Appendix |. Tax Law Changes 1980 to 1997

This appendix is a synopsis of tax law changes from 1980
to 1997 that should be kept in mind when comparing the
personal income tax statistics from year to year.

Adjusted Gross Income (AGI)

The definition of Oregon adjusted gross income has been
the same as federal adjusted gross income except for tax
year 1984. In 1983, changes in federal tax law began the
taxation of part of Social Security income and eliminated
the disability income exclusion. Oregon has never taxed
Social Security income and continued the disability in-
come exclusion for tax year 1984. Oregon AGI was com-
puted, for tax year 1984 only, as federal AGI minus
taxable Social Security and disability income exclusion.
Starting with tax year 1985, Oregon AGI has been the
same as federal AGI, and federally taxed Social Security
income has been treated as a subtraction from adjusted
gross income.

Personal Exemptions and
Exemption Credits

Prior to 1983, personal exemptions were deductions from
Oregon adjusted gross income. In 1983, the personal ex-
emption deduction was replaced by an $85 exemption
credit. Beginning in tax year 1987, the personal exemption
credit was indexed for inflation, using the Portland Con-
sumer Price Index (CPI) as the gauge of inflation. See Ap-
pendix Il for a chart of personal income tax rates and
personal exemption deductions and credits over the years.

Surplus Refunds

Under a law passed in 1979, the state must refund excess
revenue to taxpayers when actual General Fund revenues
come in more than two percent higher for the biennium
than was forecast at the close of the legislative session in
which the budget for that biennium was adopted. This
limitation, termed the “two percent kicker,” is applied
separately to corporate income tax revenues and to the sum
of personal income tax and “all other” General Fund reve-
nues. The state is required to refund to corporate and per-
sonal income tax filers the full amount by which each
forecast was exceeded, not just the amount exceeding the
two percent limit.

Prior to 1994, both corporation and personal income tax
surplus refunds were always made in the last year of the
biennium through tax credits proportionately reducing the
final tax liability of each tax filer. Under the kicker law,
refunds were credited to taxpayers in 1985, 1987, and
1989 through tax credits on the return. The surplus per-
centages were 7.7 percent on 1985 returns, 16.6 percent on
1987 returns, and 9.8 percent on 1989 returns. The legis-

lature overrode the law in 1991 by deciding not to allow a
surplus refund credit on either personal or corporate taxes. In
1993 they overrode the law for corporate tax surplus refunds.
Personal income tax filers were not due to receive a surplus
refund because personal income and “all other” General Fund
revenues came in slightly under the forecast.

The 1995 Legislature changed the law governing the way in
which unanticipated surplus revenue is returned to personal
income taxpayers. Up through 1993, refunds were made in the
form of a credit on the tax return for the second year of the
biennium. Starting in 1995, refunds were made as direct pay-
ments to taxpayers based on their tax liability for the first year
of the biennium.

Personal income tax and “all other” General Fund revenues for
the 1995 biennium exceeded the 1993 close of session esti-
mate by $163.6 million. Filers of 1994 tax returns received a
check in December, 1995 for 6.27 percent of their 1994 tax
liability. Personal income tax and “all other” General Fund
revenues for the 1997 biennium exceeded the 1995 close of
session estimate by $431.5 million. Filers of 1996 tax returns
received checks in mid-November of 1997 for 14.37 percent
of their 1996 tax liability.

The legislature did not change the way in which corporation
income tax surplus refunds are returned to filers.

Part-year Resident and Non-resident
Returns

Before 1983, both part-year residents and non-residents were
taxed on the portion of federal income attributable to Oregon
sources. Oregon tax law was changed so that tax for both part-
year residents and non-residents was computed on federal AGI
and then prorated based on the ratio of Oregon to federal ad-
justed gross income. This resulted in higher tax for most filers.
Objections by Washington residents led to a special legislative
session in 1984. The tax computation for non-resident filers
was changed back to the way it had been before 1983, but
part-year residents’ tax continued to be computed on federal
income and prorated.

