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Disabled War Veteran or Surviving 
Spouse Property Tax Exemption

[Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 307.250 - 307.283] 
If you are a disabled war veteran or the surviving spouse 
or registered domestic partner (partner)* of a war veteran, 
you may be entitled to exempt $16,391 or $19,669 of your 
homestead property’s assessed value from property taxes. 
The exemption amount increases by 3 percent each year. 
The exemption is first applied to your home and then 
to your taxable personal property. If you are an Oregon 
resident and a qualifying veteran or that veteran’s surviv-
ing spouse/partner and live in your home, you may file a 
claim and receive the exemption.

How do I qualify for a $16,391 exemption?
First, you must meet one of these requirements:

•	Be a war veteran who is officially certified by the U.S. 
Department of Veterans Affairs or any branch of the 
United States Armed Forces as having disabilities of 40 
percent or more; or

•	Be a war veteran who served with the United States 
Armed Forces and is certified each year by a licensed 
physician as being 40 percent or more disabled. However, 
there is an income limit. In the year prior to the exemption 
year, your total gross income cannot be more than 185 
percent of the annual Federal Poverty Level Guidelines. 

	 Total gross income includes pensions, disability com-
pensation, and retirement pay received for your military 
service. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Ser-
vices publishes new Federal Poverty Level Guidelines 
every February. The updated current year guideline is 
used for that exemption year. You can see these guide-
lines online at www.cms.hhs.gov/MedicaidEligibility/
downloads/POV06ALL.pdf; or

•	Be a war veteran’s surviving spouse/partner who has 
not  entered into a new marriage or registered domestic 
partnership (partnership). You may file a claim for the 
exemption even though your spouse/partner was not 
disabled or never filed a claim for the exemption if dis-
abled. (See the definition under “Who is a war veteran?” 
to determine your eligibility as the surviving spouse/
partner.)

Second, you must own and live on your homestead prop-
erty. Buyers with recorded contracts of purchase and life 
estate holders are considered owners for the purposes of this 
exemption. Temporary absences due to vacation, travel or ill-
ness do not disqualify you from the program.

* “Partner” means the surviving registered domestic part-
ner of a war veteran. HB 2007, passed by the 2007 Legisla-
ture, provides that domestic partners who have registered 
as provided in HB 2007 are to have the same privileges as 
spouses. For that reason, a surviving registered domestic 
partner of a war veteran is also eligible for this exemption.

How do I qualify for a $19,669 exemption? 
First, you must meet one of these requirements:

•	Be a war veteran who is officially certified by the U.S. 
Department of Veterans Affairs or any branch of the 
United States Armed Forces as having service-connected 
disabilities of 40 percent or more; or

•	Be a war veteran’s surviving spouse/partner who has not 
entered into a new marriage or partnership and the war 
veteran died due to service-connected injury or illness, or 
the war veteran received at least one year of the maximum 
exemption. (See the definition under “Who is a war vet-
eran?” to determine your eligibility as the surviving spouse/
partner.)

Second, you must own and live on your homestead prop-
erty. Buyers with recorded contracts of purchase and life 
estate holders are considered owners for the purposes of this 
exemption. Temporary absences due to vacation, travel or ill-
ness do not disqualify you from the program.

Who is a war veteran?
To qualify for the exemption, you must be a U.S. citizen 
who has been a member of the United States Armed 
Forces and you were discharged or released under honor-
able conditions. At least one of these requirements must 
also be met:

•	Served at least 90 consecutive days during any of the 
following periods:
—Between April 6, 1917 and November 11, 1918.
—Between November 12, 1918 and April 1, 1920, if you 

served with the U.S. military in Russia.
—Between November 12, 1918 and July 2, 1921, if you 

served at least one day between April 6, 1917 and 
November 11, 1918. 

—Between September 15, 1940 and December 31, 1946.
—Between December 7, 1941 and December 31, 1946, if 

you were a U.S. Merchant Marine in ocean-going ser-
vice to the U.S. Armed Forces. 

—Between June 25, 1950 and midnight January 31, 1955.

•	Served in the U.S. Armed Forces for at least 210 consec-
utive days. Some of this 210-day active service period 
must have been served after January 31, 1955. 

•	Discharged or released under honorable conditions due to 
a service-connected injury or illness before completing the 
minimum service period described above. 

