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Federal tax liability subtraction. The federal tax sub-
traction limit has increased to $4,000 ($2,000 married 
filing separately). See page 25.

Department of Revenue Web site. Our Web site 
address has changed. For additional personal in-
come tax information, please visit our Web site at 
www.oregon.gov/DOR.

Credit card payment. The department is now accept-
ing credit card payments for 2004 current-year taxes 
and 2005 estimated taxes. See page 30.

Payment voucher, Form 40-V. Complete Form 40-V 
when mailing a 2004 payment or a 2005 estimated tax 
payment, or when filing a 2004 Oregon extension. See 
page 31. If paying by credit card, do not use Form 40-V.

Abbreviations replaced with numeric codes. We have 
replaced the standard abbreviations used to identify 

other additions, subtractions, and credits with nu-
meric codes. See pages 20, 21, and 28. 

Standard deduction amounts. The standard deduc-
tion amounts have changed. See page 24.

Federal child tax credit may cause a shortage in Ore-
gon withholding. If you increased the number of al-
lowances claimed on your federal Form W-4 to account 
for the federal child tax credit, it may have caused a 
shortage of Oregon withholding. Visit our Web site or 
contact us for more information. See page 40.

Filing status for same-sex couples who were issued 
marriage licenses. Current tax law, as of the date this 
publication was printed, requires that you use the 
same filing status for Oregon as you used on your 
federal return. Visit our Web site or contact the depart-
ment for more information. See page 40.

These instructions are not a 
complete statement of laws and 

Oregon Department of Revenue rules. 
You may need more information or forms. 

See page 40.

Electronic filing

Electronic filing (e-file) is a 
fast, efficient, and accurate 
way to file. Visit our Web 
site to download the infor-
mation circular, Electronic 
Filing for Oregon. Or, to order it, see page 40.
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Should I file an Oregon return?

You must file an Oregon income tax return if your Ore-
gon source income and income received while an Ore-
gon resident is more than your standard deduction.

If your Oregon income is less than your standard deduc-
tion, you are not required to file a return for Oregon.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from 
all sources.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from 
all sources earned or received while you were an Ore-
gon resident. Oregon also taxes your income from Ore-
gon sources while you were a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes only your income from 
Oregon sources.

Filing thresholds

You must file an Oregon income tax return if:

Your filing status is: Age: And your Oregon 
income is more 

than:

Single, can be claimed 
on another’s return

Any $800*

Single
Under 65 $1,720
65 or over $2,920

Married, joint return 
Both under 65 $3,445
One 65 or over $4,445
Both 65 or over $5,445

Married, separate return

If spouse claims 
standard deduction

Under 65 $1,720
65 or over $2,720

If spouse itemizes 
deductions 

Any $0

Head of household
Under 65 $2,770
65 or over $3,970

Qualifying widow(er)
Under 65 $3,445
65 or over $4,445

* The larger of $800 or your earned income plus $250, up to your 
stan dard deduction amount.

What does income from Oregon 
sources include?

It includes income shown on your federal return from 
compensation for services performed in Oregon.

If you have wages from an Oregon employer for ser-
vices performed in Oregon and another state while 
you were a nonresident and your Oregon wages are 

not stated separately on your W-2, compute your Ore-
gon source income using the following formula:

Days actually worked in Oregon
×

Total 
wages

=
Oregon 
wagesDays actually worked everywhere

Do not include holidays, vacation days, and sick days 
as actual work days. However, you must include sick 
pay, holiday pay, and vacation pay in total wages. You 
must attach an explanation from your employer. If 
Oregon is the only state you worked in, do not use this 
formula; all of your earnings are taxable and must be 
reported in the Oregon column.

Example: Savannah lives in Idaho but works in Ore-
gon. Of her 260 total days paid, she worked 132 days 
in Oregon and 88 days from her home in Idaho. She 
received 27 days vacation pay, five days of sick pay, 
and eight days of holiday pay. She earned $50,000 in 
wages. She figured the amount subject to Oregon tax 
as follows:

 Total days paid 260
 Less: Vacation days (27 )
  Sick days (5 )
  Holidays (8 )

 Total days worked everywhere 220

Days actually worked in Oregon (132)
×

$50,000 
(Total wages)

= $30,000
Days actually worked everywhere (220)

Savannah’s compensation reported in the Oregon col-
umn of Form 40N is $30,000.

Other income from Oregon sources:

• Businesses, S corporations, partnerships, and limit-
ed liability companies taxed as partnerships located 
or doing business in Oregon.

• Unemployment compensation received because of 
an Oregon job.

• Severance pay you received because of an Oregon job.
• Oregon farms.
• Oregon estates and trusts.
• Sales of Oregon property.
• Rents and royalties for use of Oregon property.
• Community property income. If you are a resident of 

Oregon and your spouse is a resident of a state with 
community property laws, you may be taxed on part 
of your spouse’s income. Community property laws 
in the state where your spouse lives determine if you 
are taxed on any of your spouse’s income. You may 
need more information from the state where your 
spouse lives. Visit our Web site for links to other 
states’ tax Web sites.
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What income is not included in Oregon sources?

• Interest and dividends. However, if they are from 
an Oregon business you own or they are received 
during the part of the year you were a resident, you 
must include them in Oregon income.

• Interstate transportation wages from an interstate 
railroad company, interstate motor carrier, air car-
rier, or motor private carrier. You must be a non-
resident and have regularly assigned duties in more 
than one state. Visit our Web site to download the 
information circular, Amtrak Act (Interstate Transpor-
tation Wages). Or, to order it, see page 40.

• Oregon retirement income received while you were 
a nonresident unless you were domiciled in Oregon. 
See “Pensions and annuities” on page 18.

• Waterway or hydroelectric dam compensation, if 
you are a nonresident:
— Working as crew or pilot on a vessel on a river 

between Oregon and another state, or 
— Working on a dam that spans a river between 

Oregon and another state.

• Military pay of a nonresident.

Residency

Am I a resident, a nonresident, or a part-year resi-
dent? The following will help you decide:

• You are a full-year Oregon resident, even if you live 
outside Oregon, if all of the following are true:

 — You think of Oregon as your permanent home; and
 — Oregon is the center of your financial, social, and 

family life; and
 — Oregon is the place you intend to come back to 

when you are away.

 You are still a full-year resident if:
 — You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
 — You moved back to Oregon after a temporary ab-

sence.

 You may also be considered a full-year resident if 
you spent more than 200 days in Oregon during the 
tax year or if you are a nonresident alien.

• You are a nonresident if your permanent home was 
outside Oregon all year.

• You are a part-year resident if you moved into or out 
of Oregon during 2004. You are not a part-year resi-
dent if:

 — You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
 — You moved back to Oregon after a temporary ab-

sence.

Special-case Oregon residents. You are considered a 
nonresident if all of the following are true:

• You are an Oregon resident who maintained a per-
manent home outside Oregon the entire year, and

• You didn’t keep a home in Oregon during any part 
of the year, and

• You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during the year.

Note: A recreational vehicle (RV) is not considered a 
permanent home outside of Oregon.

Oregon residents living abroad. Generally, if you 
qualify for the federal earned income exclusion or 
housing exclusion for United States residents living 
abroad, you are considered a nonresident.

Filing status

Generally, you must use the same filing status for your 
Oregon and federal returns.

Exceptions for married persons when spouses are:

• Full-year resident and part-year resident. You may 
file separate Oregon returns. If you file separate re-
turns for Oregon, you must use the married filing 
separately status. The full-year resident files Form 
40, and the part-year resident files Form 40P. If you 
choose to file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40P.

• Full-year resident and nonresident. You may file 
separate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns 
for Oregon, you must use the married filing sepa-
rately status. The full-year resident files Form 40, 
and the nonresident files Form 40N. If you choose to 
file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N.

• Part-year resident and nonresident. You may file 
separate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns 
for Oregon, you must use the married filing sepa-
rately status. The part-year resident files Form 40P, 
and the nonresident files Form 40N. If you choose to 
file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N. 

Need more information? Visit our Web site to down-
load the information circular, Married Persons Filing 
Separate Returns. Or, to order it, see page 40.

Military personnel

Nonresidents stationed in Oregon. Oregon does not 
tax your military pay while you are stationed in Ore-
gon. File Form 40N if you or your spouse had income 
from other Oregon sources or to claim a refund of Ore-
gon tax withheld from your military pay.

Residents stationed in Oregon. If you are an Oregon 
resident stationed in Oregon, file Form 40 from the 
Full-Year Resident tax booklet.

Residents stationed outside Oregon. If you are an 
Oregon resident stationed outside Oregon, you may 
file Form 40N if you meet the requirements for spe-
cial-case Oregon residents or Oregon residents living 
abroad. See “Residency” on this page. File Form 40 

Instructions continued on page 13
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NOW GO TO THE BACK OF THE FORM ➛

Attach a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or TeleFile Tax Record. Do not attach other federal sched ules.

7c   You attached 
Schedule 
WFC-N/P 

Check 
all that 
apply➛

7a    • •
     You were:   65 or older   Blind
 Spouse was:   65 or older   Blind

7e •   If there is a kicker refund, 
you want to donate your 
kicker to the State School Fund

7b   You 
filed an 
extension

7d   You filed 
an Oregon 
Form 24

150-101-048 (Rev. 12-04) Web

• 1
2

3

Single

Married filing jointly

Married filing 
separately

4 Head of household

5 Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child

Filing
Status
Check 
only 
one 
box

Spouse’s name

Spouse’s SSN

Person who qualifies you

Exemptions
6a Yourself......Regular ........ Severely disabled ......... 6a   

6b Spouse ......Regular ........ Severely disabled  ........... b   

6c All de pen dents First names ________________________________• c

6d Child(ren)  First names ________________________________• d
     with a disability

Total

Total 6e•

•

2004
Fiscal year endingOregon resident:

From To

mm            dd             yyyy mm            dd             yyyy

4
Oregon Department of Rev e nue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

Mail REFUND returns and 
NO-TAX-DUE returns to

Mail TAX-TO-PAY
returns to 

REFUND
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-09304

Last name First name and initial Social Security No. (SSN)

–            –
Spouse’s last name if joint return Spouse’s first name and initial if joint return Spouse’s SSN, if joint return

–            –
Telephone numberCurrent mailing address

City State ZIP code If you filed a return last year, and your 
name or address is different, check here    

(              )

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

For office use only

1 2 3

Country

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Form

40N
OREGON

Individual Income Tax Return
FOR NONRESIDENTS

Federal column Oregon column

  8  Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Staple all Forms W-2 below ................    8

  9  Taxable interest income from federal Form 1040, line 8a .......................................    9

10  Dividend income from federal Form 1040, line 9a ..................................................  10

11  State and local income tax refunds from federal Form 1040, line 10......................  11

12  Alimony received from federal Form 1040, line 11 ..................................................  12

13  Business income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 12 ......................................  13

14  Capital gain or loss from federal Form 1040, line 13 ..............................................  14

15  Other gains or losses from federal Form 1040, line 14 ...........................................  15

16  IRA distributions from federal Form 1040, line 15b .................................................  16

17  Pensions and annuities from federal Form 1040, line 16b......................................  17

18  Rents, royalties, partnerships, etc., from federal Form 1040, line 17......................  18

19  Farm income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 18 ............................................  19

20  Unemployment and other income from federal Form 1040, lines 19 through 21 ....  20

21  Total income. Add lines 8 through 20 ...................................................................... 21a                                  •21b

22  IRA or SEP and SIMPLE contributions, federal Form 1040, lines 25 and 32..........  22

23  Education deductions from federal Form 1040, lines 23, 26, and 27......................  23

24  Moving expenses from federal Form 1040, line 29 .................................................  24

25  Deduction for self-employment tax from federal Form 1040, line 30 ......................  25

26  Self-employed health insurance deduction from federal Form 1040, line 31 ..........  26

27  Alimony paid from federal Form 1040, line 34a.......................................................  27

28  Other adjustments to income. Identify __________________________________  28

29  Total adjustments to income. Add lines 22 through 28............................................  29

30  Income after adjustments. Line 21 minus line 29..................................................• 30a                                  •30b

31  Interest on state and local government bonds outside of Oregon.........................•  31

32  Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor child ..................................•  32

33  Other additions. Identify ___________________________________________ •  33

34  Total additions. Add lines 31 through 33 ................................................................. 34a                                  •34b

35  Income after additions. Add lines 30 and 34........................................................... 35a                                  •35b

ADDITIONS

INCOME

Staple 
W-2s, 
payment, 
and 
payment 
voucher 
here

AD JUST MENTS
TO INCOME

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

W



36  Amount from front of form, line 35..........................................................................   36

37  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits included on line 20....• 37

38  Other subtractions. Identify _________________________________________ •38a                                  •38b

39  Income after subtractions. Line 36 minus lines 37 and 38 ..................................... 39a                                  •39b

40  Oregon percentage. Line 39b ÷ line 39a (not more than 100%) ........ 40 

41  Itemized deductions from federal Schedule A, line 28 ...........................................• 41

42  State income tax claimed as itemized deduction. See instructions, page 24.........• 42

43  Net Oregon itemized deductions. Line 41 minus line 42.........................................  43

44  Standard deduction from page 24..........................................................................• 44

45  2004 federal tax liability ($0–$4,000; see instructions for the correct amount) ......• 45

46  Other deductions and modifications. Identify ____________________________ • 46

47  Deductions and modifications ✕ Oregon percentage. See page 26 .......................  47

48  Deductions and modifications not multiplied by the Oregon percentage. See page 26 ...• 48

49  Total deductions and other modifications. Add lines 47 and 48 .......................................................................... 49

50  Oregon taxable income. Line 39b minus line 49 ..............................................................................................• 50

51  Tax from tax rate charts (see instructions, page 26) .............................................• 51

52  Or, check if from:   Form FIA or   Worksheet FCG and enter tax here ..............• 52

53  Interest on certain installment sales.......................................• 53

54  Total tax. Add lines 51 and 53  OR  add lines 52 and 53 ..................................................... OREGON TAX➛ 54

55  Exemption credit. Line 6e ✕ $151 ✕ Oregon percentage from line 40 ..............• 55

56  Earned income credit. See instructions, page 27...................................................• 56

57  Child and dependent care credit. See instructions, page 27..................................• 57

58  Credit for income taxes paid to another state (AZ, CA, IN, VA). Attach proof .......• 58

59  Other credits. Iden ti fy_______________________________________________• 59

60  Total credits. Add lines 55 through 59 ................................................................................................................ 60

61  Net income tax. Line 54 minus line 60. If line 60 is more than line 54, fill in -0-...............................................• 61

62  Oregon income tax withheld from income. Attach Forms W-2 and 1099 ............• 62

63  Estimated tax payments for 2004 and payments made with your extension ........• 63

64  Working family child care credit from WFC-N/P, line 20...CREDIT AMOUNT➛ • 64

       Number from WFC-N/P, line 5 • 64a           Amount from WFC-N/P, line 17 • 64b

65  Total payments. Add lines 62, 63, and 64 ........................................................................................................... 65

66  Overpayment. Is line 61 less than line 65? If so, line 65 minus line 61 ......................  OVERPAYMENT   ➛ • 66

67  Tax to pay. Is line 61 more than line 65? If so, line 61 minus line 65..................................  TAX TO PAY➛ • 67

68  Penalty and interest for filing or paying late. See instructions, page 29.................. 68

69  Interest on estimated tax underpayment. Attach Form 10 and check box ➛   ....• 69

70  Total penalty and interest due. Add lines 68 and 69........................................................................................... 70

71  Amount you owe. Line 67 plus line 70 ..................................................................... AMOUNT YOU OWE➛ 71

72  Refund. Is line 66 more than line 70? If so, line 66 minus line 70 .................................................REFUND➛  72

73  Estimated tax. Fill in the part of line 72 you want applied to 2005 estimated tax....• 73

74  Oregon Nongame Wildlife ...............   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 74

75  Child Abuse Prevention...................   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 75

76  Alzheimer’s Disease Research .......   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 76

77  Stop Domestic & Sexual Violence...   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 77

78  AIDS/HIV Education and Services ..   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 78

79  Other charity. Enter code •____ ....   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 79

80  Total. Add lines 73 through 79. Total can’t be more than your refund on line 72 ............................................... 80

81  NET REFUND. Line 72 minus line 80. This is your net refund.............................................. NET REFUND➛ 81

82  For direct deposit of your refund, see the instructions on page 32.                      • Type of Account:     Checking   or     Savings 

ADD TOGETHER

These will
reduce

your refund

CHARITABLE
CHECKOFFS

I want to 
donate part 
of my tax 
refund to 
the following 
fund(s)

EITHER,
NOT BOTH

DEDUCTIONS
AND 
MODIFICATIONS

ADD TOGETHER

EITHER,
NOT BOTH

OREGON
TAX

CREDITS

ADD TOGETHER

PAYMENTS,
PENALTY, AND
INTEREST

SUB TRAC TIONS

Page 2 — 2004  Form 40N Federal column Oregon column

__ __ __.__%

  I authorize the Department of Rev-
enue to contact this preparer about 
the processing of this return. 

Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including ac com pa ny ing sched ules 
and statements. To the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person 
other than the taxpayer, this dec la ra tion is based on all in for ma tion of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date License No.

Address Telephone No.X
X

Spouse’s signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign) Date

X

• Routing No. • Account No.

DIRECT 
DE POS IT

Attach Schedule 
WFC-N/P if you 
claim this credit

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00.00

.00.00
.00

.00.00

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

150-101-048 (Rev. 12-04) Web
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.00
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NOW GO TO THE BACK OF THE FORM ➛

Attach a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or TeleFile Tax Record. Do not attach other federal sched ules.