Federal Tax Reform Act of 1986

Oregon personal income taxes were affected in several ways
by federal tax laws which went into effect in tax year 1987.

Computation of federal adjusted gross income was changed

by:

» Eliminating preferential treatment of capital gains, making
capital gains 100 percent taxable.

* No longer allowing “passive activity” losses to shelter
income from other sources.
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e Modifying Accelerated Cost Recovery System
(ACRS). The most significant change was the increase
in the depreciation period for real estate investments.

* Repealing income averaging.

e Eliminating the dividend exclusion, the deduction for
married couples when both work, and the moving ex-
pense deduction except as an itemized deduction.

»  More stringent requirements on eligibility for the ad-
justment for Individual Retirement Account contribu-
tions.

e Adding a new adjustment for self-employed health
insurance deduction.

Federal changes to personal exemptions and deductions:

* Itemized deductions were curtailed in several ways:
elimination of deduction for sales tax, more stringent
limitations to medical expenses and miscellaneous item-
ized deductions, and phase-out of deductions for con-
sumer credit interest.

e The additional personal exemption for those 65 or
older or blind was changed to an additional standard
deduction.

»  Persons claimed as another’s dependent can no longer
claim personal exemptions on their own returns. The
standard deduction for those claiming zero exemp-
tions is the greater of $500 or their earned income, up
to the standard deduction amount of their filing status.

In response to the 1986 federal changes, Oregon’s 1987
personal income tax law was changed as follows:

e Oregon adopted the federal definition of adjusted
gross income.

»  Oregon decreased the number of marginal tax brackets
and reduced the Oregon maximum tax rate.

e Oregon adopted the federal definition of itemized
deductions.

»  Oregon changed the additional personal exemption for
those 65 or older or blind to an additional standard
deduction. The additional standard deduction is
$1,200 for single or head of household filers and
$1,000 for married filing either jointly or separately.

e Oregon no longer allowed persons who can be
claimed as another’s dependent to claim personal ex-
emptions on their own returns. The standard deduction
for those claiming zero exemptions is the greater of
$500 or their earned income, up to the standard
deduction amount of their filing status.

Other Oregon tax law changes which went into effect for
tax year 1987 returns:

* Anew exemption for disabled children.

» Indexing of the personal exemption credit.

An increase in the credit for the permanently and totally
disabled from 15 percent to 40 percent of the federal
amount.

A decrease in the maximum subtraction for federal tax
from $7,000 to $3,000 for single, joint, and head of
household returns and from $3,500 to $1,500 for married
filing separate returns.

An increase in the standard deduction amounts for each
filing status and removal of AGI as a factor in determin-
ing the standard deduction. The standard deduction
amounts are single, $1,800; joint, $3,000; head of house-
hold, $2,640; and married filing separately, $1,500.

An increase in the maximum subtraction for U. S. public
retirement from $3,400 to $5,000 per person and the
adoption of less restrictive requirements.

Tax Law Changes Since 1987

Tax year 1988:

Two new lines were added to 1988 federal Form 1040:
Individual Retirement Account (IRA) distributions are re-
ported separately from pension income and capital gain
distributions are reported separately from Schedule D
capital gains.

Two new credits were added to Oregon “Other credits:”
Dependent care assistance for employers and health insur-
ance for small business employers.

Tax year 1989:

Beginning with tax year 1989, federal tax law allowed
parents to elect to report minor children’s investment in-
come on their own federal return rather than filing a sepa-
rate return for each child. Oregon did not adopt the
federal method of computing the child’s tax liability, so a
new addition for “federal election on interest and divi-
dends of a minor child” was added to Oregon forms.

Oregon’s child care credit computation changed. A sepa-
rate Oregon rate schedule based on federal taxable income
was applied to federally allowed child care expenses.

