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Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.2

Do I need to file?
Amounts apply to full-year residents only.

Filing status Age If gross income 
is more than:

Single, can be claimed 
on another’s return

Any $800 *

Single
Under 65 $4,720
65 or over $5,920

Married, joint return
Both under 65 $9,459
One 65 or over $10,459
Both 65 or over $11,459

Married,
separate return

Under 65 $4,720
65 or over $5,720

Head of household
Under 65 $5,935
65 or over $7,135

Qualifying widow(er)
Under 65 $6,625

65 or over $7,625

In addition, file a return if:
— You are required to file a federal return.
— You had $1 or more of Oregon income tax 

withheld from your wages.

* The larger of $800 or your earned income plus $250, up to 
your standard deduction amount.

These instructions are not a complete statement 
of laws and Oregon Department of Revenue rules. 
You may need more information. See page 40.

Electronic filing

Electronic filing (e-file) 
is a fast, efficient, and 
accurate way to file.

Download the publica-
tion Electronic Filing for 
Oregon from our Web site, or to order it, see page 40.

Working student Web site

The Oregon Depart-
ment of Revenue’s “5 
Easy Steps to Cash” 
Web site helps working 
students file their Ore-
gon personal income 
tax returns and understand the state’s tax system. You 
may prepare your return on the student Web site if:

• You lived in Oregon for all of 2005, and
• You were single with no children as of December 31, 

2005, and
• Someone else can claim you as a dependent, and
• In 2005, you worked only in Oregon, and
• Your income was only from wages and/or interest.
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New information

Important reminders

General information

Sales tax deduction. Oregon does not allow sales tax 
as an itemized deduction. Any sales tax deducted on 
federal Schedule A must be subtracted from the item-
ized deductions you claim on your Oregon return. See 
page 28.

Federal tax liability subtraction. The federal tax sub-
traction limit has increased to $4,500 ($2,250 married 
filing separately). See page 9 or 25.

Standard deduction amounts. The standard deduc-
tion amounts have changed. See page 28 or the back 
of Form 40S.

Amended return. If you need to change (amend) your 
return after filing, you can now use Form 40 or Form 
40S and the Oregon Amended Schedule. See page 7.

Filing extension. You can now use Form 40-EXT to 
get an automatic six-month extension to file your 2005 
Oregon return. See page 5.

Credit card payments. The department accepts credit 
card payments for 2005 current-year taxes, 2006 esti-
mated taxes, and any prior year tax balances due. See 
page 11.

Direct deposit. The Department of Revenue can 
deposit your refund directly into your account at most 
banks or other financial institutions. If you choose 
direct deposit, contact your bank to make sure that 
your deposit will be accepted and to get your correct 
routing and account numbers. The Department of 
Revenue is not responsible if your bank rejects your 
deposit. If the bank rejects your direct deposit, we will 
issue you a paper check. See page 34.

Direct debit. Oregon does not allow electronic funds 
withdrawal (direct debit) from your checking or sav-
ings account to pay your Oregon tax. This option is 
available through the Internal Revenue Service to pay 
your federal tax, but is not available for Oregon tax. If 
you have any questions please call us.

Federal law. Oregon is tied to the federal definition of 
taxable income.* Oregon will automatically adopt any 
future federal law changes to the definition of taxable 
income. This tie is also retroactive to tax years 2003 
and 2004. You may amend your 2003 and 2004 Ore-
gon tax returns for any changes that result from the 
retroactive tie. 

* There is one exception to the federal tie. The domestic pro-
duction activities deduction from the federal return is not 
allowed on the Oregon return. If you claimed this deduc-
tion on your federal return, you will have an addition on 
your Oregon tax return. See page 25.

Note: When this publication was printed, federal 
changes were being considered that may affect the 
Oregon Earned Income Credit. Visit our Web site, or 
call us for updated information.

Blue or black ink. Please use blue or black ballpoint ink 
for easier reading and faster processing. Equipment 
used to scan documents cannot read gel ink or certain 
colors of ink, especially red. Thank you.

What income does Oregon tax?

An Oregon resident is taxed on all income, including 
income from outside the state. A nonresident of Ore-
gon is taxed only on income from Oregon sources.

Residency

Am I a resident, a nonresident, or a part-year resi-
dent? The following will help you decide.

• You are a full-year Oregon resident, even if you live 
outside Oregon, if all of the following are true:
— You think of Oregon as your permanent home, 

and

— Oregon is the center of your financial, social, and 
family life, and

— Oregon is the place you intend to come back to 
when you are away.

• You are still a full-year resident if:
— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary 

absence.

 You may also be considered a full-year resident if you 
spent more than 200 days in Oregon during 2005 or if 
you are a nonresident alien, as defined by federal law.

• You are a nonresident if your permanent home was 
outside Oregon all year.

Important reminders
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Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.4

• You are a part-year resident if you moved into or 
out of Oregon during 2005. You are not a part-year 
resident if:
— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary 

absence.

Special-case Oregon residents. If you are an Oregon 
resident and you meet all of the following conditions, 
you are considered a nonresident for tax purposes.

• You are an Oregon resident who maintained a per-
manent home outside Oregon the entire year, and

• You did not keep a home in Oregon during any part 
of 2005, and

• You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during 2005.

Note: A recreational vehicle (RV) is not considered a 
permanent home outside of Oregon.

Oregon residents living abroad. Usually, if you quali-
fy for the federal earned income exclusion or housing 
exclusion for United States residents living abroad, 
you are considered a nonresident.

Filing status

Generally, you must use the same filing status for your 
Oregon and federal returns.

Exceptions for married persons when spouses are:

• Full-year resident and part-year resident. You may file 
separate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns 
for Oregon, you must use the married filing sepa-
rately status. The full-year resident files Form 40, and 
the part-year resident files Form 40P. If you choose to 
file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40P.

• Full-year resident and nonresident. You may file 
separate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns 
for Oregon, you must use the married filing sepa-
rately status. The full-year resident files Form 40, 
and the nonresident files Form 40N. If you choose to 
file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N.

• Part-year resident and nonresident. You may file 
separate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns 
for Oregon, you must use the married filing sepa-
rately status. The part-year resident files Form 40P, 
and the nonresident files Form 40N. If you choose to 
file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N.

Need more information? Download the publication 
Married Persons Filing Separate Returns from our Web 
site, or to order it, see page 40.

What form do I use?

Use Form 40S if ALL of the following are true:

• You are a full-year Oregon resident, and

• Your income is only from wages, unemployment, 
taxable interest, ordinary dividends, fellowship 
grants, and taxable scholarships not used to pay for 
housing, and

• You claim the standard deduction on your return, 
and

• Your Oregon taxable income is less than $100,000, 
and

• You do not have pension or annuity income or IRA 
distributions, and

• You do not owe penalty or interest, and
• You did not pay estimated tax during the year.

If you are a working student, you may be eligible to 
complete Form 40S using our working student Web 
site. For more information, see page 2.

Use Form 40 if BOTH of the following are true:

• You are a full-year Oregon resident, and
• You cannot use Form 40S.

Use Form 40 if any ONE of the following is true:

• You received Social Security, pension, or annuity 
income, or

• You used taxable scholarship income for housing 
expenses and you qualify for the Oregon subtrac-
tion, or

• You paid or should have paid estimated tax during 
the year, or

• You have adjustments to income on your federal tax 
return such as alimony or IRA deductions, or

• You have Oregon additions or subtractions other 
than the federal tax subtraction (the most common 
ones are listed on the return), or

• You itemize deductions on your Oregon return, or
• You are married filing separately and your spouse is 

itemizing deductions, or
• You are a nonresident alien, as defined by federal 

law, who lived in Oregon the entire year, or
• You are in the military and are claiming the subtrac-

tion for military active duty pay, or
• You owe penalty or interest, or
• You want to apply all or part of your refund to your 

2006 estimated tax.

Use Form 40P if any ONE of the following is true:

• You are a part-year resident, or
• You are filing jointly and one spouse is a full-year 

Oregon resident and one is a part-year resident, or
• You are filing jointly and both spouses are part-year 

Oregon residents, or
• You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 

for part of the year.

Use Form 40N if any ONE of the following is true:

• You are a nonresident, or
• You are a special-case Oregon resident (see above), 

or

Filing status, what form to use
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• You and your spouse are filing jointly and one (or 
both) of you is a nonresident, or

• You meet the military personnel nonresident 
requirements explained below, or

• You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 
for the entire year.

Forms 40P and 40N are included in the Part-Year Resi-
dent and Nonresident booklet. Download the booklet 
from our Web site, or to order it, see page 40.

Military personnel

Residents stationed in Oregon. If you are an Oregon 
resident stationed in Oregon, file Form 40.

Residents stationed outside Oregon. If you meet the 
requirements for special-case Oregon residents or Ore-
gon residents living abroad, you may file Form 40N 
from the Part-Year Resident and Nonresident booklet. See 
the top of page 4. File Form 40 if you don’t meet the 
listed requirements.

Nonresidents stationed in Oregon. Oregon does not 
tax your military pay while you are stationed in Ore-
gon. File Form 40N if you or your spouse had income 
from other Oregon sources or to claim a refund of Ore-
gon tax withheld from your military pay.

Need more information? Download the publication 
Military Personnel Filing Information from our Web site, 
or to order it, see page 40.

If you have been on active duty (Title 10) for 90 con-
secutive days or more at any time after September 11, 
2001, you may qualify for special benefits. Please con-
tact us. See page 40.

Filing for a deceased person

You must file a final return for a person who died dur-
ing the calendar year if a return would normally be 
required. See “Do I need to file?” on page 2. If a return 
must be filed, please check the “deceased” box.

If you are filing a return and claiming a refund for 
someone who is now deceased and there is no court-
appointed or certified personal representative, file 
Form 243, Claim to Refund Due a Deceased Person, with 
the return. This allows us to issue the refund check in 
your name. Download the form from our Web site or 
contact us to order it.

When should I file my return?

The filing deadline for calendar year 2005 is April 17, 
2006. If you cannot pay all of your tax by the due date, 
file your return anyway to avoid a late-filing penalty.

Returns for other tax periods are due by the 15th day 
of the fourth month after the close of your tax year.

What if I need more time to file?

Request an automatic six-month extension to file your 
return. Complete an Oregon extension form, Form 40-
EXT, if:

• You are making a tax payment to Oregon and you 
cannot file your Oregon return by April 17, 2006, or

• You are filing an extension for Oregon only.

If you received a federal six-month extension and you 
are expecting an Oregon refund, do not use Form 
40-EXT. Oregon will allow you the same extension. 
Be sure to check the extension box (box 7b) on your 
Oregon return. Do not attach a copy of your federal 
extension to your Oregon return. Keep a copy of your 
federal extension with your records.

If you need to complete Form 40-EXT, download it 
from our Web site, or to order it, see page 40.

An extension does not mean more time to pay!

You must pay any tax you expect to owe when you file 
your extension. If you do not pay all the tax due with 
your extension, you will owe interest on the unpaid 
balance after April 17, 2006, until the date of your pay-
ment. The 2006 interest rate is 7 percent per year. If the 
tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the interest 
rate increases to 11 percent per year. You may also owe 
a late-payment penalty.

Were you stationed in a designated combat zone?

Did you receive additional time to file your 2005 
federal return and pay your 2005 tax? If so, Oregon 
allows the same additional time to file and pay. Write 
“Combat zone” in blue or black ink at the top of your 
return.

Penalties

You will owe a 5 percent late-payment penalty on any 
2005 tax not paid by April 17, 2006.

If you file more than three months after the due date 
or extension due date, a 20 percent late-filing penalty 
will be added; that is, you will owe a total penalty of 25 
percent of any tax not paid.

Exception: You do not have to pay a penalty if you do 
all of the following:

1. Get an extension of time to file your return, and
2. Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due by April 17, 

2006, and
3. Pay the balance of tax due when you file your return 

by the extension deadline, and
4. Pay the interest on the balance of tax due when you 

file or within 30 days of our billing date.

A 100 percent penalty is charged if you do not file a 
return for three consecutive years by the due date of 

Requesting an extension
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the third year, including extensions. The penalty is 100 
percent of the unpaid tax for each of the three years.

Interest on underpayment
of estimated tax

You may owe interest for underpayment of estimated 
tax if:

• You owe $1,000 or more on your return after credits 
and withholding, or

• You paid less than 90 percent of the tax due on each 
estimated tax payment due date.

See the instructions for Form 40, line 50, on page 33.

2006 estimated tax

Estimated tax is the amount of tax you expect to owe 
after credits and Oregon tax withheld when you file 
your 2006 Oregon individual income tax return.

Oregon estimated tax laws are not the same as federal 
estimated tax laws. Use Oregon instructions to deter-
mine if you need to make estimated tax payments for 
2006.

Do I need to make estimated payments?

In most cases, people who expect to owe $1,000 or 
more on their 2006 Oregon income tax return after 
credits and withholding must make estimated pay-
ments. You may also need to make estimated pay-
ments if:

• You are self-employed and do not have Oregon tax 
withheld from your income.

• You receive Oregon Lottery single ticket winnings 
of less than $5,000. (Note: Single ticket winnings of 
$5,000 or more are subject to Oregon withholding.)

• You receive income such as pensions, interest, or 
dividends, and Oregon tax is not withheld.

• You are a wage earner and expect to owe tax of 
$1,000 or more on your 2006 return. You may want to 
increase the amount your employer withholds from 
your Oregon wages. Download the publication Ore-
gon Income Tax Withholding: Some Special Cases from 
our Web site, or contact us to order it.

When do I pay?

The due dates are April 17, 2006;* June 15, 2006; Sep-
tember 15, 2006; and January 16, 2007.

If paying with a check or money order, send your pay-
ment with Form 40-ESV, Oregon Estimated Income Tax 
Payment Voucher. Download the publication Estimated 
Income Tax from our Web site, or to order it, see page 40.

* Please send your 2006 estimated tax payment and Ore-
gon Form 40-ESV in a different envelope from your 2005 
Oregon income tax return. This will help us credit your 
payment more efficiently.

What if I am self-employed?

If you are self-employed and do business in 
Multnomah, Clackamas, or Washington counties,
you may need to file Form TM, TriMet Self-Employment 
Tax Return. If you are self-employed and do business 
in Lane County, you may need to file Form LTD, Lane 
Transit District Self-Employment Tax Return. Visit our 
Web site to download the forms, or contact us to order 
either form.

Frequently asked questions

Is my tax return private information?

Yes. All information provided on the return is confi-
dential. Any Oregon Department of Revenue employee 
who gives out confidential information without your 
permission may be convicted of a Class C felony.

I’m getting a refund this year. How long will it take to 
process my refund?

After the department begins processing full-year resi-
dent returns, allow:

• E-file return .................................... 7–12 business days
• Mail return (before April 1) ........................ 6–8 weeks
• Mail return (on or after April 1) ................8–11 weeks

Your refund may be delayed if your return needs addi-
tional review.

I’m moving. Will my refund check be forwarded to me?

Yes. If you move after you mail your return, let us 
know your new address. Download a change of 
address form from our Web site or contact us to order 
it. Remember to file a change of address form with 
your local post office.

What tax records do I need to keep?

You need to keep:

• A complete copy of your federal and state returns, 
even if you use a tax practitioner or file electroni-
cally.

• The original of all receipts, canceled checks, state-
ments, and other records you used to prepare your 
return. Save these records for at least three years 
from the due date of the return or three years from 
the date you file your return, whichever is later. If 
your return is audited, the law says you must show 
proof of your income and expenses.

• All records from the sale, purchase, or exchange of 
property and investments. Keep these records for at 
least three years after you report the gain or loss on 
the property or investment.

Frequently asked questions
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Instructions for Forms 40S and 40

For more information, download the publication 
Record-Keeping Requirements from our Web site, or to 
order it, see page 40.

What if I need to change my Oregon return after 
filing?

File an amended return. Use Form 40 or Form 40S to 
change (amend) your 2005 full-year resident return, 
and check the amended return box in the upper left 
corner of the form. You must also complete and attach 
the Oregon Amended Schedule to your 2005 amended 
return. Download the schedule and instructions from 
our Web site or to order it, see page 40.

Generally, you are allowed three years from the due 
date of the return to file an amended return to claim a 
refund. You will also use Form 40 or Form 40S and the 
Oregon Amended Schedule to amend a prior year return. 
To order prior year tax booklets or for assistance, 
please contact us.

What if I’m audited by the IRS or another state?

If the IRS or another state makes changes that increase 
your Oregon taxable income, file an amended return 
to report and pay additional tax. If the changes reduce 
Oregon taxable income, you have two years from the 
date of the audit report to file an amended return to 
claim a refund.

Step 1: Select the appropriate form.

To decide which form to use, see page 4. Not everyone 
may file Form 40S (short form).

Step 2: Fill out your federal form.

Complete your federal return first. Use the informa-
tion from your federal return to complete your Oregon 
return.

Form 40 filers. You must attach a copy (front and 
back) of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 
or 1040NR to your Oregon Form 40. Do not attach 
any federal schedules. We may ask you for copies of 
schedules or additional information later.

See “What tax records do I need to keep?” on page 6.

Step 3: Start filling out the Oregon form.

Fiscal year filers

You must use Form 40. Write the ending date of your 
fiscal year in the space provided. Write “Fiscal year” 
in blue or black ink at the top of your return.

Name and address

Please type or clearly print your name, Social Security 
number, date of birth, address, and telephone number 
on your return. If the taxpayer died in 2005 or 2006, 
check the “deceased” box next to their name.

Social Security number (SSN). The request for your SSN 
is authorized by Section 405, Title 42, of the United States 
Code. You must provide this information. It will be used 
to establish your identity for tax purposes only.

Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN). If 
the IRS has issued you an ITIN because you do not 
have a Social Security number, enter it on your Oregon 
tax return wherever your SSN is requested. If you do 

not have an ITIN, you need to request one from the 
IRS. Do not attach your ITIN application (federal Form 
W-7) to your Oregon tax return. For a copy of Form 
W-7, visit the IRS Web site at www.irs.gov, or call the 
IRS at 1-800-829-1040.

Date of birth. Enter the month, day, and year you were 
born. For example, “09/22/1976.”

Check the boxes

Filing status

1 5– Check the box next to your filing 
status. Check the same filing status 

you checked on your federal return. If you and your 
spouse do not have the same residency status, you 
may file separate returns for Oregon even if you filed 
your federal return as married filing jointly. For more 
information, see page 4.

If you are married filing separately, fill in your 
spouse’s first name, last name (first four letters only), 
and Social Security number next to box 3. Do not fill in 
your spouse’s name or Social Security number in the 
heading of the return.

If you are filing as head of household, fill in the name 
of a person who qualifies you for head of household 
filing status next to box 4. Please enter only one name.

Exemptions

6a 6b& Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself” 
and other boxes that apply. If someone 

else can claim you as a dependent, you can’t claim an 
exemption for yourself; enter -0- in the total box on 6a 
unless you have a severe disability.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability 
at the end of 2005? If so, you may claim an additional 
exemption credit. You may qualify for the severely dis-
abled exemption even if someone else can claim you 

Forms 40S and 40 instructions
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as a dependent. You are considered to have a severe 
disability if any of the following apply:

• You permanently lost the use of one or both feet, or
• You permanently lost the use of both hands, or
• You are permanently blind, or
• You have a permanent condition that, without spe-

cial equipment or outside help, limits your ability 
to:
— Earn a living, or
— Maintain a household, or
— Transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include items such as eye-
glasses, contact lenses, ordinary crutches, or hearing 
aids.

You don’t qualify for this exemption if:

• You have a temporary disability from an injury or 
illness and are expected to recover, or

• Your condition keeps you from doing your former 
work but does not prevent you from doing other 
kinds of work without special equipment.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your phy-
sician must write a letter describing your disability. 
Keep the letter with your permanent health records.

If you qualify, check the “severely disabled” exemp-
tion box. If your spouse qualifies, he or she may also 
claim this exemption. You and your spouse may also 
qualify for the loss of use of limbs credit. See instruc-
tions on page 32.

6c All dependents. Enter the number of your 
dependents in box 6c. Write their first names 

on the line. In most cases, you must claim the same 
dependents claimed on your federal return.

6d Children with a disability. You may be entitled 
to an additional personal exemption for your 

dependent child who has a qualifying disability. To 
qualify, all of the following must be true. Your child:

• Qualified as your dependent for 2005, and
• Was eligible for “early intervention services” or 

received special education as defined by the State 
Board of Education (learning disabilities or commu-
nication disorders alone do not qualify), and

• Was considered to have a disability as of December 
31, 2005, under the federal Individuals with Disabili-
ties Education Act. Eligible disabilities include:
— Autism.
— Deaf-blind.
— Hearing impairment.
— Mental retardation.

— Multiple disabilities.
— Orthopedic impairment.
— Other health impairment.
— Serious emotional disturbance.
— Traumatic brain injury.
— Visual impairment.

You must get a statement of eligibility that confirms 
one of the disabilities listed above and the cover sheet 
from one of the following:

• The child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP), 
or

• The child’s Individualized Family Service Plan 
(IFSP).

Keep the statement and cover sheet with your perma-
nent health records. Write your child’s name on line 
6d, “Disabled children only.” Also be sure to include 
the child’s name on line 6c for “All dependents.”

7a Age 65 or older, or blind. Check the boxes on 
line 7a if you or your spouse were age 65 or old-

er or were blind on December 31, 2005. You are entitled 
to a larger standard deduction on Form 40S, line 10; or 
Form 40, line 26. If you or your spouse are blind, you 
may also qualify for the severely disabled exemption 
credit. For box 6a and 6b instructions, see page 7.

7b Extension. If you filed an extension of time to 
file, check box 7b. For more information, see 

page 5.

7c Federal Form 8886. If you filed federal Form 
8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure Statement, 

check box 7c.

Form

40S 7d
Dependent. If someone else such as 
your parents can claim you as a depen-
dent, you can’t claim an exemption for 

yourself. Check box 7d on Form 40S. Also, enter -0- in 
the total box on line 6a unless you are severely dis-
abled.

Form

40 7d
Oregon Form 24. Did you file federal 
Form 8824 because you are deferring 
gain on exchanged property? If so, 

check box 7d on Form 40. Also, complete and attach 
Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary Con-
versions. Download the form from our Web site, or to 
order it, see page 40.

Form 40S filers, to complete your return go to 
page 9.

Form 40 filers, to complete your return go to 
page 24.

Children with a disability
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Or, visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR 9

Form 40S line instructions
The following instructions are for lines not fully 
explained on the form. For general Form 40S instruc-
tions, see page 7.

Amended return. If you are amending your 2005 
return, check the amended return box in the upper left 
hand corner of Form 40S.

Do not fill in cents. You must round off cents to the 
nearest dollar. For example, $99.49 becomes $99 and 
$99.50 becomes $100.

8 Income. Fill in your income amounts in the 
appropriate boxes (8a, 8b, and 8c) and enter the 

total on line 8.

8a. Wages. Fill in all pay for work. This amount 
is usually shown on Form W-2. Pay for work 
includes wages, salaries, tips, and commissions 
plus your taxable scholarships and fellowship 
grants. If you paid for housing with scholarship 
funds, you must file Form 40 to claim the sub-
traction.

8b. Unemployment. Fill in all unemployment com-
pensation. This is the amount on federal Form 
1040, line 19; Form 1040A, line 13; Form 1040EZ, 
line 3; or Form 1040NR, line 20.

8c. Interest and dividends. Add your total interest 
and dividends and enter the result on line 8c. 
Your total interest includes:
 — Any interest received or credited to your 

account that you can withdraw.
— Any interest received on tax refunds.

You can’t use Form 40S if:
— You have interest from the U.S. government, 

such as savings bond interest, or
— You received nontaxable distributions or 

capital gain distributions.

Use Form 40 instead.

8. Total income. Add the amounts shown in boxes 
8a, 8b, and 8c.

9 2005 federal tax liability. Carefully follow the 
instructions below. Don’t confuse your federal 

tax liability on your federal return with the federal tax 
withheld on your Form(s) W-2. They are not the same.

You may deduct your total federal income tax liability 
after credits, up to $4,500. Don’t fill in less than -0- or 
more than $4,500 ($2,250 if married filing separately).
1. Enter your federal tax liability 

from Form 1040, line 57; Form 
1040A, line 36; Form 1040EZ, line 
10; or Form 1040NR, line 52.

1.

2. Enter $4,500 ($2,250 if married fil-
ing separately).

2.

3. Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 2 
here and on Form 40S, line 9.

3.

Is the IRS figuring your federal tax for you? Do not 
write an amount on line 9. You will not be able to fin-
ish your Oregon return without your federal tax liabil-
ity. Complete lines 14 through 18 and lines 20 through 
22. Attach a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 
1040EZ, or 1040NR to your Oregon return. Write “Cal-
culate federal tax” in blue or black ink at the top of 
your return. We will use the information on your fed-
eral return to determine your federal tax liability, and 
we will finish your Oregon return for you. Be sure to 
attach Form(s) W-2 and any Form(s) 1099 showing Ore-
gon tax withheld to the lower front of your return. Go 
to the signature block section on page 34.

Are you amending your 2005 return? See the Oregon 
Amended Schedule instructions for more information on 
your federal tax subtraction.

10 Standard deduction. See the back of Form 40S 
for instructions unless you can be claimed as 

a dependent on another person’s return. If you are a 
dependent, use the following worksheet to figure your 
standard deduction.

Standard deduction worksheet for dependents

1. Enter your earned income. (See 
definition on the top of page 10.)

1.

2. Additional $250. 2. 250

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.

4. Minimum standard deduction. 4. 800

5. Enter the larger of line 3 or line 4. 5.

6. Basic standard deduction for 
single.

6. 1,770

7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 6. 7.

8. If you are under age 65, enter -0-. 
If you are age 65 or older, enter 
$1,200.

8.

9. If you are not blind, enter -0-. If 
you are blind, enter $1,200.

9.

10. Add lines 7, 8, and 9. Enter the 
total here and on Form 40S, line 
10; or Form 40, line 26. This is your 
standard deduction.

10.

Form 40S line instructions
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Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.10

Earned income is salaries, wages, tips, professional fees, 
or other amounts received as pay for work you actually 
perform, and any part of a scholarship or fellowship 
grant that you must include in your gross income.

12 Oregon taxable income. Caution: Is the amount 
$100,000 or more? If yes, you must use Form 40.

13 Tax from tables or rate charts. Figure the tax on 
your Oregon taxable income, line 12. See pages 

21 through 23. For examples, see page 29.

15 Earned income credit. You are allowed an Ore-
gon earned income credit only if you qualify 

for the earned income credit on your federal return. 
Your Oregon credit is 5 percent of your federal credit. 
For example, if your federal credit is $400, your Oregon 
credit is $20 ($400  × .05).

Use the following formula to compute your credit:

1. Enter your federal earned income 
credit from Form 1040, line 66a; 
Form 1040A, line 41a; or Form 
1040EZ, line 8a.

1.

2. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
5 percent (.05). Enter the result 
here and on Form 40S, line 15.

2.

The Oregon earned income credit is limited to your 
tax liability. You cannot carry over to next year any 
amount that is more than your tax liability. Any 
unused credit cannot be refunded.

Note: When this publication was printed, federal 
changes were being considered that may affect the 
Oregon Earned Income Credit. Visit our Web site, or 
call us for updated information.

16 Child and dependent care credit. You are 
allowed an Oregon credit only if you qualify 

for the federal child and dependent care credit. You 
may be able to claim the Oregon credit even if you can-
not use all of your federal credit.

Use the following worksheet:
1. Enter the amount from federal 

Form 2441, line 6; or Form 1040A, 
Schedule 2, line 6.

1.

2. Enter the decimal amount from the 
following table.

2.

 If your federal taxable Your
 income from Form 1040, decimal
 line 43; or Form 1040A, amount
 line 27 is: is:
 Over— But not over—
 $   —— $  5,000 .30
 5,000 10,000 .15
 10,000 15,000 .08
 15,000 25,000 .06
 25,000 35,000 .05
 35,000 45,000 .04
 45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
the decimal on line 2. Enter the 
result here and on Form 40S, line 
16.

3.

Note: Did you pay 2004 child care expenses in 2005? 
If so, you may be able to use that amount to increase 
your 2005 Oregon child and dependent care credit. For 
more information, please contact us.

Carryover. Your total 2005 child and dependent care 
credit can’t be more than your 2005 tax liability for 
Oregon. You can carry forward any excess credit over 
the next five years. If the excess isn’t used within five 
years, it’s lost.

17 Other credits. You may qualify for other credits 
listed below. These are identified by the numer-

ic code shown in brackets. Enter the code on line 17a 
and the amount on line 17b. For example, if you are 
claiming a $50 political contribution credit, enter “723” 
on line 17a and “$50” on line 17b. If you are claiming 
two credits, enter the second code on line 17c and the 
amount on line 17d. Fill in the total “other credits” on 
line 17. If you are claiming more than two “other cred-
its,” attach a statement to your return that identifies 
them and the amounts. Please write “see statement” in 
the space provided on line 18 (total credits line).

• Child and dependent care credit carryforward 
[code 704]. Fill in the carryover amount on line 17. 
See page 32.

• Elderly or the disabled [code 709]. You get an Ore-
gon credit only if you qualify for the federal credit. 
See page 31.

• Income taxes paid to another state [code 733]. You 
may be eligible for this credit if you paid income tax 
to another state. See page 31.

• Loss of use of limbs [code 717]. If you have a per-
manent and complete loss of the use of two limbs, 
you may take a $50 tax credit. See page 32. 

• Political contribution [code 723]. You may qualify 
for a credit for political contributions. See page 31.

• Residential energy [code 729]. You may qualify for 
a credit if you purchased certain energy-efficient 
items. See page 32.

20 Oregon income tax withheld. Fill in the total 
Oregon income tax withheld from your wages 

and other income. That is the amount shown on your 
Form(s) W-2 in box 17 or on Form 1099. Do not use the 
FICA (Social Security) tax withheld. Do not use tax 
withheld from your wages by other states. Staple a 
readable copy of your Form(s) W-2 from each job and 
any 1099 showing Oregon income tax withheld to the 
lower front of your return.

If you do not have a Form W-2 or 1099, you must pro-
vide other proof of any Oregon tax withheld. Proof 
may include a final paycheck stub or a letter from your 
employer.

Form 40S line instructions
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If you paid estimated tax for 2005, you must use Form 
40.

If you have tax to pay this year, you may want to 
increase the amount your employer withholds from 
your 2006 Oregon wages. Download the publication 
Oregon Income Tax Withholding: Some Special Cases from 
our Web site, or contact us to order it.

21 Working family child care credit. This credit 
is available to low-income working families 

with qualifying child care expenses for a qualify-
ing child under age 13 (or a child for whom you can 
claim the additional exemption credit for a child with 
a disability). The working family child care credit is a 
refundable credit. If the credit is more than your tax, 
you will receive the difference. To learn if you qualify, 
see page 36.

23 Refund. If line 22 is more than line 19, you have 
a refund. Enter your refund amount on line 23 

and then go to charitable checkoffs on page 12.

24 Tax to pay. If line 19 is more than line 22, you 
have tax to pay. You may pay with a check, 

money order, or credit card.

Check or money order

• Make your check or money order payable to “Ore-
gon Department of Revenue.”

• Write your daytime telephone number and “2005 
Oregon Form 40S” on your check.

• Please use blue or black ballpoint ink. Do not use gel 
or red ink.

• Do not send cash or a postdated check.
• Staple your payment and the Form 40-V payment 

voucher (below) to your return on top of the Form(s) 
W-2.

Credit card

You can pay your current-year balance 
due, make 2006 estimated tax payments, 
or pay prior year taxes with your Discov-
er, MasterCard, or Visa credit card. This 
option is available to all taxpayers.

To pay your taxes by credit card, contact 
one of the service providers supporting 
Oregon’s program. The service pro-
vider will charge you a convenience fee based on the 
amount of your tax payment. The service provider will 
tell you what the fee is during the transaction; you will 
have the option to continue or cancel the transaction 
before entering your credit card information. The con-
venience fee, terms, and conditions may vary between 
providers. If you complete the credit card transaction, 
you will receive a confirmation number. Please keep 
this confirmation number as proof of payment.

Choose one of the following service providers:

• Link2Gov Corporation
Go to their Web site at www.ortaxpayment.com.

• Official Payments Corporation
 Call 1-866-720-1327, or go to their Web site at 

www.officialpayments.com.

For additional information on credit card payments and 
service providers, visit our Web site, or contact us.

Payment plan. If you cannot pay in full now, we will 
work with you to set up a payment plan. For more 
information, please contact us.

Underpayment of estimated tax. If you owe $1,000 or 
more, you may owe interest on estimated tax under-
payment. If so, you must file Form 40. See page 33.

Charitable donations. If you do not have a refund but 
want to contribute to a charity listed on lines 25–30, 

OREGON INCOME TAX PAYMENT VOUCHER
150-101-172 (Rev. 12-05)

Detach Here Detach Here

Department of Revenue Use Only

•

FORM

40-V

Enter Payment Amount

$ . 0 0

•Fiscal Year Ending Payment Type (check only one):
2005 Return Prior Tax Year:Amended—Tax Year:

Last name First name and initial

Spouse’s last name if joint payment Spouse’s first name and initial 

Current mailing address City

First time fi ler New name/address Telephone number

SSN or BIN

Spouse’s SSN if joint payment

State ZIP code

Check if fi ling Form MNR

11



Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.12

mail your donation to the charity’s address listed on 
our Web site. Please do not mail your donation to the 
Department of Revenue.

Charitable checkoffs

You can donate all or part of your refund to the chari-
ties listed below. Donations will reduce your refund. 
You may donate to any or all of the charities on Form 
40S, lines 25–29. You may also donate to one of the 
charities listed under the instructions for Form 
40S, line 30. Or, you can mail your donations to the 
addresses listed on our Web site.

Form 40S 25

Form 40 55

Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your dona-
tion will fund the protection of non-
game wildlife and its habitat.

Form 40S 26

Form 40 56

Child Abuse Prevention. Your dona-
tion will fund programs through the 
Children’s Trust Fund to help prevent 

child abuse and neglect.

Form 40S 27

Form 40 57

Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your 
donation will fund research of Alzheim-
er’s and related dementias.

Form 40S 28

Form 40 58

Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence.
Your donation will fund programs 
through the Oregon Coalition Against 

Domestic and Sexual Violence.

Form 40S 29

Form 40 59

AIDS/HIV Research, Education, and Ser-
vices. Your donation will fund AIDS/
HIV research, education, and services 

by the Living With HIV Fund.

Form 40S 30

Form 40 60

Other charity. You may donate all or 
part of your refund to one of the chari-
ties listed below. Enter the code of the 

charity on Form 40S, in box 30a; or on Form 40, in 
box 60a. Enter only one code. Check the box for the 
amount you want to donate and write it on Form 40S, 
line 30; or on Form 40, line 60. Or, you can mail your 
donations to the addresses listed on our Web site.

Habitat for Humanity [code 1]. Your donation will 
help Habitat for Humanity build simple, decent, and 
affordable housing for low-income families.

Oregon Head Start Association [code 2]. Your dona-
tion will help Head Start provide services to the low-
est-income, highest-need children and families.

American Diabetes Association [code 3]. Your dona-
tion will help continue diabetes research and advocacy 
programs in Oregon.

Oregon Coast Aquarium [code 4]. Your donation will 
help fund educational programs, conservation efforts, 
and animal rehabilitation.

SMART [code 5]. Your donation will help fund the 
Start Making A Reader Today early literacy program 
for Oregon’s most vulnerable children.

SOLV [code 6]. Your donation will help fund thousands 
of projects to clean up and restore beaches, forests, riv-
ers, and neighborhoods across Oregon.

St. Vincent de Paul Society of Oregon [code 7]. Your 
donation will help provide services leading to self-
sufficiency for low-income Oregonians.

The Nature Conservancy [code 8]. Your donation will 
help purchase and restore critical habitats for Oregon’s 
at-risk plants, fish, and wildlife.

Doernbecher Children’s Hospital Foundation [code 9]. 
Your donation will fund a critical expansion of the 
cancer treatment facilities at Doernbecher.

The Oregon Humane Society [code 10]. Your donation 
will help save pets’ lives through rescue, sheltering, 
adoption, education, cruelty investigation, and advocacy.

The Salvation Army—Oregon [code 11]. Your dona-
tion to the Salvation Army ensures help for the needi-
est children and their families throughout Oregon.

The Oregon Veterans’ Home [code 12]. Your donation 
will improve the quality of life for veterans receiving 
nursing care at the Oregon Veterans’ Home.

Planned Parenthood of Oregon [code 13]. Your dona-
tion will fund family planning services and reproduc-
tive health education programs.

Oregon Lions Sight & Hearing Foundation [code 14].
Your donation will fund sight and hearing assistance, 
and provide diabetes awareness for Oregonians.

Shriners Hospitals for Children—Portland [code 15].
Your donation will help provide braces and artificial 
limbs for Oregon’s children.

Special Olympics Oregon [code 16]. Your donation 
will help provide life-changing services to thousands 
of Oregonians with intellectual disabilities.

Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation, Oregon & SW 
Washington [code 17]. Your donation funds critical breast 
cancer research, education, screening and treatment.

32 Net refund. You must reduce your refund by 
any donations on lines 25–30. The department 

cannot issue a refund if your return is filed more 
than three years after the due date of the return.

33 Direct deposit. See page 34.

To finish your return, go to the signature 
block section on page 34.

Charitable checkoffs
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CHARITABLE
CHECKOFFS

PAGE 12
I want to 
donate part 
of my tax 
refund to 
the following 
fund(s)

I authorize the Department of 
Revenue to contact this preparer 
about the processing of this return. 

8  Wages (enter in box 8a) + unemployment (enter in box 8b) + interest and dividends (enter in box 8c)

•8a + •8b + •8c = TOTAL INCOME • 8

  9  2005 federal tax liability ($0–$4,500; see instructions for the correct amount) ........ • 9

10  Standard deduction from the back of this form ........................................................... • 10

11  Add lines 9 and 10...........................................................................................................................................• 11

12  Oregon taxable income. Line 8 minus line 11. If line 11 is more than line 8, fill in -0- .....................................• 12

13  Tax. See pages 21 through 23 for tax tables or charts and enter tax here ....................................................• 13

14 Exemption credit. Multiply your total exemptions on line 6e by $154 ....................... • 14

15  Earned income credit. See instructions, page 10........................................................ • 15

16  Child and dependent care credit. See instructions, page 10....................................... • 16

17  Other credits. •17a •17b  $ •17c •17d  $ • 17

18  Total credits. Add lines 14 through 17 .............................................................................................................• 18

19  Net income tax. Line 13 minus line 18. If line 18 is more than line 13, fill in -0-..............................................• 19

20  Oregon income tax withheld. Attach your Form(s) W-2 and 1099 ........................... • 20

21 Working family child care credit from WFC, line 18.............CREDIT AMOUNT • 21

Number from WFC, line 5 •21a Amount from WFC, line 16 •21b  $

22  Total payments. Add lines 20 and 21 ..............................................................................................................• 22

23 Refund. If line 22 is more than line 19, you have a refund. Line 22 minus line 19 ................... REFUND • 23

24 Tax to pay. If line 19 is more than line 22, you have tax to pay. Line 19 minus line 22 ...........TAX TO PAY • 24

25  Oregon Nongame Wildlife ...............   $1......   $5.....   $10 .....   Other $______ • 25

26  Child Abuse Prevention...................   $1......   $5.....   $10 .....   Other $______ • 26

27  Alzheimer’s Disease Research .......   $1......   $5.....   $10 .....   Other $______ • 27

28  Stop Domestic & Sexual Violence...   $1......   $5.....   $10 .....   Other $______ • 28

29 AIDS/HIV Education and Services...   $1......   $5.....   $10 .....   Other $______ • 29

30  Other charity. Code •30a ......   $1......   $5.....   $10 .....   Other $______ • 30

31  Total. Add lines 25 through 30. Total can’t be more than your refund on line 23.............................................• 31

32 NET REFUND. Line 23 minus line 31. This is your net refund........................................... NET REFUND • 32

33  For direct deposit of your refund, see the instructions on page 34.  

• Routing No. • Account No.

These will
reduce

your refund

Staple
W-2s,
payment, 
and
payment 
voucher
here

Round to the nearest dollar

• Type of Account:   Checking   or   SavingsDIRECT
DEPOSIT

Spouse’s signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign)

Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date

Date

• License No.

Address Telephone No.
X

X

XSIGN
HERE

Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying sched ules and 
statements. To the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person other than the 
taxpayer, this declaration is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Attach Schedule 
WFC if you claim 

this credit

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

7c •   You
filed federal
Form 8886

7b •  You 
filed an 
extension

• 1
2

3

Single

Married filing jointly

Married filing 
separately

4 Head of household

5 Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child

Filing
Status

Spouse’s name

Spouse’s SSN

Person who qualifies you

Exemptions
6a Yourself......Regular ........ Severely disabled ......... 6a

6b Spouse ......Regular ........ Severely disabled  ........... b

6c All de pendents First names ________________________________• c

6d Disabled First names ________________________________• d
children only

Total

Total 6e•

•

.00

.00 .00.00

.00

.00

.00

150-101-044 (Rev. 12-05) 

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

Last name First name and initial Social Security No. (SSN)

–            –
Spouse’s last name if joint return Spouse’s first name and initial if joint return Spouse’s SSN if joint return

–            –
Telephone numberCurrent mailing address

City State ZIP code If you filed a return last year, and your 
name or address is different, check here

(              )
Country

For office use only

SHORT FORM

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00

.00

Check
only
one
box

7a    • •
     You were:   65 or older    Blind
Spouse was:   65 or older    Blind

Check
all that 
apply

7d •   Someone else 
 can claim you as 
 a dependent 

2005
Form

40S
FULL-YEAR RESIDENTS ONLY A     K      F      P

  Deceased

  Deceased

OREGON
Individual Income Tax Return

   Amended Return•

•
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• Standard deduction. Unless you are claimed as 
a dependent, or are age 65 or older, or blind, your 
stan dard de duc tion is based on your filing status as 
follows:

Single............................................................$1,770

Married filing jointly.................................... 3,545

Married filing separately

 If spouse claims standard deduction .......1,770

 If spouse claims itemized deductions ..........-0-

Head of household ....................................... 2,855

Qualifying widow(er)................................... 3,545

• Standard deduction—Dependents. If you can 
be claimed as a de pen dent on an oth er person’s 
return, your stan dard de duc tion is lim it ed to the 
larger of: 

—Your earned income plus $250, up to the max-
 i mum allowed for your filing sta tus, shown 
above, or

—$800.   

   This limit applies even if you can be, but are not, 
claimed as a dependent on another person’s return. 
See the standard deduction worksheet for depen-
dents on page 9.

Page 2 — 2005  Form 40S

• Standard deduction—Age 65 or older, or 
blind. If you are age 65 or older, or blind, you are 
en ti tled to a larger standard deduction based on your 
filing status:

1. Are you:........................    65 or older?  Blind?

 If claiming spouse’s exemption, 
is your spouse: ............  65 or older?  Blind?

2. If your
filing

status is...

And the
number of boxes 

checked above is...

Then your
standard

deduction is...
Single 1 $2,970

2 4,170
Married filing 

jointly
1 4,545
2 5,545
3 6,545
4 7,545

Married filing 
separately

1 2,770
2 3,770
3 4,770
4 5,770

Head of 
household

1 4,055
2 5,255

Qualifying
widow(er)

1 4,545
2 5,545

• Standard deduction—Nonresident aliens.
The standard deduction for non res i dent aliens, as 
defined by federal law, is -0-.

If you owe, make your check or money order payable to the Oregon De part ment of Rev e nue. 
Write your daytime telephone number and “2005 Form 40S” on your check or money order. 

Attach your payment, along with the payment voucher on page 11, to this return.

How to figure your standard deduction

Oregon Department of Rev e nue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

Mail REFUND returns 
and NO-TAX-DUE

returns to

Mail
TAX-TO-PAY

returns to 

REFUND
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-0930

150-101-044 (Rev. 12-05) 
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NOW GO TO THE BACK OF THE FORM

  8  Federal adjusted gross income. Federal Form 1040, line 37; 1040A, line 21;

      1040EZ, line 4; or 1040NR, line 35. See instructions, page 24 ................................................................... • 8

  9  Interest and dividends on state and local government bonds outside of Oregon .....• 9

10  Other additions. Identify: •10a •10b  $

•10c •10d  $ •10e •10f  $ ..........• 10

11  Total additions. Add lines 9 and 10............................................................................................................... • 11

12  Income after additions. Add lines 8 and 11 .................................................................................................. • 12

13  2005 federal tax liability ($0–$4,500; see instructions for the correct amount) ......• 13

14  Social Security included on federal Form 1040, line 20b; or Form 1040A, line 14b • 14

15  Oregon income tax refund included in federal income..............................................• 15

16  Interest from U.S. government, such as Series EE and HH bonds ..........................• 16

17  Federal pension income. See instructions, page 25. 17a % 17b % .....• 17

18  Other subtractions. Identify:  •18a •18b  $

•18c •18d  $ •18e •18f  $ ..........• 18

19  Total subtractions. Add lines 13 through 18 ................................................................................................. • 19

20  Income after subtractions. Line 12 minus line 19......................................................................................... • 20

21  Itemized deductions from federal Schedule A, line 28 ..............................................• 21

22  Special Oregon medical deduction (age restricted, see instructions, page 28) ........• 22

23  Total Oregon itemized deductions. Add lines 21 and 22 ...........................................• 23

24 State income tax or sales tax claimed as an itemized deduction.......................• 24

25  Net Oregon itemized deductions. Line 23 minus line 24..........................................• 25

          OR

26  Standard deduction from page 28.............................................................................• 26

27  Total deductions. Line 25 or line 26, whichever is larger ......................................................................... • 27

28 Oregon taxable income. Line 20 minus line 27. If line 27 is more than line 20, fill in -0- .................................... • 28

29  Tax. See instructions, page 29. Enter tax here .........................................................  • 29

      Check if tax is from:  •   Form FIA-40  or  •   Worksheet FCG  

30  Interest on certain installment sales..........................................................................• 30

31  Total tax. Add lines 29 and 30 .............................................................................................OREGON TAX • 31

ADDITIONS

Round to the nearest dollar

DEDUCTIONS If you are claiming itemized deductions, fill in lines 21–25. If you are claiming the standard deduction, fill in line 26 only.

TAX

Staple
W-2s,
payment, 
and
payment 
voucher
here

SUBTRAC TIONS

Either line 25 or 26

  Amended Return

K    F    P    Q    R

  Deceased

  Deceased

7d  You filed 
an Oregon 
Form 24

7c •   You  
filed federal 
Form 8886

7b •  You 
filed an 
extension

Fiscal year ending

150-101-040 (Rev. 12-05)

For office use only

–            –

First name and initial

Spouse’s first name and initial if joint return

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Last name Social Security No. (SSN)

Spouse’s last name if joint return Spouse’s SSN if joint return

–            –
Telephone numberCurrent mailing address

City State ZIP code If you filed a return last year, and your 
name or address is different, check here

(              )
Country

•
1
2

3

Single

Married filing jointly

Married filing 
separately

4 Head of household

5 Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child

Filing
Status
Check
only
one
box

Spouse’s name

Spouse’s SSN

Person who qualifies you

Exemptions

6a Yourself......Regular ........ Severely disabled ......... 6a

6b Spouse ......Regular ........ Severely disabled  ........... b

6c All de pendents First names ________________________________• c

6d Disabled First names ________________________________• d
children only

Total

Total 6e•

•

Check
all that 
apply

7a    • •
     You were:   65 or older   Blind
Spouse was:   65 or older   Blind

Form

402005
Full-Year Residents Only

OREGON
INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURN

.00
.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

•

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00

.00

.00
.00

•
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CHARITABLE
CHECKOFFS

PAGE 12
I want to 
donate part 
of my tax 
refund to 
the following 
fund(s)

32  Total tax from front of form, line 31...................................................................................................................32

33 Exemption credit. Multiply your total exemptions on line 6e by $154 .....................• 33

34  Earned income credit. See instructions, page 30......................................................• 34

35  Retirement income credit. See instructions, page 30................................................• 35

36  Child and dependent care credit. See instructions, page 30.....................................• 36

37  Credit for the elderly or the disabled. See instructions, page 31...............................• 37

38  Political contribution credit. See limits, page 31........................................................• 38

39  Credit for income taxes paid to another state. State: •39a Attach proof ....• 39

40  Other credits. Identify: •40a •40b  $

•40c •40d  $ •40e •40f  $ ..........• 40

41  Total credits. Add lines 33 through 40 .......................................................................................................... • 41

42  Net income tax. Line 32 minus line 41. If line 41 is more than line 32, fill in -0-........................................... • 42

43  Oregon income tax withheld. Attach Form(s) W-2 and 1099 ..................................• 43

44  Estimated tax payments for 2005. Include payments made with your extension .....• 44

45 Working family child care credit from WFC, line 18.........CREDIT AMOUNT • 45

Number from WFC, line 5 •45a Amount from WFC, line 16 •45b  $

46  Total payments. Add lines 43, 44, and 45 .................................................................................................... • 46

47 Overpayment. If line 42 is less than line 46, you overpaid. Line 46 minus line 42.... OVERPAYMENT • 47

48 Tax to pay. If line 42 is more than line 46, you have tax to pay. Line 42 minus line 46.....TAX TO PAY • 48

49  Penalty and interest for filing or paying late. See instructions, page 33...................... 49

50  Interest on estimated tax underpayment. Attach Form 10 and check box  .....• 50

      Exception # from Form 10, line 1 •50a

51  Total penalty and interest due. Add lines 49 and 50..................................................................................... • 51

52 Amount you owe. Line 48 plus line 51 ................................................................ AMOUNT YOU OWE • 52

53  Refund. Is line 47 more than line 51? If so, line 47 minus line 51 ..........................  . . . . . . . . REFUND • 53

54 Estimated tax. Fill in the part of line 53 you want applied to 2006 estimated tax .....• 54

55  Oregon Nongame Wildlife ...............   $1.....   $5.....   $10.....   Other $______ • 55

56  Child Abuse Prevention...................   $1.....   $5.....   $10.....   Other $______ • 56

57  Alzheimer’s Disease Research .......   $1.....   $5.....   $10.....   Other $______ • 57

58  Stop Domestic & Sexual Violence...   $1.....   $5.....   $10.....   Other $______ • 58

59  AIDS/HIV Education and Services ...   $1.....   $5.....   $10.....   Other $______ • 59

60  Other charity. Code •60a .......   $1.....   $5.....   $10.....   Other $______ • 60

61  Total. Add lines 54 through 60. Total can’t be more than your refund on line 53.......................................... • 61

62 NET REFUND. Line 53 minus line 61. This is your net refund........................................  NET REFUND • 62

63  For direct deposit of your refund, see the instructions on page 34.                      • Type of Account:   Checking   or   Savings

Page 2 — 2005  Form 40

CREDITS

ADD TOGETHER

DIRECT
DEPOSIT

PAYMENTS,
PENALTY, AND 
INTEREST
Attach Schedule 
WFC if you claim 

this credit

ADD TOGETHER

These will
reduce

your refund

Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including ac companying sched ules 
and statements. To the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person 
other than the taxpayer, this dec laration is based on all in formation of which the preparer has any knowledge.

 I authorize the Department of Rev-
enue to contact this preparer about 
the processing of this return. 

Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date

Address Telephone No.X
X

Spouse’s signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign) Date

X

Important: Attach a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040NR.

If you owe, make your check or money order payable to the Oregon De part ment of Rev enue.
Write your daytime telephone number and “2005 Form 40” on your check or money order. 

Attach your payment, along with the payment voucher on page 11, to this return.

• Routing No. • Account No.

• License No.

.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00

150-101-040 (Rev. 12-05)

Oregon Department of Rev enue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

Mail REFUND returns
and NO-TAX-DUE

returns to

Mail
TAX-TO-PAY

returns to

REFUND
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-0930

.00

.00

.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
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Or, visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR 21

If income from 
Form 40S, line 12; 

or Form 40, 
line 28 is:

And you
use column:

At
least:

But
less

than: S J
Your tax is:

If income from 
Form 40S, line 12; 

or Form 40, 
line 28 is:

And you
use column:

At
least:

But
less

than: S J
Your tax is:

If income from 
Form 40S, line 12; 

or Form 40, 
line 28 is:

And you
use column:

At
least:

But
less

than: S J
Your tax is:

If income from 
Form 40S, line 12; 

or Form 40, 
line 28 is:

And you
use column:

At
least:

But
less

than: S J
Your tax is:

2005 Tax Tables
for Forms 40S & 40 S

Use column S if you are:
• Single
• Married filing separately J

Use column J if you are:
• Married filing jointly
• Head of household
• Widow(er) with dependent child

0 – 20 0 0
20 – 50 2 2 

50 – 100 4 4 
100 – 200 8 8 
200 – 300 13 13 
300 – 400 18 18 
400 – 500 23 23 
500 – 600 28 28 
600 – 700 33 33 
700 – 800 38 38 
800 – 900 43 43 
900 – 1,000 48 48 

1,000 – 1,100 53 53 
1,100 – 1,200 58 58 
1,200 – 1,300 63 63 
1,300 – 1,400 68 68 
1,400 – 1,500 73 73 
1,500 – 1,600 78 78 
1,600 – 1,700 83 83 
1,700 – 1,800 88 88 
1,800 – 1,900 93 93 
1,900 – 2,000 98 98 

2,000 – 2,100 103 103 
2,100 – 2,200 108 108 
2,200 – 2,300 113 113 
2,300 – 2,400 118 118 
2,400 – 2,500 123 123 
2,500 – 2,600 128 128 
2,600 – 2,700 133 133 
2,700 – 2,800 140 138 
2,800 – 2,900 147 143 
2,900 – 3,000 154 148 

3,000 – 3,100 161 153 
3,100 – 3,200 168 158 
3,200 – 3,300 175 163 
3,300 – 3,400 182 168 
3,400 – 3,500 189 173 
3,500 – 3,600 196 178 
3,600 – 3,700 203 183 
3,700 – 3,800 210 188 
3,800 – 3,900 217 193 
3,900 – 4,000 224 198 

$ 0 $ 4,000 $ 9,000 $ 14,000

$ 50

$ 1,000

$ 2,000

$ 3,000

$ 5,000

$ 6,000

$ 7,000

$ 8,000

$ 10,000

$ 11,000

$ 12,000

$ 13,000

$ 15,000

$ 16,000

$ 17,000

$ 18,000

4,000 – 4,100 231 203 
4,100 – 4,200 238 208 
4,200 – 4,300 245 213 
4,300 – 4,400 252 218 
4,400 – 4,500 259 223 
4,500 – 4,600 266 228 
4,600 – 4,700 273 233 
4,700 – 4,800 280 238 
4,800 – 4,900 287 243 
4,900 – 5,000 294 248 

5,000 – 5,100 301 253 
5,100 – 5,200 308 258 
5,200 – 5,300 315 263 
5,300 – 5,400 322 269 
5,400 – 5,500 329 276 
5,500 – 5,600 336 283 
5,600 – 5,700 343 290 
5,700 – 5,800 350 297 
5,800 – 5,900 357 304 
5,900 – 6,000 364 311 

6,000 – 6,100 371 318 
6,100 – 6,200 378 325 
6,200 – 6,300 385 332 
6,300 – 6,400 392 339 
6,400 – 6,500 399 346 
6,500 – 6,600 406 353 
6,600 – 6,700 413 360 
6,700 – 6,800 422 367 
6,800 – 6,900 431 374 
6,900 – 7,000 440 381 

7,000 – 7,100 449 388 
7,100 – 7,200 458 395 
7,200 – 7,300 467 402 
7,300 – 7,400 476 409 
7,400 – 7,500 485 416 
7,500 – 7,600 494 423 
7,600 – 7,700 503 430 
7,700 – 7,800 512 437 
7,800 – 7,900 521 444 
7,900 – 8,000 530 451 

8,000 – 8,100 539 458 
8,100 – 8,200 548 465 
8,200 – 8,300 557 472 
8,300 – 8,400 566 479 
8,400 – 8,500 575 486 
8,500 – 8,600 584 493 
8,600 – 8,700 593 500 
8,700 – 8,800 602 507 
8,800 – 8,900 611 514 
8,900 – 9,000 620 521 

9,000 – 9,100 629 528 
9,100 – 9,200 638 535 
9,200 – 9,300 647 542 
9,300 – 9,400 656 549 
9,400 – 9,500 665 556 
9,500 – 9,600 674 563 
9,600 – 9,700 683 570 
9,700 – 9,800 692 577 
9,800 – 9,900 701 584 
9,900 – 10,000 710 591 

10,000 – 10,100 719 598 
10,100 – 10,200 728 605 
10,200 – 10,300 737 612 
10,300 – 10,400 746 619 
10,400 – 10,500 755 626 
10,500 – 10,600 764 633 
10,600 – 10,700 773 640 
10,700 – 10,800 782 647 
10,800 – 10,900 791 654 
10,900 – 11,000 800 661 

11,000 – 11,100 809 668 
11,100 – 11,200 818 675 
11,200 – 11,300 827 682 
11,300 – 11,400 836 689 
11,400 – 11,500 845 696 
11,500 – 11,600 854 703 
11,600 – 11,700 863 710 
11,700 – 11,800 872 717 
11,800 – 11,900 881 724 
11,900 – 12,000 890 731 

12,000 – 12,100 899 738 
12,100 – 12,200 908 745 
12,200 – 12,300 917 752 
12,300 – 12,400 926 759 
12,400 – 12,500 935 766 
12,500 – 12,600 944 773 
12,600 – 12,700 953 780 
12,700 – 12,800 962 787 
12,800 – 12,900 971 794 
12,900 – 13,000 980 801 

13,000 – 13,100 989 808 
13,100 – 13,200 998 815 
13,200 – 13,300 1,007 822 
13,300 – 13,400 1,016 830 
13,400 – 13,500 1,025 839 
13,500 – 13,600 1,034 848 
13,600 – 13,700 1,043 857 
13,700 – 13,800 1,052 866 
13,800 – 13,900 1,061 875 
13,900 – 14,000 1,070 884 

14,000 – 14,100 1,079 893 
14,100 – 14,200 1,088 902 
14,200 – 14,300 1,097 911 
14,300 – 14,400 1,106 920 
14,400 – 14,500 1,115 929 
14,500 – 14,600 1,124 938 
14,600 – 14,700 1,133 947 
14,700 – 14,800 1,142 956 
14,800 – 14,900 1,151 965 
14,900 – 15,000 1,160 974 

15,000 – 15,100 1,169 983 
15,100 – 15,200 1,178 992 
15,200 – 15,300 1,187 1,001 
15,300 – 15,400 1,196 1,010 
15,400 – 15,500 1,205 1,019 
15,500 – 15,600 1,214 1,028 
15,600 – 15,700 1,223 1,037 
15,700 – 15,800 1,232 1,046 
15,800 – 15,900 1,241 1,055 
15,900 – 16,000 1,250 1,064 

16,000 – 16,100 1,259 1,073 
16,100 – 16,200 1,268 1,082 
16,200 – 16,300 1,277 1,091 
16,300 – 16,400 1,286 1,100 
16,400 – 16,500 1,295 1,109 
16,500 – 16,600 1,304 1,118 
16,600 – 16,700 1,313 1,127 
16,700 – 16,800 1,322 1,136 
16,800 – 16,900 1,331 1,145 
16,900 – 17,000 1,340 1,154 

17,000 – 17,100 1,349 1,163 
17,100 – 17,200 1,358 1,172 
17,200 – 17,300 1,367 1,181 
17,300 – 17,400 1,376 1,190 
17,400 – 17,500 1,385 1,199 
17,500 – 17,600 1,394 1,208 
17,600 – 17,700 1,403 1,217 
17,700 – 17,800 1,412 1,226 
17,800 – 17,900 1,421 1,235 
17,900 – 18,000 1,430 1,244 

18,000 – 18,100 1,439 1,253 
18,100 – 18,200 1,448 1,262 
18,200 – 18,300 1,457 1,271 
18,300 – 18,400 1,466 1,280 
18,400 – 18,500 1,475 1,289 
18,500 – 18,600 1,484 1,298 
18,600 – 18,700 1,493 1,307 
18,700 – 18,800 1,502 1,316 
18,800 – 18,900 1,511 1,325 
18,900 – 19,000 1,520 1,334 

40S/40 Tax Tables
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Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.22

2005 Tax Tables
for Forms 40S & 40 S

Use column S if you are:
• Single
• Married filing separately J

Use column J if you are:
• Married filing jointly
• Head of household
• Widow(er) with dependent child

19,000 – 19,100 1,529 1,343 
19,100 – 19,200 1,538 1,352 
19,200 – 19,300 1,547 1,361 
19,300 – 19,400 1,556 1,370 
19,400 – 19,500 1,565 1,379 
19,500 – 19,600 1,574 1,388 
19,600 – 19,700 1,583 1,397 
19,700 – 19,800 1,592 1,406 
19,800 – 19,900 1,601 1,415 
19,900 – 20,000 1,610 1,424 

20,000 – 20,100 1,619 1,433 
20,100 – 20,200 1,628 1,442 
20,200 – 20,300 1,637 1,451 
20,300 – 20,400 1,646 1,460 
20,400 – 20,500 1,655 1,469 
20,500 – 20,600 1,664 1,478 
20,600 – 20,700 1,673 1,487 
20,700 – 20,800 1,682 1,496 
20,800 – 20,900 1,691 1,505 
20,900 – 21,000 1,700 1,514 

21,000 – 21,100 1,709 1,523 
21,100 – 21,200 1,718 1,532 
21,200 – 21,300 1,727 1,541 
21,300 – 21,400 1,736 1,550 
21,400 – 21,500 1,745 1,559 
21,500 – 21,600 1,754 1,568 
21,600 – 21,700 1,763 1,577 
21,700 – 21,800 1,772 1,586 
21,800 – 21,900 1,781 1,595 
21,900 – 22,000 1,790 1,604 

22,000 – 22,100 1,799 1,613 
22,100 – 22,200 1,808 1,622 
22,200 – 22,300 1,817 1,631 
22,300 – 22,400 1,826 1,640 
22,400 – 22,500 1,835 1,649 
22,500 – 22,600 1,844 1,658 
22,600 – 22,700 1,853 1,667 
22,700 – 22,800 1,862 1,676 
22,800 – 22,900 1,871 1,685 
22,900 – 23,000 1,880 1,694 

23,000 – 23,100 1,889 1,703 
23,100 – 23,200 1,898 1,712 
23,200 – 23,300 1,907 1,721 
23,300 – 23,400 1,916 1,730 
23,400 – 23,500 1,925 1,739 
23,500 – 23,600 1,934 1,748 
23,600 – 23,700 1,943 1,757 
23,700 – 23,800 1,952 1,766 
23,800 – 23,900 1,961 1,775 
23,900 – 24,000 1,970 1,784 

$ 19,000 $ 24,000 $ 29,000 $ 34,000

$ 20,000

$ 21,000

$ 22,000

$ 23,000

$ 25,000

$ 26,000

$ 27,000

$ 28,000

$ 30,000

$ 31,000

$ 32,000

$ 33,000

$ 35,000

$ 36,000

$ 37,000

$ 38,000

24,000 – 24,100 1,979 1,793 
24,100 – 24,200 1,988 1,802 
24,200 – 24,300 1,997 1,811 
24,300 – 24,400 2,006 1,820 
24,400 – 24,500 2,015 1,829 
24,500 – 24,600 2,024 1,838 
24,600 – 24,700 2,033 1,847 
24,700 – 24,800 2,042 1,856 
24,800 – 24,900 2,051 1,865 
24,900 – 25,000 2,060 1,874 

25,000 – 25,100 2,069 1,883 
25,100 – 25,200 2,078 1,892 
25,200 – 25,300 2,087 1,901 
25,300 – 25,400 2,096 1,910 
25,400 – 25,500 2,105 1,919 
25,500 – 25,600 2,114 1,928 
25,600 – 25,700 2,123 1,937 
25,700 – 25,800 2,132 1,946 
25,800 – 25,900 2,141 1,955 
25,900 – 26,000 2,150 1,964 

26,000 – 26,100 2,159 1,973 
26,100 – 26,200 2,168 1,982 
26,200 – 26,300 2,177 1,991 
26,300 – 26,400 2,186 2,000 
26,400 – 26,500 2,195 2,009 
26,500 – 26,600 2,204 2,018 
26,600 – 26,700 2,213 2,027 
26,700 – 26,800 2,222 2,036 
26,800 – 26,900 2,231 2,045 
26,900 – 27,000 2,240 2,054 

27,000 – 27,100 2,249 2,063 
27,100 – 27,200 2,258 2,072 
27,200 – 27,300 2,267 2,081 
27,300 – 27,400 2,276 2,090 
27,400 – 27,500 2,285 2,099 
27,500 – 27,600 2,294 2,108 
27,600 – 27,700 2,303 2,117 
27,700 – 27,800 2,312 2,126 
27,800 – 27,900 2,321 2,135 
27,900 – 28,000 2,330 2,144 

28,000 – 28,100 2,339 2,153 
28,100 – 28,200 2,348 2,162 
28,200 – 28,300 2,357 2,171 
28,300 – 28,400 2,366 2,180 
28,400 – 28,500 2,375 2,189 
28,500 – 28,600 2,384 2,198 
28,600 – 28,700 2,393 2,207 
28,700 – 28,800 2,402 2,216 
28,800 – 28,900 2,411 2,225 
28,900 – 29,000 2,420 2,234 

29,000 – 29,100 2,429 2,243 
29,100 – 29,200 2,438 2,252 
29,200 – 29,300 2,447 2,261 
29,300 – 29,400 2,456 2,270 
29,400 – 29,500 2,465 2,279 
29,500 – 29,600 2,474 2,288 
29,600 – 29,700 2,483 2,297 
29,700 – 29,800 2,492 2,306 
29,800 – 29,900 2,501 2,315 
29,900 – 30,000 2,510 2,324 

30,000 – 30,100 2,519 2,333 
30,100 – 30,200 2,528 2,342 
30,200 – 30,300 2,537 2,351 
30,300 – 30,400 2,546 2,360 
30,400 – 30,500 2,555 2,369 
30,500 – 30,600 2,564 2,378 
30,600 – 30,700 2,573 2,387 
30,700 – 30,800 2,582 2,396 
30,800 – 30,900 2,591 2,405 
30,900 – 31,000 2,600 2,414 

31,000 – 31,100 2,609 2,423 
31,100 – 31,200 2,618 2,432 
31,200 – 31,300 2,627 2,441 
31,300 – 31,400 2,636 2,450 
31,400 – 31,500 2,645 2,459 
31,500 – 31,600 2,654 2,468 
31,600 – 31,700 2,663 2,477 
31,700 – 31,800 2,672 2,486 
31,800 – 31,900 2,681 2,495 
31,900 – 32,000 2,690 2,504 

32,000 – 32,100 2,699 2,513 
32,100 – 32,200 2,708 2,522 
32,200 – 32,300 2,717 2,531 
32,300 – 32,400 2,726 2,540 
32,400 – 32,500 2,735 2,549 
32,500 – 32,600 2,744 2,558 
32,600 – 32,700 2,753 2,567 
32,700 – 32,800 2,762 2,576 
32,800 – 32,900 2,771 2,585 
32,900 – 33,000 2,780 2,594 

33,000 – 33,100 2,789 2,603 
33,100 – 33,200 2,798 2,612 
33,200 – 33,300 2,807 2,621 
33,300 – 33,400 2,816 2,630 
33,400 – 33,500 2,825 2,639 
33,500 – 33,600 2,834 2,648 
33,600 – 33,700 2,843 2,657 
33,700 – 33,800 2,852 2,666 
33,800 – 33,900 2,861 2,675 
33,900 – 34,000 2,870 2,684 

34,000 – 34,100 2,879 2,693 
34,100 – 34,200 2,888 2,702 
34,200 – 34,300 2,897 2,711 
34,300 – 34,400 2,906 2,720 
34,400 – 34,500 2,915 2,729 
34,500 – 34,600 2,924 2,738 
34,600 – 34,700 2,933 2,747 
34,700 – 34,800 2,942 2,756 
34,800 – 34,900 2,951 2,765 
34,900 – 35,000 2,960 2,774 

35,000 – 35,100 2,969 2,783 
35,100 – 35,200 2,978 2,792 
35,200 – 35,300 2,987 2,801 
35,300 – 35,400 2,996 2,810 
35,400 – 35,500 3,005 2,819 
35,500 – 35,600 3,014 2,828 
35,600 – 35,700 3,023 2,837 
35,700 – 35,800 3,032 2,846 
35,800 – 35,900 3,041 2,855 
35,900 – 36,000 3,050 2,864 

36,000 – 36,100 3,059 2,873 
36,100 – 36,200 3,068 2,882 
36,200 – 36,300 3,077 2,891 
36,300 – 36,400 3,086 2,900 
36,400 – 36,500 3,095 2,909 
36,500 – 36,600 3,104 2,918 
36,600 – 36,700 3,113 2,927 
36,700 – 36,800 3,122 2,936 
36,800 – 36,900 3,131 2,945 
36,900 – 37,000 3,140 2,954 

37,000 – 37,100 3,149 2,963 
37,100 – 37,200 3,158 2,972 
37,200 – 37,300 3,167 2,981 
37,300 – 37,400 3,176 2,990 
37,400 – 37,500 3,185 2,999 
37,500 – 37,600 3,194 3,008 
37,600 – 37,700 3,203 3,017 
37,700 – 37,800 3,212 3,026 
37,800 – 37,900 3,221 3,035 
37,900 – 38,000 3,230 3,044 

38,000 – 38,100 3,239 3,053 
38,100 – 38,200 3,248 3,062 
38,200 – 38,300 3,257 3,071 
38,300 – 38,400 3,266 3,080 
38,400 – 38,500 3,275 3,089 
38,500 – 38,600 3,284 3,098 
38,600 – 38,700 3,293 3,107 
38,700 – 38,800 3,302 3,116 
38,800 – 38,900 3,311 3,125 
38,900 – 39,000 3,320 3,134 

If income from 
Form 40S, line 12; 

or Form 40, 
line 28 is:

And you
use column:

At
least:

But
less

than: S J
Your tax is:

If income from 
Form 40S, line 12; 

or Form 40, 
line 28 is:

And you
use column:

At
least:

But
less

than: S J
Your tax is:

If income from 
Form 40S, line 12; 

or Form 40, 
line 28 is:

And you
use column:

At
least:

But
less

than: S J
Your tax is:

If income from 
Form 40S, line 12; 

or Form 40, 
line 28 is:

And you
use column:

At
least:

But
less

than: S J
Your tax is:
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If income from 
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If income from 
Form 40S, line 12; 
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If income from 
Form 40S, line 12; 

or Form 40, 
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But
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Your tax is:

If income from 
Form 40S, line 12; 

or Form 40, 
line 28 is:

And you
use column:

At
least:

But
less

than: S J
Your tax is:

2005 Tax Tables
for Forms 40S & 40 S

Use column S if you are:
• Single
• Married filing separately J

Use column J if you are:
• Married filing jointly
• Head of household
• Widow(er) with dependent child

39,000 – 39,100 3,329 3,143 
39,100 – 39,200 3,338 3,152 
39,200 – 39,300 3,347 3,161 
39,300 – 39,400 3,356 3,170 
39,400 – 39,500 3,365 3,179 
39,500 – 39,600 3,374 3,188 
39,600 – 39,700 3,383 3,197 
39,700 – 39,800 3,392 3,206 
39,800 – 39,900 3,401 3,215 
39,900 – 40,000 3,410 3,224 

40,000 – 40,100 3,419 3,233 
40,100 – 40,200 3,428 3,242 
40,200 – 40,300 3,437 3,251 
40,300 – 40,400 3,446 3,260 
40,400 – 40,500 3,455 3,269 
40,500 – 40,600 3,464 3,278 
40,600 – 40,700 3,473 3,287 
40,700 – 40,800 3,482 3,296 
40,800 – 40,900 3,491 3,305 
40,900 – 41,000 3,500 3,314 

41,000 – 41,100 3,509 3,323 
41,100 – 41,200 3,518 3,332 
41,200 – 41,300 3,527 3,341 
41,300 – 41,400 3,536 3,350 
41,400 – 41,500 3,545 3,359 
41,500 – 41,600 3,554 3,368 
41,600 – 41,700 3,563 3,377 
41,700 – 41,800 3,572 3,386 
41,800 – 41,900 3,581 3,395 
41,900 – 42,000 3,590 3,404 

$ 39,000 $ 42,000 $ 45,000 $ 48,000

$ 40,000

$ 41,000

$ 43,000

$ 44,000

$ 46,000

$ 47,000

$ 49,000

42,000 – 42,100 3,599 3,413 
42,100 – 42,200 3,608 3,422 
42,200 – 42,300 3,617 3,431 
42,300 – 42,400 3,626 3,440 
42,400 – 42,500 3,635 3,449 
42,500 – 42,600 3,644 3,458 
42,600 – 42,700 3,653 3,467 
42,700 – 42,800 3,662 3,476 
42,800 – 42,900 3,671 3,485 
42,900 – 43,000 3,680 3,494 

43,000 – 43,100 3,689 3,503 
43,100 – 43,200 3,698 3,512 
43,200 – 43,300 3,707 3,521 
43,300 – 43,400 3,716 3,530 
43,400 – 43,500 3,725 3,539 
43,500 – 43,600 3,734 3,548 
43,600 – 43,700 3,743 3,557 
43,700 – 43,800 3,752 3,566 
43,800 – 43,900 3,761 3,575 
43,900 – 44,000 3,770 3,584 

44,000 – 44,100 3,779 3,593 
44,100 – 44,200 3,788 3,602 
44,200 – 44,300 3,797 3,611 
44,300 – 44,400 3,806 3,620 
44,400 – 44,500 3,815 3,629 
44,500 – 44,600 3,824 3,638 
44,600 – 44,700 3,833 3,647 
44,700 – 44,800 3,842 3,656 
44,800 – 44,900 3,851 3,665 
44,900 – 45,000 3,860 3,674 

45,000 – 45,100 3,869 3,683 
45,100 – 45,200 3,878 3,692 
45,200 – 45,300 3,887 3,701 
45,300 – 45,400 3,896 3,710 
45,400 – 45,500 3,905 3,719 
45,500 – 45,600 3,914 3,728 
45,600 – 45,700 3,923 3,737 
45,700 – 45,800 3,932 3,746 
45,800 – 45,900 3,941 3,755 
45,900 – 46,000 3,950 3,764 

46,000 – 46,100 3,959 3,773 
46,100 – 46,200 3,968 3,782 
46,200 – 46,300 3,977 3,791 
46,300 – 46,400 3,986 3,800 
46,400 – 46,500 3,995 3,809 
46,500 – 46,600 4,004 3,818 
46,600 – 46,700 4,013 3,827 
46,700 – 46,800 4,022 3,836 
46,800 – 46,900 4,031 3,845 
46,900 – 47,000 4,040 3,854 

47,000 – 47,100 4,049 3,863 
47,100 – 47,200 4,058 3,872 
47,200 – 47,300 4,067 3,881 
47,300 – 47,400 4,076 3,890 
47,400 – 47,500 4,085 3,899 
47,500 – 47,600 4,094 3,908 
47,600 – 47,700 4,103 3,917 
47,700 – 47,800 4,112 3,926 
47,800 – 47,900 4,121 3,935 
47,900 – 48,000 4,130 3,944 

48,000 – 48,100 4,139 3,953 
48,100 – 48,200 4,148 3,962 
48,200 – 48,300 4,157 3,971 
48,300 – 48,400 4,166 3,980 
48,400 – 48,500 4,175 3,989 
48,500 – 48,600 4,184 3,998 
48,600 – 48,700 4,193 4,007 
48,700 – 48,800 4,202 4,016 
48,800 – 48,900 4,211 4,025 
48,900 – 49,000 4,220 4,034 

49,000 – 49,100 4,229 4,043 
49,100 – 49,200 4,238 4,052 
49,200 – 49,300 4,247 4,061 
49,300 – 49,400 4,256 4,070 
49,400 – 49,500 4,265 4,079 
49,500 – 49,600 4,274 4,088 
49,600 – 49,700 4,283 4,097 
49,700 – 49,800 4,292 4,106 
49,800 – 49,900 4,301 4,115 
49,900 – 50,001 4,310 4,124 

2005 Tax Rate Charts

S JChart S:

For persons filing

Single or Married filing separately

Chart J:

For persons filing
Jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying

widow(er) with dependent child

If your taxable income is: Your tax is:

Over $50,000 ........................$4,314 plus 9% of excess 

 over $50,000

If your taxable income is: Your tax is:

Over $50,000 ........................$4,128 plus 9% of excess 

 over $50,000

40S/40 Tax Tables
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The following instructions are for lines not fully 
explained on the form. For general Form 40 instruc-
tions, see page 7.

Amended return. If you are amending your 2005 
return, check the amended return box in the upper left 
corner of Form 40.

Do not fill in cents. You must round off cents to the 
nearest dollar. For example, $99.49 becomes $99, and 
$99.50 becomes $100.

8 Federal adjusted gross income. Enter your 
federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, 

line 37; Form 1040A, line 21; Form 1040EZ, line 4; or 
Form 1040NR, line 35. You must attach a copy (front 
and back) of your federal return to your Oregon Form 
40. This helps us verify your income and process your 
return faster.

Additions

Generally, additions are items not taxed by the federal 
government but taxed by Oregon. Additions increase 
the income taxed by Oregon.

9 Interest and dividends on state and local gov-
ernment bonds outside of Oregon. You must 

add to Oregon income any interest and dividends you 
received from state and local governments outside 
Oregon. You don’t pay federal tax on this interest, but 
you do pay Oregon tax.

Example: Include interest from state of Washing-
ton bonds or from San Francisco city bonds. Do not 
include interest from Oregon government bonds or 
interest from U.S. territories or possessions (such as 
Guam, Puerto Rico, or the Virgin Islands).

10 Other additions. You may need to report one 
or more other additions explained here. Please 

identify the addition(s) using the numeric code shown 
in brackets. Enter the code on line 10a and the amount 
on line 10b. For example, if you are reporting a $200 
addition for claim of right, enter 103 on line 10a and 
$200 on line 10b. If you are reporting two additions, 
enter the second numeric code on line 10c and the 
amount on line 10d. Fill in the total amount of “other 
additions” on line 10. If you are claiming more than 
three “other additions,” attach a statement to your 
return that identifies the other additions and the 
amounts. Please write “see statement” in the space 
provided on line 11 (total additions line).

• Federal deduction for long-term care insurance pre-
miums [code 104]. Will you claim an Oregon long-
term care insurance credit this year? Did you claim a 
federal deduction for the premiums? If so, you must 
add to Oregon income the amount of premiums that 

resulted in a tax benefit on your federal return. Down-
load the publication Long-Term Care Insurance Premiums 
Tax Credit from our Web site or contact us to order it.

• Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor 
child [code 107]. Did you report interest or divi-
dends of your minor child on your federal return? If 
so, you must add to Oregon income the amount that 
is subject to the special federal tax. Fill in the smaller 
of line 7 or 8 from federal Form 8814. Add to that any 
interest or dividends your child received from state 
and local governments outside Oregon.

• Federal income tax refunds [code 109]. Did you 
get a federal tax refund in 2005 because you filed 
an amended federal return for a prior year or were 
audited? If so, you must add the amount of refund for 
which you received an Oregon tax benefit in a prior 
year. You received an Oregon tax benefit if the amount 
of the refund was claimed as part of your federal tax 
subtraction on your Oregon return for the prior year.

• Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction 
[code 105]. Did you claim gambling losses as an 
itemized deduction on your federal Schedule A? If 
so, you must add the gambling losses claimed as an 
itemized deduction that are more than the gambling 
winnings taxed by Oregon. For more information, 
see Oregon Lottery on page 27.

• Lump-sum payment from a qualified retirement 
plan [code 115]. Did you complete federal Form 4972 
to figure the tax on a qualified lump-sum distribu-
tion using the 20 percent capital gain election and/
or the 10-year tax option? If so, part or all of your 
lump-sum distribution will not be included in your 
federal adjusted gross income (AGI). The taxable 
amount of your distribution (federal Form 1099-R, 
box 2a) that is not included in your federal AGI is 
taxable to Oregon. Fill in the excluded amount on 
line 10 of your Oregon Form 40. Attach a copy of fed-
eral Form 1099-R to your Oregon return along with 
your Form(s) W-2 and other Form(s) 1099. For more 
information, please contact us.

• The following additions apply to only a few people 
and are not explained in this booklet. For more 
information, please contact us.

— Basis adjustments [code 101].
• Depletion in excess of property basis.
• Depreciation difference for Oregon.
• Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property 

with a different basis for federal and Oregon 
purposes.

— Claim of right income repayments [code 103].
— Disposition of inherited Oregon farmland or for-

estland [code 106].

Form 40 line instructions

Form 40 line instructions
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— Domestic production activities deduction [code 
102].

— Fiduciary adjustments [code 100].
• Accumulation distribution from a trust.
• Federal estate tax on income in respect of a 

decedent.
• Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and 

trusts.
— Individual Development Account [code 113].
— Non-Oregon source net operating loss [code 116].
— Non-qualified withdrawal from an Oregon 529 

College Savings Network account [code 117].
— Oregon partnership or S corporation modifica-

tions [code 119].
— Passive activity losses [code 120].
— Itemized or business deduction addback for Ore-

gon credits [code 104].
• Child Care Fund contributions.
• Oregon Cultural Trust.

— Unused business credit [code 122].

Subtractions

Generally, subtractions are items the federal govern-
ment taxes but Oregon does not. Subtractions reduce 
the income taxed by Oregon.

13 2005 federal tax liability. Carefully follow the 
instructions below. Don’t confuse your federal 

tax liability on your federal return with the federal tax 
withheld on your Form(s) W-2. They are not the same.

You may deduct your total federal income tax liability, 
after credits, up to $4,500. Don’t fill in less than -0- or 
more than $4,500 ($2,250 if married filing separately).
1. Enter your federal tax liability 

from Form 1040, line 57; Form 
1040A, line 36; Form 1040EZ, line 
10; or Form 1040NR, line 52.

1.

2. Enter your tax on qualified retire-
ment plans, Form 1040, line 60; or 
Form 1040NR, line 55; any recap-
ture taxes you included on the 
dotted line of Form 1040, line 63; 
or Form 1040NR, line 58; and the 
amount on Form 1040NR, line 53.

2.

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.

4. Enter $4,500 ($2,250 if married fil-
ing separately).

4.

5. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 4 
here and on Form 40, line 13.

5.

Caution: Don’t include any of the following on line 2 
above:

• Self-employment tax.
• Social Security and Medicare tax on tips.
• Advance earned income credit payments.

• Household employment taxes.

Are you amending your 2005 return? See the Oregon 
Amended Schedule instructions for more information on 
your federal tax subtraction.

Did you pay additional federal tax in 2005 because you 
were audited or you filed an amended return? If so, 
read line 18 instructions for federal tax from a prior 
year on page 26.

The total of your federal tax subtraction (line 13), your 
federal tax from a prior year (line 18), and your foreign 
tax subtraction (line 18) cannot be more than $4,500 
($2,250 if married filing separately). The foreign tax 
portion of your federal tax subtraction cannot be more 
than $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing separately).

14 Social Security and Tier 1 Railroad Retirement 
Board benefits income. Write in the amount, if 

any, from federal Form 1040, line 20b; or Form 1040A, 
line 14b. If you have Tier 2, windfall/vested dual, or 
supplemental Railroad Retirement Board benefits, 
contact us for more information.

15 Oregon income tax refund included in federal 
income. Fill in your Oregon state income tax 

refund from your federal Form 1040, line 10. Do not 
include other states’ refunds or any local or county 
tax refunds.

16 Interest and dividends from U.S. government. Fill 
in interest and dividends from the U.S. govern-

ment that you included on your federal return. Include 
U.S. government interest and dividends you received 
through partnerships or grantor trusts. Do not include 
interest on federal tax refunds in the subtraction.

Examples:

• You may subtract interest from U.S. Series EE or HH 
bonds and Treasury bills or notes.

• You may subtract interest and dividends paid to 
you by organizations that invest in U.S. government 
securities. Check the information on your Form 
1099. The payer may have given the percentage of 
interest and dividends from U.S. government securi-
ties. Download the publication Interest and Dividends 
on U.S. Bonds and Notes from our Web site or contact 
us to order it.

• If you reported interest or dividends of your minor 
child on your federal return, you may subtract any 
U.S. government interest included.

• You must reduce U.S. government interest and 
dividends by any interest expense relating to U.S. 
government obligations deducted on your federal 
Schedule A.

Note: When you sell or dispose of a U.S. government 
obligation, you must include any gain or loss in Ore-
gon income.

Subtractions
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17 Federal pension income. You may be able to 
subtract some or all of your taxable federal pen-

sion included in 2005 federal income. This includes 
benefits paid to the retiree or to the beneficiary. The 
subtraction amount is based on the number of months 
of federal service before and after October 1, 1991:

• If all of your months of federal service were before 
October 1, 1991, subtract 100 percent of the taxable 
amount of federal pension income you reported on 
your federal return.

• If you have no months of service before October 1, 
1991, you cannot subtract any federal pension.

• If your service was both before and after October 
1, 1991, you will subtract a percentage of the taxable 
federal pension income you reported on your federal 
return. To determine your percentage, divide your 
months of service before October 1, 1991, by your 
total months of service. Once you have determined 
the percentage, it will remain the same from year to 
year. Write the percentage on line 17a. If you have 
two federal pensions, write the second percentage 
on line 17b and enter your total subtraction amount 
on line 17.

 Use the following formula to determine your sub-
traction amount:
Months of service 

before 10/1/91
×

Federal pension 
amount included 
in federal income

=
Oregon 

subtractionTotal months
of service

 Example: Ann worked for the U.S. Forest Service 
from May 27, 1971, until January 7, 2005. She worked 
a total of 403 months, of which 244 months were 
worked before October 1, 1991. In 2005, she received 
taxable federal pension income of $35,000. Using the 
formula above, her allowable subtraction is:

244
× $35,000 = $21,175

403

 She can subtract 60.5 percent (244 ÷ 403), or $21,175 
($35,000 × .605), of her taxable federal pension. She 
will continue to subtract 60.5 percent of her taxable 
federal pension income from Oregon income in 
future years.

18 Other subtractions. You may qualify for one or 
more other subtractions explained below. Please 

identify the subtraction(s) using the numeric code 
shown in brackets. Enter the numeric code on line 18a 
and enter the amount on line 18b. For example, if you 
are claiming a $100 Oregon Lottery subtraction, enter 
322 on line 18a and enter $100 on line 18b. If you are 
claiming two subtractions, enter the second numeric 
code on line 18c and enter the amount on line 18d. Fill in 
the total amount of other subtractions on line 18. If you 
are claiming more than three other subtractions, attach 
a statement to your return that identifies the other sub-

tractions and the amounts. Please write “see statement” 
in the space provided on line 19 (total subtractions line). 
Do not use this line to subtract federal pension. See line 
17. If you need more information about any of these sub-
tractions, visit our Web site or contact us.

• American Indian [code 300]. Are you an enrolled 
member of a federally recognized American Indian 
tribe? You may be able to subtract all or part of your 
income if all of the following are true:
— You are an enrolled member of a federally recog-

nized American Indian tribe, and
— Your income is from sources within federally rec-

ognized Indian country in Oregon, and
— You live in federally recognized Indian country in 

Oregon when the income is earned.

 You must attach a completed copy of your Exempt 
Income Schedule for Enrolled Members of a Federally Rec-
ognized American Indian Tribe to your return. Download 
the schedule from our Web site or contact us to order it.

• Depreciation difference for Oregon [code 304]. Are 
you depreciating property with a different basis for 
federal and Oregon purposes? If so, you may have 
a depreciation difference for Oregon. Download the 
Oregon Depreciation Schedule from our Web site or to 
order it, see page 40.

• Domestic partner benefits [code 305]. If your 
employer provides taxable health insurance or other 
benefits to you and another person who qualifies as 
your same-sex domestic partner, you may qualify 
for a subtraction on the Oregon return. For more 
information, please contact us.

• Federal tax from a prior year [code 309]. Did you 
pay additional federal income tax in 2005 because 
you were audited or you amended a prior year’s 
return? If so, you may be able to subtract the addi-
tional tax. This subtraction applies only to additional 
tax you paid because your return was changed. It 
does not include the tax from the original return or 
interest or penalties you paid.

 Use the following worksheet to figure your subtrac-
tion for federal tax from a prior year.

1. Enter $4,500 ($2,250 if married fil-
ing separately).

1.

2. Enter your federal tax liability 
from Form 40, line 13.

2.

3. Line 1 minus line 2. If the result is 
-0-, you cannot deduct your federal 
tax paid for a prior year. If greater 
than -0-, enter the result on line 3.

3.

4. Enter the amount of federal tax 
you paid for a prior year.

4.

5. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 4 
here and on Form 40, line 18.

5.

Other subtractions
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• Military active duty pay [code 319]. If you included 
U.S. military active duty pay in your federal taxable 
income, you may qualify for a subtraction on your 
Oregon return.

 You can subtract all active duty pay earned outside 
Oregon during the year plus up to $3,000 active duty 
pay earned in Oregon. Note: Your total subtraction 
cannot be more than your total active duty pay 
income.

 Reserve summer camp is active duty. However, 
drills and weekend meetings of reserve units are not 
active duty. If you are in the Guard or the Reserves 
and your Form W-2 does not show a separate amount 
for active duty, contact your paymaster.

Example: Barry enlisted in the Army in 1999. From 
January until August 15, 2005, he was stationed at 
Fort Lewis, Washington. He earned $24,000 active 
duty pay there. From August 15 until the end of the 
year he served in Oregon as a recruiter. He earned 
$12,000 in Oregon. He may subtract the $24,000 
earned outside of Oregon and $3,000 earned within 
the state, for a total subtraction of $27,000.

Oregon National Guard active duty pay subtraction.
The following questions will help you determine if 
you can claim this subtraction. 

— Were you a member of the Oregon National 
Guard in any year since 2001? 

— Did you serve on active duty as a member of the 
Oregon National Guard in Oregon? 

— Did you serve as a member of the Oregon Nation-
al Guard under U.S. Code Title 32 and were then 
called to active duty status and served under U.S. 
Code Title 10? 

 If you answered yes to all of the above questions, 
you can subtract all of the Oregon National Guard 
active duty pay you earned while you served under 
Title 10 in Oregon. This subtraction is available for 
tax years starting on or after January 1, 2001. You 
may amend your prior year tax returns to claim this 
subtraction.  You must amend your 2001 tax return 
by July 1, 2006 to claim a refund.

 If you are an enrolled member of a federally recog-
nized American Indian tribe and a member of the 
U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed in Oregon, you 
may be eligible for an additional subtraction. For 
more information, please contact us.

• Mortgage interest credit [code 320]. Did you claim 
a mortgage interest credit on your federal return? 
If so, you may claim a subtraction on your Oregon 
return for the home mortgage interest not included 
in the itemized deductions reported on your federal 
return. You must itemize deductions for Oregon to 
claim this subtraction.

• Oregon 529 College Savings Network [code 324].
You may subtract up to $2,000 ($1,000 if married fil-
ing separately) of contributions made to an Oregon 
529 College Savings Network account in 2005. If you 
contribute more than $2,000, you may carry forward 
the remaining contribution not subtracted over the 
next four years. Keep a copy of your account state-
ment with your tax records. For more information, 
visit www.oregon529network.com. Or, call their tax 
information line at 503-378-2882.

• Oregon Lottery [code 322]. Although Oregon does 
not tax Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or less per 
ticket, the federal government does. Oregon Lottery 
includes Powerball tickets you purchased in Oregon.

 You may subtract from Oregon income the following 
winnings included in your federal income:

— Winnings of $600 or less from each single ticket or 
play, and

— Annual payments from tickets bought before 
1998.

 Example 1: Cheryl had winnings of $200 from an 
Oregon Lottery scratch-off ticket in 2005. This income 
is included in her federal adjusted gross income. Ore-
gon does not tax Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or 
less per single ticket or play. Cheryl can subtract the 
$200 she won on the scratch-off ticket.

 Example 2: David won two prizes in 2005. He won 
$1,000 from an Oregon Lottery scratch-off ticket and 
$500 playing an Oregon Lottery Keno game. David 
must include $1,500 in his federal income, however, 
Oregon will not tax him on the $500 he won playing 
Keno. He can subtract $500 on his Oregon return 
because the winnings were from a single game and 
below the $600 limit. He cannot subtract any of the 
$1,000 he won on the scratch-off ticket, because the 
prize was more than $600 and is fully taxable to 
Oregon.

 Do not subtract any other type of winnings such as 
winnings from tribal gaming centers. Do you have 
gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction? 
If so, see page 24.