7c   You attached 
Schedule 
WFC-N/P 

Check 
all that 
apply➛

7a    • •
     You were:   65 or older   Blind
 Spouse was:   65 or older   Blind

7e •   If there is a kicker refund, 
you want to donate your 
kicker to the State School Fund

7b   You 
filed an 
extension

7d   You filed 
an Oregon 
Form 24

150-101-048 (Rev. 12-04) Web

• 1
2

3

Single

Married filing jointly

Married filing 
separately

4 Head of household

5 Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child

Filing
Status
Check 
only 
one 
box

Spouse’s name

Spouse’s SSN

Person who qualifies you

Exemptions
6a Yourself......Regular ........ Severely disabled ......... 6a   

6b Spouse ......Regular ........ Severely disabled  ........... b   

6c All de pen dents First names ________________________________• c

6d Child(ren)  First names ________________________________• d
     with a disability

Total

Total 6e•

•

2004
Fiscal year endingOregon resident:

From To

mm            dd             yyyy mm            dd             yyyy

4
Oregon Department of Rev e nue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

Mail REFUND returns and 
NO-TAX-DUE returns to

Mail TAX-TO-PAY
returns to 

REFUND
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-09304

Last name First name and initial Social Security No. (SSN)

–            –
Spouse’s last name if joint return Spouse’s first name and initial if joint return Spouse’s SSN, if joint return

–            –
Telephone numberCurrent mailing address

City State ZIP code If you filed a return last year, and your 
name or address is different, check here    

(              )

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

For office use only

1 2 3

Country

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Form

40N
OREGON

Individual Income Tax Return
FOR NONRESIDENTS

Federal column Oregon column

  8  Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Staple all Forms W-2 below ................    8

  9  Taxable interest income from federal Form 1040, line 8a .......................................    9

10  Dividend income from federal Form 1040, line 9a ..................................................  10

11  State and local income tax refunds from federal Form 1040, line 10......................  11

12  Alimony received from federal Form 1040, line 11 ..................................................  12

13  Business income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 12 ......................................  13

14  Capital gain or loss from federal Form 1040, line 13 ..............................................  14

15  Other gains or losses from federal Form 1040, line 14 ...........................................  15

16  IRA distributions from federal Form 1040, line 15b .................................................  16

17  Pensions and annuities from federal Form 1040, line 16b......................................  17

18  Rents, royalties, partnerships, etc., from federal Form 1040, line 17......................  18

19  Farm income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 18 ............................................  19

20  Unemployment and other income from federal Form 1040, lines 19 through 21 ....  20

21  Total income. Add lines 8 through 20 ...................................................................... 21a                                  •21b

22  IRA or SEP and SIMPLE contributions, federal Form 1040, lines 25 and 32..........  22

23  Education deductions from federal Form 1040, lines 23, 26, and 27......................  23

24  Moving expenses from federal Form 1040, line 29 .................................................  24

25  Deduction for self-employment tax from federal Form 1040, line 30 ......................  25

26  Self-employed health insurance deduction from federal Form 1040, line 31 ..........  26

27  Alimony paid from federal Form 1040, line 34a.......................................................  27

28  Other adjustments to income. Identify __________________________________  28

29  Total adjustments to income. Add lines 22 through 28............................................  29

30  Income after adjustments. Line 21 minus line 29..................................................• 30a                                  •30b

31  Interest on state and local government bonds outside of Oregon.........................•  31

32  Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor child ..................................•  32

33  Other additions. Identify ___________________________________________ •  33

34  Total additions. Add lines 31 through 33 ................................................................. 34a                                  •34b

35  Income after additions. Add lines 30 and 34........................................................... 35a                                  •35b

ADDITIONS

INCOME

Staple 
W-2s, 
payment, 
and 
payment 
voucher 
here

AD JUST MENTS
TO INCOME

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

W



36  Amount from front of form, line 35..........................................................................   36

37  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits included on line 20....• 37

38  Other subtractions. Identify _________________________________________ •38a                                  •38b

39  Income after subtractions. Line 36 minus lines 37 and 38 ..................................... 39a                                  •39b

40  Oregon percentage. Line 39b ÷ line 39a (not more than 100%) ........ 40 

41  Itemized deductions from federal Schedule A, line 28 ...........................................• 41

42  State income tax claimed as itemized deduction. See instructions, page 24.........• 42

43  Net Oregon itemized deductions. Line 41 minus line 42.........................................  43

44  Standard deduction from page 24..........................................................................• 44

45  2004 federal tax liability ($0–$4,000; see instructions for the correct amount) ......• 45

46  Other deductions and modifications. Identify ____________________________ • 46

47  Deductions and modifications ✕ Oregon percentage. See page 26 .......................  47

48  Deductions and modifications not multiplied by the Oregon percentage. See page 26 ...• 48

49  Total deductions and other modifications. Add lines 47 and 48 .......................................................................... 49

50  Oregon taxable income. Line 39b minus line 49 ..............................................................................................• 50

51  Tax from tax rate charts (see instructions, page 26) .............................................• 51

52  Or, check if from:   Form FIA or   Worksheet FCG and enter tax here ..............• 52

53  Interest on certain installment sales.......................................• 53

54  Total tax. Add lines 51 and 53  OR  add lines 52 and 53 ..................................................... OREGON TAX➛ 54

55  Exemption credit. Line 6e ✕ $151 ✕ Oregon percentage from line 40 ..............• 55

56  Earned income credit. See instructions, page 27...................................................• 56

57  Child and dependent care credit. See instructions, page 27..................................• 57

58  Credit for income taxes paid to another state (AZ, CA, IN, VA). Attach proof .......• 58

59  Other credits. Iden ti fy_______________________________________________• 59

60  Total credits. Add lines 55 through 59 ................................................................................................................ 60

61  Net income tax. Line 54 minus line 60. If line 60 is more than line 54, fill in -0-...............................................• 61

62  Oregon income tax withheld from income. Attach Forms W-2 and 1099 ............• 62

63  Estimated tax payments for 2004 and payments made with your extension ........• 63

64  Working family child care credit from WFC-N/P, line 20...CREDIT AMOUNT➛ • 64

       Number from WFC-N/P, line 5 • 64a           Amount from WFC-N/P, line 17 • 64b

65  Total payments. Add lines 62, 63, and 64 ........................................................................................................... 65

66  Overpayment. Is line 61 less than line 65? If so, line 65 minus line 61 ......................  OVERPAYMENT   ➛ • 66

67  Tax to pay. Is line 61 more than line 65? If so, line 61 minus line 65..................................  TAX TO PAY➛ • 67

68  Penalty and interest for filing or paying late. See instructions, page 29.................. 68

69  Interest on estimated tax underpayment. Attach Form 10 and check box ➛   ....• 69

70  Total penalty and interest due. Add lines 68 and 69........................................................................................... 70

71  Amount you owe. Line 67 plus line 70 ..................................................................... AMOUNT YOU OWE➛ 71

72  Refund. Is line 66 more than line 70? If so, line 66 minus line 70 .................................................REFUND➛  72

73  Estimated tax. Fill in the part of line 72 you want applied to 2005 estimated tax....• 73

74  Oregon Nongame Wildlife ...............   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 74

75  Child Abuse Prevention...................   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 75

76  Alzheimer’s Disease Research .......   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 76

77  Stop Domestic & Sexual Violence...   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 77

78  AIDS/HIV Education and Services ..   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 78

79  Other charity. Enter code •____ ....   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 79

80  Total. Add lines 73 through 79. Total can’t be more than your refund on line 72 ............................................... 80

81  NET REFUND. Line 72 minus line 80. This is your net refund.............................................. NET REFUND➛ 81

82  For direct deposit of your refund, see the instructions on page 32.                      • Type of Account:     Checking   or     Savings 

ADD TOGETHER

These will
reduce

your refund

CHARITABLE
CHECKOFFS

I want to 
donate part 
of my tax 
refund to 
the following 
fund(s)

EITHER,
NOT BOTH

DEDUCTIONS
AND 
MODIFICATIONS

ADD TOGETHER

EITHER,
NOT BOTH

OREGON
TAX

CREDITS

ADD TOGETHER

PAYMENTS,
PENALTY, AND
INTEREST

SUB TRAC TIONS

Page 2 — 2004  Form 40N Federal column Oregon column

__ __ __.__%

  I authorize the Department of Rev-
enue to contact this preparer about 
the processing of this return. 

Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including ac com pa ny ing sched ules 
and statements. To the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person 
other than the taxpayer, this dec la ra tion is based on all in for ma tion of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date License No.

Address Telephone No.X
X

Spouse’s signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign) Date

X

• Routing No. • Account No.

DIRECT 
DE POS IT

Attach Schedule 
WFC-N/P if you 
claim this credit

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00.00

.00.00
.00

.00.00

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
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.00

.00
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.00
.00

.00

.00

.00
.00



NOW GO TO THE BACK OF THE FORM ➛

  8  Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Staple all Forms W-2 below ................    8

  9  Taxable interest income from federal Form 1040, line 8a ......................................    9

10  Dividend income from federal Form 1040, line 9a ..................................................  10

11  State and local income tax refunds from federal Form 1040, line 10......................  11

12  Alimony received from federal Form 1040, line 11 ..................................................  12

13  Business income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 12 ......................................  13

14  Capital gain or loss from federal Form 1040, line 13 ..............................................  14

15  Other gains or losses from federal Form 1040, line 14 ...........................................  15

16  IRA distributions from federal Form 1040, line 15b .................................................  16

17  Pensions and annuities from federal Form 1040, line 16b......................................  17

18  Rents, royalties, partnerships, etc., from federal Form 1040, line 17......................  18

19  Farm income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 18 ............................................  19

20  Unemployment and other income from federal Form 1040, lines 19 through 21 ....  20

21  Total income. Add lines 8 through 20 ...................................................................... 21a                                  • 21b

22  IRA or SEP and SIMPLE contributions, federal Form 1040, lines 25 and 32..........  22

23  Education deductions from federal Form 1040, lines 23, 26, and 27......................  23

24  Moving expenses from federal Form 1040, line 29 .................................................  24

25  Deduction for self-employment tax from federal Form 1040, line 30 ......................  25

26  Self-employed health insurance deduction from federal Form 1040, line 31 ..........  26

27  Alimony paid from federal Form 1040, line 34a.......................................................  27

28  Other adjustments to income. Identify __________________________________  28

29  Total adjustments to income. Add lines 22 through 28............................................  29

30  Income after adjustments. Line 21 minus line 29..................................................• 30a                                  •30b

31  Interest on state and local government bonds outside of Oregon.........................•  31

32  Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor child ..................................•  32

33  Other additions. Identify ___________________________________________ •  33

34  Total additions. Add lines 31 through 33 ................................................................. 34a                                  •34b

35  Income after additions. Add lines 30 and 34........................................................... 35a                                  •35b

Staple 
W-2s, 
payment, 
and 
payment 
voucher 
here

ADDITIONS

Federal column Oregon column

INCOME

AD JUST MENTS
TO INCOME

Attach a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or TeleFile Tax Record. Do not attach other federal sched ules.

W

150-101-055 (Rev. 12-04)  Web

• 1
2

3

Single

Married fi ling jointly

Married fi ling 
separately

4 Head of household

5 Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child

Filing
Status
Check 
only 
one 
box

Spouse’s name

Spouse’s SSN

Person who qualifi es you

Exemptions
6a Yourself......Regular ........ Severely disabled ......... 6a   

6b Spouse ......Regular ........ Severely disabled  ........... b   

6c All de pen dents First names ________________________________• c

6d Child(ren)  First names ________________________________• d
     with a disability

Total

Total 6e•

•

4
Oregon Department of Rev e nue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

Mail REFUND returns and 
NO-TAX-DUE returns to

Mail TAX-TO-PAY
returns to 

REFUND
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-09304

For offi ce use only

FOR PART-YEAR RESIDENTS

Last name First name and initial Social Security No. (SSN)

–            –
Spouse’s last name if joint return Spouse’s fi rst name and initial if joint return Spouse’s SSN, if joint return

–            –
Telephone numberCurrent mailing address

City State ZIP code If you fi led a return last year, and your 
name or address is different, check here    

(               )

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

1 2 3

Country

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Fiscal year endingOregon resident:
From To

mm            dd             yyyy mm            dd             yyyy

Check 
all that 
apply➛

7a    • •
     You were:   65 or older   Blind
 Spouse was:   65 or older   Blind

7e •   If there is a kicker refund, 
you want to donate your 
kicker to the State School Fund

7c   You attached 
Schedule 
WFC-N/P  

7b   You 
fi led an 
extension

7d   You fi led 
an Oregon 
Form 24

2004
Form

40P
OREGON

Individual Income Tax Return

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00



CHARITABLE
CHECKOFFS

I want to 
donate part 
of my tax 
refund to 
the following 
fund(s)

  I authorize the Department of Rev-
enue to contact this preparer about 
the processing of this return. 

Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including ac com pa ny ing sched ules 
and statements. To the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person 
other than the taxpayer, this dec la ra tion is based on all in for ma tion of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date License No.

Address Telephone No.X
X

Spouse’s signature (if fi ling jointly, BOTH must sign) Date

X

36  Amount from front of form, line 35...........................................................................  36

37  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefi ts included on line 20....• 37

38  Other subtractions. Identify _________________________________________  •38a                                   •38b

39  Income after subtractions. Line 36 minus lines 37 and 38 ...................................... 39a                                   •39b

40  Oregon percentage. Line 39b ÷ line 39a (not more than 100%) ........ 40

41  Amount from line 39a (federal amount)...................................................................                                            41

42  Item ized deductions from federal Schedule A, line 28 ...........................................• 42

43  State income tax claimed as itemized deduction. See instructions, page 24..........• 43

44  Net Oregon itemized deductions. Line 42 minus line 43......................................... 44

45  Standard deduction from page 24..........................................................................• 45

46  2004 federal tax liability ($0–$4,000; see instructions for the correct amount) ......• 46

47  Other deductions and modifi cations. Identify ____________________________ • 47

48  Add lines 45, 46, and 47 or lines 44, 46, and 47. Fill in the larger amount ........................................................ 48

49  Taxable income. Line 41 minus line 48 ........................................................................................................... • 49

50  Tax from tax rate charts (see instructions, page 26) ................ 50

51  Oregon income tax. Line 50 ✕ Oregon percentage from line 40..........................• 51

52  Or, check if from:   Form FIA or   Worksheet FCG and enter tax here .............• 52

53  Interest on certain installment sales.......................................• 53

54  Total tax. Add lines 51 and 53  OR  add lines 52 and 53 .....................................................OREGON TAX➛ 54

55  Exemption credit. Line 6e ✕ $151 ✕ Oregon percentage from line 40 ..............• 55

56  Earned income credit. See instructions, page 27...................................................• 56

57  Child and dependent care credit. See instructions, page 27..................................• 57

58  Credit for income taxes paid to another state. State:___________. Attach proof• 58

59  Other credits. Identify______________________________________________ • 59

60  Total credits. Add lines 55 through 59 ................................................................................................................ 60

61  Net income tax. Line 54 minus line 60. If line 60 is more than line 54, fi ll in -0-.............................................. • 61

62  Oregon income tax withheld from income. Attach Forms W-2 and 1099 ............• 62

63  Estimated tax payments for 2004 and payments made with your extension ........• 63

64  Working family child care credit from WFC-N/P, line 20...CREDIT AMOUNT➛ • 64

      Number from WFC-N/P, line 5 • 64a           Amount from WFC-N/P, line 17 • 64b

65  Total payments. Add lines 62, 63, and 64 ........................................................................................................... 65

66  Overpayment. Is line 61 less than line 65? If so, line 65 minus line 61 ....................... OVERPAYMENT   ➛ • 66

67  Tax to pay. Is line 61 more than line 65? If so, line 61 minus line 65 .................................. TAX TO PAY➛ • 67

68  Penalty and interest for fi ling or paying late. See instructions, page  29...................68

69  Interest on estimated tax underpayment. Attach Form 10 and check box ➛  .....• 69

70  Total penalty and interest due. Add lines 68 and 69........................................................................................... 70

71  Amount you owe. Line 67 plus line 70 ...................................................................... AMOUNT YOU OWE➛  71

72  Refund. Is line 66 more than line 70? If so, line 66 minus line 70 .................................................REFUND➛ 72

73  Estimated tax. Fill in the part of line 72 you want applied to 2005 estimated tax....• 73

74  Oregon Nongame Wildlife ...............   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 74

75  Child Abuse Prevention...................   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 75

76  Alzheimer’s Disease Research .......   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 76

77  Stop Domestic & Sexual Violence...   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 77

78  AIDS/HIV Education and Services ..   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 78

79  Other charity. Enter code •____ ....   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 79

80  Total. Add lines 73 through 79. Total can’t be more than your refund on line 72 ............................................... 80

81  NET REFUND. Line 72 minus line 80. This is your net refund...............................................NET REFUND➛ 81

82  For direct deposit of your refund, see the instructions on page 32.                      • Type of Account:     Checking   or     Savings 

EITHER,
NOT BOTH

ADD TOGETHER

SUB TRAC TIONS

DEDUCTIONS
AND 
MODIFICATIONS

Page 2 — 2004  Form 40P Federal column Oregon column

__ __ __.__%

OREGON
TAX

➛

CREDITS

EITHER,
NOT BOTH

ADD TOGETHER

DIRECT 
DE POS IT

• Routing No. • Account No.

ADD TOGETHER

These will
reduce

your refund

PAYMENTS,
PENALTY, AND
INTEREST

Attach Schedule 
WFC-N/P if you 
claim this credit

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00

.00

.00

.00
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.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00

.00
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.00.00
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.00

.00
.00
.00

150-101-055 (Rev. 12-04) Web

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00

.00

.00

.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00



NOW GO TO THE BACK OF THE FORM ➛

  8  Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Staple all Forms W-2 below ................    8

  9  Taxable interest income from federal Form 1040, line 8a ......................................    9

10  Dividend income from federal Form 1040, line 9a ..................................................  10

11  State and local income tax refunds from federal Form 1040, line 10......................  11

12  Alimony received from federal Form 1040, line 11 ..................................................  12

13  Business income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 12 ......................................  13

14  Capital gain or loss from federal Form 1040, line 13 ..............................................  14

15  Other gains or losses from federal Form 1040, line 14 ...........................................  15

16  IRA distributions from federal Form 1040, line 15b .................................................  16

17  Pensions and annuities from federal Form 1040, line 16b......................................  17

18  Rents, royalties, partnerships, etc., from federal Form 1040, line 17......................  18

19  Farm income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 18 ............................................  19

20  Unemployment and other income from federal Form 1040, lines 19 through 21 ....  20

21  Total income. Add lines 8 through 20 ...................................................................... 21a                                  • 21b

22  IRA or SEP and SIMPLE contributions, federal Form 1040, lines 25 and 32..........  22

23  Education deductions from federal Form 1040, lines 23, 26, and 27......................  23

24  Moving expenses from federal Form 1040, line 29 .................................................  24

25  Deduction for self-employment tax from federal Form 1040, line 30 ......................  25

26  Self-employed health insurance deduction from federal Form 1040, line 31 ..........  26

27  Alimony paid from federal Form 1040, line 34a.......................................................  27

28  Other adjustments to income. Identify __________________________________  28

29  Total adjustments to income. Add lines 22 through 28............................................  29

30  Income after adjustments. Line 21 minus line 29..................................................• 30a                                  •30b

31  Interest on state and local government bonds outside of Oregon.........................•  31

32  Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor child ..................................•  32

33  Other additions. Identify ___________________________________________ •  33

34  Total additions. Add lines 31 through 33 ................................................................. 34a                                  •34b

35  Income after additions. Add lines 30 and 34........................................................... 35a                                  •35b

Staple 
W-2s, 
payment, 
and 
payment 
voucher 
here

ADDITIONS

Federal column Oregon column

INCOME

AD JUST MENTS
TO INCOME

Attach a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or TeleFile Tax Record. Do not attach other federal sched ules.

