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Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.2

New information

Do I need to file?

Amounts apply to full-year residents only.

Filing status Age If gross income 

is more than:

Can be claimed on 

another’s return
Any $850 *

Single
Under 65 $4,890

65 or over $6,090

Married, joint return

Both under 65 $9,800

One 65 or over $10,800

Both 65 or over $11,800

Married,

separate return

Under 65 $4,890

65 or over $5,890

Head of household
Under 65 $6,145

65 or over $7,345

Qualifying widow(er)
Under 65 $6,865

65 or over $7,865

In addition, file a return if:

— You are required to file a federal return.

— You had $1 or more of Oregon income tax 

withheld from your wages.

* The larger of $850, or your earned income plus $300, up 

to the standard deduction amount for your filing status.

These instructions are not a complete statement 

of laws and Oregon Department of Revenue rules. 

You may need more information. See page 40.

Electronic filing

Electronic filing (e-file) is a fast, 
efficient, and accurate way to 
file.

Download the publication Electronic Filing for Oregon 
from our website, or to order it, see page 40.

Contents

New information  ............................................................ 2

Important reminders  ..................................................... 3

General information  ...................................................... 3

 Residency ................................................................... 3

 Filing status ................................................................ 3

 What form do I use? .................................................. 4

 Military personnel .................................................... 4

 What if I need more time to file? ............................ 5

 2007 estimated tax ..................................................... 5

 Frequently asked questions ..................................... 6

Instructions for Forms 40S and 40  .............................. 7

 Exemptions................................................................. 7

Form 40S line instructions  ............................................ 9

 Standard deduction .................................................. 9

Payment voucher, Form 40-V  ......................................11

Charitable checkoffs ..................................................... 12

Form 40S  ........................................................................ 13

Form 40  .......................................................................... 17

Tax tables  ....................................................................... 21

Tax rate charts  .............................................................. 23

Form 40 line instructions  ............................................ 24

 Additions .................................................................. 24

 Subtractions ............................................................. 25

 Deductions ............................................................... 28

 Oregon tax ................................................................ 29

 Credits–non-refundable ......................................... 29

 Tax payments and refundable credits .................. 32

 Penalties and interest .............................................. 33

Direct deposit  ............................................................... 34

Before you file  .............................................................. 34

Avoid processing delays .............................................. 35

Tax return mailing addresses  ..................................... 35

Working family child care credit  ................................ 35

Schedule WFC instructions  ......................................... 36

Schedule WFC, Oregon Working Family Child 
 Care Credit for Form 40 and Form 40S filers  ........... 37

Taxpayer assistance  ..................................................... 40

 Printed information (free)  ..................................... 40

Federal tax liability subtraction. The federal tax sub-

traction limit has increased to $5,000 ($2,500 married 

filing separately). See page 9 or 25.

Standard deduction amounts. The standard deduc-

tion amounts have changed. See page 28 or the back 

of Form 40S.

Federal law changes. Tuition and fees deduction, 
educator expenses deduction, and sales tax deduc-
tion expired at the time this publication was printed, 

November 1, 2006. There are no changes to the Oregon 

return for these items unless Congress reinstates these 

laws.

Oregon Military Emergency Financial Assistance Pro-

gram. This is a new charitable checkoff. See page 12.

Oregon earned income credit (EIC). This credit is based 
on your federal EIC and is now refundable. If the credit 
is more than your tax liability, the difference will be 
refunded to you. See page 10 or 33 to see if you qualify.

New credits. Involuntary move of a mobile home. This 
credit is available for tax years 2006 and 2007. Download 
Involuntary Move of a Mobile Home and Schedule MH from 
our website or contact us to order them. Rural Emer-
gency Medical Technician (EMT) is a new credit, see 
page 32. University venture fund is also new this year. 
For more information, go to our website or contact us.

New information
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General information

Important reminders
Credit card payments. The department accepts credit 
card payments for 2006 current year taxes, 2007 esti-
mated taxes, and any prior year tax balances due. See 
page 11.

Direct deposit. The Department of Revenue can 
deposit your refund directly into your account at most 
banks or other financial institutions. For direct depos-
it, contact your bank to make sure your deposit will be 
accepted and to get your correct routing and account 
numbers. The Department of Revenue is not respon-
sible if your bank rejects your deposit. If it does, we 
will issue a paper check. See page 34.

Direct debit not available. Oregon does not allow 
electronic funds withdrawal (direct debit) from your 
checking or savings account to pay your Oregon tax. 
This option is available through the Internal Revenue 
Service to pay federal tax, but not for Oregon tax. If 
you have any questions please call us.

Federal law. Oregon is tied to the federal definition of 

taxable income.* Oregon will automatically adopt any 

future federal law changes to the definition of taxable 

income.

* Exception: The domestic production activities deduction 
from the federal return is not allowed on the Oregon return. 
If you claimed this deduction on your federal return, you 
will have an addition on your Oregon tax return. See page 
25.

Filing extension. Use Form 40-EXT to get an automatic 

six-month extension to file your 2006 Oregon return. 

See page 5.

Use blue or black ink. Please use blue or black ballpoint 

ink for easier reading and faster processing. Equipment 

used to scan documents cannot read gel ink or certain 

colors, especially red, and using them could delay the 

processing of your return.

What income does Oregon tax?

An Oregon resident is taxed on all income, including 
income from outside the state. A nonresident of Ore-
gon is taxed only on income from Oregon sources.

Residency

Am I a resident, a nonresident, or a part-year resident? 
The following will help you decide.

• You are a full-year Oregon resident, even if you live 
outside Oregon, if all of the following are true:

— You think of Oregon as your permanent home, 
and

— Oregon is the center of your financial, social, and 
family life, and

— Oregon is the place you intend to return to when 
you are away.

• You are still a full-year resident if:
— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or

— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary 
absence.

 You may also be considered a full-year resident if you 
spent more than 200 days in Oregon during 2006 or 
you are a nonresident alien, as defined by federal law.

• You are a nonresident if your permanent home was 
outside Oregon all year.

• You are a part-year resident if you moved into or 

out of Oregon during 2006. You are not a part-year 

resident if:

— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or

— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary 

absence.

Special-case Oregon residents. If you are an Oregon 

resident and you meet all of the following conditions, 

you are considered a nonresident for tax purposes.

• You are an Oregon resident who maintained a per-

manent home outside Oregon the entire year, and

• You did not keep a home in Oregon during any part 

of 2006, and

• You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during 2006.

Note: A recreational vehicle (RV) is not considered a 

permanent home outside of Oregon.

Oregon residents living abroad. Usually you are 

considered a nonresident if you qualify for the fed-

eral earned income exclusion or housing exclusion for 

United States residents living abroad.

Filing status

Generally, you must use the same filing status for your 

Oregon and federal returns.

Important reminders
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Exceptions for married persons when each spouse has 

a different residency status:

• Full-year resident and part-year resident. You may file 

separate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns 

for Oregon, you must use the married filing separate-

ly status. The full-year resident will file Form 40, and 

the part-year resident will file Form 40P. If you choose 

to file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40P.

• Full-year resident and nonresident. You may file  sep-

arate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns for 

Oregon, you must use the married filing separately 

status. The full-year resident will file Form 40, and 

the nonresident will file Form 40N. If you choose to 

file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N.

• Part-year resident and nonresident. You may file sep-

arate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns for 

Oregon, you must use the married filing separately 

status. The part-year resident will file Form 40P, and 

the nonresident will file Form 40N. If you choose to 

file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N.

Need more information? Download the publication 

Married Persons Filing Separate Returns from our web-

site, or to order it, see page 40.

What form do I use?

Use Form 40S if ALL of the following are true:

• You are a full-year Oregon resident, and

• Your income is only from wages, unemployment, 

taxable interest, ordinary dividends, fellowship 

grants, and taxable scholarships not used to pay for 

housing, and

• You claim the standard deduction on your return, 

and

• Your Oregon taxable income is less than $100,000, 

and

• You do not have pension or annuity income or IRA 

distributions, and

• You do not owe penalty or interest, and

• You did not pay estimated tax during the year.

Use Form 40 if BOTH of the following are true:

• You are a full-year Oregon resident, and

• You cannot use Form 40S.

Use Form 40 if any ONE of the following is true:

• You received Social Security, pension, or annuity 

income, or

• You used taxable scholarship income for housing 

expenses and you qualify for the Oregon subtrac-

tion, or

• You paid or should have paid estimated tax during 

the year, or

• You have adjustments to income on your federal tax 

return, such as alimony or IRA deductions, or

• You have Oregon additions or subtractions other 

than the federal tax subtraction (the most common 

ones are listed on the return), or

• You are an Oregon resident in the military, living in 

Oregon, claiming the subtraction for military active 

duty pay, or

• You itemize deductions on your Oregon return, or

• You are married filing separately and your spouse is 

itemizing deductions, or

• You are a nonresident alien, as defined by federal 

law, who lived in Oregon the entire year, or

• You owe penalty or interest, or

• You want to apply all or part of your refund to your 

2007 estimated tax.

Use Form 40P if any ONE of the following is true:

• You are a part-year resident, or

• You are filing jointly and one spouse is a full-year 

Oregon resident and one is a part-year resident, or

• You are filing jointly and both spouses are part-year 

Oregon residents, or

• You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 

for part of the year.

Use Form 40N if any ONE of the following is true:

• You are a nonresident, or

• You are a special-case Oregon resident (see above), 

or

• You and your spouse are filing jointly and one (or 

both) of you is a nonresident, or

• You meet the military personnel nonresident require-

ments explained below, or

• You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 

for the entire year.

Forms 40P and 40N are included in the Part-Year Resi-
dent and Nonresident booklet. Download the booklet 

from our website, or to order it, see page 40.

Military personnel

Residents stationed in Oregon. If you are an Oregon 

resident stationed in Oregon, file Form 40. If you were 

or have been on active duty (Title 10) for 90 consecu-

tive days or more at any time after September 11, 2001, 

you may qualify for special benefits. See “Need more 

information?” on the top of page 5.

Residents stationed outside Oregon. If you meet the 

requirements for special-case Oregon residents or Ore-

gon residents living abroad on page 3, file Form 40N 

from the Part-Year Resident and Nonresident booklet. File 

Form 40 if you don’t meet the listed requirements.

Nonresidents stationed in Oregon. Oregon does not 

tax your military pay while you are stationed in Ore-

gon. File Form 40N if you or your spouse had income 

from other Oregon sources, or to claim a refund of 

Oregon tax withheld from your military pay.

General information
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Need more information? Download the publication 
Military Personnel Filing Information from our website, 
or to order it, see page 40.

Filing for a deceased person

You must file a final return for a person who died dur-
ing the calendar year if a return would normally be 
required. See “Do I need to file?” on page 2. If a return 
is filed, please check the “deceased” box on the return. 
For more information, download Survivor’s Information 
from our website or contact us to order it.

If you’re filing a return and claiming a refund for some-
one who is now deceased and there is no court-appointed 
or certified personal representative, file Form 243, Claim to 
Refund Due a Deceased Person, with the return. This allows 
us to issue the refund check in your name. Download the 
form from our website, or contact us to order it.

When should I file my return?

The filing deadline for calendar year 2006 is April 16, 
2007. If you cannot pay all of your tax by the due date, 
file your return anyway to avoid a late-filing penalty.

Returns for other tax periods are due by the 15th day 
of the fourth month after the close of your tax year.

What if I need more time to file?

If you need more time to file, request an automatic six-
month extension. Complete an Oregon extension form, 
Form 40-EXT, if:

• You’re making a tax payment to Oregon and you 
can’t file your Oregon return by April 16, 2007, or

• You are filing an extension for Oregon only.

Extensions must be filed by the due date of the return, 
April 16, 2007.

If you received a federal six-month extension and are 
expecting an Oregon refund, do not use Form 40-EXT. 
Oregon will allow the same extension. Be sure to check 
box 7b on your Oregon return. Don’t attach a copy of 
your federal extension to your Oregon return. Keep a 
copy of your federal extension with your records.

If you need to complete Form 40-EXT, download it 
from our website, or to order it, see page 40.

An extension does not mean more time to pay!

You must pay all tax you expect to owe when you file 
your extension. If you do not pay all the tax due with 
your extension, you will owe interest on the unpaid 
balance after April 16, 2007, until the date of your pay-
ment. The 2007 interest rate is 9 percent per year. If the 
tax is not paid within 60 days of the date of our billing 
notice, the interest rate increases to 13 percent per year. 
You may also owe a late-payment penalty.

Were you stationed in a designated combat zone?

If you were stationed in a designated combat zone and 
receive additional time to file your 2006 federal return 
and pay your 2006 tax, Oregon allows the same addi-
tional time to file and pay. Write “Combat zone” in 
blue or black ink at the top of your return.

Penalties

You will owe a 5 percent late-payment penalty on any 
2006 tax not paid by April 16, 2007. See page 33.

If you file more than three months after the due date or 
extension due date, a 20 percent late-filing penalty will 
be added; so, you will owe a total penalty of 25 percent 
of any tax not paid.

Exception: You do not have to pay a penalty if you do 
all of the following:

1. Get an extension to file your return by the due date 
of the return, and

2. Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due by April 16, 
2007, and

3. Pay the balance of tax due when you file your return 
by the extension deadline, and

4. Pay the interest on the balance of tax due when you 
file or within 30 days of our billing date.

A 100 percent penalty is charged if you do not file a 
return for three consecutive years by the due date of 
the third year, including extensions. The penalty is 100 
percent of the unpaid tax for each of the three years.

Interest on underpayment 

of estimated tax

You may owe interest for underpaying your estimated 
tax if:

• You owe $1,000 or more on your return after credits 
and withholding, or

• You paid less than 90 percent of the tax due on each 
estimated tax payment due date.

See the instructions for Form 40, line 51, on page 33.

2007 estimated tax

Estimated tax is the amount of tax you expect to owe 
after credits and Oregon tax withheld when you file 
your 2007 Oregon individual income tax return.

Oregon estimated tax laws are not the same as federal 
estimated tax laws. Use Oregon instructions to determine 
if you need to make estimated tax payments for 2007.

Do I need to make estimated payments?

In most cases, people who expect to owe $1,000 or more 
on their 2007 Oregon income tax return after credits 

General information
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and withholding must make estimated payments. You 
may need to make estimated payments if:

• You are self-employed and do not have Oregon tax 
withheld from your income.

• You receive Oregon Lottery single ticket winnings 
of less than $5,000. (Note: Single ticket winnings of 
$5,000 or more are subject to Oregon withholding.)

• You receive income such as pensions, interest, or 
dividends, and Oregon tax is not withheld.

• You’re a wage earner and expect to owe tax of 
$1,000 or more on your 2007 return. You may want 
to increase the amount your employer withholds 
from your Oregon wages. Download the publication 
Oregon Income Tax Withholding from our website, or 
contact us to order it.

When do I pay?

The due dates are April 16, 2007;* June 15, 2007; Sep-
tember 17, 2007; and January 15, 2008.

If paying with a check or money order, send your pay-
ment with Form 40-ESV, Oregon Estimated Income Tax 
Payment Voucher. Download the publication Estimated 
Income Tax from our website, or to order it, see page 40.

* Please send your 2007 estimated tax payment and Ore-
gon Form 40-ESV in a separate envelope from your 2006 
Oregon income tax return. This will help us credit your 
payment more efficiently.

What if I’m self-employed?

If you’re self-employed and do business in Multnomah, 
Clackamas, or Washington counties, you may need 
to file Form TM, TriMet Self-Employment Tax Return. If 
you’re self-employed and do business in Lane County, 
you may need to file Form LTD, Lane Transit District 
Self-Employment Tax Return. Go to our website to down-
load the forms, or contact us to order either form.

