributions is not included. Do not
include pension distributions which you “roll over” into
an individual retirement account (IRA).

To determine household income, separate income (or
loss) from businesses, farms, rentals or royalties, and dis-
positions of tangible or intangible property. Combine all
income from a particular source to arrive at the net in-
come or loss from that source. Any net loss from the
source is limited to $1,000. Net operating loss carrybacks
or carryovers are not allowed. Capital loss carryovers are
not allowed.

For example, you own a farm and have a $3,000 loss.
You are also a partner in a partnership whose main ac-
tivity is farming. You have income from the partnership
of $1,000. Your net farm loss is $2,000. You may claim
only $1,000 of this loss to compute your household in-
come. Any net loss you have from any of the other
sources mentioned in the previous paragraph is also lim-
ited to $1,000 each.

If the combined total of your depreciation, depletion, and
amortization deductions exceeds $5,000, the excess must
be added back into household income. You must also
increase your household income by the Oregon income
tax modification for depletion in excess of basis.

Example. Felipe has a business which had gross income
of $27,000 for the year. He has an $11,000 depreciation
deduction. Other business expenses are $20,000. He re-
ports a business loss for federal purposes of $4,000
($27,000 – ($20,000 + $11,000)). With his depreciation
deduction limited to $5,000, the business income he in-
cludes in household income is $2,000, figured as follows:
$27,000 – ($20,000 + $5,000) = $2,000.

You also need to include items not in your federal AGI.
These items include but are not limited to:

• Veteran’s and military benefits.
• Gifts and grants (total amount minus $500).
• Disability pay.
• Nontaxable dividends (other than “return of capital”

dividends).
• Inheritances.
• Insurance proceeds.
• Nontaxable interest.
• Lottery winnings.
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• Railroad retirement benefits (Tier 2 only).
• Scholarships.
• Strike benefits.
• Welfare benefits.

If you need more information, see page 36.

37. Child and dependent care credit. You are al-
lowed an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the fed-
eral child and dependent care credit. You may still be
able to claim the Oregon credit even if you can’t use all
of your federal credit. Use the following worksheet to
figure your credit for Oregon.

1. Enter the amount from federal 1. _________
Form 2441, line 6, or Form
1040A, Schedule 2, line 6.

2. Enter the decimal amount from 2. ×
the following table.

If your federal
taxable income
from Form 1040, Your

line 38, or decimal
Form 1040A, amount

line 22 is: is:

Over— But not over—
—— $ 5,000 .30

$ 5,000 10,000 .15
10,000 15,000 .08
15,000 25,000 .06
25,000 35,000 .05
35,000 45,000 .04
45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the child care expenses 3. _________
on line 1 by the decimal amount
on line 2. Enter the result here.

4. Multiply your 1996 child and depen- 4. _________
dent care expenses you included
in the computation of your federal
1997 credit by the decimal amount
that applies to your 1996 federal
taxable income. Enter the result.

5. Add the amounts on lines 3 and 4. 5. _________
Enter here and on Form 40, line 37.

Carryover. Your total 1997 child care credit can’t be
more than your tax liability for Oregon. Any excess credit
can be carried forward over the next five years. If the
excess isn’t used within five years, it’s lost. See instruc-
tions for line 41.

38. Credit for the elderly or the disabled. The Or-
egon credit is 40 percent of the federal credit. You get
an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the federal credit.

Multiply the amount on federal Schedule R, line 20, or
Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 20, by .40 (40%).

Note: You may claim this credit or the retirement income
credit, line 36, but not both.

39. Political contribution credit. Fill in your total po-
litical contributions, but not more than $100 on a joint
return or $50 on all others. The contribution must have
been made during 1997. It must have been a donation
of money to any of the following:

• A political party.
• A qualified candidate (or the candidate’s principal cam-

paign committee) for federal, state, or local office to
be voted for in Oregon.

• A political committee organized only to support or
oppose ballot measures to be voted on in Oregon.

40. Credit for income tax paid to another state. Did
you pay income taxes to another state? If so, you may
be able to claim this credit. You must have income that
is taxed by both Oregon and the other state during 1997.

If you were a full-year Oregon resident and had income
taxed by Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia, you
may not claim the credit on your Oregon return. You may
claim the credit on your nonresident return filed with the
other state. If income is taxed by Oregon and another
state not listed here, claim the credit on line 40 of your
Oregon resident return.

