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Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.2

Important reminders

New information
Federal tax liability subtraction. The federal tax sub-
traction limit has increased to $5,000 ($2,500 if married 
filing separately). See page 25.

Standard deduction amounts. The standard deduc-
tion amounts have changed. See page 24.

Federal law changes. Tuition and fees deduction, edu-
cator expenses deduction, and sales tax deduction 
expired at the time this publication was printed, Novem-
ber 1, 2006. There are no changes to the Oregon return 
for these items unless Congress reinstates these laws.

Oregon Military Emergency Financial Assistance Pro-

gram. This is a new charitable checkoff. See page 32.

Oregon earned income credit (EIC). This credit is based 
on your federal EIC and is now refundable. Form 40N 
and 40P filers will multiply their Oregon EIC by their 
Oregon percentage. If the credit is more than your tax 
liability, the difference will be refunded to you. See 
page 30 to see if you qualify.

New credits. Involuntary move of a mobile home. This 
credit is available for tax years 2006 and 2007. Down-
load Involuntary Move of a Mobile Home and Schedule MH 
from our website or contact us to order them. Rural 
Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) and univer-
sity venture fund credits are also new this year. For 
more information, go to our website or contact us.

Electronic filing

Electronic filing (e-file) is a fast, 
efficient, and accurate way to file. 
Download the publication Elec-
tronic Filing for Oregon from our website or to order it, 
see page 40.
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Filing extension. Use Form 40-EXT to obtain an auto-

matic six-month extension of time to file your 2006 

Oregon return. See page 13.

Credit card payments. The department accepts credit 

card payments for 2006 current year tax balances due, 

2007 estimated taxes, and any prior year tax. See page 31.

Direct deposit. The Department of Revenue can 

deposit your refund directly into your account at most 

banks or other financial institutions. For direct depos-

it, contact your bank to make sure your deposit will be 

accepted and to get your correct routing and account 

numbers. The Department of Revenue is not respon-

These instructions are not a 

complete statement of laws and 

Oregon Department of Revenue rules. 

You may need more information or forms. 

See page 40.
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General information
Should I file an Oregon return?

You must file an Oregon income tax return if your 

Oregon source income and income received while an 

Oregon resident is more than your standard deduction.

If your Oregon income is less than your standard deduc-

tion, you’re not required to file a return for Oregon.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from all 

sources.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from all 

sources earned or received while you were an Oregon 

resident. Oregon also taxes your income from Oregon 

sources while you were a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes only your income from 

Oregon sources.

Filing thresholds

You must file an Oregon income tax return if:

Your filing status is: Age: And your Oregon 

income is more than:

Can be claimed on 

another’s return
Any $850*

Single
Under 65 $1,840

65 or over $3,040

Married, joint return 

Both under 65 $3,685

One 65 or over $4,685

Both 65 or over $5,685

Married, separate return

If spouse claims 

standard deduction

Under 65 $1,840

65 or over $2,840

If spouse itemizes 

deductions 
Any $0

Head of household
Under 65 $2,965

65 or over $4,165

Qualifying widow(er)
Under 65 $3,685

65 or over $4,685

* The larger of $850 or your earned income plus $300, up to your 

stan dard deduction amount for your filing status.

What does income from Oregon 

sources include?

Oregon income includes income shown on your fed-

eral return for services performed in Oregon.

If you have wages from an Oregon employer for servic-

es performed in Oregon and another state while you 

were a nonresident, and your Oregon wages are not 

stated separately on your W-2, compute your Oregon 

source income using the following formula:

Days actually worked in Oregon
×

Total 

wages
=

Oregon 

wagesDays actually worked everywhere

Do not include holidays, vacation days, and sick days 

as actual work days. However, you must include sick 

pay, holiday pay, and vacation pay in total wages. You 

must attach an explanation from your employer. If 

Oregon is the only state you worked in, do not use this 

formula; all your earnings are taxable and must be 

reported in the Oregon column.

Example: Savannah lives in Idaho but works in Oregon. 

Of her 260 total days paid, she worked 138 days in Ore-

gon and 92 days from her home in Idaho. She received 

14 days vacation pay, eight days sick pay, and eight days 

holiday pay. She earned $50,000 in wages. She figured 

the amount subject to Oregon tax as follows:

 Total days paid 260

 Less: Vacation days (14 )

  Sick days (8 )

  Holidays (8 )

 Total days worked everywhere 230

Days actually worked in Oregon (138)
×

$50,000 

(Total wages)
= $30,000

Days actually worked everywhere (230)

Savannah’s compensation reported in the federal col-

umn, Form 40N, line 8F is $50,000 and in the Oregon 

column, Form 40N, line 8S is $30,000.

sible if your bank rejects your deposit. If it does, we 

will issue a paper check. See page 33.

Direct debit not available. Oregon does not allow 

electronic funds withdrawal (direct debit) from your 

checking or savings account to pay your Oregon tax. 

This option is available through the Internal Revenue 

Service to pay federal tax, but not for Oregon tax. If 

you have any questions, please call us.

Federal law. Oregon is tied to the federal definition of 

taxable income.* Oregon will automatically adopt any 

future federal law changes to the definition of taxable 
income.

*Exception: The domestic production activities deduction 
from the federal return is not allowed on the Oregon return. 
If you claimed this deduction on your federal return, you’ll 
have an addition on your Oregon return. See page 20.

Blue or black ink. Please use blue or black ballpoint ink 
for easier reading and faster processing. Equipment 
used to scan documents cannot read gel ink or certain 
colors of ink, especially red; using them could delay 
the processing of your return.

General information
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The following are considered other income from Ore-

gon sources:

• Businesses, partnerships, limited liability companies 

taxed as partnerships, and S corporations located or 

doing business in Oregon—income (losses).

• Unemployment compensation received because of 

an Oregon job.

• Severance pay received because of an Oregon job.

• Oregon farm income (losses).

• Oregon estate and trust income (losses).

• Sale of Oregon property income (losses).

• Rents and royalties for use of Oregon property.

• Community property income. If you’re a resident of 

Oregon and your spouse is a resident of a state with 

community property laws, you may be taxed on 

part of your spouse’s income. Community property 

laws in the state where your spouse lives determine 

if you’re taxed on any of your spouse’s income. You 

may need more information from the state where 

your spouse lives. Go to our website for links to oth-

er states’ tax websites.

What income is not included in Oregon sources?

• Interest and dividends. However, if they’re from an 

Oregon business you own, or are received during 

the part of the year you were a resident, you must 

include them in Oregon income.

• Interstate transportation wages from an interstate 

railroad company, interstate motor carrier, air carrier, 

or motor private carrier. You must be a nonresident 

and have regularly assigned duties in more than one 

state. Download the publication Interstate Transporta-
tion Wages (Amtrak Act) from our website or to order 

it, see page 40.

• Oregon retirement income received while you were 

a nonresident unless you were domiciled in Oregon. 

See “Pensions and annuities” on page 18.

• Waterway or hydroelectric dam compensation, if 

you’re a nonresident:

— Working as crew or pilot on a vessel on a river 

between Oregon and another state, or 

— Working on a dam that spans a river between 

Oregon and another state.

• Military pay of a nonresident.

Residency

Am I a resident, nonresident, or part-year resident? 

The following will help you decide:

• You’re a full-year Oregon resident, even if you live 

outside Oregon, if all of the following are true:

— You think of Oregon as your permanent home, and

— Oregon is the center of your financial, social, and 
family life, and

— Oregon is the place you intend to come back to 
when you’re away.

 You’re still a full-year resident if:

— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or

— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary 
absence.

 You may also be considered a full-year resident if you 
spent more than 200 days in Oregon during 2006, or 
you’re a nonresident alien as defined by federal law.

• You’re a nonresident if your permanent home was 
outside Oregon all year.

• You’re a part-year resident if you moved into or out of 
Oregon during 2006. You’re not a part-year resident if:
— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or

— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary 
absence.

Special case Oregon residents. If you’re an Oregon 
resident and you meet all the following conditions, 
you’re considered a nonresident for tax purposes:

• You’re an Oregon resident who maintained a perma-
nent home outside Oregon the entire year, and

• You didn’t keep a home in Oregon during any part of 
2006, and

• You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during 2006.

Note: A recreational vehicle (RV) is not considered a 
permanent home outside of Oregon.

Oregon residents living abroad. Generally, you’re 
considered a nonresident if you qualify for the fed-
eral earned income exclusion or housing exclusion for 
United States residents living abroad.

Filing status

Generally, you must use the same filing status for your 
Oregon and federal returns.

Exceptions for married persons when each spouse has 

a different Oregon residency status:

• Full-year resident and part-year resident. You may 
file separate Oregon returns. If you file separate 
returns for Oregon, you must use the married filing 
separately status. The full-year resident will file Form 
40, and the part-year resident will file Form 40P. If you 
choose to file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40P.

• Full-year resident and nonresident. You may file 
separate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns 
for Oregon, you must use the married filing sepa-
rately status. The full-year resident will file Form 40, 

Instructions continued on page 13
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and the nonresident will file Form 40N. If you choose 
to file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N.

• Part-year resident and nonresident. You may file sep-
arate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns for 
Oregon, you must use the married filing separately 
status. The part-year resident will file Form 40P, and 
the nonresident will file Form 40N. If you choose to 
file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N. 

Need more information? Download the publication 
Married Persons Filing Separate Returns from our web-
site or to order it, see page 40.

Military personnel

Nonresidents stationed in Oregon. Oregon does not 
tax your military pay while you’re stationed in Oregon. 
File Form 40N if you or your spouse had income from 
other Oregon sources or to claim a refund of Oregon 
tax withheld from your military pay.

Residents stationed outside Oregon. If you meet the 
requirements for special case Oregon residents or Ore-
gon residents living abroad, file Form 40N. See “Residen-
cy” on page 4. File Form 40 from the Full-Year Resident tax 
booklet if you don’t meet the listed requirements.

Residents stationed in Oregon. If you’re an Oregon 
resident stationed in Oregon, file Form 40 from the 
Full-Year Resident tax booklet.

Need more information? Download the publication 
Military Personnel Filing Information from our website 
or to order it, see page 40.

Filing for a deceased person

You must file a final return for a person who died dur-
ing the calendar year if a return normally would be 
required. See “Should I file an Oregon return?” on 
page 3. If a return is filed, please check the “deceased” 
box on the return. For more information, download 
Survivor’s Information from our website or contact us to 
order it.

If you’re filing a return and claiming a refund for 
someone who is now deceased and there is no court-
appointed or certified personal representative, file 
Form 243, Claim to Refund Due a Deceased Person, with 
the return. This will allow us to issue the refund check 
in your name. Download the form from our website or 
contact us to order it.

What form do I use?

Use Form 40N if any ONE of the following is true:

• You’re a nonresident, or

• You’re a special case Oregon resident (see “Special 
case Oregon residents” on page 4), or

• You and your spouse are filing jointly and one (or 
both) of you is a nonresident, or

• You meet the military personnel nonresident require-
ments explained on this page, or

• You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 
for the entire year.

Use Form 40P if any ONE of the following is true:

• You’re a part-year resident, or

• You and your spouse are filing jointly and one of you 
is a part-year resident and the other is a part-year or 
full-year resident, or

• You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 
for part of the year.

Use Form 40 or 40S if any ONE of the following is true:

• You’re a full-year resident, or

• You and your spouse are both full-year residents fil-
ing jointly.

Forms 40 and 40S are included in the Full-Year Resident 
booklet. Download the booklet from our website, or to 
order it, see page 40.

When should I file my return?

The filing deadline for calendar year 2006 is April 16, 
2007. If you cannot pay all of your tax by the due date, 
file your return anyway to avoid a late-filing penalty.

Returns for other tax periods are due by the 15th day 
of the fourth month after the close of your tax year.

What if I need more time to file?

If you need more time to file, you can request an exten-
sion. Complete an Oregon extension form, Form 40-
EXT, if:

• You’re making a tax payment to Oregon and you 
cannot file your Oregon return by April 16, 2007, or

• You’re filing an extension for Oregon only.

Extensions must be filed by the due date of the return, 
April 16, 2007.

If you received a federal extension and you’re expect-
ing an Oregon refund, do not use Form 40-EXT. Oregon 
will allow you the same extension. Be sure to check 
box 7b on your Oregon return. Do not attach a copy of 
your federal extension to your Oregon return. Keep a 
copy of your federal extension with your records.

If you need to complete Form 40-EXT, download the 
form from our website or to order it, see page 40.

An extension does not mean more time to pay!

You must pay all tax you expect to owe when you file 
your extension. If you don’t pay all the tax due with 
your extension, you’ll owe interest on the unpaid bal-
ance after April 16, 2007, until the date of your pay-

General information
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ment. The 2007 interest rate is 9 percent per year. If the 

tax is not paid within 60 days of the date of our billing 

notice, the interest rate increases to 13 percent per year. 

You may also owe a late-payment penalty.

Were you stationed in a designated combat zone?

If you were stationed in a designated combat zone 

and received additional time to file your 2006 federal 

return and pay your 2006 tax, Oregon allows the same 

additional time to file and pay. Write “Combat zone” 
in blue or black ink at the top of your return.

Penalties

You will owe a 5 percent late-payment penalty on any 

2006 tax not paid by April 16, 2007. See page 30.

If you file more than three months after the due date 

or extension due date, a 20 percent late-filing penalty 

will be added and your total penalty will be 25 percent 

of any unpaid tax.

There is an exception to paying a penalty. For Form 40N, 

line 68 or Form 40P, line 67 instructions, see page 30.

A 100 percent penalty is charged if you do not file a 

return for three consecutive years by the due date of 

the third year, including extensions. The penalty is 100 

percent of the unpaid tax for each of the three years.

Interest on underpayment of 

estimated tax

You may owe interest on underpayment of estimated 

tax if:

• You owe $1,000 or more on your return after credits 

and withholding, or

• You paid less than 90 percent of the tax due on each 

estimated tax payment due date.

