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Debbie
IMPORTANT!
Please read before filing
The February 3, 2004, special election will affect how you
prepare and file your 2003 tax return. Please wait to file
your tax return until after the election results are
known.
The 2003 Oregon Legislature passed House Bill (HB)
2152, which made several changes to Oregon tax
law. These changes include a graduated income tax
assessment, commonly known as a surcharge. This
bill was referred by voters for a February 3, 2004,
election. The Department of Revenue has included
instructions to prepare for both possible election
outcomes.
• If Measure 30 passes on February 3, 2004, HB 2152
goes into effect. Follow the GREEN instructions.
Skip the orange instructions.
• If Measure 30 fails on February 3, 2004, HB 2152
does not go into effect. Follow the ORANGE instructions.
Skip the green instructions.
If you are not sure of the outcome of the election,
contact us. See page 40 for numbers to call, or visit
our Web site.
Because this election affects tax year 2003, the department
will begin processing returns after the
election results are certified. Filing before the election
results are certified could result in incorrect tax
and delay the processing of your return.
Form 40N and 40P instructions affected by the
election outcome:
• Certain sport utility vehicles, trucks, and vans:
addition for depreciation, line 33 (page 21).
• Special Oregon medical deduction, Form 40N,
line 46; or Form 40P, line 47 (page 26).
• Surcharge, line 62 (page 30).
• Interest on estimated tax underpayment, line 71
(page 32).


New information

Possible new legislation. There will be a special elec-
tion on February 3, 2004. If Measure 30 passes, the fol-
lowing personal income tax laws will go into effect:

= Certain sport utility vehicles, trucks, and vans: addi-
tion for depreciation. If you used a sport utility ve-
hicle, truck, or van in your business, you may have
an addition for the depreciation deducted on your
federal return.

= Special Oregon medical deduction. The age require-
ment for this deduction is age 63. The deduction is
limited based on your federal adjusted gross income.

= Surcharge. The surcharge is a percentage of your tax
after credits.

Rounding cents to the nearest whole dollar. You must
round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar. You
will no longer enter cents on your Oregon return. Drop
amounts less than 50 cents. Increase amounts from 50
to 99 cents to the next dollar. For example, $12.15 be-
comes $12 and $233.50 becomes $234.

Working family child care credit. Beginning in 2003,
this credit for low-income families with qualifying
child care expenses is refundable. You must complete

and attach Schedule WFC-N/P to claim this credit. See
page 33.

Federal law. Oregon is tied to the December 31, 2002, fed-
eral definition of taxable income. Oregon will not auto-
matically adopt federal changes after December 31, 2002.

Oregon remains permanently tied to federal law for
depreciation of assets, pension plans, and tax-exempt
or tax-deferred savings programs. Oregon has not ad-
opted all of the provisions of the Military Family Tax
Relief Act of 2003. Contact us for more information.

Oregon residents living in a foreign country. 1999 leg-
islation allowed some nonresidents to amend returns
back to 1995 in order to exclude certain income. The
time to amend is coming to a close. You must amend
by December 31, 2004, in order to receive this special
treatment.

Federal tax subtraction. The federal tax subtraction
limit has increased to $3,500 ($1,750 for married per-
sons filing separately). See page 25.

Standard deduction amounts. The standard deduc-
tion amounts have changed for 2003. The amount is
indexed each year. See page 25.

General information

These instructions aren’t a complete statement
of laws and Oregon Department of Revenue
rules. You may need more information or forms.
See page 40.

Should | file an Oregon return?

You must file an Oregon income tax return if your
Oregon source income and income received while an
Oregon resident is more than your standard deduction.

If your Oregon income is less than your standard
deduction, you are not required to file a return for
Oregon.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from
all sources.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from
all sources earned or received while you were an
Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes your income from
Oregon sources while you were a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes only your income from
Oregon sources.

Filing thresholds

You must file an Oregon income tax return if:
Your filing status is: Age: And your Oregon
income is more
than:
Single, can be claimed "
on another’s return Any et
sinale Under 65 $1,670
g 65 or over $2,870
Under 65 $2,695
Head of household 65 01 Over $3805
Both under 65 $3,345
Married, joint return One 65 or over $4,345
Both 65 or over $5,345
Married, separate return
If spouse claims Under 65 $1,670
standard deduction 65 or over $2,670
If spouse itemizes
deductions Any o
e Under 65 $3,345
Qualifying widow(er) 65 or over $4.345
*The larger of $750 or your earned income plus $250, up to your
standard deduction amount.

Or, visit our Web site at www.dor.state.or.us
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What does income from Oregon

sources include?

It includes income shown on your federal return from
wages, fees, or for services performed in Oregon.

If you have wages from an Oregon employer for ser-
vices performed in Oregon and another state while
you were a nonresident and your Oregon wages are
not stated separately on your W-2, compute your
Oregon source income using the following formula:

Days actually worked in Oregon

Total Oregon

Days actually worked everywhere wages wages

Do not include holidays, vacation days, and sick days
as actual work days. However, you must include sick
pay, holiday pay, and vacation pay in total wages. You
must attach an explanation from your employer. If
Oregon is the only state you worked in, do not use this
formula; all of your earnings are taxable and must be
reported in the Oregon column.

Example: Savannah lives in Idaho but works in Oregon.
Out of 260 total days, she worked 132 days in Oregon
and 88 days from her home in Idaho. She received 27
days vacation pay, five days of sick pay, and eight days
of holiday pay. She earned $50,000 in wages. She figured
the amount subject to Oregon tax as follows:

Total days paid 260
Less: Vacation days (27)
Sick days (5)
Holidays 8)

Total days worked everywhere 220

Days actually worked in Oregon (132) $50,000

(Total wages)

= $30,000
Days actually worked everywhere (220)

Savannah’s compensation reported in the Oregon col-
umn of Form 40N is $30,000.

Other income from Oregon sources:

= Businesses, S corporations, partnerships, and limit-
ed liability companies taxed as partnerships located
or doing business in Oregon.

= Unemployment compensation received because of
an Oregon job.

= Severance pay you received because of an Oregon
job.

= Oregon farms.

= Oregon estates and trusts.

= Sales of Oregon property.

= Rents and royalties for use of Oregon property.

= Community property income. If you are a resident of
Oregon and your spouse is a resident of a state with

community property laws, you may be taxed on part
of your spouse’s income. Community property laws
in the state where your spouse lives determine if you
are taxed on any of your spouse’s income. You may
need more information from the state where your
spouse resides. Visit our Web site for links to other
states’ tax Web sites.

What income is not included in Oregon sources?

= Interest and dividends. If they are from an Oregon
business you own or they are received during the
part of the year you were a resident, you must in-
clude them.

= Interstate transportation wages from an interstate
railroad company, interstate motor carrier, air car-
rier, or motor private carrier. You must be a non-
resident and have regularly assigned duties in more
than one state. Visit our Web site for more informa-
tion about interstate transportation wages. Or, see
page 40 to order the information circular, Amtrak Act
(Interstate Transportation Wages).

= Oregon retirement income received while you were
a nonresident unless you were domiciled in Oregon.
See “Pensions and annuities” on page 19.

e Waterway or hydroelectric dam compensation, if
you are a nonresident:
— Working as crew or pilot on a vessel on a river
between Oregon and another state, or
— Working on a dam that spans a river between
Oregon and another state.

= Military pay of a nonresident.

Am | a resident, a nonresident, or a part-year resi-
dent? The following will help you decide:

= You are a full-year Oregon resident, even if you live
outside Oregon, if all of the following are true:

— You think of Oregon as your permanent home;
and

— Oregon is the center of your financial, social, and
family life; and

— Oregon is the place you intend to come back to
when you are away.

You are still a full-year resident if:

— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or

— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary ab-
sence.

You may also be considered a full-year resident if
you spent more than 200 days in Oregon during the
tax year or if you are a nonresident alien.

= You are a nonresident if your permanent home was
outside Oregon all year.

Instructions continued on page 13

4  General information
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= You are a part-year resident if you moved into or
out of Oregon during 2003. You are not a part-year
resident if:
— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary ab-
sence.

Special-case Oregon residents. You are considered a
nonresident if all of the following are true:

= You are an Oregon resident who maintained a per-
manent home outside Oregon the entire year, and

= You didn’t keep a home in Oregon during any part
of the year, and

= You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during the year.

Note: A recreational vehicle (RV) is not considered a
permanent home outside of Oregon.

Oregon residents living abroad. Generally, if you
qualify for the federal earned income exclusion or
housing exclusion for United States residents living
abroad, you are considered a nonresident.

Filing status

Generally, you must use the same filing status for your
Oregon and federal returns.

Exceptions for married persons when spouses are:

= Full-year resident and part-year resident. You
may file separate Oregon returns. If you file sepa-
rate returns for Oregon, you must use the married
filing separately status. The full-year resident files
Form 40, and the part-year resident files Form 40P.
If you choose to file a joint return for Oregon, use
Form 40P.

= Full-year resident and nonresident. You may file
separate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns
for Oregon, you must use the married filing sepa-
rately status. The full-year resident files Form 40,
and the nonresident files Form 40N. If you choose to
file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N.

e Part-year resident and nonresident. You may file
separate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns
for Oregon, you must use the married filing sepa-
rately status. The part-year resident files Form 40P,
and the nonresident files Form 40N. If you choose to
file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N.

Need more information? Visit our Web site. Or, see
page 40 to order the full-year resident tax booklet or
the information circular, Married Persons Filing Separate
Returns.

Military personnel

Nonresidents stationed in Oregon. Oregon doesn’t tax
your military pay while you are stationed in Oregon.
File Form 40N if you or your spouse had income from

other Oregon sources or to claim a refund of Oregon
tax withheld from your military pay.

Residents stationed in Oregon. If you are an Oregon
resident stationed in Oregon, file Form 40 from the
Full-Year Resident tax booklet.

Residents stationed outside Oregon. If you are an
Oregon resident stationed outside Oregon, you may
file Form 40N if you meet the requirements for spe-
cial-case Oregon residents or Oregon residents living
abroad. See “Residency” on page 4. File Form 40 from
the Full-Year Resident tax booklet if you don’t meet the
listed requirements.

Military Family Tax Relief Act. Oregon has not ad-
opted all of the provisions of this act. Contact us for
more information.

Need more information? Visit our Web site. Or, see
page 40 to order forms and the information circular,
Military Personnel Filing Information.

Filing for a deceased person

See “Should | file an Oregon return?” on page 3 to
determine if a return must be filed for a deceased indi-
vidual. If you are filing a return and claiming a refund
for someone who is now deceased, file Form 243, Claim
to Refund Due a Deceased Person, with the return. This
will allow the department to issue the refund check in
your name. Call the department to order this form. If
you are a court-appointed or certified personal repre-
sentative, Form 243 is not needed.

What form do | use?

Use Form 40N if any ONE of the following is true:

= You are a nonresident, or

= You are a special-case Oregon resident (see “Special-
case Oregon residents” earlier on this page), or

= You and your spouse are filing ajoint return and one
(or both) of you is a nonresident, or

= You meet the military nonresident requirements ex-
plained on this page, or

= You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad
for the entire year.

Use Form 40P if any ONE of the following is true:

= You are a part-year resident, or

= You are filing jointly and one spouse is a full-year
Oregon resident and one is a part-year resident, or

= You are filing jointly and both spouses are part-year
Oregon residents, or

= You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad
for part of the year.

Use Form 40 or 40S if any ONE of the following is true:

= You are a full-year resident, or

= You and your spouse are both full-year residents fil-
ing jointly.

Visit our Web site at www.dor.state.or.us
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Forms 40 and 40S are available on our Web site and at
many post offices, banks, and libraries in Oregon and
southwest Washington. To order Forms 40S and 40 and
instructions, see page 40.

When should I file my return?

File your return after the February 3, 2004, special
election results are known. The filing deadline for
calendar year 2003 is April 15, 2004. If you can’t pay
all of your tax by the due date, file your return anyway
to avoid a late-filing penalty. Payment plans are
available. Contact the department to make payment
arrangements. See page 40.

Returns for other tax periods are due by the 15th day
of the fourth month after the close of your tax year.

What if | need more time to file?

Generally, Oregon allows you the same extension you
have for your federal return. However, in some cases,
you will need to file the Oregon extension form, Form
40-EXT. Download it from our Web site or see page 40
to order this form. The following will help you decide
when you need to file Oregon Form 40-EXT:

= If you filed a federal extension, Form 4868, and you

expect to get a refund for Oregon:

— You do not need to file Form 40-EXT.

— Check box 7b on Form 40N or Form 40P when you
file your return.

— Keep a copy of your federal extension in your re-
cords. You are not required to send us a copy of
your federal extension.

= If you did not file a federal extension but need more
time to file for Oregon only and you expect an

Oregon refund:

— File Oregon Form 40-EXT. Enter -0- in the pay-
ment amount box on the 40-EXT payment coupon
and mail the entire form to: Extension Clerk,
Oregon Department of Revenue, PO Box 14950,
Salem OR 97309-0980.

