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EXTENSION FORM

Use the new Oregon
extension form if you need
more time to file. See page 5
for information.

PAYMENT COUPON

Send the new payment
coupon when making your
tax payment. See page 37.

STANDARD
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The standard deduction
amounts have changed.
See page 30.

Individual Income Tax Forms 40S and 40 with Instructions
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Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555

! Before you file ...
The January 28, 2003, Oregon special
election may affect how you file your 2002
tax return.

• To speed processing of your return, please wait
to file until after the election results are known.

• Two sets of tax tables and tax rate charts are
included in this booklet—one for each possible
election result.

• After the January 28 election: If you are not
sure which tax table or tax rate chart to use,
visit www.dor.state.or.us or call us. See page 40.

2002 OREGON FULL-YEAR

RESIDENT

The election results are in.

Use the purple tax tables and charts.

The green tables and charts have been removed.
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Electronic filing

Electronic filing (e-file) is
a fast, efficient, and accu-
rate way to file. This year,
we recommend that you
wait to file federal and
state electronic returns
until after the January 28 election results are known.
When processing begins after the election results are
known, you may receive your Oregon refund in as few
as 7–12 business days.

For more information about how electronic filing works,
see page 40 to order the information circular, Oregon Elec-
tronic Filing. Or, download it from our Web site.

IMPORTANT!
Please read before filing

The January 28, 2003, Oregon special election may affect
how you file your 2002 tax return. Please wait to file
your tax return until after election results are known.

The 2001 Oregon Legislature referred a temporary
income tax increase to Oregon voters for tax years
2002, 2003, and 2004, to be voted on in a January 28
special election. Because this special election affects
tax year 2002, the department will begin processing
returns after the election results are known. Filing
before election results are known could delay the
processing of your return.

In order to have as much information to you as pos-
sible in a timely manner, the Department of Rev-
enue included two sets of tax tables and rate charts
in the booklet this year—one for each possible elec-
tion result:

• Use the purple tax tables or tax rate charts on
pages 21–23 if the tax rate increase fails.

• Use the green tax tables or tax rate charts on
pages 24–26 if the tax rate increase passes.

After the January 28 election: If you are not sure of
the outcome of the election or which tax tables or
rate charts to use, visit our Web site for details at
www.dor.state.or.us. Or, call us for information. See
page 40 for numbers to call.
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These instructions aren’t a complete statement of
laws and Oregon Department of Revenue rules.
You may need more information. See page 40.

In addition, file a return if:
• You are required to file a federal return.
• You had $1 or more of Oregon income tax withheld

from your wages.

*The larger of $750 or your earned income plus $250, up to
your standard deduction amount.

Single
Under 65

65 or over

$4,430

$5,630

Head of household Under 65

65 or over

$5,540

$6,740

Married, joint return

Both under 65

One 65 or over

Both 65 or over

$8,850

$9,850

$10,850

Qualifying widow(er)
Under 65

65 or over

$6,180

$7,180

Filing status Age If gross income
is more than:

Single, can be claimed
on another’s return

Any $750*

Married,
separate return

Under 65
65 or over

$4,430

$5,430

Amounts apply to full-year residents only.

Do I need to file?

Contents
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Important reminders
Federal law. Oregon is permanently tied to the defini-
tion of taxable income in federal law. Most items are
treated the same way on your Oregon and federal
returns. This includes the federal 30 percent bonus de-
preciation; net operating loss carryback and carryover
provisions; elective deferral contribution increases; and
exemption of college savings plan earnings from in-
come. Oregon will automatically adopt any future fed-
eral law changes to the definition of taxable income.

Direct deposit. The Department of Revenue can deposit
your refund directly into your account at most banks or
other financial institutions. If you choose direct deposit,
contact your bank to make sure that your deposit will
be accepted and to get your correct routing and account
numbers. The Department of Revenue is not respon-
sible if your bank rejects your deposit. We will issue you
a paper check if the bank rejects the direct deposit. See
page 12 or 38 for more information.

Oregon Qualified Tuition Savings Program (QTSP).
Contributions you make to an Oregon qualified tuition
savings plan may be subtracted on your Oregon return.
The subtraction is limited to $2,000 per tax year. See
page 30 for more information about the subtraction. For
information about the qualified tuition savings plans in
Oregon, call 503-378-2882. Or, visit the State Treasury’s
Web site at www.ost.state.or.us.

Like-kind exchanges. Did you exchange property for
property located outside of Oregon during the tax year?

New information
Tax rate change. There may be a tax rate increase for
2002. The tax rates will not be known until after the
January 28, 2003, Oregon special election. See page 2 for
more information.

Payment coupon, Form RPC.  Oregon now provides a
payment coupon to use when you have tax to pay. Form
RPC is similar to the federal coupon and is easy to com-
plete. See page 37.

Oregon extension form. An Oregon extension form is now
available. If you need more time to file, use Form 40-EXT
to make a tax payment to Oregon or to file an extension
for Oregon only. See page 5 for more information.

Federal tax subtraction. The deduction for your 2002
federal tax liability has changed. See page 9 or 28 for
more information.

Standard deduction amounts. The standard deduc-
tion amounts changed for 2002. See page 9 or 30.

New tax credits. The 2001 Oregon Legislature approved
several new credits and changes to existing credits. See
page 35.

Oregon Cultural Trust credit. A credit is allowed for
amounts you contributed beginning December 2002 to
the Oregon Cultural Trust, up to $500 or your tax liabil-
ity, whichever is less. Contact the Secretary of State’s
Office for more information. Or, visit the trust’s Web
site at www.culturaltrust.org.

Farm income averaging. You can use the federal farm
income averaging method to compute Oregon personal
income tax on farm income, even if you didn’t on your
federal return. See page 31 for more information.

Reduced tax rate on liquidation of farm assets. A
reduced tax rate is available to certain taxpayers who sold
or exchanged capital assets used in farming. See page 31
for more information about farm asset capital gain.

If so, Oregon’s tax treatment is the same as your fed-
eral tax treatment in all cases. This is true even if you
become a nonresident of Oregon. You will need to file
Oregon Form 24, Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary Con-
versions. Please see page 40 to order the form.

Oregon tax credits. When claiming an Oregon tax
credit, you must claim the maximum credit allowable
each year, up to your tax liability.

Blue or black ink. Please use blue or black ink for easier
reading and faster processing. Equipment used to scan
documents cannot read certain types and colors of ink,
especially gel pens and red ink. Thank you.

Working Student Web site.
The Oregon Department of
Revenue’s “5 Easy Steps to
Cash” Web site helps working
students file their Oregon per-
sonal income tax returns and
understand the state’s tax system. You qualify to pre-
pare your return on the student Web site if:

• You lived in Oregon for all of 2002; and

• You were single with no children as of December 31,
2002; and

• Someone else can claim you as a dependent; and

• You only worked in Oregon in 2002; and

• You had income only from your job(s) and/or interest.

www.steps2cash.org

New information
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General information
What income does Oregon tax?

An Oregon resident is taxed on all income, including
income from outside the state. A nonresident of Oregon
is taxed only on income from Oregon sources.

Residency

Am I a resident, a nonresident, or a part-year resident?
The following will help you decide.

• You are a full-year Oregon resident, even if you live
outside Oregon, if all of the following are true:
— You think of Oregon as your permanent home; and
— Oregon is the center of your financial, social, and

family life; and
— Oregon is the place you intend to come back to

when you are away.

You are still a full-year resident if:
— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary

absence.

You may also be considered a full-year resident if you
spend more than 200 days in Oregon during the tax year.

• You are a nonresident if your permanent home is out-
side Oregon all year.

• You are a part-year resident if you moved into or out
of Oregon during the tax year. You are not a part-year
resident if:
— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary

absence.

Special-case Oregon residents. You are considered a
nonresident if all of the following are true:

• You are an Oregon resident who maintained a perma-
nent home outside Oregon the entire year, and

• You didn’t keep a home in Oregon during any part
of the year, and

• You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during the year.

Oregon residents living abroad. Generally, if you
qualify for the federal earned income or housing exclu-
sion for United States residents living abroad, you are
considered a nonresident.

Filing status

Generally, you must use the same filing status for your
Oregon and federal returns.

Exceptions for married persons when spouses are:

• Full-year resident and part-year resident. You may file
separate Oregon returns. The full-year resident files

Form 40, and the part-year resident files Form 40P. If you
choose to file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40P.

• Full-year resident and nonresident. You may file sepa-
rate Oregon returns. The full-year resident files Form
40, and the nonresident files Form 40N. If you choose
to file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N.

• Part-year resident and nonresident. You may file sepa-
rate Oregon returns. The part-year resident files Form
40P, and the nonresident files Form 40N. If you
choose to file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N.

See page 40 to order the Part-Year Resident and Nonresi-
dent booklet or the information circular, Married Persons
Filing Separate Returns.

Military personnel

Residents stationed in Oregon. If you are an Oregon
resident stationed in Oregon, file Form 40.

Residents stationed outside Oregon. If you are an
Oregon resident stationed outside Oregon, you may file
Form 40N from the Part-Year Resident and Nonresident
booklet if you meet the requirements for special-case
Oregon residents or Oregon residents living abroad. See
“Residency” on this page.

Write “Military nonresident” at the top left corner of
your Form 40N in blue or black ink.

File Form 40 if you don’t meet the listed requirements.

Nonresidents stationed in Oregon. Oregon doesn’t tax
your military pay while you are stationed in Oregon. File
Form 40N if you or your spouse had income from other
Oregon sources or to claim a refund of Oregon tax with-
held from your military pay. Nonresident members of
reserve units or the Oregon National Guard may exclude
only active duty pay.

Need more information? See page 40 to order the Part-
Year Resident and Nonresident booklet and the informa-
tion circular, Military Personnel Filing Information. Or,
see the military information under “Q & A” on our
Web site.

Filing for a deceased person

See “Do I need to file?” on page 2 to determine if a re-
turn must be filed for an individual who is deceased.
If you are filing a return and claiming a refund for
someone who is now deceased, file Form 243, Claim to
Refund Due a Deceased Person, with the return. This will
allow the department to issue the refund check in your
name. Call the department to order this form. If you are
a court-appointed or certified personal representative,
Form 243 is not needed.

General information
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What form do I use?

Use Form 40S if ALL of the following are true:
• You are a full-year Oregon resident; and
• Your income is only from wages, interest, ordinary

dividends, unemployment, fellowship grants, and
taxable scholarships not used to pay for housing; and

• You do not have pension or annuity income or IRA
distributions; and

• You claim the standard deduction on your return; and
• Your Oregon taxable income is $50,000 or less; and
• You do not owe penalty or interest; and
• You did not pay estimated tax during the year.

If you are a working student, you may be eligible to
complete Form 40S using our working student Web site.
See page 3 for more information.

Use Form 40 if BOTH of the following are true:
• You are a full-year Oregon resident, and
• You can’t use Form 40S.

Use Form 40 if any ONE of the following is true:
• You received Social Security, pension, or annuity

income; or
• You used taxable scholarship income for housing and

you qualify for the Oregon subtraction; or
• You paid or should have paid estimated tax during

the year; or
• You have adjustments to income on Form 1040, line

34; or Form 1040A, line 20 (examples are alimony and
IRA deductions); or

• You have Oregon “additions” or “subtractions” other
than the federal tax subtraction (the most common
ones are listed on the return); or

• You itemize deductions on your Oregon return; or
• You are married filing separately and your spouse is

itemizing; or
• You are claiming tax credits other than the personal

exemption credit or those listed on pages 9, 10, and
11; or

• You are in the military and are claiming the subtrac-
tion for military active duty pay; or

• You owe penalty or interest; or
• You want to apply all or part of your refund to your

2003 estimated tax.

Use Form 40P if any ONE of the following is true:
• You are a part-year resident, or
• You are filing jointly and one spouse is a full-year

Oregon resident and one is a part-year resident, or
• You are filing jointly and both spouses are part-year

Oregon residents, or
• You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad for

part of the year.

Use Form 40N if any ONE of the following is true:
• You are a nonresident, or
• You are a special-case Oregon resident (see “Resi-

dency” on page 4), or

• You and your spouse are filing jointly and one (or
both) of you is a nonresident, or

• You meet the military personnel nonresident require-
ments explained on page 4, or

• You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad for
the entire year.

Forms 40P and 40N are included in the Part-Year Resi-
dent and Nonresident booklet. See page 40 to order.

When should I file my return?
File as soon as possible after the January 28 election re-
sults are known. The filing deadline for calendar year
2002 is April 15, 2003. If you can’t pay all of your tax by
the due date, file your return anyway to avoid additional
penalty. Payment plans are available. See page 39.

Returns for other tax periods are due by the 15th day of
the fourth month after the close of your tax year.

What if I need more time to file?
Generally, Oregon allows you the same extension you
have for your federal return. However, in some cases,
you will need to file the new Oregon extension form,
Form 40-EXT. See page 40 to order this form. The fol-
lowing will help you decide when you need to file Or-
egon Form 40-EXT:

• If you filed a federal extension, Form 4868, and you
expect to get a refund for Oregon:
— You do not need to file Form 40-EXT.
— Check box 7b on Form 40S or Form 40 when you

file your return.
— Keep a copy of your federal extension in your

records. You are not required to send us a copy of
your federal extension.

• If you did not file a federal extension but need more
time to file for Oregon only and you expect an Or-
egon refund:
— File Oregon Form 40-EXT. Enter -0- in the payment

amount box on the Form 40-EXT payment coupon
and mail the entire form to: Extension Clerk,
Oregon Department of Revenue, PO Box 14950,
Salem OR 97309-0980.

— Check box 7b on Form 40S or Form 40 when you
file your return.

— Keep a copy of your extension in your records.

• If you need more time to file for Oregon and you need
to make a tax payment to Oregon:
— File Oregon Form 40-EXT with your check or money

order. Detach the payment coupon from the Form
40-EXT. Send your Form 40-EXT payment coupon
and your check or money order by April 15, 2003,
to: Extension Clerk, Oregon Department of Rev-
enue, PO Box 14950, Salem OR 97309-0980.

— Check box 7b on Form 40S or Form 40 when you
file your return.

— Keep a copy of your extension in your records.

General information
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More time to file does not mean more time to pay!

You must pay any tax you expect to owe when you file
your extension. If you don’t pay all the tax due with
your extension, you will owe interest on the unpaid
balance after April 15, 2003, to the date of your pay-
ment. The current interest rate is 7 percent per year. If
the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the inter-
est rate increases to 11 percent per year.

Were you stationed in a designated combat zone?

Did you receive additional time to file your 2002 fed-
eral return? If so, Oregon allows the same additional
time to file. Write “combat zone” in blue or black ink
at the top of your return when you file it.

Penalties

You will owe a 5 percent penalty on any 2002 tax not
paid by April 15, 2003.