For Form 40N, line 69 or Form 40P, line 68 instructions, 

see page 31.

2007 estimated tax

Estimated tax is the amount of tax you expect to owe 

after credits and Oregon tax withheld when you file 

your 2007 Oregon individual income tax return.

Oregon estimated tax laws are not the same as federal 

estimated tax laws. Use Oregon instructions to decide if 

you need to make estimated tax payments for 2007.

Who must make estimated tax payments?

In most cases, estimated tax payments must be made by 

people who expect to owe $1,000 or more on their 2007 

Oregon income tax return after credits and withhold-

ing. You may need to make estimated payments if:

• You’re self-employed and don’t have Oregon tax 
withheld from your income.

• You received Oregon Lottery single ticket winnings 
of less than $5,000. (Note: Single ticket winnings of 
$5,000 or more are subject to Oregon withholding.)

• You receive income such as pensions, interest, or 
dividends, and Oregon tax is not withheld.

• You’re a wage earner and expect to owe tax of 
$1,000 or more on your 2007 return. You may want 
to increase the amount your employer withholds 
from your Oregon wages. Download the publication 
Oregon Income Tax Withholding from our website or 
contact us to order it.

When do I pay?

The due dates for 2007 taxes are April 16, 2007;* June 15, 
2007; September 17, 2007; and January 15, 2008.

If paying with a check or money order, send your pay-
ment with Form 40-ESV, Oregon Estimated Income Tax 
Payment Voucher. Download the publication from our 
website or to order it, see page 40.

* Please send your 2007 estimated tax payment and Ore-
gon Form 40-ESV in a separate envelope from your 2006 
Oregon income tax return. This will help us credit your 
payment more efficiently.

What if I’m self-employed?

If you’re self-employed and do business in Mult-
nomah, Clackamas, or Washington counties, you may 
also need to file Form TM, TriMet Self-Employment Tax 
Return. If you’re self-employed and do business in Lane 
County, you may need to file Form LTD, Lane Transit 
District Self-Employment Tax Return. Go to our website to 
download the forms, or contact us to order them.

Frequently asked questions

Is my tax return private information?

Yes. All information provided on the return is confi-
dential. Any Oregon Department of Revenue employee 
who gives out confidential information without your 
permission may be convicted of a Class C felony.

I’m getting an income tax refund this year. How long 

will it take to process?

Once the department begins processing part-year and 
nonresident returns (usually by March 1), your return 
will be processed in the time frames listed below. If you 
claim the Working Family Child Care Credit (WFC) or 
your return needs additional review for another rea-
son, your return will take longer to process. Return 
processing time frames after March 1:

• E-file return .....................................7–12 business days

• Mail return (before April 1) ........................ 6–8 weeks

• Mail return (on or after April 1) ................8–11 weeks

General information
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Instructions for Forms 40N and 40P

I’m moving. Will my refund check be forwarded to me?

Yes. If you move after you file your return, give us 

your new address. Download a Change of Address 

form from our website or contact us. Remember to file 

a Change of Address form with your local post office.

What tax records do I need to keep?

You need to keep:

• A complete copy of both your federal and state 

returns, even if you use a tax practitioner or file elec-

tronically.

• All original receipts, canceled checks, statements, 

and other records you used to prepare your return. 

Save these records for at least three years from the 

due date of the return or three years from the date 
you file your return, whichever is later. If your 

return is audited, the law says you must show proof 

of your income and expenses.

• All records from the sale, purchase, or exchange of 

property and investments. Keep these records for at 

least three years after you report the gain or loss on 

the property or investment.

Download the publication Record-Keeping Requirements 
from our website or to order it, see page 40.

What if I need to change my Oregon return after filing?

File an amended return. Use Form 40N or Form 40P to 
change (amend) your 2006 return. Check the amended 
return box in the upper left corner of the form. You 
must also complete and attach the Oregon Amended 
Schedule to your 2006 amended return. Download the 
schedule and instructions from our website or to order 
it, see page 40.

Generally, you’re allowed three years from the due 
date of the return to file an amended return to claim a 
refund. If you need assistance, please contact us.

What if I’m audited by the IRS or another state?

If the IRS or another state makes changes that increase 
your Oregon taxable income, file an amended return to 
report and pay additional tax. If the changes reduce Ore-
gon taxable income, you have two years from the date of 
the audit report to file an amended return to claim a 
refund. Include a copy of the audit report with your 
amended return.

Step 1: Fill out your federal form.

Your Oregon tax is determined using the ratio of your 

Oregon source income to your entire federal income. 

Fill out your federal return first, then your Oregon 

return. You must attach a copy (front and back) of your 

federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or 1040NR-

EZ to your Oregon tax return. Do not attach any fed-
eral schedules. We may ask for copies of schedules or 

additional information later.

See “What tax records do I need to keep?” above.

Step 2: Select the appropriate form.

To decide whether to use Form 40N or 40P, see page 13.

Step 3: Fill out the Oregon form.

Residency

Enter the dates you were an Oregon resident during 

2006. For example, “01/01/2006 to 04/15/2006,” or 

“03/01/2006 to 12/31/2006.”

Fiscal year filers only

Write the end date of your fiscal year in the space. 
Write “Fiscal year” in blue or black ink at the top of 
your return.

Name and address

Type or clearly print your name, Social Security num-
ber, date of birth, address, and daytime telephone num-
ber on your return. If the taxpayer died in 2006 or 2007, 
please check the “deceased” box next to their name. 
If you are married filing separately do not fill in your 
spouse’s name and SSN here, enter it on line 3 instead.

Social Security number (SSN). The request for your SSN 
is authorized by Section 405, Title 42, of the United States 
Code. You must provide this information. It will be used 
to establish your identity for tax purposes only.

Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN). If 
the IRS issued you an ITIN because you don’t have 
a Social Security number, enter your ITIN wherever 
your SSN is requested. If you don’t have an ITIN, you 
need to request one from the IRS. Do not attach your 
ITIN application (federal Form W-7) to your Oregon 
tax return. Write “applied for” wherever your SSN 

Form 40N and 40P instructions
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is requested and file the return by April 16, 2007. For a 
copy of Form W-7, go to the IRS website at www.irs.gov 
or call the IRS toll-free at 1-800-829-1040.

Date of birth. Enter the month, day, and year you were 
born. For example, “09/22/1976.”

Check the boxes

Filing status

1 5–  Check the box next to your filing status. 
If you file as head of household, enter 

the name of a person who qualifies you for head of 
household filing status next to box 4. Please enter only 
one name.

Check the same filing status you checked on your 
federal return. Exception: If you and your spouse do 
not have the same residency status, you may file sepa-
rate returns for Oregon even if you filed your federal 
return as married filing jointly. To determine which 
filing status to use for Oregon, see page 4.

How to file separate returns for Oregon

If you’re married filing separately (MFS), enter your 
spouse’s first name, last name (first four letters only), 
and Social Security number next to box 3. Do not fill in 
your spouse’s name or Social Security number in the 
heading of the return.

If you file separate returns for Oregon only, report 
your own share of federal adjusted gross income (AGI) 
and deductions. Also, report your share of any Oregon 
additions or subtractions using this formula to deter-
mine your percentage:

Your share of federal AGI
=

Your percentage 

(not to exceed 100%)Joint federal AGI

Write “MFS for Oregon only” in blue or black ink at 
the top of your return. Attach the following to both 
Oregon returns:

• A federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or 
1040NR-EZ prepared as if you had filed married fil-
ing separately, and

• A copy of the joint Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, 
or 1040NR-EZ you actually filed.

If possible, mail both spouses’ Oregon returns in the 
same envelope. Do not staple the returns together.

Download the publication Married Persons Filing Sepa-
rate Returns from our website or to order it, see page 40.

Exemptions

6a 6b&  Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself” 
and other boxes that apply. If someone 

else can claim you as a dependent (even if they did 
not), do not check “Yourself;” instead enter -0- in the 
total box on 6a unless you have a severe disability.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability at the 
end of 2006? If so, you may claim an additional exemp-
tion credit. This credit is different from the exemption 
credit for a child with a disability. You may claim the 
severely disabled exemption even if someone else can 
claim you as a dependent. You’re considered to have a 
severe disability if any of the following apply:

• You permanently lost the use of one or both feet, or

• You permanently lost the use of both hands, or

• You are permanently blind, or

• You have a permanent condition that, without special 
equipment or outside help, limits your ability to:

— Earn a living, or

— Maintain a household, or

— Transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include items such as eyeglass-
es, contact lenses, ordinary crutches, or hearing aids.

You don’t qualify for this exemption if: 

• You have a temporary disability from an injury or 
illness and are expected to recover, or

• Your condition keeps you from doing your former 
work but doesn’t prevent you from doing other kinds 
of work without special equipment.

Note: Deafness alone is not a qualifying disability.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your phy-
sician must write a letter describing your disability. 
Keep the letter with your permanent records in case 
we request a copy.

If you qualify, check the “Severely disabled” exemp-
tion box on line 6a. If your spouse qualifies, check the 
“Severely disabled” exemption box on line 6b. You 
and your spouse may also qualify for the loss of use of 
limbs credit. For more information, please contact us.

6c  All dependents. Enter the number of your 
dependents in box 6c. Write their first names 

on the line. In most cases, you must claim the same 
dependents that are on your federal return.

6d  Children with a disability. You may be entitled 
to an additional personal exemption for your 

dependent child who has a qualifying disability. To 
qualify, all of the following must be true:

• Your child qualified as your dependent for 2006, and
• Your child was eligible for “early intervention ser-

vices,” or received special education as defined by 
the state board of education where the child attends 
school, and

• Your child was considered to have a disability as 
of December 31, 2006 under the federal Individuals 
with Disabilities Education Act. Eligible disabilities 
include:

— Autism.

— Deaf-blind.

— Hearing impairment.
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— Mental retardation.

— Multiple disabilities.

— Orthopedic impairment.

— Other health impairment.

— Serious emotional disturbance.

— Traumatic brain injury.

— Visual impairment.

Note: Learning disabilities or communication disorders 

alone do not qualify.

Get a statement of eligibility that confirms one of the 

disabilities listed on the previous page and above and 

a cover sheet from one of the following:

• The child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP), 

or

• The child’s Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP).

Keep the statement and cover sheet with your perma-

nent records. Write your child’s name on line 6d, “Dis-

abled children only.” Also include the child’s name on 

line 6c for “All dependents.”

7a  Age 65 or older, or blind. Check the boxes on line 

7a if you or your spouse were age 65 or older or 

blind on December 31, 2006. You’re entitled to a larger 

standard deduction on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 44.

If you or your spouse are permanently blind, you may 

also qualify for the severely disabled exemption credit. 

For box 6a and 6b instructions, see page 16.

7b  Extension. If you filed for an extension, check box 

7b. For more information, see page 13.

7c  Federal Form 8886. If you filed federal Form 

8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure Statement, 
check box 7c.

7d  Oregon Form 24. Did you file federal Form 8824 

because you’re deferring gain on exchanged 

property? If so, check the box on line 7d. Also, com-

plete and attach Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/
Involuntary Conversions. Download the form from our 

website or to order it, see page 40.

7e  State School Fund. If there is a kicker refund, 

do you wish to donate your kicker refund to 

the State School Fund? If so, check box 7e. The fund is 

used for public elementary and secondary education. 

The kicker amount, if any, will be determined in the 

fall of 2007. If you check the box, any kicker refund that 

you would have received in 2007 based on your 2006 

Oregon income tax will be sent directly to the State 

School Fund. If you check the box, you cannot change 
your decision for the 2006 tax year.

Form 40N and 40P line instructions

The following instructions are for lines not fully 

explained on the forms.

Amended return. If you’re amending your 2006 return, 

check the box in the upper left corner of Form 40N or 

Form 40P and attach the Oregon Amended Schedule.

Do not fill in cents. You must round off cents to the 

nearest whole dollar. For example, $99.49 becomes 

$99.00 and $99.50 becomes $100.00.

The forms have two columns for figures. These are to 

compare your total federal adjusted gross income (col-

umn F) to the portion of your federal adjusted gross 

income that Oregon taxes (column S).

Federal column (F) instructions, 

lines 8F–30F

The first column is labeled “Federal column (F).” For 

lines 8F–30F of the federal column, fill in the same 

amounts you reported on your federal return. If you 

have adjustments on your federal return that are not 

shown on lines 22–27, see page 20 for instructions on 

filling out lines 28F and 28S.

Line 30F, “Income after adjustments,” must match 
your 2006 federal adjusted gross income from federal 

Form 1040, line 37; Form 1040A, line 21; Form 1040EZ, 

line 4; Form 1040NR, line 35; or Form 1040NR-EZ, line 

10. If it does not match, check that you wrote your feder-

al figures correctly. If you need help, please contact us.

Oregon column (S) instructions, 

lines 8S–30S

The second column is labeled “Oregon column (S).” 

Use this column to list the amounts from the federal 

column that Oregon taxes.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes only your income from 

Oregon sources. To compute your Oregon source 

income, see “What does income from Oregon sources 

include?” on page 3.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from all 
sources earned or received while you were an Oregon 

resident. Oregon also taxes your income from Oregon 
sources while you were a nonresident. To compute 

your Oregon source income, see “What does income 

from Oregon sources include?” on page 3.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from all 
sources. All amounts included in the federal column 

should also be included in the Oregon column.

8S  Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Part-
year residents—fill in amounts you earned 

while an Oregon resident and any amounts you earned 

working in Oregon while you were a nonresident. 

Full-year residents—fill in all income included in the 

federal column.
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Nonresidents—fill in the amount earned while working 
in Oregon. If that amount differs from the Oregon wages 
on your W-2 form, you must attach an explanation from 
your employer to your return and attach a statement 
explaining your calculations. If your Oregon wages are 
not stated separately on your W-2, compute your Oregon 
source income using the following formula:

Days actually worked in Oregon
×

Total 

wages

(line 8F)

=

Oregon 

wages

(line 8S)Days actually worked everywhere

Do not include holidays, vacation days, and sick days 
as days actually worked. However, you must include 
sick pay, holiday pay, and vacation pay in total wages. 
See the example on page 3. If Oregon is the only state 
you worked in, do not use this formula; all your earn-
ings are taxable and should be reported in the Oregon 
column. If line 8S doesn’t match your W-2, attach a 
statement explaining your calculations.