• Previously taxed IRA conversions [code 327]. You 
may be able to subtract some of your payments if all 
of the following apply:

— You contributed to an IRA, Keogh, 403(b), or 457 
plan when you were a nonresident, and

— You paid state income tax on those contributions 
in your state of residence, and

— You did not receive a tax benefit for these contri-
butions from any other state.

 If you qualify, you may subtract an amount equal to 
the contributions that were taxed in another state. 
Once your subtractions equal contributions previ-
ously taxed, all other payments are taxable.

Military active duty pay
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• Tuition and fees deduction [code 308]. Did you 
claim a Hope or lifetime learning credit on your 
federal return? If so, you were not allowed a federal 
tuition and fees deduction because you claimed the 
federal credit. Because Oregon does not have credits 
similar to the Hope or lifetime learning credits, you 
can subtract the federal tuition and fees deduction 
on your Oregon return. For 2005, the maximum 
amount you can claim is the lesser of $4,000 or your 
actual expenses.

• The following subtractions apply to only a few peo-
ple and are not explained in this booklet. For more 
information, visit our Web site or contact us.

— Artist’s charitable contribution [code 301].
— Basis adjustments [code 304].

• Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property 
with a different basis for federal and Oregon 
purposes.

— Claim of right income repayments [code 302].
— Construction worker and logger commuting 

expenses [code 303].
— Federal gain previously taxed by Oregon [code 

306].
— Federal tax credits [code 308].
— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and 

trusts [code 310].
— Film production labor rebate [code 336].
— Foreign tax [code 311].
— Hurricane Katrina Housing [code 337].
— Individual Development Account [code 314].
— Land donation to educational institutions [code 

316].
— Local government bond interest [code 317].
— Net operating loss [code 321].
— Oregon partnership or S corporation modifica-

tions [code 323].
— Passive activity losses [code 326].
— Public Safety Memorial Fund award [code 329].
— Railroad Retirement Board benefits: Tier 2, 

windfall/vested dual, supplemental, and railroad 
unemployment benefits [code 330].

— Scholarship awards used for housing expenses 
[code 333].

Deductions

You may claim either net itemized deductions or 
Oregon’s standard deduction, whichever is larger, but 
not both.

• If you claim itemized deductions, fill in lines 21–25.
• If you claim the standard deduction, fill in line 26.

Note: If you are married filing separately, both spous-
es must itemize deductions if one spouse itemizes. If 
your spouse itemizes, your standard deduction is -0-.

21 Itemized deductions. You may claim your total 
itemized deductions after federal limitations as 

shown on federal Schedule A, line 28. You may claim 
itemized deductions for Oregon even if you do not have 
enough deductions to itemize on your federal return. If 
you itemize for Oregon only, fill out a federal Schedule 
A for Oregon purposes only. Use your federal adjusted 
gross income to figure the Schedule A limitations. 
Keep the Schedule A with your tax records.

22 Special Oregon medical deduction. Were you 
or your spouse age 62 or older on December 

31, 2005? If so, your deduction is the smaller of line 1 
or line 3 from your federal Schedule A. To claim this 
deduction, you must itemize your deductions for Ore-
gon. You can do this by filling out a Schedule A for 
both federal and Oregon, or for Oregon only. Keep 
your Schedule A with your tax records.

24 State income tax or sales tax claimed as an 
itemized deduction. Fill in the amount of Ore-

gon state income tax or any state and local sales tax you 
claimed as an itemized deduction on federal Schedule 
A, line 5. Do not include local or county income tax 
amounts.

Are you claiming an Oregon credit for income taxes 
paid to another state and deducting the other state’s 
taxes on Schedule A? If so, include the other state’s 
2005 net tax liability, or the other state’s 2005 tax 
claimed as an itemized deduction, whichever is less. 
For the credit instructions, see page 31.

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal 
return because your adjusted gross income was more 
than $145,950 ($72,975 if married filing separately)? If so, 
you may need to complete a worksheet to figure how 
much Oregon income tax to subtract from itemized 
deductions. Download the publication Itemized Deduc-
tions Limit from our Web site or to order it, see page 40.

26 Standard deduction. Generally, your standard 
deduction is based on your filing status as fol-

lows:

Single.............................................................. $1,770
Married filing jointly.......................................3,545
Married filing separately
 If spouse claims standard deduction......... 1,770
 If spouse claims itemized deductions ............ -0-
Head of household..........................................2,855
Qualifying widow(er)......................................3,545

Standard deduction—Age 65 or older, or blind. If you 
or your spouse are age 65 or older, or blind, you are 
entitled to a larger standard deduction amount. Use 
the chart on page 29 to determine your larger standard 
deduction.

Deductions
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1. Are you: ................................  65 or older?   Blind?

 If claiming spouse’s exemption, 
is your spouse: ....................  65 or older?   Blind?

2. If your
filing

status is…

And the
number of boxes 

checked above is…

Then your
standard

deduction is…
Single 1 $2,970

2 4,170
Married filing 

jointly
1 4,545
2 5,545
3 6,545
4 7,545

Married filing 
separately

1 2,770
2 3,770
3 4,770
4 5,770

Head of 
household

1 4,055
2 5,255

Qualifying
widow(er)

1 4,545
2 5,545

Fill in the total standard deduction on Form 40, line 
26.

Standard deduction—Dependents. If someone else 
can claim you as a dependent, your standard deduc-
tion is limited to the larger of:

• Your earned income plus $250, up to the maximum 
allowed for your filing status, or

• $800.

The limit applies even if you qualify but are not 
claimed as a dependent on another person’s return. 
See the standard deduction worksheet for dependents 
on page 9.

Standard deduction —Nonresident aliens. The stan-
dard deduction for nonresident aliens, as defined by 
federal law, is -0-.

27 Total deductions. Enter the larger of line 25 or 
line 26.

Oregon tax

29 Tax from tax tables or tax rate charts. Figure 
the tax on your Oregon taxable income, line 28. 

Go to the tax tables or rate charts on pages 21–23. Fill 
in your tax amount on line 29. Please double-check the 
tax you entered.

Example 1: A single Oregon taxpayer has taxable 
income of $19,500. The taxpayer will use column S on 
page 22. The tax is $1,574.

Example 2: A married couple has Oregon taxable 
income of $75,500. They are filing jointly. They will use 
the married filing jointly rate chart J on page 23. They 
figure their tax like this:

Oregon taxable income $75,500

Subtract – 50,000

25,500

Multiply by 9% × .09

2,295

Then add + 4,128

Their Oregon tax is $ 6,423

Tax from farm income averaging or farm asset capital 
gain method. If you qualify, you can compute your 
Oregon tax using one of the following methods:

Farm income averaging method. You can use the fed-
eral farm income averaging method even if you did not 
use farm income averaging on your federal return.

Use Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for 
Full-Year Residents, to calculate tax on your farm 
income and other Oregon income. Download the form 
from our Web site or to order it, see page 40. Enter the 
tax amount from Form FIA-40, line 22, on Form 40, line 
29. Check the box labeled “Form FIA-40.” Attach a 
copy of Form FIA-40 to your return.

Farm asset capital gain method. Did you sell or 
exchange capital assets primarily used in farming 
because you were getting out of a farming business? 
Or, did you sell or exchange a farming partnership, 
corporation, or other farming entity in which you held 
at least a 10 percent ownership interest? If the sale or 
exchange was not to a family member and you were 
getting out of a farming business completely, you may 
be eligible for a reduced tax rate on the net capital gain 
from the proceeds.

Use Worksheet FCG, Farm Liquidation Long-Term Capital 
Gain Tax Rate, to calculate tax on your net farm capital 
gain and other Oregon income. Download the work-
sheet from our Web site or contact us to order it. Enter 
the tax amount from Worksheet FCG, line 7, on Form 
40, line 29. Check the box labeled “Worksheet FCG.” 
Do not attach a copy of Worksheet FCG to your return. 
Keep a copy with your records.

30 Interest on certain installment sales. Do you 
have installment sales on which you were 

required to pay interest on the deferred tax liability for 
federal purposes? If so, you must also compute interest 
for Oregon. The amount due for Oregon is computed 
the same for the federal amount. The interest rate is 
0.417 percent per month (5 percent per year) for 2005. 
For more information, please contact us.

Credits

Generally, credits cannot be more than your Oregon 
tax liability. Some credits have a carryforward provi-
sion that allows you to use the remaining balance in 

Oregon tax
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the next year. Use credits that cannot be carried for-
ward first.

34 Earned income credit. You are allowed an Ore-
gon earned income credit only if you qualify 

for the earned income credit on your federal return. 
Your Oregon credit is 5 percent of your federal credit. 
For example, if your federal credit is $400, your Oregon 
credit is $20 ($400 × .05).

Use the following formula to figure your credit:

1. Enter your federal earned income 
credit from Form 1040, line 66a; 
Form 1040A, line 41a; or Form 
1040EZ, line 8a.

1.

2. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
5 percent (.05). Enter the result 
here and on Form 40, line 34.

2.

The Oregon earned income credit is limited to your 
tax liability. You cannot carry any amount that is more 
than your tax liability over to the next year.

Note: When this publication was printed, federal 
changes were being considered that may affect the 
Oregon Earned Income Credit. Visit our Web site or 
call us for updated information.

35 Retirement income credit. If you were age 62 
or older on December 31, 2005, and receiving 

retirement income, you may qualify for a retirement 
income credit if:

• Your household income is less than $22,500 ($45,000 
if married filing jointly), and

• Your Social Security benefits and/or Tier 1 Railroad 
Retirement Board benefits are less than $7,500 ($15,000 
if married filing jointly), and

• Your household income plus your Social Security 
and/or Tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits is 
less than $22,500 ($45,000 if married filing jointly).

Retirement income includes payments reported in 
Oregon taxable income from:

• U.S. government pensions (including military).
• State or local government pensions.
• Employee pensions.
• Individual retirement plans.
• Deferred compensation plans including defined ben-

efit, profit sharing, and 401(k).
• Employee annuity plans.

Use the following worksheet to figure your credit.

1. Enter the retirement income of the 
eligible individual(s) included on 
Form 40, line 8.

1.

2. Enter any federal pension income 
subtracted from Oregon income on 
Form 40, line 17. See page 26.

2.

3. Net Oregon taxable pension.
Line 1 minus line 2.

3.

4. Enter $7,500 ($15,000 if married 
filing jointly).

4.

5. Enter both spouses’ total 2005 
Social Security and Tier 1 Railroad 
Retirement Board benefits.

5.

6. Line 4 minus line 5, but not 
less than -0-.

6.

7. Enter your household income. To 
determine your household income, 
see below.

7.

8. Household income base. Enter 
$15,000 ($30,000 if married filing 
jointly).

8.

9. Line 7 minus line 8, but not 
less than -0-.

9.

10. Line 6 minus line 9, but not
less than -0-.

10.

11. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 
10.

11.

12. Multiply line 11 by 9 percent (.09). 
Enter the result here and on Form 
40, line 35.

12.

What is included in household income? Household 
income includes all taxable and nontaxable income of 
each spouse except:

• Social Security and Tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board 
benefits.

• Your state income tax refund.
• Pension income excluded from federal AGI that is a 

return of your contributions.
• Pensions that are rolled over into an IRA.

Any losses claimed are limited to $1,000 for each activ-
ity. Depreciation is limited to $5,000.

The credit cannot be more than your tax liability. You 
cannot carry any amount that is more than your tax 
liability over to next year. You may claim this credit 
or the credit for the elderly or the disabled, line 37, but 
not both.

36 Child and dependent care credit. You are 
allowed an Oregon credit only if you qualify 

for the federal child and dependent care credit. You 
may still be able to claim the Oregon credit even if you 
cannot use all of your federal credit.

Use the following worksheet:

1. Enter the amount from federal 
Form 2441, line 6; or Form 1040A, 
Schedule 2, line 6.

1.

Credits
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2. Enter the decimal amount from the 
following table.

2.

 If your federal taxable Your
 income from Form 1040, decimal
 line 43; or Form 1040A, amount
 line 27 is: is:

 Over— But not over—
 —— $5,000 .30
 5,000 10,000 .15
 10,000 15,000 .08
 15,000 25,000 .06
 25,000 35,000 .05
 35,000 45,000 .04
 45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
the decimal on line 2. Enter here 
and on Form 40, line 36.

3.

Did you pay 2004 child care expenses in 2005? If so, 
you may be able to use that amount to increase your 
2005 Oregon child and dependent care credit. For 
more information, please contact us.

Carryover. Your total 2005 child and dependent care 
credit can’t be more than your 2005 tax liability for 
Oregon. You can carry forward any excess credit over 
the next five years. If the excess isn’t used within five 
years, it’s lost. See instructions for other credits on 
page 32.

37 Credit for the elderly or the disabled. The Ore-
gon credit is 40 percent of your federal credit. 

You may claim an Oregon credit only if you qualify for 
the federal credit. Please complete federal Form 1040, 
Schedule R or federal Form 1040A, Schedule 3, even if 
you cannot use the federal credit.

Multiply the amount on federal Form 1040, Schedule 
R, line 20; or Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 20, by .40 
(40 percent).

You may claim this credit or the retirement income 
credit, line 35, but not both.

38 Political contribution credit. Fill in your total 
political contributions, up to $100 on a joint 

return, $50 on all others. Your contribution(s) of 
money must have been made during 2005 to any of the 
following:

• A political party.

• A qualified candidate (or the candidate’s principal 
campaign committee) for federal, state, or local 
office to be voted for in Oregon.

• A political action committee certified in Oregon.

Download the publication Political Contributions Tax 
Credit from our Web site or contact us to order it.

39 Credit for income taxes paid to another state.
Did you pay income taxes to another state or 

U.S. territory on income that is also taxed by Oregon? 
If so, you may be able to claim this credit.

If you were a full-year Oregon resident and had income 
taxed by Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia, you 
cannot claim the credit on your Oregon return. You 
may claim the credit on the nonresident return you 
file with those states. If income is taxed by Oregon and 
another state not listed here, claim the credit on your 
Form 40 Oregon resident return, line 39. Please iden-
tify the other state on Form 40, line 39a.

This credit is only for state income tax. You cannot 
claim this credit for city or county income tax, sales 
tax, alternative minimum tax (AMT), property tax, 
school tax, or building funds.

Your credit is the smallest of the following:

• The other state’s 2005 net tax liability.
• Your Oregon tax liability after all credits, except 

credits for income taxes paid to other states.
• The amount figured using the following formula:

 Divide your modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) 
taxed by both states by your total MAGI. Multiply 
the result by your Oregon tax after subtracting all 
other credits.

Your MAGI taxed
by both states ×

Your Oregon tax after
subtracting all other credits

Your total MAGI

Your total MAGI usually equals the sum of lines 8 and 
9 minus lines 14–17 of Form 40. Add amounts on Form 
40, line 10, only if they are income that Oregon taxes 
but the federal government does not. Subtract amounts 
on Form 40, line 18, only if they are income that the 
federal government taxes but Oregon does not.

Caution: You cannot claim this credit and also claim 
the tax you paid as an itemized deduction. On Form 
40, line 24, in addition to the Oregon tax you claim as 
an itemized deduction, fill in the smaller of the fol-
lowing:

• The other state’s 2005 tax claimed as an itemized 
deduction, or

• The other state’s 2005 net tax liability.

If the credit is based on a tax liability paid in two dif-
ferent tax years, you may be required to restore the 
deduction to Oregon income in two different tax years. 
For more information, please contact us.

You must attach a copy of the other state’s return and 
proof of payment to the back of your Oregon return.

40 Other credits. You may qualify for other credits 
listed on page 32. Please identify the credit(s) 

using the numeric code shown in brackets. Enter the 
numeric code on line 40a and the amount on line 40b. 
For example, if you are claiming a $45 residential ener-
gy credit, enter 729 on line 40a and $45 on line 40b. If 
you are claiming two credits, enter the second numeric 
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code on line 40c and the amount on line 40d. Fill in the 
total amount of “other credits” on line 40. If you are 
claiming more than three other credits, attach a state-
ment to your return that identifies the other credits 
and the amounts. Please write “see statement” in the 
space provided on line 41 (total credits line).

• Adoption expenses [code 700]. If you paid or 
incurred qualified federal adoption expenses during 
the year, you may be entitled to the Oregon adoption 
credit. The credit is the smallest of:

— The qualified adoption expenses less the allow-
able federal credit,

— $1,500, or
— The federal credit allowed.

• Child and dependent care credit carryforward [code 
704]. The prior year carryover plus your current 
year’s credit can’t be more than your Oregon tax 
liability, line 42. You can carry forward any excess 
credit over the next five years. If the excess isn’t used 
within five years, it’s lost.

• Individual Development Account [code 715]. If you 
made a charitable contribution to the Oregon Indi-
vidual Development Account program during 2005, 
you may qualify for a credit. The credit is the smaller 
of $75,000 or 75 percent of the donation made. It can-
not be more than your 2005 Oregon tax liability. You 
may carry over any excess for the next three years. 
Any federal benefit due to a federal deduction must 
be reported as an Oregon addition. For more infor-
mation, please contact us.

• Long-term care insurance premiums [code 716].
You are allowed a long-term care insurance premi-
ums credit if:
— Your policy was issued in 2000 or later, and
— You, your parents, or your dependents are the 

policy beneficiaries, and
— You paid premiums for 2005.

 The credit for single and joint filers is the smaller of 
15 percent of the premiums paid or $500. For mar-
ried filing separate filers, the combined credits on 
the spouses’ returns cannot be more than the credit 
they would have been allowed on a joint return.

 Any federal benefit due to a federal deduction for 
the premiums must be reported as an Oregon addi-
tion. See page 24.

 Employers paying for long-term care insurance for 
employees may also claim this credit.

 Download the publication Long-Term Care Insurance 
Premiums Tax Credit from our Web site or contact us 
to order it.

• Loss of use of limbs [code 717]. If you have a per-
manent and complete loss of the use of two limbs, 
you may take a $50 tax credit. Your spouse also may 

claim a $50 credit if he or she qualifies. You can’t 
claim this credit for a dependent.

Get a disability certification form the first year you 
file for the credit from your county public health 
officer. The health officer must sign the form. Keep 
the form with your permanent health records. Do 
not attach it to your return.

 You also qualify for an additional exemption for 
severely disabled persons. See page 7.

• Oregon Cultural Trust [code 722]. If you donate to an 
Oregon nonprofit cultural organization during the 
tax year and you donate a matching amount to the 
Oregon Cultural Trust, you may claim a tax credit.

 You may claim a tax credit of up to $500 per taxpayer 
($1,000 on a joint return) for the amount you contrib-
uted to the Oregon Cultural Trust. Enter the amount 
you contributed to the trust on line 40 but not more 
than $500 ($1,000 on a joint return). For more infor-
mation about the Oregon Cultural Trust, contact the 
Oregon Arts Commission or visit their Web site at 
www.oregonartscommission.org. Any federal ben-
efit due to a federal deduction must be reported as 
an Oregon addition. For more information, please 
contact us.

• Residential energy [code 729]. To qualify, you must 
purchase an energy efficient appliance or install a 
solar device or ground loop system. Renters may 
qualify for this credit. For more information, visit 
the Oregon Department of Energy’s Web site at 
www.oregon.gov/ENERGY. Or, call them at 503-
378-4040 in Salem or 1-800-221-8035 toll-free from an 
Oregon prefix.

• The following credits apply to only a few people and 
are not explained in this booklet. For more informa-
tion, visit our Web site or contact us.

— Advanced telecommunications facilities [code 701].
— Bone marrow donation program [code 702].
— Business energy [code 703].
— Business tax credits from flow-through entity 

[code 736].
— Child Care Fund contributions [code 705].
— Claim of right income repayments [code 706].
— Crop donation [code 708].
— Dependent care assistance by employers [code 

707].
— Diesel engine replacement [code 734].
— Electronic commerce zone investment [code 710].
— Employer scholarship [code 711].
— Farmworker housing [code 712].
— Film production development contributions [code 

737].
— First Break Program [code 713].
— Fish screening devices [code 714].
— Low-income caregiver credit [code 718].
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— Mutually taxed gain on the sale of residential 
property [code 720].

— On-farm processing machinery and equipment 
[code 721].

— Pollution control facilities [code 724].
— Reforestation of underproductive forestlands [code 

727].
— Reservation enterprise zone [code 728].
— Riparian land [code 735].
— Rural medical practitioners [code 731].

Tax payments, penalties, and interest

43 Oregon income tax withheld. Fill in the total 
Oregon tax withheld from your wages and 

other income shown on your Form(s) W-2 in box 17 or 
on your Form 1099. Don’t use the FICA (Social Secu-
rity) tax withheld. Don’t use tax withheld from your 
wages by other states. Staple a readable copy of your 
Form W-2 from each job and any Form 1099 to the 
lower front of your return showing Oregon income 
tax withheld.

If you do not have a Form W-2 or 1099, you must pro-
vide other proof of your Oregon tax withheld. Proof 
may include a final paycheck stub or a letter from your 
employer.

If you have tax to pay this year, you may want to 
increase the amount your employer withholds from 
your 2006 wages for Oregon. Download the publica-
tion Oregon Income Tax Withholding: Some Special Cases 
from our Web site or contact us to order it.

44 Estimated tax payments for 2005. Fill in the 
total estimated tax payments you made before 

filing your Oregon return. These payments were due 
April 15, 2005; June 15, 2005; September 15, 2005; and 
January 17, 2006. Include any payments you made 
with your Oregon extension. Also include any refund 
you applied to your 2005 estimated tax. If the depart-
ment adjusted your applied refund, be sure to use the 
adjusted amount. If you need to verify your estimated 
payment amounts, please contact us.

45 Working family child care credit. This credit is 
available to low-income working families with 

qualifying child care expenses for a qualifying child 
under age 13 (or a child for whom you can claim the addi-
tional exemption credit for a child with a disability). The 
working family child care credit is a refundable credit. 
If this credit is more than your tax, you will receive the 
difference. To see if you qualify, go to page 36.

49 Penalty and interest. Your return is due by 
April 17, 2006, unless you file for an extension.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

• Mail your payment after April 17 (even if you have 
an extension).

• File your return showing tax to pay after the due 
date or extension due date.

The late-payment penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid 
balance of your tax. If you file more than three months 
after the due date or the extension due date, a 20 per-
cent late-filing penalty will be added; that is, you will 
owe a total penalty of 25 percent of any tax not paid. To 
find out how to avoid a penalty, see page 5.

Interest. If you are filing your return or paying your tax 
after April 17, 2006, include interest on any unpaid tax.

An interest period is each full month starting with the 
day after the due date. For example, April 18 to May 17 
is a full month and interest period.

The 2006 interest rate is 7 percent per year (0.583 per-
cent per month).

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a 
month. Here’s how to figure daily interest:

Tax  ×  .000192  ×  number of days

If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the 
interest rate increases to 11 percent per year.

Note: Do not calculate interest if you file late and expect 
a refund. It may delay processing of your refund.

50 Interest on estimated tax underpayment. For 
2005, you will have an underpayment if you 

paid less than 90 percent of the tax due on each esti-
mated tax payment due date.

You do not have an underpayment if:

• You owe less than $1,000 tax on your 2005 tax 
return after credits and Oregon tax withheld, or

• You did not have an underpayment for any 2005 
estimated tax period.

Use Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimated Tax,
to determine if you have an underpayment. If you 
have an underpayment or you meet an exception, 
you must file Oregon Form 10 with your return. 
Download the form from our Web site or to order it, 
see page 40.

On Form 40, line 50, fill in the amount of interest 
due from Form 10 and check the box. If you meet an 
exception, enter the exception number on line 50a. 
Attach Form 10 to the back of your return.

52 Amount you owe. You may pay with a check, 
money order, or credit card.

Check or money order

• Make your check or money order payable to “Ore-
gon Department of Revenue.”

• Write your daytime telephone number and “2005 
Oregon Form 40” on your check.

• Please use blue or black ballpoint ink. Do not use gel 
or red ink.

• Do not send cash or a postdated check.

Tax payments, penalties, and interest
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• Staple your payment and the Form 40-V payment 
voucher (page 11) to your return on top of your 
Form(s) W-2.

Credit card payment. See page 11.

Payment plan. If you cannot pay in full now, we 
will work with you to set up a payment plan for the 
amount you do not pay with your return. For more 
information, please contact us.

Special instructions. Do you owe interest on line 50 
and have an overpayment on line 47? If the interest 
you owe is more than your overpayment, you have an 
amount due. Subtract line 47 from line 50 and enter the 
result on line 52.

Charitable donations. If you do not have a refund but 
want to contribute to a charity listed on lines 55–60, 
mail your donation to the charity’s address listed on 
our Web site. Please do not mail your donation to the 
Department of Revenue.

To finish your return, go to the signature block section 
on this page.

53 Refund. You must have a refund on line 53 to 
use lines 54–63.

54 Estimated tax. If you have a refund, you may 
apply part or all of it to your 2006 Oregon 

estimated income tax. Fill in the amount you want to 
apply. Do not fill in more than the amount on line 53.

Charitable checkoffs

You may choose to donate all or part of your refund to 
the charities listed on page 12. Donations will reduce 
your refund. You may donate to any or all of the chari-
ties on Form 40, lines 55–59. You also may donate to 
one of the charities listed under the instructions for 
Form 40, line 60 on page 12. Or, you can mail your 
donations to the addresses listed on our Web site.

For a list of the charities, go to page 12.

62 Net refund. You must reduce your refund by 
any amounts applied to 2006 estimated tax (line 

54) and donations on lines 55–60. The department 
cannot issue a refund if your return is filed more 
than three years after the due date of the return.

Direct deposit

Form 40 63

Form 40S 33

Direct deposit. If you want us to deposit 
your refund directly into your bank 
account instead of mailing you a check, 

follow these instructions:

1. Contact your bank to make sure your deposit will 
be accepted and to get your routing and account 
numbers.

2. Check the appropriate box, either checking or sav-
ings, but not both.

3. Enter your nine-digit routing number. The routing 
number must begin with 01 through 12, 21 through 
32, or 61 through 72.

4. Enter the number of the account into which you 
want your refund deposited. The account number 
can be up to 17 characters (both numbers and let-
ters). Include hyphens, but do not include spaces or 
special symbols. Enter the number left to right and 
leave any unused boxes blank.

Signature block

Authorization box. Check the box if you wish to 
authorize the Department of Revenue to contact 
your preparer about the initial processing of your tax 
return. Otherwise, leave it blank.

Signature(s). Be sure to sign and date your return. If 
you are filing a joint return, both spouses must sign.

Minor child’s return. If your child must file a tax 
return, you may sign the child’s name as his or her 
legal agent. Sign the child’s name and then write “By 
[your signature], parent (or other legal guardian) of 
minor child.”

Preparer signature. Any person who prepares, advis-
es, or assists in preparing personal income tax returns 
for another person in exchange for payment, gifts, or 
other compensation must be licensed and must sign 
the return. Contact the following agencies for more 
information on licensing, or to check the status of your 
Oregon tax practitioner:

• State Board of Tax Practitioners in Salem, at 503-378-
4034 for licensed tax consultants and licensed tax 
preparers.

• State Board of Accountancy in Salem, at 503-378-
4181 for public accountants and certified public 
accountants.

License number. Tax consultants, please enter your 
license number. Certified public accountants, please 
enter your certificate number. Tax-Aide volunteers, 
please enter your TCE site number.

Before you file

Should I put my return together in a certain order?

Yes. To speed processing, put your Oregon return 
together as follows:

1. Start with Form 40 or Form 40S.

2. Staple Form(s) W-2 and any Form(s) 1099 showing 
Oregon tax withheld to the lower front of your 
Form 40 or Form 40S.

Charitable checkoffs, direct deposit
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Schedule WFC Relationship Codes

3. Staple your check or money order and completed 
Form 40-V payment voucher (page 11) on top of 
Form(s) W-2 and/or 1099. If you are paying by credit 
card, do not use Form 40-V.

4. Place a copy (front and back) of your federal Form 
1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040NR behind your Form 
40. Form 40S filers do not need to attach this item 
unless the IRS is figuring your federal tax.

5. If applicable, place these items in the following 
order behind the federal form:

• Oregon Amended Schedule.
• Schedule WFC, Oregon Working Family Child Care 

Credit. See page 37.
• Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimated Tax.
• Proof required to claim credit for income taxes 

paid to another state. See page 31.
• Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary 

Conversions.
• Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for 

Full-Year Residents.
• Exempt Income Schedule for Enrolled Members of a 

Federally Recognized American Indian Tribe.

6. Staple all the pages of your return together in the 
top left corner.

Do not attach extension requests, or any federal sched-
ules. We receive some federal information from the 
IRS. We may ask for copies of schedules or additional 
information later.

How long do I have to file my return and get a refund?

You have three years from the due date of the return 
to file a claim for refund. By law, the Department of 
Revenue cannot issue a refund if your return is filed 
after this amount of time.

Can I make payments?

If you can’t pay in full now, we will work with you 
to set up a payment plan. File now and pay what you 
can. Call the department as soon as possible to set up 
a payment plan. If you do not call, collection activity 
may begin. See page 40 for numbers to call.

To avoid processing delays,
remember to:

Type or clearly print your name, Social Security num-
ber, date of birth, address, and telephone number on 
your return.

Double-check your math calculations and other fig-
ures. The most common mistakes are math errors and 
the amount claimed for the federal tax subtraction. 
Please double-check the tax you figured. People com-
monly use the wrong line or column on the tax tables.

Identify amounts on Form 40, lines 10, 18, and 40 as 
instructed.

Verify your bank account information if you are 
requesting direct deposit.

Sign your return (both spouses must sign a joint 
return).

Staple readable copies of Form(s) W-2 and 1099 show-
ing Oregon tax withheld to the front of your return.

Staple a copy of your federal return (front and back 
only) to your Form 40.

Staple Form 40-V, the payment voucher, with your 
check or money order to the front of your return. If you 
are paying by credit card, do not use Form 40-V.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use a busi-
ness envelope (4 × 9½ inches) and be sure to use 
enough postage. Please do not use a smaller enve-
lope—it delays processing.

Tax return mailing addresses

Mail refund returns or no-tax-due returns to:

REFUND 
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-0930

Mail tax-to-pay returns to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

Avoid delays, mailing addresses

Son........................................................................ S
Daughter............................................................. D
Stepson .............................................................. SS
Stepdaughter.................................................... SD
Grandchild ...................................................... GC
Niece ................................................................ NC
Nephew ..........................................................NW
Brother ...............................................................SB
Sister...................................................................SB
Legally adopted child.....................................LA

Eligible foster child..........................................EF
Parent...................................................................P
Grandparent ....................................................GP
Aunt .................................................................... A
Uncle ................................................................... U
Cousin............................................................... CS
Sister-in-law ......................................................SL
Brother-in-law ..................................................BL
None....................................................................N
Other................................................................... O
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Schedule WFC instructions

Working family child care credit
This refundable credit is available to low-income 
working families with qualifying child care expenses. 
To qualify, all of the following must be true: 

• You had at least $6,900 of earned income, and
• You had $2,700 or less of investment income (such as 

interest, dividends, and capital gains), and
• Your adjusted gross income was less than the limits 

for your household size shown on the back of Sched-
ule WFC, and

• You paid qualifying child care expenses to allow 
you (and your spouse, if married) to work or attend 
school, and

• You paid qualifying child care expenses for your 
qualifying child. A qualifying child is your child, 
step child, grandchild, step grandchild, brother, 
sister, stepbrother, stepsister, nephew, niece, step 
nephew, step niece, eligible foster child, or adopted 
child who: 
— can be claimed as a dependent on your federal 

return, or

— could have been claimed as a dependent on your 
return except that, as the custodial parent, you 
released the exemption to the child’s other par-
ent under a decree of divorce or separate mainte-
nance or written declaration such as federal Form 
8332, and

— was under the age of 13, or 
— was a child who qualifies for the additional 

exemption credit for a child with a disability, and
— did not provide more than one-half of their own 

support during the year, and
• Your child care provider was not the child’s parent, 

guardian, or your relative, or step relative, under age 
19.

Note: If you are married filing separately, you must 
be legally separated or permanently living apart on 
December 31, 2005, to qualify.

If you qualify, complete Schedule WFC, Oregon Work-
ing Family Child Care Credit, on page 37. Attach this 
schedule to your return.

You must complete all information on the schedule. 
An incomplete schedule may result in denial of your 
working family child care credit.

Household size calculation

Sched.
WFC 1 5–

Your household size is the 
number of people you claim 
as exemptions on your federal 

tax return who are related to you by blood, marriage, 
or adoption and live in your home. Household size 
can include your child of whom you have primary 
custody, even if you allowed the child’s other parent 
to claim the exemption on their tax return. People you 
are entitled to claim on your tax return who did not 
live with you in your home during 2005 cannot be 
included. For the purposes of this credit, an individual 
cannot be counted in household size on more than one 
return. Enter your household size from Schedule WFC, 
line 5, on Form 40S, line 21a; or Form 40, line 45a.

Example 1: Rusty and Deb are not married and are the 
parents of two children. They maintain separate house-
holds and have joint custody of both children. The 
children live more than half the year with Deb. Even 
though the children are Deb’s qualifying children, 
she releases the dependent exemption for one child to 
Rusty. Both Rusty and Deb may claim the credit based 
on the child care expenses they paid. However, each 
needs to calculate household size separately. Deb’s 

household size is three (herself, one dependent child 
whose exemption she claims, and one dependent child 
whose exemption is released to Rusty). Rusty’s house-
hold size is one (himself). Although he claims one 
child on his tax return, the child did not live with him 
more than one-half of the year and is not included in 
his household size.

Example 2: Jay and Rena have three qualifying chil-
dren. They also support Rena’s parents who do not live 
with them. They claim seven exemptions on their tax 
return. Jay and Rena’s household size is five, because 
only five of them live in their home.

Qualifying child care expenses
paid in 2005

Sched.
WFC 6 9–

Provider’s full name, complete 
address, and phone number.
Enter the child care provider’s 

information in the space provided on Schedule WFC. 
If you have more providers than there is space for 
on the form, please attach a separate sheet with the 
required information.

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN. You must include your 
provider’s Social Security number, federal employer 
identification number (FEIN), or individual taxpayer 
identiication number (ITIN).

Working family child care credit
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Household Size Calculation
  1. Enter the number of exemptions

you claimed on your federal return............................. 1
 2.  Enter the number of exemptions you did not 
  claim on your federal return because you released 
  the exemption to the child’s other parent ................... 2

 3. Add lines 1 and 2........................................................ 3
  4.  Enter the number of exemptions you claimed on 
  your federal return for people who did not live in 
  your household during 2005, including exemptions 
  released to you by your child’s other parent, or who 
  are not related by blood, marriage, or adoption ......... 4

 5.  Household size. Line 3 minus line 4........................... 5

Schedule 
WFC 2005Oregon Working Family Child Care Credit

for Form 40 and Form 40S Filers

$  9. Total qualifying child care expenses paid in 2005. Add amounts on lines 6 through 8 and enter the result here ...................... 9

$
$
$
$

First and Last Name of Child Child’s SSN
Child’s

Date of Birth
Relationship
(enter code)

10.
11.
12.
13.

Expenses
Paid for Child

Qualifying Child Information

Last name

Spouse’s last name if joint return

Social Security No. (SSN)

Spouse’s SSN if joint return

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

First name and initial

Spouse’s fi rst name and initial if joint return

.............. 8

Provider’s Telephone No.

.............. 7

Provider’s Telephone No.

Qualifying Child Care Expenses Paid in 2005. Enter the following information for each child care provider you paid in 2005.
Provider’s full name and complete address 

Amount Paid to Provider

$

Amount Paid to Provider

$

$
Amount Paid to Provider

Provider’s full name and complete address 

Provider’s full name and complete address 

Child/Provider Relationship 

(enter code)

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN

 6. Name ________________________________________________________________________________

      Address_______________________________________________________________________________

City, State, ZIP Code

 7. Name ________________________________________________________________________________

      Address_______________________________________________________________________________

City, State, ZIP Code

Child/Provider Relationship 

(enter code)

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN

 8. Name ________________________________________________________________________________

      Address_______________________________________________________________________________

City, State, ZIP Code

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN Child/Provider Relationship 

(enter code)

Provider’s Telephone No.

.............. 6

$14. Total qualifying child care expenses. Add amounts on lines 10 through 13 and enter the result here........................... 14

Computation of Credit
15. Enter your federal adjusted gross income (Form 40S, line 8; or Form 40, line 8)..............................................................  15
16. Enter the total qualifying child care expenses paid in 2005 from line 9 above...................................................................  16 
17. Enter the decimal amount from the working family child care credit table on the back (use the table that 
      matches your household size on line 5 above). For example, if the amount on line 5 is 4, use Table 4 ........................................  17
18. Multiply the amount on line 16 by the decimal amount on line 17. Enter the result here and on 
      Form 40S, line 21; or Form 40, line 45. This is your working family child care credit ........................................................  18

× .

—YOU MUST ATTACH THIS SCHEDULE TO YOUR OREGON INCOME TAX RETURN—

150-101-169 (Rev. 12-05) 

–        –

–        –

FOR COMPUTER USE ONLY
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Table 7, household size = 7

If the amount on

Schedule WFC, line 15 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC, line 17:at least: but less than:

—— $58,250 .40
$58,250  61,150 .36
 61,150  64,100 .32
 64,100  67,000 .24
 67,000  69,900 .16
 69,900  72,850 .08
 72,850 —— .00

Table 5, household size = 5

If the amount on

Schedule WFC, line 15 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC, line 17:at least: but less than:

—— $45,200 .40
$45,200  47,500 .36
 47,500  49,750 .32
 49,750  52,000 .24
 52,000  54,250 .16
 54,250  56,550 .08
 56,550 —— .00

Table 3, household size = 3

If the amount on

Schedule WFC, line 15 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC, line 17:at least: but less than:

—— $32,200 .40
$32,200  33,800 .36
 33,800  35,400 .32
 35,400  37,000 .24
 37,000  38,600 .16
 38,600  40,250 .08
 40,250 —— .00

Table 1, household size = 1

If the amount on

Schedule WFC, line 15 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC, line 17:at least: but less than:

—— $19,150 .40
$19,150  20,100 .36
 20,100  21,050 .32
 21,050  22,000 .24
 22,000  22,950 .16
 22,950  23,950 .08
 23,950 —— .00

Table 2, household size = 2

If the amount on

Schedule WFC, line 15 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC, line 17:at least: but less than:

—— $25,650 .40
$25,650  26,950 .36
 26,950  28,250 .32
 28,250  29,500 .24
 29,500  30,800 .16
 30,800  32,100 .08
 32,100 —— .00

Table 4, household size = 4

If the amount on

Schedule WFC, line 15 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC, line 17:at least: but less than:

—— $38,700 .40
$38,700  40,650 .36
 40,650  42,550 .32
 42,550  44,500 .24
 44,500  46,450 .16
 46,450  48,400 .08
 48,400 —— .00

Table 6, household size = 6

If the amount on

Schedule WFC, line 15 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC, line 17:at least: but less than:

—— $51,750 .40
$51,750  54,350 .36
 54,350  56,900 .32
 56,900  59,500 .24
 59,500  62,100 .16
 62,100  64,700 .08
 64,700 —— .00

Table 8, household size = 8*

If the amount on

Schedule WFC, line 15 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC, line 17:at least: but less than:

—— $64,800 .40
$64,800  68,000 .36
 68,000  71,250 .32
 71,250  74,500 .24
 74,500  77,750 .16
 77,750  81,000 .08
 81,000 —— .00

Working Family Child Care Credit—2005 Tables

* If your household size is more than eight, contact the department for the tables you need. See page 40 for taxpayer assistance
information.

Working family child care credit tables
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Child/provider relationship. Identify the relationship 
of the provider to the child using the relationship 
codes on page 35. If there is no relationship between 
the provider and the child, enter “N” for “none.”

Amount paid to provider. Qualifying child care 
expenses are those paid for your qualifying child 
for the primary purpose for you (and your spouse, if 
married) to work or attend school. You can claim this 
credit even if you pay your expenses with pre-tax dol-
lars from an employer benefit plan such as a cafeteria 
plan or flexible spending arrangement. You must pay 
for the child care during 2005 for the payments to be 
qualifying child care expenses.

Qualifying child care expenses do not include 
amounts you paid for your child to attend a public 
or private school or for activities such as gymnastics 
or soccer. You cannot claim expenses that are paid by 
someone else such as a state assistance agency. You can 
claim only the expenses you actually paid.

Example 3: Jeff works for a company that offers depen-
dent care benefits He contributes $4,000 pre-tax each 
year to a flexible spending arrangement (FSA) plan. 
Jeff’s employer reports the $4,000 of dependent care 
benefits in box 10 of his W-2. Jeff also paid $1,000 with 
after-tax dollars. Jeff may claim the working family 
child care credit based on $5,000 in qualifying child 
care expenses.

Example 4: Lee has a five-year-old qualifying child 
who attends a local academy. He pays $750 per month 
for his child’s kindergarten and child care. Of that 
total, $500 is the contract price for child care, and $250 
is for the child’s education. Lee can only claim $500 per 
month as qualifying child care.

Example 5: Cate qualifies for state assistance in paying 
her child care expenses. The child care provider charg-
es Cate $600 per month to care for her two qualifying 
children. Of the $600 per month, the state pays $450, 
and Cate has a co-pay of $150. Cate can only claim the 
amount she actually paid ($150 per month).

Proof of qualifying child care expenses. You must be 
able to prove that you paid the child care expenses to 
claim this credit. Acceptable proof includes, but is not 
limited to, copies of:

• Canceled checks or money order stubs,
• Duplicate checks along with bank statements, and/

or

• Signed receipts from the child care provider. 

The department can ask for proof when your tax 
return is being processed or any time later. If you pay 
a relative to watch your children, you may be asked to 
provide additional information that shows you actu-
ally paid qualifying child care expenses. Be sure to ask 
for a signed receipt from your child care provider when you 
pay for care.

Qualifying child information 

Sched.
WFC 10 14–

Enter the full name of each 
qualifying child, the child’s 
Social Security number, date of 

birth, and relationship to you using the codes shown 
on page 35. 

Enter the portion of expenses you listed in the child 
care provider section that apply to each child. The 
amounts shown on line 9 and line 14 should always 
be the same.

Example 6: Bill paid two child care providers $5,000 
during the year for his two qualifying children, Joe 
and Lane. Of the $5,000 he paid, $3,000 was for Joe’s 
care and $2,000 was for Lane’s care. He will enter those 
amounts next to each child’s information.

Computation of credit

Sched.
WFC 15

You must know your federal adjusted 
gross income (AGI) to compute this 
credit. You can find your federal AGI 

on your Oregon Form 40S or Form 40, line 8. Enter 
your federal AGI on Schedule WFC, line 15. 

Sched.
WFC 16

Enter the total qualifying expenses 
from Schedule WFC, line 9, on Sched-
ule WFC, line 16, and Form 40S, line 

21b; or Form 40, line 45b. 

Sched.
WFC 17

Use the table on the back of Schedule 
WFC (page 38) that matches your 
household size. 

For example, if your household size is three, use Table 
3 to find the percentage you need to apply to your 
qualifying expenses. Enter that percentage on Sched-
ule WFC, line 17. 

Qualifying child information
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40 Taxpayer assistance 150-101-043 (Rev. 12-05)

Taxpayer assistance
Printed information (free)

Income tax booklets are available at many post offices, 
banks, and libraries. For booklets and other forms and 
publications, you can also access our Web site, order by 
telephone, or return the form below.

Internet

www.oregon.gov/DOR
• Download forms and publications
• Get up-to-date tax information
• E-mail: questions.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure and 
confidentiality cannot be ensured. 
General tax and policy questions only.

Correspondence

Write to: Oregon Department of Revenue, 
955 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301-2555. 
Include your Social Security number and a 
daytime telephone number for faster service.

Telephone

Salem ..............................................................503-378-4988
Toll-free from an Oregon prefix................ 1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to:
• Check on the status of your 2005 

personal income tax refund 
(beginning February 1).

• Order tax forms.
• Hear recorded tax information.

For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers above:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday................7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday ......................................................... 10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Closed on holidays.
April 3–April 17, Monday–Friday....................7:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15.................................................9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary.

Asistencia en español:
    Salem.........................................................503-945-8618
    Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon.................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
    Salem.........................................................503-945-8617
    Toll-free from an Oregon prefi x..........1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the 
help numbers for information in alternative formats.

Field offices

Get forms and assistance at these offices. Do not send 
your return to these addresses.

Bend 951 SW Simpson Avenue, Suite 100
Eugene 1600 Valley River Drive, Suite 310
Gresham 1550 NW Eastman Parkway, Suite 220
Medford 24 W 6th Street 
Newport 119 NE 4th Street, Suite 4
North Bend 3030 Broadway
Pendleton 700 SE Emigrant, Suite 310
Portland 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 505

Salem Revenue Building, 955 Center Street NE, Room 135  

Salem 4275 Commercial Street SE, Suite 180

Tualatin 6405 SW Rosewood Street, Suite A

Check individual boxes to order. Complete name and address section. 

Clip on the dotted line, then mail in the entire list to the address below.

Forms and instructions
 Forms 40S & 40, Full-Year Resident .....................150-101-043

 Forms 40P & 40N, Part-Year & Nonresident .....150-101-045

 Form 40-EXT, Oregon Automatic Extension

and Payment Voucher .............................................150-101-165

Estimated Income Tax Payment Instructions 

and Vouchers......................................................... 150-101-026/-2

 Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon 

Estimated Tax .............................................................. 150-101-031

 Oregon Amended Schedule ................................150-101-061

 Form 90R, Elderly Rental Assistance ..................150-545-002

Oregon Depreciation Schedule .............................150-101-025

 Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/

Involuntary Conversions ......................................  150-800-734

 Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging 

for Full-Year Residents ..............................................150-101-160

 Form FIA-40N, FIA-40P, and Schedule Z, Oregon 

Farm Income Averaging for Nonresidents 

and Part-Year Residents ...........................................150-101-161

Publications
2-D Barcode Filing for Oregon ............................... 150-101-631

Amtrak Act (Interstate Transportation Wages) ....150-101-601

Audits: What To Do if You Are Audited ................150-101-607

Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Another State ....150-101-646

Divorce and Taxes .....................................................150-101-629

Electronic Filing for Oregon ....................................150-101-630

Estimated Income Tax ..............................................150-101-648

Income Tax Filing Extension ...................................150-101-660

Interest on Tax You Owe: Computation .............150-800-691

Itemized Deductions Limit .......................................150-101-611

Married Persons Filing Separate Returns ............150-101-656

Military Personnel Filing Information .................150-101-657

Record-Keeping Requirements .............................150-101-608

Retirement Income ...................................................150-101-673

Your Rights as an Oregon Taxpayer ................... 150-800-406

 List of other printed information: 

Form and Publication Order .................................150-800-390

Send to: Forms, Oregon Department of Revenue

PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990

Please print
Name_____________________________________________

Address ___________________________________________

City ______________________________________________

State ___________________ ZIP Code _______________

✂
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5%

17%

23%

Services paid for with Oregon income taxes

55%Education
K-12 System, Community 
Colleges, Higher Education

Human Services
Child Protective Services,
Medicaid, Senior Services

Public Safety
Police, Courts, 
Jails, Prisons

Other Services
Forestry Services, Agriculture,
Public Transportation, Libraries

Percentages are projected for the 2005–07 biennium

Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555
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Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.2

Important reminders

New information
Sales tax deduction. Oregon does not allow sales tax as 
an itemized deduction. Any sales tax deducted on federal 
Schedule A must be subtracted from the itemized deduc-
tions you claim on your Oregon return. See page 24.

Federal law. Oregon is tied to the federal definition of 
taxable income.* Oregon will automatically adopt any 
future federal law changes to the definition of taxable 
income. This tie is also retroactive to tax years 2003 
and 2004. You may amend your 2003 and 2004 Ore-
gon tax returns for any changes that result from the 
retroactive tie. 

* There is one exception to the federal tie. The domestic pro-
duction activities deduction from the federal return is not 

allowed on the Oregon return. If you claimed this deduction 
on your federal return, you will have an addition on your 
Oregon tax return. See page 20.

Federal tax liability subtraction. The federal tax sub-
traction limit has increased to $4,500 ($2,250 married 
filing separately). See page 25.

Standard deduction amounts. The standard deduc-
tion amounts have changed. See page 24.

Filing extension. You can now use Form 40-EXT to 
obtain an automatic six-month extension of time to file 
your 2005 Oregon return. See page 13.
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These instructions are not a 
complete statement of laws and 

Oregon Department of Revenue rules. 
You may need more information or forms. 

See page 40.

Electronic filing

Electronic filing (e-file) is a 
fast, efficient, and accurate 
way to file. Download the 
publication Electronic Filing for 
Oregon from our Web site or to order it, see page 40.

Credit card payments. The department accepts credit 
card payments for 2005 current year tax balances due, 
2006 estimated taxes, and any prior year tax. See page 
31.

Direct debit. Oregon does not allow electronic funds 
withdrawal (direct debit) from your checking or sav-
ings account to pay your Oregon tax. The Internal 
Revenue Service allows direct debit payment as an 

Contents, new information
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Or, visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR 3

General information

option to pay your federal tax, but this method is not 
available to pay your Oregon tax. If you have any ques-
tions, please call us.

Direct deposit. The Department of Revenue can 
deposit your refund directly into your account at most 
banks or other financial institutions. If you choose 
direct deposit, contact your bank to make sure that 
your deposit will be accepted and to get your correct 

routing and account numbers. The Department of 
Revenue is not responsible if your bank rejects your 
deposit. If the bank rejects your direct deposit, we will 
issue you a paper check. See page 33.

Blue or black ink. Please use blue or black ballpoint ink 
for easier reading and faster processing. Equipment 
used to scan documents cannot read gel ink or certain 
colors of ink, especially red. Thank you.

Should I file an Oregon return?

You must file an Oregon income tax return if your Ore-
gon source income and income received while an Ore-
gon resident is more than your standard deduction.

If your Oregon income is less than your standard deduc-
tion, you are not required to file a return for Oregon.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from 
all sources.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from 
all sources earned or received while you were an Ore-
gon resident. Oregon also taxes your income from Ore-
gon sources while you were a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes only your income from 
Oregon sources.

Filing thresholds

You must file an Oregon income tax return if:

Your filing status is: Age: And your Oregon 
income is more 

than:

Single, can be claimed 
on another’s return

Any $800*

Single
Under 65 $1,770
65 or over $2,970

Married, joint return 
Both under 65 $3,545
One 65 or over $4,545
Both 65 or over $5,545

Married, separate return

If spouse claims
standard deduction

Under 65 $1,770
65 or over $2,770

If spouse itemizes 
deductions

Any $0

Head of household
Under 65 $2,855
65 or over $4,055

Qualifying widow(er)
Under 65 $3,545
65 or over $4,545

* The larger of $800 or your earned income plus $250, up to your 
stan dard deduction amount.

What does income from Oregon 
sources include?

It includes income shown on your federal return from 
compensation for services performed in Oregon.

If you have wages from an Oregon employer for ser-
vices performed in Oregon and another state while 
you were a nonresident, and your Oregon wages are 
not stated separately on your W-2, compute your Ore-
gon source income using the following formula:

Days actually worked in Oregon
×

Total 
wages

=
Oregon 
wagesDays actually worked everywhere

Do not include holidays, vacation days, and sick days 
as actual work days. However, you must include sick 
pay, holiday pay, and vacation pay in total wages. You 
must attach an explanation from your employer. If 
Oregon is the only state you worked in, do not use this 
formula; all of your earnings are taxable and must be 
reported in the Oregon column.

Example: Savannah lives in Idaho but works in Ore-
gon. Of her 260 total days paid, she worked 138 days 
in Oregon and 92 days from her home in Idaho. She 
received 14 days vacation pay, eight days of sick pay, 
and eight days of holiday pay. She earned $50,000 in 
wages. She figured the amount subject to Oregon tax 
as follows:

 Total days paid 260
 Less: Vacation days (14 )
  Sick days (8 )
  Holidays (8 )

 Total days worked everywhere 230

Days actually worked in Oregon (138)
×

$50,000
(Total wages)

= $30,000
Days actually worked everywhere (230)

Savannah’s compensation reported in the Oregon col-
umn of Form 40N is $30,000.

General information
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Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.4

Other income from Oregon sources:

• Businesses, S corporations, partnerships, and limit-
ed liability companies taxed as partnerships located 
or doing business in Oregon—income (losses).

• Unemployment compensation received because of 
an Oregon job.

• Severance pay received because of an Oregon job.

• Oregon farm income (losses).

• Oregon estate and trust income (losses).

• Sale of Oregon property income (losses).

• Rents and royalties for use of Oregon property.

• Community property income. If you are a resident of 
Oregon and your spouse is a resident of a state with 
community property laws, you may be taxed on part 
of your spouse’s income. Community property laws 
in the state where your spouse lives determine if you 
are taxed on any of your spouse’s income. You may 
need more information from the state where your 
spouse lives. Visit our Web site for links to other 
states’ tax Web sites.

What income is not included in Oregon sources?

• Interest and dividends. However, if they are from 
an Oregon business you own or they are received 
during the part of the year you were a resident, you 
must include them in Oregon income.

• Interstate transportation wages from an interstate 
railroad company, interstate motor carrier, air car-
rier, or motor private carrier. You must be a non-
resident and have regularly assigned duties in more 
than one state. Download the publication Amtrak Act 
(Interstate Transportation Wages) from our Web site or 
to order it, see page 40.

• Oregon retirement income received while you were 
a nonresident unless you were domiciled in Oregon. 
See “Pensions and annuities” on page 18.

• Waterway or hydroelectric dam compensation, if 
you are a nonresident:

— Working as crew or pilot on a vessel on a river 
between Oregon and another state, or 

— Working on a dam that spans a river between 
Oregon and another state.

• Military pay of a nonresident.

Residency

Am I a resident, nonresident, or part-year resident?
The following will help you decide:

• You are a full-year Oregon resident, even if you live 
outside Oregon, if all of the following are true:

— You think of Oregon as your permanent home, and

— Oregon is the center of your financial, social, and 
family life, and

— Oregon is the place you intend to come back to 
when you are away.

 You are still a full-year resident if:

— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary 

absence.

 You may also be considered a full-year resident if 
you spent more than 200 days in Oregon during 
2005 or if you are a nonresident alien, as defined by 
federal law.

• You are a nonresident if your permanent home was 
outside Oregon all year.

• You are a part-year resident if you moved into or out 
of Oregon during 2005. You are not a part-year resi-
dent if:
— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary 

absence.

Special case Oregon residents. If you are an Oregon 
resident and you meet all of the following conditions, 
you are considered a nonresident for tax purposes.

• You are an Oregon resident who maintained a per-
manent home outside Oregon the entire year, and

• You didn’t keep a home in Oregon during any part 
of 2005, and

• You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during 2005.

Note: A recreational vehicle (RV) is not considered a 
permanent home outside of Oregon.

Oregon residents living abroad. Generally, if you 
qualify for the federal earned income exclusion or 
housing exclusion for United States residents living 
abroad, you are considered a nonresident.

Filing status

Generally, you must use the same filing status for your 
Oregon and federal returns.

Exceptions for married persons when spouses are:

• Full-year resident and part-year resident. You may 
file separate Oregon returns. If you file separate 
returns for Oregon, you must use the married filing 
separately status. The full-year resident files Form 
40, and the part-year resident files Form 40P. If you 
choose to file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40P.

• Full-year resident and nonresident. You may file 
separate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns 
for Oregon, you must use the married filing sepa-
rately status. The full-year resident files Form 40, 

Instructions continued on page 13

Residency, filing status
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NOW GO TO THE BACK OF THE FORM

Attach a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040NR. Do not attach other federal sched ules.

7d  You filed 
an Oregon 
Form 24

7c •   You  
filed federal 
Form 8886

7b •  You 
filed an 
extension

Check
all that 
apply

7a    • •
     You were:   65 or older   Blind
Spouse was:   65 or older   Blind

150-101-048 (Rev. 12-05) 

• 1
2

3

Single

Married filing jointly

Married filing 
separately

4 Head of household

5 Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child

Filing
Status
Check
only
one
box

Spouse’s name

Spouse’s SSN

Person who qualifies you

Exemptions
6a Yourself......Regular ........ Severely disabled ......... 6a

6b Spouse ......Regular ........ Severely disabled  ........... b

6c All de pendents First names ________________________________• c

6d Disabled First names ________________________________• d
children only

Total

Total 6e•

•

2005
Fiscal year endingOregon resident:

From To

mm            dd             yyyy mm            dd             yyyy

Oregon Department of Rev enue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

Mail REFUND returns and
NO-TAX-DUE returns to

Mail TAX-TO-PAY
returns to 

REFUND
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-0930

Last name First name and initial Social Security No. (SSN)

–            –
Spouse’s last name if joint return Spouse’s first name and initial if joint return Spouse’s SSN if joint return

–            –
Telephone numberCurrent mailing address

City State ZIP code If you filed a return last year, and your 
name or address is different, check here

(              )

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

For office use only

Country

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Form

40N
FOR NONRESIDENTS

Federal column Oregon column

  8  Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Staple all Forms W-2 below ................    8

  9  Taxable interest income from federal Form 1040, line 8a .......................................    9

10  Dividend income from federal Form 1040, line 9a ..................................................  10

11  State and local income tax refunds from federal Form 1040, line 10......................  11

12  Alimony received from federal Form 1040, line 11 ..................................................  12

13  Business income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 12 ......................................  13

14  Capital gain or loss from federal Form 1040, line 13 ..............................................  14

15  Other gains or losses from federal Form 1040, line 14 ...........................................  15

16  IRA distributions from federal Form 1040, line 15b .................................................  16

17  Pensions and annuities from federal Form 1040, line 16b......................................  17

18  Rents, royalties, partnerships, etc., from federal Form 1040, line 17......................  18

19  Farm income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 18 ............................................  19

20  Unemployment and other income from federal Form 1040, lines 19 through 21 ....  20

21  Total income. Add lines 8 through 20 ....................................................................• 21a •21b

22  IRA or SEP and SIMPLE contributions, federal Form 1040, lines 28 and 32..........  22

23  Education deductions from federal Form 1040, lines 23, 33, and 34......................  23

24  Moving expenses from federal Form 1040, line 26 .................................................  24

25  Deduction for self-employment tax from federal Form 1040, line 27 ......................  25

26  Self-employed health insurance deduction from federal Form 1040, line 29 ..........  26

27  Alimony paid from federal Form 1040, line 31a.......................................................  27

28  Other adjustments to income. Identify: 28a 28b ...............................  28

29  Total adjustments to income. Add lines 22 through 28..........................................• 29a •29b

30  Income after adjustments. Line 21 minus line 29..................................................• 30a •30b

31  Interest on state and local government bonds outside of Oregon.........................• 31

32  Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor child ..................................• 32

33  Other additions. •33a •33b  $ •33c •33d  $ • 33

34  Total additions. Add lines 31 through 33 ...............................................................• 34a •34b

35  Income after additions. Add lines 30 and 34.........................................................• 35a •35b

ADDITIONS

INCOME

Staple
W-2s, 
payment, 
and
payment 
voucher 
here

ADJUSTMENTS
TO INCOME

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

OREGON
INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURN

K    F    P    Q    R

  Deceased

  Deceased

  Amended Return•

•
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• License No.

CHARITABLE
CHECKOFFS

PAGE 31
I want to 
donate part 
of my tax 
refund to 
the following 
fund(s).

36  Amount from front of form, line 35..........................................................................   36

37  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits included on line 20....• 37

38  Other subtractions. •38c •38d  $ •38e •38f  $ •38a •38b

39  Income after subtractions. Line 36 minus lines 37 and 38 .....................................•39a •39b

40 Oregon percentage. Line 39b ÷ line 39a (not more than 100%) ........ 40

41  Itemized deductions from federal Schedule A, line 28 ...........................................• 41

42  State income tax or sales tax claimed as itemized deduction................................• 42

43  Net Oregon itemized deductions. Line 41 minus line 42........................................• 43

44  Standard deduction from page 24..........................................................................• 44

45  2005 federal tax liability ($0–$4,500; see instructions for the correct amount) ...• 45

46  Other deductions and modifications. Identify: 46a 46b ...................• 46

47  Deductions and modifications  Oregon percentage. See page 26 .......................  47

48  Deductions and modifications not multiplied by the Oregon percentage. See page 26 ...• 48

49  Total deductions and other modifications. Add lines 47 and 48 .......................................................................• 49

50  Oregon taxable income. Line 39b minus line 49 ..............................................................................................• 50

51 Tax. See pages 26 and 27 for instructions. Enter tax here ...................................• 51

Check if tax is from: •   Form FIA-40N  or  •   Worksheet FCG

52  Interest on certain installment sales.......................................................................• 52

53  Total tax. Add lines 51 and 52 ............................................................................................. OREGON TAX • 53

54 Exemption credit. Line 6e  $154 Oregon percentage from line 40 ..............• 54

55  Earned income credit. See instructions, page 27...................................................• 55

56  Child and dependent care credit. See instructions, page 28..................................• 56

57  Credit for income taxes paid to another state. State: •57a Attach proof • 57

58  Other credits. •58a •58b  $ •58c •58d  $ ...• 58

59  Total credits. Add lines 54 through 58 ..............................................................................................................• 59

60  Net income tax. Line 53 minus line 59. If line 59 is more than line 53, fill in -0-...............................................• 60

61  Oregon income tax withheld from income. Attach Forms W-2 and 1099 ............• 61

62  Estimated tax payments for 2005 and payments made with your extension ........• 62

63 Working family child care credit from WFC-N/P, line 21...CREDIT AMOUNT • 63

Number from WFC-N/P, line 5•63a Amount from WFC-N/P, line 18•63b  $

64  Total payments. Add lines 61, 62, and 63 ........................................................................................................• 64

65  Overpayment. Is line 60 less than line 64? If so, line 64 minus line 60 ...................... OVERPAYMENT • 65

66 Tax to pay. Is line 60 more than line 64? If so, line 60 minus line 64.................................. TAX TO PAY • 66

67  Penalty and interest for filing or paying late. See instructions, page 30.................. 67

68  Interest on estimated tax underpayment. Attach Form 10 and check box   ....• 68

      Exception # from Form 10, line 1 •68a

69  Total penalty and interest due. Add lines 67 and 68.........................................................................................• 69

70 Amount you owe. Line 66 plus line 69 .................................................................. AMOUNT YOU OWE • 70

71 Refund. Is line 65 more than line 69? If so, line 65 minus line 69 ............................................. REFUND • 71

72 Estimated tax. Fill in the part of line 71 you want applied to 2006 estimated tax....• 72

73  Oregon Nongame Wildlife ...............   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 73

74  Child Abuse Prevention...................   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____ • 74

75  Alzheimer’s Disease Research .......   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____ • 75

76  Stop Domestic & Sexual Violence...   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____ • 76

77  AIDS/HIV Education and Services ...   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____ • 77

78  Other charity. Code •78a ......   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 78

79  Total. Add lines 72 through 78. Total can’t be more than your refund on line 71 .............................................• 79

80 NET REFUND. Line 71 minus line 79. This is your net refund........................................... NET REFUND • 80

81  For direct deposit of your refund, see the instructions on page 33.                      • Type of Account:   Checking   or   Savings

ADD TOGETHER

EITHER,
NOT BOTH

DEDUCTIONS
AND
MODIFICATIONS

ADD TOGETHER

OREGON
TAX

CREDITS

ADD TOGETHER

PAYMENTS,
PENALTY, AND
INTEREST

SUBTRAC TIONS

Page 2 — 2005  Form 40N Federal column Oregon column

__ __ __.__%

Attach Schedule 
WFC-N/P if you 
claim this credit

These will
reduce

your refund

 I authorize the Department of Rev-
enue to contact this preparer about 
the processing of this return. 

Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including ac companying sched ules 
and statements. To the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person 
other than the taxpayer, this dec laration is based on all in formation of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date

Address Telephone No.X
X

Spouse’s signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign) Date

X

• Routing No. • Account No.

DIRECT
DEPOSIT

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00.00

.00.00
.00

.00.00

.00

.00
.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00

150-101-048 (Rev. 12-05) 

.00

.00

.00

.00
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NOW GO TO THE BACK OF THE FORM

  8  Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Staple all Forms W-2 below ................    8

  9  Taxable interest income from federal Form 1040, line 8a ......................................    9

10  Dividend income from federal Form 1040, line 9a ..................................................  10

11  State and local income tax refunds from federal Form 1040, line 10......................  11

12  Alimony received from federal Form 1040, line 11 ..................................................  12

13  Business income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 12 ......................................  13

14  Capital gain or loss from federal Form 1040, line 13 ..............................................  14

15  Other gains or losses from federal Form 1040, line 14 ...........................................  15

16  IRA distributions from federal Form 1040, line 15b .................................................  16

17  Pensions and annuities from federal Form 1040, line 16b......................................  17

18  Rents, royalties, partnerships, etc., from federal Form 1040, line 17......................  18

19  Farm income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 18 ............................................  19

20  Unemployment and other income from federal Form 1040, lines 19 through 21 ....  20

21  Total income. Add lines 8 through 20 ....................................................................• 21a •21b

22  IRA or SEP and SIMPLE contributions, federal Form 1040, lines 28 and 32..........  22

23  Education deductions from federal Form 1040, lines 23, 33, and 34......................  23

24  Moving expenses from federal Form 1040, line 26 .................................................  24

25  Deduction for self-employment tax from federal Form 1040, line 27 ......................  25

26  Self-employed health insurance deduction from federal Form 1040, line 29 ..........  26

27  Alimony paid from federal Form 1040, line 31a.......................................................  27

28  Other adjustments to income. Identify: 28a 28b ...............................  28

29  Total adjustments to income. Add lines 22 through 28..........................................• 29a                                       •29b

30  Income after adjustments. Line 21 minus line 29..................................................• 30a •30b

31  Interest on state and local government bonds outside of Oregon.........................• 31

32  Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor child ..................................• 32

33  Other additions. •33a •33b  $ •33c •33d  $ • 33

34  Total additions. Add lines 31 through 33 ...............................................................• 34a •34b

35  Income after additions. Add lines 30 and 34.........................................................• 35a •35b

Staple
W-2s, 
payment, 
and
payment 
voucher 
here

ADDITIONS

Federal column Oregon column

INCOME

ADJUSTMENTS
TO INCOME

Attach a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040NR. Do not attach other federal sched ules.

•

7d  You filed 
an Oregon 
Form 24

7c •   You  
filed federal 
Form 8886

7b •  You 
filed an 
extension

150-101-055 (Rev. 12-05) 

• 1
2

3

Single

Married fi ling jointly

Married fi ling 
separately

4 Head of household

5 Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child

Filing
Status
Check
only
one
box

Spouse’s name

Spouse’s SSN

Person who qualifi es you

Exemptions
6a Yourself......Regular ........ Severely disabled ......... 6a

6b Spouse ......Regular ........ Severely disabled  ........... b

6c All de pendents First names ________________________________• c

6d Disabled First names ________________________________• d
children only

Total

Total 6e•

•

Oregon Department of Rev enue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

Mail REFUND returns and
NO-TAX-DUE returns to

Mail TAX-TO-PAY
returns to 

REFUND
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-0930

For offi ce use only

FOR PART-YEAR RESIDENTS

Last name First name and initial Social Security No. (SSN)

–            –
Spouse’s last name if joint return Spouse’s fi rst name and initial if joint return Spouse’s SSN if joint return

–            –
Telephone numberCurrent mailing address

City State ZIP code If you fi led a return last year, and your 
name or address is different, check here

(               )

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Country

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Fiscal year endingOregon resident:
From To

mm            dd             yyyy mm            dd             yyyy

Check
all that 
apply

7a    • •
     You were:   65 or older   Blind
Spouse was:   65 or older   Blind

2005
Form

40P

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

OREGON
Individual Income Tax Return

K    F    P    Q    R

  Deceased

  Deceased

   Amended Return

•
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• License No.Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date

Address Telephone No.X
X

Spouse’s signature (if fi ling jointly, BOTH must sign) Date

X

CHARITABLE
CHECKOFFS

PAGE 31
I want to 
donate part 
of my tax 
refund to 
the following 
fund(s).

36  Amount from front of form, line 35...........................................................................  36

37  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefi ts included on line 20....• 37

38  Other subtractions. •38c •38d  $ •38e •38f  $ •38a •38b

39  Income after subtractions. Line 36 minus lines 37 and 38 .....................................•39a •39b

40 Oregon percentage. Line 39b ÷ line 39a (not more than 100%) ........ 40

41  Amount from line 39a (federal amount)................................................................... 41

42  Item ized deductions from federal Schedule A, line 28 ...........................................• 42

43  State income tax or sales tax claimed as itemized deduction ....................................• 43

44 Net Oregon itemized deductions. Line 42 minus line 43........................................• 44

45  Standard deduction from page 24..........................................................................• 45

46  2005 federal tax liability ($0–$4,500; see instructions for the correct amount) ...• 46

47  Other deductions and modifi cations. Identify: 47a 47b  ...................• 47

48  Add lines 45, 46, and 47 or lines 44, 46, and 47. Fill in the larger amount ..................................................... • 48

49  Taxable income. Line 41 minus line 48 ........................................................................................................... • 49

50 Tax from tax rate charts (see instructions, pages 26–27) ........ 50

51 Oregon income tax. Line 50 Oregon percentage from line 40 .......................• 51

      Check if tax is from:  •   Form FIA-40P  or  •   Worksheet FCG

52  Interest on certain installment sales.......................................................................• 52

53  Total tax. Add lines 51 and 52 ............................................................................................OREGON TAX • 53

54  Exemption credit. Line 6e  $154 Oregon percentage from line 40 ..............• 54

55  Earned income credit. See instructions, page 27...................................................• 55

56  Child and dependent care credit. See instructions, page 28..................................• 56

57  Credit for income taxes paid to another state. State: •57a Attach proof • 57

58  Other credits. •58a •58b  $ •58c •58d  $ ...• 58

59  Total credits. Add lines 54 through 58 ..............................................................................................................• 59

60  Net income tax. Line 53 minus line 59. If line 59 is more than line 53, fi ll in -0-.............................................. • 60

61  Oregon income tax withheld from income. Attach Forms W-2 and 1099 ............• 61

62  Estimated tax payments for 2005 and payments made with your extension ........• 62

63 Working family child care credit from WFC-N/P, line 21...CREDIT AMOUNT • 63

Number from WFC-N/P, line 5•63a Amount from WFC-N/P, line 18•63b  $

64  Total payments. Add lines 61, 62, and 63 ........................................................................................................• 64

65 Overpayment. Is line 60 less than line 64? If so, line 64 minus line 60 ....................... OVERPAYMENT • 65

66 Tax to pay. Is line 60 more than line 64? If so, line 60 minus line 64 .................................. TAX TO PAY • 66

67  Penalty and interest for fi ling or paying late. See instructions, page 30....................67

68  Interest on estimated tax underpayment. Attach Form 10 and check box .....• 68

Exception # from Form 10, line 1 •68a

69  Total penalty and interest due. Add lines 67 and 68.........................................................................................• 69

70 Amount you owe. Line 66 plus line 69 ................................................................... AMOUNT YOU OWE • 70

71 Refund. Is line 65 more than line 69? If so, line 65 minus line 69 ............................................. REFUND • 71

72 Estimated tax. Fill in the part of line 71 you want applied to 2006 estimated tax....• 72

73  Oregon Nongame Wildlife ...............   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____   • 73

74  Child Abuse Prevention...................   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____ • 74

75  Alzheimer’s Disease Research .......   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____ • 75

76  Stop Domestic & Sexual Violence...   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____ • 76

77  AIDS/HIV Education and Services ..   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____ • 77

78  Other charity. Code •78a ......   $1 ....   $5 ....   $10.....   Other $_____ • 78

79  Total. Add lines 72 through 78. Total can’t be more than your refund on line 71 .............................................• 79

80 NET REFUND. Line 71 minus line 79. This is your net refund............................................NET REFUND • 80

81  For direct deposit of your refund, see the instructions on page 33.                      • Type of Account:   Checking   or   Savings

ADD TOGETHER

SUBTRAC TIONS
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AND
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Page 2 — 2005  Form 40P Federal column Oregon column

__ __ __.__%
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TAX
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INTEREST
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claim this credit

 I authorize the Department of Rev-
enue to contact this preparer about 
the processing of this return. 

Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including ac companying sched ules 
and statements. To the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person 
other than the taxpayer, this dec laration is based on all in formation of which the preparer has any knowledge.
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and the nonresident files Form 40N. If you choose to 
file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N.

• Part-year resident and nonresident. You may file 
separate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns 
for Oregon, you must use the married filing sepa-
rately status. The part-year resident files Form 40P, 
and the nonresident files Form 40N. If you choose to 
file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N. 

Need more information? Download the publication 
Married Persons Filing Separate Returns from our Web 
site or to order it, see page 40.

Military personnel

Nonresidents stationed in Oregon. Oregon does not 
tax your military pay while you are stationed in Ore-
gon. File Form 40N if you or your spouse had income 
from other Oregon sources or to claim a refund of Ore-
gon tax withheld from your military pay.

Residents stationed in Oregon. If you are an Oregon 
resident stationed in Oregon, file Form 40 from the 
Full-Year Resident tax booklet.

Residents stationed outside Oregon. If you are an 
Oregon resident stationed outside Oregon, you may 
file Form 40N if you meet the requirements for spe-
cial case Oregon residents or Oregon residents living 
abroad. See “Residency” on page 4. File Form 40 from 
the Full-Year Resident tax booklet if you don’t meet the 
listed requirements.

Need more information? Download the publication 
Military Personnel Filing Information from our Web site 
or to order it, see page 40.

Filing for a deceased person

You must file a final return for a person who died dur-
ing the calendar year if a return normally would be 
required. See “Should I file an Oregon return?” on page 
3. If a return must be filed, please check the “deceased” 
box.

If you are filing a return and claiming a refund for 
someone who is now deceased and there is no court-
appointed or certified personal representative, file 
Form 243, Claim to Refund Due a Deceased Person, with 
the return. This will allow us to issue the refund check 
in your name. Download the form from our Web site or 
contact us to order it.

What form do I use?

Use Form 40N if any ONE of the following is true:

• You are a nonresident, or
• You are a special case Oregon resident (see “Special 

case Oregon residents” on page 4), or

• You and your spouse are filing jointly and one (or 
both) of you is a nonresident, or

• You meet the military personnel nonresident 
requirements explained on this page, or

• You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 
for the entire year.

Use Form 40P if any ONE of the following is true:

• You are a part-year resident, or
• You are filing jointly and one spouse is a full-year 

Oregon resident and one is a part-year resident, or
• You are filing jointly and both spouses are part-year 

Oregon residents, or
• You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 

for part of the year.

Use Form 40 or 40S if any ONE of the following is true:

• You are a full-year resident, or
• You and your spouse are both full-year residents fil-

ing jointly.

Forms 40 and 40S are available on our Web site and at 
many post offices and libraries in Oregon and south-
west Washington. To order Forms 40 and 40S and 
instructions, see page 40.

When should I file my return?

The filing deadline for calendar year 2005 is April 17, 
2006. If you cannot pay all of your tax by the due date, 
file your return anyway to avoid a late-filing penalty.

Returns for other tax periods are due by the 15th day 
of the fourth month after the close of your tax year.

What if I need more time to file?

Request an extension of time to file your return. Com-
plete an Oregon extension form, Form 40-EXT, if:

• You are making a tax payment to Oregon and you 
cannot file your Oregon return by April 17, 2006, or

• You are filing an extension for Oregon only.

If you received a federal extension and you are expect-
ing an Oregon refund, do not use Form 40-EXT. Oregon 
will allow you the same extension. Be sure to check the 
extension box (box 7b) on your Oregon return when 
you file. Do not attach a copy of your federal extension 
to your Oregon return. Keep a copy of your federal 
extension with your records.

If you need to complete Form 40-EXT, download the 
form from our Web site or to order it, see page 40.

An extension does not mean more time to pay!

You must pay any tax you expect to owe when you file 
your extension. If you do not pay all the tax due with 
your extension, you will owe interest on the unpaid 
balance after April 17, 2006, until the date of your pay-

What form do I use?
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ment. The 2006 interest rate is 7 percent per year. If the 
tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the interest 
rate increases to 11 percent per year. You may also owe 
a late-payment penalty.

Were you stationed in a designated combat zone?

Did you receive additional time to file your 2005 
federal return and pay your 2005 tax? If so, Oregon 
allows the same additional time to file and pay. Write 
“Combat zone” in blue or black ink at the top of your 
return.

Penalties

You will owe a 5 percent late-payment penalty on any 
2005 tax not paid by April 17, 2006.

If you file more than three months after the due date 
or extension due date, a 20 percent late-filing penalty 
will be added; that is, you will owe a total penalty of 25 
percent of any tax not paid.

There is an exception to paying a penalty. For line 67 
instructions, see page 30.

A 100 percent penalty is charged if you do not file a 
return for three consecutive years by the due date of 
the third year, including extensions. The penalty is 100 
percent of the unpaid tax for each of the three years.

Interest on underpayment of 
estimated tax

You may owe interest on underpayment of estimated 
tax if:

• You owe $1,000 or more on your return after credits 
and withholding, or

• You paid less than 90 percent of the tax due on each 
estimated tax payment due date.

For line 68 instructions, see page 30.

2006 estimated tax

Estimated tax is the amount of tax you expect to owe 
after credits and Oregon tax withheld when you file 
your 2006 Oregon individual income tax return.

Oregon estimated tax laws are not the same as federal 
estimated tax laws. Use Oregon instructions to decide if 
you need to make estimated tax payments for 2006.

Who must make estimated tax payments?

In most cases, people who expect to owe $1,000 or more 
on their 2006 Oregon income tax return after credits 
and withholding must make estimated payments. You 
may also need to make estimated payments if:

• You are self-employed and don’t have Oregon tax 
withheld from your income.

• You received Oregon Lottery single ticket winnings 
of less than $5,000. (Note: Single ticket winnings of 
$5,000 or more are subject to Oregon withholding.)

• You receive income such as pensions, interest, or 
dividends, and Oregon tax is not withheld.

• You are a wage earner and expect to owe tax of 
$1,000 or more on your 2006 return. You may want to 
increase the amount your employer withholds from 
your Oregon wages. Download the publication Ore-
gon Income Tax Withholding: Some Special Cases from 
our Web site or contact us to order it.

When do I pay?

The due dates are April 17, 2006;* June 15, 2006; Sep-
tember 15, 2006; and January 16, 2007.

If paying with a check or money order, send your pay-
ment with Form 40-ESV, Oregon Estimated Income Tax 
Payment Voucher. Download the publication from our 
Web site or to order it, see page 40.

* Please send your 2006 estimated tax payment and Ore-
gon Form 40-ESV in a separate envelope from your 2005 
Oregon income tax return. This will help us credit your 
payment more efficiently.

What if I am self-employed?

If you are self-employed and do business in Multnomah, 
Clackamas, or Washington counties, you may also need 
to file Form TM, TriMet Self-Employment Tax Return. If 
you are self-employed and do business in Lane County, 
you may need to file Form LTD, Lane Transit District Self-
Employment Tax Return. Visit our Web site to download 
the forms, or contact us to order them.

Frequently asked questions

Is my tax return private information?

Yes. All information provided on the return is confi-
dential. Any Oregon Department of Revenue employee 
who gives out confidential information without your 
permission may be convicted of a Class C felony.

I’m getting an income tax refund this year. How long 
will it take to process my refund?

After the processing of part-year and nonresident 
returns begins on March 1, allow:

• E-file return .................................... 7–12 business days
• Mail return (before April 1) ........................ 6–8 weeks
• Mail return (on or after April 1) ................8–11 weeks

Your refund may be delayed if your return needs fur-
ther review.

I’m moving. Will my refund check be forwarded to me?

Yes. If you move after you file your return, let us know 
your new address. Download a change of address 

2006 estimated tax
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Instructions for Forms 40N and 40P

form from our Web site or contact us. Remember to file 
a change of address form with your local post office.

What tax records do I need to keep?

You need to keep:

• A complete copy of both your federal and state 
returns, even if you use a tax practitioner or file elec-
tronically.

• All original receipts, canceled checks, statements, 
and other records you used to prepare your return. 
Save these records for at least three years from the 
due date of the return or three years from the date 
you file your return, whichever is later. If your 
return is audited, the law says you must show 
proof of your income and expenses.

• All records from the sale, purchase, or exchange of 
property and investments. Keep these records for at 
least three years after you report the gain or loss on 
the property or investment.

Download the publication Record-Keeping Requirements 
from our Web site or to order it, see page 40.

What if I need to change my Oregon return after filing?

File an amended return. Use Form 40N or Form 40P 
to change (amend) your 2005 return, and check the 
amended return box in the upper left hand corner of 
the form. You must also complete and attach the Ore-
gon Amended Schedule to your 2005 amended return. 
Download the schedule from our Web site or to order 
it, see page 40.

Generally, you are allowed three years from the due 
date of the return to file an amended return to claim a 
refund. If you need assistance, please contact us.

What if I’m audited by the IRS or another state?

If the IRS or another state makes changes that increase 
your Oregon taxable income, file an amended return to 
report and pay additional tax. If the changes reduce Ore-
gon taxable income, you have two years from the date of 
the audit report to file an amended return to claim a 
refund.

Step 1: Select the appropriate form
To decide whether to use Form 40N or 40P, see page 13.

Step 2: Fill out your federal form
Your Oregon tax is determined using the ratio of your 
Oregon source income to your entire federal income. 
Fill out your federal return first, then your Oregon 
return. You must attach a copy (front and back) of your 
federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040NR to your 
Oregon tax return. Do not attach any federal sched-
ules. We may ask for copies of schedules or additional 
information later.

Step 3: Start the Oregon form

Residency

Enter the dates you were an Oregon resident during 
2005. For example, “01/01/2005 to 04/15/2005,” or 
“03/01/2005 to 12/31/2005.”

Fiscal year filers

Write the end date of your fiscal year in the space. 
Write “Fiscal year” in blue or black ink at the top of 
your return.

Name and address

Please type or clearly print your name, Social Security 
number, date of birth, address, and telephone number 
on your return. If the taxpayer died in 2005 or 2006, 
check the “deceased” box next to their name.

Social Security number (SSN). The request for your 
SSN is authorized by Section 405, Title 42, of the Unit-
ed States Code. You must provide this information. It 
will be used to establish your identity for tax purposes 
only.

Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN). If 
the IRS has issued you an ITIN because you do not 
have a Social Security number, enter your ITIN wher-
ever your SSN is requested. If you do not have an ITIN, 
you need to request one from the IRS. Do not attach 
your ITIN application (federal Form W-7) to your Ore-
gon tax return. Write “ITIN applied for” on the top 
of your Oregon return and file the return by April 17, 
2006. For a copy of Form W-7, visit the IRS Web site at 
www.irs.gov or call the IRS at 1-800-829-1040.

Date of birth. Enter the month, day, and year you were 
born. For example, “09/22/1976.”

Form 40N/40P instructions
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Check the boxes

Filing status

1 5– Check the box next to your filing status. 
If filing as head of household, enter the 

name of a person who qualifies you for head of house-
hold filing status next to box 4. Please enter only one 
name.

You must check the same filing status you checked 
on your federal return. Exception: If you and your 
spouse do not have the same residency status, you 
may file separate returns for Oregon even if you filed 
your federal return as married filing jointly. To deter-
mine which form to use based on the filing status you 
choose for Oregon, see page 4.

How to file separate returns for Oregon

If you are married filing separately (MFS), enter your 
spouse’s first name, last name (first four letters only), 
and Social Security number next to box 3. Do not fill in 
your spouse’s name or Social Security number in the 
heading of the return.

If you file separate returns for Oregon only, report 
your own share of federal adjusted gross income (AGI) 
and deductions. Also, report your share of any Oregon 
additions or subtractions. To figure your share, use 
this formula to determine your percentage:

Your share of federal AGI
=

Your percentage 
(not to exceed 100%)Joint federal AGI

Write “MFS for Oregon only” in blue or black ink at 
the top of your return. Attach the following to both 
Oregon returns:

• A federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040NR pre-
pared as if you had filed married filing separately, 
and

• A copy of the joint Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 
1040NR you actually filed.

If possible, mail both spouses’ Oregon returns in the 
same envelope. Do not staple the returns together.

Download the publication Married Persons Filing Separate 
Returns from our Web site or to order it, see page 40.

Exemptions

6a 6b& Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself” 
and other boxes that apply. If someone 

else can claim you as a dependent, you can’t claim an 
exemption for yourself. Enter -0- in the total box on 6a 
unless you have a severe disability.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability 
at the end of 2005? If so, you may claim an additional 
exemption credit. You may qualify for the severely dis-
abled exemption even if someone else can claim you 

as a dependent. You are considered to have a severe 
disability if any of the following apply:

• You permanently lost the use of one or both feet, or
• You permanently lost the use of both hands, or
• You are permanently blind, or
• You have a permanent condition that, without special 

equipment or outside help, limits your ability to:
— Earn a living, or
— Maintain a household, or
— Transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include items such as eye-
glasses, contact lenses, ordinary crutches, or hearing 
aids.

You don’t qualify for this exemption if: 

• You have a temporary disability from an injury or 
illness and are expected to recover, or

• Your condition keeps you from doing your former 
work but does not prevent you from doing other 
kinds of work without special equipment.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your phy-
sician must write a letter describing your disability. 
Keep the letter with your permanent health records.

If you qualify, check the “Severely disabled” exemp-
tion box. If your spouse qualifies, he or she may also 
claim this exemption. You and your spouse may also 
qualify for the loss of use of limbs credit. For more 
information, please contact us.

6c All dependents. Enter the number of your 
dependents in box 6c. Fill in their first names 

on the line. In most cases, you must claim the same 
dependents as are on your federal return.

6d Children with a disability. You may be entitled 
to an additional personal exemption for your 

dependent child who has a qualifying disability. To 
qualify, all of the following must be true. Your child:

• Qualified as your dependent for 2005, and
• Was considered to have a disability as of December 

31, 2005 under the federal Individuals with Disabili-
ties Education Act, and

• Was eligible for “early intervention services,” or
• Received special education as defined by a state 

board of education. Eligible disabilities include:
— Autism.
— Deaf-blind.
— Hearing impairment.
— Mental retardation.
— Multiple disablities.
— Orthopedic impairment.
— Other health impairment.
— Serious emotional disturbance.
— Traumatic brain injury.
— Visual impairment.

Filing status and exemptions
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Note: Learning disabilities or communication disorders 
alone don’t qualify.

Get a statement of eligibility that confirms one of the 
disabilities listed on the previous page and the cover 
sheet from one of the following:

• The child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP), 
or

• The child’s Individualized Family Service Plan 
(IFSP).

Keep the statement and cover sheet with your perma-
nent health records. Write your child’s name on line 
6d, “Disabled children only.” Also be sure to include 
the child’s name on line 6c for “All dependents.”

7a Age 65 or older, or blind. Check the boxes on 
line 7a if you or your spouse were age 65 or 

older or blind on December 31, 2005. You are entitled 
to a larger standard deduction on Form 40N, line 44; or 
Form 40P, line 45.

If you or your spouse are blind, you may also qualify 
for the severely disabled exemption credit. For box 6a 
and 6b instructions, see page 16.

7b Extension. If you filed an extension of time to file, 
check box 7b. For more information, see page 13.

7c Federal Form 8886. If you filed federal Form 
8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure Statement,

check box 7c.

7d Oregon Form 24. Did you file federal Form 8824 
because you are deferring gain on exchanged 

property? If so, check the box on line 7d. Also, com-
plete and attach Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/
Involuntary Conversions. Download the form from our 
Web site or to order it, see page 40.

Step 4: Line instructions

The following instructions are for Form 40N or 40P, 

lines 8–81, if not fully explained on the form.

Amended return. If you are amending your 2005 
return, check the amended return box in the upper left 
hand corner of Form 40N or Form 40P.

Do not fill in cents. You must round off cents to the 
nearest whole dollar. For example, $99.49 becomes $99 
and $99.50 becomes $100.

The forms have two columns for figures. These are to 
compare the portion of your federal adjusted gross 
income that Oregon taxes to your total federal adjusted 
gross income.

Federal column instructions, 
lines 8–30

The first column is labeled “Federal column.” For lines 
8–30 of the federal column, fill in the same amounts 
you reported on your federal return.

Line 30a, “Income after adjustments,” must match 
your 2005 federal adjusted gross income from federal 
Form 1040, line 37; Form 1040A, line 21; Form 1040EZ, 
line 4; or Form 1040NR, line 35. If it does not match, 
please check that you transferred your federal figures 
correctly. If you need help, please contact us.

Oregon column instructions, 
lines 8–30

The second column is labeled “Oregon column.” Use 
the Oregon column to list the amounts from the fed-
eral column that Oregon taxes.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes only your income from 
Oregon sources. To compute your Oregon source 
income, see “What does income from Oregon sources 
include?” on page 3.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from 
all sources earned or received while you were an 
Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes your income from 
Oregon sources while you were a nonresident. To 
compute your Oregon source income, see “What does 
income from Oregon sources include?” on page 3.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from 
all sources. All amounts included in the federal col-
umn should also be included in the Oregon column.

8 Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Part-
year residents—fill in amounts you earned 

while an Oregon resident and any amounts you earned 
working in Oregon while you were a nonresident. 

Full-year residents—fill in all income included in the 
federal column.

Nonresidents—fill in the amount earned while work-
ing in Oregon. If that amount differs from the Oregon 
wages on your W-2 form, you must attach an explana-
tion from your employer to the back of your return. If 
your Oregon wages are not stated separately on your 
W-2, compute your Oregon source income using the 
following formula:

Days actually worked in Oregon
×

Total 
wages

=
Oregon 
wagesDays actually worked everywhere

Do not include holidays, vacation days, and sick days 
as days actually worked. However, you must include 
sick pay, holiday pay, and vacation pay in total wages. 
See the example on page 3. If Oregon is the only state 
you worked in, do not use this formula; all of your 

Line instructions

49



Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.18

earnings are taxable and should be reported in the 
Oregon column.

Exceptions:

• If you are a nonresident with interstate transporta-
tion wages, you may qualify for special treatment 
under the Amtrak Act. Download the publication 
Amtrak Act (Interstate Transportation Wages) from our 
Web site or to order it, see page 40.

• Nonresidents who work on Bonneville, The Dalles, 
John Day, or McNary dams should exclude this 
income from the Oregon column. Write the name 
of the dam you work on at the top left corner of the 
return. Please use blue or black ink.

• Nonresidents who work as crew or pilots on a ves-
sel on the Columbia River or Snake River waterway 
should exclude this income from the Oregon col-
umn. Write “Waterway” at the top left corner of the 
return. Please use blue or black ink.

• Nonresident members of the U.S. Armed Forces sta-
tioned in Oregon should exclude their military pay 
from the Oregon column. Military pay of a nonresi-
dent is not Oregon source income. Do not report it in 
the Oregon column on line 8. Write “Military non-
resident” at the top left corner of the return. Please 
use blue or black ink.

9 Taxable interest income. Determine the amount 
of interest income you received while you were 

a nonresident on funds used for business activity in 
Oregon. Add any interest included on your federal 
return that you received during the part of the year 
you were an Oregon resident.

10 Dividend income. Determine the amount of 
dividends received from an Oregon business 

activity source while you were a nonresident. This 
includes dividends passed through to you from an S 
corporation or partnership doing business in Oregon. 
These are dividends your S corporation or partnership 
received on the stock of another corporation. Add any 
dividend income included on your federal return that 
you received during the part of the year you were an 
Oregon resident.

11 State and local income tax refunds. Fill in the 
amount reported on your federal return that is:

• A refund from Oregon or any other state or locality 
for which you claimed a deduction on an Oregon 
return in a prior year, or

• A refund received during the part of the year you 
were an Oregon resident.

12 Alimony received. Fill in alimony you received 
for the part of the year you were an Oregon resi-

dent.

13 Business income or loss. For the part of the year 
you were a nonresident, determine the amount 

of income or loss from an Oregon business activity. 
Add all business income or losses incurred for the part 
of the year you were a resident of Oregon. 

14 Capital gain or loss. For the part of the year you 
were a nonresident, determine the amount of 

gain or loss and capital gain distributions from Ore-
gon sources. Add the amount of your capital gains and 
losses received during the part of the year you were an 
Oregon resident. Limit losses to $3,000 ($1,500 if mar-
ried filing separately).

15 Other gains or losses. For the part of the year 
you were a nonresident, determine the amount 

of gain or loss from Oregon sources. Add the gain 
received or loss incurred for the part of the year you 
were an Oregon resident.

16 IRA distributions. Determine the amount of any 
taxable individual retirement arrangement (IRA) 

distributions you received while an Oregon resident. 
Include any amounts you converted from a regular 
IRA into a Roth IRA while you lived in Oregon. If you 
lived in another state when you made contributions to 
your IRA, you may need more information. If so, please 
contact us.