If you file more than three months after the due date or
extension due date, an additional 20 percent penalty
will be added; that is, you will owe a penalty of 25 per-
cent of any tax not paid.

Exception: You don’t have to pay a penalty if you do
all of the following:

1. Get an extension of time to file your return; and
2. Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due by April 15,

2003; and
3. Pay the balance of tax due when you file by the

extension deadline; and
4. Pay the interest on the balance of tax due when you

file or within 30 days of our billing date.

A 100 percent penalty is charged if you don’t file a re-
turn for three consecutive years by the due date of the
third year including extensions. The penalty is 100 per-
cent of the unpaid tax for each of the three years.

Interest on underpayment
of estimated tax

You may owe interest on underpayment of estimated
tax if:

• You owe $1,000 or more on your return after credits
and withholding, based on the 9 percent tax rate
(purple tables, pages 21–23); or

• You paid less than 90 percent of the tax due on each
estimated tax payment date for 2002, based on the 9
percent tax rate.

See the instructions for line 51 on page 36.

2003 estimated tax

Oregon estimated tax laws are not the same as fed-
eral estimated tax laws. Use Oregon instructions to
determine if you need to make estimated tax pay-
ments for 2003.

Estimated tax is the amount of tax you expect to owe
after credits and Oregon tax withheld when you file
your 2003 Oregon individual income tax return.

Who must make estimated tax payments?

In most cases, people who expect to owe $1,000 or more
on their 2003 Oregon income tax return must make esti-
mated payments. You may need to make estimated pay-
ments if:

• You are self-employed and don’t have Oregon tax
withheld from your income.

• You receive income such as pensions, interest, or divi-
dends and don’t have Oregon tax withheld from it.

• You are a wage earner and expect to owe tax of $1,000
or more on your 2003 return. You may want to increase
the amount your employer withholds from your
Oregon wages. If you and your spouse both work, call
the department to order the information circular,
Oregon Income Tax Withholding: Some Special Cases. See
page 40. Or, download it from our Web site.

How do I make estimated tax payments?

Send your payment with Form 40ES. See page 40 to
order estimated tax coupons, instructions, and the
information circular.

When do I pay?

The due dates are April 15, 2003*; June 16, 2003; Sep-
tember 15, 2003; and January 15, 2004.

* Please send your 2003 Oregon Form 40ES and payment in
a different envelope from your 2002 Oregon income tax re-
turn. This will help us credit your payment efficiently.

What if I am self-employed?

If you are self-employed and do business in Washington,
Multnomah, or Clackamas counties, you may need to file
Form TM, TriMet Self-Employment Tax Return. If you are
self-employed and do business in Lane County, you may
need to file Form LTD, Lane Transit District Self-Employment
Tax Return. Contact the department to order either of these
forms. Or, visit our Web site to download the forms.

Questions answered

May I round off cents to the nearest whole dollar?

You may round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on
your return and schedules. If you round off, do so for all
amounts. You may drop amounts less than 50 cents.
Increase amounts from 50 to 99 cents to the next dollar. For
example, $12.15 becomes $12 and $233.50 becomes $234.

Is my tax return private information?

Yes. All information provided on the return is confiden-
tial. Any Oregon Department of Revenue employee
who gives out unauthorized information about your
return may be convicted of a class C felony.

General information
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I’m moving. Will my refund check be forwarded to me?

Yes. If you move after you mail your return, let us know
your new address. Write to: Address Change, Oregon
Department of Revenue, 955 Center St NE, Salem OR
97301-2555. Or, you can call one of the numbers listed
on page 40. You should also file a change of address
form at your local post office.

What tax records do I need to keep?

Keep a complete copy of your federal and state returns
even if you use a tax practitioner or file electronically.
Also, keep the original of all receipts, canceled checks,
statements, and other records you used to prepare your
return. Save these records for at least three years from
the due date of the return or three years from the date
you file your return, whichever is later. If your return
is audited, the law says you must show proof of your
income and expenses.

Also, save all records from the sale or purchase of prop-
erty and investments. Keep these records for at least

three years after you report the gain or loss on the prop-
erty or investment.

For more information, see page 40 to order the informa-
tion circular, Record Keeping Requirements.

When do I need to file an amended Oregon return?

File Form 40X, Oregon Amended Individual Income Tax
Return, any time you need to correct your Oregon return.
Generally, you are allowed three years from the due date
of the return or the date the return was filed, whichever
is later, to file an amended return to claim a refund. If you
amend your federal or another state’s return, usually
you’ll need to amend your Oregon return. See page 40
to order Form 40X and instructions.

What if I’m audited by the IRS or another state?

If changes are made that increase your Oregon income
tax, file an amended return to report and pay additional
tax. If the changes reduce Oregon tax, you have two
years from the date of the audit report to claim a refund.

Instructions for Forms 40S and 40
Step 1: Select the appropriate form.
See page 5 to decide which form to use. Not everyone
may file Form 40S (short form).

Step 2: Fill out your federal form.

Do your federal return first. Use the information from
your federal return to complete your Oregon return.

Form 40 filers. You must attach a copy (front and back)
of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040NR,
or TeleFile Tax Record to your Oregon Form 40. Don’t
attach federal Schedule A, B, C, or D, or Form 2441,
etc. We may ask you for copies of schedules or addi-
tional information later.

See “What tax records do I need to keep?” above.

Step 3: Start the Oregon form.

Name and address

Please type or clearly print your name, address, tele-
phone number, and correct Social Security number on
your return.

Social Security number (SSN). The request for your SSN
is authorized by Section 405, Title 42, of the United
States Code. You must give us this information. It will
be used to establish your identity for tax purposes only.

Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN). If the
IRS has issued you an ITIN because you do not have a
Social Security number, enter your ITIN on your Oregon
tax return wherever your SSN is requested.

Birth year. Enter the four digits of the year you were
born. For example, “1943.”

Check the boxes

Filing status

Check the box next to your filing status. Check the same
filing status you checked on your federal return. If you
and your spouse don’t have the same residency status,
you may file separate returns for Oregon even if you
filed your federal return as married filing jointly. See
page 4 for additional information.

If you are married filing separately, fill in your spouse’s
name and Social Security number next to box 3. Don’t
fill in your spouse’s name or Social Security number in
the heading of the return.

If you are filing as head of household, fill in the name
of the person who qualifies you for head of household
filing status next to box 4. Use the same name as on
your federal return.

Exemptions

  6a   &   6b Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself”
and other boxes that apply. If someone

else can claim you as a dependent, you can’t claim an
exemption for yourself; enter -0- in the total box on 6a
unless you are severely disabled.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability at
the end of 2002? If so, you may claim an additional
exemption credit. You may qualify for the severely dis-
abled exemption even if someone else can claim you as
a dependent. You are considered to have a severe dis-
ability if any of the following apply:

• You permanently lost the use of one or both feet, or

Forms 40S & 40—Instructions
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• You permanently lost the use of both hands, or
• You are permanently blind, or
• You have a permanent condition that, without special

equipment or help, limits your ability to:
— Earn a living, or
— Maintain a household, or
— Transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include such items as glasses,
ordinary crutches, hearing aids, or contact lenses.

You don’t qualify for this exemption if:

• You have a temporary disability from an injury or ill-
ness and are expected to recover, or

• Your condition keeps you from doing your former
work but allows you to do other kinds of work with-
out special equipment.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your physi-
cian must write a letter describing your disability. Keep
the letter with your permanent health records.

Check the “Severely disabled” exemption box. If your
spouse qualifies, he or she may also claim this exemp-
tion. You and your spouse may also qualify for the credit
for the loss of use of limbs. See instructions on page 35.

6c All dependents. Enter the number of children you
claim as dependents and your other dependents

in box 6c. Fill in their first names on the line. In most
cases, you must claim the same dependents as claimed
on your federal return.

6d Child with a disability. You may be entitled to an
additional personal exemption for your dependent

child who has a qualifying disability. To qualify, all of
the following must be true. Your child:

• Qualified as your dependent for 2002; and
• Was age 17 or younger on December 31, 2002; and
• Was eligible for “early intervention services” or received

special education as defined by the Oregon Department
of Education (learning disabilities or communication
disorders alone don’t qualify); and

• Was considered to have a disability as of December
31, 2002, under the federal Individuals with Disabili-
ties Education Act and related Oregon laws. Eligible
disabilities include:
— Autism.
— Deaf-blind.
— Hearing impairment.
— Mental retardation.
— Multiple disabilities.
— Orthopedic impairment.
— Other health impairment.
— Serious emotional disturbance.
— Traumatic brain injury.
— Visual impairment.

Get a statement of eligibility that confirms one of the
disabilities listed above and the cover sheet from one
of the following:

• The child’s Oregon Individualized Education Pro-
gram (IEP), or

• The child’s Oregon Individualized Family Service
Plan (IFSP).

Keep the statement and cover sheet with your perma-
nent health records. Write your child’s name on line 6d,
“Children with a disability.” Also be sure to include the
child’s name on line 6c for “All dependents.”

7a Age 65 or older, or blind. Check the boxes on line
7a if you or your spouse were age 65 or older

or were blind on December 31, 2002. You are entitled
to a larger standard deduction. If you or your spouse
are blind, you may also qualify for the severely dis-
abled exemption credit. See the instructions for lines
6a and 6b.

7b Extension. If you filed an extension of time to
file, check the box on line 7b. See page 5 for

more information.

7c Form 40S: Dependent. If someone else can claim
you as a dependent, you can’t claim an exemption

for yourself. Be sure to check the box on Form 40S, line
7c. Also, enter -0- in the total box on line 6a unless you
are severely disabled.

Form 40: Deferral of gain. Did you file federal Form
8824 because you are deferring gain on exchanged
property? If so, be sure to check the box on Form 40, line
7c. Also, complete and attach Oregon Form 24, Like-Kind
Exchanges/Involuntary Conversions. See page 40 to order
the form.

7d State School Fund. Check here to donate your
Oregon income tax kicker refund to the State

School Fund. The fund is used for public elementary
and secondary education. The kicker amount, if any,
will be determined in the fall of 2003. If you check the
box, any kicker refund that you would have received
in 2003 based on your 2002 Oregon income tax will be
sent directly to the State School Fund. If you check the
box, you cannot change your decision for the 2002
tax year.

Form 40S filers, go to the next page to
complete your return.

Form 40 filers, go to page 27 to complete
your return.

Forms 40S & 40—Instructions
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Form 40S line instructions
The following instructions are for lines not fully ex-
plained on the form. See page 7 for general Form 40S
instructions.

You may round off cents to the nearest whole dollar. For
example, $12.15 becomes $12 and $233.50 becomes $234.

8 Wages. Fill in all pay for work [shown on your
Form(s) W-2] plus your taxable scholarships and

fellowship grants. If you paid for housing with schol-
arship funds, file Form 40.

9 Interest and dividends. Add lines 9a and 9b.

9a Fill in your total interest. Include:
• Any interest received or credited to your

account so you could withdraw it.
• Any interest received on tax refunds.

If you have interest from the U.S. government,
such as savings bond interest, file Form 40.

9b Fill in your total dividends. If you received non-
taxable distributions or capital gain distributions,
you can’t use Form 40S. Use Form 40 instead.

10 Unemployment. Fill in all unemployment ben-
efits. This is the amount on federal Form 1040,

line 19; Form 1040A, line 13; Form 1040EZ, line 3; Form
1040NR, line 20; or TeleFile Tax Record, line D.

12 2002 federal tax liability. Carefully follow the in-
structions below. Don’t confuse your federal tax

liability on your federal return with the federal tax
withheld on your Form(s) W-2. They are not the same.

You may deduct your total federal income tax liability
after credits, up to $3,250. Don’t fill in less than -0- or
more than $3,250 ($1,625 if married filing separately).

1. Fill in your federal tax liability from 1.
Form 1040EZ, line 10; Form 1040A,
line 36; Form 1040, line 55; Form
1040NR, line 51; or TeleFile Tax
Record, tax from second box, line K.

2. Fill in $3,250 ($1,625 if married 2.
filing separately).

3. Fill in the lesser of line 1 or line 2 3.
here and on Form 40S, line 12.

Is the IRS figuring your federal tax for you? Do not write
an amount on line 12. Attach a copy of your federal
Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or TeleFile Tax
Record. We will use that information to determine your
federal tax liability.

13 Standard deduction. If you can be claimed as a
dependent on another person’s return, use the

following worksheet to figure your standard deduction.
All others, see the back of Form 40S for instructions.

Standard deduction worksheet for dependents

1. Enter your earned income. 1.
2. Additional set amount. 2. 250
3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.
4. Minimum standard deduction 4. 750

set amount.
5. Enter the larger of line 3 or line 4. 5.
6. Basic standard deduction for single. 6. 1,640
7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 6. 7.
8. If you are under age 65, enter -0-. 8.

If you are age 65 or older,
enter $1,200.

9. If you are not blind, enter -0-. 9.
If you are blind, enter $1,200.

10. Add lines 7, 8, and 9 and enter the 10.
total here and on Form 40S, line 13;
or Form 40, line 26. This is your
standard deduction.

15 Oregon taxable income. Caution: Is the amount
more than $50,000? If so, you must use Form 40.

16 Tax from tables. Figure the tax on your Oregon
taxable income, line 15. Because of the January

28, 2003, election, two sets of tax tables are provided.

• Use the purple tax tables on pages 21–23 if the tax in-
crease fails.

• Use the green tax tables on pages 24–26 if the tax in-
crease passes.

See page 2 for more information.

After the January 28 election: If you are not sure which
tax table to use, visit our Web site or contact us. See
page 40.

18 Earned income credit. You are allowed an Oregon
earned income credit only if you qualify for

and claim the earned income credit on your federal
return. Your Oregon credit is 5 percent of your federal
credit. For example, if your federal credit is $400, your
Oregon credit is $20 ($400 × .05).

Use the following formula to compute your credit:

1. Enter your federal earned income 1.
credit from Form 1040EZ, line 8;
Form 1040A, line 41; Form 1040,
line 64; or TeleFile Tax Record, line L.

2. Decimal amount. 2. .05

3. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 3.
the decimal on line 2. Enter the
result here and on Form 40S, line 18.

Form 40S—Line instructions
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The Oregon earned income credit is limited to your tax
liability. You cannot carry over to next year any amount
that exceeds your tax liability. Any unused credit can-
not be refunded.

19 Working family child care credit. This credit is
available to low-income families with qualifying

child care expenses. You qualify for this credit if all of
the following are true:

• You paid child care expenses to allow you and your
spouse to be employed or attend school; and

• Your adjusted gross income is less than the limit for
your household size (see tables on page 33); and

• Your child care expenses are for your child under age
13 (or for your child with a disability, see page 8); and

• Care is not provided by the child’s parent or guard-
ian (unless provided in a licensed or registered child
care facility); and

• Care is not provided by the qualifying child’s brother
or sister under age 19; and

• You have earned income of at least $6,500; and
• You have less than $2,550 of investment income

(investment income is generally interest, dividends,
and capital gains); and

• If you are married filing separately, you must be legally
separated or living apart on December 31, 2002.