Frequently asked questions

Is my tax return private information?

Yes. All information provided on the return is confi-
dential. Any Oregon Department of Revenue employee 
who gives out confidential information without your 
permission may be convicted of a Class C felony.

I’m getting a refund this year. How long will it take to 

process my refund?

Once the department begins processing full-year returns 
(usually by February 1), your return will be processed 
in the time frames listed. If you claim the Working Fam-
ily Credit (WFC) or your return needs additional review 
for another reason, your return may take longer to pro-
cess. Return processing time frames:

• E-file return .....................................7–12 business days

• Mail return before April 1

— With 2-D barcode ..................................... 2–4 weeks

— Without 2-D barcode ............................... 6–8 weeks

• Mail return on or after April 1

— With 2-D barcode ..................................... 4–7 weeks

— Without 2-D barcode ..............................8–11 weeks

I’m moving. Will my refund check be forwarded to me?

Yes. If you move after you mail your return, give us 

your new address. Download a Change of Address 

form from our website or contact us. Remember to file 

a change of address form with your local post office.

What tax records do I need to keep?

You need to keep:

• A complete copy of your federal and state returns, 

even if you use a tax practitioner or file electronically.

• All original receipts, canceled checks, statements, 

and other records you used to prepare your return. 

Save these records for at least three years from the 

due date of the return or three years from the date 
you file your return, whichever is later. If your 

return is audited, the law says you must show proof 

of your income and expenses.

• All records from the sale, purchase, or exchange of 

property and investments. Keep these records for at 

least three years after you report the gain or loss on 

the property or investment.

For more information, download the publication 

Record-Keeping Requirements from our website, or to 

order it, see page 40.

What if I need to change my Oregon return after filing?

File an amended return. Use Form 40 or Form 40S to 

change (amend) your 2006 full-year resident return. 

Check the amended return box in the upper left cor-

ner of the form. You must also complete and attach 

the Oregon Amended Schedule to your 2006 amended 

return. Download the schedule and instructions from 

our website or to order it, see page 40.

Generally, you’re allowed three years from the due 

date of the return to file an amended return to claim a 

refund. To amend a prior year return, use Form 40 or 

Form 40S for that year and the Oregon Amended Sched-
ule. To order prior year tax booklets or for assistance, 

please contact us.

What if I’m audited by the IRS or another state?

If the IRS or another state makes changes that increase 

your Oregon taxable income, file an amended return 

to report and pay additional tax. If the changes reduce 

Oregon taxable income, you have two years from the 

date of the audit report to file an amended return to 

claim a refund. Include a copy of the audit report with 

your amended return.

General information
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General Instructions for Forms 40S & 40

Step 1: Fill out your federal form.

Complete your federal return first. Use the informa-

tion from your federal return to complete your Oregon 

return.

Step 2: Select the appropriate form.

To decide which form to use, see page 4. Not everyone 

qualifies to file Form 40S (short form).

Form 40 filers. You must attach a copy (front and back) 

of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or 

1040NR-EZ to your Oregon Form 40. Do not attach any 

federal schedules. We may ask you for copies of sched-

ules or additional information later.

See “What tax records do I need to keep?” on page 6.

Step 3: Fill out the Oregon form.

Fiscal year filers only

Fiscal year filers must use Form 40. Write the ending 

date of your fiscal year in the space provided. Write 
“Fiscal year” in blue or black ink at the top of your 
return.

Name and address

Type or clearly print your name, Social Security num-

ber, date of birth, address, and daytime telephone 

number on your return. If the taxpayer died in 2006 

or 2007, please check the “deceased” box next to their 

name. If you are married filing separately, do not fill 

in your spouse’s name and SSN here, enter it on line 

3 instead.

Social Security number (SSN). The request for your SSN 

is authorized by Section 405, Title 42, of the United States 

Code. You must provide this information. It will be used 

to establish your identity for tax purposes only.

Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN). If 

the IRS issued you an ITIN because you don’t have 

a Social Security number, enter your ITIN wherever 

your SSN is requested. If you don’t have an ITIN, you 

need to request one from the IRS. In this case, write 
“applied for” wherever your SSN is requested. Do 

not attach your ITIN application (federal Form W-7) to 

your Oregon tax return. For a copy of Form W-7, go to 

the IRS website at www.irs.gov, or call the IRS toll-free 

at 1-800-829-1040.

Date of birth. Enter the month, day, and year you were 

born. For example, “09/22/1976.”

Check the boxes

Filing status

1 5–  Check the box next to your filing sta-

tus. Check the same filing status you 

checked on your federal return. If you and your spouse 

don’t have the same residency status, you may file sep-

arate returns for Oregon as married filing separately 

even if you filed your federal return as married filing 

jointly. For more information, see the top of page 4.

If you are married filing separately, fill in your 

spouse’s first name, last name (first four letters only), 

and Social Security number next to box 3. Do not fill in 

your spouse’s name or Social Security number in the 

heading of the return.

If you are filing as head of household, fill in the name 

of a person who qualifies you for head of household 

filing status next to box 4. Please enter only one name.

Exemptions

6a 6b&  Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself” 

and other boxes that apply. If someone 
else can claim you as a dependent (even if they did 
not), do not check “Yourself;” instead enter -0- in the 

total box on 6a unless you have a severe disability.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability 

at the end of 2006? If so, you may claim an additional 

exemption credit. This credit is different from the dis-

abled child credit. You may qualify for and claim the 

severely disabled exemption even if someone else can 

claim you as a dependent. You are considered to have a 

severe disability if any of the following apply:

• You permanently lost the use of one or both feet, or

• You permanently lost the use of both hands, or

• You’re permanently blind, or

• You have a permanent condition that, without spe-

cial equipment or outside help, limits your ability 

to:

— Earn a living, or

— Maintain a household, or

— Transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include items such as eye-

glasses, contact lenses, ordinary crutches, or hearing 

aids. Deafness alone does not qualify.

You don’t qualify for this exemption if:

• You have a temporary disability from an injury or 

illness and are expected to recover, or

Form 40S and 40 instructions
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• Your condition keeps you from doing your former 
work but does not prevent you from doing other 
kinds of work without special equipment.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your phy-
sician must write a letter describing it. Keep the let-
ter with your permanent records in case we request a 
copy.

If you qualify, check the “severely disabled” exemp-
tion box on line 6a. If your spouse qualifies, check the 
“severely disabled” exemption box on line 6b. You and 
your spouse may also qualify for the loss of use of 
limbs credit. See instructions on page 10 or 32.

6c  All dependents. Enter the number of your 
dependents in box 6c. Write their first names 

on the line. In most cases, you must claim the same 
dependents claimed on your federal return.

6d  Children with a disability. You may be entitled 
to an additional personal exemption for your 

dependent child who has a qualifying disability. To 
qualify, all of the following must be true:

• Your child qualified as your dependent for 2006, 
and

• Your child was eligible for “early intervention servic-
es” or received special education as defined by the 
State Board of Education of the state where the child 
attends school (learning disabilities or communica-
tion disorders alone do not qualify), and

• Your child was considered to have a disability as of 
December 31, 2006, under the federal Individuals 
with Disabilities Education Act. Eligible disabilities 
include:

— Autism.

— Deaf-blind.

— Hearing impairment.

— Mental retardation.

— Multiple disabilities.

— Orthopedic impairment.

— Other health impairment.

— Serious emotional disturbance.

— Traumatic brain injury.

— Visual impairment.

You must get a statement of eligibility that confirms 
one of the disabilities listed above and a cover sheet 
from one of the following:

• The child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP), 
or

• The child’s Individualized Family Service Plan 

(IFSP).

Keep the statement and cover sheet with your perma-

nent records. Write your child’s name on line 6d, “Dis-

abled children only.” Also be sure to include the child’s 

name on line 6c for “All dependents.”

7a  Age 65 or older, or blind. Check the boxes on 

line 7a if you or your spouse were age 65 or old-

er or were blind on December 31, 2006. You are entitled 

to a larger standard deduction on Form 40S, line 10; or 

Form 40, line 26. If you or your spouse are permanent-

ly blind, you may also qualify for the severely disabled 

exemption credit. For box 6a and 6b instructions, see 

page 7.

7b  Extension. If you filed for an extension, check 

box 7b. For more information, see page 5.

7c  Federal Form 8886. If you filed federal Form 

8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure Statement, 
check box 7c.

Form

40S 7d  
Dependent. If someone else, such as 

your parents, can claim you as a depen-

dent (even if they did not), you can’t 

claim an exemption for yourself. Check box 7d on Form 

40S. Also, enter -0- in the total box on line 6a unless 

you are severely disabled.

Form

40 7d  
Oregon Form 24. Did you file federal 

Form 8824 because you are deferring 

gain on exchanged property? If so, 

check box 7d on Form 40. Also, complete and attach 

Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary Con-
versions. Download the form from our website, or to 

order it, see page 40.

7e  State School Fund. If there is a kicker refund, 

do you wish to donate your kicker refund to the 

State School Fund? If so, check box 7e. The fund is used 

for public elementary and secondary education. The 

kicker amount, if any, will be determined in the fall of 

2007. If you check the box, any kicker refund that you 

would have received in 2007 based on your 2006 Ore-

gon income tax will be sent directly to the State School 

Fund. If you check the box, you cannot change your 
decision for the 2006 tax year.

For Form 40S line instructions, go to page 9.

For Form 40 line instructions, go to page 24.

Form 40S and 40 instructions
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Form 40S line instructions
The following instructions are for lines not fully 

explained on the form. For general Form 40S instruc-

tions, see page 7.

Amended return. If you are amending your 2006 
return, check the box in the upper left corner of Form 
40S and attach the Oregon Amended Schedule.

Do not fill in cents. You must round off cents to the 
nearest dollar. For example, $99.49 becomes $99.00 and 
$99.50 becomes $100.00.

8  Income. Fill in your income amounts in the 
appropriate boxes (8a, 8b, and 8c) and enter the 

total on line 8.

8a. Wages. Fill in all pay for work. This amount is usu-
ally shown on Form W-2. Pay for work includes 
wages, salaries, tips, and commissions, plus your 
taxable scholarships and fellowship grants. If you 
paid for housing with scholarship funds, you 
must file Form 40 to claim the subtraction.

8b. Unemployment. Fill in all unemployment com-
pensation. This is the amount on federal Form 
1040, line 19; Form 1040A, line 13; Form 1040EZ, 
line 3; or Form 1040NR, line 20. This is also 
shown on Form 1099-G.

8c.  Interest and dividends. Add your total interest 
and dividends and enter the result on line 8c. 
Your total interest includes:
 — Any interest received or credited to your 

account that you can withdraw.
— Any interest received on tax refunds.

You can’t use Form 40S if:
— You have interest from the U.S. government, 

such as savings bond interest, or
— You received nontaxable distributions or 

capital gain distributions.

Use Form 40 instead.

8. Total income. Add the amounts shown in boxes 
8a, 8b, and 8c.

9  2006 federal tax liability. Carefully follow the 
instructions below. Don’t confuse your federal 

tax liability on your federal return with the federal tax 
withheld on your Form(s) W-2. They are not the same.

You may deduct your total federal income tax liability 
after credits, up to $5,000. Don’t fill in less than -0- or 
more than $5,000 ($2,500 if married filing separately).

1. Enter your federal tax liability 
from Form 1040, line 57; Form 
1040A, line 35; Form 1040EZ, line 
11; Form 1040NR, line 52; or Form 
1040NR-EZ, line 15.

1.

2. Enter $5,000 ($2,500 if married fil-
ing separately).

2.

3. Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 2 
here and on Form 40S, line 9.

3.

Is the IRS figuring your federal tax for you? Do not 
write an amount on line 9. You will not be able to fin-
ish your Oregon return without your federal tax liabil-
ity. Complete lines 14 through 17 and lines 19 through 
23. Attach a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 
1040EZ, 1040NR, or 1040NR-EZ to your Oregon return. 
Write “Calculate federal tax” in blue or black ink at 
the top of your return. We will use the information on 
your federal return to determine your federal tax lia-
bility, and finish your Oregon return for you. Be sure 
to attach Form(s) W-2 and any Form(s) 1099 showing 
Oregon tax withheld to the lower front of your return. 
Go to the signature block section on page 34.

Are you amending your 2006 return? See the Oregon 
Amended Schedule instructions to figure your subtrac-
tion for federal tax liability.

10  Standard deduction. See the back of Form 40S 
for instructions unless you can be claimed as 

a dependent on another person’s return. If you are a 
dependent, use the following worksheet to figure your 
standard deduction unless you are married. If you are a 
dependent and married, please contact us.

Standard deduction worksheet for single dependents

1. Enter your earned income. (See 
definition below.)

1.

2. Additional $300. 2. 300

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.

4. Minimum standard deduction. 4. 850

5. Enter the larger of line 3 or line 4. 5.

6. Basic standard deduction for 
single.

6. 1,840

7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 6. 7.

8. If you’re under age 65, enter -0-. If 
you’re age 65 or older, enter $1,200.

8.

9. If you’re not blind, enter -0-. If you 
are blind, enter $1,200.

9.

10. Add lines 7, 8, and 9. Enter the total 
here and on Form 40S, line 10; or 
Form 40, line 26. This is your stan-
dard deduction.

10.

Earned income is salaries, wages, tips, professional fees, 
or other amounts received as pay for work you actually 

Form 40S line instructions
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performed, and any part of a scholarship or fellowship 

grant that you must include in your gross income.

12  Oregon taxable income. Caution: Is this amount 

$100,000 or more? If yes, you must use Form 40.

13  Tax from tables or rate charts. Figure the tax on 

your Oregon taxable income, line 12. See pages 

21 through 23. For examples, see page 29.

15  Child and dependent care credit. You’re allowed 

an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the fed-

eral child and dependent care credit. You may be able 

to claim the Oregon credit even if you cannot use all of 

your federal credit.

Use the following worksheet:

1. Enter the amount from federal 
Form 2441, line 6; or Form 1040A, 
Schedule 2, line 6.

1.

2. Enter the decimal amount from the 
following table.

2.

 If your federal taxable Your

 income from Form 1040, decimal

 line 43; or Form 1040A, amount

 line 27 is: is:

 Over— But not over—

 $   —— $  5,000 .30

 5,000 10,000 .15

 10,000 15,000 .08

 15,000 25,000 .06

 25,000 35,000 .05

 35,000 45,000 .04

 45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
the decimal on line 2. Enter the 
result here and on Form 40S, line 
15.

3.

Note: Did you pay 2005 child care expenses in 2006? 

If so, you may be able to use that amount to increase 

your 2006 Oregon child and dependent care credit. For 

more information, please contact us.

Carryover. Your total 2006 child and dependent care 

credit can’t be more than your 2006 tax liability for Ore-

gon. You can carry forward any excess credit over the 

next five years. If the excess isn’t used within five years, 

it’s lost.

16  Other credits. You may qualify for other credits 

listed here. These are identified by the numeric 

code shown in brackets. Enter the code on line 16a and 

the amount on line 16b. For example, if you’re claiming 

a $50 political contribution credit, enter “723” on line 

16a and “$50” on line 16b. If you’re claiming two cred-

its, enter the second code on line 16c and the amount 

on line 16d. Fill in the total “other credits” on line 16. If 

you’re claiming more than two “other credits,” attach 

a statement to your return with the numeric codes and 

amounts of the credits that don’t fit on the return. Add 

lines 16b, 16d, and the credit amounts on the statement 

and enter the total on line 16. Number the statement. 