This credit is only for state income tax. You can’t claim
this credit for city or county income tax, sales tax, prop-
erty tax, school tax, or building funds.

Your credit is the lesser of the following:

• The other state’s tax after credits.
• Your Oregon tax liability.
• The amount figured using the following formula:

Your adjusted gross income
taxed by both states Your Oregon tax after

Your modified
×

subtracting all other credits
adjusted gross income

Divide your adjusted gross income (AGI) taxed by both
states by your modified AGI. Multiply the result by your
Oregon tax after subtracting all other credits.

If you file Form 40S, your modified AGI is line 11.

If you file Form 40, your modified AGI usually equals
the sum of lines 8 and 9 minus lines 14–17. Add amounts
on line 10 only if they are income that Oregon taxes but
the federal government doesn’t. Subtract amounts on line
18 only if they are income that the federal government
taxes but Oregon doesn’t.

Caution: You can’t claim this credit and also claim the
tax you paid as an itemized deduction. On Form 40, line
24, in addition to the Oregon tax you claim as an item-
ized deduction, fill in the lesser of the following:

• The other state’s tax claimed as an itemized deduction.
• The other state’s tax after credits.

Attach a copy of the other state’s return and proof
of payment to your Oregon return.
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41. Other credits. You may be entitled to other cred-
its listed below. Identify the credit you are claiming on
line 41 in the space on the form.

• Child and dependent care credit carryover from
prior years. Fill in the carryover amount on line 41.
Label the line “Child care credit carryover.” The amount
of the prior year carryover plus your current year’s
credit can’t exceed your Oregon tax liability. Any ex-
cess credit can be carried forward over the next five
years. If the excess isn’t used within five years, it’s lost.

• Credit for loss of use of limbs. If you have a per-
manent and complete loss of the use of two limbs, you
may take a tax credit of $50. Your spouse may also
claim a $50 credit if he or she qualifies. You can’t claim
this credit for a dependent.

Obtain a Disability Certification Form the first year
you file for the credit. Get the form from your county
public health officer. The health officer must sign the
form. Keep the form with your tax records.

You also qualify for the severely disabled exemption.
See instructions on page 24.

• Credit for alternative energy devices. You must in-
stall solar devices or ground loop systems that provide
10 percent or more of an Oregon home’s energy. See
page 36 to order the information circular “Alternative
Energy Devices.”

• Sewage treatment works hookup credit. Oregon resi-
dents could claim a credit for the cost of installing or
connecting to specific sewage treatment works. The con-
nection must have been required by an order from the
assistant director for health issued after January 1, 1988,
and before July 1, 1995. Claim one-fifth of the expenses
each year, for five years, limited to $160 per year.

• Credit for home care of an elderly person. You
may be eligible for this credit if your household income
is less than $17,500 and you pay expenses for the care
of someone age 60 or older. The care must keep that
person from being placed in a nursing home. That
person’s household income must be $7,500 or less. See
page 36 to order the information circular, “Home Care
for the Elderly Credit” and the form, “Credit for Home
Care of an Elderly Person.” The Oregon Department
of Human Resources must certify that the elderly
person qualifies.

• Other credits. The following credits apply to only a
few people and aren’t explained in this booklet. See
page 36 to get more information.

— Bone marrow donation program.
— Business energy.
— Child development.
— Crops donated to gleaning cooperatives.
— Dependent care assistance.
— Farmworker housing.
— Fish habitat improvements.
— Fish screening devices.

— Involuntary moving of a mobile home.
— Oregon tax on gain mutually taxed by another state

or country. The gain must be from the sale of your
home.

— Pollution control facilities.
— Pollution prevention credit.
— Reclaimed plastic (investment in capital assets).
— Reforestation of underproductive forest lands.
— Rural medical practitioners, dentists, or optometrists.
— Youth apprenticeship program.

Tax payments,
penalties, and interest
44. Oregon income tax withheld. Fill in the total
amount of Oregon tax withheld from your wages and
other income. That’s the amount shown on your W-2
forms in box 18 or 1099 forms, box 10. Don’t use FICA
(Social Security) tax withheld. Don’t use tax withheld from
your wages by other states. Staple readable copies of your
W-2 or 1099 forms to the lower front of your return.

If you don’t have a W-2 or 1099, you must provide other
proof of any tax withheld from your wages. Proof may
include a final paycheck stub or a letter from your em-
ployer. We can’t accept anything but W-2 forms until af-
ter February 1.