Exceptions:

• If you’re a nonresident with interstate transportation 
wages, you may qualify for special treatment under 
the Amtrak Act. Download the publication Interstate 
Transportation Wages (Amtrak Act) from our website 
or to order it, see page 40.

• Nonresidents who work on Bonneville, The Dalles, 
John Day, or McNary dam should exclude this 
income from the Oregon column. Write the name of 
the dam you work on at the top left corner of the 
return. Please use blue or black ink.

• Nonresidents who work as crew or pilots on a ves-
sel on the Columbia River or Snake River waterway 
should exclude this income from the Oregon column. 
Write “Waterway” at the top left corner of the return. 
Please use blue or black ink.

• Nonresident members of the U.S. Armed Forces sta-
tioned in Oregon should not enter their military pay 
in the Oregon column. Military pay of a nonresident 
is not Oregon source income. Do not report it in the 
Oregon column on line 8S. Write “Military nonresi-
dent” at the top left corner of the return. Please use 
blue or black ink.

9S  Taxable interest income. Determine the amount 
of interest income you received while you were 

a nonresident on funds used for business activity in 
Oregon. Add any interest included on your federal 
return that you received during the part of the year 
you were an Oregon resident.

10S  Dividend income. Determine the amount of 
dividends received from an Oregon business 

activity source while you were a nonresident. This 
includes dividends passed through to you from an S 
corporation or partnership doing business in Oregon. 
These are dividends your S corporation or partnership 
received on the stock of another corporation. Add any 
dividend income included on your federal return that 

you received during the part of the year you were an 
Oregon resident.

11S  State and local income tax refunds. Enter the 
amount reported on your federal return that is:

• A refund from Oregon or any other state or local-
ity for which you claimed a deduction on an Oregon 
return in a prior year, or

• A refund received during the part of the year you 
were an Oregon resident.

12S  Alimony received. Fill in alimony you received for 
the part of the year you were an Oregon resident.

13S  Business income or loss. Determine the amount 
of income or loss from an Oregon business 

activity for the part of the year you were a nonresident. 
Add all business income or losses incurred during the 
part of the year you were a resident of Oregon. 

14S  Capital gain or loss. Determine the amount of 
gain or loss and capital gain distributions from 

Oregon sources for the part of the year you were a non-
resident. Add the amount of your capital gains received 
and losses incurred during the part of the year you 
were an Oregon resident. Limit losses to $3,000 ($1,500 
if married filing separately).

15S  Other gains or losses. Determine the amount of 
gain or loss from Oregon sources for the part of 

the year you were a nonresident. Add the gain received 
or loss incurred during the part of the year you were 
an Oregon resident.

16S  IRA distributions. Determine the amount of any 
taxable individual retirement arrangement (IRA) 

distributions you received while an Oregon resident. 
Include any amounts you converted from a regular IRA 
into a Roth IRA while you lived in Oregon. If you lived 
in another state when you made contributions to your 
IRA, you may need more information. If so, please con-
tact us.

17S  Pensions and annuities. Enter the amount of tax-
able pensions and annuities (including federal 

pensions) you received while an Oregon resident. Do not 
include any Railroad Retirement Benefits (RRB-1099-R). 
If you’re domiciled in Oregon, you must also include any 
Oregon source pensions you received. This is true even 
though you may qualify as a nonresident under the tests 
for special case Oregon residents or Oregon residents 
living abroad. See page 4.

For example, if you lived in Oregon before you retired 
and have not changed your permanent home to anoth-
er state, you must report the pension you earned while 
you worked in Oregon. If you get a federal pension, you 
may qualify for a subtraction on lines 37F and 37S. See 
page 21. If you need help, please contact us.

18S  Rents, royalties, partnerships, limited liability 

companies, real estate investment trusts (REITs), 

estates, trusts, etc., from federal Schedule E. Deter-
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mine the income you received and losses incurred from 

Oregon sources during the part of the year you were a 

nonresident. Add the amount received or incurred dur-

ing the part of the year you were an Oregon resident. 

Partners and S corporation shareholders may need 

more information. If so, please contact us.

19S  Farm income or loss. Determine the amount 

of income received or loss incurred from an 

Oregon farm while you were a nonresident. Add the 

amount of farm income received or loss incurred dur-

ing the part of the year you were an Oregon resident.

20S  Unemployment compensation, taxable Social 

Security, and all other taxable income. Deter-

mine the amount of unemployment compensation and 

any other taxable income you received during the part 

of the year you were an Oregon resident. Add unem-

ployment compensation or severance pay received 

because of an Oregon job, and any other Oregon source 

income you received while you were a nonresident. 

Don’t include Social Security, Railroad Retirement 

Board benefits, or Railroad Retirement Board unem-

ployment benefits; Oregon doesn’t tax this income.

Include all payments received from the Oregon Lottery 

in the Oregon column. Oregon Lottery includes Pow-

erball tickets you purchased in Oregon. To determine 

whether you can subtract some or all of this amount on 

lines 37F and 37S, see page 23.

Adjustments to income

22S  IRA or self-employed SEP and SIMPLE contri-

butions. Oregon follows the federal definition 

of earned income and compensation used to calculate 

your IRA and other retirement plan deductions. Deter-

mine the amount you paid during the part of the year 

you were an Oregon resident. Add the amount calcu-

lated for the time you were a nonresident.

• IRA. Use the following formula to determine your 

deduction for the part of the year you were a non-

resident:

Oregon compensation

while a nonresident
×

IRA 

contributions 

made while a 

nonresident

=
Nonresident

deductionTotal compensation

while a nonresident

 This deduction cannot be more than the amount of 

Oregon compensation included in the Oregon column.

• Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans. 

Use the following formula to determine your allow-

able deduction for the part of the year you were a 

nonresident:

Oregon earned income

while a nonresident
×

Contributions 

made while a 

nonresident

=
Nonresident

deductionTotal earned income

while a nonresident

 This deduction cannot be more than the amount of 

earned income included in the Oregon column.

23S  Education deductions. The following instruc-

tions will help you figure the amount you can 

claim on your Oregon return.

• Student loan interest deduction from federal Form 

1040, line 33; or Form 1040A, line 18.

 Use the following formula to calculate your deduc-

tion for any part of the year you were a nonresident:

Oregon source income 

while a nonresident
×

Student loan 

interest paid 

while a 

nonresident

=
Nonresident 

deductionTotal income from all 

sources while a nonresident

 Add all interest paid during the part of the year 

you were an Oregon resident. Enter the result or the 

amount on line 23F, whichever is less.

24S  Moving expenses. Fill in moving expenses only 

if:

• You qualified to take them on your federal return, and

• They are connected with gaining employment in 

Oregon, or 

• You paid the qualified moving expenses after mov-

ing to Oregon to take a job in another state.

Otherwise, enter -0-.

Example 1: Sofia moved from California to Washing-

ton to take a job in Oregon. She may claim her federal 

moving expenses in both the federal and the Oregon 

columns.

Example 2: David left Oregon to take a job in another 

state. He cannot claim any of his moving expenses in 

the Oregon column. He may only claim them in the 

federal column.

Example 3: Camille moved from Michigan to Oregon 

in May 2006, to begin work in Washington. She paid 

her moving expenses in June 2006. While the expenses 

are not related to Oregon employment, Camille can 

claim them in both columns because they were paid 

after she became an Oregon resident.

25S  Deduction for self-employment tax. Use the fol-

lowing formula to determine the amount of your 

self-employment tax on earnings taxed by Oregon:

Self-employment earnings

taxed by Oregon
×

Federal 

deduction for 

self-employment 

tax

=
Oregon 

deductionTotal self-employment 

earnings

The Oregon deduction cannot be more than the federal 

deduction.

26S  Self-employed health insurance deduction. 

Oregon allows a deduction of 100 percent of 

your health insurance premiums related to your self-

employment for the part of the year you were an Ore-
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gon resident. Add the health insurance premiums paid 

by your Oregon business while a nonresident. Your 

total Oregon deduction cannot be more than your fed-

eral deduction.

27S  Alimony paid. Determine if the alimony you paid 

to your former spouse is deductible for federal 

purposes. If so, figure the Oregon deduction as follows 

for the part of the year you were not an Oregon resident:

Oregon source income

while a nonresident
×

Alimony 

paid while a 

nonresident

=
Nonresident 

deductionTotal income

while a nonresident

Add to that amount the alimony you paid while you 

were a resident.

28F/S  Other adjustments to income. On line 28F (fed-

eral column), include any of the other adjust-

ments, listed below, that you claimed on your federal 

return. On line 28S (Oregon column), enter the amount 

of other adjustments you’re entitled to claim for Ore-

gon. Please identify the other adjustment(s) using the 

numeric code shown in brackets. For example, if you’re 

claiming a $500 health savings account deduction on 

your federal return, enter “003” on line 28a and “$500” 

on line 28b. If you’re claiming more than one “other 

adjustment,” attach a statement to your return with the 

numeric codes and amounts for the federal column of 

the adjustments that don’t fit on the return. Add line 

28b and the adjustments on the statement and enter the 

total on line 28F. Determine the amount for Oregon and 

enter it on line 28S. Number the statement. Write “See 

Stmt” and the statement number in the space next to 

total adjustments, line 29F. Example: Write “See Stmt 3” 

for statement number 3. 

“Other adjustments” claimed on federal return:

• Archer MSA deduction from federal Form 1040, line 

23 [code 007].

• Certain business expenses of reservists, performing 

artists, and fee-basis government officials from fed-

eral Form 1040, line 24 [code 002].

• Domestic production activities deduction from fed-

eral Form 1040, line 35 [code 006].

 Note: If you claimed a domestic production activi-

ties deduction on your federal return, you will have 

an addition on your Oregon return. Oregon does not 

allow this deduction. See page 21.

• Health savings account deduction from federal Form 

1040, line 25 [code 003].

• Jury duty pay you gave to your employer from fed-

eral Form 1040, line 34 [code 008].

• Penalty on early withdrawal of savings from federal 

Form 1040, line 30 [code 004].

• Any other adjustment to income reported on federal 

Form 1040, line 36 [code 005].

Additions

Generally, additions are items the federal government 
does not tax but Oregon does. Additions increase the 
income taxed by Oregon.

31F/S  Interest and dividends on state and local gov-

ernment bonds outside Oregon.

Federal column. If you didn’t include this income in 
your federal income, fill in the amount of interest and 
dividends you received from state and local govern-
ments outside Oregon.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any 
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—if you 
didn’t include this income on line 9S or 10S, fill in the 
amount of interest and dividends you received from 
state and local governments outside Oregon while you 
were an Oregon resident.

32F/S  Federal election on interest and dividends of 

a minor child. Did you report interest or divi-
dends of your minor child on your federal return? If 
so, you must add the amount subject to the special fed-
eral tax to Oregon income.

Federal column. Fill in the smaller of line 13 or 14 from 
federal Form 8814. Add any interest or dividends your 
child received from state and local governments out-
side Oregon.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any 
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—fill in 
interest and dividends received while the minor child 
was an Oregon resident. Include interest and divi-
dends your child received while an Oregon resident 
from state and local governments other than Oregon.

33F/S  Other additions. You may need to report one 
or more other additions explained here. Please 

identify the addition(s) using the numeric code shown 
in brackets. Enter the numeric code on line 33a and the 
amount for the federal column on line 33b. For exam-
ple, if you’re reporting a $1,000 addition for a depre-
ciation difference for Oregon, enter “101” on line 33a 
and “$1,000” on line 33b. If you’re reporting two addi-
tions, enter the second numeric code on line 33c and 
the amount for the federal column on line 33d.

If you’re claiming more than two “other additions,” 
attach a statement to your return with the numeric codes 
and amounts for the federal column of the additions that 
don’t fit on the return. Add lines 33b, 33d, and the addi-
tion amounts on the statement and enter the total on line 
33F. Determine the amount for Oregon and enter it on 
line 33S. Number the statement. Write “See Stmt” and the 
statement number in the space next to total additions, line 
34F. Example: Write “See Stmt 3” for statement number 3. 
For more information, go to our website, or contact us.

• Depreciation difference for Oregon [code 101]. Is 
your depreciation for Oregon purposes different from 
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your depreciation for federal purposes? If so, you’ll 
need the Oregon Depreciation Schedule. Part-year 
residents and nonresidents may need to complete two 
depreciation schedules. Download the schedule from 
our website or contact us to order it.

• The following additions apply to only a few people 
and are not explained in this booklet. Make the addi-
tions in both the federal and Oregon columns as 
appropriate. For more information, please contact us.

— 529 Oregon College Savings Network plan non-
qualified withdrawal [code 117].

— Basis adjustments [code 101].

• Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property 
with different basis for Oregon.

• Passive activity losses.

— Claim of right income repayments [code 103].

— Disposition of inherited Oregon farmland or for-
estland [code 106].

— Domestic production activities deduction [code 102].

— Fiduciary adjustments [code 100].

• Accumulation distribution from a trust.

• Federal estate tax on income in respect of a 
decedent.

• Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and 
trusts.

— Individual Development Account [code 113].

— Itemized or business deduction addback for Ore-
gon credits [code 104].

• Contributions to: Child Care Fund, Oregon 
Cultural Trust, Oregon Production Investment 
Fund and university development fund.

• Long-term care insurance premiums.

— Net operating loss, non-Oregon source [code 116].

— Oregon deferral of reinvested capital gain [code 
118].

— Partnership and S corporation modifications for 
Oregon [code 119].

— Specially taxed income under federal law [code 115].

• Lump-sum distributions from a qualified retire-
ment plan.

• Passive foreign investment income.

— Unused business credit [code 122].