On line 17 (total credits), write “See Stmt” and the 

statement number in the space next to the total credits. 

Example: Write “See Stmt 3” for statement number 3.

• Child and dependent care carryforward [code 704]. 
Fill in the amount of unused credit from prior year. 

See page 31.

• Elderly or the disabled [code 709]. You get an Ore-

gon credit only if you qualify for the federal credit. 

See page 30.

• Income taxes paid to another state [code 733]. You 

may be eligible for this credit if you paid income tax 

to another state. See page 31.

• Loss of use of limbs [code 717]. If you have a perma-

nent and complete loss of the use of two limbs, you 

may take a $50 tax credit. See page 32. 

• Political contribution [code 723]. You may qualify 

for a credit for political contributions. See page 31.

• Residential energy [code 729]. You may qualify for 

a credit if you purchased certain energy-efficient 

items. See page 32.

19  Oregon income tax withheld. Fill in the total 

Oregon income tax withheld from your wages 

and other income. That is the amount shown on your 

Form(s) W-2 in box 17, or on Form 1099. Do not use the 

FICA (Social Security) tax withheld. Do not use tax 

withheld from your wages by other states. Staple a 
readable copy of your Form(s) W-2 from each job and 

any Form(s) 1099 showing Oregon income tax with-

held to the lower front of your return.

If you don’t have a Form W-2 or 1099, you must provide 

other proof of any Oregon tax withheld. Proof may include 

a final paycheck stub or a letter from your employer.

If you paid estimated tax for 2006, you must use Form 

40.

If you have tax to pay this year, you may want to 

increase the amount your employer withholds from 

your 2007 Oregon wages. Download the publication 

Oregon Income Tax Withholding from our website, or 

contact us to order it.

20  Earned income credit. You are allowed an Ore-

gon earned income credit only if you qualify for 

the same credit on your federal return. Your Oregon 

credit is 5 percent of your federal credit. For example, 

if your federal credit is $400, your Oregon credit is $20 

($400  × .05).

Use the following formula to compute your credit:

1. Enter your federal earned income 
credit from Form 1040, line 66a; 
Form 1040A, line 40a; or Form 
1040EZ, line 8a.

1.

2. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
5 percent (.05). Enter the result here 
and on Form 40S, line 20.

2.

Form 40S line instructions



The Oregon earned income credit is refundable. If the 

credit is more than your tax liability, the difference 

will be refunded to you.

21  Working family child care credit. This credit is 

available to low-income working families with 

qualifying child care expenses for a qualifying child 

under age 13 (or a child for whom you can claim the 

additional exemption credit for a child with a disability). 

The working family child care credit is refundable. If the 

credit is more than your tax liability, the difference will 

be refunded to you. To learn if you qualify, see page 35.

22  Involuntary move of a mobile home credit. Enter 

the amount from Schedule MH, section D, line 26. 

If you are claiming the non-refundable credit, section C, 

line 25, do not enter your credit here. Enter the code and 

amount on Form 40S line 16 instead. Attach Schedule 

MH to your return. For more information download the 

publication from our website, or contact us to order it.

24  Refund. If line 23 is more than line 18, you have 

a refund. Enter your refund amount on line 24. 

Go to page 12 for information on charitable checkoffs 

or go to line 34.

25  Tax to pay. If line 18 is more than line 23, you 

have tax to pay. You may pay only with a check, 

money order, or credit card. If the amount is less than 

$2, no payment is required.

Check or money order

• Make your check or money order payable to “Ore-
gon Department of Revenue.”

• Write your daytime telephone number and “2006 

Oregon Form 40S” on your check.

• Please use blue or black ballpoint ink. Do not use gel 

or red ink.

• Do not send cash or a postdated check.

• Staple your payment and the Form 40-V payment 
voucher (below) to your return on top of the Form(s) 
W-2 and Form(s) 1099.

Credit card

You can pay your current-year balance due, make 2007 
estimated tax payments, or pay prior year taxes with 
your Discover, MasterCard, or Visa credit card. This 
option is available to all taxpayers.

To pay your taxes by credit card, contact the service 
provider supporting Oregon’s program. The provider 
will charge you a convenience fee based on the amount 
of your tax payment. The service provider will tell you 
what the fee is during the transaction; you will have 
the option to continue or cancel the transaction before 
entering your credit card information. If you complete 
the credit card transaction, you will receive a confir-
mation number. Please keep this confirmation num-
ber as proof of payment.

Service provider:

• Official Payments Corporation
 Call 1-866-720-1327, or go to their website at 

www.officialpayments.com.

For additional information on credit card payments and 
service providers, go to our website, or contact us.

Payment plan. If you cannot pay in full now, we will 
work with you to set up a payment plan. For more 
information, please contact us.

Underpayment of estimated tax. If you owe $1,000 or 
more, you may owe interest on underpayment of esti-
mated tax. If so, you must file Form 40. See page 33.

Charitable donations. If you don’t have a refund 
but want to contribute to a charity listed on page 12, 
mail your donation to the charity’s address listed on 
our website. Please do not mail your donation to the 
Department of Revenue.

Form 40V
For Oregon forms, please visit our website at

www.oregon.gov/DOR

and click on “Tax Forms”

http://egov.oregon.gov/DOR/forms.shtml
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Charitable checkoffs

You can donate all or part of your refund to the charities 

listed below. Donations will reduce your refund. You 

may donate to any or all of the charities on Form 40S, 

lines 26–31. You may also donate to one of the  chari-

ties listed under the instructions for Form 40S, line 32. 

Or, you can mail your donations to the addresses listed 

on our website.

Form 40S 26

Form 40 56  
Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your dona-

tion will fund the protection of non-

game wildlife and its habitat.

Form 40S 27

Form 40 57  
Child Abuse Prevention. Your donation 

will fund programs through the Chil-

dren’s Trust Fund to help prevent child 

abuse and neglect.

Form 40S 28

Form 40 58  
Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your 

donation will fund research of Alzheim-

er’s and related dementias.

Form 40S 29

Form 40 59  
Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence. 

Your donation will fund programs 

through the Oregon Coalition Against 

Domestic and Sexual Violence.

Form 40S 30

Form 40 60  
AIDS/HIV Research, Education, and Ser-

vices. Your donation will fund AIDS/

HIV research, education, and services 

by the Living With HIV Fund.

Form 40S 31

Form 40 61  
Oregon Military Financial Emergency 

Assistance. Your donation will fund 

hardship grants and loans to Oregon 

National Guard members and their families.

Form 40S 32

Form 40 62  
Other charity. You may donate all or part 

of your refund to one of the charities list-

ed below. Enter the code of the charity on 

Form 40S, in box 32a; or on Form 40, in box 62a. Enter 
only one code. Check the box for the amount you want 

to donate and write it on Form 40S, line 32; or Form 40, 

line 62. If you want to donate to more than one charity 

listed below, you can mail your donations directly to the 

charities at the addresses listed on our website.

Habitat for Humanity [code 1]. Your donation will help 

Habitat for Humanity build simple, decent, and afford-

able housing for low-income families.

Oregon Head Start Association [code 2]. Your dona-

tion will help Head Start provide services to the low-

est-income, highest-need children and families.

American Diabetes Association [code 3]. Your dona-

tion will help continue diabetes research and advocacy 

programs in Oregon.

Oregon Coast Aquarium [code 4]. Your donation will 

help fund educational programs, conservation efforts, 

and animal rehabilitation.

SMART [code 5]. Your donation will help fund the Start 

Making A Reader Today early literacy program for 

Oregon’s most vulnerable children.

SOLV [code 6]. Your donation will help fund thousands 

of projects to clean up and restore beaches, forests, riv-

ers, and neighborhoods across Oregon.

St. Vincent de Paul Society of Oregon [code 7]. Your 

donation will help provide services leading to self- 

sufficiency for low-income Oregonians.

The Nature Conservancy [code 8]. Your donation will 

help purchase and restore critical habitats for Oregon’s 

at-risk plants, fish, and wildlife.

Doernbecher Children’s Hospital Foundation [code 9]. 

Your donation will fund a critical expansion of the 

cancer treatment facilities at Doernbecher.

The Oregon Humane Society [code 10]. Your donation 

will help save pets’ lives through rescue, sheltering, adop-

tion, education, cruelty investigation, and advocacy.

The Salvation Army—Oregon [code 11]. Your donation 

to the Salvation Army ensures help for the neediest 

children and their families throughout Oregon.

The Oregon Veterans’ Home [code 12]. Your donation 

will improve the quality of life for veterans receiving 

nursing care at the Oregon Veterans’ Home.

Planned Parenthood of Oregon [code 13]. Your dona-

tion will fund family planning services and reproduc-

tive health education programs.

Oregon Lions Sight & Hearing Foundation [code 14]. 

Your donation will fund sight and hearing assistance, 

and provide diabetes awareness for Oregonians.

Shriners Hospitals for Children—Portland [code 15]. 

Your donation will help provide braces and artificial 

limbs for Oregon’s children.

Special Olympics Oregon [code 16]. Your donation 

will help provide life-changing services to thousands 

of Oregonians with intellectual disabilities.

Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation, Oregon & SW 

Washington [code 17]. Your donation funds critical breast 

cancer research, education, screening and treatment.

34  Net refund. You must reduce your refund by any 

donations made on lines 26–32. The department 
cannot issue a refund if your return is filed more than 
three years after the due date of the return.

35  Direct deposit. See page 34.

To finish your return, go to the signature 

block section on page 34.
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If income from 
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2006 Tax Tables

for Forms 40S & 40 S
Use column S if you are:

• Single

• Married filing separately J
Use column J if you are:

• Married filing jointly

• Head of household

• Widow(er) with dependent child

0 – 20 – –
20 – 50 2 2

50 – 100 4 4
100 – 200 8 8
200 – 300 13 13
300 – 400 18 18
400 – 500 23 23
500 – 600 28 28
600 – 700 33 33
700 – 800 38 38
800 – 900 43 43
900 – 1,000 48 48

1,000 – 1,100 53 53
1,100 – 1,200 58 58
1,200 – 1,300 63 63
1,300 – 1,400 68 68
1,400 – 1,500 73 73
1,500 – 1,600 78 78
1,600 – 1,700 83 83
1,700 – 1,800 88 88
1,800 – 1,900 93 93
1,900 – 2,000 98 98

2,000 – 2,100 103 103
2,100 – 2,200 108 108
2,200 – 2,300 113 113
2,300 – 2,400 118 118
2,400 – 2,500 123 123
2,500 – 2,600 128 128
2,600 – 2,700 133 133
2,700 – 2,800 138 138
2,800 – 2,900 145 143
2,900 – 3,000 152 148

3,000 – 3,100 159 153
3,100 – 3,200 166 158
3,200 – 3,300 173 163
3,300 – 3,400 180 168
3,400 – 3,500 187 173
3,500 – 3,600 194 178
3,600 – 3,700 201 183
3,700 – 3,800 208 188
3,800 – 3,900 215 193
3,900 – 4,000 222 198

$ 0 $ 4,000 $ 9,000 $ 14,000

$ 50

$ 1,000

$ 2,000

$ 3,000

$ 5,000

$ 6,000

$ 7,000

$ 8,000

$ 10,000

$ 11,000

$ 12,000

$ 13,000

$ 15,000

$ 16,000

$ 17,000

$ 18,000

4,000 – 4,100 229 203
4,100 – 4,200 236 208
4,200 – 4,300 243 213
4,300 – 4,400 250 218
4,400 – 4,500 257 223
4,500 – 4,600 264 228
4,600 – 4,700 271 233
4,700 – 4,800 278 238
4,800 – 4,900 285 243
4,900 – 5,000 292 248

5,000 – 5,100 299 253
5,100 – 5,200 306 258
5,200 – 5,300 313 263
5,300 – 5,400 320 268
5,400 – 5,500 327 273
5,500 – 5,600 334 279
5,600 – 5,700 341 286
5,700 – 5,800 348 293
5,800 – 5,900 355 300
5,900 – 6,000 362 307

6,000 – 6,100 369 314
6,100 – 6,200 376 321
6,200 – 6,300 383 328
6,300 – 6,400 390 335
6,400 – 6,500 397 342
6,500 – 6,600 404 349
6,600 – 6,700 411 356
6,700 – 6,800 418 363
6,800 – 6,900 425 370
6,900 – 7,000 434 377

7,000 – 7,100 443 384
7,100 – 7,200 452 391
7,200 – 7,300 461 398
7,300 – 7,400 470 405
7,400 – 7,500 479 412
7,500 – 7,600 488 419
7,600 – 7,700 497 426
7,700 – 7,800 506 433
7,800 – 7,900 515 440
7,900 – 8,000 524 447

8,000 – 8,100 533 454
8,100 – 8,200 542 461
8,200 – 8,300 551 468
8,300 – 8,400 560 475
8,400 – 8,500 569 482
8,500 – 8,600 578 489
8,600 – 8,700 587 496
8,700 – 8,800 596 503
8,800 – 8,900 605 510
8,900 – 9,000 614 517

9,000 – 9,100 623 524
9,100 – 9,200 632 531
9,200 – 9,300 641 538
9,300 – 9,400 650 545
9,400 – 9,500 659 552
9,500 – 9,600 668 559
9,600 – 9,700 677 566
9,700 – 9,800 686 573
9,800 – 9,900 695 580
9,900 – 10,000 704 587

10,000 – 10,100 713 594
10,100 – 10,200 722 601
10,200 – 10,300 731 608
10,300 – 10,400 740 615
10,400 – 10,500 749 622
10,500 – 10,600 758 629
10,600 – 10,700 767 636
10,700 – 10,800 776 643
10,800 – 10,900 785 650
10,900 – 11,000 794 657

11,000 – 11,100 803 664
11,100 – 11,200 812 671
11,200 – 11,300 821 678
11,300 – 11,400 830 685
11,400 – 11,500 839 692
11,500 – 11,600 848 699
11,600 – 11,700 857 706
11,700 – 11,800 866 713
11,800 – 11,900 875 720
11,900 – 12,000 884 727

12,000 – 12,100 893 734
12,100 – 12,200 902 741
12,200 – 12,300 911 748
12,300 – 12,400 920 755
12,400 – 12,500 929 762
12,500 – 12,600 938 769
12,600 – 12,700 947 776
12,700 – 12,800 956 783
12,800 – 12,900 965 790
12,900 – 13,000 974 797

13,000 – 13,100 983 804
13,100 – 13,200 992 811
13,200 – 13,300 1,001 818
13,300 – 13,400 1,010 825
13,400 – 13,500 1,019 832
13,500 – 13,600 1,028 839
13,600 – 13,700 1,037 846
13,700 – 13,800 1,046 854
13,800 – 13,900 1,055 863
13,900 – 14,000 1,064 872

14,000 – 14,100 1,073 881
14,100 – 14,200 1,082 890
14,200 – 14,300 1,091 899
14,300 – 14,400 1,100 908
14,400 – 14,500 1,109 917
14,500 – 14,600 1,118 926
14,600 – 14,700 1,127 935
14,700 – 14,800 1,136 944
14,800 – 14,900 1,145 953
14,900 – 15,000 1,154 962

15,000 – 15,100 1,163 971
15,100 – 15,200 1,172 980
15,200 – 15,300 1,181 989
15,300 – 15,400 1,190 998
15,400 – 15,500 1,199 1,007
15,500 – 15,600 1,208 1,016
15,600 – 15,700 1,217 1,025
15,700 – 15,800 1,226 1,034
15,800 – 15,900 1,235 1,043
15,900 – 16,000 1,244 1,052

