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INSTRUCTIONS FOR 1998 FORM 10
Underpayment of 1998 Oregon Estimated Tax

General Information

Oregon law requires some taxpayers to make estimated tax pay-
ments. Interest is charged on underpayments or late payments. See
Part 1 for exceptions to the interest charges.

File Form 10 to:

= Claim one of the exceptions to the interest charge.
= Show no interest due.

= Figure the amount you underpaid.

= Figure the amount of interest due.

You must file Form 10 if you meet an exception. Be sure to check
the box on Form 40 line 50; or Form 40N or 40P, line 69 to indi-
cate that Form 10 is attached to your return.

Do | owe interest on underpayment of 1998
estimated tax payments?

You may owe interest for underpayment of estimated tax if you owe
$500 or more on your 1998 Oregon income tax return (Form 40,
line 48; or Form 40N or 40P, line 67),

AND
Your total income tax withheld from 1998 income was less than:

< Method 1—1998 Tax
90 percent of your 1998 net income tax. The net income tax is
your Oregon tax after all credits, but before withholding or esti-
mated tax.
OR

= Method 2—1997 Tax

100 percent of the net income tax shown on your 1997 Oregon
income tax return (110 percent of net tax if the adjusted gross
income shown on that return is more than $150,000, or if mar-
ried filing separately for 1998, more than $75,000). You can’t use
this method if you didn’t file a 1997 Oregon return. Do not
reduce your net income tax by the amount of tax withheld from
your income, estimated tax payments made, or payments made
with an extension request.

OR

= Method 3—Tax on 1998 Annualized Income
90 percent of your tax on 1998 annualized income.

If your 1998 Oregon withholding was at least as much as any of
the amounts under these methods, you do not owe interest on
underpayment of estimated tax. This is true even if you owe $500
with your return. To avoid any interest charge, complete Form 10,
Part 2 and file with your return.

Instructions (Form 10, page 1)

The following instructions are for lines not fully explained on the
form.

PART 1—Exceptions to paying interest

Exception 1—Farmers and commercial fishers.

If at least two-thirds (66.7 percent) of your 1997 or 1998 total gross
income is from farming or fishing, you don't have to pay under-

150-101-031 (Rev. 9-98)

payment interest. But, you will have to file Form 10 with your 1998
Oregon income tax return to show you meet this exception. Check
the box on Form 10 and circle the year that qualifies you. Your
Oregon return is not due until April 15, 1999, even if you were
required to file your federal return earlier.

Gross income includes items such as wages, interest, and dividends.
It also includes gross profit from rentals, royalties, businesses, farm-
ing, fishing, and the sale of property. Don’t subtract expenses,
except cost of goods sold, when figuring gross profit. Do subtract
basis or cost to figure profit on the sale of property.

Farmers. Use the amounts on the following lines of both your 1997
and 1998 federal income tax returns to determine your gross
income from farming:

= Federal Schedule F, line 11;

« Federal Schedule E, line 41;

= Federal Form 4797, line 20. (Include only gains from sales of draft,
breeding, dairy, or sporting livestock.)

Fishers. Use the amounts on the following lines of both your 1997
and 1998 federal income tax returns to determine your gross
income from fishing:

= Federal Schedule C, line 5;
= Federal Schedule C-EZ, line 1;
« Federal Schedule E, line 41.

Exception 2—Prior year.
You meet this exception if all of the following are true:

= Your net income tax for 1997 was -0- or you were not required
to file a return for 1997.

= You were a full-year Oregon resident in 1997.

= Your tax year was a full 12 months.

1997 net income tax is your Oregon income tax after tax credits,
but before withholding, estimated tax payments, or payments made
with an extension.

Note: If you were a nonresident or a part-year resident in 1997,
you can't use this exception. However, you may be able to use
Method 2 to figure your required annual payment. See the instruc-
tions in Part 2.

Exception 3—Retired or disabled, and have a reasonable
cause.

You meet this exception if:

=There was reasonable cause for underpaying your estimated tax,
and

— You retired at age 62 or older during 1997 or 1998, or
— You became disabled during 1997 or 1998.

Reasonable cause will be decided on a case-by-case basis.
Examples: unexpected absence from the state prior to the due date
of the estimated payment or reasonable reliance on incorrect facts
or advice. The extent of your effort to comply with the law will be
considered. Attach a statement explaining the cause to be consid-
ered for the exception. Label the statement “Form 10 Attachment”
in the center at the top of the page. We ask that you use blue ink.