17 Pensions and annuities. In the Oregon column, 
report the amount of taxable pensions and annui-

ties (including federal pensions) you received while an 
Oregon resident. If you are domiciled in Oregon, you 
must also include any Oregon source pensions you 
received. This is true even though you may qualify as a 
nonresident under the tests for special case Oregon resi-
dent or Oregon resident living abroad. See page 4.

For example, if you lived in Oregon before you retired 
and have not changed your permanent home to 
another state, you must report the pension you earned 
while you worked in Oregon. If you get a federal pen-
sion, you may qualify for a subtraction on line 38. See 
page 21. If you need help, please contact us.

18 Rents, royalties, partnerships, limited liabil-
ity companies, real estate investment trusts 

(REITs), estates, trusts, etc., from federal Schedule E.
Determine the amount of income you received from 
Oregon sources during the part of the year you were 
not a resident. Add the amount received during the 
part of the year you were an Oregon resident. Partners 
and S corporation shareholders may need more infor-
mation. If so, please contact us.

19 Farm income or loss. Determine the amount of 
income or loss received from an Oregon farm 

while you were a nonresident. Add to that the amount 
of farm income or loss received during the part of the 
year you were an Oregon resident.

20 Unemployment compensation, taxable Social 
Security, and all other taxable income. Deter-

mine the amount of any unemployment compensation 
and any other taxable income you received during the 
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part of the year you were an Oregon resident. Add 
any unemployment compensation or severance pay 
received because of an Oregon job, and any other 
Oregon income you received while you were a non-
resident. Don’t fill in any Social Security, Railroad 
Retirement Board benefits, or Railroad Retirement 
Board unemployment benefits in the Oregon column; 
Oregon doesn’t tax this income.

Include all payments received from the Oregon Lottery in 
the Oregon column. Oregon Lottery includes Powerball 
tickets you purchased in Oregon. To determine whether 
you can subtract some or all of this amount on line 38, 
see “Oregon Lottery winnings” on page 23.

Adjustments to income

22 IRA or self-employed SEP and SIMPLE contri-
butions. Oregon follows the federal definition 

of earned income and compensation used to calculate 
your IRA and other retirement plan deductions. Deter-
mine the amount you paid during the part of the year 
you were an Oregon resident. Add the amount calcu-
lated for the time you were a nonresident.

• IRA. For the part of the year you were a nonresi-
dent, determine your deduction using the follow-
ing formula:

Oregon compensation
while a nonresident

×

IRA
contributions 
made while a 
nonresident

=
Nonresident

deductionTotal compensation
while a nonresident

 This deduction cannot be more than the amount 
of Oregon compensation included in the Oregon 
column.

• Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans.
For the part of the year you were a nonresident, 
determine your allowable deduction using the fol-
lowing formula:

Oregon earned income
while a nonresident

×
Contributions 
made while a 
nonresident

=
Nonresident

deductionTotal earned income
while a nonresident

 This deduction cannot be more than the amount of 
earned income included in the Oregon column.

23 Education deductions. The following instruc-
tions will help you figure the amounts you can 

claim on your Oregon return.

• Educator expenses deduction from federal Form 
1040, line 23; or Form 1040A, line 16. For the part 
of the year you were a nonresident, determine the 
amount of qualified educator expenses you paid 
while working in an Oregon elementary or second-
ary school. Add the qualified educator expenses you 
paid during the part of the year you were an Oregon 
resident. Enter the lesser of the result or the amount 

deducted on your federal return, but no more than 
$250 (no more than $500 if you and your spouse are 
filing jointly and both of you were eligible educa-
tors).

• Student loan interest deduction from federal Form 
1040, line 33; or Form 1040A, line 18.

For any part of the year you were a nonresident, cal-
culate your deduction using the following formula:

Oregon source income 
while a nonresident

×

Student loan 
interest paid 

while a 
nonresident

=
Nonresident 

deductionTotal income from all 
sources while a nonresident

 Add all interest paid during the part of the year you 
were an Oregon resident. Enter the smaller of the result 
or the amount deducted on your federal return.

• Tuition and fees deduction from federal Form 1040, 
line 34; or Form 1040A, line 19.

 For any part of the year you were a nonresident, cal-
culate your deduction using the following formula:

Oregon source income
while a nonresident

×

Qualified
tuition and 

fees paid while 
a nonresident

=
Nonresident 

deductionTotal income
while a nonresident

 Add the amount of qualified education expenses 
you paid during the part of the year you were an 
Oregon resident. Enter the smaller of the result or 
the amount deducted on your federal return, but no 
more than $4,000.

Note: If you were not allowed a federal tuition and 
fees deduction because you claimed the federal credit, 
do not claim a deduction on line 23. You may be enti-
tled to a subtraction on line 38. See page 23.

Add your educator expenses deduction, student loan 
interest deduction, and tuition and fees deduction. 
Enter the total on line 23.

24 Moving expenses. Fill in moving expenses only 
if:

• You qualified to take them on your federal return, and
• They are connected with gaining employment in 

Oregon, or 
• You paid the qualified moving expenses after mov-

ing to Oregon to take a job in another state.

Otherwise, enter -0-.

Example 1: If you moved from California to Wash-
ington to take a job in Oregon, fill in your allowable 
moving expenses in the Oregon column. 

Example 2: If you left Oregon to take a job in another 
state, you cannot deduct your moving expenses.

Example 3: Camille moved from Michigan to Oregon 
on May 23, 2005, to begin work in Washington. She 
paid her moving expenses on June 30, 2005. While 
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the expenses are not related to Oregon employment, 
Camille can deduct them because they were paid after 
she became a resident of Oregon.

25 Deduction for self-employment tax. Determine 
the amount of your self-employment tax on earn-

ings taxed by Oregon using the following formula:

Self-employment earnings
taxed by Oregon

×

Federal 
deduction for 

self-employment 
tax

=
Oregon 

deductionTotal self-employment 
earnings

The Oregon deduction cannot be more than the federal 
deduction.

26 Self-employed health insurance deduction.
Oregon allows a deduction for 100 percent 

of your health insurance premiums related to your 
self-employment for the part of the year you were an 
Oregon resident. Add the health insurance premiums 
paid by your Oregon business while a nonresident. 
Your total Oregon deduction cannot be more than 
your federal deduction.

27 Alimony paid. Determine if the alimony you paid 
to your former spouse is taxable (for federal pur-

poses). If so, for the part of the year you were not an Ore-
gon resident, figure the Oregon deduction as follows:

Oregon source income
while a nonresident

×
Alimony 

paid while a 
nonresident

=
Nonresident 

deductionTotal income
while a nonresident

Add to that amount the alimony you paid while you 
were a resident.

28 Other adjustments to income. In the fed-
eral column of line 28, include any of the other 

adjustments listed below that you claimed on your 
federal return. In the Oregon column of line 28, enter 
the amount of other adjustments you are entitled 
to claim on your Oregon return. Please identify the 
other adjustment(s) using the numeric code shown 
in brackets. For example, if for Oregon purposes you 
are claiming a $500 health savings account deduction, 
enter 003 on line 28a and $500 in the Oregon column of 
line 28. If you are claiming two adjustments, enter the 
second numeric code on line 28b and enter the total of 
both adjustments in the Oregon column of line 28. If 
you are claiming more than two “other adjustments,” 
attach a statement to your return that identifies the 
adjustments.

• Certain business expenses of reservists, performing 
artists, and fee-basis government officials from fed-
eral Form 1040, line 24 [code 002].

• Health savings account deduction from federal Form 
1040, line 25 [code 003].

• Penalty on early withdrawal of savings from federal 
Form 1040, line 30 [code 004].

• Any other adjustment to income reported on federal 
Form 1040, line 36 [code 005].

• Domestic production activities deduction from fed-
eral Form 1040, line 35 [code 006].

Did you claim a domestic production activities deduc-
tion on your federal return? If so, you will have an 
addition on your Oregon return. Oregon does not 
allow this deduction. See line 33 instructions below.

Additions

Generally, additions are items the federal government 
does not tax but Oregon does. Additions increase the 
income taxed by Oregon.

31 Interest and dividends on state and local gov-
ernment bonds outside of Oregon.

Federal column. If you didn’t include this income in 
your federal income, fill in the amount of interest and 
dividends you received from state and local govern-
ments outside Oregon.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any 
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—if you 
didn’t include this income on line 9 or 10 of the Oregon 
column, fill in the amount of interest and dividends 
you received from state and local governments outside 
Oregon while you were an Oregon resident.

32 Federal election on interest and dividends of 
a minor child. Did you report interest or divi-

dends of your minor child on your federal return? If 
so, you must add the amount subject to the special 
federal tax to Oregon income.

Federal column. Fill in the smaller of line 7 or 8 from 
federal Form 8814. Add to that any interest or divi-
dends your child received from state and local govern-
ments outside Oregon.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any 
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—fill in 
interest and dividends received while the minor child 
was an Oregon resident. Include interest and divi-
dends your child received while an Oregon resident 
from state and local governments other than Oregon.

33 Other additions. You may need to report one 
or more other additions explained here. Please 

identify the addition(s) using the numeric code shown 
in brackets. Enter the numeric code on line 33a and the 
amount on line 33b. For example, if you are report-
ing a $1,000 addition for a depreciation difference for 
Oregon, enter 101 on line 33a and $1,000 on line 33b. 
If you are reporting two additions, enter the second 
numeric code on line 33c and the amount on line 33d. 
If you are claiming more than two, attach a statement 
to your return that identifies the “other additions” and 
the dollar amounts. Fill in the total amount of “other 
additions” on line 33.

Additions
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• Depreciation difference for Oregon [code 101]. Is 
your depreciation for Oregon purposes different from 
your depreciation for federal purposes? If so, you will 
need the Oregon Depreciation Schedule. Part-year 
residents and nonresidents may need to complete two 
depreciation schedules. Download the schedule from 
our Web site or to order it, see page 40.

• The following additions apply to only a few people 
and are not explained in this booklet. Make the addi-
tions in both the federal and Oregon columns. For 
more information, please contact us.

— Claim of right income repayments [code 103].
— Disposition of inherited Oregon farmland or for-

estland [code 106].
— Domestic production activities deduction (QPAI) 

[code 102].
— Fiduciary adjustments [code 100].

• Accumulation distribution from a trust.
• Federal estate tax on income in respect of a 

decedent.
• Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and 

trusts.
— Individual Development Account [code 113].
— Lump-sum distributions from a qualified retire-

ment plan [code 115].
— Non-Oregon source net operating loss [code 116].
— Non-qualified withdrawal from an Oregon 529 

College Savings Network account [code 117].
— Passive activity losses [code 120].
— Itemized or business deduction addback for Ore-

gon credits [code 104].
• Child Care Fund contributions.
• Long-term care insurance premiums.
• Oregon Cultural Trust.

— Unused business credit [code 122].

Subtractions

Generally, subtractions are items the federal govern-
ment taxes but Oregon does not. Subtractions reduce 
the income taxed by Oregon.

37 Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement 
Board benefits. Subtract Social Security and 

tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits only if you 
included them in the federal column on line 20.

38 Other subtractions. You may qualify for one 
or more other subtractions explained in this 

section. Please identify the subtraction(s) using the 
numeric code shown in brackets. Enter the numeric 
code on line 38c and the amount on line 38d. For 
example, if you are claiming a $2,000 military pay sub-
traction, enter 319 on line 38c and $2,000 on line 38d. 
If you are claiming two subtractions, enter the second 
numeric code on line 38e and the amount on line 38f. 
If you are claiming more than two, attach a statement 

to your return that identifies the “other subtractions” 
and the dollar amounts. Fill in the total amount of 
“other subtractions” on lines 38a and 38b.

• Claim of right income repayments [code 302]. Were 
you taxed in a prior year on income that you are 
repaying, such as unemployment compensation? 
If so, you may be able to subtract the income you 
repaid. For more information, please contact us.

• Depreciation difference for Oregon [code 304]. Is 
your depreciation for Oregon purposes different 
from your depreciation for federal purposes? If so, 
you will need the Oregon Depreciation Schedule. 
Part-year residents and nonresidents may need two 
schedules. Download the schedule from our Web 
site or to order it, see page 40.

• Federal pension income [code 307]. You may be 
able to subtract some or all of your pension included 
in 2005 federal income. This includes benefits paid 
to the retiree or to the beneficiary. The subtraction 
amount is based on the number of months of federal 
service before and after October 1, 1991:

— If all your months of federal service were before 
October 1, 1991, subtract 100 percent of the taxable 
amount of federal pension income you reported on 
your federal return. 

— If you have no months of service before October 
1, 1991, you cannot subtract any federal pension.

— If your service was both before and after Octo-
ber 1, 1991, you will subtract a percentage of the 
taxable federal pension income you reported on 
your federal return. To determine your percent-
age, divide your months of service before October 
1, 1991, by your total months of service. Once you 
determine the percentage, it will remain the same 
year to year.

 Example: Delaney began working for the U.S. For-
est Service May 27, 1971, and retired January 7, 2005. 
She worked 244 months before October 1, 1991, and a 
total of 403 months. Delaney moved to Oregon May 
31, 2005. She can subtract 60.5 percent (244 ÷ 403) of 
her taxable federal pension included in the Oregon 
column. She will continue to subtract 60.5 percent of 
her taxable federal pension from Oregon income in 
future years.

 Use the following worksheet to determine your sub-
traction amount:

 Federal column

1. Federal pension included in fed-
eral column, Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 17.

1.

2. Divide months of service before 
October 1, 1991, by total months of 
service. Enter the percentage here.

2.

Worksheet continued on next page
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3. Multiply line 1 by line 2. Enter here 
and on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 
38a.

3.

 Oregon column

4. Federal pension included in Ore-
gon column, Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 17.

4.

5. Percentage from line 2 above. 5.

6. Multiply line 4 by line 5. Enter here 
and on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 
38b.

6.

To avoid processing delays or adjustments, double-
check that your pension income is on the correct line 
and attach your federal return.

• Interest and dividends from the U.S. government 
[code 315].

Federal column. On Form 40N or Form 40P, line 38a, 
fill in interest and dividends from the U.S. government 
that you included on your federal return. Include U.S. 
government interest you received through partner-
ships or grantor trusts.

Examples:

— You may subtract interest from U.S. Series EE and 
HH bonds and Treasury bills and notes.

— You may subtract interest and dividends paid 
to you by organizations that invest in U.S. gov-
ernment securities. Check the information on 
your Form 1099. The payer may have given the 
percentage of interest and dividends from U.S. 
government securities. Download the publication 
Interest and Dividends on U.S. Bonds and Notes from 
our Web site or contact us to order it.

— You must reduce U.S. government interest by any 
interest expense relating to U.S. government obli-
gations you deducted on your federal Schedule A.

— Don’t include interest on federal tax refunds in 
either column. 

— If you reported interest or dividends of your minor 
child on your federal return, you may subtract 
any U.S. government interest included.

Oregon column. If you included interest and divi-
dends from the U.S. government on lines 9 and 10 
of the Oregon column, enter the amount of U.S. gov-
ernment interest on line 38b.

Note: When you sell or dispose of a U.S. govern-
ment obligation, you must include any gain or loss 
in income.

• Local government bond interest [code 317].

Federal column. The U.S. government taxes certain 
types of local government bond interest such as pri-
vate activity bond interest. If you included interest 
from Oregon bonds on your federal return, subtract 
it on line 38a.

Oregon column. On line 38b, fill in Oregon local gov-
ernment bond interest if you included it in Oregon 
income on line 9.

• Military pay [code 319]. Did you report U.S. military 
pay in income on line 8? If so, you may qualify for a 
subtraction.

 The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act was signed 
into federal law on December 19, 2003. According to 
the act, military pay received by a nonresident, or 
received by a part-year resident while a nonresident 
of Oregon, cannot be used to compute Oregon tax. 
This is retroactive and applies to any tax year with 
an open statute of limitation. 

Federal column. Nonresidents—you may subtract 
all of your military pay from the wages you reported 
in the federal column on line 8.

Full-year and part-year residents—you may sub-
tract the following from the wages you reported in 
the federal column on line 8:

— All military pay received during the part of the 
year you were a nonresident, and

— All active duty pay earned outside Oregon during 
the part of the year you were a resident, and

— Up to $3,000 active duty pay earned in Oregon 
during the part of the year you were a resident.

 If you are a member of the Oregon National Guard, you 
may be eligible for an additional active duty pay subtrac-
tion. See below. 

 Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any 
amount. Military pay of a nonresident is not Oregon 
source income and should not be reported in the Ore-
gon column on line 8. There is nothing to subtract.

 Full-year and part-year residents—you may sub-
tract the following from the wages you reported in 
the Oregon column on line 8:

— All active duty pay earned outside Oregon during 
the part of the year you were a resident, and

— Up to $3,000 active duty pay earned in Oregon 
during the part of the year you were a resident.

You may be eligible for an additional active duty pay 
subtraction if you meet all of the following conditions:

— You were an Oregon resident during any part of 
2001 through 2005, and

— You served as a member of the Oregon National 
Guard under U.S. Code Title 32, and

— You were called to active duty status under U.S. 
Code Title 10, and

— You were stationed in Oregon.

 If you meet all the conditions above, you may 
subtract all active duty pay you earned while you 
served under U.S. Code Title 10 in Oregon. You may 
subtract the amount from both the federal and Ore-
gon columns. This subtraction is available for tax 
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years starting on or after January 1, 2001. You may 
amend your prior year tax returns to claim this sub-
traction. The period to amend your 2001 tax return is 
extended to July 1, 2006.

Note: Your military pay subtractions cannot be more 
than your total military pay.

• Oregon 529 College Savings Network [code 324]. 
You may subtract contributions you made to an Ore-
gon 529 College Savings Network account in 2005, 
but not more than $2,000 ($1,000 if married filing 
separately) per return. If you contribute more than 
$2,000, you may carry forward the amount of your 
contribution not subtracted this year over the next 
four years. Keep a copy of your account statement 
with your tax records. For more information, visit the 
network’s Web site at www.oregon529network.com.
Or, call their tax information line at 503-378-2882.

Federal column and Oregon column. Subtract the qual-
ified contributions you made to an Oregon 529 College 
Savings Network account from both columns.

• Oregon Lottery winnings [code 322]. Oregon does 
not tax Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or less 
per ticket; however, the federal government does. 
Oregon Lottery includes Powerball tickets you pur-
chased in Oregon, but does not include winnings 
from tribal gaming centers in Oregon. 

Federal column and Oregon column. From the win-
nings you reported on line 20 you may subtract:

— Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or less from 
each single ticket or play, and 

— Oregon Lottery annual payments from tickets 
purchased prior to 1998.

 Example 1: Cheryl had winnings of $200 playing 
an Oregon Lottery scratch-off ticket in 2005. This 
income is included in her federal adjusted gross 
income. Oregon does not tax Oregon Lottery win-
nings of $600 or less per single ticket or play. Cheryl 
can subtract the $200 she won on the scratch-off 
ticket from both columns of her return. 

 Example 2: David won two prizes in 2005. He won 
$1,000 playing Oregon Lottery video poker and $500 
playing an Oregon Lottery Keno game. David must 
include $1,500 in his federal income, however, Oregon 
will not tax the $500 he won playing Keno. He can 
subtract $500 on his Oregon return in both columns 
because the winnings were from a single game and 
below the $600 limit. He cannot subtract any of the 
$1,000 he won playing video poker, because the prize 
was more than $600 and is fully taxable to Oregon.

Note: Are you claiming gambling losses as an item-
ized deduction? If so, you may need to reduce your 
deduction for the losses. See instructions for Form 
40N, line 46; or Form 40P, line 47, page 26. If you need 
help, please contact us.

• Oregon income tax refund included in federal 
income [code 325]. This subtraction is for Oregon 
state income tax refunds only. Do not include other 
states’ refunds or any local or county tax refunds.

Federal column. Fill in your Oregon state income tax 
refund only if you included it on line 11 of the fed-
eral column.

Oregon column. Fill in your Oregon state income tax 
refund only if you included it on line 11 of the Ore-
gon column.

• Railroad Retirement Board benefits [code 330].

Federal column. Fill in your tier 2, supplemental, 
windfall, and vested dual Railroad Retirement 
Board benefits included on line 20 of the federal 
column. Fill in railroad unemployment benefits 
included on line 20.

Oregon column. Don’t fill in any amount. Oregon 
does not tax Railroad Retirement Board benefits or 
Railroad Retirement Board unemployment benefits.

• Tuition and fees deduction [code 308]. Did you claim 
a Hope or lifetime learning credit on your federal 
return? If so, you weren’t allowed to deduct tuition and 
fees because you claimed the federal credit. Because 
Oregon does not have credits similar to the Hope 
or lifetime learning credits, you can take the federal 
tuition and fees deduction on your Oregon return as 
a subtraction. For 2005, the maximum amount you can 
claim is the smaller of $4,000 or your actual expenses.

Federal column. Enter the amount of the federal tuition 
and fees deduction you would have claimed on your 
federal return if you hadn’t claimed the federal credit. 
The maximum deduction you can claim is $4,000.

Oregon column. For the part of the year you were 
a nonresident, calculate your subtraction using the 
following formula:

Oregon source income
while a nonresident

×

Qualified
tuition and 

fees paid while 
a nonresident

=
Nonresident 

deductionTotal income
while a nonresident

 Add the amount of qualified education expenses you 
paid while an Oregon resident. Enter the smaller of 
the results or the amount you would have deducted 
on your federal return, but no more than $4,000.

• The following subtractions apply to only a few 
people and are not explained in this booklet. For more 
information, go to our Web site or contact us. Make the 
subtraction in both the federal and Oregon columns if 
you included the related income in both columns.
— American Indian [code 300].
— Basis adjustments [code 304].

• Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property 
with a different basis for federal and Oregon 
purposes.
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— Construction worker and logger commuting 
expenses [code 303].

— Domestic partner benefits [code 305].
— Federal gain previously taxed by Oregon [code 

306].
— Federal tax credits [code 308].
— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and 

trusts [code 310].
— Film production labor rebate [code 336].
— Hurricane Katrina Housing [code 337].
— Individual Development Account [code 314].
— Land donation to educational institutions [code 316].
— Net operating loss [code 321].
— Passive activity losses [code 326].
— Previously taxed IRA conversions [code 327].
— Public Safety Memorial Fund award [code 329].
— Scholarship awards used for housing expenses 

[code 333].

40 Oregon percentage. Divide the amount on line 
39b by the amount on line 39a. Round the deci-

mal to three places. Write the percentage on line 40. 
Don’t fill in more than 100 percent or less than -0-.

      Oregon percentage 
Example Line 39b  Line 39a  Line 40
 1 $8,000 ÷ $30,000 = .266666 Round to .267 (26.7%)
 2 (1,000) ÷ 15,000 = -0- (0%)
 3 20,000 ÷ 15,000 = 1.333 Limited to 1.000 (100.0%)

If the amount on line 39b is greater than the amount 
on line 39a, your Oregon percentage is 100 percent. 
This is true even when line 39a is a negative number.

Deductions and modifications

You may claim either net itemized deductions or 
Oregon’s standard deduction, whichever is larger, but 
not both.

Form
40N 41 Form

40P 42
Itemized deductions.
You may claim your total 
itemized deductions 

after federal limitations shown on federal Schedule 
A, line 28. You may claim itemized deductions for 
Oregon even if you do not have enough deductions to 
itemize on your federal return. 

If you itemize for Oregon only, fill out a federal 
Schedule A for Oregon purposes only. Use your fed-
eral adjusted gross income to figure the Schedule A 
limitations. Keep Schedule A with your tax records.

Note: If you are married filing separately, you must 
itemize deductions if your spouse itemizes. Are you 
filing separate returns for Oregon only? If so, deter-
mine your share of itemized deductions by multiply-
ing your total joint deductions by the percentage you 
figured on page 16. You may separate each spouse’s 
itemized deductions if you can clearly identify your 
own itemized deductions.

Form
40N 42 Form

40P 43
State income tax or sales 
tax claimed as an item-
ized deduction. Fill in 

the amount of Oregon state income tax or any state 
and local sales tax you claimed as an itemized deduc-
tion on federal Schedule A, line 5. Do not include local 
or county income tax amounts.

Are you claiming a credit for income taxes paid to 
another state and deducting the other state’s taxes on 
Schedule A? If so, include the other state’s 2005 net 
tax liability or the other state’s 2005 tax claimed as 
an itemized deduction, whichever is less. For line 57 
instructions, see page 28.

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal 
return because your adjusted gross income (AGI) was 
more than $145,950 ($72,975 if married filing separately)? 
If so, you may need to complete a worksheet to figure 
how much Oregon income tax to subtract from itemized 
deductions. Download the publication Itemized Deduc-
tions Limit from our Web site or to order it, see page 40.

Form
40N 44 Form

40P 45
Standard deduction.
Generally, your standard 
deduction is based on 

your filing status, as follows:

Single.........................................................  $1,770
Married filing jointly................................  3,545
Married filing separately

If spouse claims standard deduction ....  1,770
If spouse claims itemized deductions....  -0-

Head of household...................................  2,855
Qualifying widow(er)...............................  3,545

Standard deduction—Age 65 or older, or blind. If you or 
your spouse are age 65 or older, or blind, you are entitled 
to a larger standard deduction amount. Use the chart 
below to determine your larger standard deduction.

1. Are you:.................................  65 or older?   Blind?
 If claiming spouse’s exemption, 

is your spouse: ....................  65 or older?   Blind?
2. If your 

filing status 
is...

And the number 
of boxes checked 

above is...

Then your 
standard 

deduction is...
Single 1 $ 2,970

2 4,170
Married filing 

jointly
1 4,545
2 5,545
3 6,545
4 7,545

Married filing 
separately

1 2,770
2 3,770
3 4,770
4 5,770

Head of 
household

1 4,055
2 5,255

Qualifying
widow(er)

1 4,545
2 5,545

Deductions and modifications
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Fill in the total standard deduction on Form 40N, line 
44; or Form 40P, line 45.

Standard deduction—Dependents. If someone else 
can claim you as a dependent, your standard deduc-
tion is limited to the larger of:

• Your earned income plus $250, up to the maximum 
allowed for your filing status as shown on page 24; or

• $800.

The limit applies even if you can be, but are not, 
claimed as a dependent on another person’s return.

Use the following worksheet to figure your standard 
deduction:

1. Enter your earned income. (See 
definition below.)

1.

2. Additional $250. 2. 250

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.

4. Minimum standard deduction. 4. 800

5. Enter the larger of line 3 or line 4. 5.

6. Basic standard deduction for single. 6. 1,770

7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 6. 7.

8. If you are under age 65, enter -0-. 
If you are age 65 or older, enter 
$1,200.

8.

9. If you are not blind, enter -0-. If you 
are blind, enter $1,200. 

9.

10. Add lines 7, 8, and 9. Enter the total 
here and on Form 40N, line 44; 
or Form 40P, line 45. This is your 
standard deduction.

10.

Earned income is salaries, wages, tips, professional fees, 
or other amounts received as pay for work you actually 
perform, and any part of a scholarship or fellowship 
grant that you must include in your gross income.

Standard deduction—Nonresident aliens. The stan-
dard deduction for nonresident aliens, as defined by 
federal law is -0-.

Form
40N 45 Form

40P 46
2005 federal tax liabil-
ity. Carefully follow the 
instructions below. Don’t 

confuse your federal tax liability on your federal 
return with the federal tax withheld on your Form(s) 
W-2. They are not the same.

You may deduct your total federal income tax liability 
after credits, up to $4,500. Don’t fill in less than -0- or 
more than $4,500 ($2,250 if married filing separately).
1. Enter your federal tax liability 

from Form 1040, line 57; Form 
1040A, line 36; Form 1040EZ, line 
10; or Form 1040NR, line 52.

1.

2. Enter your tax on qualified retire-
ment plans, Form 1040, line 60; or 
Form 1040NR, line 55, the recapture 
taxes you included on the dotted 
line of Form 1040, line 63; or Form 
1040NR, line 58; and the amount on 
Form 1040NR, line 53.

2.

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.

4. Enter $4,500 ($2,250 if married fil-
ing separately).

4.

5. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 4 
here and on Form 40N, line 45; or 
Form 40P, line 46.

5.

Caution: Don’t include any of the following on line 2 
above.

• Self-employment tax.
• Social Security and Medicare tax on tips.
• Advance earned income credit payments.
• Household employment taxes.

If you are married filing separately for Oregon only, 
multiply your joint federal tax liability (after credits) 
by the percentage calculated on page 16. Each spouse 
is limited to a maximum subtraction of $2,250.

Are you amending your 2005 return? If so, see the Ore-
gon Amended Schedule instructions for more informa-
tion on your federal tax subtraction.

Did you pay additional federal tax in 2005 because 
you were audited or you filed an amended return? If 
so, read the instructions for Form 40N, line 46; or Form 
40P, line 47.

Form
40N 46 Form

40P 47
Other deductions and 
modifications. Only a 
few people have other 

deductions and modifications. These items are mul-
tiplied by the Oregon percentage. Please identify the 
deduction or modification using the numeric code 
shown in brackets. For example, if you are reporting a 
foreign tax deduction, enter 603 on Form 40N, line 46a; 
or Form 40P, line 47a. If you have more than one, enter 
the second numeric code on Form 40N, line 46b; or 
Form 40P, line 47b. If you have more than two, attach a 
statement to your return that identifies the deductions 
or modifications. Modifications can be either additions 
or subtractions. Net the total amount of these items 
and enter that amount on this line. If the net amount 
is an addition, please clearly bracket it. For example, 
“[200].”

• Federal income tax refunds [code 601]. Did you get a 
federal tax refund in 2005 because you were audited 
or you amended a prior year return? If so, fill in and 
clearly bracket the amount on Form 40N, line 46; or 
Form 40P, line 47, if you subtracted that amount on a 
prior Oregon return.

2005 federal tax liability
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• Federal tax from a prior year [code 602]. Did you 
pay additional federal tax in 2005 because you were 
audited or you amended a prior year’s return? If so, 
you may be able to deduct the additional tax. This 
deduction applies only to additional tax you paid 
because your return was changed. It doesn’t include 
the tax from the original return or interest or penal-
ties you paid.

 Use the following worksheet to figure your deduc-
tion for federal tax from a prior year.
1. Enter $4,500 ($2,250 if married 

filing separately).
1.

2. Enter your federal tax liability 
from Form 40N, line 45; or Form 
40P, line 46.

2.

3. Line 1 minus line 2. If the result 
is -0-, you cannot deduct your 
federal tax paid for a prior year. 
If greater than -0-, enter the 
result on line 3.

3.

4. Enter the amount of federal tax 
you paid for a prior year.

4.

5. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 
4 here and on Form 40N, line 46; 
or Form 40P, line 47.

5.

• Foreign tax [code 603]. Did you pay tax to a foreign 
country in 2005? You may deduct this tax if you:

— Took a foreign tax credit on your federal return, or
— Didn’t take a foreign tax credit and didn’t itemize 

deductions on your federal return.

 This subtraction is limited to $3,000 ($1,500 if mar-
ried filing separately).

For more information, visit our Web site or contact us. 

• Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction 
[code 604]. Did you have winnings from the Oregon 
Lottery and claim gambling losses on your federal 
Schedule A? If so, fill in and clearly bracket on Form 
40N, line 46; or Form 40P, line 47, the gambling losses 
claimed as an itemized deduction that exceed gam-
bling winnings taxed by Oregon.

• Special Oregon medical deduction [code 606]. Were 
you or your spouse age 62 or older on December 31, 
2005? If so, your deduction is the smaller of line 1 or 
line 3 from your federal Schedule A. To claim this 
deduction, you must itemize your deductions for Ore-
gon. You can do this by filling out a Schedule A for 
both federal and Oregon or filling out one for Oregon 
only. Keep your Schedule A with your tax records.

• Part-year residents only: Artists who make a charitable 
art donation [code 600]. Download the publication 
Artist’s Charitable Contribution Subtraction from our Web 
site or contact us to order it. Nonresidents, see Form 
40N, line 48 instructions.

Form
40N 47

Allowable deductions and modifica-
tions. Complete the worksheet below 
to determine the deductions and modi-

fications you are entitled to claim.
1. Enter amount from either Form 

40N, line 43; or Form 40N, line 44, 
whichever is larger.

1.

2. Enter amount from Form 40N, line 
45.

2.

3. Enter amount from Form 40N, line 
46.

3.

4. Add together amounts from lines 
1, 2, and 3 above. Enter result here.

4.

5. Enter your Oregon percentage 
from Form 40N, line 40, here.

5.

6. Multiply the amount from line 4 
by the amount on line 5 above. 
Enter result here and on Form 40N, 
line 47.

6.

Form
40N 48

Deductions and modifications not mul-
tiplied by Oregon percentage.

• Artists who make a charitable art donation [code 
600]. Artists who make a charitable art donation 
may take a full deduction. Download the publica-
tion Artist’s Charitable Contribution Subtraction from 
our Web site or contact us to order it.

2005 Tax Rate Charts

S Tax Rate Chart
 For persons filing

Single or married filing separately

If your taxable income is: ............Your tax is:
Not over $2,650............................5% of taxable income

Over $2,650 but ...........................$133 plus 7% of the 
not over $6,650 excess over $2,650

Over $6,650...................................$413 plus 9% of the
 excess over $6,650

J Tax Rate Chart
For persons filing

Jointly, head of household, or qualifying 
widow(er) with dependent child

If your taxable income is: ...........Your tax is:
Not over $5,300...........................5% of taxable income

Over $5,300 but ..........................$265 plus 7% of the 
not over $13,300 excess over $5,300

Over $13,300................................$825 plus 9% of the
 excess over $13,300

2005 tax rate charts
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Oregon tax

Form
40N 51 Form

40P 50
Tax from tax rate charts.
Figure the tax on your 
taxable income, Form 

40N, line 50; or Form 40P, line 49. Go to the tax rate 
charts on page 26. Fill in your tax amount on Form 
40N, line 51; or Form 40P, line 50. Please double-check 
the tax you figured. Form 40P filers only—If you 
qualify to compute your Oregon tax using the farm 
income averaging method or the farm asset capital 
gain method, do not enter an amount on line 50. Please 
go to Form 40P, line 51 instructions.

Example: A married couple’s Oregon taxable income is 
$29,500. They are filing jointly. They will use chart J for 
married filing jointly. They figure their tax like this:

Chart J

Oregon taxable income $29,500

Subtract – 13,300
16,200

Multiply by 9% × .09

1,458
Then add + 825
Their Oregon tax is $2,283

Form
40N 51 Form

40P 51
Tax from farm income 
averaging method or 
farm asset capital gain 

method. If you qualify, you can compute your Oregon 
tax using one of the following methods:

Farm income averaging method. You can use the fed-
eral farm income averaging method to compute your 
Oregon tax even if you didn’t use farm income averag-
ing on your federal return. Only Oregon source farm 
income is considered elected farm income. 

Use Form FIA-40N, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for 
Nonresidents, or Form FIA-40P, Oregon Farm Income 
Averaging for Part-Year Residents, to calculate your tax 
on your farm income and your other Oregon income. 
Download the form from our Web site or to order it, 
see page 40.

1. Enter the tax amount from Form FIA-40N, line 19; or 
Form FIA-40P, line 18, on Form 40N or 40P, line 51. 

2. Check the box labeled “Form FIA-40N” or “Form 
FIA-40P.”

3. Attach a copy of Form FIA-40N or Form FIA-40P to 
your return.

Farm asset capital gain method. Did you sell or 
exchange capital assets primarily used in farming 
because you were getting out of a farming business? 
Or, did you sell or exchange a farming partnership, 
corporation, or other farming entity where you held 
at least a 10 percent ownership interest? If the sale or 

exchange was not to a family member and you were 
getting out of a farming business completely, you may 
be eligible for a reduced tax rate on the net capital gain 
from the proceeds of the sale or exchange. 

Use Worksheet FCG, Farm Liquidation Long-Term Capital 
Gain Tax Rate, to calculate tax on your net farm capital 
gain and your other Oregon income. Download the 
worksheet from our Web site or contact us to order it.

Nonresidents. Enter the tax amount from Worksheet 
FCG, line 7, on Form 40N, line 51. Check the box 
labeled “Worksheet FCG.” Do not attach a copy of 
Worksheet FCG to your return. Keep a copy with your 
records.

Part-year residents. Enter the tax amount from Work-
sheet FCG, line 8, on Form 40P, line 51. Check the box 
labeled “Worksheet FCG.” Do not attach a copy of 
Worksheet FCG to your return. Keep a copy with your 
records.

52 Interest on certain installment sales. Did you 
have installment sales that required you to pay 

interest on the deferred tax liability for federal purpos-
es? If so, you must also compute interest for Oregon. 
The amount due for Oregon is computed the same way 
as for federal. The interest rate for 2005 is 5 percent per 
year (0.417 percent per month).

Nonresidents. Use only those installment obligations 
from dispositions of Oregon property while you were 
a nonresident of Oregon.

Credits

Generally, credits cannot be more than your Oregon 
tax liability. Some credits have a carryforward provi-
sion that allows you to use the remaining balance in 
the next year. Use credits that cannot be carried for-
ward first. You must prorate some Oregon credits on 
your return. This means you need to multiply your 
total credit by your Oregon percentage, line 40, to fig-
ure the amount you can claim on your Oregon return.

55 Earned income credit. You are allowed an Ore-
gon earned income credit only if you qualify for 

the earned income credit on your federal return. You 
must prorate this credit. Your Oregon credit is 5 percent 
of your federal credit multiplied by your Oregon per-
centage. For example, if your federal credit is $400, your 
Oregon credit is $20 ($400 × .05) multiplied by your Ore-
gon percentage from Form 40N or Form 40P, line 40.

Use the following formula to compute your credit:
1. Enter your federal earned 

income credit from Form 1040, 
line 66a; Form 1040A, line 41a; or 
Form 1040EZ, line 8a.

1.

2. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
5% (.05). Enter the result here.

2.

Oregon tax and credits
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3. Multiply line 2 by the Oregon 
percentage (Form 40N or Form 40P, 
line 40). Enter the result here and 
on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 55.

3.

The Oregon earned income credit is limited to your 
tax liability. You cannot carry over to next year any 
amount that is more than your tax liability.

56 Child and dependent care credit. You are 
allowed an Oregon credit only if you qualify 

for the federal child and dependent care credit. You 
may still be able to claim the Oregon credit even if you 
can’t use all of your federal credit. You must prorate 
this credit. Use the following worksheet to figure your 
credit for Oregon
1. Enter the amount from federal 

Form 2441, line 6; or Form 1040A, 
Schedule 2, line 6.

1.

2. Enter the decimal amount from the 
following table.

2.

If your federal taxable
income from Form 1040, line 
43; or Form 1040A, line 27 is:

Your 
decimal
amount 

is:

Over— But not over—
—— $5,000 .30

$5,000 10,000 .15
10,000 15,000 .08
15,000 25,000 .06
25,000 35,000 .05
35,000 45,000 .04
45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
the decimal on line 2. Enter here.

3.

4. Multiply line 3 by the Oregon per-
centage from Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 40. Enter the result here 
and on Form 40N or Form 40P, 
line 56.

4.

Did you pay 2004 child care expenses in 2005? If so, 
multiply your 2004 expenses that you paid in 2005 that 
are included in the computation of your federal credit 
by the decimal amount that applies to your 2004 fed-
eral taxable income.

Multiply this amount by the Oregon percentage from 
your 2004 return. Enter the result on Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 56. If you need help, please contact us.

Carryforward. Your total 2005 child and dependent 
care credit can’t be more than your 2005 tax liability 
for Oregon. You can carry forward any excess over 
the next five years. If the excess isn’t used within five 
years, it’s lost. See instructions for “other credits” on 
page 29.

57 Credit for income taxes paid to another state.
If you paid 2005 income tax to another state or 

U.S. territory on income also taxed by Oregon, you 
may claim a credit.

You must claim the credit on your nonresident return 
or on your part-year resident return for the part of the 
year you were a nonresident if the income is taxed by 
both Oregon and one of the following states: Arizona, 
California, Indiana, or Virginia. See our Web site for 
links to other states’ tax Web sites.

This credit is only for state income tax. You can’t claim 
this credit for city or county income tax, sales tax, 
alternative minimum tax (AMT), property tax, school 
tax, or building funds.

If you are a shareholder in an Oregon S corporation that 
paid taxes to another state, you may qualify for this 
credit. Download the publication Credit for Income Taxes 
Paid to Another State from our Web site or to order it, see 
page 40.

Your credit is the smallest of the following:

• The other state’s 2005 net tax liability.
• Your Oregon tax liability after all credits, except 

credits for income taxes paid to other states.
• The amount figured using Formula 1 below.
• The amount figured using Formula 2 below.

Formula 1: Divide your modified adjusted gross 
income (MAGI) taxed by both states by your total 
MAGI. Your total MAGI is your income on Form 40P 
or Form 40N, line 39b. Multiply the result by your Ore-
gon tax after all other credits. The result can’t be more 
than your Oregon tax after credits.

Your MAGI taxed by both states
×

Your Oregon tax after 
all other creditsYour total MAGI

Formula 2: Divide your MAGI taxed by both states by 
your total income on the other state’s return. Multiply 
the result by the other state’s tax after all other credits. 
“Total income” means income before subtracting item-
ized deductions and exemptions. The result can’t be 
more than the other state’s tax after credits.

Your MAGI taxed by both states

×
Your other state’s tax 
after all other creditsYour total income on the other 

state’s return

Enter the credit amount on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 
57, and identify the other state on Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 57a.

Caution: You can’t claim this credit and also benefit 
from the itemized deduction for the tax paid to the 
other state. If you claim the tax as an itemized deduc-
tion, include the other state’s 2005 net tax liability 
or the other state’s 2005 tax claimed as an itemized 
deduction, whichever is less, on Form 40N, line 42; or 
Form 40P, line 43.

Credits
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If the credit for income taxes paid to another state is 
based on a tax liability that is paid in two different tax 
years, you may be required to restore the deduction 
to Oregon income in two different tax years. For more 
information, please contact us.

You must attach a copy of the other state’s return and 
proof of payment to the back of your Oregon return.

You may be allowed this credit even if Oregon and 
another state taxes the same income in different years. 
For more information, please contact us.

58 Other credits. You may qualify for other credits 
explained below. Please identify the credit(s) 

using the numeric code shown in brackets. Enter the 
numeric code on line 58a and enter the amount on line 
58b. For example, if you are claiming a $50 political 
contribution credit, enter 723 on line 58a and enter $50 
on line 58b. If you are claiming two credits, enter the 
second numeric code on line 58c and enter the amount 
on line 58d. If you are claiming more than two, attach a 
statement to your return that identifies the “other cred-
its” and the dollar amounts. Fill in the total amount of 
“other credits” on line 58.

• Child and dependent care credit carry forward [code 
704]. Fill in the amount of the carryover on Form 
40N or Form 40P, line 58. The amount of prior year 
carryover plus your current year’s credit can’t be 
more than your Oregon tax liability. You can carry 
forward any excess credit over the next five years. If 
the excess isn’t used within five years, it’s lost.

• Elderly or the disabled [code 709]. The Oregon cred-
it is 40 percent of your federal credit. You may claim 
an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the federal 
credit. Multiply the amount from federal Form 1040, 
Schedule R, line 20; or Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 
20, by 40 percent (.40). Then multiply the result by 
the Oregon percentage on Form 40N or Form 40P, 
line 40. You may claim this credit or the retirement 
income credit, but not both.

• Political contribution [code 723]. Fill in your total 
political contributions, but not more than $100 on a 
joint return or $50 on all others. You must have con-
tributed money during 2005 to any of the following:

— A political party.
— A qualified candidate (or the candidate’s prin-

cipal campaign committee) for federal, state, or 
local office to be voted for in Oregon.

— A political action committee certified in Oregon.

 Download the publication Political Contributions Tax 
Credit from our Web site or contact us to order it.

• Retirement income [code 730]. If you were age 62 or 
older on December 31, 2005, and receiving retirement 
income, you may qualify for a credit. You qualify for 
this credit if:

— Your household income is less than $22,500 
($45,000 if married filing jointly), and

— Your Social Security benefits and/or tier 1 Rail-
road Retirement Board benefits are less than 
$7,500 ($15,000 if married filing jointly), and

— Your household income plus your Social Security 
and/or tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits 
is less than $22,500 ($45,000 if married filing 
jointly).

 If you think you qualify, contact us for more infor-
mation.

Miscellaneous credits

• The following credits apply to only a few people. 
Some are prorated using your Oregon percentage and 
some are not. For more information, visit our Web site 
or contact us.

— Adoption expenses [code 700].*
— Advanced telecommunications facilities [code 701].*
— Bone marrow donation program [code 702].
— Business energy [code 703].
— Business tax credits from flow-through entity 

[code 736].
— Child Care Fund contributions [code 705].
— Claim of right income repayments [code 706].
— Crop donation [code 708].*
— Dependent care assistance by employers [code 

707].
— Diesel engine replacement [code 734].*
— Electronic commerce zone investment [code 710].
— Employer scholarship [code 711].*
— Farmworker housing [code 712].*
— Film production development contributions [code 

737].
— First Break Program [code 713].*
— Fish screening devices [code 714].*
— Individual Development Account [code 715].
— Long-term care insurance premiums [code 716].*
— Loss of use of limbs [code 717].
— Low-income caregiver credit [code 718].
— Mutually taxed gain on the sale of residential 

property [code 720].
— On-farm processing machinery and equipment 

[code 721].*
— Oregon Cultural Trust [code 722].*
— Pollution control facilities [code 724].
— Reforestation of underproductive forestlands [code 

727].
— Reservation enterprise zone [code 728].*
— Residential energy [code 729].*
— Riparian land [code 735].*
— Rural medical practitioners [code 731].*

*Prorated credit (multiplied by Oregon percentage).

Other credits
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Tax payments, penalty, and interest

61 Oregon income tax withheld from income. Fill 
in the total Oregon tax withheld from your 

wages and other income shown on your Form(s) W-2 or 
1099. Don’t use the FICA (Social Security) tax withheld 
from your pay. Don’t use tax withheld from your wages 
by other states. Staple a readable copy of your Form 
W-2 from each job and any Form 1099 showing Oregon 
income tax withheld to the lower front of your return.

If you do not have a Form W-2 or 1099, you must provide 
other proof of Oregon tax withheld. Proof may include 
a final paycheck stub or a letter from your employer.

If you have tax to pay this year, you may want to 
increase the amount your employer withholds from 
your 2006 wages for Oregon. Download the publica-
tion Oregon Income Tax Withholding: Some Special Cases
from our Web site or contact us to order it.

62 Estimated tax payments for 2005 and pay-
ments made with your extension. Fill in the 

total Oregon estimated tax payments you made before 
filing your 2005 Oregon return. Include any payments 
made with your Oregon extension. Also include any 
refund you applied to your 2005 estimated tax. If the 
department adjusted your applied refund, be sure to 
use the adjusted amount. If you need to verify your 
estimated payment amounts, please contact us.

63 Working family child care credit. This credit is 
available to low-income working families with 

qualifying child care expenses for a qualifying child 
under age 13 (or a child for whom you can claim the addi-
tional exemption credit for a child with a disability). The 
working family child care credit is a refundable credit. If 
this credit is more than your tax, you will receive the dif-
ference. To find out if you qualify, see page 35.

67 Penalty and interest for filing or paying late.
Your return is due April 17, 2006, unless you file 

for an extension.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

• Mail your tax payment after April 17 (even if you 
have an extension), or

• File your return showing tax to pay after the due 
date or extension due date.

The late-payment penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid 
balance of your tax. If you file more than three months 
after the due date or extension due date, a 20 percent 
late-filing penalty will be added; that is, you will owe a 
total penalty of 25 percent of any tax not paid.

Exception: You don’t have to pay a penalty if you do 
all of the following:

1. Get an extension of time to file your return, and
2. Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due by April 17, 

2006, and

3. Pay the balance of tax due when you file your return 
by the extension deadline, and

4. Pay the interest on the balance of tax when you file 
or within 30 days of our billing date.

Interest. If you are paying your tax after April 17, 2006, 
include interest on any unpaid tax. An interest period 
is each full month starting with the day after the due 
date. For example, April 18, 2006, through May 17, 
2006, is an interest period. The 2006 interest rate is 7 
percent per year (0.583 percent per month).

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a 
month. Here’s how to figure daily interest:

Tax × .000192  × number of days

If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the 
interest rate increases to 11 percent per year.

Note: Do not calculate interest if you file late and expect 
a refund. It may delay processing of your refund.

68 Interest on estimated tax underpayment. For 
2005, you will have an underpayment if you 

paid less than 90 percent of the tax due on each esti-
mated tax payment due date.

You do not have an underpayment if:

• You owe less than $1,000 tax on your 2005 tax return 
after credits, including your working family child 
care credit and Oregon tax withheld, or

• You did not have an underpayment for any 2005 
estimated tax period.

Use Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimated Tax, to 
determine if you have an underpayment. If you have 
an underpayment or you meet an exception, you must
file Form 10 with your return. Download the form from 
our Web site or to order it, see page 40.

On Form 40N or 40P, line 68, fill in the amount of inter-
est due from Form 10 and check the box. If you meet 
an exception, enter the exception number on line 68a. 
Attach Form 10 to the back of your return.

70 Amount you owe. You may pay your tax with a 
check, money order, or credit card.

Check or money order

• Make your check or money order payable to “Ore-
gon Department of Revenue.”

• Write your daytime telephone number and “2005 
Oregon Form 40N” or “2005 Oregon Form 40P” on 
your check. 

• Please use blue or black ballpoint ink. Do not use gel 
ink or the color red. 

• Do not send cash or a postdated check. 

• Staple your payment and the Form 40-V payment 
voucher (page 31) to your return on top of your 
Form(s) W-2.

Tax payments, penalty, and interest
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Credit card payment

You now can pay your current-year bal-
ance due, make 2006 estimated tax pay-
ments, or pay prior year taxes with your 
Discover, MasterCard, or Visa credit 
card. This option is available to both 
electronic and paper filers.

To pay your taxes by credit card, call 
toll-free or go to the Web site of one of 
the service providers supporting Oregon’s program 
(listed below). 

The service provider will charge you a convenience 
fee based on the amount of your tax payment. The 
service provider will tell you what the fee is during 
the transaction. You will have the option to either con-
tinue or cancel the transaction before entering your 
credit card information. 

The convenience fee, terms, and conditions may vary 
between providers. If you accept the credit card trans-
action, you will receive a confirmation number. Please 
keep this confirmation number as proof of payment.

Choose one of the following service providers:

• Link2Gov Corporation
Visit their Web site at www.ortaxpayment.com.

• Official Payments Corporation
Call 1-866-720-1327, or visit their Web site at 
www.officialpayments.com.

For additional information about making credit card 
payments and the current service provider list, visit 
our Web site or contact us.

Payment plan. If you cannot pay in full now, we 
will work with you to set up a payment plan for the 
amount you do not pay with your return. For more 
information, please contact us.

Special instructions. Do you owe interest on line 68 
and have an overpayment on line 65? If the interest 
you owe is more than your overpayment, you have an 
amount due. Subtract line 65 from line 68 and enter the 
result on line 70.

Charitable donations. If you do not have a refund but 
want to contribute to a charity listed on lines 73–78, 
mail your donation to the charity’s address shown on 
pages 31–33. Please do not mail your donation to the 
Department of Revenue.

To finish your return, go to the signature block section 
on page 33.

71 Refund. You must have a refund on line 71 to 
use lines 72–78.

72 Estimated tax. If you have a refund on line 71, 
you may apply part or all of it to your 2006 esti-

mated tax. Fill in the amount you want to apply. Do not 
fill in more than the amount on line 71.

Charitable checkoffs

You may choose to donate all or part of your refund 
to the charities listed here and on pages 32 and 33. 
Donations will reduce your refund. You may donate to 
any or all of the charities on lines 73–77. You also may 
donate to one of the charities listed under the instruc-
tions for line 78. Or, you can mail your donations to the 
addresses shown.

73 Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your donation will 
fund the protection of nongame wildlife and its 

habitat.

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
3406 Cherry Avenue NE
Salem OR 97303-4924

Charities continued on page 32

OREGON INCOME TAX PAYMENT VOUCHER
150-101-172 (Rev. 12-05)

Detach Here Detach Here

Department of Revenue Use Only

•

FORM

40-V

Enter Payment Amount

$ . 0 0

•Fiscal Year Ending Payment Type (check only one):
2005 Return Prior Tax Year:Amended—Tax Year:

Last name First name and initial

Spouse’s last name if joint payment Spouse’s first name and initial 

Current mailing address City

First time fi ler New name/address Telephone number

SSN or BIN

Spouse’s SSN if joint payment

State ZIP code

Check if fi ling Form MNR
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74 Child Abuse Prevention. Your donation will 
fund programs through the Children’s Trust 

Fund to help prevent child abuse and neglect.

Children’s Trust Fund of Oregon
1410 SW Morrison Street, Suite 501
Portland OR 97205

75 Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your donation 
will fund research of Alzheimer’s and related 

dementias.

Layton Aging and Alzheimer’s Disease Center
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Road CR131
Portland OR 97239

76 Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence. Your dona-
tion will fund programs through the Oregon 

Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence.

OCADSV
380 SE Spokane Street, Suite 100
Portland OR  97202

77 AIDS/HIV Research, Education, and Services.
Your donation will fund AIDS/HIV research, 

education, and services by the Living With HIV Fund.

The Research & Education Group
1650 NW Naito Parkway, Suite 185 
Portland OR 97209-8428

78 Other charity. You may donate all or part of 
your refund to one of the following charities. 

Enter the code of the charity on line 78a. Enter only 
one code. Check the box for the amount you want to 
donate and write it on line 78. Or, you can mail your 
donations to the addresses shown.

Habitat for Humanity of Oregon [code 1]. Your donation 
will help Habitat for Humanity build simple, decent, 
and affordable housing for low-income families.

Habitat for Humanity of Oregon
3300 NW 185th, #214
Portland OR 97229

Oregon Head Start Association [code 2]. Your dona-
tion will help Head Start provide services to the low-
est-income, highest-need children and families.

Oregon Head Start Association 
221 B Street
Springfield OR 97477

American Diabetes Association [code 3]. Your dona-
tion will help continue diabetes research and advocacy 
programs in Oregon.

American Diabetes Association
380 SE Spokane Street, Suite 110
Portland OR 97202

Oregon Coast Aquarium [code 4]. Your donation will 
help fund educational programs, conservation efforts, 
and animal rehabilitation.

Oregon Coast Aquarium 
2820 SE Ferry Slip Road
Newport OR 97365

SMART [code 5]. Your donation will help fund the 
Start Making A Reader Today early literacy program 
for Oregon’s most vulnerable children.

Oregon Children’s Foundation/SMART 
219 NW 12th Avenue, Suite 203
Portland OR 97209

SOLV [code 6]. Your donation will help fund thousands 
of projects to clean up and restore beaches, forests, riv-
ers, and neighborhoods across Oregon. 

SOLV 
5193 NE Elam Young Parkway, Suite B 
Hillsboro OR 97124

St. Vincent de Paul Society of Oregon [code 7]. Your 
donation will help provide services leading to self- 
sufficiency for low-income Oregonians. 

St. Vincent de Paul Society of Oregon 
PO Box 24608 
Eugene OR 97402

The Nature Conservancy [code 8]. Your donation will 
help purchase and restore critical habitats for Oregon’s 
at-risk plants, fish, and wildlife.

The Nature Conservancy
821 SE 14th Avenue
Portland OR 97214

Doernbecher Children’s Hospital Foundation [code 9]. 
Your donation will fund a critical expansion of the 
cancer treatment facilities at Doernbecher.

Doernbecher Children’s Hospital Foundation
1121 SW Salmon, Suite 201
Portland OR 97205-2021

The Oregon Humane Society [code 10]. Your donation 
will help save pets’ lives through rescue, sheltering, adop-
tion, education, cruelty investigation, and advocacy.

The Oregon Humane Society
PO Box 11364
Portland OR 97211

The Salvation Army—Oregon [code 11]. Your dona-
tion to the Salvation Army ensures help for the needi-
est children and their families throughout Oregon.

The Salvation Army
1785 NE Sandy Boulevard
Portland OR 97232

The Oregon Veterans’ Home [code 12]. Your donation 
will improve the quality of life for veterans receiving 
nursing care at the Oregon Veterans’ Home.

Oregon Veterans’ Home Donations
700 Summer Street NE
Salem OR 97301-1285

Charitable checkoffs
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Planned Parenthood of Oregon [code 13]. Your dona-
tion will fund family planning services and reproduc-
tive health education programs.

Planned Parenthood of Oregon
3231 SE 50th Avenue
Portland OR 97206

Oregon Lions Sight & Hearing Foundation [code 14].
Your donation will fund sight and hearing assistance, 
and provide diabetes awareness for Oregonians.

Oregon Lions Sight & Hearing Foundation
1410 SW Morrison Street, Suite 760
Portland OR 97205

Shriners Hospitals for Children—Portland [code 15].
Your donation will help provide braces and artificial 
limbs for Oregon’s children.

Shriners Hospitals for Children—Portland
3101 SW Sam Jackson Park Road
Portland OR 97239

Special Olympics Oregon [code 16]. Your donation 
will help provide life-changing services to thousands 
of Oregonians with intellectual disabilities.

Special Olympics Oregon
5901 SW Macadam,  Suite 100
Portland OR  97239

Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation, Oregon & 
SW Washington [code 17]. Your donation funds criti-
cal breast cancer research, education, screening, and 
treatment.

Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation, 
Oregon & SW Washington Affiliate
1400 SW 5th Avenue, Suite 530
Portland OR 97201

80 Net refund. You must reduce your refund by 
any amounts applied to 2006 estimated tax 

and donations on lines 73–78. The department cannot 
issue a refund if your return is filed more than three 
years after the due date of the return.

Direct deposit

81 If you want us to deposit your refund directly 
into your bank account instead of mailing you a 

check, follow the instructions below. 

1. Contact your bank to make sure your deposit will 
be accepted and to get your correct routing and 
account numbers. 

2. Check the appropriate box, either checking or sav-
ings but not both.

3. Enter your nine-digit routing number. The rout-
ing number must begin with 01 through 12, or 21 
through 32, or 61 through 72. 

4. Enter the account number into which you want 
your refund deposited. The account number can 
be up to 17 characters (both numbers and letters). 
Include hyphens, but do not include spaces or spe-
cial symbols. Enter the number left to right and 
leave any unused boxes blank.

Signature block

Authorization box. Check the box if you want to 
authorize the Department of Revenue to contact 
your preparer about the initial processing of your tax 
return. Otherwise, leave it blank.

Signature(s). Be sure to sign and date your return. If 
you are filing a joint return, both spouses must sign.

Minor child’s return. If your child must file a tax return, 
you may sign the child’s name as his or her legal agent. 
Sign the child’s name and then write “By [your signa-
ture], parent (or other legal guardian) of minor child.”

Preparer signature. Any person who prepares, advis-
es, or assists in the preparation of personal income tax 
returns for another person in exchange for payment, 
gifts, or other compensation must be licensed and 
must sign the return. Contact the following agencies 
for more information on licensing or to check the sta-
tus of your Oregon tax practitioner:

• State Board of Tax Practitioners at 503-378-4034 
(Salem) for licensed tax consultants and licensed tax 
preparers.

• State Board of Accountancy at 503-378-4181 (Salem) 
for public accountants and certified public accoun-
tants.

License number. Licensed tax consultants, please enter 
your license number. Certified public accountants, 
please enter your certificate number. Tax-Aide volun-
teers, please enter your TCE site number.

Before you file

Should I put my return together in a special order?

Yes. To speed processing, put your Oregon return 
together as follows:

1. Start with Form 40N or Form 40P.

2. Staple Form(s) W-2 and any Form(s) 1099 showing 
Oregon tax withheld to the lower front of your 
Form 40N or Form 40P.

3. Staple your check or money order and completed 
Form 40-V payment voucher (page 31) on top of the 
Form(s) W-2 and/or 1099. If paying by credit card, 
do not use Form 40-V.

4. Place a copy (front and back) of your federal Form 
1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040NR behind your Form 
40N or Form 40P.

Before you file
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Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.34

Schedule WFC Relationship Codes

5. If applicable, place these items in the following 
order behind the federal form:

• Oregon Amended Schedule.
• Schedule WFC-N/P, Oregon Working Family Child 

Care Credit for Form 40N and Form 40P filers. See 
page 37.

• Oregon Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Esti-
mated Tax.

• Proof required to claim credit for income taxes 
paid to another state. See page 28.

• Oregon Form 24, Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary 
Conversions.

• Form FIA-40N, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for 
Nonresidents, or Form FIA-40P, Oregon Farm Income 
Averaging for Part-Year Residents.

• Exempt Income Schedule for Enrolled Members of a 
Federally Recognized American Indian Tribe.

6. Staple all pages of your return together in the top 
left-hand corner.

Be sure the second page of your return is the same 
form as the first page. Example: If you file Form 40N, 
be sure that “Page 2—2005 Form 40N” is printed at the 
top of the second page.

Do not attach extension requests, or any federal 
schedules. We receive some federal information from 
the IRS. We may ask you for copies of schedules or 
additional information later.

How long do I have to file my return and get a refund?

You have three years from the due date of the return 
to file a claim for a refund. By law, the Department of 
Revenue cannot issue a refund if your return is filed 
more than three years after the due date.

Can I make payments?

If you can’t pay in full now, we will work with you 
to set up a payment plan. File now and pay what you 
can. Write your daytime telephone number, tax year, 
and “2005 Oregon Form 40N” or “2005 Oregon Form 
40P” on your check. Be sure you also use the payment 
voucher, Form 40-V, on page 31. Call the department as 

soon as possible to set up a payment plan. If you do not 
call, collection activity may begin. See page 40.

To avoid processing delays,
remember to:

Double-check your math calculations and other fig-
ures, including your Social Security number. The most 
common mistakes are math errors and the amount 
claimed for the federal tax subtraction. Please double-
check the tax you figured. Errors will slow the pro-
cessing of your return.

If you have tax to pay, read line 70 instructions.

Verify your bank account information if you are 
requesting direct deposit.

Sign your return (both spouses must sign a joint return).

Staple readable copies of Form(s) W-2 and 1099 show-
ing Oregon tax withheld to the front of your return.

Staple a copy of your federal return (front and back 
only) to your Oregon return.

Staple Form 40-V, the payment voucher, with your 
check or money order to the front of your return. If 
paying by credit card, do not use Form 40-V.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use a busi-
ness envelope (4 × 9½ inches) and be sure to use 
enough postage. Please do not use a smaller enve-
lope—it delays processing.

Tax return mailing addresses

Mail refund returns or no-tax-due returns to:

REFUND
PO Box 14700 
Salem OR 97309-0930

Mail tax-to-pay returns to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

Avoid delays

Son........................................................................ S
Daughter............................................................. D
Stepson .............................................................. SS
Stepdaughter.................................................... SD
Grandchild ...................................................... GC
Niece ................................................................ NC
Nephew ..........................................................NW
Brother ...............................................................SB
Sister...................................................................SB
Legally adopted child.....................................LA

Eligible foster child..........................................EF
Parent...................................................................P
Grandparent ....................................................GP
Aunt .................................................................... A
Uncle ................................................................... U
Cousin............................................................... CS
Sister-in-law ......................................................SL
Brother-in-law ..................................................BL
None....................................................................N
Other................................................................... O

66



Or, visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR 35

Schedule WFC-N/P instructions

Working family child care credit
This refundable credit is available to low-income 
working families with qualifying child care expenses. 
To qualify, all of the following must be true: 

• You had at least $6,900 of earned income from Ore-
gon sources, and

• You had $2,700 or less of investment income (such as 
interest, dividends, and capital gains), and

• Your adjusted gross income was less than the limits 
for your household size shown on the back of Sched-
ule WFC-N/P, and

• You paid qualifying child care expenses to allow 
you (and your spouse, if married) to work or attend 
school, and

• You paid qualifying child care expenses for your 
qualifying child. A qualifying child is your child, 
step child, grandchild, step grandchild, brother, 
sister, stepbrother, stepsister, nephew, niece, step 
nephew, step niece, eligible foster child, or adopted 
child who: 
— can be claimed as a dependent on your federal 

return, or

— could have been claimed on your return except, 
as the custodial parent, you released the exemp-
tion to the child’s other parent under a decree of 
divorce or separate maintenance or written decla-
ration such as federal Form 8332, and

— was under the age of 13, or 
— was a child for whom you can claim the additional 

exemption credit for a child with a disability, and 
— did not provide more than one-half of their own 

support during the year, and
• Your child care provider was not the child’s parent 

or guardian, or your relative or step relative under 
age 19.

Note: If you are married filing separately, you must 
be legally separated or permanently living apart on 
December 31, 2005, to qualify.

If you qualify, complete Schedule WFC-N/P, Oregon 
Working Family Child Care Credit for Form 40N and Form 40P 
filers, on page 37. Attach this schedule to your return.

You must complete all information on the schedule. 
An incomplete schedule may result in denial of your 
working family child care credit.

Household size calculation

Sched.
WFC-N/P 1 5–

Your household size is the 
number of people you claim 
as exemptions on your feder-

al tax return who are related to you by blood, marriage, 
or adoption and live in your home. You can include in 
your household size your child of whom you have pri-
mary custody, even if you allowed the child’s other par-
ent to claim the exemption on his or her tax return. You 
cannot include people you are entitled to claim on your 
tax return who did not live with you in your home dur-
ing 2005. For the purposes of this credit, an individual 
cannot be counted in household size on more than one 
return. Enter your household size from Schedule WFC-
N/P, line 5, on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 63a.

Example 1: Rusty and Deb are not married and are 
the parents of two children. They maintain separate 
households and have joint custody of both children. 
The children live more than half the year with Deb. 
Even though they are Deb’s qualifying children, she 
releases the dependent exemption for one child to 
Rusty. Both Rusty and Deb may claim the credit based 
on the qualifying child care expenses each paid. How-

ever, they must calculate household size separately. 
Deb’s household size is three (herself, one dependent 
child whose exemption she claims, and one dependent 
child whose exemption is released to Rusty). Rusty’s 
household size is one (himself). Although he claims 
one child on his tax return, the child did not live with 
him more than one-half of the year and is not included 
in his household size.

Example 2: Jay and Rena are married and have three 
qualifying children. They also support Rena’s parents 
who do not live with them. They claim seven exemp-
tions on their tax return. Jay and Rena’s household size 
is five, because only five of them live in their home.

Qualifying child care expenses
paid in 2005

Sched.
WFC-N/P 6 9–

Provider’s full name, 
address, and phone num-
ber. Enter the child care pro-

vider’s information in the space provided on Schedule 
WFC-N/P. If you have more providers during the year 
than there is space for on the form, please attach a 
separate sheet with the required information.

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN. You must include your 
provider’s Social Security number, federal employer 
identification number (FEIN), or individual taxpayer 
identification number (ITIN).

Working family child care credit
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Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.36

• Signed receipts from the child care provider. 

The department can ask for proof while process-
ing your tax return or any time later. If you pay a 
relative to watch your children, you may be asked 
to provide additional information that shows you 
actually paid qualifying child care expenses. Be sure to 
ask for a signed receipt from your child care provider when 
you pay for the care.

Qualifying child information 

10 14–
Sched.

WFC-N/P

Enter the full name of each 
qualifying child, the child’s 
Social Security number, 

date of birth, and his or her relationship to you using 
the codes on page 34. 

Enter the portion of the expenses you listed in the 
child care provider section that apply to each child. 
The amounts shown on line 9 and line 14 should 
always be the same.

Example 6: Bill paid two child care providers $5,000 
during the year for his two qualifying children, Joe 
and Lane. Of the $5,000 he paid, $3,000 was for Joe’s 
care and $2,000 was for Lane’s care. He will enter those 
amounts next to each child’s information.

Computation of credit

15 17–
Sched.

WFC-N/P

You must know your federal 
and Oregon adjusted gross 
income (AGI) to compute this 

credit. Enter the larger of your federal AGI (Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 30a) or your Oregon AGI (Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 30b) on Schedule WFC-N/P, line 17.

18
Sched.

WFC-N/P

Enter the total qualifying expenses 
from Schedule WFC-N/P, line 9, on 
Schedule WFC-N/P, line 18, and 

Form 40N or Form 40P, line 63b.

19
Sched.

WFC-N/P

Use the table on the back of Sched-
ule WFC-N/P (page 38) that match-
es your household size.

For example, if your household size is three, use Table 
3 to find the percentage you should apply to your 
qualifying expenses. Enter that percentage on Sched-
ule WFC-N/P, line 19.

Child/provider relationship. Identify the relationship 
of the provider to the child using the relationship 
codes on page 34. If there is no relationship between 
the provider and the child, enter “N” for none.

Amount paid to provider. Qualifying child care 
expenses are those paid for your qualifying child 
primarily so that you (and your spouse, if married) 
can work or attend school. You can pay your expenses 
with pre-tax dollars from an employer benefit plan, 
such as a cafeteria plan or flexible spending arrange-
ment, and still qualify to claim this credit. You must 
pay for the child care during 2005 for the payments to 
be qualifying child care expenses.

Qualifying child care expenses do not include 
amounts you paid for your child to attend a public 
or private school, or for activities such as gymnastics 
or soccer. You cannot claim expenses that are paid by 
someone else such as a state assistance agency. You can 
claim only the expenses you actually paid.

Example 3: Jeff works for a company that offers depen-
dent care benefits. He contributes $4,000 pre-tax each 
year to a flexible spending arrangement (FSA) plan. 
Jeff’s employer reports the $4,000 of dependent care 
benefits in box 10 of his W-2. Jeff also paid $1,000 with 
after-tax dollars. Jeff may claim the working family 
child care credit based on $5,000 in qualifying child 
care expenses.

Example 4: Lee has a five-year-old qualifying child 
who attends a local academy. He pays $750 per month 
for his son’s kindergarten and child care. Of that total, 
$500 is the contract price for child care, and $250 for 
the child’s education. Lee can only claim $500 per 
month as qualifying child care.

Example 5: Cate receives state assistance to pay her 
child care expenses. The child care provider charges 
Cate $600 per month to care for her two qualifying 
children. Of the $600 per month, the state pays $450, 
and Cate has a co-pay of $150. Cate can only claim the 
amount she actually paid ($150 per month).

Proof of qualifying child care expenses. To claim this 
credit, you must prove that you paid the child care 
expenses. Acceptable proof includes, but is not limited 
to, copies of:

• Canceled checks or money order stubs, or
• Duplicate checks along with bank statements, and/or 

Working family child care credit
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Household Size Calculation
  1. Enter the number of exemptions

you claimed on your federal return............................. 1
 2.  Enter the number of exemptions you did not 
  claim on your federal return because you released 
  the exemption to the child’s other parent ................... 2

 3. Add lines 1 and 2........................................................ 3
  4.  Enter the number of exemptions you claimed on 
  your federal return for people who did not live in 
  your household during 2005, including exemptions 
  released to you by your child’s other parent, or who 
  are not related by blood, marriage, or adoption ......... 4

 5.  Household size. Line 3 minus line 4........................... 5

× .

.............. 8

Provider’s Telephone No.

.............. 7

Provider’s Telephone No.

Qualifying Child Care Expenses Paid in 2005. Enter the following information for each child care provider you paid in 2005.
Provider’s full name and complete address 

Amount Paid to Provider

$

Amount Paid to Provider

$

$
Amount Paid to Provider

Provider’s full name and complete address 

Provider’s full name and complete address 

Child/Provider Relationship 

(enter code)

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN

 6. Name ________________________________________________________________________________

      Address_______________________________________________________________________________

City, State, ZIP Code

 7. Name ________________________________________________________________________________

      Address_______________________________________________________________________________

City, State, ZIP Code

Child/Provider Relationship 

(enter code)

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN

 8. Name ________________________________________________________________________________

      Address_______________________________________________________________________________

City, State, ZIP Code

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN Child/Provider Relationship 

(enter code)

Schedule 
WFC-N/P 2005Oregon Working Family Child Care Credit

for Form 40N and Form 40P Filers

150-101-170 (Rev. 12-05) 

—YOU MUST ATTACH THIS SCHEDULE TO YOUR OREGON INCOME TAX RETURN—

$  9. Total qualifying child care expenses paid in 2005. Add amounts on lines 6 through 8 and enter the result here ...................... 9

$
$
$
$

First and Last Name of Child Child’s SSN
Child’s

Date of Birth
Relationship
(enter code)

10.
11.
12.
13.

Expenses
Paid for Child

Last name First name and initial

Spouse’s last name if joint return Spouse’s fi rst name and initial if joint return

Social Security No. (SSN)

–        –
Spouse’s SSN if joint return

–        –

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

FOR COMPUTER USE ONLY

Qualifying Child Information

Provider’s Telephone No.

Computation of Credit
15. Enter your federal adjusted gross income (Form 40N or Form 40P, line 30a) ...................................................................  15
16. Enter your Oregon adjusted gross income (Form 40N or Form 40P, line 30b) ................................................................... 16
17. Enter the larger of line 15 or line 16 .................................................................................................................................... 17
18. Enter the total qualifying child care expenses paid in 2005 from line 9 above...................................................................  18 
19. Enter the decimal amount from the working family child care credit table on the back (use the table that 
      matches your household size on line 5 above). For example, if the amount on line 5 is 4, use Table 4 ......................................... 19

20. Multiply the amount on line 18 by the decimal amount on line 19 and enter here .............................................................  20
21. Multiply line 20 by the Oregon percentage (Form 40N or Form 40P, line 40). Enter the result  
      here and on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 63. This is your working family child care credit ..............................................   21

$14. Total qualifying child care expenses. Add amounts on lines 10 through 13 and enter the result here........................... 14

.............. 6
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* If your household size is more than eight, contact the department for the tables you need. See page 40 for taxpayer assistance
information.

Table 7, household size = 7

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 17 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 19:at least: but less than:

—— $58,250 .40
$58,250  61,150 .36
 61,150  64,100 .32
 64,100  67,000 .24
 67,000  69,900 .16
 69,900  72,850 .08
 72,850 —— .00

Table 5, household size = 5

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 17 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 19:at least: but less than:

—— $45,200 .40
$45,200  47,500 .36
 47,500  49,750 .32
 49,750  52,000 .24
 52,000  54,250 .16
 54,250  56,550 .08
 56,550 —— .00

Table 3, household size = 3

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 17 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 19:at least: but less than:

—— $32,200 .40
$32,200  33,800 .36
 33,800  35,400 .32
 35,400  37,000 .24
 37,000  38,600 .16
 38,600  40,250 .08
 40,250 —— .00

Table 1, household size = 1

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 17 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 19:at least: but less than:

—— $19,150 .40
$19,150  20,100 .36
 20,100  21,050 .32
 21,050  22,000 .24
 22,000  22,950 .16
 22,950  23,950 .08
 23,950 —— .00

Table 2, household size = 2

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 17 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 19:at least: but less than:

—— $25,650 .40
$25,650  26,950 .36
 26,950  28,250 .32
 28,250  29,500 .24
 29,500  30,800 .16
 30,800  32,100 .08
 32,100 —— .00

Table 4, household size = 4

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 17 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 19:at least: but less than:

—— $38,700 .40
$38,700  40,650 .36
 40,650  42,550 .32
 42,550  44,500 .24
 44,500  46,450 .16
 46,450  48,400 .08
 48,400 —— .00

Table 6, household size = 6

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 17 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 19:at least: but less than:

—— $51,750 .40
$51,750  54,350 .36
 54,350  56,900 .32
 56,900  59,500 .24
 59,500  62,100 .16
 62,100  64,700 .08
 64,700 —— .00

Table 8, household size = 8*

If the amount on

Schedule WFC-N/P, line 17 is:
Enter this decimal 

amount on Schedule 

WFC-N/P, line 19:at least: but less than:

—— $64,800 .40
$64,800  68,000 .36
 68,000  71,250 .32
 71,250  74,500 .24
 74,500  77,750 .16
 77,750  81,000 .08
 81,000 —— .00

Working Family Child Care Credit—2005 Tables
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Household Size Calculation
  1. Enter the number of exemptions

you claimed on your federal return............................. 1
 2.  Enter the number of exemptions you did not 
  claim on your federal return because you released 
  the exemption to the child’s other parent ................... 2

 3. Add lines 1 and 2........................................................ 3
  4.  Enter the number of exemptions you claimed on 
  your federal return for people who did not live in 
  your household during 2005, including exemptions 
  released to you by your child’s other parent, or who 
  are not related by blood, marriage, or adoption ......... 4

 5.  Household size. Line 3 minus line 4........................... 5

× .

.............. 8

Provider’s Telephone No.

.............. 7

Provider’s Telephone No.

Qualifying Child Care Expenses Paid in 2005. Enter the following information for each child care provider you paid in 2005.
Provider’s full name and complete address 

Amount Paid to Provider

$

Amount Paid to Provider

$

$
Amount Paid to Provider

Provider’s full name and complete address 

Provider’s full name and complete address 

Child/Provider Relationship 

(enter code)

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN

 6. Name ________________________________________________________________________________

      Address_______________________________________________________________________________

City, State, ZIP Code

 7. Name ________________________________________________________________________________

      Address_______________________________________________________________________________

City, State, ZIP Code

Child/Provider Relationship 

(enter code)

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN

 8. Name ________________________________________________________________________________

      Address_______________________________________________________________________________

City, State, ZIP Code

Provider’s SSN/FEIN/ITIN Child/Provider Relationship 

(enter code)

Schedule 
WFC-N/P 2005Oregon Working Family Child Care Credit

for Form 40N and Form 40P Filers

150-101-170 (Rev. 12-05) 

—YOU MUST ATTACH THIS SCHEDULE TO YOUR OREGON INCOME TAX RETURN—

$  9. Total qualifying child care expenses paid in 2005. Add amounts on lines 6 through 8 and enter the result here ...................... 9

$
$
$
$

First and Last Name of Child Child’s SSN
Child’s

Date of Birth
Relationship
(enter code)

10.
11.
12.
13.

Expenses
Paid for Child

Last name First name and initial

Spouse’s last name if joint return Spouse’s fi rst name and initial if joint return

Social Security No. (SSN)

–        –
Spouse’s SSN if joint return

–        –

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

FOR COMPUTER USE ONLY

Qualifying Child Information

Provider’s Telephone No.

Computation of Credit
15. Enter your federal adjusted gross income (Form 40N or Form 40P, line 30a) ...................................................................  15
16. Enter your Oregon adjusted gross income (Form 40N or Form 40P, line 30b) ................................................................... 16
17. Enter the larger of line 15 or line 16 .................................................................................................................................... 17
18. Enter the total qualifying child care expenses paid in 2005 from line 9 above...................................................................  18 
19. Enter the decimal amount from the working family child care credit table on the back (use the table that 
      matches your household size on line 5 above). For example, if the amount on line 5 is 4, use Table 4 ......................................... 19

20. Multiply the amount on line 18 by the decimal amount on line 19 and enter here .............................................................  20
21. Multiply line 20 by the Oregon percentage (Form 40N or Form 40P, line 40). Enter the result  
      here and on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 63. This is your working family child care credit ..............................................   21

$14. Total qualifying child care expenses. Add amounts on lines 10 through 13 and enter the result here........................... 14

.............. 6
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40 Taxpayer assistance 150-101-045 (Rev. 12-05)

Taxpayer assistance
Printed information (free)

Income tax booklets are available at many post offices, 
banks, and libraries. For booklets and other forms and 
publications, you can also access our Web site, order by 
telephone, or return the form below.

Internet

www.oregon.gov/DOR
• Download forms and publications
• Get up-to-date tax information
• E-mail: questions.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure and 
confidentiality cannot be ensured. 
General tax and policy questions only.

Correspondence

Write to: Oregon Department of Revenue, 
955 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301-2555. 
Include your Social Security number and a 
daytime telephone number for faster service.

Telephone

Salem ..............................................................503-378-4988
Toll-free from an Oregon prefix................ 1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to:
• Check on the status of your 2005 

personal income tax refund 
(beginning February 1).

• Order tax forms.
• Hear recorded tax information.

For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers above:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday................7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday ......................................................... 10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Closed on holidays.
April 3–April 17, Monday–Friday....................7:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15.................................................9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary.

Asistencia en español:
    Salem.........................................................503-945-8618
    Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon.................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
    Salem.........................................................503-945-8617
    Toll-free from an Oregon prefi x..........1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the 
help numbers for information in alternative formats.

Field offices

Get forms and assistance at these offices. Do not send 
your return to these addresses.

Bend 951 SW Simpson Avenue, Suite 100
Eugene 1600 Valley River Drive, Suite 310
Gresham 1550 NW Eastman Parkway, Suite 220
Medford 24 W 6th Street 
Newport 119 NE 4th Street, Suite 4
North Bend 3030 Broadway
Pendleton 700 SE Emigrant, Suite 310
Portland 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 505

Salem Revenue Building, 955 Center Street NE, Room 135  

Salem 4275 Commercial Street SE, Suite 180

Tualatin 6405 SW Rosewood Street, Suite A

Check individual boxes to order. Complete name and address section. 

Clip on the dotted line, then mail in the entire list to the address below.

Forms and instructions
 Forms 40S & 40, Full-Year Resident .....................150-101-043

 Forms 40P & 40N, Part-Year & Nonresident .....150-101-045

 Form 40-EXT, Oregon Automatic Extension

and Payment Voucher .............................................150-101-165

Estimated Income Tax Payment Instructions 

and Vouchers......................................................... 150-101-026/-2

 Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon 

Estimated Tax .............................................................. 150-101-031

 Oregon Amended Schedule ................................150-101-061

 Form 90R, Elderly Rental Assistance ..................150-545-002

Oregon Depreciation Schedule .............................150-101-025

 Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/

Involuntary Conversions ......................................  150-800-734

 Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging 

for Full-Year Residents ..............................................150-101-160

 Form FIA-40N, FIA-40P, and Schedule Z, Oregon 

Farm Income Averaging for Nonresidents 

and Part-Year Residents ...........................................150-101-161

Publications
2-D Barcode Filing for Oregon ............................... 150-101-631

Amtrak Act (Interstate Transportation Wages) ....150-101-601

Audits: What To Do if You Are Audited ................150-101-607

Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Another State ....150-101-646

Divorce and Taxes .....................................................150-101-629

Electronic Filing for Oregon ....................................150-101-630

Estimated Income Tax ..............................................150-101-648

Income Tax Filing Extension ...................................150-101-660

Interest on Tax You Owe: Computation .............150-800-691

Itemized Deductions Limit .......................................150-101-611

Married Persons Filing Separate Returns ............150-101-656

Military Personnel Filing Information .................150-101-657

Record-Keeping Requirements .............................150-101-608

Retirement Income ...................................................150-101-673

Your Rights as an Oregon Taxpayer ................... 150-800-406

 List of other printed information: 

Form and Publication Order .................................150-800-390

Send to: Forms, Oregon Department of Revenue

PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990

Please print
Name_____________________________________________

Address ___________________________________________

City ______________________________________________

State ___________________ ZIP Code _______________

✂
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Instructions for Amended Schedule
For Amending Oregon Individual Income Tax Returns

Use the amended schedule to calculate your additional 
refund or tax to pay on amended returns. Generally, you 
will use the same form and instructions you used to com-
plete your original return to complete your amended return. 
Write “amended” in blue or black ink at the top of your 
amended Form 40S, Form 40, Form 40N, or Form 40P. Then
use these instructions to complete the amended schedule.

Exceptions:

• Did you originally fi le Form 40S, but are changing to Form 
40? If so, use Form 40 and instructions to complete your 
amended return.

• Are you changing your residency status (for example, 
from full-year resident to part-year resident)? If so, use the 
appropriate form for your corrected residency status.

Attach the amended schedule to your amended return.

Use Oregon Form 90R to file an amended return for an 
Elderly Rental Assistance (ERA) claim. You should:

• Request an ERA booklet for the year you are amending. 
To order a booklet, see page 3.

• Write “amended” in blue or black ink at the top of Form 
90R.

• Fill out Form 90R using the correct information.

• Attach an explanation of your changes.

How long do I have to fi le for a refund?

In most cases, you must fi le for a refund within three years 
from the due date of your original return, or the date you 
fi led your original return, whichever is later. If the three-year 
fi ling period has expired, you still may fi le for a refund if:

• You paid tax for the tax year you are amending within the 
past two years. Your refund is generally limited to the tax 
you paid in that two-year period. 

• You had a net operating loss carryback. Your claim must be 
fi led within three years from the due date of the return for 
the tax year when the loss occurred. The due date includes 
extensions.

• The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) or another state 
adjusted your return or assessed tax for failure to fi le a 
return. You must fi le a copy of the audit report, return, 
or assessment and your Oregon amended return and 
schedule within two years after the federal or other state 
correction was made.

When should I fi le and pay if I owe additional tax?

File your amended return and schedule and pay any tax and 
interest due as soon as you know that a change needs to be 
made. Interest is fi gured from the day after the due date of 
the original return up to the date the tax is paid. There also 
may be a penalty.

How long will it take to process my amended return?

Processing time for amended returns varies. If we receive 
your amended return and schedule during our busiest time 
of the year, Feb ru ary to September, it may take six months 
or longer to pro cess your amended return.

Federal or other state audits

Did an IRS or another state audit change your Oregon tax-
able income? If so, you must attach a copy of the audit report 
to your amended Oregon return.

Net operating loss (NOL)

An Oregon NOL is defined the same as a federal NOL. 
How ev er, you may have an Oregon NOL without having 
a fed er al NOL. Your Oregon NOL is computed under the 
fed er al methods. The only modifi cation is for amounts that 
Or e gon is prohibited from taxing, such as interest from U.S. 
Series EE or HH bonds (U.S. government interest).

Generally an NOL for a full-year resident is the same as the 
federal NOL. Nonresidents are allowed an Oregon NOL if 
it is generated from Oregon sources.

If you are amending for an NOL, be sure to show the year 
of the NOL and the NOL calculations.

Oregon NOL carryover or carryback

Generally, if you carry an NOL back for federal purposes, 
you also must carry the Oregon NOL back for Oregon 
pur pos es. There is an exception if you were not required 
to fi le an Or e gon return for all years to which the federal 
NOL de duc tion is applied. If you elect to carry the federal 
NOL for ward, then you must also carry the Oregon NOL 
forward.

Special instructions for federal tax liability

• Did we correct the federal tax subtraction on your original 
return? If so, use the corrected amount from our notice.

• Did you pay federal tax or get a federal refund because 
you were audited or fi led an amended return? If so, see 
“Federal income tax changes” below.

• Did you claim more than the limit? Refer to the instruc-
tions in the income tax booklet for the year you received 
the refund for the limit amount.

Federal income tax changes

Did you pay additional federal tax because you were 
audited or fi led an amended return? If so, claim the addi-
tional federal tax as a subtraction on your Oregon return in 
the year you paid the additional tax.

Example: You paid additional federal tax in 2006 for an audit 
adjustment on your 2005 income tax return. Amend your 

O F  R E V E N U E
D E P A R T M E N T

O R E G O N
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2005 return but do not change the 2005 federal tax. Instead, 
subtract the additional 2005 federal tax on your 2006 return. 
See instructions in the 2006 income tax booklet.

Did you get a refund of federal tax because you were 
audited or fi led an amended return? If so, show the federal 
tax refund as an addition on your Oregon return in the year 
you get the refund, but only if you received a tax benefi t. 

Example: You receive a federal tax refund in 2006 for amend-
ing your 2005 income tax return. Report the refund as an 
addition on your 2006 return. If you already fi led your 2006 
return, the year in which you received your refund, you may 
need to amend that return. 

Use this worksheet to determine the tax benefi t received and 
the amount to include in Oregon income. 

1.   Enter the federal tax you
paid on your original return................... 1.  ____________

2.   Enter federal tax subtraction 
limit for the year you are 
amending................................................... 2.  ____________

3.   Line 1 minus line 2. (Enter -0- 
if line 2 is greater than line 1) ................. 3.  ____________

4.   Enter the refund of the prior
year’s federal tax .......................................4. ___________

5.   If line 3 is greater than line 4, 
no adjustment is needed on 
your Oregon amended 
return. If line 4 is greater 
than line 3, enter the result 
of line 4 minus line 3 here 
and on your amended 
Form 40, as an addition 
(code 109); or on your
amended Form 40N or 
Form 40P, as an other 
deduction and modifi cation 
(code 601).................................................... 5. ___________

How to fi ll out the amended schedule

Instructions are for lines not fully explained on the form.

Do not fi ll in cents. You must round off cents to the nearest dol-
lar. For example, $24.49 becomes $24 and $24.50 becomes $25.

Tax

101. Amended net income tax. This is your amended tax af-
ter credits (not including the working family child care credit 
after 2003). If your credits are more than your tax, enter -0-.

Payments

102. Amended Oregon income tax withheld. If you are cor-
recting the amount of state tax withheld from your wages, 
unemployment, or retirement you must attach a copy of any 
additional or corrected W-2 or 1099 forms.

103. Amended working family child care credit (tax years 
2003 and later). If you are changing the amount of your 
working family child care credit, you must attach a copy of 
the corrected Schedule WFC or WFC-N/P.

104. Estimated tax payments. Fill in the amount of estimated 
tax payments credited to your original return.

105. Amount paid with original return and later. Fill in 
the amount of all income tax actually paid on your original 
Oregon return. Include payments made later or for any ad-
ditional tax adjustments to your return. Don't include pay-
ments for:

•  Penalty and interest, or
•  Interest on the underpayment of estimated tax.

107. Income tax refunds received. Fill in the amount of any
refund you received (or expect to receive) from your origi-
nal Oregon return and any amended returns fi led. Include 
refunds received from the working family child care credit 
or a previous adjustment. Do not reduce your refund by the 
amounts you:

• Contributed to charitable funds claimed on the return, or
• Applied to the next year's estimated tax.

Any refund due from your original return may be mailed 
separately. By law, the Oregon Department of Revenue can-
not issue refunds or apply amounts less than $1.

Refund or balance due

110. Amount of line 109 you want applied to your next 
year’s estimated tax. If your refund on line 109 is $1 or more, 
you may apply part or all of it to your Oregon estimated 
tax account. Fill in the tax year and the amount you want 
to apply.

111. Net refund. You must reduce your refund by any 
amounts applied to your estimated tax on line 110. If you 
would like your refund direct deposited, enter your account 
information on Form 40S, Form 40, Form 40N, or Form 40P. 
Note: Interest on underpayment of estimated tax for a prior 
year is not refundable. Do not include it as part of your refund. 

113. Interest on additional tax to pay. Do you need to pay 
additional tax with your amended return? If so, you must 
include interest with your payment. To avoid paying an 
additional 5 percent penalty, you must pay the tax and inter-
est in full with your amended return, or within 30 days after 
you receive a billing notice from the department.

Interest on income tax is fi gured from the day after the due 
date of your original return up to the date your payment is 
received. 

An interest period is each full month starting with the day 
after the due date of the original return. Generally, the due 
date for income tax returns is April 15.

Interest rates on tax you owe 
Percentage Rates

Interest Period          Annual            Monthly                     Daily                                 

January 16, 1995 to
January 15, 1999         10%      .8333% (.008333)    .0274% (.000274)

January 16, 1999 to
January 15, 2001           9%      .7500% (.007500)    .0247% (.000247)

January 16, 2001 to
February 15, 2002       10%      .8333% (.008333)    .0274% (.000274)

150-101-061 (12-05)
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February 16, 2002 to
February 15, 2003        8%       .6667% (.006667)    .0219% (.000219)
February 16, 2003 to
January 15, 2004          7%       .5833% (.005833)    .0192% (.000192)
January 16, 2004 to
January 15, 2005          6%         .5000% (.00500)    .0164% (.000164)
January 16, 2005 to
January 15, 2006          5%       .4167% (.004167)    .0137% (.000137)
January 16, 2006 to
January 16, 2007          7%       .5833% (.005833)    .0192% (.000192)

Example: Dianna fi les an amended return for tax year 2001 
on March 24, 2005. She pays additional tax of $500 with her 
amend ed return. The following shows how she fi gures her 
interest:

Apr 16, 2002–Feb 15, 2003  = 10 mos. x .006667 x $500 = 33.34
Feb 16, 2003–Jan 15, 2004   = 11 mos. x .005833 x $500 = 32.08
Jan 16, 2004–Jan 15, 2005    = 12 mos. x .00500   x $500 = 30.00
Jan 16, 2005–Mar 15, 2005  =   2 mos. x .004167 x $500 =   4.17 
Mar 16, 2005–Mar 24, 2005 =   9 days x .000137 x $500 =     .62
                                                           Total interest due  $100.21

Explanation of changes
Identify and provide a complete explanation of all amended 
items. Indicate the line number from the Form 40S, Form 40, 
Form 40N, or Form 40P for each change. If your fi ling status 
changed (for example, from single to head of household), 
explain why. Attach additional pages if you need more room 
to explain your changes.