— Check box 7b on Form 40N or Form 40P when you
file your return.

— Keep a copy of Form 40-EXT in your records.

< If you need more time to file for Oregon and you
need to make a tax payment to Oregon:

—File Oregon Form 40-EXT with your check or
money order. Detach the payment coupon from
Form 40-EXT. Send your Form 40-EXT payment
coupon and your check or money order by April
15, 2004, to: Extension Clerk, Oregon Department
of Revenue, PO Box 14950, Salem OR 97309-0980.

— Check box 7b on Form 40N or Form 40P when you
file your return.

— Keep a copy of Form 40-EXT in your records.

An extension does not mean more time to pay!

You must pay any tax you expect to owe when you file
your extension. If you don’t pay all the tax due with
your extension, you will owe interest on the unpaid
balance after April 15, 2004, to the date of your pay-
ment. The 2004 interest rate is 6 percent per year. If the
tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the interest
rate increases to 10 percent per year. You also may owe
a late-payment penalty.

Were you stationed in a designated combat zone?

Did you receive additional time to file your 2003 fed-
eral return and pay your 2003 tax? If so, Oregon allows
the same additional time to file and pay. Write “combat
zone” in blue or black ink at the top of your return
when you file it. Contact the department if you were
stationed in a contingency area. Or, visit our Web site
for more information.

You will owe a 5 percent late-payment penalty on any
2003 tax not paid by April 15, 2004.

If you file more than three months after the due date or
extension due date, a 20 percent late-filing penalty will
be added; that is, you will owe a penalty of 25 percent
of any tax not paid.

There is an exception to paying penalty. See the in-
structions for line 70, page 31.

A 100 percent penalty is charged if you don’t file a
return for three consecutive years by the due date of
the third year including extensions. The penalty is 100
percent of the unpaid tax for each of the three years.

Interest on underpayment of

estimated tax

You may owe interest on underpayment of estimated
tax if:

= You owe $1,000 or more on your return after credits
and withholding; and

= You paid less than 90 percent of the tax due on each
estimated tax payment date for 2003.

See the instructions for line 71 on page 32.

2004 estimated tax

Oregon estimated tax laws are not the same as federal es-
timated tax laws. Use Oregon instructions to determine
if you need to make estimated tax payments for 2004.

Estimated tax is the amount of tax you expect to owe
after credits and Oregon tax withheld when you file
your 2004 Oregon individual income tax return.

Who must make estimated tax payments?

In most cases, people who expect to owe $1,000 or
more on their 2004 Oregon income tax return after

14 General information
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credits and withholding must make estimated pay-
ments. You may need to make estimated payments if:

= You are self-employed and don’t have Oregon tax
withheld from your income.

e You received Oregon Lottery winnings under
$5,000.

= You receive income such as pensions, interest, or
dividends, and Oregon tax is not withheld.

« You are a wage earner and expect to owe tax of
$1,000 or more on your 2004 return. You may want
to increase the amount your employer withholds
from your Oregon wages. If you and your spouse
both work, visit our Web site to download the infor-
mation circular, Oregon Income Tax Withholding: Some
Special Cases. Or, call the department to order it. See
page 40.

When do | pay?

The due dates are April 15, 2004*; June 15, 2004; Sep-
tember 15, 2004; and January 18, 2005.

Send your payment with Form 40ES. Visit our Web site
to download the form. Or, see page 40 to order esti-
mated tax coupons, instructions, and the information
circular.

* Please send your 2004 Oregon Form 40ES and payment
in a different envelope from your 2003 Oregon income tax
return. This will help us credit your payment more ef-
ficiently.

What if | am self-employed?

If you are self-employed and do business in
Multnomah, Clackamas, or Washington counties, you
may also need to file Form TM, TriMet Self-Employment
Tax Return. If you are self-employed and do business
in Lane County, you may need to file Form LTD, Lane
Transit District Self-Employment Tax Return. Visit our
Web site to download either form. Or, contact the de-
partment to order. See page 40.

Frequently asked questions

Is my tax return private information?

Yes. All information provided on the return is con-
fidential. Any Oregon Department of Revenue em-
ployee who gives out unauthorized information about
your return may be convicted of a class C felony.

I’'m moving. Will my refund check be forwarded to me?

Yes. If you move after you mail your return, let us
know your new address. You can download a change
of address form from our Web site. Or, write to:
Address Change, Oregon Department of Revenue, 955
Center St NE, Salem OR 97301-2555. Or, you can call

one of the numbers listed on page 40. Remember to file
a change of address form at your local post office.

What tax records do | need to keep?
You need to keep:

= A complete copy of both your federal and state re-
turns.

= The original of all receipts, canceled checks, state-
ments, and other records you used to prepare your
return. Save these records for at least three years
from the due date of the return or three years from
the date you file your return, whichever is later.

= All records from the sale or purchase of property
and investments. Keep these records for at least
three years after you report the gain or loss on the
property or investment.

Visit our Web site for more information about record-
keeping requirements. Or, see page 40 to order the
information circular.

What if | need to change my Oregon return after filing?

File an amended return anytime you need to correct
your Oregon return. Use Form 40P to correct a part-
year resident return or Form 40N to correct a nonresi-
dent return. Write “Amended” in blue or black ink at
the top of the form. You are allowed three years from
the due date of the return or the date the return was
filed, whichever is later, to file an amended return to
claim a refund. If you amend your federal or another
state’s return, usually you will need to amend your
Oregon return. Call us for more information. See page
40 for the numbers to call.

What if I'm audited by the IRS or another state?

If changes are made that increase your Oregon income
tax, file an amended return to report and pay addi-
tional tax. If the changes reduce Oregon tax, you have
two years from the date of the audit report to claim a
refund.

Electronic filing

Electronic filing (e-file) is a OREGON

fast, efficient, and accurate
way to file. @

You do not need to mail

anything to the department unless you owe tax. If you
owe tax, you can file your return electronically before
the due date without making a payment. You will have
until April 15, 2004, to pay the tax in full. Please send
your payment with Form RPC, the payment coupon.

For more information about how electronic filing
works, visit our Web site. Or, see page 40 to order the
information circular, Electronic Filing for Oregon.

Or, visit our Web site at www.dor.state.or.us
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Direct deposit

The Department of Revenue can deposit your refund
directly into your account at most banks or other fi-
nancial institutions. If you choose direct deposit, con-
tact your bank to make sure that your deposit will be
accepted and to get your correct routing and account
numbers. The Department of Revenue is not responsi-
ble if your bank rejects your deposit. We will issue you

a paper check if your bank rejects your direct deposit.
See page 38 for more information.

Blue or black ink

Please use blue or black ink for easier reading and
faster processing. Equipment used to scan documents
cannot read certain types and colors of ink, especially
gel pens and red ink. Thank you.

Instructions for Forms 40N and 40P

Step 1: Select the appropriate form.
See page 13 to decide whether to use Form 40N or 40P.

Step 2: Fill out your federal form.

Your Oregon tax is determined using the ratio of your
Oregon-related income to your entire federal income.
Fill out your federal return first, then your Oregon
return. You must attach a copy (front and back) of your
federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or TeleFile
Tax Record to your Oregon tax return. Don’t attach
federal Schedule A, B, C, or D, or Form 2441, etc.

Step 3: Start the Oregon form.

Fiscal year filers

Write the ending date of your fiscal year in the space
provided. Write “Fiscal year” at the top of the return.
Please use blue or black ink.

Name and address

Please type or clearly print your name, address, tele-
phone number, and correct Social Security number on
your return.

Saocial Security number (SSN). The request for your SSN
is authorized by Section 405, Title 42, of the United States
Code. You must provide this information. It will be used
to establish your identity for tax purposes only.

Individual Taxpayer ldentification Number (ITIN). If
the IRS has issued you an ITIN because you do not
have a Social Security number, enter your ITIN on your
Oregon tax return wherever your SSN is requested.

Birth year. Enter the four digits of the year you were
born. For example, “1963.”

Check the boxes

Filing status

@ _@ Check the box next to your filing status.
If filing as head of household, enter the

name of the person who qualifies you for head of
household filing status next to box 4.

You must check the same filing status you checked
on your federal return. Exception: If you and your
spouse don’t have the same residency status, you may
file separate returns for Oregon even if you filed your
federal return as married filing jointly. See page 13 to
determine which form to use based on the filing status
you choose for Oregon.

How to file separate returns for Oregon

If you are married filing separately (MFS), enter your
spouse’s name and Social Security number next to box
3. Don't fill in your spouse’s name or Social Security
number in the heading of the return.

If you file separate returns for Oregon only, report
your own share of federal adjusted gross income (AGI)
and deductions. Also, report your share of any Oregon
additions or subtractions. To figure your share of the
federal tax subtraction or itemized deductions, deter-
mine your federal adjusted gross income (AGI) and
use the following formula:

Your share of federal AGI
Joint federal AGI

Your percentage
(not to exceed 100%)

Write “MFS for Oregon only” at the top of the form in
blue or black ink. Attach the following to both Oregon
returns:

= A federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040NR, or 1040EZ pre-
pared as if you had filed married filing separately;
and

= A copy of the joint Form 1040, 1040A, 1040NR, or
1040EZ you actually filed.

If possible, mail both spouses’ Oregon returns in the
same envelope. Do not staple the returns together.

For assistance or to order the information circular,
Married Persons Filing Separate Returns, see page 40.

Exemptions

& Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself”
and other boxes that apply. If someone
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else can claim you as a dependent, you can’t claim an
exemption for yourself; enter -0- in the total box on 6a
unless you have a severe disability.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability
at the end of 2003? If so, you may claim an additional
exemption credit. You may qualify for the severely dis-
abled exemption even if someone else can claim you
as a dependent. You are considered to have a severe
disability if any of the following apply:

= You permanently lost the use of one or both feet, or
= You permanently lost the use of both hands, or
= You are permanently blind, or
= You have a permanent condition that, without special
equipment or outside help, limits your ability to:
— Earn a living, or
— Maintain a household, or
— Transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include items such as glass-
es, contact lenses, ordinary crutches, or hearing aids.

You don't qualify for this exemption if:

= You have a temporary disability from an injury or
illness and are expected to recover, or

= Your condition keeps you from doing your former
work but allows you to do other kinds of work with-
out special equipment.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your phy-
sician must write a letter describing your disability.
Keep the letter with your permanent health records.

Check the “Severely disabled” exemption box. If your
spouse qualifies, he or she may also claim this exemp-
tion. You and your spouse may also qualify for the loss
of use of limbs credit. Call the department for more
information.

All dependents. Enter the number of children
you claim as dependents and your other depen-
dents in box 6c. Fill in their first names on the line.

In most cases, you must claim the same dependents
claimed on your federal return.

Child(ren)with a disability. You may be entitled
to an additional personal exemption for your

dependent child who has a qualifying disability. To

qualify, all of the following must be true. Your child:

= Qualified as your dependent for 2003; and

= Was age 17 or younger on December 31, 2003; and

= Was eligible for “early intervention services” or re-
ceived special education as defined by the Oregon
Department of Education (learning disabilities or
communication disorders alone don’t qualify); and

= Was considered to have a disability as of December 31,
2003, under the federal Individuals with Disabilities

Education Act and related Oregon laws. Eligible dis-
abilities include:

— Autism.

— Deaf-blind.

— Hearing impairment.

— Mental retardation.

— Multiple disabilities.

— Orthopedic impairment.

— Other health impairment.

— Serious emotional disturbance.
— Traumatic brain injury.

— Visual impairment.

Get a statement of eligibility that confirms one of the
disabilities listed above and the cover sheet from one
of the following:

= The child’s Oregon Individualized Education Pro-
gram (IEP), or

« The child’s Oregon Individualized Family Service
Plan (IFSP).

Keep the statement and cover sheet with your perma-
nent health records. Write your child’s name on line
6d, “Child(ren) with a disability.” Also be sure to in-
clude the child’s name on line 6¢ for “All dependents.”

Age 65 or older, or blind. Check the boxes on

line 7a if you or your spouse were age 65 or
older or were blind on December 31, 2003. You are
entitled to a larger standard deduction on Form 40N,
line 44; or Form 40P, line 45. If you or your spouse are
blind, you may also qualify for the severely disabled

exemption credit. See the instructions for lines 6a and
6b, page 16.

Extension. If you filed an extension of time to
file, check the box on line 7b. See page 14.
@ Deferral of gain. Did you file federal Form 8824
because you are deferring gain on exchanged
property? If so, check the box on line 7c. Also, com-
plete and attach Oregon Form 24, Like-Kind Exchanges/

Involuntary Conversions. Download it from our Web site
or see page 40 to order.

Step 4: Income line instructions.

The following instructions are for Form 40N or 40P,
lines 8-84, if not fully explained on the form.

You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar.
For example, $12.15 becomes $12 and $233.50 becomes
$234.

The forms have two columns for figures. These lines
are used to compare the portion of your federal ad-
justed gross income that Oregon taxes to your total
federal adjusted gross income.