W

150-101-055 (Rev. 12-04)  Web

• 1
2

3

Single

Married fi ling jointly

Married fi ling 
separately

4 Head of household

5 Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child

Filing
Status
Check 
only 
one 
box

Spouse’s name

Spouse’s SSN

Person who qualifi es you

Exemptions
6a Yourself......Regular ........ Severely disabled ......... 6a   

6b Spouse ......Regular ........ Severely disabled  ........... b   

6c All de pen dents First names ________________________________• c

6d Child(ren)  First names ________________________________• d
     with a disability

Total

Total 6e•

•

4
Oregon Department of Rev e nue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

Mail REFUND returns and 
NO-TAX-DUE returns to

Mail TAX-TO-PAY
returns to 

REFUND
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-09304

For offi ce use only

FOR PART-YEAR RESIDENTS

Last name First name and initial Social Security No. (SSN)

–            –
Spouse’s last name if joint return Spouse’s fi rst name and initial if joint return Spouse’s SSN, if joint return

–            –
Telephone numberCurrent mailing address

City State ZIP code If you fi led a return last year, and your 
name or address is different, check here    

(               )

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

1 2 3

Country

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Fiscal year endingOregon resident:
From To

mm            dd             yyyy mm            dd             yyyy

Check 
all that 
apply➛

7a    • •
     You were:   65 or older   Blind
 Spouse was:   65 or older   Blind

7e •   If there is a kicker refund, 
you want to donate your 
kicker to the State School Fund

7c   You attached 
Schedule 
WFC-N/P  

7b   You 
fi led an 
extension

7d   You fi led 
an Oregon 
Form 24

2004
Form

40P
OREGON

Individual Income Tax Return

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00



CHARITABLE
CHECKOFFS

I want to 
donate part 
of my tax 
refund to 
the following 
fund(s)

  I authorize the Department of Rev-
enue to contact this preparer about 
the processing of this return. 

Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including ac com pa ny ing sched ules 
and statements. To the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person 
other than the taxpayer, this dec la ra tion is based on all in for ma tion of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date License No.

Address Telephone No.X
X

Spouse’s signature (if fi ling jointly, BOTH must sign) Date

X

36  Amount from front of form, line 35...........................................................................  36

37  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefi ts included on line 20....• 37

38  Other subtractions. Identify _________________________________________  •38a                                   •38b

39  Income after subtractions. Line 36 minus lines 37 and 38 ...................................... 39a                                   •39b

40  Oregon percentage. Line 39b ÷ line 39a (not more than 100%) ........ 40

41  Amount from line 39a (federal amount)...................................................................                                            41

42  Item ized deductions from federal Schedule A, line 28 ...........................................• 42

43  State income tax claimed as itemized deduction. See instructions, page 24..........• 43

44  Net Oregon itemized deductions. Line 42 minus line 43......................................... 44

45  Standard deduction from page 24..........................................................................• 45

46  2004 federal tax liability ($0–$4,000; see instructions for the correct amount) ......• 46

47  Other deductions and modifi cations. Identify ____________________________ • 47

48  Add lines 45, 46, and 47 or lines 44, 46, and 47. Fill in the larger amount ........................................................ 48

49  Taxable income. Line 41 minus line 48 ........................................................................................................... • 49

50  Tax from tax rate charts (see instructions, page 26) ................ 50

51  Oregon income tax. Line 50 ✕ Oregon percentage from line 40..........................• 51

52  Or, check if from:   Form FIA or   Worksheet FCG and enter tax here .............• 52

53  Interest on certain installment sales.......................................• 53

54  Total tax. Add lines 51 and 53  OR  add lines 52 and 53 .....................................................OREGON TAX➛ 54

55  Exemption credit. Line 6e ✕ $151 ✕ Oregon percentage from line 40 ..............• 55

56  Earned income credit. See instructions, page 27...................................................• 56

57  Child and dependent care credit. See instructions, page 27..................................• 57

58  Credit for income taxes paid to another state. State:___________. Attach proof• 58

59  Other credits. Identify______________________________________________ • 59

60  Total credits. Add lines 55 through 59 ................................................................................................................ 60

61  Net income tax. Line 54 minus line 60. If line 60 is more than line 54, fi ll in -0-.............................................. • 61

62  Oregon income tax withheld from income. Attach Forms W-2 and 1099 ............• 62

63  Estimated tax payments for 2004 and payments made with your extension ........• 63

64  Working family child care credit from WFC-N/P, line 20...CREDIT AMOUNT➛ • 64

      Number from WFC-N/P, line 5 • 64a           Amount from WFC-N/P, line 17 • 64b

65  Total payments. Add lines 62, 63, and 64 ........................................................................................................... 65

66  Overpayment. Is line 61 less than line 65? If so, line 65 minus line 61 ....................... OVERPAYMENT   ➛ • 66

67  Tax to pay. Is line 61 more than line 65? If so, line 61 minus line 65 .................................. TAX TO PAY➛ • 67

68  Penalty and interest for fi ling or paying late. See instructions, page  29...................68

69  Interest on estimated tax underpayment. Attach Form 10 and check box ➛  .....• 69

70  Total penalty and interest due. Add lines 68 and 69........................................................................................... 70

71  Amount you owe. Line 67 plus line 70 ...................................................................... AMOUNT YOU OWE➛  71

72  Refund. Is line 66 more than line 70? If so, line 66 minus line 70 .................................................REFUND➛ 72

73  Estimated tax. Fill in the part of line 72 you want applied to 2005 estimated tax....• 73

74  Oregon Nongame Wildlife ...............   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 74

75  Child Abuse Prevention...................   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 75

76  Alzheimer’s Disease Research .......   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 76

77  Stop Domestic & Sexual Violence...   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 77

78  AIDS/HIV Education and Services ..   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 78

79  Other charity. Enter code •____ ....   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 79

80  Total. Add lines 73 through 79. Total can’t be more than your refund on line 72 ............................................... 80

81  NET REFUND. Line 72 minus line 80. This is your net refund...............................................NET REFUND➛ 81

82  For direct deposit of your refund, see the instructions on page 32.                      • Type of Account:     Checking   or     Savings 

EITHER,
NOT BOTH

ADD TOGETHER

SUB TRAC TIONS

DEDUCTIONS
AND 
MODIFICATIONS

Page 2 — 2004  Form 40P Federal column Oregon column

__ __ __.__%

OREGON
TAX

➛

CREDITS

EITHER,
NOT BOTH

ADD TOGETHER

DIRECT 
DE POS IT

• Routing No. • Account No.
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from the Full-Year Resident tax booklet if you don’t 
meet the listed requirements.

Military Family Tax Relief Act. Oregon has not adopt-
ed all of the provisions of this act. Contact us for more 
information. See page 40.

Need more information? Visit our Web site to down-
load the information circular, Military Personnel Filing 
Information. Or, to order it, see page 40.

Filing for a deceased person

You must file a final return for a person who died dur-
ing the calendar year if a return normally would be 
required. See “Should I file an Oregon return?” on page 
3 to determine if a return must be filed.

If you are filing a return and claiming a refund for 
someone who is now deceased, file Form 243, Claim to 
Refund Due a Deceased Person, with the return. This will 
allow us to issue the refund check in your name. Visit 
our Web site to download the form. Or, contact us to 
order it. See page 40. If you are a court-appointed or cer-
tified personal representative, Form 243 is not needed.

What form do I use?

Use Form 40N if any ONE of the following is true:

• You are a nonresident, or

• You are a special-case Oregon resident (see “Special-
case Oregon residents” on page 4), or

• You and your spouse are filing jointly and one (or 
both) of you is a nonresident, or

• You meet the military personnel nonresident re-
quirements explained on page 4, or

• You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 
for the entire year.

Use Form 40P if any ONE of the following is true:

• You are a part-year resident, or

• You are filing jointly and one spouse is a full-year 
Oregon resident and one is a part-year resident, or

• You are filing jointly and both spouses are part-year 
Oregon residents, or

• You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 
for part of the year.

Use Form 40 or 40S if any ONE of the following is true:

• You are a full-year resident, or

• You and your spouse are both full-year residents fil-
ing jointly.

Forms 40 and 40S are available on our Web site and at 
many post offices, banks, and libraries in Oregon and 
southwest Washington. To order Forms 40S and 40 and 
instructions, see page 40.

When should I file my return?

The filing deadline for calendar year 2004 is April 15, 
2005. If you cannot pay all of your tax by the due date, 
file your return anyway to avoid a late-filing penalty. 
Payment plans are available. Contact the department to 
make payment arrangements. See page 40.

Returns for other tax periods are due by the 15th day 
of the fourth month after the close of your tax year.

What if I need more time to file?

Generally, Oregon allows you the same extension you 
have for your federal return. However, in some cases, 
you will need to file the Oregon extension form, Form 
40-EXT. Visit our Web site to download the form. Or, 
to order it, see page 40. The following will help you 
decide when you need to file Oregon Form 40-EXT:

• If you filed a federal extension, Form 4868, and you 
expect to get a refund for Oregon:

 — You do not need to file Form 40-EXT.
 — Check box 7b on Form 40N or Form 40P when you 

file your return.
 — Keep a copy of your federal extension in your re-

cords. You are not required to send us a copy.

• If you did not file a federal extension but need more 
time to file for Oregon only and you expect an Ore-
gon refund:

 — File Oregon Form 40-EXT. Enter -0- in the pay-
ment amount box on Form 40-V, Oregon Income 
Tax Payment Voucher. Mail the entire Form 40-EXT 
to: Extension Clerk, Oregon Department of Rev-
enue, PO Box 14950, Salem OR 97309-0980. 

 — Check box 7b on Form 40N or Form 40P when you 
file your return.

 — Keep a copy of Form 40-EXT in your records.

• If you need more time to file for Oregon and you 
need to make a tax payment to Oregon:

 — Complete the tax payment worksheet on Form 40-
EXT. Fill out and detach Form 40-V, Oregon Income 
Tax Payment Voucher. Send the payment voucher 
and your check or money order by April 15, 2005, 
to: Extension Clerk, Oregon Department of Rev-
enue, PO Box 14950, Salem OR 97309-0980. If pay-
ing by credit card, write “credit card payment” on 
your voucher and mail the voucher to the address 
above.

 — Check box 7b on Form 40N or Form 40P when you 
file your return.

 — Keep a copy of Form 40-EXT in your records.

An extension does not mean more time to pay!

You must pay any tax you expect to owe when you file 
your extension. If you do not pay all the tax due with 
your extension, you will owe interest on the unpaid 
balance after April 15, 2005, until the date of your pay-

General informationVisit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR
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ment. The 2005 interest rate is 5 percent per year. If the 
tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the interest 
rate increases to 9 percent per year. You also may owe 
a late-payment penalty.

Were you stationed in a designated combat zone?

Did you receive additional time to file your 2004 fed-
eral return and pay your 2004 tax? If so, Oregon allows 
the same additional time to file and pay. Write “combat 
zone” in blue or black ink at the top of your return 
when you file it. Contact the department if you were 
stationed in a contingency area. Or, visit our Web site 
for more information.

Penalties

You will owe a 5 percent late-payment penalty on any 
2004 tax not paid by April 15, 2005.

If you file more than three months after the due date 
or extension due date, a 20 percent late-filing penalty 
will be added; that is, you will owe a total penalty of 25 
percent of any tax not paid.

There is an exception to paying penalty. For line 68 
instructions, see page 29.

A 100 percent penalty is charged if you do not file a 
return for three consecutive years by the due date of 
the third year including extensions. The penalty is 100 
percent of the unpaid tax for each of the three years.

Interest on underpayment of 
estimated tax

You may owe interest on underpayment of estimated 
tax if:
• You owe $1,000 or more on your return after credits 

and withholding; and
• You paid less than 90 percent of the tax due on each 

estimated tax payment date for 2004. 

For line 69 instructions, see page 30.

2005 estimated tax

Estimated tax is the amount of tax you expect to owe 
after credits and Oregon tax withheld when you file 
your 2005 Oregon individual income tax return.

Oregon estimated tax laws are not the same as federal es-
timated tax laws. Use Oregon instructions to determine 
if you need to make estimated tax payments for 2005.

Who must make estimated tax payments?

In most cases, people who expect to owe $1,000 or 
more on their 2005 Oregon income tax return after 
credits and withholding must make estimated pay-
ments. You may need to make estimated payments if:

• You are self-employed and don’t have Oregon tax 
withheld from your income.

• You received Oregon Lottery single ticket winnings 
under $5,000. (Note: Single ticket winnings of $5,000 
or more are subject to Oregon withholding.)

• You receive income such as pensions, interest, or 
dividends, and Oregon tax is not withheld.

• You are a wage earner and expect to owe tax of 
$1,000 or more on your 2005 return. You may want 
to increase the amount your employer withholds 
from your Oregon wages. If you and your spouse 
both work, visit our Web site to download the infor-
mation circular, Oregon Income Tax Withholding: Some 
Special Cases. Or, contact us to order it. See page 40.

When do I pay?

The due dates are April 15, 2005*; June 15, 2005; Sep-
tember 15, 2005; and January 17, 2006.

Send your payment with Form 40-V, Oregon Income Tax 
Payment Voucher. If paying by credit card, do not use 
Form 40-V. Visit our Web site to download the form 
and the information circular, Estimated Income Tax. Or, 
to order them, see page 40.

* Please send your 2005 estimated tax payment and Oregon 
Form 40-V in a different envelope from your 2004 Oregon 
income tax return. This will help us credit your payment 
more efficiently.

What if I am self-employed?

If you are self-employed and do business in Multnomah, 
Clackamas, or Washington counties, you may also need 
to file Form TM, TriMet Self-Employment Tax Return. If 
you are self-employed and do business in Lane County, 
you may need to file Form LTD, Lane Transit District Self-
Employment Tax Return. Visit our Web site to download 
the forms. Or, to order, see page 40.

Frequently asked questions

Is my tax return private information?

Yes. All information provided on the return is con-
fidential. Any Oregon Department of Revenue em-
ployee who gives out unauthorized information about 
your return may be convicted of a class C felony.

I’m getting an income tax refund this year. How long 
will it take to process my refund?

After the processing of part-year and nonresident re-
turns begins on March 1, allow:

• E-file return (before August 1) ............. up to 2 weeks
• E-file return (on or after August 1) ...... up to 5 weeks
• Mail return (before April 1) .................. up to 8 weeks
• Mail return (on or after April 1) ......... up to 12 weeks

Your refund may be delayed if your return needs fur-
ther review.

General information
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Instructions for Forms 40N and 40P

I’m moving. Will my refund check be forwarded to me?

Yes. If you move after you mail your return, let us 
know your new address. You can download a change 
of address form from our Web site. Or, you can 
contact the department to order the form. See page 
40. Remember to file a change of address form at your 
local post office.

What tax records do I need to keep?

You need to keep:

• A complete copy of both your federal and state re-
turns, even if you use a tax practitioner or file elec-
tronically.

• The original of all receipts, canceled checks, state-
ments, and other records you used to prepare your 
return. Save these records for at least three years 
from the due date of the return or three years from 
the date you file your return, whichever is later. If 
your return is audited, the law says you must show 
proof of your income and expenses.

• All records from the sale, purchase, or exchange of 
property and investments. Keep these records for at 
least three years after you report the gain or loss on 
the property or investment.

Visit our Web site to download the information circular, 
Record-Keeping Requirements. Or, to order it, see page 40.

What if I need to change my Oregon return after filing?

File an amended return anytime you need to correct 
your Oregon return. Use Form 40P to correct a part-
year resident return or Form 40N to correct a nonresi-

dent return. Write “Amended” in blue or black ink at 
the top of the form. Generally, you are allowed three 
years from the due date of the return or the date the 
return was filed, whichever is later, to file an amended 
return to claim a refund. If you amend your federal or 
another state’s return, usually you will need to amend 
your Oregon return. Please contact us for more infor-
mation. See page 40.

What if I’m audited by the IRS or another state?

If changes are made that increase your Oregon income 
tax, file an amended return to report and pay additional 
tax. If the changes reduce Oregon tax, you have two 
years from the date of the audit report to claim a refund.

Direct deposit

The Department of Revenue can deposit your refund 
directly into your account at most banks or other fi-
nancial institutions. If you choose direct deposit, con-
tact your bank to make sure that your deposit will be 
accepted and to get your correct routing and account 
numbers. The Department of Revenue is not responsi-
ble if your bank rejects your deposit. We will issue you 
a paper check if your bank rejects your direct deposit. 
For more information, see page 32.

Blue or black ink

Please use blue or black ink for easier reading and faster 
processing. Equipment used to scan documents cannot 
read certain colors of ink, especially red. Thank you.

Step 1: Select the appropriate form
To decide whether to use Form 40N or 40P, see page 13.

Step 2: Fill out your federal form
Your Oregon tax is determined using the ratio of your 
Oregon-related income to your entire federal income. 
Fill out your federal return first, then your Oregon 
return. You must attach a copy (front and back) of your 
federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040NR, or TeleFile 
Tax Record to your Oregon tax return. Don’t attach fed-
eral Schedule A, B, C, or D, or Form 2441, etc.

Step 3: Start the Oregon form

Residency

Enter the dates you were an Oregon resident during 
2004. For example, “01/01/2004 to 06/30/2004,” or 
“07/01/2004 to 12/31/2004.”

Fiscal year filers

Write the ending date of your fiscal year in the space 
provided. Write “Fiscal year” at the top of the return. 
Please use blue or black ink.

Name and address

Please type or clearly print your name, address, tele-
phone number, and correct Social Security number on 
your return.