If you have tax to pay, you may want to increase the
amount your employer withholds from your wages for
Oregon. If you and your spouse both work, see page
36 to order the information circular “Oregon Income Tax
Withholding: Some Special Cases.”

45. Estimated tax you paid for the 1997 tax year.
Fill in the total estimated tax payments you made before
filing your Oregon return. Include any payments you
made with your extension. Also include any refund ap-
plied from your 1996 income tax return.

49. Penalty and interest.

Due date. Your return is due by April 15, 1998, unless
you get an extension.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

• Mail your tax-to-pay after April 15 (even if you have
an extension).

• File your income tax return showing a tax-to-pay af-
ter the due date, including any extension.

Penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid balance of your tax.
If you file more than three months late, add an additional
20 percent penalty. See page 5 for how to avoid incur-
ring a penalty.

Interest. Are you filing your return or paying your tax
after April 15, 1998? If you are, include interest on any
unpaid tax.

The current interest rate is .8333 percent per month (10
percent per year). A full month, for example, is April 16
to May 15.
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Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a month.
Here’s how to figure daily interest:

Tax   ×   .000274   ×   number of days

If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the in-
terest rate increases to 14 percent per year.

50. Interest on underpayment of estimated tax.
You have an underpayment if you paid less than 90 per-
cent of the tax due on each estimated tax payment date.

You don’t have an underpayment if you:

• Didn’t need to pay estimated tax at any time for 1997,
and

• Owe less than $500 tax on your 1997 tax return.

The tax you owe is net income tax less your Oregon
withholding.

If you have an underpayment or meet an exception, you
must file Oregon Form 10, “Underpayment of Oregon
Estimated Tax.” See page 36 to order Form 10.

On Form 40, line 50, fill in the amount of interest due
from Form 10 and check the box. Attach Form 10 to
the back of the return.

52. Amount-you-owe. Make your check or money
order payable to “Oregon Department of Revenue”
and attach to your return on top of the W-2s. Use blue
ink. Do not make your check out to “IRS” or “Inter-
nal Revenue Service.” Write your Social Security num-
ber and “1997 Form 40” on your check or money
order. Don’t send cash or postdated checks. Stop here
on the form.

Special instructions. Do you owe interest and have
an overpayment on line 47? If your overpayment is less
than the interest due, fill in the result of line 51 minus
line 47.

If you owe more than $500, you should have made esti-
mated tax payments. See instructions for line 50 above.

53. Refund. You must have a refund of $5 or greater
on line 53 to use lines 54–59.

54. Estimated tax. If your refund is $5 or more, you
may apply part or all of your refund, line 53, to your 1998
Oregon estimated income tax. Fill in the amount you
want to apply.

55–59. Donations will reduce your refund. If you
don’t have a refund on line 53 but you want to contrib-
ute, mail your donations to the addresses below.

55. Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your donation will
fund the protection of nongame wildlife and its habitat.

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
Attention: Fiscal Manager
PO Box 59
Portland OR 97207

56. Child Abuse Prevention. Your donation will fund
programs through the Children’s Trust Fund to help pre-
vent child abuse and neglect.

Children’s Trust Fund
800 NE Oregon St., Suite 1140
Portland OR 97232

57. Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your donation
goes to the Alzheimer’s Research Alliance of Oregon for
research on Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders.

Alzheimer’s Research Alliance
PO Box 10051
Portland OR 97296

58. Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence. Your do-
nation will fund programs through the Oregon Coalition
Against Domestic and Sexual Violence.

OCADSV
520 NW Davis, Suite 310
Portland OR 97209

59. AIDS/HIV Research, Education, and Services.
Your donation will fund AIDS/HIV research, education,
and services by the Living With HIV Fund.

The Research and Education Group
PO Box 40104
Portland OR 97240

61. Net refund. You must reduce your refund by any
amounts applied to 1998 estimated tax and donations on
lines 55–59. By law, the Oregon Department of Revenue
cannot refund or apply amounts less than $5. Generally, the
department cannot issue a refund when the return is filed
more than three years after the due date of the return.

Remember to:
Double-check your figures, including your Social
Security number. The most common mistakes are
math errors and the amount claimed for the federal
tax subtraction. Accuracy speeds the processing of
your return.

Sign your return (both spouses must sign a
joint return).