Or, visit our Web site at www.dor.state.or.us
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Federal column—Income section

The first column is labeled “Federal column.” In this
column, lines 8-28, fill in the same amounts you re-
ported on your federal return.

Line 30, “Income after adjustments,” must match your
2003 federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040,
line 34; Form 1040A, line 21; Form 1040EZ, line 4; Form
1040NR, line 33; or TeleFile Tax Record, line I. If it does
not match, please check that you transferred your fed-
eral figures correctly. If you need help, see page 40 for
numbers to call.

Oregon column—Income section

The second column is labeled “Oregon column.” Use
the Oregon column to list the amount from the federal
column that Oregon taxes.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes only your income from
Oregon sources. See “What does income from Oregon
sources include?” on page 4.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from
all sources earned or received while you were an
Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes your income from
Oregon sources while you were a nonresident. See
“What does income from Oregon sources include?”
on page 4.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from
all sources. All amounts included in the federal col-
umn should also be included in the Oregon column.

e Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Part-

year residents—fill in amounts you earned
while an Oregon resident and any amounts you earned
working in Oregon while you were a nonresident.

Full-year residents—fill in all income included in the
federal column.

Nonresidents—fill in the amount earned while work-
ing in Oregon. If that amount differs from the Oregon
wages on your W-2 form, you must attach an explana-
tion from your employer to the back of your return. If
your Oregon wages are not stated separately on your
W-2, compute your Oregon source income using the
following formula:

Days actually worked in Oregon Total Oregon
% -

wages ~ wages

Days actually worked everywhere

Do not include holidays, vacation days, and sick days
as days actually worked. However, you must include
sick pay, holiday pay, and vacation pay in total wages.
See the example on page 4. If Oregon is the only state
you worked in, do not use this formula; all of your
earnings are taxable and should be reported in the
Oregon column.

Exceptions:

= If you are a nonresident with interstate transporta-
tion wages, you may qualify for special treatment
under the Amtrak Act. Visit our Web site for more
information about interstate transportation wages.
Or, see page 40 to order the information circular,
Amtrak Act (Interstate Transportation Wages).

= Nonresidents who work on Bonneville, The Dalles,
John Day, or McNary dams should exclude this in-
come from the Oregon column. Write the name of
the dam you work on at the top left corner of the
return. Please use blue or black ink.

= Nonresidents who work as crew or pilots on a ves-
sel on the Columbia River or Snake River waterway
should exclude this income from the Oregon col-
umn. Write “Waterway” at the top left corner of the
return. Please use blue or black ink.

@ Taxable interest. Determine the amount of
interest income you received while you were
a nonresident on funds used for business activity in
Oregon. Add to that any interest included on your
federal return that you received during the part of the
year you were an Oregon resident.

Dividends. Determine the amount of dividends

received from an Oregon business activity
source while you were a nonresident. This includes
dividends passed through to you from an S corpora-
tion or partnership doing business in Oregon. These
are dividends your S corporation or partnership re-
ceived on the stock of another corporation. Add to that
any dividend income included on your federal return
that you received during the part of the year you were
an Oregon resident.

@ State and local income tax refunds. Fill in the
amount reported on your federal return that is:

= A refund from Oregon or any other state or locality
for which you claimed a deduction on an Oregon
return in a prior year, or

= A refund received during the part of the year you
were an Oregon resident.

@ Alimony received. Fill in alimony you received
for the part of the year you were an Oregon
resident.

@ Businessincome or loss. For the part of the year
you were a nonresident, determine the amount
of income or loss from an Oregon business activity.
Add to that all business income or losses incurred for
the part of the year you were a resident of Oregon.

@ Capital gain or loss. For the part of the year you
were a nonresident, determine the amount of
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gain or loss from Oregon sources and capital gain dis-
tributions from Oregon sources. Add to that the amount
of your capital gains and losses received during the part
of the year you were an Oregon resident. Limit losses to
$3,000 ($1,500 if married filing separately).

@ Other gains or losses. For the part of the year
you were a nonresident, determine the amount
of gain or loss from Oregon sources. Add to that the
gain received or loss incurred for the part of the year
you were an Oregon resident.

IRA distributions. Determine the amount of

any taxable individual retirement arrangement
(IRA) distributions received for the part of the year
you were an Oregon resident. Include any amounts
you converted from a regular IRA into a Roth IRA
while you lived in Oregon. If you lived in another
state when you made contributions to your IRA, you
may need more information. Please see page 40 for
taxpayer assistance.

@ Pensions and annuities. Report in the Oregon col-
umn the amount of taxable pensions and annui-
ties (including federal pensions) you received while you
were an Oregon resident. If you are domiciled in Oregon,
you must also include any Oregon source pensions you
received. This is true even though you may qualify as a
nonresident under the special-case Oregon resident or
Oregon resident living abroad tests. See page 13.

For example, if you lived in Oregon before you retired
and have not changed your permanent home to an-
other state, you must report the pension you earned
while you worked in Oregon. If you need more infor-
mation, see page 40 for telephone numbers to call. If
you receive a federal pension, see the instructions for
line 38 on page 22.

Rents, royalties, partnerships, limited liabil-
ity companies, real estate investment trusts
(REITs), estates, trusts, etc., from federal Schedule E.
Determine the amount of income you received from
Oregon sources during the part of the year you were
not a resident. Add to that the amount received during
the part of the year you were an Oregon resident. Part-
ners and S corporation shareholders may need more
information. See page 40 for taxpayer assistance.

Farm income or loss. Determine the amount of
income or loss received from an Oregon farm
while you were a nonresident. Add to that the amount

of farm income or loss received during the part of the
year you were an Oregon resident.

Unemployment compensation, taxable Social
Security, and all other taxable income. Deter-
mine the amount of any unemployment compensation

and any other taxable income you received during the
part of the year you were an Oregon resident. Add to

that figure any unemployment compensation or sever-
ance pay received because of an Oregon job and any
other Oregon income you received while you were a
nonresident. Don’t fill in any Social Security, Railroad
Retirement Board benefits, or Railroad Retirement
Board unemployment benefits in the Oregon column;
Oregon doesn't tax this income.

Include in the Oregon column all payments received
from the Oregon Lottery. Oregon Lottery includes
Powerball tickets you purchased in Oregon. See
“Oregon Lottery” on page 23 to determine whether
you can subtract some or all of this amount on line 38.

Adjustments to income

@ IRA or self-employed SEP and SIMPLE contri-
butions. Oregon follows the federal definition
of earned income and compensation used to calculate
your IRA and other retirement plan deductions. Deter-
mine the amount you paid during the part of the year
you were an Oregon resident. Add to that the amount
calculated for the time you were a nonresident.

= IRA. For the part of the year you were a nonresi-
dent, determine your deduction using the follow-
ing formula;

Oregon compensation IRA
while a nonresident contributions _

made while a
nonresident

Nonresident
deduction

Total compensation
while a nonresident

This deduction cannot exceed the amount of Oregon
compensation included in the Oregon column.

= Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans. For
the part of the year you were a nonresident, deter-
mine your allowable deduction using the following
formula:

Oregon earned income

while a nonresident Contributions ' ident

x made whilea = deduction
nonresident

Total earned income
while a nonresident

This deduction cannot exceed the amount of earned
income included in the Oregon column.

@ Education deductions. See the instructions
below to help you figure the amounts you can
claim on your Oregon return.

= Educator expenses deduction from federal Form
1040, line 23; or Form 1040A, line 16.

For the part of the year you were a nonresident, de-
termine the amount of qualified educator expenses
you paid while working in an Oregon elementary or
secondary school. Add to that the amount you paid
for qualified educator expenses during the part of
the year you lived in Oregon. Enter the smaller of

Or, visit our Web site at www.dor.state.or.us
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the result or the amount deducted on your federal
return up to $250.

= Student loan interest deduction from federal Form
1040, line 25; or Form 1040A, line 18.

For any part of the year you were a nonresident, cal-
culate your deduction using the following formula:

Oregon source income

while a nonresident Student loan

X interest paid while =
a nonresident

Nonresident
deduction

Total income from all
sources while a nonresident

Add to that all interest paid during the part of the
year you were an Oregon resident. Enter the smaller
of the result or the amount deducted on your federal
return.

= Tuition and fees deduction from federal Form 1040,
line 26; or Form 1040A, line 19.

For any part of the year you were a nonresident, cal-
culate your deduction using the following formula:

Oregon source income

Qualified
while a nonresident _ Nonresident

tuition and
fees paid while ~  deduction

a nonresident

Total income
while a nonresident

Add to that the amount of qualified education ex-
penses you paid during the part of the year you were
an Oregon resident. Enter the smaller of the result or
the amount deducted on your federal return, but no
more than $3,000.

Add together your educator expense deduction, stu-
dent loan interest deduction, and tuition and fees de-
duction. Enter the total on line 23.

Moving expenses. Fill in moving expenses only
if:

= You qualified to take them on your federal return, and

e They are connected with gaining employment in
Oregon, or

= You paid the qualified moving expenses after mov-
ing to Oregon to take a job in another state.

Otherwise, enter -0-.

Example 1: If you moved from California to Wash-
ington to take a job in Oregon, fill in your allowable
moving expenses in the Oregon column.

Example 2: If you left Oregon to take a job in another
state, you cannot deduct your moving expenses.

Example 3: Camille moved from Michigan to Oregon
on May 23, 2003, to begin work in Washington. She
paid her moving expenses on June 30, 2003. While
the expenses are not related to Oregon employment,
Camille can deduct them because they were paid after
she became a resident of Oregon.

@ Deduction for self-employment tax. Determine
the amount of your self-employment tax on earn-
ings taxed by Oregon using the following formula:

Self-employment earnings
taxed by Oregon

Federal
deductionfor _ Oregon
Total self-employment self-employment ~ deduction
earnings tax

The Oregon deduction cannot be more than the federal
deduction.

Self-employed health insurance deduction.

Oregon allows a deduction for 100 percent
of your health insurance premiums related to your
self-employment for the part of the year you were
an Oregon resident. Add to that the health insurance
premiums paid by your Oregon business while a non-
resident. Your total Oregon deduction cannot be more
than your federal deduction.

@ Penalty on early withdrawal of savings. Fill in
the amount of penalty related to savings used
by an Oregon business. Add to that the amount of pen-
alty for early withdrawal while an Oregon resident.

Alimony paid. Determine if the alimony you
paid is taxable (for federal purposes) to your
former spouse. If so, for the part of the year you were

not an Oregon resident, figure the Oregon deduction
as follows:

Oregon source income

while a nonresident Alimony

x paid whilea =
nonresident

Nonresident
deduction

Total income
while a nonresident

Add to that amount the alimony you paid while you
were a resident.

Additions are items the federal government does not
tax but Oregon does. Additions increase the income
taxed by Oregon.

@ Interest and dividends on state and local gov-
ernment bonds outside of Oregon.

Federal column. If you didn’t include this income in
your federal income, fill in the amount of interest and
dividends you received from state and local govern-
ments outside of Oregon.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—if you
didn’tinclude this income on line 9 or 10 of the Oregon
column, fill in the amount of interest and dividends
you received from state and local governments outside
of Oregon while you were an Oregon resident.
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@ Federal election on interest and dividends of
a minor child. Did you report interest or divi-
dends of your minor child on your federal return? If
s0, you must add to Oregon income the amount that is
subject to the special federal tax.

Federal column. Fill in the smaller of line 7 or 8 from
federal Form 8814. Add to that any interest or divi-
dends your child received from state and local govern-
ments outside of Oregon.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—fill in
interest and dividends received while the minor child
was an Oregon resident. Include interest and dividends
from state and local governments other than Oregon
that your child received while an Oregon resident.

@ Other additions. You may need to report one or
more other additions explained below. Please
identify the addition(s) in the space on line 33 using
the abbreviation shown in brackets. If you have more
than one addition, show the type and amount of each
on the form. Fill in the total amount of “other addi-
tions” on line 33.

Certain sport utility vehicles,

trucks, or vans: Section 179

expense or depreciation deduc-
tion. If the measure fails, there is no addition. Skip
the green section above.

Difference in depreciation for Oregon [Dif dep]. Is
your depreciation for Oregon purposes different
from your depreciation for federal purposes? If so,
you will need the Oregon Depreciation Schedule.
Part-year residents and nonresidents may need two
schedules. See page 40 to order. Or, download it
from our Web site.

Federal column. Complete an Oregon Depreciation
Schedule for all assets. If the Oregon depreciation
is less than your federal depreciation, fill in the
amount from the Oregon Depreciation Schedule,
line 2 on Form 40N or 40P, line 33.

Oregon column. Complete an Oregon Deprecia-
tion Schedule only for property you owned while
an Oregon resident or property used to produce
Oregon income. If the Oregon depreciation is less
than your federal depreciation, fill in the amount
from the Oregon Depreciation Schedule, line 2 on
Form 40N or 40P, line 33.

Unused business credits [UBC]. Did you claim a deduc-
tion on your federal return for unused business cred-
its? If so, you must add this amount to Oregon income.
Include it in both the federal and Oregon columns.