Social Security number (SSN). The request for your SSN 
is authorized by Section 405, Title 42, of the United States 
Code. You must provide this information. It will be used 
to establish your identity for tax purposes only.

Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN). If the 
IRS has issued you an ITIN because you do not have a 
Social Security number, enter your ITIN on your Ore-
gon tax return wherever your SSN is requested. If you 

Name and address
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do not have an ITIN, you need to request one from the 
IRS. Do not attach your ITIN application (federal Form 
W-7) to your Oregon tax return. Please write “ITIN ap-
plied for” on the top of your Oregon return and file the 
return by April 15, 2005. For a copy of Form W-7, visit 
the IRS Web site at www.irs.gov. Or, call the IRS at 1-
800-829-1040.

Date of birth. Enter the month, day, and year you were 
born. For example, “10/27/1963.”

Check the boxes

Filing status

1 5–  Check the box next to your filing status. 
If filing as head of household, enter the 

name of the person who qualifies you for head of 
household filing status next to box 4.

You must check the same filing status you checked 
on your federal return. Exception: If you and your 
spouse do not have the same residency status, you 
may file separate returns for Oregon even if you filed 
your federal return as married filing jointly. To deter-
mine which form to use based on the filing status you 
choose for Oregon, see page 4.

How to file separate returns for Oregon

If you are married filing separately (MFS), enter your 
spouse’s first name, last name (first four letters only), 
and Social Security number next to box 3. Do not fill in 
your spouse’s name or Social Security number in the 
heading of the return.

If you file separate returns for Oregon only, report 
your own share of federal adjusted gross income (AGI) 
and deductions. Also, report your share of any Oregon 
additions or subtractions. To figure your share of the 
federal tax subtraction or itemized deductions, deter-
mine your federal AGI and use the following formula:

Your share of federal AGI
=

Your percentage 
(not to exceed 100%)Joint federal AGI

Write “MFS for Oregon only” at the top of the form in 
blue or black ink. Attach the following to both Oregon 
returns:

• A federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040NR, or 1040EZ pre-
pared as if you had filed married filing separately; 
and

• A copy of the joint Form 1040, 1040A, 1040NR, or 
1040EZ you actually filed.

If possible, mail both spouses’ Oregon returns in the 
same envelope. Do not staple the returns together.

Visit our Web site to download the information circu-
lar, Married Persons Filing Separate Returns. Or, to order 
it, see page 40.

Exemptions

6a 6b&  Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself” 
and other boxes that apply. If someone 

else can claim you as a dependent, you can’t claim an 
exemption for yourself; enter -0- in the total box on 6a 
unless you have a severe disability.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability 
at the end of 2004? If so, you may claim an additional 
exemption credit. You may qualify for the severely dis-
abled exemption even if someone else can claim you 
as a dependent. You are considered to have a severe 
disability if any of the following apply:

• You permanently lost the use of one or both feet, or
• You permanently lost the use of both hands, or
• You are permanently blind, or
• You have a permanent condition that, without special 

equipment or outside help, limits your ability to:
 — Earn a living, or
 — Maintain a household, or
 — Transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include items such as glass-
es, contact lenses, ordinary crutches, or hearing aids.

You don’t qualify for this exemption if: 

• You have a temporary disability from an injury or 
illness and are expected to recover, or

• Your condition keeps you from doing your former 
work but does not prevent you from doing other 
kinds of work without special equipment.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your phy-
sician must write a letter describing your disability. 
Keep the letter with your permanent health records.

If you qualify, check the “Severely disabled” exemption 
box. If your spouse qualifies, he or she may also claim 
this exemption. You and your spouse may also qualify 
for the loss of use of limbs credit. Call the department 
for more information. See page 40.

6c  All dependents. Enter the number of your de-
pendents in box 6c. Fill in their first names on 

the line. In most cases, you must claim the same de-
pendents claimed on your federal return.

6d  Child(ren) with a disability. You may be entitled 
to an additional personal exemption for your 

dependent child who has a qualifying disability. To 
qualify, all of the following must be true. Your child:

• Qualified as your dependent for 2004; and

• Was age 17 or younger on December 31, 2004; and

• Was eligible for “early intervention services” or re-
ceived special education as defined by the Oregon 
Department of Education (learning disabilities or 
communication disorders alone don’t qualify); and

Exemptions
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• Was considered to have a disability as of December 
31, 2004, under the federal Individuals with Disabili-
ties Education Act and related Oregon laws. Eligible 
disabilities include:

 — Autism.
 — Deaf-blind.
 — Hearing impairment.
 — Mental retardation.
 — Multiple disabilities.
 — Orthopedic impairment.
 — Other health impairment.
 — Serious emotional disturbance.
 — Traumatic brain injury.
 — Visual impairment.

Get a statement of eligibility that confirms one of the 
disabilities listed above and the cover sheet from one 
of the following:

• The child’s Oregon Individualized Education Pro-
gram (IEP), or

• The child’s Oregon Individualized Family Service 
Plan (IFSP).

Keep the statement and cover sheet with your perma-
nent health records. Write your child’s name on line 
6d, “Child(ren) with a disability.” Also be sure to in-
clude the child’s name on line 6c for “All dependents.”

7a  Age 65 or older, or blind. Check the boxes on 
line 7a if you or your spouse were age 65 or old-

er or were blind on December 31, 2004. You are entitled 
to a larger standard deduction on Form 40N, line 44; or 
Form 40P, line 45.

If you or your spouse are blind, you may also qualify 
for the severely disabled exemption credit. For box 6a 
and 6b instructions, see page 16.

7b  Extension. If you filed an extension of time to file, 
check box 7b. For more information, see page 13.

7c  Schedule WFC-N/P. If you are claiming the Ore-
gon working family child care credit, you must 

attach Schedule WFC-N/P to your return. Check box 
7c on Form 40N or Form 40P. For more information, 
see page 34.

7d  Oregon Form 24. Did you file federal Form 8824 
because you are deferring gain on exchanged 

property? If so, check the box on line 7d. Also, com-
plete and attach Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/
Involuntary Conversions. Download it from our Web site 
or to order the form, see page 40.

7e  State School Fund. If there is a kicker refund, 
do you wish to donate your kicker refund to the 

State School Fund? If so, check box 7e. The fund is used 
for public elementary and secondary education. The 
kicker amount, if any, will be determined in the fall of 

2005. If you check the box, any kicker refund that you 
would have received in 2005 based on your 2004 Oregon 
income tax will be sent directly to the State School Fund. 
If you check the box, you cannot change your decision 
for the 2004 tax year.

Step 4: Line instructions
The following instructions are for Form 40N or 40P, 
lines 8–82, if not fully explained on the form.

Do not fill in cents. You must round off cents to the 
nearest whole dollar. For example, $12.49 becomes $12 
and $233.50 becomes $234.

The forms have two columns for figures. These col-
umns are used to compare the portion of your federal 
adjusted gross income that Oregon taxes to your total 
federal adjusted gross income.

Federal column—Income section

The first column is labeled “Federal column.” In this 
column, lines 8–28, fill in the same amounts you re-
ported on your federal return.

Line 30a, “Income after adjustments,” must match 
your 2004 federal adjusted gross income from federal 
Form 1040, line 36; Form 1040A, line 21; Form 1040EZ, 
line 4; Form 1040NR, line 34; or TeleFile Tax Record, line 
I. If it does not match, please check that you transferred 
your federal figures correctly. If you need help, please 
contact us. See page 40.

Oregon column—Income section

The second column is labeled “Oregon column.” Use 
the Oregon column to list the amounts from the fed-
eral column that Oregon taxes.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes only your income from 
Oregon sources. To compute your Oregon source 
income, see “What does income from Oregon sources 
include?” on page 3.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from 
all sources earned or received while you were an 
Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes your income from 
Oregon sources while you were a nonresident. To 
compute your Oregon source income, see “What does 
income from Oregon sources include?” on page 3.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from 
all sources. All amounts included in the federal col-
umn should also be included in the Oregon column.

8  Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Part-
year residents—fill in amounts you earned 

while an Oregon resident and any amounts you earned 
working in Oregon while you were a nonresident. 

Full-year residents—fill in all income included in the 
federal column.

Income
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Nonresidents—fill in the amount earned while work-
ing in Oregon. If that amount differs from the Oregon 
wages on your W-2 form, you must attach an explana-
tion from your employer to the back of your return. If 
your Oregon wages are not stated separately on your 
W-2, compute your Oregon source income using the 
following formula:

Days actually worked in Oregon
×

Total 
wages

=
Oregon 
wagesDays actually worked everywhere

Do not include holidays, vacation days, and sick days 
as days actually worked. However, you must include 
sick pay, holiday pay, and vacation pay in total wages. 
See the example on page 3. If Oregon is the only state 
you worked in, do not use this formula; all of your 
earnings are taxable and should be reported in the 
Oregon column.

Exceptions:

• If you are a nonresident with interstate transporta-
tion wages, you may qualify for special treatment 
under the Amtrak Act. Visit our Web site to down-
load the information circular, Amtrak Act (Interstate 
Transportation Wages). Or, to order it, see page 40.

• Nonresidents who work on Bonneville, The Dalles, 
John Day, or McNary dams should exclude this in-
come from the Oregon column. Write the name of 
the dam you work on at the top left corner of the 
return. Please use blue or black ink.

• Nonresidents who work as crew or pilots on a ves-
sel on the Columbia River or Snake River waterway 
should exclude this income from the Oregon col-
umn. Write “Waterway” at the top left corner of the 
return. Please use blue or black ink.

• Nonresident members of the U.S. Armed Forces sta-
tioned in Oregon should exclude their military pay 
from the Oregon column. Military pay of a nonresi-
dent is not Oregon source income. Do not report it in 
the Oregon column on line 8. Write “Military non-
resident” at the top left corner of the return. Please 
use blue or black ink.

9  Taxable interest income. Determine the amount 
of interest income you received while you were 

a nonresident on funds used for business activity in 
Oregon. Add to that any interest included on your 
federal return that you received during the part of the 
year you were an Oregon resident.

10  Dividend income. Determine the amount of 
dividends received from an Oregon business 

activity source while you were a nonresident. This 
includes dividends passed through to you from an S 
corporation or partnership doing business in Oregon. 
These are dividends your S corporation or partnership 
received on the stock of another corporation. Add to 
that any dividend income included on your federal re-

turn that you received during the part of the year you 
were an Oregon resident.

11  State and local income tax refunds. Fill in the 
amount reported on your federal return that is:

• A refund from Oregon or any other state or locality 
for which you claimed a deduction on an Oregon 
return in a prior year, or

• A refund received during the part of the year you 
were an Oregon resident.

12  Alimony received. Fill in alimony you received for 
the part of the year you were an Oregon resident.

13  Business income or loss. For the part of the year 
you were a nonresident, determine the amount 

of income or loss from an Oregon business activity. 
Add to that all business income or losses incurred for 
the part of the year you were a resident of Oregon. 

14  Capital gain or loss. For the part of the year you 
were a nonresident, determine the amount of 

gain or loss from Oregon sources and capital gain dis-
tributions from Oregon sources. Add to that the amount 
of your capital gains and losses received during the part 
of the year you were an Oregon resident. Limit losses to 
$3,000 ($1,500 if married filing separately).

15  Other gains or losses. For the part of the year 
you were a nonresident, determine the amount 

of gain or loss from Oregon sources. Add to that the 
gain received or loss incurred for the part of the year 
you were an Oregon resident.

16  IRA distributions. Determine the amount of any 
taxable individual retirement arrangement (IRA) 

distributions received for the part of the year you were 
an Oregon resident. Include any amounts you convert-
ed from a regular IRA into a Roth IRA while you lived 
in Oregon. If you lived in another state when you made 
contributions to your IRA, you may need more informa-
tion. For taxpayer assistance, see page 40.

17  Pensions and annuities. Report in the Oregon col-
umn the amount of taxable pensions and annui-

ties (including federal pensions) you received while you 
were an Oregon resident. If you are domiciled in Ore-
gon, you must also include any Oregon source pensions 
you received. This is true even though you may qualify 
as a nonresident under the special-case Oregon resident 
or Oregon resident living abroad tests. See page 4.

For example, if you lived in Oregon before you retired 
and have not changed your permanent home to an-
other state, you must report the pension you earned 
while you worked in Oregon. If you receive a federal 
pension, you may qualify for a subtraction on line 38. 
For instructions, see page 21. If you need help, please 
contact us. See page 40.

Income
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18  Rents, royalties, partnerships, limited liabil-
ity companies, real estate investment trusts 

(REITs), estates, trusts, etc., from federal Schedule E. 
Determine the amount of income you received from 
Oregon sources during the part of the year you were 
not a resident. Add to that the amount received during 
the part of the year you were an Oregon resident. Part-
ners and S corporation shareholders may need more 
information. For taxpayer assistance, see page 40.

19  Farm income or loss. Determine the amount of 
income or loss received from an Oregon farm 

while you were a nonresident. Add to that the amount 
of farm income or loss received during the part of the 
year you were an Oregon resident.

20  Unemployment compensation, taxable Social 
Security, and all other taxable income. Deter-

mine the amount of any unemployment compensation 
and any other taxable income you received during the 
part of the year you were an Oregon resident. Add to 
that figure any unemployment compensation or sever-
ance pay received because of an Oregon job and any 
other Oregon income you received while you were a 
nonresident. Don’t fill in any Social Security, Railroad 
Retirement Board benefits, or Railroad Retirement 
Board unemployment benefits in the Oregon column; 
Oregon doesn’t tax this income.

Include in the Oregon column all payments received from 
the Oregon Lottery. Oregon Lottery includes Powerball 
tickets you purchased in Oregon. To determine whether 
you can subtract some or all of this amount on line 38, 
see “Oregon Lottery winnings” on page 22.

Adjustments to income

22  IRA or self-employed SEP and SIMPLE contri-
butions. Oregon follows the federal definition 

of earned income and compensation used to calculate 
your IRA and other retirement plan deductions. Deter-
mine the amount you paid during the part of the year 
you were an Oregon resident. Add to that the amount 
calculated for the time you were a nonresident.

• IRA. For the part of the year you were a nonresi-
dent, determine your deduction using the follow-
ing formula:

Oregon compensation
while a nonresident

×

IRA 
contributions 
made while a 
nonresident

=
Nonresident

deductionTotal compensation
while a nonresident

 This deduction cannot be more than the amount 
of Oregon compensation included in the Oregon 
column.

• Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans. 
For the part of the year you were a nonresident, 

determine your allowable deduction using the fol-
lowing formula:

Oregon earned income
while a nonresident

×
Contributions 
made while a 
nonresident

=
Nonresident

deductionTotal earned income
while a nonresident

This deduction cannot be more than the amount of 
earned income included in the Oregon column.

23  Education deductions. See the instructions 
below to help you figure the amounts you can 

claim on your Oregon return.

• Educator expenses deduction from federal Form 
1040, line 23; or Form 1040A, line 16. Visit our Web 
site or contact us for more information. See page 40.

• Student loan interest deduction from federal Form 
1040, line 26; or Form 1040A, line 18.

 For any part of the year you were a nonresident, cal-
culate your deduction using the following formula:

Oregon source income 
while a nonresident

×
Student loan 

interest paid while 
a nonresident

=
Nonresident 

deductionTotal income from all 
sources while a nonresident

 Add to that all interest paid during the part of the year 
you were an Oregon resident. Enter the smaller of the 
result or the amount deducted on your federal return.

• Tuition and fees deduction from federal Form 1040, 
line 27; or Form 1040A, line 19.

 For any part of the year you were a nonresident, cal-
culate your deduction using the following formula:

Oregon source income
while a nonresident

×

Qualified 
tuition and 

fees paid while 
a nonresident

=
Nonresident 

deductionTotal income
while a nonresident

 Add to that the amount of qualified education ex-
penses you paid during the part of the year you were 
an Oregon resident. Enter the smaller of the result or 
the amount deducted on your federal return, but no 
more than $4,000.

Add together your student loan interest deduction and 
tuition and fees deduction. Enter the total on line 23. 
If you were not allowed a federal tuition and fees de-
duction because you claimed the federal credit, do not 
claim a tuition and fees deduction on line 23. You may 
be entitled to a subtraction on line 38. See page 23.

24  Moving expenses. Fill in moving expenses only 
if:

• You qualified to take them on your federal return, and
• They are connected with gaining employment in 

Oregon, or 

Adjustments to income
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• You paid the qualified moving expenses after mov-
ing to Oregon to take a job in another state.

Otherwise, enter -0-.

Example 1: If you moved from California to Wash-
ington to take a job in Oregon, fill in your allowable 
moving expenses in the Oregon column. 

Example 2: If you left Oregon to take a job in another 
state, you cannot deduct your moving expenses.

Example 3: Camille moved from Michigan to Oregon 
on May 23, 2004, to begin work in Washington. She 
paid her moving expenses on June 30, 2004. While 
the expenses are not related to Oregon employment, 
Camille can deduct them because they were paid after 
she became a resident of Oregon.

25  Deduction for self-employment tax. Determine 
the amount of your self-employment tax on earn-

ings taxed by Oregon using the following formula:

Self-employment earnings
taxed by Oregon

×

Federal 
deduction for 

self-employment 
tax

=
Oregon 

deductionTotal self-employment 
earnings

The Oregon deduction cannot be more than the federal 
deduction.

26  Self-employed health insurance deduction. 
Oregon allows a deduction for 100 percent 

of your health insurance premiums related to your 
self-employment for the part of the year you were 
an Oregon resident. Add to that the health insurance 
premiums paid by your Oregon business while a non-
resident. Your total Oregon deduction cannot be more 
than your federal deduction.

27  Alimony paid. Determine if the alimony you paid 
is taxable (for federal purposes) to your former 

spouse. If so, for the part of the year you were not an Ore-
gon resident, figure the Oregon deduction as follows:

Oregon source income
while a nonresident

×
Alimony 

paid while a 
nonresident

=
Nonresident 

deductionTotal income
while a nonresident

Add to that amount the alimony you paid while you 
were a resident.

28  Other adjustments to income. In the federal 
column of line 28, include any of the other ad-

justments listed below that you claimed on your federal 
return. In the Oregon column of line 28, enter the amount 
of other adjustments you are entitled to claim on your 
Oregon return. Use the numeric code shown in brackets 
to identify the deduction(s). For example, if for Oregon 
purposes you are claiming a $500 health savings account 
deduction, enter “003–$500” in the space provided and 
enter “$500” in the Oregon column of line 28.