Subtractions

Generally, subtractions are items the federal govern-
ment taxes but Oregon does not. Subtractions reduce 
the income taxed by Oregon.

36F  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement 

Board benefits. Subtract Social Security and 
tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits only if you 
included them in the federal column on line 20F.

37F/S  Other subtractions. You may qualify for one or 
more other subtractions explained in this sec-

tion. Please identify the subtraction(s) using the numer-

ic code shown in brackets. Enter the numeric code on 
line 37a and the amount for the federal column on line 
37b. For example, if you’re claiming a $2,000 military 
pay subtraction, enter “319” on line 37a and “$2,000” 
on line 37b. If you’re claiming two subtractions, enter 
the second numeric code on line 37c and the amount 
for the federal column on line 37d.

If you’re claiming more than two “other subtractions,” 
attach a statement to your return with the numeric 
codes and amounts for the federal column of the sub-
tractions that don’t fit on the return. Add lines 37b, 
37d, and the subtractions on the statement and enter 
the total on line 37F. Determine the amount for Oregon 
and enter it on line 37S. Number the statement. Write 
“See Stmt” and the statement number in the space next 
to income after subtractions, line 38F. Example: Write 
“See Stmt 3” for statement number 3. For more infor-
mation, go to our website or contact us.

• Claim of right income repayments [code 302]. Were 
you taxed in a prior year on income that you’re repay-
ing, such as unemployment compensation? If so, you 
may be able to subtract the income you repaid. For 
more information, please contact us.

• Depreciation difference for Oregon [code 304]. 
Is your depreciation for Oregon purposes differ-
ent from your depreciation for federal purposes? If 
so, you’ll need the Oregon Depreciation Schedule. 
Part-year residents and nonresidents may need two 
schedules. Download the schedule from our website 
or contact us to order it.

• Federal pension income [code 307]. You may be 
able to subtract some or all of your federal pension 
included in 2006 federal income. This includes ben-
efits paid to the retiree or the beneficiary. The sub-
traction amount is based on the number of months 
of federal service before and after October 1, 1991:

— If all your months of federal service were before 
October 1, 1991, subtract 100 percent of the taxable 
amount of federal pension income you reported on 
your federal return. 

— If you have no months of service before October 
1, 1991, you cannot subtract any federal pension.

— If your service was both before and after October 
1, 1991, you will subtract a percentage of the taxable 
federal pension income you reported on your fed-
eral return. To determine your percentage, divide 
your months of service before October 1, 1991, by 
your total months of service. Round to three places 
(example: .4576 = 45.8 percent). Once you determine 
the percentage, it will remain the same year to year. 
For more than one pension, figure the percentage 
and subtraction separately for each pension.

 Example: Delaney began working for the U.S. Forest 
Service May 27, 1971, and retired January 7, 2005. She 
worked 244 months before October 1, 1991, and a total 
of 403 months. Delaney moved to Oregon May 31, 
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2006. She can subtract 60.5 percent (244 ÷ 403) of her 

taxable federal pension. She will use this percentage 

for both her federal column and her Oregon column. 

She will multiply the percentage by the amount in 

each column to determine the correct subtraction for 

each column. She will continue to subtract 60.5 per-

cent of her taxable federal pension in future years.

 Use the following worksheet to determine your sub-

traction amount for each column:

 Federal column

1. Federal pension included in fed-
eral column, Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 17F.

1.

2. Divide months of service before 
October 1, 1991, by total months of 
service. Enter the percentage here.

2.

3. Multiply line 1 by line 2. Enter here 
and on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 
37b. Also enter “307” in box 37a 
and remember to carry the total of 
all subtractions to line 37F.

3.

Oregon column

4. Federal pension included in Ore-
gon column, Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 17S.

4.

5. Percentage from line 2, above. 5.

6. Multiply line 4 by line 5. Enter here 
and on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 
37S.

6.

To avoid processing delays or adjustments, make 

sure your federal pension income is on the correct 

line and attach a copy of your federal return.

• Interest and dividends on U.S. bonds and notes 

[code 315].

 Federal column. On Form 40N or Form 40P, line 37F, 

fill in interest and dividends from the U.S. govern-

ment that you included on lines 9F and 10F. Add U.S. 

government interest and dividends you received 

through partnerships or grantor trusts. Enter “315” in 

box 37a and the amount in box 37b.

 Examples: 

— You can subtract interest from U.S. Series EE, HH, 

and I bonds and Treasury bills and notes.

— You can subtract interest and dividends paid to 

you by organizations that invest in U.S. govern-

ment securities. Check the information on your 

Form 1099. The payer may have given the percent-

age of interest and dividends from U.S. govern-

ment securities. Download the publication Inter-
est and Dividends on U.S. Bonds and Notes from our 

website or contact us to order it.

— You must reduce U.S. government interest by any 
interest expense relating to U.S. government obli-
gations you deducted on your federal Schedule A.

— Don’t include interest on federal tax refunds in 
either column. 

— If you reported interest or dividends of your minor 
child on your federal return, you may subtract 
any U.S. government interest included.

 Oregon column. If you included interest and divi-
dends from the U.S. government on lines 9S and 10S 
of the Oregon column, enter the amount on line 37S.

 Note: When you sell or dispose of a U.S. govern-
ment obligation, you must include any gain or loss 
in income.

• Interest from local government bond [code 317].

 Federal column. The U.S. government taxes certain 
types of local government bond interest such as pri-
vate activity bond interest. If you included interest 
from Oregon bonds on your federal return, enter 
“317” in box 37a and the amount in box 37b. Remem-
ber to carry total subtractions to line 37F.

 Oregon column. On line 37S, enter Oregon local gov-
ernment bond interest if you included it in Oregon 
income on line 9S.

• Military active duty [code 319]. Did you report U.S. 
military pay in income on line 8F or 8S? If so, you 
may qualify for a subtraction.

 The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act was signed 
into federal law on December 19, 2003. According to 
the act, military pay received by a nonresident, or by 
a part-year resident while a nonresident of Oregon, 
cannot be used to compute Oregon tax. This is retro-
active and you may be able to amend your prior year 
return. See Oregon Amended Schedule for time limits.

 Federal column. Nonresidents—you can subtract all 
your military pay from the wages you reported in 
the federal column on line 8F.

 Full-year and part-year residents—you can subtract 
the following from the wages you reported in the 
federal column on line 8F:

— All military pay received during the part of the 
year you were a nonresident, and

— All active duty pay earned outside Oregon during 
the part of the year you were a resident, and

— Up to $3,000 active duty pay earned in Oregon 
during the part of the year you were a resident.

 If you’re a member of the Oregon National Guard, you 
may be eligible for an additional active duty pay subtrac-
tion. See the top of page 23.

 Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t enter any 
amount. Military pay of a nonresident is not Oregon 
source income and should not be reported on line 8S. 
There is nothing to subtract.
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 Full-year and part-year residents—you can subtract 
the following from the wages you reported in the 
Oregon column on line 8S:

— All active duty pay earned outside Oregon during 
the part of the year you were a resident, and

— Up to $3,000 active duty pay earned in Oregon 
during the part of the year you were a resident.

 You may be eligible for an additional active duty pay 
subtraction if you meet all of the following conditions:

— You were an Oregon resident at any time since 
2001, and

— You served as a member of the Oregon National 
Guard under U.S. Code Title 32, and

— You were called to active duty status under U.S. 
Code Title 10, and

— You were stationed in Oregon.

 If you meet all the conditions above, you can subtract 
all of the Oregon National Guard active duty pay you 
earned while you served under Title 10 in Oregon. 
You can subtract the amount from both the federal 
and Oregon columns. This subtraction is available 
for tax years starting on or after January 1, 2001. You 
may be able to amend your prior year tax returns to 
claim this subtraction. See Oregon Amended Schedule 
for time limits.

 Note: Your military pay subtractions in each column 
cannot be more than your total military pay includ-
ed in that column.

• Oregon Lottery winnings [code 322]. Oregon does 
not tax Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or less per 
ticket; however, the federal government does. Oregon 
Lottery includes Powerball tickets you purchased in 
Oregon, but does not include winnings from tribal 
gaming centers in Oregon.

 Federal column and Oregon column. You can subtract 
the following from the winnings you reported on 
lines 20F and 20S:

— Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or less from 
each single ticket or play, and 

— Oregon Lottery annual payments from tickets 
purchased prior to 1998.

 Example 1: Cheryl had winnings of $200 playing 
an Oregon Lottery scratch-off ticket in 2006. This 
income is included on lines 20F and 20S. Oregon 
does not tax Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or less 
per single ticket or play. Cheryl can subtract the $200 
she won on the scratch-off ticket from both columns 
of her return. 

 Example 2: David won two prizes in 2006—$1,000 
playing Oregon Lottery video poker and $500 playing 
an Oregon Lottery Keno game. David must include 
$1,500 on lines 20F and 20S, however, Oregon will not 
tax the $500 he won playing Keno. He can subtract 
$500 on his Oregon return in both columns because 

the winnings were from a single game and below the 

$600 limit. He cannot subtract any of the $1,000 he 

won playing video poker, because the prize was more 

than $600 and is fully taxable to Oregon.

 Note: Are you claiming gambling losses as an item-

ized deduction? If so, you may need to reduce your 

deduction. See instructions for Form 40N or Form 40P, 

line 46, page 26. If you need help, please contact us.

• Oregon income tax refund included in federal 

income [code 325]. This subtraction is for Oregon 

state income tax refunds only. Do not include other 

local, county, or other states’ tax refunds.

 Federal column. Enter your Oregon state income tax 

refund only if you included it on line 11F of the fed-

eral column.

 Oregon column. Enter your Oregon state income tax 

refund only if you included it on line 11S of the Ore-

gon column.

• Railroad Retirement Board benefits [code 330].

 Federal column. Enter your tier 2, supplemental, 

windfall, and vested dual Railroad Retirement 

Board benefits included on line 17F. Add railroad 

unemployment benefits from line 20F.

 Oregon column. Don’t enter any amount. Oregon 

does not tax Railroad Retirement Board benefits or 

Railroad Retirement Board unemployment benefits.

• The following subtractions apply to only a few peo-

ple and are not explained in this booklet. For more 

information, go to our website or contact us. Make 

the subtraction in both the federal and Oregon col-

umns as needed if you included the related income 

in both columns. Enter the code and amount for the 

federal column in boxes 37a through 37d. See page 

21 for instructions if you have more than two “other 

subtractions.” For more information, go to our web-

site or contact us.

— 529 Oregon College Savings plan [code 324].

— American Indian [code 300].

— Basis adjustments [code 304].

• Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property 

with a different basis for Oregon.

• Passive activity losses.

• Suspended losses.

— Capital Construction Fund (CCF) [code 339].

— Composite return (Form 40N only) [code 341].

— Construction worker and logger commuting 

expenses [code 303].

— Domestic partner benefits [code 305].

— Federal business credits [code 340].

— Federal gain previously taxed by Oregon [code 306].

— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and 

trusts [code 310].

— Film production labor rebate [code 336].
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— Hurricane Katrina Housing [code 337].

— Individual Development Account [code 314].

— IRA conversions previously taxed [code 327].

— Land donation to educational institutions [code 316].

— Mobile home park capital gain [code 338].

— Net operating loss [code 321].

— Oregon investment advantage [code 342].

— Partnership or S corporation modifications for 
Oregon [code 323].

— Public Safety Memorial Fund award [code 329].

— Scholarship awards used for housing expenses 
[code 333].

— Tsunami relief contributions-Federal law discon-
nect [code 334].

— U.S. government interest in IRA or Keogh distri-
butions [code 331].

39  Oregon percentage. Divide the amount on line 
38S by the amount on line 38F. Round the decimal 

to three places. Write the result as a percentage on line 39. 
Don’t fill in more than 100 percent or less than -0-.

      Oregon percentage 

Example Line 38S  Line 38F  Line 39

 1 $8,000 ÷ $30,000 = .266666 Round to .267 (26.7%)

 2 (1,000) ÷ 15,000 = -0- (0%)

 3 20,000 ÷ 15,000 = 1.333 Limited to 1.000 (100.0%)

If the amount on line 38S is greater than the amount on 
line 38F, your Oregon percentage is 100 percent. This is 
true even when line 38F is a negative number.

Deductions and modifications

You can claim either net itemized deductions or Oregon’s 

standard deduction, whichever is larger, but not both.

If you claim itemized deductions fill in lines 41–43. If you 
claim the standard deduction fill in line 44 instead.

Note: If you’re married filing separately and one 
spouse itemizes, both spouses must itemize deduc-
tions. Are you filing separate returns for Oregon only? 
If so, determine your share of itemized deductions by 
multiplying your total joint deductions by the percent-
age you figured on page 16 or you can separate each 
spouse’s itemized deductions if you can clearly iden-
tify your own itemized deductions.

41  Itemized deductions. You can claim your total 
itemized deductions after federal limitations 

shown on federal Schedule A, line 28. You can claim 
itemized deductions for Oregon even if you don’t have 
enough deductions to itemize on your federal return.

If you itemize for Oregon only, fill out a federal 
Schedule A for Oregon purposes. Use your federal 
adjusted gross income to figure the Schedule A limita-
tions. Be sure to include your state taxes even when 
itemizing for Oregon only, then subtract your Oregon 
state income tax on line 42. Remember to keep Sched-
ule A with your tax records.

42  State income tax claimed as an itemized deduc-

tion. Write the amount of Oregon state income 

tax you claimed as an itemized deduction on federal 

Schedule A, line 5. Do not include local or county 

income tax amounts.

Are you claiming a credit for income taxes paid to 

another state and deducting the other state’s taxes on 

Schedule A? If so, include the other state’s 2006 net 

tax liability or the other state’s 2006 tax claimed as an 

itemized deduction, whichever is less. For instructions 

on Form 40N, line 56 or Form 40P, line 55, see page 28.

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal 

return because your adjusted gross income (AGI) was 

more than $150,500 ($75,250 if married filing sepa-

rately)? If so, you may need to complete a worksheet 

to figure the correct amount of Oregon income tax 

to subtract from itemized deductions. Download the 

publication Itemized Deductions Limit from our website 

or to order it, see page 40.