Use the following worksheet to figure your credit:

Household size

1. Enter the number of exemptions 1.
reported on your federal return.

2. Add your children who live with 2.
you whose exemption is claimed by
the other parent.

3. Line 1 plus line 2. This is your 3.
household size.

Credit amount

4. Enter your total income from 4.
Form 40S, line 11.

5. Enter total qualifying child care 5.
expenses you paid in 2002.

6. Enter the decimal amount from 6.
the correct table on page 33. The
tables are based on household size
(line 3 from above). For example,
if the amount on line 3 is 7, use
Table 7.

7. Multiply the amount on line 5 by 7.
the decimal on line 6. Enter the
result here and on Form 40S, line 19.

Example: A married couple with one qualifying child
had total income of $22,436 and total child care expenses
of $2,650 in 2002. With a household size of three, they use

Table 3 to find the correct decimal (.40) and multiply it
by $2,650 to figure their credit of $1,060.

The working family child care credit is limited to your
tax liability. You cannot carry over to next year any
amount that exceeds your tax liability. If you qualify,
you may claim this credit in addition to the child and
dependent care credit.

20 Child and dependent care credit. You are al-
lowed an Oregon credit only if you qualify for

the federal child and dependent care credit. You may
be able to claim the Oregon credit even if you can’t use
all of your federal credit. In most cases, you cannot
claim the credit if you are married filing separately.

Use the following worksheet:

1. Enter the amount from federal 1.
Form 2441, line 6; or Form 1040A,
Schedule 2, line 6.

2. Enter the decimal amount from the 2.
following table.

If your federal taxable Your
income from Form 1040, decimal
line 41; or Form 1040A, amount

line 27 is: is:

Over— But not over—
—— $5,000 .30

$5,000 10,000 .15
10,000 15,000 .08
15,000 25,000 .06
25,000 35,000 .05
35,000 45,000 .04
45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the amount on line 1 3.
above by the decimal on line 2.
Enter here and on Form 40S, line 20.

Note: Did you pay 2001 child care expenses in 2002? If
so, you may be able to use that amount to increase your
2002 Oregon child and dependent care credit. See page
40 for taxpayer assistance information.

Carryover. Your total 2002 child and dependent care
credit can’t be more than your 2002 tax liability for Or-
egon. You can carry forward any excess credit over the
next five years. If the excess isn’t used within five years,
it’s lost. See instructions for line 21 below.

21 Other credits. You may qualify for other credits
listed below. Identify the credit(s) you are claim-

ing in the space on line 21. Use the title shown in bold
or the abbreviation shown in brackets. If you have more
than one credit, show the amount and type of each on
the form, not on a separate sheet. Fill in the total amount
of “other credits” on line 21.

• Child and dependent care credit carryover from prior
years [C/O–CDC]. Fill in the carryover amount on line
21. See page 35 for instructions.

Form 40S—Line instructions
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• Elderly or the disabled [OR CED]. You get an Oregon
credit only if you qualify for the federal credit. See
Form 40, line 39 instructions on page 34.

• Home care of a person age 60 or older [HCE]. See page
40 to order the information circular.

• Income taxes paid to another state [CITPAS]. You may
be eligible for this credit if you paid income tax to
another state. See Form 40, line 41 instructions on
page 34.

• Loss of use of limbs [Limbs]. If you have a permanent
and complete loss of the use of two limbs, you may
take a $50 tax credit. See Form 40, line 42 instructions
on page 35.

• Political contribution [PCC]. You may qualify for a
credit for political contributions. See Form 40, line 40
instructions on page 34.

24 Oregon income tax withheld. Fill in the total
Oregon tax withheld from your wages and other

income. That’s the amount shown on your Form(s) W-2
in box 17 or on Form 1099. Don’t use the FICA (Social
Security) tax withheld. Don’t use tax withheld from your
wages by other states. Staple a readable copy of your
Form(s) W-2 from each job and any 1099 showing Oregon
income tax withheld to the lower front of your return.

If you don’t have a Form W-2 or 1099, you must provide
other proof of any tax withheld. Proof may include a
final paycheck stub or a letter from your employer. If you
file before February 1, 2003, we can accept only Form(s)
W-2 or 1099 as proof.

If you paid estimated tax for 2002, you must use Form 40.

If you have tax to pay this year, you may want to increase
the amount your employer withholds from your 2003
wages for Oregon. Call the department to order the infor-
mation circular, Oregon Income Tax Withholding: Some Spe-
cial Cases. Or, download it from our Web site.

25 Refund. If line 24 is more than line 23, you have
a refund. Enter your refund amount on line 25

and then go to line 27.

26 Tax to pay. If line 23 is more than line 24, you
have tax to pay.

• Make your check or money order payable to “Oregon
Department of Revenue.” Do not make your payment
out to “IRS,” “Treasury,” or “Internal Revenue Service.”

• Write your Social Security number and “2002 Oregon
Form 40S” on your check.

• Please use blue or black ink. Do not use gel pens or
red ink.

• Don’t send cash or a postdated check.
• Staple your payment and the Form RPC payment cou-

pon (page 37) to your return on top of the Form(s) W-2.
If the amount is less than $1, no payment is required.

We cannot accept credit cards or withdraw funds from
your bank account for your payment.

Payment plan. If you can’t pay in full now, we will work
with you to set up a payment plan. See page 39 for more
information.

If you owe $1,000 or more, you may owe interest on un-
derpayment of estimated tax. See page 36. For information
about paying estimated tax for tax year 2003, see page 6.

If you don’t have a refund but want to contribute to a
charity listed on lines 27–32, mail your donation to the
charity’s address shown. Please do not mail your dona-
tion to the Department of Revenue.

Go to the signature block section on page 38 to finish
your return.

27  –  32 Charitable checkoff. You may donate all
or part of your refund to the charities

listed below. Donations will reduce your refund. You
may donate to any or all of the charities on lines 27–31.
You may also donate to one of the charities listed un-
der the instructions for line 32. Or, you can mail your
donations to the addresses shown.

27 Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your donation will
fund the protection of nongame wildlife and

its habitat.

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
PO Box 59
Portland OR 97207

28 Child Abuse Prevention. Your donation will fund
programs through the Children’s Trust Fund

to help prevent child abuse and neglect.

Children’s Trust Fund
1410 SW Morrison Street, Suite 502
Portland OR 97205

29 Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your donation
goes to the Alzheimer’s Association for research

on Alzheimer’s and related disorders.

Alzheimer’s Association
1311 NW 21st Avenue
Portland OR 97209

30 Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence. Your dona-
tion will fund programs through the Oregon

Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence.

OCADSV
659 Cottage Street NE
Salem OR 97301

31 AIDS/HIV Research, Education, and Services.
Your donation will fund AIDS/HIV research,

education, and services by the Living With HIV Fund.

The Research and Education Group
1650 NW Naito Parkway, Suite 185
Portland OR 97209-8428

Form 40S—Line instructions
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32 Other charity. You may donate all or part of your
refund to one of the charities listed below. Enter

the code of the charity on line 32. Only one code may
be entered. Check the box for the amount you want to
donate and write it on line 32. Or, you can mail your
donations to the addresses shown.

Habitat for Humanity (Code 1). Your donation will help
Habitat for Humanity build simple, decent, and afford-
able housing for low-income families.

Habitat for Humanity of Oregon
PO Box 17067
Portland OR 97217-0067

Oregon Head Start Association (Code 2). Your donation
will help Head Start provide services to the lowest-income,
highest-need children and families.

Oregon Head Start Association
2705 E Burnside, Suite 108
Portland OR 97214

American Diabetes Association (Code 3). Your donation
will help continue diabetes research and advocacy pro-
grams in Oregon.

American Diabetes Association
380 SE Spokane Street, Suite 110
Portland OR 97202

Oregon Coast Aquarium (Code 4). Your donation will
help fund educational programs, conservation efforts,
and animal rehabilitation.

Oregon Coast Aquarium
2820 SE Ferry Slip Road
Newport OR 97365

SMART (Code 5). Your donation will help fund the Start
Making A Reader Today early literacy program for
Oregon’s most vulnerable children.

Oregon Children’s Foundation/SMART
219 NW 12th Avenue, Suite 203
Portland OR 97209

SOLV (Code 6). Your donation will help fund thousands
of projects to clean up beaches, forests, rivers, and
neighborhoods across Oregon.

SOLV
PO Box 1235
Hillsboro OR 97123

St. Vincent de Paul Society of Oregon (Code 7). Your
donation will help provide services leading to self-
sufficiency for low-income Oregonians.

St. Vincent de Paul Society of Oregon
PO Box 24608
Eugene OR 97402

The Nature Conservancy (Code 8). Your donation will
help purchase and restore critical habitats for Oregon’s
at-risk plants, fish, and wildlife.

The Nature Conservancy
821 SE 14th Avenue
Portland OR 97214

Doernbecher Children’s Hospital Foundation (Code 9).
Your donation will fund a critical expansion of the can-
cer treatment facilities at Doernbecher.

Doernbecher Children’s Hospital Foundation
1121 SW Salmon, Suite 201
Portland OR 97205-2021

The Oregon Humane Society (Code 10). Your donation
will help save pets’ lives through rescue, sheltering,
adoption, education, cruelty investigation, and advocacy.

The Oregon Humane Society
PO Box 11364
Portland OR 97211

The Oregon Salvation Army (Code 11). Your donation to
the Salvation Army ensures help for the neediest chil-
dren and their families throughout Oregon.

The Salvation Army
PO Box 8798
Portland OR 97208

The Oregon Veterans’ Home (Code 12). Your donation
will improve the quality of life for veterans receiving
nursing care at the Oregon Veterans’ Home.

Oregon Veterans’ Home Donations
700 Summer Street NE
Salem OR 97301-1285

34 Net refund. You must reduce your refund by any
donations on lines 27–32. By law, the Oregon

Department of Revenue cannot refund or apply amounts
less than $1. Generally, the department cannot issue a
refund when the return is filed more than three years
after the due date of the return. Do not send in Form
RPC, the payment coupon, with your return if you are
claiming a refund.

35 Direct deposit. Complete line 35 if you want us
to deposit your refund directly into your bank

account instead of sending you a check.

1. Contact your bank to make sure your deposit will be
accepted and to get your correct routing and account
numbers.

2. Check the appropriate box for account type. Check
either checking or savings, but not both.

3. Enter your nine-digit routing number. The routing
number must begin with 01 through 12, or 21
through 32.

4. Enter the account number of the account into which
you want your refund deposited. The account num-
ber can be up to 17 characters (both numbers and let-
ters). Include hyphens, but don’t include spaces and
special symbols. Enter the number left to right and
leave any unused boxes blank.

Go to the signature block section on page 38
to finish your return.

Form 40S—Charitable checkoff
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If income from If income from If income from If income from
Form 40S, line 15; Form 40S, line 15; Form 40S, line 15; Form 40S, line 15;

or Form 40, And you or Form 40, And you or Form 40, And you or Form 40, And you
line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column

But But But But
At less At less At less At less

least: than: least: than: least: than: least: than:

Your tax is: Your tax is: Your tax is: Your tax is:

S J

2002 Tax Tables
(with 9% rate)

Use column J if you are:
• Married filing jointly
• Head of household
• Widow(er) with dependent child

JUse column S if you are:
• Single
• Married filing separatelyS

S J S J S J

Use these PURPLE  tables if  the tax rate increase FAILS

$ 0

0 – 20  0 0
20 – 50 2 2

$ 50
50 – 100 4 4

100 – 200 8 8
200 – 300 13 13
300 – 400 18 18
400 – 500 23 23
500 – 600 28 28
600 – 700 33 33
700 – 800 38 38
800 – 900 43 43
900 – 1,000 48 48

$ 1,000
1,000 – 1,100 53 53
1,100 – 1,200 58 58
1,200 – 1,300 63 63
1,300 – 1,400 68 68
1,400 – 1,500 73 73
1,500 – 1,600 78 78
1,600 – 1,700 83 83
1,700 – 1,800 88 88
1,800 – 1,900 93 93
1,900 – 2,000 98 98

$ 2,000
2,000 – 2,100 103 103
2,100 – 2,200 108 108
2,200 – 2,300 113 113
2,300 – 2,400 118 118
2,400 – 2,500 123 123
2,500 – 2,600 129 128
2,600 – 2,700 136 133
2,700 – 2,800 143 138
2,800 – 2,900 150 143
2,900 – 3,000 157 148

$ 3,000
3,000 – 3,100 164 153
3,100 – 3,200 171 158
3,200 – 3,300 178 163
3,300 – 3,400 185 168
3,400 – 3,500 192 173
3,500 – 3,600 199 178
3,600 – 3,700 206 183
3,700 – 3,800 213 188
3,800 – 3,900 220 193
3,900 – 4,000 227 198

$ 4,000
4,000 – 4,100 234 203
4,100 – 4,200 241 208
4,200 – 4,300 248 213
4,300 – 4,400 255 218
4,400 – 4,500 262 223
4,500 – 4,600 269 228
4,600 – 4,700 276 233
4,700 – 4,800 283 238
4,800 – 4,900 290 243
4,900 – 5,000 297 248

$ 5,000
5,000 – 5,100 304 254
5,100 – 5,200 311 261
5,200 – 5,300 318 268
5,300 – 5,400 325 275
5,400 – 5,500 332 282
5,500 – 5,600 339 289
5,600 – 5,700 346 296
5,700 – 5,800 353 303
5,800 – 5,900 360 310
5,900 – 6,000 367 317

$ 6,000
6,000 – 6,100 374 324
6,100 – 6,200 381 331
6,200 – 6,300 388 338
6,300 – 6,400 397 345
6,400 – 6,500 406 352
6,500 – 6,600 415 359
6,600 – 6,700 424 366
6,700 – 6,800 433 373
6,800 – 6,900 442 380
6,900 – 7,000 451 387

$ 7,000
7,000 – 7,100 460 394
7,100 – 7,200 469 401
7,200 – 7,300 478 408
7,300 – 7,400 487 415
7,400 – 7,500 496 422
7,500 – 7,600 505 429
7,600 – 7,700 514 436
7,700 – 7,800 523 443
7,800 – 7,900 532 450
7,900 – 8,000 541 457

$ 8,000
8,000 – 8,100 550 464
8,100 – 8,200 559 471
8,200 – 8,300 568 478
8,300 – 8,400 577 485
8,400 – 8,500 586 492
8,500 – 8,600 595 499
8,600 – 8,700 604 506
8,700 – 8,800 613 513
8,800 – 8,900 622 520
8,900 – 9,000 631 527