• Certain business expenses of reservists, performing 
artists, and fee-basis government officials from fed-
eral Form 1040, line 24 [code 002].

• Health savings account deduction from federal Form 
1040, line 28 [code 003].

• Penalty on early withdrawal of savings from federal 
Form 1040, line 33 [code 004].

• Any other adjustment to income reported on federal 
Form 1040, line 35 [code 005].

Did you deduct military travel expenses on line 24 of 
your federal Form 1040? If so, you will have an addi-
tion on your Oregon return because Oregon is not tied 
to this provision of the federal Military Family Tax 
Relief Act. See line 33 instructions on this page. Visit 
our Web site or contact the department for more infor-
mation. See page 40.

Additions

Generally, additions are items the federal government 
does not tax but Oregon does. Additions increase the 
income taxed by Oregon.

31  Interest and dividends on state and local gov-
ernment bonds outside of Oregon.

Federal column. If you didn’t include this income in 
your federal income, fill in the amount of interest and 
dividends you received from state and local govern-
ments outside of Oregon.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any 
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—if you 
didn’t include this income on line 9 or 10 of the Oregon 
column, fill in the amount of interest and dividends 
you received from state and local governments outside 
of Oregon while you were an Oregon resident.

32  Federal election on interest and dividends of 
a minor child. Did you report interest or divi-

dends of your minor child on your federal return? If 
so, you must add to Oregon income the amount that is 
subject to the special federal tax.

Federal column. Fill in the smaller of line 7 or 8 from 
federal Form 8814. Add to that any interest or divi-
dends your child received from state and local govern-
ments outside of Oregon.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any 
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—fill in 
interest and dividends received while the minor child 
was an Oregon resident. Include interest and dividends 
from state and local governments other than Oregon 
that your child received while an Oregon resident.

33  Other additions. You may need to report one or 
more other additions explained below. Please 

identify the addition(s) in the space on line 33 using 
the numeric code shown in brackets. For example, if 
you are reporting a $1,000 addition for a depreciation 

Additions
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difference for Oregon, enter “101–$1,000” in the space 
provided. If you have more than one addition, show 
the type and amount of each on the form. Fill in the 
total amount of “other additions” on line 33.

• Depreciation difference for Oregon [code 101]. Is 
your depreciation for Oregon purposes different 
from your depreciation for federal purposes? If so, 
you will need the Oregon Depreciation Schedule. 
Part-year residents and nonresidents may need two 
schedules. Download the schedule from our Web 
site. Or, to order it, see page 40.

• The following additions apply to only a few people 
and are not explained in this booklet. Make the ad-
ditions in both the federal and Oregon columns. For 
taxpayer assistance, see page 40.

 — Child Care Fund contributions [code 123].
 — Claim of right [code 103].
 — Depletion in excess of property basis [code 104].
 — Disposition of inherited Oregon farmland or for-

estland [code 106].
 — Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and 

simple or complex trusts [code 100].
 — Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property 

with an Oregon basis that is different from the 
federal basis [code 111].

 — Individual Development Account [code 113].
 — Long-term care insurance premiums [code 114].
 — Lump-sum distributions [code 115].
 — Military Family Tax Relief Act provisions [code 

102].
 — Non-Oregon source net operating loss [code 116].
 — Non-qualified withdrawal from an Oregon 529 

College Savings Network account [code 117].
 — Oregon Cultural Trust [code 124].
 — Passive activity losses [code 120].
 — Unused business credit [code 122].

Subtractions

Generally, subtractions are items the federal govern-
ment taxes but Oregon does not. Subtractions reduce 
the income taxed by Oregon.

37  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement 
Board benefits. Subtract Social Security and 

tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits only if you 
included them in the federal column on line 20.

38  Other subtractions. You may qualify for one 
or more other subtractions explained below. 

Please identify the subtraction(s) in the space on line 
38 using the numeric code shown in brackets. For 
example, if you are subtracting $2,000 in military pay, 
enter “319–$2,000” in the space provided. If you have 
more than one subtraction, show the type and amount 
of each on the form. Fill in the total amount of “other 
subtractions” on line 38.

• Claim of right [code 302]. Were you taxed in a prior 
year on income that you are repaying, such as un-
employment compensation? If so, you may be able to 
subtract the income you repaid. Contact the depart-
ment for more information. See page 40.

• Depreciation difference for Oregon [code 304]. Is 
your depreciation for Oregon purposes different 
from your depreciation for federal purposes? If so, 
you will need the Oregon Depreciation Schedule. 
Part-year residents and nonresidents may need two 
schedules. Download the schedule from our Web 
site. Or, to order it, see page 40.

• Federal pension income [code 307]. You may be 
able to subtract some or all of your pension included 
in 2004 federal income. This includes benefits paid 
to the retiree or to the beneficiary. The subtraction 
amount is based on the number of months of federal 
service before and after October 1, 1991:

— If all of your months of federal service were 
before October 1, 1991, subtract 100 percent of 
the taxable amount of federal pension income you 
reported on your federal return. 

— If you have no months of service before October 
1, 1991, you cannot subtract any federal pension.

— If your service was both before and after Octo-
ber 1, 1991, you will subtract a percentage of the 
taxable federal pension income you reported on 
your federal return. To determine your percent-
age, divide your months of service before Octo-
ber 1, 1991, by your total months of service. Once 
you have determined the percentage, it will not 
change from year to year.

Example: Delaney began working for the U.S. Forest 
Service May 27, 1971, and retired January 7, 2004. 
She worked 244 months before October 1, 1991, and 
a total of 391 months. Delaney moved to Oregon 
May 31, 2004. She can subtract 62.4 percent (244 ÷ 
391) of her taxable federal pension included in the 
Oregon column. She will continue to subtract 62.4 
percent of her taxable federal pension from Oregon 
income in future years.

Use the following worksheet to determine your 
subtraction amount:

Federal column

1. Federal pension included in 
federal column, Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 17.

1.

2. Divide months of service before 
October 1, 1991, by total months of 
service.

2.

3. Multiply line 1 by line 2. Enter 
here and on Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 38a.

3.

Worksheet continued on next page
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Oregon column

4. Federal pension included in 
Oregon column, Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 17.

4.

5. Percentage from line 2 above. 5.

6. Multiply line 4 by line 5. Enter here 
and on Form 40N or 40P, line 38b.

6.

 To avoid processing delays or adjustments, double-
check that you reported your pension income on the 
correct line and attach your federal return.

• Interest and dividends from the U.S. government 
[code 315].

 Federal column. On Form 40N or Form 40P, line 38a, 
fill in interest and dividends from the U.S. govern-
ment that you included on your federal return. In-
clude U.S. government interest you received through 
partnerships or grantor trusts.

 Examples: 
 — You may subtract interest from U.S. Series EE and 

HH bonds and Treasury bills and notes.
 — You may subtract interest and dividends paid to 

you by organizations that invest in U.S. govern-
ment securities. Check the information on your 
Form 1099. The payer may have given the percent-
age of interest and dividends from U.S. govern-
ment securities. For more information, visit our 
Web site to download the information circular, 
Interest and Dividends on U.S. Bonds and Notes. Or, 
contact us to order it. See page 40.

 — You must reduce U.S. government interest by any 
interest expense relating to U.S. government obli-
gations you deducted on your federal Schedule A.

 — Don’t include interest on federal tax refunds in 
either column. 

 — If you reported interest or dividends of your minor 
child on your federal return, you may subtract 
any U.S. government interest included.

 Oregon column. If you included interest and divi-
dends from the U.S. government on lines 9 and 10 
of the Oregon column, fill in this amount of U.S. 
government interest on line 38b.

 Note: When you sell or dispose of a U.S. government 
obligation, you must include any gain or loss in 
income.

• Local government bond interest [code 317].

 Federal column. The U.S. government taxes certain 
types of local government bond interest such as pri-
vate activity bond interest. If you included income 
from Oregon bonds on your federal return, subtract 
it on line 38a.

 Oregon column. On line 38b, fill in Oregon local gov-
ernment bond interest if you included it in Oregon 
income on line 9.

• Military pay [code 319]. Did you report U.S. military 
pay in income on line 8? If so, you may qualify for a 
subtraction.

 The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act was signed into 
federal law on December 19, 2003. According to the 
Act, military pay received by a nonresident, or re-
ceived by a part-year resident while a nonresident of 
Oregon, cannot be used to compute Oregon tax. This 
is retroactive and applies to any tax year for which 
the statute of limitation remains open. 

 Federal column. Subtract all of the military pay you 
received while you were a nonresident of Oregon 
from the wages you reported in the federal column 
on line 8. 

 Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any 
amount. Military pay of a nonresident is not Oregon 
source income and should not be reported in the Ore-
gon column on line 8. There is nothing to subtract.

 Full-year and part-year residents—subtract from the 
wages you reported in the Oregon column on line 8:

— All active duty pay earned outside of Oregon, and
— Up to $3,000 active duty pay earned in Oregon.

 Note: Your total military pay subtractions cannot be 
more than your total military pay.

• Oregon 529 College Savings Network [code 324]. 
You may subtract contributions you made to an Ore-
gon 529 College Savings Network account in 2004, 
but not more than $2,000 ($1,000 if married filing 
separately) per return. If you contribute more than 
$2,000, you may carry forward the amount of your 
contribution not subtracted this year over the next 
four years. Keep a copy of your account statement 
with your tax records. For more information, visit the 
network’s Web site at www.oregon529network.com. 
Or, call their tax information line at 503-378-2882.

 Federal column and Oregon column. Subtract the 
qualified contributions you made during the year to 
an Oregon 529 College Savings Network account.

• Oregon Lottery winnings [code 322]. Oregon does 
not tax Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or less 
per ticket, however, the federal government does. 
Oregon Lottery includes Powerball tickets you pur-
chased in Oregon. 

 Federal column and Oregon column. From the win-
nings you reported on line 20 you may subtract:

 — Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or less from 
each single ticket or play, and 

 — Oregon Lottery annual payments from tickets 
purchased prior to 1998.

 Example 1: Cheryl had winnings of $200 playing 
an Oregon Lottery scratch-off ticket in 2004. This 
income is included in her federal adjusted gross in-
come. Oregon does not tax Oregon Lottery winnings 
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of $600 or less per single ticket or play, so Cheryl can 
subtract the $200 she won on the scratch-off ticket 
from both columns of her return. 

 Example 2: David won two prizes in 2004. He won 
$1,000 playing Oregon Lottery video poker and $500 
playing an Oregon Lottery Keno game. David must 
include $1,500 in his federal income, however, Oregon 
will not tax the $500 he won playing Keno. He can 
subtract $500 on his Oregon return in both columns 
because the winnings were from a single game and 
below the $600 limit. He cannot subtract any of the 
$1,000 he won playing video poker, because the prize 
was more than $600 and is fully taxable to Oregon.

 Are you claiming gambling losses as an itemized 
deduction? If so, you also may need to reduce them. 
See instructions for Form 40N, line 46; or Form 40P, 
line 47, page 25. If you need help, please contact us. 
See page 40.

• Oregon income tax refund included in federal in-
come [code 325]. This subtraction is for Oregon state 
income tax refunds only. Do not include other states’ 
refunds or any local or county tax refunds.

 Federal column. Fill in your Oregon state income tax 
refund only if you included it on line 11 of the fed-
eral column.

 Oregon column. Fill in your Oregon state income tax 
refund only if you included it on line 11 of the Ore-
gon column.

• Railroad Retirement Board benefits [code 330].

 Federal column. Fill in your tier 2, supplemental, 
windfall, and vested dual Railroad Retirement 
Board benefits included on line 20 of the federal 
column. Fill in railroad unemployment benefits in-
cluded on line 20.

 Oregon column. Don’t fill in any amount. Oregon 
does not tax Railroad Retirement Board benefits or 
Railroad Retirement Board unemployment benefits.

• Tuition and fees deduction [code 313]. Did you 
claim a Hope or lifetime learning credit on your 
federal return? If so, you were not allowed a tuition 
and fees deduction because you claimed the federal 
credit. Because Oregon does not have credits similar 
to the Hope or lifetime learning credits, you can take 
the federal tuition and fees deduction on your Ore-
gon return as a subtraction. For 2004, the maximum 
amount you can claim is the smaller of $4,000 or 
your actual expenses.

 Federal column. Enter the amount of the federal tuition 
and fees deduction you would have claimed on your 
federal return had you not claimed the federal credit. 
The maximum deduction you can claim is $4,000.

 Oregon column. For the part of the year you were 
a nonresident, calculate your subtraction using the 
following formula:

Oregon source income
while a nonresident

×

Qualified 
tuition and 

fees paid while 
a nonresident

=
Nonresident 

deductionTotal income
while a nonresident

 Add to that the amount of qualified education ex-
penses you paid while you were an Oregon resident. 
Enter the smaller of the result or the amount you 
would have deducted on your federal return, but no 
more than $4,000.

• The following subtractions apply to only a few 
people and are not explained in this booklet. Please 
visit our Web site for information about these sub-
tractions. For taxpayer assistance information, see 
page 40. Make the subtraction in both the federal 
and Oregon columns if you included the related in-
come in both columns. 

 — American Indian [code 300].
 — Business expenses reduced because of federal tax 

credits (such as targeted jobs, work opportunities) 
[code 308]. 

 — Certain pension distributions when the contribu-
tions were taxed by another state [code 327].

 — Domestic partner benefits [code 305].
 — Federal gain previously taxed by Oregon 

[code 306].
 — Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and 

simple or complex trusts [code 310].
 — Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property 

with an Oregon basis that is different from the 
federal basis [code 312].

 — Individual Development Accounts [code 314]. 
 — Land donation to an educational institution 

[code 316]. 
 — Logger and construction worker commuting costs 

[code 303].
 — Net operating loss [code 321].
 — Passive activity losses [code 326].
 — Public Safety Memorial Fund awards [code 329]. 
 — Scholarship awards used for housing expenses 

[code 333].

40  Oregon percentage. Divide the amount on line 
39b by the amount on line 39a. Round the deci-

mal to three places. Write the percentage on line 40. 
Don’t fill in more than 100 percent or less than -0-.

      Oregon percentage 
Example Line 39b  Line 39a  Line 40
 1 $8,000 ÷ $30,000 = .266666 Round to .267 (26.7%)
 2 (1,000) ÷ 15,000 = -0- (0%)
 3 20,000 ÷ 15,000 = 1.333 Limited to 1.000 (100.0%)

If the amount on line 39b is greater than the amount 
on line 39a, your Oregon percentage is 100 percent. 
This is true even when line 39a is a negative number.
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Deductions and modifications

You may claim either net itemized deductions or 
Oregon’s standard deduction, whichever is larger, but 
not both.

Form
40N 41 Form

40P 42
Itemized deductions. 
You may claim your to-
tal itemized deductions 

after federal limitations shown on federal Schedule 
A, line 28. You may claim itemized deductions for 
Oregon even if you do not have enough deductions to 
itemize on your federal return. 

If you itemize for Oregon only, fill out a federal 
Schedule A for Oregon purposes. Use your federal 
adjusted gross income to figure the Schedule A limita-
tions. Keep the Schedule A with your tax records.

Note: If you are married filing separately, you must item-
ize deductions if your spouse itemizes. Are you filing 
separate returns for Oregon only? If so, determine your 
share of itemized deductions by multiplying your total 
joint deductions by the percentage you figured on page 
16. You may separate each spouse’s itemized deductions if 
you can clearly identify your own itemized deductions.

Form
40N 42 Form

40P 43
State income tax claimed 
as an itemized deduc-
tion. Fill in the amount 

of Oregon state income tax you claimed as an itemized 
deduction on federal Schedule A, line 5. Do not include 
local or county tax amounts.

Are you claiming a credit for income taxes paid to 
another state and deducting the other state’s taxes on 
Schedule A? If so, include the other state’s 2004 net 
tax liability or the other state’s 2004 tax claimed as 
an itemized deduction, whichever is less. For line 58 
instructions, see page 28.

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal 
return because your adjusted gross income (AGI) 
exceeded $142,700 ($71,350 if married filing sepa-
rately)? If so, you may need to complete a worksheet to 
figure how much Oregon income tax to subtract from 
itemized deductions. Visit our Web site to download 
the information circular, Itemized Deductions Limit. Or, 
to order it, see page 40.

Form
40N 44 Form

40P 45
Standard deduction. 
Generally, your standard 
deduction is based on 

your filing status, as follows:

Single........................................................... $1,720
Married filing jointly.................................. 3,445
Married filing separately
 If spouse claims standard deduction ...... 1,720
 If spouse claims itemized deductions...... -0-
Head of household..................................... 2,770
Qualifying widow(er)................................. 3,445

Standard deduction—Age 65 or older, or blind. If you or 
your spouse are age 65 or older, or blind, you are entitled 
to a larger standard deduction amount. Use the chart 
below to determine your larger standard deduction.

1. Are you:.................................  65 or older?   Blind?

 If claiming spouse’s exemption, 
is your spouse: ....................  65 or older?   Blind?

2. If your 
filing status 

is...

And the number 
of boxes checked 

above is...

Then your 
standard 

deduction is...
Single 1 $ 2,920

2 4,120
Married filing 

jointly
1 4,445
2 5,445
3 6,445
4 7,445

Married filing 
separately

1 2,720
2 3,720
3 4,720
4 5,720

Head of 
household

1 3,970
2 5,170

Qualifying 
widow(er)

1 4,445
2 5,445

Fill in the total standard deduction on Form 40N, line 
44; or Form 40P, line 45.

Standard deduction—Dependents. If someone else 
can claim you as a dependent, your standard deduc-
tion is limited to the larger of:

• Your earned income plus $250, up to the maximum 
allowed for your filing status as shown above; or

• $800.

The limit applies even if you can be, but are not, 
claimed as a dependent on another person’s return.

Use the following worksheet to figure your standard 
deduction:

1. Enter your earned income. 1.
2. Additional $250. 2. 250
3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.
4. Minimum standard deduction set 

amount.
4. 800

5. Enter the larger of line 3 or line 4. 5.
6. Basic standard deduction for single. 6. 1,720

7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 6. 7.
8. If you are under age 65, enter -0-. 

If you are age 65 or older, enter 
$1,200. 

8.

9. If you are not blind, enter -0-. If 
you are blind, enter $1,200.

9.