The following additions apply to only a few people

and are not explained in this booklet. Make the addi-

tions in both the federal and Oregon columns. If you
need help, see page 40 for taxpayer assistance.

— Claim of right [COR].

— Depletion in excess of basis [Depl].

— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and
simple or complex trusts [Fid].

— Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property
with an Oregon basis that is different from the
federal basis [Basis dif].

— Gain on sale of inherited Oregon farm or forest
property acquired from a decedent who died be-
fore January 1, 1987 [Inher F/F].

— Individual Development Account [IDA].

— Long-term care insurance premiums [LTCIP].

— Lump-sum distributions [Lump-sum].

— Military Family Tax Relief Act provisions
[MFTRA|.

— Non-Oregon source net operating loss [NOL].

— Non-qualified withdrawal from an Oregon 529
College Savings Network plan [QTSP].

— Passive activity losses [PAL].

Or, visit our Web site at www.dor.state.or.us
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Debbie
If Measure 30
PASSES Certain sport utility vehicles,
trucks, or vans: Section 179 expense
or depreciation deduction
[SUV]. If the measure passes and you use a sport
utility vehicle (SUV), truck, or van in your business,
you may have an addition on your Oregon
return. You may need to make this addition in both
columns if you began depreciating the vehicle in
2003 or you took a section 179 expense deduction
on your 2003 federal return, and your vehicle:
• Has a gross vehicle weight rating between 6,001
and 14,000 pounds*;
• Was designed to seat nine or fewer people;
• Was equipped with an open cargo area of less
than 72 inches in length or was equipped with a
covered box that is separate from the passenger
area and is less than 72 inches in length; and
• Was not used primarily in farming or for transporting
employees, customers, cargo, or equipment
of a construction, timber, or wood-products
business. These businesses are not required
to make this addition. (“Construction business”
does not include real estate sales operations.)
* If you are unsure of the gross vehicle weight rating of
your vehicle, check the manufacturer’s sticker inside
the door jamb of your vehicle.
Your addition is the total of your section 179
deduction and any depreciation deduction you
claimed on your federal return relating to the vehicle.
Do not adjust the federal basis of the vehicle
for Oregon purposes when you sell the vehicle.


Subtractions

Subtractions are items the federal government taxes
but Oregon does not. Subtractions reduce the income
taxed by Oregon.

@ Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement
Board. Subtract Social Security and tier 1 Rail-
road Retirement Board benefits only if you included
them in the federal column on line 20.

Other subtractions. You may qualify for one

or more other subtractions explained below.
Please identify the subtraction(s) in the space on line
38 using the abbreviation shown in brackets. If you
have more than one subtraction, show the type and

amount of each on the form. Fill in the total amount of
“other subtractions” on line 38.

= Claim of right [COR]. Were you taxed in a prior year
on income that you are repaying, such as unemploy-
ment compensation? If so, you may be able to claim
a subtraction for the income you repaid. Contact the
department for more information. See page 40.

= Difference in depreciation for Oregon [Dif dep]. Is
your depreciation for Oregon purposes different
from your depreciation for federal purposes? If so,
you will need the Oregon Depreciation Schedule.
Part-year residents and nonresidents may need two
schedules. See page 40 to order. Or, download it
from our Web site.

Federal column. Complete an Oregon Depreciation
Schedule for all assets. If the Oregon depreciation
is more than your federal depreciation, fill in the
amount from the Oregon Depreciation Schedule,
line 2 on Form 40N or 40P, line 38.

Oregon column. Complete an Oregon Deprecia-
tion Schedule only for property you owned while
an Oregon resident or property used to produce
Oregon income. If the Oregon depreciation is more
than your federal depreciation, fill in the amount
from the Oregon Depreciation Schedule, line 2 on
Form 40N or 40P, line 38.

= Federal pension income [Fed pen]. You may be able
to subtract some or all of your pension included in
2003 federal income. This includes benefits paid to
the retiree or to the beneficiary. The subtraction
amount is based on the number of months of federal
service before and after October 1, 1991:

— Ifall of your months of federal service occurred
before October 1, 1991, subtract 100 percent of
the taxable amount of federal pension income
you reported on your federal return.

— Ifyou have no months of service before October
1, 1991, you cannot subtract any federal pension.

— Ifyour service was both before and after Octo-
ber 1, 1991, you will subtract a percentage of the
taxable federal pension income you reported on
your federal return. To determine your percent-
age, divide your months of service before Octo-
ber 1, 1991, by your total months of service. Once
you have determined the percentage, it will not
change from year to year.

Example: Delaney began working for the U.S. Forest
Service May 27, 1971, and retired January 7, 2003.
She worked 244 months before October 1, 1991, and
a total of 379 months. Delaney moved to Oregon
May 31, 2003. She can subtract 64.4 percent (244 +
379) of her taxable federal pension included in the
Oregon column. She will continue to subtract 64.4
percent of her taxable federal pension from Oregon
income in future years.

Use the following worksheet to determine your sub-
traction amount:
Federal column

1. Federal pension included in 1.
federal column.

2. Divide months of service before 2.
October 1, 1991, by total months of
service.

3. Multiply line 1 by line 2. Enter 3.

here and on line 38a.

Oregon column

4. Federal pension included in 4.
Oregon column on front of form.

5. Percentage from line 2 above. 5.

6. Multiply line 4 by line 5. Enter 6.

here and on line 38b.

To avoid processing delays or adjustments, double-
check that you reported your pension income on the
correct line and attach your federal return.

< Interest and dividends from the U.S. government
[USint].

Federal column. On line 38a, fill in interest and divi-
dends from the U.S. government that you included on
your federal return. Include U.S. government interest
you received through partnerships or grantor trusts.

Examples:
— You may subtract interest from U.S. Series EE and
HH bonds and Treasury bills and notes.

— You may subtract interest and dividends paid to
you by organizations that invest in U.S. govern-
ment securities. Check the information on your
Form 1099. The payer may have given the percent-
age of interest and dividends from U.S. government
securities. If you are unsure if you can subtract the
interest or dividends you earned, visit our Web site
for more information about interest and dividends
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on U.S. bonds and notes. Or, contact us to order the
information circular. See page 40.

— You must reduce U.S. government interest by any
interest expense relating to U.S. government obli-
gations you deducted on your federal Schedule A.

— Don’t include interest on federal tax refunds in
either column.

— If you reported interest or dividends of your minor
child on your federal return, you may subtract
any U.S. government interest included.

Oregon column. If you included interest and divi-
dends from the U.S. government on lines 9 and 10
of the Oregon column, fill in this amount of U.S.
government interest on line 38b.

Note: When you sell or dispose of a U.S. government
obligation, you must include any gain or loss in
income.

= Local government bond interest [LGBI].

Federal column. The U.S. government taxes certain
types of local government bond interest such as pri-
vate activity bond interest. If you included income
from Oregon bonds on your federal return, subtract
it on line 38a.

Oregon column. On line 38b, fill in Oregon local gov-
ernment bond interest if you included it in Oregon
income on line 9.

= Military pay [Military]. Did you report U.S. military
active duty pay in income on line 8? If so, you may
qualify for a subtraction.

Reserve summer camp is active duty. However,
drills and weekend meetings of reserve units aren’t
active duty. If you are in the guards or reserves and
your Form W-2 doesn’t show a separate amount for
active duty, contact your paymaster.

Federal column. From the wages you reported on
line 8 of the federal column you may subtract:

— All active duty pay earned outside of Oregon, and
— Up to $3,000 active duty pay earned in Oregon.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any
amount. Military pay of a nonresident is not Oregon
source income and should not be reported on line 8.
There is nothing to subtract.

Full-year and part-year residents—from the wages
you reported on line 8 of the Oregon column you
may subtract:

— All active duty pay earned outside of Oregon, and
— Up to $3,000 active duty pay earned in Oregon.

Don’t subtract drill pay and weekend meeting pay
for members of reserve units or the National Guard.
Report that pay in the Oregon column, line 8.

Note: Your total military pay subtractions cannot be
more than your total military pay.

= Oregon 529 College Savings Network [QTSP]. You
may subtract contributions you made to an Oregon
529 College Savings plan in 2003, but not more than
$2,000 ($1,000 if married filing separately). Keep
a copy of your account statement with your tax
records. For information about savings plans in
Oregon, call 503-378-2882. Or, visit the network’s
Web site at www.oregon529network.com.

Federal column and Oregon column. Subtract the
qualified contributions you made during the year to
an Oregon 529 College Savings plan.

= Oregon Lottery [OR lott]. Oregon does not tax
Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or less per ticket,
however, the federal government does. Oregon Lot-
tery includes Powerball tickets you purchased in
Oregon.

Federal column and Oregon column. From the win-
nings you reported on line 20 you may subtract:

— Winnings of $600 or less from each single ticket or
play, and

— Annual payments from tickets purchased prior to
1998.

Example 1: Cheryl had winnings of $200 playing
an Oregon Lottery scratch-off ticket in 2003. This
income is included in her federal adjusted gross in-
come. Oregon does not tax Oregon Lottery winnings
of $600 or less per single ticket or play, so Cheryl can
subtract the $200 she won on the scratch-off ticket
from both columns of her return.

Example 2: David won two prizes in 2003. He won
$1,000 playing Oregon Lottery video poker and
$500 playing an Oregon Lottery Keno game. David
must include $1,500 in his federal income, however,
Oregon will not tax him on the $500 he won playing
Keno. He can subtract $500 on his Oregon return
in both columns because the winnings were from
a single game and below the $600 limit. He cannot
subtract any of the $1,000 he won playing video
poker, because the prize was more than $600 and is
fully taxable to Oregon.

Are you claiming gambling losses as an itemized
deduction? If so, you also may need to reduce them.
See instructions for Form 40N, line 46; or Form 40P,
line 47, page 26. If you need help, see page 40 for tele-
phone numbers to call.

= Oregon tax refund included in federal income [OR
ref]. This subtraction is for Oregon income tax re-
funds only.

Federal column. Fill in your Oregon income tax re-
fund only if you included it on line 11 of the federal
column.

Oregon column. Fill in your Oregon income tax re-
fund only if you included it on line 11 of the Oregon
column.

Or, visit our Web site at www.dor.state.or.us
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= Railroad Retirement Board benefits [RR].

Federal column. Fill in your tier 2, supplemental,
windfall, and vested dual Railroad Retirement
Board benefits included on line 20 of the federal
column. Fill in railroad unemployment benefits in-
cluded on line 20.

Oregon column. Don’t fill in any amount. Oregon
does not tax Railroad Retirement Board benefits or
Railroad Retirement Board unemployment benefits.

= Tuition and fees deduction [High Ed]. Did you claim
a Hope or lifetime learning credit on your federal
return? If so, you were not allowed a tuition and fees
deduction because you claimed the federal credit.
Because Oregon does not have credits similar to the
Hope or lifetime learning credits, you can take the
federal tuition and fees deduction on your Oregon
return as a subtraction. For 2003, the maximum
amount you can claim is the smaller of $3,000 or
your actual expenses.

For any part of the year you were a nonresident,
calculate your subtraction using the following
formula:

Oregon source income

Qualified
while a nonresident _ Nonresident

tuition and
fees paid while ~  deduction

anonresident

Total income
while a nonresident

Add to that the amount of qualified education ex-
penses you paid during the part of the year you were
an Oregon resident. Enter the smaller of the result or
the amount you would have deducted on your fed-
eral return, but no more than $3,000.

= The following subtractions apply to only a few
people and are not explained in this booklet. Visit
our Web site or see page 40 for taxpayer assistance.

Make the subtraction in both the federal and Oregon

columns if the related income was included in both

columns.

— American Indian [Amer Ind].

— Business expenses reduced because of federal tax
credits (e.g., targeted jobs, work opportunities)
[Fed exp].

— Certain pension distributions when the contribu-
tions were taxed by another state [Prev tax].

— Domestic partner benefits [Partner].

— Federal gain previously taxed by Oregon [Fed
gain].

— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and
simple or complex trusts [Fid].

— Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property
with an Oregon basis that is different from the
federal basis [Basis dif].

— Individual Development Accounts [IDA].

—Land donation to an educational institution
[Land].

— Logger and construction worker commuting costs
[LCcCCl.

— Passive activity losses [PAL].

— Public Safety Memorial Fund Board payments
[Memorial].

— Scholarship awards used for housing expenses
[Sch housing].

Oregon percentage. Divide the amount on line
39b by the amount on line 39a. Round the deci-
mal to three places. Write the percentage on line 40.

Don’t fill in more than 100 percent or less than -0-.

Oregon percentage
Line 40

Example Line39b Line 39a
1 $8,000 + $30,000 =.266666 Round to .267 (26.7%)
2 (1,000) + 15000 = -0- (0%)
3 20,000 + 15,000 =1.333Limited to 1.000 (100.0%)

If the amount on line 39b is greater than the amount
on line 39a, your Oregon percentage is 100 percent.
This is true even when line 39b is a negative number.