44  Standard deduction. Generally, your standard 

deduction is based on your filing status, as fol-

lows:

Single .........................................................  $1,840

Married filing jointly ................................  3,685

Married filing separately

 If spouse claims standard deduction ....  1,840

 If spouse claims itemized deductions ....  -0-

Head of household ...................................  2,965

Qualifying widow(er) ...............................  3,685

Standard deduction—Age 65 or older, or blind. If you or 

your spouse are age 65 or older, or blind, you’re entitled 

to a larger standard deduction amount. Use the chart 

below to determine your larger standard deduction.

1. Are you:  65 or older?   Blind?

 If claiming spouse’s exemption, 

is your spouse:  .....................  65 or older?   Blind?

2. If your 

filing status 

is...

And the number of 

boxes checked in 

step 1 is...

Then your 

standard 

deduction is...
Single 1 $ 3,040

2 4,240
Married filing 

jointly

1 4,685
2 5,685
3 6,685
4 7,685

Married filing 

separately

1 2,840
2 3,840
3 4,840
4 5,840

Head of 

household

1 4,165
2 5,365

Qualifying 

widow(er)

1 4,685
2 5,685
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Fill in the total standard deduction on Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 44.

Standard deduction—Dependents. If someone else 
can claim you as a dependent, your standard deduc-
tion is limited to the larger of:

• Your earned income plus $300, up to the maximum 
allowed for your filing status as shown on page 24; or

• $850.

The limit applies even if you can be claimed as a depen-
dent on another person’s return, but are not claimed by 
the other person.

Use the following worksheet to figure your standard 
deduction unless you are married. If you are a depen-
dent and married, please contact us.

Standard deduction worksheet for single dependents:

1. Enter your earned income. (See 
definition below.)

1.

2. Additional $300. 2. 300

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.

4. Minimum standard deduction. 4. 850

5. Enter the larger of line 3 or line 4. 5.

6. Basic standard deduction for single. 6. 1,840

7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 6. 7.

8. If you’re under age 65, enter -0-. If 
you’re age 65 or older, enter $1,200.

8.

9. If you’re not blind, enter -0-. If 
you’re blind, enter $1,200. 

9.

10. Add lines 7, 8, and 9. Enter the total 
here and on Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 44. This is your standard 
deduction.

10.

Earned income is salaries, wages, tips, professional fees, 
or other amounts received as pay for work you actually 
perform, and any part of a scholarship or fellowship 
grant that you must include in your gross income.

Standard deduction—Nonresident aliens. The stan-
dard deduction for nonresident aliens (as defined by 
federal law) is -0-.

45  2006 federal tax liability. Carefully follow the 
instructions below. Don’t confuse your federal 

tax liability on your federal return with the federal tax 
withheld on your Form(s) W-2. They are not the same.

You may deduct your total federal income tax liability 
after credits, up to $5,000. Don’t fill in less than -0- or 
more than $5,000 ($2,500 if married filing separately).

1. Enter your federal tax liability 
from Form 1040, line 57; Form 
1040A, line 35; Form 1040EZ, line 
11; Form 1040NR, line 52; or Form 
1040NR-EZ, line 15.

1.

2. Enter your tax on qualified retire-
ment plans, Form 1040, line 60; or 
Form 1040NR, line 55, the recapture 
taxes you included on the dotted 
line of Form 1040, line 63; or Form 
1040NR, line 58; and the amount on 
Form 1040NR, line 53.

2.

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.

4. Enter $5,000 ($2,500 if married fil-
ing separately).

4.

5. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 
4 here and on Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 45.

5.

Caution: Don’t include any of the following on line 2 

above.

• Self-employment tax.

• Social Security and Medicare tax on tips.

• Advance earned income credit payments.

• Household employment taxes.

Your federal tax liability on line 45 plus your federal 

tax from a prior year and foreign tax on line 46 cannot 

exceed $5,000 ($2,500 if married filing separately).

If you’re married filing separately for Oregon only, 

multiply your joint federal tax liability (after credits) 

by the percentage calculated on page 16. Each spouse 

is limited to a maximum subtraction of $2,500.

Are you amending your 2006 return? See the Oregon 
Amended Schedule instructions to figure your subtrac-

tion for federal tax liability.

Did you pay additional federal tax in 2006 because you 

were audited or filed an amended return? If so, read the 

instructions for Form 40N or Form 40P, line 46.

46  Other deductions and modifications. Only a 

few people have other deductions and modi-

fications. Please identify the deduction or modifica-

tion using the numeric code shown in brackets. For 

example, if you’re reporting a foreign tax deduction, 

enter “603” on line 46a and the amount on line 46b. 

If you have more than one, attach a statement to your 

return that identifies the deductions or modifications. 

Modifications can be either additions or subtractions. 

Enter the total amount of these items on line 46. If the 

net amount is an addition, please clearly bracket it. For 

example, “[200].”

• Artists who make a charitable art donation (part-

year residents only) [code 600]. Download the publi-

cation Artist’s Charitable Contribution Subtraction from 

our website or contact us to order it. Nonresidents, 
see Form 40N, line 48 instructions on page 26.

• Federal income tax refunds [code 601]. Did you get a 

federal tax refund in 2006 because you were audited 

or amended a prior year return? If so and you sub-
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tracted that amount on a prior Oregon return, fill in 
and clearly bracket this addition on line 46.

• Federal tax from a prior year [code 602]. Did you pay 
additional federal tax in 2006 because you were audit-
ed or amended a prior year’s return? If so, you may 
be able to deduct the additional tax. This deduction 
applies only to additional tax you paid because your 
return was changed. It doesn’t include the tax from 
the original return or interest or penalties you paid.

 Use the following worksheet to figure your deduc-
tion for federal tax from a prior year.

1. Enter $5,000 ($2,500 if married 
filing separately).

1.

2. Enter your federal tax liability from 
Form 40N or Form 40P, line 45.

2.

3. Line 1 minus line 2. If the result 
is -0-, you cannot deduct your 
federal tax paid for a prior year. 
If greater than -0-, enter the 
result on line 3.

3.

4. Enter the amount of federal tax 
you paid for a prior year.

4.

5. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 
4 here and on Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 46.

5.

• Foreign tax [code 603]. Did you pay tax to a foreign 
country in 2006? You may deduct this tax if you:

— Took a foreign tax credit on your federal return, or
— Didn’t take a foreign tax credit and didn’t itemize 

deductions on your federal return.

 This subtraction is limited to $3,000 ($1,500 if mar-
ried filing separately).

For more information, go to our website or contact us. 

• Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction 

[code 604]. Did you have winnings from the Oregon 
Lottery and claim gambling losses on your federal 
Schedule A? If so, fill in and clearly bracket, on line 
46, the addition for the gambling losses claimed as an 
itemized deduction that exceed gambling winnings 
taxed by Oregon.

• Income in respect of a decedent [code 605]. If you 

claimed a deduction for federal estate tax, you may 

have a modification. For more information, please 

contact us.

• Mortgage interest credit [code 607]. If you claimed 

the mortgage interest credit on your federal return 

and you are itemizing deductions on your Oregon 

return, you may have a deduction. For more infor-

mation, please contact us.

• Special Oregon medical deduction [code 606]. Were 

you or your spouse age 62 or older on December 31, 

2006? If so, enter the amount from federal Schedule A, 

line 1 or line 3, whichever is less. To claim this deduc-

tion, you must itemize your deductions for Oregon.

Form
40N 47

Allowable deductions and modifica-

tions. Complete the worksheet below to 

determine the deductions and modifi-

cations you’re entitled to claim.

1. Enter amount from either Form 
40N, line 43; or Form 40N, line 44, 
whichever is larger.

1.

2. Enter amount from Form 40N, line 45. 2.

3. Enter amount from Form 40N, line 46. 3.

4. Add together amounts from lines 1, 
2, and 3 above. Enter result here.

4.

5. Enter your Oregon percentage from 
Form 40N, line 39, here.

5.

6. Multiply the amount from line 4 by 
the amount on line 5 above. Enter 
result here and on Form 40N, line 47.

6.

Form
40N 48

Deductions and modifications not mul-

tiplied by Oregon percentage.

• Artists who make a charitable art 

donation [code 600]. Artists who make a charitable 

art donation may take a full deduction. Download the 

publication Artist’s Charitable Contribution Subtraction 

from our website or contact us to order it.

2006 Tax Rate Charts

S  Tax Rate Chart

 For persons filing

 Single or married filing separately

If your taxable income is:  ............Your tax is:

Not over $2,750 ............................5% of taxable income

Over $2,750 but  ...........................$138 plus 7% of the 
not over $6,850 excess over $2,750

Over $6,850 ...................................$425 plus 9% of the
 excess over $6,850

J  Tax Rate Chart

 For persons filing

 Jointly, head of household, or qualifying 

widow(er) with dependent child

If your taxable income is:  ...........Your tax is:

Not over $5,500 ...........................5% of taxable income

Over $5,500 but  ..........................$275 plus 7% of the 
not over $13,700 excess over $5,500

Over $13,700 ................................$849 plus 9% of the
 excess over $13,700
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Oregon tax

Form
40N 51  

Form
40P 49  

Tax from tax rate charts. 

Figure the tax on your 

taxable income, Form 

40N, line 50; or Form 40P, line 48. If you use the farm 

income averaging method or the farm asset capital 

gain method, see below. If not, go to the tax rate charts 

on page 26. Enter your tax amount on Form 40N, line 

51 and check box 51a; or Form 40P, line 49. Please dou-

ble-check that the tax you entered is correct. 

Example: A married couple’s Oregon taxable income is 

$29,500. They are filing jointly. They will use chart J for 

married filing jointly. They figure their tax like this:

Chart J

Oregon taxable income $29,500

Subtract – 13,700

15,800

Multiply by 9% × .09

1,422

Then add + 849

Their Oregon tax is $2,271

Form
40N 51  

Form
40P 50  

Tax from farm income 

averaging method or 

farm asset capital gain 

method. If you qualify, you can compute your Oregon 

tax using one of the following methods:

Farm income averaging method. You can use the fed-

eral farm income averaging method to compute your 

Oregon tax even if you didn’t use farm income averag-

ing on your federal return. Only Oregon source farm 

income is considered elected farm income. 

Use Form FIA-40N, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for 
Nonresidents, or Form FIA-40P, Oregon Farm Income Aver-
aging for Part-Year Residents, to calculate your tax on your 

farm income and your other Oregon income. Download 

the form from our website or to order it, see page 40.

1. Form 40N: Enter the tax amount from Form FIA-40N, 

line 19, on Form 40N, line 51, and check box 51b.

 Form 40P: Enter the tax amount from Form FIA-40P, 

line 18, on Form 40P, line 50, and check box 50a.

2. Attach a copy of Form FIA-40N or Form FIA-40P or 

Worksheet FCG to your return.

Farm asset capital gain method. Did you sell or 

exchange capital assets primarily used in farming 

because you were getting out of a farming business? 

Or, did you sell or exchange a farming partnership, 

corporation, or other farming entity where you held 

at least a 10 percent ownership interest? If the sale or 

exchange was not to a family member and you were 

getting out of a farming business completely, you may 

be eligible for a reduced tax rate on the net capital gain 

from the proceeds of the sale or exchange. 

Use Worksheet FCG, Farm Liquidation Long-Term Capital 
Gain Tax Rate, to calculate tax on your net farm capital 

gain and your other Oregon income. Download the 

worksheet from our website or contact us to order it.

Nonresidents. Enter the tax amount from Worksheet 

FCG, line 7, on Form 40N, line 51. Check box 51c labeled 
“Worksheet FCG.” Do not attach a copy of Worksheet 

FCG to your return. Keep a copy with your records.

Part-year residents. Enter the tax amount from Work-

sheet FCG, line 8, on Form 40P, line 50. Check box 50b 
labeled “Worksheet FCG.” Do not attach a copy of 

Worksheet FCG to your return. Keep a copy with your 

records.

Note: Form 40P filers using Form FIA-40P or Worksheet 

FCG do not enter an amount on Form 40P, line 49.

52  Interest on certain installment sales. Did you 

have installment sales that required you to pay 

interest on the deferred tax liability for federal purpos-

es? If so, you must also compute interest for Oregon. 

The amount due for Oregon is computed the same way 

as for federal. The interest rate for 2006 is 7 percent per 

year (0.583 percent per month).

Nonresidents. Use only those installment obligations 

from dispositions of Oregon property while you were 

a nonresident of Oregon.

Credits—Non-refundable

Non-refundable credits cannot be more than your 

Oregon tax liability. Some credits have a carryforward 

provision that allows you to use the remaining balance 

in the next year. Use credits that cannot be carried for-

ward first. You must prorate some Oregon credits on 

your return as shown with an asterisk (*). This means 

you need to multiply your total credit by your Oregon 

percentage, line 39, to figure the amount you can claim 

on your Oregon return.

Form
40N 55  

Form
40P 54  

Child and dependent 

care credit.* You’re 

allowed an Oregon 

credit only if you qualify for the federal child and 

dependent care credit. You may still be able to claim 

the Oregon credit even if you can’t use all of your fed-

eral credit. You must prorate this credit. Use the fol-

lowing worksheet to figure your credit for Oregon:

1. Enter the amount from federal 
Form 2441, line 6; or Form 1040A, 
Schedule 2, line 6.

1.

2. Enter the decimal amount from the 
following table.

2.
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If your federal taxable income 

from Form 1040, line 43; or 

Form 1040A, line 27 is:

Your 

decimal 

amount 

is:

Over— But not over—

—— $5,000 .30

$5,000 10,000 .15

10,000 15,000 .08

15,000 25,000 .06

25,000 35,000 .05

35,000 45,000 .04

45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
the decimal on line 2. Enter here.

3.

4. Multiply line 3 by the Oregon per-
centage from Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 39. Enter the result here 
and on Form 40N, line 55 or Form 
40P, line 54.