10. Add lines 7, 8, and 9. Enter the 
total here and on Form 40N, line 
44; or Form 40P, line 45. This is 
your standard deduction.

10.
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Standard deduction—Nonresident aliens. The stan-
dard deduction for nonresident aliens is -0-.

Form
40N 45 Form

40P 46
2004 federal tax liabil-
ity. Carefully follow the 
instructions below. Don’t 

confuse your federal tax liability on your federal re-
turn with the federal tax withheld on your Form(s) 
W-2. They are not the same.

You may deduct your total federal income tax liability 
after credits, up to $4,000. Don’t fill in less than -0- or 
more than $4,000 ($2,000 if married filing separately).

1. Enter your federal tax liability 
from Form 1040EZ, line 10; Form 
1040A, line 36; Form 1040, line 56; 
Form 1040NR, line 51; or TeleFile 
Tax Record, tax from line K, box 2.

1.

2. Enter your tax on qualified 
retirement plans, Form 1040, line 
59; or Form 1040NR, line 54, and 
any recapture taxes you included 
on Form 1040, line 62.

2.

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.

4. Enter $4,000 ($2,000 if married 
filing separately).

4.

5. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 
4 here and on Form 40N, line 45; 
or Form 40P, line 46.

5.

Caution: Don’t include any of the following on line 2 
above.

• Self-employment tax.
• Social Security and Medicare tax on tips.
• Advance earned income credit payments.
• Household employment taxes.

If you file married filing separately for Oregon only, 
multiply your joint federal tax liability (after credits) 
by the percentage calculated on page 16. Each spouse 
is limited to a maximum subtraction of $2,000.

Did you pay additional federal tax in 2004 because 
you were audited or you filed an amended return? If 
so, read the instructions for Form 40N, line 46; or Form 
40P, line 47.

Form
40N 46 Form

40P 47
Other deductions and 
modifications. Only a 
few people have other 

deductions and modifications. These items are mul-
tiplied by the Oregon percentage. Please identify the 
deduction or modification in the space on the form us-
ing the numeric code shown in brackets. For example, 
if you are reporting a $900 foreign tax deduction, enter 
“603–$900” in the space provided. If you have more 
than one, show the type and amount of each on the 
form. Modifications can be either additions or subtrac-
tions. Net the total amount of these items and enter 

that amount on this line. If the net amount is an addi-
tion, please clearly bracket it. For example, “[200].”

• Federal income tax refunds [code 601]. Did you get 
a federal tax refund in 2004 because you were au-
dited or because you amended a prior year return? 
If so, fill in and clearly bracket the amount on Form 
40N, line 46; or Form 40P, line 47, if you subtracted 
that amount on a prior Oregon return.

• Federal tax from a prior year [code 602]. Did you pay 
additional federal tax in 2004 because you were au-
dited or because you amended a prior year’s return? 
If so, you may be able to deduct the additional tax. 
This deduction applies only to additional tax you 
paid because your return was changed. It doesn’t 
include the tax from the original return or interest 
or penalties you paid.

 Use the following worksheet to figure your deduc-
tion for federal tax from a prior year.

1. Enter $4,000 ($2,000 if married 
filing separately).

1.

2. Enter your federal tax liability 
from Form 40N, line 45; or Form 
40P, line 46.

2.

3. Line 1 minus line 2. If the result 
is -0-, you cannot deduct your 
federal tax paid for a prior year. 
If greater than -0-, enter the 
result on line 3.

3.

4. Enter the amount of federal tax 
you paid for a prior year.

4.

5. Enter the smaller of line 3 or 
line 4 here and on Form 40N, 
line 46; or Form 40P, line 47.

5.

• Foreign tax [code 603]. Did you pay tax to a foreign 
country in 2004? You may deduct this tax if you:

 — Took a foreign tax credit on your federal return, or
 — Didn’t take a foreign tax credit and didn’t itemize 

deductions on your federal return.

This subtraction is limited to $3,000 ($1,500 if mar-
ried filing separately).

If you think you qualify, visit our Web site for more 
information. Or, contact the department. See page 40. 

• Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction 
[code 604]. Did you have winnings from the Oregon 
Lottery and claim gambling losses on your federal 
Schedule A? If so, fill in and clearly bracket on Form 
40N, line 46; or Form 40P, line 47, the gambling losses 
claimed as an itemized deduction that exceed gam-
bling winnings taxed by Oregon.

• Special Oregon medical deduction [code 606]. Were 
you or your spouse age 62 or older on December 31, 
2004? If so, your deduction is the smaller of line 1 or 
line 3 from your federal Schedule A. To claim this 

Deductions and modifications
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deduction, you must itemize your deductions for Ore-
gon. You can do this by filling out a Schedule A for 
both federal and Oregon or filling out one for Oregon 
only. Keep your Schedule A with your tax records.

• Part-year residents only: Artists who make a charitable 
art donation [code 600]. Visit our Web site to down-
load the information circular, Artist’s Charitable Contri-
bution Subtraction. Or, contact us to order it. See page 40. 
Nonresidents, see Form 40N, line 48 instructions.

Form
40N 47

Allowable deductions and modifica-
tions. Complete the worksheet below to 
determine the deductions and modifi-

cations you are entitled to claim.
1. Enter amount from either Form 

40N, line 43; or Form 40N, line 44, 
whichever is larger.

1.

2. Enter amount from Form 40N, line 45. 2.

3. Enter amount from Form 40N, line 46. 3.

4. Add together amounts from lines 1, 2, 
and 3 above. Enter result here.

4.

5. Enter your Oregon percentage from 
Form 40N, line 40, here.

5.

6. Multiply the amount from line 4 by 
the amount on line 5 above. Enter 
result here and on Form 40N, line 47.

6.

Form
40N 48

Deductions and modifications not 
multiplied by Oregon percentage.

• Artists who make a charitable art donation [code 
600]. Artists who make a charitable art donation 
may take a full deduction. Visit our Web site to 
download the information circular, Artist’s Chari-
table Contribution Subtraction. Or, contact us to order 
it. See page 40.

Oregon tax

Form
40N 51  

Form
40P 50

Tax from tax rate charts. 
Figure the tax on your 
taxable income, Form 

40N, line 50; or Form 40P, line 49. Most people go di-

rectly to the rate charts below. Fill in your tax amount 
on Form 40N, line 51; or Form 40P, line 50. Please 
double-check the tax you figured. 

Example: A married couple’s Oregon taxable income is 
$29,500. They are filing jointly. They will use chart J for 
married filing jointly. They figure their tax like this:

Chart J

Oregon taxable income $29,500

Subtract – 13,000
16,500

Multiply by 9% × .09
1,485

Then add + 806
Their Oregon tax is $2,291

Go to line 52 if:

• You sold or exchanged farm assets to get out of a 
farming business, or

• You want to use farm income averaging to compute 
your Oregon tax.

Form
40N 52  

Form
40P 52

Tax from Form FIA-40N, 
Form FIA-40P, or Work-
sheet FCG. If you qualify, 

you can compute your Oregon tax using one of the fol-
lowing methods:

Farm income averaging method. You can use the fed-
eral farm income averaging method to compute your 
Oregon tax even if you didn’t use farm income averag-
ing on your federal return. Only Oregon source farm 
income is considered elected farm income. 

Use Form FIA-40N, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for 
Nonresidents, or Form FIA-40P, Oregon Farm Income 
Averaging for Part-Year Residents, to calculate your tax 
on your farm income and your other Oregon income. 
Visit our Web site to download the form and instruc-
tions. Or, to order the form, see page 40. 

1. Enter the tax amount from Form FIA-40N, line 19; or 
Form FIA-40P, line 18, on Form 40N or 40P, line 52. 

2. Check the box labeled “Form FIA.”

2004 Tax Rate Charts

S  Tax Rate Chart
 For persons filing

 Single or Married filing separately

If your taxable income is: ............Your tax is:
Not over $2,600............................5% of taxable income

Over $2,600 but ...........................$130 plus 7% of the 
not over $6,500 excess over $2,600

Over $6,500...................................$403 plus 9% of the
 excess over $6,500

J  Tax Rate Chart

 For persons filing

 Jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying 
widow(er) with dependent child

If your taxable income is: ...........Your tax is:
Not over $5,200...........................5% of taxable income

Over $5,200 but ..........................$260 plus 7% of the 
not over $13,000 excess over $5,200

Over $13,000................................$806 plus 9% of the
 excess over $13,000

Oregon tax and tax rate charts
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3. Attach a copy of Form FIA-40N or Form FIA-40P to 
your return.

Farm asset capital gain method. Did you sell or 
exchange capital assets primarily used in farming 
because you were getting out of a farming business? 
Or, did you sell or exchange a farming partnership, 
corporation, or other farming entity in which you held 
at least a 10 percent ownership interest? If the sale or 
exchange was not to a family member and you were 
getting out of a farming business completely, you may 
be eligible for a reduced tax rate on the net capital gain 
from the proceeds of the sale or exchange. 

Use Worksheet FCG, Farm Liquidation Long-Term Capital 
Gain Tax Rate, to calculate tax on your net farm capital 
gain and your other Oregon income. Visit our Web site 
to download the worksheet. Or, contact us to order it. 
See page 40.

Nonresidents. Enter the tax amount from Worksheet 
FCG, line 7, on Form 40N, line 52. Check the box la-
beled “Worksheet FCG.”

Part-year residents. Enter the tax amount from Work-
sheet FCG, line 8, on Form 40P, line 52. Check the box 
labeled “Worksheet FCG.”

53  Interest on certain installment sales. Did you 
have installment sales on which you were re-

quired to pay interest on the deferred tax liability for 
federal purposes? If so, you must also compute interest 
for Oregon. The amount due for Oregon is computed 
the same way as for federal. The interest rate for 2004 is 
6 percent per year (0.5 percent per month).

Nonresidents. Use only those installment obligations 
from dispositions of Oregon property while you were 
a nonresident of Oregon.

Credits

• When claiming an Oregon tax credit, you must 
claim the maximum credit allowed each year, up to 
your tax liability.

• You must prorate some Oregon credits on your re-
turn. This means you need to multiply your total 
credit by your Oregon percentage, line 40, to figure 
the amount you can claim on your Oregon return. 

56  Earned income credit. You are allowed an Ore-
gon earned income credit only if you qualify for 

the earned income credit on your federal return. You 
must prorate this credit. Your Oregon credit is 5 percent 
of your federal credit multiplied by your Oregon per-
centage. For example, if your federal credit is $400, your 
Oregon credit is $20 ($400 × .05) multiplied by your Ore-
gon percentage from Form 40N or Form 40P, line 40.

Use the following formula to compute your credit:

1. Enter your federal earned 
income credit from Form 1040EZ, 
line 8a; Form 1040A, line 41a; 
Form 1040, line 65a; or TeleFile 
Tax Record, line L.

1.

2. Decimal amount. 2. .05
3. Multiply line 1 by line 2. Enter 

result here.
3.

4. Multiply line 3 by the Oregon 
percentage (Form 40P or Form 
40N, line 40). Enter here and on 
Form 40P or Form 40N, line 56.

4.

The Oregon earned income credit is limited to your 
tax liability. You cannot carry over to next year any 
amount that is more than your tax liability.

57  Child and dependent care credit. You are al-
lowed an Oregon credit only if you qualify for 

the federal child and dependent care credit. You may 
still be able to claim the Oregon credit even if you can’t 
use all of your federal credit. In most cases, you cannot 
claim the credit if you are married filing separately. 
You must prorate this credit. Use the following work-
sheet to figure your credit for Oregon.

1. Enter the amount from federal 
Form 2441, line 6; or Form 1040A, 
Schedule 2, line 6.

1.

2. Enter the decimal amount from 
the following table.

2.

If your federal taxable 
income from Form 1040, line 
42; or Form 1040A, line 27 is:

Your 
decimal 
amount 

is:

Over— But not over—
$0 $5,000 .30

$5,000 10,000 .15
10,000 15,000 .08
15,000 25,000 .06
25,000 35,000 .05
35,000 45,000 .04
45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the amount on line 1 
above by the decimal amount on 
line 2. Enter here.

3.

4. Multiply line 3 by the Oregon 
percentage from Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 40. Enter the result 
here and on Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 57.

4.

Did you pay 2003 child care expenses in 2004? If so, 
multiply your 2003 expenses that you paid in 2004 
included in the computation of your federal credit by 
the decimal amount that applies to your 2003 federal 
taxable income.

Credits
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Multiply this amount by the Oregon percentage from 
your 2003 return. Enter the result on Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 57. For assistance, see page 40.

Carryforward. Your total 2004 child and dependent 
care credit can’t be more than your 2004 tax liability 
for Oregon. You can carry forward any excess over 
the next five years. If the excess isn’t used within five 
years, it’s lost. See instructions for other credits on this 
page.

58  Credit for income taxes paid to another state. 
If you paid 2004 income tax to another state or 

U.S. territory on income also taxed by Oregon, you 
may claim a credit.

You must claim the credit on your nonresident return 
or on your part-year resident return for the part of the 
year you were a nonresident if the income is taxed by 
both Oregon and one of the following states: Arizona, 
California, Indiana, or Virginia. See our Web site for 
links to other states’ tax Web sites.

This credit is only for state income tax. You can’t claim 
this credit for city or county income tax, sales tax, al-
ternative minimum tax (AMT), property tax, school 
tax, or building funds.

If you are a shareholder in an Oregon S corporation that 
paid taxes to another state, you may qualify for this 
credit. Visit our Web site to download the information 
circular, Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Another State. Or, 
to order it, see page 40.

Your credit is the smallest of the following:

• The other state’s 2004 net tax liability.
• Your Oregon tax liability after all credits, except 

credits for income taxes paid to other states.
• The amount figured using Formula 1 below.
• The amount figured using Formula 2 below.

Formula 1: Divide your modified adjusted gross in-
come (MAGI) taxed by both states by your total MAGI. 
Your total MAGI is your income on Form 40P or Form 
40N, line 39b. Multiply the result by your Oregon tax 
after all other credits. The result can’t be more than 
your Oregon tax after credits.

Your MAGI taxed by both states
×

Your Oregon tax after 
all other creditsYour total MAGI

Formula 2: Divide your MAGI taxed by both states by 
your total income on the other state’s return. Multiply 
the result by the other state’s tax after all other credits. 
“Total income” means income before subtracting item-
ized deductions and exemptions. The result can’t be 
more than the other state’s tax after credits.

Your MAGI taxed by both states

×
Your other state’s tax 
after all other creditsYour total income on the other 

state’s return

Enter the credit amount on Form 40P or Form 40N, 
line 58.

Caution: You can’t claim this credit and also benefit 
from the itemized deduction for the tax paid to the 
other state. If you claim the tax as an itemized deduc-
tion, include the other state’s 2004 net tax liability 
or the other state’s 2004 tax claimed as an itemized 
deduction, whichever is less, on Form 40P, line 43; or 
Form 40N, line 42.

If the credit for taxes paid to another state is based on 
a tax liability that is paid in two different tax years, 
you may be required to restore the deduction to Ore-
gon income in two different tax years. Call us for more 
information. See page 40.

You must attach a copy of the other state’s return and 
proof of payment to the back of your Oregon return.

You may be allowed this credit even if Oregon and 
another state taxes the same income in different years. 
Call us for more information. See page 40.

59  Other credits. You may qualify for other credits 
explained below. Please identify the credit(s) you 

are claiming in the space on line 59 using the numeric 
code shown in brackets. For example, if you are claim-
ing a $50 political contribution credit, enter “723–$50” 
in the space provided. If you have more than one credit, 
show the type and amount of each on the form. Fill in 
the total amount of “other credits” on line 59.

• Child and dependent care credit carryforward [code 
704]. Fill in the amount of the carryover on Form 
40N or Form 40P, line 59. The amount of prior year 
carryover plus your current year’s credit can’t be 
more than your Oregon tax liability. You can carry 
forward any excess credit over the next five years. If 
the excess isn’t used within five years, it’s lost.

• Elderly or the disabled [code 709]. The Oregon 
credit is 40 percent of your federal credit. You may 
claim an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the 
federal credit. Multiply the amount from federal 
Schedule R, line 20; or Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 
20, by 40 percent (.40). Then multiply the result by 
the Oregon percentage on Form 40N or Form 40P, 
line 40. You may claim this credit or the retirement 
income credit, but not both.

• Political contribution [code 723]. Fill in your total 
political contributions, but not more than $100 on a 
joint return or $50 on all others. You must have con-
tributed money during 2004 to any of the following:

— A political party.
— A qualified candidate (or the candidate’s prin-

cipal campaign committee) for federal, state, or 
local office to be voted for in Oregon.

— A political action committee certified in Oregon.

Credits
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 Visit our Web site to download the information cir-
cular, Political Contributions Tax Credit. Or, contact us 
to order it. See page 40.

• Retirement income [code 730]. If you were age 62 
or older on December 31, 2004, and receiving re-
tirement income, you may qualify for a credit. You 
qualify for this credit if:

— Your household income is less than $22,500 
($45,000 if married filing jointly); and

— Your Social Security benefits and/or tier 1 Rail-
road Retirement Board benefits are less than 
$7,500 ($15,000 if married filing jointly); and

— Your household income plus your Social Security 
and/or tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits is 
less than $22,500 ($45,000 if married filing jointly).

 If you think you qualify, contact us for more infor-
mation. See page 40.

• The following credits apply to only a few people. 
Some are prorated using your Oregon percentage and 
some are not. Visit our Web site for more information. 
If you need help, please contact us. See page 40.

— Adoption expenses [code 700].*
— Advanced telecommunications facilities [code 

701].*
— Bone marrow donation program [code 702].
— Business energy [code 703].
— Child Care Fund contributions [code 705].
— Claim of right [code 706].
— Crop donation [code 708].*
— Dependent care assistance by employers [code 

707].
— Electronic commerce zone investment [code 710].
— Employer scholarship [code 711].*
— Farmworker housing [code 712].*
— First Break Program [code 713].*
— Fish screening devices [code 714].*
— Gain from the sale of your house also taxed by 

another state or country [code 720].
— Individual Development Account [code 715].
— Long-term care insurance premiums [code 716].*
— Loss of use of limbs [code 717].
— Low-income caregiver credit [code 718].
— On-farm processing machinery and equipment 

[code 721].*
— Oregon Cultural Trust [code 722].*
— Pollution control facilities [code 724].
— Reforestation of underproductive forestlands 

[code 727].
— Reservation enterprise zone [code 728].*
— Residential energy [code 729].*
— Riparian land [code 735].*
— Rural medical practitioners [code 731].*

*Prorated credit (multiplied by Oregon percentage).