16,000 – 16,100 1,253 1,061
16,100 – 16,200 1,262 1,070
16,200 – 16,300 1,271 1,079
16,300 – 16,400 1,280 1,088
16,400 – 16,500 1,289 1,097
16,500 – 16,600 1,298 1,106
16,600 – 16,700 1,307 1,115
16,700 – 16,800 1,316 1,124
16,800 – 16,900 1,325 1,133
16,900 – 17,000 1,334 1,142

17,000 – 17,100 1,343 1,151
17,100 – 17,200 1,352 1,160
17,200 – 17,300 1,361 1,169
17,300 – 17,400 1,370 1,178
17,400 – 17,500 1,379 1,187
17,500 – 17,600 1,388 1,196
17,600 – 17,700 1,397 1,205
17,700 – 17,800 1,406 1,214
17,800 – 17,900 1,415 1,223
17,900 – 18,000 1,424 1,232

18,000 – 18,100 1,433 1,241
18,100 – 18,200 1,442 1,250
18,200 – 18,300 1,451 1,259
18,300 – 18,400 1,460 1,268
18,400 – 18,500 1,469 1,277
18,500 – 18,600 1,478 1,286
18,600 – 18,700 1,487 1,295
18,700 – 18,800 1,496 1,304
18,800 – 18,900 1,505 1,313
18,900 – 19,000 1,514 1,322

Tax tables
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2006 Tax Tables

for Forms 40S & 40 S
Use column S if you are:

• Single

• Married filing separately J
Use column J if you are:

• Married filing jointly

• Head of household

• Widow(er) with dependent child

19,000 – 19,100 1,523 1,331
19,100 – 19,200 1,532 1,340
19,200 – 19,300 1,541 1,349
19,300 – 19,400 1,550 1,358
19,400 – 19,500 1,559 1,367
19,500 – 19,600 1,568 1,376
19,600 – 19,700 1,577 1,385
19,700 – 19,800 1,586 1,394
19,800 – 19,900 1,595 1,403
19,900 – 20,000 1,604 1,412

20,000 – 20,100 1,613 1,421
20,100 – 20,200 1,622 1,430
20,200 – 20,300 1,631 1,439
20,300 – 20,400 1,640 1,448
20,400 – 20,500 1,649 1,457
20,500 – 20,600 1,658 1,466
20,600 – 20,700 1,667 1,475
20,700 – 20,800 1,676 1,484
20,800 – 20,900 1,685 1,493
20,900 – 21,000 1,694 1,502

21,000 – 21,100 1,703 1,511
21,100 – 21,200 1,712 1,520
21,200 – 21,300 1,721 1,529
21,300 – 21,400 1,730 1,538
21,400 – 21,500 1,739 1,547
21,500 – 21,600 1,748 1,556
21,600 – 21,700 1,757 1,565
21,700 – 21,800 1,766 1,574
21,800 – 21,900 1,775 1,583
21,900 – 22,000 1,784 1,592

22,000 – 22,100 1,793 1,601
22,100 – 22,200 1,802 1,610
22,200 – 22,300 1,811 1,619
22,300 – 22,400 1,820 1,628
22,400 – 22,500 1,829 1,637
22,500 – 22,600 1,838 1,646
22,600 – 22,700 1,847 1,655
22,700 – 22,800 1,856 1,664
22,800 – 22,900 1,865 1,673
22,900 – 23,000 1,874 1,682

23,000 – 23,100 1,883 1,691
23,100 – 23,200 1,892 1,700
23,200 – 23,300 1,901 1,709
23,300 – 23,400 1,910 1,718
23,400 – 23,500 1,919 1,727
23,500 – 23,600 1,928 1,736
23,600 – 23,700 1,937 1,745
23,700 – 23,800 1,946 1,754
23,800 – 23,900 1,955 1,763
23,900 – 24,000 1,964 1,772

$ 19,000 $ 24,000 $ 29,000 $ 34,000

$ 20,000

$ 21,000

$ 22,000

$ 23,000

$ 25,000

$ 26,000

$ 27,000

$ 28,000

$ 30,000

$ 31,000

$ 32,000

$ 33,000

$ 35,000

$ 36,000

$ 37,000

$ 38,000

24,000 – 24,100 1,973 1,781
24,100 – 24,200 1,982 1,790
24,200 – 24,300 1,991 1,799
24,300 – 24,400 2,000 1,808
24,400 – 24,500 2,009 1,817
24,500 – 24,600 2,018 1,826
24,600 – 24,700 2,027 1,835
24,700 – 24,800 2,036 1,844
24,800 – 24,900 2,045 1,853
24,900 – 25,000 2,054 1,862

25,000 – 25,100 2,063 1,871
25,100 – 25,200 2,072 1,880
25,200 – 25,300 2,081 1,889
25,300 – 25,400 2,090 1,898
25,400 – 25,500 2,099 1,907
25,500 – 25,600 2,108 1,916
25,600 – 25,700 2,117 1,925
25,700 – 25,800 2,126 1,934
25,800 – 25,900 2,135 1,943
25,900 – 26,000 2,144 1,952

26,000 – 26,100 2,153 1,961
26,100 – 26,200 2,162 1,970
26,200 – 26,300 2,171 1,979
26,300 – 26,400 2,180 1,988
26,400 – 26,500 2,189 1,997
26,500 – 26,600 2,198 2,006
26,600 – 26,700 2,207 2,015
26,700 – 26,800 2,216 2,024
26,800 – 26,900 2,225 2,033
26,900 – 27,000 2,234 2,042

27,000 – 27,100 2,243 2,051
27,100 – 27,200 2,252 2,060
27,200 – 27,300 2,261 2,069
27,300 – 27,400 2,270 2,078
27,400 – 27,500 2,279 2,087
27,500 – 27,600 2,288 2,096
27,600 – 27,700 2,297 2,105
27,700 – 27,800 2,306 2,114
27,800 – 27,900 2,315 2,123
27,900 – 28,000 2,324 2,132

28,000 – 28,100 2,333 2,141
28,100 – 28,200 2,342 2,150
28,200 – 28,300 2,351 2,159
28,300 – 28,400 2,360 2,168
28,400 – 28,500 2,369 2,177
28,500 – 28,600 2,378 2,186
28,600 – 28,700 2,387 2,195
28,700 – 28,800 2,396 2,204
28,800 – 28,900 2,405 2,213
28,900 – 29,000 2,414 2,222

29,000 – 29,100 2,423 2,231
29,100 – 29,200 2,432 2,240
29,200 – 29,300 2,441 2,249
29,300 – 29,400 2,450 2,258
29,400 – 29,500 2,459 2,267
29,500 – 29,600 2,468 2,276
29,600 – 29,700 2,477 2,285
29,700 – 29,800 2,486 2,294
29,800 – 29,900 2,495 2,303
29,900 – 30,000 2,504 2,312

30,000 – 30,100 2,513 2,321
30,100 – 30,200 2,522 2,330
30,200 – 30,300 2,531 2,339
30,300 – 30,400 2,540 2,348
30,400 – 30,500 2,549 2,357
30,500 – 30,600 2,558 2,366
30,600 – 30,700 2,567 2,375
30,700 – 30,800 2,576 2,384
30,800 – 30,900 2,585 2,393
30,900 – 31,000 2,594 2,402

31,000 – 31,100 2,603 2,411
31,100 – 31,200 2,612 2,420
31,200 – 31,300 2,621 2,429
31,300 – 31,400 2,630 2,438
31,400 – 31,500 2,639 2,447
31,500 – 31,600 2,648 2,456
31,600 – 31,700 2,657 2,465
31,700 – 31,800 2,666 2,474
31,800 – 31,900 2,675 2,483
31,900 – 32,000 2,684 2,492

32,000 – 32,100 2,693 2,501
32,100 – 32,200 2,702 2,510
32,200 – 32,300 2,711 2,519
32,300 – 32,400 2,720 2,528
32,400 – 32,500 2,729 2,537
32,500 – 32,600 2,738 2,546
32,600 – 32,700 2,747 2,555
32,700 – 32,800 2,756 2,564
32,800 – 32,900 2,765 2,573
32,900 – 33,000 2,774 2,582

33,000 – 33,100 2,783 2,591
33,100 – 33,200 2,792 2,600
33,200 – 33,300 2,801 2,609
33,300 – 33,400 2,810 2,618
33,400 – 33,500 2,819 2,627
33,500 – 33,600 2,828 2,636
33,600 – 33,700 2,837 2,645
33,700 – 33,800 2,846 2,654
33,800 – 33,900 2,855 2,663
33,900 – 34,000 2,864 2,672

34,000 – 34,100 2,873 2,681
34,100 – 34,200 2,882 2,690
34,200 – 34,300 2,891 2,699
34,300 – 34,400 2,900 2,708
34,400 – 34,500 2,909 2,717
34,500 – 34,600 2,918 2,726
34,600 – 34,700 2,927 2,735
34,700 – 34,800 2,936 2,744
34,800 – 34,900 2,945 2,753
34,900 – 35,000 2,954 2,762

35,000 – 35,100 2,963 2,771
35,100 – 35,200 2,972 2,780
35,200 – 35,300 2,981 2,789
35,300 – 35,400 2,990 2,798
35,400 – 35,500 2,999 2,807
35,500 – 35,600 3,008 2,816
35,600 – 35,700 3,017 2,825
35,700 – 35,800 3,026 2,834
35,800 – 35,900 3,035 2,843
35,900 – 36,000 3,044 2,852

36,000 – 36,100 3,053 2,861
36,100 – 36,200 3,062 2,870
36,200 – 36,300 3,071 2,879
36,300 – 36,400 3,080 2,888
36,400 – 36,500 3,089 2,897
36,500 – 36,600 3,098 2,906
36,600 – 36,700 3,107 2,915
36,700 – 36,800 3,116 2,924
36,800 – 36,900 3,125 2,933
36,900 – 37,000 3,134 2,942

37,000 – 37,100 3,143 2,951
37,100 – 37,200 3,152 2,960
37,200 – 37,300 3,161 2,969
37,300 – 37,400 3,170 2,978
37,400 – 37,500 3,179 2,987
37,500 – 37,600 3,188 2,996
37,600 – 37,700 3,197 3,005
37,700 – 37,800 3,206 3,014
37,800 – 37,900 3,215 3,023
37,900 – 38,000 3,224 3,032

38,000 – 38,100 3,233 3,041
38,100 – 38,200 3,242 3,050
38,200 – 38,300 3,251 3,059
38,300 – 38,400 3,260 3,068
38,400 – 38,500 3,269 3,077
38,500 – 38,600 3,278 3,086
38,600 – 38,700 3,287 3,095
38,700 – 38,800 3,296 3,104
38,800 – 38,900 3,305 3,113
38,900 – 39,000 3,314 3,122

If income from 

Form 40S, line 12; 

or Form 40, 

line 28 is:

And you

use column:

At

least:

But

less

than: S J
Your tax is:

If income from 
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If income from 

Form 40S, line 12; 

or Form 40, 

line 28 is:
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use column:

At
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And you

use column:

At

least:

But

less

than: S J
Your tax is:
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Form 40S, line 12; 

or Form 40, 

line 28 is:
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use column:

At
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But

less

than: S J
Your tax is:

2006 Tax Tables

for Forms 40S & 40 S
Use column S if you are:

• Single

• Married filing separately J
Use column J if you are:

• Married filing jointly

• Head of household

• Widow(er) with dependent child

39,000 – 39,100 3,323 3,131
39,100 – 39,200 3,332 3,140
39,200 – 39,300 3,341 3,149
39,300 – 39,400 3,350 3,158
39,400 – 39,500 3,359 3,167
39,500 – 39,600 3,368 3,176
39,600 – 39,700 3,377 3,185
39,700 – 39,800 3,386 3,194
39,800 – 39,900 3,395 3,203
39,900 – 40,000 3,404 3,212

40,000 – 40,100 3,413 3,221
40,100 – 40,200 3,422 3,230
40,200 – 40,300 3,431 3,239
40,300 – 40,400 3,440 3,248
40,400 – 40,500 3,449 3,257
40,500 – 40,600 3,458 3,266
40,600 – 40,700 3,467 3,275
40,700 – 40,800 3,476 3,284
40,800 – 40,900 3,485 3,293
40,900 – 41,000 3,494 3,302

41,000 – 41,100 3,503 3,311
41,100 – 41,200 3,512 3,320
41,200 – 41,300 3,521 3,329
41,300 – 41,400 3,530 3,338
41,400 – 41,500 3,539 3,347
41,500 – 41,600 3,548 3,356
41,600 – 41,700 3,557 3,365
41,700 – 41,800 3,566 3,374
41,800 – 41,900 3,575 3,383
41,900 – 42,000 3,584 3,392

$ 39,000 $ 42,000 $ 45,000 $ 48,000

$ 40,000

$ 41,000

$ 43,000

$ 44,000

$ 46,000

$ 47,000

$ 49,000

42,000 – 42,100 3,593 3,401
42,100 – 42,200 3,602 3,410
42,200 – 42,300 3,611 3,419
42,300 – 42,400 3,620 3,428
42,400 – 42,500 3,629 3,437
42,500 – 42,600 3,638 3,446
42,600 – 42,700 3,647 3,455
42,700 – 42,800 3,656 3,464
42,800 – 42,900 3,665 3,473
42,900 – 43,000 3,674 3,482

43,000 – 43,100 3,683 3,491
43,100 – 43,200 3,692 3,500
43,200 – 43,300 3,701 3,509
43,300 – 43,400 3,710 3,518
43,400 – 43,500 3,719 3,527
43,500 – 43,600 3,728 3,536
43,600 – 43,700 3,737 3,545
43,700 – 43,800 3,746 3,554
43,800 – 43,900 3,755 3,563
43,900 – 44,000 3,764 3,572

44,000 – 44,100 3,773 3,581
44,100 – 44,200 3,782 3,590
44,200 – 44,300 3,791 3,599
44,300 – 44,400 3,800 3,608
44,400 – 44,500 3,809 3,617
44,500 – 44,600 3,818 3,626
44,600 – 44,700 3,827 3,635
44,700 – 44,800 3,836 3,644
44,800 – 44,900 3,845 3,653
44,900 – 45,000 3,854 3,662

45,000 – 45,100 3,863 3,671
45,100 – 45,200 3,872 3,680
45,200 – 45,300 3,881 3,689
45,300 – 45,400 3,890 3,698
45,400 – 45,500 3,899 3,707
45,500 – 45,600 3,908 3,716
45,600 – 45,700 3,917 3,725
45,700 – 45,800 3,926 3,734
45,800 – 45,900 3,935 3,743
45,900 – 46,000 3,944 3,752

46,000 – 46,100 3,953 3,761
46,100 – 46,200 3,962 3,770
46,200 – 46,300 3,971 3,779
46,300 – 46,400 3,980 3,788
46,400 – 46,500 3,989 3,797
46,500 – 46,600 3,998 3,806
46,600 – 46,700 4,007 3,815
46,700 – 46,800 4,016 3,824
46,800 – 46,900 4,025 3,833
46,900 – 47,000 4,034 3,842

47,000 – 47,100 4,043 3,851
47,100 – 47,200 4,052 3,860
47,200 – 47,300 4,061 3,869
47,300 – 47,400 4,070 3,878
47,400 – 47,500 4,079 3,887
47,500 – 47,600 4,088 3,896
47,600 – 47,700 4,097 3,905
47,700 – 47,800 4,106 3,914
47,800 – 47,900 4,115 3,923
47,900 – 48,000 4,124 3,932

48,000 – 48,100 4,133 3,941
48,100 – 48,200 4,142 3,950
48,200 – 48,300 4,151 3,959
48,300 – 48,400 4,160 3,968
48,400 – 48,500 4,169 3,977
48,500 – 48,600 4,178 3,986
48,600 – 48,700 4,187 3,995
48,700 – 48,800 4,196 4,004
48,800 – 48,900 4,205 4,013
48,900 – 49,000 4,214 4,022

49,000 – 49,100 4,223 4,031
49,100 – 49,200 4,232 4,040
49,200 – 49,300 4,241 4,049
49,300 – 49,400 4,250 4,058
49,400 – 49,500 4,259 4,067
49,500 – 49,600 4,268 4,076
49,600 – 49,700 4,277 4,085
49,700 – 49,800 4,286 4,094
49,800 – 49,900 4,295 4,103
49,900 – 50,001 4,304 4,112

2006 Tax Rate Charts

S JChart S:

For persons filing

Single or Married filing separately

Chart J:

For persons filing

Jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying
widow(er) with dependent child

If your taxable income is: Your tax is:

Over $50,000 .........................$4,308 plus 9% of excess over $50,000

If your taxable income is: Your tax is:

Over $50,000 .........................$4,116 plus 9% of excess over $50,000

Tax tables
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Form 40 line instructions
The following instructions are for lines not fully 

explained on the form. For general Form 40 instruc-

tions, see page 7.