Deductions and modifications

You may claim either net itemized deductions or
Oregon’s standard deduction, whichever is larger, but

not both.

Form Form ¢
40N 40P You may claim your to-
tal itemized deductions

after federal limitations shown on federal Schedule A,
line 28. You may itemize for Oregon even if you don't
have enough deductions to itemize on your federal re-
turn. If you itemize for Oregon only, fill out a federal
Schedule A for Oregon purposes. Use your federal
adjusted gross income to figure the Schedule A limita-
tions. Keep the Schedule A with your tax records.

Itemized deductions.

Note: If you are married filing separately, you must
itemize deductions if your spouse itemizes. Are you
filing separate returns for Oregon only? If so, deter-
mine your share of itemized deductions by multiply-
ing your total joint deductions by the percentage you
figured on page 16. You may separate each spouse’s
itemized deductions if you can clearly identify your
own itemized deductions.

claimed as an itemized

40N 40P deduction. Fill in the

amount of Oregon income tax you claimed as an
itemized deduction on federal Schedule A, line 5. Are
you claiming a credit for income taxes paid to another
state? If so, include the other state’s tax after credits or
the other state’s tax claimed as an itemized deduction,
whichever is less. See instructions for line 58, page 29.

State income tax

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal
return because your adjusted gross income (AGI)

24 Deductions and modifications
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exceeded $139,500 ($69,750 if married filing sepa-
rately)? If so, you may need to complete a worksheet to
figure how much Oregon income tax to subtract from
itemized deductions. Visit our Web site for more infor-
mation about the limits on itemized deductions. Or,
see page 40 to order the information circular.

Form Form
40N 40P

your filing status, as follows:

Standard deduction.
Generally, your standard
deduction is based on

Married filing separately
If spouse claims standard deduction .... 1,670

If spouse claims itemized deductions...  -0-
Head of household.............ccccooiiniiens 2,695
Qualifying widow(er)........ccooeveiiennennnne. 3,345

Standard deduction—Age 65 or older, or blind. If you
or your spouse are age 65 or older, or blind, you are
entitled to a larger standard deduction amount. Use
the chart below to determine your larger standard
deduction.

1 Are YOU:...oooooveeeeereicreievee, 065 or older? O Blind?
If claiming spouse’s exemption,
iS YOUTr SPOUSE: ...coccvvevaerenne [0 65 or older? OBlind?
2. If your And the number Then your
filing status of boxes checked standard
is... above is... deduction is...
Single 1 $2,870
2 4,070
Head of 1 3,895
household 2 5,095
Qualifying 1 4,345
widower 2 5,345
Married filing 1 4,345
jointly 2 5,345
3 6,345
4 7,345
Married filing 1 2,670
separately 2 3,670
3 4,670
4 5,670

Fill in the total standard deduction on Form 40N, line
44; or Form 40P, line 45.

Standard deduction—Dependents. If someone else
can claim you as a dependent, your standard deduc-
tion is limited to the larger of:

= Your earned income plus $250, up to the maximum
allowed for your filing status as shown above; or

= $750.

The limit applies even if you can be, but are not,
claimed as a dependent on another person’s return.

Use the following worksheet to figure your standard
deduction:

1. Enter your earned income.
2. Additional $250.

3. Add lines 1 and 2.

4

Minimum standard deduction set
amount.

250

A w e

750

o
o

Enter the larger of line 3 or line 4.
1,670

S

Basic standard deduction for
single.
7. Enter the smaller of line5orline6. 7.
8. If you are under age 65, enter -0-.

If you are age 65 or older, enter
$1,200.

9. Ifyou are not blind, enter -0-. If 9.
you are blind, enter $1,200.

10. Addlines 7, 8, and 9. Enter the 10.
total here and on Form 40N, line
44; or Form 40P, line 45.

This is your standard deduction.

Standard deduction—Nonresident aliens. The stan-
dard deduction for nonresident aliens is -0-.
ity. Carefully follow the

Form 2003 federal tax liabil-
40N gl instructions below. Don’t
confuse your federal tax liability on your federal re-

turn with the federal tax withheld on your Form(s)
W-2. They aren’t the same.

You may deduct your total federal income tax liability
after credits, up to $3,500. Don't fill in less than -0- or
more than $3,500 ($1,750 if married filing separately).

1. Enter your federal tax liability 1.
from Form 1040EZ, line 10; Form
1040A, line 36; Form 1040, line 54;
Form 1040NR, line 50; or TeleFile
Tax Record, tax from line K, box 2.

2. Enter tax on qualified retirement 2.
plans, Form 1040, line 57; or
Form 1040NR, line 53, and
recapture taxes included on Form
1040, line 60.

3. Add lines 1and 2.

Enter the amount of your 2003
advanced child tax credit you
received or the amount you were
credited (before offsets).

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3. Enter 5.
result here.
Worksheet continued on next page

Or, visit our Web site at www.dor.state.or.us
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6. Enter $3,500 ($1,750 if married 6.
filing separately).

7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 7.
6 here and on Form 40N, line 45;
or Form 40P, line 46.

Caution: Don’t add:

= Self-employment tax.

= Social Security and Medicare tax on tips.
= Advance earned income credit payments.
= Household employment taxes.

If you file married filing separately for Oregon only,
multiply your joint federal tax liability (after credits)
by the percentage calculated on page 16. Each spouse
is limited to a maximum subtraction of $1,750.

Did you pay additional federal tax in 2003 because
you were audited or you filed an amended return? If
so, read the instructions for Form 40N, line 46; or Form

40P, line 47.
Form T Othe.r. dgductions and
40N 40P modifications. Only a

few people have other
deductions and modifications. These items are mul-
tiplied by the Oregon percentage. Identify the deduc-
tion or modification in the space on the form using the
abbreviation shown in brackets. If you have more than
one, show the type and amount of each on the form.

Modifications can be either additions or subtractions.

Net the total amount of these items and enter that

amount on this line. If the net amount is an addition,

please clearly bracket it. For example, “[200].”

= Federal income tax refunds [Fed ref]. Did you get a
federal tax refund in 2003 because you were audited
or because you amended a prior year return? If so,
fill in and clearly bracket the amount on Form 40N,
line 46; or Form 40P, line 47, if you subtracted that
amount on a prior Oregon return.

= Federal tax from a prior year [Prior fed]. Did you pay
additional federal tax in 2003 because you were au-
dited or because you amended a prior year’s return?
If so, you may be able to deduct the additional tax.
This deduction applies only to additional tax you
paid because your return was changed. It doesn’t
include the tax from the original return or interest or
penalties you paid.

To figure your deduction for federal tax from a prior
year, follow these steps:

Step 1: From $3,500 ($1,750 if married filing sepa-
rately) subtract your federal tax, Form 40N, line 45;
or Form 40P, line 46.

Step 2: On Form 40N, line 46; or Form 40P, line 47, fill
in the smaller of:

— The amount you figured in step 1, or
— Your additional federal tax from a prior year.

= Foreign tax [Foreign]. Did you pay tax to a foreign
country in 2003? You may deduct this tax if you:
— Took a foreign tax credit on your federal return, or
— Didn't take a foreign tax credit and didn't itemize
deductions on your federal return.

This subtraction is limited to $3,000 ($1,500 if married
filing separately).

If you think you qualify, visit our Web site. Or, contact
the department for more information. See page 40.

= Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction
[Gambling]. Did you have winnings from the Oregon
Lottery and claim gambling losses on your federal
Schedule A? If so, fill in and clearly bracket on Form
40N, line 46; or Form 40P, line 47, the gambling losses
claimed as an itemized deduction that exceed gam-
bling winnings taxed by Oregon.
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Debbie
If Measure 30
PASSES Special Oregon medical deduction
[OR med]. Were you or your
spouse age 63 or older on December
31, 2003, and did you itemize deductions? If so,
you are eligible for the special Oregon medical deduction
on your Oregon return if your federal adjusted
gross income is less than $100,000 ($50,000 if
single or married filing separately). To figure your
deduction use the following worksheet:
1. Enter the amount shown on your
federal Schedule A, line 1.
1.
2. Enter the amount shown on your
federal Schedule A, line 3.
2.
3. Enter the smaller of line 1 or 2
above on this line.
3.
4. Enter the decimal amount from
the correct chart below.
4.
5. Multiply the amount shown on
line 3 by the decimal amount on
line 4. Enter here and on Form
40N, line 46; or Form 40P, line 47.
This is the amount of your special
Oregon medical deduction.
5.
Chart S: Use if your filing status is SINGLE or MARRIED
FILING SEPARATELY. If your federal adjusted
gross income from Form 1040, line 34; Form 1040A,
line 21; Form 1040EZ, line 4; Form 1040N, line 33;
or TeleFile Tax Record, line I is:
At least But less than Your decimal
amount is:
--- $15,000...................................1.00
$15,000 $30,000...................................0.40
$30,000 $40,000...................................0.20
$40,000 $50,000...................................0.10
$50,000 --- ...................................0.00


Special Oregon medical deduc-

tion [OR Med]. Were you or your

spouse age 62 or older on De-
cember 31, 20037 If so, your deduction is the small-
er of line 1 or line 3 from your federal Schedule
A. To claim this deduction, you must itemize your
deductions for Oregon. You can do this by filling
out a Schedule A for both federal and Oregon or
filling out one for Oregon only. Keep your Sched-
ule A with your tax records.

= Part-year residents only: Artists who make a charita-
ble art donation [Art]. Call the department to order
the information circular, Artist’s Charitable Contribu-
tion Subtraction. Nonresidents, see Form 40N, line 48
instructions.

Form Allowable deductions and modifica-
40N tions. C_omplete the W(_)rksheet below_ t_o
determine the deductions and modifi-
cations you are entitled to claim.
1. Enter amount from either Form 1.
40N, line 43; or Form 40N, line 44,
whichever is larger.

2. Enter amount from Form 40N, 2.
line 45.

3. Enter amount from Form 40N, 3.
line 46.

Worksheet continued in next column

4. Add together amounts from lines 4.
1, 2, and 3 above. Enter result here.

5. Enter your Oregon percentage 5.
from Form 40N, line 40, here.

6. Multiply the amount from line 4 6.
by the amount on line 5 above.
Enter result here and on Form
40N, line 47.

Form Nonr_esidents only: Ar_tists who mak_e a
40N charitable art donation [Art]. Artists

who make a charitable art donation may

take a full deduction. Label it “[Art].” Visit our Web
site or call the department to order the information

circular, Artist’s Charitable Contribution Subtraction.

Oregon tax
Form Form Tax from tax rate charts.
40N 40P

Figure the tax on your
Oregon taxable income.

Most people go directly to the rate charts below. Fill in

the amount of tax on Form 40N, line 51; or Form 40P,

line 50. Please double-check the tax you figured.

Go to line 52 if:

= You sold or exchanged farm assets to get out of a
farming business, or

= You want to use farm income averaging to compute
your Oregon tax.

Example: A married couple’s Oregon taxable income is
$29,500. They are filing jointly. They will use chart J for
married filing jointly. They figure their tax like this:

ChartJ

Oregon taxable income $29,500
Subtract - 12,700
16,800

Multiply by 9% X .09
1,512

Then add + 787
Their Oregon tax is $2,299

2003 Tax Rate Charts

Tax Rate Chart

S For persons filing

Single or Married filing separately

If your taxable income is: Your tax is:

Not over $2,550.....ccc.ccccccvrvrvrirnanns 5% of taxable income
Over $2,550 but ........ccccoevvvirinnnne. $128 plus 7% of the
not over $6,350 excess over $2,550
OVer $6,350.......ccccorrrrrrrinnenn. $394 plus 9% of the

excess over $6,350

Tax Rate Chart
For persons filing

Jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying
widow(er) with dependent child

If your taxable income is: Your tax is:

Not over $5,100..........cccccervrrrrnen. 5% of taxable income
Over $5,100 but .......c.ccoeeeenee. $255 plus 7% of the
not over $12,700 excess over $5,100
Over $12,700.........ccccevvvvreiernrnnas $787 plus 9% of the

excess over $12,700

Or, visit our Web site at www.dor.state.or.us
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Debbie
Chart J: Use if your filing status is MARRIED FILING
JOINTLY, HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD, or QUALIFIED
WIDOW(ER). If your federal adjusted gross income
from Form 1040, line 34; Form 1040A, line 21; Form
1040EZ, line 4; Form 1040N, line 33; or TeleFile Tax
Record, line I is:
At least But less than Your decimal
amount is:
--- $30,000...................................1.00
$30,000 $60,000...................................0.40
$60,000 $80,000...................................0.20
$80,000 $100,000...................................0.10
$100,000 --- ...................................0.00


Tax from Form FIA-40N,
ngg‘@ Form FIA-40P, or Work-

sheet FCG. If you qualify,
you can compute your Oregon tax using one of the fol-
lowing methods:

Farm income averaging method. You can use the fed-
eral farm income averaging method to compute your
Oregon tax even if you didn’t use farm income averag-
ing on your federal return. Only Oregon source farm
income is considered elected farm income.

