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Filing your return after tax  
has been assessed

When you do not file a tax return but were required 
to file, the Oregon Department of Revenue “assesses” 
your tax. This means we compute how much tax you 
owe based on information we have available. You will 
then receive a Notice of Determination and Assess-
ment.

Even if we have assessed your tax for one or more 
years, you may still file returns with the department 
for those years.

Why you should file
We compute your tax assessment using the informa-
tion available to us about your income, filing status, 
exemptions, and withholding or estimated tax pay-
ments. Because we don’t have all your tax informa-
tion, we may not be able to give you all the deduc-
tions or credits you may be entitled to. Once you file 
a tax return, we may be able to change the tax we 
assessed.

You may receive a refund
If your withholding and/or estimated tax payments 
add up to more than the tax due, we may be able to 
refund the excess to you. However, there are time 
limits. If you paid more tax than you should have, 
a refund will be allowed only if you file your return 
within three years of the due date of the original 
return.

For example, the return for 2004 was due April 15, 2005. 
Three years after that date is April 15, 2008. To receive 
a refund of excess tax payments for 2004, your return 
must be postmarked on or before April 15, 2008.

Where to mail your return after tax 
is assessed
Send your return to: 

Oregon Department of Revenue  
PO Box 14600  
Salem OR 97309-5049

When you file your return, write “F.A.S.T. Unit” at 
the top of your return. Please use blue or black ink. 
This will help us process your return more quickly.

Reviewing your return
After reviewing your return, if we agree with the 
tax you show, we will change the tax assessed. If 
the income, deductions, credits, or payments shown 
on your return do not match our information, we 
will notify you. The notice we send will explain our 
adjustments and what to do if you disagree.

Your return needs to include information about filing 
status, exemptions, income, deductions, credits, tax, 
and payments. It must be signed and include a state-
ment that, to the best of your knowledge and belief, 
is true, correct, and complete. The full statement is 
printed on the forms provided by the department 
and appears directly above the signature lines. If you 
change this statement on the form, your return may 
not be accepted. Your return also may not be accepted 
if:

•	It contains a frivolous argument concerning the 
payment of taxes, or

•	You file a return you know is not true or correct.

You will receive a Notice of Rejection if your return 
is not accepted. This notice can be appealed to the 
Magistrate Division of the Oregon Tax Court within 
90 days of the date of the notice. But that is only if 
your return was sent to the department within 90 
days of the date on the Notice of Determination and 
Assessment.

Appealing the Notice of Determination 
and Assessment to the Oregon Tax 
Court
You may also choose to file an appeal with the Mag-
istrate Division of the Oregon Tax Court. Your appeal 
must be made within 90 days of the date of the 
Notice of Determination and Assessment or within 
two years after the tax, penalty, and interest shown 
on the notice is paid in full. If you file an appeal with 
the Magistrate Division, you will usually be required 
to file a tax return before the court will change the 
department’s assessment.

You can write or call the Magistrate Division to get a 
complaint form for filing an appeal at:

(over)

December 2007	 www.oregon.gov/DOR



150-800-621 (12-07)

Oregon Tax Court  
Magistrate Division  
1163 State Street 
Salem OR 97301-2563  
(503) 986-5650 
www.ojd.state.or.us/courts/tax

Within 90 days of the date on your notice, mail the 
following items to the address above:

•	Your completed and signed complaint form, and
•	Your filing fee, and
•	A copy of your Notice of Determination and 

Assessment.

Appealing does not stop interest from being charged 
on the tax you owe. If you appeal and your tax assess-
ment is reduced, the penalty and interest charges 
will also be reduced.

Paying your assessment during the 
appeal process
You can pay your balance due at any step of the appeal 
process. Payment does not mean you agree with the 
assessment. Payment stops more interest from being 
charged. If you pay, you can still appeal any time with-
in two years of the date you pay the tax, penalty, and 
interest shown on the Notice of Determination and 
Assessment. You can make your payment by check or 
use a credit card. 

You can ask for a discretionary waiver of part or all of 
the penalty and interest charges. Waiver criteria are 
outlined in Oregon Administrative Rules under 150-
305.145. Most penalty and interest charge disagree-
ments can be resolved with the department. For com-
plete information on your appeal rights when request-
ing a discretionary waiver, see Appealing penalty or 
interest. 

If you believe part or all of the penalty and interest 
charges should be adjusted, write to:

Oregon Department Revenue 
PO Box 14725 
Salem OR 97309-5018

Taxpayer assistance
General tax information........ www.oregon.gov/DOR
	 Salem.......................................................503-378-4988 
	 Toll-free from an Oregon prefix......1-800-356-4222 

Asistencia en español:
	 Salem.......................................................503-378-4988
	 Gratis de prefijo de Oregon..............1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
	 Salem.......................................................503-945-8617
	 Toll-free from an Oregon prefix...... 1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the 
help numbers for information in alternative formats.