Amended return. If you are amending your 2006 

return, check the box in the upper left corner of Form 

40 and attach the Oregon Amended Schedule.

Do not fill in cents. You must round off cents to the 

nearest dollar. For example, $99.49 becomes $99.00, and 

$99.50 becomes $100.00.

8  Federal adjusted gross income. Enter your fed-

eral adjusted gross income from Form 1040, 

line 37; Form 1040A, line 21; Form 1040EZ, line 4; Form 

1040NR, line 35; or Form 1040NR-EZ, line 10. You must 
attach a copy (front and back) of your federal return 

to your Oregon Form 40. This helps us verify your 

income and process your return faster.

Additions

Generally, additions are items not taxed by the federal 

government, but taxed by Oregon. Additions increase 

the income taxed by Oregon.

9  Interest and dividends on state and local gov-

ernment bonds outside of Oregon. You must 

add to Oregon income any interest and dividends you 

received from state and local governments outside 
Oregon. You don’t pay federal tax on this interest, but 

you do pay Oregon tax.

Example: Include interest from state of Washing-

ton bonds or from San Francisco city bonds. Do not 

include interest from Oregon government bonds or 

interest from U.S. territories or possessions (such as 

Guam, Puerto Rico, or the Virgin Islands).

10  Other additions. You may need to report one 

or more other additions explained here. Please 

identify the addition(s) using the numeric code shown 

in brackets. Enter the code on line 10a and the amount 

on line 10b. For example, if you’re reporting a $200 addi-

tion for claim of right, enter “103” on line 10a and “$200” 

on line 10b. If you’re reporting two additions, enter the 

second numeric code on line 10c and the amount on 

line 10d. Fill in the total amount of all “other additions” 

on line 10. If you’re claiming more than three “other 

additions,” attach a statement to your return with the 

numeric codes and amounts of the additions that don’t 

fit on the return. Add lines 10b, 10d, 10f, and the addi-

tion amounts on the statement and enter the total on 

line 10. Number the statement. On line 11 (total addi-

tions), write “See Stmt” and the statement number in 

the space next to the total additions. Example: Write 

“See Stmt 3” for statement number 3.

• Federal deduction for long-term care insurance pre-

miums [code 104]. Will you claim an Oregon long-
term care insurance premiums credit this year? Did 
you claim a federal deduction on federal Schedule 
A for the premiums? If so, you must add to Oregon 
income the amount of premiums that resulted in a 
tax benefit on your federal return. Download the 
publication Long-Term Care Insurance Premiums Tax 
Credit from our website or contact us to order it.

• Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor 

child [code 107]. Did you report interest or dividends 
of your minor child on your federal return? If so, you 
must add to Oregon income the amount subject to 
the special federal tax. Fill in the smaller of line 13 
or 14 from federal Form 8814. Add to that any inter-
est or dividends your child received from state and 
local governments outside Oregon.

• Federal income tax refunds [code 109]. Did you 
get a federal tax refund in 2006 because you filed 
an amended federal return for a prior year or were 
audited? If so, you must add the refund amount that 
gave you an Oregon tax benefit in a prior year. You 
received an Oregon tax benefit if the amount of the 
refund was claimed as part of your federal tax sub-
traction on your Oregon return for the prior year.

• Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction 

[code 105]. Did you claim gambling losses as an 
itemized deduction on your federal Schedule A? If 
so, you must add the gambling losses claimed as an 
itemized deduction that are more than the gambling 
winnings taxed by Oregon. For more information, 
see Oregon Lottery on page 27.

• Lump-sum payment from a qualified retirement 

plan [code 115]. Did you complete federal Form 4972 
to figure the tax on a qualified lump-sum distribu-
tion using the 20 percent capital gain election and/
or the 10-year tax option? If so, part or all of your 
lump-sum distribution will not be included in your 
federal adjusted gross income (AGI). The taxable 
amount of your distribution (federal Form 1099-R, 
box 2a) that isn’t included in your federal AGI is tax-
able to Oregon. Fill in the excluded amount on line 
10 of your Oregon Form 40. Attach a copy of federal 
Form 1099-R to your Oregon return along with your 
Form(s) W-2 and other Form(s) 1099. For more infor-
mation, please contact us.

• The following additions apply to only a few people 
and are not explained in this booklet. For more infor-
mation, go to our website or contact us.

— 529 Oregon College Savings Network plan non-
qualified withdrawal [code 117].

— Basis adjustments [code 101].

Form 40 line instructions
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• Depletion in excess of property basis.

• Depreciation difference for Oregon.

• Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property 
with different basis for Oregon.

• Passive activity losses.

• Suspended losses.

— Claim of right income repayments [code 103].

— Disposition of inherited Oregon farmland or for-
estland [code 106].

— Domestic production activities deduction [code 
102].

— Fiduciary adjustments [code 100].

• Accumulation distribution from a trust.

• Federal estate tax on income in respect of a 
decedent.

• Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and 
trusts.

— Individual Development Account (IDA) [code 113].

• Non-qualified withdrawal.

• Addback for IDA donation credit.

— Net operating loss non-Oregon source [code 116].

— Oregon deferral of reinvested capital gain [code 
118]. 

— Partnership or S corporation modifications for 
Oregon [code 119].

— Itemized or business deduction addback for Ore-
gon credits [code 104].

• Contributions to: Child Care Fund, Oregon 
Cultural Trust, Oregon Production Investment 
Fund, or university venture fund.

• Income taxes paid to another state.

• Self-employment health insurance deduction.

— Schedule A deduction addback for Oregon sub-
tractions [code 105].

• Gambling losses claimed as itemized deduc-
tion.

• Oregon only Schedule A item.

• Refund of Oregon only Schedule A items from 
a prior year.

— Specially taxed income under federal law [code 
115].

• Lump-sum distributions from a qualified retire-
ment plan.

• Passive foreign investment company income.

— Unused business credit [code 122].

Subtractions

Generally, subtractions are items the federal govern-
ment taxes but Oregon does not. Subtractions reduce 
the income taxed by Oregon.

13  2006 federal tax liability. Carefully follow the 
instructions below. Don’t confuse your federal 

tax liability on your federal return with the federal 
tax withheld on your Form(s) W-2. They are not the 
same.

You may deduct your total federal income tax liability, 

after credits, up to $5,000. Don’t fill in less than -0- or 

more than $5,000 ($2,500 if married filing separately).

1. Enter your federal tax liability 
from Form 1040, line 57; Form 
1040A, line 35; Form 1040EZ, line 
11; Form 1040NR, line 52; or Form 
1040NR-EZ, line 15.

1.

2. Enter your tax on qualified retire-
ment plans, Form 1040, line 60; or 
Form 1040NR, line 55; any recap-
ture taxes you included on the 
dotted line of Form 1040, line 63; 
or Form 1040NR, line 58; and the 
amount on Form 1040NR, line 53.

2.

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.

4. Enter $5,000 ($2,500 if married fil-
ing separately).

4.

5. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 4 
here and on Form 40, line 13.

5.

Caution: Don’t include any of the following on line 2:

• Self-employment tax.

• Social Security and Medicare tax on tips.

• Advance earned income credit payments.

• Household employment taxes.

Are you amending your 2006 return? See the Oregon 
Amended Schedule instructions to figure your subtrac-

tion for federal tax liability.

Did you pay additional federal tax in 2006 because you 

were audited or filed an amended return? If so, see 

page 27 for line 18 instructions.

The total of your federal tax subtraction (line 13), your 

federal tax from a prior year (line 18), and your foreign 

tax subtraction (line 18) cannot be more than $5,000 

($2,500 if married filing separately). The foreign tax 

portion of your federal tax subtraction cannot be more 

than $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing separately).

14  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement 

Board benefits income. Fill in the amount from 

federal Form 1040, line 20b; or Form 1040A, line 14b. If 

you have tier 2, windfall/vested dual, or supplemen-

tal Railroad Retirement Board benefits, these are sub-

tracted on line 18. For more information, contact us.

15  Oregon income tax refund included in federal 

income. Fill in your Oregon state income tax 

refund from federal Form 1040, line 10. Do not include 
local, county, or other states’ tax refunds.

16  Interest and dividends from U.S. government. 
Fill in interest and dividends from the U.S. 

government that you included on your federal return. 

Include U.S. government interest and dividends you 

received through partnerships or grantor trusts. See 

line 18 to subtract U.S. government interest in IRA or 
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Keogh distributions. Do not include interest on fed-
eral tax refunds in the subtraction.

Examples:

• You can subtract interest from U.S. Series EE, I, or 
HH bonds and Treasury bills or notes.

• You can subtract interest and dividends paid to you 
by organizations that invest in U.S. government 
securities. The payer may have given the percent-
age of interest and dividends from U.S. government 
securities on your Form 1099. Download the publi-
cation Interest and Dividends on U.S. Bonds and Notes 
from our website or contact us to order it.

• If you reported interest or dividends of your minor 
child on your federal return, you can subtract any 
U.S. government interest included.

• You must reduce U.S. government interest and 
dividends by any interest expense relating to U.S. 
government obligations deducted on your federal 
Schedule A.

Note: When you sell or dispose of a U.S. government 
obligation, you must include any gain or loss in Ore-
gon income.

17  Federal pension income. You may be able to 
subtract some or all of your taxable federal pen-

sion included in 2006 federal income. This includes 
benefits paid to the retiree or the beneficiary. The sub-
traction amount is based on the number of months of 
federal service before and after October 1, 1991:

• If all your months of federal service were before 
October 1, 1991, subtract 100 percent of the taxable 
amount of federal pension income you reported on 
your federal return.

• If you have no months of service before October 1, 
1991, you cannot subtract any federal pension.

• If your service was both before and after October 
1, 1991, subtract a percentage of the taxable federal 
pension income you reported on your federal return. 
To determine your percentage, divide the months of 
service before October 1, 1991, by the total months of 
service. Round to three places (example: .4576 = 45.8 
percent). Once you’ve determined the percentage, it 
will remain the same each year. Write the percent-
age on line 17a. If you have two federal pensions, 
write the second percentage on line 17b and enter 
your total subtraction amount on line 17. Figure the 
percentage for each pension separately.

 Federal pension subtraction formula:

Months of service 

before 10/1/91
×

Federal pension 

amount included 

in federal income

=
Oregon 

subtractionTotal months

of service

 Example: Ann worked for the U.S. Forest Service 
from May 27, 1971, until January 7, 2005. She worked a 

total of 403 months; 244 months were worked before 
October 1, 1991. In 2006, she received taxable federal 
pension income of $35,000. Using the formula above, 
her allowable subtraction is:

244
× $35,000 = $21,175

403

 She can subtract 60.5 percent (244 ÷ 403 = .6054), or 
$21,175 ($35,000 × .605), of her taxable federal pen-
sion. She will continue to subtract 60.5 percent from 
Oregon income in future years.

18  Other subtractions. You may qualify for one 
or more other subtractions explained below. 

Please identify the subtraction(s) using the numeric 
code shown in brackets. Enter the numeric code on 
line 18a and the amount on line 18b. For example, if 
you’re claiming a $100 Oregon Lottery subtraction, 
enter “322” on line 18a and “$100” on line 18b. If you’re 
claiming two subtractions, enter the second numeric 
code on line 18c and the amount on line 18d. Fill in the 
total amount of other subtractions on line 18. 

If you’re claiming more than three “other subtractions,” 
attach a statement to your return with the numeric 
codes and amounts of the subtractions that don’t fit on 
the return. Add lines 18b, 18d, 18f, and the subtraction 
amounts on the statement and enter the total on line 
18. Number the statement. On line 19 (total subtrac-
tions), write “See Stmt” and the statement number in 
the space next to the total subtractions. Example: Write 
“See Stmt 3” for statement number 3. Do not use this 
line to subtract federal pension (use line 17 instead). 
For more information, go to our website or contact us.

• 529 Oregon College Savings Plan [code 324]. You 
can subtract up to $2,000 ($1,000 if married filing 
separately) of contributions made to a 529 Oregon 
College Savings Network account in 2006. If you 
contribute more than $2,000, you can carry forward 
the remaining contribution not subtracted over the 
next four years. Keep a copy of your account state-
ment with your tax records. For more information, 
go to www.oregon529network.com, or contact us.

• American Indian [code 300]. Are you an enrolled 
member of a federally recognized American Indian 
tribe? You may be able to subtract all or part of your 
income if all of the following are true:
— You are an enrolled member of a federally recog-

nized American Indian tribe, and

— Your income was from sources within federally 
recognized Indian country in Oregon, and

— You lived in federally recognized Indian country 
in Oregon when the income was earned.

 You must attach a completed copy of your Exempt 
Income Schedule for Enrolled Members of a Federally Rec-
ognized American Indian Tribe to your return. Down-
load the schedule from our website or contact us to 
order it.
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• Domestic partner benefits [code 305]. If your 
employer provides taxable health insurance or other 
benefits to you and another person who qualifies as 
your same-sex domestic partner, you may qualify 
for a subtraction on the Oregon return. For more 
information, please contact us.

• Federal tax from a prior year [code 309]. Did you pay 
additional federal income tax in 2006 because you 
were audited or you amended a prior year’s return? 
If so, you may be able to subtract the additional tax. 
This subtraction applies only to additional tax you 
paid because your return was changed. It does not 
include the tax from the original return or interest 
or penalties you paid.

 Use the following worksheet to figure your subtrac-
tion for federal tax from a prior year.

1. Enter $5,000 ($2,500 if married fil-
ing separately).

1.

2. Enter your federal tax liability 
from Form 40, line 13.

2.

3. Line 1 minus line 2. If the result is 
-0-, you cannot deduct your federal 
tax paid for a prior year. If greater 
than -0-, enter the result on line 3.

3.

4. Enter the amount of federal tax 
you paid for a prior year.

4.

5. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 
4 here and on Form 40, line 18 and 
identify using code 309.

5.

• Military active duty pay [code 319]. If you included 
U.S. military active duty pay in your federal taxable 
income, you may qualify for a subtraction on your 
Oregon return.

 You can subtract all active duty pay earned outside Ore-
gon during the year plus up to $3,000 active duty pay 
earned in Oregon. Note: Your total subtraction cannot 
be more than your total active duty pay income.

