Oregon
Individual
Income Tax
Return

405

Form

2000

FULL-YEAR
RESIDENTS ONLY

For office use only

Date received

SHORT FORM
Last name First name and initial Enter your Social Security No. (SSN) Birth year Eor office
— — use only
Spouse’s last name if different and joint return Spouse’s first name and initial if joint return | Enter spouse’s SSN, if joint return Spouse’s 1
— — birth year
Current mailing address Telephone number 2
City State ZIP code If you filed a return in 1999, and this I:I 3
address is different, check here
Filing 1 [ single Exemptions SevBrely
L4 o Regular disabled Total
Status 2 [ ] Married filing jointly 6a Yourself 5
a
3 Married filing separatel
Check D I fing sep Y (Spouse’s name) 6b Spouse b
only one
box (Spouse’s Social Security number) 6c All dependents (First names) c
4[] Head of household ) o d
(Person who qualifies you) 6d Disabled e
H rst names,
5 [ qualifying widow(er) with dependent child children only (7 ) Total e Gel:l

7 Check if: You were:

[ [
|:| 65 or older |:| Blind
Spouse was: [] 65orolder [ ] Blind

If someone else can claim you
as a dependent, check here

Check if you filed
an extension

Check here to donate your kicker
refund to the School Fund

]

8 Wages, salaries, tips, commissions, and other pay for work 8
9 Interest: 9a plus Dividends: 9b 9
10 Unemployment compensation. See instructions, page 9 10
11 Total income. Add lines 8 through 10 11 |
12 2000 federal tax liability. ($0 - $3,000, see instructions for the correct amount) o 12
13 Standard deduction from the back of this form 13
14 Add lines 12 and 13 14
15 Oregon taxable income. Line 11 minus line 14. If line 14 is more than line 11, fill in -0- _._® e 15
16 Tax from tables, pages 21 through 23 » 16
g 17 EXEMPTION CREDIT. Multiply your total exemptions on line 6e by $139 17
< 18 Earned income credit. See instructions, page 10 18
g 19 Working family credit. See instructions, page 10 19
» 20 Child and dependent care credit. See instructions, page 10 20
% 21 Other credits (see instructions). Identify . . o 21
= 22 Total credits. Add lines 17 through 21 22
q 23 Net income tax. Line 16 minus line 22. If line 22 is more than line 16, fill in -0- ... L e 23
% 24 Oregon tax withheld from income. Attach your Form(s) W-2 and 1099
= 25 REFUND. If line 24 is more than line 23, you have a refund. Line 24 minus line 23 REFUND e 25
g 26 TAX-TO-PAY. Ifline 23 is more than line 24, you have tax to pay. Line 23 minus 24 TAX-TO-PAY @ 26
| wish to donate part of my tax refund to the following fund(s):
27 Oregon Nongame Wildlife ... [Is1, [1$5 [%10, []others ® 27
28 Child Abuse Prevention ... Os1, [Js$5 [1%10, []other$ ° 28 These will
29 Alzheimer's Disease Research . [ls1, [s$s5 [s10, [Jothers e 29 reduce
30 Stop Domestic & Sexual Violence ........ [Js1, [1$5 [1%10, []Others e 30 your refund
31 AIDS/HIV Education and Services ...... [ls1, [s$s5 [s10, [Jothers e 31
32 Other charity. Enter code ® ~Os1, [Is$5, [1%10, []others o 32
33 Total donations. Add lines 27 through 32. Total can't be more than your refund on line 25 33
34 NET REFUND. Line 25 minus line 33. This is your net refund NET REFUND 34

Under penalties for false swearing, | declare that | have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements. To the best of my knowledge and be-
lief it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person other than the taxpayer, this declaration is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

sien | U
HERE
[

Your signature

Date

Signature of preparer other than taxpayer

License No.

Spouse’s signature (If filing jointly, BOTH must sign even if only one had income)

Address

150-101-044 (Rev. 9-00) Web




Your standard deduction
for line 13, Form 40S

Generally, your standard deduction is based on your filing status as
follows:

SINGIE oo $1,800
Married filing jointly .........cccccoviveiniiee e 3,000
Married filing separately .........ccccccvvvverinenennnn 1,500
Head of household ...........cccooviiiiiiiiiiis 2,640
Qualifying Widow(er) .....c.cocovvvveviniiere e 3,000

If you can be claimed as a dependent on another person’s
return, your standard deduction is limited to the greater of:

1. Your earned income plus $250, but no more than the maxi-
mum allowed for your filing status, as shown above, or

2. $700.

This limit applies even if the other person can, but does not,
claim you as a dependent on his or her return.

Age 65 or older, or blind:

Each taxpayer and each spouse who is age 65 or older is allowed an
additional deduction amount. Each taxpayer and each spouse who is
blind is also allowed an additional deduction amount. The additional
amount is based on your filing status:

Single or Head of household—$1,200
All others—$1,000

Example. Alberto and Anna are filing a joint return. Alberto is 70
years old and blind. Anna is 68. Their standard deduction is figured
as follows:

Married filing jointly .........cccooeviiiiiiciieeceee, $3,000
Plus amount due to Alberto’s age .................... 1,000
Plus amount due to Anna’s age.........cccceeveenee. 1,000
Plus amount due to Alberto’s blindness .......... 1,000
Total standard deduction ..........cccccceevvveieeeennen. $6,000

Fill in your total standard deduction on Form 40S, line 13.

Make check or money order payable to Oregon Department of Revenue.
Write your Social Security number and “2000 Form 40S” on your payment.

Mail tax-to-pay returns to: Mail refund and no tax due returns to:
Oregon Department of Revenue Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14555 PO Box 14700

Salem OR 97309-0940 Salem OR 97309-0930