Attendance at a school under military orders before active 
enlistment or regular tour of duty is not considered active 
service. Normal military training for duty as a reservist or 
member of a National Guard unit is not considered active 
service for this exemption. 
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Surviving spouse of Civil War  
or Spanish War veterans
If you are the surviving spouse of an honorably dis-
charged veteran of the Civil War or the Spanish War, and 
you have not entered into a new marriage or partnership, 
you are entitled to an additional exemption of $2,000 pro-
vided you currently receive a pension and actually live on 
your homestead property.

How do I file?
This property tax exemption is not “automatic” and does 
not transfer from one property to another property. The dis-
abled war veteran or surviving spouse/partner must file an 
exemption claim by the due date with the county assessor 
where the property is located. You don’t have to file a claim 
every year. However, you must file a new claim by April 
1 if there are changes in ownership or use of your home-
stead property. You can get the claim form from the county 
assessor’s office or online at www.oregon.gov/DOR/PTD/
docs/303-086.pdf.

Standard filing: File your claim, with attached documen-
tation, on or before April 1 of the year for which you’re 
claiming the exemption.

If you acquire property after March 1 and before July 1, 
file your claim, with attached documentation, within 30 
days after the date of acquisition. 

Late filing: If you are a qualified war veteran who is cer-
tified disabled by a licensed physician, file your claim, 
with attached documentation, no later than May 1 if you 
received an exemption in the previous year and you are 
notified by the county assessor that you did not file a new 
claim for the current year. You must include a $10 fee for 
filing late. 

Late certification: On occasion, war veterans receive 
their qualifying disability certification years after the 
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or a branch of the 
U.S. Armed Forces examined the veteran for the disabil-
ity rating. If this happened, you may qualify for a prior 
year’s veteran’s exemption. You need to meet the follow-
ing requirements:

•	Receive for the first time a notice of disability certifica-
tion that indicates you have disabilities of 40 percent or 
more as of a prior date shown on the certification; and 

•	File a claim for exemption with your county assessor 
within six months of the date the federal government 
notifies you of the qualifying certified disability.

You may not claim an exemption for a tax year that is more 
than three tax years prior to the tax year during which 
you file your claim.

Property held in trust: To receive an exemption on prop-
erty held in a trust, the trust must be clearly identified as 
revocable for the specific property you are claiming for 
exemption.

Surviving spouse/partner: If you are a surviving spouse/
partner and filing for the first time because your spouse/
partner is recently deceased, then you may file a claim for 
exemption at any time during the tax year if:

•	The war veteran died during the prior tax year; or 

•	The homestead property was acquired after March 1, 
but prior to July 1, and the veteran died within 30 days 
of the date the property was acquired.

What documentation do I attach to my claim?
Disabled war veteran:

•	DD-214 or other military-issued documentation that 
shows you were discharged or released from the mili-
tary under honorable conditions and shows your period 
of active service.

•	Certificate issued by the U.S. Department of Veterans 
Affairs, a branch of the U.S. Armed Forces, or a licensed 
physician showing you have disabilities of 40 percent or 
more.

—The disability rating certificate from the U.S. Depart-
ment of Veterans Affairs or from a branch of the U.S. 
Armed Forces must be dated within three years prior 
to the date of your claim for exemption.

—The disability rating certificate from a licensed physi-
cian must be updated every year.

If you have filed the required disability rating certificate, 
you do not have to continue attaching it to your claim if 
you filed it after reaching the age of 65 or are certified as 
permanently disabled.

Surviving spouse/partner:

•	DD-214 or other military-issued documentation that 
shows the war veteran was discharged or released from 
the military under honorable conditions and shows 
their period of active service.

•	Your marriage certificate or certificate of registered 
domestic partnership. You must have been legally mar-
ried to or in a partnership with the war veteran at the 
time of his or her death and you have not entered into a 
new marriage or partnership.

•	The war veteran’s death certificate. If the veteran died  
as a result  of service-connected injury or illness, then 
you may qualify for the greater exemption amount.

To access this publication online, visit www.oregon.gov/
DOR/PTD/docs/310-676.pdf or call your county asses-
sor’s office.

Taxpayer assistance
General tax information.....................www.oregon.gov/DOR

	 Salem................................................................ 503-378-4988 
	 Toll-free from Oregon prefix.....................1-800-356-4222 

Asistencia en español:
	 Salem................................................................ 503-945-8618
	 Gratis de prefijo de Oregon.......................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
	 Salem................................................................ 503-945-8617
	 Toll-free from Oregon prefix.....................1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers for information in alternative formats.