 Reserve summer camp is considered active duty. 
However, drills and weekend meetings of reserve 
units are not considered active duty. If you’re in 
the Guard or Reserves and your Form W-2 does not 
show a separate amount for active duty, contact your 
paymaster. Download Military Personnel Filing Infor-
mation from our website, or to order it, see page 40.

 Example: Barry, an Oregon resident, enlisted in the 
Army in 1999. From January until August 2006, he 
was stationed at Fort Lewis, Washington. He earned 
$24,000 active duty pay there. From August until the 
end of the year, he served in Oregon as a recruiter. 
He earned $12,000 in Oregon. He can subtract the 
$24,000 earned outside Oregon and $3,000 earned in 
the state, for a total subtraction of $27,000.

• Oregon National Guard active duty pay subtraction 

[code 319]. The following questions will help deter-
mine if you can claim this subtraction.

— Were you a member of the Oregon National Guard 

at any time since January 2001? 

— Did you serve on active duty in Oregon as a mem-

ber of the Oregon National Guard? 

— Did you serve as a member of the Oregon Nation-

al Guard under U.S. Code Title 32 and were then 

called to active duty status and served under U.S. 

Code Title 10? 

 If you answered yes to all of these questions, you 

can subtract all of the Oregon National Guard active 

duty pay you earned while you served under Title 10 

in Oregon. This subtraction is available for tax years 

starting on or after January 1, 2001. You may be able 

to amend your prior year tax returns to claim this 

subtraction. See Oregon Amended Schedule for time 

limits.

 If you’re an enrolled member of a federally recog-

nized American Indian tribe and a member of the 

U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed in Oregon, you 

may be eligible for an additional subtraction. For 

more information, please contact us.

• Oregon Lottery [code 322]. Although Oregon does 

not tax Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or less per 

ticket, the federal government does. Oregon Lottery 

includes Powerball tickets you purchased in Ore-

gon.

 You can subtract the following winnings included in 

your federal income from Oregon income:

— Winnings of $600 or less from each single ticket or 

play, and

— Annual payments from tickets bought before 

1998.

 Example 1: Cheryl had winnings of $200 from an Ore-

gon Lottery scratch-off ticket in 2006. This income is 

included in her federal adjusted gross income. Ore-

gon does not tax Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or 

less per single ticket or play. Cheryl can subtract the 

$200 she won on the scratch-off ticket.

 Example 2: David won two prizes in 2006: $1,000 

from an Oregon Lottery scratch-off ticket and $500 

playing an Oregon Lottery Keno game. David must 

include this $1,500 in his federal income, however, 

Oregon will not tax the $500 he won playing Keno. 

He can subtract $500 on his Oregon return because 

the winnings were from a single game and under 

the $600 limit. He cannot subtract any of the $1,000 

he won on the scratch-off ticket, because the prize 

was more than $600 and is fully taxable to Oregon.

 Do not subtract any other type of winnings such as 

winnings from tribal gaming centers. If you have 

gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction, 

see page 24.
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• The following subtractions apply to only a few peo-

ple and are not explained in this booklet. For more 

information, go to our website or contact us.

— Artist’s charitable contribution [code 301].

— Basis adjustments [code 304].

• Depreciation difference for Oregon.

• Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property 

with a different basis for federal and Oregon 

purposes.

• Passive activity losses.

— Capital Construction Fund (CCF) [code 339].

— Claim of right income repayments [code 302].

— Construction worker and logger commuting 

expenses [code 303].

— Federal gain previously taxed by Oregon [code 

306].

— Federal business credits [code 340].

— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and 

trusts [code 310].

— Film production labor rebate [code 336].

— Foreign tax [code 311].

— Hurricane Katrina Housing [code 337].

— Individual Development Account [code 314].

— Interest from local government bond [code 317].

— IRA conversions or employee retirement plans 

(previously taxed) [code 327].

— Land donation to educational institutions [code 

316].

— Mobile home park capital gain [code 338].

— Mortgage interest credit [code 320].

— Net operating loss [code 321].

— Oregon investment advantage [code 342].

— Partnership or S corporation modifications for 

Oregon [code 323].

— Public Safety Memorial Fund award [code 329].

— Railroad Retirement Board benefits: tier 2, wind-

fall/vested dual, supplemental, and railroad 

unemployment benefits [code 330].

— Scholarship awards used for housing expenses 

[code 333].

— U.S. government interest in IRA or Keogh distri-

butions [code 331].

Deductions

You can claim net itemized deductions or Oregon’s 

standard deduction, whichever is larger, but not both.

• If you claim itemized deductions, fill in lines 21–25.

• If you claim the standard deduction, fill in line 26.

Note: If you’re married filing separately and one 

spouse itemizes, both spouses must itemize deduc-

tions. If your spouse itemizes, your standard deduc-

tion is -0-.

21  Itemized deductions. You can claim your total 

itemized deductions after federal limitations as 

shown on federal Schedule A, line 28. 

You can claim itemized deductions for Oregon even if 

you don’t have enough deductions to itemize on your 

federal return. If you itemize for Oregon only, fill out 

a federal Schedule A for Oregon purposes. Be sure to 

include your state taxes even when itemizing for Ore-

gon only, then subtract your Oregon state income tax 

on line 24. Use your federal adjusted gross income to 

figure the Schedule A limitations. Remember to keep 

Schedule A with your tax records.

22  Special Oregon medical deduction. Were you 

or your spouse age 62 or older on December 31, 

2006? If so, enter the amount from federal Schedule A 

line 1 or line 3, whichever is less. To claim this deduc-

tion, you must itemize your deductions for Oregon.

24  State income tax claimed as an itemized deduc-

tion. Fill in the amount of Oregon state income 

tax you claimed as an itemized deduction on fed-

eral Schedule A, line 5. Don’t include local or county 

income tax amounts.

Are you claiming an Oregon credit for income taxes 

paid to another state and deducting the other state’s 

taxes on Schedule A? If so, include the other state’s 2006 

net tax liability, or the other state’s 2006 tax claimed as 

an itemized deduction, whichever is less. For the credit 

instructions, see page 31.

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal 

return because your adjusted gross income was more 

than $150,500 ($75,250 if married filing separately)? If so, 

you may need to complete a worksheet to figure how 

much Oregon income tax to subtract from itemized 

deductions. Download the publication Itemized Deduc-
tions Limit from our website or to order it, see page 40.

26  Standard deduction. Generally, your standard 

deduction is based on your filing status:

Single .............................................................. $1,840

Married filing jointly .......................................3,685

Married filing separately

 If spouse claims standard deduction ......... 1,840

 If spouse claims itemized deductions .............-0-

Head of household ..........................................2,965

Qualifying widow(er) ......................................3,685

Standard deduction—Age 65 or older, or blind. If you 

or your spouse are age 65 or older, or blind, you are 

entitled to a larger standard deduction amount. Use 

the chart on page 29 to determine your larger standard 

deduction.

1. Are you: ................................  65 or older?   Blind?

 If claiming spouse’s exemption, 

is your spouse:  ....................  65 or older?   Blind?
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2. If your

filing

status is…

And the number 

of boxes checked 

in step 1 is…

Then your

standard

deduction is…
Single 1 $3,040

2 4,240
Married filing 

jointly

1 4,685
2 5,685
3 6,685
4 7,685

Married filing 

separately

1 2,840
2 3,840
3 4,840
4 5,840

Head of 

household

1 4,165
2 5,365

Qualifying 

widow(er)

1 4,685
2 5,685

Fill in the total standard deduction on Form 40, line 26.

Standard deduction—Dependents. If someone else 

can claim you as a dependent, your standard deduc-

tion is limited to the larger of:

• Your earned income plus $300, up to the maximum 

allowed for your filing status, or

• $850.

The limit applies even if you qualify but are not claimed 

as a dependent on another person’s return. See the stan-

dard deduction instructions for dependents on page 9.

Standard deduction —Nonresident aliens. The stan-

dard deduction for nonresident aliens (as defined by 

federal law) is -0-.

27  Total deductions. Enter the larger of line 25 or 

line 26.

Oregon tax

29  Tax from tax tables or tax rate charts. Figure 

the tax on your Oregon taxable income, line 28. 

Go to the tax tables or rate charts on pages 21–23. Fill in 

your tax amount on line 29 and check box 29a. Please 

double-check that the tax you entered is correct.

Example 1: A single Oregon taxpayer has taxable 

income of $19,500. The taxpayer will use column S on 

page 22. The tax is $1,568.

Example 2: A married couple has Oregon taxable 

income of $75,500. They are filing jointly. They will use 

the married filing jointly rate chart J on page 23. They 

figure their tax like this:

Oregon taxable income $75,500

Subtract – 50,000

25,500

Multiply by 9% × .09

2,295

Then add + 4,116

Their Oregon tax is $ 6,411

Tax from farm income averaging or farm asset capital 

gain method. If you qualify, you can compute your 
Oregon tax using one of the following methods:

Farm income averaging method. You can use the fed-
eral farm income averaging method even if you did not 
use farm income averaging on your federal return.

Use Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for 
Full-Year Residents, to calculate tax on your farm income 
and other Oregon income. Download the form from 
our website or to order it, see page 40. Enter the tax 
amount from Form FIA-40, line 22, on Form 40, line 29. 
Check box 29b labeled “Form FIA-40.” Attach a copy of 
Form FIA-40 to your return.

Farm asset capital gain method. Did you sell or 
exchange capital assets primarily used in farming 
because you were getting out of a farming business? 
Or, did you sell or exchange a farming partnership, 
corporation, or other farming entity in which you held 
at least a 10 percent ownership interest? If the sale or 
exchange was not to a family member and you were 
getting out of a farming business completely, you may 
be eligible for a reduced tax rate on the net capital gain 
from the proceeds.

Use Worksheet FCG, Farm Liquidation Long-Term Capital 
Gain Tax Rate, to calculate tax on your net farm capital 
gain and other Oregon income. Download the work-
sheet from our website or contact us to order it. Enter 
the tax amount from Worksheet FCG, line 7, on Form 
40, line 29. Check box 29c labeled “Worksheet FCG.” 
Do not attach a copy of Worksheet FCG to your return. 
Keep a copy with your records.

30  Interest on certain installment sales. Do you 
have installment sales where you were required 

to pay interest on the deferred tax liability for federal 
purposes? If so, you must also compute interest for 
Oregon. The amount due for Oregon is computed the 
same as the federal amount. The interest rate is 0.583 
percent per month (7 percent per year) for 2006. For 
more information, please contact us.

Credits—Non-refundable

Most credits cannot be more than your Oregon tax lia-
bility. Some credits have a carryforward provision that 
allows you to use the unused balance in the next year. 
Use credits that cannot be carried forward first.

34  Retirement income credit. If you were age 62 
or older on December 31, 2006, and receiving 

retirement income, you may qualify for a retirement 
income credit if:

• Your household income is less than $22,500 ($45,000 
if married filing jointly), and
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• Your Social Security benefits and/or tier 1 Railroad 

Retirement Board benefits are less than $7,500 ($15,000 

if married filing jointly), and
• Your household income plus your Social Security 

and/or tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits is 

less than $22,500 ($45,000 if married filing jointly).

Retirement income includes payments reported in 

Oregon taxable income from:

• U.S. government pensions (including military).

• State or local government pensions.

• Employee pensions.

• Individual retirement plans.

• Deferred compensation plans including defined ben-

efit, profit sharing, and 401(k).

• Employee annuity plans.

Use the following worksheet to figure your credit.

1. Enter the retirement income of the 
eligible individual(s) included on 
Form 40, line 8.

1.

2. Enter any federal pension income 
subtracted from Oregon income on 
Form 40, line 17. See page 26.

2.

3. Net Oregon taxable pension.
Line 1 minus line 2.

3.

4. Enter $7,500 ($15,000 if married 
filing jointly).

4.

5. Enter both spouses’ total 2006 
Social Security and tier 1 Railroad 
Retirement Board benefits.

5.

6. Line 4 minus line 5, but not 
less than -0-.

6.

7. Enter your household income (to 
determine, see below).

7.

8. Household income base. Enter 
$15,000 ($30,000 if married filing 
jointly).

8.

9. Line 7 minus line 8, but not 
less than -0-.

9.

10. Line 6 minus line 9, but not
less than -0-.

10.

11. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 10. 11.

12. Multiply line 11 by 9 percent (.09). 
Enter the result here and on Form 
40, line 34.

12.

What is included in household income? Household 

income includes all taxable and nontaxable income of 

each spouse except:

• Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board 

benefits.

• Your state income tax refund.

• Pension income excluded from federal AGI that is a 

return of your contributions.

• Pensions that are rolled over into an IRA.

Any losses claimed are limited to $1,000 for each activ-

ity. Depreciation is limited to $5,000.

The credit cannot be more than your tax liability. You can-

not carry any amount that is more than your tax liability 

over to next year. You may claim this credit or the credit 

for the elderly or the disabled, line 36, but not both.

35  Child and dependent care credit. You’re allowed 

an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the fed-

eral child and dependent care credit. You may still be 

able to claim the Oregon credit even if you can’t use all 

of your federal credit.

Use the following worksheet:

1. Enter the amount from federal 
Form 2441, line 6; or Form 1040A, 
Schedule 2, line 6.

1.

2. Enter the decimal amount from the 
following table.

2.

 If your federal taxable Your

 income from Form 1040, decimal

 line 43; or Form 1040A, amount

 line 27 is: is:

 Over— But not over—

 —— $5,000 .30

 5,000 10,000 .15

 10,000 15,000 .08

 15,000 25,000 .06

 25,000 35,000 .05

 35,000 45,000 .04

 45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
the decimal on line 2. Enter here 
and on Form 40, line 35.

3.

Did you pay 2005 child care expenses in 2006? If so, 

you may be able to use that amount to increase your 

2006 Oregon child and dependent care credit. For more 

information, please contact us.

Carryforward. Your total 2006 child and dependent 

care credit can’t be more than your 2006 Oregon tax 

liability. You can carry forward any excess credit over 

the next five years. If the excess isn’t used within five 

years, it’s lost. See other credits instructions, page 31.

36  Credit for the elderly or the disabled. The Ore-

gon credit is 40 percent of your federal credit. 

You can claim an Oregon credit only if you qualify for 

the federal credit. Please complete federal Form 1040, 

Schedule R or federal Form 1040A, Schedule 3, even if 

you aren’t using the federal credit.

Multiply the amount on federal Form 1040, Schedule 

R, line 20; or Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 20, by .40 (40 

percent).

You can claim this credit or the retirement income 

credit, line 34, but not both.

Form 40 line instructions



Or, visit our website at www.oregon.gov/DOR 31

37  Political contribution credit. Fill in your total 
political contributions, up to $100 on a joint return, 

$50 on all others. Your contribution(s) of money must 
have been made during 2006 to any of the following:

• A political party.

• A qualified candidate (or the candidate’s principal 
campaign committee) for federal, state, or local office 
to be voted for in Oregon.

• A political action committee certified in Oregon.

Download the publication Political Contributions Tax 
Credit from our website or contact us to order it.

38  Credit for income taxes paid to another state. 
Did you pay income taxes to another state or 

U.S. territory on income that is also taxed by Oregon? 
If so, you may be able to claim this credit.

If you were a full-year Oregon resident and had income 
taxed by Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia, you 
cannot claim the credit on your Oregon return. How-
ever, you can claim the credit on the nonresident return 
you file with those states. If income is taxed by Oregon 
and another state not listed here, claim the credit on 
your Form 40 Oregon resident return, line 38. Please 
identify the other state on Form 40, box 38a.