$ 9,000
9,000 – 9,100 640 534
9,100 – 9,200 649 541
9,200 – 9,300 658 548
9,300 – 9,400 667 555
9,400 – 9,500 676 562
9,500 – 9,600 685 569
9,600 – 9,700 694 576
9,700 – 9,800 703 583
9,800 – 9,900 712 590
9,900 – 10,000 721 597

$ 10,000
10,000– 10,100 730 604
10,100– 10,200 739 611
10,200– 10,300 748 618
10,300– 10,400 757 625
10,400– 10,500 766 632
10,500– 10,600 775 639
10,600– 10,700 784 646
10,700– 10,800 793 653
10,800– 10,900 802 660
10,900– 11,000 811 667

$ 11,000
11,000– 11,100 820 674
11,100– 11,200 829 681
11,200– 11,300 838 688
11,300– 11,400 847 695
11,400– 11,500 856 702
11,500– 11,600 865 709
11,600– 11,700 874 716
11,700– 11,800 883 723
11,800– 11,900 892 730
11,900– 12,000 901 737

$ 12,000
12,000– 12,100 910 744
12,100– 12,200 919 751
12,200– 12,300 928 758
12,300– 12,400 937 765
12,400– 12,500 946 772
12,500– 12,600 955 780
12,600– 12,700 964 789
12,700– 12,800 973 798
12,800– 12,900 982 807
12,900– 13,000 991 816

$ 13,000
13,000– 13,100 1,000 825
13,100– 13,200 1,009 834
13,200– 13,300 1,018 843
13,300– 13,400 1,027 852
13,400– 13,500 1,036 861
13,500– 13,600 1,045 870
13,600– 13,700 1,054 879
13,700– 13,800 1,063 888
13,800– 13,900 1,072 897
13,900– 14,000 1,081 906

$ 14,000
14,000– 14,100 1,090 915
14,100– 14,200 1,099 924
14,200– 14,300 1,108 933
14,300– 14,400 1,117 942
14,400– 14,500 1,126 951
14,500– 14,600 1,135 960
14,600– 14,700 1,144 969
14,700– 14,800 1,153 978
14,800– 14,900 1,162 987
14,900– 15,000 1,171 996

$ 15,000
15,000– 15,100 1,180 1,005
15,100– 15,200 1,189 1,014
15,200– 15,300 1,198 1,023
15,300– 15,400 1,207 1,032
15,400– 15,500 1,216 1,041
15,500– 15,600 1,225 1,050
15,600– 15,700 1,234 1,059
15,700– 15,800 1,243 1,068
15,800– 15,900 1,252 1,077
15,900– 16,000 1,261 1,086

$ 16,000
16,000– 16,100 1,270 1,095
16,100– 16,200 1,279 1,104
16,200– 16,300 1,288 1,113
16,300– 16,400 1,297 1,122
16,400– 16,500 1,306 1,131
16,500– 16,600 1,315 1,140
16,600– 16,700 1,324 1,149
16,700– 16,800 1,333 1,158
16,800– 16,900 1,342 1,167
16,900– 17,000 1,351 1,176

$ 17,000
17,000– 17,100 1,360 1,185
17,100– 17,200 1,369 1,194
17,200– 17,300 1,378 1,203
17,300– 17,400 1,387 1,212
17,400– 17,500 1,396 1,221
17,500– 17,600 1,405 1,230
17,600– 17,700 1,414 1,239
17,700– 17,800 1,423 1,248
17,800– 17,900 1,432 1,257
17,900– 18,000 1,441 1,266

$ 18,000
18,000– 18,100 1,450 1,275
18,100– 18,200 1,459 1,284
18,200– 18,300 1,468 1,293
18,300– 18,400 1,477 1,302
18,400– 18,500 1,486 1,311
18,500– 18,600 1,495 1,320
18,600– 18,700 1,504 1,329
18,700– 18,800 1,513 1,338
18,800– 18,900 1,522 1,347
18,900– 19,000 1,531 1,356

Purple tax tables with 9% rate
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If income from If income from If income from If income from
Form 40S, line 15; Form 40S, line 15; Form 40S, line 15; Form 40S, line 15;

or Form 40, And you or Form 40, And you or Form 40, And you or Form 40, And you
line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column

But But But But
At less At less At less At less
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2002 Tax Tables
(with 9% rate)

Use column J if you are:
• Married filing jointly
• Head of household
• Widow(er) with dependent child

JUse column S if you are:
• Single
• Married filing separatelyS

S J S J S J

Use these PURPLE  tables if  the tax rate increase FAILS

$ 19,000
19,000– 19,100 1,540 1,365
19,100– 19,200 1,549 1,374
19,200– 19,300 1,558 1,383
19,300– 19,400 1,567 1,392
19,400– 19,500 1,576 1,401
19,500– 19,600 1,585 1,410
19,600– 19,700 1,594 1,419
19,700– 19,800 1,603 1,428
19,800– 19,900 1,612 1,437
19,900– 20,000 1,621 1,446

$ 20,000
20,000– 20,100 1,630 1,455
20,100– 20,200 1,639 1,464
20,200– 20,300 1,648 1,473
20,300– 20,400 1,657 1,482
20,400– 20,500 1,666 1,491
20,500– 20,600 1,675 1,500
20,600– 20,700 1,684 1,509
20,700– 20,800 1,693 1,518
20,800– 20,900 1,702 1,527
20,900– 21,000 1,711 1,536

$ 21,000
21,000– 21,100 1,720 1,545
21,100– 21,200 1,729 1,554
21,200– 21,300 1,738 1,563
21,300– 21,400 1,747 1,572
21,400– 21,500 1,756 1,581
21,500– 21,600 1,765 1,590
21,600– 21,700 1,774 1,599
21,700– 21,800 1,783 1,608
21,800– 21,900 1,792 1,617
21,900– 22,000 1,801 1,626

$ 22,000
22,000– 22,100 1,810 1,635
22,100– 22,200 1,819 1,644
22,200– 22,300 1,828 1,653
22,300– 22,400 1,837 1,662
22,400– 22,500 1,846 1,671
22,500– 22,600 1,855 1,680
22,600– 22,700 1,864 1,689
22,700– 22,800 1,873 1,698
22,800– 22,900 1,882 1,707
22,900– 23,000 1,891 1,716

$ 23,000
23,000– 23,100 1,900 1,725
23,100– 23,200 1,909 1,734
23,200– 23,300 1,918 1,743
23,300– 23,400 1,927 1,752
23,400– 23,500 1,936 1,761
23,500– 23,600 1,945 1,770
23,600– 23,700 1,954 1,779
23,700– 23,800 1,963 1,788
23,800– 23,900 1,972 1,797
23,900– 24,000 1,981 1,806

$ 24,000
24,000– 24,100 1,990 1,815
24,100– 24,200 1,999 1,824
24,200– 24,300 2,008 1,833
24,300– 24,400 2,017 1,842
24,400– 24,500 2,026 1,851
24,500– 24,600 2,035 1,860
24,600– 24,700 2,044 1,869
24,700– 24,800 2,053 1,878
24,800– 24,900 2,062 1,887
24,900– 25,000 2,071 1,896

$ 25,000
25,000– 25,100 2,080 1,905
25,100– 25,200 2,089 1,914
25,200– 25,300 2,098 1,923
25,300– 25,400 2,107 1,932
25,400– 25,500 2,116 1,941
25,500– 25,600 2,125 1,950
25,600– 25,700 2,134 1,959
25,700– 25,800 2,143 1,968
25,800– 25,900 2,152 1,977
25,900– 26,000 2,161 1,986

$ 26,000
26,000– 26,100 2,170 1,995
26,100– 26,200 2,179 2,004
26,200– 26,300 2,188 2,013
26,300– 26,400 2,197 2,022
26,400– 26,500 2,206 2,031
26,500– 26,600 2,215 2,040
26,600– 26,700 2,224 2,049
26,700– 26,800 2,233 2,058
26,800– 26,900 2,242 2,067
26,900– 27,000 2,251 2,076

$ 27,000
27,000– 27,100 2,260 2,085
27,100– 27,200 2,269 2,094
27,200– 27,300 2,278 2,103
27,300– 27,400 2,287 2,112
27,400– 27,500 2,296 2,121
27,500– 27,600 2,305 2,130
27,600– 27,700 2,314 2,139
27,700– 27,800 2,323 2,148
27,800– 27,900 2,332 2,157
27,900– 28,000 2,341 2,166

$ 28,000
28,000– 28,100 2,350 2,175
28,100– 28,200 2,359 2,184
28,200– 28,300 2,368 2,193
28,300– 28,400 2,377 2,202
28,400– 28,500 2,386 2,211
28,500– 28,600 2,395 2,220
28,600– 28,700 2,404 2,229
28,700– 28,800 2,413 2,238
28,800– 28,900 2,422 2,247
28,900– 29,000 2,431 2,256

$ 29,000
29,000– 29,100 2,440 2,265
29,100– 29,200 2,449 2,274
29,200– 29,300 2,458 2,283
29,300– 29,400 2,467 2,292
29,400– 29,500 2,476 2,301
29,500– 29,600 2,485 2,310
29,600– 29,700 2,494 2,319
29,700– 29,800 2,503 2,328
29,800– 29,900 2,512 2,337
29,900– 30,000 2,521 2,346

$ 30,000
30,000– 30,100 2,530 2,355
30,100– 30,200 2,539 2,364
30,200– 30,300 2,548 2,373
30,300– 30,400 2,557 2,382
30,400– 30,500 2,566 2,391
30,500– 30,600 2,575 2,400
30,600– 30,700 2,584 2,409
30,700– 30,800 2,593 2,418
30,800– 30,900 2,602 2,427
30,900– 31,000 2,611 2,436

$ 31,000
31,000– 31,100 2,620 2,445
31,100– 31,200 2,629 2,454
31,200– 31,300 2,638 2,463
31,300– 31,400 2,647 2,472
31,400– 31,500 2,656 2,481
31,500– 31,600 2,665 2,490
31,600– 31,700 2,674 2,499
31,700– 31,800 2,683 2,508
31,800– 31,900 2,692 2,517
31,900– 32,000 2,701 2,526

$ 32,000
32,000– 32,100 2,710 2,535
32,100– 32,200 2,719 2,544
32,200– 32,300 2,728 2,553
32,300– 32,400 2,737 2,562
32,400– 32,500 2,746 2,571
32,500– 32,600 2,755 2,580
32,600– 32,700 2,764 2,589
32,700– 32,800 2,773 2,598
32,800– 32,900 2,782 2,607
32,900– 33,000 2,791 2,616

$ 33,000
33,000– 33,100 2,800 2,625
33,100– 33,200 2,809 2,634
33,200– 33,300 2,818 2,643
33,300– 33,400 2,827 2,652
33,400– 33,500 2,836 2,661
33,500– 33,600 2,845 2,670
33,600– 33,700 2,854 2,679
33,700– 33,800 2,863 2,688
33,800– 33,900 2,872 2,697
33,900– 34,000 2,881 2,706

$ 34,000
34,000– 34,100 2,890 2,715
34,100– 34,200 2,899 2,724
34,200– 34,300 2,908 2,733
34,300– 34,400 2,917 2,742
34,400– 34,500 2,926 2,751
34,500– 34,600 2,935 2,760
34,600– 34,700 2,944 2,769
34,700– 34,800 2,953 2,778
34,800– 34,900 2,962 2,787
34,900– 35,000 2,971 2,796

$ 35,000
35,000– 35,100 2,980 2,805
35,100– 35,200 2,989 2,814
35,200– 35,300 2,998 2,823
35,300– 35,400 3,007 2,832
35,400– 35,500 3,016 2,841
35,500– 35,600 3,025 2,850
35,600– 35,700 3,034 2,859
35,700– 35,800 3,043 2,868
35,800– 35,900 3,052 2,877
35,900– 36,000 3,061 2,886

$ 36,000
36,000– 36,100 3,070 2,895
36,100– 36,200 3,079 2,904
36,200– 36,300 3,088 2,913
36,300– 36,400 3,097 2,922
36,400– 36,500 3,106 2,931
36,500– 36,600 3,115 2,940
36,600– 36,700 3,124 2,949
36,700– 36,800 3,133 2,958
36,800– 36,900 3,142 2,967
36,900– 37,000 3,151 2,976

$ 37,000
37,000– 37,100 3,160 2,985
37,100– 37,200 3,169 2,994
37,200– 37,300 3,178 3,003
37,300– 37,400 3,187 3,012
37,400– 37,500 3,196 3,021
37,500– 37,600 3,205 3,030
37,600– 37,700 3,214 3,039
37,700– 37,800 3,223 3,048
37,800– 37,900 3,232 3,057
37,900– 38,000 3,241 3,066

$ 38,000
38,000– 38,100 3,250 3,075
38,100– 38,200 3,259 3,084
38,200– 38,300 3,268 3,093
38,300– 38,400 3,277 3,102
38,400– 38,500 3,286 3,111
38,500– 38,600 3,295 3,120
38,600– 38,700 3,304 3,129
38,700– 38,800 3,313 3,138
38,800– 38,900 3,322 3,147
38,900– 39,000 3,331 3,156

Purple tax tables with 9% rate
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$ 39,000
39,000– 39,100 3,340 3,165
39,100– 39,200 3,349 3,174
39,200– 39,300 3,358 3,183
39,300– 39,400 3,367 3,192
39,400– 39,500 3,376 3,201
39,500– 39,600 3,385 3,210
39,600– 39,700 3,394 3,219
39,700– 39,800 3,403 3,228
39,800– 39,900 3,412 3,237
39,900– 40,000 3,421 3,246

$ 40,000
40,000– 40,100 3,430 3,255
40,100– 40,200 3,439 3,264
40,200– 40,300 3,448 3,273
40,300– 40,400 3,457 3,282
40,400– 40,500 3,466 3,291
40,500– 40,600 3,475 3,300
40,600– 40,700 3,484 3,309
40,700– 40,800 3,493 3,318
40,800– 40,900 3,502 3,327
40,900– 41,000 3,511 3,336

$ 41,000
41,000– 41,100 3,520 3,345
41,100– 41,200 3,529 3,354
41,200– 41,300 3,538 3,363
41,300– 41,400 3,547 3,372
41,400– 41,500 3,556 3,381
41,500– 41,600 3,565 3,390
41,600– 41,700 3,574 3,399
41,700– 41,800 3,583 3,408
41,800– 41,900 3,592 3,417
41,900– 42,000 3,601 3,426

$ 42,000
42,000– 42,100 3,610 3,435
42,100– 42,200 3,619 3,444
42,200– 42,300 3,628 3,453
42,300– 42,400 3,637 3,462
42,400– 42,500 3,646 3,471
42,500– 42,600 3,655 3,480
42,600– 42,700 3,664 3,489
42,700– 42,800 3,673 3,498
42,800– 42,900 3,682 3,507
42,900– 43,000 3,691 3,516