Exception 4—Underpayment due to unusual circumstances.

No interest is due if your underpayment is due to a casualty, disas-
ter, or other unusual circumstance. Unusual circumstances will be
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determined on a case-by-case basis. The extent of your effort to
comply with the law will be considered. The casualty, disaster, or
other unusual circumstance must make it unfair to impose interest.
Some examples that may qualify: death or serious illness; or books
and records destroyed by fire, flood, or other natural disaster.
Attach a statement explaining the cause to be considered for the
exception. Label the statement “Form 10 Attachment” in the center
at the top of the page. We ask that you use blue ink.

Exception 5—S corporation shareholders.

No interest is due on your underpayment attributable to S corpora-
tion income in which you are a shareholder if:

= The underpayment was attributable to S corporation income, and
= The income is for the first year in which S corporation status is
elected,
and

— You are a nonresident for 1998, or
— You are a full-year resident for 1998 and you were a part-year
resident for 1997.

PART 2—Figure your required annual payment

Line 1. Fill in your net income tax after tax credits but before with-
holding and estimated tax payments (Form 40, line 43; or Form 40N
or 40P, line 62).

Line 3. Fill in only your Oregon income tax withheld from income.
Don’t include any estimated tax payments.

Line 5. Enter the tax shown on your 1997 return (110 percent of
that amount if the adjusted gross income shown on that return is
more than $150,000. If you are married filing separately for 1998,
use 110 percent of your 1997 tax if your 1997 adjusted gross
income is more than $75,000). Use the 1997 tax after credits shown
on your 1997 tax return. (This is the amount shown on: Form 40S,
line 23; Form 40, line 43; Form 40N, line 62; or Form 40P, line 61.)

“Adjusted gross income” for 1997 is the amount shown on: Form
40, line 8; or Form 40N or 40P, line 29b.

If you did not file a return for 1997, or if your 1997 tax year was
less than 12 months, do not complete line 5. Instead, enter the
amount from line 2 on line 6. Note: Individuals who were part-
year residents or nonresidents in 1997 generally have “tax years”
of 12 months and may use the tax shown on their 1997 Form 40N
or 40P.

PART 3—Figure your underpayment
Line 7. You have two options:

Option 1. Divide line 6 by four and enter the amount in each
column.

Did you move in or out of Oregon in 1998? If so, use
the columns that correspond to the dates you lived in
Oregon. Divide the amount on line 6 by the number of
periods you were a resident of Oregon. Example: if you
moved to Oregon on July 1, divide line 6 by two. Fill
in columns C and D only.

Option 2. Annualize your income using the Annualized Income
Worksheet on the back of Form 10. This method may
benefit part-year residents and those who don't receive
their income evenly throughout the year.

Line 8. Fill in estimated tax payments and income taxes withheld
from your wages, pension, etc. Withholding is considered to be paid
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in equal amounts on the required payment dates (usually four),
unless you prove otherwise. If you worked all year, divide your
withholding by four and enter the amount in each column.

Complete lines 9 through 12 of the first column before going to
the next column.

Column A:
Line 9. Don'’t enter an amount here.

Line 10. Enter the amount from line 8, column A. Is line 10 more
than line 7? If yes, go to line 11. If no, go to line 12.

Line 11. You paid more than the required installment for this
period. Subtract line 7 from line 10 and enter that amount here. Enter
the same amount on line 9 of column B and go to the instructions
for column B.

Line 12. You have an underpayment for this period. Subtract line
10 from line 7 and enter that amount here. Enter -0- on line 9 of
column B and go to the instructions for column B.

Column B:
Line 9. Enter the amount (if any) from line 11 of column A.

Line 10. Add lines 8 and 9 and enter the amount here. Is line 10
more than line 7? If yes, go to line 11. If no, go to line 12.

Line 11. You paid more than the required installment for this
period. Subtract line 7 from line 10 and enter that amount here. Enter
the same amount on line 9 of column C and go to the instructions
for column C.

Line 12. You have an underpayment for this period. Subtract line
10 from line 7 and enter that amount here. Enter -0- on line 9 of
column C and go to the instructions for column C.

Column C:
Line 9. Enter the amount (if any) from line 11 of column B.

Line 10. Add lines 8 and 9 and enter the amount here. Is line 10
more than line 7? If yes, go to line 11. If no, go to line 12.

Line 11. You paid more than the required installment for this
period. Subtract line 7 from line 10 and enter that amount here. Enter
the same amount on line 9 of column D and go to the instructions
for column D.

