|The Senior Program was established by the Oregon Legislature to allow qualifying citizens to borrow from the State of Oregon to pay property taxes to the county on their residences. Seniors wishing to apply to the program may file an application. |
How to qualify
- If you are single, you must be 62 years or older by April 15 of the year you file the application.
- If you are married and apply jointly with your spouse or registered domestic partner (RDP), you both must be 62 years or older by April 15 of the year you file the application.
- If only one of you is 62 years or older by April 15 of the year you file the application, you must file as an individual.
- If you own the property jointly, all joint property owners, other than spouse/RDP, must be 62 years or older by April 15 of the year you file the application.
- Your household income must be less than $39,500 for the income tax year 2010 (this includes taxable and nontaxable income including Social Security and pensions). This is not a federal adjusted income (FAGI) amount.
- All joint applicants must own or be buying the property together.
- You must have a recorded deed to the property or must be buying the property under a recorded sales contract.
- You may have a revocable trust. You are not eligible if you have a life estate interest in the property. A life estate is when you live on the property but do not own the property.
Note: On manufactured structures, a $55 fee will be charged to your account for DOR to become a security interest holder. The cost of recording the lien and the manufactured structure fee will be deferred.
- You must live on the property.
- You may live away from the property because of medical reasons. However, you must send a medical statement on letterhead from your health care provider to the Oregon Department of Revenue (the exact medical condition is not needed).
How to repay the deferred taxes
The deferred taxes must be paid when the property is disqualified from the program. Disqualification occurs:
- When you sell the property or it changes ownership. Example: You deed your property to your children.
- When you move permanently from the property for nonmedical reasons.
You may make voluntary payments of all or part of your deferral account and continue to defer current and future taxes.
Make your payments to the Oregon Department of Revenue.
Oregon Property Tax Deferral booklet
Property Tax Deferral application