Use Form FIA-40N, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for
Nonresidents, or Form FIA-40P, Oregon Farm Income
Averaging for Part-Year Residents, to calculate your tax
on your farm income and your other Oregon income.
Visit our Web site to download the form and instruc-
tions. Or, see page 40 to order.

1. Enter the tax amount from Form FIA-40N, line 19; or
Form FIA-40P, line 18, on Form 40N or Form 40P,
line 52.

2.Check the box labeled “Form FIA-40N” or “Form
FIA-40P.”

3. Attach a copy of Form FIA-40N or Form FIA-40P to
your return.

Farm asset capital gain method. Did you sell or ex-
change capital assets primarily used in farming
because you were getting out of a farming business?
Or, did you sell or exchange a farming partnership,
corporation, or other farming entity in which you held
at least a 10 percent ownership interest? If the sale or
exchange was not to a family member and you were
getting out of a farming business completely, you may
be eligible for a reduced tax rate on the net capital gain
from the proceeds of the sale or exchange.

Use Worksheet FCG, Farm Liquidation Long-Term Capital
Gain Tax Rate, to calculate tax on your net farm capital
gain and your other Oregon income. Visit our Web site
to download the worksheet. Or, call the department
to order.

Nonresidents. Enter the tax amount from Worksheet
FCG, line 7, on Form 40N, line 52.

Part-year residents. Enter the tax amount from Work-
sheet FCG, line 8, on Form 40P, line 52.

@ Interest on certain installment sales. Do you
have installment sales on which you were re-
quired to pay interest on the deferred tax liability for
federal purposes? If so, you must also compute interest
for Oregon. The amount due for Oregon is computed
the same way as for federal. The interest rate for 2003
is 7 percent per year (.005833 per month).

Nonresidents—Use only those installment obliga-
tions that arose from dispositions of Oregon property
while you were a nonresident of Oregon.

= When claiming an Oregon tax credit, you must
claim the maximum credit allowed each year, up to
your tax liability.

= You must prorate some Oregon credits on your re-
turn. This means you need to multiply your total
credit by your Oregon percentage, line 40, to figure
the amount you can claim on your Oregon return.

Earned income credit. You are allowed an

Oregon earned income credit only if you quali-
fy for the earned income credit on your federal return.
You must prorate this credit. Your Oregon credit is
5 percent of your federal credit multiplied by your
Oregon percentage. For example, if your federal credit
is $400, your Oregon credit is $20 ($400 x .05) multi-
plied by your Oregon percentage from line 40.

Use the following formula to compute your credit:

1. Enter your federal earned 1.
income credit from Form 1040EZ,
line 8; Form 1040A, line 41; Form
1040, line 63; or TeleFile Tax
Record, line L.

2. Decimal amount. 2. .05
3. Multiply line 1 by line 2. Enter 3.

result here.
4. Multiply line 3 by the 4,

Oregon percentage (Form 40P
or Form 40N, line 40). Enter here
and on Form 40P or Form 40N,
line 56.

The Oregon earned income credit is limited to your
tax liability. You cannot carry over to next year any
amount that exceeds your tax liability.

@ Child and dependent care credit. You are al-
lowed an Oregon credit only if you qualify for
the federal child and dependent care credit. You may
still be able to claim the Oregon credit even if you can’t
use all of your federal credit. In most cases, you cannot
claim the credit if you are married filing separately.
You must prorate this credit. Use the following work-
sheet to figure your credit for Oregon.

1. Enter the amount from federal 1.
Form 2441, line 6; or Form 1040A,
Schedule 2, line 6.

2. Enter the decimal amount from 2.
the following table.
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Your

If your federal taxable decimal
income from Form 1040, line  amount
40; or Form 1040A, line 27 is: is:
Over— But not over—
— $5,000 .30
$5,000 10,000 15
10,000 15,000 .08
15,000 25,000 .06
25,000 35,000 .05
35,000 45,000 .04
45,000 e .00
3. Multiply the amount on line 1 3.
above by the decimal amount on
line 2. Enter here.
4. Multiply line 3 by the Oregon 4,

percentage from Form 40N or
Form 40P, line 40. Enter the result
here and on Form 40N or Form
40P, line 57.

Did you pay 2002 child care expenses in 2003? If so,
multiply your 2002 expenses that you paid in 2003
included in the computation of your federal credit by
the decimal amount that applies to your 2002 federal
taxable income.

Multiply this amount by the Oregon percentage from
your 2002 return. Enter the result on Form 40N or
Form 40P, line 57. See page 40 for taxpayer assistance
information.

Carryforward. Your total 2003 child and dependent
care credit can’t be more than your 2003 tax liability
for Oregon. You can carry forward any excess over
the next five years. If the excess isn’t used within five
years, it’s lost. See instructions for line 59.

Credit for income taxes paid to another state.

If you paid 2003 income tax to another state or
U.S. territory on income also taxed by Oregon, you
may claim a credit.

You must claim the credit on your nonresident return
or on your part-year return for the part of the year
you were a nhonresident if the income is taxed by both
Oregon and one of the following states: Arizona, Cali-
fornia, Indiana, or Virginia. See our Web site for links
to other states’ tax Web sites.

This credit is only for state income tax. You can’t claim
this credit for city or county income tax, sales tax, al-
ternative minimum tax (AMT), property tax, school
tax, or building funds.

If you are a shareholder in an Oregon S corporation that
paid taxes to another state, you may qualify for this
credit. See page 40 to order the information circular.

Your credit is the smallest of the following:

= The other state’s tax after credits.

= Your Oregon tax after all other credits.
= The amount figured using Formula 1.
= The amount figured using Formula 2.

Formula 1: Divide your modified adjusted gross in-
come (MAGI) taxed by both states by your total MAGI.
Your total MAGI is your income on Form 40P or Form
40N, line 39b. Multiply the result by your Oregon tax
after all other credits. The result can’t be more than
your Oregon tax after credits.

Your MAGI taxed by both states
Your total MAGI

Your Oregon tax after
all other credits

Formula 2: Divide your MAGI taxed by both states by
your total income on the other state’s return. Multiply
the result by the other state’s tax after all other credits.
“Total income” means income before subtracting item-
ized deductions and exemptions. The result can’t be
more than the other state’s tax after credits.

Your MAGI taxed by both states

Your total income on the other
state’s return

Your other state’s tax
after all other credits

Enter the credit amount on Form 40P or Form 40N,
line 58.

Caution: You can’t claim this credit and also benefit
from the itemized deduction for the tax paid to the
other state. If you claim the tax as an itemized deduc-
tion, fill in either your tax liability to the other state or
the amount of that state’s tax claimed as an itemized
deduction, whichever is less, on Form 40P, line 43; or
Form 40N, line 42.

You must attach a copy of the other state’s return and
proof of payment to the back of your Oregon return.

You may be allowed this credit even if Oregon and
another state taxes the same income in different years.
Call us for more information. See page 40.

Other credits. You may qualify for other credits

explained below. Identify the credit(s) you are
claiming in the space on line 59 using the abbreviation
shown in brackets. If you have more than one credit,

show the type and amount of each on the form. Fill in
the total amount of “other credits” on line 59.

e Child and dependent care credit carryover from
prior years [C/O-CDC]. Fill in the amount of the
carryover on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 59. The
amount of prior year carryover plus your current
year’s credit can’t exceed your Oregon tax liability. If
it does, you can carry forward the excess credit over
the next five years. If the excess isn’t used within five
years, it’s lost.

Or, visit our Web site at www.dor.state.or.us
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= Elderly or the disabled [OR CED]. The Oregon credit
is 40 percent of the federal credit. You may claim
an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the federal
credit. Multiply the amount from federal Schedule
R, line 20; or Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 20, by 40
percent (.40). Then multiply the result by the Oregon
percentage on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 40. You
may claim this credit or the retirement income
credit, but not both.

= Political contribution [PCC]. Fill in your total politi-
cal contributions, but not more than $100 on a joint
return or $50 on all others. You must have made
contributions of money during 2003 to any of the
following:

— A political party.

— A qualified candidate (or the candidate’s prin-
cipal campaign committee) for federal, state, or
local office to be voted for in Oregon.

— A political action committee certified in Oregon.

Visit our Web site for more information. Or, call the
department to order the information circular, Politi-
cal Contributions Tax Credit. See page 40.

= Retirement income credit [RIC]. If you were age 62
or older on December 31, 2003, and receiving re-
tirement income, you may qualify for a credit. You
qualify for this credit if:

— Your household income is less than $22,500
($45,000 if married filing jointly); and

— Your Social Security benefits and/or tier 1 Rail-
road Retirement Board benefits are less than
$7,500 ($15,000 if married filing jointly); and

— Your household income plus your Social Security
and/or tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits
is less than $22,500 ($45,000 if married filing
jointly).

If you think you qualify, contact us for more infor-
mation. See page 40.

The following credits apply to only a few people.
Some are prorated using your Oregon percentage
and some aren’t. Visit our Web site for more infor-
mation or see page 40 for telephone numbers to call
for instructions.

— Adoption expenses [Adopt].*

— Advanced telecommunications facilities [ATF]*
— Bone marrow donation program [Marrowl].

— Business energy [Bus en].

— Child Care Division contributions [CCD].

— Claim of right [COR].

— Dependent care assistance [DCA].

— Donated crops [Crops].*

— Electronic commerce zone investment [ECZI].

— Employer scholarship [Emp Sch]*

— Farmworker housing [Farm hsng].*

— First Break Program [1 break] *

— Fish screening devices [Fish scrn] *

— Gain from the sale of your house also taxed by
another state or country [Hse gain].

— Long-term care insurance premiums [LTCIP].*

— Loss of use of limbs [Limbs].

— Low-income caregiver credit [HCE].

— On-farm processing machinery and equipment
[On-farm].*

— Oregon Cultural Trust [OCT]*

— Pollution control facilities [Poll fac].

— Reforestation of underproductive forest lands
[Reforest].

— Reservation enterprise zone [Tribal EZ] *

— Residential energy [Res en].*

— Rural medical practitioners [Rural med]*

*Prorated credit (multiplied by Oregon percentage).

30 Surcharge
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62
If Measure 30
PASSES Surcharge. If the measure
passes, the surcharge
is law. The surcharge is
a percentage of your tax after credits. The percentage
is based on your federal adjusted gross
income.
Use the worksheet to figure the amount of your
surcharge.
1. Enter your tax after credits, shown
on Form 40N or 40P, line 61.
1.
2. Enter the decimal amount from
the correct chart below.
2.
3. Multiply line 1 by line 2. Enter
result here and on Form 40N or
40P, line 62.
3.
Chart S: Use if your filing status is SINGLE or
MARRIED FILING SEPARATELY. If your federal
adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 34;
Form 1040A, line 21; Form 1040EZ, line 4; Form
1040NR, line 33; or TeleFile Tax Record, line I is:
At least But less than Your decimal
amount is:
--- $10,000..................................0.00
$10,000 $20,000...................................0.01
$20,000 $25,000...................................0.02
$25,000 $30,000...................................0.03
$30,000 $35,000...................................0.04
$35,000 $50,000...................................0.05
$50,000 $70,000...................................0.06
$70,000 $90,000...................................0.07
$90,000 $120,000...................................0.08
$120,000 --- ...................................0.09


Surcharge. If the measure
fails, the surcharge is not

law. Enter -0- on line 62,
and complete line 63. Follow line 64 instructions
to complete your return.

Tax payments, penalty, and interest
Oregon income tax withheld from income. Fill
in the total Oregon tax withheld from your

wages and other income shown on your Form(s) W-2
or 1099. Don’t use the FICA (Social Security) tax with-
held from your pay. Don't use tax withheld from your
wages by other states. Staple a readable copy of your
Form W-2 from each job and any 1099 showing Oregon
income tax withheld to the lower front of your return.

If you don’t have a Form W-2 or 1099, you must provide
other proof of Oregon tax withheld. Proof may include
a final paycheck stub or a letter from your employer.

If you have tax to pay this year, you may want to
increase the amount your employer withholds from
your 2004 wages for Oregon. Visit our Web site to
download the information circular, Oregon Income Tax
Withholding: Some Special Cases. Or, call the department

to order. See page 40.
Estimated tax payments for 2003 and pay-
ments made with your extension. Fill in the
total Oregon estimated tax payments you made before
filing your 2003 Oregon return. Include any payments
made with your Oregon extension. Also, include any
refund applied from your 2002 income tax return. If
the department adjusted your 2002 refund, be sure to

use the corrected amount.

@ Working family child care credit. This credit is
available to low-income families with qualify-

ing child care expenses. The working family child

care credit is a refundable credit. If the credit is more

than your tax, you will receive the difference.

You must prorate this credit. Complete Schedule WFC-
N/P, Oregon Working Family Child Care Credit, on page
33 to figure your credit. You must attach Schedule
WEFC-N/P to your return to claim the credit. Keep a
copy for your records.

If you qualify, you may claim this credit in addition to
the child and dependent care credit.

Penalty and interest for filing or paying late.
Your return is due April 15, 2004, unless you
file for an extension.