Line 12. You have an underpayment for this period. Subtract line
10 from line 7 and enter that amount here. Enter -0- on line 9 of
column D and go to the instructions for column D.

Column D:
Line 9. Enter the amount (if any) from line 11 of column C.

Line 10. Add lines 8 and 9 and enter the amount here. Is line 10
more than line 7? If yes, go to line 11. If no, go to line 12.

Line 11. You paid more than the required installment for this
period. Subtract line 7 from line 10 and enter that amount here. Go
to the instructions for line 13.

Line 12. You have an underpayment for this period. Subtract line
10 from line 7 and enter that amount here. Go to the instructions
for line 13.

Line 13. To figure the interest you owe, use the amounts from line
12 to complete the Interest Worksheet on page 4.



Instructions For Annualized Income Worksheet (Form 10, page 2)

Note: Part-year residents—you need to start with the column that
corresponds to the date you moved to Oregon.

Line 1. Enter your adjusted gross income earned or received dur-
ing the dates shown at the top of each column.

Example 1: Scott received wages for the entire year of 1998. He
also received a lump sum distribution of $25,000 from his IRA on
July 19, 1998. Scott would include the total amount of the distribu-
tion in columns C and D only. He would include the wages he
earned during the dates shown in the corresponding column.

Example 2: Same situation as in example 1, except Scott received
the lump sum distribution on April 25, 1998. In this case, he would
enter the distribution in columns B, C, and D.

Line 2. Enter the amount of Oregon additions received or incurred
during the dates shown at the top of each column.

Example: Carol has an Oregon addition of $6,000 for California
bond interest received in September 1998. Carol would enter the
$6,000 in column D. However, if she received the bond interest at
$500 a month, she would enter $1,500 (for 3 months) in column A,
$2,500 (for 5 months) in column B, $4,000 (for 8 months) in
column C, and the $6,000 in column D (for 12 months).

Line 6. Enter the amount of Oregon subtractions paid or incurred
during the dates shown at the top of each column.

Line 9. Compute your federal tax subtraction on your annualized
income using the Federal Tax Subtraction Worksheet below.

Line 11. Enter only the amount of your Oregon itemized deduc-
tions incurred during the dates shown at the top of each column.
Your total Oregon itemized deductions are on Form 40, line 25.

Example 1: Generally, home mortgage interest is a deduction paid
evenly throughout the year. Therefore, you would have 3 months
of home mortgage interest in column A (January, February, and
March), 5 months in column B, 8 months in column C, and all 12
months of interest in column D.

Example 2: Medical expenses claimed as medical deductions are
not incurred evenly throughout the tax year. For example, Jill had
a hospital bill that she made deductible payments on in 1998. She
made a payment of $990 in April, another of $1,995 in June, and
the final payment of $2,271 in October. (All amounts are after the
7.5 percent federal AGI limitation.) Jill will enter the $990 payment
in column B. The April payment plus the June $1,995 payment
(totaling $2,985) will go in column C. In column D, she will enter
$5,256, the total deductible amount of all three payments.

Line 14. If you are married filing separately, and your spouse item-
izes deductions, the amount on this line is -0-. You must itemize
your deductions.

Line 18. Use the tax tables or the tax rate chart from the Oregon
tax booklet. Line 17 is your annualized Oregon taxable income for
each column.

Line 20. Enter credit amounts that apply only to each period.

Example: Sam installed an alternative energy device on Septem-
ber 4. He qualifies for a credit of $160. Sam would include $160 in
column D only.

Federal Tax Subtraction Worksheet (Line 9)

1.
2.
3.
4.

10.

11.
12.

13.

14.

Enter the amount of your federal AGI for each period......................
ANNUAlIZatioN aMOUNES .......cviiiiiiiiie e
Multiply line 2 BY liN€ 2 ..cvicvieieeceece e

Actual federal itemized deductions for each period.
If you do not itemize, skip to line 7 of this worksheet......................