Should I put my amended return 
together in a special order?
Yes. To speed processing, put your Oregon amended return 
together as follows:

• Amended Form 40S, Form 40, Form 40N, or Form 40P.

• Staple Forms W-2 or 1099 to the front of your amended 
return if you are correcting income or Oregon with-
holding.

• Staple your check or money order and Form 40-V on top 
of your W-s and 1099 forms if you owe tax. For Form 40-V, 
see our Web site or contact us. See page 4.

• Place a copy of your Oregon amended schedule behind 
your amended return.

• If applicable, place these items in the following order 
behind your Oregon Amended Schedule:

   — A copy of your corrected federal return (1040A, 1040EZ, 
1040P, or 1040N) and/or other state’s amended return.

   — A copy of your federal and/or other state’s audit report 
if your amended return is due to an audit.

 — Schedule WFC or WFC-N/P if you are correcting your 
working family credit.

 — Form FIA-40, FIA-40N, or FIA-40P.

 • Staple all of the pages of your amended return together 
in the top left-hand corner.

Note: Do not attach a copy of your original Oregon return.

3150-101-061 (12-05)
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Internet

www.oregon.gov/DOR
• Download forms and publications
• Get up-to-date tax information
• E-mail: questions.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure and con-
fidentiality cannot be ensured. General tax 
and policy questions only.

Correspondence
Write to: Oregon Department of Revenue, 955 
Cen ter St NE, Sa lem OR 97301-2555. Include 
your So cial Se cu ri ty num ber and a day time 
tele phone num ber for fast er ser vice.

Telephone

Salem ................................................................ 503-378-4988
Toll-free from Oregon prefix........................1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to:
• Check on the status of your 2005 

personal income tax refund 
(beginning February 1).

• Order tax forms.
• Hear recorded tax information.
For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers above:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday.................. 7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday ............................................................10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Closed on holidays.
April 3–April 17, Monday–Friday...................... 7:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15................................................... 9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary.

Asistencia en español:
    Salem................................................................ 503-945-8618
    Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon .......................1-800-356-4222
TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
    Salem................................................................ 503-945-8617
    Toll-free from Oregon prefi x .....................1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats.

Field offices

Get forms and assistance at these offices. Do not send your 
return to these addresses.

Bend 951 SW Simpson Avenue, Suite 100
Eugene 1600 Valley River Drive, Suite 310
Gresham 1550 NW Eastman Parkway, Suite 220
Medford 24 W 6th Street 
Newport 119 NE 4th Street, Suite 4
North Bend 3030 Broadway
Pendleton 700 SE Emigrant, Suite 310
Portland 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 505
Salem Revenue Building, 955 Center Street NE, Room 135
Salem 4275 Commercial Street SE, Suite 180
Tualatin 6405 SW Rosewood Street, Suite A

Check individual boxes to order. Complete name and address sec tion. Clip 
on the dot ted line, then mail in the entire list to the address be low.

Forms and instructions
 Forms 40S & 40, Full-Year Resident ........................... 150-101-043

 Forms 40P & 40N, Part-Year & Nonresident ........... 150-101-045

 Form 40-EXT, Oregon Automatic Extension
and Payment Voucher ................................................... 150-101-165

Estimated Income Tax Payment Instructions 
and Vouchers................................................................150-101-026/-2

 Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon 
Estimated Tax .....................................................................150-101-031

 Oregon Amended Schedule ...................................... 150-101-061

 Form 90R, Elderly Rental Assistance ........................ 150-545-002

Oregon Depreciation Schedule ................................... 150-101-025

 Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/
Involuntary Conversions ............................................  150-800-734

 Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging 
for Full-Year Residents ....................................................150-101-160

 Form FIA-40N, 40P, and Schedule Z, Oregon 
Farm Income Averaging for Nonresidents 
and Part-Year Residents ................................................. 150-101-161

Publications
2-D Barcode Filing for Oregon ......................................150-101-631

Amtrak Act (Interstate Transportation Wages) .......... 150-101-601

Audits: What To Do if You Are Audited ...................... 150-101-607

Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Another State .......... 150-101-646

Divorce and Taxes ........................................................... 150-101-629

Electronic Filing for Oregon .......................................... 150-101-630

Estimated Income Tax .................................................... 150-101-648

Income Tax Filing Extension ......................................... 150-101-660

Interest on Tax You Owe: Computation ................... 150-800-691

Itemized Deductions Limit .............................................150-101-611

Married Persons Filing Separate Returns .................. 150-101-656

Military Personnel Filing Information ....................... 150-101-657

Record-Keeping Requirements ................................... 150-101-608

Retirement Income ......................................................... 150-101-673

Your Rights as an Oregon Taxpayer ..........................150-800-406

 List of other printed information: 
Form and Publication Order ....................................... 150-800-390

Send to: Forms, Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990

Please print
Name_____________________________________________

Address ___________________________________________

City ______________________________________________

State ___________________ ZIP Code _______________

Taxpayer assistance
Printed information (free)

Income tax booklets are available at many post of fic es, 
banks, and libraries. For booklets and other forms and publi-
cations, you can also access our Web site, order by tele phone, 
or return the form below.

4150-101-061 (12-05)

76



For Offi ce Use Only

OREGON AMENDED SCHEDULE 
for Amending Individual Income Tax Returns

TAX YEAR _________

Original return number Date received

Code Tax P&I Pay ment Amount

150-101-062 (12-05)

Amended returns may take six months or longer to process.

Check if amending to change from married fi ling separate to fi ling joint.

Last name

Spouse’s last name, if different and joint return

Current mailing address

City

First name and initial

Spouse’s fi rst name and initial, if joint return

State

Social Security number (SSN)

Spouse’s SSN if joint return

—                —

—                —

ZIP code Telephone number

(            )

Please read instructions
101 Amended net income tax..................................................................................................................................................... • 101

102 Amended Oregon income tax withheld ............................................................................................ •102

103 Amended working family child care credit (tax years 2003 and later) .............................................. •103

104 Estimated tax payments ................................................................................................................... •104

105 Amount paid with original return and later ....................................................................................... •105

106 Total payments (add lines 102–105) ....................................................................................................................................•106

107 Income tax refunds received ................................................................................................................................................•107

108 Net payments (line 106 minus line 107) ...............................................................................................................................•108

109 Refund. If line 108 is more than line 101, you over paid. Line 108 minus line 101.............................................................•109

110 Amount of refund on line 109 you want applied to your 200 __ estimated tax.....................................................................•110

111  NET REFUND. Line 109 minus line 110...............................................................................................................................• 111

112 Additional tax to pay. If line 101 is more than line 108, you have tax to pay. Line 101 minus line 108.............................•112

113 Interest on additional tax to pay ............................................................................................................................................ 113

114 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add lines 112 and 113. Pay in full with this return ............................................................................... 114

Explanation of adjustments made—Show the computations in detail. Additional space is available on the back if needed. Attach applicable schedules.

Round to the nearest dollar

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00
.00
.00

.00

—Attach this schedule to your Oregon amended return—
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Explanation of adjustments made (continued) — Show the computations in detail. Attach applicable schedules.

150-101-062 (12-05)
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OREGON

150-101-157 (Rev. 4-04)

955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555
www.oregon.gov/DOR

Application for Settlement Offer
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General Information

Settlement offer policy statement 

We will accept a settlement offer when the amount you 
owe cannot be collected in full and the amount you offer 
re fl ects collection potential. Your offer will be accepted 
or rejected based on our evaluation of your ability to pay 
and the costs of collection. The goal of a settlement of-
fer is to achieve a set tle ment that is best for you and the 
de part ment. Ac cep tance of an offer is intended to give 
you a fresh start. How ev er, if you violate the terms of 
the offer, col lec tion action can resume on the full amount 
you owe.

Introduction

Some taxpayers owe more taxes than they can ever 
pay. If you are in this situation, you can ask us to set tle 
your tax debt for a lesser amount. 

How do I fi le a settlement offer ap pli ca tion?

Forms can be obtained by calling us or visiting any of 
our fi eld offi ces. See page 5 for telephone num bers and 
ad dress es. To fi le an ap pli ca tion, com plete the entire 
form and return it to the address listed on the form. If 
you have been working with a de part ment agent, your 
com plet ed form should be sent to that agent.

Under what conditions will 
the de part ment accept my offer?

The following conditions must be met:

• Your tax debt must be fi nal. We may not act on li-
 a bil i ties that are at any stage of the ap peals pro cess.

• You must be able to show that you cannot dispose of 
assets or borrow against them to pay your tax debt.

• Your financial statement must show that you do 
not have enough monthly income to fully pay your 
tax debt.

• You must be in compliance with Oregon tax re turn 
fil ing requirements for all tax years and all tax 
programs. 

• An amount equal to 5 percent of the total of fer must 
be sent with the application. This non re fund able 
pay ment must be in bankable funds (mon ey order, 
cashier’s check or cash). Cash pay ments should 
nev er be sent through the mail. In the event your 
of fer is not ap proved, this pay ment will be ap plied 
to the amount you owe the de part ment.

If you do not meet all of the above conditions, you 
do not qualify for a settlement offer. How ev er, ORS 
305.155 may allow the department to consider can-
 cel ing all or part of your liability if, due to ex cep tion al 

circumstances, re quir ing full payment would cause an 
economic hardship.

How is my inability to pay in full de ter mined?

We will look at property you own; past, present, 
and fu ture earning potential; amounts you owe; 
your present life style; your ability to borrow; and 
any oth er factors that might be helpful in making a 
decision.

What happens after I fi le my ap pli ca tion?

• If your application is complete, we usually will act 
on it within 30 days after receiving it. In com plete 
and/or inaccurate applications can cause delays or 
de ni al of your of fer.

• If collection action is already in progress, it will 
con tin ue. This includes, but is not lim it ed to, wage 
at tach ments, levies, and property sei zures.

• You will receive a decision in writing.

What happens if my 
settlement offer is ac cept ed?

• If we accept your settlement offer, the amount usu-
 al ly must be paid in full within 10 days. Payment 
must be in bankable funds (mon ey orders, cash ier’s 
checks or cash).

• If you are unable to pay the entire amount within 10 
days, you can ask for a payment plan. These plans 
are limited to six equal monthly payments. All pay-
 ments must be made in bankable funds. 

• When the full amount has been paid, we will is-
 sue sat is fac tions of all outstanding de lin quent tax 
warrants.

What happens if my 
settlement offer is re ject ed?

• If we reject your settlement offer, we will tell 
you why in writing. We usually will mail you a 
let ter within 30 days from the day we re ceive your 
application.

• There is no formal appeal process. However, you 
may fi le another application if you have ad di tion al 
in for ma tion for us to consider.

After I have paid the settlement, 
am I done with this matter forever?

Most people are. However, if you fail to meet the terms 
and conditions of the agreement, we may re sume col-
 lec tion action on the balance of your ac count.
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Frequently Asked Questions 

Do I need an accountant or an attorney to help me 
with the form?

You should be able to complete the form on your own. If 
you do need help, your assigned agent can answer your 
ques tions. However, if you choose to do so, you can ask for 
help from a tax representative.

Do I need to send any funds with my application?

Yes. Five percent of the offer amount must be sent with your 
application. This payment must be in the form of bank able 
funds (money order, cashier’s check or cash). Cash should 
never be sent through the mail. Your payment will be 
applied to the amount you owe. This payment is not refund-
able. Please use the payment coupon found on page 5.

Who will review my application?

Your agent will review your application to see that it is 
com plete and accurate. A review panel of de part ment staff 
will approve or deny your offer.

Will collection activity stop during the process?

No. Collection action will continue until your offer is 
accepted.

If I have questions, who should I call?

You can call the revenue agent assigned to your case.

Is any other paperwork required other than the 
application form?

Yes, as indicated on the form itself. In certain cases, other 
documents may be required to help clarify en tries on the 
form.

What if, after an offer is approved, my financial 
condition changes?

The terms of the offer will not be altered. However, if the 
change in your fi nancial status is due to information you omit-
ted or misstated on your application, you may be in default.

I know that I must fi le all returns for the next three 
years. I know that I also must stay current with any 
tax amounts I owe during this time. What if I fi le 
all my returns on time but I owe tax for one of the 
fi l ing pe ri ods? Can I make payments on the amount 
due?

Any such tax amounts due must be paid in full within 90 
days.

If my application is denied, can I submit another 
of fer? 

Yes. You may fi le another application, but we are unlikely 
to review a second application more fa vor ably than the fi rst 
unless your fi nancial condition has worsened, or you are 
increasing the amount of your offer.

Can prior payments be part of my offer?

No. Prior payments will be credited toward what you owe. 
They will not be included as part of your offer. However, the 
5 percent payment you send with your ap pli ca tion is part 
of the total offer.

How long will it take to get a decision?

If your application is complete, we usually will act on 
it within 30 days from the day the application is received by 
the review panel. 

When the process is complete, will liens recorded 
against my property be released?

Yes. When your application has been approved and the 
offer has been paid, your liens will be released.

Are there any expenses that may not be allowed in 
determining my disposable income?

Yes. We typically do not allow you to claim the following 
as necessary living expenses: tuition for pub lic or private 
college ex pens es, vol un tary re tire ment con tri bu tions, 
pay ments on un se cured debts such as credit card bills, ca ble
tele vi sion charges, and other sim i lar expenses.
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FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
Date Received

First four letters of 
your last nameSocial Security Number

Business Identifi cation Number

 Enter Payment Amount

$ 0  0.

150-101-157-1 (8-01)

Spouse’s last name, if different and joint payment

State ZIP code Telephone number

(         )

Spouse’s  fi rst name and initial (if joint payment)

Last name First name and initial

Current mailing address

Enter BIN or
SSN and Name

SETTLEMENT OFFER PAYMENT COUPON
Payment must equal 5 percent of your settlement offer

Program Code Year Period Liability

Field offi ces

If you have additional questions, you should con tact your 
rev e nue agent, or you can call us or visit us at any of our 
offices listed below. Forms and assistance are available 
at these offices. Don’t send your application to these 
addresses.

Bend .................951 SW Simpson Avenue, Suite 100

Eugene ............1600 Valley River Drive, Suite 310

Gresham.........1550 NW Eastman Parkway, Suite 220

Medford ........ 24 W 6th Street 

Newport........ 119 NE 4th Street, Suite 4

North Bend.. 3030 Broadway

Pendleton .... 700 SE Emigrant, Suite 310

Portland........ Federal Building Lobby, 1220 SW Third Avenue

Portland........ 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 505

Salem ............. Revenue Building, 955 Center Street NE, Room 135  

Salem ............. 4275 Commercial Street SE, Suite 180

Tualatin ......... 6405 SW Rosewood Street, Suite A

Taxpayer assistance Telephone

Salem .............................................................. 503-378-4988

Toll-free from Or e gon prefi x ................... 1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to:

• Check on the sta tus of your 2005
   personal  in come tax re fund 
   (beginning February 1).
• Order tax forms.
• Hear re cord ed tax information.

For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers 
above:

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday.............................7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday.......................................................................10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Closed on holidays.

April 3–April 17, Monday–Friday ................................7:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15..............................................................7:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary.

Asistencia en español:
    Salem................................................................ 503-945-8618
    Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon........................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
    Salem................................................................ 503-945-8617
    Toll-free from Oregon prefi x......................1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats.

  Internet

www.oregon.gov/DOR
• Download forms and publications
• Get up-to-date tax information
• E-mail: questions.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure and con-
fidentiality cannot be ensured. General tax 
and policy questions only.

  To get forms

Income tax booklets are available at many post of fic es, 
banks, and libraries. Or write to: Forms, Or e gon De part ment 
of Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990. 

83



6

84



7

SECTION 1. PERSONAL INFORMATION

DEPARTMENT USE ONLY
Date Received

Revenue AgentFINANCIAL STATEMENT

• Complete all sections, except shaded areas.     •Write “N/A” (not applicable) in those areas that do not apply.

Other Names or Aliases Ever Used

Your First Name Your Social Security Number

–             –

Your Date of BirthMI               Last Name

Spouse’s First Name Spouse’s Social Security Number

–             –

Spouse’s Date of BirthMI               Last Name

Spouse’s Other Names or Aliases Ever Used

Your Drivers License Number State Spouse’s Drivers License Number State

Dependent’s Name (living with you)

Dependent’s Name (living with you)

Dependent’s Name (living with you)

Date of Birth

Date of Birth

Date of Birth

Social Security Number

Social Security Number

Social Security Number

–             –

–             –

–             –

Relationship

Relationship

Relationship

Your Current Address—Physical Site City State ZIP Code Telephone Number

(             )
Your Mailing  Address (if different from above) City State ZIP Code

Previous Address (if at current address less than 2 years) City State ZIP Code Telephone Number

(             )
Telephone Number

(             )

Name of Your Tax Representative (CPA, attorney, enrolled agent) FAX Number

(             )
Address of Your Tax Representative City State ZIP Code

SECTION 2. EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION
Your Employer or Business Name

Address City State ZIP Code

Business Telephone Number

(             )

Business Telephone Number

(             )
City State ZIP Code

Spouse’s Employer or Business Name

Address

How long employed:_____ Year(s) _____ Month(s) Occupation: __________________________   __  Wage Earner   Sole Proprietor  Partner 

Paid:   Weekly        Bi-weekly  Monthly  Semi-monthly           Number of allowances claimed on Form W-4:____________________

How long employed:_____ Year(s) _____ Month(s) Occupation: __________________________   __  Wage Earner   Sole Proprietor  Partner 

Paid:   Weekly        Bi-weekly  Monthly  Semi-monthly           Number of allowances claimed on Form W-4:____________________

150-101-159 (Rev. 4-02)
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Vehicles. Attach additional pages as needed.
Available Equity

(can not be less than -0-)

Financial Statement—Page 2

If self-employed: Responsible Owner(s), Partner(s), Offi cer(s), Major shareholder(s), etc. Identify the major responsibilities of each by circling the codes 
that apply.   1 = Files Returns; 2 = Pays Taxes; 3 = Prefers Creditors; 4 = Hires/Fires

SECTION 2. (continued) EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Name and Title Effective Date Home Address Home Telephone No. Social Security No. Responsibility code

1    2    3   4

1    2    3   4

1    2    3   4

Current Market Value

Bank Accounts. Include IRA and retirement plans certifi cates of deposit, etc. For all accounts, attach copies of your last three bank statements. Attach 
additional pages as needed.

SECTION 3. GENERAL FINANCIAL INFORMATION (Personal and Business)

Name of Institution Address Type Date Opened Account Number Balance

$TOTAL. Enter this amount on line 2, Section 4 (Asset and Liability Analysis) . . . . . . . . .

Year, Make, Model, Licence Number Lender/Lien Holder Current Payoff

$

Current Market Value

TOTAL. Enter this amount on line 3, Section 4 (Asset and Liability Analysis) . . . . . . . . .

Encumbered Personal Property. Include water craft, RVs, air craft, business equipment and/or machinery. Attach additional pages as needed.

Year, Make, Model, Licence Number Lender/Lien Holder Current Payoff Available Equity

$

Policy Number

TOTAL. Enter this amount on line 4, Section 4 (Asset and Liability Analysis) . . . . . . . . .

Life Insurance. Attach additional pages as needed.

Name of Insurance Company Agent’s Name and Telephone Number Type

$

Face Amount Loan/Cash
surrender Value

Owner of Record

TOTAL. Enter this amount on line 5, Section 4 (Asset and Liability Analysis) . . . . . . . . .

Securities. Include stocks, bonds, mutual funds, money market funds, securities, etc. Attach additional pages as needed.

Type Where Located

$

Quantity or Denomination Current Value

TOTAL. Enter this amount on line 6, Section 4 (Asset and Liability Analysis) . . . . . . . . .

150-101-159 (Rev. 4-02)
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SECTION 3. (continued) GENERAL FINANCIAL INFORMATION—Personal and Business
Safe Deposit Boxes (rented or accessed). Include locations, box numbers, and contents. Attach additional pages as needed.

Name of Institution Address Box Identifi cation Current Value of Assets

$TOTAL. Enter this amount on line 7, Section 4 (Asset and Liability Analysis) . . . . . . . . .

Financial Statement—Page 3

Real Property. Include a copy of the deed and a copy of homeowners/rental insurance policy with riders. Attach additional pages as needed.
A. Physical Address and Description (single family dwelling, multi-family dwelling, lot, etc.) County Mortgage Lender’s Name and Address

Parcel Number:_______________

How is Title Held:___________________________________   Purchase Price: _________________   Purchase Date: ____________

B. Physical Address and Description (single family dwelling, multi-family dwelling, lot, etc.) Mortgage Lender’s Name and Address

How is Title Held:___________________________________   Purchase Price: _________________   Purchase Date: ____________

Parcel Number:_______________

C. Physical Address and Description (single family dwelling, multi-family dwelling, lot, etc.) Mortgage Lender’s Name and Address

How is Title Held:___________________________________   Purchase Price: _________________   Purchase Date: ____________

Parcel Number:_______________

Credit Cards and Lines of Credit. Attach additional pages as needed.
Type of Account Name and Address of Creditor Monthly Payment Credit Limit Credit Available Amount Owed

$TOTAL. Enter this amount on line 25, Section 4 (Asset and Liability Analysis) . . . . . . . . .

$Total

150-101-159 (Rev. 4-02)
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Other Financial Information. Please provide the following information relating to your fi nancial conditions. If you check “Yes” in any box, provide dates, 
an explanation, and documentation. Attach additional pages as needed.

SECTION 3. (continued) GENERAL FINANCIAL INFORMATION—Personal and Business

Financial Statement—Page 4

Court Proceedings.............................................  No  Yes ______________________________________________________________________

Repossessions ..................................................   No  Yes ______________________________________________________________________

Anticipated Increase in Income .........................   No  Yes ______________________________________________________________________

Bankruptcies/Receiverships ..............................   No  Yes ______________________________________________________________________

Recent Transfer of Assets .................................   No  Yes ______________________________________________________________________

Benefi ciary to Trust, Estate, Profi t Sharing, etc.    No  Yes ______________________________________________________________________

Last Oregon Income Tax Return Filed............... Year:_______  ______________________________________________________________________

Total Number of Exemptions Claimed ............... ___________ ______________________________________________________________________

Adjusted Gross Income From Return ................ $__________ ______________________________________________________________________

List any vehicles, equipment, or properpy sold, given away, or repossessed during the past three years. Attach additional pages as neeed.
Year, Make, Model of Vehicle, or Property Address Who Took Possession Value

1. Cash

 2. Bank Accounts / Balance (from Section 3)

 3. Vehicles / Available Equity (from Section 3)

 4. Encumbered Personal Property (from Section 3)

 5. Loan / Cash Surrender Value for Life Insurance (from Section 3)

 6. Securities (from Section 3)

 7. Safe Deposit Box Value of Contents from Section 3)

 8. Notes

 9. Accounts Receivable

10. Judgements / Settlements Receivable

 11. Interest in Trusts

 12. Interest in Estates

13. Partnership Interests

 14. Other Assts: Major Machinery / Equipment

 15. Other Assets: Business Inventory

 16. Other Assets: Collectibles / Guns / Jewelry / Coins / Gold / Silver, etc.

17. Other Assets:

18. Other Assets:

 19. Total ................................................................................................................................................  Immediate Assets .................

Immediate Assets.

SECTION 4. ASSETS AND LIABILITY ANALYSIS

$

150-101-159 (Rev. 4-02)
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25. Lines of Credit (amount owed) (from Section3)

 26. Taxes Owed to IRS (provide a copy of recent notices)

27. Other Liabilities:

28. Other Liabilities:

29. Other Liabilities:

30. Other Liabilities:

 31. Total Liabilities ...............................................................................................................................................................................

20. A:

21. B:

22. C:

 23. Total ......................................................................................................................................................................Equity ...............

 24. Total Assets—Sum of Immediate and Equity (Section 4, line 19 plus Section 4, line 23) ...........................................................

Financial Statement—Page 5

$

Real Property. (from Section 3)

SECTION 4. (continued) ASSETS AND LIABILITY ANALYSIS

Address or Location Mortgage Payoff Amount EquityCurent Market Value

$

Current Liabilities. Include judgements, notes, and other charge accounts. Do not include vehicle or home loans.

$

 32. Wages / Salaries / tips (yours)

33. Pension (yours)

 34. Overtime / Bonuses / Commissions (yours)

 35. Wages / Salaries / tips (spouse’s)

36. Pension (spouse’s)

 37. Overtime / Bonuses / Commissions (spouse’s)

38. Business Income (yours)

 39. Business Income (spouse’s

40. Rental Income

 41. Interest / Dividends / Royalties (average monthly)

 42. ayments from Trusts / Partnerships / Entities

43. Child Support

44. Alimony

45. Unemployment

46. Disability

 47. Seller Carried Contracts / Sales

48. ther Income:

49. Other Income:

50. Other Income:

 51. Total Income ................................................................................................................... 

Income. Attach copies of all income sources that contribute to household expenses.

150-101-159 (Rev. 4-02)

SECTION 5. MONTHLY INCOME AND EXPENSE ANALYSIS

Department use OnlyNetGross

$

89
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Business Expenses (actually paid). 

150-101-159 (Rev. 4-02)

 52. Rent / Mortgage

 53. Real Estate Taxes    (Is this included in your mortgage payment?     No  Yes)

 54.Home Owners/Renters Insurance: (                         )  Association Fees:  (                      )

55. Utilities: Electric: ( ) Phone: ( )

   Gas / Oil: ( ) Water: ( )

   Garbage: ( ) Sewer: ( )

56. Food/Clothing/Other Items:  No. of People: (           )  Their Ages: (                                )

57. Auto Payments/Lease

58. Auto Insurance

 59. Auto Maintenance / Fuel

 60. Life / Health Insurance (if not deducted from your paycheck)

 61. Medical Payments (not covered by insurance)

 62. Estimated Tax Payments (if not deducted from your paycheck)

 63. Court Ordered Payments (alimony, child support, restitution, not deducted from your paycheck)

 64. Garnishments (if not deducted from your paycheck)

 65. Delinquent Tax Payments (other than Oregon state taxes)

 66. Work Related Child Care Expenses

 67. Other Expenses (do not include unsecured debt)

 68. Total Personal Expenses ............................................................................................... 

SECTION 5. (continued) MONTHLY INCOME AND EXPENSE ANALYSIS

Financial Statement—Page 6

Personal Expenses (actually paid). (May be limited by federal standards.)
Department use OnlyAmount

$

If Renting—Name, Address, and Telephone Number of Landlord

69. Materials Purchased

70. Supplies

71. Installment Payments

72. Monthly Payments

73. Rent

74. Insurance

75. Utilities: Electric: ( ) Phone: ( )

   Gas / Oil: ( ) Water: ( )

   Garbage: ( ) Sewer: ( )

76. Net Wages and Salaries

 77. Current Taxes (payroll / business)

 78. Other: Specify: (do not include unsecured debt)

 79. Total Business Expenses ..............................................................................................

 80. Net Disposable Income (line 51 minus line 68) ..............................................................

Department use OnlyAmount

$

Subtotal: 52-55

Subtotal: 57-59

$
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150-101-159 (Rev. 4-02)

Financial Statement—Page 7

SECTION 6. SETTLEMENT OFFER FORMULA WORKSHEET
Include copies of proof of income. 

1. Disposable income (from Section 5, line 80). (Can not be less than -0- ............................................ 1

2. Disposable income portion of offer. Multiply line 1 by 36...........................................................................................................2

3. Equity in assets (from Section 4, line 24). (Can not be less than 0-................................................... 3

4. Equity portion of offer. Multiply line 3 by 75% (.75) ...................................................................................................................4

5. Total settlement offer amount. Add lines 2 and 4.......................................................................................................................5

6. Nonrefundable payment to be submitted with application. Multiply line 5 by 5% (.05)..............................................................6

How will the remainder of this settlement offer be paid?

 Within 10 days  In equal monthly installments not to exceed six months. Day of the month the installment payment will be due: ______

 Yes         No

Is he sum offered in this setlement offer borrowed money?

If yes, please give the name and address of lender and list of collateral, if any, pledged to secure the loan

 Yes         No

Is the lender a member of your household or immediate family?

Please provide any additional information not already included. Attach additional pages as needed.
SECTION 7. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

SECTION 8. AUTHORIZATION TO DISCLOSE

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that this statement of assets, liabilities, and other information is true, correct, and complete. I (we) 
authorize the Oregon Department of Revenue to verify any information on this fi nancial statement.

Your Signature

X
Name and Address of Nearest Relative

Relationship

Date Spouse’s Signature

X

Date

Telephone Number

(             )

Return your completed form to: OREGON DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
 PO BOX 14725
 SALEM OR 97309-5018
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Description of Tax Liabilities
Social Security Number 
                     or 

Tax Type                                                            Business Iden ti fi  ca tion Number                            Years/Quarters

Personal Income Tax

Business Tax

Other (specify):

Taxpayer Declaration
I have read and agree to the above terms and conditions. Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have ex am ined 
this offer, including accompanying schedules and state ments, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, 
correct, and complete.

Your signature Date

Spouse’s signature (if applying joint ly, BOTH must sign even if only one had income)

SIGN
HERE

Date

Terms and Conditions
By making this offer, I understand and agree to the 
fol low ing conditions:

1.  I voluntarily submit all payments made on this 
offer.

2.  The Oregon Department of Revenue will apply pay-
 ments made under the terms of this offer in the best 
interest of the state. This is in ac cor dance with ORS 
305.155 and OAR 150-305.155.

3.  I agree to forego any right to appeal under the pro-
 vi sions of ORS 305.280(3).

4.  I will fi le all returns and pay all required taxes for 
3 years from the date the offered amount is paid in 
full. If I do not, the entire unpaid balance may be 
subject to col lec tion. I agree to pay any li a bil i ties 
arising during the 3-year period in full with in 90 
days.

5.  Revenue will keep all payments, refunds and cred-
 its made, received or applied to my tax debt prior 

to ap prov al of this offer. If I have a pay plan in 
effect I must con tin ue to make the payments as 
agreed while this offer is pending. I understand 
that col lec tion ac tion will continue. Any pay ments 
will be ap plied to the amount I owe. They will not 
be con sid ered part of this offer.

6.  Revenue cannot collect more than the full amount 
of this offer.

7.  Tax liens will be released when the payment terms 
of the agreement have been satisfi ed.

8.  I understand that Revenue employees may con tact 
third parties for verifi cation purposes, and I au-
 tho rize such contacts to be made.

9.  If I fail to meet any of the terms and conditions of 
the offer Revenue may disregard the set tle ment 
of fer. Col lec tion action will be taken to collect the 
en tire bal ance due, including ad di tion al interest that 
may have accrued on the liability.

Application Checklist
 Is your fi nancial statement complete and did you 
(and your spouse) sign and date it?

 Did you (and your spouse) sign and date the 
terms and conditions document?

Did you complete the description of tax li a bil i ties?

 Did you in clude your 5 percent payment in 
bankable funds with the payment coupon? 

Did you complete the Authorization to Rep re sent 
form, if needed?

Did you make a copy to keep for your records?
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O F  R E V E N U E
D E P A R T M E N T

O R E G O N TAX INFORMATION AUTHORIZATION 
and

POWER OF ATTORNEY FOR REPRESENTATION
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

Date Received

Please complete the following, if known (for routing purposes only):

    Revenue Employee: ____________________________________________

    Division/Section: _______________________________________________

   Telephone/Fax: ________________________________________________

Send to:  Oregon Department of Rev enue
                955 Center St NE
                Salem OR 97301-2555

• Please print.      • Use only blue or black ink.      • See additional information on the back.

Address City State ZIP Code

Taxpayer Name Identifying Number (SSN, ITIN, BIN, FEIN, etc.) 

Spouse’s Name, if joint return Spouse’s Identifying Number (SSN, ITIN, etc.) 

Check only one:

Tax Information Authorization: This form allows the department to disclose your confidential tax information to your des ignee.
You may designate a person, agency, firm, or or ganization.

Power of Attorney for Representation: (See qualification requirements on the back). Check if you want a person to “rep-
 re sent” you. This means the person may receive confidential information and may make decisions on your behalf. The per son
you des ignate must meet the ORS 305.230 qual ifications listed on the back of this form. 

    Representative’s title and Oregon license number or relationship to taxpayer: _____________________________________

   ___________________________________________________________________________________________________

For   All tax years,    or      Specific tax years: ___________________________________________________________,

I hereby appoint the following person as designee or authorized representative:

Mailing Address City State ZIP Code

Name Tele phone Number Fax Number

( ) ( )

The above named is authorized to receive my confidential tax information and/or represent me before the Oregon Department of Revenue for:

    All tax matters, or

    Specific tax matters. Enter tax program name(s):_____________________________________________________________

If this tax in for mation au thorization or pow er of at torney form is not signed, it will be returned.

150-800-005 (Rev. 11-05) 

SIGNATURE OF TAXPAYER(S)
• I acknowledge the following provision: Actions taken by an authorized representative are binding, even if the representative is not 

an attorney. Proceedings cannot later be declared legally defective because the representative was not an attorney. 
• Corporate officers, partners, fiduciaries, or other qualified persons signing on behalf of the taxpayer(s): By signing, I also certify 

that I have the authority to execute this form. 
• If a tax matter concerns a joint return, both spouses must sign if joint representation is requested. Taxpayers filing jointly may

authorize separate representatives.

Signature

X
Title (if applicable)

Spouse (if joint rep resentation)

X

Daytime Telephone Number

(   )

Print Name Date

Print Name Date

Qualifications for representation are on the back 

Note: This authorization form automatically revokes and replaces all earlier tax authorizations and/or all earlier powers of attorney
on file with the Oregon De partment of Rev enue for the same tax mat ters and years or periods covered by this form. If you do not
want to revoke a prior authorization, initial here ______.

Attach a copy of any other tax information authorization or power of attorney you want to remain in effect.
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This form is used for two purposes:
• Tax Information Disclosure Authorization. Allows 

the department to disclose your confidential tax 
information to whomever you designate. This person 
will not receive original notices we send to you.

• Power of Attorney for Representation. Your notice to 
the department that another person is authorized to 
represent you and act on your behalf. The person must 
meet the qualifi cations below. Unless you specify differ-
ently, this person will have full power to do all things 
you might do, with as much binding effect, including, 
but not limited to providing information, preparing, 
signing, executing, fi ling, and inspecting returns and 
reports, and executing statute of limitation extensions 
and closing agreements.

This form is effective on the date signed. Authorization 
terminates when the department receives written revoca-
tion notice or a new form is executed (unless the space 
provided on the front is initialed indicating that prior 
forms are still valid).

Unless the appointed representative has a fi duciary re-
lationship to the taxpayer (i.e., personal representative, 
trustee, guardian, conservator), original notices of defi -
ciency or assessment will be mailed to the taxpayer as 
required by law.

For corporations, “taxpayer” as used on this form, must 
be the corporation that is subject to Oregon tax. List fi scal 
years by year end date.

 QUALIFICATIONS TO REPRESENT TAXPAYER(S)
BEFORE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Under ORS 305.230, a person must meet one of the 
following qualifications in order to represent you 
before the Department of Revenue.

1. For all tax programs:
    a. An adult immediate family member (spouse, parent, 

child, or sibling).
    b.  An attorney qualifi ed to practice law in Oregon.
    c.  A certified public accountant (CPA) or public 

accountant (PA) qualified to practice public 
accountancy in Oregon, and their employees.

    d. An IRS enrolled agent (EA) qualifi ed to prepare tax 
returns in Oregon.

    e. A designated employee of the taxpayer.
    f.  An offi cer or employee of a corporation (including 

a parent, subsidiary, or other affi liated corporation), 
association, or organized group for that entity.

    g. An employee of a trust, receivership, guardianship, 
or estate for that entity.

    h. An individual outside the United States if represen-
tation takes place outside the United States.

2. For income tax issues:
    a. All those listed in (1), plus
    b. A licensed tax consultant (LTC) or licensed tax pre-

parer (LTP) licensed by the Oregon State Board of 
Tax Practitioners.

3. For ad valorem property tax issues:
    a. All those listed in (1), plus
    b. A licensed real estate broker or a principal real estate 

broker in Oregon, or
    c.  A certifi ed, licensed, or registered appraiser in Or-

egon, or
    d. An authorized agent for designated utilities and 

companies assessed by the department under ORS 
308.505 through 308.665 and ORS 308.805 through 
308.820.

4. For forestland and timber tax issues:
    a.  All those listed in (1), (2), and (3)(b) and (c), plus
    b. A consulting forester.

Tax matters partners and S corporation shareholders.
See OARs 150-305.242(2) and (5) and 150-305.230 for 
additional information. Include the partnership or S 
corporation name in the taxpayer name area. 

An individual who prepares and either signs your tax 
return or who is not required to sign your tax return (by 
the instructions or by rule), may represent you during an 
audit of that return. That individual may not represent 
you for any other purpose unless they meet one of the 
qualifi cations listed above.

Out-of-state CPAs and attorneys may contact their 
respective regulatory body in Oregon (Oregon Board of 
Accountancy or Oregon State Bar) for information on 
becoming qualifi ed to practice in Oregon. If your out-
of-state designee receives authorization to practice in 
Oregon, please attach proof to this form.

Generally, declarations for representation in cases 
appealed beyond the Department of Revenue must 
be in writing to the Tax Court Magistrate. A person 
recognized by a Tax Court Magistrate will be recognized 
as your representative by the department.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

150-800-005 (Rev. 11-05) 
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CROP DONATION TAX CREDIT
ORS 315.154 and 315.156O F  R E V E N U E

D E P A R T M E N T
O R E G O N

Name of Grower

Address

Social Security No. or Federal ID No.

StateCity ZIP Code

I am an individual or corporation making a qualified donation to a gleaning cooperative, food bank, or other charitable organization of 
a crop that I have grown. The organization receiving the donation is engaged in the distribution of food without charge and the crop is 
usable as food for human consumption. The donation is available because (check one):

  I have supplied my contract quota with the wholesale or retail buyer.

  I was party to a contingent supply contract. The buyer reduced my crop quota below what I expected to supply.

  I have determined that I am making a donation of apparently wholesome food intended for human consumption.

B.
Date

Donated

DONATION AND CALCULATION OF CREDIT.  To be completed by the grower.

Signature of Official Receiving Donation

X
150-101-240 (Rev. 12-05) 

Date

I verify that the crop was, or will be, distributed in Oregon (a) without charge, and (b) to children or homeless, unemployed, elderly, or 
low-income individuals, and (c) by a qualified charitable organization defined by Internal Revenue Code Section 501( c)(3).

DO NOT ATTACH THIS FORM TO YOUR OREGON RETURN. KEEP IT WITH YOUR TAX RECORDS.

Tele phone No.

(               )

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

A.
Description of

Crops Donated

C.
Quantity

of Donation

D.
Wholesale

Market Price

E.
Wholesale Value

(Multiply Column C x Column D)

VERIFICATION OF DONATION.  To be completed by organization receiving the donation.

Name of Organization Receiving Donation Telephone No.

Address StateCity ZIP Code

(               )

Name of Official Receiving Donation

8. Credit percentage .................................................................................................................................... 8

*Determination of Wholesale Market Price

    The wholesale market price for each crop being donated is determined by either:

     • The amount paid to the grower by the last previous cash buyer, or

     • If there is no previous cash buyer, the market price of the nearest wholesale buyer or the regional u-pick market price.

7. Total wholesale value (column E, lines 1–6)............................................................................................. 7

9. Credit amount. Multiply line 7 by line 8. Enter result here and on Form 40, other credits
     (identify as code 708 with your credit amount), or enter on Form 20, other credits ................................ 9

Signature of Grower Date

6.

×   .10

Tax Year

Fiscal Year Ending / /                  
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR CROP DONATION TAX CREDIT

Oregon allows a tax credit for crops donated to a glean-
ing cooperative, food bank, or other charitable organiza-
tion engaged in the distribution of food without charge. 
The organization receiving the donation must have a 
principal or on go ing pur pose of dis tri bu tion of food 
to children or home less, unem ployed, elderly, or low-
income in di vid u als. The or ga ni za tion must be lo cat ed in 
Oregon and be exempt from federal in come tax es un der 
Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

To qualify for this credit, you must be in the business 
of growing the crop to be sold for cash. The crop must 
be fit for hu man consumption. The food must meet 
all qual i ty and la bel ing stan dards imposed by fed er al, 
state, or local laws, even though the food may not be 
readily marketable due to appearance, age, fresh ness, 
grade, size, surplus, or oth er condition. Eligible crops 
include, but are not lim it ed to, bed ding plants that pro-
 duce food, or chard stock in tend ed for the production 
of food, and livestock that may be pro cessed into food 
for human consumption. Donated food meeting the 
above qualifications will meet the definition of appar-
ently wholesome food as required for this credit.

How much is the credit?
The credit is 10 percent of the value of the quan ti ty of 
the crop donated, computed at the whole sale market 
price at the time of donation. The wholesale market 
price is determined by either:

• The amount paid to the grower by the last pre vi ous
cash buyer of the particular crop, or

• In the event there is no previous cash buyer, a mar-
 ket price based upon the market price of the near est 
re gion al whole sale buyer or regional u-pick market 
price.

Example: 5,000 pounds of potatoes @ $.10/lb.
 5,000 × .10 = $500 (market value)
 10% (.10) × $500 = $50 (credit allowed)

How to claim the credit
Keep your completed Form 150-101-240, Crop Dona-
tion Tax Cred it, with your tax records to ver i fy your 
do na tion. If there was a pre vi ous cash buyer, you must 
keep a copy of an in voice or oth er state ment iden ti -
fy ing the price re ceived for crops of com pa ra ble grade 
or qual i ty.

Individuals, partners, S corporation shareholders, or 
corporations can take the credit. S corporation share-
 hold ers or partners may claim the credit based on their 
pro rata share of the cost.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You are al low-
ed the cred it subject to the same lim i ta tions as a cred it 
al lowed a res i dent. Prorate the credit by mul ti ply ing 
your total cred it by your Oregon percentage to fig ure 
the amount you can claim on your Oregon re turn.

Carryforward. Your credit cannot be more than your 
tax liability for Oregon. You can carry forward any 
unused credit for the next three years. If the credit is 
not used within three years, it is lost.

Questions?

For general tax information: www. oregon.gov/DOR

Telephone:
      Salem................................................................503-378-4988 
      Toll-free from Oregon prefix..................1-800-356-4222 

Asistencia en español:
Salem ......................................................503-945-8618 

 Gratis de prefijo de Oregon............. 1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
 Salem ......................................................503-945-8617 
 Toll-free from Oregon prefix ........... 1-800-886-7204  

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the 
help numbers for information in alternative formats.

150-101-240 (Rev. 12-05) 
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DEPENDENT CARE CREDITS FOR EMPLOYERS

Name of Taxpayer (as shown on return) Social Security Number (SSN) Tax Year

Name of Business (if different from name of taxpayer) Federal Employer Identifi cation Number (FEIN)Business Identifi cation Number (BIN)

Business is 
operated as: SOLE PRO PRIETOR SHIP PARTNERSHIP CORPORATION FIDUCIARY

1. Number of employees who work in Oregon.......................................................................... 1

2. Cost to provide these services to Oregon employees during this tax year........................................................... 2

3. Information and Referral Services credit for this year (line 2 multiplied by 50 percent)........................................ 3

Oregon allows a credit to employers who provide dependent care assistance to their employees. There are three different credits avail able
under this program. Qualifi cations and requirements for these credits are found in Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 315.204 and 315.208.

Note: These credits are available only to employers.

I. INFORMATION AND REFERRAL SERVICES CREDIT. See ORS 315.204(4)(a); Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 150-315.204-(C).

This credit is available to employers who pay for information and referral services to help their Oregon employees fi nd dependent care 
providers.

1. Do you have a certifi cate for the credit from the Child Care Division for the current year? .................................. 1

2. Cost of dependent care assistance
that you provided to your employees
during this tax year. *(Dependent                                    

Employee A            Employee B             Employee C    care provider must be in Oregon.
Computation must be made for
each employee.) ..................................................2

3. Potential credit based on cost
(line 2 multiplied by 50 percent)...........................3

4. Maximum credit per employee.............................4             $2,500                     $2,500                     $2,500
5. Allowable credit for each employee

(smaller of line 3 or line 4) ...................................5
6. Total Dependent Care Assistance Credit

(Total from line 5 for all employees. Attach schedule showing computation if more than 3 employees.) ............. 6

II. DEPENDENT CARE ASSISTANCE CREDIT. See ORS 315.204(1); OAR 150-315.204-(B).

This credit is allowed to employers who pay for the care of their employees’ dependents.

Yes No

Do not include amounts paid by employees through a salary reduction plan. If you provide dependent care assistance in your work-site
facility, use actual operating costs or the fair market value of the services provided.

150-102-032 (Rev. 12-05)

III. DEPENDENT CARE FACILITY CREDIT. See ORS 315.208; OAR 150-315.208.

If you have a qualifying facility, you may claim one-tenth of the total available credit each year over a ten year period. The qualifying fa-
cility had to be in service before January 1, 2002. The facility must be in operation under current certifi cation by the Child Care Division 
at the end of the year for which the credit is claimed.

•  Your business expense deductions for providing dependent care assistance to your employees must be reduced by the amount claimed on 
the Oregon tax return. Enter this amount on your Oregon personal income tax return or corporate excise tax return as an “Other Addition.”

•  The cost of dependent care assistance provided by you cannot be used by your employees to claim a child care credit on their personal
income tax return.

For assistance, call 503-378-4988, or write to:   Oregon Department of Revenue
                                                                                955 Center St NE
                                                                                Salem OR 97301-2555
Or, check our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

97



98



Instructions for Oregon Depreciation Schedule

2005OREGON DEPRECIATION SCHEDULE
For Individuals, Partnerships, Corporations, and Fiduciaries

• Do not attach this schedule to your Oregon return. Keep it with your records. Com plete a new schedule each year.

Name Social Security Number, Business Identifi cation Number, or Federal EIN

Description
of

property
(a)

Oregon
life or
rate
(f)

Oregon
depreciation
for this year

(g)

Federal
depreciation
for this year

(h)

Date
placed into

service
(b)

Cost
or other
basis

(c)

Oregon deprecia-
tion allowed 
or allowable

in earlier years
(d)

Method of 
fi guring
Oregon

depreciation
(e)

(g) (h)

1. Totals ............................................................................................................................................ 1
2. Difference in depreciation for Oregon. If Oregon depreciation (1g) is 
    less than federal depreciation (1h), the difference is an addition.

If Oregon depreciation (1g) is greater than federal (1h), the difference is a subtraction ........... 2

Figure your depreciation deduction for each asset. 
Oregon is tied to the additional fi rst year depreciation 
and increased IRC Section 179 expense allowed by 
federal law. Fill in the information for columns (a) 
through (h). In col umn (e), you may use abbreviations 
for the de pre ci a tion meth od you used, such as “MACRS” 
for Mod i fi ed Ac cel er at ed Cost Recovery System, or “150% 
DB” for 150 per cent declining balance. Use appropriate 
Or e gon and federal depreciation methods.

Addition or subtraction?

You have an ad di tion if your Oregon depreciation on line 
1(g) is less than your fed er al de pre ci a tion on line 1(h). You 
have a subtraction if your Or e gon de pre ci a tion on line 1(g) 
is more than your fed er al de pre ci a tion on line 1(h).

Form 40 fi lers

Enter the difference in depreciation from line 2 of your 
Oregon Depreciation Schedule on your Oregon Form 40 
as an “Other addition” or “Oth er sub trac tion.” 

Form 40N and 40P fi lers

• Federal column of Form 40N or 40P—complete an 
Or egon De pre ci a tion Sched ule for all assets both 
in side and out side of Oregon. Fill in the difference 
in de pre ci a tion from line 2 above on your Oregon 
Form 40N or 40P as an “Other addition” or “Other 
sub trac tion.”

• Oregon column of Form 40N or 40P—complete 
an oth er Oregon De pre ci a tion Schedule only for 
prop er ty you owned while an Or e gon resident, or
prop er ty used to pro duce Oregon income. Fill in the 
difference in depreciation from line 2 above on your 
Or e gon Form 40N or 40P as an “Other addition” or 
“Oth er subtraction.”

Partnerships, corporations, and fi duciaries

You may also use this form to fi gure the difference in 
depreciation you report on your Oregon: 

Continued on the back 
1

150-101-025 (Rev.  12-05) 
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2

• Partnership Return of Income, Form 65,
• Corporation Excise Tax Re turn, Form 20.
• Corporation In come Tax Return, Form 20-I. 
• S Cor po ra tion Tax Re turn, Form 20-S.
• Insurance Ex cise Tax Re turn, Form 20-INS.
• Fiduciary Income Tax Re turn, Form 41.

Assets placed into service on or after January 1, 
1981 and before January 1, 1985

Oregon depreciation did not match federal de pre ci a tion 
for assets placed into service on or after January 1, 1981 
and before January 1, 1985. If you are still de pre ci at ing 
assets placed into service during this pe ri od, please con-
 tact the department to determine your correct re port ing.

Assets placed into service on or after 
January 1, 1985 and before January 1, 1987

Oregon adopted the federal ACRS method of de pre ci a tion 
for assets placed into service during these two years. 
There is no depreciation difference for these as sets.

Assets placed into service on or after January 1, 1987

MACRS is effective for assets placed into service on or 
af ter Jan u ary 1, 1987. The method and life will be the 
same as you used on the federal return. If you elect to 
ex pense the cost of qual i fy ing assets under IRC Sec tion 
179, the elec tion and amount is also effective for Oregon 
pur pos es.

Credits that reduce only your federal basis will cause a 
difference in depreciation for Oregon. This will be the 
only cause for a difference in depreciation for cor po ra tions.

Assets fi rst placed into service outside Oregon

Did you bring an asset into Oregon after it was first 
placed into service outside Oregon? If so, use the de pre -
ci a tion meth od available for the year the asset was fi rst 
placed into service outside Oregon. 

The Oregon basis for de pre ci a tion is gen er al ly the low er 
of the fed er al un ad just ed basis or the fair mar ket val ue. 
The fed er al un ad just ed basis is the original cost before 
any ad just ments. Adjustments include: re duc tions 
for in vest ment tax cred its, depletion, am or ti za tion, or 
amounts ex pensed under IRC Section 179. The fair mar ket 
value is fi g ured when the asset is brought into Or e gon. 

Did you fi rst place assets into service outside Or e gon 
before January 1, 1981? If so, your Oregon basis will be 
the same as your fed er al basis.

For assets placed into service before 1985, the useful life 
is based on Oregon law in effect at the time the asset was 
orig i nal ly placed into service and is determined when the 
asset is brought into Oregon. For assets placed in ser vice 

after 1984, the useful life is de ter mined when the asset is 
placed into service for Or e gon tax purposes.

Example. Jeff has owned a business in Caldwell, ID since 
1984 when he placed into service a building pur chased 
for $150,000. The build ing qualifi ed for ACRS deprecia-
tion as 18-year real prop er ty. On June 1, 1998 Jeff bought 
a light truck for $12,000. The truck qual i fi ed as 5-year 
prop er ty de pre ci at ed under MACRS. On January 1, 2001 
Jeff moved to Ontario, Or e gon. Since Jeff “brought” his 
busi ness as sets into Or e gon, he had to fi gure his Oregon 
ba sis in order to de pre ci ate the assets for Or e gon.

                                                               Building    Truck

  Cost (federal unadjusted basis)...... $150,000  $12,000
  Fair Market Value (as of 1/1/01) ... $295,000    $8,000

The Oregon basis of the building is $150,000. Oregon did 
not adopt ACRS for assets fi rst placed into service be fore 
January 1, 1985, so Jeff used an allowable method from 
fed er al laws in effect as of December 31, 1980. For Or e gon 
purposes, Jeff elect ed to depreciate the build ing us ing the 
straight-line meth od over a useful life of 30 years.

The Oregon basis of the truck is $8,000. Oregon adopt ed 
MACRS for assets fi rst placed into service after De cem ber 
31, 1986, so Jeff used MACRS for Oregon and began 
de pre ci at ing the truck based on its orig i nal re cov ery 
pe ri od (5 years).

The basis of an asset subject to apportionment rules when 
brought into Oregon is fi gured as if it had al ways been 
sub ject to Or e gon tax. The original unadjusted basis is 
re duced by depreciation al low able in pre vi ous years, us-
 ing a meth od acceptable to Oregon for the year the as set 
is placed into ser vice. This adjusted basis is de pre ci at ed 
over the remaining useful life using the same al low able 
meth od.

Example. A California partnership started operation by 
pur chas ing a Los Angeles building on January 1, 1984 for 
$100,000. For federal purposes, the partnership de pre ci at ed 
the building under ACRS as 15-year prop er ty. The part-
 ner ship began doing business in Oregon on July 1, 1986. 
Oregon did not allow ACRS in 1984, so the part ner ship 
elect ed to depreciate the building using the straight-line 
method over a 20-year life. Since the part ner ship is subject 
to the ap por tion ment rules, the ba sis of the build ing for 
Or e gon is as if the build ing was de pre ci at ed for Oregon 
us ing the straight-line meth od from the date of purchase.

  Cost ................................................................ $100,000
  1984 straight-line depreciation....... (5,000)
  1985 straight-line depreciation....... (5,000)
  1986 depreciation through June 30 (2,500)  (12,500)
     Oregon basis as of July 1 .......................... $ 87,500

For Oregon purposes, the building is depreciated us ing
an Oregon basis of $87,500 and the straight-line meth od
over the remaining life. 

150-101-025 (Rev.  12-05)
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O F  R E V E N U E
D E P A R T M E N T

O R E G O N EMPLOYEE’S SUBSTITUTE WAGE AND TAX STATEMENT
(SUBSTITUTE W-2)

Please provide the information requested below. Attach a copy of the IRS wage transcripts OR other W-2s for other years same em-
 ploy er OR payroll check stubs as proof of state withholding claimed.

Business Name Taxpayer’s Name

Owner’s Name Telephone Number

Business Address Address

City City

Social Security Number

State ZIP Code State ZIP Code

Wages Received State Tax Withheld Federal Tax Withheld Period of Employment (Month, Day, Year)

From: To:
Filing Status Exemptions Job Site Location

Explanation

Under penalties for false swearing I declare that I have examined this document and to the best of my knowledge it is true, correct, and 
complete. I au thorize the Oregon Department of Revenue to use this information as a basis for action on my claim against the em ployer. 
I understand that loss of with holding credit may result from subsequent fi ndings or my failure to supply satisfactory proof or information. 

DECLARATION

Taxpayer’s Signature

150-206-005 (Rev. 5-04)

X
Date

Date Received
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Spouse’s street address (not a P.O. Box)

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

Date Received
EXEMPT INCOME SCHEDULE FOR

ENROLLED MEMBERS OF A FEDERALLY
RECOGNIZED AMERICAN INDIAN TRIBE

Your street address (not a P.O. Box) City State ZIP code

Your last name as shown on your tax return

Your full name as shown on tribal enrollment

Indian tribe of which you are an enrolled member

Your tribal headquarter’s address

Your Social Security numberFirst name and middle initial as shown on your tax return

Your tribal enrollment number

Spouse’s last name as shown on your tax return

Spouse’s tribal enrollment number

If you are fi ling a joint return and your spouse’s income meets the exempt income requirements, fi ll in the requested information below. 
Spouse’s Social Security numberSpouse’s fi rst name and middle initial as shown on your tax return

ATTACH THIS FORM TO YOUR OREGON RETURN

Employer’s Name 
or Source of 

Exempt Income

Street Address 
Where You Lived 
(Not a P.O. Box)

Street  Address Where You 
Worked if Wages, Unemploy-
ment, or Retirement Income

Amount
Qualifying as 

Exempt Income

Income Type 
(wages, interest, 

gambling winnings, etc.)

YOUR EXEMPT INCOME INFORMATION

Employer’s Name 
or Source of 

Exempt Income

Street Address 
Where You Lived 
(Not a P.O. Box)

Street  Address Where You 
Worked if Wages, Unemploy-
ment, or Retirement Income

Amount
Qualifying as 

Exempt Income

Income Type 
(wages, interest, 

gambling winnings, etc.)

SPOUSE’S EXEMPT INCOME INFORMATION (if fi ling a joint return and income meets requirements)

Note: If you claim exempt Indian income, you can only fi le Oregon Form 40, Form 40N, or Form 40P. You can’t use Form 40S (short form).

Total of all income meeting the requirements above. Enter Code 300 and the 
exempt income amount on the “Other subtractions” line of your Oregon income tax return .............................  

150-101-049 (Rev. 12-05) 

You will not have to pay Oregon income tax on income that meets all of the following requirements:
•   The income is earned by an enrolled member of a federally recognized American Indian tribe; and
•   The income comes from sources within the boundaries of federally recognized Indian country in Oregon; and
•   The enrolled member lived on federally recognized Indian country in Oregon when the income was earned.

Spouse’s tribal headquarter’s address

Indian tribe of which spouse is an enrolled member

Spouse’s full name as shown on tribal enrollment
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150-101-687 (12-05)

American Indian tax subtraction

[Subtraction code 300]

Are you an American Indian? If so, you may not 
have to pay Oregon income tax on your income. You 
may be able to subtract all or part of your income if 
all the following are true:

• You are an enrolled member of a federally recog-
nized American Indian tribe, and

• Your income is derived from sources within feder-
ally recognized Indian country in Oregon, and

• You lived in federally recognized Indian country 
in Oregon at the time the income is earned.

“Indian country” is defined as any land within a 
current federal Indian reservation boundary and 
other lands held in trust by the United States gov-
ernment for a tribe.

For enrolled members of federally recognized Amer-
ican Indian tribes who live in and have income from 
Indian country in Oregon, income exempt from Ore-
gon income tax includes:

• Wages earned for work performed in Indian coun-
try in Oregon.

• Income from business or real estate located in 
Indian country in Oregon.

• Retirement income if the contributions to the plan 
came from or were connected with services per-
formed in Indian country.

• Unemployment compensation if the benefits were 
received as a result of work performed in Indian 
country.

• Interest, dividends, and capital gains from the 
sale of stocks and other intangibles, regardless of 
where the accounts are located.

• Gambling winnings from Indian gaming centers 
(casinos).

• Indian tribal disbursements from casino earnings.

Remember: You must live in and have income 
derived from sources within Indian country in Ore-
gon and be an enrolled member of a federally recog-
nized tribe to subtract the income listed above. You 
do not have to live in and have income from the same 
Indian country. But the areas where you live and 
have income from must both be “Indian country” to 
qualify for the subtraction.

To claim the subtraction, you must report your total 
income on both the federal and Oregon tax returns. 

You must file a completed copy of the Exempt Income 
Schedule for Enrolled Members of a Federally Recognized 
American Indian Tribe, with your Oregon return. Go 
to our Web site to download the schedule or call us. 
You must include the following information on the 
schedule:

• The street address of the place you worked, and
• The street address of the place you lived, and
• The tribe you are enrolled with and your member-

ship number.

You must use the street address of your residence on 
the schedule so we can verify that you live in Indian 
country. However, you may use your post office box 
address on your tax return.

If you meet all of the requirements, you may claim 
“exempt” on your Form W-4 for Oregon purposes 
only.

Only income derived from sources within Indian 
country in Oregon, by an enrolled tribal member 
while living in Indian country in Oregon, is eligible 
for the American Indian subtraction. Each member of a 
household with income must meet these qualifications 
in order to claim the subtraction of his or her income.

If you are an enrolled member of a federally recognized 
tribe and a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, stationed 
in Oregon, you may be entitled to an additional sub-
traction. For more information call the department.

Taxpayer assistance
General tax information ....... www.oregon.gov/DOR
 Salem ..................................................... 503-378-4988 
 Toll-free from an Oregon prefix .....1-800-356-4222 

Asistencia en español:
 Salem ......................................................503-945-8618
 Gratis de prefijo de Oregon.............1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
 Salem ......................................................503-945-8617
 Toll-free from an Oregon prefix ..... 1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the 
help numbers for information in alternative formats.

December 2005 www.oregon.gov/DOR
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OREGON INDIVIDUAL 
INCOME TAX DECLARATION

FOR ELECTRONIC FILING
2005

1  NET REFUND (Form 40, line 62; Form 40S, line 32; Form 40N, line 80; or Form 40P, line 80) .......................................1
2  Amount you owe (Form 40, line 52; Form 40S, line 24; Form 40N, line 70; or Form 40P, line 70) ...................................2

Part I — Tax Return Information (whole dollars only)

(             )

Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have compared the information contained on my re turn with the information I have pro vided to 
my electronic return originator (ERO) or on-line service provider (OLSP) and that the amounts described in Part I above agree with the amounts 
shown on the corresponding lines of my 2005 Oregon income tax return. To the best of my knowl edge and belief, my return is true, correct, and 
complete. I consent that my re turn, including this declaration and ac companying schedules and statements, be forwarded upon request to the 
Oregon Department of Revenue by my ERO or OLSP. If the pro cessing of my return or refund is delayed, I authorize the department to disclose to 
my preparer the reason(s) for the delay, or when the re fund was sent. 

SIGN
HERE

First name and initial

State

Social Security No. (SSN)

Spouse’s SSN, if joint return

Telephone number

Spouse’s fi rst name and initial if joint return

Current mailing address

Spouse’s last name if joint return

Last name

City ZIP code

3  Routing number

4  Account number

5  Type of account  Checking or   Savings

Caution:
Have you verifi ed your bank ing in formation? 
Entering incorrect in formation will cause a 
delay in your re fund.

6a   I consent that my refund be directly deposited as designated in the electronic portion of my 2005 Oregon income tax return (Form 40, 
line 62; Form 40S, line 32; Form 40N, line 80; or Form 40P, line 80). If I have fi led a joint return, this is an irrevocable appointment of the 
other spouse as an agent to receive the refund.

6b   I do not want direct deposit of my refund  or  I am not receiving a refund.

Part II — Direct Deposit of Refund (see instructions)

Part III — Declaration of Taxpayer(s)

Spouse’s signature (if fi ling jointly, BOTH must sign)                         DateYour signature                      Date
X

I declare that I have reviewed the above taxpayer’s return and that the entries on this form are complete and correct to the best of my knowledge. If 
I am only a collector, I am not responsible for reviewing the return and only declare that this form accurately refl ects data on the return. The taxpayer 
will have signed this form before I submit the return. I will give the taxpayer a copy of all forms and information to be fi led with Oregon, and have fol-
lowed all other requirements described in Oregon Electronic Filing Handbook (Tax Year 2005), publication 150-101-496. If I am also the paid preparer, 
under penalties of perjury I declare that I have examined the above taxpayer’s return and accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best 
of my knowledge and belief, they are true, correct, and complete. This declaration is based on all information of which I have any knowledge.

Part IV — Declaration of Electronic Return Originator (ERO) or Paid Preparer

DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM TO THE
OREGON DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Form

EF

PLEASE DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM OR YOUR PAPER RETURN TO THE OREGON DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined the above taxpayer’s return and accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best 
of my knowledge and belief, they are true, correct, and complete. This declaration is based on all information of which I have any knowledge.

Check if self-employed
Check if paid preparer

Electronic
Return

Originator’s
Use Only

ERO’s signature ERO’s license numberDate

ERO’s address

Firm's name (or yours if self-employed)
X

Telephone number

ZIP codeStateCity

150-101-339 (Rev. 12-05)

Paid
Preparer’s
Use Only

Preparer’s signature Certifi cate/license numberDate

Preparer’s address

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)
X

Check if self-employed

Telephone number

ZIP codeStateCity
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR SIGNING YOUR E-FILE RETURN

Your e-fi le signature information

If you signed your federal return using the federal 
PIN, the department recognizes that signature as 
signing the Oregon return as well. The use of the 
PIN authorizes the transmission of the federal and 
state returns.

If you, your tax preparer, and/or the electronic 
re turn originator (ERO) completed and signed a 
fed er al Form 8453 for your federal signature, you 
must fi ll out Form EF for Oregon. You (or your tax 
preparer) must keep the original Form EF with your 
tax return and sup port ing documentation for three 
years from the return’s due date or the date the return 
is fi led, whichever is later.

Your signature:

• Authorizes the ERO to transmit your Oregon 
re turn.

• Confi rms your tax return information on Oregon 
Forms 40, 40S, 40N, or 40P.

• Declares that the paid tax preparer has reviewed 
your return and believes, to the best of his or her 
knowl edge, that all the information on the return 
is correct.

• Gives your consent to direct deposit any refund of 
Oregon taxes to the accounts you specifi ed on the 
re turn.

Whichever way you sign your return, it will au tho rize 
the Oregon Department of Revenue to contact your 
tax preparer or ERO to resolve questions we may 
have while processing your return. It also au tho riz es 
us to tell the tax preparer or ERO the reason for any 
pro cess ing delay.

Do not mail Form EF to the Oregon Department of 
Rev e nue.  

Form EF instructions

Name, Address, and Social Security Number 
(SSN). Be sure to use your current name, address 
and SSN. Print or type your in for ma tion in the space 
pro vid ed. 

PO Box. If you receive your mail at a post offi ce box 
or personal mail box (PMB), enter the PO Box or PMB 
num ber in stead of your address. The address must 
match the ad dress shown on the elec tron i cal ly fi led 
return.

SSN. Be sure to enter your SSN in the space provided. 
If a joint return, list the SSNs in the same order as 
the fi rst names.

Part I—Tax return information

Lines 1–2. Complete these linesusing whole num bers 
only. Fill in your refund or the amount you owe from 
the cor re spond ing lines of the electronic return.

Part II—Direct deposit 

Direct deposit is voluntary and applies only to the 
current return. If you want your refund directly 
de pos it ed into your bank account or another fi nancial 
in sti tu tion, com plete Part II before transmitting 
your return. You can obtain the rout ing number and 
account num ber from a check, a state ment, or your 
fi nancial in sti tu tion.

Line 3. The routing number must be nine digits and 
begin with the numbers 01 through 12, 21 through 
32, or 61 through 72. 

Line 4. The account number can be up to 17 char ac ters 
(both numbers and letters). Include hyphens, but do 
not include spaces or spe cial symbols. If fewer than 
17 characters, enter the num bers from left to right 
and leave the unused boxes blank. 

Part III—Declaration of taxpayer(s)

Line 6. Check one of the boxes for line 6a or 6b, or use 
your federal personal identifi cation number (PIN).

Part IV—Declaration of electronic return 
originator (ERO) or paid preparer

The ERO or paid preparer is required to sign Form 
EF and also must keep it, along with any required 
at tach ments, for three years from the due date or the 
date the return is fi led, whichever is later.

What to do if you make changes to Form EF

If the ERO makes changes to your return after you 
have signed Form EF but before it is transmitted, you 
must com plete and sign a corrected Form EF if:

• The Oregon taxable income changes by more than 
$50, or

• The net tax, state refund, or amount owed changes 
by more than $14.

Initial any minor changes made to Form EF. Do not 
mail the cor rect ed Form EF and at tach ments unless 
the de part ment asks for them.

150-101-339 (Rev. 12-05) 
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FORM

FIA-40 2005OREGON FARM
INCOME AVERAGING

Name(s) as shown on Oregon Form 40

Current mailing address

City

Date received
For Office Use Only

Telephone number

(            )
State ZIP code

Social Security No. (SSN)

—                —

Spouse’s SSN, if joint return

—                —

 1  Enter the taxable income from your 2005 Oregon Form 40, line 28..................................................................   1
 2  Enter your elected farm income. Do not enter more than the amount on line 1..............................................   2 
 3  Subtract line 2 from line 1 ..................................................................................................................................   3
 4  Figure the tax on the amount on line 3 using the 2005 Tax Tables or Tax Rate Charts
     from Form 40 instructions, whichever applies, and enter here ..........................................................................   4 
2002 Taxable Income
 5  If you used FIA to figure your tax for 2002, 2003, or 2004, see instructions. 
     Otherwise, enter the taxable income from your 2002 Form 40, line 28; 
     or Form 40S, line 15. If -0- or less, see in structions .......................................................   5
 6  Divide the amount on line 2 by 3.0 and enter here ........................................................   6
 7  Add line 5 and 6. If -0- or less, enter -0- .........................................................................   7
 8  Figure the tax on the amount on line 7 using the 2002 Tax Tables or Tax Rate
     Charts, whichever applies (or fill in recomputed tax from Schedule Z, see instructions)....................................  8
2003 Taxable Income
 9  If you used FIA to figure your tax for 2003 or 2004, see instructions. 
     Otherwise, enter the taxable income from your 2003 Form 40, line 28; 
     or Form 40S, line 12. If –0- or less, see instructions ......................................................   9
10 Enter the amount from line 6 .......................................................................................... 10
11 Add lines 9 and 10. If -0- or less, enter -0- .....................................................................  11
12 Figure the tax on the amount on line 11 using the 2003 Tax Tables or Tax Rate
     Charts, whichever applies (or fill in recomputed tax from Schedule Z, see instructions).................................... 12
2004 Taxable Income
13 If you used FIA to figure your tax for 2004, see instructions. 
     Otherwise, enter the taxable income from your 2004 Form 40, line 28; 
     or Form 40S, line 12. If -0- or less, see in structions ....................................................... 13 
14 Enter the amount from line 6 .......................................................................................... 14
15 Add lines 13 and 14. If -0- or less, enter -0- ................................................................... 15
16 Figure the tax on the amount on line 15 using the 2004 Tax Tables or Tax Rate
     Charts, whichever applies (or fill in recomputed tax from Schedule Z, see instructions).................................... 16
17 Add lines 4, 8, 12, and 16 ................................................................................................................................... 17
Computation of 2005 Tax
18 2002 tax. If you used FIA to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from your  
     2004 FIA-40, line 12; FIA-40N, line 12; or FIA-40P, line 11. If you did not use FIA in 
     2004 but did in 2003, enter the amount from 2003 FIA-40, line 16; FIA-40N, line 13;  
     or FIA-40P, line 12. If you did not use FIA in 2004 or 2003 but did in 2002, enter the 
     amount from 2002 FIA-40, line 4; FIA-40N, line 10; or FIA-40P, line 8. Otherwise, 
     enter the tax from your 2002 Form 40, line 30 or 31; Form 40S, line 16; 
     Form 40N, line 52 or 53; or Form 40P, line 51 or 52....................................................... 18
19 2003 tax. If you used FIA to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from your  
     2004 FIA-40, line 16; FIA-40N, line 13; or FIA-40P, line 12. If you did not use FIA in 
     2004 but did in 2003, enter the amount from 2003 FIA-40, line 4; FIA-40N, line 9; or 
     FIA-40P, line 8. Otherwise, enter the tax from your 2003 Form 40, line 30 or 31; 
     Form 40S, line 13; Form 40N or Form 40P, lines 51 or 52 ............................................ 19
20 2004 tax. If you used FIA to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from your 2004 
     FIA-40, line 4; FIA-40N, line 9; or FIA-40P, line 8. Otherwise, enter the tax from your 
     2004 Form 40, line 29 or 30; Form 40S, line 13; Form 40N or 40P, lines 51 or 52 ......... 20
21 Add lines 18, 19, and 20 ..................................................................................................................................... 21
22 Line 17 minus line 21. Enter the result here and on Form 40, line 29 ................................................................ 22 

—Attach your completed Form FIA-40 to your Oregon Form 40—
150-101-160 (Rev. 12-05)
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR 2005 FORM FIA-40 
Farm Income Averaging

You may elect to figure your 2005 tax by averaging, over the 
previous three years (base years), all or part of your 2005 
tax able farm income. 

You will need copies of your original or amended Oregon 
income tax returns for tax years 2002, 2003, and 2004. You 
can obtain copies of prior years’ returns for a fee from the 
Oregon De part ment of Revenue. See Tax pay er As sis tance 
on page 6 for numbers to call.

If you filed an Oregon part-year or nonresident return in any 
of the three base years, you will need Schedule Z, Com pu -
ta tion of Tax, to complete Form FIA-40. If any of the three 
base years are part-year or non res i dent re turns, ignore the 
computation of tax for the applicable year on Form FIA-40 
and complete Schedule Z. Fill in the com put ed tax from 
Sched ule Z on lines 8, 12, or 16, whichever ap plies.

Elected farm income
Your elected farm income is the amount of your taxable 
income from farming that you elect to include on Form FIA-
40, line 2. This is the amount on federal Schedule J, line 2, if 
you elect to use farm income averaging for fed er al. Do not 
enter more than the amount on line 1.

To figure elected farm income, first fig ure your taxable 
income from farming. Taxable income from farm ing in cludes
all income, gains, losses, and deductions at trib ut able to any 
farming business. Gains and losses from the sale or other dis-
 po si tion of property (other than land) must be from prop er ty 
regularly used for a sub stan tial pe ri od of time in your farm-
 ing business. However, it does not in clude gain from the sale 
or oth er dis po si tion of land. You do not have to in clude all of 
your tax able in come from farm ing on Form FIA-40, line 2. 

Your elected farm income cannot exceed your Oregon tax-
 able income. Also, the portion of your elected farm in come 
treat ed as a net capital gain cannot exceed the small er of 
your total net capital gain or your net capital gain at trib -
ut able to your farming business. If your elect ed farm income 
in cludes net capital gain, you must al lo cate an equal por tion 
of the net cap i tal gain to each of the base years. 

If, for any base year, you had a capital loss that re sult ed in 
a capital loss carryover to the next tax year, do not re duce 
the elected farm income al lo cat ed to that base year by any 
part of the carryover.

Farming business
A farming business is the trade or business of cul ti vat ing 
land or raising or harvesting any agricultural or hor ti cul -
tur al commodity. This includes:

• Operating a nursery or sod farm.
• Raising or harvesting of trees bearing fruits, nuts, or oth er 

crops.
• Raising ornamental trees (but not evergreen trees that are 

more than 6 years old when severed from the roots).

• Raising, shearing, feeding, caring for, training, and man-
 ag ing animals.

• Leasing land to a tenant engaged in a farming busi ness, 
but only if the lease payments are based on a share of the 
tenant’s pro duc tion (not a fixed amount).

• Wages and other compensation you received as a share-
 hold er in an S corporation engaged in a farming busi ness.

A farming business does not include:

• Contract harvesting of an agricultural or hor ti cul tur al 
com mod i ty grown or raised by someone else, or

• Merely buying or reselling plants or animals grown or 
raised by someone else.

Line instructions

Line 5, 2002 taxable income. If you used FIA-40 to figure your 
tax for 2004, enter  on line 5 the amount from your 2004 FIA-
40, line 11. If you used Schedule Z to figure your tax for 2004 
on FIA-40, FIA-40N, or FIA-40P, enter on line 5 the amount 
from your 2004 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2002. 
If you used Computation A, use the amount on line 9. If you 
used Computation B, use the amount on line 6. If you used 
Computation C, use the amount on line 3.

If you used FIA-40 to figure your tax for 2003 but not 2004, 
enter on line 5 the amount from your 2003 FIA-40, line 15. If 
you used Sched ule Z to figure your tax for 2003 on FIA-40, 
FIA-40N, or FIA-40P, enter on line 5 the amount from your 
2003 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2002. If you used 
Com pu ta tion A, use the amount on line 9. If you used Com-
putation B, use the amount on line 6. If you used Computa-
tion C, use the amount on line 3. 

If you used FIA-40 to fi gure your tax for 2002 but did not 
for 2003 or 2004, enter on line 5 the amount from your 2002 
FIA-40, line 13. If you used FIA-40N, enter the amount from 
your 2002 FIA-40N, line 9. If you used Form FIA-40P, enter 
the amount from your 2002 FIA-40P, line 6.

If your 2002 tax able in come was -0- or less, use the worksheet 
be low to fig ure the amount to enter on Form FIA-40, line 5.

NOL means net operating loss and applies to the year of the 
actual loss. NOLD means net operating loss deduction and 
applies to the year the NOL is carried to.

  2002 Taxable Income Worksheet

  1. Figure the taxable income from 
your 2002 tax return without 
limiting it to -0-. Include any
NOLD carryovers or carrybacks
if you did not have a NOL in
2002. Do not include any NOLD
carryover or carryback from
other years if you had a NOL
in 2002. Enter the result here ...............  $ ___________

O F  R E V E N U E
D E P A R T M E N T

O R E G O N

3
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portion (if any) of the NOLD
carryovers and carrybacks to
2003 that were not used in 2003 
 and were carried to tax years  
after 2003 as a positive
amount here ...........................................  $ ___________

  9. Add lines 7 and 8 ..................................  $ ___________ 
10. Add line 6 and line 9. Enter 

the result here and on 
Form FIA-40, line 9 ...............................  $ ___________

Line 13, 2004 taxable income. If you used FIA-40 to figure 
your tax for 2004, en ter on line 13 the amount from your 
2004 FIA-40, line 3. If you used FIA-40N enter the amount 
from your 2004 FIA-40N, line 8. If you used FIA-40P enter 
the amount from your 2004 FIA-40P, line 6. 

If your 2004 taxable income was -0- or less, use the work-
sheet below to figure the amount to enter on Form FIA-40, 
line 13.

  2004 Taxable Income Worksheet

11. Figure the taxable income from 
your 2004 tax return without
limiting it to -0-. Include any
NOLD carryovers or carrybacks
if you did not have a NOL in 2004.
Do not include any NOLD carry-
over or carryback from other   
years if you had a NOL in 2004.   
Enter the result here..............................  $ ___________

12. If there is a loss on your 2004 
federal Schedule D, line 21, 
add that loss (as a positive 
amount) and your 2004 capital 
loss carryover to tax year 2005.
Subtract from that sum the 
amount of the loss on your 
2004 federal Schedule D, 
line 17a. Enter the result here ..............  $ ___________

13. If you had an NOL for 2004, 
enter it as a positive amount 
here. Otherwise, enter the portion 
(if any) of the NOLD carryovers 
and carrybacks to 2004 that were 
not used in 2004 and were carried 
to tax years after 2004 as a positive 
amount here ...........................................  $ ___________

14. Add lines 12 and 13 ..............................  $ ___________
15. Add line 11 and line 14. 

Enter the result here and on 
Form FIA-40, line 13 .............................  $ ___________

Example 1. Kevin Crooper did not income average for 
tax year 2002 or 2003 but he did income average for tax 
year 2004 and he wants to income average for tax year 
2005. For tax years 2002, 2003, and 2004 Kevin filed joint 
returns. His filing status for tax year 2005 is also mar-
ried filing jointly. For tax year 2002, Kevin’s taxable 

  2. If there is a loss on your 2002 
federal Schedule D, line 18, add 
that loss (as a positive amount)
and your 2002 capital loss carry-
over to 2003. Subtract from that 
sum the amount of the loss on your 
2002 federal Schedule D, line 17. 
Enter the result here..............................  $ ___________

  3. If you had an NOL for 2002, 
enter it as a positive amount here. 
Otherwise, enter the portion 
(if any) of the  NOLD carryovers 
and carrybacks to 2002 that were 
not used in 2002 and were carried 
to tax years after 2002 as a 
positive amount here ............................  $ ___________

  4. Add lines 2 and 3 ..................................  $ ___________
  5. Add line 1 and line 4. 

Enter the result here, and 
on Form FIA-40, line 5..........................  $ ___________

Line 9, 2003 taxable income. If you used FIA-40 to figure 
your tax for 2004, enter on line 9 the amount from your 2004 
FIA-40, line 15.  If you used Sched ule Z to figure your tax 
for 2004 on FIA-40, FIA-40N, or FIA-40P, enter on line 9 the 
amount from your 2004 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax 
Year 2003. If you used Com pu ta tion A, use the amount on 
line 9. If you used Computation B, use the amount on line 6. 
If you used Com pu ta tion C, use the amount on line 3. 

If you used FIA-40 to fi gure your tax for 2003 but not for 
2004, enter on line 9 the amount from your 2003 FIA-40, line 
3. If you used FIA-40N enter the amount from your 2003 
FIA-40N, line 8. If you used FIA-40P enter the amount from 
your 2003 FIA-40P, line 6.

If your 2003 tax able in come was -0- or less, use the worksheet 
be low to fig ure the amount to enter on Form FIA-40, line 9.

  2003 Taxable Income Worksheet
  6. Figure the taxable income from 

your 2003 tax return without
limiting it to -0-. Include any
NOLD carryovers or carrybacks
if you did not have a NOL in 2003.
Do not include any NOLD carry-
over or carryback from other 
years if you had a NOL in 2003. 
Enter the result here..............................  $ ___________

  7. If there is a loss on your 2003 
federal Schedule D, line 18, add 
that loss (as a positive amount)
and your 2003 capital loss carry-
over to 2004. Subtract from that 
sum the amount of the loss on 
your 2003 federal Schedule D, 
line 17a. Enter the result here ..............  $ ___________

  8. If you had an NOL for 2003, 
enter it as a positive amount
here. Otherwise, enter the  

4
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income from Form 40, line 28 is $1,112. For tax year 2003, 
Kevin’s taxable income from Form 40, line 28 is $14,250. 
For tax year 2004, Kevin’s taxable income from Form 
40, line 28 is $12,777. For tax year 2005, Kevin’s taxable 
income from Form 40, line 28 is $27,900 and his elected 
farm income is $24,000. For the tax years above, he has 
no net operating losses, no net operating carryforwards or 
carrybacks and no capital losses.

Kevin income averaged for tax year 2004. Kevin has $12,777 
of taxable income and elected to farm income average 
$9,000, leaving Oregon taxable income of $3,777. For 2002, 
Kevin’s recomputed taxable income after adding one-third 
of elected farm income from his 2004 Form FIA-40, line 11 
is $4,112. For 2003, Kevin’s recomputed taxable income after 
adding one-third of his elected farm income from his 2004 
Form FIA-40, line 15 is $17,250. For 2004, Kevin’s recom-
puted tax after removing his elected farm income is $188 
from 2004 Form FIA-40, line 4. 

For tax year 2005, Kevin’s Oregon taxable income is $27,900. 
On line 2 Kevin enters his elected farm income of $24,000. 
He subtracts line 2 from line 1 and enters $3,900 on line 3. 
This is his remaining Oregon taxable income. He calculates 
his 2005 Oregon tax using the tax tables under married filing 
joint status and enters $198 on line 4.

For 2002, Kevin enters $4,112 from line 11, 2004 Form FIA-
40 on line 5 of the 2005 Form FIA-40. He divides his elected 
farm income of $24,000 by 3 and enters $8,000 on line 6 of 
the 2005 Form FIA-40. He adds lines 5 and 6 and enters 
$12,112 on line 7. This is his recomputed 2002 Oregon tax-
able income. He calculates his 2002 Oregon tax using the 
tax table under married filing joint status and enters $751 
on line 8.

For 2003, Kevin enters $17,250 from line 15, 2004 Form FIA-
40 on line 9 of the 2005 Form FIA-40. He enters $8,000 from 
line 6 (2005 Form FIA-40) on line 10 of the 2005 Form FIA-40. 
He adds lines 9 and 10 and enters $25,250 on line 11. This is 
his recomputed 2003 Oregon taxable income. He calculates 
his 2003 Oregon tax using the tax tables under married filing 
joint status and enters $1,917 on line 12.

For 2004, Kevin enters $3,777 from line 3, 2004 Form FIA-40 
on line 13 of the 2005 Form FIA-40. He enters $8,000 from 
line 6 (2005 Form FIA-40) on line 14 of the 2005 Form FIA-40. 
He adds lines 13 and 14 and enters $11,777 on line 15. This is 
his recomputed 2004 Oregon taxable income. He calculates 
his 2004 Oregon tax using the tax tables under married filing 
joint status and enters $719 on line 16.

On his 2005 Form FIA-40, he adds lines 4, 8, 12, and 16 and 
enters $3,585 on line 17. He enters his recomputed 2002 tax 
of $208 from 2004 Form FIA-40, line 12 on line 18 of the 2005 
Form FIA-40. He enters his recomputed 2003 tax of $1,197 
from 2004 Form FIA-40, line 16 on line 19 of the 2004 Form 
FIA-40. He enters his recomputed 2004 tax of $188 from 2004 
Form FIA-40, line 4 on line 20 of the 2005 Form FIA-40. He 
adds lines 18, 19, and 20 and enters $1,593 on line 21. This 
is the recomputed tax he paid for the 2002, 2003, and 2004 
tax years. 

He subtracts the recomputed tax of $1,593 on line 21 from 
the recomputed tax of $3,585 on line 17 and enters the result 
of $1,992 on line 22. This is Kevin’s 2005 tax liability from 
farm income averaging. He enters this figure on Form 40, 
line 29.

Example 2. John Farmington did not use farm income av-
 er ag ing for 2002, 2003, or 2004. For tax year 2005, John has 
elect ed farm income on Form FIA-40, line 2 of $18,000. His 
Or e gon tax able income shown on his 2002 Form 40, line 28, 
is $6,150. 

John had a net operating loss (NOL) for tax year 2003 of 
$22,950, which he elected to carryback five years. Of the 
$22,950 loss, $9,000 was car ried back to tax year 2002. To 
com plete line 1 of the 2002 worksheet, John com bines the 
$9,000 net op er at ing loss de duc tion (NOLD) with his 2002 
Or e gon tax able in come of $6,150 from Form 40, line 28. The 
result, a neg a tive $2,850, is en tered on line 1 of the 2002 
worksheet.

When John filed his 2002 tax return, he had a $3,000 net cap-
 i tal loss deduction on federal Schedule D, line 18, a $7,000 
loss on federal Schedule D, line 17, and a $4,000 cap i tal loss 
carryover to 2003. However, when John car ried back the 
2003 NOL to 2002, he refigured his 2002 capital loss car-
ryover to tax year 2003 as $7,000. To cal cu late line 2 of the 
2002 worksheet, John adds the $3,000 from fed er al Sched ule 
D, line 18, and the $7,000 carryover. He sub tracts from the 
re sult the $7,000 loss on his federal Sched ule D, line 17, and 
en ters $3,000 on line 2 of the 2002 worksheet.

John had $6,150 of Oregon taxable income in 2002 that 
reduced the 2003 NOL carryback. The $3,000 net capital loss 
de duc tion also reduced the amount of the 2003 NOL carry-
back. Since these two figures together total $9,150, there is 
no NOLD left to carry over to tax year 2004. There fore, John 
enters -0- on line 3. He adds line 2 and line 3 and enters the 
result, $3,000, on line 4 of the worksheet. John adds line 1, 
a negative $2,850, plus line 4, a positive $3,000, and enters 
the result, a pos i tive $150, on line 5 of the worksheet and 
on 2005 Form FIA-40, line 5. This fig ure rep re sents John’s 
re com put ed Or e gon taxable in come for tax year 2002. 

For tax year 2003, John’s taxable income from Form 40, line 
28 is negative $30,250, which he enters on line 6 of the 2003 
worksheet.

John had a $3,000 net capital loss deduction on Sched ule D, 
line 18 and a $7,000 loss on Schedule D, line 17a, the carry-
over from 2002 to 2003. John adds the $3,000 from Sched ule 
D, line 18, and the $7,000 carryover. He sub tracts from the 
re sult the $7,000 loss on Schedule D, line 17a, and en ters 
$3,000 on line 7 of the worksheet. John enters $22,950 on line 
8 of the worksheet, his 2003 NOL.

John enters $25,950 ($22,950 and $3,000) on line 9 of the 
worksheet. He adds line 6 and line 9 and en ters the result, 
a negative $4,300, on line 10 of the worksheet and on 2005 
Form FIA-40, line 9. This fig ure rep re sents John’s re com -
put ed Or e gon tax able in come for tax year 2003. 

For tax year 2004, John’s taxable income from Form 40, 
line 28 is negative $1,750. This amount includes an NOLD 

5
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Internet

www.oregon.gov/DOR 
• Download forms and publications
• Get up-to-date tax information
• E-mail: questions.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure and con-
fidentiality cannot be ensured. General tax 
and policy questions only.

Correspondence

Write to: Oregon Department of Revenue, 955 
Cen ter St NE, Sa lem OR 97301-2555. Include 
your So cial Se cu ri ty num ber and a day time 
tele phone num ber for fast er service.

Field offices

Get forms and assistance at these offices. Don’t send your 
re turn to these ad dress es.

Bend 951 SW Simpson Avenue, Suite 100
Eugene 1600 Valley River Drive, Suite 310
Gresham 1550 NW Eastman Parkway, Suite 220
Medford 24 W 6th Street 
Newport 119 NE 4th Street, Suite 4
North Bend 3030 Broadway
Pendleton 700 SE Emigrant, Suite 310
Portland 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 505
Salem Revenue Building, 955 Center Street NE, Room 135  
Salem 4275 Commercial Street SE, Suite 180
Tualatin 6405 SW Rosewood Street, Suite A

 Telephone

Salem ................................................................ 503-378-4988

Toll-free from Oregon prefix........................1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to:
• Check on the status of your 2005 

personal income tax refund 
(beginning February 1).

• Order tax forms.
• Hear recorded tax information.
For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers above:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday.................. 7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday ............................................................10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Closed on holidays.
April 3–April 17, Monday–Friday...................... 7:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15................................................... 9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary.

Asistencia en español:
    Salem................................................................ 503-945-8618
    Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon........................1-800-356-4222
TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
    Salem................................................................ 503-945-8617
    Toll-free from Oregon prefi x......................1-800-886-7204 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats

Taxpayer assistance

 To get forms

Income tax booklets are available at many post of fic es, 
banks, and libraries. For booklets and other forms and
publications, you can also access our Web site, order by 
telephone, or write to: Forms, Or e gon Department of 
Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990. 

6

of $2,300 which was the portion of the 2003 NOL that was 
re main ing to be carried forward from tax year 2002. John 
does not have an NOL for tax year 2004. John enters a nega-
tive $1,750 on line 11 of the 2004 worksheet. 

John had a $3,000 net capital loss deduction on Sched ule 
D, line 21, a $7,000 loss on Schedule D, line 16, and a $5,000 
cap i tal loss carryover to 2004 (his 2003 capital loss carryover 
to 2004 was $5,000, not $4,000, because his fed er al tax able 
income before exemptions was a neg a tive $1,000). John 
adds the $3,000 from Schedule D, line 21, and the $5,000 
carryover. He reduces the result by the $7,000 loss on his 
Schedule D, line 16, and enters $1,000 on line 12 of the 2004 
worksheet.