$ 43,000
43,000– 43,100 3,700 3,525
43,100– 43,200 3,709 3,534
43,200– 43,300 3,718 3,543
43,300– 43,400 3,727 3,552
43,400– 43,500 3,736 3,561
43,500– 43,600 3,745 3,570
43,600– 43,700 3,754 3,579
43,700– 43,800 3,763 3,588
43,800– 43,900 3,772 3,597
43,900– 44,000 3,781 3,606

$ 44,000
44,000– 44,100 3,790 3,615
44,100– 44,200 3,799 3,624
44,200– 44,300 3,808 3,633
44,300– 44,400 3,817 3,642
44,400– 44,500 3,826 3,651
44,500– 44,600 3,835 3,660
44,600– 44,700 3,844 3,669
44,700– 44,800 3,853 3,678
44,800– 44,900 3,862 3,687
44,900– 45,000 3,871 3,696

$ 45,000
45,000– 45,100 3,880 3,705
45,100– 45,200 3,889 3,714
45,200– 45,300 3,898 3,723
45,300– 45,400 3,907 3,732
45,400– 45,500 3,916 3,741
45,500– 45,600 3,925 3,750
45,600– 45,700 3,934 3,759
45,700– 45,800 3,943 3,768
45,800– 45,900 3,952 3,777
45,900– 46,000 3,961 3,786

$ 46,000
46,000– 46,100 3,970 3,795
46,100– 46,200 3,979 3,804
46,200– 46,300 3,988 3,813
46,300– 46,400 3,997 3,822
46,400– 46,500 4,006 3,831
46,500– 46,600 4,015 3,840
46,600– 46,700 4,024 3,849
46,700– 46,800 4,033 3,858
46,800– 46,900 4,042 3,867
46,900– 47,000 4,051 3,876

$ 47,000
47,000– 47,100 4,060 3,885
47,100– 47,200 4,069 3,894
47,200– 47,300 4,078 3,903
47,300– 47,400 4,087 3,912
47,400– 47,500 4,096 3,921
47,500– 47,600 4,105 3,930
47,600– 47,700 4,114 3,939
47,700– 47,800 4,123 3,948
47,800– 47,900 4,132 3,957
47,900– 48,000 4,141 3,966

$ 48,000
48,000– 48,100 4,150 3,975
48,100– 48,200 4,159 3,984
48,200– 48,300 4,168 3,993
48,300– 48,400 4,177 4,002
48,400– 48,500 4,186 4,011
48,500– 48,600 4,195 4,020
48,600– 48,700 4,204 4,029
48,700– 48,800 4,213 4,038
48,800– 48,900 4,222 4,047
48,900– 49,000 4,231 4,056

$ 49,000
49,000– 49,100 4,240 4,065
49,100– 49,200 4,249 4,074
49,200– 49,300 4,258 4,083
49,300– 49,400 4,267 4,092
49,400– 49,500 4,276 4,101
49,500– 49,600 4,285 4,110
49,600– 49,700 4,294 4,119
49,700– 49,800 4,303 4,128
49,800– 49,900 4,312 4,137
49,900– 50,001 4,321 4,146

After January 28: If you are not sure of the election outcome or which chart to use, visit our
Web site at www.dor.state.or.us. Or, call us for information. See page 40 for numbers to call.

2002 Tax Rate Charts (with 9% rate)

Chart S:

For persons filing
Single or Married filing separately

If your taxable income is: Your tax is:

Over $50,000 .......................... $4,325 plus 9% of excess over $50,000

Chart J:

For persons filing
Jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying

widow(er) with dependent child

If your taxable income is: Your tax is:

Over $50,000 .......................... $4,150 plus 9% of excess over $50,000

S J

Purple tax tables and rate charts with 9% rate
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Form 40 line instructions
The following instructions are for lines not fully explained
on the form. See page 7 for general Form 40 instructions.

You may round off cents to the nearest whole dollar. For
example, $12.15 becomes $12 and $233.50 becomes $234.

8 Federal adjusted gross income. Enter your fed-
eral adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line

35; Form 1040A, line 21; Form 1040EZ, line 4; Form
1040NR, line 34; or TeleFile Tax Record, line I. Attach the
first two pages of your federal return. This helps us verify
your income and speeds the processing of your return.

Additions

Generally, additions are items the federal government
does not tax but Oregon does. Additions increase your
federal adjusted gross income.

9 Interest and dividends on state and local gov-
ernment bonds outside of Oregon. You must

add to Oregon income any interest and dividends you
received from state and local governments outside of
Oregon. Generally, you don’t pay federal tax on this in-
terest, but you do pay Oregon tax.

Example: Include interest from state of Washington
bonds or from San Francisco city bonds. Leave out in-
terest from Oregon government bonds and interest
from U.S. territories or possessions (such as Guam,
Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands).

10 Other additions. Identify the addition(s) you are
reporting in the space on line 10. Please use the

title shown in bold or the abbreviation in brackets. If
you have more than one addition, show the amount and
type of each on the form, not on a separate sheet. Fill
in the total amount of “other additions” on line 10.

• Federal deduction for long-term care insurance pre-
miums [LTCIP]. Are you going to claim an Oregon
long-term care insurance credit this year? Did you
claim a federal deduction for the premiums? If so, you
must add to your Oregon return the amount of pre-
miums that resulted in a tax benefit on your federal
return. Call the department to order the information
circular, Long-Term Care Insurance Premiums Tax Credit.
Or, download it from our Web site.

• Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor
child [Minor]. Did you report interest or dividends of
your minor child on your federal return? If so, you
must add to Oregon income the amount that is sub-
ject to the special federal tax. Fill in the smaller of line
7 or 8 from federal Form 8814. If you made the elec-
tion and your child received interest and dividends
from state and local governments outside of Oregon,
you must add that amount also.

• Federal income tax refunds [Fed ref]. Did you get a
federal tax refund in 2002 because you filed an
amended federal return for a prior year or because you
were audited? If so, you must add the amount of the
refund for which you received an Oregon tax benefit
in a prior year. You received an Oregon tax benefit if
the amount of the refund was claimed as part of your
federal tax subtraction on your Oregon return for the
prior year.

• Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction
[Gambling]. Did you claim gambling losses as an
itemized deduction on your federal Schedule A?
Gambling losses are limited to gambling winnings
taxed by Oregon. Contact the department for more
information. See page 40.

• Individual Development Account [IDA]. Are you going
to claim an Oregon Individual Development Account
credit this year? Did you claim a federal deduction for
your charitable contribution to that program? If so, you
must add the amount of donation that resulted in a
federal tax benefit.

• Lump-sum payment from a qualified retirement plan
[Lump-sum]. Did you use the 10-year averaging
method for federal purposes? If so, all or part of your
lump-sum distribution must be added to income on
your Oregon return. The amount of the addition is the
total of your ordinary income portion and your capi-
tal gain portion. Include the capital gain portion only
if you did not include it in your federal adjusted gross
income. This information is on the federal Form 1099R
your employer gave you. Fill in this sum on line 10.
Attach a copy of federal Form 1099R to your Oregon
return with your Form(s) W-2 and other Form(s) 1099.

• Unused business credits [UBC]. Did you claim a deduc-
tion on your federal return for unused business cred-
its? If so, you must add these back to Oregon income.

• The following additions apply to only a few people
and are not explained in this booklet. See page 40 for
taxpayer assistance.
— Claim of right [COR].
— Depletion in excess of property basis [Depl].
— Difference in depreciation for Oregon [Dif dep].
— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and

simple or complex trusts [Fid].
— Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property

with an Oregon basis that is different from the fed-
eral basis [Basis dif].

— Non-qualified withdrawal from an Oregon quali-
fied tuition savings plan [QTSP].

— Passive activity losses [PAL].
— Sale of Oregon inherited farm or forest property

acquired from a decedent who died before Janu-
ary 1, 1987 [Inher F/F].

Form 40—Additions
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Subtractions

Generally, subtractions are items the federal govern-
ment taxes but Oregon does not. Subtractions reduce
your federal adjusted gross income.

13 2002 federal tax liability. Carefully follow the in-
structions below. Don’t confuse your federal

tax liability on your federal return with the federal tax
withheld on your Form(s) W-2. They are not the same.

You may deduct your total federal income tax liability,
after credits, up to $3,250. Don’t fill in less than -0- or
more than $3,250 ($1,625 if married filing separately).

1. Fill in your federal tax liability from 1.
Form 1040, line 55*; Form 1040A,
line 36; Form 1040EZ, line 10; Form
1040NR, line 51*; or TeleFile Tax
Record, tax from second box, line K.

2. Fill in $3,250 ($1,625 if married 2.
filing separately).

3. Fill in the lesser of line 1 or line 2 3.
here and on Form 40, line 13.

* Did you have tax on qualified retirement plans, Form 1040,
line 58; or Form 1040NR, line 54? If so, include the addi-
tional tax in your federal tax liability amount on line 1 above.

Caution: Don’t add:

• Self-employment tax, Form 1040, line 56.
• Social Security and Medicare tax on tips, Form 1040,

line 57; or Form 1040NR, line 53.
• Advance earned income credit payments, Form 1040,

line 59; or Form 1040A, line 37.
• Household employment taxes, Form 1040, line 60; or

Form 1040NR, line 56.

Did you pay additional federal tax in 2002 because you
were audited or you filed an amended return? If so,
read the instructions for line 18 on page 29 for federal
tax from a prior year.

The total of your federal tax subtraction (line 13), your
federal tax from a prior year (line 18), and your foreign
tax subtraction (line 18) can’t exceed $3,250 ($1,625 if
married filing separately).

14 Social Security income. Write in the amount, if
any, from federal Form 1040, line 20b; or Form

1040A, line 14b. If you have tier 2, windfall/dual-vested,
or supplemental Railroad Retirement Board benefits and
need help, see page 40 for telephone numbers to call.

15 Oregon income tax refund included in federal
income. Fill in your Oregon income tax refund

from your federal Form 1040, line 10. Do not include
other states’ refunds.

16 Interest and dividends from U.S. government.
Fill in interest and dividends from the U.S.

government that you included on your federal return.
Include U.S. government interest and dividends you
received through partnerships or grantor trusts.

Examples: You may subtract interest from U.S. Series
EE or HH bonds and Treasury bills or notes. You may
also subtract interest and dividends paid to you by
organizations that invest in U.S. government securi-
ties. Check the information on your Form 1099. The
payer may have given the percentage of interest and
dividends from U.S. government securities.

If you reported interest or dividends of your minor
child on your federal return, you may subtract any U.S.
government interest included.

Don’t include interest on federal tax refunds in the
subtraction. U.S. government interest and dividends
must be reduced by any interest expense relating to U.S.
government obligations you deducted on your federal
Schedule A.

When you sell or dispose of a U.S. government obligation,
you must include any gain or loss in Oregon income.

17 Federal pension income. You may be able to sub-
tract some or all of the taxable federal pension

included in 2002 federal income. This includes benefits
paid to the retiree or to the surviving spouse. The sub-
traction amount is based on the number of months of
federal service before and after October 1, 1991. If all of
your months of federal service occurred before October
1, 1991, subtract your entire federal pension. If you have
no months of service before October 1, 1991, you can-
not subtract any federal pension. If your service was
both before and after October 1, 1991, you will subtract
a percentage of your pension income. Once you have
determined the percentage, it will remain the same from
year to year. Write it in the space provided on line 17.

Use the following formula to determine your subtrac-
tion amount:

Example: Joe worked for the U.S. Postal Service from
February 5, 1965, until November 16, 1995. He worked
a total of 370 months, of which 320 months were
worked before October 1, 1991. In 2002, he received fed-
eral pension income of $35,000. Using the formula
above, his allowable subtraction is computed as follows:

He can subtract 86.5 percent (320 ÷ 370), or $30,275
(86.5% × $35,000) of his federal pension. He will con-
tinue to subtract 86.5 percent of his federal pension in-
come from Oregon income in future years.

To avoid processing delays or adjustments, attach your
federal return and double-check that you reported your
pension income on the correct line.

Months of service
before 10/1/91

Total months of
service

Federal pension
amount included
in federal income

=× Oregon
subtraction

320

370
(86.5%)   ×   $35,000   =   $30,275

Form 40—Subtractions
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18 Other subtractions. You may qualify for other sub-
tractions explained below. Identify the subtraction

in the space on line 18. Please use the title shown in bold
or the abbreviation shown in brackets. If you have more
than one subtraction, show the amount and type of each
on the form, not on a separate sheet. Fill in the total
amount of “other subtractions” on line 18. Do not use this
line to subtract federal pension. See line 17. If you need
more information about any of the following subtrac-
tions, see page 40 for taxpayer assistance information.

• American Indian [Amer Ind]. Are you an enrolled
member of a federally recognized tribe? You may be
able to subtract all or part of your income if all of the
following are true:
— You are an enrolled member of a federally recog-

nized American Indian tribe, and
— Your income is earned in federally recognized Indian

country, and
— You live in federally recognized Indian country.

Income such as interest income can also be subtracted
if you receive it while living in Indian country. “Indian
country” means reservation land and other land held
in trust by the United States for a tribe. Please attach a
completed copy of your Exempt Income Schedule for
Enrolled Members of a Federally Recognized American
Indian Tribe (Form 150-101-049) to your return. See
page 40 for assistance information.

• Claim of right [COR]. Were you taxed in a prior year on
income such as unemployment benefits that you are
repaying? If so, you may be able to claim a subtraction
for the income (or benefits) you repaid. Contact the
department for more information. See page 40.

• Difference in depreciation for Oregon [Dif dep]. You
may have a depreciation difference for Oregon and
may need the Oregon Depreciation Schedule and instruc-
tions. See page 40 to order the schedule.

• Difference in home mortgage interest for Oregon [Dif
hm]. Did you claim a mortgage interest credit on your
federal return? If so, you may claim a subtraction on
your Oregon return for the home mortgage interest
not included in your itemized deductions reported on
your federal return. You must itemize deductions for
Oregon to claim this subtraction.

• Federal tax credits [Fed exp]. Did you claim a federal
tax credit, such as a jobs credit or business credit? If
so, you may have been required to reduce your fed-
eral business and farm expenses because you claimed
that credit. You may claim the unallowed expenses as
a subtraction for Oregon.

• Federal tax from a prior year [Prior fed]. Did you pay
additional federal income tax in 2002 because you were
audited or you amended a prior year’s return? If so, you
may be able to subtract the additional tax. This subtrac-
tion applies only to additional tax you paid because
your return was changed. It doesn’t include the tax from
the original return or interest or penalties you paid.

To figure your subtraction for federal tax from a prior
year, follow these steps:

Step 1: From $3,250 ($1,625 if married filing sepa-
rately) subtract your federal tax, Form 40, line 13.

Step 2: On Form 40, line 18, fill in the smaller of:
— The amount you figured in step 1, or
— Additional federal tax from a prior year.