4.

Did you pay 2005 child care expenses in 2006? If so, mul-

tiply your 2005 expenses paid in 2006 that are included 

in the computation of your federal credit by the decimal 

amount that applies to your 2005 federal taxable income.

Multiply this amount by the Oregon percentage from 

your 2005 return. Enter the result on Form 40N, line 55 

or Form 40P, line 54. If you need help, please contact us.

Carryforward. Your total 2006 child and dependent care 

credit can’t be more than your 2006 tax liability for Ore-

gon. You can carry forward any excess over the next five 

years. If the excess isn’t used within five years, it’s lost. 

See instructions on page 29.

Form
40N 56  

Form
40P 55  

Credit for income taxes 

paid to another state. 

If you paid 2006 income 

tax to another state or U.S. territory on income also 

taxed by Oregon, you may be able to claim a credit.

You must claim the credit on your nonresident return 

or your part-year resident return for the part of the 

year you were a nonresident if the income is taxed by 

both Oregon and one of the following states: Arizona, 

California, Indiana, or Virginia. See our website for 

links to other states’ tax websites.

This credit is only for state income tax. You can’t claim 

this credit for city or county income tax, sales tax, 

alternative minimum tax (AMT), property tax, school 

tax, or building funds.

If you’re a shareholder in an Oregon S corporation that 

paid taxes to another state, you may qualify for this 

credit. Download the publication Credit for Income Tax-
es Paid to Another State from our website or to order it, 

see page 40.

Your credit is the smallest of the following:

• Your other state’s 2006 net tax liability.

• Your Oregon tax liability after all credits, except 

credits for income taxes paid to other states.

• The amount figured using Formula 1, below.

• The amount figured using Formula 2, below.

Formula 1: Divide your modified adjusted gross 

income (MAGI) taxed by both states by your total 

MAGI, which is your income on Form 40P or Form 

40N, line 38S. Multiply the result by your Oregon tax 

after all other credits. The result can’t be more than 

your Oregon tax after credits.

Your MAGI taxed by both states
×

Your Oregon tax after 

all other creditsYour total MAGI

Formula 2: Divide your MAGI taxed by both states by 

your total income on the other state’s return. Multiply 

the result by the other state’s tax after all other credits. 

“Total income” means income before subtracting item-

ized deductions and exemptions. The result can’t be 

more than the other state’s tax after credits.

Your MAGI taxed by both states

×
Your other state’s tax 

after all other creditsYour total income on the other 

state’s return

Enter the credit amount on Form 40N, line 56 or Form 

40P, line 55, and identify the other state on Form 40N, 

line 56a or Form 40P, line 55a. If you’re claiming the 

credit for more than one state, attach a statement to 

your return identifying the states, the credit for each 

state, and calculations for each state’s credit. Number 

the statement. Enter “ST” in Form 40N, box 56a, or 

Form 40P, box 55a. Enter the total for all states on Form 

40N, line 56, or Form 40P, line 55.

Caution: You can’t claim this credit and also benefit 

from the itemized deduction for the tax paid to the 

other state. If you claim the tax as an itemized deduc-

tion, include the other state’s 2006 net tax liability or 

the 2006 tax claimed as an itemized deduction, which-

ever is less, on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 42.

If the credit for income taxes paid to another state is 

based on a tax liability that is paid in two different tax 

years, you may be required to restore the deduction 

to Oregon income in two different tax years. For more 

information, please contact us.

You must attach a copy of the other state’s return and 

proof of payment to the back of your Oregon return.

You may be allowed to use this credit even if Oregon 

and another state tax the same income in different 

years. For more information, please contact us.

Form
40N 57  

Form
40P 56  

Other credits. You 

may qualify for other 

non-refundable credits. 

Please identify the credit(s) using the numeric code 

shown in brackets. Enter the numeric code on Form 

40N, line 57a or Form 40P, line 56a and the amount on 

Form 40N and 40P instructions
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Form 40N, line 57b, or Form 40P, line 56b. For example, 

if you’re a part-year resident claiming a $50 politi-

cal contribution credit, enter “723” on Form 40P, line 

56a and enter “$50” on Form 40P, line 56b. If you’re 

claiming two credits, enter the second numeric code 

on Form 40N, line 57c, or Form 40P, line 56c, and the 

amount on Form 40N, line 57d or Form 40P, line 56d. 

If you’re claiming more than two, attach a statement to 

your return that identifies the “other credits” and the 

dollar amounts. Fill in the total amount of “other cred-

its” on Form 40N, line 57 or Form 40P, line 56.

• Child and dependent care carry forward [code 704]. 

Enter the amount of unused credit from a prior year 

on Form 40N, line 57 or Form 40P, line 56. The prior 

year carryforward plus your current year’s credit 

can’t be more than your Oregon tax liability. You can 

carry forward this unused credit for five years from 

the year the credit was claimed. If the carryforward 

isn’t used within five years, it’s lost.

• Elderly or the disabled [code 709].* The Oregon cred-

it is 40 percent of your federal credit. You can claim 

an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the federal 

credit. Multiply the amount from federal Form 1040, 

Schedule R, line 20; or Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 

20, by 40 percent (.40). Then multiply the result by 

the Oregon percentage on Form 40N or Form 40P, 

line 39. You can claim this credit or the retirement 

income credit, but not both.

• Political contribution [code 723]. Fill in your total 

political contributions, but not more than $100 on a 

joint return or $50 on all others. You must have con-

tributed money during 2006 to any of the following:

— A political party.

— A qualified candidate (or the candidate’s prin-

cipal campaign committee) for federal, state, or 

local office to be voted for in Oregon.

— A political action committee certified in Oregon.

 Download the publication Political Contributions Tax 
Credit from our website or contact us to order it.

• Retirement income [code 730]. If you were age 62 or 

older on December 31, 2006, and receiving retirement 

income, you may qualify for a credit. You qualify for 

this credit if:

— Your household income is less than $22,500 

($45,000 if married filing jointly), and
— Your Social Security benefits and/or tier 1 Rail-

road Retirement Board benefits are less than 

$7,500 ($15,000 if married filing jointly), and
— Your household income plus your Social Security 

and/or tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits is 

less than $22,500 ($45,000 if married filing jointly).

 If you think you qualify, contact us for more infor-

mation.

• The following credits apply to only a few people. For 

more information, go to our website or contact us.

— Adoption expenses carryforward [code 700].*

— Advanced telecommunications facilities [code 701].*

— Bone marrow donation program [code 702].

— Business energy [code 703].

— Business tax credits from flow-through entity 

[code 736].

— Child Care Fund contributions [code 705].

— Claim of right income repayments [code 706].

— Crop donation [code 708].*

— Diesel engine replacement [code 734].*

— Electronic commerce zone investment [code 710].

— Employer-provided dependent care assistance 

[code 707].

— Employer scholarship [code 711].*

— Farmworker housing [code 712].*

— First Break Program [code 713].*

— Fish screening devices [code 714].*

— Individual Development Account (IDA) donation 

[code 715].

— IDA withdrawal for home purchase [code 738].

— Involuntary move of a mobile home from Sched-

ule MH—non-refundable [code 741].

— Long-term care insurance premiums [code 716].*

— Loss of use of limbs [code 717].

— Low-income caregiver credit [code 718].

— Mutually taxed gain on the sale of residential 

property [code 720].

— On-farm processing machinery and equipment 

[code 721].*

— Oregon Cultural Trust [code 722].*

— Oregon Production Investment Fund [code 737].

— Pollution control facilities [code 724].

— Reforestation of underproductive forestlands [code 

727].

— Reservation enterprise zone [code 728].*

— Residential energy [code 729].*

— Riparian land [code 735].*

— Rural EMTs [code 742].*

— Rural medical practitioners [code 731].*

— University venture fund [code 739].*

— Water transit vessel [code 740].*

*Prorated credit (multiplied by Oregon percentage).

Tax payments and refundable credits

Form
40N 60  

Form
40P 59  

Oregon income tax 

withheld from income. 

Fill in the total Ore-
gon tax withheld from your wages and other income 

shown on your Form(s) W-2 or 1099. Don’t use the FICA 

(Social Security) tax withheld from your pay. Don’t use 

tax withheld from your wages by other states. Staple a 
readable copy of your Form W-2 from each job and any 

Form(s) 1099 showing Oregon income tax withheld to 

the lower front of your return.

Form 40N and 40P instructions
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If you don’t have a Form W-2 or 1099, you must provide 
other proof of Oregon tax withheld. Proof may include 
a copy of a final paycheck stub or a letter from your 
employer.

If you have tax to pay this year, you may want to 
increase the amount your employer withholds from 
your 2007 wages for Oregon. Download the publica-
tion Oregon Income Tax Withholding from our website 
or contact us to order it.

Form
40N 61  

Form
40P 60  

Estimated tax pay-

ments for 2006 and 

payments made with 

your extension. Fill in the total Oregon estimated tax 
payments you made before filing your 2006 Oregon 
return. Include any payments made with your Oregon 
extension. Also include any refund you applied to your 
2006 estimated tax. If the department adjusted your 
applied refund, be sure to use the adjusted amount. If 
you need to verify your estimated payment amounts, 
please contact us.

Form
40N 62  

Form
40P 61  

Earned income credit 

(Refundable). You’re 
allowed an Oregon 

earned income credit only if you qualify for the earned 
income credit on your federal return. You must prorate 
this credit. Your Oregon credit is 5 percent of your fed-
eral credit multiplied by your Oregon percentage. For 
example, if your federal credit is $2,500, your Oregon 
credit is $125 ($2,500 × .05) multiplied by your Oregon 
percentage from Form 40N or Form 40P, line 39.

Use the following formula to compute your credit:

1. Enter your federal earned 
income credit from Form 1040, 
line 66a; Form 1040A, line 40a; or 
Form 1040EZ, line 8a.

1.

2. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
5% (.05). Enter the result here.

2.

3. Multiply line 2 by the Oregon 
percentage (Form 40N or Form 40P, 
line 39). Enter the result here and 
on Form 40N, line 62 or Form 40P, 
line 61.

3.

The Oregon earned income credit is refundable. If the 
credit is more than your tax liability, the difference 
will be refunded to you.

Form
40N 63  

Form
40P 62  

Working family child 

care credit (Refund-

able). This credit is 
available to low-income working families with quali-
fying child care expenses for a qualifying child under 
age 13 (or a child for whom you can claim the addi-
tional exemption credit for a child with a disability). 
The working family child care credit is refundable. If 
the credit is more than your tax liability, the difference 
will be refunded to you. To see if you qualify, go to 
page 35. Attach Schedule WFC-N/P to your return.

Form
40N 64  

Form
40P 63  

Involuntary move of 

a mobile home credit 

(Refundable). Enter 

the amount from Schedule MH, section D, line 26. If 

you are claiming the non-refundable credit, section C, 

line 25, do not enter your credit here. Enter the code 

and amount on Form 40N, line 57, or Form 40P, line 

56, instead. Attach Schedule MH to your return. For 

more information download the publication from our 

website, or contact us to order it.

Penalties and interest

Form
40N 68  

Form
40P 67  

Penalty and interest 

for filing or paying late. 

Your tax is due April 16, 

2007. Your return is also due April 16, 2007, unless you 

file for an extension by that date.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

• Mail your tax payment after April 16 (even if you 

have an extension to file), or

• File your return showing tax to pay after the due 

date or extension due date.

The late-payment penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid 

balance of your tax.

If you file more than three months after the due date 

or extension due date, a 20 percent late-filing penalty 

will be added; that is, you will owe a total penalty of 25 

percent of any unpaid tax.

Exception: You don’t have to pay a penalty if you do all 
of the following:

1. Get an extension of time to file your return by the 

due date of the return, and

2. Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due by April 16, 

2007, and

3. Pay the balance of tax due when you file your return 

by the extension deadline, and

4. Pay the interest on the balance of tax when you file 

or within 30 days of our billing date.

Interest. If you’re paying your tax after April 16, 2007, 

include interest on any unpaid tax. An interest period 

is each full month starting with the day after the due 

date. For example, April 17, 2007, through May 16, 2007, 

is a full month interest period. The 2007 interest rate is 

9 percent per year (0.0075 per month).

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a 

month. Here’s how to figure daily interest:

Tax × .000247  ×  number of days

If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the 

interest rate increases to 13 percent per year.

Note: Do not calculate interest if you file late and expect 

a refund. It may delay processing of your refund.

Form 40N and 40P instructions
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Form
40N 69  

Form
40P 68  

Interest on underpay-

ment of estimated tax. 

For 2006, you’ll have an 

underpayment if you paid less than 90 percent of the 

tax due on each estimated tax payment due date.

Use Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimated Tax, to 

determine if you have an underpayment. Download 

the form from our website or to order it, see page 40. If 

you have an underpayment or you meet an exception, 

you must file Form 10 with your return.

If you have an underpayment, check the box and enter 

the amount of interest due from Form 10 on Form 40N, 

line 69, or Form 40P, line 68. If you meet an exception, 

enter the exception number on Form 40N, line 69a, or 

Form 40P, line 68a. Attach Form 10 to your return.

Form
40N 71  

Form
40P 70  

Amount you owe. You 

can pay your tax only 

with a check, money 

order, or credit card. If the amount is less than $2, no 

payment is required.

Check or money order

• Make your check or money order payable to “Ore-
gon Department of Revenue.”

• Write your daytime telephone number and “2006 

Oregon Form 40N” or “2006 Oregon Form 40P” on 

your check. 

• Please use blue or black ballpoint ink. Do not use gel 

ink or the color red. 

• Do not send cash or a postdated check. 

• Staple your payment and the Form 40-V payment 

voucher (see below) to your return on top of your 

Form(s) W-2 and 1099.

Credit card payment

You can now pay your current-year balance due, make 

2007 estimated tax payments, or pay prior year taxes 

with your Discover, MasterCard, or Visa credit card. This 

option is available to both electronic and paper filers.

To pay your taxes by credit card, call toll-free or go to 

the website of the service provider listed below. 