Tax payments, penalty, and interest

62  Oregon income tax withheld from income. Fill in 
the total Oregon tax withheld from your wages 

and other income shown on your Form(s) W-2 or 1099. 
Don’t use the FICA (Social Security) tax withheld from 
your pay. Don’t use tax withheld from your wages by 
other states. Staple a readable copy of your Form W-2 
from each job and any Form 1099 showing Oregon in-
come tax withheld to the lower front of your return. 

If you do not have a Form W-2 or 1099, you must provide 
other proof of Oregon tax withheld. Proof may include 
a final paycheck stub or a letter from your employer.

If you have tax to pay this year, you may want to 
increase the amount your employer withholds from 
your 2005 wages for Oregon. Visit our Web site to 
download the information circular, Oregon Income 
Tax Withholding: Some Special Cases. Or, contact us to 
order it. See page 40.

63  Estimated tax payments for 2004 and pay-
ments made with your extension. Fill in the 

total Oregon estimated tax payments you made before 
filing your 2004 Oregon return. Include any payments 
made with your Oregon extension. Also include any 
refund you applied to your 2004 estimated tax. If the 
department adjusted your applied refund, be sure to 
use the corrected amount.

64  Working family child care credit. This credit is 
available to low-income working families with 

qualifying child care expenses for a child under age 
13 (or under age 18 if disabled). The working family 
child care credit is a refundable credit. If this credit is 
more than your tax, you will receive the difference. If 
you think you may qualify, see page 34.

68  Penalty and interest for filing or paying late. 
Your return is due April 15, 2005, unless you 

file for an extension.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

• Mail your tax payment after April 15 (even if you 
have an extension), or

• File your return showing tax to pay after the due 
date or extension due date.

The late-payment penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid 
balance of your tax. If you file more than three months 
after the due date or extension due date, a 20 percent 
late-filing penalty will be added; that is, you will owe a 
total penalty of 25 percent of any tax not paid.

Exception: You don’t have to pay a penalty if you do 
all of the following:

1. Get an extension of time to file your return; and
2. Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due by April 15, 

2005; and

Penalty and interest
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3. Pay the balance of tax due when you file by the ex-
tension deadline; and

4. Pay the interest on the balance of tax when you file 
or within 30 days of our billing date.

Interest. If you are paying your tax after April 15, 2005, 
include interest on any unpaid tax. An interest period 
is each full month starting with the day after the due 
date. For example, April 16, 2005, through May 15, 
2005, is an interest period. The 2005 interest rate is 5 
percent per year (0.417 percent per month).

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a 
month. Here’s how to figure daily interest:

Tax × .000137  ×  number of days

If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the in-
terest rate increases to 9 percent per year.

Note: Do not calculate interest if you file late and ex-
pect a refund. It may delay processing of your refund.

69  Interest on estimated tax underpayment. For 
2004, you will have an underpayment if you 

paid less than 90 percent of the tax due on each esti-
mated tax payment date.

You do not have an underpayment if:

• You owe less than $1,000 tax on your 2004 tax re-
turn after credits, including your working fam-
ily child care credit and Oregon tax withheld, or

• You did not have an underpayment for any 2004 
estimated tax period.

Use Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimated Tax, 
to determine if you have an underpayment. If you 
do or if you meet an exception, you must file Ore-
gon Form 10 with your return. Visit our Web site to 
download the form. Or, to order it, see page 40.

On Form 40N or 40P, line 69, fill in the amount of 
interest due from Form 10 and check the box. At-
tach Form 10 to the back of your return.

71  Amount you owe. You may pay your tax with a 
check, money order, or credit card.

Check or money order

• Make your check or money order payable to “Ore-
gon Department of Revenue.”

• Write your daytime telephone number and “2004 
Oregon Form 40N” or “2004 Oregon Form 40P” on 
your check. 

• Please use blue or black ink. Do not use red. 

• Do not send cash or a postdated check. 

• Staple your payment and the Form 40-V payment 
voucher (page 31) to your return on top of your 
Form(s) W-2.

Credit card

You now can pay your current-year balance 
due or make 2005 estimated tax payments 
with your Discover, MasterCard, or Visa 
credit card. This option is available to both 
electronic and paper filers.

To pay your taxes by credit card, call toll 
free or access through the Internet one of 
the service providers supporting Oregon’s program. 
The service provider will charge you a convenience 
fee based on the amount of your tax payment. The ser-
vice provider will tell you what the fee is during the 
transaction; you will have the option to either continue 
or cancel the transaction before entering your credit 
card information. The convenience fee, terms, and con-
ditions may vary among providers. If you accept the 
credit card transaction, you will receive a confirma-
tion number. Please keep this confirmation number 
as proof of payment.

Choose one of the following service providers:

1. Link2Gov Corporation
 Call toll free 1-866-9OREGOV (1-866-967-3468), or 

visit their Web site at www.ortaxpayment.com.

2. Official Payments Corporation
 Call toll free 1-800-2PAYTAX (1-800-272-9829), or 

visit their Web site at www.officialpayments.com.

For additional information about making credit card 
payments and the current service provider list, visit 
our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

Payment plan. If you cannot pay in full now, we will 
work with you to set up a payment plan for the amount 
you do not pay with your return. Contact the depart-
ment for more information. See page 40.

Special instructions. Do you owe interest on line 68 
and have an overpayment on line 66? If the interest 
you owe is more than your overpayment, you have an 
amount due. Subtract line 66 from line 68 and enter the 
result on line 71.

Charitable donations. If you do not have a refund but 
want to contribute to a charity listed on lines 74–79, 
mail your donation to the charity’s address shown on 
pages 31 and 32. Please do not mail your donation to 
the Department of Revenue.

Go to the signature block section on page 32 to finish 
your return.

72  Refund. You must have a refund on line 72 to 
use lines 73–79.

73  Estimated tax. If you have a refund on line 72, 
you may apply part or all of it to your 2005 esti-

mated tax. Fill in the amount you want to apply. Do not 
fill in more than the amount on line 72.

Payments
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Charitable checkoffs

You may choose to donate all or part of your refund to 
the charities listed below. Donations will reduce your 
refund. You may donate to any or all of the charities on 
lines 74–78. You also may donate to one of the charities 
listed under the instructions for line 79. Or, you can 
mail your donations to the addresses shown.

74  Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your donation will 
fund the protection of nongame wildlife and its 

habitat.
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife 
3406 Cherry Avenue NE
Salem OR 97303-4924

75  Child Abuse Prevention. Your donation will 
fund programs through the Children’s Trust 

Fund to help prevent child abuse and neglect.
Children’s Trust Fund of Oregon
1410 SW Morrison Street, Suite 501
Portland OR 97205

76  Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your donation 
will fund research of Alzheimer’s and related 

dementias.
Layton Aging and Alzheimer’s Disease Center
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Road CR131
Portland OR 97239

77  Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence. Your do-
nation will fund programs through the Oregon 

Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence.
OCADSV
115 Mission Street SE, Suite 100
Salem OR 97302

78  AIDS/HIV Research, Education, and Services. 
Your donation will fund AIDS/HIV research, 

education, and services by the Living With HIV Fund.

The Research and Education Group
1650 NW Naito Parkway, Suite 185 
Portland OR 97209-8428

79  Other charity. You may donate all or part of 
your refund to one of the charities listed below. 

Enter the code of the charity on line 79. Enter only 
one code. Check the box for the amount you want to 
donate and write it on line 79. Or, you can mail your 
donations to the addresses shown.

Habitat for Humanity of Oregon [code 1]. Your dona-
tion will help Habitat for Humanity build simple, de-
cent, and affordable housing for low-income families.

Habitat for Humanity of Oregon
3300 NW 185th #214
Portland OR 97229

Oregon Head Start Association [code 2]. Your dona-
tion will help Head Start provide services to the low-
est-income, highest-need children and families.

Oregon Head Start Association 
221 B Street
Springfield OR 97477

American Diabetes Association [code 3]. Your dona-
tion will help continue diabetes research and advocacy 
programs in Oregon.

American Diabetes Association
380 SE Spokane Street, Suite 110
Portland OR 97202

Oregon Coast Aquarium [code 4]. Your donation will 
help fund educational programs, conservation efforts, 
and animal rehabilitation.

Oregon Coast Aquarium 
2820 SE Ferry Slip Road
Newport OR 97365

Charities continued on page 32
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Oregon Dept. of Revenue
Line
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SMART [code 5]. Your donation will help fund the 
Start Making A Reader Today early literacy program 
for Oregon’s most vulnerable children.

Oregon Children’s Foundation/SMART 
219 NW 12th Avenue, Suite 203
Portland OR 97209

SOLV [code 6]. Your donation will help fund thou-
sands of projects to clean up beaches, forests, rivers, 
and neighborhoods across Oregon. 

SOLV 
5193 NE Elam Young Parkway, Suite B 
Hillsboro OR 97124

St. Vincent de Paul Society of Oregon [code 7]. Your 
donation will help provide services leading to self- 
sufficiency for low-income Oregonians. 

St. Vincent de Paul Society of Oregon 
PO Box 24608 
Eugene OR 97402

The Nature Conservancy [code 8]. Your donation will 
help purchase and restore critical habitats for Oregon’s 
at-risk plants, fish, and wildlife.

The Nature Conservancy
821 SE 14th Avenue
Portland OR 97214

Doernbecher Children’s Hospital Foundation [code 9]. 
Your donation will fund a critical expansion of the 
cancer treatment facilities at Doernbecher.

Doernbecher Children’s Hospital Foundation
1121 SW Salmon, Suite 201
Portland OR 97205-2021

The Oregon Humane Society [code 10]. Your donation 
will help save pets’ lives through rescue, sheltering, adop-
tion, education, cruelty investigation, and advocacy.

The Oregon Humane Society
PO Box 11364
Portland OR 97211

The Salvation Army—Oregon [code 11]. Your dona-
tion to the Salvation Army ensures help for the needi-
est children and their families throughout Oregon.

The Salvation Army
1785 NE Sandy Boulevard
Portland OR 97232

The Oregon Veterans’ Home [code 12]. Your donation 
will improve the quality of life for veterans receiving 
nursing care at the Oregon Veterans’ Home.

Oregon Veterans’ Home Donations
700 Summer Street NE
Salem OR 97301-1285

Planned Parenthood of Oregon [code 13]. Your dona-
tion will fund family planning services and reproduc-
tive health education programs.

Planned Parenthood of Oregon
3231 SE 50th Avenue
Portland OR 97206

81  Net refund. You must reduce your refund by 
any amounts applied to 2005 estimated tax and 

donations on lines 74–79. The department cannot is-
sue a refund when the return is filed more than three 
years after the due date of the return.

Direct deposit

82  Complete line 82 if you want us to deposit your 
refund directly into your bank account instead 

of mailing you a check. 

1. Contact your bank to make sure your deposit will 
be accepted and to get your correct routing and ac-
count numbers. 

2. Check the appropriate box for account type. Check 
either checking or savings, but not both.

3. Enter your nine-digit routing number. The rout-
ing number must begin with 01 through 12, or 21 
through 32, or 61 through 72. 

4. Enter the account number of the account into which 
you want your refund deposited. The account num-
ber can be up to 17 characters (both numbers and 
letters). Include hyphens, but do not include spaces 
or special symbols. Enter the number left to right 
and leave any unused boxes blank.

Signature block

Authorization box. Check the box if you wish to au-
thorize the Department of Revenue to contact your 
preparer about the initial processing of your tax re-
turn. Otherwise, leave it blank.

Signature(s). Be sure to sign and date your return. If 
you are filing a joint return, both spouses must sign.

Minor child’s return. If your child must file a tax return, 
you may sign the child’s name as his or her legal agent. 
Sign the child’s name and then write “By [your signa-
ture], parent (or other legal guardian) of minor child.”

Preparer signature. Any person who prepares, advis-
es, or assists in the preparation of personal income tax 
returns for another person in exchange for payment, 
gifts, or other compensation must be licensed and 
must sign the return. Contact the following agencies 
for more information on licensing or to check the sta-
tus of your Oregon tax practitioner:

• State Board of Tax Practitioners at 503-378-4034 for 
licensed tax consultants and licensed tax preparers.

Direct deposit
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• State Board of Accountancy at 503-378-4181 for pub-
lic accountants and certified public accountants.

License number. Licensed tax consultants, please en-
ter your license number. Certified public accountants, 
please enter your certificate number. Tax-Aide volun-
teers, please enter your TCE site number.

Before you file

Should I put my return together in a special order?

Yes. To speed processing, put your Oregon return to-
gether as follows:

1. Start with Form 40N or Form 40P.

2. Staple Form(s) W-2 and any Form(s) 1099 showing 
Oregon tax withheld to the lower front of your 
Form 40N or Form 40P.

3. Staple your check or money order and completed 
Form 40-V payment voucher (page 31) on top of the 
Form(s) W-2 and/or 1099. If paying by credit card, 
do not use Form 40-V.

4. Place a copy (front and back) of your federal Form 
1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or TeleFile Tax Record 
behind your Form 40N or Form 40P.

5. If applicable, place these items in the following or-
der behind the federal form:

• Schedule WFC-N/P, Oregon Working Family Child 
Care Credit for Form 40N and Form 40P filers. See 
page 35.

• Oregon Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Esti-
mated Tax.

• Proof required to claim credit for income taxes 
paid to another state. See page 28.

• Oregon Form 24, Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary 
Conversions.

• Form FIA-40P, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for 
Part-Year Residents, or Form FIA-40N, Oregon Farm 
Income Averaging for Nonresidents.

• Exempt Income Schedule for Enrolled Members of a 
Federally Recognized American Indian Tribe.

6. Staple all pages of your return together in the top 
left-hand corner.

Be sure the second page of your return is the same 
form as the first page. Example: If you file Form 40N, 
be sure that “Page 2—2004 Form 40N” is printed at the 
top of the second page.

Do not attach extension requests; federal Schedule A, 
B, C, or D; or Form 2441, etc. We receive some federal 
information from the IRS. We may ask you for copies 
of schedules or additional information later.

How long do I have to file my return and get a refund?

You have three years from the due date of the return 
to file a claim for a refund. By law, the Department of 

Revenue cannot issue a refund if your return is filed 
more than three years after the due date.

Can I make payments?

If you can’t pay in full now, we will work with you 
to set up a payment plan. File now and pay what you 
can. Write your daytime telephone number, tax year, 
and “Form 40N” or “Form 40P” on your check. Be sure 
you also use Form 40-V, the payment voucher, on page 
31. Call the department as soon as possible to set up 
a payment plan. If you do not call, collection activity 
may begin.

To avoid processing delays,
remember to:

Double-check your math calculations and other fig-
ures, including your Social Security number. The most 
common mistakes are math errors and the amount 
claimed for the federal tax subtraction. Please double-
check the tax you figured. Errors will slow the pro-
cessing of your return.

If you have tax to pay, read line 71 instructions.

Verify your bank account information if you are re-
questing direct deposit.

Sign your return (both spouses must sign a joint return).

Staple readable copies of Form(s) W-2 and 1099 show-
ing Oregon tax withheld to the front of the return.

Staple a copy of your federal return (front and back 
only) to your Oregon return.

Staple Form 40-V, the payment voucher, with your 
check or money order to the front of your return. If 
paying by credit card, do not use Form 40-V.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use a busi-
ness envelope (4 × 9½ inches) and be sure to use 
enough postage. Please do not use a smaller enve-
lope—it delays processing.

Tax return mailing addresses

Mail refund returns or no-tax-due returns to:

REFUND
PO Box 14700 
Salem OR 97309-0930

Mail tax-to-pay returns to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

Avoid delays
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This refundable credit is available to low-income 
working families with qualifying child care expenses. 
To qualify, all of the following must be true: 

• You had at least $6,750 of earned income; and
• You had less than $2,650 of investment income (such 

as interest, dividends, and capital gains); and
• Your adjusted gross income was less than the limits 

for your household size shown on the back of Sched-
ule WFC-N/P; and

• You paid qualifying child care expenses to allow 
you (and your spouse, if married) to work or attend 
school; and

• You paid qualifying child care expenses for your 
qualifying child. A qualifying child is your son, 

You must complete all information on the schedule. 
An incomplete schedule may result in denial of your 
working family child care credit.

Household size calculation

 Sched.
WFC-N/P 1 5–  Your household size is the 

number of people you claim 
as exemptions on your fed-

eral tax return who live in your home. You can include 
in your household size your child of whom you have 
primary custody, even if you allowed the child’s other 
parent to claim the exemption on his or her tax return. 
You cannot include people you are entitled to claim 
on your tax return who did not live with you in your 
home during 2004. For the purposes of this credit, an 
individual cannot be counted in household size on 
more than one return. Enter your household size from 
Schedule WFC-N/P, line 5, on Form 40N or Form 40P, 
line 64a.

Example 1: Rusty and Deb are not married and are the 
parents of two qualifying children. They have joint 
custody of both children. Deb is the primary custodian 
and caregiver. She releases the dependent exemption 
for one child to Rusty. Both Rusty and Deb may claim 
the credit based on the qualifying child care expenses 
each paid. However, each needs to calculate household 
size separately. Deb’s household size is three (herself, 
one dependent child, and one dependent child whose 
exemption is released to Rusty). Rusty’s household 
size is one (himself). Although he claims one child on 
his tax return, the child does not live with him and is 
not included in his household size.

Example 2: Jay and Rena have three qualifying chil-
dren. They also support Rena’s parents who do not live 

Working family child care credit
daughter, legally adopted child, stepson, or step-
daughter who was:
— under the age of 13, or
— under the age of 18 for whom you can claim the 

additional exemption credit for a child with a dis-
ability; and

• Your child care provider was not the child’s parent, 
guardian, or brother or sister under age 19.

Note: If you are married filing separately, you must 
be legally separated or permanently living apart on 
December 31, 2004, to qualify.

If you qualify, complete Schedule WFC-N/P, Oregon 
Working Family Child Care Credit for Form 40N and Form 
40P filers, on page 35.

Schedule WFC-N/P instructions
with them. They claim seven exemptions on their tax 
return. Jay and Rena’s household size is five, because 
only five of them live in their home.