If you are claiming the credit for more than one state, 
attach a statement to your return identifying the states, 
the credit for each state, and calculations for each state’s 
credit. Number the statement. Enter “ST” in box 38a. 
Enter the total for all states on line 38.

This credit is only for state income tax. You cannot 
claim this credit for city or county income tax, sales 
tax, alternative minimum tax (AMT), property tax, 
school tax, or building funds.

Your credit is the smallest of the following:

• The other state’s 2006 net tax liability.

• Your Oregon tax liability after all credits, except 
credits for income taxes paid to other states.

• The amount figured using the following formula:

 Divide your modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) 
taxed by both states by your total MAGI. Multiply 
the result by your Oregon tax after subtracting all 
other credits.

Your MAGI taxed

by both states ×
Your Oregon tax after

subtracting all other credits
Your total MAGI

Your total MAGI usually equals the sum of lines 8 and 
9 minus lines 14–17 of Form 40. Add the amount on 
Form 40, line 10, only if it’s income Oregon taxes but 
the federal government doesn’t. Subtract the amount 
on Form 40, line 18, only if it’s income the federal gov-
ernment taxes but Oregon doesn’t.

Caution: You can’t claim this credit and claim the tax 
you paid as an itemized deduction. On Form 40, line 

24, in addition to the Oregon tax you claim as an item-
ized deduction, fill in the smaller of the following:

• The other state’s 2006 tax claimed as an itemized 
deduction, or

• The other state’s 2006 net tax liability.

If the credit is based on a tax liability paid in two dif-
ferent tax years, you may be required to restore the 
deduction to Oregon income in two different tax years. 
For more information, please contact us.

You must attach a copy of the other state’s return and 

proof of payment to the back of your Oregon return.

39  Other credits. You may qualify for other credits 
listed on pages 31–32. Please identify credit(s) 

using the numeric code shown in brackets. Enter the 
numeric code on line 39a and the amount on line 39b. 
For example, if you’re claiming a $45 residential energy 
credit, enter “729” on line 39a and “$45” on line 39b. If 
you’re claiming two credits, enter the second numeric 
code on line 39c and the amount on line 39d. Fill in 
the total amount of “other credits” on line 39. If you’re 
claiming more than three “other credits,” attach a 
statement to your return with the numeric codes and 
amounts of the credits that don’t fit on the return. Add 
lines 39b, 39d, 39f, and the credit amounts on the state-
ment and enter the total on line 39. Number the state-
ment. On line 40 (total credits), write “See Stmt” and the 
statement number in the space next to the total credit. 
Example: Write “See Stmt 3” for statement number 3.

• Child and dependent care carryforward [code 704]. 
Enter the amount of unused credit from a prior year. 
The prior year carryforward plus your current year’s 
credit can’t be more than your Oregon tax liability, 
line 41. You can carry forward any excess credit from 
line 35 over the next five years. If the carryforward 
isn’t used within five years, it’s lost.

• Individual Development Account donation (IDA) 

[code 715]. If you made a charitable contribution to 
the Oregon Individual Development Account pro-
gram during 2006, you may qualify for a credit. The 
credit is the smaller of $75,000 or 75 percent of the 
donation made. It cannot be more than your 2006 
Oregon tax liability. You can carry over any excess 
for the next three years. Any federal benefit due to a 
federal deduction must be reported as an Oregon 
addition. For more information, please contact us.

• Long-term care insurance premiums [code 716]. 
You’re allowed a long-term care insurance premi-
ums credit if:

— Your policy was issued in 2000 or later, and

— You, your parents, or your dependents are the 
policy beneficiaries, and

— You paid premiums for 2006.

 The credit for single and joint filers is the smaller of 
15 percent of the premiums paid or $500. For mar-
ried filing separate filers, the combined credits on 
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the spouses’ returns can’t be more than the credit 

they would have been allowed on a joint return.

 Any federal benefit due to a federal deduction for the 

premiums must be reported as an Oregon addition. 

See page 24.

 Employers paying for long-term care insurance for 

employees may also claim this credit.

 Download the publication Long-Term Care Insurance 
Premiums Tax Credit from our website or contact us.

• Loss of use of limbs [code 717]. If you have a perma-

nent and complete loss of the use of two limbs, you 

can take a $50 tax credit. Your spouse can also claim 

a $50 credit if he or she qualifies. You can’t claim this 

credit for a dependent.

 Get a disability certification form from your county 

public health officer the first year you file for the 

credit. The health officer must sign the form. Keep 

the form with your permanent records. Do not attach 

it to your return.

 You also qualify for an additional exemption for 

severely disabled persons. See page 7.

• Oregon Cultural Trust [code 722]. If you donate to an 

Oregon nonprofit cultural organization during the 

tax year and you donate a matching amount to the 

Oregon Cultural Trust, you can claim a tax credit.

 You can claim a tax credit of up to $500 per taxpayer 

($1,000 on a joint return) for the amount you 

contributed to the Oregon Cultural Trust. Enter the 

amount you contributed to the trust on line 39. Any 

federal benefit due to a federal deduction must be 

reported as an Oregon addition. For more information, 

please contact us. For more information about the 

Oregon Cultural Trust, go to www.culturaltrust.org.

• Residential energy [code 729]. To qualify, you must 

purchase an energy efficient appliance or vehicle or 
install a solar device or ground loop system. Renters 

may qualify for this credit. For more information, go to 

the Oregon Department of Energy’s website at www.

oregon.gov/ENERGY, or call 503-378-4040 (Salem); or 

1-800-221-8035 (toll-free from an Oregon prefix).

• Rural Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) [code 742]. 

If you provide volunteer EMT services in a rural area 

you may qualify for this $250 tax credit. At least 20 

percent of your EMT services must be in a rural area. 

Go to the Office of Rural Health website at www.ohsu.

edu/oregonruralhealth for more information. If you 

qualify you will receive a confirmation of eligibility. 

You must get confirmation of eligibility from the Office 

of Rural Health each year. Keep this confirmation with 

your tax records. Do not attach it to your return.

• The following credits apply to only a few people and 

are not explained in this booklet. For more informa-

tion, go to our website or contact us.

— Adoption expenses carryforward [code 700].

— Advanced telecommunications facilities [code 701].

— Bone marrow donation program [code 702].

— Business energy [code 703].

— Business tax credits from flow-through entity 
[code 736].

— Child Care Fund contributions [code 705].

— Claim of right income repayments [code 706].

— Crop donation [code 708].

— Diesel engine replacement [code 734].

— Electronic commerce zone investment [code 710].

— Employer-provided dependent care assistance 
[code 707].

— Employer scholarship [code 711].

— Farmworker housing [code 712].

— First Break Program [code 713].

— Fish screening devices [code 714].

— IDA withdrawal for home purchase [code 738].

— Involuntary move of a mobile home from Sched-
ule MH—non-refundable [code 741].

— Low-income caregiver credit [code 718].

— Mutually taxed gain on the sale of residential 
property [code 720].

— On-farm processing machinery and equipment 
[code 721].

— Oregon production investment fund [code 737].

— Pollution control facilities [code 724].

— Reforestation of underproductive forestlands [code 
727].

— Reservation enterprise zone [code 728].

— Riparian land [code 735].

— Rural medical practitioners [code 731].

— University venture fund [code 739].

— Water transit vessel [code 740].

Tax payments and refundable credits

42  Oregon income tax withheld. Fill in the total 
Oregon tax withheld from your wages and other 

income shown on your Form(s) W-2, box 17 or on your 
Form(s) 1099. Don’t use the FICA (Social Security) tax 
withheld. Don’t use tax withheld from your wages by 
other states. Staple a readable copy of your Form W-
2 from each job and any Form(s) 1099 showing Oregon 
income tax withheld to the lower front of your return.

If you don’t have a Form W-2 or 1099, you must provide 
other proof of your Oregon tax withheld, such as a copy 
of a final paycheck stub or a letter from your employer.

If you have tax to pay this year, you may want to 
increase the amount your employer withholds from 
your 2007 wages for Oregon. Download the publica-
tion Oregon Income Tax Withholding from our website or 
contact us to order it.

43  Estimated tax payments for 2006. Fill in the 
total estimated tax payments you made before 
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filing your Oregon return. These payments were due 

April 17, 2006; June 15, 2006; September 15, 2006; and 

January 16, 2007. Include any payments you made 

with your Oregon extension. Also include any refund 

you applied to your 2006 estimated tax. If the depart-

ment adjusted your applied refund, be sure to use the 

adjusted amount. If you need to verify your estimated 

payment amounts, please contact us.

44  Earned income credit (Refundable). You’re 

allowed an Oregon earned income credit only 

if you qualify for the earned income credit on your 

federal return. Your Oregon credit is 5 percent of your 

federal credit. For example, if your federal credit is 

$400, your Oregon credit is $20 ($400 × .05).

Use the following formula to figure your credit:

1. Enter your federal earned income 
credit from Form 1040, line 66a; 
Form 1040A, line 40a; or Form 
1040EZ, line 8a.

1.

2. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
5 percent (.05). Enter the result here 
and on Form 40, line 44.

2.

If the credit is more than your tax liability, the differ-

ence will be refunded to you.

45  Working family child care credit (Refundable). 
This credit is available to low-income working 

families with qualifying child care expenses for a 

qualifying child under age 13 (or a child with a dis-

ability for whom you can claim the additional exemp-

tion credit). If the credit is more than your tax liability, 

the difference will be refunded to you. To see if you 

qualify, go to page 35.

46  Involuntary move of a mobile home credit 

(Refundable). Enter the amount from Schedule 

MH, section D, line 26. If you are claiming the non-

refundable credit, section C, line 25, do not enter your 

credit here. Enter the code and amount on Form 40, 

line 39 instead. Attach Schedule MH to your return. 

For more information download the publication from 

our website, or contact us to order it.

Penalties and interest

50  Penalty and interest. Your tax is due by April 

16, 2007. Your return is also due by April 16, 

2007, unless you file for an extension.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

• Mail your payment after April 16 (even if you have 

an extension to file).

• File your return showing tax to pay after the due 

date or extension due date.

The late-payment penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid 

balance of your tax.

If you file more than three months after the due date or 

the extension due date, a 20 percent late-filing penalty 

will be added; that is, you will owe a total penalty of 25 

percent of any tax not paid. To find out how to avoid a 

penalty, see page 5.

Interest. If you’re filing your return or paying your tax 

after April 16, 2007, include interest on any unpaid tax.

An interest period is each full month starting with the 

day after the due date. For example, April 17 to May 16 

is a full month and interest period.

The 2007 interest rate is 9 percent per year (0.750 per-

cent per month).

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a 

month. Here’s how to figure daily interest:

Tax  ×  .000247  ×  number of days

If the tax isn’t paid within 60 days from the date of our 

bill, the interest rate increases to 13 percent per year.

Note: Don’t calculate interest if you file late and expect 

a refund. It may delay processing of your refund.

51  Interest on underpayment of estimated tax. For 

2006, you’ll have an underpayment if you paid 

less than 90 percent of the tax due on each estimated 

tax payment due date.

Use Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimated Tax, to 

determine if you have an underpayment. Download the 

form from our website or contact us to order it. If you 

have an underpayment or you meet an exception, you 

must file Oregon Form 10 with your return.

If you have an underpayment, fill in the amount of inter-

est due from Form 10 on Form 40, line 51, and check the 

box. If you meet an exception, enter the exception num-

ber on line 51a. Attach Form 10 to your return.

53  Amount you owe. You may pay only with a 

check, money order, or credit card. If the amount 

is less than $2, no payment is required.

Check or money order

• Make your check or money order payable to “Ore-
gon Department of Revenue.”

• Write your daytime telephone number and “2006 

Oregon Form 40” on your check.

• Please use blue or black ballpoint ink. Do not use gel 

or red ink.

• Do not send cash or a postdated check.

• Staple your payment and the Form 40-V payment 

voucher (page 11) to your return on top of your 

Form(s) W-2 and 1099.

Credit card payment. See page 11.

Payment plan. If you cannot pay in full now, we will 

help you set up a payment plan for the amount you do 

not pay with your return. For more information, please 

contact us.
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Special instructions. Do you owe interest on line 51 

and have an overpayment on line 48? If the interest 

you owe is more than your overpayment, you have an 

amount due. Subtract line 48 from line 51 and enter the 

result on line 53.

Charitable donations. If you don’t have a refund 

but want to contribute to a charity listed on page 12, 

mail your donation to the charity’s address listed on 

our website. Please do not mail your donation to the 

Department of Revenue.

To finish your return, go to the signature block section 

on this page.

54  Refund. You must have a refund on line 54 to 

use lines 55–64.

55  Estimated tax. If you have a refund, you may 

apply part or all of it to your 2007 Oregon esti-

mated income tax. Fill in the amount you want to apply. 

Do not fill in more than the amount on line 54.

Charitable checkoffs

You can donate all or part of your refund to the chari-

ties listed on page 12. Donations will reduce your 

refund. You can donate to any or all of the charities on 

Form 40, lines 56–61. You can also donate to one char-

ity on Form 40, line 62, see page 12. Or, you can mail 

your donations to the addresses listed on our website.

For a description of the charities, go to page 12.

64  Net refund. You must reduce your refund by 

any amounts applied to 2007 estimated tax (line 

55) and donations on lines 56–62. By law, we cannot 
issue a refund if you file your return more than three 
years after the return’s due date.

Direct deposit

Form 40 65

Form 40S 35  
Direct deposit. Follow these instruc-

tions if you want us to deposit your 

refund directly into your bank account 

instead of mailing you a check:

1. Contact your bank to make sure your deposit will 

be accepted and to get your routing and account 

numbers.

2. Check the appropriate box, either checking or sav-

ings, but not both.

3. Enter your nine-digit routing number. The routing 

number must begin with 01 through 12, 21 through 

32, or 61 through 72.

4. Enter the number of the account into which you 

want your refund deposited. The account number 

can be up to 17 characters (both numbers and let-

ters). Include hyphens, but do not include spaces or 

special symbols. Enter the number left to right and 

leave any unused boxes blank.

Signature block

Signature(s). Be sure to sign and date your return. If 
you’re filing a joint return, both spouses must sign.

Minor child’s return. If your child must file a tax return, 
you may sign the child’s name as his or her legal agent. 
Sign the child’s name and then write “By [your signa-
ture], parent (or other legal guardian) of minor child.”

Preparer signature. Any person who prepares, advis-
es, or assists in preparing personal income tax returns 
for another person in exchange for payment, gifts, or 
other compensation must be licensed and must sign 
the return. Contact the following agencies for more 
information on licensing, or to check the status of your 
Oregon tax practitioner:

• State Board of Tax Practitioners in Salem, 503-378-
4034 for licensed tax consultants and licensed tax 
preparers.

• State Board of Accountancy in Salem, 503-378-4181 for 
public accountants and certified public accountants.

License number. Tax consultants, enter your license 
number. Certified public accountants, enter your cer-
tificate number. Tax-Aide volunteers, enter your TCE 
site number.

Before you file

Should I put my return together in a certain order?

Yes. To speed processing, put your Oregon return 
together as follows:

1. Start with Form 40 or Form 40S.

2. Staple Form(s) W-2 and any Form(s) 1099 showing 
Oregon tax withheld to the lower front of your Form 
40 or Form 40S.

3. Staple your check or money order and completed 
Form 40-V payment voucher (page 11) on top of 
Form(s) W-2 and/or 1099. If you’re paying by credit 
card, do not use Form 40-V.