John enters -0- on line 13 of the worksheet because he 
does not have an NOL for 2004 and did not have any 
remaining NOLD to carryforward. John’s $2,300 NOLD 
for 2004 was re duced to -0- because it did not exceed his 
federal AGI as modified for the capital loss deduction, 
the net op er at ing loss, and the standard or recomputed 
item ized de duc tions. John adds lines 12 and 13 and enters 
$1,000 on line 14 of the worksheet. John adds lines 11 and 
14 and enters the result, a negative $750, on line 15 of the 
worksheet and on 2005 Form FIA-40, line 13. This fig ure 
rep re sents John’s re com put ed Or e gon tax able in come for 
tax year 2004. 
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FORM

FIA-40N 2005OREGON FARM
INCOME AVERAGING

Name(s) as shown on Oregon Form 40N

Current mailing address

City

Date received
For Office Use Only

Telephone number

(            )
State ZIP code

Social Security No. (SSN)

—                —

Spouse’s SSN, if joint return

—                —

 —Attach your completed Form FIA-40N to your Oregon Form 40N—
150-101-161 (Rev. 12-05) 

Computation of 2005 Taxable Income
  1 Enter income after subtractions from your 2005 Oregon Form 40N, line 39 ..............1a                                    1b
  2 Enter your elected farm income from Oregon sources 
     from federal Schedule J, line 2; or from Oregon Form 40N, line 19b .........................2a                                    2b 
  3 Subtract line 2 from line 1 in both the federal and Oregon columns...........................3a                                    3b
  4 Recomputed Oregon percentage. Divide line 3b by line 3a 
     (not more than 100%)......................................................................................................... 4  ___ ___ ___ . ___%
  5 Multiply the allowable deductions and modifications from line 4 of the 

worksheet for your 2005 Oregon Form 40N, (page 26) by the recomputed 
Oregon percentage shown above.................................................................................5

  6 Enter your deductions and modifications not multiplied by the Oregon 
     percentage from 2005 Form 40N, line 48 .....................................................................6
  7 Add lines 5 and 6 ................................................................................................................................................  7
  8 Line 3b minus line 7. Enter the result here ........................................................................................................  8
  9 Figure the tax on line 8 using the 2005 Tax Rate Charts....................................................................................  9
10 Divide line 2b by 3.0 and enter here ................................................................................................................... 10
Prior Years’ Tax
11 Enter the amount from your 2005 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2002,
     Computation A, line 10; Computation B, line 8; or Computation C, line 4; 
     whichever applies ............................................................................................................................................... 11
12 Enter the amount from your 2005 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2003,
     Computation A, line 10; Computation B, line 8; or Computation C, line 4; 
     whichever applies ............................................................................................................................................... 12
13 Enter the amount from your 2005 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2004,
     Computation A, line 10; Computation B, line 8; or Computation C, line 4; 
     whichever applies ............................................................................................................................................... 13
14 Add lines 9, 11, 12, and 13 ................................................................................................................................. 14
Computation of 2005 Tax
15 2002 Tax. If you used FIA to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from your 2004 

Form FIA-40, line 12; Form FIA-40N, line 12; or Form FIA-40P, line 11. If you did not 
use FIA in 2004 but did for 2003, enter the amount from 2003 Form FIA-40, line 16; 
Form FIA-40N, line 13; or Form FIA-40P, line 12. If you did not use FIA in 2004 or 2003 
but did in 2002, enter the amount from 2002 FIA-40, line 4; FIA-40N, line 10; or 
FIA-40P, line 8. Otherwise, enter the tax from your 2002 Form 40, line 30 or 31; Form 
40S, line 16; Form 40N, line 52 or 53; or Form 40P, line 51 or 52...................................................................... 15

16 2003 tax. If you used FIA to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from your 2004 
Form FIA-40, line 16; Form FIA-40N, line 13; or Form FIA-40P, line 12. If you did not 
use FIA in 2004 but did for 2003, enter the amount from 2003 Form FIA-40, line 4; 
Form FIA-40N, line 9; or Form FIA-40P, line 8. Otherwise, enter the tax from your 2003 
Form 40, line 30 or 31; Form 40S, line 13; or Form 40N or Form 40P, line 51 or 52.......................................... 16

17 2004 tax. If you used FIA to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from your 2004 
Form FIA-40, line 4; Form FIA-40N, line 9; or Form FIA-40P, line 8. Otherwise, enter 
the tax from your 2004 Form 40, line 29 or 30; Form 40S, line 13; or Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 51 or 52....................................................................................................................................... 17

18 Add lines 15, 16, and 17 ..................................................................................................................................... 18
19 Line 14 minus line 18. Enter the result here and on Form 40N, line 51.............................................................. 19

Federal column Oregon column
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Computation of 2005 Taxable Income
  1 Enter income after subtractions from your 2005 Oregon Form 40P, line 39...............1a                                    1b
  2 Enter your elected farm income from Oregon sources 
     from federal Schedule J, line 2; or from Oregon Form 40P, line 19b..........................2a                                    2b 
  3 Subtract line 2 from line 1 in both the federal and Oregon columns...........................3a                                    3b
  4 Recomputed Oregon percentage. Divide line 3b by line 3a 
     (not more than 100%)......................................................................................................... 4  ___ ___ ___ . ___%
  5 Enter allowable deductions and modifications from your 
     2005 Form 40P, line 48.................................................................................................5
  6 Line 3a minus line 5. Enter the result here ........................................................................................................... 6 
  7 Figure the tax on line 6 using the 2005 Tax Rate Charts...................................................................................... 7
  8 Multiply line 7 by the recomputed Oregon percentage on line 4........................................................................... 8
  9 Divide line 2b by 3.0 and enter here ..................................................................................................................... 9
Prior Years’ Tax
10 Enter the amount from your 2005 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2002,
     Computation A, line 10; Computation B, line 8; or Computation C, line 4; 
     whichever applies ............................................................................................................................................... 10
11 Enter the amount from your 2005 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2003,
     Computation A, line 10; Computation B, line 8; or Computation C, line 4; 
     whichever applies ................................................................................................................................................11
12 Enter the amount from your 2005 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2004,
     Computation A, line 10; Computation B, line 8; or Computation C, line 4; 
     whichever applies ............................................................................................................................................... 12
13 Add lines 8, 10, 11, and 12 ................................................................................................................................. 13
Computation of 2005 Tax
14 2002 tax. If you used FIA to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from your 
     2004 Form FIA-40, line 12; Form FIA-40N, line 12; or Form FIA-40P, line 11. If 
     you did not use FIA in 2004 but did for 2003, enter the amount from 2003 Form 

FIA-40, line 16; Form FIA-40N, line 13; or Form FIA-40P, line 12. If you did not 
use FIA in 2004 or 2003 but did in 2002, enter the amount from 2002 FIA-40, 
line 4; FIA-40N, line 10; or FIA-40P, line 8. Otherwise, enter the tax from your 
2002 Form 40, line 30 or 31; Form 40S, line 16; Form 40N, line 52 or 53; or 
Form 40P, line 51 or 52....................................................................................................................................... 14

15 2003 tax. If you used FIA to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from your 
     2004 Form FIA-40, line 16; Form FIA-40N, line 13; or Form FIA-40P, line 12. If 
     you did not use FIA in 2004 but did for 2003, enter the amount from 2003 Form 
     FIA-40, line 4; Form FIA-40N, line 9; or Form FIA-40P, line 8. Otherwise, enter 
     the tax from your 2003 Form 40, line 30 or 31; Form 40S, line 13; or Form 40N 
     or Form 40P, line 51 or 52. ................................................................................................................................. 15
16 2004 tax. If you used FIA to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from your 
     2004 Form FIA-40, line 4; Form FIA-40N, line 9; or Form FIA-40P, line 8. Other-
     wise, enter the tax from your 2004 Form 40, line 29 or 30; Form 40S, line 13; 
     or Form 40N or Form 40P, line 51 or 52 ............................................................................................................. 16
17 Add lines 14, 15, and 16 ..................................................................................................................................... 17
18 Line 13 minus line 17. Enter the result here and on Form 40P, line 51 .............................................................. 18

FORM

FIA-40P 2005OREGON FARM
INCOME AVERAGING

Name(s) as shown on Oregon Form 40P

Current mailing address

City

Date received
For Office Use Only

Social Security No. (SSN)

—                —

Telephone number

(            )
State ZIP code

Spouse’s SSN, if joint return

—                —

Federal column Oregon column

 —Attach your completed Form FIA-40P to your Oregon Form 40P—
150-101-161 (Rev. 12-05) 
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Schedule Z
(Farm Income Averaging) 2005Computation of Tax

150-101-161 (Rev. 12-05) 

COMPUTATION FOR TAX YEAR 2002
Computation A. Complete if you filed Form 40N for tax year 2002.
  1 If you used Schedule Z to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from your 
     2004 Schedule Z, Com putation for Tax Year 2002, Computation A, lines 3a and 
     3b. If you did not use Schedule Z to figure your tax for 2004 but did for 2003, 
     enter the amounts from your 2003 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2002, 
     Computation A, lines 3a and 3b. If you did not income average in 2003 or 2004 
     but did in 2002, enter the amount from your 2002 FIA-40N, lines 3a and 3b. 
     Otherwise, enter the amount shown on your 2002 Form 40N, lines 39a and 
     39b (if -0- or less, see instructions)................................................................................ 1a                                 1b
  2 Enter amount from 2005 Form FIA-40, line 6; Form FIA-40N, line 10; or 
     Form FIA-40P, line 9 ..................................................................................................... 2a                                 2b 
  3 Add lines 1 and 2 in both the federal and Oregon columns ........................................... 3a                                 3b
  4 Recompute the Oregon percentage. Divide line 3b by line 3a 
     (not more than 100%) ....................................................................................................  4 ___ ___ ___ . ___%

5 Enter deductions and modifications from your 2002 Oregon Form 40N, line 47 .................................................  5
  6 Multiply the amount on line 5 by the recomputed Oregon percentage 
     on line 4 and enter here.......................................................................................................................................  6
  7 Enter the amount from your 2002 Oregon Form 40N, line 49 .............................................................................  7
  8 Add lines 6 and 7 .................................................................................................................................................  8
  9 Line 3b minus line 8. Enter the result here ..........................................................................................................  9
10 Figure the tax on line 9 using the 2002 Tax Rate Charts. Enter the amount here 
     and on Form FIA-40, line 8; Form FIA-40N, line 11; or Form FIA-40P, line 10 .................................................... 10
Computation B. Complete if you filed Form 40P for tax year 2002.
  1 If you used Schedule Z to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from your 
     2004 Schedule Z, Com putation for Tax Year 2002, Computation B, lines 3a and 

3b. If you did not use Schedule Z to figure your tax for 2004 but did for 2003, 
enter the amounts from your 2003 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2002, 
Computation B, lines 3a and 3b. If you did not income average in 2003 or 2004 

     but did in 2002, enter the amount from your 2002 FIA-40P, lines 3a and 3b. 
     Otherwise, enter the amount shown on your 2002 Form 40P, lines 39a and 39b 
     (if -0- or less, see instructions)....................................................................................... 1a                                 1b
  2 Enter amount from 2005 Form FIA-40, line 6; Form FIA-40N, line 10; or 
     Form FIA-40P, line 9 ..................................................................................................... 2a                                 2b 
  3 Add lines 1 and 2 in both the federal and Oregon columns ........................................... 3a                                 3b
  4 Recompute the Oregon percentage. Divide line 3b by line 3a 
     (not more than 100%) ....................................................................................................  4 ___ ___ ___ . ___%

5 Enter the amount from your 2002 Oregon Form 40P, line 48 ........................................  5
  6 Line 3a minus line 5. Enter the result here ..........................................................................................................  6
  7 Figure the tax on line 6 using the 2002 Tax Rate Charts.....................................................................................  7
  8 Multiply line 7 by the Oregon percentage on line 4. Enter the amount here and
     on Form FIA-40, line 8; Form FIA-40N, line 11; or Form FIA-40P, line 10 ...........................................................  8
Computation C. Complete if you filed Form 40 or Form 40S for tax year 2002.
  1 If you used Form FIA-40 to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from your  
     2004 Form FIA-40, line 11. If you used Sched ule Z to figure your tax for 2004, 
     enter the amount from the 2004 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2002, 

Computation C, line 3. If you did not use Form FIA-40 for tax year 2004 but did 
for 2003, enter the amount from 2003 Form FIA-40, line 15. If you did not use 
Schedule Z to figure your tax for 2004 but did for 2003, enter the amounts from 
your 2003 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2002, Computation C, line 3. 
If you did not use Form FIA-40 to figure your tax in 2004 or 2003 but did in 2002, 
enter the amount from your 2002 Form FIA-40, line 3. Otherwise, enter the 

     amount shown on your 2002 Form 40, line 28; or Form 40S, line 15 (if -0- or 
     less, see instructions) ..........................................................................................................................................  1

Oregon columnFederal column

Oregon column

Federal column Oregon column
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COMPUTATION FOR TAX YEAR 2002 (continued)
Computation C (continued)
  2 Enter amount from 2005 Form FIA-40, line 6; Form FIA-40N, line 10; or 

Form FIA-40P, line 9 ............................................................................................................................................  2
  3 Add lines 1 and 2 ................................................................................................................................................  3
  4 Figure the tax on line 3 using the 2002 Tax Rate Charts. Enter the amount here
     and on Form FIA-40, line 8; Form FIA-40N, line 11; or Form FIA-40P, line 10 ....................................................  4

COMPUTATION FOR TAX YEAR 2003
Computation A. Complete if you filed Form 40N for tax year 2003.
  1 If you used Schedule Z to figure your tax for 2004 enter the amounts from your 
     2004 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2003, Computation A, lines 3a and  
     3b. If you did not income average for 2004 but did in 2003 enter the amount from 

your 2003 Form FIA-40N, line 3a and 3b. Otherwise, enter the amount shown on 
     your 2003 Form 40N, lines 39a and 39b (if -0- or less, see instructions) ...................... 1a                                 1b
  2 Enter amount from 2005 Form FIA-40, line 6; Form FIA-40N, line 10; 
     or Form FIA-40P, line 9 ................................................................................................. 2a                                 2b
  3 Add lines 1 and 2 in both the federal and Oregon columns........................................... 3a                                 3b
  4 Recompute the Oregon percentage. Divide line 3b by line 3a 
     (not more than 100%) ..................................................................................................... 4  ___ ___ ___ . ___%
  5 Enter deductions and modifications from line 4 of the worksheet for your  
     2003 Oregon Form 40N, line 47, (page 27)........................................................................................................... 5
  6 Multiply the amount on line 5 by the recomputed Oregon percentage on line 4.................................................... 6
  7 Enter the amount from your 2003 Oregon Form 40N, line 48 ............................................................................... 7
  8 Add lines 6 and 7 ................................................................................................................................................... 8
  9 Line 3b minus line 8. Enter the result here ............................................................................................................ 9
10 Figure the tax on line 9 using the 2003 Tax Rate Charts. Enter the amount here
     and on Form FIA-40, line 12; Form FIA-40N, line 12; or Form FIA-40P, line 11 ................................................. 10
Computation B. Complete if you filed Form 40P for tax year 2003.
  1 If you used Schedule Z to figure your tax for 2004 enter the amounts from your 
     2004 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2003, Computation B, lines 3a and  
     3b. If you did not income average for 2004 but did in 2003 enter the amount from

your 2003 Form FIA-40P, lines 3a and 3b. Otherwise, enter the amount shown on 
     your 2003 Form 40P, lines 39a and 39b (if -0- or less, see instructions) ...................... 1a                                 1b
  2 Enter amount from 2005 Form FIA-40, line 6; Form FIA-40N, line 10; 
     or Form FIA-40P, line 9 ................................................................................................. 2a                                 2b
  3 Add lines 1 and 2 in both the federal and Oregon columns........................................... 3a                                 3b
  4 Recompute the Oregon percentage. Divide line 3b by line 3a 
     (not more than 100%) ....................................................................................................   4 ___ ___ ___ . ___%

5 Enter the amount from your 2003 Oregon Form 40P, line 48........................................  5
  6 Line 3a minus line 5. Enter the result here ............................................................................................................ 6
  7 Figure the tax on line 6 using the 2003 Tax Rate Charts ...................................................................................... 7
  8 Multiply line 7 by the Oregon percentage on line 4. Enter the amount here
     and on Form FIA-40, line 12; Form FIA-40N, line 12; or Form FIA-40P, line 11 .................................................... 8
Computation C. Complete if you filed Form 40 or Form 40S for tax year 2003.
  1 If you used Form FIA-40 to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from 2004 
     Form FIA-40, line 15. If you used Schedule Z to figure your tax for 2004 enter the 
     amounts from your 2004 Schedule Z, Computation for Tax Year 2003, Computa-
     tion C, line 3. If you used Form FIA-40 for tax year 2003 but not for 2004, enter 
     the amount from 2003 Form FIA-40, line 3. Otherwise, enter the amount shown 
     on your 2003 Form 40, line 28; or Form 40S, line 12 (if -0- or less, see instructions) ........................................... 1
  2 Enter amount from 2004 Form FIA-40, line 6; Form FIA-40N, line 10; 
     or Form FIA-40P, line 9.......................................................................................................................................... 2
  3 Add lines 1 and 2 .................................................................................................................................................. 3
  4 Figure the tax on line 3 using the 2003 Tax Rate Charts. Enter the amount here 
     and on Form FIA-40, line 12; Form FIA-40N, line 12; or Form FIA-40P, line 11 .................................................... 4

150-101-161 (Rev. 12-05) 

Oregon column

Federal column Oregon column

Federal column Oregon column

Oregon column
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COMPUTATION FOR TAX YEAR 2004
Computation A. Complete if you filed Form 40N for tax year 2004.
  1 If you used Form FIA-40N to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amounts from your  
     2004 Form FIA-40N, lines 3a and 3b. Oth erwise, enter the amount shown on your
     2004 Form 40N, line 39 (if -0- or less, see in structions) ................................................ 1a                                 1b
  2 Enter amount from 2005 Form FIA-40, line 6; Form FIA-40N, line 10; or 
     Form FIA-40P, line 9 ..................................................................................................... 2a                                 2b 
  3 Add lines 1 and 2 in both the federal and Oregon columns ........................................... 3a                                 3b
  4 Recompute the Oregon percentage. Divide line 3b by line 3a 
     (not more than 100%) ....................................................................................................   4 ___ ___ ___ . ___%

5 Enter deductions and modifications from line 4 of the worksheet for your  
     2004 Oregon Form 40N, line 47 (page 26)..........................................................................................................  5
  6 Multiply the amount on line 5 by the recomputed Oregon percentage on line 4..................................................  6 
  7 Enter the amount from your 2004 Oregon Form 40N, line 48 .............................................................................  7
  8 Add line 6 and 7 ...................................................................................................................................................  8
  9 Line 3b minus line 8. Enter the result here ..........................................................................................................  9
10 Figure the tax on line 9 using the 2004 Tax Rate Charts. Enter the amount here 
     and on Form FIA-40, line 16; Form FIA-40N, line 13; or Form FIA-40P, line 12.................................................. 10

Computation B. Complete if you filed Form 40P for tax year 2004.
  1 If you used Form FIA-40P to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from the 
     2004 Form FIA-40P, lines 3a and 3b. Oth erwise, enter the amount shown on your 
     2004 Form 40P, line 39 (if -0- or less, see in structions)................................................. 1a                                 1b
  2 Enter amount from 2005 Form FIA-40, line 6; Form FIA-40N, line 10; or 
     Form FIA-40P, line 9 ..................................................................................................... 2a                                 2b 
  3 Add lines 1 and 2 in both the federal and Oregon columns ........................................... 3a                                 3b
  4 Recompute the Oregon percentage. Divide line 3b by line 3a 
     (not more than 100%) ....................................................................................................   4 ___ ___ ___ . ___%

5 Enter the amount from your 2004 Oregon Form 40P, line 48 ........................................   5
  6 Line 3a minus line 5. Enter the result here ..........................................................................................................  6
  7 Figure the tax on line 6 using the 2004 Tax Rate Charts.....................................................................................  7
  8 Multiply line 7 by the Oregon percentage on line 4. Enter the amount here and
     on Form FIA-40, line 16; Form FIA-40N, line 13; or Form FIA-40P, line 12.........................................................  8

Computation C. Complete if you filed Form 40 or Form 40S for tax year 2004.
  1 If you used Form FIA-40 to figure your tax for 2004, enter the amount from your 
     2004 Form FIA-40, line 3. Otherwise, enter the amount shown on your 2004 
     Form 40, line 28; or Form 40S, line 12 (if -0- or less, see instructions) ................................................................  1
  2 Enter amount from 2005 Form FIA-40, line 6; Form FIA-40N, line 10; or 
     Form FIA-40P, line 9 ............................................................................................................................................  2 
  3 Add lines 1 and 2 ................................................................................................................................................  3
  4 Figure the tax on line 3 using the 2004 Tax Rate Charts. Enter the amount here
     and on Form FIA-40, line 16; Form FIA-40N, line 13; or Form FIA-40P, line 12..................................................  4

Federal column Oregon column

Federal column Oregon column

Oregon column
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Instructions for Form FIA-40N, Form FIA-40P, 
and Schedule Z, for Farm Income Averaging

You may elect to figure your 2005 tax by averaging, over the 
previous three years (base years), all or part of your 2005 tax-
 able farm income. 

You will need copies of your original or amended 
Oregon income tax returns for tax years 2002, 2003, and 2004 
to fig ure your tax on Form FIA-40N or Form FIA-40P. You can 
ob tain cop ies of pri or years’ re turns for a fee from the Or e gon 
De part ment of Rev e nue. See Tax pay er As sis tance on page 12 
for num bers to call.

Elected farm income
Your elected farm income is the amount of your taxable in come 
from farming that you elect to include on Form FIA-40N or 
Form FIA-40P, line 2. Do not enter more than the amount on 
line 1.

To figure elected farm income, first figure your taxable in come 
from farming. Taxable income from farming in cludes all in come, 
gains, losses, and deductions at trib ut able to any farm ing busi-
ness. However, it does not in clude gain from the sale or other 
dis po si tion of land. Gains and losses must be from prop er ty 
(other than land) regularly used by you in the farm busi ness 
for a substantial period of time. Oregon source farm in come 
in cludes income or loss re ceived from an Oregon farm while 
you were a non res i dent and farm income or loss re ceived dur-
ing any portion of the year you were an Or e gon resident.

You do not have to include all of your tax able in come from 
farm ing on Form FIA-40N or Form FIA-40P, line 2. 

Your elected farm income cannot exceed your Oregon tax able 
income. Also, the portion of your elected farm in come treat ed 
as a net capital gain cannot exceed the small er of your total net 
capital gain or your net capital gain at trib ut able to your farm-
 ing business. 

If your elect ed farm income in cludes net capital gain, you must 
al lo cate an equal portion of the net cap i tal gain to each of the 
base years. 

If, for any base year, you had a capital loss that re sult ed in a 
capital loss carryover to the next tax year, do not re duce the 
elect ed farm income al lo cat ed to that base year by any part of 
the carryover.

Farming business
A farming business is the trade or business of cul ti vat ing land 
or raising or harvesting any agricultural or hor ti cul tur al com-
 mod i ty. This includes:

•   Operating a nursery or sod farm.
•   Raising or harvesting trees bearing fruits, nuts, or oth er 

crops.
•   Raising ornamental trees (but not evergreen trees that are 

more than 6 years old when severed from the roots).
•   Raising, shearing, feeding, caring for, training, and man ag ing 

animals.
•   Leasing land to a tenant engaged in a farming busi ness, but 

only if the lease payments are based on a share of the ten ant’s 
pro duc tion (not a fixed amount).

•   Wages and other compensation you received as a share hold er 
in an S corporation engaged in a farming busi ness.

A farming business does not include:

•   Contract harvesting of an agricultural or hor ti cul tur al com-
 mod i ty grown or raised by someone else, or

•   Merely buying or reselling plants or animals grown or raised 
by someone else.

Instructions for Schedule Z

Before you can complete Schedule Z you will need the amount 
from FIA-40, line 6; Form FIA-40N, line 10; or Form FIA-40P, line 
9. On Schedule Z, complete either Computation A, B, or C for 
each tax year. Figures from Schedule Z are need ed to com plete  
Form FIA-40N, lines 11 through 13; or Form FIA-40P, lines 10 
through 12 and may be needed for Form FIA-40, lines 8, 12, 
and 16.

If you were a part-year res i dent or a non res i dent for 2002, 2003, 
or 2004 and if your in come af ter sub trac tions (line 39) for ei ther
fed er al or Or e gon was zero or less for any of these three tax 
years, use the worksheets below to fig ure the amount to en ter
on Sched ule Z, Com pu ta tion A or B, line 1. If you were a full 
year resident with taxable income that was -0- or less for 2002, 
2003, or 2004, use the worksheets below to figure the amount to 
enter on Schedule Z, Computation C, line 1.

NOL means net operating loss and applies to the year of the ac-
tual loss. NOLD means net operating loss deduction and applies 
to the year the NOL is carried to.

 2002 Taxable Income Worksheet

 Part-Year or Nonresident Return for 2002

  1. Figure income after sub-
tractions, for federal and 

      Oregon, from your 2002   
Form 40N or Form 40P 
without limiting it to -0-. 
Include any NOLD carry-
overs or carrybacks if you 
did not have a NOL in 
2002. Do not include any 
NOLD carryover or carry-
back from other years if
you had a NOL in 2002. 
Enter the result here .................... 1a________  1b _______

  2. If there is a loss 
on your 2002 federal
Schedule D, line 18, add
that loss (as a positive 
amount) and your 2002
capital loss carryover to
2003. Subtract from that 
sum the amount of the 
loss on your 2002 federal 
Schedule D, line 17. Enter 
the result here ............................... 2a________  2b _______

  3. If you had an NOL for 
2002 for federal or Oregon,
or both, enter amounts as a 
positive number in the 

O F  R E V E N U E
D E P A R T M E N T

O R E G O N
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carryover or carryback from 
other years if you had a 
NOL in 2003. Enter the 
result here...................................... 11a ______  11b ______

12. If there is a loss on your 
2003 federal Schedule D, 
line 18, add that loss (as a posi-
tive amount) and your 2003 
capital loss carryover to 2004. 
Subtract from that sum the 
amount of the loss on your 
2003 federal Schedule D, line 
17a. Enter the result here ............ 12a_______  12b ______

13. If you had an NOL for 2003 
for federal or Oregon, or both,
enter amounts as a positive 
number in the appropriate
column. Otherwise, enter as 
a positive amount the portion
(if any) of the NOLD carry-
overs and carrybacks to 2003 
that were not used in 2003 
and were carried to tax years 
after 2003 ....................................... 13a ______  13b ______

14. Add lines 12 and 13 ..................... 14a ______  14b ______

15. Add line 11 and line 14. 
Enter the result here and on 
your 2005 Schedule Z, Tax 
Year 2003, Computation A 
or B, line 1 ..................................... 15a ______  15b ______

 Full-Year Return for 2003

16. Figure the taxable income 
from your 2003 tax return 
without limiting it to -0-. 
Include any NOLD carry-
overs or carrybacks if you 
did not have a NOL in 
2003. Do not include any 
NOLD carryover or carry-
back from other years if 
you had a NOL in 2003. 
Enter the result here ..........................................  16 _______

17. If there is a loss on your 
2003 federal Schedule D, 
line 18, add that loss (as a 
positive amount) and your 
2003 capital loss carryover 
to 2004. Subtract from that 
sum the amount of the 
loss on your 2003 federal 
Schedule D, line 17a. Enter 
the result here .....................................................  17 _______

18. If you had an NOL for 2003,
enter it as a positive amount
here. Otherwise, enter the
portion (if any) of the NOLD
carryovers and carrybacks to
2003 that were not used in
2003 and were carried to tax
years after 2003 as a positive 
amount here........................................................  18 _______

19. Add lines 17 and 18 ...........................................  19 _______

Fed er al (a) Or e gon (b)Fed er al (a) Or e gon (b)
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appropriate column. Other-
wise, enter as a positive 
amount the portion (if any) 
of the NOLD carryovers 
and carrybacks to 2002 that 
were not used in 2002 and 
were carried to tax years 
after 2002 ....................................... 3a _______  3b _______

  4. Add lines 2 and 3 ......................... 4a _______  4b _______
  5. Add line 1 and line 4 

for each column. Enter the 
result here and on your 
2005 Schedule Z, Tax Year 
2002, Computation A 
or B, line 1 ..................................... 5a _______  5b _______

 Full-Year Return for 2002

  6. Figure the taxable income 
from your 2002 tax return 
without limiting it to -0-. 
Include any NOLD carry-
overs or carrybacks if you 
did not have a NOL in 
2002. Do not include any 
NOLD carryover or carry-
back from other years if 
you had a NOL in 2002. 
Enter the result here ..........................................  6 ________

  7. If there is a loss on your 
2002 federal Schedule D, 
line 18, add that loss (as a 
positive amount) and your 
2002 capital loss carryover 
to 2003. Subtract from that 
sum the amount of the loss 
on your 2002 federal 
Schedule D, line 17. Enter 
the result here .....................................................  7 ________

  8. If you had an NOL for 2002, 
enter it as a positive amount 
here. Otherwise, enter the 
portion (if any) of the NOLD 
carryovers and carrybacks 
to 2002 that were not used 
in 2002 and were carried to 
tax years after 2002 as a 
positive amount here.........................................  8 ________

  9. Add lines 7 and 8 ...............................................  9 ________
10. Add line 6 and line 9. Enter 

the result here, and on your 
2005 Schedule Z, Tax Year 
2002, Computation C, line 1 .............................  10 _______

  2003 Taxable Income Worksheet

 Part-Year or Nonresident Return for 2003
11. Figure income after sub-

tractions, for federal and 
Oregon, from your 2003 
Form 40N or Form 40P 
without limiting it to -0-. 
Include any NOLD carry-
overs or carrybacks if you 
did not have a NOL in 2003.  
Do not include any NOLD 
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20. Add line 16 and line 19. 
Enter the result here, and on 
your 2005 Schedule Z, Tax Year
2003, Computation C, line 1 .............................  20 _______

 2004 Taxable Income Worksheet

Part-Year or Nonresident Return for 2004

21. Figure income after sub-
tractions, for federal and 
Oregon, from your 2004 
Form 40N or Form 40P 
without limiting it to -0-. 
Include any NOLD carry-

      overs or carrybacks if you 
did not have a NOL in 
2004. Do not include any 
NOLD carryover or carry-
back from other years if 
you had a NOL in 2004. 
Enter the result here .................... 21a_______  21b ______

22. If there is a loss on your 
2004 federal Schedule D, 
line 21, add that loss (as a 
positive amount) and your 
2004 capital loss carryover 
to tax year 2005. Subtract 
from that sum the amount 
of the loss on your 2004 
federal Schedule D, line
16. Enter the result here .............. 22a_______  22b ______

23. If you had an NOL for 
2004 for federal or Oregon, 
or both, enter amounts as 
a positive number in the 
appropriate column. 
Otherwise, enter as a 
positive amount the
portion (if any) of the 
NOLD carryovers and 
carrybacks to 2004 that 
were not used in 2004 and 
were carried to tax years 
after 2004 ....................................... 23a_______  23b ______

24. Add lines 22 and 23 ..................... 24a_______  24b ______

25. Add line 21 and line 
24. Enter the result here 
and on your 2005 Schedule 
Z, Tax Year 2004, Compu-
tation A or B, line 1 ...................... 25a_______  25b ______

 Full Year Return for 2004

26. Figure the taxable income 
from your 2004 tax return 
without limiting it to -0-. 
Include any NOLD carry-
overs or carrybacks if you 
did not have a NOL in 
2004. Do not include any 
NOLD carryover or carry-

back from other years if 
you had a NOL in 2004. 
Enter the result here ..........................................  26 _______

27. If there is a loss on your 
2004 federal Schedule D, 
line 21, add that loss (as a 
positive amount) and your 
2004 capital loss carryover 
to 2005. Subtract from that 
sum the amount of the loss 
on your 2004 federal 
Schedule D, line 16. Enter 
the result here .....................................................  27 _______

28. If you had an NOL for 
2004, enter it as a positive 
amount here. Otherwise, 
enter the portion (if any) 
of the NOLD carryovers 
and carrybacks to 2004 
that were not used in 
2004 and were carried to 
tax years after 2004 as a 
positive amount here.........................................  28 _______

29. Add lines 27 and 28 ...........................................  29 _______

30. Add line 26 and line 
29. Enter the result here, 
and on your 2005 Schedule Z, 
Tax Year 2004, Computation
C, line 1................................................................  30 _______

Example: John Farmington owns a farm in Ontario, 
Oregon but is a resident of Idaho. John files as a non res i-
 dent for Or e gon each year. John did not use farm income 
averaging for 2002, 2003, or 2004. For tax year 2005, John 
has elect ed farm income of $18,000 on line 2 of Form FIA-
40N. His 2002 in come after sub trac tions shown on line 39 
of Form 40N is $25,906 in the fed er al column and $6,150 
in the Oregon column.

John had a NOL for tax year 2003 of $22,950 for Or e gon 
only, which he elected to carryback five years. Of the $22,950 
loss, $9,000 was carried back to tax year 2002 and com plete ly 
ab sorbed. John com bines the $9,000 NOLD with his Or e gon 
in come after subtractions of $6,150. The result is a neg a tive 
$2,850 and is en tered in the Or e gon column on line 1(b) of 
the 2002 taxable income worksheet. John en ters $25,906 in 
the fed er al col umn on line 1(a) of the 2002 worksheet.

When John filed his 2002 federal tax return, he had a $3,000 
net capital loss deduction on Schedule D, line 18 (which was 
also entered on Form 1040, line 13), a $7,000 loss on Sched-
 ule D, line 17, and a $4,000 capital loss carryover to 2003. 
The capital loss es are not Oregon source. Since the NOL is 
for Oregon only, no ad just ment is nec es sary for the cap i tal 
loss deduction or for the cap i tal loss carryover to 2003. John 
enters -0- in both columns on line 2 of the 2002 worksheet.

John had no net operating losses for tax year 2002 for ei ther 
federal or Oregon. Because the NOL from 2003 is com plete ly 
absorbed in 2002, there is no carryover to tax years after 2002. 
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Internet

www.oregon.gov/DOR 
• Download forms and publications
• Get up-to-date tax information
• E-mail: questions.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure and con-
fidentiality cannot be ensured. General tax 
and policy questions only.

Correspondence

Write to: Oregon Department of Revenue, 955 
Cen ter St NE, Sa lem OR 97301-2555. Include 
your So cial Se cu ri ty num ber and a day time 
tele phone num ber for fast er service.

 To get forms

Income tax booklets are available at many post of fic es, 
banks, and libraries. For booklets and other forms and
publications, you can also access our Web site, order by 
telephone, or write to: Forms, Or e gon Department of 
Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990. 

 Telephone

Salem ................................................................ 503-378-4988

Toll-free from Oregon prefix........................1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to:
• Check on the status of your 2005 

personal income tax refund 
(beginning February 1).

• Order tax forms.
• Hear recorded tax information.
For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers above:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday.................. 7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday ............................................................10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Closed on holidays.
April 3–April 17, Monday–Friday...................... 7:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15................................................... 9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary.

Asistencia en español:
    Salem................................................................ 503-945-8618
    Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon........................1-800-356-4222
TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
    Salem................................................................ 503-945-8617
    Toll-free from Oregon prefi x......................1-800-886-7204 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats

Taxpayer assistance

150-101-161 (Rev. 12-05)
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John en ters -0- in both columns on line 3 of the worksheet. 
John adds the amounts on lines 2 and 3, both of which are 
-0-. He adds -0- to the negative $2,850 and en ters the result, a 
neg a tive $2,850, on line 5b of the worksheet. John adds -0- to 
the $25,906 and enters the result, a pos i tive $25,906, on line 
5a of the worksheet. These fig ures rep re sent John’s re com -
put ed fed er al and Or e gon in come af ter sub trac tions for tax 
year 2002. John enters both of these figures on Schedule Z, 
Computation A for tax year 2002, line 1, in the federal and 
Oregon columns.

For tax year 2003, John’s income after subtractions is $10,850 
for federal and a negative $27,250 for Oregon. John enters 
$10,850 on line 11a and a negative $27,250 on line 11b of the 
2003 worksheet.

John had a $3,000 net capital loss deduction on his 2003 
Schedule D, line 18, and a $7,000 loss on Schedule D, line 
17a, the carryover from 2002 to 2003. Because the NOL is 
for Or e gon only, no ad just ment is necessary on line 12a and 

no adjustment is made on line 12b since the cap i tal loss 
deduction is not Oregon source. John enters -0- on lines 
12a and 12b of the 2003 worksheet. John enters -0- on line 
13a and the Oregon only NOL of $22,950 on line 13b of the 
worksheet. John adds lines 12 and 13 and enters -0-  on  line 
14a and $22,950 on line 14b.

In the federal column on line 15a, John enters a positive 
$10,850. For the Oregon column, John adds the $22,950 
on line 14b and the negative $27,250 on line 11b of the 
worksheet and enters a neg a tive $4,300 on line 15b. These 
figures rep re sent John’s recomputed federal and Oregon 
income after sub trac tions for tax year 2003. John en ters both 
of these fig ures on Sched ule Z, Com pu ta tion A, for tax year 
2003, line 1, in the fed er al and Or e gon col umns.

For tax year 2004, John’s income after subtractions is not 
neg a tive in either the federal or Oregon columns. There-
fore, John can complete Schedule Z without using the 
worksheets.
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Form 10 and Instructions for 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax

150-101-031 (Rev. 12-05) 

1

General Information
Oregon law requires some taxpayers to make estimated tax 
payments. In ter est is charged on underpayments or late 

pay ments. The table below will help you determine if you 
owe in ter est on underpayment of your 2005 estimated tax. 

Do I Owe Interest on Underpayment of 2005 Estimated Tax Payments?

Do you owe $1,000 or more after withholding on your 
2005 Or e gon income tax return? 

If yes

Method 1—Estimated—2005 Tax
Did your withholding and/or estimated tax payments 
equal at least 90 percent of your 2005 Oregon tax after 
credits?

Method 2—Safe Harbor—2004 Tax
Did the income tax withheld and/or estimated tax pay-
 ments on your 2005 income taxes equal 100 per cent of 
your 2004 net income tax? (You can’t use this meth od if 
you didn’t timely fi le a 2004 Oregon return.)

Method 3—Annualized—2005 Tax
Did your withholding and/or estimated tax payments 
equal at least 90 per cent of your 2005 an nu al ized 
income tax?

Do you qualify for one of the fi ve exceptions listed on 
page 2?

You are not required to pay interest on underpayment 
of 2005 estimated tax and you are not re quired to fi le 
Form 10.

If yes

If yes

If yes

No interest is due on your underpayment of estimated 
tax. You must complete Parts A, B, and C of Form 10 
and at tach it to your Oregon income tax return. Check 
the box on your Oregon return to show Form 10 is 
at tached.

No interest is due on your underpayment of estimated 
tax. However, you must fi le Form 10 if you meet an 
exception. Write in the exception num ber you are claim-
 ing on Form 10, line 1, and on Form 40, box 50a; or 
Form 40N or Form 40P, box 68a. Attach Form 10 to your 
Oregon in come tax return. Check the box on your 
Oregon return to show Form 10 is attached.

If no

If no

If yes
You must complete Form 10 to fi gure the amount you 
underpaid and the amount of interest due. Attach Form 
10 to your Oregon income tax return. Check the box on 
your Oregon return to show Form 10 is at tached.

Start here

If no

If no

If no
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Instructions
These instructions are for lines not fully explained on the form.

Line 1—Claiming an exception
Exception 1—Farmers and commercial fi shers.

If at least two-thirds (66.7 percent) of your 2004 or 2005 
total gross income is from farming or fi shing, you don’t have 
to pay un der pay ment interest. Your Oregon return is due 
April 17, 2006.

Gross income includes items such as wages, interest, and 
div i dends. It also includes gross profi t from rentals, roy al -
ties, busi ness es, farm ing, fi shing, and the sale of property. 
Don’t sub tract ex pens es, except cost of goods sold, when 
fi g ur ing gross profi  t. Do sub tract adjusted basis or cost to 
fi g ure profi  t on the sale of prop er ty.

Farmers. Use the amounts on the following lines of both 
your 2004 and 2005 federal income tax returns to de ter mine 
your gross income from farming:

• Federal Schedule F, line 11;
• Federal Schedule E, line 42;
• Federal Form 4797, line 20. (Include only gains from sale 

of live stock held for drafting, breeding, dairy, or sport ing 
pur pos es.)

Fishers. Use the amounts on the following lines of both your 
2004 and 2005 federal income tax returns to determine your 
gross income from fi shing:

• Federal Schedule C, line 5;
• Federal Schedule C-EZ, line 1;
• Federal Schedule E, line 42.

Exception 2—Prior year.

You meet this exception if all of the following are true:

• Your net income tax for 2004 was -0- or you were not 
re quired to fi le a return for 2004.

• You were a full-year Oregon resident in 2004.
• Your tax year was a full 12 months.

Your 2004 net income tax is your Oregon income tax after 
tax credits, including the working family credit, but before 
with hold ing, es ti mat ed tax pay ments, or pay ments made 
with an ex ten sion.

Note: If you were a nonresident or a part-year resident in 
2004, you can’t use this exception. However, you may be 
able to use the Safe Harbor Method to fi g ure your required 
an nu al pay ment. See the Part A instructions on this page.

Exception 3—Retired or disabled and have a reasonable 
cause for the underpayment.

You meet this exception if:

• There was rea son able cause for un der pay ing your es ti -
mat ed tax, AND

   — You retired at age 62 or older during 2004 or 2005, or
   — You became disabled during 2004 or 2005.

Reasonable cause will be decided on a case-by-case basis.
The extent of your effort to com ply with the law will be 
con sid ered. Attach a state ment ex plain ing the cause to be 

con sid ered for the ex cep tion. Label the state ment “Form 10 
At tach ment” at the top cen ter of the page. 

Exception 4—Underpayment due to unusual cir cum stanc es.

No interest is due if your underpayment is due to a ca su al ty, 
di sas ter, or other unusual circumstance. Un em ploy ment 
does not qualify as an unusual circumstance. Unusual 
cir cum stanc es will be de ter mined on a case-by-case basis. 
The ex tent of your ef fort to comply with the law will be 
con sid ered. At tach a state ment ex plain ing the cause to be 
con sid ered for the ex cep tion. La bel the state ment “Form 10 
At tach ment” in the cen ter at the top of the page. 

Exception 5—S corporation shareholders.

If you are a shareholder of a fi rst-year S corporation contact 
the Department of Revenue to see if you meet this ex cep tion.

PART A—Figure your required annual payment

Line 2. Fill in your 2005 net income tax amount from Form 
40, line 42; Forms 40N or 40P, line 60.

Line 3. Fill in your 2005 working family credit amount from 
Form 40, line 45; Forms 40N or 40P, line 63.

Line 6. Fill in only your Oregon income tax withheld from 
in come. Don’t include any estimated tax payments.

Line 8. Enter your 2004 tax after all credits, Form 40, line 43 
minus line 46; or Form 40N or Form 40P, line 61 minus line 
64. If your 2004 tax after credits is less than zero, enter -0-.

If you didn’t fi le a return for 2004, your 2004 return was not 
timely fi led (including extensions), or your 2004 tax year 
was less than 12 months, don’t complete line 8. Enter the 
amount from line 5 on line 9. Note: If you were a part-year 
resident or nonresident in 2004 and you have a tax year of 
12 months, you may use the tax shown on your 2004 Form 
40N or 40P.

PART B—Figure your required periodic payment

Line 11. Divide line 9 by four and enter the amount in each 
column. If you moved into Oregon in 2005 use the columns 
that correspond to the dates you lived in Oregon. Divide 
the amount on line 9 by the number of periods you were a 
res i dent of Oregon. This is your required payment for the 
period.       
                       OR

If you annualized your income using the Annualized In come 
Worksheet on the back of Form 10, enter the amounts from 
line 31 of the worksheet.

PART C—Figure your interest

Interest is calculated on the balance of tax due (running 
balance) between event dates. The required payments due 
on April 15, 2005, June 15, 2005, September 15, 2005, and 
January 17, 2006 increase your running balance. Withhold-
ing and estimated payments decrease your running balance. 
Underpayment interest accrues until the balance is paid in 
full or April 17, 2006, whichever is earlier. Interest will con-
tinue to accrue on any balance remaining after April 17, 2006 
and will be computed separately.
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Date and Amount Columns
Lines 12, 17, 22, and 28. Enter your required payments from 
line 11, in the amount column for each corresponding period. 
If the required payment is zero, enter -0-. 

Lines 13, 18, 23, and 29. Fill in Oregon income tax withheld 
from your wages, pension, or any other income. Withhold-
ing is considered to be paid in equal amounts on the required 
payment dates (usually four), unless you prove otherwise. If 
you worked all year, divide your withholding by four and 
enter the fi gure in the amount column for the four withhold-
ing payment dates. If there was no withholding during the 
period, enter zero.

Lines 14, 15, and 16. Enter the dates and amounts of any 
estimated payments you made before June 15, 2005 in date 
order. All payments made on or before April 15, 2005 can be 
added together and entered on line 14.

Lines 19, 20, and 21. Enter the dates and amounts of any 
estimated payments you made from June 15, 2005 until 
September 14, 2005 in date order.

Lines 24, 25, and 26. Enter the dates and amounts of any 
estimated payments you made from September 15, 2005 
until January 16, 2006 in date order.

           No. of Monthly No. of Daily Interest
      Date Event Amount Running Balance Months   Rate  Days Rate    Due

12. 4/15/05 Req. Pymt. $5,000.00 $5,000.00
13.  4/15/05 Withholding $3,500.00 $1,500.00  0.004167 0.000137
14. 5/16/05 Payment $2,500.00 ($1,000.00) 0.004167 0.000137
15.    Payment   0.004167 0.000137
16.    Payment  0.004167 0.000137
17.  6/15/05 Req. Pymt. $5,000.00 $4,000.00
18.  6/15/05 Withholding $3,500.00 $500.00  0.004167 0.000137
19. 7/15/05 Payment $2,500.00 ($2,000.00) 0.004167 0.000137
20. 8/15/05 Payment $3,000.00 ($5,000.00) 0.004167 0.000137
21.    Payment  0.004167 0.000137
22.  9/15/05 Req. Pymt. $5,000.00 $0.00 
23.  9/15/05 Withholding $3,500.00 ($3,500.00) 0.004167 0.000137

Lines 30, 31, and 32. Enter the dates and amounts of any 
estimated payments you made from January 17, 2006 until 
April 16, 2006 in date order.

Running Balance Column

Running balance is the amount of tax due at any given time 
during the year. Start on line 12 and work your way down. 
The required payments on lines 12, 17, 22, and 28 increase 
your running balance. Withholding and estimated payments 
on the other lines decrease your running balance. If there is 
no withholding payment for the period, your running balance 
will be the same as shown on the required payment line. The 
rate change on line 27 has no effect on your running balance. 
Your running balance can be positive, negative, or zero.

Example 1:  Catelyn has a required payment of $5,000 every 
period. Her total withholding is $14,000 for 2005 ($3,500 each 
period). Catelyn made estimated tax payments of $2,500 on 
May 16, 2005 and July 15, 2005 and $3,000 on August 15, 
2005. Catelyn’s running balance as of September 15, 2005 is 
negative $3,500.

Example 1.  Date, Amount, and Running Balance Columns
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Months and Days Columns

Count the number of full months and days between the fi rst 
event that creates a positive running balance and the next 
event that changes your running balance. You will not count 
the number of days between required payments and with-
holding payments because they are on the same day. Enter 
the months and days in the same row as your fi rst event. 
Continue entering the number of full months and days 
between events down the column until you reach the last 
event that affects your running balance. Count the num-
ber of full months and days between the last event in your 
column and April 17, 2006. Underpayment interest is not 
calculated past April 17, 2006, the due date of the return. 

If the running balance is negative or zero, do not calculate 
the number of days between the day the running balance 
becomes negative or zero and the next event.

Example 2: Using the information on page 3, Catelyn does 
not calculate the number of days between her fi rst required 
payment and fi rst withholding payment. The department 
recognizes her required payment and withholding on the 
same day. There is one full month and one day between 
Catelyn’s fi rst withholding payment and fi rst estimated tax 
payment. Catelyn will enter “1” in the month column on line 
13 and “1” in the days column on line 13. 

Example 3: Using the information on page 3, Catelyn’s 
estimated tax payment on May 16, 2005 creates a negative 
running balance on line 14. Because she has met the required 
payments to date, she will not owe further underpayment 
interest this period. It is not necessary for her to calculate the 
number of days between her estimated tax payment and her 
required payment on June 15, 2005.

Interest Column

To calculate your interest, multiply your positive running 
balance by the number of full months and the monthly rate. 
Add to this your positive running balance multiplied by the 
number of days and the daily rate. Do not calculate interest 
on a negative or zero running balance.

Example 4: One line 13 Catelyn has a running balance of 
$1,500 for one month and one day. The interest that accrues 
during this period totals $6.46 ([1,500 × 1 × .004167] + [1,500 
× 1 × .000137]). Catelyn later has a balance of $500 for one 
month. The interest that accrues during that period totals 
$2.08 (500 x 1 x .004167).

Line 34. Add the amounts in the interest column. Round 
to the nearest whole dollar and enter here and on Form 40, 
line 50; or Form 40N, line 68; or Form 40P, line 68.

           No. of Monthly No. of Daily Interest
      Date Event Amount Running Balance Months   Rate  Days Rate    Due

12. 4/15/05 Req. Pymt. $5,000.00 $5,000.00
13.  4/15/05 Withholding $3,500.00 $1,500.00 1 0.004167 1 0.000137 6.46
14. 5/16/05 Payment $2,500.00 ($1,000.00) – 0.004167 – 0.000137 
15.    Payment    0.004167  0.000137
16.    Payment    0.004167  0.000137
17.  6/15/05 Req. Pymt. $5,000.00 $4,000.00
18.  6/15/05 Withholding $3,500.00 $500.00 1 0.004167 0 0.000137 2.08
19. 7/15/05 Payment $2,500.00 ($2,000.00) – 0.004167 – 0.000137
20. 8/15/05 Payment $3,000.00 ($5,000.00) – 0.004167 – 0.000137
21.    Payment    0.004167  0.000137
22.  9/15/05 Req. Pymt. $5,000.00 $0.00
23.  9/15/05 Withholding $3,500.00 ($3,500.00) – 0.004167 – 0.000137

4

Continued on page 7...

Examples 2, 3, and 4.  Months, Days, and Interest Columns
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EXCEPTION TO PAYING INTEREST
 1.  I am claiming an exception to the imposition of estimated payment interest because I qualifi ed  

for relief under ORS 316.573 or 316.587. See instructions and write in the exception number 
      you are claiming here and on Form 40, box 50a; or Form 40N or Form 40P, box 68a ..................................... 1

2005
For Offi ce Use Only

 FORM

10
UNDERPAYMENT OF 

OREGON ESTIMATED TAX
File with your 2005 Oregon individual income tax re turn

Date Received

Name Social Security Number

–              –

Exception No._______

150-101-028 (Rev. 12-05)

PART A—Figure your required annual payment
  2. 2005 net income tax from Form 40, line 42; or Forms 40N or 40P, line 60 ....................................................... 2
  3. 2005 working family credit amount you claimed on Form 40, line 45; or Forms 40N or 40P, line 63................. 3
  4. Line 2 minus line 3 ............................................................................................................................................. 4
  5. Mul tiply line 4 by 90% (.90) ..............................................................................................5
  6. 2005 Oregon income tax withheld from income................................................................................................. 6
  7. Line 4 minus line 6. If less than $1,000, stop here! You do not owe underpayment interest........................... 7
  8. Enter your 2004 tax after credits, including the working family child care credit (see instructions) ................... 8
  9. Required annual payment. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 8....................................................................... 9
Note: If line 6 is equal to or more than line 9, stop here! You do not owe underpayment interest. Attach this form to your return.

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

A
April 15, 2005

B
June 15, 2005

C
Sept. 15, 2005

D
Jan. 17, 2006

PART B—Fig ure your required periodic payment
10. Payment period due date ............................................................ 10
11. Divide the amount on line 9 by four and enter the amount 

 in each column, or if you use the Annualized Income  
Worksheet on the back of this form, enter the amounts 
from line 31 here (see instructions)............................................. 11

PART C — Figure your interest (See instructions on page 2)

           No. of Monthly No. of Daily Interest
      Date Event Amount Running Balance Months   Rate  Days Rate    Due

12. 4/15/05 Req. Pymt. . .    
13.  4/15/05 Withholding . . 0.004167 0.000137 .
14.    Payment . . 0.004167 0.000137 .
15.    Payment . . 0.004167 0.000137 .
16.    Payment . . 0.004167 0.000137 .
17.  6/15/05 Req. Pymt. . .   
18.  6/15/05 Withholding . . 0.004167 0.000137 .
19.    Payment . . 0.004167 0.000137 .
20.    Payment . . 0.004167 0.000137 .
21.    Payment . . 0.004167 0.000137 .
22.  9/15/05 Req. Pymt. . .
23.  9/15/05 Withholding . . 0.004167 0.000137 .
24.    Payment . . 0.004167 0.000137 .
25.    Payment . . 0.004167 0.000137 .
26.    Payment . . 0.004167 0.000137 .
27.  1/17/06 Rate Chg.  .
28.  1/17/06 Req. Pymt. . .
29.  1/17/06 Withholding . . 0.005833 0.000192 .
30.    Payment . . 0.005833 0.000192 .
31.    Payment . . 0.005833 0.000192 .
32.    Payment . . 0.005833 0.000192 .
33.  4/17/06                                               — Do not calculate interest after April 17, 2006 —
34. Total interest due. Add the amounts in the interest column. Round to the nearest 

whole dollar and enter here and on Form 40, line 50; or Form 40N or Form 40P, line 68 .............................. 34 .00
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150-101-028 (Rev. 12-05) 

1. Enter your adjusted gross income for each period 
(see in structions) .......................................................................... 1

  2. Oregon additions for each period (see instructions)..................... 2
  3. Add lines 1 and 2.......................................................................... 3
  4. Annualization multiplier................................................................. 4
  5. Annualized Oregon income. Multiply line 3 by line 4 .................... 5
  6. Oregon subtractions for each period (except federal tax) ............ 6
  7. Annualization multiplier................................................................. 7
  8 Annualized Oregon subtractions. Multiply line 6 by line 7 ............ 8
  9. Federal tax from the worksheet on page 7 of the instructions...... 9
10. Total subtractions. Add lines 8 and 9 .......................................... 10
11. Enter your net Oregon itemized deductions for each 

period. If you do not itemize, enter -0- and skip to line 14 
(see instructions) ........................................................................ 11

12. Annualization multiplier............................................................... 12
13. Annualized net Oregon itemized deductions. 

Multiply line 11 by line 12............................................................ 13
14. In each column, enter the full amount of your Oregon 

standard deduction ..................................................................... 14
15. Enter line 13 or 14, whichever is larger ...................................... 15
16. Total deductions. Add lines 10 and 15 ........................................ 16
17. Annualized Oregon taxable income. Line 5 minus line 16.......... 17
18. Oregon tax for the amount on line 17 (see tax tables or 

tax rate chart in the 2005 tax booklet) ........................................ 18
19. Exemption credit (not annualized) from Form 40, line 33; 

Form 40N, line 54; or Form 40P, line 54..................................... 19
20. Enter the credits for each period. Do not include 

exemption credits (see instructions) ........................................... 20
21. Total credits. Add lines 19 and 20............................................... 21
22. Net annualized income tax. Line 18 minus line 21 ..................... 22
23. Percentage that applies for each period..................................... 23
24. Multiply line 22 by line 23 ........................................................... 24
25. Enter the sum of all amounts from the prior columns of 

line 31 below (i.e., column A, line 31 amount goes in 
column B, line 25)....................................................................... 25

26. Line 24 minus line 25. If less than zero, enter -0-....................... 26
27. *Divide line 9, Part A, by four and enter results in each column ... 27
28. Enter the amount from the previous column of line 30 below
     (i.e., column A, line 30 amount goes in column B, line 28)......... 28
29. Add lines 27 and 28.................................................................... 29
30. If line 29 is more than line 26, line 29 minus line 26.

If line 29 is less than line 26, enter -0- ....................................... 30
31. Enter the smaller of line 26 or line 29 here and on Part B, 
     line 11 (see front of the form). Go to line 1 in next column ......... 31

A
1/1/05

to
3/31/05

4 2.4 1.5 1

4 2.4 1.5 1

(                     ) (                     ) (                     ) (                     )

(                     ) (                     ) (                     ) (                     )

22.5% 45% 67.5% 90%

2005 Form 10                                                                                                                                                             Page 2

ANNUALIZED INCOME WORKSHEET

Read the instructions on page 7 before completing this worksheet. Note: Starting with column A, work down the column, 
and com plete lines 1 through 31 before going on to columns B, C, and D.

B
1/1/05

to
5/31/05

C
1/1/05

to
8/31/05

D
1/1/05

to
12/31/05

File this form with your 2005 Oregon Individual Income Tax Return

Have questions? See page 8 of the instructions for numbers to call.

* If you are a part-year fi ler, divide by the number of periods you resided in Oregon, if less than 4. (See instructions for Part B, line 11.)

(                     ) (                     ) (                     )

14 2.4 1.5
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 1. Enter the amount of your federal AGI for each period ..................1 
 2. Annualization multiplier ...................................................................2 
 3. Multiply line 1 by line 2 ......................................................................3
 4. Actual federal itemized deductions for each period.

If you do not itemize, skip to line 7 of this worksheet ...................4
 5. Annualization multiplier ...................................................................5
 6. Multiply line 4 by line 5 ......................................................................6
 7. Enter the full amount of your 2005 federal standard 

deduction in each column ..................................................................7
 8. Enter line 6 or line 7, whichever is larger .........................................8
 9. Line 3 minus line 8 ..............................................................................9
10. 2005 federal exemption amount (Form 1040, line 42, 

or Form 1040A, line 26) ....................................................................10
11. Annualized federal taxable income. Line 9 minus line 10 ........... 11
12. Federal tax on line 11 amount for each 

period (use the federal tax tables) ...................................................12
13. Enter $2,250 if you are married fi ling separately 

or $4,500 for any other fi ling status in each column.....................13
14. Enter the smaller of line 12 or 13. Also enter this amount in

each column on line 9 of the Annualized Income Worksheet .....14 

(A)
Jan 1 

to
Mar 31             

(C)
Jan 1 

to
Aug 31             

(B)
Jan 1 

to
May 31             

(D)
Jan 1 

to
Dec 31           

Federal Tax Subtraction Worksheet (line 9 )

4 2.4 1.5 1

4 2.4 1.5 1

(                   ) (                   ) (                   ) (                   )

(                   ) (                   ) (                   ) (                   )

Instructions For Annualized Income Worksheet  (Form 10, page 2)

Note: Are you using the Annualized Income Worksheet to 
compute your 2006 estimated tax payments? If so, see page 
8 for further instructions.

Part-year residents. Start with the column that cor re sponds 
to the date you moved to Oregon. You must mul ti ply your 
exemption credit, prorated credits, and Oregon tax by your 
annualized Oregon percentage. 

Nonresidents. You must multiply your federal tax sub trac tion, 
itemized de duc tions or standard deduction, ex emp tion cred it, 
and prorated credits by your annualized Oregon per cent age.

Line 1. Enter your adjusted gross income (AGI) (Form 40, 
line 8; Form 40N, line 30b; or Form 40P, line 30a) earned or 
re ceived dur ing the period shown at the top of each col umn. 

Example: Scott received wages for the entire year of 2005. 
Three months wages belong in column A, fi ve months in 
col umn B, eight months in column C, and all 12 months 
in column D. He also re ceived a lump sum distribution of 
$25,000 from his IRA on July 19, 2005. Scott includes the 
total amount of the dis tri bu tion in columns C and D only. If 
Scott re ceived the lump sum distribution on April 26, 2005 
instead, he includes it in columns B, C, and D.

Line 2. Enter the amount of Oregon additions (Form 40, line 
11; Forms 40N or 40P, line 34b) claimed dur ing the pe ri od 
shown at the top of each column.

Example: Carol has an Oregon addition of $6,000 for Cal i -
for nia bond interest received in September 2005. Carol en ters 
the $6,000 in column D. If she received the in ter est at $500 a 
month, she would enter $1,500 (for three months) in col umn A, 

$2,500 (for fi ve months) in column B, $4,000 (for eight months) 
in col umn C, and all $6,000 in col umn D (for 12 months).

Line 6. Enter the amount of Oregon subtractions (Form 40, 
line 19; Forms 40N or 40P, lines 37 and 38) claimed dur ing 
the period shown at the top of each column.

Line 9. Compute your federal tax subtraction on your an nu -
al ized income using the Federal Tax Subtraction Worksheet 
below.

If you are fi ling Form 40N multiply your federal tax sub trac -
tion by your Oregon percentage from Form 40N, line 40.

Line 11. Enter only the amount of your net Oregon item-
ized de duc tions claimed for the period shown at the top of 
each column.

Example 1: Generally, home mortgage interest is a de duc tion 
paid evenly throughout the year. Three months of home 
mort gage interest belong in column A (January, February, 
and March), five months in col umn B, eight months in 
column C, and all 12 months of interest in col umn D.

Example 2: Medical expenses claimed as medical de duc tions 
gen er al ly are not incurred evenly throughout the tax year. 
For ex am ple, Jill made deductible payments on a hos pi tal 
bill in 2005. She made a payment of $990 in April, another 
of $1,995 in June, and the fi nal payment of $2,271 in October. 
(All amounts are af ter the 7.5 percent federal AGI lim i ta tion.) 
Jill will enter the $990 pay ment in column B. The April pay-
 ment plus the June $1,995 pay ment (totaling $2,985) will go 
in col umn C. In col umn D, she will enter $5,256, the total 
de duct ible amount of all three pay ments.

7

Continued from page 4...
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 Telephone

Salem .............................................................. 503-378-4988

Toll-free from Or e gon prefi x ................... 1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to:

• Check on the sta tus of your 2005
   personal  in come tax re fund 
   (beginning February 1).
• Order tax forms.
• Hear re cord ed tax information.

For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers above:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday.............................7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday.......................................................................10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Closed on holidays.

April 3–April 17, Monday–Friday ................................7:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15..............................................................7:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary.

Asistencia en español:
    Salem................................................................ 503-945-8618
    Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon........................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
    Salem................................................................ 503-945-8617
    Toll-free from Oregon prefi x......................1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats.

Internet
www.oregon.gov/DOR

• Download forms and publications
• Get up-to-date tax information
• E-mail: questions.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure and con-
fidentiality cannot be ensured. General tax 
and policy questions only.

Correspondence

Write to: Oregon Department of Revenue, 955 
Cen ter St NE, Sa lem OR 97301-2555. Include 
your So cial Se cu ri ty num ber and a day time tele-
 phone num ber for fast er service. 

Field offi ces
Get forms and assistance at these offi ces. Don’t send your 
return to these ad dress es.
Bend 951 SW Simpson Avenue, Suite 100

Eugene 1600 Valley River Drive, Suite 310

Gresham 1550 NW Eastman Parkway, Suite 220

Medford 24 West 6th Street

Newport 119 NE 4th Street, Suite 4

North Bend 3030 Broadway

Pendleton 700 SE Emigrant Ave, Suite 310

Portland 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 505

Salem Revenue Building,  955 Center Street NE, Room 135

Salem 4275 Com mer cial Street SE, Suite 180

Tualatin 6405 SW Rosewood Street, Suite A

Taxpayer assistance

 To get forms
Income tax booklets are available at many post of fic es, 
banks, and libraries. For book lets and other forms and pub li -
ca tions, you can also access our Web site, order by tele phone, 
or write to: Forms, Or e gon Department of Revenue, PO Box 
14999, Salem OR 97309-0990. 

150-101-031 (Rev. 12-05) 

Line 14. If you are married fi ling separately, and your spouse 
item iz es deductions, the amount on this line is -0-. You must 
item ize your deductions.

Line 18. Use the tax tables or tax rate chart in your 2005 Or e -
gon income tax book let. Line 17 is your an nu al ized Or e gon 
tax able in come for each column.

Line 20. Enter credit amounts that apply only to each pe ri od.

Example: Sam installed a residential alternative energy 
de vice on Sep tem ber 4. He qualifi es for a credit of $160. Sam 
in cludes $160 in column D only.

Estimating your 2006 tax payments
You can use the Annualized Income Worksheet as a guide 
to compute your 2006 annualized estimated tax payments. 

8

Follow the instructions provided for the worksheet. When 
completing the worksheet, be sure to use the 2006 fi gures for 
the Oregon exemption credit, federal tax subtraction, and tax 
rate charts. You can fi nd these in our publication, Oregon 2006 
Instructions for Estimated Income Tax and Form 40-ESV Payment 
Voucher. To order, see this page for numbers to call.

When completing the Annualized Income Worksheet, line 25, 
enter all previous 2006 estimated tax payments in columns B, 
C, and D. Do not complete the worksheet past line 26. This 
is your required estimated tax payment for each period of 
2006. Questions? See below for numbers to call.
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Use this form to report Oregon business or investment prop-
erty exchanged for property of a like kind (IRC Sec tion 1031 
or Section 1033) if the acquired property is located outside 
of Oregon. This includes both real and personal prop erty 
exchanged.

In the tax year that you transferred property to another party 
in a like-kind exchange, you must fi le Form 24. If you made 
more than one like-kind exchange, report each exchange on 
a separate Form 24. Or you may fi le one sum mary Form 24 
and attach your own statement showing all the information 
requested on Form 24 for each property.

Individual fi lers: Attach this form to your Oregon income tax 
return (Form 40, Form 40N, or Form 40P) and check the box 
“You fi led an Oregon Form 24” on line 7 of your tax return.

FORM

24
OREGON LIKE-KIND

EXCHANGES/INVOL UNTARY
CONVERSIONS

For Tax Year For Offi ce Use Only
Date Received

Taxpayer Name(s)

Taxpayer Street Address

State

Social Security Number(s)

Federal Employer Identifi cation Number

Oregon Business Identifi cation NumberZIP CodeCity

2. Address (if applicable) and description of the property received (include street, city, state, and county)

Provide the following information on the like-kind exchange:

1. Address (if applicable) and description of the Oregon property given up (include street, city, state, and county)

3. Month, day, and year you actually  
   transferred your Oregon property to the other party ..............................................

4. Month, day, and year you actually 
   received the property from the other party.............................................................

5. Realized gain (or loss) on Oregon property from line 19 or line 32 of federal Form 8824...........................

6. Recognized gain on Oregon property from line 23 or line 36 of federal Form 8824....................................

7. Deferred gain (or loss) on Oregon property from line 24 or line 37 of federal Form 8824...........................  

Remember: The deferred gain (or loss) must be reported to Oregon upon the disposition of the replacement property.

—Attach this form to the back of your Oregon return and check the appropriate box on the return—

150-800-734 (Rev. 12-04) 

/         /

/         /

Corporation fi lers: Attach this form to the back of your 
Oregon corporation return (Form 20, Form 20-I, or Form 
20S) and check the box “Form 24 is attached.”

Partnership fi lers: Attach this form to the back of your Oregon 
partnership return (Form 65) and check the box “Form 24 is 
attached.”

Trust/Estate filers: Attach this form to the back of your 
Oregon fi duciary return (Form 41) and check the box “Form 
24 is attached.” 

If you have questions about completing this form, please 
refer to your tax booklet for telephone numbers and ad-
dresses of Or egon Department of Revenue offi ces where 
you may get help.
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1. Total income tax liability for 2005. This is the amount you expect to enter  
 on Form 40, line 42; Form 40S, line 19; Form 40N, line 60; or Form 40P, line 60 ........................ 1

2. Total income tax payments for 2005 (withholding, estimated payments, 
and working family child care credit) ............................................................................................. 2

 If the amount on line 2 is more than the amount on line 1, you do not owe Oregon tax. 

 If the amount on line 1 is more than the amount on line 2, continue to line 3. 

3.Tax to pay with extension. Line 1 minus line 2. Enter the result here
 and in the “Enter Payment Amount” box on Form 40-EXT below ................................................. 3

Keep your completed tax payment worksheet with your records. Do not mail the worksheet to the department.

APPLICATION FOR AUTOMATIC 
EXTENSION OF TIME TO FILE OREGON 

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURN

FORM

40-EXT
150-101-165 (Rev. 12-05)

Enter Payment Amount

$ . 0 0

Department of Revenue Use Only

•

State ZIP code

or Fiscal Year Ending

Last name First name and initial

Spouse’s last name if joint payment Spouse’s first name and initial 

Current mailing address City

First time fi ler New name/address Telephone Number

SSN or BIN

Spouse's SSN if joint payment

APPLICATION FOR AUTOMATIC
EXTENSION OF TIME TO FILE OREGON

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURN 2005
FORM

40-EXT
Note to fi scal year taxpayers: File Form 40-EXT by the regular due date of your return.

Use Form 40-EXT to apply for an automatic six month 
extension of time to fi le your Oregon return. Please note 
that all federal extensions of time to fi le individual income 
tax returns will be honored as valid Oregon extensions. 
If you received a federal automatic six month extension 
(federal Form 4868), do not use Oregon Form 40-EXT 
unless you owe Oregon tax for 2005. Complete Oregon 
Form 40-EXT only if: 
• You owe Oregon tax for 2005 and you cannot fi le your 

2005 Oregon return by April 17, 2006; or
• You are fi ling an extension for Oregon only.  

Complete the tax payment worksheet below to determine if 
you owe Oregon tax for 2005. If you owe Oregon tax, the tax
must be paid by April 17, 2006. 

An extension of time to fi le your return is not an extension 
of time to pay your tax. If you do not pay all of the tax due 
with your extension, you will owe interest on the unpaid 
balance after April 17, 2006, until the date of your payment. 
The 2006 interest rate is 7 percent per year. You may also owe 
a late payment penalty. See "Penalties and interest" on page 2.

To apply for an automatic six month Oregon extension, 
fi le Form 40-EXT by April 17, 2006. If you are a fi scal year 
taxpayer, file Form 40-EXT by the regular due date of 
your return. Enter your name(s), Social Security number(s), 
and address on Form 40-EXT below. Detach and mail Form 
40-EXT to the department’s extension clerk. For general 
instructions and the extension clerk’s mailing address, see 
page 2. 

TAX PAYMENT WORKSHEET

150-101-165 (Rev. 12-05) 

Detach Here Detach Here

For Tax Year 

2005
Check if fi ling Form MNR

00

00

00
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Form 40-EXT General Instructions
If you owe Oregon tax for 2005 and need additional time to 
fi le your Oregon return, complete Form 40-EXT. Detach and 
mail Form 40-EXT along with your check or money order to 
the department’s extension clerk by April 17, 2006. If you 
are paying the tax with a credit card, complete Form 40-EXT 
and write “credit card payment” directly above the payment 
amount box before mailing your extension request. Be sure 
to check box 7b on your Oregon return when you fi le. Do 
not attach a copy of the extension to your Oregon return. 
Keep a copy of your Oregon extension with your records.

If you do not owe Oregon tax for 2005 and you have a fed-
eral extension, do not complete Form 40-EXT. Oregon will 
allow you the same extension. Be sure to check box 7b on 
your Oregon return when you fi le. Do not attach a copy of 
the federal extension to your Oregon return. Keep a copy of 
your federal extension with your records.

If you do not owe Oregon tax for 2005 but you need addi-
tional time to fi le your Oregon return and you do not have 
a federal extension, you do not need to complete Form 
40-EXT. You have three years from the original due date of 
April 17, 2006 to fi le your return and claim a refund. There 
is no late fi ling penalty for a refund return. However, if there 
is a possibility you could owe Oregon tax for 2005, complete 
Form 40-EXT as a precaution against a late fi ling penalty. See 
"Penalties and interest" on this page. Fill out Form 40-EXT 
and enter -0- in the payment amount box. Detach and mail 
Form 40-EXT to the department’s extension clerk by April 
17, 2006. Be sure to check box 7b on your Oregon return 
when you fi le. Do not attach a copy of the extension to your 
Oregon return. Keep a copy of your Oregon extension with 
your records.   

Were you stationed in a designated combat zone? Did you 
receive additional time to fi le your 2005 federal return and 
pay your 2005 federal tax? If so, Oregon allows you the same 
additional time to fi le and pay. Write “Combat zone” in blue 
or black ink at the top of your return when you fi le. 

Are you fi ling an extension for a Multiple Nonresident 
(MNR) return? If so, be sure to check the Form MNR box. 
Enter the entity’s name in the last name fi eld and the Oregon 

business identifi cation number (BIN) in the SSN fi eld. Do not
enter the federal employer identifi cation number (FEIN).

Penalties and interest. If you do not pay at least 90 percent 
of your total tax liability by April 17, 2006, a 5 percent late 
payment penalty plus interest may be added to your tax due. 
If you do not fi le your return within three months after the 
due date of the return, including extensions, a 20 percent late 
fi ling penalty plus interest may be added. 

Payments. If you are sending a tax payment, make your 
check or money order payable to “Oregon Department of 
Revenue.” Be sure to write your daytime telephone number 
and “2005 40-EXT” on your check or money order. To help 
us speed the processing of your request, please use blue or 
black ball point ink. Do not use gel ink or the color red, and 
do not postdate your check. Detach and mail Form 40-EXT 
along with your check or money order to the department’s 
extension clerk by April 17, 2006.

Credit card payments. You can pay your 2005 tax through 
a third-party service provider using your Visa, MasterCard, 
or Discover credit card. Contact one of the service providers 
listed below. The service provider will charge you a conve-
nience fee based on the amount of your tax payment. The 
convenience fee, terms, and conditions may vary among 
providers. If you accept the credit card transaction, you will 
receive a confi rmation number. Please keep this confi rmation 
number as proof of payment. Choose one of the following 
service providers: 

• Link2Gov Corporation. Visit their Web site at www. 
ortaxpayment.com.

• Offi cial Payments Corporation. Call 1-866-720-1327, or 
visit their Web site at www.offi cialpayments.com.

If you are paying the tax with a credit card, complete Form 
40-EXT and write “credit card payment” directly above the 
payment amount box. Detach and mail Form 40-EXT to the 
department’s extension clerk by April 17, 2006. Mail to:  

Extension Clerk
 Oregon Department of Revenue
 PO Box 14950
 Salem  OR  97309-0980

150-101-165 (Rev. 12-05) 
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These instructions aren’t a complete statement of laws and 
Department of Revenue rules. Contact the department if 
you need more information. See page 8.

What is estimated tax?
Estimated tax is the amount of tax you expect to owe when 
you file your 2006 Oregon in come tax return.

Additional withholding

Estimated tax payments aren’t a substitute for with hold-
 ing. If you don’t have enough Oregon tax with held from 
your wages, ask your employer to increase your Or e gon 
with hold ing. You may change your Or e gon with hold ing 
with out changing your federal with hold ing. File a new 
fed er al Form W-4 (Employee’s With hold ing Al low ance 

Cer tif i cate) with your em ploy er and label it “For Oregon 
only.”

Order our publication, “Oregon Income Tax With hold ing: 
Some Special Cas es,” to help figure the amount of tax to be 
with held from your wages. See page 8.

Who must make estimated tax payments?
You must make estimated tax payments if:

• You expect to owe $1,000 or more when you file your 2006 
Oregon income tax return, and

• The total amount of income tax you expect to be with held 
from your 2006 income will not equal or exceed at least 
one of the following:

   — 90 percent of the net income tax to be shown on your 
2006 in come tax return, or

   — 100 percent of the net income tax shown on your 2005 
in come tax return or

   — 90 percent of the tax on your 2006 annualized 
in come.

You can still make estimated tax payments even if you 
expect to owe less than $1,000.

Retirees

If you are retired or will retire soon, you may need to make 
estimated tax payments or have Or e gon income tax with-
held from your retirement income. Contact the pay er of this 
income to see if this is pos si ble.

WHEN ARE YOUR ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENTS DUE?

First Quarter                                       Second Quarter Third Quarter                                     Fourth Quarter
Payment Is Due                                    Payment Is Due Payment Is Due                                   Payment Is Due

Monday                          Thursday Friday                             Tuesday
April 17, 2006                     June 15, 2006 September 15, 2006          January 16, 2007
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Eligible fed er al retirees who worked for and re tired from 
the U.S. government prior to October 1, 1991 do not need 
to make estimated tax payments to Or e gon on their fed er al 
pensions. How ev er, federal re tir ees should con tin ue to 
make estimated tax pay ments if they re ceive in come from 
other sources.

Federal retirees with service time both before and after 
October 1, 1991 must continue to pay tax on that por tion of 
their federal pension based on their service after October 
1, 1991.

If you will be age 62 or older on December 31, 2006, you 
may qual i fy for the re tire ment in come credit.

Nonresidents and part-year residents

Nonresidents figure Oregon estimated tax only on:

• Income that is subject to Oregon tax; or
• Income from conducting a trade or business within 

Or e gon; or
• Oregon lottery single ticket winnings under $5,000. (Note: 

single ticket winnings of $5,000 or more are subject to 
Oregon withholding.)

Federal law prohibits Oregon from taxing retirement income 
received by a person who is not domiciled in Or e gon.

In most cases you must make Oregon estimated tax pay-
 ments if you ex pect to owe $1,000 or more in tax on your 
in come from Or e gon sources. 

The amount of your payment is based on the tax you com-
pute using one of the methods shown on page 3. Use your 
2005 Form 40N or Form 40P as a guide to es ti mate your 
2006 Oregon income tax. Use the worksheet on page 5 to 
compute the amount you owe. Follow the same instructions 
for filing Form 40-ESV and paying es ti mat ed tax as full-year 
residents do.

S corporation, limited liability company (LLC), or part-
 ner ship income. If you are a shareholder in an S corpora-
tion, a member of an LLC, or a partner in a partnership 
with income from Oregon sources, you may need to make 
estimated tax payments.

• Nonresidents. You are subject to Oregon tax on your share 
of the Oregon income reported by the S cor po ra tion, LLC, 
or partnership. You are also subject to Oregon tax on any 
guaranteed payments you re ceive from the partnership. 
The payments are apportioned using the partnership’s 
apportionment percentage.

• Part-year residents. Generally, for the part of the year you 
were a nonresident, you are subject to Or e gon tax on your 
share of the Oregon income and guaranteed payments 
reported by the S cor po ra tion, LLC, or part ner ship. For 
the part of the year you were a res i dent, you are sub ject to 
Or e gon tax on your share of all the S cor po ra tion, LLC, or 
partnership income. For more in for ma tion, see page 8.

Fiduciaries

Don’t file Form 40-ESV. You don’t need to make es ti mat ed 
tax payments on behalf of an estate or trust. 

Farmers and commercial fishers

Most farmers and fishers won’t need to make es ti mat ed tax 
payments. But you must file Form 10 to show you qual i fy 
as a farmer or fisher.

To determine if you need to make estimated tax pay ments,
fig ure both your 2005 gross income and your 2006 es ti-
 mat ed gross income.

If two-thirds of your total 2005 gross in come or two-
thirds of your total 2006 estimated gross income is from 
farm ing or fish ing, you don’t need to make es ti mat ed tax 
payments.

Farmers. Use the amounts on the following lines to 
de ter mine your gross income from farming:

• Federal Schedule F, line 11.
• Federal Schedule E, line 42.
• Federal Form 4797, line 20. Include only gains from sale 

of draft, breed ing, sporting or dairy livestock. 

Farm income averaging is available for 2006. Visit our Web 
site to download a farm income averaging form (FIA-40, 
FIA-40N, or FIA-40P) and instructions. Or, to order, see 
page 8.

Commercial Fishers. Use the amounts on the fol low ing lines 
to determine your gross income from com mer cial fishing:

• Federal Schedule C, line 5.
• Federal Schedule C-EZ, line 1.
• Federal Schedule E, line 42.

File Form 10, “Underpayment of Oregon Estimated Tax,” 
to show you qualify as a farmer or fisher. File the form with 
your 2006 Oregon income tax return. Your 2006 Or e gon 
return is due April 16, 2007. To get Form 10 and instructions, 
see page 8.

When are 2006 estimated 
income tax payments due?

Calendar-year taxpayers

You may pay your total 2006 estimated Oregon in come tax 
by April 17, 2006, or you may divide your es ti mat ed tax into 
four payments.

2006 estimated tax due dates

First payment—due April 17, 2006.
Second payment—due June 15, 2006.
Third payment—due September 15, 2006.
Fourth payment—due January 16, 2007.

If you find you still owe more income tax, pay the bal ance 
by April 16, 2007. This is true even if you get an ex ten sion to 
file your tax return. You may owe interest on an underpay-
ment. See page 6.

Fiscal-year taxpayers

Pay one-fourth of your Oregon estimated tax on the 
15th day of the fourth, sixth, and ninth months of your tax 

2/Payment due dates
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year. The last payment is due 15 days after the end of your 
tax year. If your payment due date falls on a Saturday, Sun-
 day, or legal holiday, use the next regular work day.

If you are a fiscal-year taxpayer, write in the date your fis cal 
year ends in blue or black ink on Form 40-ESV.

Special cases

You don’t need to make the fourth payment (Jan u ary 16, 
2007) if:

• You file your 2006 Oregon individual income tax 
return on or before January 31, 2007, and

• You pay all tax due with your return.

You still must make estimated tax payments on the ear li er 
three pay ment dates. 

Form 40-ESV instructions

Obtaining the form

• “Personalized” forms. If you prepared your own Oregon 
income tax return last year, you may have re ceived these 
instructions and forms at your home or busi ness ad dress. 
The forms are print ed with your name, ad dress, and 
So cial Se cu ri ty num ber. 

   Use your personalized forms if you re ceive them so we 
can process your estimated tax pay ments fast er. If some-
one else prepares your es ti mat ed tax forms, ask them to 
use your per son al ized forms.

•“Nonpersonalized” forms don’t have printed names or 
other personal information. They are used by peo ple who 
haven’t filed estimated tax pay ments be fore.

• Tax preparer. Your preparer may have tax software that 
will prepare your forms.

Do not use forms from a prior year. 

Filling out the form

Please use blue or black ink to cor rect any er rors. Do not use 
red ink to fill out this form. 

If your name is printed on Form 40-ESV. Check your name, 
address, and Social Security number for accuracy. Also check 
your spouse’s name and Social Se cu ri ty num ber if filing jointly. 

If your name isn’t printed on Form 40-ESV. Check the box 
for the quarterly payment you are making. If you are a fiscal 
year taxpayer, print the date your fiscal year ends. Check the 
box if you are filing Form MNR, if you are a first time filer, 
or your name or address has changed. Print your daytime 
telephone number. Print your last name, first name, and 
So cial Security number, or the entity’s name and Oregon 
business identification number (BIN). Print your spouse’s 
last name, first name, and Social Security number only if 
you are filing a joint Form 40-ESV. Print your full address 
and enter the payment amount in the boxes provided.

Important: Double-check your Social Security num ber to 
make sure it’s correct. We need your Social Se cu ri ty number 
to credit your payment to your ac count. The request for 

your Social Security number(s) is au tho rized by Section 405, 
Title 42, of the United States Code.

Filing joint payments

You may file a joint estimated tax Form 40-ESV unless:

• You or your spouse are nonresident aliens, or
• You are legally separated, or
• You and your spouse have different tax years. For 

example, you use a calendar year and your spouse uses 
a fiscal year. 

If you file a joint estimated tax Form 40-ESV, the pay-
 ment is con sid ered to be joint, regardless of which spouse 
actually sent in the money.

Filing separate payments

If you received joint personalized payment vouchers but 
want to make payments under your name only, cross out 
your spouse’s name and Social Security number.

You may file separate 2006 Oregon income tax returns 
even if you file a joint Form 40-ESV. If you file separate 
in come tax returns after filing a joint Form 40-ESV, you
and your spouse should decide who will claim the 
es ti mat ed tax jointly paid. You may divide the estimated 
tax between you, or agree that one of you will claim the 
entire amount. If you and your spouse can’t agree, your 
estimated tax generally will be divided based on your sepa-
rate tax liabilities.

Note: If you expect to file separate tax returns, file Form 
40-ESV separately. This will speed the processing of your 
returns. 

Methods of computing estimated tax

• Meth od 1—Es ti mat ed 2006 tax—90 per cent of your 
estimated 2006 net income tax. To fig ure your pay ments 
un der this method, use the appropriate worksheet.

   — Full-year resident worksheet, page 4.
    — Nonresident and part-year resident worksheet, page 5.
   Use your 2005 federal income tax return and in struc tions 

as guides to estimate your 2006 federal ad just ed gross 
income (AGI). Your 2005 federal AGI is on Form 1040, line 
37; Form 1040A, line 21; or Form 1040EZ, line 4.

   Example: Allan and Louise are married and have three 
children. Allan is self-employed. Louise works for a den-
 tist. They want to know if they must make 2006 es ti mat ed 
tax payments. They use these steps to find out:

1.   They use their 2005 federal tax return as a guide to 
es ti mate their 2006 federal AGI.

2.   Then they use their 2005 Oregon income tax return as 
a guide to figure the income, deductions, with hold ing, 
and credits they expect for 2006.

3.   They use this information to figure their 2006 Oregon 
estimated tax. Here’s how they estimate their 2006 tax 
using tax rate chart J:

Form 40-ESV instructions/3
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Estimated 2006 adjusted gross income ........     $65,567
Less estimated:
  2006 federal tax subtraction ..........  $ 5,000
  Net itemized deductions ...............     5,500
Total deductions ..............................................   – $10,500
Estimated Oregon taxable income................     $55,067
Oregon tax using the 2006 tax 
  rate chart on page 7 ......................................     $4,572
2006 exemption credit (5 × $159)...................        $795
Estimated political contribution 
  credit ...............................................................  –     $100
Oregon tax after credits..................................     $3,677
Multiply their tax after
  credits by 90% (.90).......................................  × .90
Total...................................................................     $3,309
Less: tax Louise expects to be
  withheld from her wages.............................  –     $741
Estimated tax payment
  required for 2006...........................................     $2,568

This amount is more than $1,000. Allan and Louise must 
make estimated tax payments for 2006. They must complete 
Form 40-ESV and make minimum payments of $642 ($2,568 
÷ 4 = $642) by each payment due date.

• Method 2—Safe harbor 2005 tax—100 per cent of the net 
tax (tax after credits) shown on your 2005 in come tax 
re turn. Your 2005 return must be filed on time, in clud ing 
ex ten sions. Pay 25 per cent of your 2005 net in come tax by 
each es ti mat ed tax payment due date. You can’t use this 
meth od if you didn’t file a 2005 re turn. Your 2005 Oregon 
income tax return must not have been a short-year return 
for accounting pur pos es. You may use this meth od if you 
were a part-year res i dent in 2005.

• Method 3—Annualized 2006 tax—90 percent of your 2006 
an nu al ized net income tax. If you receive a larg er por tion 
of your tax able income later in the year, you may an nu -
al ize your in come to figure your estimated tax pay ments. 
Use the an nu al ized income work sheet on the 2005 Oregon 
Form 10 as a guide to figure your estimated tax payments 
under this method. When completing the annualized in-
come worksheet, read the instructions carefully and be 
sure to use 2006 figures for the Oregon exemption credit, 
federal tax subtraction, and tax rate charts. Stop at line 
26 when completing the annualized income worksheet. 
These are your required estimated tax payments for 2006. 
For line 25 in columns B, C, and D, enter all previous 2006 
estimated tax payments made. To order Form 10, see page 8.

4/Full-year resident worksheet

Full-year resident filers
Estimated tax worksheet

Keep this worksheet for your records

    1.  Federal adjusted gross income you ex pect in 2006..............................................................    1.  __________
    2.  Oregon additions you expect in 2006 ....................................................................................    2.  __________
    3.  Income after additions. Line 1 plus line 2.............................................................................    3.  __________
    4.  Oregon subtractions you expect in 2006 ...............................................................................    4.  <________>
    5.  Income after subtractions. Line 3 minus line 4 ....................................................................    5.  __________
    6.  Itemized or standard deductions you expect in 2006 .........................................................    6.  <________>
    7.  Oregon taxable income you expect in 2006. Line 5 minus line 6.......................................    7.  __________
    8.  2006 Oregon estimated income tax. Use the 2006 tax rate chart on 
         page 7 to figure the tax on the amount on line 7 .................................................................    8.  __________
    9.  2006 exemption credit ($159 × number of exemptions) ......................................................    9.  __________
  10.  Oregon tax credits you expect for 2006 (include working family child care credit).......  10.  __________
  11.  Line 9 plus line 10 ....................................................................................................................  11.  __________
  12.  Line 8 minus line 11 (not less than -0-) ..................................................................................  12.  __________
13a.  Mul ti ply line 12 by 90% (.90). If you did not file a 2005 return, enter 

the amount from line 13a directly on line 13c ................................................................... 13a.  __________
13b.  Enter 100% of the tax shown on your 2005 return .............................................................. 13b. __________
13c.  Enter the smaller of line 13a or 13b. This is your required annual
         payment to avoid underpayment interest ......................................................................... 13c.  __________
  14.  Oregon income tax you expect withheld from your wages and/or 
         pension in 2006 .........................................................................................................................  14.  <________>
  15.  Annual payment. Line 13c minus line 14..............................................................................  15.  __________
  16.  Amount you owe on each payment date. See ta ble below. Round to nearest dollar .....  16.  ________.00

If you first need to                                 Then fill in on line 16 of
                                      pay estimated tax on:                            this worksheet:

                                      April 17, 2006                                          1⁄4 of line 15 (make 4 pay ments)
                                      June 15, 2006                                            1⁄3 of line 15 (make 3 pay ments)
                                      September 15, 2006                                 1⁄2 of line 15 (make 2 payments)
                                      January 16, 2007                                      All of line 15 (pay in full)
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Nonresident and part-year resident filers
Estimated tax worksheet

Keep this worksheet for your records

    1.  2006 Oregon estimated income tax from the 2006 tax rate chart. 
         Use your 2005 Oregon and federal income tax returns and 
         instructions as guides ..............................................................................................................    1. __________

    2.  Oregon income tax credits you expect for 2006. On a separate 
         sheet, multiply your cred its by your Oregon per cent age (if required).
         Refer to the Oregon in come tax return in struc tions. Enter your 
         total allowable tax credits here (include working family child care credit) ....................    2.  <________>

    3.  Line 1 minus line 2 (not less than -0-)....................................................................................    3. __________

  4a.  Mul ti ply line 3 by 90% (.90). If you did not file a 2005 Oregon return, 
enter the amount from line 4a directly on line 4c. ............................................................  4a. __________

 4b.  Enter 100% of the tax shown on your 2005 Oregon return ...............................................  4b. __________

  4c.  Enter the smaller of line 4a or 4b. This is your required annual
payment to avoid underpayment interest .........................................................................  4c. __________

    5.  Oregon income tax you expect to be withheld from your wages and/or 
         pension in 2006 .........................................................................................................................    5.  <________>

    6.  Annual payment. Line 4c minus line 5..................................................................................    6. __________

    7.  Amount you owe on each payment date. See ta ble below. Round to 
         the nearest dollar ......................................................................................................................    7.  _______.00

If you first need to                                 Then fill in on line 7 of
                                      pay estimated tax on:                            this worksheet:

                                      April 17, 2006                                          1⁄4 of line 6 (make 4 payments)
                                      June 15, 2006                                            1⁄3 of line 6 (make 3 payments)
                                      September 15, 2006                                 1⁄2 of line 6 (make 2 payments)
                                      January 16, 2007                                      All of line 6 (pay in full)

Nonresident and part-year resident worksheet/Paying estimated tax/5

Paying estimated tax

Applying your 2005 refund

You may apply your 2005 refund to your 2006 es ti mat ed 
tax ac count. Your re fund will be ap plied to your first pay-
 ment pe ri od if you file your 2005 re turn by the due date 
(in clud ing extensions). Be sure to mark the ex ten sion box 
on your Form 40 if you filed an ex ten sion. You can’t ap ply 
your refund if you file Form 40S.

Show the amount of refund you want applied to your 2006 
estimated tax on your 2005 Form 40, line 54; 2005 Form 40N, 
line 72; or 2005 Form 40P, line 72. 

Note: Does the refund amount you’re applying cover 
the payment due? If so, you don’t need to make a pay-
 ment for the first period. If your refund is reduced, the 
Oregon Department of Revenue will notify you. You may 
need to make a pay ment for the difference. Do so im me -
di ate ly to avoid underpayment interest.

Sending your payment

• Fill in the amount of your payment on Form 40-ESV. 
Round your pay ment to the near est dol lar. Your pay ment 

is the amount you figured using one of the meth ods on 
pages 3 and 4, minus any amount of your 2005 Oregon 
income tax refund you asked to have applied to your 2006 
estimated tax ac count.

• Enclose your pay ment.

• To help us speed processing, we ask that you do not 
use red ink. Please use blue or black ink to fill out your 
vouchers and checks. Our equip ment can not read oth er 
col ors. 

• Make your check pay able to Or e gon Department of 
Rev e nue. 

• Write your daytime telephone number and “2006 
40-ESV” on your check. 

• Do not send cash or post dat ed checks. 

• Don’t sta ple your check to Form 40-ESV.

Send your 2006 Form 40-ESV and payment sep a rate from 
your 2005 income tax return. Do not mail them together.

Note: If paying by credit card, do not use Form 40-ESV. Visit 
our Web site or contact the department for more information 
about credit card payments. See page 8.
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When income changes during the year

If your expected income, deductions, or credits change after 
April 1, 2006, you may need to begin making es ti mat ed tax 
payments at a later date. 

If your expected income or deductions change after you 
made your first payment you may need to refigure your 
2006 es ti mat ed tax.

Estimated meth od. Use the new in come or de duc tions and 
the appropriate worksheet on page 4 or 5.

Safe har bor method. You generally will not revise your 
pay ments if you are using this method.

Annualized method. Use the annualized income worksheet 
on Oregon Form 10. To order Form 10, see page 8.

Then use the amended estimated tax worksheet below to 
fig ure how much to pay. On Form 40-ESV fill in the amount 
from line 5 of the worksheet.

Amended estimated tax worksheet

1. Amended annual payment required  ....... 1.__________

2. 2006 estimated tax already paid,
    including refunds applied on
    previous payment dates ............................ 2.__________

3. Unpaid estimated tax
    (line 1 minus line 2).................................... 3.__________

4. Number of remaining payment dates ...... 4.__________

5. Amount of each remaining pay ment
    (line 3 divided by line 4)............................ 5.__________

Then the first
estimated tax

  If the change occurs:                       payment is due:

  • after April 1 and                      June 15, 2006      before June 2, 2006

  • after June 1 and before           September 15, 2006      September 2, 2006

  • after September 1, 2006          January 16, 2007

Does the due date of my 
income tax return change?

No. File your 2006 Oregon income tax return by April 16, 
2007, as usual.

Late payments

Your Form 40-ESV with payment must be postmarked by 
the due date to be considered on time.

If you pay late, you may owe interest for late pay ment when 
you file your 2006 Oregon income tax re turn. See “In ter est on 
underpayment of estimated tax” in the next column.

If you underpaid in an earlier payment period, pay the dif-
ference now to reduce interest charges. Don’t wait un til the 
next payment due date. We apply payments first to un der -
pay ments from earlier periods.

Example: The June 15 payment is first applied to any 
underpayment for the first payment period. The bal ance 
of the June payment is then applied to the second pay ment 
period.

Interest is charged until the underpayment is paid or until 
April 16, 2007, whichever comes first.