Qualifying child care expenses
paid in 2004

 Sched.
WFC-N/P 6 9–  Provider’s full name and 

complete address. Enter the 
child care provider’s infor-

mation in the space provided on Schedule WFC-N/P. 
If you have more providers during the year than there 
is space for on the form, please attach a separate sheet 
with the required information.

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN. You must include your 
provider’s Social Security number, Federal Employer 
Identification Number, or Individual Taxpayer Identi-
fication Number.

Child/provider relationship. Identify the relationship 
of the provider to the child using the relationship 
codes on page 39. If there is no relationship between 
the provider and the child, enter “N” for none.

Amount paid to provider. Qualifying child care ex-
penses are paid for the primary purpose for you (and 
your spouse, if married) to work or attend school. You 
can pay your expenses with pre-tax dollars from an 
employer benefit plan such as a cafeteria plan or flex-
ible spending arrangement and still qualify to claim 
this credit. You must pay for the child care during 2004 
for the payments to be qualifying child care expenses.

Qualifying child care expenses do not include 
amounts you paid for your child to attend a public 
or private school or for activities such as gymnastics 

continued on page 39

Working family child care credit
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Computation of Credit
16. Enter your federal adjusted gross income (Form 40N or Form 40P, line 30a) ...................................................................  16
17. Enter the total qualifying child care expenses paid in 2004 from line 9 above...................................................................  17 
18. Enter the decimal amount from the working family child care credit table on the back (use the table that 
      matches your household size on line 5 above). For example, if the amount on line 5 is 4, use Table 4 ......................................... 18

19. Multiply the amount on line 17 by the decimal amount on line 18 and enter here .............................................................  19
20. Multiply line 19 by the Oregon percentage (Form 40N or Form 40P, line 40). Enter the result  
      here and on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 64. This is your working family child care credit ..............................................   20

Schedule 
WFC-N/P 2004Oregon Working Family Child Care Credit

for Form 40N and Form 40P Filers

150-101-170 (Rev. 12-04) Web 

—YOU MUST ATTACH THIS SCHEDULE TO YOUR OREGON INCOME TAX RETURN—

Household Size Calculation
  1. Enter the number of exemptions you  

claimed on your federal return.................................... 1
 2.  Enter the number of exemptions you  

did not claim on your federal return   
because you released the exemption to  
the child’s other parent ............................................... 2

 3. Add lines 1 and 2........................................................ 3
  4.  Enter the number of exemptions 
  you claimed on your federal return 
  for people who did not live in your 
  household during 2004............................................... 4
  
 5.  Household size. Line 3 minus line 4........................... 5

Qualifying Child Care Expenses Paid in 2004. Enter the following information for each child care provider you used in 2004.
Child/Provider Relationship 

                (enter code)

Provider’s full name and complete address 

 6.

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN

............................................................................ 6

Amount Paid to Provider

$

 7.

Child/Provider Relationship 

                (enter code)

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN

............................................................................ 7

Amount Paid to Provider

$

 8.

Child/Provider Relationship 

                (enter code)

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN

............................................................................ 8

Amount Paid to Provider

$

$  9. Total child care expenses paid in 2004. Add amounts on lines 6 through 8 and enter the result here .......................................9

Provider’s full name and complete address 

Provider’s full name and complete address 

$15. Total child care expenses. Add amounts on lines 10 through 14 and enter the result here .............................................15

$
$
$
$
$

First and Last Name of Child Child’s SSN
Child’s

Date of Birth
Relationship
(enter code)

10.
11.
12.
13.

Expenses 
Paid for Child

Last name First name and initial

Spouse’s last name if joint return Spouse’s fi rst name and initial if joint return

Social Security No. (SSN)

–        –
Spouse’s SSN, if joint return

–        –

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

FOR COMPUTER USE ONLY

14.

Qualifying Child Information

× .
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Should I file an Oregon return?

* If your household size is larger than eight, please contact the department for the tables you need. See page 40 for taxpayer 
assistance information.

Table 7, household size = 7

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $56,800 .40
$56,800  59,600 .36
 59,600  62,450 .32
 62,450  65,300 .24
 65,300  68,150 .16
 68,150  71,000 .08
 71,000  —— .00

Table 5, household size = 5

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $44,050 .40
$44,050  46,250 .36
 46,250  48,450 .32
 48,450  50,650 .24
 50,650  52,850 .16
 52,850  55,100 .08
 55,100  —— .00

Table 3, household size = 3

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $31,350 .40
$31,350  32,900 .36
 32,900  34,450 .32
 34,450  36,050 .24
 36,050  37,600 .16
 37,600  39,200 .08
 39,200  —— .00

Table 1, household size = 1

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $18,600 .40
$18,600  19,550 .36
 19,550  20,500 .32
 20,500  21,400 .24
 21,400  22,350 .16
 22,350  23,300 .08
 23,300  —— .00

Table 2, household size = 2

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $25,000 .40
$25,000  26,250 .36
 26,250  27,500 .32
 27,500  28,750 .24
 28,750  30,000 .16
 30,000  31,250 .08
 31,250  —— .00

Table 4, household size = 4

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $37,700 .40
$37,700  39,600 .36
 39,600  41,450 .32
 41,450  43,350 .24
 43,350  45,250 .16
 45,250  47,150 .08
 47,150  —— .00

Table 6, household size = 6

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $50,400 .40
$50,400  52,950 .36
 52,950  55,450 .32
 55,450  58,000 .24
 58,000  60,500 .16
 60,500  63,050 .08
 63,050  —— .00

Table 8, household size = 8*

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $63,150 .40
$63,150  66,300 .36
 66,300  69,450 .32
 69,450  72,600 .24
 72,600  75,750 .16
 75,750  78,950 .08
 78,950  —— .00

Working Family Child Care Credit—2004 Tables

Working family child care credit
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Computation of Credit
16. Enter your federal adjusted gross income (Form 40N or Form 40P, line 30a) ...................................................................  16
17. Enter the total qualifying child care expenses paid in 2004 from line 9 above...................................................................  17 
18. Enter the decimal amount from the working family child care credit table on the back (use the table that 
      matches your household size on line 5 above). For example, if the amount on line 5 is 4, use Table 4 ......................................... 18

19. Multiply the amount on line 17 by the decimal amount on line 18 and enter here .............................................................  19
20. Multiply line 19 by the Oregon percentage (Form 40N or Form 40P, line 40). Enter the result  
      here and on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 64. This is your working family child care credit ..............................................   20

Schedule 
WFC-N/P 2004Oregon Working Family Child Care Credit

for Form 40N and Form 40P Filers

150-101-170 (Rev. 12-04) Web 

—YOU MUST ATTACH THIS SCHEDULE TO YOUR OREGON INCOME TAX RETURN—

Household Size Calculation
  1. Enter the number of exemptions you  

claimed on your federal return.................................... 1
 2.  Enter the number of exemptions you  

did not claim on your federal return   
because you released the exemption to  
the child’s other parent ............................................... 2

 3. Add lines 1 and 2........................................................ 3
  4.  Enter the number of exemptions 
  you claimed on your federal return 
  for people who did not live in your 
  household during 2004............................................... 4
  
 5.  Household size. Line 3 minus line 4........................... 5

Qualifying Child Care Expenses Paid in 2004. Enter the following information for each child care provider you used in 2004.
Child/Provider Relationship 

                (enter code)

Provider’s full name and complete address 

 6.

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN

............................................................................ 6

Amount Paid to Provider

$

 7.

Child/Provider Relationship 

                (enter code)

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN

............................................................................ 7

Amount Paid to Provider

$

 8.

Child/Provider Relationship 

                (enter code)

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN

............................................................................ 8

Amount Paid to Provider

$

$  9. Total child care expenses paid in 2004. Add amounts on lines 6 through 8 and enter the result here .......................................9

Provider’s full name and complete address 

Provider’s full name and complete address 

$15. Total child care expenses. Add amounts on lines 10 through 14 and enter the result here .............................................15

$
$
$
$
$

First and Last Name of Child Child’s SSN
Child’s

Date of Birth
Relationship
(enter code)

10.
11.
12.
13.

Expenses 
Paid for Child

Last name First name and initial

Spouse’s last name if joint return Spouse’s fi rst name and initial if joint return

Social Security No. (SSN)

–        –
Spouse’s SSN, if joint return

–        –

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

FOR COMPUTER USE ONLY

14.

Qualifying Child Information

× .
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* If your household size is larger than eight, please contact the department for the tables you need. See page 40 for taxpayer 
assistance information.

Table 7, household size = 7

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $56,800 .40
$56,800  59,600 .36
 59,600  62,450 .32
 62,450  65,300 .24
 65,300  68,150 .16
 68,150  71,000 .08
 71,000  —— .00

Table 5, household size = 5

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $44,050 .40
$44,050  46,250 .36
 46,250  48,450 .32
 48,450  50,650 .24
 50,650  52,850 .16
 52,850  55,100 .08
 55,100  —— .00

Table 3, household size = 3

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $31,350 .40
$31,350  32,900 .36
 32,900  34,450 .32
 34,450  36,050 .24
 36,050  37,600 .16
 37,600  39,200 .08
 39,200  —— .00

Table 1, household size = 1

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $18,600 .40
$18,600  19,550 .36
 19,550  20,500 .32
 20,500  21,400 .24
 21,400  22,350 .16
 22,350  23,300 .08
 23,300  —— .00

Table 2, household size = 2

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $25,000 .40
$25,000  26,250 .36
 26,250  27,500 .32
 27,500  28,750 .24
 28,750  30,000 .16
 30,000  31,250 .08
 31,250  —— .00

Table 4, household size = 4

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $37,700 .40
$37,700  39,600 .36
 39,600  41,450 .32
 41,450  43,350 .24
 43,350  45,250 .16
 45,250  47,150 .08
 47,150  —— .00

Table 6, household size = 6

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $50,400 .40
$50,400  52,950 .36
 52,950  55,450 .32
 55,450  58,000 .24
 58,000  60,500 .16
 60,500  63,050 .08
 63,050  —— .00

Table 8, household size = 8*

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 16 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 18:at least: but less than:

 —— $63,150 .40
$63,150  66,300 .36
 66,300  69,450 .32
 69,450  72,600 .24
 72,600  75,750 .16
 75,750  78,950 .08
 78,950  —— .00

Working Family Child Care Credit—2004 Tables

Working family child care credit
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or soccer. You cannot claim expenses that are paid by 
someone else such as a state assistance agency. You can 
claim only the expenses you actually paid.

Example 3: Jeff works for a company that offers de-
pendent care benefits through a plan administrator. 
He takes advantage of this employer benefit and 
contributes $4,000 pre-tax each year to a flexible 
spending arrangement (FSA) plan. He gives the plan 
administrator the necessary documents so he can be 
reimbursed for his child care expenses. His employer 
reports the $4,000 of dependent care benefits in box 10 
of his W-2. Jeff has $5,000 total in child care expenses 
for his two qualifying children. He paid $1,000 with 
after-tax dollars, and he was reimbursed $4,000 from 
his pre-tax FSA. Jeff may claim the working family 
child care credit based on $5,000 in qualifying child 
care expenses.

Example 4: Lee has a five-year-old son who attends a 
local academy. He pays $750 per month for his son’s 
kindergarten and child care. Of the amount he pays 
each month, $500 is the contract price for child care, 
and $250 is an additional amount he pays for the 
child’s education. Lee can only claim $500 per month 
as qualifying child care.

Example 5: Cate qualifies for state assistance in pay-
ing her child care expenses. The child care provider 
charges Cate $600 per month to care for her two chil-
dren. Of the $600 per month, the state pays $450, and 
Cate has a co-pay of $150. Cate cannot claim the entire 
amount because she did not pay it. She can only claim 
the amount she actually paid ($150 per month).

Proof of qualifying child care expenses. In order to 
claim this credit, you must be able to prove that you 
paid the child care expenses. Acceptable proof in-
cludes, but is not limited to, copies of:

• Canceled checks,
• Duplicate checks along with bank statements, and/or 
• Signed receipts from the child care provider. 

The department could ask for proof during the pro-
cessing of your tax return or any time later. If you pay 
a relative to watch your children, you may be asked 
to provide additional information that shows you 

actually paid qualifying child care expenses. Be sure to 
ask for a signed receipt from your child care provider when 
you pay the provider for the care.

Qualifying child information 

 10 15–Sched.
WFC-N/P  Enter the full name of each 

qualifying child, the child’s 
Social Security number, 

date of birth, and his or her relationship to you using 
the codes shown below. 

Enter the portion of the expenses you listed in the 
child care provider section that apply to each child. 
The amounts shown on line 9 and line 15 should al-
ways be the same.

Example 6: Bill has two children, Joe and Lane. He 
paid two child care providers $5,000 during the year 
for Joe and Lane’s child care. Of the $5,000 he paid, 
$3,000 was for Joe’s care and $2,000 was for Lane’s 
care. He will enter those amounts next to each child’s 
information. 

Computation of credit

 16
Sched.

WFC-N/P  You must know your federal ad-
justed gross income (AGI) to com-
pute this credit. You can find your 

federal AGI on your Oregon Form 40N or Form 40P, 
line 30a. Enter your federal AGI on Schedule WFC-
N/P, line 16. 

 17
Sched.

WFC-N/P  Enter the total qualifying expenses 
from Schedule WFC-N/P, line 9, on 
Schedule WFC-N/P, line 17, and 

Form 40N or Form 40P, line 64b. 

 18
Sched.

WFC-N/P  Use the table on the back of Sched-
ule WFC-N/P (page 36) that match-
es your household size. 

For example, if your household size is 3, use Table 3 to 
determine the percentage you need to apply to your 
qualifying expenses. Enter that percentage on Sched-
ule WFC-N/P, line 18.

Schedule WFC Relationship Codes

Grandparent ....................................................GP Son ....................................................................... S
Parent...................................................................P Daughter ............................................................ D
Uncle ................................................................... U Stepson .............................................................. SS
Aunt .................................................................... A Stepdaughter ................................................... SD
Brother ...............................................................SB Legally adopted child ....................................LA
Sister...................................................................SB None ................................................................... N
None....................................................................N Other................................................................... O
Other................................................................... O

Taxpayer/Child Relationship CodesChild/Provider Relationship Codes

Working family child care credit
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Taxpayer assistance
Printed information (free)

Income tax booklets are available at many post offices, 
banks, and libraries. For booklets and other forms and 
publications, you can also access our Web site, order by 
telephone, or return the form below.

Internet

www.oregon.gov/DOR
The Department of Revenue Web site 
is a quick and easy way to download 
forms and publications, get up-to-the-
minute tax information, and learn 
about electronic filing.

Correspondence

Write to: Oregon Department of Revenue, 
955 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301-2555. 
Include your Social Security number and a 
daytime telephone number for faster service.

Telephone

Salem ..............................................................503-378-4988
Toll-free within Oregon............................. 1-800-356-4222

If you have a touch-tone telephone, call our 24-hour voice 
response system at one of the numbers above to:
• Hear recorded tax information.
• Order tax forms.
• Check on the status of your 2004 

personal income tax refund 
(beginning February 1).

For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers above:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday................7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday ......................................................... 10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Closed on holidays.
April 1–April 15, Monday–Friday....................7:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary.

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only): 503-945-
8617 (Salem) or 1-800-886-7204 (toll-free within Oregon).

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). This information is 
available in alternative formats. Call 503-378-4988 (Salem) 
or 1-800-356-4222 (toll-free within Oregon).

Asistencia en español. Llame al 503-945-8618 en 
Salem o llame gratis al 1-800-356-4222 en Oregon.

Field offices

Get forms and assistance at these offices. Do not send 
your return to these addresses.

Bend 951 SW Simpson Avenue, Suite 100
Eugene 1600 Valley River Drive, Suite 310
Gresham 1550 NW Eastman Parkway, Suite 220
Medford 24 W 6th Street 
Newport 119 NE 4th Street, Suite 4
North Bend 3030 Broadway 
Pendleton 700 SE Emigrant, Suite 310
Portland* Federal Building Lobby, 1220 SW Third Avenue
Portland 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 505

Salem Revenue Building, 955 Center Street NE, Room 135  

Salem 4275 Commercial Street SE, Suite 180

Tualatin 6405 SW Rosewood Street, Suite A
*  February 1–April 1: Monday, Wednesday, Friday, 10 a.m.–3 p.m. 

April 4–April 15: Monday through Friday, 9 a.m.–4 p.m.

Check individual boxes to order. Complete name and address section. 

Clip on the dotted line, then mail in the entire list to the address below.

Forms and instructions
 Forms 40S & 40, Full-Year Resident .....................150-101-043
 Forms 40P & 40N, Part-Year & Nonresident .....150-101-045
 Form 40-EXT, Oregon Automatic Extension

and Payment Voucher .............................................150-101-165
 Estimated Income Tax Payment Instructions 

and Vouchers......................................................... 150-101-026/-2
 Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon 

Estimated Tax .............................................................. 150-101-031
 Form 40X, Oregon Amended Individual 

Income Tax Return .....................................................150-101-046
 Form 90R, Elderly Rental Assistance ..................150-545-002
 Oregon Depreciation Schedule .............................150-101-025
 Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/

Involuntary Conversions ......................................  150-800-734
 Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging 

for Full-Year Residents ..............................................150-101-160
 Form FIA-40N, 40P, and Schedule Z, Oregon 

Farm Income Averaging for Nonresidents 
and Part-Year Residents ...........................................150-101-161

Information circulars and brochures
 2-D Barcode Filing for Oregon ............................... 150-101-631
 Amtrak Act (Interstate Transportation Wages) ....150-101-601
 Audits: What To Do if You Are Audited ................150-101-607
 Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Another State ....150-101-646
 Divorce and Taxes .....................................................150-101-629
 Electronic Filing for Oregon ....................................150-101-630
 Estimated Income Tax ..............................................150-101-648
 Income Tax Filing Extension ...................................150-101-660
 Interest on Tax You Owe: Computation .............150-800-691
 Itemized Deductions Limit .......................................150-101-611
 Married Persons Filing Separate Returns ............150-101-656
 Military Personnel Filing Information .................150-101-657
 Record-Keeping Requirements .............................150-101-608
 Retirement Income ...................................................150-101-673
 Your Rights as an Oregon Taxpayer ................... 150-800-406
 List of other printed information: 

Form and Publication Order .................................150-800-390
Send to: Forms, Oregon Department of Revenue

PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990

Please print
Name_____________________________________________
Address ___________________________________________
City ______________________________________________
State ___________________ ZIP Code _______________

✂
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