The service provider will charge you a convenience 

fee based on the amount of your tax payment. The ser-

vice provider will tell you what the fee is during the 

transaction. You will have the option to either continue 

or cancel the transaction before entering your credit 

card information. 

If you accept the credit card transaction, you will receive 

a confirmation number. Please keep this confirmation 
number as proof of payment.

Service provider:

• Official Payments Corporation
Call toll-free 1-866-720-1327, or go to 

www.officialpayments.com.

For additional information on credit card payments 

and service providers, go to our website or contact us.

Payment plan. If you cannot pay in full now, we will 

work with you to set up a payment plan for the amount 

you do not pay with your return. For more informa-

tion, please contact us.

Special instructions. Do you owe interest on Form 40N, 

line 69 or Form 40P, line 68 and have an overpayment 

on Form 40N, line 66, or Form 40P, line 65? If the inter-

est you owe is more than your overpayment, you have 

an amount due. Form 40N: Subtract line 66 from line 

69 and enter the result on line 71. Form 40P: Subtract 

line 65 from line 68 and enter the result on line 70.

Form 40-V
For Oregon forms, please visit our website at

www.oregon.gov/DOR

and click on “Tax Forms”

http://egov.oregon.gov/DOR/forms.shtml
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Charitable donations. If you don’t have a refund but 

want to contribute to a charity listed on Form 40N or 

40P, mail your donation to the charity’s address shown 

on pages 32 or 33. Please do not mail your donation to 

the Department of Revenue.

To finish your return, go to the signature block section 

on page 34.

Form
40N 72  

Form
40P 71  

Refund. You must have 

a refund on Form 40N, 

line 72 or Form 40P, line 

71 to apply money to next year’s estimated tax or to 

donate all or part of your refund to the charities listed.

Form
40N 73  

Form
40P 72  

Estimated tax. If you 

have a refund on Form 

40N, line 72 or Form 

40P, line 71, you may apply part or all of it to your 2007 

estimated income tax. Fill in the amount you want to 

apply. Do not fill in more than the amount on Form 

40N, line 72, or Form 40P, line 71.

Charitable checkoffs

You may donate all or part of your refund to the chari-

ties listed here and on page 33. Donations will reduce 

your refund. You can donate to any or all of the chari-

ties on Form 40N, lines 74–79, or Form 40P, lines 73–78. 

You can also donate to one of the charities listed under 

the instructions for Form 40N, line 80 or Form 40P, 

line 79. Or, you can mail your donations directly to the 

addresses shown.

Form
40N 74  

Form
40P 73  

Oregon Nongame Wild-

life. Your donation will 

fund the protection of 

nongame wildlife and its habitat.

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife

3406 Cherry Avenue NE

Salem OR 97303-4924

Form
40N 75  

Form
40P 74  

Child Abuse Preven-

tion. Your donation 

will fund programs 

through the Children’s Trust Fund to help prevent 

child abuse and neglect.

Children’s Trust Fund of Oregon

1410 SW Morrison Street, Suite 501

Portland OR 97205

Form
40N 76  

Form
40P 75  

Alzheimer’s Disease 

Research. Your dona-

tion will fund research 

of Alzheimer’s and related dementias.

Layton Aging and Alzheimer’s Disease Center

3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Road CR131

Portland OR 97239

Form
40N 77  

Form
40P 76  

Stop Domestic and 

Sexual Violence. Your 

donation will fund pro-

grams through the Oregon Coalition Against Domes-

tic and Sexual Violence.

OCADSV

380 SE Spokane Street, Suite 100

Portland OR  97202

Form
40N 78  

Form
40P 77  

AIDS/HIV Research, 

Education, and Servic-

es. Your donation will 

fund AIDS/HIV research, education, and services by 

the Living With HIV Fund.

The Research & Education Group

1650 NW Naito Parkway, Suite 185 

Portland OR 97209-8428

Form
40N 79  

Form
40P 78  

Oregon Military Emer-

gency Financial Assis-

tance. Your donation 

will fund hardship grants and loans to Oregon Nation-

al Guard members and their families.

Oregon Military Department

PO Box 14350

Salem OR 97309-5047

Form
40N 80  

Form
40P 79  

Other charity. You may 

donate all or part of 

your refund to one of 

the following charities.

Enter the code of the charity on Form 40N, line 80a 

or Form 40P, line 79a. Enter only one code. Check the 

box for the amount you want to donate and write it 

on Form 40N, line 80, or Form 40P, line 79. If you want 

to donate to more than one charity listed below, you 

can mail your donations directly to the charities at the 

addresses shown.

Habitat for Humanity of Oregon [code 1]. Your donation 

will help Habitat for Humanity build simple, decent, 

and affordable housing for low-income families.

Habitat for Humanity of Oregon

3300 NW 185th, #214

Portland OR 97229

Oregon Head Start Association [code 2]. Your dona-

tion will help Head Start provide services to the low-

est-income, highest-need children and families.

Oregon Head Start Association 

221 B Street

Springfield OR 97477

American Diabetes Association [code 3]. Your dona-

tion will help continue diabetes research and advocacy 

programs in Oregon.

Form 40N and 40P instructions
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American Diabetes Association
380 SE Spokane Street, Suite 110
Portland OR 97202

Oregon Coast Aquarium [code 4]. Your donation will 
help fund educational programs, conservation efforts, 
and animal rehabilitation.

Oregon Coast Aquarium 
2820 SE Ferry Slip Road
Newport OR 97365

SMART [code 5]. Your donation will help fund the 
“Start Making A Reader Today” early literacy program 
for Oregon’s most vulnerable children.

Oregon Children’s Foundation/SMART 
219 NW 12th Avenue, Suite 203
Portland OR 97209

SOLV [code 6]. Your donation will help fund thousands 
of projects to clean up and restore beaches, forests, riv-
ers, and neighborhoods across Oregon. 

SOLV 
5193 NE Elam Young Parkway, Suite B 
Hillsboro OR 97124

St. Vincent de Paul Society of Oregon [code 7]. Your 
donation will help provide services leading to self- 
sufficiency for low-income Oregonians. 

St. Vincent de Paul Society of Oregon 
PO Box 24608 
Eugene OR 97402

The Nature Conservancy [code 8]. Your donation will 
help purchase and restore critical habitats for Oregon’s 
at-risk plants, fish, and wildlife.

The Nature Conservancy
821 SE 14th Avenue
Portland OR 97214

Doernbecher Children’s Hospital Foundation [code 9]. 

Your donation will fund a critical expansion of the 
cancer treatment facilities at Doernbecher.

Doernbecher Children’s Hospital Foundation
1121 SW Salmon, Suite 201
Portland OR 97205-2021

The Oregon Humane Society [code 10]. Your donation 
will help save pets’ lives through rescue, sheltering, adop-
tion, education, cruelty investigation, and advocacy.

The Oregon Humane Society
PO Box 11364
Portland OR 97211

The Salvation Army—Oregon [code 11]. Your donation 
to the Salvation Army ensures help for the neediest 
children and their families throughout Oregon.

The Salvation Army
1785 NE Sandy Boulevard
Portland OR 97232

The Oregon Veterans’ Home [code 12]. Your donation 

will improve the quality of life for veterans receiving 

nursing care at the Oregon Veterans’ Home.

Oregon Veterans’ Home Donations

700 Summer Street NE

Salem OR 97301-1285

Planned Parenthood of Oregon [code 13]. Your dona-

tion will fund family planning services and reproduc-

tive health education programs.

Planned Parenthood of Oregon

3231 SE 50th Avenue

Portland OR 97206

Oregon Lions Sight & Hearing Foundation [code 14]. 

Your donation will fund sight and hearing assistance, 

and provide diabetes awareness for Oregonians.

Oregon Lions Sight & Hearing Foundation

1410 SW Morrison Street, Suite 760

Portland OR 97205

Shriners Hospitals for Children—Portland [code 15]. 

Your donation will help provide braces and artificial 

limbs for Oregon’s children.

Shriners Hospitals for Children—Portland

3101 SW Sam Jackson Park Road

Portland OR 97239

Special Olympics Oregon [code 16]. Your donation 

will help provide life-changing services to thousands 

of Oregonians with intellectual disabilities.

Special Olympics Oregon

5901 SW Macadam,  Suite 100

Portland OR  97239

Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation, Oregon & 

SW Washington [code 17]. Your donation funds breast 

cancer research, education, screening, and treatment.

Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation 

Oregon & SW Washington Affiliate

1400 SW 5th Avenue, Suite 530

Portland OR 97201

Form
40N 82  

Form
40P 81  

Net refund. You must 
reduce your refund by 

any amounts applied to 

2007 estimated tax and charitable checkoff donations. 
The department cannot issue a refund if your return 
is filed more than three years after the due date of 
the return.

Direct deposit

Form
40N 83  

Form
40P 82  

Follow these instruc-

tions if you want us to 

deposit your refund 

directly into your bank account instead of mailing you 

a check.

Form 40N and 40P instructions
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1. Contact your bank to make sure your deposit will 

be accepted and to get your correct routing and 

account numbers. 

2. Check the appropriate box, either checking or sav-

ings, but not both.

3. Enter your nine-digit routing number. The routing 

number must begin with 01 through 12, 21 through 

32, or 61 through 72.

4. Enter the account number into which you want 

your refund deposited. The account number can 

be up to 17 characters (both numbers and letters). 

Include hyphens, but do not include spaces or spe-

cial symbols. Enter the number left to right and 

leave any unused boxes blank.

Signature block

Signature(s). Be sure to sign and date your return. If 

you’re filing a joint return, both spouses must sign.

Minor child’s return. If your child must file a tax return, 

you may sign the child’s name as his or her legal agent. 

Sign the child’s name, then write “By [your signature], 

parent (or other legal guardian) of minor child.”

Preparer signature. Any person who prepares, advis-

es, or assists in the preparation of personal income tax 

returns for another person in exchange for payment, 

gifts, or other compensation must be licensed and 

must sign the return. Contact the following agencies 

for more information on licensing or to check the sta-

tus of your Oregon tax practitioner:

• State Board of Tax Practitioners at 503-378-4034 

(Salem) for licensed tax consultants and licensed tax 

preparers.

• State Board of Accountancy at 503-378-4181 (Salem) 

for public accountants and certified public accoun-

tants.

License number. Licensed tax consultants, enter your 

license number. Certified public accountants, enter 

your certificate number. Tax-Aide volunteers, enter 

your TCE site number.

Before you file

Should I put my return together in a special order?

Yes. To speed processing, put your Oregon return 

together as follows:

1. Start with Form 40N or Form 40P.

2. Staple Form(s) W-2 and any Form(s) 1099 showing 

Oregon tax withheld to the lower front of your Form 

40N or Form 40P.

3. Staple your check or money order and completed 

Form 40-V payment voucher (page 31) on top of the 

Form(s) W-2 and/or 1099. If paying by credit card, 

do not use Form 40-V.

4. If amending, attach your Oregon Amended Schedule.

5. Place a copy (front and back) of your federal Form 

1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or 1040NR-EZ behind 

your Form 40N or Form 40P.

6. If applicable, place these items in the following order 

behind the federal form:

• Schedule WFC-N/P, Oregon Working Family Child 
Care Credit for Form 40N and Form 40P filers. See 

page 36.

• Oregon Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimat-
ed Tax.

• Proof required to claim credit for income taxes 

paid to another state. See page 28.

• Oregon Form 24, Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary 
Conversions.

• Form FIA-40N, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for 
Nonresidents, or Form FIA-40P, Oregon Farm Income 
Averaging for Part-Year Residents.

• Exempt Income Schedule for Enrolled Members of a 
Federally Recognized American Indian Tribe.

• Schedule MH, Involuntary Move of a Mobile Home.
• Statements for lines that need explanation.

7. Staple all pages of your return together in the top 

left corner.

Be sure the second page of your return is the same 

form as the first page. Example: If you file Form 40N, 

be sure that “ Page 2—2006 Form 40N” is printed at the 

top of the second page.

Do not attach extension requests, or any federal sched-

ules. Keep these with your records. We receive some 

federal information from the IRS. We may ask you for 

copies of schedules or additional information later.

How long do I have to file my return and get a refund?

You have three years from the due date of the return 

to file a claim for a refund. By law, the Department of 

Revenue cannot issue a refund if your return is filed 

more than three years after the due date.

Can I make payments?

If you can’t pay in full now, we will work with you to 

set up a payment plan. File now and pay what you can. 

Write your daytime telephone number, tax year, and 

“2006 Oregon Form 40N” or “2006 Oregon Form 40P” 

on your check. Make sure you also use the payment 

voucher, Form 40-V, on page 31. Call the department as 

soon as possible to set up a payment plan. See page 40. 

If you do not call, collection activity may begin.

Form 40N and 40P instructions
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Working family child care credit
This refundable credit is available to low-income work-

ing families with qualifying child care expenses. To 

qualify, all of the following must be true: 

• You had at least $7,100 of earned income from Ore-

gon sources, and

• You had $2,800 or less of investment income (such as 

interest, dividends, and capital gains), and

• Your adjusted gross income was less than the limits 

for your household size shown on the back of Sched-

ule WFC-N/P, and

• You paid qualifying child care expenses to allow 

you (and your spouse, if married) to work or attend 

school, and

• You paid qualifying child care expenses for your 

qualifying child. A qualifying child is your child, 

step child, grandchild, step grandchild, brother, sis-

ter, stepbrother, stepsister, nephew, niece, step neph-

ew, step niece, or eligible foster child, who: 

— can be claimed as a dependent on your federal 

return, or

— could have been claimed on your return except, 

as the custodial parent, you released the exemp-

tion to the child’s other parent under a decree of 

divorce or separate maintenance or written decla-
ration such as federal Form 8332, and

— was under the age of 13, or 

— was a child for whom you can claim the additional 
exemption credit for a child with a disability, and 

— did not provide more than one-half of their own 
support during the year, and

• Your child care provider was not the child’s parent 
or guardian, or your relative or step relative under 
age 19.