Please list the year(s) involved.

• Individual Development Account [IDA]. If you were
an Oregon Individual Development Account holder
through the Enterprise Foundation, you may qualify
for a subtraction. Subtract the deposits you made and
interest received in 2002 that are included in your fed-
eral income.

• Land donation to an educational institution [Land]. If
you donated land or sold land at less than its fair mar-
ket value to a qualified educational institution, you may
be able to claim a subtraction on the Oregon return.

• Local government bond interest [LGBI]. Were you
required to include interest from Oregon state and
local government bonds such as local private activity
bonds in your federal income? If so, fill in the amount
included on federal Form 1040, line 8a.

• Military active duty [Military]. You may qualify for a
subtraction of U.S. military active duty pay. To be eli-
gible for the subtraction, the active duty pay must be
included in federal income.

You can subtract all active duty pay earned outside of
Oregon during the year plus up to $3,000 active duty
pay earned in Oregon. Note: Your total subtraction can-
not be more than your total active duty pay income.

Reserve summer camp is active duty. However, drills
and weekend meetings of reserve units aren’t active
duty. If you are in the guards or the reserves and your
Form W-2 doesn’t show a separate amount for active
duty, contact your paymaster.

Enter the total of your military subtractions on line 18.

Example: Joanna enlisted in the Navy in 1993. From
January until August 15 of the tax year she was sta-
tioned in Hawaii. She earned $10,000 active duty pay
there. From August 15 until the end of the year she
served in Oregon as a recruiter. She earned $6,000 in
Oregon. She may subtract the $10,000 earned outside
of Oregon and $3,000 earned within the state, for a
total subtraction of $13,000.

• Oregon Lottery [OR lott]. Oregon does not tax Oregon
Lottery winnings of $600 or less per ticket. Oregon Lot-
tery includes Powerball tickets you purchased in Oregon.

From the winnings you included in Oregon income,
you may subtract:
— Winnings of $600 or less from each single ticket; and
— Annual payments from tickets purchased prior to

1998.

Form 40—Other subtractions



30 Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.

Do not subtract any other type of winnings; for example,
winnings from tribal gaming centers. Do you have gam-
bling losses claimed as an itemized deduction? If so, see
page 27.

• Oregon Qualified Tuition Savings Program [QTSP]. You
may subtract contributions you made to an Oregon
qualified tuition savings plan in 2002 but not more than
$2,000 ($1,000 if married filing separately) per return.
Keep a copy of your account statement with your tax
records. For information about qualified tuition sav-
ings plans in Oregon, call 503-378-2882. Or, visit the
State Treasury’s Web site at www.ost.state.or.us.

• Payments from IRAs, Keoghs, 403(b), and 457 plans
[Prev tax]. You may be able to subtract some of your
payments if all of the following apply:
— You contributed to an IRA, Keogh, 403(b), or 457

plan when you were a nonresident; and
— You paid state income tax on these contributions

in your state of residence; and
— You did not receive a tax benefit for these contri-

butions from any other state.

If you qualify, you may subtract an amount equal to
the amount of contributions that were taxed in
another state. Once your subtractions equal the con-
tributions that were previously taxed, all other pay-
ments are taxable.

• Taxable benefits [Partner]. If your employer provides
taxable health insurance or other benefits to you and
another person who qualifies as your same-sex domes-
tic partner, you may qualify for a subtraction on the
Oregon return. See page 40 for assistance information.

• The following subtractions apply to only a few people
and are not explained in this booklet. See page 40 for
taxpayer assistance information.
— Artists who make a charitable art donation [Art].
— Federal gain previously taxed by Oregon [Fed gain].
— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and

simple or complex trusts [Fid].
— Foreign tax [Foreign].
— Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property

with an Oregon basis that is different from the fed-
eral basis [Basis dif].

— Logger and construction worker commuting costs
[LCCC].

— Passive activity losses [PAL].
— Public Safety Memorial Fund Board payments

[Memorial].
— Scholarship awards used for housing expenses

[Sch housing].
— Tier 2, windfall/dual-vested, or supplemental Rail-

road Retirement Board and railroad unemploy-
ment benefits [RR].

Deductions

You may claim either net itemized deductions or Oregon’s
standard deduction, whichever is larger, but not both.

• If you claim itemized deductions, fill in lines 21–25.
• If you claim the standard deduction, fill in line 26.

Note: If you are married filing separately, you must
itemize deductions if your spouse itemizes. Don’t claim
the standard deduction if your spouse itemizes.

 21 Itemized deductions. Generally, you may claim
your total itemized deductions after federal

limitations as shown on federal Schedule A, line 28. You
may claim itemized deductions for Oregon, even if you
don’t have enough deductions to itemize on your fed-
eral return. If you itemize for Oregon only, fill out a
federal Schedule A for Oregon. Use your federal ad-
justed gross income to figure the Schedule A limitations.
(Keep the Schedule A with your tax records.)

 22 Special Oregon medical deduction. Were you or
your spouse age 62 or older on December 31,

2002? If so, your deduction is the lesser of line 1 or line
3 from your federal Schedule A. To claim this deduc-
tion, you must itemize your deductions for Oregon. You
can do this by filling out a Schedule A for both federal
and Oregon or filling out one for Oregon only. (Keep
your Schedule A with your tax records.)

 24 State income tax claimed as an itemized deduction.
Fill in the amount of Oregon income tax claimed as

an itemized deduction on federal Schedule A, line 5.

Are you claiming an Oregon credit for income taxes
paid to another state? If so, include the other state’s tax
after credits on the mutually taxed income or the other
state’s tax claimed as an itemized deduction, whichever
is less. See instructions for line 41, page 34.

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal
return because your adjusted gross income exceeded
$137,300 ($68,650 if married filing separately)? If so, you
may need to complete a worksheet to figure how much
Oregon income tax to subtract from itemized deduc-
tions. See page 40 to order the information circular,
Limit on Itemized Deductions.

26 Standard deduction. Generally, your standard de-
duction is based on your filing status as follows:

Single .................................................................... $1,640
Married filing jointly .......................................... 3,280
Married filing separately

If spouse claims standard deduction .... 1,640
If spouse claims itemized deductions ......... -0-

Head of household ............................................ 2,640
Qualifying widow(er) ........................................ 3,280

Exception 1: If someone else can claim you as a dependent,
your standard deduction is limited to the larger of:

• Your earned income plus $250, up to the maximum
allowed for your filing status as shown above; or

• $750.

The limit applies even if you can be, but are not, claimed
as a dependent on another person’s return. See page 9
for Form 40S, line 13 instructions.

Form 40—Deductions
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Exception 2: The standard deduction for nonresident
aliens is -0-.
Exception 3: If you or your spouse are age 65 or older,
you are entitled to a larger standard deduction amount.
Also, if you or your spouse are blind, you are entitled
to a larger standard deduction amount. Use the chart
below to determine your standard deduction.

Fill in the total standard deduction on Form 40, line 26.

27 Total deductions. Enter the larger of line 25 or
line 26.

Oregon tax

30 Tax from tax tables or tax rate charts. Figure the tax
on your Oregon taxable income, line 29. Because

of the January 28, 2003, election, two sets of tax tables
and tax rate charts are provided.

• Use the purple tax tables or tax rate charts on pages
21–23 if the tax increase fails.

• Use the green tax tables or tax rate charts on pages
24–26 if the tax increase passes.

See page 2 for more information.

After the January 28 election: If you are not sure which
tax table or tax rate chart to use, visit our Web site or
contact us. See page 40.

If you sold or exchanged farm assets to get out of a farm-
ing business, go to line 31. If you want to use farm income
averaging to compute your Oregon tax, go to line 31.

Example 1: A single Oregon taxpayer has taxable in-
come of $19,500. The taxpayer will use column S from
either the purple or green table, depending on the Janu-
ary 28 election outcome. The tax from the purple table
on page 22 is $1,585. The tax from the green table on
page 25 is $1,650.

Example 2: A married couple has Oregon taxable income
of $75,500. They are filing jointly. They will use either the
purple or green married filing jointly rate chart J, de-
pending on the January 28 election outcome. They fig-
ure their tax like this:

Purple Green
Oregon taxable income $75,500 $75,500
Subtract – 50,000 – 50,000

25,500 25,500
Multiply by 9% (or 9.5%) × .09 × .095

2,295 2,423
Then add + 4,150 + 4,336
Their Oregon tax is $6,445 $6,759

31 Tax from Form FIA-40 or Worksheet FCG. If you
qualify, you can compute your Oregon tax

using one of the following methods:

Farm income averaging method. You can use the federal
farm income averaging method to compute Oregon
personal income tax on farm income even if you didn’t
use farm income averaging on your federal return.

Use Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for Full-
Year Residents, to calculate tax on your farm income and
your other Oregon income. See page 40 to order this
form and instructions. Enter the tax amount from Form
FIA-40, line 22, on Form 40, line 31. Be sure to check the
box labeled “Form FIA-40.” Attach a copy of Form FIA-
40 to your return.

Farm asset capital gain method. Did you sell or ex-
change capital assets primarily used in farming because
you were getting out of a farming business? Or, did you
sell or exchange a farming partnership, corporation, or
other farming entity in which you held at least a 10 per-
cent ownership interest? If the sale or exchange was not
to a family member and you were getting out of a farm-
ing business completely, you may be eligible for a re-
duced tax rate on the net capital gain from the proceeds
of the sale or exchange.

Use Worksheet FCG, Farm Liquidation Long-Term Capital
Gain Tax Rate, to calculate tax on your net farm capital gain
and your other Oregon income. Enter the tax amount from
Worksheet FCG, line 6, on Form 40, line 31. Be sure to
check the box labeled “Worksheet FCG.” Call the depart-
ment to order this worksheet.

 32 Interest on certain installment sales. Do you
have installment sales on which you were

required to pay interest on the deferred tax liability for
federal purposes? If so, you must also compute interest
for Oregon. The amount due for Oregon is computed the

1. Check the correct number of boxes:

Yourself .........................................  65 or older
 Blind

Your spouse, if claiming
spouse’s exemption .....................  65 or older

 Blind
2. Enter total number of boxes checked ..........

If your
filing

status is...

Single

Married filing
jointly

Married filing
separately

Head of
household

Qualifying
widow(er)

And the
number in the
box above is...

1
2

1
2
3
4

1
2
3
4

1
2

1
2

Then your
standard

deduction is...

$ 2,840
4,040

4,280
5,280
6,280
7,280

2,640
3,640
4,640
5,640

3,840
5,040

4,280
5,280

3.

Age 65 or older, or blind
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same way as federal. The interest rate is .6667 percent
per month (8 percent per year) for 2002.

Credits

Generally, credits reduce, but cannot exceed, your
Oregon tax. Some credits have a carryforward provision
that allows you to use the remaining balance in the next
year. Use credits that cannot be carried forward first.

35 Earned income credit. You are allowed an
Oregon earned income credit only if you qualify

for and claim the earned income credit on your federal
return. Your Oregon credit is 5 percent of your federal
credit. For example, if your federal credit is $400, your
Oregon credit is $20 ($400 × .05).

Use the following formula to compute your credit:

1. Enter your federal earned income 1.
credit (Form 1040EZ, line 8; Form
1040A, line 41; Form 1040, line 64;
or TeleFile Tax Record, line L).

2. Decimal amount. 2. .05

3. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 3.
the decimal on line 2. Enter the result
here and on Form 40, line 35.

The Oregon earned income credit is limited to your tax
liability. You cannot carry over to next year any amount
that exceeds your tax liability.

36 Working family child care credit. This credit is
available to low-income families with qualifying

child care expenses. You qualify for this credit if all of
the following are true:

• You paid child care expenses to allow you and your
spouse to be employed or attend school; and

• Your adjusted gross income (Form 40, line 8) is less
than the limit for your household size (see tables on
page 33); and

• Your child care expenses are for your child under age
13 (or for your child with a disability, see page 8); and

• Care is not provided by the child’s parent or guard-
ian (unless provided in a licensed or registered child
care facility); and

• Care is not provided by the qualifying child’s brother
or sister under age 19; and

• You have earned income of at least $6,500; and
• You have less than $2,550 of investment income

(investment income is generally interest, dividends,
and capital gains); and

• If you are married filing separately, you must be le-
gally separated or living apart on December 31, 2002.

Use the following worksheet to figure your credit:

Household size

1. Enter the number of exemptions 1.
reported on your federal return.

2. Add your children who live with 2.
you whose exemption is claimed by
the other parent.

3. Line 1 plus line 2. This is your 3.
household size.

Credit amount

4. Enter your adjusted gross 4.
income from Form 40, line 8.

5. Enter total qualifying child care 5.
expenses you paid in 2002.

6. Enter the decimal amount from the 6.
correct table on page 33. The tables
are based on household size (line 3).
For example, if the amount on line 3
is 7, use Table 7.

7. Multiply the amount on line 5 by 7.
the decimal amount on line 6. Enter
the result here and on Form 40, line 36.

Example: A married couple with one qualifying child had
federal adjusted gross income of $22,436 and total child
care expenses of $2,650 in 2002. With a household size of
three, they use Table 3 to find the correct decimal (.40) and
multiply it by $2,650 to figure their credit of $1,060.

The working family child care credit is limited to your
tax liability. You cannot carry over to next year any
amount that exceeds your tax liability. If you qualify,
you may claim this credit in addition to the child and
dependent care credit.

37 Retirement income credit. If you were age 62 or
older on December 31, 2002, and receiving retire-

ment income, you may qualify for a credit. You don’t
qualify for this credit if your household income is $22,500
or more ($45,000 or more if married filing jointly), or if
you received more than $7,500 ($15,000 if married filing
jointly) in Social Security and/or tier 1 Railroad Retire-
ment Board benefits. Retirement income includes pay-
ments reported in Oregon taxable income from:

• U.S. government pensions (includes military).
• State or local government pensions.
• Employee pensions.
• Individual retirement plans.
• Deferred compensation plans including defined ben-

efit, profit sharing, and 401(k).
• Employee annuity plans.

Use the following worksheet to figure your credit.