Staple readable copies of wage slips and 1099s
showing Oregon withholding to the front of the
return.

Use your label to speed processing your return. If
you received a label, please correct as needed and
attach it to the return you mail to the department.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use a
business envelope (4 × 9 1⁄2 inches) to help speed
processing of your return. Be sure to use enough
postage.
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Mail refund returns or no-tax-due returns to:

REFUND
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-0930

Notes...

Mail tax-to-pay returns to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

If you can’t pay now, file your return anyway. The
Department of Revenue will work with you to set
up a payment plan on a case-by-case basis. You may
send a written request for a payment plan, or see
page 36 for numbers to call.



Printed information (free) State forms only

(Check individual boxes to order. Clip on the dotted line, then mail
in the entire list with your return address. These forms and circulars
are also available on the Internet.)

Alternative Energy Devices 150-101-641
Amended Form 40X and instructions 150-101-046
Computing Interest on Tax You Owe 150-800-691
Credit for Income Tax Paid to

Other States 150-101-646
Oregon Deferral of Reinvested Gain 150-101-614
Depreciation form 150-101-025
Elderly Rental Assistance booklet 150-545-002
Estimated Tax circular 150-101-648
Estimated Tax coupons 150-101-026-2

and instructions 150-101-026
Home Care for the Elderly Credit 150-101-653
Interest and Dividends on

U.S. Bonds and Notes 150-101-615
Interstate Transportation Wages 150-101-601
Limit on Itemized Deductions 150-101-611
Married Persons Filing Separate

Returns 150-101-656
Military Personnel Filing Information 150-101-657

Habla Español?
Las personas que necesitan asistencia en Español pueden
dejar un mensaje. El número disponible todo el año en
Salem es (503) 945-8618.

A message line is available all year for those who need as-
sistance in Spanish. The number in Salem is (503) 945-8618.

To get forms
Income tax booklets are available at many post offices,
banks, and libraries. Or write to: Forms, Oregon Depart-
ment of Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990.
Our Internet address is: http://www.dor.state.or.us

The offices below provide forms and answer questions.
Don’t send your return to these addresses.

Salem* Portland**
Revenue Building Federal Building Lobby
First floor, Room 135 1220 SW Third Ave.
955 Center St. NE Portland Oregon
Salem OR 97310

* 7:45 A.M.– 5 P.M. Monday–Friday, except holidays.
**We’ll provide walk-in help from 9 A.M.– 4 P.M., Monday–Friday, ex-

cept holidays, January 2–April 15 only.

Correspondence. Use the Salem address above. Include
your Social Security number and a daytime telephone
number. Including both will allow us to help you faster.

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act
(ADA), this information is available in alternative formats
upon request by calling (503) 378-4988.

Do you need help?

Call: Salem (503) 378-4988

Toll-free within Oregon 1-800-356-4222
The toll-free number is only available January
through April.

For touchtone phones, our telephone voice response
system has recorded tax information about many of your
Oregon tax questions. You can also order tax forms. This
service is available 24 hours a day.

Once you’re in the system, push:

1—For personal income tax refund information (begin-
ning March l).

2—To order current year or amended forms. (Some
federal forms available.)

6—For other information.

0—For assistance from a representative.

Representatives are available: 7:30 A.M.–5:10 P.M.
Monday–Friday, except Wednesday when the
hours are 9 A.M.–5:10 P.M. Closed on holidays. From
April 1–April 15, representatives are available from
7 A.M.–7 P.M., Monday–Friday.

TTY (hearing or speech impaired only). These numbers
are answered by machine only and are not for voice
use. The year-round, toll-free number within Oregon is
1-800-886-7204. In Salem, the number is (503) 945-8617.

✂
Oregon Income Tax Withholding:

Some Special Cases 150-206-643
Political Contributions 150-101-662
Record Keeping Requirements 150-101-608
Retirement Income 150-101-673
Senior Citizen’s Property Tax

Deferral 150-310-675
What To Do if You are Audited 150-101-607
Your Rights as an Oregon

Taxpayer 150-800-406
List of other printed information:

Forms/Publications Request 150-800-390

Send to: Forms
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999
Salem OR 97309-0990

Please print

Your name ____________________________________

Address ______________________________________

City __________________________________________

State ______________________ ZIP ____________

Taxpayer assistance

36/How to get help 150-101-043 (Rev. 12-97)