ANNUALIZatioN aMOUNES ........ocvviiiiiiec et
Multiply 1in€ 4 DY liNE 5 ..o

Enter the full amount of your 1998 federal standard deduction
iN €aCh COIUMN ..o e

Enter line 6 or line 7, whichever is larger ...
LiN€ 3 mMINUS TINE 8 ....eeeieeeeeee et

1998 Federal exemption amount (Form 1040, line 38, or

Form 1040A, TINE 23) ..ociiiiieiecieee sttt 10

LiNE 9 MINUS TINE 10 ..occviiiieiiei e 11

Compute the federal tax for each period using

the federal tax tables .........ccccveviiiiiiice e 12

Enter $1,500 if you are married filing separately, or $3,000

for any other filing Status ...........ccooiiiiiii e 13

Enter the lesser of line 12 or line 13. Also enter this amount in

each column on line 9 of the Annualized Income Worksheet ........ 14

(A) Jan 1 (B)Jan 1 (C)lJan 1 (D) Jan 1
to Mar 31 to May 31 to Aug 31 to Dec 31
4 2.4 1.5 1
4 2.4 15 1
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Interest Worksheet and Instructions (keep this worksheet for your records)

Line 3. Enter the date you paid the underpayment of estimated tax.
Your payment will be applied to the oldest underpayment first. The
latest date that can be entered in each column is the due date of
the return, April 15, 1999.

If you paid the underpayment before the due date of the return,
enter the date you made the payment. If you paid the underpay-
ment after the due date of the return, enter April 15, 1999.

Lines 4 and 8. Enter the number of full months from the payment
period due date on line 1 of this worksheet to the date on line 3.

Lines 6, and 10. Enter the number of remaining days left until the
date you made your payment.

Example: if you didn’t pay the amount that was due on April 15
until June 8, count this way:

April 16 to May 15 = 1 month (this number is on line 4, column A)
May 16 to June 8 = 24 days (this number is on line 6, column A)

Line 13. Enter this amount on Form 10, line 13.

Payment period—due date
Amount of underpayment for each period (line 12, Form 10)

Number of full months before January 16, 1999
Multiply line 4 x the amount on line 2 x .008333

© N oGk wDNRE

Multiply line 8 x the amount on line 2 x .0075
Number of remaining days after January 15, 1999

=
N P O

. Add lines 5, 7, 9 and 11

-
w

Number of remaining days before January 16, 1999 ................
Multiply line 6 x the amount on line 2 x .000274......................
Number of full months after January 15, 1999..........ccccccevvenne

. Multiply line 10 x the amount on line 2 x .000247 ...................

Date you paid underpayment or April 15, 1999, whichever is earlier 3

Total interest due. Add the amounts in columns A through D on line 12. Fill in here and on Form 10, line 13

A B C D
April 15, 1998 | June 15, 1998 | Sept. 15, 1998 | Jan. 15, 1999

Taxpayer assistance

Do you need help?

Telephone: Salem 503-378-4988
1-800-356-4222

The toll-free number is only available January
through April.

Toll-free within Oregon

For touch-tone phones, our telephone voice response
system has recorded tax information about many of your
Oregon tax questions. You also may order tax forms. This
service is available 24 hours a day.

Once you're in the system, push:
1 For current year personal income tax refund informa-
tion (beginning March I).

To order current year or amended forms. (Some
federal forms available.)

© For other information.
O For assistance from a representative:
7:30 Am.—5:10 p.m.
9 Am.—5:10 pP.m.
7 AM~7 P.M.

Monday-Friday*
*Except Wednesday
April 1-April 15, Monday-Friday
Closed on holidays
TTY (hearing or speech impaired only). These numbers are
answered by machine only and are not for voice use.

The year-round, toll-free number within Oregon is
1-800-886-7204. In Salem, the number is 503-945-8617.
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Habla Espafiol? Linea de mensaje. Las personas que
necesitan asistencia en Espafiol pueden dejar un mensaje. El
namero disponible todo el afio en Salem es 503-945-8618.

A message line is available all year for those who need assis-
tance in Spanish. The number in Salem is 503-945-8618.

Correspondence. Use the Salem address below. Include
your Social Security number and a daytime telephone num-
ber. Including both will allow us to help you faster.

To get forms

Internet; www.dor.state.or.us

Income tax booklets are available at many post offices, banks,
and libraries. Or write to: Forms, Oregon Department of
Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990.

Forms and assistance are available at these offices. Don’t
send your return to these addresses.

Portland**
Federal Bldg. Lobby
1220 SW Third Ave.

Salem*

Revenue Building
First floor, Room 135
955 Center St. NE

* 7:45 a.m.—5 p.m. Monday-Friday, except holidays.
** January 4-April 15: We'll provide walk-in help from 9 Am.—4 p.m.,
Monday-Friday, except holidays.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). In compliance
with ADA, this information is available in alternative formats
upon request by calling 503-378-4988.