1. Enter the retirement income of 1.
the eligible individual(s) included
on Form 40, line 8.

2. Enter any federal pension 2.
income subtracted from Oregon
income on Form 40, line 17.
See page 28.

Form 40—Credits

continued on page 34



Or, visit our Web site at www.dor.state.or.us. 33

Working Family Child Care Credit—2002 Tables

Table 3, household size = 3

If the amount on Enter this decimal

line 4 is: amount on line 6:

at least: but less than:

—— $30,050 .40
$30,050 31,550 .36

31,550 33,050 .32
33,050 34,550 .24
34,550 36,050 .16
36,050 37,550 .08
37,550 —— .00

Table 4, household size = 4

If the amount on Enter this decimal

line 4 is: amount on line 6:

at least: but less than:

—— $36,200 .40
$36,200 38,000 .36

38,000 39,800 .32
39,800 41,650 .24
41,650 43,450 .16
43,450 45,250 .08
45,250 —— .00

Table 6, household size = 6

If the amount on Enter this decimal

line 4 is: amount on line 6:

at least: but less than:

—— $48,500 .40
$48,500 50,950 .36

50,950 53,350 .32
53,350 55,800 .24
55,800 58,200 .16
58,200 60,650 .08
60,650 —— .00

Table 5, household size = 5

If the amount on Enter this decimal

line 4 is: amount on line 6:

at least: but less than:

—— $42,350 .40
$42,350 44,500 .36

44,500 46,600 .32
46,600 48,700 .24
48,700 50,850 .16
50,850 52,950 .08
52,950 —— .00

Table 2, household size = 2

If the amount on Enter this decimal

line 4 is: amount on line 6:

at least: but less than:

—— $23,900 .40
$23,900 25,050 .36

25,050 26,250 .32
26,250 27,450 .24
27,450 28,650 .16
28,650 29,850 .08
29,850 —— .00

Table 1, household size = 1

If the amount on Enter this decimal

line 4 is: amount on line 6:

at least: but less than:

—— $17,700 .40
$17,700 18,600 .36

18,600 19,500 .32
19,500 20,400 .24
20,400 21,250 .16
21,250 22,150 .08
22,150 —— .00

Table 7, household size = 7

If the amount on Enter this decimal

line 4 is: amount on line 6:

at least: but less than:

—— $54,700 .40
$54,700 57,400 .36

57,400 60,150 .32
60,150 62,900 .24
62,900 65,600 .16
65,600 68,350 .08
68,350 —— .00

Table 8, household size = 8*

If the amount on Enter this decimal

line 4 is: amount on line 6:

at least: but less than:

—— $60,850 .40
$60,850 63,900 .36

63,900 66,900 .32
66,900 69,950 .24
69,950 73,000 .16
73,000 76,050 .08
76,050 —— .00

* If your household size is larger than eight, please contact the department for the tables you need. See page 40 for taxpayer
assistance information.

Working family child care credit tables
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3. Net Oregon taxable pension. 3.
Line 1 minus line 2.

4. Enter $7,500 ($15,000 if married 4.
filing jointly).

5. Enter both spouses’ total 2002 5.
Social Security and tier 1
Railroad Retirement Board benefits.

6. Line 4 minus line 5, but not 6.
less than -0-.

7. Enter your household income. 7.
See below to determine your
household income.

8. Household income base. Enter 8.
$15,000 ($30,000 if married
filing jointly).

9. Line 7 minus line 8, but not less 9.
than -0-.

10. Line 6 minus line 9, but not 10.
less than -0-.

11. Enter the smaller of line 3 or 11.
line 10.

12. Multiply line 11 by 9% (.09). 12.
Enter the result here and on
Form 40, line 37.

What is included in household income? Household in-
come includes all taxable and nontaxable income of
each spouse, except Social Security and tier 1 Railroad
Retirement Board benefits. Include gross income re-
duced by adjustments on the federal form. Do not in-
clude your state tax refund, pension income excluded
from federal AGI that is a return of contributions, or
pensions that are rolled over into an IRA. Any losses
claimed are limited to $1,000 for each activity. Depre-
ciation is limited to $5,000.

The credit can’t be more than your tax liability. You can-
not carry over to next year any amount that exceeds
your tax liability. You may claim this credit or the credit
for the elderly or the disabled, line 39, but not both.

38 Child and dependent care credit. You are allowed
an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the

federal child and dependent care credit. You may still
be able to claim the Oregon credit even if you can’t use
all of your federal credit. In most cases, you cannot
claim the credit if you are married filing separately.

Use the following worksheet:

1. Enter the amount from federal 1.
Form 2441, line 6; or Form
1040A, Schedule 2, line 6.

2. Enter the decimal amount from 2.
the following table.

If your federal taxable Your
income from Form 1040, decimal
line 41; or Form 1040A, amount

line 27 is: is:

Over— But not over—

—— $5,000 .30
$5,000 10,000 .15
10,000 15,000 .08
15,000 25,000 .06
25,000 35,000 .05
35,000 45,000 .04
45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the amount on line 1 3.
by the decimal amount on line 2.
Enter here and on Form 40, line 38.

Did you pay 2001 child care expenses in 2002? If so, you
may be able to use that amount to increase your 2002
Oregon child and dependent care credit. See page 40 for
taxpayer assistance information.

Carryover. Your total 2002 child and dependent care credit
can’t be more than your 2002 tax liability for Oregon. You
can carry forward any excess credit over the next five
years. If the excess isn’t used within five years, it’s lost. See
instructions for line 42 on page 35.

39 Credit for the elderly or the disabled. The Oregon
credit is 40 percent of the federal credit. You may

claim an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the federal
credit. Please complete federal Schedule R or federal Form
1040A, Schedule 3, even if you can’t use the federal credit.

Multiply the amount on federal Schedule R, line 20; or
Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 20, by .40 (40%).

Note for Form 40 filers: You may claim this credit or the
retirement income credit, line 37, but not both.

40 Political contribution credit. Fill in your total
political contributions, but not more than $100 on

a joint return or $50 on all others. You must have made
the contributions during 2002. Your contributions must
have been a donation of money to any of the following:

• A political party.
• A qualified candidate (or the candidate’s principal

campaign committee) for federal, state, or local office
to be voted for in Oregon.

• A political action committee certified in Oregon.

Call the department to order the information circular,
Political Contributions Tax Credit. See page 40. Or, down-
load it from our Web site.

41 Credit for income taxes paid to another state.
Did you pay income taxes to another state or U.S.

territory on income that is also taxed by Oregon? If so,
you may be able to claim this credit.

Form 40—Credits
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If you were a full-year Oregon resident and had income
taxed by Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia, you
cannot claim the credit on your Oregon return. You may
claim the credit on the nonresident return you file with
those states. If income is taxed by Oregon and another
state not listed here, claim the credit on your Form 40
Oregon resident return, line 41; or Form 40S, line 21.

This credit is only for state income tax. You can’t claim
this credit for city or county income tax, sales tax, prop-
erty tax, school tax, or building funds.

Your credit is the smallest of the following:

• The other state’s tax after credits.
• Your Oregon tax liability after all credits, except cred-

its for income taxes paid to other states.
• The amount figured using the following formula:

Divide your modified adjusted gross income (MAGI)
taxed by both states by your total MAGI. Multiply the
result by your Oregon tax after subtracting all other
credits.

If you file Form 40S, your total MAGI is line 11.

If you file Form 40, your total MAGI usually equals the
sum of lines 8 and 9 minus lines 14–17. Add amounts
on line 10 only if they are income that Oregon taxes but
the federal government doesn’t. Subtract amounts on
line 18 only if they are income that the federal govern-
ment taxes but Oregon doesn’t.

Caution: You can’t claim this credit and also claim the
tax you paid as an itemized deduction. On Form 40, line
24, in addition to the Oregon tax you claim as an item-
ized deduction, fill in the smaller of the following:

• The other state’s tax claimed as an itemized deduc-
tion, or

• The other state’s tax after credits.

You must attach a copy of the other state’s return and
proof of payment to the back of your Oregon return.

You may be allowed this credit even if Oregon and
another state taxes the same income in different years.
Call us for more information. See page 40.

If you paid additional tax to another state because you
filed a return, amended a return, or were audited, you
may be able to claim a credit for those taxes. Call us for
more information. See page 40.

42 Other credits. You may be eligible for other cred-
its listed in the next column. Identify the credit(s)

you are claiming in the space on line 42. Use the title
shown in bold or the abbreviation shown in brackets.
If you have more than one credit, show the amount and
type of each on the form, not on a separate sheet. Fill
in the total amount of “other credits” on line 42.

• Adoption [Adopt]. If you paid or incurred qualified
federal adoption expenses during the year, you may
be entitled to the Oregon adoption credit. The credit
is the smallest of:
— The qualified adoption expenses less the allowable

federal credit;
— $1,500; or
— The federal credit allowed.

• Child and dependent care credit carryover from prior
years [C/O–CDC]. The amount of the prior year
carryover plus your current year’s credit can’t exceed
your Oregon tax liability, line 44. You can carry for-
ward any excess credit over the next five years. If the
excess isn’t used within five years, it’s lost.

• Individual Development Account [IDA]. If you made a
charitable contribution through the Enterprise Founda-
tion for the Oregon Individual Development Account
program during 2002, you may qualify for a credit. The
credit is the smaller of $75,000 or 75 percent of the do-
nation made. It can’t be more than your 2002 Oregon tax
liability. You may carry over any excess for the next three
years. Any federal benefit due to a federal deduction
must be reported as an Oregon addition. See page 27.

• Long-term care insurance premiums [LTCIP]. You are
allowed a long-term care insurance premiums credit if:
— Your policy was issued in 2000 or later; and
— You, your parents, or your dependents are the

policy beneficiaries; and
— You paid premiums for 2002.

The credit for joint filers and single individual filers is
the smaller of 15 percent of the premiums paid or $500.
For example, if a husband and wife pay $1,000 for a
policy, the credit will be $150 on the joint return. If
they file separately, the allowable credit ($150 in their
case) must be prorated. You may prorate based on the
amount you each paid or any way you choose. The
combined credits on spouses’ married filing separate
returns cannot exceed the credit they would be al-
lowed on a joint return.

Employers paying for long-term care insurance for
employees also may claim the credit. Call the depart-
ment to order the information circular, Long-Term Care
Insurance Premiums Tax Credit. See page 40.

Any federal benefit due to a federal deduction for the
premiums must be reported as an Oregon addition.
See instructions on page 27.

The credit is limited to your tax liability. You cannot
carry over to next year any amount that exceeds your
tax liability.

• Loss of use of limbs [Limbs]. If you have a permanent
and complete loss of the use of two limbs, you may
take a $50 tax credit. Your spouse also may claim a $50
credit if he or she qualifies. You can’t claim this credit
for a dependent.

Your MAGI taxed
by both states

Your total MAGI

Your Oregon tax after
subtracting all other credits

×

Form 40—Other credits



36 Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.

Obtain a disability certification form the first year you
file for the credit. Get the form from your county pub-
lic health officer. The health officer must sign the form.
Keep the form with your permanent health records.

You also qualify for an additional exemption for se-
verely disabled persons. See instructions on page 7.

• Residential energy devices [Res en]. To qualify, you
must purchase an energy efficient appliance or install
a solar device or ground loop system. Renters may
qualify for this credit. See page 40 to order the infor-
mation circular, Residential Energy Tax Credit.

• The following credits apply to only a few people and
aren’t explained in this booklet. See page 40 for tax-
payer assistance information.
— Advanced telecommunications facilities [ATF].*
— Bone marrow donation program [Marrow].
— Business energy [Bus en].
— Child Care Division contributions [CCD].*
— Claim of right [COR].
— Dependent care assistance [DCA].
— Donated crops [Crops].
— Electronic commerce zone investment [ECZI].*
— Employer scholarship [Emp Sch].*
— Farmworker housing [Farm hsng].
— First Break Program [1 break].
— Fish habitat improvements [Fish hab].
— Fish screening devices [Fish scrn].
— Gain from the sale of your house also taxed by

another state or country [Hse gain].
— Home care of a person age 60 or older [HCE].
— On-farm processing facilities [On-farm].*
— Oregon Cultural Trust [OCT].*
— Pollution control facilities [Poll fac].
— Pollution prevention [Poll prev].
— Reforestation of underproductive forest lands

[Reforest].
— Reservation enterprise zone [Tribal EZ].*
— Rural medical practitioners [Rural med].

* New for 2002.

Tax payments, penalties, and interest

45 Oregon income tax withheld. Fill in the total
Oregon tax withheld from your wages and other

income. That’s the amount shown on your Form(s) W-2
in box 17 or on a Form 1099. Don’t use the FICA
(Social Security) tax withheld. Don’t use tax withheld
from your wages by other states. Staple a readable
copy of your Form W-2 from each job and any Form
1099 showing Oregon income tax withheld to the lower
front of your return.

If you don’t have a Form W-2 or 1099, you must pro-
vide other proof of any Oregon tax withheld. Proof may
include a final paycheck stub or a letter from your

employer. If you file before February 1, 2003, we can ac-
cept only Form(s) W-2 or 1099 as proof.

If you have tax to pay this year, you may want to increase
the amount your employer withholds from your 2003
wages for Oregon. Call the department to order the infor-
mation circular, Oregon Income Tax Withholding: Some Spe-
cial Cases. Or, download it from our Web site.

46 Estimated tax you paid for the 2002 tax year. Fill
in the total estimated tax payments you made

before filing your Oregon return. These payments were
due April 15, 2002; June 17, 2002; September 16, 2002;
and January 15, 2003. Include any payments you made
with your extension. Also include any refund applied
from your 2001 income tax return or an Oregon
amended return (Form 40X). If the department adjusted
your 2001 refund, be sure to use the corrected amount.

50 Penalty and interest. Your return is due by April
15, 2003, unless you file for an extension.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

• Mail your payment after April 15 (even if you have
an extension).

• File your return showing tax to pay after the due date
or extension due date.

The penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid balance of your
tax. If you file more than three months after the due
date or the due date on your extension, add an addi-
tional 20 percent penalty. See page 6 to find out how
to avoid a penalty.

Interest. If you are filing your return or paying your tax
after April 15, 2003, include interest on any unpaid tax.

An interest period is each full month starting with the
day after the due date. For example, April 16 to May 15
is a full month.

The current interest rate is .5833 percent per month (7 per-
cent per year).

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a month.
Here’s how to figure daily interest:

Tax × .000192 × number of days

If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the inter-
est rate increases to 11 percent per year.

51 Interest on estimated tax underpayment. For
2002, you have an underpayment if you paid less

than 90 percent of the tax due on each estimated tax
payment date, based on the 9 percent tax rate (purple
tables, pages 21–23).

You don’t have an underpayment if:

• You owe less than $1,000 tax on your 2002 tax return
after credits and Oregon tax withheld, based on the
9 percent tax rate, or

Form 40—Tax payments



• You didn’t have an underpayment for any 2002 esti-
mated tax period, based on the 9 percent tax rate.

Use Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimated Tax, to
determine if you have an underpayment. If you do or
if you meet an exception, you must file Oregon Form
10 with your return. See page 40 to order Form 10.

On Form 40, line 51, fill in the amount of interest due
from Form 10 and check the box. Attach Form 10 to the
back of the return.

53 Amount you owe.

• Make your check or money order payable to “Oregon
Department of Revenue.” Do not make your pay-
ment out to “IRS,” “Treasury,” or “Internal Revenue
Service.”

• Write your Social Security number and “2002 Oregon
Form 40” on your check.

• Please use blue or black ink. Do not use gel pens or
red ink.