Instructions continued on next page

W Detach here

Form

RPC

2003  Personal Income Tax Return Payment Coupon
OREGON DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Due by April 15, 2004

For Department Use Only
Date Received

Social Security number First four letters of your last name

Enter Payment Amount

$ :

Spouse’s Social Security number First four letters of spouse’s last name

Please fill in all applicable boxes below.

Detachhere W

Last name, first name, and initial Spouse’s last name, first name, and initial (if joint payment)

Mailing address

[ ] Check if new address
City State ZIP code

Telephone number
] C )
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Chart J: Use if your filing status is MARRIED FILING
JOINTLY, HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD, or QUALIFIED
WIDOW(ER). If your federal adjusted gross income
from Form 1040, line 34; Form 1040A, line 21; Form
1040EZ, line 4; Form 1040NR, line 33; or TeleFile Tax
Record, line I is:
At least But less than Your decimal
amount is:
--- $20,000..................................0.00
$20,000 $40,000...................................0.01
$40,000 $50,000...................................0.02
$50,000 $60,000...................................0.03
$60,000 $70,000...................................0.04
$70,000 $100,000...................................0.05
$100,000 $140,000...................................0.06
$140,000 $180,000...................................0.07
$180,000 $240,000...................................0.08
$240,000 --- ....................................0.09


Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

= Mail your tax payment after April 15 (even if you
have an extension), or

= File your return showing tax to pay after the due
date or extension due date.

The late-payment penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid
balance of your tax. If you file more than three months
after the due date or extension due date, a 20 percent
late-filing penalty will be added; that is, you will owe
a 25 percent penalty of any tax not paid.

Exception: You don't have to pay a penalty if you do
all of the following:

1. Get an extension of time to file your return; and

2. Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due by April 15,
2004; and

3. Pay the balance of tax due when you file by the ex-
tension deadline; and

4. Pay the interest on the balance of tax when you file
or within 30 days of our billing date.

Interest. If you are paying your tax after April 15, 2004,
include interest on any unpaid tax. An interest period
is each full month starting with the day after the due
date. For example, April 16, 2004, through May 15,
2004, is an interest period. The 2004 interest rate is 6
percent per year (0.5 percent per month).

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a
month. Here’s how to figure daily interest:

Tax x .000164 x number of days

If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the in-
terest rate increases to 10 percent per year.

Note: Do not calculate interest if you file late and ex-
pect a refund. It may delay processing of your refund.

Interest on estimated tax

underpayment. For 2003,

you have an underpay-
ment if you paid less than 90 percent of the tax due
on each estimated tax payment date.

You don’t have an underpayment if:

= You owe less than $1,000 tax on your 2003 tax re-
turn after credits, including your working fam-
ily child care credit and Oregon tax withheld, or

= You didn’'t have an underpayment for any 2003
estimated tax period.

Use Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimated
Tax, to determine if you have an underpayment.
If you do or if you meet an exception, you must
file Oregon Form 10 with your return. Visit our
Web site to download the form. Or, see page 40
to order.

On Form 40N or 40P, line 71, fill in the amount of
interest due from Form 10 and check the box. At-
tach Form 10 to the back of your return.

@Amount you owe.

e Make your check or money order payable to
“Oregon Department of Revenue.” Do not make
your payment out to “IRS,” “Treasury,” or “Internal
Revenue Service.”

e Write your Social Security number and “2003
Oregon Form 40N” or “2003 Oregon Form 40P” on
your check.

= Please use blue or black ink. Do not use gel pens or
red ink.

= Don’t send cash or a postdated check.

= Staple your payment and Form RPC, the payment
coupon on page 31, to your return on top of your
Form(s) W-2.

Payment plan. If you can’'t pay in full now, we will
work with you to set up a payment plan for the
amount you don’t pay with your return. Contact the
department. See page 40.

Instructions continued on page 37

32 Penalty and interest

Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.
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71
If Measure 30
PASSES Interest on estimated tax
underpayment. For 2003,
you have an underpayment
if you paid less than 90 percent of the tax due
on each estimated tax payment date.
You don’t have an underpayment if:
• You owe less than $1,000 tax on your 2003 tax return
after credits, including your working family
child care credit and Oregon tax withheld, or
• You didn’t have an underpayment for any 2003
estimated tax period.
If you have an underpayment of estimated tax and
it is only because of the changes caused by the passage
of Measure 30 (shown in the green sections of
the instructions), you do not have to pay the interest
on the underpayment.

Debbie
Use Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimated
Tax, to determine if you have an underpayment.
If you do or if you meet an exception, you must
file Oregon Form 10 with your return. Visit our
Web site to download the form. Or, see page 40
to order.
On Form 40N or 40P, line 71, fill in the amount of
interest due from Form 10 and check the box. Attach
Form 10 to the back of your return.


Schedule  oregon Working Family Child Care Credit 2003
WFC-N/P for Form 40N and Form 40P Filers

The working family child care credit is available to low income families with child care expenses. To qualify, all of the following must
be true:
« Your child care expenses must be paid by you or your employer to allow you and your spouse to work or attend school; and
* Your child care expenses must be for your child under the age of 13 (or for a child with a disability); and
* Your child care must be provided by someone other than the child’s parent, guardian, or a brother or sister under age 19; and
 Your adjusted gross income is less than the limit for your household size; and
* You have at least $6,600 of earned income; and
* You have less than $2,600 of investment income (interest, dividends, and capital gains).
Note: If you are married filing separately, you must be legally separated or permanently living apart on December 31, 2003 to qualify.

Child Care Expense Paid in 2003
Name of Care Provider Social Security No.(SSN)/FEIN Address of Care Provider Amount Paid

1
2.
3.
4. Add lines 1 through 3. Enter this amount on line 18 below ..........ccccceeiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieee Total Child Care Expense 4

Household Size

Your household size is generally the number of individuals living in your home that you claim on your federal return. Parents who share
custody of their children have different rules.

Custodial parent: Enter the exemption information from your federal return on lines 5-12. Also enter the information for any child who
lived with you, but whom you allowed the other parent to claim on his or her tax return.

Noncustodial parent: Enter the exemption information from your federal return on lines 5-12. DO NOT enter the exemption informa-
tion for any child who did not live with you more than half the year even though the child’s other parent may have allowed you to claim
the exemption on your tax return. Enter that child’s information on lines 14-16.

To determine your household size, provide the following information:

Your First and Last Name Your SSN Note: Noncustodial parents may not increase household size based on
5. a dependency exemption given to you by the custodial parent.
Spouse’s Name, if Joint Return Spouse’s SSN
6. Dependent's | Check if you did not | Number of months
- - Date of claim this dependent| this dependent . .
Names of Dependents Who Lived With You Dependent’s SSN Birth on your federal return| lived with you Relationship
7. ]
8. ]
9. ]
10. ]
11. ]
12. ]
13. Add the number of names listed on lines 5 through 12 ... Total Household Size 13

Noncustodial Parent
Enter on lines 14-16 the information for any child who did not live with you for more than half the year.
Child’s First and Last Name Child’'s SSN Child’s Date of Birth Relationship

14.
15.
16.

Computation of Credit

17. Enter your federal adjusted gross income (Form 40N or Form 40P, lin€ 30@) .........cccvrriiiiiiiiinsiiine e 17
18. Enter the total qualifying child care expense paid in 2003 from lin€ 4 aboVe ..........coooiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiceee e 18
19. Enter the decimal amount from the Working Family Child Care Credit table on the back (use the table that
matches your household size from line 13 above). For example, if the amount on line 13 is 4, use Table 4 ......... 19| 0.
20. Multiply the amount on line 18 by the decimal amount on line 19 and enter here .........cooccvieiiiiiec e 20
21. Multiply line 20 by the Oregon Percentage (Form 40N or Form 40P, line 40). Enter the result
here and on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 66. This is your working family child care credit .............ccccccovviienenne 21

150-101-170 (12-03) Web
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Working Family Child Care Credit—2003 Tables

Table 1, household size =1

If the amount on

Table 2, household size =2

If the amount on

line 17 is: Enter this decimal line 17 is: Enter this decimal

at least: but less than: | amounton line 19: at least: but less than: | amounton line 19:
— $17,950 40 —_ $24,250 40
$17,950 18,850 .36 $24,250 25,450 .36
18,850 19,750 .32 25,450 26,650 32
19,750 20,650 24 26,650 27,900 24
20,650 21,550 16 27,900 29,100 16
21,550 22,450 .08 29,100 30,300 .08
22450 - .00 30,300 — .00

Table 3, household

If the amount on

size=3

Table 4, household size =4

If the amount on

line 17 is: Enter this decimal line 17 is: Enter this decimal

at least: but less than: | amounton line 19: at least: but less than: | amounton line 19:
— $30,500 40 —_— $36,800 40
$30,500 32,050 .36 $36,800 38,650 .36
32,050 33,550 .32 38,650 40,500 32
33,550 35,100 24 40,500 42,300 24
35,100 36,600 .16 42,300 44,150 16
36,600 38,150 .08 44,150 46,000 .08
38,150 — .00 46,000 — .00

Table 5, household

If the amount on

size=5

Table 6, household size = 6

If the amount on

line17is: Enter this decimal line 17 is: Enter this decimal

at least: but less than: | amounton line 19: at least: but less than: | amounton line 19:
e $43,100 40 o $49,350 40
$43,100 45,250 .36 $49,350 51,850 .36
45,250 47,400 .32 51,850 54,300 32
47,400 49,550 24 54,300 56,750 24
49,550 51,700 16 56,750 59,250 16
51,700 53,850 .08 59,250 61,700 .08
53,850 — .00 61,700 — .00

Table 7, household

If the amount on

size=7

Table 8, household size = 8*

If the amount on

line 17 is: Enter this decimal line 17 is: Enter this decimal

at least: but less than: | amounton line 19: at least: but less than: | amounton line 19:
—_— $55,650 40 —_ $61,900 40
$55,650 58,400 .36 $61,900 65,000 .36
58,400 61,200 32 65,000 68,100 32
61,200 64,000 24 68,100 71,200 24
64,000 66,750 16 71,200 74,300 16
66,750 69,550 .08 74,300 77,400 .08
69,550 — .00 77,400 e .00

*1If your household size is larger than eight, please contact the department for the tables you need. See page 40 for taxpayer
assistance information.

150-101-170 (12-03)
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Special instructions. Do you owe interest on line 70
and have an overpayment on line 68? If the interest
you owe is more than your overpayment, you have an
amount due. Subtract line 68 from line 70 and enter the
result on line 73.

Charitable donations. If you don't have a refund but
want to contribute to a charity listed on lines 76-81,
mail your donation to the charity’s address shown be-
low and on page 38. Please do not mail your donation
to the Department of Revenue.

Go to the signature block section on page 38 to finish
your return.

Refund. You must have a refund on line 74 to
use lines 75-81.

@ Estimated tax. If you have a refund on line 74,
you may apply part or all of it to your 2004 esti-
mated tax. Fill in the amount you want to apply. Don’t
fill in more than the amount on line 74.

Charitable checkoffs

You may choose to donate all or part of your refund to
the charities listed below. Donations will reduce your
refund. You may donate to any or all of the charities on
lines 76—-80. You also may donate to one of the charities
listed under the instructions for line 81. Or, you can
mail your donations to the addresses shown.

Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your donation will
fund the protection of nongame wildlife and its
habitat.
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife

PO Box 59
Portland OR 97207

@ Child Abuse Prevention. Your donation will

fund programs through the Children’s Trust

Fund to help prevent child abuse and neglect.
Children’s Trust Fund

1410 SW Morrison Street, Suite 502
Portland OR 97205

Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your donation
goes to the Alzheimer’s Association for re-
search on Alzheimer’s and related disorders.
Alzheimer’s Association

1311 NW 21st Avenue
Portland OR 97209

Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence. Your do-
nation will fund programs through the Oregon
Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence.
OCADSV

115 Mission St SE, Ste 100
Salem OR 97302

@ AIDS/HIV Research, Education, and Services.
Your donation will fund AIDS/HIV research,
education, and services by the Living With HIV Fund.

The Research and Education Group
1650 NW Naito Parkway, Suite 185
Portland OR 97209-8428

Other charity. You may donate all or part of

your refund to one of the charities listed below.
Enter the code of the charity on line 81. Enter only
one code. Check the box for the amount you want to

donate and write it on line 81. Or, you can mail your
donations to the addresses shown.

Habitat for Humanity of Oregon (Code 1). Your dona-
tion will help Habitat for Humanity build simple, de-
cent, and affordable housing for low-income families.

Habitat for Humanity of Oregon
3300 NW 185th #214
Portland OR 97229

Oregon Head Start Association (Code 2). Your dona-
tion will help Head Start provide services to the low-
est-income, highest-need children and families.

Oregon Head Start Association
2705 E Burnside, Suite 108
Portland OR 97214

American Diabetes Association (Code 3). Your dona-
tion will help continue diabetes research and advocacy
programs in Oregon.