Important: You must file your 2006 income tax return be fore 
we can refund any estimated payments.

Interest on underpayment
 of estimated tax
You will have an underpayment for 2006 if you pay less 
than:

• 90 percent of the tax to be shown on your 2006 income 
tax return (at least one-fourth on each pay ment due date), 
or

• 100 percent of the tax shown on your 2005 income tax 
return (at least one-fourth on each payment due date), 
or

• 90 percent of the tax figured on your 2006 an nu al ized 
in come.

You will be charged interest on the underpayment. 
To figure the amount of interest, complete Form 10, 
“Underpayment of Oregon Estimated Tax.” File Form 10 
with your 2006 Oregon income tax return. Pay the interest 
when you file your 2006 Oregon income tax return. To order 
Form 10 and instructions, see page 8.

The interest rate is 7 percent for interest periods be gin ning 
on or after January 1, 2006. The in ter est rate may change 
once a cal en dar year. 

Keep records
If you received a personalized 40-ESV voucher, there are 
stubs for your records. On the Form 40-ESV stub, fill in: 

• Amount of payment due. That’s the amount of 2006 
estimated tax you figured using the methods on pag es 3 
and 4. 

• Amount of your 2005 Oregon income tax re fund you’re 
applying to this payment. The total re fund can’t be more 
than the amount shown on your tax return. Gen er al ly, 
your 2005 refund will be applied only to your first quarter 
payment. Fill in -0- for the remaining quar ters.

• Your payment. Subtract box 2 from box 1. This is the 
amount of your check for this payment date.

• Total paid to date. Write in your 2006 estimated tax pay-
 ments (from box 3 of each payment stub to date) plus
total re fund amounts applied (box 2 of each pay ment 
stub to date).

• Date mailed. 

6/Interest on underpayment of estimated tax
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Tax rate charts/7

Tax rate
charts 

for
computing

2006
Oregon 

estimated tax

Tax rate chart S:

For persons filing Single, or Married filing separately
If your taxable income is:                                     Your tax is:

Not over $2,750......................................................    5% of taxable income

Over $2,750 but not over $6,850 .....................    $138 plus 7% of excess over $2,750

Over $6,850 .............................................................    $425 plus 9% of excess over $6,850

Tax rate chart J:

For persons filing Jointly, Head of household,
or Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child
If your taxable income is:                                     Your tax is:

Not over $5,500......................................................    5% of taxable income

Over $5,500 but not over $13,700...................    $275 plus 7% of excess over $5,500

Over $13,700...........................................................    $849 plus 9% of excess over $13,700

Caution:  The tax rates change because of inflation. Use this rate chart for figuring your 2006 estimated tax. 
Don’t use a 2005 rate chart. 

Keep this stub for your records.

Send the original Form 40-ESV to us. Fill in only the infor-
mation requested. Don’t send us photocopies of the per son -
al ized forms. Keep copies for your records. 

Where do I send my payments?
Mail your es ti mat ed tax pay ment and Form 40-ESV to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
 PO Box 14950
 Salem OR 97309-0950

2006 Federal Tax Subtraction........................................ $5,000 ($2,500 if married filing separately)
2006 Exemption Credit.................................................... $159
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8/How to get help 150-101-026 (Rev. 12-05) 

Internet

www.oregon.gov/DOR
• Download forms and publications
• Get up-to-date tax information
• E-mail: questions.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure and con-
fidentiality cannot be ensured. General 
tax and policy questions only.

Correspondence
Write to: Oregon Department of Revenue, 955 
Cen ter St NE, Sa lem OR 97301-2555. Include 
your So cial Se cu ri ty num ber and a day time 
tele phone num ber for fast er ser vice.

Telephone

Salem ...............................................................503-378-4988
Toll-free from Oregon prefix...................... 1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to:
• Check on the status of your 2005 

personal income tax refund 
(beginning February 1).

• Order tax forms.
• Hear recorded tax information.
For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers above:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday.................7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday .......................................................... 10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Closed on holidays.
April 3–April 17, Monday–Friday.....................7:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15..................................................9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary.

Asistencia en español:
    Salem............................................................... 503-945-8618
    Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon ......................1-800-356-4222
TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
    Salem............................................................... 503-945-8617
    Toll-free from Oregon prefi x ....................1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats.

Field offices

Get forms and assistance at these offices. Do not send your 
return to these addresses.

Bend 951 SW Simpson Avenue, Suite 100
Eugene 1600 Valley River Drive, Suite 310
Gresham 1550 NW Eastman Parkway, Suite 220
Medford 24 W 6th Street 
Newport 119 NE 4th Street, Suite 4
North Bend 3030 Broadway
Pendleton 700 SE Emigrant, Suite 310
Portland 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 505
Salem Revenue Building, 955 Center Street NE, Room 135
Salem 4275 Commercial Street SE, Suite 180
Tualatin 6405 SW Rosewood Street, Suite A

Check individual boxes to order. Complete name and address sec tion. Clip 
on the dot ted line, then mail in the entire list to the address be low.

Forms and instructions
 Forms 40S & 40, Full-Year Resident ........................... 150-101-043

 Forms 40P & 40N, Part-Year & Nonresident ........... 150-101-045

 Form 40-EXT, Oregon Automatic Extension
and Payment Voucher ................................................... 150-101-165

Estimated Income Tax Payment Instructions 
and Vouchers................................................................150-101-026/-2

 Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon 
Estimated Tax .....................................................................150-101-031

 Oregon Amended Schedule ...................................... 150-101-061

 Form 90R, Elderly Rental Assistance ........................ 150-545-002

Oregon Depreciation Schedule ................................... 150-101-025

 Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/
Involuntary Conversions ............................................  150-800-734

 Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging 
for Full-Year Residents ....................................................150-101-160

 Form FIA-40N, 40P, and Schedule Z, Oregon 
Farm Income Averaging for Nonresidents 
and Part-Year Residents ................................................. 150-101-161

Publications
2-D Barcode Filing for Oregon ......................................150-101-631

Amtrak Act (Interstate Transportation Wages) .......... 150-101-601

Audits: What To Do if You Are Audited ...................... 150-101-607

Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Another State .......... 150-101-646

Divorce and Taxes ........................................................... 150-101-629

Electronic Filing for Oregon .......................................... 150-101-630

Estimated Income Tax .................................................... 150-101-648

Income Tax Filing Extension ......................................... 150-101-660

Interest on Tax You Owe: Computation ................... 150-800-691

Itemized Deductions Limit .............................................150-101-611

Married Persons Filing Separate Returns .................. 150-101-656

Military Personnel Filing Information ....................... 150-101-657

Record-Keeping Requirements ................................... 150-101-608

Retirement Income ......................................................... 150-101-673

Your Rights as an Oregon Taxpayer ..........................150-800-406

 List of other printed information: 
Form and Publication Order ....................................... 150-800-390

Send to: Forms, Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990

Please print
Name_____________________________________________

Address ___________________________________________

City ______________________________________________

State ___________________ ZIP Code _______________

Taxpayer assistance
Printed information (free)

Income tax booklets are available at many post of fic es, 
banks, and libraries. For booklets and other forms and 
publications, you can also access our Web site, order by 
tele phone, or return the form below.
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Enter Payment Amount

$ . 0 0

2nd Qtr: Due 6/15/06
1st Qtr: Due 4/17/06 3rd Qtr: Due 9/15/06

4th Qtr: Due 1/16/07

Department of Revenue Use Only

•
OREGON ESTIMATED INCOME TAX

PAYMENT VOUCHER
150-101-026-2 (Rev. 12-05)

FORM

40-ESV

State ZIP code

For Tax Year 

2006
or Fiscal Year Ending

First time fi ler

Last name First name and initial

Spouse’s last name if joint payment Spouse’s first name and initial 

Current mailing address City

New name/address Telephone number

SSN or BIN

Spouse's SSN if joint payment

Check if fi ling Form MNR
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Mail your payment with completed Form 40-ESV to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14950
Salem OR  97309-0950

Instructions:
• To help us speed pro cessing, we ask that 

you do not use red ink. Please use blue 
or black ink to fi ll out your vouchers and 
checks.

• Fill in your name(s) and Social Security 
number(s) or Oregon BIN. 

• Check the box if you are a fi rst time fi ler, if 
your name or address has changed since 
the last time you fi led estimated tax, or 
the payment is for a multiple nonresident 
(MNR) return.

• Fill in the amount of your payment and 
make your check or money order out 
to “Oregon Department of Revenue.”
Be sure to write your daytime telephone 
number and “2006 40-ESV” on your 
check or money or der.

• Please do not staple your check or 
money order to this voucher.

• Do not postdate your check.

146



Date Activities Started In OregonCity State ZIP Code Check if Form 
24 is attached

Check if you filed 
federal Form 8886

OREGON PARTNERSHIP
RETURN OF INCOME

Form

65 2005
For calendar year 2005 or fi scal year ending: _____________

• Please type or print clearly and answer all the questions below. No pay ment is due with this return.

Name of Partnership

Street Address

Federal Employer Identifi cation Number

Oregon Business Identifi cation Number

Check all applicable boxes:  Initial Return  Name Change  Address Change     Amended Return

Type of Entity:   Partnership  Limited Partnership  Limited Liability Co.  Limited Liability Partnership  Electing Large Partnership

1. Requirement to fi le Oregon partnership return.                                                                                            Yes     No
A. Does the partnership have income derived from sources in Oregon?...........................................................          

    B. Does the partnership have Oregon resident partners?..................................................................................          

If you answered yes to A or B, you must fi le an Oregon partnership return. Attach a complete copy of your 
federal partnership return to this return. See question 2 to see if you need to include federal Schedule K-1s.

2. Attaching copies of partners’ federal Schedule K-1s.
 A. Did the partners’ profi t/loss sharing percentages change during the year?...................................................         
 B. Were the Oregon modifi cations not divided according to each partner’s profi t sharing percentage? ...........          

 If the partnership had 10 or less partners, attach a copy of each partner’s federal K-1. 
 If you answered yes to A or B and had 10 or less partners, you must attach a summary of partner information.
 If the partnership had more than 10 partners, you must attach a summary of partner information. 
 Your summary must include each partner’s name, Social Security or federal employer identifi cation 
 number, address, and profi t/loss sharing percentage. 

3. Prior year return and fi nal return.
    A. Was a 2004 Oregon partnership return fi led?................................................................................................          
        If no, give the reason:_________________________________________________________________
        If fi led using a different name, give the name it was fi led under: ________________________________
    B. Is this the fi nal return for the partnership? .....................................................................................................            
        If yes, attach a schedule showing disposition and distribution of all partnership assets and liabilities. 

Show each asset’s adjusted basis, fair market value, sale price, or if distributed, to which partner(s).

4. Changes to a prior year partnership return during this tax year.
    A. Did an IRS audit change a prior year return during the 2005 tax year? ........................................................            
    B. Was an amended federal return fi led for a prior year? ..................................................................................            

If you answered yes to A or B, what tax year(s) were changed? ______________________. Send us a copy 
of the federal revenue agent’s report or the amended return separately from this return if not previously sent.

5. Business inside and outside of Oregon with out-of-state partners.
    A. Did the partnership have business activity both inside and outside of Oregon during the year?...................            
    B. Did the partnership have any partners who were not Oregon residents during the year?.............................            

If you answered yes to both A and B, use Oregon Schedule AP, Apportionment of Income, to fi gure your
Oregon source income. Attach the schedule to this return. See page 2 of the instructions to order forms.

6. Oregon tax credits. 
    Are any partners eligible for Oregon tax credits based on costs the partnership paid or incurred?...................            
    If yes, identify the tax credits: _____________________________________________________________

For Offi ce Use Only
Date Re ceived

150-101-065 (Rev. 12-05) 
Continued on the back of this form 
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7. Other taxing authorities.                                                                                                   Yes     No
    A. Do partnership employees perform services in the TriMet Transportation District?.......................................          
    B. Do any partners have self-employment income from the partnership in the TriMet 
        Transportation District?..................................................................................................................................          
    C. Do partnership employees perform services in the Lane Transit District? ....................................................            
    D. Do any partners have self-employment income from the partnership in the Lane Transit District? ..............          

If you answered yes to B or D, Form TM or Form LTD must be fi led by the individual partners 
or the partnership may elect to fi le on the partners' behalf.

8. Who has the partnership books? 

SCHEDULE I—Oregon modifi cations to federal partnership income passed through to partners. Attach schedules to 
explain and compute the modifi cations. Indicate which federal Schedule K-1 line item each modifi cation is for.

ADDITIONS—Items not included in federal partnership income which are taxable to Oregon.

  1. Interest on government bonds of other states .....................................................(K-1 line ___)  1
  2. Gain on property transactions not deferred for Oregon .......................................(K-1 line ___)  2             
  3. Depreciation, see instructions on page 2 for more information ...........................(K-1 line ___)  3
  4. Recognition of previously deferred capital gain ........................................................................   4
  5. Depletion in excess of property basis .......................................................................................   5
  6. Gain or loss on sale of assets when Oregon basis is different from federal basis....................   6
  7. Other additions. Identify_______________________________________________________ 7

SUBTRACTIONS—Items included in federal partnership income which are not taxable to Oregon.

  8. U.S. government interest .....................................................................................(K-1 line ___)  8
  9. Gain on property transactions already taxed by Oregon ..........................................................   9
10. Depreciation, see instructions on page 2 for more information ...........................(K-1 line ___) 10
11. Work opportunity credit ........................................................................................(K-1 line ___) 11
12. Gain or loss on sale of assets when Oregon basis is different from federal basis.................... 12
13. Other subtractions. Identify____________________________________________________ 13 

Note: Generally, a partner’s share of each Oregon modifi cation is fi gured by using the partner’s profi t/loss sharing percentage.
          A partner’s share of each modifi cation must be reported to the partner on federal Schedule K-1 or an equivalent form. 

— Attach a copy of your 2005 federal Partnership return —

2005—Form 65                                       Page 2

Name of partner who has the partnership books

Street Address City State ZIP Code

Tele phone Num ber

(        )

Tear off the instructions, attach federal Form 1065 and required 
schedules, and fi le the return on or before the 15th day of the 
     fourth month after the close of the partnership’s tax year.

Mail to:
Oregon Department of Rev enue

   PO Box 14260
   Salem OR 97309-5060

150-101-065 (Rev. 12-05) 

City State ZIP Code

Your signature Date

Street Address

X

SIGN
HERE

City State ZIP Code

Signature of preparer other than taxpayer License No.

Street Address

X
D

et
ac

h 
in

st
ru

ct
io

ns
 b

ef
or

e 
m

ai
lin

g Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including ac companying sched ules 
and statements. To the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person 
other than the taxpayer, this dec laration is based on all in formation of which the preparer has any knowledge.

 I authorize the Department of Rev-
enue to contact this preparer about 
the processing of this return. 
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O F  R E V E N U E
D E P A R T M E N T

O R E G O N

per part ner for each month the return is late or in com plete, 
up to a maximum of fi ve months. Each part ner is per son al ly 
li a ble for a portion of the pen al ty.

Individual income tax returns

A part ner ship gen er al ly is not sub ject to tax, but each 
part ner’s dis trib u tive share of net in come (or loss) and 
sep a rate ly stated items must be re port ed on that part ner’s 
in di vid u al income tax return.

Partners report their share of Oregon modifi cations on their 
Oregon Forms 40, 40N, or 40P. Increases to income go on 
the “Other ad di tions” line of the Oregon in di vid u al re turn. 
Decreases to income go on the “Oth er subtractions” line. 
La bel the line “OPM” (Oregon Partnership Modifi cations). 

Nonresident partners can choose to file an individual 
nonresident return or join together to fi le a multiple non-
resident tax return using Form 40N and Schedule MNR. The 
Oregon individual income tax booklet lists fi ling re quire -
ments for partners’ individual income tax re turns. Visit our 
Web site to download tax forms and in struc tions, or to order 
forms and instructions, see page 2.

Guaranteed payments

Guaranteed payments are treat ed as distributive shares of 
partnership income. For nonresident partners income at trib -
ut able to Or e gon sourc es is de ter mined by ap ply ing the al lo -
ca tion and ap por tion ment pro vi sions to each non res i dent’s 
en tire dis trib u tive share in clud ing guar an teed pay ments.

Oregon modifi cations to federal 
partnership income

Complete Schedule I (on the back of Form 65) to figure 
Oregon modifications to fed er al partnership income. 
Attach schedules if nec es sary to ex plain and compute the 
modifi cations.

Generally, each partner’s share of modifi cations is fi gured by 
using the profi t sharing percentage shown on that part ner’s 
fed er al Schedule K-1. Each partner’s share of the Oregon 
modifi cations must be reported on the partner’s Sched ule K-1
 or equiv a lent. Show sep a rate ly any Oregon modifi cation that 
could have a spe cial tax effect on a part ner’s in di vid u al re turn. 
The mod ifi  ca tions may be add ed to the fed er al Schedule K-1s 
and labeled “Oregon mod i fi  ca tions.” 

Gain on voluntary and involuntary conversions. Or e gon 
allows partnerships the election for their partners to de fer 
the gain on vol un tary and in vol un tary con ver sions the same 
as for fed er al purposes.

Partnerships must make the election for all con sent ing part-
 ners. Attach Form 24, Oregon Like-kind Exchanges/Involuntary 
Conversion, 150-800-734, to your Oregon Partnership Return, 
Form 65.

Which partnerships must fi le an 
Oregon partnership return?
• Every partnership having income derived from or con-

 nect ed with sources in Or e gon.
• Every partnership having one or more Oregon res i dent 

part ners. 

What must be attached to the 
Oregon partnership return?
Attach information in the following order:

• A summary of partner information, if more than 10 part ners 
at any time dur ing the year, or if you answered yes to ques-
tions 2A or 2B on Form 65 and had 10 or less partners.

• Schedule AP, Apportionment of Income, (form 150-101-
171) if you answered yes to ques tions 5A and 5B on Form 
65. To or der this schedule, see page 2.

• An Oregon Depreciation Schedule (form 150-101-025), if 
Oregon depreciation differs from fed er al de pre ci a tion.

• If this is the fi nal partnership return, a schedule show ing to 
whom all assets and liabilities were dis trib ut ed, and each 
asset’s adjusted basis and fair market value.

• A copy of federal Form 1065, U.S. Partnership Return of 
In come, or Form 1065-B, U.S. Return of Income for Elect-
 ing Large Part ner ships. Include all pages and supporting 
sched ules.

• Federal Schedule K-1s, if the partnership has less than 11 
partners during the year. 

• Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary 
Conversions.

Check the box if you were required to fi le federal Form 8886 
with the IRS to disclose information about an Abusive Tax 
Avoidance Transaction (ATAT) in which you participated.

Filing deadlines 
Returns for the 2005 calendar year are due by April 17, 2006. 
Fis cal year returns are due by the 15th day of the fourth 
month after the end of the partnership’s tax year.

Connection to federal law
Oregon is tied to the federal defi nition of taxable income. 
Oregon will automatically adopt future federal changes 
to taxable income. The part ner ship’s tax year for Or e gon 
must be the same as for fed er al. Or e gon doesn’t have a re-
 quired pay ment for part ner ships choos ing an al ter na tive tax 
year.

Oregon recognizes the federal “check the box” reg u la tions 
for unincorporated organizations. Also, Oregon treats the 
elect ing large partnership the same as fed er al. 

Partnership failure-to-fi le penalty
A penalty may be assessed if a partnership doesn’t fi le a 
re turn or fails to provide information to the De part ment of 
Rev e nue as required by law. The penalty is $50 per month 

1

Instructions for Form 65
Oregon Partnership Return of Income

150-101-065 (Rev. 12-05) 
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Correspondence

Write to: 955 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301-
2555. In clude your Employer Identification 
Number (EIN) or Business Identifi cation Num ber 
(BIN)  and a day time tele phone num ber for fast er 
ser vice.

Credits
Partners may qualify for the following tax credits on their 
in di vid u al income tax returns even though the costs were 
paid by the partnership. 
• Advanced telecommunications facilities
• Business energy
• Child care fund contribution
• Crop donation
• Diesel engine replacement
• Dependent care assistance
• Electronic commerce zone investment
• Employer scholarship
• Farmworker housing
• Film production development contribution
• First Break Program
• Fish screening devices
• Individual Development Accounts
• Long-term care insurance premiums
• On-farm processing machinery and equipment
• Oregon Cultural Trust
• Political con tri bu tions
• Pollution control facilities
• Reforestation of underproductive forestlands
• Reservation enterprise zone

TriMet and Lane Transit District 
self-employment taxes
Self-employment earnings of taxpayers doing busi ness or 
pro vid ing services within the TriMet and Lane Tran sit dis-
 tricts are sub ject to this tax. A partnership may elect to fi le 
and pay the tran sit district self-em ploy ment tax on behalf of 
any or all the in di vid u al partners. Use the part ner ship’s net 
self-em ploy ment earn ings (including partners’ guaranteed 
pay ments) to fi g ure the tax. 

Any 2005 TriMet or Lane Transit District self-em ploy ment 
tax return (Form TM or Form LTD) fi led by a cal en dar year 
part ner ship is due by April 17, 2006. Fis cal year part ner ships 

must fi le Form TM or Form LTD by April 15 of the year fol-
 low ing the cal en dar year in which the fi s cal year ends. 

District boundary information
    TriMet boundaries .......................................... 503-962-6466
    Lane Transit District boundaries.................. 541-682-6100

Federal Privacy Act information
The request for Social Security numbers is made by au thor i ty 
of Section 405, Title 42, of the United States Code. You are 
required to give us this information. It is used to es tab lish 
the identity of the partners. Unless al lowed by law, all infor-
mation in your tax re turn is con fi  den tial and cannot be dis-
closed by the de part ment. Any violation is a class C felony.

Mail this return to: Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14260
Salem OR 97309-5060

New withholding requirement for partnerships
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006, a part-
nership with one or more nonresident partners that have 
no other Oregon source income is required to withhold tax 
unless the partner makes an election to join in the fi ling of a 
composite return. The partnership must withhold 9 percent 
of the partners’ share of distributive income for partners who 
will fi le personal income tax returns, 6.6 percent for partners 
that are corporations. The partnership must send quarterly 
payments, on Form 40-ESV, for each partner who will fi le 
a personal income tax return, or on Form 20V for partners 
who will fi le corporate returns. Each payment voucher must 
include the partner’s name and identifi cation number. For 
additional information or to download forms, visit our Web 
site, or see taxpayer assistance below. 

2

Taxpayer assistance

 To get forms

Write to: Forms, Or e gon De part ment of Revenue, PO Box 
14999, Salem OR 97309-0990. Or visit our Web site to down-
 load forms and schedules.

Telephone
 Salem ...............................................................503-378-4988

 Toll-free from Or e gon prefi x ...................... 1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to:
• Check on the status of your 2005 personal 
 income tax refund (beginning February 1).
• Order tax forms.
• Hear recorded tax information.
For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers above:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday.................. 7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday ............................................................10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Closed on holidays.
April 3–April 17, Monday–Friday...................... 7:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15................................................... 9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary.

Asistencia en español:
    Salem................................................................ 503-945-8618
    Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon........................1-800-356-4222
TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
    Salem................................................................ 503-945-8617
    Toll-free from Oregon prefi x......................1-800-886-7204 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats.

 Internet

www.oregon.gov/DOR
• Download forms and publications
• Get up-to-date tax information
• E-mail: questions.dor@state.or.us
 This e-mail address is not secure and con-

fidentiality cannot be ensured. General tax 
and policy questions only.

150-101-065 (Rev. 12-05) 
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Schedule
AP

SCHEDULE AP-1 — APPORTIONMENT FORMULA                                
(Do not enter an amount of less than zero) 1. Property Factor—Value of real and tangible 

     personal property used in the business 
     (owned, at average value; rented, at capitalized value):

     a. Owned property (at original cost; see instructions)

         Inventories ..............................................................

         Buildings and other depreciable assets ..................

         Land........................................................................

         Other assets (describe) _____________________

         Minus: Construction in progress .............................

         Total of section a .....................................................

     b. Rented property (capitalize at 8 times the rental paid) ..

     c. Total owned and rented property ............................

 2. Payroll Factor—Wages, salaries, commissions, 
     and other compensation to employees:

     a. Compensation of employees ..................................

     b. Guaranteed payments (see instructions) ................

     c. Total wages, salaries, guaranteed payments..........

 3. Sales Factor

     a. Sales delivered or shipped to Oregon purchasers:

         (1) Shipped from outside Oregon...........................

         (2) Shipped from inside Oregon .............................

     b. Sales shipped from Oregon to:

         (1) The United States government .........................

         (2) Purchasers in a state or country where the 
               corporation is not taxable (e.g., under 
               Public Law 86-272) ...........................................

     c. Other business receipts ..........................................

     d. Total sales and other business receipts ..................

 4. Sales factor (same as line 3d) ....................................

 5. Total percent (add items 1c, 2c, 3d, and 4, within column C) ........................................................................

 6. Oregon apportionment percent. See instructions on page 1 to determine the Oregon 
     apportionment percent................................................................................................................................... 

APPORTIONMENT OF INCOME 
FOR PARTNERSHIPS

Describe the nature and location(s) of your Oregon business activities

(A)
Total Within

Oregon

(B)
Total Within and 
Without Oregon

(C)
Percent Within Oregon

(A ÷ B) × 100

(                                    )

%• •

 1. Net income from business both in Oregon and other states .......................................................................1
 2. Subtract: Net nonbusiness income included in line 1. Attach schedule ...................................................2
 3. Subtract: Gains from prior year installment sales included in line 1. Attach schedule .............................3
 4. Total net income subject to apportionment (line 1 minus line 2 and line 3) .................................................4
 5. Oregon apportionment percentage (from Schedule AP-1, line 6)................................................................5
 6. Income apportioned to Oregon (line 5 times line 4).....................................................................................6
 7. Add: Net nonbusiness income allocated entirely to Oregon. Attach schedule .........................................7
 8. Add: Gain from prior year installment sales apportioned to Oregon. Attach schedule .............................8
 9. Partnership income subject to Oregon tax. Total of lines 6, 7, and 8 ..........................................................9

SCHEDULE AP-2 — COMPUTATION OF TAXABLE INCOME (see instructions)

%

%• •
%

%

%•

•

•

_ _ _ . _ _ _ _

•
•

•
•

%×

(not less than zero)

(                                    )

• •

(not less than zero)

150-101-171 (Rev. 12-05) 
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SCHEDULE AP INSTRUCTIONS FOR PARTNERSHIPS

SCHEDULE AP-1 — Apportionment formula 

For tax years beginning on or after May 1, 2003, the ap por -
tion ment formula is 80 percent times the sales factor, plus 
10 percent times both the payroll and property factors. See 
the line 6 instructions. For tax years beginning after June 30, 
2005, the apportioinment formula will be based 100 percent 
on sales.

Taxpayers primarily engaged in utilities and tele com mu n-
i ca tions may elect to use the apportionment formula as 
provided in ORS 314.650 (1999 edition).

The numerators of the factors include the Oregon property, 
payroll, and sales from businesses taxable by Oregon. The 
de nom i na tors of the factors include all amounts from the 
business (both Oregon source and non-Oregon source).

Note: If you listed additions and subtractions on Form 65, 
those items are also subject to apportionment.

A negative amount is not accepted. Enter zero if the factor 
is less than zero.

Line 1. Property factor. (1) Value owned property at original 
cost. Show the average value during the taxable year of the 
real and tangible personal property used in the business. This 
is the average of property values at the beginning and end 
of the tax period. An average of the monthly values may be 
required if a more rea son able value results.

(2) Value rented property at eight times the annual rent 
paid. Reduce the annual rental value by non busi ness sub-
rentals.

Enter business property within Oregon in column A. 
Enter all owned or rented business property in column B of 
Schedule AP-1. See Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 314.655 
and ad min is tra tive rules.

Line 2. Payroll factor. Guaranteed payments rep re sent ing 
compensation for services to a partnership are considered 
re mu ner a tion paid to employees for per son al services.

Assign payroll to Oregon if:

• The services are performed entirely inside Oregon; or

• The services are both inside and outside Oregon but those 
services outside are only incidental; or

• Some of the services are performed in Oregon and (a) the 
base of operation or control is located in Oregon, or (b) the 
base of operation or control is not in any state in which the 
services are performed, and the employee’s residence is in 
Oregon; or

• The guaranteed payment represents com pen sa tion that 
would have been subject to Oregon un em ploy ment 
insurance if paid to an employee.

See ORS 314.660 and administrative rules.

Line 3. Sales factor. Assign sales to Oregon if:

• The property is shipped or delivered to a purchaser in 
Oregon other than the United States Government; or

• The property is shipped from a warehouse or other place of 
storage in Oregon; and (a) the purchaser is the United States 
Gov ern ment, or (b) the business in not taxable in the state of 
the purchaser. See ORS 314.665(3) for exceptions. 

See ORS 314.620 and Public Law 86-272 to determine if a 
partnership is taxable in another state.

Charges for services are Oregon sales to the extent the 
services are performed in Oregon. See ORS 314.665 and 
administrative rules.

Gross receipts from the sale, exchange, or redemption of 
intangible assets cannot be included in the sales factor if not 
derived from your primary business activity.

The net gain from sales, exchanges, or redemption of 
in tan gi ble assets that are not derived from your primary 
business activity are included in the sales factor if the gains 
are business income.

Line 6. Oregon apportionment percentage.

Oregon standard apportionment method. Business income 
is apportioned to Oregon by a multiplier equal to 80 percent 
of the sales factor, plus 10 percent of the property factor, plus 
10 percent of the payroll factor. See ORS 314.650. Use the 
following worksheet:

Oregon Standard Apportionment Method:

1. Multiply the property factor  
    from Schedule AP-1, line 1c,  
    column C, by 0.10 .................................... 1. ____________

2. Multiply the payroll factor 
    from Schedule AP-1, line 2c, 
    column C,  by 0.10 ................................... 2. ____________

3. Multiply the sales factor  
    from Schedule AP-1, line 3d,  
    column C, by .80 ...................................... 3. ____________

4. Oregon apportionment percentage.
    Add lines 1, 2, and 3 and 
    round to four decimal places  
    (ex: 34.21224% should be 
    34.2122%). Enter on 
    Schedule AP-1, line 6. ............................. 4. ____________

Alternative apportionment method for utilities and 
telecommmunication partnerships. Taxpayers primar-
ily engaged in utilities or telecommunications may elect to 
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apportion business income using the double-weighted sales 
factor provided in ORS 314.650 (1999 edition). Use the fol-
lowing worksheet:

Alternative Apportionment Method:

1. Total percent from line 5,
    Schedule AP-1.......................................... 1. ___________

2. Enter the number of factors 
    on lines 1c, 2c, 3d, and 4 of 
    Schedule AP-1 with a positive 
    total in column B ..................................... 2. ___________

3. Divide line 1 by line 2 and 
    round to four decimal places 
    (ex: 12.34558% should be 
    12.3456%). Enter on 
    Schedule AP-1, line 6 .............................. 3. ___________

Schedule AP-2 — Taxable income computation

Business and nonbusiness income. “Business income” is 
income arising from transactions and activities in the regular 
course of the taxpayer’s business. It includes income from 
tangible and intangible property related to the regular busi-
ness operation.

Examples of business income are:

• Sales of products or services;

• Rents, if property rental is a related business activity;

• Royalties, if the patent, processes, etc., were de vel oped by 
or used in the business operations;

• Gain or loss on the disposal of business prop er ty; and

• Interest income on trade receivables or in stall ment con-
tracts arising out of the business or from the in vest ment 
of working capital.

“Nonbusiness income” means all income other than business 
income. Rents, royalties, gains or losses, and interest can be 
nonbusiness income if they arise from investments not related 
to the taxpayer’s business. Nonbusiness income is allocated 
to a particular state based upon the source of the income. Gain 
or loss from the sale of a partnership interest may be allo-
cable to Oregon [ORS 314.635(4)]. A schedule of non busi ness 
income must be attached to the return. The amounts 
allocable to Oregon must be added to Oregon’s ap por tioned 
income. See ORS 314.610 and administrative rules.

Line 1. Add the income (loss) from the federal Schedule K, 
lines 1 through 11. Enter the result on line 1. Note: Guar-
 an teed payments paid to a nonresident partner of a part-
nership that has business activity in Oregon are treated as 
a dis trib u tive share of partnership income, Oregon Admin-
istrative Rule (OAR) 150-316.124(2). Guar an teed pay ments 
are subject to the allocation and ap por tion ment pro vi sions 
of ORS 314.605 to 314.675.

Line 2. Subtract the net nonbusiness income included in line 
1. Attach a schedule listing the source and amount on the 
nonbusiness income.

Line 3. Subtract gains from prior year installment sales 
included in line 1. OAR 150-314.615-G requires the 
ap por tion ment of installment sales using the same appor-
tionment factor that was used in the year of sale. Attach a 
schedule listing the installment sales gain. See instructions 
for line 8.

Line 7. Add all of the nonbusiness income that is al lo cat ed 
entirely to Oregon. Attach a schedule listing the source and 
amount of the non busi ness income allocated to Oregon.

Line 8. Multiply the installment gains subtracted on line 3 by 
the apportionment factor used in the year of the sale. Enter 
the result. Attach a schedule showing the apportionment 
factor used in the year of the sale.

150-101-171 (Rev. 12-05) 
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Before you mail Form 90R, check 
your ERA claim to make sure you:

Fill in your date of birth on 
the front of your claim form.

Complete the income sec tion
on the front of your claim.

Complete the rent schedule 
and the household as sets list 
on the back of your claim.    

  Sign your claim.

If you have a dis abil i ty and 
need special ac com mo da tions, 
see page 16 for num bers to call 

and places to get help.

Elderly Rental Assistance Program
Form 90R and In struc tions

PRSRT STD
U.S. POSTAGE

PAID
Oregon Department 

of Rev enue

Oregon Department of Rev e nue
955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555

File your claim by 

July 1, 2006

SU MO TU WE TH FR SA
1

2 3 4 5 6 7 8

9 10 11 12 13 14 15

16 17 18 19 20 21 22

25 26
23
30

24
27 28 29

JULY 2006

31

2005 OR E GON

We cannot pro cess 
your claim without 

the in for ma tion 
in the above checklist.
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2/Qualifications for ERA

Elderly Rental Assistance (ERA) Program
Elderly Rental Assistance is for low-income 
peo ple who rent their home and are age 58 or 
old er. The property you rent must be subject to 
prop er ty tax. If the property you rent is ex empt 
from property tax you are not eligible for ERA 
unless the property owner makes a “payment in 
lieu of tax” (PILOT). You must file Form 90R to 
re ceive as sis tance. Form 90R is on pag es 11-14  
of this book let. ERA is based on your in come, 
as sets, and the amount of rent, fuel, and util-
 i ties you paid. Be sure to keep your rent re ceipts 
with your records. We may request them.

Important information

ERA filing deadline. The deadline for fil ing 
an ERA claim (Form 90R) is July 1. If you 
file Form 90R af ter July 1, 2006, your claim 
will be pro cessed the fol low ing year, and if 
you qualify, your ERA pay ment will be issued 
in November 2007.

Payment issue date. The payment issue date 
is November 2006 for claims re ceived by 
July 1, 2006. Do not contact the de part ment 
to find out how to calculate your payment. 
We will not know the assistance amount until 
November 2006. 

Courtesy letter. You may receive a cour te sy 
let ter ex plain ing a proposed change to your 
ERA claim. If you receive a courtesy letter and 
you disagree, it is im por tant that you re spond 
quick ly. Otherwise we may not have time to 
process the additional in for ma tion you pro vide 
about your claim be fore the November 2006 
mailing.

If you choose not to respond to the cour te sy let-
ter, you will still have formal appeal rights after 
the department issues a formal notice and/or 
a check in November 2006. 

If you appeal the formal notice within the allow-
able period and it is determined that you are enti-
tled to additional as sis tance, you will not receive 
the additional payment until No vem ber 2007.

Single or married and living apart

You qualify for ERA if all the fol low ing are 
true:

• You were age 58 or older on December 31, 
2005, and

• Your household income was under $10,000, 
and

• You paid more than 20 percent of your house-
 hold income for rent, fuel, and utilities (see 
“Special instructions” on page 3), and

• The value of your household assets is $25,000 
or less (if you are age 65 or old er, there is no 
limit on the value of household assets), and

• You rented an Oregon residence that was 
sub ject to property tax or PILOT, and

• You lived in Oregon on December 31, 2005, 
and

• You didn’t own your residence on De cem ber 
31, 2005 (if you live in a manufactured home, 
see page 4).

Married and living together

You qual i fy for ERA if all the fol low ing are 
true:

• You or your spouse were age 58 or older on 
December 31, 2005, and

• You and your spouse’s total household 
in come was less than $10,000, and

• You paid more than 20 percent of your total 
household income for rent, fuel, and utilities 
(see “Special instructions” on page 3), and

• The total value of both spouses’ household 
assets is $25,000 or less (if either spouse is 
age 65 or older, there is no limit on the val ue 
of your household assets), and

• You rented an Oregon residence that was 
sub ject to property tax or PILOT, and

• You lived in Oregon on December 31, 2005, 
and

• You didn’t own your residence on De cem ber 
31, 2005 (if you live in a manufactured home, 
see page 4).
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Household income includes all taxable and 
nontaxable income. See page 5.

Fuel and utilities includes the amount you 
paid during the year for lights, water, gar-
 bage, sew er, and heating. Do not include food 
ex pens es or the amount you paid for telephone, 
cable tele vi sion, or Internet access.

Household assets include real and personal 
property described on page 7. See the list on 
the back of Form 90R.

When do I file Form 90R?

Claim Year             File By           Accepted Until

       2005           July 1, 2006        July 1, 2009

2004                   —                July 1, 2008
2003                   —                July 1, 2007

       2002                   —                July 1, 2006

Where do I send Form 90R?

Mail your Form 90R to:

ERA CLAIMS
PO Box 14700
Salem OR 97309-0930

When will I get my assistance check?

If you file Form 90R by July 1, 2006, your ERA 
check will be mailed in No vem ber 2006. If your 
Form 90R is filed after July 1, 2006, your ERA 
claim will not be pro cessed this year and your 
check will not be issued until No vem ber 2007.  

Fraudulent claims

Filing a fraudulent Form 90R is against the law. 
You could be charged with a class C felony. 
You could be fined up to $100,000 and serve a 
jail sentence. You also would have to pay back 
twice the amount you received plus in ter est.

Special instructions

Single. If you were single on December 31, 
2005, list only the rent, fuel, and utilities you 
actually paid.

Roommates. Each room mate can file for 
ERA. The amount of assistance is based on 

Living places/3

the rent, fuel, util i ties, house hold income, and 
assets of each per son who files Form 90R. List 
the name(s) of the oth er renter(s) on the rent 
schedule and the rent, fuel, and util i ties you 
alone actually paid.

Recently married. Did you marry during 2005? 
If so, you must file jointly. Include the rent, 
fuel, and util i ties for plac es you rented both 
sep a rate ly and to geth er.

Married—living together. If you were mar ried 
and living in the same residence or facility on 
De cem ber 31, 2005, you must file jointly. The 
as sis tance is based on the rent, fuel, util i ties, 
house hold in come, and assets of both spous es.

Married—living apart. If you were married 
and permanently living apart on December 31, 
2005, you may file separately. List only the rent, 
fuel, and util i ties you actually paid. File joint ly 
if you are only temporarily living apart.

Deceased persons. You cannot file a Form 90R 
for a deceased person.

Clergy. Members of the clergy who live in 
hous ing provided by the church may be el i gi ble 
for assistance. You qualify for ERA if you paid 
rent for the use of the housing, and the prop er ty 
was subject to Oregon property tax.

Your minister ’s rental allowance must be 
included in household income even if the 
allowance is excluded from federal adjusted 
gross income.

Apartment managers. Include only the rent 
you actually paid on the Form 90R rent 
sched ule. Don’t include the value of free rent 
pro vid ed by your employer.

Special living places

The amount of assistance may depend on the 
kind of hous ing you lived in. Cau tion: If your 
res i dence is ex empt from prop er ty tax es, 
you aren’t el i gi ble to file for ERA unless the 
property owners make a payment in lieu of tax 
(PILOT). Con tact your land lord if you don’t 
know if your residence is sub ject to prop er ty 
tax or PILOT.
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4/Form 90R instructions

Partially exempt property. If your residence 
is partially exempt from property taxes, you 
are allowed to file an ERA claim based on the 
percentage of property that is subject to Oregon 
property taxes. For example, if the property 
you rent is 75 percent exempt from property 
taxes, you may file a claim based on 25 percent 
of the rent you actually paid.
Manufactured homes. You are al lowed to file 
a claim based on the rent you ac tu al ly paid for 
your manufactured home, your land, or both. 
If you owned both the manufactured home 
and the land on December 31, 2005 you don’t 
qual i fy for ERA.
Low-income housing. You can file for ERA 
only on the rent you actually paid. Caution:
If your low-income housing is exempt from 
prop er ty tax es, you can’t file for ERA unless 
the prop er ty own ers make a “payment in lieu 
of tax” (PI LOT).
Nursing home residents. If you lived in a 
nurs ing home, you may file for ERA. Nurs-
ing home payments include medical care and 
oth er ex pens es, not just rent. Generally, 20 
percent of your total payment is considered 
rent, and 3 percent is considered fuel and util-
 i ties. You may claim a higher percentage if you 
can show it is correct.
If you lived in a nursing home on December 
31, 2005, while your spouse rented a separate 
res i dence, each of you can file a separate Form 
90R for assistance. You may file for assistance 
based on your nurs ing home rent. Show only 
your own house hold income on Form 90R. 
Your spouse will file a sep a rate Form 90R. 
Check with the nursing home to make sure it 
is sub ject to prop er ty tax.
If you lived in a nursing home on December 
31, 2005, but your spouse lived in a home you 
owned, you may file for assistance based on 
your nurs ing home rent. Show only your own 
house hold income on Form 90R. Your spouse 
does not qualify for ERA.
Retirement/rest home or center. Gen er al ly, 60 
percent of your total payment is con sid ered 
rent, and 10 percent is considered fuel and 

util i ties. You may claim a higher per cent age if 
you can show it is correct.

Group homes. Generally, 60 per cent of your 
to tal pay ment is considered rent, and 10 per-
 cent is con sid ered fuel and util i ties. Caution:
If your group home is ex empt from property 
taxes, you can’t file for  ERA.

Boarders. Generally, 60 percent of your room 
and board payment is considered rent, and 10 
per cent is considered fuel and utilities. You 
may claim a higher percentage if you can show 
it is correct.

Renting from relatives. If you pay rent to a 
rel a tive for the right to occupy property owned 
by your relative, you may qualify for ERA. You 
must have a signed rental agree ment and the 
relative you pay rent to must re port the rental 
income on his or her tax re turn. Keep a copy of 
the signed agreement along with your rent re-
 ceipts with your records. We may request them.

Licensed trailers. If you lived in a li censed 
trav el trailer not on the coun ty prop er ty tax 
rolls, and you rented the land, you may file a 
claim based on the rent you ac tu al ly paid for 
the land only.

You don’t qualify for ERA if you lived in:

• Cooperative housing, or
• A nonprofit home for the elderly, or
• A condominium, a house, or an apartment  

you owned.

If you lived in one of the above types of hous-
 ing, you’re a homeowner, not a rent er.

Form 90R instructions
Name and address section

Clearly print or type your name, address, 
Social Se cu ri ty number, and date of birth on 
Form 90R. 

Important — If your ad dress chang es be-
 tween the time you file and No vem ber 2006, 
please no ti fy the De part ment of Rev e nue.
See page 16 for num bers to call.
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ERA line in struc tions/5

Social Security number. The request for your 
Social Security number(s) is authorized by 
Sec tion 405, Title 42, of the United States Code. 
We will use this information only to establish 
your iden ti ty for tax purposes.

Date of birth. You or your spouse must be age 
58 or old er as of De cem ber 31, 2005, to qualify 
for ERA. You must enter your date of birth 
and your spouse’s date of birth at the top of 
Form 90R or your claim may be denied.

Household income

Household income in cludes taxable and 
non tax able income of both spouses living in 
the same household. It doesn’t include your 
spouse’s in come if you were per ma nent ly 
liv ing apart at the end of the year. It doesn’t 
in clude income of your children, room mates, 
or any other per son living with you, oth er than 
your spouse.

Use Form 90R lines 1–19 to figure your 
house hold income. Some of the household 
income items come from your federal tax 
return, if you filed an income tax return, and 
other items come from your per son al records.

See pages 8 through 10 for a household income 
checklist.

Nonresidents and part-year residents who 
lived in Oregon on December 31, 2005. 
In clude all taxable and nontaxable income for 
the entire year. In clude income from Oregon 
sourc es and in come from sources outside of 
Oregon.

Line instructions
Instructions are for lines not fully ex plained 
on the form.

Note: Do not fill in cents. You must round off 
cents to the nearest dollar. For example, $12.49 
becomes $12 and $233.50 becomes $234.

Work and investment income

For each of the following, fill in the total 
amount received during the year. 

1. Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. 
Fill in your wages, salaries, commissions, tips, 
bar ter income, fees, and other pay for work.

2. Interest and dividends. Fill in your total taxable 
and nontaxable interest and div i dends. Don’t 
include “re turn of capital” dividends or in sur ance 
pol i cy “return of premium” dividends.

3. Business net income. Fill in your net prof it. 
Net profit is the combined income and losses 
on all your business schedules. This includes 
business partnerships and S cor po ra tions. Did 
you have a net business loss? If so, you can 
sub tract up to $1,000 of the loss in fig ur ing 
house hold income. For lines 3, 4, and 6, see note 
on page 6. Net op er at ing loss carryovers and 
carrybacks can’t be used to re duce household 
income.

4. Farm net income. Fill in your net farm 
prof it. Net farm profit is the combined income 
and losses on all your farm schedules. This 
in cludes farm partnerships and S corporations. 
If you had a net farm loss, you can sub tract 
up to $1,000 of the loss in figuring household 
in come. For lines 3, 4, and 6, see note on page 
6. Net operating loss carryovers and carrybacks 
can’t be used to re duce household income.

5. Total gain on property sales. Fill in your 
to tal gain from any property sales: stocks, 
bonds, land, or other property. If you had a 
net loss, you can subtract up to $1,000 in 
fig ur ing house hold income. Don’t include 
any gain you de ferred or excluded from the 
sale of your house. Did you sell property you 
placed into ser vice af ter December 31, 1980 and 
before Jan u ary 1, 1985? If so, you may need 
to re fig ure your gain for Oregon. Did you 
take the fed er al in vest ment tax credit? If so, 
you may have a dif fer ence be tween Oregon 
basis and federal basis. You will need to 
refigure your gain or loss for the as sets, us ing 
the Or e gon basis. See page 16 for tele phone 
num bers to call for help.

6. Rental net income. Fill in your rental net 
in come. Rental net income is the combined 
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6/Retirement income

in come or losses from all your rentals. This 
in cludes rent al partnerships and S corpora-
tions. If you had a net loss, you can subtract 
up to $1,000 in figuring household income. For 
lines 3, 4, and 6, see note below.

Note for lines 3, 4, and 6:
   Does the combined total of your de pre ci a tion, 

depletion, and amortization de duc tions from 
all businesses exceed $5,000? If so, you must 
refigure these items, limiting your to tal de-
 duc tion to $5,000.

   Example: Jackson has a business that had 
gross in come of $22,000 in 2005. He had a 
$10,000 depreciation deduction and other 
busi ness expenses of $15,000. Jackson fig ures 
his $3,000 business loss for federal purposes 
as follows:

Business gross income.............................. $22,000
   Less
     Depreciation ............................$10,000
     Other business expenses....... +15,000 (25,000)
     Federal business loss ..........................     $(3,000)

   Jackson figures his business income for ERA 
pur pos es as follows:
Business gross income.............................. $22,000

   Less
Depreciation limited to $5,000 ...$5,000

  Other business expenses....... +15,000 (20,000)
  ERA business income .............................. $ 2,000

7. Other income from your federal return. Fill
in any other taxable income you received in 2005 
that is on your federal return. This in cludes:

• Alimony received, Form 1040, line 11.
• Awards, bonuses, prizes, gambling win nings, 

lottery winnings (including Oregon lottery 
winnings), and other income from fed er al Form 
1040, line 21. Identify the other in come.

Don’t include:
• Oregon income tax refunds.
• Federal income tax refunds.
• Unemployment benefits. Fill in the amount 

of your unemployment benefits on line 13.

Retirement income

For each of the following, fill in the total 
amount received dur ing the year.

9. Social Se cu ri ty, supplemental security 
income (SSI), and railroad retirement. Fill 
in the total Social Security (taxable and non-
 tax able), SSI, and Railroad Retirement Board 
ben e fits you re ceived in 2005. Include Medi care 
pre mi ums for 2005. Don’t in clude reimbursed 
medical ex pens es. Include any amounts you 
received in your name from Social Security for 
the benefit of a minor child.

10. Pensions and annuities. Fill in the total 
pension and annuity income you received in 
2005. This will usually be the taxable portion 
of your pen sion. Federal pensions: Be sure 
to include your total pension income (both 
tax able and non tax able). Don’t include your 
con tri bu tion to the plan. You should have a 
state ment, Form 1099R, from the payer that 
shows your con tri bu tion. In clude lump-sum 
dis tri bu tions and death benefits. 

Other income

For each of the following, fill in the total 
amount received dur ing the year:

12. Adult and Family Services (welfare). Fill
in the total amount of welfare you re ceived. 
In clude aid to the blind and disabled and 
old age assistance. Also include Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families. Do not in clude 
the Special Shel ter Al low ance. You should 
have re ceived an As sis tance Sum ma ry state-
 ment that shows the amount you re ceived. 
Don’t include:

• Amounts for food stamps or surplus foods.
• Payments for medical care, drugs, medical 

supplies, and services related to medical care 
for which you received no direct payment.

• In-home services approved by the Oregon 
Department of Human Services.

• Reimbursement of expenses from par tic i -
pat ing in work or training programs.

If you receive welfare ben e fits for your nurs ing 
home costs, include 23 per cent of that pay ment 
as welfare income. Gen er al ly, 23 per cent of the 
payment represents your rent plus util i ties and 
fuel (see “Special living places” on page 3). 
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Don’t include wel fare payments to your nurs-
 ing home for medical care, drugs, or medical 
sup plies.

13. Unemployment benefits. Fill in your to tal 
unemployment benefits.

14. Veteran’s and military benefits. Fill in 
your veteran’s benefits, GI Bill benefits, family 
al low anc es, and educational allowances (tax-
 able and nontaxable).

15. Family support, gifts, and grants. Add 
to geth er all the gifts, grants, and scholar-
ships you re ceived. In clude any amounts you 
re ceived from your children and others to help 
pay your ex pens es. You can ex clude up to $500 
from house hold income. Fill in the to tal in 
ex cess of $500. This also in cludes gifts and 
grants from a foreign country. Don’t include 
fed er al grants to im prove your home.

Example: You received $250 from your child, 
a $600 gift, and a $300 state grant during the 
year. You must in clude a total of $650 in your 
house hold in come:

    Money received from child...............$ 250
    Gift........................................................$ 600
    Grant ....................................................$ 300
    Total received....................................$ 1150

   Less: exclusion amount .................– 500
    Include in household income ...........$ 650

16. Other sources. Fill in amounts from 
any other sources of household income, 
in clud ing:

• Child support.
• Minister’s rental allowance.
• Foreign earned income.
• Disability pay.
• Life insurance proceeds.
• Personal injury damages.
• Strike benefits.
• Workers’ compensation.
• Accident and health insurance payments.
• Total inheritances. This includes anything 

that changed ownership because of death. It 

may be cash or property. Figure the fair mar-
ket value of property as the amount you’d get 
if the prop er ty had been sold on the date of 
death. Don’t in clude prop er ty you re ceived 
due to the death of your spouse.

19. Adjustments to income. Fill in the amount 
from Form 1040, line 36, or Form 1040A, line 
20. If you filed Form 1040EZ, fill in -0-.

21. Household assets. If you or your spouse 
are age 65 or older, the limitations do not ap ply.

Single or married—living apart. If you are 
under age 65, you must complete the house-
 hold assets list on the back of your Form 90R. If 
the total value of your household assets is more 
than $25,000 you do not qualify for ERA.

Married—living together. If both you and your 
spouse are under age 65, you must com plete 
the household assets list on the back of your 
Form 90R. If the total value of both spouses’ 
house hold as sets is more than $25,000 you do 
not qualify for ERA. House hold as sets in clude 
prop er ty you own to geth er and sep a rate ly.

Household assets include the fair market 
value as of December 31, 2005, of the fol-
 low ing:

• Real property, such as a vacant lot, farm land, 
mobile home, or rental property.

• Personal property, such as money on hand, 
shares of stock, money owed to you by oth-
 ers, and funds on deposit. Don’t include the 
value of retirement plans.

• Personal property used in a trade or busi-
 ness in which you are an own er. Examples 
are an automobile used in your business, 
your office equipment, in ven to ry, and your 
per cent age of partnership assets.

Note: Examples of items not to include as 
house hold assets: TV, VCR, personal com-
puter, personal vehicle, furniture, wed ding 
ring, bi cy cle. (This is not intended to be a 
com plete list.)

Continued on page 15...

Other income/7
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Alimony and separate maintenance.... ×

Annuities and pensions 
(reduced by cost re cov ery).................. ×

*Business income 
(reduced by expenses) ......................... ×

Cafeteria plan benefits.....................................×

*Capital loss carryover ....................................×

*Capital losses (in year determined) ... ×

Child support.......................................... ×

Child support included in welfare ...... ×

Clergy’s rental or housing allowance, 
in excess of expenses claimed to 
determine federal AGI......................... ×

Compensation for services performed
Back pay ................................................ ×
Bonuses.................................................. ×
Clergy’s fees .......................................... ×
Commissions ........................................ ×
Director’s fees ....................................... ×
Fees in general 
   (trustee, executor, jury duty) ........... ×
Lodging for convenience of 
 employer.........................................................×
Meals for convenience of employer.............×
Salaries................................................... ×
Severance pay ....................................... ×
Tips ......................................................... ×
Wages ..................................................... ×

Deferred compensation
Contributions made.......................................×
Payments received ............................... ×

Depletion in excess of basis .................. ×

Depreciation, depletion, and
amortization in excess of $5,000......... ×

Household
Income

Yes    No

Disability income (entire amount)....... ×

Dividends, taxable and nontaxable ..... ×
 Credit union savings account
  “dividends” (interest)........................ ×
Insurance policy “dividends”
   (return of premium)....................................×
Return of capital dividends ..........................×
Stock dividends .................................... ×
Tax-exempt dividends ......................... ×

Earned income credit, advanced....................×

*Estate and trust income
(also see Inheritance) ........................... ×

*Farm income (reduced 
 by expenses)......................................... ×
Agricultural program payments........ ×
Patronage dividends............................ ×
Proceeds from sale of crops
   and livestock ...................................... ×
Rents....................................................... ×
Sale of services...................................... ×

Fellowships ............................................. ×

Foreign income excluded from
federal AGI............................................ ×

Foster child care (reduced 
by expenses)....................................................×

Funeral expenses received ..............................×

Gains on sales (receipts less cost) ........ ×
Excluded gain for Oregon on 
   sale of residence...........................................×

Gambling winnings 
(without reduction for losses) ............ ×

Gifts and grants
(totaling more than $500 in value)..... ×
Cash........................................................ ×

  HOUSEHOLD INCOME CHECK LIST
Use this list to figure what must be in clud ed in total household income.

Household
Income

Yes    No

8/Household income check list

*Losses limited to $1,000.
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Household
Income

Yes    No

Household
Income

Yes    No

Household income checklist/9

Gifts from nonspouse 
   in the same household...................... ×
Gifts from spouse 
   in the same household................................×
Gifts other than cash 
   (report at fair market value) ............ ×
Payment of indebtedness
   by another person ............................. ×

Grants and payments by foreign 
governments not included in 
federal adjusted gross income............ ×

Grants by federal government 
for rehabilitation of home .............................×

Gratuities ................................................. ×

Hobby income ........................................ ×

Honorariums........................................... ×

Individual Retirement Arrange-
ment (IRA)
Conventional IRA
  Payments received ............................. ×
  Payments contributed .................................×
  Rollovers or conversions.............................×
Roth IRA
  Payments received .......................................×
  Payments contributed ....................... ×
  Rollovers or conversions.............................×

Inheritance............................................... ×
From spouse who resided 
   in the same household................................×

Insurance proceeds
Accident and health............................. ×
Disability payments............................. ×
Employee death benefits..................... ×
Life insurance ....................................... ×
Personal injury damages
   (less attorney fees)............................. ×
Property damage if included
   in federal income............................... ×
Reimbursement of medical 
 expense ...........................................................×

Sick pay (employer sickness 
   and injury pay) .................................. ×
Strike benefits ....................................... ×
Unemployment compensation........... ×
Workers’ compensation....................... ×

Interest, taxable and nontaxable .......... ×
Contracts ............................................... ×
Municipal bonds and other 
 securities............................................... ×
Savings accounts .................................. ×
Tax-exempt interest.............................. ×
U.S. Savings Bonds .............................. ×

*Losses on sales (to extent used 
  in determining adjusted gross 
  income) ................................................ ×
  From sales of real or personal 
    property (nonbusiness) .............................×

Lottery winnings .................................... ×

Lump-sum distribution 
(less cost recovery) ............................... ×

Military and veteran’s benefits 
(taxable and nontaxable)
Combat pay........................................... ×
Disability pensions............................... ×
Educational benefits (GI Bill) ............. ×
Family allowances................................ ×
Pensions................................................. ×

Net operating loss carryback
and carryover..................................................×

*Partnership income 
(reduced by expenses) ......................... ×

Parsonage (rental value) or housing 
allowance received by clergy in 
excess of ex pens es used in 
determining federal AGI..................... ×

Pensions and annuities (taxable and 
nontaxable) (reduced by cost 
recovered in the current year) ............ ×

*Losses limited to $1,000.
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Household
Income

Yes    No

Household
Income

Yes    No

10/Household income check list

Prizes and awards .................................. ×

Railroad Retirement Board benefits 
(see Social Se cu ri ty and Railroad 
Retirement Board benefits) ................. ×

Refunds
Earned income credit.....................................×
Federal tax.......................................................×
Property tax.....................................................×
Oregon income tax.........................................×
Other states’ income tax (if 
   included in federal AGI) .................. ×

Reimbursements (in excess of 
expenses incurred) ............................... ×
For moving expense............................. ×
For travel ............................................... ×

Rental allowances paid to ministers 
and not included in federal 
adjusted gross income ......................... ×

*Rental and royalty income 
(reduced by expenses) ......................... ×

Residence sales (see gains on sales)..... ×

Retirement benefits (see pensions, 
Social Se cu ri ty and Railroad 
Retirement Board benefits)

Sales (see gains on sales and 
losses on sales)

Scholarships (excess over $500) ........... ×

Sick pay.................................................... ×

Social Security and Railroad 
Retirement Board Benefits 
(taxable and nontaxable) ..................... ×
Children’s benefits paid to 
  parent ................................................... ×
Children’s benefits paid to 
  your child ......................................................×
Disability pension ................................ ×

Medicare payments of 
   medical expenses.........................................×
Medicare premiums deducted 
   from Social Security .......................... ×
Old-age benefits ................................... ×
Supplemental Security income .......... ×
Survivor benefits .................................. ×

Stipends (excess over $500) .................. ×

Strike benefits ......................................... ×

Support from parents who don’t 
live in your household ........................ ×

Trust income............................................ ×

Unemployment compensation............. ×

Wages ....................................................... ×

Welfare benefits ...................................... ×
Aid to blind and disabled ................... ×
Aid to dependent children.................. ×
Child care payments ............................ ×
Child support included in welfare .... ×
Direct payments to nursing home ..... ×
Food stamps (or cash payments 
   in lieu of food stamps)................................×
Fuel assistance ................................................×
In-home services approved by
  the De part ment of Human 
  Services ..........................................................×
Medical payments to doctors .......................×
Old-age assistance................................ ×
Payments for medical care, drugs, 
   medical supplies, and services 
  for which no direct payment 
  is received......................................................×
Reimbursements of expenses paid 
   or incurred by participants in 
   work or train ing programs ........................×
Special shelter allowance ..............................×
Surplus food....................................................×
Women, Infants, and Children 
   program (WIC) ............................................×

*Losses limited to $1,000.
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Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this claim, including ac companying sched ules 
and statements. To the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person 
other than the taxpayer, this dec laration is based on all in formation of which the preparer has any knowledge.

I authorize the Department of 
Revenue to contact this preparer 
about the processing of this claim. 

Mail your completed 90R to: ERA CLAIMS, PO BOX 14700, SALEM OR 97309-0930  

WORK AND INVESTMENT INCOME—Totals for the entire year
  1 Wages, salaries, and other pay for work............................................   1
  2 Interest and dividends (total taxable and nontaxable) .......................   2
  3 Business net income (loss limited to $1,000) ....................................   3
  4 Farm net income (loss limited to $1,000)...........................................   4
  5 Total gain on property sales (loss limited to $1,000)..........................   5
  6 Rental net income (loss limited to $1,000).........................................   6
  7 Other income from your federal return. Identify ________________   7
  8 Add lines 1 through 7.......................................................................................................•    8
RETIREMENT INCOME—Totals for the entire year
  9 Social Security, supplemental security income (SSI),
     railroad retirement (total for 2005) ................................................... •   9
10 Pensions and annuities (see instructions) ........................................ • 10
11 Add lines 9 and 10.............................................................................................................   11
OTHER INCOME—Totals for the entire year
12 Adult and Family Services (welfare, not including food stamps)....... • 12
13 Unemployment benefits .................................................................... •  13
14 Veteran’s and military benefits...........................................................  14
15 Family support, gifts, and grants: Total received minus $500...........  15
16 Other sources: Identify ___________________________________  16
17 Add lines 12 through 16 ..................................................................................................•  17
18 Add lines 8, 11, and 17 .....................................................................................................................................  18
19 Adjustments to income from federal Form 1040, line 36
     or federal Form 1040A, line 20........................................................................................................................ • 19
20 YOUR TOTAL HOUSEHOLD INCOME. Line 18 minus line 19. If your household income 
     is $10,000 or more, STOP HERE! You don’t qualify for elderly rental assistance ....................................... • 20 
21 YOUR TOTAL HOUSEHOLD ASSETS. Fill in your total household assets from the

back of this form. (If you or your spouse are age 65 or older, the limitations do not
apply. Fill in -0- on line 21.) If your household assets exceed $25,000, STOP HERE!
You don’t qualify for elderly rental assistance ...............................................................•  21 

QUALIFYING RENT
22 Total Oregon rent you paid during 2005 (from box 7 of rent schedule on the back)........................................ • 22
23 Special Shelter Allowance (see page 15) ........................................................................................................ • 23
24 Total fuel and utilities only (not telephone). Don’t include rent! (see page 15) ............................................. • 24
25 Check the box if you paid rent to a:   nursing home  retirement/rest home or center  group home

FORM

90R
OREGON
ELDERLY
RENTAL

ASSISTANCE
2005

For department use only

Date received

You must fill in your date of birth 
in order to receive assistance.

Remember
to write in 

your Social 
Security
number 
and your 

date
of birth

Last name

Spouse’s last name if joint claim

Current mailing address

City

First name and initial

Spouse’s first name and initial

For department use only

State

Enter your Social Security No. (SSN)

Enter spouse’s Social Security No.

ZIP code Telephone number

(         )

– –

– –

Date of birth
(mm/dd/yyyy)

Date of birth
(mm/dd/yyyy)

1 2 3

150-545-001 (Rev. 12-05) 

SIGN
HERE

Your signature Date

Spouse’s signature (If filing jointly, BOTH must sign)

Signature of preparer other than taxpayer License No.

Address

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00

.00

.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
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2005 HOUSEHOLD ASSETS LIST
Use Fair Market Value of your assets as of December 31, 2005. If you or your spouse are age 65 or older, this list is not re quired.

1. Real property (includes fair market value of mobile home)......................................................................
2. Personal property:

A. Money on hand: Currency and bills of exchange or others (identify)__________________________

 B. Money on deposit:
  Checking and savings account..............................................................................................................
  Certificates of deposit or others (identify)_______________________________________________

 C. Funds on deposit:
  Funds accruing due to death of the insured where withdrawal is at your option (insurance) ................
  Funds accruing due to original maturity of a policy contract where withdrawal is at your option ..........

 D. Money owed to you: Personal or business notes receivable or others (identify) _________________

 E. Shares of stock:
  Capital, common, and preferred ............................................................................................................
  Shares in mutual funds and investment trusts or others (identify) ____________________________

 F. Assets or property used in a trade or business in which you or your spouse have an ownership interest .

TOTAL HOUSEHOLD ASSETS. Fill in the total here and on line 21 on the front of this form.......................

Page 2 — Form 90R — 2005

RENT SCHEDULE
List the places you rented in Oregon during 2005. Attach additional schedules if needed.

Residence A Residence B (if needed)
1. Your street address,

city, state, ZIP code

2. Full name of each 
    room mate

3. Landlord’s name,
    street address, city,
    state, ZIP code, and
    telephone number

4. 2005 rental period

5. Rent you paid per month .............................. 5A                                         .....................................5B

6. Total rent you paid (per address).................. 6A                                          .....................................6B

7. TOTAL RENT PAID IN 2005. Add boxes 6A and 6B and enter the total here.
   Also enter this amount in box 22 on the front of this form ................................................................... 7

From:                              To: From:                              To:

$ $

$ $

$

$

$
$

$
$

$

$
$

$

$

$

150-545-001 (Rev. 12-05) 
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Qualifying rent

22. Total Oregon rent you paid during 2005. 
Com plete the rent schedule on the back of 
Form 90R.

Fill in the Oregon rent you paid during 2005. 
In clude all Oregon rent you paid for each 
res i dence you rented in 2005. Rent doesn’t 
in clude advance rent or deposits for keys, 
cleaning, or security. Keep your rent receipts 
with your records for at least three years from 
the due date of your claim or when you file it, 
which ever is later.

If the property you rented was partially exempt 
from property taxes, or you lived in a nursing 
home, retirement/rest home or center, group 
home, or pay room and board, only a portion 
of your payment is considered qualifying rent. 
See “Special living places” on page 3.

23. Special Shelter Allowance. Did you 
receive a Special Shelter Allowance (welfare)? 
If you did, the Assistance Summary statement 
you re ceived will show the amount of your 
Spe cial Shelter Al low ance. Fill in the amount 
from the notice on this line. This al low ance is 
an advance payment of your ERA claim so 
it will re duce the amount of assistance you 
re ceive.

24. Fuel and utilities. Include the amount 
you paid during 2005 for lights, water, gar bage, 
sew er, and heating while living in Oregon. 
Don’t in clude the amount you paid for 
tele phone, cable television, or Internet access 
as utilities.

  Lights (electricity) ................... $

  Water and sew er...................... $

  Garbage..................................... $

  Heating (gas, oil, wood, etc.) .. $

  Total........................................... $

Enter the total on line 24. If the total of lines 
22 and 24 is 20 percent or less of your total 

household income on line 20, then you do not 
qual i fy for ERA.

If you lived in a nursing home, retirement/rest 
home or center, group home, or paid room and 
board, only a portion of your total payment is 
for fuel and utilities. See “Special living plac es” 
on page 3.

25. Nursing home, retirement/rest home or 
center, or group home. If you paid rent to a 
nurs ing home, retirement/rest home, or group 
home, check the box that applies. Generally, 
a nurs ing home provides medical care, but 
re tire ment/rest homes or cen ters and group 
homes don’t.

ERA payment. The Oregon Department of 
Rev e nue will fig ure your assistance for you. 
Re mem ber your assistance will be reduced 
by any Spe cial Shel ter Al low ance you al ready 
received in 2005.

Sign and mail Form 90R

Before you mail Form 90R, check your claim. 

Were you or your spouse age 58 or old er on 
December 31, 2005? Did you fill in your date 
of birth and your spouse’s date of birth at 
the top of Form 90R?

     Did you sign and date Form 90R on the 
front? Both spous es must sign a joint 
claim.

Did you complete the entire form?
– All income sections on the front of 90R?
– The rent section on the back of 90R?
– The household assets on the back of 

90R? (Asset list required if you and your 
spouse were under age 65 on December 
31, 2005.) 

Be sure to com plete the entire claim form. An 
incomplete claim could delay your assistance 
un til next year.

Remember—you must file your Form 90R by 
July 1, 2006 so we can process and is sue your 
payment in November 2006.

Qualifying rent/15

Continued from page 7...
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  Field offices

Get forms and assistance at these of fic es. Don’t 
send your claim form to these ad dress es.

Bend............... 951 SW Simpson Avenue, Suite 100

Eugene........... 1600 Valley River Drive, Suite 310

Gresham..........  1550 NW Eastman Parkway, Suite 220

Medford......... 24 West 6th St

Newport ........ 119 NE 4th St, Suite 4

North Bend.... 3030 Broadway

Pendleton...... 700 SE Emigrant Ave, Suite 310

Portland......... 800 NE Oregon St, 5th floor

Salem ............. Revenue Building,  955 Center St NE, 
Room 135

Salem ............. 4275 Com mer cial St SE, Suite 180

Tualatin.......... 6405 SW Rosewood St, Suite A

16/Taxpayer assistance

  Telephone

Salem .......................................... 503-378-4988

Toll-free from Or e gon prefix ...1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to:
• Check on the sta tus of 
   your 2005 personal 
   income tax refund 
   (beginning February 1).
• Order tax forms.
•Hear re cord ed tax information.

For help from Tax Services, call one of the 
numbers above:

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday ..........................................10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Closed on holidays.
April 3–April 17, Monday–Friday.... 7:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15 .................................9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary.

Asistencia en español:
    Salem...........................................503-945-8618
    Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon ..1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
    Salem...........................................503-945-8617
    Toll-free from Oregon prefi x 1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call 
one of the help numbers for information in 
alternative formats.

Taxpayer assistance
  Internet

www.oregon.gov/DOR
• Download forms and publications
• Get up-to-date tax information
• E-mail: questions.dor@state.or.us

This e-mail address is not secure 
and confidentiality cannot be 
ensured. General tax and policy 
questions only.

 Correspondence

Write to: Oregon Department 
of Revenue, 955 Center St NE, 
Salem OR 97301-2555. In clude your 
So cial Se cu ri ty num ber and a day time 
tele phone num ber for fast er ser vice.

To get forms

Income tax booklets are available at many 
post of fic es, banks, and libraries. For book-
 lets and other forms and pub li ca tions, you can 
also access our Web site, order by tele phone, 
or write to: Forms, Or e gon Department of 
Rev e nue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-
0990.

150-545-002 (Rev. 12-05) 
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LOW-INCOME CAREGIVER CREDIT
For Home Care of a Low-income Person Age 60 or Older

Your Last Name Your First Name and Initial Your Social Security No.

Spouse’s Last Name (if a joint re turn) Spouse’s Social Security No.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
The person you care for must be certifi ed by the Department of Human Services. To do this, fi ll in Part I of this form. Send it to: Seniors 
and People with Disabilities, Department of Human Services, 500 Summer St NE, E02, Salem OR 97301-1073. The form will be re turned
to you showing whether the person you care for is certifi ed. If the person you care for is already certifi ed, fi ll in Part II on the back of this 
form. NOTE: To qualify for the credit, your household income must be less than $17,500 and the person you care for must have 
household income of $7,500 or less.

PART I

The questions below are about the person you care for.

1. Name ________________________________________ Birth date ______________ Social Security No. ___________________

2. Did the person stay in a nursing home, rehabilitation facility, or other long-term care facility during the year?
  YES        NO   If yes, list the dates _________________________________________________________________________

3. Did the person receive home care services from Oregon Project Independence during the year?
  YES        NO   If yes, list the dates _________________________________________________________________________

4. Did the person receive any medical assistance from Seniors and People with Disabilities during the year?
  YES        NO   If yes, list the dates _________________________________________________________________________

5. Check any of the seven conditions that existed, for the person you care for, during the year:

 A. Problems with communication. These include severely limited vision, hearing, speaking, or ability to identify oneself to oth ers.

 B. Problems with mobility. These include having great diffi culty in traveling inside or outside the home even with a cane, walker, or 
wheelchair.

 C. Problems with managing a household or nutrition. These include having great diffi culty in doing housekeeping, shopping, or 
following a special diet.

 D. Problems with maintaining personal independence or relationships. These include great diffi culty in handling chang es,
personal problems, and emotional situations. It also includes great diffi culties with friends and living arrangements.

 E. Problems with managing money. These include being unable to write checks, pay bills, or keep expenses within income.

 F.  Problems with health. These include several medical problems requiring regular visits from a doctor or nurse. It also includes 
being unable to take prescribed medicine.

 G. Problems with personal care tasks. These include bathing, toileting, dressing, and feeding.

6. Based on the condition(s) you checked above, would the person you care for normally be placed in a nursing home?
  YES        NO   If yes, during which months did the condition(s) exist? ______________________________________________

I certify that the above questions were answered truthfully to the best of my knowledge.   ____________________________________
                                                        Taxpayer’s Signature

X

For Offi cial Department Use Only

CERTIFIED:    Total tax year 20 ______

   Partial tax year 20 _____

Dates: ___________________________________________

   Not Certifi ed
Reason:

Authorized Signature

X
150-101-024 (Rev. 10-03)

Spouse’s First Name and Initial

Your Present Home Address (include city, state, and ZIP code)
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PART II

HOUSEHOLD INCOME

List your household income and the household income of the person you care for in the space below. Household income is the taxable
and nontaxable income of both spouses (living in the same household). See the Elderly Rental Assistance (ERA) Form 90R instructions
for more in formation on house hold income.

           NOTE:  The support you provide for the person you care for is considered a gift. The amount 
                        you pay over $500 must be in cluded in their household income. Enter it on line 8.

           YOUR                                       HOUSEHOLD INCOME OF
                                       TYPE OF INCOME                                                      HOUSEHOLD INCOME                         PERSON YOU CARE FOR

 1.  Wages, salaries, and other pay for work .......................      1._________________________      1. ________________________

 2.  Interest, dividends (total taxable and nontaxable).........      2._________________________      2. ________________________

 3.  Business net income (loss limited to $1,000) ................      3._________________________      3. ________________________

 4.  Total gain on property sales (loss limited to $1,000) .....      4._________________________      4. ________________________

 5.  Social Security, SSI, and Railroad Retirement ..............      5._________________________      5. ________________________

 6.  Pensions, annuity (taxable and nontaxable) .................      6._________________________      6. ________________________

 7. Adult and Family Services (welfare) ..............................      7._________________________      7. ________________________

 8.  Gifts and grants over $500............................................      8._________________________      8. ________________________

 9.  Other (specify) _______________________________      9._________________________      9. ________________________

10.  TOTAL HOUSEHOLD INCOME ....................................    10._________________________    10. ________________________

If your household income is $17,500 or more, or if the person you care for has household income of more than $7,500, you are not 
eligible for the credit.

11.  You may claim food, clothing, medical, and transportation expenses you pay or incur for the person you care for. The expenses
must be paid or incurred during the period certifi ed by the Seniors and People with Disabilities Division. Amounts you pay for lodging 
don’t qualify. Subtract any reimbursement received from insurance or from the person you care for when you fi gure the costs you 
paid.

      A. Food (includes purchase and preparation) ......................................................   $ __________________________

       B. Clothing (includes purchase, cleaning, and repairing) .....................................   $ __________________________

       C. Medical care (includes doctor fees, medicine, special equipment, etc.) ..........   $ __________________________

       D. Transportation (includes transportation for medical and personal needs) .......   $ __________________________

12.  Total expenses paid (add the amounts on lines A, B, C, and D) ................................................... 12. ________________________

13.  Multiply the amount on line 12 x .08 (8 percent) ........................................................................... 13. ________________________

14.  Maximum credit ............................................................................................................................. 14. ________________________

15.  Allowable credit (lesser of line 13 or line 14)................................................................................. 15. ________________________

$250

150-101-024 (Rev. 10-03) 

KEEP A COPY OF THIS FORM WITH YOUR TAX RECORDS.
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For 2006, new legislation may require tax to be withheld 
from nonresident members of a pass-through entity who 
do not elect to file a composite return. Visit our Web site 
at www.oregon.gov/DOR for more information.

Introduction
Throughout these instructions the term “mem bers” will 
re fer to partners of a partnership or LLP, share hold ers 
of an S cor po ra tion, and mem bers of an LLC. The term 
“en ti ty” will mean a partnership, S cor po ra tion, LLP, 
or LLC.

Individual members of a partnership, S corporation, 
lim it ed li a bil i ty partnership (LLP), or limited li a bil i ty 
com pa ny (LLC) having gross income above the thresh-
 old amount attributable to Ore gon are re quired to file an 
in di vid u al in come tax re turn. 

Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 314.760 allows cer tain 
non res i dent members of the entities listed above that 
de rive inc ome from or do busi ness in Oregon to elect 
to file a com pos ite or mul ti ple nonresident return. This 
com pos ite return eliminates the need for each in di vid u al 
to file a sep a rate return.

Filing requirements
Individual members must decide each year wheth er 
to join in a mul ti ple nonresident filing. There is no 
re quire ment that an election be made prior to filing the 
multiple non res i dent re turn. The election is con sid ered 
made when the return is filed.

To be included in the multiple nonresident return, all the
fol low ing conditions must be met:

• The members must be individuals. Members who are 
es tates, trusts, partnerships, LLCs, LLPs, or S cor po -
ra tions cannot be included in the multiple non res i dent 
re turn. Exception: Elect ing Small Business Trusts 
(ESBT) will be allowed to par tic i pate in a mul ti ple 
non res i dent filing.

• The individuals must be full-year nonresidents of 
Ore gon; and

• The individuals must have no other Oregon source 
in come. Exception: having an ownership interest in 
more than one entity will not prevent an in di vid u al 
from par tic i pat ing in a multiple non res i dent filing. 
However, an individual must participate in mul ti ple 
non res i dent fil ings for all entities in which they have 
an interest, or participate in none.

• The multiple nonresident return must be filed using 
the tax year of the majority of electing members. If the 
ma jor i ty of electing members file individual tax re turns 
us ing a calendar year, the multiple nonresident return 
must also be filed us ing a calendar year. Cal en dar year 
members will include their share of the en ti ty’s in come 
on their calendar year re turns. Ex am ple: An en ti ty uses 
a March 31, 2005 fiscal year-end. The ma jor i ty of elect-
 ing mem bers have a calendar year-end. The mul ti ple 
non res i dent return, Form 40N, must be filed for cal-
 en dar year 2005 by April 17, 2006.

Filing a multiple nonresident return
Nonresident members must file an Oregon mul ti ple non-
 res i dent tax return using Form 40N (Oregon In di vid u al 
Income Tax re turn for nonresidents). The word “mul-
 ti ple” must be written or stamped —in blue or black 
ink—at the top of Form 40N.

Follow these instructions when completing the Or e gon 
mul ti ple nonresident tax return using Form 40N. Gen-
 er al ly, only the fol low ing areas need to be com plet ed on 
Form 40N:

1. The entity’s name, business identification num ber 
(BIN), and address in the name, Social Se cu ri ty num-
ber, and ad dress sec tion.

2. The net tax amount due (line 60).

3. Total estimated tax payments made (line 62).

4. Any overpayment to apply to 2006 estimated taxes 
(line 72).

5. Amount your owe (line 70) or net refund (line 80)

6. Signature of an authorized representative of the en ti ty 
at the bottom of page two.

Do any nonresident members qualify for the credit for 
income taxes paid to another state? If so, complete line 
57 on Form 40N as well.

A Sched ule MNR or equiv a lent must be filed with the 
mul ti ple non res i dent re turn, Form 40N. Sched ule MNR 
reports each non res i dent mem ber’s Or e gon tax li a bil i ty. 
Sched ule MNR is in clud ed with these in struc tions. A 
com put er-cre at ed sched ule is ac cept able if it con tains the 
fol low ing in for ma tion for each member who elects to par-
 tic i pate in the fil ing of the mul ti ple non res i dent return:

• Name, Social Security number, address, filing status, 
and ownership percentage.

Multiple Nonresident Instructions
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• The share of federal net income of the entity.
• The share of Oregon net taxable income of the entity. 

(See “apportionable income,” “de duc tions,” and “cred-
 its” on pages 2 and 3.)

• Oregon tax from the applicable rate chart based on fil-
 ing status. ESBTs will use the tax rate chart for singles.

• Share of credit for income taxes paid to another state.
• Share of estimated tax payments.
• Underpayment interest.

Due date
The Oregon multiple nonresident tax return is due the 
15th day of the fourth month after the close of the tax 
year of the majority of the electing mem bers. If the 
majority of members file calendar year returns, the 
multiple non res i dent return will also be a calendar year 
return. The fiscal year end of the entity does not affect 
the due date. For 2005 calendar year returns, the due 
date is April 17, 2006.

Extensions
If the entity is granted a federal extension to file its re turn, 
the federal extension is allowed for filing the Oregon 
multiple nonresident return. If the entity only needs an 
extension to file the Oregon return, complete Oregon’s 
Form 40-EXT. If a payment to Oregon must be made at 
the time of either the federal or Oregon extension, use 
the Form 40-EXT payment voucher. Mail the completed 
pay ment voucher with your payment. When Form 40N 
is filed, check the ex ten sion box on line 7b. Do not attach 
a copy of the fed er al or Or e gon ex ten sion form to Form 
40N. Keep a copy of the ex ten sion for your records. 
Re mem ber: An ex ten sion al lows for more time to file, 
not more time to pay.

Estimated tax payments
The entity is required to make estimated tax pay ments 
on behalf of all individual members who would have 
had an individual estimated tax li a bil i ty had they not 
elect ed to participate in a multiple nonresident re turn. 
The total es ti mat ed tax li a bil i ty is cal cu lat ed using the 
estimated li a bil i ty of each electing individual. In the case 
of un der pay ment of es ti mat ed tax, the underpayment is 
deemed to be at trib ut able to members with tax li a bil i ties 
in exc ess of $1,000.

Estimated tax payments on behalf of the elect ing mem-
 bers. Pay ments must be made in the en ti ty’s name as it 
will ap pear on the multiple non res i dent re turn. Es ti mat ed 
tax pay ments made by the entity must be made on Form 
40-ESV, Oregon Estimated Income Tax Payment Voucher. Be 
sure to check the MNR box on the voucher. Identify the 
entity using their Oregon BIN. Do not enter their federal 
employer identification number (FEIN).

Estimated tax payments with no election. If all mem bers 
decide not to par tic i pate in filing a mul ti ple non res i dent 

return after making es ti mat ed tax pay ments, a refund of 
estimated tax may be ob tained. To re ceive a re fund, the 
en ti ty must file an orig i nal return show ing zero tax due 
and indicate that none of the mem bers wish to par tic i pate 
in the elec tion. The non res i dent members must then file 
individually. If the mem bers have not made ad e quate 
es ti mat ed tax pay ments on a sep a rate basis, they will be 
sub ject to in ter est on un der pay ment of es ti mat ed tax.

Transferring estimated tax payments before the mul-
 ti ple nonresident return is filed. Pay ments made on 
be half of mem bers who in tend to par tic i pate in a mul-
 ti ple non res i dent filing can not be trans ferred out of the 
en ti ty’s ac count to an in di vid u al es ti mat ed tax ac count.
Ex cep tion: If a nonresident mem ber be comes in el i gi ble to 
par tic i pate in the fil ing of a mul ti ple non res i dent return 
due to ac quir ing oth er Or e gon source in come, a trans fer 
may be made. The nonqualifying member can re ceive 
cred it for a por tion of the es ti mat ed tax pre vi ous ly paid 
by the en ti ty on be half of the member. The member must 
sup ply a writ ten request from the en ti ty, pri or to the filing 
of the mul ti ple non res i dent re turn. The writ ten re quest 
must include:

• The name and Oregon BIN of the entity that made the 
estimated tax payment(s).

• The name and Social Security number of the mem ber 
who has become ineligible.

• The specific dollar amount to transfer to the ac count of 
the member.

• A description of the Oregon source income that has 
re sult ed in the member no longer being eligible to par-
 tic i pate in the election.

After the multiple nonresident return has been filed, 
no portion of the tax paid by the entity on behalf of 
the mem bers will be transferable to the accounts of any 
member revoking a previous election. The entity may file 
an amend ed Form 40N multiple nonresident return to 
re quest a re fund of any tax paid on behalf of a member(s) 
who re vokes his or her pre vi ous election to participate 
in the multiple non res i dent re turn. The amended return 
must show the tax li a bil i ty as recomputed for the 
re main ing members who elect ed to participate in the 
mul ti ple non res i dent return.

Apportionable income
If the entity has income that is part of a multistate busi-
 ness operation, the nonresident member will compute his 
or her share of Oregon net taxable income or loss from 
the entity by multiplying the entity’s total apportioned 
Ore gon taxable income or loss by the member’s own-
 er ship percentage. See ORS 314.280 or 314.650 through 
314.670. Example: A partnership will multiply the Ore gon 
ap por tioned income by each partner’s distributive share 
of part ner ship income. An S corporation will multiply the 
Or e gon apportioned income by each shareholder’s pro 
rata share of the S corporation’s income.
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Guaranteed payments
Guaranteed payments are treated as part of the part ner’s 
distributive share of the partnership busi ness income. See 
Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 150-316.124(2). 

Deductions
Individual deductions (itemized deductions or the stan-
 dard deduction) are not al lowed on mul ti ple non res i dent 
re turns.

Oregon net taxable income of the entity means the fed-
 er al net income of the entity as defined by the laws of 
the United States modified by ORS chapter 316. See ORS 
chap ter 316 for those items that di rect ly relate to the 
non res i dent members’ share of the en ti ty’s net inc ome. 
Ex am ples of the modifications allowed in ORS chapter 
316 that relate to the en ti ty’s income include: any Oregon 
mod i fi ca tion necessary for depreciation; depletion; gain 
or loss difference on the sale of de pre cia ble property; U.S. 
government interest; and any modification for federal tar-
 get ed jobs tax credit. 

Credits
Credits normally allowed on the personal income tax 
re turn, such as the exemption credit, are not al lowed on 
the mul ti ple non res i dent return.

The credit for income taxes paid to an oth er state un der 
ORS 316.131 is allowed on mul ti ple non res i dent returns 
for residents of California, Arizona, Virginia, and In di ana 
only. See Form 40N instructions or OAR 150-316.082(2) for 
com pu ta tion of the cred it. A copy of the res i dent state’s 
tax re turn for qual i fy ing mem bers should not be at tached 
to the mul ti ple non res i dent re turn. How ev er, a sched ule 
iden ti fy ing the members qualifying for the credit, their 
state of res i dence, and suf fi cient in for ma tion to de ter mine 
the amount of the cred it allowed un der ORS 316.131 must 
be at tached to the mul ti ple non res i dent re turn.

Tax to pay
Payment of the amount due must accompany the Ore gon 
multiple nonresident return. The entity must pay the to tal 
amount due on behalf of the non res i dent mem bers. The 
amount due must include the tax due plus any pen al ty or 
interest as required by Or e gon law. As the des ig nat ed agent, 
the entity is li a ble for any tax, penalty, and in ter est due, 
in clud ing interest on un der pay ment of es ti mat ed tax. 

Penalty and interest
Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

• Pay your tax due after the original due date (even if you 
have an extension).

• File your return showing tax due after the due date, 
in clud ing any extension.

Penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid balance of your tax 
as of the due date, not including extensions (generally 
April 15).

If you file more than three months late, add an ad di tion al 20 
percent penalty, for a total of 25 percent of the unpaid tax. 

Interest. If you don’t file your return or pay the tax due 
by the due date, interest is due on the un paid tax.

The current interest rate is 7 percent per year or 0.5833 
per cent per month. Interest is figured dai ly (0.0192 per-
 cent per day) for periods of less than a month. A month, 
for ex am ple, is May 16 to June 15. Here’s how to fig ure 
daily interest:

Tax × 0.000192 × Number of days

If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the in ter est 
rate increases to 11 percent per year.

Interest on the underpayment 
of estimated tax

Interest on the underpayment of estimated tax is due 
when an individual member has a tax liability in excess 
of $1,000 after credits. Calculate the interest for each 
member individually using Form 10, Underpayment of 
Oregon Estimated Tax, to determine if the member has an 
underpayment. To order, see page 4.

Amending return for net 
operating loss

The entity may file an amended return to carry back 
Ore gon net operating losses. Attach a schedule to the 
amended return naming the members and show ing the 
year and calculation of the net operating loss.

Any refund will be paid to the entity regardless of any 
ownership changes or changes in the identity of the mem-
 bers participating in the multiple nonresident fil ing.

Revoking participation in a multiple
nonresident filing

A member may revoke his or her participation in a mul-
 ti ple non res i dent return by filing an Oregon in di vid u al 
in come tax return. The return will be treat ed as an orig i nal 
re turn and the tax liability shown on the re turn, if any, will 
be sub ject to penalty and interest. If the re vok ing mem ber 
has not made ad e quate es ti mat ed tax pay ments sep a rate ly, 
he or she will be subject to interest on un der pay ment of 
es ti mat ed tax. Estimated tax payments made by the entity 
cannot be claimed on the individual return. The de ci sion 
to re voke a pre vi ous elec tion by one or more mem bers has 
no ef fect on the elec tion of the re main ing mem bers.

3
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Telephone
Salem ............................................................ 503-378-4988
Toll-free from Oregon prefix.................... 1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to:

• Order tax forms.
• Hear recorded tax information.

For help from Tax Services, call one of the help numbers:

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday...7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday...........................................10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
April 3–April 17, Monday–Friday ......7:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15..................................9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary. Closed on holidays.

Asistencia en español:
 Salem............................................................ 503-945-8618
 Gratis de prefijo de Oregon ................... 1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
 Salem............................................................ 503-945-8617
 Toll-free from Oregon prefix.................. 1-800-888-8204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats.

2005 Tax rate charts for MNR

Tax Rate Chart

For persons fi ling
Single or Married fi ling separately

If your taxable income is:           Your tax is:

Not over $2,650 ...................... 5% of taxable
                                                  income
Over $2,650 but ...................... $133 plus 7% of the
not over $6,650                        excess over $2,650
Over $6,650 ............................. $413 plus 9% of the
                                                  excess over $6,650

Tax Rate Chart

For persons fi ling
Jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying

widow(er) with dependent child
If your taxable income is:           Your tax is:

Not over $5,300 ...................... 5% of taxable
                                                  income
Over $5,300 but ...................... $265 plus 7% of the
not over $13,300                      excess over $5,300
Over $13,300............................ $825 plus 9% of the
                                                   excess over $13,300

S J

Internet

www.oregon.gov/DOR
• Download forms and publications.
• Get up-to-date tax information.
• E-mail: questions.dor@state.or.us.
 This e-mail address is not secure and con-

fidentiality cannot be ensured. General tax 
and policy questions only.

Correspondence

Write to: Or e gon De part ment of Rev e nue, 955 
Center St NE, Salem OR 97301-2555. Include 
your BIN or Social Security number and a day-
time telephone number for faster service.

4

Taxpayer assistance
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O F  R E V E N U E
D E P A R T M E N T

O R E G O N TAX INFORMATION AUTHORIZATION 
and

POWER OF ATTORNEY FOR REPRESENTATION
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

Date Received

Please complete the following, if known (for routing purposes only):

    Revenue Employee: ____________________________________________

    Division/Section: _______________________________________________

   Telephone/Fax: ________________________________________________

Send to:  Oregon Department of Rev enue
                955 Center St NE
                Salem OR 97301-2555

• Please print.      • Use only blue or black ink.      • See additional information on the back.

Address City State ZIP Code

Taxpayer Name Identifying Number (SSN, ITIN, BIN, FEIN, etc.) 

Spouse’s Name, if joint return Spouse’s Identifying Number (SSN, ITIN, etc.) 

Check only one:

Tax Information Authorization: This form allows the department to disclose your confidential tax information to your des ignee.
You may designate a person, agency, firm, or or ganization.

Power of Attorney for Representation: (See qualification requirements on the back). Check if you want a person to “rep-
resent” you. This means the person may receive confidential information and may make decisions on your behalf. The per son
you des ignate must meet the ORS 305.230 qual ifications listed on the back of this form. 

    Representative’s title and Oregon license number or relationship to taxpayer: _____________________________________

   ___________________________________________________________________________________________________

For   All tax years,    or      Specific tax years: ___________________________________________________________,

I hereby appoint the following person as designee or authorized representative:

Mailing Address City State ZIP Code

Name Tele phone Number Fax Number

( ) ( )

The above named is authorized to receive my confidential tax information and/or represent me before the Oregon Department of Revenue for:

    All tax matters, or

    Specific tax matters. Enter tax program name(s):_____________________________________________________________

If this tax in for mation au thorization or pow er of at torney form is not signed, it will be returned.