• Don’t send cash or a postdated check.
• Staple your payment and the Form RPC payment cou-

pon to your return on top of the Form(s) W-2. If the
amount is less than $1, no payment is required.

We cannot accept credit cards or withdraw funds from
your bank account for your payment.

Payment plan. If you can’t pay in full now, we will
work with you to set up a payment plan for the amount
you don’t pay with your return. See page 39 for more
information.

Special instructions. Do you owe interest on line 51 and
have an overpayment on line 48? If the interest you owe
is more than your overpayment, you have an amount
due. Subtract line 48 from line 52 and enter the result
on line 53.

If you owe $1,000 or more, you may owe interest on
underpayment of estimated tax. See instructions for
line 51 on page 36.

For information about paying estimated tax for 2003,
order the Estimated Tax information circular, coupons,
and instructions. See page 40.

If you don’t have a refund but want to contribute to a
charity listed on lines 56–61, mail your donation to the
charity’s address shown on pages 11 and 12. Please do
not mail your donation to the Department of Revenue.

Go to the signature block section on page 38 to finish
your return.

54 Refund. You must have a refund of $1 or greater
on line 54 to use lines 55–64.

55 Estimated tax. If your refund on line 54 is $1 or
more, you may apply part or all of it to your 2003

Oregon estimated income tax. Fill in the amount you
want to apply. Don’t fill in less than $1 or more than the
amount on line 54.

56   –   61 Charitable checkoff. You may donate
all or part of your refund to the chari-

ties listed below. Donations will reduce your refund.
You may donate to any or all of the charities on lines
56–60. You also may donate to one of the charities listed
under the instructions for line 61. Or, you can mail your
donations to the addresses shown on pages 11 and 12.

56 Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your donation will
fund the protection of nongame wildlife and

its habitat.

57 Child Abuse Prevention. Your donation will fund
programs through the Children’s Trust Fund

to help prevent child abuse and neglect.

58 Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your donation
goes to the Alzheimer’s Association for research

on Alzheimer’s and related disorders.

59 Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence. Your dona-
tion will fund programs through the Oregon

Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence.

Please fill in all applicable boxes below.

Check if new address

$
 Enter Payment Amount

First four letters of your last name

Social Security number

Due by April 15, 2003

150-101-164 (12-02)

Mailing address

City State ZIP code Telephone number

(         )

Spouse’s last name, first name, and initial (if joint payment)Last name, first name, and initial

For Department Use Only2002 Form

RPC
Personal Income Tax Return Payment Coupon

OREGON DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Date Received
➤

Detach Here

➤

Detach Here



38 Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.

60 AIDS/HIV Research, Education, and Services.
Your donation will fund AIDS/HIV research,

education, and services by the Living With HIV Fund.

61 Other charity. You may donate all or part of your
refund to one of the charities listed below.

Enter the code of the charity on line 61. Only one code
may be entered. Check the box for the amount you want
to donate and write it on line 61. Or, you can mail your
donations to the addresses shown on page 12.

Habitat for Humanity (Code 1). Your donation will help
Habitat for Humanity build simple, decent, and afford-
able housing for low-income families.

Oregon Head Start Association (Code 2). Your donation
will help Head Start provide services to the lowest-income,
highest-need children and families.

American Diabetes Association (Code 3). Your donation
will help continue diabetes research and advocacy pro-
grams in Oregon.

Oregon Coast Aquarium (Code 4). Your donation will
help fund educational programs, conservation efforts,
and animal rehabilitation.

SMART (Code 5). Your donation will help fund the Start
Making A Reader Today early literacy program for
Oregon’s most vulnerable children.

SOLV (Code 6). Your donation will help fund thousands
of projects to clean up beaches, forests, rivers, and
neighborhoods across Oregon.

St. Vincent de Paul Society of Oregon (Code 7). Your
donation will help provide services leading to self-
sufficiency for low-income Oregonians.

The Nature Conservancy (Code 8). Your donation will
help purchase and restore critical habitats for Oregon’s
at-risk plants, fish, and wildlife.

Doernbecher Children’s Hospital Foundation (Code 9).
Your donation will fund a critical expansion of the can-
cer treatment facilities at Doernbecher.

The Oregon Humane Society (Code 10). Your donation
will help save pets’ lives through rescue, sheltering,
adoption, education, cruelty investigation, and advocacy.

The Oregon Salvation Army (Code 11). Your donation to
the Salvation Army ensures help for the neediest chil-
dren and their families throughout Oregon.

The Oregon Veterans’ Home (Code 12). Your donation
will improve the quality of life for veterans receiving
nursing care at the Oregon Veterans’ Home.

63 Net refund. You must reduce your refund by any
amounts applied to 2003 estimated tax (line 55)

and donations on lines 56–61. By law, the Oregon Depart-
ment of Revenue cannot refund or apply amounts less
than $1. Generally, the department cannot issue a refund
when the return is filed more than three years after the due
date of the return. Do not send in Form RPC, the payment
coupon, with your return if you are claiming a refund.

64 Direct deposit. Complete line 64 if you want us
to deposit your refund directly into your bank

account instead of sending you a check.

1. Contact your bank to make sure your deposit will be
accepted and to get your correct routing and account
numbers.

2. Check the appropriate box for account type. Check
either checking or savings, but not both.

3. Enter your nine-digit routing number. The routing
number must begin with 01 through 12, or 21
through 32.

4. Enter the account number of the account into which
you want your refund deposited. The account num-
ber can be up to 17 characters (both numbers and let-
ters). Include hyphens, but don’t include spaces and
special symbols. Enter the number left to right and
leave any unused boxes blank.

Signature block

Authorization box. Check “Yes” if you wish to autho-
rize the Department of Revenue to discuss information
about the initial processing of your tax return with your
preparer. Otherwise, check “No.”

Signature(s). Be sure to sign and date your return. If
you are filing a joint return, both spouses must sign.

Preparer signature. Any person who prepares, advises, or
assists in the preparation of personal income tax returns
for another person in exchange for payment, gifts, or other
compensation must be licensed and must sign the return.
Contact these agencies for more information on licensing
or to check the status of your Oregon tax practitioner:

• State Board of Tax Practitioners at 503-378-4034 for
licensed tax consultants and licensed tax preparers.

• State Board of Accountancy at 503-378-4181 for pub-
lic accountants and certified public accountants.

License number. Licensed tax consultants, please enter
your license number. Certified public accountants,
please enter your certificate number. Tax-Aide volun-
teers, please enter your TCE site number.

Before you file

Should I put my return together in a special order?

Yes. To speed processing, put your Oregon return
together as follows:

1. Start with Form 40 or Form 40S.

2. Staple Form(s) W-2 and any Form(s) 1099 showing
Oregon tax withheld to the lower front of your Form
40 or Form 40S.

3. Staple your payment and completed Form RPC pay-
ment coupon (page 37) on top of the Form(s) W-2
and/or 1099.

Signature block
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4. Place a copy of the front and back of federal Form 1040,
1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or TeleFile Tax Record behind
your Form 40. Form 40S filers don’t need to attach this
item unless the IRS is figuring your federal tax.

5. If applicable, place these items in the following order
behind the federal form:

• Oregon Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimated
Tax.

• Proof to claim credit for taxes paid to another state.
• Oregon Form 24, Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary

Conversions.
• Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for

Full-Year Residents.
• Exempt Income Schedule for Enrolled Members of a

Federally Recognized American Indian Tribe.

6. Staple all the pages of your return together in the top
left-hand corner.

Don’t attach extension requests; federal Schedule A, B,
C, or D; or Form 2441, etc. We receive some federal
information from the IRS. We may ask you for copies
of schedules or additional information later.

How long do I have to file my return and get a refund?

By law, the Department of Revenue cannot issue a refund
if the amount is less than $1 or if your return is filed more
than three years after the due date.

Can I make payments?

If you can’t pay in full now, we will work with you to
set up a payment plan. File now and pay what you can.
Write your Social Security number, tax year, and “Form
40” or “Form 40S” on your check. Be sure you also use
Form RPC, the payment coupon, on page 37. You will
receive a billing notice showing tax, penalty, interest,
and the balance due. When you receive the billing no-
tice, immediately call the telephone number on the no-
tice to set up your payment plan. If you do not call,
collection activity may begin.

To avoid processing delays,
remember to:

File electronically. See page 2. File only once. Do not
send a paper return if you have filed electronically.

File after January 28, 2003, election results are known.

Type or clearly print your name, address, telephone num-
ber, and correct Social Security number on the return.

Double-check your math calculations and other figures,
including your Social Security number. The most com-
mon mistakes are math errors and the amount claimed
for the federal tax subtraction. Please double-check the
tax you selected. People commonly use the wrong line
or column on the tax tables. Errors slow the processing
of your return.

Verify that you have used the correct tax table or rate
chart on pages 21–23 or 24–26.

Claim any federal pension subtraction on Form 40, line 17.

Label amounts on Form 40S, line 21; or Form 40, lines
10, 18, and 42 as instructed.

Verify your bank account information if you are request-
ing direct deposit.

Sign your return (both spouses must sign a joint return).

Staple readable copies of Form(s) W-2 and 1099 show-
ing Oregon tax withheld to the front of the return.

Staple a copy of your federal return (front and back
only) to your Form 40.

Attach Form RPC, the payment coupon, with your pay-
ment to the front of your return.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use a business
envelope (4 × 91⁄2 inches) and be sure to use enough
postage.

Mail refund returns or no-tax-due returns to:

REFUND
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-0930

Mail tax-to-pay returns to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

After you file

I’m getting an income tax refund this year. How long
will it take?

Remember, the department will start processing returns
after the January 28, 2003, election results are known.

• If you file your return electronically and request di-
rect deposit of your refund:
— You may receive your refund in as few as 7–10

business days.

• If you file your return electronically and request a
check to be mailed:
— You may receive your refund in as few as 10–12

business days.

• If you mail your return before April 1 and request di-
rect deposit or a check:
— Allow 6–8 weeks.

• If you mail your return on or after April 1 and request
direct deposit or a check:
— Allow 8–11 weeks.

If there is a mistake on your return, your refund may
be delayed.

Avoid delays
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Taxpayer assistance
Printed information (free)

Income tax booklets are available at many post offices,
banks, and libraries. For booklets and other forms and
publications, you can also access our Web site, order by
telephone, or return the form below.

Internet

www.dor.state.or.us
The Department of Revenue Web site
is a quick and easy way to download
forms and information circulars, get
up-to-the-minute tax information, and
learn about electronic filing.

Correspondence

Write to: Oregon Department of Revenue,
955 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301-2555.
Include your Social Security number and a
daytime telephone number for faster service.

Telephone

Salem ...................................................... 503-378-4988
Toll-free within Oregon ...................... 1-800-356-4222

If you have a touch-tone telephone, call our 24-hour
voice response system at one of the numbers above to:
• Hear recorded tax information.
• Order tax forms.
• Check on the status of your 2002

personal income tax refund
(beginning March 1).

For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers above:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday ....................... 7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday ................................................................. 10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Closed on holidays.

April 1–April 15, Monday–Friday ............................. 7:00 a.m.–7:00 p.m.
Representatives also available Saturday, April 5 and April 12.
Wait times may vary.

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only): 503-945-
8617 (Salem) or 1-800-886-7204 (toll-free within Oregon).
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). This information
is available in alternative formats. Call 503-378-4988
(Salem) or 1-800-356-4222 (toll-free within Oregon).
Asistencia en español. Llame al 503-945-8618 en Salem.

Field offices

Get forms and assistance at these offices. Don’t send
your return to these addresses.
Bend 951 SW Simpson Drive, Suite 100
Eugene 1600 Valley River Drive, Suite 310
Medford 24 W 6th Street
Newport 119 NE 4th Street, Suite 4
North Bend 3030 Broadway
Pendleton 700 SE Emigrant, Suite 310
Portland* Federal Building Lobby,

1220 SW Third Avenue
Portland 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 505
Salem Revenue Building, 955 Center Street NE, Room 135
Salem 4275 Commercial Street SE, Suite 180
Tualatin 6405 SW Rosewood Street, Suite A

* January 2–April 15: Walk-in help available from 9 a.m.–4 p.m.,
Monday–Friday except holidays.

★ Portland
★ Tualatin

★ Salem★
Newport

★ Eugene ★ Bend

★ North Bend

★ Medford

★ Pendleton

O F  R E V E N U E
D E P A R T M E N T

O R E G O N

Check individual boxes to order. Complete name and address section.
Clip on the dotted line, then mail in the entire list to the address below.

Forms and instructions
Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon
Estimated Tax ............................................................ 150-101-031
Form 24, Like-Kind Exchanges/
Involuntary Conversions .........................................  150-800-734
Form 40ES, Estimated Income Tax Coupons,
and instructions .................................................. 150-101-026/-2
Forms 40S & 40, Full-Year Residents ................... 150-101-043
Forms 40P & 40N, Part-Year & Nonresidents .... 150-101-045
Form 40X, Oregon Amended Individual
Income Tax Return ................................................... 150-101-046
Form 40-EXT, Oregon Automatic Extension
and Extension Payment Coupon ........................... 150-101-165
Form 90R, Elderly Rental Assistance ................... 150-545-002
Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging
for Full-Year Residents ............................................. 150-101-160
Form FIA-40N, Oregon Farm Income Averaging
for Nonresidents ....................................................... 150-101-161
Form FIA-40P, Oregon Farm Income Averaging
for Part-Year Residents ............................................ 150-101-162
Oregon Depreciation Schedule ............................. 150-101-025
Schedule Z, Computation of Tax for Oregon
Farm Income Averaging ......................................... 150-101-166

Information circulars and brochures
Computing Interest on Tax You Owe ................... 150-800-691
Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Another State .... 150-101-646
Divorce and Taxes ..................................................... 150-101-629
Donated Crops Tax Credit ....................................... 150-101-686
Estimated Income Tax .............................................. 150-101-648
Home Care of a Person Age 60 or Older Tax Credit ... 150-101-653
Income Tax Filing Extension ................................... 150-101-660
Interstate Transportation Wages (Amtrak Act) ... 150-101-601
Limit on Itemized Deductions ................................ 150-101-611
Married Persons Filing Separate Returns ............ 150-101-656
Military Personnel Filing Information .................. 150-101-657
Oregon Electronic Filing ......................................... 150-101-630
Record Keeping Requirements .............................. 150-101-608
Residential Energy Tax Credit ................................. 150-101-641
Retirement Income .................................................... 150-101-673
What To Do if You Are Audited .............................. 150-101-607
Your Rights as an Oregon Taxpayer ..................... 150-800-406
List of other printed information:
Form and Publication Order ................................... 150-800-390

Send to: Forms, Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990

Please print

Name _______________________________________

Address _____________________________________

City _________________________________________

State _______________ ZIP Code ________________

✂

Taxpayer assistance