4. If amending, attach your Oregon Amended Schedule.
5. Place a copy (front and back) of your federal Form 

1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or 1040NR-EZ behind 
your Form 40. Form 40S filers do not need to attach 
this item unless the IRS is figuring your federal tax.

6. If applicable, place these items in the following order 
behind the federal form:

• Schedule WFC, Oregon Working Family Child Care 
Credit. See page 37.

• Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimated Tax.
• Proof required to claim credit for income taxes 

paid to another state. See page 31.

• Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary 
Conversions.

• Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for 
Full-Year Residents.
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Working family child care credit

• Exempt Income Schedule for Enrolled Members of a 
Federally Recognized American Indian Tribe.

• Schedule MH, Involuntary Move of a Mobile Home.
• Statements for lines that need explanation.

7. Staple all the pages of your return together in the 
top left corner.

Do not attach extension requests, or any federal sched-
ules. Keep these with your records. We receive some 
federal information from the IRS. We may ask for cop-
ies of schedules or additional information later.

How long do I have to file my return and get a refund?

You have three years from the due date of the return 
to file a claim for refund. By law, we cannot issue a 
refund if you file your return more than three years 
after the return’s due date.

Can I make payments?

If you can’t pay in full now, we will help you set up a 
payment plan. File now and pay what you can. Call us 
as soon as possible to set up a payment plan. If you do 
not call, collection activity may begin. See page 40 for 
the numbers to call.

To avoid processing delays,

remember to:

Type or clearly print your name, Social Security num-
ber, date of birth, address, and daytime telephone 
number on your return.

Double-check your math and other figures. The most 
common mistakes are math errors and the amount 
claimed for the federal tax subtraction. Please double-

check your figures. People commonly use the wrong 

line or column on the tax tables.

Identify amounts on Form 40, lines 10, 18, and 39 as 

instructed.

Verify your bank account information if you are 

requesting direct deposit.

Sign your return (both spouses must sign a joint return).

Staple readable copies of Form(s) W-2 and 1099 show-

ing Oregon tax withheld to the front of your return.

Staple a copy of your federal return (front and back only) 

to your Form 40. Do not include federal schedules.

Staple Form 40-V, the payment voucher, with your 

check or money order to the front of your return. If 

you’re paying by credit card, do not use Form 40-V.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use a busi-

ness envelope (4 × 9½ inches) or larger and be sure to 

use enough postage. Please do not use a smaller enve-

lope—it delays processing.

Tax return mailing addresses

Mail refund returns or no-tax-due returns to:

REFUND 

PO Box 14700

Salem OR 97309-0930

Mail tax-to-pay returns to:

Oregon Department of Revenue

PO Box 14555

Salem OR 97309-0940

This refundable credit is available to low-income work-

ing families with qualifying child care expenses. To 

qualify, all of the following must be true: 

• You had at least $7,100 of earned income, and

• You had $2,800 or less of investment income (such as 

interest, dividends, and capital gains), and

• Your adjusted gross income was less than the limits 

for your household size shown on the back of Sched-

ule WFC, and

• You paid qualifying child care expenses to allow 

you (and your spouse, if married) to work or attend 

school, and

• You paid qualifying child care expenses for your 

qualifying child. A qualifying child is your child, 

step child, grandchild, step grandchild, brother, sis-

ter, stepbrother, stepsister, nephew, niece, step neph-

ew, step niece, or eligible foster child who:

— can be claimed as a dependent on your federal 

return, or

— could have been claimed as a dependent on your 
return except, as the custodial parent, you released 
the exemption to the child’s other parent under a 
decree of divorce or separate maintenance or writ-
ten declaration such as federal Form 8332, and

— was under the age of 13, or 

— was a child who qualifies for the additional 
exemption credit for a child with a disability, and

— did not provide more than one-half of their own 
support during the year, and

• Your child care provider was not the child’s parent 
or guardian, or your relative or step relative under 
age 19.

Note: If you’re married filing separately, you must 
be legally separated or permanently living apart on 
December 31, 2006, to qualify.

If you qualify, complete Schedule WFC, Oregon Work-
ing Family Child Care Credit, on page 37. Attach this 
schedule to your return.

Working family child care credit
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Schedule WFC instructions for residents
You must complete all information on the schedule. 
An incomplete schedule may result in delay or denial 
of your working family child care credit. Your refund 
may take longer to process when claiming this credit. 

Reminder: Special case Oregon residents and residents 
living abroad (including military) file as nonresidents 
on Form 40N.

Household size calculation

 Sched.

WFC 1 5–  
Your household size is the 
number of people you claim as 
exemptions on your federal tax 

return who are related to you by blood, marriage, or 
adoption and live in your home. Household size can 
include your child of whom you have primary cus-
tody, even if you allowed the child’s other parent to 
claim the exemption on their tax return. Don’t include 
people you’re entitled to claim on your tax return 
who didn’t live with you in your home during 2006 
or who aren’t related to you. For the purposes of this 
credit, a person cannot be counted in household size 
on more than one return. Enter your household size 
from Schedule WFC, line 5, on Form 40S, line 21a; or 
Form 40, line 45a.

Example 1: Rusty and Deb are not married and are 
the parents of two children. They maintain separate 
households and have joint custody of both children. 
The children live more than half the year with Deb. 
Even though the children are Deb’s qualifying children, 
she releases the dependent exemption for one child to 
Rusty. Both Rusty and Deb may claim the credit based 
on the child care expenses they paid. However, each 
needs to calculate household size separately.

Deb’s household size is three (herself, one dependent 
child whose exemption she claims, and one dependent 
child whose exemption is released to Rusty). Deb will 
enter “2” on line 1 of the schedule and “1” on line 2 for 
a total of “3” on line 5.

Rusty’s household size is one (himself). Although he 
claims one child on his tax return, the child did not 
live with him more than one-half of the year and is not 
included in his household size. Rusty will enter “2” on 
line 1 of the schedule and “1” on line 4 for a total of “1” 
on line 5.

Example 2: Jay and Rena have three qualifying chil-
dren. They also support Rena’s parents who do not live 
with them. They claim seven exemptions on their tax 
return. Jay and Rena’s household size is five, because 
only five of them live in their home. They will enter 
“7” on line 1 of the schedule and “2” on line 4 for a 
total of “5” on line 5.

Qualifying child care expenses

paid in 2006

 Sched.

WFC 6 9–  
Provider’s full name and com-

plete address. Enter the child 
care provider’s information 

in the space provided on Schedule WFC. If you have 
more than three providers, please attach a separate 
sheet with the required information.

Provider’s SSN or FEIN. You must include your provid-
er’s Social Security number, federal employer identifi-
cation number (FEIN), or individual taxpayer identifi-
cation number (ITIN).

Provider’s telephone number. Enter a daytime tele-
phone number for the provider. Important: We need 
a current telephone number to contact the provider. 
Without this, the processing of your refund may be 
delayed.

Child to provider relationship. Identify the relation-
ship of the child to the provider using the relationship 
codes on page 39. If there is no relationship between 
the child and the provider, enter “N” for “none.”

Amount paid to provider. Qualifying child care 
expenses are those paid for your qualifying child 
for the primary purpose for you (and your spouse, if 
married) to work or attend school. You can claim this 
credit even if you pay your expenses with pre-tax dol-
lars from an employer benefit plan such as a cafeteria 
plan or flexible spending arrangement. You must pay 
for the child care during 2006 for the payments to be 
qualifying child care expenses.

Qualifying child care expenses do not include amounts 
you paid for your child to attend a public or private 
school or for after school activities or sports. You can-
not claim expenses that are paid by someone else such 
as a state assistance agency or a family member. You 
can claim only the expenses you actually paid.

Example 3: Jeff works for a company that offers depen-
dent care benefits. He contributes $4,000 pre-tax each 
year to a flexible spending arrangement (FSA) plan. 
Jeff’s employer reports the $4,000 of dependent care 
benefits in box 10 of his W-2. Jeff also paid $1,000 with 
after-tax dollars. Jeff may claim the working family 
child care credit based on $5,000 in qualifying child 
care expenses.

Example 4: Lee has a five-year-old qualifying child 
who attends a local academy. He pays $750 per month 
for his child’s kindergarten and child care. Of that 
total, $500 is the contract price for child care, and $250 
is for the child’s education. Lee can only claim $500 per 
month as qualifying child care. Lee’s child attended 
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the academy for four months during the year. The total 

amount of $2,000 will be entered on line 6.

Example 5: Cate qualifies for state assistance to pay her 

child care expenses. The child care provider charges 

Cate $600 per month to care for her two qualifying 

children. Of the $600 per month, the state pays $450, 

and Cate has a co-pay of $150. Cate can only claim the 

amount she actually paid ($150 per month). She will 

enter $1,800 on line 6 of the schedule ($150 × 12 months). 

She will not include the non-qualifying expenses paid 

by the state.

Proof of qualifying child care expenses. You must be 

able to prove that you paid the child care expenses to 

claim this credit. Acceptable proof includes, but is not 

limited to, copies of:

• Canceled checks or money order stubs,

• Duplicate checks along with bank statements, and/

or

• Signed receipts from the child care provider received 

at the time of payment. Receipts must include:

— The child’s full name.

— Dates of care.

— Date and amount of child care paid.

— Name of person or agency paying.

— Provider’s name, address, and telephone number.

— Provider’s identification number (SSN/FEIN).

— The method of payment (check, money order, 

cash, etc.).

Get a separate receipt for each child and identify the 

type of care or schooling received.

The department can ask for proof when your tax 

return is being processed or at a later time. If you pay 

a relative to care for your children, you may be asked 

to provide additional information that shows you actu-

ally paid qualifying child care expenses. Be sure to ask 
for a signed receipt from your child care provider each time 
you pay for child care.

Qualifying child information 

 Sched.

WFC 10 14–  
Enter the full name of each 

qualifying child, the child’s 

Social Security number or 

ITIN, the child’s date of birth, and the child’s relation-

ship to you using the codes shown below.

Enter the portion of expenses you listed in the child 

care provider section that apply to each child. The 

amounts shown on line 9 and line 14 should always 

be the same.

Example 6: Bill paid two child care providers $5,000 

during the year for his two qualifying children, Joe 

and Lane. Of the $5,000 he paid, $3,000 was for Joe’s 

care and $2,000 was for Lane’s care. He will enter those 

amounts next to each child’s information.

Computation of credit

 Sched.

WFC
15  

You must know your federal adjusted 

gross income (AGI) to compute this 

credit. You can find your federal AGI 

on your Oregon Form 40S or Form 40, line 8. Enter 

your federal AGI on Schedule WFC, line 15. 

 Sched.

WFC
16  

Enter the total qualifying expenses 

from Schedule WFC, line 9, on Schedule 

WFC, line 16. Also enter this amount 

on Form 40S, line 21b, or Form 40, line 45b. 

 Sched.

WFC
17  

Use the table on the back of Sched-

ule WFC (page 38) that matches your 

household size, line 5. 

For example, if your household size is three, use Table 

3 to find the percentage you need to apply to your 

qualifying expenses. Enter that percentage on Sched-

ule WFC, line 17.

Schedule WFC Relationship Codes

Son ........................................................................ S
Daughter ............................................................. D
Stepson .............................................................. SS
Stepdaughter .................................................... SD
Grandchild ...................................................... GC
Niece ................................................................ NC
Nephew ..........................................................NW
Sister/Brother ...................................................SB

Eligible foster child ..........................................EF
Aunt .................................................................... A
Uncle ................................................................... U
Cousin ............................................................... CS
Sister-in-law ......................................................SL
Brother-in-law ..................................................BL
Other relative ..................................................... O
None ....................................................................N

Schedule WFC instructions for residents
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Taxpayer assistance
Printed information (free)

Income tax booklets are available at many post offices, 
banks, and libraries. For booklets and other forms and 
publications, you can also access our website, order by 

telephone, or return the form below.

Internet www.oregon.gov/DOR

• Download forms and publications

• Get up-to-date tax information

• E-mail: questions.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure. Do 
not send any personal information. 
General questions only.

Check your refund at www.oregonrefund.com

Correspondence

Write to: Oregon Department of Revenue, 

955 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301-2555. 

Include your Social Security number and a 

daytime telephone number for faster service.

Telephone

Salem ..............................................................503-378-4988

Toll-free from an Oregon prefix .................1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to:

• Check on the status of your 2006 

personal income tax refund 

(beginning February 1).

• Order tax forms.

• Hear recorded tax information.

For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers above:

Monday through Friday ................................... 7:30 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
Closed Thursdays from 9:00 a.m.–11:00 a.m. Closed on holidays.

Extended hours during tax season:
April 2–April 16, Monday–Friday .................. 7:00 a.m.–7:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 14 ............................................... 9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary.

Asistencia en español:

 Salem .........................................................503-945-8618

 Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon .................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):

 Salem .........................................................503-945-8617

 Toll-free from an Oregon prefi x ..........1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the 

help numbers for information in alternative formats.

Field offices

Get forms and assistance at these offices. Do not send 
your return to these addresses.

Bend 951 SW Simpson Avenue, Suite 100

Eugene 1600 Valley River Drive, Suite 310

Gresham 1550 NW Eastman Parkway, Suite 220

Medford 3613 Aviation Way, #102

Newport 119 NE 4th Street, Suite 4

North Bend 3030 Broadway 

Pendleton 700 SE Emigrant, Suite 310

Portland 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 505

Salem Revenue Building, 955 Center Street NE, Room 135  

Salem 4275 Commercial Street SE, Suite 180

Tualatin 6405 SW Rosewood Street, Suite A

Check individual boxes to order. Complete name and address section. 

Clip on the dotted line, then mail the entire list to the address below.

Forms and instructions

 Forms 40S & 40, Full-Year Resident  ......................150-101-043

 Forms 40P & 40N, Part-Year & Nonresident  ......150-101-045

 Form 40-EXT, Oregon Automatic Extension

and Payment Voucher  ..............................................150-101-165

 Estimated Income Tax Payment Instructions 

and Vouchers ...........................................................150-101-026/-2

 Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon 

Estimated Tax ............................................................... 150-101-031

 Oregon Amended Schedule .................................150-101-061

 Form 90R, Elderly Rental Assistance  ...................150-545-002

 Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/

Involuntary Conversions  .......................................  150-800-734

 Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging 

for Full-Year Residents................................................150-101-160

 Form FIA-40N, FIA-40P, and Schedule Z, Oregon 

Farm Income Averaging for Nonresidents 

and Part-Year Residents ............................................150-101-161

Publications

 2-D Barcode Filing for Oregon  ................................. 150-101-631

 Audits: What To Do if You Are Audited  .................150-101-607

 Computing Interest on Tax You Owe  ...................150-800-691

 Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Another State  .....150-101-646

 Divorce and Taxes  ......................................................150-101-629

 Electronic Filing for Oregon .....................................150-101-630

 Estimated Income Tax  ...............................................150-101-648

 Income Tax Filing Extension  ....................................150-101-660

 Interstate Transportation Wages (Amtrak Act)  .....150-101-601

 Itemized Deductions Limit  ........................................150-101-611

 Married Persons Filing Separate Returns .............150-101-656

 Military Personnel Filing Information  ..................150-101-657

 Record-Keeping Requirements  ...............................150-101-608

 Retirement Income  ....................................................150-101-673

 Working Family Child Care Credit for Parents  ....150-101-462

 Your Rights as an Oregon Taxpayer  .................... 150-800-406

 List of other printed information: 

Form and Publication Order  ..................................150-800-390

Send to: Forms, Oregon Department of Revenue

PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990

Please print

Name _____________________________________________

Address ___________________________________________

City ______________________________________________

State ___________________ ZIP Code _______________

✂
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