Note: If you’re married filing separately, you must 
be legally separated or permanently living apart on 
December 31, 2006, to qualify.

If you qualify, complete Schedule WFC-N/P, Oregon Work-
ing Family Child Care Credit for Form 40N and Form 40P fil-
ers, on page 37. Attach this schedule to your return.

Example: Carl and Carrie moved from Arizona with 
their child in October 2006. They paid for child care and 
they both worked in both Arizona and Oregon. Carl 
and Carrie’s wages after moving to Oregon are $6,000. 
They have no other Oregon income. Carl and Carrie do 
not qualify for the Working Family Credit because their 
earned income from Oregon did not meet the minimum 
of $7,100.

To avoid processing delays,

remember to:

Type or clearly print your name, Social Security num-
ber, date of birth, address, and daytime telephone 
number on your return.

Double-check your math calculations and other figures, 

including your Social Security number. The most com-
mon mistakes are math errors and the amount claimed 
for the federal tax subtraction. Please double-check the 
tax you figured. Errors will delay processing.

If you have tax to pay, read Form 40N, line 71, or Form 
40P, line 70 instructions on page 31.

Identify other additions, other subtractions, and other 
credits as instructed.

Verify your bank account information if you’re request-
ing direct deposit.

Sign your return (both spouses must sign a joint return).

Staple readable copies of Form(s) W-2 and 1099 showing 
Oregon tax withheld to the lower front of your return.

Staple a copy of your federal return (front and back 
only) to your Oregon return. Do not include federal 
schedules.

Staple Form 40-V, the payment voucher, with your 
check or money order to the front of your return. If 
paying by credit card, do not use Form 40-V.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use a busi-
ness envelope (4 × 9½ inches) or larger and use enough 
postage. Please do not use a smaller envelope—it 
delays processing.

Tax return mailing addresses

Mail refund returns or no-tax-due returns to:

REFUND
PO Box 14700 
Salem OR 97309-0930

Mail tax-to-pay returns to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14555
Salem OR 97309-0940

Working family child care credit



Have questions? Need forms? See page 40.36

Schedule WFC-N/P instructions for 

nonresidents and part-year residents

You must complete all information on the schedule. 

An incomplete schedule may result in delay or denial 

of your working family child care credit. Your refund 

may take longer to process when claiming this credit.

Household size calculation

 Sched.

WFC-N/P 1 5–  
Your household size is the 

number of people you claim 

as exemptions on your fed-

eral tax return who are related to you by blood, mar-

riage, or adoption and live in your home. Household 

size can include your child of whom you have primary 

custody, even if you allowed the child’s other parent to 

claim the exemption on their tax return. Don’t include 

people you’re entitled to claim on your tax return who 

didn’t live with you in your home during 2006 or who 

aren’t related to you. For the purposes of this credit, a 

person cannot be counted in household size on more 

than one return. Enter your household size from Sched-

ule WFC-N/P, line 5, on Form 40N, line 63a, or Form 40P, 

line 62a.

Example 1: Rusty and Deb are not married and are 

the parents of two children. They maintain separate 

households and have joint custody of both children. 

The children live more than half the year with Deb. 

Even though they are Deb’s qualifying children, she 

releases the dependent exemption for one child to 

Rusty. Both Rusty and Deb can claim the credit based 

on the qualifying child care expenses each paid. How-

ever, they must calculate household size separately. 

Deb’s household size is three (herself, one dependent 

child whose exemption she claims, and one dependent 

child whose exemption is released to Rusty). Deb will 

enter “2” on line 1 of the schedule and “1” on line 2 for 

a total of “3” on line 5. 

Rusty’s household size is one (himself). Although he 

claims one child on his tax return, the child did not 

live with him more than one-half of the year and is not 

included in his household size. Rusty will enter “2” on 

line 1 of the schedule and “1” on line 4 for a total of “1” 

on line 5.

Example 2: Jay and Rena are married and have three 

qualifying children. They also support Rena’s parents 

who do not live with them. They claim seven exemp-

tions on their tax return. Jay and Rena’s household size 

is five, because only five of them live in their home. 

They will enter “7” on line 1 of the schedule and “2” on 

line 4 for a total of “5” on line 5.

Qualifying child care expenses

paid in 2006

 Sched.

WFC-N/P 6 9–  
Provider’s full name and 

complete address. Enter the 
child care provider’s infor-

mation in the space provided on Schedule WFC-N/P. 
If you have more than three providers during the year, 
please attach a separate sheet with the required infor-
mation.

Provider’s SSN or FEIN. You must include your provid-
er’s Social Security number, federal employer identifi-
cation number (FEIN), or individual taxpayer identifi-
cation number (ITIN).

Provider’s telephone number. Enter a daytime tele-
phone number for the provider. Important: We need 
a current telephone number to contact the provider. 
Without this information, the processing of your 
refund may be delayed.

Child to provider relationship. Identify the relation-
ship of the child to the provider using the relationship 
codes on page 39. If there is no relationship between 
the child and the provider, enter “N” for none.

Amount paid to provider. Qualifying child care 
expenses are those paid for your qualifying child 
for the primary purpose for you (and your spouse, if 
married) to work or attend school. You can pay your 
expenses with pre-tax dollars from an employer ben-
efit plan, such as a cafeteria plan or flexible spending 
arrangement, and still qualify to claim this credit. You 
must pay for the child care during 2006 for the pay-
ments to be qualifying child care expenses.

Qualifying child care expenses do not include amounts 
you paid for your child to attend a public or private 
school, or for after-school activities or sports. You can-
not claim expenses that are paid by someone else, such 
as a state assistance agency or another family member. 
You can claim only the expenses you actually paid.

Example 3: Jeff works for a company that offers depen-
dent care benefits. He contributes $4,000 pre-tax each 
year to a flexible spending arrangement (FSA) plan. His 
employer reports the $4,000 of dependent care benefits in 
box 10 of his W-2. Jeff also paid $1,000 with after-tax dol-
lars. He can claim the working family child care credit 
based on $5,000 in qualifying child care expenses.

Example 4: Lee has a five-year-old qualifying child 
who attends a local academy. He pays $750 per month 

Schedule WFC-N/P instructions
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Schedule WFC Relationship Codes

Son ........................................................................ S
Daughter ............................................................. D
Stepson .............................................................. SS
Stepdaughter .................................................... SD
Grandchild ...................................................... GC
Niece ................................................................ NC
Nephew ..........................................................NW
Sister/Brother ...................................................SB

Eligible foster child ..........................................EF
Aunt .................................................................... A
Uncle ................................................................... U
Cousin ............................................................... CS
Sister-in-law ......................................................SL
Brother-in-law ..................................................BL
Other relative ..................................................... O
None ....................................................................N

for his son’s kindergarten and child care. Of that total, 
$500 is the contract price for child care, and $250 for the 
child’s education. Lee can only claim $500 per month 
as qualifying child care. Lee’s child attended the acad-
emy for four months during the year, so the amount 
he’ll enter on line 6 is $2,000.

Example 5: Cate receives state assistance to pay her 
child care expenses. The child care provider charges 
Cate $600 per month to care for her two qualifying 
children. Of the $600, the state pays $450, and Cate has 
a co-pay of $150. She can only claim the amount she 
actually paid ($150 per month). Cate’s amount for line 
6 will be $1,800 for the entire year. She will not include 
non-qualifying expenses paid by the state.

Proof of qualifying child care expenses. To claim this 
credit, you must prove that you paid qualifying child 
care expenses. Acceptable proof includes, but is not 
limited to, copies of:

• Canceled checks, or

• Money order stubs, or

• Duplicate checks along with bank statements, and 

• Signed receipts from the child care provider, received 
at the time of payment. Receipts must include:

— The child’s full name.

— Dates of care.

— Date and amount of child care paid.

— Name of person or agency paying.

— Provider’s name, address, and telephone number.

— Provider’s identification number (SSN/FEIN).

— The method of payment (check, money order, 
cash, etc.).

 Get a separate receipt for each child and identify the 
type of care or schooling received.

The department can ask for proof while processing 
your tax return or at a later time. If you pay a relative 
to watch your children, you may be asked to provide 
additional information that shows you actually paid 
qualifying child care expenses. Be sure to ask for a signed 

receipt from your child care provider each time you pay for 
child care.

Qualifying child information 

 10 14–
Sched.

WFC-N/P  
Enter the full name of each 
qualifying child, the child’s 
Social Security number or 

ITIN, the child’s date of birth, and the child’s relation-
ship to you using the codes below. 

Enter the portion of the expenses you listed in the child 
care provider section that apply to each child. The 
amounts shown on line 9 and line 14 should always 
be the same.

Example 6: Bill paid two child care providers $5,000 
during the year for his two qualifying children, Joe 
and Lane. Of the $5,000 he paid, $3,000 was for Joe’s 
care and $2,000 was for Lane’s care. He will enter those 
amounts next to each child’s information.

Computation of credit

 15 17–
Sched.

WFC-N/P  
You must know your federal 
and Oregon adjusted gross 
income (AGI) to compute this 

credit. Enter the larger of your federal AGI (Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 30F) or your Oregon AGI (Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 30S) on Schedule WFC-N/P, line 17.

 18
Sched.

WFC-N/P  
Enter the total qualifying expenses 
from Schedule WFC-N/P, line 9, on 
Schedule WFC-N/P, line 18. Also 

enter this amount on Form 40N, line 63b, or Form 40P, 
line 62b.

 19
Sched.

WFC-N/P  
Use the table on the back of Sched-
ule WFC-N/P ( page 38) that match-
es your household size, line 5.

For example, if your household size is three, use Table 
3 to find the percentage you should apply to your 
qualifying expenses. Enter that percentage on Sched-
ule WFC-N/P, line 19.

Schedule WFC-N/P instructions
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Taxpayer assistance
Printed information (free)

Income tax booklets are available at many post offices, 
banks, and libraries. For booklets and other forms and 
publications, you can also access our website, order by 

telephone, or return the form below.

Internet www.oregon.gov/DOR

• Download forms and publications

• Get up-to-date tax information

• E-mail: questions.dor@state.or.us

 This e-mail address is not secure. Do 
not send any personal information. 
General questions only.

Check your refund at www.oregonrefund.com

Correspondence

Write to: Oregon Department of Revenue, 

955 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301-2555. 

Include your Social Security number and a 

daytime telephone number for faster service.

Telephone

Salem ..............................................................503-378-4988

Toll-free from an Oregon prefix .................1-800-356-4222

Call one of the numbers above to:

• Check on the status of your 2006 

personal income tax refund 

(beginning February 1).

• Order tax forms.

• Hear recorded tax information.

For help from Tax Services, call one of the numbers above:

Monday through Friday ................................... 7:30 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
Closed Thursdays from 9:00 a.m.–11:00 a.m. Closed on holidays.

Extended hours during tax season:
April 2–April 16, Monday–Friday .................. 7:00 a.m.–7:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 14 ............................................... 9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wait times may vary.

Asistencia en español:

 Salem .........................................................503-945-8618

 Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon .................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):

 Salem .........................................................503-945-8617

 Toll-free from an Oregon prefi x ..........1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the 

help numbers for information in alternative formats.

Field offices

Get forms and assistance at these offices. Do not send 
your return to these addresses.

Bend 951 SW Simpson Avenue, Suite 100

Eugene 1600 Valley River Drive, Suite 310

Gresham 1550 NW Eastman Parkway, Suite 220

Medford 3613 Aviation Way, #102

Newport 119 NE 4th Street, Suite 4

North Bend 3030 Broadway 

Pendleton 700 SE Emigrant, Suite 310

Portland 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 505

Salem Revenue Building, 955 Center Street NE, Room 135  

Salem 4275 Commercial Street SE, Suite 180

Tualatin 6405 SW Rosewood Street, Suite A

Check individual boxes to order. Complete name and address section. 

Clip on the dotted line, then mail the entire list to the address below.

Forms and instructions

 Forms 40S & 40, Full-Year Resident  ......................150-101-043

 Forms 40P & 40N, Part-Year & Nonresident  ......150-101-045

 Form 40-EXT, Oregon Automatic Extension

and Payment Voucher  ..............................................150-101-165

 Estimated Income Tax Payment Instructions 

and Vouchers ...........................................................150-101-026/-2

 Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon 

Estimated Tax ............................................................... 150-101-031

 Oregon Amended Schedule .................................150-101-061

 Form 90R, Elderly Rental Assistance  ...................150-545-002

 Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/

Involuntary Conversions  .......................................  150-800-734

 Form FIA-40, Oregon Farm Income Averaging 

for Full-Year Residents................................................150-101-160

 Form FIA-40N, FIA-40P, and Schedule Z, Oregon 

Farm Income Averaging for Nonresidents 

and Part-Year Residents ............................................150-101-161

Publications

 2-D Barcode Filing for Oregon  ................................. 150-101-631

 Audits: What To Do if You Are Audited  .................150-101-607

 Computing Interest on Tax You Owe  ...................150-800-691

 Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Another State  .....150-101-646

 Divorce and Taxes  ......................................................150-101-629

 Electronic Filing for Oregon .....................................150-101-630

 Estimated Income Tax  ...............................................150-101-648

 Income Tax Filing Extension  ....................................150-101-660

 Interstate Transportation Wages (Amtrak Act)  .....150-101-601

 Itemized Deductions Limit  ........................................150-101-611

 Married Persons Filing Separate Returns .............150-101-656

 Military Personnel Filing Information  ..................150-101-657

 Record-Keeping Requirements  ...............................150-101-608

 Retirement Income  ....................................................150-101-673

 Working Family Child Care Credit for Parents  ....150-101-462

 Your Rights as an Oregon Taxpayer  .................... 150-800-406

 List of other printed information: 

Form and Publication Order  ..................................150-800-390

Send to: Forms, Oregon Department of Revenue

PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990

Please print

Name _____________________________________________

Address ___________________________________________

City ______________________________________________

State ___________________ ZIP Code _______________

✂

Taxpayer assistance
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