150-800-005 (Rev. 11-05) 

SIGNATURE OF TAXPAYER(S)
• I acknowledge the following provision: Actions taken by an authorized representative are binding, even if the representative is not 

an attorney. Proceedings cannot later be declared legally defective because the representative was not an attorney. 
• Corporate officers, partners, fiduciaries, or other qualified persons signing on behalf of the taxpayer(s): By signing, I also certify 

that I have the authority to execute this form. 
• If a tax matter concerns a joint return, both spouses must sign if joint representation is requested. Taxpayers filing jointly may

authorize separate representatives.

Signature

X
Title (if applicable)

Spouse (if joint rep resentation)

X

Daytime Telephone Number

(   )

Print Name Date

Print Name Date

Qualifications for representation are on the back 

Note: This authorization form automatically revokes and replaces all earlier tax authorizations and/or all earlier powers of attorney
on file with the Oregon De partment of Rev enue for the same tax mat ters and years or periods covered by this form. If you do not
want to revoke a prior authorization, initial here ______.

Attach a copy of any other tax information authorization or power of attorney you want to remain in effect.
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This form is used for two purposes:
• Tax Information Disclosure Authorization. Allows

the department to disclose your confidential tax 
information to whomever you designate. This person 
will not receive original notices we send to you.

• Power of Attorney for Representation. Your notice 
to the department that another person is authorized 
to represent you and act on your behalf. The person 
must meet the qualifi cations below. Unless you spec-
ify differently, this person will have full power to do 
all things you might do, with as much binding effect, 
including, but not limited to providing information, 
preparing, signing, executing, fi ling, and inspecting 
returns and reports, and executing statute of limita-
tion extensions and closing agreements.

This form is effective on the date signed. Authoriza-
tion terminates when the department receives written 
revocation notice or a new form is executed (unless the 
space provided on the front is initialed indicating that 
prior forms are still valid).

Unless the appointed representative has a fi duciary 
relationship to the taxpayer (i.e., personal representa-
tive, trustee, guardian, conservator), original notices of 
defi ciency or assessment will be mailed to the taxpayer 
as required by law.

For corporations, “taxpayer” as used on this form, 
must be the corporation that is subject to Oregon tax. 
List fi scal years by year end date.

 QUALIFICATIONS TO REPRESENT TAXPAYER(S)
BEFORE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Under ORS 305.230, a person must meet one of the 
following qualifications in order to represent you 
before the Department of Revenue.

1. For all tax programs:
    a. An adult immediate family member (spouse, par-

ent, child, or sibling).
    b. An attorney qualifi ed to practice law in Oregon.
    c. A certified public accountant (CPA) or public 

accountant (PA) qualified to practice public 
accountancy in Oregon, and their employees.

    d. An IRS enrolled agent (EA) qualifi ed to prepare 
tax returns in Oregon.

    e. A designated employee of the taxpayer.
    f. An offi cer or employee of a corporation (including a 

parent, subsidiary, or other affi liated corporation), 
association, or organized group for that entity.

    g. An employee of a trust, receivership, guardian-
ship, or estate for that entity.

    h. An individual outside the United States if repre-
sentation takes place outside the United States.

2. For income tax issues:
    a. All those listed in (1), plus
    b. A licensed tax consultant (LTC) or licensed tax 

preparer (LTP) licensed by the Oregon State Board 
of Tax Practitioners.

3. For ad valorem property tax issues:
    a. All those listed in (1), plus
    b. A licensed real estate broker or a principal real 

estate broker in Oregon, or
    c. A certifi ed, licensed, or registered appraiser in 

Oregon, or

    d. An authorized agent for designated utilities and 
companies assessed by the department under 
ORS 308.505 through 308.665 and ORS 308.805 
through 308.820.

4. For forestland and timber tax issues:
    a. All those listed in (1), (2), and (3)(b) and (c), 

plus
    b. A consulting forester.

Tax matters partners and S corporation shareholders.
See OARs 150-305.242(2) and (5) and 150-305.230 for 
additional information. Include the partnership or S 
corporation name in the taxpayer name area. 

An individual who prepares and either signs your tax 
return or who is not required to sign your tax return 
(by the instructions or by rule), may represent you 
during an audit of that return. That individual may 
not represent you for any other purpose unless they 
meet one of the qualifi cations listed above.

Out-of-state CPAs and attorneys may contact their 
respective regulatory body in Oregon (Oregon Board 
of Accountancy or Oregon State Bar) for information 
on becoming qualifi ed to practice in Oregon. If your 
out-of-state designee receives authorization to prac-
tice in Oregon, please attach proof to this form.

Generally, declarations for representation in cases 
appealed beyond the Department of Revenue must 
be in writing to the Tax Court Magistrate. A person 
recognized by a Tax Court Magistrate will be recog-
nized as your representative by the department.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

150-800-005 (Rev. 11-05) 
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INSTRUCTIONS

CLAIM OF RIGHT 
INCOME REPAYMENTS 

ORS 315.068
CR

For Tax Year

• Use this worksheet to determine whether to take a subtraction or a credit for Oregon.

150-101-168 (Rev. 12-05) 

Do not attach this form to your Oregon return. Keep it with your tax records.

Oregon allows a credit or a subtraction if you repaid 
money during the year that you reported as taxable 
income in an earlier year. You must deduct the repay-
ment or claim a credit on your federal return this year. 
Use the worksheet above to determine if it is to your 
advantage to claim a credit or a subtraction for the 
repayment. 
• If line 1 is equal to line 6, claim either a subtrac-

tion or a credit, your tax benefi t will be the same. 
See below for instructions to claim the subtraction 
or the credit.

• If line 1 is less than line 6, claim the amount you 
repaid as a subtraction. Show your repayment as an 
“Other subtraction” on your Oregon tax return only 
if you claim a credit on your federal return for your 
repayment. Identify your repayment on the other 
subtraction line using the numeric code “302” and 
the dollar amount of your subtraction. For example, 
if you are claiming a $1,500 subtraction for claim of 
right, enter 302 on line 18a and enter $1,500 on line 18b.

    If you claim your repayment as a deduction on your 
federal return, this deduction will fl ow through to 
your Oregon return. No adjustment to your Oregon 
income is necessary. 

• If line 1 is more than line 6, claim the amount 
on line 5 as a credit. Claim your repayment credit 

on the estimated tax payment line on your return. 
Write in numeric code “706” and the dollar amount 
of your credit. For example, if you are claiming a 
$143 credit for claim of right, enter 706 on line 40a 
and enter $143 on line 40b. A claim of right credit 
is refundable. If your credit is more than your tax 
liability, it will be refunded to you. You may also 
choose to have your refund applied to your esti-
mated tax for next year.

If you claim a credit for your repayment on your fed-
eral return, no adjustment to your Oregon income is 
necessary.

If you claim your repayment as a deduction on your 
federal return and as a credit for Oregon, you must 
include the amount of your federal deduction as an 
“Other addition” on your Oregon return. Identify your  
repayment on the other addition line using the numeric 
code “103” and the dollar amount of your addition. 
For example, if you are claiming a $750 deduction for 
claim of right on your federal return and are claiming a 
credit for Oregon, enter 103 on line 10a and enter $750 
on line 10b.

Corporations may file for relief of tax on repaid 
income. Refer to Oregon Form 20 instructions.

If you have questions or need more information, visit 
our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR. Or call 503-
378-4988 (Salem) or (toll-free from an Oregon prefi x) 
1-800-356-4222.

Worksheet CR, Claim of Right Income Repayments 

1. Refi gure your Oregon tax for the year of  
    repayment, after deducting the amount you repaid from income .............................................................. 1

2. Enter your Oregon tax for the year of repayment, as shown on your return ............................................. 2

3. Enter your net tax liability* from the earlier year, as shown on that return ................................................ 3

4. Refi gure your net tax liability* for the earlier year, without including in income the amount you repaid ... 4

5. Line 3 minus line 4. Enter result here (credit amount) ............................................................................... 5

6. Line 2 minus line 5. Enter result here ........................................................................................................ 6

* Caution: The net tax liability is the tax amount shown on 
your original return ad just ed by any amend ed returns. 
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Worksheet FCG, Farm Capital Gain

Follow the steps in the worksheet below to determine your qualifying farm assets’ net long-term capital gain (NLTCG). If you 
have a net loss from the sale or exchange from all assets during the year, you will not qualify for the reduced rate on the 
sale of farm assets.

The NLTCG eligible for the special tax rate is computed as follows:

A. Enter your NLTCG from farm assets..............................................................................................A
B. Enter the gain included in Form 40, line 8 (this is the gain shown on federal Form 1040, 

line 13); or from the Oregon column of Form 40N or Form 40P, line 14 ........................................B
C. Enter the smaller of A or B here and on line 2 below .....................................................................C

1. Oregon taxable income from Form 40, line 28; Form 40N, line 50; or Form 40P, line 49 ..............1
2. Farm NLTCG from line C above.....................................................................................................2
3. Modifi ed taxable income. Subtract line 2 from line 1 (but not less than zero)................................3
4. Oregon tax on the amount on line 3. See tables or tax rate charts in

the full year resident or part-year/nonresident income tax booklets...............................................4
5. Enter the smaller of line 1 or 2 above ............................................................................................5
6. Multiply line 5 by 5% (.05) ..............................................................................................................6
7. Add lines 4 and 6. This is your Oregon tax. Enter the result here and on your  

Oregon return. Check the box on your Oregon return labeled “Worksheet FCG” .........................7

8. Form 40P fi lers only. Compute your Oregon income tax by multiplying line 7 by 
your Oregon percentage. This is your Oregon tax. Enter the result here and on your 
Form 40P, line 51. Check the box on your Form 40P labeled “Worksheet FCG”...........................8

Do not attach this form to your return. Keep it with your tax records.

A reduced tax rate is available if you sold or exchanged capital assets used in farming ac tivities. The sale or exchange must 
represent termination of all your ownership interests in a farming business, or a termination of all your ownership interests 
in property that is used in a farming business.

Farming activities include:

•  Raising, harvesting, and selling crops.
•  Feeding, breeding, managing, or selling livestock, poul try, fur-bearing animals, or hon eybees or the pro duce there of.
•  Dairying and selling dairy products.
•  Stabling or training horses, including providing riding les sons, training clinics, and school ing shows.
•  Propagating, cultivating, maintaining, or harvesting aquat ic species, birds, and other animal species.
•  Growing and harvesting cultured Christmas trees or cer tain hardwood timber.
•  On-site constructing and maintaining equipment and facilities used in farming ac tivities.
•  Preparing, storing, or disposing of products or by-prod ucts raised for human or animal use on land em ployed in farming 

activities.
•  Any other agricultural activity, horticultural activity, animal husbandry, or any combination of these three.

Farming activities do not include growing and har vesting trees of a marketable species other than grow ing and har vesting
cultured Christmas trees or cer tain hard wood tim ber.

You may not claim the special tax rate on a sale or ex change to a relative, as defi ned under Internal Rev enue Code Sec tion
267.  A farm dwelling or farm home site is not con sidered to be property used in the trade or business of farming.

Partnerships or S corporations. The sale of ownership in terests in a farming corporation, partnership, or oth er en tity qual ify 
for the special tax rate. The taxpayer must have had at least a 10 percent ownership interest in the en tity before the sale or 
exchange.

FARM LIQUIDATION LONG-TERM
CAPITAL GAIN TAX RATE

ORS 316.045
FCG

150-101-167 (Rev. 12-05) 

For Tax Year
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                                                                                           Mail completed application to:  Oregon Department of Revenue
             PO Box 14110
             Salem OR 97309-0910

Election for Final Tax Determination for Income Taxes Relating to a Decedent’s Estate

 I certify that I represent the estate named above. As provided by ORS 316.387, I elect a fi nal tax determination for the income tax 
returns and years listed below that have been fi led during the period of estate administration. A copy of the inventory of probated 
and nonprobated assets of the decedent’s gross estate is attached to the decedent’s fi nal return, fi rst fi duciary return, or to this 
election form if a return is not required to be fi led.

 I understand the department may issue a notice of defi ciency, as described in ORS 305.265, within 18 months after the fi ling 
of this election. I further understand that if the department fails to issue a notice of defi ciency within the 18 month period, the 
statute of limitations for the returns covered by this election will expire, unless the department fi nds that: (a) gross income equal 
to 25 percent or more of the gross income reported has been omitted from a return; (b) false or fraudulent returns were fi led; 
(c) no returns were fi led, but returns were required to be fi led; or (d) if the department receives a correction to the decedent’s or 
decedent’s estate income tax from the Commissioner of the Internal Revenue Service.

 I understand the department will not reply to this election, except by issuing a notice of defi ciency, and that I may choose to close 
the estate administration at the earliest date allowed, even though the period for issuing a notice of defi ciency has not expired. I also 
understand that if the estate is closed and the assets distributed prior to the expiration of the time for giving a notice of defi ciency, 
and the department then issues a notice of defi ciency, the transferees of the estate’s money or property are liable for the tax liability.

Election for Final Tax Determination for 
Income Taxes and Application for Discharge from 
Personal Liability for Tax of a Decedent’s Estate

FOR REVENUE USE ONLY
Date Received

• Please attach this to the return.
Business Identifi cation Number (BIN)

Social Security Number

Spouse’s Social Security Number

Federal Employer Identifi cation Number (FEIN)

Date of Death

Date of Death (if spouse is deceased)

Probate Number (if probated)

Decedent’s Name

Spouse’s Name

County of Probate

Decedent’s Last Permanent Address

Personal Representative’s Name

Personal Representative’s Current Address

Personal Representative’s Daytime Telephone Number

150-101-151 (Rev. 12-05)

(         )

Signature of Personal Representative (representative must sign to validate authorization) Date

X

Application for Discharge from Personal Liability for Tax on a Decedent’s Estate

I hereby apply for a discharge from personal liability for tax on income of the above named decedent as provided by ORS 
316.387. I certify that I represent the decedent in a fi duciary capacity as personal representative, administrator, trustee, or other 
fi duciary title. I have attached a copy of the document showing my appointment.

I understand that this discharge becomes effective:

 • After the fi ling of the decedent’s fi nal tax return or any tax returns required to be fi led, and the payment of any tax of which I am 
notifi ed; or

 • Nine months after receipt of this application by the Oregon Department of Revenue, and during which time no notifi cation of tax 
liability is made.

 I understand that a discharge under ORS 316.387 does not discharge me from liability to the extent that assets of the decedent’s 
estate are still in my possession or control.

 This request is for the following tax returns:

Individual Income Tax: For tax year(s) _________________ Fiduciary Income Tax: For tax year(s) _________________
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CLAIM TO REFUND DUE A DECEASED PERSON

For Calendar Year ________
(or other taxable year beginning __________________, _______ and ending __________________, _______)

FORM

243
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

Date received

Claimant: If you have the original refund check, send it back with this form.

1. Has a personal representative for the estate been appointed by the court?..........................................     Yes            No
Note: If “Yes,” the personal representative must claim the refund.

2. Has a Small Estate Affi davit been fi led with the county clerk? (ORS 114.515) ......................................     Yes            No
Note: If “Yes,” the responsible party on the Small Estate Affi davit must claim the refund.

3. Has the probate or small estate closed?................................................................................................     Yes            No
Note: If “Yes,” claimant from number 6 below must claim the refund.

4. If the estate is to be probated, I am fi ling this statement as (check one box only):
(a)  Personal representative of estate. (Attach a copy of court appointment.)
(b)  Responsible party fi ling affi davit for a small estate. (ORS 114.515) (Attach a copy of the affi davit.)

For Nonprobated or Closed Estates—

5. Does the total due the decedent (except for salary or wages) from all state of Oregon
agencies exceed $10,000? ....................................................................................................................     Yes            No
Note: If “Yes,” you must fi le a Small Estate Affi davit or open a probate to receive the refund.

6. If the estate is not to be probated or probate has closed, I qualify for payment under one of the 
following kinship groups (check one box only):
  Surviving spouse.
  Trustee of revocable inter vivos trust.
  Children of the decedent or children of a deceased child of the decedent.
  Parents of the decedent.
  Brothers and/or sisters of the decedent.
  Nephews and/or nieces of the decedent.

• Please attach a photocopy of the death certifi cate.

Name of Decedent Name of Claimant

Date of Death Claimant’s Social Security Number

Street Address (permanent residence or domicile on date of death) Street Address

City City

Decedent’s Social Security Number* Telephone Number

State ZIP Code State ZIP Code

Signature and Verifi cation

I promise to use all of the money to pay the expenses of the last illness and funeral of the decedent if necessary.

If, after payment of the check by the state treasurer, the decedent’s estate is probated, I promise to account fully to the 
personal representative.

If nonprobated, I promise to account fully to other persons entitled to share in this refund. I understand that the state of Or-
egon is not responsible for such accounting. I declare that there are not kin who are more closely related to the decedent.

I declare under the penalties of false swearing that the statements herein are true.

Signature of Claimant Telephone Number

*Social Security number is required for identifi cation purposes. OAR 150-305-100.               Return this form to: Oregon Department of Revenue
                                  955 Center Street NE
                                  Salem OR 97301-2555

X
Date

(         )

                                    Decedent                                                                        Claimant

150-101-032 (Rev. 1-04)

(         )
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150-101-032 (Rev. 1-04)

General instructions
Purpose of this form

Use Form 243, Claim to Refund Due a Deceased Person, to claim 
a tax re fund on be half of a de ceased tax pay er.

Who should use this form?

An heir of a deceased taxpayer must fi le Form 243 to claim a 
refund when there is no court appointed representative.

A court appointed representative of a deceased taxpayer may 
fi le Form 243 to claim a tax refund. If the court has ap point ed 
a personal representative, or a small estate af fi  da vit has been 
fi led, Form 243 is not required.

If you are a trustee of a revocable inter vivos trust, you should 
be able to cash a refund check issued in the name of the de-
 ce dent. If you are unable to cash the check, return it with the 
completed Form 243 and a copy of the death cer tifi   cate.

What you need to know

For nonprobated or closed estates:

You may fi le this form at the time you fi le the return. Staple 
the form and a copy of the death certifi cate to the front of the 
return below line 8. Mail to the address on the return.

If you have received a check in the decedent’s name and 
are unable to cash it, return the check and the completed 
Form 243 with a copy of the death certifi cate attached. The
re fund check will be reissued in the name of the claimant as 
in di cat ed on Form 243.

For probated estates:

If the personal representative fi les this form to claim the 
de ceased person’s refund for the estate, attach a copy of the 
court appointment or a copy of the affi davit. The refund 
check will be issued in the deceased person’s name, in care 
of the per son al representative.

To avoid refund delays, remember to:

• Check all the boxes (either yes or no).
• Attach a copy of the death certifi cate.
• Attach a copy of the court appointment, if any.
• Have claimant sign the form.

Taxpayer assistance
Telephone:  Salem.............................................. 503-378-4988

                        Toll-free within Oregon............1-800-356-4222

Correspondence:  Estate Audit, Busi ness Di vi sion
                                    Oregon Department of Revenue
                                    PO Box 14110
                                    Salem OR 97309-0910

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only): 
503-945-8617 (Salem) or 1-800-886-7204 (toll-free within 
Or e gon). 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): This in for ma tion 
is available in alternative formats. Call 503-378-4988 (Sa lem) 
or 1-800-356-4222 (toll-free within Or e gon).

For general tax information: www.dor.state.or.us.

Forms: Many forms are available on our Web site, or write 
to: Forms, Oregon De part ment of Revenue, PO Box 14999, 
Salem OR 97309-0990.

Asistencia en español. Llame al 503-945-8618 en Sa-
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General information

Oregon is unable to acknowledge the receipt of returns, 
extensions, or payments. If you want verification that your 
information reached the Department of Revenue, you should 
send it by certified mail.

Oregon accepts the federal election made by the ex ec u tor 
of an estate and the trustee of a qualified revocable trust to 
treat the trust as part of the estate.

If you made that election for your federal return, check the 
estate box in row A of Oregon Form 41 and fill in the date 
of death. At tach a copy of the required federal Form 8855,
Elec tion to Treat a Qualified Revocable Trust as Part of an Es tate.”
Check the box in row B, “A Trust Fil ing as an Estate.”

Deferral of gain. Did you file federal Form 8824 be cause you 
are deferring gain on exchanged property? If so, be sure to 
check the box on the front of Form 41, “Form 24 is at tached.” 
Then com plete and attach Oregon Form 24 to the re turn. See 
“Taxpayer assistance.”

In the year that the gain is finally recognized for fed er al pur-
 pos es, you will need to file a return and report the portion of 
the gain that is subject to Oregon tax a tion. This law change 
applies to tax years 1998 and later.

Capital gain on liquidated farm assets. A reduced tax rate 
is available if you sold or ex changed cap i tal assets used in 
farm ing activities. The sale or exchange must represent a 
substantially com plete termination of a farm ing business 
you own. The sale cannot be to a fam i ly member. See in-
 struc tions for line 25 (ORS 316.045).

Filing requirements

A fiduciary return must be filed for:

• Resident estates or trusts required to file a federal Form 
1041 or 990-T.

• All estates and trusts upon termination to report the final 
distribution to beneficiaries.

• Ancillary Oregon estates with federal gross income of $600 
or more for the tax year.

• Nonresident estates with federal gross income of $600 or 
more from Oregon sources for the tax year.

• All estates that want to establish a fiscal tax year, even if 
the estate had less than $600 of federal gross inc ome for 
the tax year.

• Part-year resident trusts with federal gross income of $600 
or more from Oregon sources for the tax year.

• Nonresident trusts with federal gross income of $600 or 
more from Oregon sources for the tax year.

Oregon forms and publications referenced in these in struc -
tions may be found on our Web site at www.oregon.gov/
DOR, or by writing to: Forms, Oregon De part ment of Rev-
enue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990.

Residency definitions

• Estates. An estate is an Oregon resident if the per son al 
rep re sen ta tive is appointed by an Oregon court, or if the 
es tate administration is in Oregon. All other es tates are 
non res i dents. An estate cannot be a part-year resident.

• Trusts. A trust is a resident if the trustee is an Or e gon res-
 i dent or if the trust administration is in Oregon. If there are 
sev er al trustees and one is an Oregon res i dent, the trust 
is an Oregon resident trust. A trust can be a part-year res-
 i dent if a trustee moves in or out of Oregon during the tax 
year. See part-year resident instructions.

   If a trustee is a corporate fiduciary engaged in in ter state 
trust administration, the trust is an Oregon res i dent only if 
the trustee conducts the major part of the trust’s ad min is -
tra tion in Oregon.

Funeral trust. A resident funeral trust is a qualified fu ner al 
trust (QFT) that has the meaning given in section 685 of 
the Internal Revenue Code (IRC). A resident funeral trust 
is re quired to be established under the law of this state, or 
is es tab lished by contract, for the funeral home or cem e tery 
to provide services or merchandise in Oregon.

Name of Fiduciary. Enter the name and address of the ex-
 ec u tor or trustee in the space marked “Name of Fi du cia ry.” 
If there are co-fiduciaries, enter the name and ad dress of the 
one who signs the return. 
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Questions? See “Taxpayer assistance.” 2 Visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

Other returns required of fiduciaries. File the ap pli ca ble Or-
 e gon Individual Income Tax return (Form 40, 40S, 40N, or 
40P) for a de ceased tax pay er’s last tax year. If a fed er al Form 
1040NR is re quired for a non res i dent ben e fi cia ry, an Or e gon 
nonresident return (Form 40N) may be re quired. If a fed er al 
return is re quired for a minor, in com pe tent per son, miss ing 
per son, or conservatee, an Or e gon re turn must be filed. If a 
person who is incompetent or is now deceased failed to file 
a prior year individual income tax return as required, the 
trustee is required to file the return.

If Form 1041-A or 5227 is required for federal income tax, file 
a copy of that form with the Oregon De part ment of Rev e nue. 
Do not attach a Form 41. Mark the copy “Oregon In for ma tion 
Copy.” Usu al ly no Or e gon report or copy is required if the 
only fed er al re turns are Form 990 (exempt or ga ni za tions), 
990-PF (pri vate foun da tions), or 4720 (cer tain char i ties).

If a federal Form 990-T is filed, also file Oregon Form 41. 
Don’t complete lines 1, 2, 5, 5a, and 6 on Form 41. From Form 
990-T, en ter any unrelated business tax able income on Form 
41, line 23, and the fiduciary ad just ment on line 5b. Also 
com plete Sched ule 1, column B of Oregon Form 41.

Period covered by the return. The return must be for the 
same tax year used for filing the federal re turn. 

When and where to file the return. Returns for a calendar 
year are due on or before April 15. When the 15th falls on 
a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is the 
next business day. Returns for other tax pe ri ods are due on 
or be fore the 15th day of the fourth month following the 
close of the estate’s or trust’s tax year. Mail the return to: 
Oregon De part ment of Rev e nue, PO Box 14110, Salem 
OR 97309-0910.

Signature. The fiduciary or officer representing the fi du cia ry 
must sign the return. 

Payment. When making a payment, use Form 41-V, Oregon 
Fiduciary Tax Payment Voucher. The form is included in this 
packet for your convenience. Estates and trusts are not re-
quired to pay estimated tax.

Accounting period. The accounting period must be the same 
as for federal income tax purposes. 

Accounting method. The accounting method must be the 
same as for federal income tax purposes. If the meth od is 
changed, ad just ments must be made to avoid du pli ca tion 
or omission of income and de duc tions. 

Unused loss carryovers. IRC sections 172 and 1212 ap ply to 
an estate or trust and the beneficiaries. Attach a copy of the 
federal loss carryover schedule to Form 41.

Income taxable to the grantor or substantial own er. Any part 
of trust income taxable to the grantor or an oth er per son un-
 der IRC sections 671 through 678 isn’t taxed on a fi du cia ry 
return. How ev er, the income in for ma tion must be shown on 
a sep a rate state ment at tached to Form 1041. At tach a copy 
of that in for ma tion state ment to Oregon Form 41. Also at-
tach a sup ple men tal state ment to Form 41 show ing Oregon 

ad di tions and sub trac tions to federal taxable inc ome. If the 
grant or trust is ex empt from fil ing Form 1041 under IRC reg-
 u la tion 1.671-4, it’s also ex empt from filing Form 41 [Or e gon 
Ad min is tra tive Rule (OAR) 150-316.382]. 

Returns for estates and complex trusts. On Oregon Form 41, 
lines 1 through 7, allocate the income and Oregon mod i fi c-
a tions between the estate or trust and the ben e fi cia ry if an 
authorized distribution was made or re quired dur ing the tax 
year. The fiduciary must provide the ben e fi cia ry with in come 
distribution and Oregon fi du cia ry ad just ment in for ma tion 
on federal Schedule K-1 (Form 1041). Attach a copy of each 
K-1 to Form 41. See in struc tions for line 6.

Transferee. The money and property of a taxpayer who has 
died passes to a person, estate or trust, called the trans fer ee. 
The transferee may be liable for the ob li ga tions and li a bil i ties 
of the deceased person. The li a bil i ty in cludes tax, in ter est, 
and penalty. The transferee’s li a bil i ty is limited to the value 
of the property ac quired from the de ce dent (ORS 314.310).

Extension of time for filing

If you need more time to file, send your payment along with 
Form 41-V.

Consider the payment voucher as your extension request if 
you are making a payment. If you are not making a payment, 
complete the federal extension form and write FOR OR-
EGON ONLY on the top. Do not send a copy. Attach a copy 
of the extension to your return. No extension is required if 
no tax is due.

You will be no ti fied only if your ex ten sion is de nied. More
time to file does not mean more time to pay your tax! All tax 
due must be paid by the orig i nal due date of the re turn.

Form 41-V is available on our Web site at www.oregon.gov/
DOR.

When you file your return

• Attach a copy of your federal extension, or a federal ex-
 ten sion form with “Oregon only” written on the top, to the 
back of your Or e gon return, Form 41. It should be the last 
item be fore the federal return.

• Check the box on your return indicating “an ex ten sion is 
at tached.”

• Include the amount you paid with Form 41-V on line 14.

Form 41 instructions
Simple trusts without capital gains or losses, or estates ter-
 mi nat ing in this tax year, must complete lines 2, 5a, and 6 on 
the front, and lines 22–42 on the back of Form 41.

If there are no distributions to the beneficiary, begin on line 4.

Line 5a. Enter the fiduciary adjustment allocable to the 
beneficiary (ORS 316.287 and OAR 150-316.287). If the ad-
 just ment is a subtraction, the beneficiary’s share is limited to 
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Questions? See “Taxpayer assistance.” 3 Visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

an amount equal to the distribution of in come taxable on the 
beneficiary’s individual return. A fi du cia ry adjustment ad-
dition increases the beneficiary’s income. The ben e fi cia ry’s 
share of the addition is lim it ed as follows: Sub tract the tax-
able portion of the dis tri bu tion from the total amount of the 
distribution. The balance is the beneficiary’s share, unless 
the amount of the addition is smaller.

Any amount of fiduciary adjustment not allocable to a ben e -
fi cia ry is an adjustment to the fiduciary’s taxable in come. 

Line 6. A copy of federal Schedule K-1 (Form 1041) or an 
ac cept able substitute, for each beneficiary, must be filed 
with Form 41. The total of the income and Ore gon fi du cia ry 
ad just ment reported on all Schedules K-1 must equal the 
amount entered on line 6. Each ben e fi cia ry’s share of the 
fi du cia ry adjustment must ei ther be shown at the bottom 
of their K-1 on a blank line or on a sep a rate sheet attached 
to the K-1. Mark it “Ore gon fi du cia ry addition (or sub trac -
tion)” and write in the amount the beneficiary is to report. 
Do not break the fi du cia ry ad just ment down into separate 
com po nents.

Example: An Oregon fiduciary adjustment includes a $750 
federal tax subtraction, a $250 U.S. gov ern ment in ter est 
subtraction, and a $300 Oregon tax ad di tion. The amount 
reported to the beneficiary is an Ore gon fiduciary ad just ment 
of <$700>.

Line 8. Tax. Use the rate schedule on Form 41, page 2 to fig ure 
the tax. Part-year resident trusts, see in struc tions on page 5.

Line 9a. Enter the amount of Net Long-Term Capital Gains 
(NLTCG) from Sched ule 1, col umn B, line 25.

Line 9b. Multiply line 9a by 5 percent to figure the re duced 
tax on the liquidated farm assets.

Line 11. Tax credits. Identify the credit claimed in the space 
provided. The amount claimed cannot be great er than the 
tax on line 10. Do not include prepayments or claim of right 
credit on this line.

Credit for income taxes paid to other states:

Resident estates and trusts. Generally, you can claim this 
credit if the estate or trust has income that is taxed by both 
Oregon and another state. An Oregon res i dent trust that has 
income taxed by Arizona, California, In di ana, or Vir gin ia 
may not claim the credit on the Ore gon return. The credit 
should be claimed on the non res i dent return for that state. 
If the trust is a res i dent of Ore gon and also a res i dent of an-
 oth er state, the cred it may be claimed on the Oregon re turn. 
Attach a copy of the return you filed with the oth er state and 
proof of pay ment of the tax. No cred it is al lowed if the tax 
has been claimed as a de duc tion. If a deduction for the oth er 
state’s tax was claimed on Form 1041, it must be add ed to 
in come on Oregon Form 41, line 40. See the 2005 individual 
re turn in struc tions for Ore gon Form 40, line 39, for how to 
fig ure the credit.

Nonresident estates and trusts. Oregon will allow a cred it 
for taxes paid to another state if all of the fol low ing con di -
tions are met:

• The estate or trust is a nonresident of Oregon.
• The estate or trust is a resident of Arizona, Cal i for nia, 

In di ana, or Virginia.
• The estate or trust has income that is taxed by both Or e gon 

and the resident state.

Other credits. You may be entitled to a tax credit for busi ness 
energy, dependent care assistance, political con tri bu tions, 
pollution control facilities, or reclaimed plas tic. Call or write 
the Oregon Department of Rev e nue for more in for ma tion, or 
visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

Line 14. Prepayments and claim of right credit. Fill in any 
prepayments you made for tax year 2005. Include any pay-
 ments made with an extension. Also include any claim of 
right cred it allowed. A claim of right ex ists when you are 
taxed on income and later find you have no right to that in-
 come and must repay it. Ore gon allows a claim of right cred it 
if your federal tax li a bil i ty is computed under IRC 1341(a). 
For more in for ma tion, see “Taxpayer assistance.”

Line 18. Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

• Mail any tax due after the due date (even if you have an 
extension).

• File your return showing tax due after the due date (in-
 clud ing any extended due date).

Penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid balance of your tax. If you 
get an extension, the penalty won’t be charged if you:

• Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due on or before the orig-
 i nal due date of the return; and

• Pay the balance of tax and interest when you file within 
the extension period; and

• Pay any interest due either when the return is filed or 
with in 30 days of billing by the department.

If you file more than three months after the due date, in-
 clud ing extensions, add an additional penalty of 20 per cent.

Line 19. Interest. If you don’t pay the tax by the orig i nal due 
date, interest will be charged on any unpaid tax.

For periods beginning      Annual     Monthly     Daily

January 1, 2006                        7%          0.5833%    0.0192%
January 1, 2005                        5%          0.4167%    0.0137%

Interest rate may change once a calendar year.

Interest periods generally begin on the 16th day of the month 
the re turn is due. Returns are due on the 15th unless the 15th 
falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday.

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a month. 
A month, for example, is May 16 to June 15. Here’s how to 
fig ure daily interest:

Tax × Daily interest rate × Number of days

Interest continues to accrue during an extension of time to 
file on any unpaid tax.
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Questions? See “Taxpayer assistance.” 4 Visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

Additional interest on deficiencies and de lin quen cies.
In ter est will increase by one-third of 1 per cent per month 
(4 per cent annually) on deficiencies or de lin quen cies if the 
fol low ing occur:

• You file a return showing taxes owing, or the De part ment 
of Revenue has assessed an existing de fi cien cy, and

• The tax assessed is not paid within 60 days after the re turn 
is filed or the notice of assessment is issued, and

• You have not filed a timely appeal.

Line 20. Total Due. Enclose a check or money order with 
your return and payment voucher, payable to “Oregon 
De part ment of Rev e nue.” Please use blue or black ink. 
Do not use gel pens or red ink. Write your Ore gon BIN 
or FEIN, and “2005” on your check. Do not send cash or 
post dat ed checks.

Special instructions. Do you owe penalty or interest and 
have an overpayment? If your overpayment is less than 
to tal penalty and interest, fill in on line 20 the result of line 
18 plus line 19 minus line 17.

Schedule 1—Oregon changes

Line 24. Changes in depreciation. You may have a de pre -
ci a tion difference for Oregon and may need the Ore gon 
De pre ci a tion Schedule and instructions. See “Taxpayer 
as sis tance.”

Line 25. Other changes. Changes include differences in gains 
or losses from the sale of property. Also use this line to re port 
differences in capital gains from the sale of farm use and 
forest use lands acquired from a de ce dent who died before 
1987. Enter the amount in col umn B. Also enter the amount 
in column A if an authorized distribution was made, and the 
gains qualify for in clu sion in distributable net income.

Electing small business trust. Amounts not included in fed-
 er al distributable net income of an electing small business 
trust under IRC Section 641(c) must be in clud ed in column 
B, line 25.

Net long-term capital gain. Enter the net long-term cap i tal 
gain (NLTCG) from farm assets that was not dis trib ut ed as a 
negative number in Schedule 1, column B, line 25. The sub-
 trac tion cannot exceed the amount of income that is re port ed 
for the fiduciary from federal Form 1041, line 22.

Line 29. Oregon changes distributed. Enter Oregon 
chang es from column A, line 26, that were distributed to 
the ben e fi cia ries. Enter zero if the amount on Form 1041, 
Schedule B, line 8 or line 11, is less than the amount on 
Schedule B, line 7.

The total of this line, plus the amounts from Form 1041, 
Sched ule B, lines 12 and 15, can’t exceed the amount on 
Sched ule B, line 8 or 11.

Schedule 2—Fiduciary adjustment

This schedule is for figuring net Oregon mod i fi ca tions to 
federal taxable income. 

Line 31. Federal income tax subtraction. This sub trac tion 
can’t exceed $4,500. To figure the subtraction, de duct the 
amount on federal Form 1041, Schedule G, line 6, from the 
amount on federal Form 1041, line 23. For ad di tion al fed er al 
tax paid for years prior to 2005, see in struc tions for line 34.

Line 32. Interest on U.S. obligations. Enter the amount 
of interest from U.S. government obligations included in 
fed er al income and not otherwise deducted. U.S. gov-
 ern ment interest received from another fiduciary should be 
sub tract ed on line 34. Don’t subtract that in come a second 
time on this line. The total of interest or div i dends from U.S. 
ob li ga tions included on federal Form 1041 must be reduced 
by the de duc tions al lo ca ble to such income (see Form 1041 
in struc tions, “Al lo ca tion of Deductions for Tax Exempt In-
 come”). Use the same for mu la to allocate deductions to U.S. 
gov ern ment in ter est.

Line 34. Other subtractions. Enter other subtractions re-
 quired by ORS 316.680 and ORS 316.695 that do not have a 
specific line. Attach a schedule that details the amount and 
nature of each subtraction included on this line. En ter the 
fiduciary’s share of the fiduciary ad just ment from an oth er 
estate or trust that is a subtraction on this line. Also, enter 
any additional federal income tax paid dur ing the tax year 
for prior years and not de duct ed on any pri or year return. 
To determine the amount deductible, refer to the 2005 in di -
vid u al return in struc tions for Form 40, line 18.

Line 37. Interest on obligations of other states. Enter in ter est 
income from bonds of a state or political sub di vi sion oth er 
than Oregon. (This type of income from another fi du cia ry 
is included in that fiduciary’s ad just ment and should not be 
duplicated on this line.) 

Line 38. Depletion. If natural resource depletion en tered on 
Form 1041 is in excess of the adjusted basis of the property, 
enter the excess on this line. 

Line 39. Estate tax paid on “income in respect of a de-
 ce dent” (IRD). To figure the amount of the federal es tate 
tax de duc tion that must be added to taxable in come on the 
Or e gon re turn, use this formula:

A   =   IRD in clud ed in federal taxable inc ome
B    =   IRD not taxable by Oregon
C   =   estate tax de duct ed on Form 1041
 Formula: B   

×  C =  $___________ amount of the ad di tion
A

Enter amount on line 39.

Line 40. Other additions. Enter other additions re quired by 
ORS 316.680 and 316.695 that do not have a spe cif ic line. At-
 tach a schedule that details the amount and na ture of each 
ad di tion included on this line. En ter this fi du cia ry’s share 
of the fiduciary adjustment from an oth er estate or trust that 
is an ad di tion on this line. Also en ter federal tax refunds 
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re ceived dur ing the tax year from pri or years, if the federal 
tax sub trac tion reduced the Ore gon tax in prior years.

Deductions allowed under sections 2053 or 2054 of the IRC 
may be claimed on either Form IT-1, Oregon Inheritance Tax 
Return; or Form 41, Oregon Fiduciary Income Tax Return; but 
not both. The personal representative of an estate may make 
different elections for federal and Oregon returns. If the de-
ductions are claimed on Form 41, attach a statement that the 
deductions are not being claimed on Form IT-1. For federal 
purposes, those deductions may be taken on either Form 
706, federal Estate Tax Return; or Form 1041, federal Income 
Tax Return for Estates and Trusts, under IRC 642(g). See OAR 
150-118.100(2).

Part-year resident and nonresident fiduciaries

Part-year resident trusts—use Schedule P (Form 41) to 
fig ure the Oregon tax. File with the fiduciary re turn, 
Form 41. 

Oregon taxes gross income from all sources for the por tion 
of the tax year the trust was an Oregon resident and gross 
income from Oregon sources only while the trust was a
non res i dent.

All federal deductions are allowed for the portion of the 
year the trust was an Oregon resident. But only de duc tions 
di rect ly related to Oregon sources are allowed while the trust 
was a nonresident.

A part-year resident trust required to file Form 41 must 
at tach a copy of federal Form 1041 as filed. See “Filing re-
 quire ments” instructions on page 1. To de ter mine your to tal
Or e gon tax able in come for the year, you may choose to com-
 plete a second federal Form 1041, using only Oregon source 
in come and de duc tions (a “pro for ma” return), or you may 
develop a sched ule of the amounts of income, gain, loss, and 
de duc tions for Ore gon. The full federal exemption amount 
is al lowed. If you choose to complete a “pro for ma” fed er al 
Form 1041, write “Or e gon Source Income” at the top of the 
form to dis tin guish it from the actual federal Form 1041 you 
filed for federal tax pur pos es.

Use the figures from the Oregon source Form 1041 (or Or-
 e gon source schedule) you prepared, to complete Form 41. 
Complete lines 1 through 7 and Schedules 1 and 2 as though 
the Oregon source amounts were the only in come and de-
 duc tions for the tax year. The full federal tax subtraction is 
allowed on line 31 based on the federal li a bil i ty from Form 
1041 and subject to the $4,500 limit.

Then complete Schedule P, using the figures from Form 
1041, to figure Oregon tax. Write this amount on Or e gon 
Form 41, line 8. 

Nonresident estates and trusts—A nonresident es tate or 
trust re quired to file Form 41 must at tach a copy of fed er al 
Form 1041 as filed. See “Filing requirements” instructions on 
page 1. Or e gon tax es only Ore gon source in come re ceived 
by the es tate or trust. De duc tions are al lowed if they are 
di rect ly re lat ed to Or e gon sources. The only exception is 

the fed er al tax sub trac tion, which must be ap por tioned as 
shown be low.

To determine your total Oregon taxable income for the 
year, you may choose to complete a second federal Form 
1041 us ing only Oregon source income and de duc tions (a 
“pro for ma” return), or you may develop a sched ule of the 
amounts of income, gain, loss, and de duc tions for Oregon. 
The full federal exemption amount is al lowed. If you choose 
to complete a “pro forma” fed er al Form 1041, write “Or-
 e gon Source Income” at the top of the form to distinguish it 
from the actual federal Form 1041 you filed for federal tax 
pur pos es.

Federal tax subtraction—The federal tax sub trac tion must 
be ap por tioned to determine the amount related to Or e gon 
sourc es. Use this formula:

A   =   Form 41, line 30, (Or e gon source items only)
B    =   Form 41, line 30, (all source items)
C   =   Federal tax (less er of ac tu al li a bil i ty or $4,500)

 Formula: A  
×  C =  $__________ amount of the sub trac tion

B
Enter on Form 41, line 31.

Oregon source income

Oregon is now permanently tied to the federal definition of 
gross income as found in the Internal Revenue Code. This 
tie is retroactive to December 31, 2002.

Taxpayers should file amended returns if they reported a 
modification on a 2003 or 2004 tax return due to differences 
between federal and Oregon tax law that have been elimi-
nated. No interest is paid on deficiencies or refunds due to 
amending for the retroactive provisions.

Examples of Oregon source income are: wages or oth er 
com pen sa tion for services performed in Ore gon; inc ome or 
loss from business activities in Ore gon, in clud ing rents, S 
cor po ra tions, and partnerships; gain or loss from the sales 
of real or tangible personal prop er ty lo cat ed in Or e gon; in-
come from intangible per son al prop er ty if the prop er ty has 
ac quired Or e gon business si tus.

For more information and examples, see OAR 150-316.127 
and the 2005 Or e gon Non res i dent and Part-Year Res i dent 
tax book let.

How to assemble the return

Assemble your Oregon fiduciary return in the fol low ing 
or der:

1. Pages 1 and 2 of Form 41. Attach Form W-2 and 1099 to 
the left margin on the front.

2. Schedule P (Form 41), if used.
3. “Pro forma” Form 1041 or a schedule of Ore gon source 

in come and deductions, if the return is from a part-year 
res i dent trust or non res i dent estate or trust.
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Questions? See “Taxpayer assistance.” 6 Visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

4. Form 24, Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary Con ver sions.
5. A copy of any extension forms.
6. A copy of federal Form 1041 and schedules.
7. Copies of federal Schedules K-1 (Form 1041).
8. A copy of federal Form 8855, Election to Treat a Qual i fied 

Revocable Trust as Part of an Estate.

Staple the pages together at the top left corner.

If you want to authorize the preparer to be able to talk to us, 
you may check the box located between the signature lines 
for the fiduciary and the preparer. If you want to authorize a 
person other than the preparer, please attach a signed Pow er 
of Attorney (POA) form. This form can be obtained on our 
Web site, or see “Taxpayer assistance.”

Taxpayer assistance
www.oregon.gov/DOR

• Down load forms and publications.
• Get up-to-date tax in for ma tion.
• E-mail: estate.help.dor@state.or.us.

   This e-mail address is not secure and confidentiality cannot be 
ensured. General tax and policy questions only.

Telephone

Salem..................................................................... 503-378-4988
Toll-free from Oregon prefix........................... 1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to hear recorded tax informa-
tion or order tax forms.

For help from Tax Services, call one of the help numbers:

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday ..................7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday...........................................................10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.

April 3–April 17, Monday–Friday ......................7:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15..................................................9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.

Wait times may vary. Closed on holidays.

Asistencia en español:
 Salem...................................................................503-945-8618
 Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon ..........................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
 Salem...................................................................503-945-8617
 Toll-free from Oregon prefix ........................1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats.

Correspondence

Include your BIN or FEIN and a day time tele phone num ber 
for fast er service. Write to: Or e gon De part ment of Rev e nue, 
955 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301-2555.
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•

(102) (102) (102)

B. This is:
C. This return is for:

D. If exempt organization, check federal form filed:

A First Return A Final Return
An Oregon Resident A Nonresident A Part-Year Trust (use Schedule P to compute the tax)

(101)

990-T Other: Specify

ATTACH A COPY OF FEDERAL FORM 1041, K-1s, AND APPLICABLE SCHEDULES

A
tt

ac
h

 W
-2

s 
an

d
 1

09
9 

h
er

e

 1.  Revised distributable net income from Form 41, page 2, line 27 ....1

150-101-041 (Rev. 12-05)

Beneficiary Fiduciary

       a. Tax-exempt income deducted in computing distribution
           deduction from federal Form 1041, Schedule B, line 12..........2a
       b. Add lines 2 and 2a.......................................................................2b

 3.  Percentage

 4.  Revised taxable income of fiduciary from Form 41, page 2, line 30 .................................................................... 4
 5.  Fiduciary adjustment from Form 41, page 2, line 42
       Indicate whether to be  added or   subtracted..........................5
       a. Beneficiary’s share (line 5 × % on line 3—see instructions).......................................... 5a
       b. Fiduciary’s share (line 5 minus line 5a) ........................................................................................................... 5b
 6.  Income to be reported by beneficiaries (Form 1041, K-1
       attached—see line 6 instructions) Line 2 plus line 5a ...................................................... 6

 7.  Oregon taxable income of fiduciary (total or net of lines 4 and 5b) ........................................................................ 7
 8.  Tax using rate schedule on page 2, or from Schedule P, line 11 ..................................................................... 8

11.  Tax credits (no prepayments, see instructions). Identify ___________________________________ ...........11
12.  Balance of tax (line 10 minus line 11) ................................................................................................................ •12

13.  Oregon income tax withheld (attach form W-2 or 1099 to front of return) ...• 13
14.  Prepayments and claim of right credit (see instructions)..................14
15.  Total payments (line 13 plus line 14) .................................................................................................................... 15
16. Tax due. Is line 12 more than line 15? If so, line 12 minus line 15 ........................................................Tax Due 16
17. Overpayment. Is line 15 more than line 12? If so, line 15 minus line 12..................................... Overpayment 17
18.  Penalty for filing or paying late (see instructions)................................................................................................. 18
19.  Interest due with this return (see instructions)...................................................................................................... 19
20. Total Due (line 16 plus lines 18 and 19) ............................................................................................. Total Due 20
21. Refund (line 17 minus lines 18 and 19) ..................................................................................................Refund 21

Line 2b   $
Line 1     $

=
3

%

 2.  Distribution deduction from federal Form 1041, Schedule B, 
       line 15, plus Form 41, page 2, line 29................................................................................ 2

Form 24 is attached

 9.  NLTCG from column B, line 25: 9a         × 0.05 ........................................................................... 9b
10.  Total tax (add lines 8 and 9b) ............................................................................................................................... 10

                                                                                                                             (Round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar)

A Trust Filing as an Estate

Check if new 
name or address

•

or Fiscal Year
    Beginning:

Mo Day Year Mo Day Year
Ending:

Name of Trust or Estate (first name, middle initial, last name)— PRINT CLEARLY OR TYPE

Name of Fiduciary (first name, last name) and title (TTEE or PR)

Street Address or P.O. Box

City State ZIP Code

Business Identification Number

Federal Employer Identification Number

An extension is attached

OREGON
FIDUCIARY INCOME

TAX RETURN

Form

41
(101, 102)

2005
For office use only

Date Received

Payment

Penalty Date

1 2 3

A. This return is for: An Estate: date of death A Bankruptcy Estate A Funeral Trust A Trust

  Mail this return on or before the 15th day of the fourth month after the end of the taxable year.

                                                                        Mail to:    Oregon Department of Revenue
                                                                                         PO Box 14110
                                                                                         Salem OR 97309-0910

•

•

•

Amended return
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Name of Estate or Trust

SCHEDULE 1 — OREGON CHANGES TO DISTRIBUTABLE NET INCOME (DNI) AND TAXABLE INCOME OF FIDUCIARY (TIF)
(refer to specific instructions)

Federal Employer Identification Number

22.  Distributable net income (from federal Form 1041, Schedule B, line 7) ...................22

(Column A)
DNI

(Column B)
TIF

23.  Taxable income of fiduciary (from federal Form 1041, line 22) ......................................................................... 23
24.  Changes in depreciation for Oregon ............................................................................24                                   24
25.  Other changes. Identify ___________________________________ ..........................25                                   25
26.  Line 24 plus line 25 .......................................................................................................26                                   26
27.  Revised distributable net income (Column A, line 22 plus line 26)
       Enter here and on page 1, line 1 ...................................................................................27
28.  Total taxable income (Column B, line 23 plus line 26).......................................................................................... 28
29.  Changes included on Column A, line 26, that were distributed (see instructions)............................................. 29
30.  Revised taxable income of fiduciary (total or net of lines 28 and 29)
       Enter here and on page 1, line 4 .......................................................................................................................... 30

SCHEDULE 2 — FIDUCIARY ADJUSTMENT
(refer to specific instructions)

31.  2005 federal income tax subtraction—limited to $4,500 (see instructions) .......................................................... 31

Subtractions

32.  Interest on U.S. obligations included in income on federal Form 1041 $ _______________,
       less allocation of administration and miscellaneous expenses $ _______________ (see instructions) ........... 32
33.  Oregon income tax refund included as income on federal Form 1041................................................................. 33
34.  Other subtractions (attach explanation) ............................................................................................................... 34
35.  Add lines 31 through 34 ....................................................................................................................................... 35

36.  Oregon income tax deducted on 2005 federal Form 1041................................................................................... 36
37.  Interest on obligations of other states or their political subdivisions..................................................................... 37
38.  Depletion in excess of adjusted basis .................................................................................................................. 38
39.  Estate taxes on income in respect of a decedent not taxable by Oregon ............................................................ 39
40.  Other additions (attach explanation) .................................................................................................................... 40
41.  Add lines 36 through 40 ....................................................................................................................................... 41

42.  Fiduciary adjustment (difference between lines 35 and 41) ................................................................................. 42
       This fiduciary adjustment is to be  added or   subtracted on page 1, line 5.

Additions

150-101-041 (Rev. 12-05)

Signature of Fiduciary Date

Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements. To 
the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person other than the taxpayer, this declaration is 
based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Title (if applicable) Daytime Telephone Number

x

( )

2005 RATE SCHEDULE—Compute the Tax Using the Following Rates

                     If your taxable income is:                                                  Your tax is:
                     Not over $2,650...................................................................5% of taxable income
                     Over $2,650 but not over $6,650.........................................$133 plus 7% of the excess over $2,650
                     Over $6,650.........................................................................$413 plus 9% of the excess over $6,650

Signature of Preparer other than Fiduciary

x

Print Name

DatePrint Name

Title (if applicable) Daytime Telephone Number

( )

Check the box to authorize the preparer to receive and provide any confidential tax information relating to this return.

Page 2 —Form 41, 2005
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OREGON FIDUCIARY TAX PAYMENT VOUCHER Department of Revenue Use Only
150-101-173 (Rev. 12-05)

$
Enter Payment Amount

. 0 0

•
Tax Return Type (check only one):

(102)

(101)
•

Trust (102)

(102) Bankruptcy Estate
Funeral Trust

FORM

41-V
2005 Extension

Payment Type (check only one):

2005 Return
•

Amended Return—Tax Year:

• BIN:
FEIN:

Name of Filer on Tax Return:
Name of Fiduciary:                                                                                                                Telephone Number:
Mailing Address of Fiduciary:
City:                                                                           State:                  Zip Code:

First Time Filer

New Name or Address

Prior Year Return—Tax Year:

2006 Prepayment

OREGON FIDUCIARY TAX PAYMENT VOUCHER INSTRUCTIONS 2005

Use this form as an extension to file your return if you are making a payment and have not filed an extension 
with the IRS.

DO NOT use this form as an extension to file if you are NOT making a payment. Complete the federal 
extension form and write FOR OREGON ONLY on the top. Do not send a copy. Attach the extension to your 
return.

Use this form to send the following payments:

• Tax due when you file your 2005 return. Check the “2005 Return” box.
• Tax due by the 2005 return due date, if you are filing your return on extension. Check the “2005 Extension” box.
• 2006 Tax pre-payments. You are not required to pre-pay tax. If you wish to make a payment, check the “2006 

Prepayment” box.
• Tax due with an amended return. Check the “Amended Return” box and fill in the tax year.
• Tax due with a prior year’s return. Check the “Prior Year Return” box and fill in the tax year.

How to fill in Form 41-V:

• Tax Year: Fill in the beginning and ending dates of your tax year.
• Payment Type: Check the box that identifies the type of payment you are sending.
• Tax Return Type: Please check only one tax return type box.
• BIN: Fill in the BIN (Oregon business identification number) if known. If this is your first filing with the department, 

leave blank and a BIN will be assigned.
• FEIN: Fill in your FEIN (federal employer identification number).
• Payment Amount: Please check only one payment type box.
• Name, Address, and Telephone Number: Fill in the estate or trust as the name of filer. Fill in the name of the personal 

representative or trustee in the space labeled fiduciary, and the fiduciary’s address and telephone number.
• First Time Filer / New Name or Address: Check the first time filer box if this is your first filing year. If the name or 

address of the trust or estate has changed, check that box.

Make your check payable to: Oregon Department of Revenue. To ensure proper credit to the account, write the filer’s 
name, BIN or FEIN, and tax year on your check.

Mailing information: Mail the voucher with your payment to:

 Oregon Department of Revenue
 PO Box 14110
 Salem OR 97309-0910

Estate

FORM

41-V

 Did you know that you can print additional vouchers at www.oregon.gov/DOR?

Calendar Year:
Fiscal Year— Begins:
                         Ends:

Tax Year (check only one):•
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10.  Oregon Percentage Line 8     $
Line 7     $

=
10

%

SCHEDULE P
(Form 41)

Name of Trust Oregon resident Oregon Business Identification Number (BIN)

Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)From ________________ To ________________

Beneficiary Fiduciary

 1.  Revised distributable net income from page 2, line 17 ....................1

           a. Tax-exempt income deducted in computing distribution
           deduction from federal Form 1041, Schedule B, line 12 .........2a
       b. Line 2 plus line 2a........................................................................2b

 3.  Percentage

 4.  Revised taxable income of fiduciary from Schedule P, page 2, line 20 ............................................................... 4
 5.  Fiduciary adjustment from Schedule P, page 2, line 32
       Indicate whether to be  added or   subtracted..........................5
       a. Beneficiary’s share (line 5 × % on line 3—see instructions).......................................... 5a
       b. Fiduciary’s share (line 5 minus line 5a) ........................................................................................................... 5b

 6.  Income to beneficiaries (total or net of lines 2 and 5a)......................................................... 6

 7.  Taxable income of fiduciary (total or net of lines 4 and 5b) .................................................................................... 7

 8.  Oregon taxable income of fiduciary (from Form 41, line 7) .................................................................................... 8

Line 2b   $
Line 1     $

=
3

%

 2.  Distribution deduction from federal Form 1041, Schedule B, 
       line 15, plus Schedule P, page 2, line 19 .......................................................................... 2

 9.  Tax on amount on line 7 (use rate schedule, Form 41, page 2) ........................................................... 9

11.  Oregon tax: line 9 × % on line 10. Enter here and on Form 41, line 8 ................................................11

Schedule P is for computing the Oregon tax of a part-year resident trust. Do not use it for full-year Oregon trusts or full-
year nonresident trusts. Use Schedule P in combination with Form 41 to compute an allocated amount of Oregon tax to 
Oregon-source taxable income.

Step 1. Complete Oregon Form 41, lines 1–7, using Oregon-source income only and the deductions directly related to 
that income. A federal Form 1041 may be used as a worksheet to show Oregon-source amounts. Transfer the amount on 
Form 41, line 7, to Schedule P, line 8.

Step 2. Complete Schedule P as though the trust were a full-year Oregon resident reporting income from all sources 
regardless of where derived. The amounts entered are based on the federal Form 1041 as filed. The Oregon tax on line 9 is 
computed as if the trust were a full-year Oregon resident.

Step 3. Apportion the Oregon tax shown on Schedule P, line 9 using the percentage determined on line 10. Enter the result 
on Schedule P, line 11 and on Oregon Form 41, line 8.

INSTRUCTIONS

ATTACH THIS SCHEDULE TO THE OREGON FIDUCIARY INCOME TAX RETURN—FORM 41

150-101-051 (Rev. 12-05) Page 1

PART-YEAR RESIDENT TRUST
COMPUTATION OF TAX 2005
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Name of Trust Oregon Business Identification Number (BIN)

Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

Schedule P (Form 41) 2005 — page 2

SCHEDULE 1 — OREGON CHANGES TO DISTRIBUTABLE NET INCOME (DNI) 
AND TAXABLE INCOME OF FIDUCIARY (TIF)

12.  Distributable net income (from federal Form 1041, Schedule B, line 7) ...................12

Column A
DNI

Column B
TIF

13.  Taxable income of fiduciary (from federal Form 1041, line 22) ......................................................................... 13
14.  Changes in depreciation for Oregon (see instructions for Form 41, line 24).................14                                   14
15.  Other changes. Identify ___________________________________ ..........................15                                   15
16.  Line 14 plus line 15 .......................................................................................................16                                   16
17.  Revised distributable net income (Column A, line 12 plus line 16)
       Enter here and on page 1, line 1 ...................................................................................17
18.  Total taxable income (Column B, line 13 plus line 16).......................................................................................... 18
19.  Changes included on Column A, line 16, that were distributed (see instructions)............................................. 19
20.  Revised taxable income of fiduciary (total or net of lines 18 and 19)
       Enter here and on page 1, line 4 .......................................................................................................................... 20

SCHEDULE 2 — FIDUCIARY ADJUSTMENT
(refer to specific instructions for Form 41)

21.  2005 federal income tax subtraction—limited to $4,500 (see Form 41 instructions)............................................ 21

Subtractions

22.  Interest on U.S. obligations included in income on federal Form 1041 $ _______________,
       less allocation of administration and miscellaneous expenses $ _______________........................................ 22
23.  Oregon income tax refund included as income on federal Form 1041................................................................. 23
24.  Other subtractions (attach explanation) ............................................................................................................... 24
25.  Add lines 21 through 24 ....................................................................................................................................... 25

26.  Oregon income tax deducted on 2005 federal Form 1041................................................................................... 26
27.  Interest on obligations of other states or their political subdivisions..................................................................... 27
28.  Depletion in excess of adjusted basis .................................................................................................................. 28
29.  Estate taxes on income in respect of a decedent not taxable by Oregon ............................................................ 29
30.  Other additions (attach explanation) .................................................................................................................... 30
31.  Add lines 26 through 30 ....................................................................................................................................... 31

32.  Fiduciary adjustment (difference between lines 25 and 31) ................................................................................. 32
       This fiduciary adjustment is to be  added or   subtracted. Enter amount on page 1, line 5.

Additions

Page 2

150-101-051 (Rev. 12-05)
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New information

The 2005 Oregon Legislature passed House Bill (HB) 2469 
which specifies that Oregon qualified terminable interest 
property (QTIP) elections may be taken on amended re-
turns. For more information on this new law, refer to the 
Legislature’s Web site at www.oregon.gov/LEG.

The federal estate law has changed the calculation of the tax-
able estate on the 2005 Form 706. Most figures will not come 
directly from Form 706. The state death tax is now taken as 
a deduction on the federal return. Because Oregon is tied to 
the 2000 federal estate law, we cannot allow the calculation 
of the taxable estate after the state death tax deduction. You 
must use table A in this booklet to calculate the tentative tax 
on the taxable estate for the 2005 Form IT-1. You must also 
use table B in this booklet for computation of the state death 
tax for Form IT-1.

The department will no longer acknowledge the receipt of 
the return or payments. Please do not send self-addressed 
envelopes for acknowledgements. If you would like verifica-
tion that your documents were received you may send them 
by certified mail.

General information

Purpose of Form IT-1

The executor of a decedent’s estate uses Form IT-1 to figure 
the estate tax imposed by ORS Chapter 118. This tax is lev ied 
on the entire taxable es tate, not just on the share re ceived 
by a par tic u lar ben e fi cia ry. If the estate has assets outside of 
Or e gon, the tax will be pro rat ed on Part 2, line 16.

Please note:

• Section references are to the Internal Revenue Code as it 
existed on December 31, 2000.

• Use the 2005 Form IT-1 only for deaths occurring in 2005.

Filing requirements

An Oregon Inheritance Tax Return (Form IT-1) must be filed 
for 2005 dates of death if the value of the gross estate is 
$950,000 or more.

If you have filed with the IRS, attach the Form 706, schedules, 
and supporting doc u ments and check the appropriate box.

If you have no filing requirement with the IRS, you must 
complete Form IT-1 and attach the schedules from the fed-
 er al Form 706. Oregon requires the same forms, sched ules, 
and supporting information (such as photocopy of death 

cer tif i cate, Form 712, will, trust, appraisals, etc.) as would 
have been required if the estate had filed a federal return.

A separate election (such as alternate valuation or the mar i tal 
deduction) may be claimed for Oregon purposes. If a sep-
 a rate Oregon election is made, you must attach a sched ule 
to explain the figures you used and mark the ap pro pri ate 
box on Form IT-1. To refer to OAR 150-118.010(7), the rule 
allowing separate elections, you may visit the Secretary of 
State Web site at www.oregon.gov/SOS.

Gross estate

The gross estate of the decedent is the true cash value of all 
real and personal property, tangible or intangible, as of the 
date of death, wherever situated.

Executor

According to ORS 118.005, the definition of “Executor” is 
the executor, administrator, personal representative, fidu-
ciary, or custodian of property of the decedent. For probate
estates, the personal representative appointed or approved 
by the court has the duty to file the return. For non-probate
es tates, any person having actual or con struc tive possession 
of the property of the decedent is responsible for filing the 
return.

If two or more persons are liable for filing a return, they 
should all join together in filing one complete return. How-
 ev er, if they are unable to join in making one com plete re turn, 
each is required to file a return disclosing all the in for ma tion 
the per son has in the case, including the name of every per-
son holding an interest in the property and a full de scrip tion 
of the prop er ty. If the appointed, qualified, and acting ex-
 ec u tor is unable to make a com plete return, then every person 
holding an in ter est in the property must, on notice from the 
department, make a return regarding that interest.

150-103-001 (Rev. 9-05)

Oregon 2005                                                                                                   Form IT-1 and Instructions

Inheritance Tax
This publication is a guide, not a complete statement, of Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) and Oregon Department of Rev e nue 

Administrative Rules (OAR). For more information, refer to the laws and rules on our Web site, www.oregon.gov/DOR.

Contents
New information .............................................................1
General information .......................................................1
Instructions for Part 1: Decedent and 

executor in for ma tion ....................................................3
Instructions for Part 2: Tax computation .....................4
Instructions for Part 3: Elections by the executor .......7
Instructions for Part 4: General information .............12
Instructions for Part 5: Recapitulation .......................13
Instructions for Part 6 ...................................................14
Taxpayer assistance.......................................................14
Form IT-1 ........................................................................15
Form IT-V .......................................................................19
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Questions? See “Taxpayer assistance.” 2 Visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

When to file return

You must file Form IT-1 within nine months after the date 
of the decedent’s death, unless you receive an extension of 
time to file.

Payment

The tax payment is due within nine months after the date 
of the decedent’s death, unless an extension of time for 
pay ment has been granted, or you have been granted an 
in stall ment payment agreement.

If the tax paid with the return is different from the balance 
due as shown on the return, explain the difference in an 
at tached statement. If an extension of time to pay has been 
granted by the IRS, attach a copy of the approved Form 4768 
to Form IT-1.

To assist us in posting your payment to the proper account, 
use Form IT-V, Oregon Inheritance Tax Payment Voucher. The
voucher and instructions are on page 19. Do not send Form 
IT-V without a payment. Form IT-V is also available on our 
Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

You may send payment prior to filing the return, with the 
return, or after the return. Be sure to include a payment 
voucher with your check.

• Mail your check with your payment voucher if you want 
to make prepayments.

• Enclose your check and payment voucher with your re turn 
before mailing.

• Enclose your check with your payment voucher by the due 
date of the return to avoid penalty and interest.

Payments, received after the due date, shall be applied first 
to penalty and interest, and then to tax.

Extensions

If you received a federal extension, attach a copy of Form 
4768 (Application for Extension of Time to File a Return and/or 
Pay U.S. Estate and Generation-Skipping Transfer Taxes) to 
Form IT-1 and mark the extension box on the Form IT-1. An 
ex ten sion of time to file an estate tax return, or an exten-
sion of time to pay estate tax will be accepted for Or e gon, 
as grant ed by the Internal Revenue Service.

More than one extension is available for an inheritance tax 
return.

• An extension of time to file the return does not extend 
the time to pay the tax. You must have obtained a sep a rate, 
approved extension to extend the time to pay the tax.

• An extension of time to pay the tax does not ex tend the 
time to file the return. You must have obtained a sep a rate, 
approved extension to extend the time to file the re turn.

• Interest accrues during the extension period.

To avoid penalties and interest, use Form IT-V to make an 
extension payment by the due date. An extension without a 
payment cannot be requested by using Form IT-V.

If you need an automatic six-month extension to file for 
Oregon only, you may write at the top of federal Form 4768, 
“For Oregon only.” On that form, please check the box for 
an extension to file and use the Oregon figures. When you 
file the return, please mark the appropriate box on Form IT-1 
and attach a copy of the extension form.

If you need an extension to pay for Oregon only, you may 
write at the top of federal Form 4768, “For Oregon only.” On 
that form, please check the box for extension to pay, use the 
Oregon figures, and mail it to us by the return due date. We 
will use the same criteria used by the IRS in consideration 
of your request. We will stamp it approved or denied and 
return a copy to you. When you file the return, please mark 
the appropriate box on Form IT-1 and attach a copy of the 
stamped extension form.

If you need additional time to pay Oregon, see page 12 for 
information about installment payments.

Signature and verification

If there is more than one executor, all listed executors must 
verify and sign the return. All executors are re spon si ble for 
the return as filed and are liable for penalties provided for 
erroneous or false returns per ORS 118.990.

Amended returns

Did you amend the federal estate tax return, or did the IRS make 
an adjustment that results in a change in the amount of tax? If 
yes, it is the duty of the executor or other re spon si ble person to 
file an amended Oregon return or notify the Oregon Depart-
ment of Revenue of the change in writing within 90 days.

Form IT-V, Oregon Inheritance Tax Payment Voucher, must ac-
company a payment with an amended return.

Supplemental documents

You must attach a photocopy of the death certificate to the 
return. If the decedent was a citizen or resident and died 
testate, attach a certified copy of the will to the return. If 
you cannot ob tain a certified copy, attach a copy of the will 
and an ex pla na tion of why it is not certified.

Other supplemental documents may be required to be 
at tached to the return. Examples include Forms 712, 709, 
709-A, and 706-CE, trust and power of appointment in stru -
ments. If you do not file these documents with the return, 
the pro cess ing of the return will be delayed.

If the decedent was a U.S. citizen but not a resident of the 
United States, you must attach the following doc u ments to 
the return:

• A copy of the inventory of property and the sched ule of li-
abilities, claims against the estate, and expenses of ad min -
is tra tion filed with the foreign court of probate ju ris dic tion, 
certified by a proper official of the court;
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• A copy of the return filed under the foreign in her it ance, 
estate, legacy, succession tax, or other death tax act, cer-
 ti fied by a proper official of the foreign tax department, if 
the estate is subject to such a foreign tax; and

• If the decedent died testate, a certified copy of the will.

If the estate has assets that are taxable in another state, an 
apportionment will be figured on line 16.

Rounding off to whole dollars

Please enter amounts on the return and accompanying 
sched ules as whole dollars only.

Late filing penalty

A late filing penalty of 5 percent of the tax may be imposed 
if the return is not filed by the due date, including any ex-
 ten sion. If you file more than three months after the due 
date or the extended filing date, add an additional penalty 
of 20 percent.

Late payment penalty

A delinquency penalty of 5 percent of the tax may be im-
 posed if the tax is not received by the due date, or by the 
extended payment date.

Interest

Interest is charged on tax not paid within nine months of 
the date of death. Interest will accrue during the extension 
pe ri od. The interest rate may change once a calendar year. 
If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the interest 
rate increases by 4 percent per year.

Interest period                   Annual     Monthly     Daily

January 1, 2005                        5%          0.4167%    0.0137%
January 1, 2006                        7%          0.5833%    0.0192%

Obtaining Oregon forms and publications using a 
personal computer

You may access the Oregon Department of Revenue’s In-
 ter net Web site anytime at www.oregon.gov/DOR to do 
the fol low ing:

• Download current forms, instructions, and pub li ca tions.
• Request help via e-mail.
• Download prior year forms and instructions.
• Form IT-1 may be filled in online and printed out for sub-

 mis sion and record keeping.

Federal forms and publications

Federal forms and publications are available on the IRS web 
site at www.irs.gov, or by calling 1-800-829-3676.

Specific instructions

You must file the first three pages of Form IT-1 and attach 
Form 706 and schedules, if you filed with federal. If you 

are not required to file with federal, you must file the first 
three pages of Form IT-1, all supporting federal schedules, 
A through I, as appropriate, to support the entries in items 
1 through 9 of Part 5—Recapitulation.

— If you enter zero on any item of Part 5—Recapitulation, 
then you do not need to file the schedule (except for 
Sched ule F).

— If you claim an exclusion on item 11 of Part 5—Re ca -
pit u la tion, then complete and attach Schedule U.

— If you claim any deductions on items 13 through 23 of 
Part 5—Recapitulation, then complete and attach the ap-
 pro pri ate schedules to support the claimed deductions.

— If there is not enough space on a schedule to list all the 
items, then attach a Continuation Schedule.

• Form IT-1 has 3 pages.
• When you complete the return, staple all the re quired 

pag es together in the proper order.
• Number the items you list on each schedule, be gin ning 

with the number “1” each time.
• Total the items listed on each schedule and its at tach ments, 

Continuation Schedules, etc.
• Enter the total of all attachments, Continuation Sched ules, 

etc., at the bottom of each printed schedule, but do not 
carry the totals forward from one schedule to the next.

• Enter the total for each schedule on Part 5—Re ca pit u la tion, 
page 3, Form IT-1.

• Do not complete the “Alternate valuation date” or “Al-
 ter nate value” columns of any schedule unless you elect ed 
alternate valuation on line 1 of Part 3—Elections by the 
executor.

Instructions for Part 1: Decedent and
executor information (page 1 of Form IT-1)

Decedent’s name and Social Security number (SSN)

Enter the decedent’s name and the SSN assigned spe cif i-
 cal ly to the decedent. You cannot use the SSN assigned to the 
de ce dent’s spouse. If the decedent did not have a SSN, the 
ex ec u tor should obtain one for the de ce dent by filing Form 
SS-5, Application for So cial Security Card, with a local So cial 
Security Ad min is tra tion office.

Decedent’s domicile

Domicile is the place where the decedent had his fixed, 
per ma nent, principal home. The decedent had only one 
do mi cile, though he may have had multiple residences.

Name and address of executor

If there is more than one executor, please enter the name and 
the address of the executor to be contacted by the de part -
ment. List the other executors’ names, addresses, telephone 
num bers, and SSNs on an attached sheet. Please notify us of 
a change of address or telephone num bers for the executor(s) 
or authorized rep re sen ta tive.
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Instructions for Part 2: Tax computation
(page 1 of Form IT-1)

In general, the gross estate tax is figured by applying the 
unified rates shown in table A, on page 6, to the total of 
trans fers both during life and at death, and then sub tract ing 
the gift taxes. The result then acts as a limitation to the in-
heritance tax which is figured by subtracting $60,000 from 
the taxable estate and applying the rates from table B, page 
6. Please complete Part 2—Tax computation.

Line 1

If you elected alternate valuation on line 1, Part 3—Elec-
 tions by the executor, enter the amount you entered in the 
“Al ter nate value” column of item 12 of Part 5—Recapitula-
tion. Oth er wise, enter the amount from the “Value at date 
of death” column.

Line 2

Enter the total allowable deductions from page 3, Part 5—Re-
capitulation, item 23.

Line 3

Due to recent changes to federal estate law, the calculation might 
differ from the calculation on the 2005 Form 706. Oregon is tied 
to the 2000 federal estate law, so we cannot allow the calculation 
of the taxable estate after the state death tax deduction.

Lines 4 (adjusted taxable gifts) and 9 (total gift tax 
payable)

Three worksheets are provided to help you compute the entries 
for these lines. You do not need to file these worksheets with 
your return, but you should keep them for your records.

Worksheet TG—Taxable gifts reconciliation
This worksheet allows you to reconcile the decedent’s life-
 time taxable gifts to compute totals that will be used for the 
Line 4 Worksheet and the Line 9 Worksheet.

You must have all of the decedent’s gift tax returns (Form 
709, United States Gift and Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax 
Return) before you complete Worksheet TG. The amounts 
you will enter on Worksheet TG can usually be derived from 
these returns as filed. However, if any of the returns were 
audited by the IRS, you should use the amounts that were 
finally determined as a result of the audits.

In addition, you must include in column b of Work sheet 
TG any gifts in excess of the annual exclusion made by the 
de ce dent (or on behalf of the decedent under a power of 
at tor ney) but for which no Forms 709 were filed. You must 
make a reasonable inquiry as to the existence of any such 
gifts. The annual exclusion for 1977 through 1981 was $3,000 
per do nee per year and $10,000 for years after 1981.

For tax years beginning after 1998, the $10,000 exclusion for gifts 
is indexed for inflation. See Rev. Proc. 98-61, 1998-52 I.R.B. 23

Special treatment of split gifts. These special rules apply 
only if:
• The decedent’s spouse predeceased the de ce dent;
• The decedent’s spouse made gifts that were “split” with 

the decedent under the rules of Section 2513;
• The decedent was the “consenting spouse” for those split 

gifts, as that term is used on Form 709; and
• The split gifts were included in the decedent’s spouse’s 

gross estate under Section 2035.

If all four conditions above are met, do not include these gifts on 
line 4 of the Part 2—Tax computation and do not include the gift 
taxes payable on these gifts on line 9 of Part 2—Tax computa-
tion. These adjustments are incorporated into the worksheets.

Worksheet TG. Taxable gifts reconciliation (to be used for lines 4 and 9 of Part 2—Tax computation)

Note: For the definition of a taxable gift see Section 2503. Ignore the old specific ex emption. Fol low 
Form 709. That is, include only the decedent’s one-half of split gifts, wheth er the gifts were made by 
the decedent or the de cedent’s spouse. In addition to gifts re port ed on Form 709, you must include 
any taxable gifts in excess of the annual exclusion that were not reported on Form 709.
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c.
Taxable amount 

included in column b 
for gifts included in the 
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d.
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Line 4 Worksheet. Adjusted taxable gifts made after 1976

 1. Taxable gifts made after 1976. Enter the amount from col umn b, Worksheet TG ......................................................... 1

 2. Taxable gifts made after 1976 reportable on Schedule G. Enter the amount from 

  line 2, column c, Worksheet TG.....................................................................................2

 3. Taxable gifts made after 1976 that qualify for “special treatment.” Enter the 

  amount from line 2, column d, Worksheet TG................................................................3

 4. Add lines 2 and 3 ........................................................................................................................................................... 4

 5. Adjusted taxable gifts. Subtract line 4 from line 1. Enter here and on line 4 of the Tax Computation of Form IT-1 ............................ 5

Line 9 Worksheet. Gift tax on gifts made after 1976
a.

Calendar year or 
calendar quarter

b.
Total taxable gifts 
for prior periods 

(from Form 709, Tax 
Computation, line 2)

c.
Taxable gifts for 

this period (from Form 
709, Tax Computation, 

line 1) (see below)

d.
Tax payable using 
table A (see below)

e.
Unused unified credit 

(applicable credit 
amount) for this period 

(see below)

f.
Tax payable for this period 

(subtract column e from 
column d)Total pre-1977 taxable 

gifts. Enter the 
amount from line 1, 

Worksheet TG

 1. Total gift taxes payable on gifts made after 1976 (com bine the amounts in column f)................................................... 1

 2. Gift taxes paid by the decedent on gifts that qualify for “special treatment.” Enter the amount from line 2, 

  column e, Worksheet TG ............................................................................................................................................... 2

 3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 ............................................................................................................................................. 3

 4. Gift tax paid by decedent’s spouse on split gifts included on Schedule G. Enter the amount from line 2, 

  column f, Worksheet TG ............................................................................................................................................... 4

 5. Add lines 3 and 4. Enter here and on line 9 of the Form IT-1 ........................................................................................ 5

Columns b and c. In addition to gifts reported on Form 709, you must include in these col umns any taxable gifts in excess of the an-
nual exclusion that were not reported on Form 709.

Column d. To figure the “tax payable” for this column, you must use table A in these instructions, as it applies to the year of 
the decedent’s death rather than to the year the gifts were ac tu al ly made. To com pute the entry for column d, you should figure the 
“tax payable” on the amount in column b and sub tract it from the “tax payable” on the amounts in col umns b and c added 
to geth er. Enter the dif fer ence in column d.

“Tax payable” as used here is an hypothetical amount and does not necessarily reflect tax actually paid. Figure “tax pay able”
only on gifts made after 1976. Do not include any tax paid or payable on gifts made before 1977. Pre-1977 gifts are listed only
to exclude them from the calculation.

To calculate the tax, enter the amount for the appropriate year from column c of the work sheet on line 1 of the Tax Com pu -
ta tion of the Form 709. Enter the amount from col umn b on line 2 of the Tax Com pu ta tion. Complete the Tax Computation 
through the tax due be fore any reduction for the uni fied credit (applicable credit amount) and enter that amount in column 
d, above.

Column e. To figure the unused unified credit (ap pli ca ble credit amount), use the uni fied credit (ap pli ca ble credit amount) 
in effect for the year the gift was made. This amount should be on line 12 of the Tax Computation of the Form 709 filed for 
the gift.
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Line 6. Tentative federal tax

Due to recent changes to federal estate law, the calculation 
might differ from the calculation on the 2005 Form 706. 
Oregon is tied to the 2000 federal estate law, so we cannot 
allow the calculation of the taxable estate after the state death 
tax deduction. The tentative tax amount needs to be calculated 
because it re sults in a limitation to the state death tax.

Line 7

Lines 7a through 7c are used to calculate the phase-out of the 
graduated rates. The phase-out applies only if the amount 
on line 5 exceeds $10 million.

Line 11. Maximum unified credit (applicable 
credit amount)

The applicable credit amount for Oregon is $326,300 for 
estates of decedents dying in 2005. The amount of the cred it 
cannot exceed the amount of estate tax imposed.

Important: If the estate is claiming a qualified family-owned busi-
 ness interest deduction (QFOBI) on Schedule T, the sum of the 
QFOBI deduction and the applicable exclusion amount cannot 
ex ceed $1.3 million. Thus, if the maximum QFOBI deduction of 

$675,000 is claimed, the applicable exclusion amount would be 
lim it ed to $625,000, and the credit entered on line 11 would be 
$202,050.

If the amount of the QFOBI deduction is less than $675,000, in-
 crease the applicable exclusion amount by the difference between 
$675,000 and the amount of the QFOBI deduction (but not to 
ex ceed the max i mum ap pli ca ble exclusion amount in effect for the 
year of death).

Line 12. Adjustment to unified credit (applicable 
credit amount)

If the decedent made gifts (including gifts made by the de ce -
dent’s spouse and treated as made by the decedent by rea son 
of gift splitting) after September 8, 1976, and before Jan u ary 
1, 1977, for which the decedent claimed a specific ex emp tion, 
the unified credit (applicable credit amount) on this es tate tax 
return must be reduced. The reduction is figured by en ter ing 
20 percent of the specific exemption claimed for these gifts.

Note: (The specific exemption was allowed by Section 2521 for 
gifts made before January 1, 1977.)

If the decedent did not make any gifts between September 
8, 1976, and January 1, 1977, or if the decedent made gifts 

Table A—Unified rate schedule (according to federal 

law as of December 31, 2000)

  Column A          Column B         Column C    Column D
                                                                                              Rate of tax
                                                                                               on excess
      Taxable                   Taxable                   Tax on         over amount
     amount                 amount               amount in       in column A
        over                    not over                column A          (Percent)

                0               $10,000                           0              18
     $10,000                 20,000                  $1,800               20
       20,000                 40,000                    3,800               22
       40,000                 60,000                    8,200               24
       60,000                 80,000                  13,000               26
       80,000               100,000                  18,200               28
     100,000               150,000                  23,800               30
     150,000               250,000                  38,800               32
     250,000               500,000                  70,800               34
     500,000               750,000                155,800               37
     750,000            1,000,000                248,300               39
  1,000,000            1,250,000                345,800               41
  1,250,000            1,500,000                448,300               43
  1,500,000            2,000,000                555,800               45
  2,000,000            2,500,000                780,800               49
  2,500,000            3,000,000             1,025,800               53
  3,000,000                        —            1,290,800               55

Table B—Computation of maximum state death 
tax (according to federal law as of December 31, 2000)

Taxable estate (Form IT-1, Part 2, line 3) less $60,000 = 
(adjusted taxable estate—for column 1 below)

  Column 1           Column 2           Column 3      Column 4
    Adjusted                                                                         Rate of tax
      taxable                 Adjusted                                          on excess
  estate equal               taxable                   Tax on         over amount
   to or more             estate less             amount in       in column 1
        than                       than                   column 1           (Percent)

                0               $40,000                           0            None
     $40,000                 90,000                           0               0.8
       90,000               140,000                     $400               1.6
     140,000               240,000                    1,200               2.4
     240,000               440,000                    3,600               3.2
     440,000               640,000                  10,000               4.0
     640,000               840,000                  18,000               4.8
     840,000            1,040,000                  27,600               5.6
  1,040,000            1,540,000                  38,800               6.4
  1,540,000            2,040,000                  70,800               7.2
  2,040,000            2,540,000                106,800               8.0
  2,540,000            3,040,000                146,800               8.8
  3,040,000            3,540,000                190,800               9.6
  3,540,000            4,040,000                238,800              10.4
  4,040,000            5,040,000                290,800              11.2
  5,040,000            6,040,000                402,800              12.0
  6,040,000            7,040,000                522,800              12.8
  7,040,000            8,040,000                650,800              13.6
  8,040,000            9,040,000                786,800              14.4
  9,040,000          10,040,000                930,800              15.2
10,040,000                        —            1,082,800              16.0
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dur ing that period but did not claim the specific ex emp tion, 
en ter zero.

Line 15. State death tax (Oregon inheritance tax)

Enter the amount figured by using table B, or the amount 
on line 14, whichever is less. The adjusted taxable estate is 
the amount of the taxable estate (line 3 of the Tax Computa-
tion) reduced by $60,000.

Line 16. Proration of state death tax

When the estate has property located in other states, com-
 plete lines 16a, 16b, and 16c.

16a. Gross value of property taxable by Oregon

Enter the gross value of property taxable by Oregon. Prop-
 er ty taxable for Oregon purposes depends on whether the 
decedent was a resident or nonresident. Please highlight the 
Oregon property on the attached schedules.

• Resident decedent. For a resident decedent, prop er ty tax-
 able by Oregon includes real property and tangible per-
 son al property located in Oregon and intangible per son al 
property wherever located.

• Nonresident decedent. For a nonresident de ce dent, prop-
 er ty taxable by Oregon includes real property and tan gi ble 
and intangible personal property located in Oregon. An 
exemption is allowed for intangible  personal property 
lo cat ed in Oregon if a like exemption is allowed by the 
state of residence.

16b. Gross value of all property wherever situated

Enter the amount of the gross estate (Form IT-1, Part 2, line 1).

16c. Oregon percentage

Divide the amount on line 16a by the amount on line 16b. 
You should round the decimal amount to four places. Write 
the percentage on line 16c. Don’t fill in more than 100 per cent 
or less than -0-.

Example:

  Line 16a       Line 16b       Line 16c
  $800,000 ÷  $900,000 =  0.8888 [Round to 0.8889 (88.89%)]

Line 18. Amount paid by the due date of the return

For an original Form IT-1, enter the total of prior timely pay-
 ments. If this is for an amended return, please enter the net 
payments (prior payments less prior refunds) to date.

Line 21. Penalty due

A penalty of 5 percent of the tax may be imposed if the tax 
is not paid and/or the return is not filed within nine months 
from the date of death or by the extended due date. If you file 
more than 3 months after the due date (including ex ten sion), 
please add an additional 20 percent penalty.

Line 22. Interest due

If you are filing or paying after the due date, please include 
interest on any unpaid tax. An interest period is each full 
month starting with the day after the due date. For ex am ple, 
April 16 to May 15 is a full month and interest period. In-
 ter est is figured daily for periods of less than a month. In-
 ter est accrues on any unpaid tax during an extension of time 
to file. Here’s how to calculate the interest due:

• Tax x Annual interest rate x Number of full years.
• Tax x Monthly interest rate x Number of months.
• Tax x Daily interest rate x Number of days.

For periods beginning      Annual     Monthly     Daily

January 1, 2005                        5%          0.4167%    0.0137%
January 1, 2006                        7%          0.5833%    0.0192%

Additional interest on deficiencies and delinquencies. 
In ter est will increase by one-third of 1 percent per month 
(4 per cent yearly) on deficiencies or delinquencies if the fol-
 low ing occurs:

• You file a return showing tax due, or the Department of 
Revenue has assessed an existing deficiency; and

• The assessment is not paid within 60 days after the notice 
of assessment is issued; and

• You have not filed a timely appeal.

Special instructions. Do you owe penalty on line 21 or in-
 ter est on line 22 and have an overpayment on line 20? If your 
overpayment is less than the total penalty and interest, you 
have an amount due. To calculate the amount due, fill in on 
line 23 the result of line 21 plus line 22 minus line 18. If your 
overpayment is more than the total penalty and interest, to 
calculate your refund, enter on line 24 the result of line 18 
minus the sum of line 21 plus line 22.

Line 23. Total due

Enclose a check or money order for the amount due with 
your return and the payment voucher (Form IT-V). Do not 
send cash or postdated checks.

Instructions for Part 3: Elections by the
executor (page 2 of Form IT-1)

Line 1. Alternate valuation

Unless you elect at the time you file the return, to adopt 
al ter nate valuation as authorized by Section 2032, you must 
value all property included in the gross estate on the date of 
the decedent’s death. Alternate valuation cannot be ap plied
to only a part of the property.

You may elect special use valuation (line 2) in addition to 
alternate valuation.

You may not elect alternate valuation unless the election will 
decrease both the value of the gross estate and the to tal net es-
tate and taxes due after application of all al low able cred its.
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You elect alternate valuation by checking “Yes” on line 1 
and filing Form IT-1. Once made, the election may not be 
re voked. The election may be made on a late filed Form IT-1 
provided it is not filed later than 1 year after the due date 
(including extensions).

If you elect alternate valuation, value the property that is 
included in the gross estate as follows:

1.  Any property distributed, sold, exchanged, or oth er wise 
disposed of or separated or passed from the gross es tate 
by any method within 6 months after the de ce dent’s 
death is valued on the date of distribution, sale, ex change, 
or other disposition, whichever occurs first. Val ue this 
prop er ty on the date it ceases to form a part of the gross 
estate; i.e., on the date the title passes as the result of its 
sale, exchange, or other disposition.

2.  Any property not distributed, sold, exchanged, or oth-
 er wise disposed of within the 6-month period is val ued 
on the date 6 months after the date of the decedent’s 
death.

3.  Any property, interest, or estate that is “affected by 
mere lapse of time” is valued as of the date of de ce dent’s 
death or on the date of its distribution, sale, exchange, 
or oth er dis po si tion, whichever occurs first. However, 
you may change the date of death value to account for 
any change in value that is not due to a “mere lapse of 
time” on the date of its distribution, sale, exchange, or 
other dis po si tion.

The property included in the alternate valuation and val ued 
as of 6 months after the date of the decedent’s death, or as of 
some intermediate date (as described above) is the prop er ty 
included in the gross estate on the date of the de ce dent’s 
death. Therefore, you must first determine what property 
constituted the gross estate at the decedent’s death.

Interest

Interest accrued to the date of the decedent’s death on bonds, 
notes, and other interest-bearing obligations is property of 
the gross estate on the date of death and is included in the 
alternate valuation.

Rent

Rent accrued to the date of the decedent’s death on leased 
real or personal property is property of the gross estate on 
the date of death and is included in the alternate valuation.

Dividends

Outstanding dividends that were declared to stockholders 
of record on or before the date of the decedent’s death are 
considered property of the gross estate on the date of death, 
and are included in the alternate valuation. Ordinary div-
 i dends declared to stockholders of record after date of the 
decedent’s death are not property of the gross estate on the 
date of death and are not included in the alternate val u a tion. 
However, if dividends are declared to stock hold ers of record 
after the date of the decedent’s death so that the shares of 
stock at the later valuation date do not reasonably rep re sent 

the same property at the date of the decedent’s death, in-
 clude those dividends (except div i dends paid from earn ings 
of the corporation after the date the decedent’s death) in the 
alternate valuation.

As part of each Schedule A through I, you must show:

1.  What property is included in the gross estate on the date 
of the decedent’s death;

2.  What property was distributed, sold, exchanged, or oth-
 er wise disposed of within the 6-month period after the 
de ce dent’s death, and the dates of these distributions, etc. 
(These two items should be entered in the “De scrip tion” 
col umn of each schedule. Briefly explain the sta tus or 
dis po si tion governing the alternate valuation date, such 
as: “Not disposed of within 6 months fol low ing death,” 
“Dis trib ut ed,” “Sold,” “Bond paid on ma tu ri ty,” etc. In 
this same column, describe each item of principal and 
includible in come);

3.  The date of death value, entered in the appropriate val ue 
column with items of principal and includible income 
shown separately; and

4.  The alternate value, entered in the appropriate value 
col umn with items of principal and includible income 
shown separately. (In the case of any interest or estate, 
the value of which is affected by lapse of time, such as 
patents, leaseholds, estates for the life of another, or re-
 main der in ter ests, the value shown under the heading 
“Alternate value” must be the adjusted value; i.e., the 
value as of the date of death with an adjustment re flect ing 
any difference in its val ue as of the later date not due to 
lapse of time.)

Distributions, sales, exchanges, and other dispositions of 
the property within the 6-month period after the decedent’s 
death must be supported by evidence. If the court issued an 
order of distribution during that period, you must submit 
a certified copy of the order as part of the evidence. The 
de part ment may require you to submit additional evidence 
if necessary.

If the alternate valuation method is used, the values of life es-
tates, remainders, and similar interests are figured using the 
age of the recipient on the date of the decedent’s death and 
the value of the property on the alternate valuation date.

Line 2—Special use valuation of Section 2032A

Under Section 2032A, you may elect to value certain farm 
and closely held business real property at its farm or busi-
 ness use value rather than its fair market value. You may 
elect both special use valuation and alternate val u a tion.

To elect this valuation, you must check “Yes” on line 2 and 
com plete and attach Schedule A-1 and its required ad di tion al 
statements. You must file Schedule A-1 and its re quired at-
tachments with Form IT-1 for this election to be valid. You 
may make the election on a late filed return so long as it is 
the first return filed.

The decrease in the value of property per Section 2032A shall 
not exceed $750,000 and shall be indexed for inflation each 
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year. For decedents dying in 2004, the maximum decrease 
allowed was $850,000. For 2005, the indexed amount has not 
yet been released by the IRS. Please refer to the Form 706 
instructions upon publication.