American Diabetes Association
380 SE Spokane Street, Suite 110
Portland OR 97202

Oregon Coast Aquarium (Code 4). Your donation will
help fund educational programs, conservation efforts,
and animal rehabilitation.

Oregon Coast Aquarium
2820 SE Ferry Slip Road
Newport OR 97365

SMART (Code 5). Your donation will help fund the
Start Making A Reader Today early literacy program
for Oregon’s most vulnerable children.

Oregon Children’s Foundation/SMART
219 NW 12th Avenue, Suite 203
Portland OR 97209

SOLV (Code 6). Your donation helps fund thousands of
projects to clean up beaches, forests, rivers, and neigh-
borhoods across Oregon.

SOLv
PO Box 1235
Hillsboro OR 97123

Visit our Web site at www.dor.state.or.us
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St. Vincent de Paul Society of Oregon (Code 7). Your
donation will help provide services leading to self-
sufficiency for low-income Oregonians.

St. Vincent de Paul Society of Oregon
PO Box 24608
Eugene OR 97402

The Nature Conservancy (Code 8). Your donation will
help purchase and restore critical habitats for Oregon’s
at-risk plants, fish, and wildlife.

The Nature Conservancy
821 SE 14th Avenue
Portland OR 97214

Doernbecher Children’s Hospital Foundation (Code
9). Your donation will fund a critical expansion of the
cancer treatment facilities at Doernbecher.

Doernbecher Children’s Hospital Foundation
1121 SW Salmon, Suite 201
Portland OR 97205-2021

The Oregon Humane Society (Code 10). Your donation
will help save pets’ lives through rescue, sheltering, adop-
tion, education, cruelty investigation, and advocacy.

The Oregon Humane Society
PO Box 11364
Portland OR 97211

The Salvation Army—Oregon (Code 11). Your dona-
tion to the Salvation Army ensures help for the needi-
est children and their families throughout Oregon.

The Salvation Army
1785 NE Sandy Blvd
Portland OR 97232

The Oregon Veterans’ Home (Code 12). Your donation
will improve the quality of life for veterans receiving
nursing care at the Oregon Veterans’ Home.

Oregon Veterans’ Home Donations
700 Summer Street NE
Salem OR 97301-1285

Planned Parenthood of Oregon (Code 13). Your dona-
tion will fund family planning services and reproduc-
tive health education programs.

Planned Parenthood of Oregon
3231 SE 50th Avenue
Portland OR 97206

Net refund. You must reduce your refund by

any amounts applied to 2004 estimated tax and
donations on lines 76-81. The department cannot is-
sue a refund when the return is filed more than three
years after the due date of the return. Do not send in

Form RPC, the payment coupon, with your return if
you are claiming a refund.

Direct deposit

Complete line 84 if you want us to deposit your
refund directly into your bank account instead
of mailing you a check.

1. Contact your bank to make sure your deposit will
be accepted and to get your correct routing and ac-
count numbers.

2. Check the appropriate box for account type. Check
either checking or savings, but not both.

3. Enter your nine-digit routing number. The rout-
ing number must begin with 01 through 12, or 21
through 32.

4. Enter the account number of the account into which
you want your refund deposited. The account num-
ber can be up to 17 characters (both numbers and
letters). Do not include hyphens, spaces, or special
symbols. Enter the number left to right and leave
any unused boxes blank.

Signature block

Authorization box. Check the box if you wish to au-
thorize the Department of Revenue to discuss infor-
mation about the initial processing of your tax return
with your preparer. Otherwise, leave it blank.

Signature(s). Be sure to sign and date your return. If
you are filing a joint return, both spouses must sign.

Minor child’s return. If your child must file a tax return,
you may sign the child’s name as his or her legal agent.
Sign the child’s name and then write “By [your sigha-
ture], parent (or other legal guardian) for minor child.”

Preparer signature. Any person who prepares, advis-
es, or assists in the preparation of personal income tax
returns for another person in exchange for payment,
gifts, or other compensation must be licensed and
must sign the return. Contact these agencies for more
information on licensing or to check the status of your
Oregon tax practitioner:

= State Board of Tax Practitioners at 503-378-4034 for
licensed tax consultants and licensed tax preparers.

= State Board of Accountancy at 503-378-4181 for pub-
lic accountants and certified public accountants.

License number. Licensed tax consultants, please en-
ter your license number. Certified public accountants,
please enter your certificate number. Tax-Aide volun-
teers, please enter your TCE site number.

Before you file

Should | put my return together in a special order?

Yes. To speed processing, put your Oregon return to-
gether as follows:

38 Direct deposit

Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.



1. Start with Form 40N or Form 40P.

2. Staple Form(s) W-2 and any Form(s) 1099 showing
Oregon tax withheld below line 7 on the lower front
of your Form 40N or Form 40P.

3. Staple your payment and your completed Form
RPC, the payment coupon, on top of the Form(s)
W-2 and/or 1099.

4. Place a copy of the front and back of federal Form
1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or TeleFile Tax Record
behind your Form 40N or Form 40P.

5. If applicable, place these items in the following or-
der behind the federal form:

= Schedule WFC-N/P, Oregon Working Family Child
Care Credit for Part-Year and Nonresidents. See
page 33.

e Oregon Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Esti-
mated Tax.

= Proof required to claim credit for taxes paid to
another state. See page 29.

= Oregon Form 24, Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary
Conversions.

= Form FIA-40P, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for
Part-Year Residents, or Form FIA-40N, Oregon Farm
Income Averaging for Nonresidents.

= Exempt Income Schedule for Enrolled Members of a
Federally Recognized American Indian Tribe.

6. Staple all pages of your return together in the top
left-hand corner.

Be sure the second page of your return is the same
form as the first page. Example: If you file Form 40N,
be sure that “Page 2—2003 Form 40N” is printed at the
top of the second page.

Don’t attach extension requests; federal Schedule A,
B, C, or D; or Form 2441, etc. We receive some federal
information from the IRS. We may ask you for copies
of schedules or additional information later.

How long do | have to file my return and get a refund?

You have three years from the due date of the return
to file a claim for a refund. By law, the Department of
Revenue cannot issue a refund if your return is filed
more than three years after the due date.

Can | make payments?

If you can’t pay in full now, we will work with you
to set up a payment plan. File now and pay what you
can. Write your Social Security number, tax year, and
“Form 40P” or “Form 40N” on your check. Be sure
you also use Form RPC, the payment coupon, on page
31. Call the department as soon as possible to set up
a payment plan. If you do not call, collection activity
may begin.

To avoid processing delays,

remember to:

Waitto file your return until the February 3, 2004, spe-
cial election results are known.

Double-check your math calculations and other fig-
ures, including your Social Security number. The most
common mistakes are math errors and the amount
claimed for the federal tax subtraction. Please double-
check the tax you figured. Errors will slow the pro-
cessing of your return.

If you have tax to pay, read line 73 instructions.

Verify your bank account information if you are re-
questing direct deposit.

Sign your return (both spouses must sign a joint return).

Staple readable copies of Form(s) W-2 and 1099 show-
ing Oregon tax withheld to the front of the return.

Attach Form RPC, the payment coupon, with your
payment to the front of your return.

Attach your federal return.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use a busi-
ness envelope (4 x 9% inches) and be sure to use
enough postage. Please do not use a smaller enve-
lope—it delays processing.

Tax return mailing addresses

Mail refund returns or no-tax-due returns to:

REFUND
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-0930

Mail tax-to-pay returns to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

After you file

I'm getting a refund, but | heard there will be delays
this year. How long will it take to get my check?

This year, refunds will be delayed because of the Febru-
ary 3, 2004, special election. If Measure 30 passes, the law
(see page 2) will go into effect March 4, 2004. The depart-
ment cannot issue refunds before the law goes into effect.
If Measure 30 fails, the department will begin processing
returns as soon as the election results are certified.

This year, allow six weeks after the election results are
certified before you call to check on the status of your
refund.

If there is a mistake on your return, your refund will
be delayed.

Or, visit our Web site at www.dor.state.or.us
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Taxpayer assistance

Income tax booklets are available at many post offices,
banks, and libraries. For booklets and other forms and
publications, you can also access our Web site, order by
telephone, or return the form below.

Check individual boxes to order. Complete name and address section.
Clip on the dotted line, then mail in the entire list to the address below.

Forms and instructions
O Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon

EStIMated TaX ..o 150-101-031
O Form 24, Like-Kind Exchanges/

Involuntary CONVEISIONS ........cooeeeeeresneerennens 150-800-734
O Form 40ES, Estimated Income Tax Coupons,

and iINSTrUCLIONS.......cc.oocvvvvcrsse e, 150-101-026/-2

O Forms 40S & 40, Full-Year Resident ...........cco....... 150-101-043
O Forms 40P & 40N, Part-Year & Nonresident ...... 150-101-045
O Form 40X, Oregon Amended Individual

INCOMe TaX RELUIMN......oovvvrrnrisrinerssirserisssssssesenes 150-101-046
O Form 40-EXT, Oregon Automatic Extension

and Extension Payment CoUpOoN ...t 150-101-165
O Form 90R, Elderly Rental Assistance ................. 150-545-002
O Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging

for Full-Year ReSIdents.........cc.ccouvvrvenrnnriinsiinssinnns 150-101-160

O Form FIA-40N, 40P, and Schedule Z, Oregon

Farm Income Averaging for Nonresidents

and Part-Year ReSIAENtS.........ccocvverierrnnsrinsiinsionnn, 150-101-161
O Oregon Depreciation Schedule ..........c.ccoocvonenenne. 150-101-025
Information circulars and brochures

O Amtrak Act (Interstate Transportation Wages) ... 150-101-601
O Audits: What To Do if You Are Audited ................. 150-101-607
O Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Another State .... 150-101-646
O Divorce and TAXES ......ooweveererersmmeressmmmmesesssesssssnnns 150-101-629
O Donated Crops Tax Credit ...........cconerimereeen. 150-101-686
O Electronic Filing for Oregon...........coevenereeen. 150-101-630
O Estimated INCOME TaX .....ovvrvvrrrenererinerernererneeennne 150-101-648
O Income Tax Filing EXENSION ......ccoocvvvvvviisnrireniinnne 150-101-660
O Interest on Tax You Owe, Computation ............. 150-800-691
O Itemized Deductions LiMit .........cc.cconeeevermncrven. 150-101-611
O Married Persons Filing Separate Returns ............ 150-101-656
O Military Personnel Filing Information ................. 150-101-657
O Record-Keeping Requirements ...........cconervenn. 150-101-608
O Retirement INCOME ..........conmrvrmmereenneeressereeenne 150-101-673
O YourRights asan Oregon Taxpayer ... 150-800-406
O List of other printed information:

Form and Publication Order ... 150-800-390
Sendto: Forms, Oregon Department of Revenue

PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990
Please print
Name
Address
City
State ZIP Code
L - e e e e e e e e e e — — = .
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www.dor.state.or.us

The Department of Revenue Web site
is a quick and easy way to download
forms and publications, get up-to-the-
minute tax information, and learn
B - about electronic filing.

Correspondence

Write to; Oregon Department of Revenue,
955 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301-2555.
Include your Social Security number and a
daytime telephone number for faster service.

Telephone

SAlEM ..o 503-378-4988
Toll-free within Oregon............cccceecvenenen. 1-800-356-4222

If you have a touch-tone telephone, call our 24-hour voice
response system at one of the numbers above to:

« Hear recorded tax information.

= Order tax forms.
For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers above:

= Check on the status of your 2003
personal income tax refund
(beginning March 15).

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday ................ 7:30am.-5:10 p.m.
Wednesday ... 10:00 a.m.-5:10 p.m.
Closed on holidays.

April 1-April 15, Monday-Friday.................... 7:00 a.m.—9:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 3and April 10.......ccccccoueveenne. 9:00 am.-5:00 p.m.

Wait times may vary.

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only): 503-945-
8617 (Salem) or 1-800-886-7204 (toll-free within Oregon).

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). This information is
available in alternative formats. Call 503-378-4988 (Salem)
or 1-800-356-4222 (toll-free within Oregon).

Asistencia en espafiol. Llame al 503-945-8618 en
Salem o llame gratis al 1-800-356-4222 en Oregon.

Field offices

Get forms and assistance at these offices. Don’t send your
return to these addresses.

Bend 951 SW Simpson Drive, Suite 100

Eugene 1600 Valley River Drive, Suite 310 T

Medford 24 W 6th Street S Peoeen

Newport 119 NE 4th Street, Suite 4 '*Nev*vﬁi‘im

North Bend 3030 Broadway | *Eugene *Bend |.

Pendleton 700 SE Emigrant, Suite 310 *northgend

Portland* Federal Building Lobby, '_ rtediong C |

1220 SW Third Avenue

Portland 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 505

Salem Revenue Building, 955 Center Street NE,Room 135

Salem 4275 Commercial Street SE, Suite 180

Tualatin 6405 SW Rosewood Street, Suite A

* January 21-March 26: Monday, Wednesday, Friday, 10 a.m.—3 p.m.
March 29-April 15: Monday-Friday, 9 a.m—~4 p.m.