Real property may qualify for the Section 2032A election if:

1.  The decedent was a U.S. citizen or resident at the time of 
death;

2.  The real property is located in the United States;
3.  At the decedent’s death, the real property was used by 

the decedent or a family member for farming or in a trade 
or business, or was rented for such use by either the sur-
 viv ing spouse or a lineal descendant of the decedent to a 
family member on a net cash basis;

4.  The real property was acquired from or passed from the 
decedent to a qualified heir of the decedent;

5.  The real property was owned and used in a qualified 
man ner by the decedent or a member of the decedent’s 
fam i ly during five of the eight years before the de ce dent’s 
death;

6.  There was material participation by the decedent or a 
member of the decedent’s family during five of the eight 
years be fore the decedent’s death; and

7.  The qualified property meets the following percentage 
requirements:

     a. At least 50 percent of the adjusted value of the gross 
es tate must consist of the adjusted value of real or 
per son al property that was being used as a farm or in 
a close ly held business and that was acquired from, 
or passed from, the decedent to a qualified heir of the 
de ce dent, and

     b. At least 25 percent of the adjusted value of the gross 
es tate must consist of the adjusted value of qualified 
farm or closely held business real prop er ty.

For this purpose, adjusted value is the value of property 
determined without regard to its special-use value. The 
val ue is reduced for unpaid mortgages on the property or 
any indebtedness against the property, if the full value of 
the decedent’s interest in the property (not reduced by such 
mortgage or indebtedness) is included in the value of the 
gross estate. The adjusted value of the qualified real and per-
sonal property used in different businesses may be com bined 
to meet the 50 percent and 25 percent re quire ments.

Qualified real property—Qualified use

The term qualified use means the use of the property as a 
farm for farming purposes or the use of property in a trade 
or business other than farming. Trade or business applies 
only to the active conduct of a business. It does not apply to 
passive investment activities or the mere pas sive rental of 
property to a person other than a member of the decedent’s 
family. Also, no trade or business is present in the case of 
activities not engaged in for profit.

Ownership

To qualify as special-use property, the decedent or a mem-
 ber of the decedent’s family must have owned and used the 

property in a qualified use for five of the last eight years 
be fore the decedent’s death. Ownership may be direct or 
in di rect through a corporation, a partnership, or a trust.

If the ownership is indirect, the business must qualify as a 
closely held business under Section 6166. The ownership, 
when combined with periods of direct ownership, must 
meet the requirements of Section 6166 on the date of the 
de ce dent’s death and for a period of time that equals at least 
five of the eight years preceding death.

If the property was leased by the decedent to a closely held 
business, it qualifies as long as the business entity to which 
it was rented was a closely held business with respect to the 
decedent on the date of the decedent’s death and for suf fi -
cient time to meet the “five in eight years” test property.

Structures and other real property improvements

Qualified real property includes residential buildings and 
struc tures and real property improvements regularly oc-
 cu pied or used by the owner or lessee of real property (or 
by the employees of the owner or lessee) to operate the farm 
or business. A farm residence which the decedent had oc-
 cu pied is considered to have been occupied for the purpose 
of op er at ing the farm even when a family member and not 
the de ce dent was the person materially par tic i pat ing in the 
op er a tion of the farm.

Qualified real property also includes roads, buildings, and 
other structures and improvements functionally related to 
the qualified use.

Elements of value such as mineral rights that are not re lat ed 
to the farm or business use are not eligible for special-use 
val u a tion.

Property acquired from the decedent

Property is considered to have been acquired from or to have 
passed from the decedent if one of the following applies:

• The property is considered to have been acquired from or 
to have passed from the decedent under Section 1014(b) 
(relating to basis of property acquired from a de ce dent).

• The property is acquired by any person from the estate.
• The property is acquired by any person from a trust, to the 

extent the property is includible in the gross estate.

Qualified heir

A person is a qualified heir of property if he or she is a mem-
 ber of the decedent’s family and acquired or received the 
property from the decedent. If a qualified heir disposes of 
any interest in qualified real property to any member of his 
or her family, that person will then be treated as the qual i fied 
heir with respect to that interest.

The term member of the family includes only:

• An ancestor (parent, grandparent, etc.) of the in di vid u al;
• The spouse of the individual;
• The lineal descendant (child, stepchild, grandchild, etc.) of 

the individual, the individual’s spouse, or a parent of the 
individual; or

207



Questions? See “Taxpayer assistance.” 10 Visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

• The spouse, widow, or widower of any lineal de scen dant 
described above.

A legally adopted child of an in di vid u al is treated as a child 
of that individual by blood.

Material participation

To elect special-use valuation, either the decedent or a mem-
 ber of his or her family must have materially par tic i pat ed 
in the operation of the farm or other business for at least 
five of the eight years ending on the date of the decedent’s 
death. The ex ist ence of material par tic i pa tion is a factual de-
 ter mi na tion, but passively collecting rents, sal a ries, draws, 
div i dends, or other income from the farm or oth er business 
does not con sti tute material par tic i pa tion. Neither does 
merely ad vanc ing capital and re view ing a crop plan and 
financial reports each season or business year.

In determining whether the required participation has oc-
 curred, disregard brief periods (e.g., 30 days or less) during 
which there was no material participation, as long as such 
periods were both preceded and followed by substantial 
periods (more than 120 days) during which there was un in -
ter rupt ed material participation.

Retirement or disability

If, on the date of death, the time period for material par tic i-
 pa tion could not be met because the decedent had retired or 
was disabled, a substitute period may apply. The decedent 
must have retired on Social Security or been disabled for a 
continuous period ending with death. A person is disabled 
for this purpose if he or she was mentally or physically un-
 able to materially participate in the operation of the farm or 
other business.

The substitute time period for material participation for 
these decedents is a period totaling at least five years out of 
the eight-year period that ended on the earlier of:

1.  The date the decedent began receiving Social Security 
ben e fits, or

2.  The date the decedent became disabled.

Surviving spouse

A surviving spouse who received qualified real property 
from a predeceased spouse is considered to have ma te ri al ly 
participated if he or she was engaged in the active man age -
ment of the farm or other business. If the surviving spouse 
died within eight years of the first spouse’s death, you may 
add the period of material participation of the pre de ceased 
spouse to the period of active man age ment by the surviving 
spouse to determine if the surviving spouse’s es tate qualifies 
for special-use valuation. To qualify for this, the property 
must have been eligible for special-use valuation in the pre-
deceased spouse’s estate, though it does not have to have 
been elected by that estate.

For additional details regarding material participation, see 
Regulations Section 20.2032A-3(e).

Valuation methods

The primary method of valuing special-use value property 
that is used for farming purposes is the annual gross cash 
rental method. If comparable gross cash rentals are not 
avail able, you can substitute comparable average annual 
net share rentals. If neither of these are available, or if you 
so elect, you can use the method for valuing real property 
in a closely held business.

Average annual gross cash rental

Generally, the special-use value of property that is used for 
farming purposes is determined as follows:

1.  Subtract the average annual state and local real estate 
tax es on actual tracts of comparable real property from 
the av er age annual gross cash rental for that same com-
 pa ra ble prop er ty, and

2.  Divide the result on line 1 by the average annual ef-
 fec tive interest rate charged for all new Federal Land 
Bank loans.

The computation of each average annual amount is based on 
the five most recent calendar years ending before the date of 
the decedent’s death.

Gross cash rental

Generally, gross cash rental is the total amount of cash 
re ceived in a calendar year for the use of actual tracts of 
com pa ra ble farm real property in the same locality as the 
prop er ty being specially valued. You may not use ap prais als 
or other statements regarding rental value or area-wide aver-
ages of rentals. You may not use rents that are paid whol ly
or partly in kind, and the amount of rent may not be based 
on production. The rental must have resulted from an arm’s-
length transaction. Also, the amount of rent is not re duced 
by the amount of any expenses or liabilities as so ci at ed with 
the farm operation or the lease.

Comparable property

Comparable property must be situated in the same locality 
as the specially valued property as determined by gen er al ly 
accepted real property valuation rules. The de ter mi na tion of 
comparability is based on all the facts and cir cum stanc es. It 
is often necessary to value land in segments where there are 
different uses or land characteristics included in the spe cial ly 
valued land. The following list contains some of the factors 
considered in determining comparability.

• Similarity of soil.
• Whether the crops grown would deplete the soil in a sim-

 i lar manner.
• Types of soil conservation techniques that have been prac-

 ticed on the 2 properties.
• Whether the 2 properties are subject to flooding.
• Slope of the land.
• For livestock operations, the carrying capacity of the land.
• For timbered land, whether the timber is com pa ra ble.
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• Whether the property as a whole is unified or seg ment ed; 
if segmented, the availability of the means nec es sary for 
movement among the different sections.

•  Number, types, and conditions of all buildings and other 
fixed improvements located on the prop er ties and their lo-
cation as they affect efficient management, use, and val ue 
of the property.

• Availability and type of transportation facilities in terms of 
costs and of proximity of the properties to local mar kets.

You must specifically identify on the return the property 
being used as comparable property. Use the type of de scrip -
tions used to list real property on Schedule A.

Net share rental

You may use average annual net share rental from com pa -
ra ble land only if there is no comparable land from which 
average annual gross cash rental can be determined. Net 
share rental is the difference between the gross value of pro-
 duce received by the lessor from the comparable land and 
the cash operating expenses (other than real estate taxes) of 
growing the produce that, under the lease, are paid by the 
lessor. The production of the produce must be the business 
purpose of the farming operation. For this purpose, pro duce 
includes livestock.

The gross value of the produce is generally the gross amount 
received if the produce was disposed of in an arm’s-length 
transaction, within the period established by the De part ment 
of Agriculture for its price support program. Otherwise, the 
value is the weighted average price for which the produce 
sold on the closest national or regional commodities mar ket. 
The value is figured for the date or dates on which the les sor 
received (or constructively received) the produce.

Valuing a real property interest in closely held business

Use this method to determine the special-use valuation 
for qualifying real property used in a trade or business 
other than farming. You may also use this method for 
qual i fy ing farm property if there is no comparable land 
or if you elect to use it. Under this method, the following 
factors are con sid ered:

• The capitalization of income that the property can be 
ex pect ed to yield for farming or for closely held busi ness 
purposes over a reasonable period of time with prudent 
management and traditional cropping patterns for the 
area, taking into account soil capacity, terrain con fig u-
 ra tion, and similar factors.

• The capitalization of the fair rental value of the land for 
farming or for closely held business purposes.

• The assessed land values in a state that provides a dif fer -
en tial or use value assessment law for farmland or close ly 
held business.

• Comparable sales of other farm or closely held busi ness 
land in the same geographical area far enough re moved 
from a metropolitan or resort area so that nonagricultural 
use is not a significant factor in the sales price.

• Any other factor that fairly values the farm or close ly held 
business value of the property.

Making the election

Include the words “Section 2032A valuation” in the “De-
 scrip tion” column of any Form 706 schedule if Section 2032A 
prop er ty is included in the decedent’s gross estate.

An election under Section 2032A does not need to include 
all the property in an estate that is eligible for special use 
val u a tion, but sufficient property to satisfy the threshold 
re quire ments of Section 2032A(b)(1)(B) must be specially 
val ued under the election.

If joint or undivided interests (e.g., interests as joint tenants 
or tenants in common) in the same property are received 
from a decedent by qualified heirs, an election with respect 
to one heir’s joint or undivided interest does not need to 
in clude any other heir’s interest in the same property if the 
electing heir’s interest plus other property to be specially 
valued satisfies the requirements of Section 2032A(b)(1)(B).

If successive interests (e.g., life estates and remainder in ter -
ests) are created by a decedent in otherwise qualified prop-
 er ty, an election under Section 2032A is available only with 
respect to that property (or part) in which qualified heirs of 
the decedent receive all of the successive in ter ests, and such 
an election must include the interests of all of those heirs.

For example, if a surviving spouse receives a life estate in oth-
erwise qualified property and the spouse’s brother re ceives 
a remainder interest in fee, no part of the property may be 
valued pursuant to an election under Section 2032A.

Where successive interests in specially valued property are 
created, remainder interests are treated as being received by 
qualified heirs only if the remainder interests are not con-
 tin gent on surviving a non-family member or are not sub ject 
to divestment in favor of a non-family member.

Protective election

You may make a protective election to specially value 
qual i fied real property. Under this election, whether or 
not you may ultimately use special use valuation depends 
upon val ues as finally determined (or agreed to fol low ing 
ex am i na tion of the return) meeting the requirements of 
Section 2032A.

To make a protective election, check “Yes” to line 2 and 
com plete Schedule A-1 according to its instructions for 
“Pro tec tive election.”

If you make a protective election, you should complete this 
Form IT-1 by valuing all property at its fair market value. 
Do not use special use valuation. Usually, this will result 
in higher estate tax liabilities than will be ultimately de ter -
mined if special use valuation is allowed. The protective 
election does not extend the time to pay the taxes shown 
on the return.

If it is found that the estate qualifies for special use val u a tion 
based on the values as finally determined (or agreed to fol-
lowing examination of the return), you must file an amend ed 
Form IT-1 (with a complete Section 2032A elec tion) within
60 days after the date of this de ter mi na tion. Com plete the 
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amended return using special use values under the rules of 
Section 2032A, and complete Schedule A-1 and at tach all of
the required statements.

For more information about special use valuation please see 
Section 2032A.

If the 2032A special use valuation is a separate election for 
Oregon purposes, you must attach a copy of Schedule A-1 
marked, “For Oregon only.” If a federal return was filed, 
explain differences between the federal return and the Or-
egon return.

Line 3. Installment payments

If the gross estate includes an interest in a closely held 
busi ness, and on Form IT-1 you have made an election 
under Sec tion 6166, we will follow the federal guidelines. 
For more in for ma tion about installment payments allowed, 
if the es tate has interest in a closely held business, please 
see Sec tion 6166.

You may be able to pay the estate tax in installments under 
ORS 118.225.

Collateral required

According to OAR 118.225, for the Oregon Department of 
Revenue to agree to an installment payment of tax, the fol-
 low ing must occur:

1.  Collateral acceptable to the Department of Rev e nue 
must be provided. For real property, a first mortgage, 
hav ing a value of double the extended tax. For per son al 
prop er ty, a surety bond in double the amount of the 
ex tend ed tax, executed by a corporation licensed to do 
business in the State of Oregon. The bond must be re-
newed every five years.

2.  Executor is personally liable for payment of the tax.
3.  No annual statements will be sent to the executor.
4.  If payments are not made timely, the remaining li a bil i ty 

is due and owing.
5.  Interest on the Oregon inheritance tax accumulates from 

the day after the due date of the original return, to the date 
your payment is received. If the tax is not paid with in 60 
days of our bill, the interest rate increases by 4 percent per 
year and is subject to annual change. ORS 118.260

6.  For Oregon, a special interest rate does not apply to 
in stall ment payments.

You do not need to furnish the required mortgage or bond 
at the time you file Form IT-1. The department will contact 
you and you will be given the opportunity to furnish the 
collateral.

Important: The interest paid on installment payments is not 
de duct ible as an administrative expense of the estate.

Making the Section 6166 election

If you check this line to make a protective election, you 
should attach a notice of protective election as described in 
Regulations Section 20.6166-1(d). If you check this line to 

make final election, you should attach the notice of elec tion 
described in Regulations Section 20.6166-1(b).

For information on the acceleration of payment when an 
in ter est in the closely held business is disposed of, see Sec-
tion 6166(g).

Line 4—Reversionary or remainder interests

For details of this election, see Section 6163 and the related 
regulations.

Instructions for Part 4: General
information (pages 2 and 3 of Form IT-1)

Line 2. Surviving spouse

Complete line 2 whether or not there is a surviving spouse 
and whether or not the surviving spouse received any ben e fits 
from the estate. If there was no surviving spouse on the date 
of decedent’s death, enter “None” in line 2a and leave lines 2b 
and 2c blank. The value entered in line 2c does not need to be 
exact. See the instructions for “Amount” under line 3.

Line 3. Beneficiaries information

Name

Enter the name of each individual, trust, or estate who re-
 ceived (or will receive) benefits of $5,000 or more from the 
estate directly as an heir, next-of-kin, devisee, or legatee; or 
indirectly (for example, as beneficiary of an annuity or in-
 sur ance policy, shareholder of a corporation, or partner of a 
partnership that is an heir, etc.).

Identifying number

Enter the SSN of each individual beneficiary listed. If the 
number is unknown, or the individual has no number, please 
indicate “unknown” or “none.” For trusts and other es tates, 
enter the federal employer identification number (FEIN).

Relationship

For each individual beneficiary, enter the relationship (if 
known) to the decedent by reason of blood, marriage, or 
adoption. For trust or estate beneficiaries, indicate TRUST 
or ESTATE.

Amount

Enter the amount actually distributed (or to be distributed) 
to each beneficiary including transfers during the de ce dent’s 
life from Schedule G required to be included in the gross 
estate. The value to be entered does not need to be exact. A 
rea son able estimate is sufficient. For example, where pre cise 
val ues cannot readily be determined, as with certain future 
in ter ests, a reasonable approximation should be entered. The 
total of these distributions should approximate the amount 
of gross estate reduced by funeral and administrative ex-
 pens es, debts and mort gag es, bequests to surviving spouse, 
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charitable bequests, and any federal estate and state in her -
it ance taxes paid (or payable) relating to the benefits re ceived 
by the beneficiaries listed on lines 2 and 3.

All distributions of less than $5,000 to specific beneficiaries 
may be included with distributions to unascertainable ben-
 e fi cia ries on the line provided.

Line 4. Section 2044 property

If you answered “Yes,” these assets must be shown on 
Sched ule F.

Section 2044 property is property for which a previous Sec-
 tion 2056(b)(7) election (QTIP election) has been made, or 
for which a similar gift tax election (Section 2523) has been 
made. For more information, see the instructions on the back 
of Schedule F.

Line 6. Insurance not included in the gross estate

If you checked “Yes” for either 6a or 6b, you must com plete 
and attach Schedule D and attach a Form 712, Life In sur ance 
Statement, for each policy and an explanation of why the 
policy or its proceeds are not includible in the gross es tate.

Line 8. Partnership interests and stock in close 
corporations

If you answered “Yes” to line 8, you must include full de tails 
for partnerships and unincorporated businesses on Sched ule 
F (Schedule E if the partnership interest is jointly owned). 
You must include full details for the stock of in ac tive or close 
corporations on Schedule B.

Value these interests using the rules of Regulations Section 
20.2031-2 (stocks) or 20.2031-3 (other business interests).

A “close corporation” is a corporation whose shares are owned 
by a limited number of shareholders. Often, one fam i ly holds 
the entire stock issue. As a result, little, if any, trad ing of the 
stock takes place. There is, therefore, no es tab lished market for 
the stock, and those sales that do occur are at ir reg u lar intervals 
and seldom reflect all the elements of a rep re sen ta tive transac-
tion as defined by the term “fair market value” (FMV).

Line 10. Trusts

If you answered “Yes” to either 10a or 10b, you must at tach 
a copy of the trust instrument for each trust. You must com-
plete Schedule G if you answered “Yes” to 10a and Sched ule 
F if you answered “Yes” to 10b.

Line 12. Transitional marital deduction computation

Check “Yes” if property passes to the surviving spouse un-
 der a maximum marital deduction formula provision that 
meets the requirements of Section 403(e)(3) of the Eco nom ic 
Recovery Tax Act of 1981 (P.L. 97-34; 95 Stat. 305).

If you check “Yes” to line 12, compute the marital de duc tion 
under the rules that were in effect before the Eco nom ic Re-
 cov ery Tax Act of 1981.

For a format for this computation, you should obtain the No-
vember 1981 revision of Form 706 and its instructions. The 
computation is items 19 through 26 of the Re ca pit u la tion. 
You should also apply the rules of Rev. Rul. 80-148, 1980-1 
C.B. 207, if there is property that passes to the sur viv ing 
spouse outside of the maximum marital de duc tion formula 
provision.

Instructions for Part 5: Recapitulation
(page 3 of Form IT-1)

Items 1 through 10—Gross Estate: You must make an entry 
in each of items 1 through 9.

If the gross estate does not contain any assets of the type 
specified by a given item, enter zero for that item. Enter-
ing zero for any of items 1 through 9 is a statement by the 
ex ec u tor, made under penalties of perjury, that the gross 
es tate does not contain any includible assets covered by 
that item.

Do not enter any amounts in the “Alternate value” column 
unless you elected alternate valuation on line 1 of Elec tions 
by the Executor on page 2 of the Form IT-1.

Which schedules to attach for items 1 through 9. You must 
attach:

• Schedule F to the return and answer its questions even if 
you report no assets on it.

• Schedules A, B, and C if the gross estate includes any real 
es tate; stocks and bonds; or mortgages, notes, and cash, 
re spec tive ly.

• Schedule D if the gross estate includes any life insurance 
or if you answered “Yes” to question 6a of Part 4—Gen er al 
information.

• Schedule E if the gross estate contains any jointly owned 
property or if you answered “Yes” to question 7 of Part 4.

• Schedule G if the decedent made any of the life time trans-
 fers to be listed on that schedule or if you answered “Yes” 
to question 9 or 10a of Part 4.

• Schedule H if you answered “Yes” to question 11 of Part 4.
• Schedule I if you answered “Yes” to question 13 of Part 4.

Item 11. Conservation easement exclusion

You must complete and attach Schedule U (along with any 
required attachments) to claim the exclusion on this line.

Items 13 through 22. Deductions

You must attach the appropriate schedules for the de duc -
tions you claim.

Item 17

If item 16 is less than or equal to the value (at the time of the 
decedent’s death) of the property subject to claims, en ter the 
amount from item 16 on item 17.
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If the amount on item 16 is more than the value of the prop-
 er ty subject to claims, enter the greater of (a) the value of the 
property subject to claims, or (b) the amount actually paid 
at the time the return is filed.

Do not enter more on item 17, than the amount on item 16. See 
Section 2053 and the related regulations for more in for ma tion.

Item 20

If the marital deduction is a separate election for Oregon 
purposes, you must attach a copy of Schedule M marked, 
“For Oregon only.” If a federal return was filed, explain dif-
ferences between the federal return and the Oregon return.

Item 22

The QFOBI deduction was repealed by federal law for the es-
tates of decedents who died after December 31, 2003. How-
ever, Oregon is tied to federal law in effect as of December 
31, 2000. You may claim a QFOBI for Oregon only by using 
Schedule T. This schedule is now available on our Web site 
at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

Instructions for Part 6 (page 3 of Form IT-1)

Executor’s signatures and SSNs

The executors who file the return must sign the declaration 
on page 3 under penalties of perjury, per ORS 118.990. List 
the other executors’ names, addresses, telephone num bers, 
and SSNs on an attached sheet. Please notify us of a change 
of address or telephone numbers for the executor(s) or au-
 tho rized representative.

Requests for SSNs are authorized by ORS 305.100 and Sec-
tion 405, Title 42, of the United States Code. You must give 
us this information. It will be used to establish both the 
decedent’s and ex ec u tor’s iden ti ties.

Authorization

If you want to authorize the preparer to be able to talk to 
us, you may check the box located between the signature 
lines for the executor(s) and the preparer. If you want to 
au tho rize a person other than the preparer, please attach a 
signed Tax Information Authorization and Power of At tor ney 
for Rep re sen ta tion (POA) form. This form can be obtained on 
our Web site or you may contact us to have it mailed to you. 
Please notify us of a change of address or telephone num bers 
for the executor(s) or authorized rep re sen ta tive.

Preparer’s information

If the return is prepared by someone other than the person 
who is filing the return, that name, title, telephone number, 
and address must be provided.

Where to File
Please send the return to the Oregon Department of Rev e nue:

Mailing Address:
     Oregon Department of Revenue
     PO Box 14110
     Salem OR 97309-0910

If you require a receipt, please mail your return by certified 
mail.

Private delivery services require the physical address:
     Oregon Department of Revenue
     955 Center Street NE
     Salem OR 97301-2555

The private delivery service can tell you how to get written 
proof of the mailing date.

Taxpayer assistance
www.oregon.gov/DOR

• Down load forms and publications.
• Get up-to-date tax in for ma tion.
• E-mail: estate.help.dor@state.or.us.

   This e-mail address is not secure and confidentiality cannot be 
ensured. General tax and policy questions only.

Telephone
Salem..................................................................... 503-378-4988
Toll-free from Oregon prefix........................... 1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to hear recorded tax informa-
tion or order tax forms.

For help from Tax Services, call one of the help numbers:

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday ..................7:30 a.m.–5:10 p.m.
Wednesday...........................................................10:00 a.m.–5:10 p.m.

April 3–April 17, Monday–Friday ......................7:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15..................................................9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.

Wait times may vary. Closed on holidays.

Asistencia en español:
 Salem...................................................................503-945-8618
 Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon ..........................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
 Salem...................................................................503-945-8617
 Toll-free within Oregon.................................1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats.

Correspondence
Include the estate’s BIN or the decedent’s SSN and a day time 
tele phone num ber for fast er service. Write to: Estate Audit, 
Business Division, Or e gon De part ment of Rev e nue, PO Box 
14110, Salem OR 97309-0910.
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PART 2—TAX COMPUTATION Round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar.

 1. Total gross estate less exclusion (from page 3, Part 5, line 12)..................................................................................... 1

 2. Total allowable deductions (from page 3, Part 5, line 23) .............................................................................................. 2

 3. Taxable estate (subtract line 2 from line 1) .................................................................................................................... 3

 4. Adjusted taxable gifts [total taxable gifts (within the meaning of Section 2503) made by the decedent after 

  December 31, 1976, other than gifts that are includible in decedent’s gross estate (Section 2001[b])] ........................ 4

 5. Add lines 3 and 4 ........................................................................................................................................................... 5

 6. Tentative tax on the amount on line 5 above; from page 6, table A of the instructions .................................................. 6

 7. a.  If line 5 exceeds $10,000,000, enter the lesser of line 5 or $17,184,000. 

           If line 5 is $10,000,000 or less, skip lines 7a and 7b and enter -0- on line 7c.........7a

      b.  Subtract $10,000,000 from line 7a ..........................................................................7b

      c.  Enter 5% (0.05) of line 7b ....................................................................................................................................... 7c

 8. Total tentative tax (add lines 6 and 7c)........................................................................................................................... 8

 9. Total gift tax payable with respect to gifts made by the decedent after December 31, 1976. Include gift taxes 

  by the decedent’s spouse for such spouse’s share of split gifts (Section 2513) only if the decedent was the donor 

  of these gifts and they are includible in the decedent’s gross estate ............................................................................. 9

 10. Gross estate tax (subtract line 9 from line 8) ............................................................................................................... 10

 11. Maximum unified credit (applicable credit amount) against estate tax ........................11

 12. Adjustment to unified credit (applicable credit amount) (this adjustment 

  may not exceed $6,000) ..............................................................................................12

 13. Allowable unified credit (applicable credit amount) (subtract line 12 from line 11)....................................................... 13

 14. Subtract line 13 from line 10 (but do not enter less than zero) .................................................................................... 14

 15. State death tax. Do not enter more than line 14 .......................................................................................................... 15

 16. Proration of state death tax (complete only if there is property located in states other than Oregon):

      a.  Gross value, for federal estate tax purposes, of property located in Oregon (identify on attached copy of

           the federal schedules by highlighting)................................................................................................................. 16a

      b.  Gross value of decedent’s estate for federal estate tax purposes ........................................................................ 16b

      c.  Percent of estate located in Oregon (line 16a divided by line 16b)..................................................................... 16c

 17. Tax payable to Oregon (line 15 multiplied by line 16c, or amount from line 15 if no entry on line 16c) ....................... 17

 18. Amount paid by the due date of return......................................................................................................................... 18

19. Tax due. Is line 17 more than line 18? If so, line 17 minus line 18 ...........................................................TAX DUE    19

20. Overpayment. Is line 18 more than line 17? If so line 18 minus line 17 ...................................... OVERPAYMENT    20

21. Penalty due .................................................................................................................................................................. 21

22. Interest due .................................................................................................................................................................. 22

23. Total due (add lines 19, 21, and 22).................................................................................................... TOTAL DUE    23

24. Refund (line 20 minus lines 21 and 22).................................................................................................... REFUND    24
150-103-001 (Rev. 9-05)

2005
Form

IT-1
OREGON

INHERITANCE 
TAX RETURN

For Office Use Only

••

Date Received

(120)

Year of Death
Payment

BIN

Decedent’s First Name and Middle Initial Decedent’s Last Name Decedent’s Social Security Number

, Estate

PART 1 (Please print or type.)

Continued on next page

Date of Death Year Do micile Es tablishedDecedent’s Do micile (legal res idence)—City, Coun ty, State, Coun try

An extension of time to file is attached.

An extension of time to pay is attached.

This is an amended return.

The attached copy of Form 706 was filed with the IRS.

A separate election is claimed.

Is the estate being probated in Oregon?

If Yes— Oregon county:

Oregon probate number:

Executor’s Name Daytime Telephone Number

(   )
Executor’s Mailing Address ZIP CodeStateCity

Yes

No
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Page 2 —Form IT-1, 2005

150-103-001 (Rev. 9-05)

PART 3—ELECTIONS BY THE EXECUTOR                             Check the “Yes” or “No” box for each question. See instructions on page 7.

 1. Do you elect alternate valuation?......................................................................................................................................................1.         Yes          No

 2. Do you elect special use valuation? If "Yes," you must complete and attach Schedule A-1.............................................................2.         Yes          No

 3. Do you elect to pay the taxes in installments as described in section 6166? If "Yes," you must attach additional information;

      see instructions on page 12 ..............................................................................................................................................................3.         Yes          No

 4. Do you elect to postpone the part of the taxes attributable to a reversionary or remainder of interest as described 

      in section 6163?................................................................................................................................................................................4.         Yes          No

PART 4—GENERAL INFORMATION  Attach the necessary supplemental documents. You must attach the death certificate. See instructions on page 12.
1. Marital status of the decedent at time of death:

Widow or widower— Name of deceased spouse:                                                                        SSN of deceased spouse:

                                 Date of death of deceased spouse:

Single

Legally separated

Divorced—Date divorce decree became final:

2. a. Surviving spouse’s name:

    b. Surviving spouse’s Social Security number:

    c. Amount received (see instructions on page 12):

3. Individuals (other than the surviving spouse), trusts, or other estates who receive benefits from the estate (do not include charitable beneficiaries 

shown in schedule O) (see instructions). For Privacy Act Notice (applicable to individual beneficiaries only), see the instructions for Form 1040.

Name of individual, trust, or estate receiving $5,000 or more Identifying number Relationship to decedent Amount (see instructions)

Total ............................................................................................................................................................................... 3

    All unascertainable beneficiaries and those who receive less than $5,000.......................................................................

Check the “Yes” or “No” box for each question.

 4. Does the gross estate contain any section 2044 property [qualified terminable interest property (QTIP) from a prior gift or

      estate]? See instructions on page 12................................................................................................................................................4.         Yes          No

 5. a.  Have federal gift tax returns ever been filed? ............................................................................................................................5a.         Yes          No

           If "Yes," please attach copies of the returns, if available, and furnish the following information:

      b.  Period(s) covered:                                       c. Internal Revenue office(s) where filed:

If you answer “Yes” to any of questions 6–14, you must attach additional information as described in the instructions.

 6. a.  Was there any insurance on the decedent’s life that is not included on the return as part of the gross estate?........................6a.         Yes          No

      b.  Did the decedent own any insurance on the life of another that is not included in the gross estate?........................................6b.         Yes          No

 7. Did the decedent at the time of death own any property as a joint tenant with right of survivorship in which (a) one or more

      of the other joint tenants was someone other than the decedent’s spouse, and (b) less than the full value of the property is 

      included on the return as part of the gross estate? If "Yes," you must complete and attach Schedule E.........................................7.         Yes          No

 8. Did the decedent, at the time of death, own any interest in a partnership or unincorporated business or any stock in an 

      inactive or closely held corporation?.................................................................................................................................................8.         Yes          No

 9. Did the decedent make any transfer described in section 2035, 2036, 2037, or 2038 (see the instructions for Schedule G)? 

      If “Yes,” you must complete and attach Schedule G .........................................................................................................................9.         Yes          No

10. Were there in existence at the time of the decedent’s death:

      a.  Any trusts created by the decedent during his or her lifetime? ................................................................................................10a.         Yes          No

      b.  Any trusts not created by the decedent under which the decedent possessed any power, beneficial interest, or trusteeship? .....10b.         Yes          No
Continued on next page

Estate of:

Married
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Page 3—Form IT-1, 2005

150-103-001 (Rev. 9-05)

Signature of Executor

X

Under penalties of false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements. To the best of my 
knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person other than the executor, this declaration is based on all information of 
which the preparer has any knowledge.

Mail to: Oregon Department of Revenue, PO Box 14110, Salem OR 97309-0910
PLEASE ATTACH A COMPLETE COPY OF YOUR FEDERAL FORM, SCHEDULES, AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS

Title Executor’s Social Security Number Date

Signature of Executor

X
Title Executor’s Social Security Number Date

Check the box to authorize the following individual(s) to receive and provide confidential tax information relating to the decedent and the estate:
Name of Preparer Title Telephone Number

Mailing Address City State ZIP Code

(   )

PART 5—RECAPITULATION                                                                                        Round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar.

      Gross Estate                                                                                                                                Alternate Value                Value at Date of Death

 1. Schedule A—Real estate ...............................................................................................1

 2. Schedule B—Stocks and bonds ....................................................................................2

 3. Schedule C—Mortgages, notes, and cash ....................................................................3

 4. Schedule D—Insurance on the decedent’s life [attach Form(s) 712].............................4

 5. Schedule E—Jointly owned property [attach Form(s) 712 for life insurance] ................5

 6. Schedule F—Other miscellaneous property [attach Form(s) 712 for life insurance] .....6

 7. Schedule G—Transfers during decedent’s life [attach Form(s) 712 for life insurance] ...7

 8. Schedule H—Powers of appointment ............................................................................8

 9. Schedule I—Annuities....................................................................................................9

10. Total gross estate (add lines 1 through 9)....................................................................10

 11. Schedule U—Qualified conservation easement exclusion ..........................................11

 12. Total gross estate less exclusion (subtract line 11 from line 10). Enter here and 

  on line 1 of part 2 .........................................................................................................12

      Deductions                                                                                                                                                                                         Amount

 13. Schedule J—Funeral expenses and expense incurred in administering property subject to claims ........................... 13

14. Schedule K—Debts of the decedent............................................................................................................................ 14

 15. Schedule K—Mortgages and liens............................................................................................................................... 15

 16. Total of items 13 through 15......................................................................................................................................... 16

 17. Allowable amount of deductions from item 16 ............................................................................................................. 17

 18. Schedule L—Net losses during administration ............................................................................................................ 18

 19. Schedule L—Expenses incurred in administering property not subject to claims........................................................ 19

 20. Schedule M—Bequests, etc., to surviving spouse....................................................................................................... 20

 21. Schedule O—Charitable, public, and similar gifts and bequests ................................................................................. 21

 22. Schedule T—Qualified family-owned business interest deduction .............................................................................. 22

 23. Total deductions (add lines 17 through 22)................................................................................................................ 23

PART 6

PART 4—GENERAL INFORMATION (continued)                                                                  Check the “Yes” or “No” box for each question.

11. Did the decedent ever possess, exercise, or release any general power of appointment? If “Yes,” you must complete and 

      attach Schedule H...........................................................................................................................................................................11.         Yes          No 

12. Was the marital deduction computed under the transitional rule of Public Law 97-34, section 403(e)(3) (Economic 

      Recovery Act of 1981)? If “Yes,” attach a separate computation of the marital deduction, enter the amount on part 5, 

      line 20, and note on line 20 “computation attached” .......................................................................................................................12.         Yes          No

13. Was the decedent, immediately before death, receiving an annuity described in the “General” paragraph of the instructions 

      for Schedule I? If “Yes,” you must complete and attach Schedule I................................................................................................13.         Yes          No

14. Was the decedent ever the beneficiary of a trust for which a deduction was claimed by the estate of a pre-deceased 

      spouse under section 2056(b)(7) and which is not reported on this return? If “Yes,” attach an explanation ..................................14.         Yes          No

Estate of:
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OREGON INHERITANCE TAX PAYMENT VOUCHER Department of Revenue Use Only
150-103-172 (Rev. 9-05)

$
Enter Payment Amount

. 0 0

•
• Date of Death:

Name of Decedent on Tax Return:
Name of Executor:                                                                                                                Telephone Number:
Mailing Address of Executor:
City:                                                                           State:                  Zip Code:

Amended Return

Return
•

• BIN:
Decedent’s SSN:

Extension Payment

FORM

IT-V
(120)Payment Type (check only one):

OREGON INHERITANCE TAX PAYMENT VOUCHER INSTRUCTIONS

Use this form to send the following payments:

• Tax due when you file your return. Check the “Return” box. Include the voucher with your check in the same envelope 
as your Oregon Inheritance Tax return.

• Tax due by the return due date, if you are filing your return with an extension to file. Check the “Extension Payment” 
box. Include the voucher with your check.

• Tax due with an amended return. Check the “Amended Return” box and fill in the tax year. Include the voucher with 
your check in the same envelope as your amended return.

Helpful tips:

• Payment Type: Check the box that identifies the type of payment you are sending.
• BIN: Fill in the BIN (Oregon business identification number) if known.

Please use blue or black ink. Do not use gel pens or red ink.

Make your check payable to: Oregon Department of Revenue. To ensure proper credit to your account, write the 
decedent’s name on your check.

Please send all payments to:

 Oregon Department of Revenue
 PO Box 14110
 Salem OR 97309-0910

FORM

IT-V

 Did you know that you can print additional vouchers at www.oregon.gov/DOR?

Prepayments

Use this form as an extension to file your return if you are making a payment and have not filed an extension 
with the IRS.

DO NOT use this form as an extension to file if you are NOT making a payment. Complete the federal 
extension form and write FOR OREGON ONLY on the top. Do not send a copy now. Attach the extension to 
your return.
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These instructions are not a complete state ment of laws and rules that apply to the Lane County Mass 
Transit District self-employment tax. For more information, con tact the Oregon Depart ment of Rev e nue. 
See “Taxpayer assistance.” You may access the laws, rules, forms, and in struc tions on the Internet at 
www.oregon.gov/DOR.

2005 Lane County Mass Transit District                                                                               Form LTD and Instructions

LTD Self-Employment Tax

150-560-001 (Rev. 12-05)

New information

Apportionment: The Oregon Legislature passed a law chang-
ing the way Oregon apportions business income. Effective 
for tax years starting on or after July 1, 2005, you must use 
the sales factor only to apportion your income.

Also effective for tax years starting on or after July 1, 2005, 
certain taxpayers in the forest products industry will be re-
quired to use the double-weighted sales factor formula, as 
defined in Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 314.650(2).

What is the LTD self-employment tax?

The Lane transit tax helps fund mass transportation in the 
Lane Transit District. This tax is applied to self-em ploy ment 
earnings of individuals doing business or pro vid ing ser vic es 
in the dis trict. The Oregon De part ment of Rev e nue collects 
the tax for Lane transit.

A list of ZIP codes included in the district boundary is on 
page 4. For more information, call LTD at 541-682-6100, or 
ac cess their Web site at www.ltd.org.

The tax rate is 0.006 (0.6 of 1 percent).

Who must file and pay this tax?

Individuals

Anyone who has self-employment earnings from busi ness 
or service activities carried on in the Lane Coun ty Transit 
District must pay this tax.

People who must pay the self-employment tax in clude:

• Anyone who does busi ness or provides services in the 
tran sit district, and whose earn ings are not sub ject to Or-
 e gon with hold ing, regardless of where they live.

• Compensation re ceived for per form ing re li gious ser vic es 
in de pen dent ly is sub ject to self-employment tax.

• Real estate salespeople. Federal laws gen er al ly treat real 
estate salespeople as self-employed. This in cludes those 
who provide services to real estate bro kers un der con tract. 
This means commissions on sales are sub ject to the LTD 
self-employment tax.

Partnerships

Partnerships are not subject to LTD tax.

Individual part ners of a partnership must pay this tax. How-
 ev er, a part ner ship may elect to file and pay for all in di vid u al 
partners. See “Part ner ship election” in struc tions.

Exemptions

• S corporation distributions are not subject to this tax.
• Ministers. Compensation received by a min is ter or mem-

 ber of a religious order for performing re li gious ser vic es in 
the exercise of that ministry or re li gious or der is not subject 
to LTD self-employment tax.

How to file

Complete Form LTD, Lane County Mass Transit District Self-
Em ploy ment Tax return. Attach your payment to the front of 
the form. Make your check payable to the Or e gon De part -
ment of Rev e nue. Do not use red ink or gel pens. Please use 
only blue or black ink on your re turn and pay ment.

Mail to:  LTDSE
               Oregon Department of Revenue
               PO Box 14003
               Salem OR 97309-2502

Important filing information

• Do not combine your LTD self-employment tax payment 
with any other tax payment made to the Or e gon De part -
ment of Revenue.

• Do not at tach your LTD self-employment tax re turn to 
your Oregon inc ome tax re turn.

• Attach a copy of your federal Schedule SE to your LTD 
self-employment tax return.

• Mail your transit return to the Oregon Department of 
Rev e nue. Transit returns cannot be filed electronically.

File one LTD self-employment tax return for all of your self-
employment earnings.

To avoid a penalty, file your return and pay your tax by the 
due date.
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Frequently asked questions

I have more than one business. How should I file my 
Lane transit return?

File one return. If you have separate business activities, at-
 tach a schedule for each separate business to your re turn. 
Com pute the Lane transit self-employment inc ome sep a -
rate ly for each business. See instructions for line 1.

Can I file a joint return?

No. Each taxpayer having self-employment earnings must 
file a separate Form LTD. That’s true even if you and your 
spouse filed a joint federal income tax return. The only ex-
 cep tion is a partnership filing for all part ners. Both spous es 
could be members of the same part ner ship.

I’m getting a refund on my Oregon individual income 
tax return. Can I have that refund applied to this tax?

No. We can not apply any income tax refund to pay your 
LTD self-employment tax.

Can I file my transit self-employment tax return 
electronically?

No. File your transit return by mail. Make a copy for your 
records, and mail your return to the Oregon Department of 
Revenue address as printed at the bottom of the tax return.

Can I file an amended transit self-employment tax 
return?

Yes. File an amended transit return any time you need to 
cor rect your return as originally filed. Generally, you are al-
 lowed three years from the due date of the return or the date 
the return was filed, whichever is later, to file an amended 
re turn to claim a refund. Check the “This is an amended 
return” box on your transit return.

What if business is done both inside and outside of the 
district?

Use an apportionment formula by completing Form TSE-
AP. You may elect to use only a sales factor or you may use 
a three-fac tor formula if your tax year begins before July 
1, 2005. Effective for tax years starting on or after July 1, 
2005, you must use the sales factor only to apportion your 
income.

What if I’m audited by the IRS?

If changes are made that affect your self-employment earn-
 ings, file an amended return to report and pay any ad di tion al 
tax due. If the change reduces your transit tax, you have two 
years from the date of the audit report to claim a refund.

Why am I being charged penalty and interest on my 
unpaid taxes when I have a valid extension?

You are responsible for a 5 percent penalty and interest if 
you do not pay your tax by the original due date. This is true 

even if you have an extension of time to file. Attach a copy 
of your extension to your transit return and check the “An 
extension has been filed” box to avoid additional penalties.

For more information, visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/
DOR.

When to file

Your Lane transit return is due the same day as your fed er al 
and Oregon individual income tax returns. For most tax-
 pay ers, this is April 17, 2006. Fiscal year returns are due the 
15th day of the fourth month after the end of the fiscal year. 
When the 15th falls on a Sat ur day, Sun day, or le gal hol i day, 
the due date will be the next busi ness day.

Extensions

If you get an extension to file your federal or Oregon in di -
vid u al income tax return, it will also extend your LTD self-
employment tax return. Check the “An extension has been 
filed” box on your LTD self-employment tax return and at-
tach a copy of the extension to your return when you file.

However, more time to file does not mean more time to pay. 
If you have an extension, you must make your payment by 
the orig i nal due date of the return to avoid a penalty and 
interest charge. Complete Form TSE-V and send it with 
your payment of tax. Form TSE-V is available on our Web 
site at www.oregon.gov/DOR, or see “Taxpayer assistance.” 
Be sure to use the same name and So cial Se cu ri ty num ber 
(SSN) or fed er al em ploy er iden ti fi ca tion num ber (FEIN) that 
you will use on your re turn when you file.

Be sure to file your LTD self-employment tax re turn with in 
the extension period. 

Partnership election

A partnership may elect to file and pay the transit self-em-
 ploy ment tax for the individual partners. The part ner ship 
must use net earn ings from self-employment as re port ed 
on fed er al Form 1065 to fig ure the tax. Do not make Oregon 
mod i fi ca tions to the part ner ship’s earnings. If some part ners 
have dif fer ent tax years than oth ers, net earnings from self-
em ploy ment is de ter mined using amounts from dif fer ent 
part ner ship years.

The partnership’s return and payment shall be based upon 
the net earnings from self-employment of the individual 
part ners from the partnership for their taxable years end ing 
with or within the calendar year.

Due date: April 17, 2006. The partnership must file a return 
and pay the tax due on or before the 15th day of the fourth 
month following the end of the calendar year.

Fiscal year taxpayers: When a partnership tax year ends 
with in a cal en dar year, the partnership files on a calendar 
year ba sis with the return due April 17, 2006.
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Example: If a partnership has a tax year ending August 31, 
2005, and its partners use a calendar year, the partnership 
must pay on or before April 17, 2006, the amount due from 
the partner’s net earnings from the partnership for its tax able 
year ending August 31, 2005.

Partnerships must attach a schedule listing the fol low ing 
information for each partner:

• Name.
• SSN.
• Share of partnership income.
• Individual exclusion.

Partners: If your partnership is filing on behalf of all part-
 ners, you do not need to file a separate Form LTD unless
you have net self-em ploy ment earnings from sources other 
than the part ner ship. Re port only these additional net self-
em ploy ment earn ings on your individual Form LTD.

Amended returns

You must file an amended return to claim a refund of tax 
paid. To file an amended return, use the appropriate form for 
the year of the original return and check the box in di cat ing 
“This is an amended return.” Attach an explanation of the 
changes made.

Form LTD instructions

Name and address section

Individuals: Fill in your name, address, telephone num ber, 
and SSN.

The request for your SSN(s) is au tho rized by Section 405, 
Ti tle 42, United States Code. You must give us this in for -
ma tion. It will be used to es tab lish your iden ti ty.

Partnerships: Fill in the partnership name, address, tele-
 phone number, FEIN, and Ore gon business identification 
number (BIN).

You must provide, on a schedule attached to Form LTD, the 
name and SSN for each partner. Your re turn cannot be pro-
 cessed without this in for ma tion.

Line instructions—Form LTD

Instructions are for lines not fully explained on the return.

Line 1. Self-employment earnings. Fill in the amount from 
fed er al Schedule SE, Section A, line 3; or Section B, line 3. If 
you have separate business activities, do not use the “net” 
amount of all businesses shown on federal Sched ule SE. 
In stead, compute the LTD self-employment in come sep a -
rate ly for each business. The loss from one busi ness can not 
be off set against the in come of an oth er business. File one 
return, attach a sched ule for each sep a rate business, and 
start with line 3 on Form LTD. If you have self-em ploy ment 

earnings from a separate business operated wholly outside 
of the Lane Transit District, do not in clude those earn ings on 
line 1 or 3 of Form LTD.

You do not need to make Oregon changes or mod i fi ca tions to 
federal income on Form LTD. Your earnings that are sub ject 
to LTD self-employment tax usually will be the same as the 
earnings you report on your fed er al Sched ule SE, Sec tion A, 
line 3; or Section B, line 3. 

Exception: Did you receive partnership income? If so, did 
the partnership file Form LTD and pay the tax for the part-
 ners? If so, reduce the amount from your fed er al Sched ule 
SE, Sec tion A, line 3; or Section B, line 3 by the amount of 
your in come from that partnership.

If you have a loss on federal Schedule SE, line 3, you are not 
required to file a transit self-employment tax return for the 
year of the loss. The loss from one business activity can not 
offset the income of another. There is no carry-for ward of 
loss es.

Line 2. Apportionment:

• Enter 100 percent if all of your business activity is with in 
the transit district. Do not fill out Form TSE-AP.

• Fill out and attach a completed Form TSE-AP if your busi-
 ness ac tiv i ty is car ried on both in and out of the district.

Line 4. Exclusion. The total exclusion for all of your self-em-
 ploy ment earnings is lim it ed to $400.

Individuals. Enter $400 or the amount on line 3, which ev er 
is less. Was the exclusion par tial ly or com plete ly used on 
an oth er 2005 Form LTD filed by your part ner ship? If so, fill 
in only the unused amount of the $400 ex clu sion.

Partnerships. Enter $400 for only those partners whose share 
of positive earnings are included in the amount on line 3. If 
any part ner’s ex clu sion was partially or com plete ly used on 
an oth er 2005 Form LTD, in clude on line 4 only that part ner’s 
unused amount of the $400 ex clu sion. Each part ner is re-
 spon si ble for en sur ing that the to tal of all ex clu sions does 
not exceed $400.

Do not include any partner with a loss.

Line 7. Prepayments. Fill in the amount of any ad vance pay-
 ments you made before filing this return. In clude pay ments 
made with an extension of time to file, or with a payment 
voucher, Form TSE-V.

Line 8. Tax-to-pay. Include your check or money order pay-
 able to the Oregon Department of Revenue. An expected 
refund from your state income tax cannot be used to pay 
your transit tax.

Line 9. Penalty and interest. For filing or pay ing late.

Due date. Form LTD is due the same day as your fed er al 
and Oregon income tax returns. For a calendar year return, 
this is April 17, 2006.

Interest. Are you paying your tax after the due date? If you 
are, include interest on any unpaid tax.
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If you do not pay the tax by the due date, interest will be 
charged on the unpaid tax. Interest periods gen er al ly be gin 
on the 16th day of the month the return is due. Re turns are 
due on the 15th unless the 15th falls on a Sat ur day, Sun day, 
or legal holiday. Interest is figured daily for periods of less 
than a month. A month, for example, is May 16 to June 15. 
Interest rates may change once a cal en dar year.

To calculate interest due:

• Tax × Annual interest rate × Number of full years.
• Tax × Monthly interest rate × Number of months.
• Tax × Daily interest rate × Number of days.

Interest rates and effective dates:

For periods beginning      Annual     Monthly     Daily

January 1, 2006                        7%          0.5833%    0.0192%
January 1, 2005                        5%          0.4167%    0.0137%

Interest accrues on any unpaid tax during an extension of 
time to file. Learn more about Com put ing Interest on Tax You 
Owe at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

Additional interest on deficiencies and delinquencies. 
In ter est will increase by one-third of 1 percent per month (4 
per cent yearly) on unpaid tax. If the tax is not paid within 
60 days of our bill, the interest rate increases to 9 percent 
per year.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you: 

• Mail your payment of tax due after the due date (even if 
you have an extension), or

• File your return showing tax due after the due date, in-
 clud ing any ex ten sion.

Penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid bal ance of your tax.

If you file your return more than three months after the 
orig i nal or extended due date, add an additional penalty of 
20 percent of the unpaid tax.

If you do not file required returns for three consecutive years 
by the due date of the third year’s return, an additional fail-
 ure to file penalty may be charged up to 100 per cent of any 
tax due.

Sign your return. Please sign and date your return before 
mailing.

LTD cities and ZIP codes

LTD serves the entire Eu gene-Springfield urban area as well 
as several ru ral areas. For information on LTD bound aries, 
call 541-682-6100 or access the Lane Transit Web site at 
www.ltd.org.

City                     ZIP Code

Goshen                       97405
Jasper                         97438
Junction City             97448
Lancaster                   97448
Leaburg                     97489
Lowell                        97452
Maywood                  97413
McKenzie Bridge     97413
Pleasant Hill              97455
Springfield                97477
                                    97478
Thurston                    97482
Trent                           97431
Veneta                        97487
Vida                            97488
Walterville                 97488

City                     ZIP Code

Alvadore                   97409
Blue River                  97413
Coburg                       97408
Cottage Grove          97424
Creswell                     97426
Dexter                        97431
Elmira                        97437
Eugene                       97401
                                    97402
                                    97403
                                    97404
                                    97405
                                    97408
                                    97440
Fall Creek                  97438
Finn Rock                  97488

Taxpayer assistance

Oregon Department of Revenue

General tax information ....................www.oregon.gov/DOR
 Salem................................................................. 503-378-4988 
 Toll-free from Oregon prefix..........................1-800-356-4222 
 E-mail ............................................. tse.help.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure and confidentiality cannot be 
ensured. General tax and policy questions only.

Asistencia en español:
 Salem................................................................. 503-945-8618
 Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon.........................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
 Salem................................................................. 503-945-8617
 Toll-free from Oregon prefix.......................1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats.

TriMet Transit District boundary information

Telephone ............................................................ 503-962-6466
Internet ............................................................www.trimet.org
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      1.  Total self-employment earnings from federal Schedule SE...................................................................   1
      2.  Apportionment percentage. From Form TSE-AP, Transit Self-Employment Tax Apportionment 
           Worksheet (150-500-051). Not less than -0- or more than 100%. If all your business activity is 
           within the Lane Transit District, fill in 100% ................................................................................................2

      3.  Net self-employment earnings. Multiply line 1 by line 2.........................................................................   3
      4.  Less: Exclusion. Not more than $400 per taxpayer. Each taxpayer’s exclusion is the lesser 
           of the taxpayer’s self-employment earnings or $400.............................................................................   4

      5.  Net earnings from self-employment subject to transit district tax. Line 3 minus line 4 ..........................   5
      6.  Tax on self-employment earnings within the Lane Transit District. 
           Multiply the amount on line 5 by 0.006..................................................................................................   6

      7.  Prepayments .........................................................................................................................................   7

      8.  TAX-TO-PAY. Is line 6 more than line 7? If so, line 6 minus line 7 ................................... TAX-TO-PAY  8

      9.  Penalty and interest for filing or paying late.................................................................................................9

    10.  Total amount due. Line 8 plus line 9. .........................................................................................................10

    11.  REFUND. Is line 7 more than line 6? If so, line 7 minus line 6 ............................................... REFUND 11

Lane County
Mass Transit District

FORM

LTD 2005
Fiscal Year
Beginning:•

Mo Day Year/ / 05
Mo Day Year/ /•

For office use only
Date received

Payment

•
•

• •
Last name (if an individual filing)

Partnership name (if a partnership filing)

Business address

City State ZIP Code

Federal employer identification number (FEIN)

Oregon business identification number (BIN)

An extension has been filed

• •

SELF-EMPLOYMENT TAX

•

• •
1 2 3

Fiscal Year
Ending:

If you have previously 
filed a return, indicate if:

Name change
Address change

Did you file Form LTD for 2004?

Social Security number (SSN)

•

First name and initial

County Telephone number

( )

– –

This is an amended returnYes No (if No, give reason) _______________________________________________________

Do NOT attach your LTD self-employment tax return to your Oregon income tax return, or any other form.

Make check or money order payable to:                                                             Mail your return to:    LTDSE
Oregon Department of Revenue                                                                                                        Oregon Department of Revenue

                               PO Box 14003
                               Salem OR 97309-2502

•

•
•
•
•
•
•

•

•
•

%

(240)

Partnerships:  Attach a schedule listing each partner’s name, Social Security number, partnership earnings, and exclusion.

Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date License No.

Address Telephone No.

X XSIGN
HERE

I authorize the De partment
of Rev enue to discuss this 
return with this preparer.
  Yes   No

Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including ac companying
schedules and state ments. To the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If 
prepared by a person other than the taxpayer, this declaration is based on all in formation of which the 
preparer has any knowledge.

•

Include your payment with this return.                                                                                                  Round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar.

Individuals: Attach a copy of your federal Schedule SE. Business Activity:  Sales  Services  Other:

Include a copy of your extension if you file after the due date.

150-560-001 (Rev. 12-05)
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APPORTIONMENT FACTORS

1. Property Factor

Value of real and tangible personal property used in the 
    business

    1a. Owned property (at original cost; see instructions)..........  1a.                                                    1a.

    1b. Rented property (capitalize at 8 times the rental paid) ...  1b.                                                    1b.

    1c. Total owned and rented property (1a + 1b) .....................  1c.                                                    1c.                                                    1c.                             %

2. Payroll Factor ......................................................................  2.                                                      2.                                                      2.                               %

Wages, salaries, commissions, and other employee 
    compensation

3. Sales Factor ........................................................................  3.                                                      3.                                                      3.                               %

Sales and other business gross receipts

4. Apportionment percent (use Schedule AP-2, Method 1 or Method 2, below; see instructions)
    Fill in here and on line 2 on the front of Form TM or Form LTD.......................................................................... 4.                               %

(A)
Total within 
the district

(B)
Total in and out

of the district

(C)
Percent within district 

[(A) ÷ (B)] × 100 
(not less than zero)

150-500-051 (Rev. 12-05)

•

NOTE: Do not use this worksheet if ALL of your business activities are in the transit district.

_ _ _ . _ _ _ _

METHOD 2—Three Factor Formula

Apportionment percentage calculation:
(10% property + 10% payroll + 80% sales)

1. Multiply the property factor percentage     
    from line 1c, column C, by 0.10.

2. Multiply the payroll factor percentage       
    from line 2, column C, by 0.10.

3. Multiply the sales factor percentage          
    from line 3, column C, by 0.80.

4. Apportionment percent. Add
    lines 1, 2, and 3. Compute percent 
    to four decimal places (for example, 
    12.34558% should be 12.3456%). 
    Enter on line 4 above.

Attach your completed Form TSE-AP to your transit return when filed.

•

• •

• •

•

Schedule AP-1

Schedule AP-2 for Computation of Apportionment Percent

Effective for tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2005, you must use the sales factor only (Method 1) to apportion your 
net income.

METHOD 1—Sales Factor Only

Apportionment percentage calculation:
[(column A ÷ column B) X 100]

1. Start on line 3 of Schedule AP-1 above. 

2. In column 3A, enter all sales within the transit district. In col-
umn 3B, enter all sales everywhere.

3. In column 3C, compute the percentage of sales within the 
district by dividing the amount in column A by column B, and 
multiply by 100%.

4. Apportionment percent. Enter the amount from line 3, col-
umn C, on line 4 above. Compute the percent to four decimal 
places (for example, 12.34558% should be 12.3456%).

Check one:   TriMet District (TM)       Lane Transit District (LTD)

Filer Name—Individual or Partnership SSN or FEIN

OREGON TRANSIT SELF-EMPLOYMENT TAX 
APPORTIONMENT WORKSHEET 2005

FORM

TSE-AP
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TRANSIT SELF-EMPLOYMENT TAX APPORTIONMENT WORKSHEET IN STRUC TIONS

Apportionment (ORS 314.280, 314.650 to 314.675)

If some of your business activity is carried on both in and 
out of the transit district, you may allocate and apportion 
your net earnings. Use the apportionment worksheet, Form 
TSE-AP, to compute your percentage, which is entered onto 
line 2 of your Transit Self-Employment tax return. You must 
complete the worksheet and attach it to your Transit Self-
Employment tax return when you file.

Complete Form TSE-AP, Schedules AP-1 and AP-2, to de-
 ter mine the apportionment percent.

You may use one of two methods to figure your apportion-
ment percentage if your tax year begins before July 1, 2005. 
Generally, that includes most taxpayers.

The Oregon Legislature passed a law changing the way 
Oregon apportions business income. Effective for tax years 
starting on or after July 1, 2005, you must use the sales factor 
only to apportion your income.

• Method 1: Sales factor only. Using the sales factor only, skip 
lines 1 and 2 of the work sheet. Complete line 3 to compute 
the sales percentage, and enter on line 2 of your transit 
return.

• Method 2: Three factor formula (property, payroll, and sales). 
Use the entire three-factor formula to determine the ap-
portionment percentage.

Effective for tax years starting on or after July 1, 2005, qualify-
ing forest product industries are required to use the double-
weighted sales factor apportionment formula as defined in 
ORS 314.650(2).

The election for taxpayers primarily engaged in utilities and 
telecommunications to apportion income using the double-
weighted sales factor formula provided in ORS 314.650 
(1999 edition) will continue to apply. This election may be 
revoked later.

Apportionment Factors

1. Property Factor

    Each item of owned or rented business property should be 
entered in column B. Business property within the dis trict 
is entered in column A.

    1a. Owned property is valued at original cost. Show the 
av er age value during the taxable year of real and tan-
 gi ble personal property used in the business. This is the 
av er age of property values at the beginning and the end 
of the tax period. An average of the monthly values may 
be required if a more rea son able value re sults.

    1b. Rented property is valued at eight times the annual 
rent you pay. The annual rent paid must be reduced 
by non busi ness subrentals.

    1c. Enter the total of property factors on line 1c.

2. Payroll Factor

    Compensation to employees for services performed must 
be included in the payroll factor. Payroll is as signed to the 
dis trict if:

     • The services are performed entirely inside the district; or
     • The services are performed both in and out of the dis trict, but 

those services performed outside are only in ci den tal; or
    • Some of the services are performed in the district and, (a) 

the base of operation or control is located in the dis trict or, 
(b) the base of operation or control is not in this state or in 
any state where the employee’s ser vic es are per formed, 
but the employee’s residence is in the dis trict.

3. Sales Factor

     The sales factor is the percentage that sales or other busi ness 
gross receipts within the district compare to sales or other 
business gross receipts ev ery where for the tax able year.

    Other business gross receipts, including services, are any 
items other than sales of tangible personal prop er ty.

    Amounts received for services should be entered on line 
3, along with other business gross receipts. Charges for 
ser vic es are included in the district to the extent the ser-
 vic es are per formed in the district.

    Sales of tangible personal property are assigned to the 
dis trict if:

    • The property is shipped or delivered to a pur chas er in 
the district; or

    • The property is shipped from a warehouse or other place 
of storage in the district; and (a) the pur chas er is the U.S. 
government or, (b) the business income is not tax able 
out side the district or in the state of the pur chas er. See 
ORS 314.665(3) for exceptions.

    Gross receipts from the sale, exchange, or redemption of 
in tan gi ble assets cannot be included in the sales factor if not 
derived from your primary business activity. If the re sult ing 
gains are business income, the net gains at trib ut able to these 
sales should be included in the sales fac tor.

Taxpayer assistance

General tax information ....................www.oregon.gov/DOR
 Salem................................................................. 503-378-4988 
 Toll-free from Oregon prefix..........................1-800-356-4222 
 E-mail ............................................. tse.help.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure and confidentiality cannot be 
ensured. General tax and policy questions only.

Asistencia en español:
 Salem................................................................. 503-945-8618
 Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon.........................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
 Salem................................................................. 503-945-8617
 Toll-free from Oregon prefix.....................1-800-889-15204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats.

150-500-051 (Rev. 12-05)
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OREGON TRANSIT SELF-EMPLOYMENT TAX PAYMENT VOUCH ER Department of Revenue Use Only
150-500-172 (Rev. 12-05)

$
Enter Payment Amount

. 0 0

•
Tax Return Type (check only one):

(230)

(240)

•
LTD (Lane Transit District)
TM (TriMet)

FORM

TSE-V

2005 Extension Payment

Payment Type (check only one):

2005 Return
•

• SSN:

• BIN:
  FEIN:

Calendar Year
Fiscal Year— Begins:
                         Ends:

Tax Year (check only one):•

Name of Filer on Tax Return:                                                                                                          Telephone No.:
Business Address:
City:                                                                           State:                  Zip Code:

Amended Return—Tax Year:
Prior Year Return—Tax Year:

First Time Filer

New Name or Address

Use this form to send the following payments:

• Tax due when you file your 2005 return. Check the “2005 Return” box.
• Tax due by the 2005 return due date, if you are filing your 2005 return on extension. Check the “2005 Extension” box.
• Tax due with an amended return for any tax year. Check the “Amended Return” box and fill in the tax year.
• Tax due with an original return for a prior tax year. Check the “Prior Year Return” box and fill in the tax year.

Helpful tips:

• Tax Year: Check the box for calendar OR fiscal year. If you are a fiscal year filer, fill in the beginning and ending dates of 
your tax year. Use the tax year in which your fiscal year began.

• Tax Return Type: Check the box for either TM or LTD return. Use a separate voucher for each payment.
• SSN: Fill in your SSN (Social Security number) if you are an individual filer.
• BIN: Fill in the BIN (Oregon business identification number) if known. If this is your first filing with the department, 

leave blank and a BIN will be assigned.
• FEIN: Fill in your FEIN (federal employer identification number).

Make your check payable to: Oregon Department of Revenue. To ensure proper credit to your account, write the filer’s 
name, SSN or FEIN, BIN (if known), tax year, and “TSE Tax” on your check.

Mail the voucher with your payments to:
Oregon Department of Revenue

 PO Box 14003
 Salem OR 97309-2502

OREGON TRANSIT SELF-EMPLOYMENT TAX 
PAYMENT VOUCHER INSTRUCTIONS 2005

FORM

TSE-V

 Did you know that you can print additional vouchers at www.oregon.gov/DOR?

Do not use this form as an extension to file your return. Oregon accepts the extension you filed for your 
federal income tax. Do not send a copy now. When you file, check the extension box on the return and attach a 
copy of the federal extension with your 2005 return.

Always include the completed voucher with your check
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New information

New tax rate: Beginning January 1, 2005, the tax rate has 
increased to 0.006318.

Apportionment: The Oregon Legislature passed a law chang-
ing the way Oregon apportions business income. Effective 
for tax years starting on or after July 1, 2005, you must use 
the sales factor only to apportion your income.

Also effective for tax years starting on or after July 1, 2005, 
certain taxpayers in the forest products industry will be re-
quired to use the double-weighted sales factor formula, as 
defined in Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 314.650(2).

What is the TriMet self-employment tax?

The TriMet tax helps fund mass transportation in the TriMet 
District. This tax is applied to self-employment earn ings of 
in di vid u als doing business or providing ser vic es in the dis-
 trict. This includes portions of Mult nomah, Clacka mas, and 
Wash ing ton counties. The Oregon De part ment of Revenue 
col lects the tax for TriMet.

A list of ZIP codes included in the district boundary is on 
page 4. For more information, call TriMet at 503-962-6466, or 
access their Web site at www.trimet.org.

The tax rate is 0.006318 (0.6318 of 1 percent).

Who must file and pay this tax?

Individuals

Anyone who has self-employment earnings from busi ness 
or service activities carried on in the TriMet District must 
pay this tax.

People who must pay the self-employment tax in clude:

• Anyone who does business or provides services in the 
tran sit dis trict, and whose earnings are not subject to Or-
 e gon with hold ing, regardless of where they live.

• Compensation re ceived for per form ing re li gious ser vic es 
in de pen dent ly is sub ject to self-employment tax.

• Real estate salespeople. Federal laws generally treat real 
estate salespeople as self-employed. This in cludes those 
who provide services to real estate bro kers un der con tract. 
This means commissions on sales are sub ject to the TriMet 
self-employment tax.

Partnerships

Partnerships are not subject to the TriMet tax.

Individual part ners of a partnership must pay this tax. How-
 ev er, a part ner ship may elect to file and pay for all in di vid u al 
part ners. See “Partnership election” instructions.

Exemptions

• S corporation distributions are not subject to this tax.
• Ministers. Compensation received by a min is ter or mem-

 ber of a religious order for performing re li gious ser vic es in 
the exercise of that ministry or re li gious or der is not subject 
to TriMet self-employment tax.

How to file

Complete Form TM, TriMet self-employment tax re turn. At-
tach your payment to the front of the form. Make your check 
pay able to the Or e gon De part ment of Rev e nue. Do not use 
red ink or gel pens. Please use only blue or black ink on your 
re turn and pay ment.

Mail to:  TMSE
               Oregon Department of Revenue
               PO Box 14003
               Salem OR 97309-2502

Important filing information

• Do not combine your TriMet self-employment tax pay-
 ment with any other tax payment made to the Or e gon 
De part ment of Revenue.

• Do not at tach your TriMet self-employment tax re turn to 
your Oregon in come tax re turn.

• Attach a copy of your federal Schedule SE to your TriMet 
self-employment tax return.

• Mail your transit return to the Oregon Department of 
Rev e nue. Transit returns cannot be filed electronically.

File one TriMet self-employment tax return for all of your 
self-employment earnings.

To avoid a penalty, file your return and pay your tax by the 
due date.

150-555-001 (Rev. 12-05)

These instructions are not a complete state ment of laws and rules that apply to the Tri-County 
Met ro pol i tan Trans por ta tion District self-employment tax. For more information, con tact the Oregon 
Depart ment of Rev e nue. See “Taxpayer assistance.” You may access the laws, rules, forms, and 
in struc tions on the Internet at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

2005 Tri-County Metropolitan Transportation District                                                 Form TM and Instructions

TriMet Self-Employment Tax
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Frequently asked questions

I have more than one business. How should I file my 
TriMet return?

File one return. If you have separate business activities, at-
 tach a schedule for each separate business to your re turn. 
Compute the TriMet self-employment income sep a rate ly for 
each business. See instructions for line 1.

Can I file a joint return?

No. Each taxpayer having self-employment earnings must 
file a separate Form TM. That’s true even if you and your 
spouse filed a joint federal income tax re turn. The only ex-
 cep tion is a partnership filing for all part ners. Both spous es 
could be members of the same part ner ship.

I’m getting a refund on my Oregon individual income 
tax return. Can I have that refund applied to this tax?

No. We cannot apply any income tax refund to pay your 
TriMet self-employment tax.

Can I file my transit self-employment tax return 
electronically?

No. File your transit return by mail. Make a copy for your 
records, and mail your return to the Oregon Department of 
Revenue address printed at the bottom of the tax return.

Can I file an amended transit self-employment tax 
return?

Yes. File an amended transit return any time you need to 
cor rect your return as originally filed. Generally, you are al-
 lowed three years from the due date of the return or the date 
the return was filed, whichever is later, to file an amended 
re turn to claim a refund. Check the “This is an amended 
return” box on your transit return.

What if business is done both inside and outside of the 
district?

Use an apportionment formula by completing Form TSE-
AP. You may elect to use only a sales factor or you may use 
the three-fac tor formula if your tax year begins before July 
1, 2005. Effective for tax years starting on or after July 1, 
2005, you must use the sales factor only to apportion your 
income.

What if I’m audited by the IRS?

If changes are made that affect your self-employment earn-
 ings, file an amended return to report and pay any ad di tion al 
tax due. If the change reduces your transit tax, you have two 
years from the date of the audit report to claim a refund.

Why am I being charged penalty and interest on my 
unpaid taxes when I have a valid extension?

You are responsible for a 5 percent penalty and interest if 
you do not pay your tax by the original due date. This is true 

even if you have an extension of time to file. Attach a copy 
of your extension to your TriMet return and check the “An 
extension has been filed” box to avoid additional penalties.

For more information, visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/
DOR.

When to file

Your TriMet return is due the same day as your fed er al and 
Oregon individual income tax returns. For most tax pay ers, 
this is April 17, 2006. Fiscal year returns are due the 15th day 
of the fourth month after the end of the fiscal year. When the 
15th falls on a Sat ur day, Sun day, or le gal hol i day, the due 
date will be the next busi ness day.

Extensions

If you get an extension to file your federal or Oregon in di -
vid u al income tax return, it will also extend your TriMet 
self-employment tax return. Check the “An extension has 
been filed” box on your TriMet self-employment tax return, 
and attach a copy of the extension to your return when 
you file.

However, more time to file does not mean more time to pay. 
If you have an extension, you must make your payment by 
the orig i nal due date of the return to avoid a penalty and 
interest charge. Complete Form TSE-V and send it with 
your payment of tax. Form TSE-V is available on our Web 
site at www.oregon.gov/DOR, or see “Taxpayer assistance.” 
Be sure to use the same name and So cial Se cu ri ty num ber 
(SSN) or fed er al em ploy er iden ti fi ca tion num ber (FEIN) that 
you will use on your re turn when you file.

Be sure to file your TriMet self-employment tax re turn with in 
the extension period. 

Partnership election

A partnership may elect to file and pay the transit self-em-
 ploy ment tax for the individual partners. The part ner ship 
must use net earn ings from self-employment as re port ed 
on fed er al Form 1065 to fig ure the tax. Do not make Oregon 
mod i fi ca tions to the part ner ship’s earnings. If some part ners 
have dif fer ent tax years than others, net earnings from self-
em ploy ment is de ter mined using amounts from dif fer ent 
part ner ship years.

The partnership’s return and payment shall be based upon 
the net earnings from self-employment of the individual 
part ners from the partnership for their taxable years end ing 
with or within the calendar year.

Due date: April 17, 2006. The partnership must file a return 
and pay the tax due on or before the 15th day of the fourth 
month following the end of the calendar year.

Fiscal year taxpayers: When a partnership tax year ends 
with in a cal en dar year, the partnership files on a calendar 
year ba sis with the return due April 17, 2006.
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Example: If a partnership has a tax year ending August 31, 
2005, and its partners use a calendar year, the partnership 
must pay on or before April 17, 2006, the amount due from 
the partner’s net earnings from the partnership for its tax able 
year ending August 31, 2005.

Partnerships must attach a schedule listing the fol low ing 
information for each partner:

• Name.
• SSN.
• Share of partnership income.
• Individual exclusion.

Partners: If your partnership is filing on behalf of all part-
 ners, you do not need to file a separate Form TM unless 
you have net self-em ploy ment earnings from sources other 
than the part ner ship. Re port only these additional net self-
em ploy ment earn ings on your individual Form TM.

Amended returns

You must file an amended return to claim a refund of tax 
paid. To file an amended return, use the appropriate form for 
the year of the original return and check the box in di cat ing 
“This is an amended return.” Attach an explanation of the 
changes made.

Form TM instructions

Name and address section

In di vid u als: Fill in your name, ad dress, tele phone num ber, 
and SSN.

The re quest for your SSN(s) is au tho rized by Section 405, 
Ti tle 42, United States Code. You must give us this in for -
ma tion. It will be used to es tab lish your iden ti ty.

Partnerships: Fill in the part ner ship name, ad dress, tele-
 phone num ber, FEIN, and Or e gon business identification 
number (BIN).

You must provide, on a schedule attached to Form TM, the 
name and SSN for each partner. Your re turn can not be pro-
 cessed without this information.

Line instructions—Form TM

Instructions are for lines not fully explained on the return.

Line 1. Self-employment earnings. Fill in the amount from 
fed er al Schedule SE, Section A, line 3; or Section B, line 3. If 
you have separate business ac tiv i ties, do not use the “net” 
amount of all businesses shown on fed er al Sched ule SE. 
In stead, compute the TriMet self-employment in come sep a -
rate ly for each business. The loss from one busi ness can not 
be offset against the inc ome of an oth er business. File one 
return, at tach a sched ule for each sep a rate busi ness, and 
start with line 3 on Form TM. If you have self-em ploy ment 

earn ings from a sep a rate busi ness op er at ed whol ly out side 
of the TriMet District, do not in clude those earn ings on line 
1 or 3 of Form TM.

You do not need to make Oregon changes or mod i fi ca tions to 
federal income on Form TM. Your earn ings that are sub ject 
to TriMet self-employment tax usu al ly will be the same as 
the earnings you report on your fed er al Sched ule SE, Sec tion 
A, line 3; or Sec tion B, line 3.

Exception: Did you receive partnership income? If so, did 
the partnership file Form TM and pay the tax for the part-
 ners? If so, reduce the amount from your fed er al Sched ule 
SE, Sec tion A, line 3; or Section B, line 3 by the amount of 
your in come from that part ner ship.

If you have a loss on federal Schedule SE, line 3, you are not 
required to file a transit self-employment tax return for the 
year of the loss. The loss from one business activity cannot 
offset the income of another. There is no carry-forward of 
losses.

Line 2. Apportionment:

• Enter 100 percent if all of your business activity is with in 
the transit district. Do not fill out Form TSE-AP.

• Fill out and attach a completed Form TSE-AP if your busi-
ness ac tiv i ty is car ried on both in and out of the dis trict.

Line 4. Exclusion. The total exclusion for all of your self-em-
 ploy ment earnings is lim it ed to $400.

Individuals: Enter $400 or the amount on line 3, which ev er 
is less. Was the exclusion par tial ly or com plete ly used on 
an oth er 2005 Form TM filed by your part ner ship? If so, fill 
in only the unused amount of the $400 exclusion.

Partnerships. Enter $400 for only those partners whose share 
of positive earnings are included in the amount on line 3. If 
any part ner’s ex clu sion was par tial ly or com plete ly used on 
an oth er 2005 Form TM, include on line 4 only that part ner’s 
unused amount of the $400 ex clu sion. Each part ner is re-
 spon si ble for en sur ing that the total of all ex clu sions does 
not exceed $400.

Do not include any partner with a loss.

Line 7. Prepayments. Fill in the amount of any advance pay-
 ments you made before filing this return. Include pay ments 
made with an extension of time to file or with a payment 
voucher, Form TSE-V.

Line 8. Tax-to-pay. Include your check or money order pay-
 able to the Oregon Department of Revenue. An expected 
refund from your state income tax cannot be used to pay 
your transit tax.

Line 9. Penalty and interest. For fil ing or paying late.

Due date. Form TM is due the same day as your fed er al and 
Oregon income tax returns. For a calendar year return, this 
is April 17, 2006.

Interest. Are you paying your tax after the due date? If you 
are, include interest on any unpaid tax.
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If you do not pay the tax by the due date, interest will be 
charged on the unpaid tax. Interest periods gen er al ly be gin 
on the 16th day of the month the return is due. Re turns are 
due on the 15th unless the 15th falls on a Sat ur day, Sun day, 
or legal holiday. Interest is figured daily for pe ri ods of less 
than a month. A month, for example, is May 16 to June 15. 
Interest rates may change once a cal en dar year.

To calculate interest due:

• Tax × Annual interest rate × Number of full years.
• Tax × Monthly interest rate × Number of months.
• Tax × Daily interest rate × Number of days.

Interest rates and effective dates:

For periods beginning      Annual     Monthly     Daily

January 1, 2006                        7%          0.5833%    0.0192%
January 1, 2005                        5%          0.4167%    0.0137%

Interest accrues on any unpaid tax during an extension of 
time to file. Learn more about Com put ing Interest on Tax You 
Owe at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

Additional interest on deficiencies and delinquencies. 
In ter est will increase by one-third of 1 percent per month (4 
per cent yearly) on unpaid tax. If the tax is not paid within 
60 days of our bill, the interest rate increases to 9 percent 
per year.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you: 

• Mail your payment of tax due after the due date (even if 
you have an extension), or

• File your return showing tax due after the due date, in-
 clud ing any ex ten sion.

Penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid bal ance of your tax.

If you file your return more than three months after the 
orig i nal or extended due date, add an additional penalty of 
20 percent of the unpaid tax.

If you do not file required returns for three consecutive years 
by the due date of the third year’s return, an additional fail-
 ure to file penalty may be charged up to 100 per cent of any 
tax due.

Sign your return. Please sign and date your return before 
mailing.

TriMet ZIP codes

TriMet serves the Portland Metropolitan area, which in cludes 
parts of Multnomah, Wash ing ton, and Clackamas coun ties. 
For in for ma tion on TriMet bound aries, call 503-962-6466 or 
access the TriMet Web site at www.trimet.org.

97005
97006
97008
97024
97027
97030
97034

97035
97036
97068
97201
97202
97203
97204

97205
97206
97209
97210
97211
97212
97213

97214
97215
97216
97217
97218
97219
97220

97221
97222
97223
97225
97227
97229
97230

97232
97233
97239
97258
97266
97267
97268

ZIP codes completely in TriMet Transit District

ZIP codes partially in TriMet Transit District

97007
97009
97013
97015

97019
97022
97023
97045

97055
97060
97062
97070

97080
97113
97116
97123

97124
97140
97224
97231

97236

Taxpayer assistance

Oregon Department of Revenue

General tax information ....................www.oregon.gov/DOR
 Salem................................................................. 503-378-4988 
 Toll-free from Oregon prefix..........................1-800-356-4222 
 E-mail ............................................. tse.help.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure and confidentiality cannot be 
ensured. General tax and policy questions only.

Asistencia en español:
 Salem................................................................. 503-945-8618
 Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon.........................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
 Salem................................................................. 503-945-8617
 Toll-free from Oregon prefix.......................1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats.

TriMet Transit District boundary information

Telephone ............................................................ 503-962-6466
Internet ............................................................www.trimet.org
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      1.  Total self-employment earnings from federal Schedule SE...................................................................   1
      2.  Apportionment percentage. From Form TSE-AP, Transit Self-Employment Tax Apportionment 
           Worksheet (150-500-051). Not less than -0- or more than 100%. If all your business activity is 
           within the TriMet District, fill in 100% ..........................................................................................................2

      3.  Net self-employment earnings. Multiply line 1 by line 2.........................................................................   3
      4.  Less: Exclusion. Not more than $400 per taxpayer. Each taxpayer’s exclusion is the lesser
           of the taxpayer’s self-employment earnings or $400.............................................................................   4

      5.  Net earnings from self-employment subject to transit district tax. Line 3 minus line 4 ..........................   5
      6.  Tax on self-employment earnings within the TriMet District.
           Multiply the amount on line 5 by 0.006318............................................................................................   6

      7.  Prepayments .........................................................................................................................................   7

      8.  TAX-TO-PAY. Is line 6 more than line 7? If so, line 6 minus line 7 ................................... TAX-TO-PAY  8

      9.  Penalty and interest for filing or paying late.................................................................................................9

    10.  Total amount due. Line 8 plus line 9. .........................................................................................................10

    11.  REFUND. Is line 7 more than line 6? If so, line 7 minus line 6 ............................................... REFUND 11

Tri-County
Metropolitan Transportation District

FORM

TM 2005
Fiscal Year
Beginning:•

Mo Day Year/ / 05
Mo Day Year/ /•

For office use only
Date received

Payment

•
•

• •
Last name (if an individual filing)

Partnership name (if a partnership filing)

Business address

City State ZIP Code

Federal employer identification number (FEIN)

Oregon business identification number (BIN)

An extension has been filed

• •

SELF-EMPLOYMENT TAX

•

• •
1 2 3

Fiscal Year
Ending:

If you have previously 
filed a return, indicate if:

Name change

Address change

Did you file Form TM for 2004?

Social Security number (SSN)

•

First name and initial

County Telephone number

( )

– –

This is an amended returnYes No (if No, give reason) _______________________________________________________

Include your payment with this return.                                                                                                  Round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar.

Individuals: Attach a copy of your federal Schedule SE. Business Activity:  Sales  Services  Other:

Partnerships:  Attach a schedule listing each partner’s name, Social Security number, partnership earnings, and exclusion.

Do NOT attach your TM self-employment tax return to your Oregon income tax return, or any other form.

Make check or money order payable to:                                                             Mail your return to:    TMSE
Oregon Department of Revenue                                                                                                        Oregon Department of Revenue

                               PO Box 14003
                               Salem OR 97309-2502

•

•
•
•
•
•
•

•

•
•

%

(230)

Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date License No.

Address Telephone No.

X XSIGN
HERE

I authorize the De partment
of Rev enue to discuss this 
return with this preparer.
  Yes   No

Under penalties for false swearing, I declare that I have examined this return, including ac companying
schedules and state ments. To the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. If 
prepared by a person other than the taxpayer, this declaration is based on all in formation of which the 
preparer has any knowledge.

Include a copy of your extension if you file after the due date.

150-555-001 (Rev. 12-05)

•

233



234



APPORTIONMENT FACTORS

1. Property Factor

Value of real and tangible personal property used in the 
    business

    1a. Owned property (at original cost; see instructions)..........  1a.                                                    1a.

    1b. Rented property (capitalize at 8 times the rental paid) ...  1b.                                                    1b.

    1c. Total owned and rented property (1a + 1b) .....................  1c.                                                    1c.                                                    1c.                             %

2. Payroll Factor ......................................................................  2.                                                      2.                                                      2.                               %

Wages, salaries, commissions, and other employee 
    compensation

3. Sales Factor ........................................................................  3.                                                      3.                                                      3.                               %

Sales and other business gross receipts

4. Apportionment percent (use Schedule AP-2, Method 1 or Method 2, below; see instructions)
    Fill in here and on line 2 on the front of Form TM or Form LTD.......................................................................... 4.                               %

(A)
Total within 
the district

(B)
Total in and out

of the district

(C)
Percent within district 

[(A) ÷ (B)] × 100 
(not less than zero)

150-500-051 (Rev. 12-05)

•

NOTE: Do not use this worksheet if ALL of your business activities are in the transit district.

_ _ _ . _ _ _ _

METHOD 2—Three Factor Formula

Apportionment percentage calculation:
(10% property + 10% payroll + 80% sales)

1. Multiply the property factor percentage     
    from line 1c, column C, by 0.10.

2. Multiply the payroll factor percentage       
    from line 2, column C, by 0.10.

3. Multiply the sales factor percentage          
    from line 3, column C, by 0.80.

4. Apportionment percent. Add
    lines 1, 2, and 3. Compute percent 
    to four decimal places (for example, 
    12.34558% should be 12.3456%). 
    Enter on line 4 above.

Attach your completed Form TSE-AP to your transit return when filed.

•

• •

• •

•

Schedule AP-1

Schedule AP-2 for Computation of Apportionment Percent

Effective for tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2005, you must use the sales factor only (Method 1) to apportion your 
net income.

METHOD 1—Sales Factor Only

Apportionment percentage calculation:
[(column A ÷ column B) X 100]

1. Start on line 3 of Schedule AP-1 above. 

2. In column 3A, enter all sales within the transit district. In col-
umn 3B, enter all sales everywhere.

3. In column 3C, compute the percentage of sales within the 
district by dividing the amount in column A by column B, and 
multiply by 100%.

4. Apportionment percent. Enter the amount from line 3, col-
umn C, on line 4 above. Compute the percent to four decimal 
places (for example, 12.34558% should be 12.3456%).

Check one:   TriMet District (TM)       Lane Transit District (LTD)

Filer Name—Individual or Partnership SSN or FEIN

OREGON TRANSIT SELF-EMPLOYMENT TAX 
APPORTIONMENT WORKSHEET 2005

FORM

TSE-AP
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TRANSIT SELF-EMPLOYMENT TAX APPORTIONMENT WORKSHEET IN STRUC TIONS

Apportionment (ORS 314.280, 314.650 to 314.675)

If some of your business activity is carried on both in and 
out of the transit district, you may allocate and apportion 
your net earnings. Use the apportionment worksheet, Form 
TSE-AP, to compute your percentage, which is entered onto 
line 2 of your Transit Self-Employment tax return. You must 
complete the worksheet and attach it to your Transit Self-
Employment tax return when you file.

Complete Form TSE-AP, Schedules AP-1 and AP-2, to de-
 ter mine the apportionment percent.

You may use one of two methods to figure your apportion-
ment percentage if your tax year begins before July 1, 2005. 
Generally, that includes most taxpayers.

The Oregon Legislature passed a law changing the way 
Oregon apportions business income. Effective for tax years 
starting on or after July 1, 2005, you must use the sales factor 
only to apportion your income.

• Method 1: Sales factor only. Using the sales factor only, skip 
lines 1 and 2 of the work sheet. Complete line 3 to compute 
the sales percentage, and enter on line 2 of your transit 
return.

• Method 2: Three factor formula (property, payroll, and sales). 
Use the entire three-factor formula to determine the ap-
portionment percentage.

Effective for tax years starting on or after July 1, 2005, qualify-
ing forest product industries are required to use the double-
weighted sales factor apportionment formula as defined in 
ORS 314.650(2).

The election for taxpayers primarily engaged in utilities and 
telecommunications to apportion income using the double-
weighted sales factor formula provided in ORS 314.650 
(1999 edition) will continue to apply. This election may be 
revoked later.

Apportionment Factors

1. Property Factor

    Each item of owned or rented business property should be 
entered in column B. Business property within the dis trict 
is entered in column A.

    1a. Owned property is valued at original cost. Show the 
av er age value during the taxable year of real and tan-
 gi ble personal property used in the business. This is the 
av er age of property values at the beginning and the end 
of the tax period. An average of the monthly values may 
be required if a more rea son able value re sults.

    1b. Rented property is valued at eight times the annual 
rent you pay. The annual rent paid must be reduced 
by non busi ness subrentals.

    1c. Enter the total of property factors on line 1c.

2. Payroll Factor

    Compensation to employees for services performed must 
be included in the payroll factor. Payroll is as signed to the 
dis trict if:

     • The services are performed entirely inside the district; or
     • The services are performed both in and out of the dis trict, but 

those services performed outside are only in ci den tal; or
    • Some of the services are performed in the district and, (a) 

the base of operation or control is located in the dis trict or, 
(b) the base of operation or control is not in this state or in 
any state where the employee’s ser vic es are per formed, 
but the employee’s residence is in the dis trict.

3. Sales Factor

     The sales factor is the percentage that sales or other busi ness 
gross receipts within the district compare to sales or other 
business gross receipts ev ery where for the tax able year.

    Other business gross receipts, including services, are any 
items other than sales of tangible personal prop er ty.

    Amounts received for services should be entered on line 
3, along with other business gross receipts. Charges for 
ser vic es are included in the district to the extent the ser-
 vic es are per formed in the district.

    Sales of tangible personal property are assigned to the 
dis trict if:

    • The property is shipped or delivered to a pur chas er in 
the district; or

    • The property is shipped from a warehouse or other place 
of storage in the district; and (a) the pur chas er is the U.S. 
government or, (b) the business income is not tax able 
out side the district or in the state of the pur chas er. See 
ORS 314.665(3) for exceptions.

    Gross receipts from the sale, exchange, or redemption of 
in tan gi ble assets cannot be included in the sales factor if not 
derived from your primary business activity. If the re sult ing 
gains are business income, the net gains at trib ut able to these 
sales should be included in the sales fac tor.

Taxpayer assistance

General tax information ....................www.oregon.gov/DOR
 Salem................................................................. 503-378-4988 
 Toll-free from Oregon prefix..........................1-800-356-4222 
 E-mail ............................................. tse.help.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure and confidentiality cannot be 
ensured. General tax and policy questions only.

Asistencia en español:
 Salem................................................................. 503-945-8618
 Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon.........................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
 Salem................................................................. 503-945-8617
 Toll-free from Oregon prefix.....................1-800-889-15204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats.

150-500-051 (Rev. 12-05)
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OREGON TRANSIT SELF-EMPLOYMENT TAX PAYMENT VOUCH ER Department of Revenue Use Only
150-500-172 (Rev. 12-05)

$
Enter Payment Amount

. 0 0

•
Tax Return Type (check only one):

(230)

(240)

•
LTD (Lane Transit District)
TM (TriMet)

FORM

TSE-V

2005 Extension Payment

Payment Type (check only one):

2005 Return
•

• SSN:

• BIN:
  FEIN:

Calendar Year
Fiscal Year— Begins:
                         Ends:

Tax Year (check only one):•

Name of Filer on Tax Return:                                                                                                          Telephone No.:
Business Address:
City:                                                                           State:                  Zip Code:

Amended Return—Tax Year:
Prior Year Return—Tax Year:

First Time Filer

New Name or Address

Use this form to send the following payments:

• Tax due when you file your 2005 return. Check the “2005 Return” box.
• Tax due by the 2005 return due date, if you are filing your 2005 return on extension. Check the “2005 Extension” box.
• Tax due with an amended return for any tax year. Check the “Amended Return” box and fill in the tax year.
• Tax due with an original return for a prior tax year. Check the “Prior Year Return” box and fill in the tax year.

Helpful tips:

• Tax Year: Check the box for calendar OR fiscal year. If you are a fiscal year filer, fill in the beginning and ending dates of 
your tax year. Use the tax year in which your fiscal year began.

• Tax Return Type: Check the box for either TM or LTD return. Use a separate voucher for each payment.
• SSN: Fill in your SSN (Social Security number) if you are an individual filer.
• BIN: Fill in the BIN (Oregon business identification number) if known. If this is your first filing with the department, 

leave blank and a BIN will be assigned.
• FEIN: Fill in your FEIN (federal employer identification number).

Make your check payable to: Oregon Department of Revenue. To ensure proper credit to your account, write the filer’s 
name, SSN or FEIN, BIN (if known), tax year, and “TSE Tax” on your check.

Mail the voucher with your payments to:
Oregon Department of Revenue

 PO Box 14003
 Salem OR 97309-2502

OREGON TRANSIT SELF-EMPLOYMENT TAX 
PAYMENT VOUCHER INSTRUCTIONS 2005

FORM

TSE-V

 Did you know that you can print additional vouchers at www.oregon.gov/DOR?

Do not use this form as an extension to file your return. Oregon accepts the extension you filed for your 
federal income tax. Do not send a copy now. When you file, check the extension box on the return and attach a 
copy of the federal extension with your 2005 return.

Always include the completed voucher with your check
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