Tax year 1990:
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The United States public retirement subtraction was no
longer limited to $5,000 per person.

Federal tax law required that filers pay interest on the
deferred tax liability for certain installment sales. Oregon
required that filers compute interest using the current
Oregon interest rate and add the interest to Oregon tax be-
fore credits.



Tax year 1991:

»  On the federal income tax return, itemized deductions,
except medical and dental expenses, investment inter-
est expense, non-business casualty and theft losses,
and gambling losses were limited for filers with ad-
justed gross income over $100,000 ($50,000 for mar-
ried filing separate returns).

» Federal personal exemption deductions were limited
for filers with adjusted gross income over thresholds
based on filing status: joint returns, $150,000; single

returns, $100,000; head of household returns,
$125,000; and married filing separate returns,
$75,000.

e The Oregon subtractions for Oregon and United States
public retirement income were eliminated. They were
replaced by a credit available to all taxpayers age 58
and over who meet the income limit and have retire-
ment income, public or private.

e Other subtractions from Oregon income were ex-
panded to include: IRA and Keogh distributions on
which tax has already been paid to another state while
the taxpayer was not an Oregon resident, oil heat tank
cleanup costs, special medical deductions, active duty
pay for Persian Gulf service and other service outside
Oregon, and underground storage tanks pollution
grants.

*  New credits for bone marrow programs, child devel-
opment contributions, and youth apprenticeship pro-
grams were added to other credits.

e The Homeowner and Renter Refund Program
(HARRP) was eliminated, and the Elderly Rental As-
sistance Program (ERA) was expanded.

Tax year 1992:

e On the federal income tax return, the adjusted gross
income threshold for limiting itemized deductions was
increased to $105,250 ($52,625 if married filing sepa-
rately).

»  The thresholds for limiting federal personal exemption
deductions were increased to: joint returns, $157,900;
single returns, $105,250; head of household returns,
$131,550; and married filing separate returns,
$78,950.

e The federal deduction for 25 percent of health insur-
ance costs of self-employed individuals ended June
30. Oregon allowed this deduction for all of 1992,
with the amount from July 1 to December 31 claimed
as an other subtraction.

* On the Oregon return, military active duty pay earned
outside Oregon continued as an other subtraction.

e Other credits expanded to include: a credit for the
involuntary moving of a mobile home and a credit for
small business employers who provide medical insur-

ance for their employees or to employees who purchase
their own insurance, either through the Oregon Medical
Insurance Pool or under one of the plans provided through
the Insurance Pool Governing Board. Other credits for
business energy, pollution control, and reclaimed plastics
were limited to those giving preference to Oregon pro-
ducers of the recycled materials.

The credit for income tax paid to another state was
changed so it is claimed on the non-resident return of
people taxed by both Oregon and one of the following:
Arizona, California, Indiana, Virginia, or Guam. For in-
come taxed by other states, Oregon allows the credit to
Oregon residents.

Tax year 1993:
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The thresholds for limiting federal itemized deductions
were increased to $108,450 or $54,225 if married filing a
separate return.

The thresholds for limiting federal personal exemption
deductions were increased to: joint returns, $162,700;
single returns, $108,450; head of household returns,
$135,600; and married filing separate returns, $81,350.

The federal deduction for 25 percent of health insurance
costs of self-employed individuals was reinstated retroac-
tive to June 30, 1992. Oregon allows this deduction under
a separate law.

The following federal law changes were not allowed on
Oregon returns for 1993, but the 1995 legislative session
reconnected retroactively:

O employer-provided educational assistance deduction.

O depreciation of non-residential real property placed in
service on or after May 13, 1993.

O expensing of qualifying assets (Section 179 expenses).

O deduction for business meals and entertainment ex-
penses.

On the Oregon return, active duty pay income continued
to be subtracted as an other subtraction.

The eligibility age for Oregon’s retirement income credit
and special medical deduction increased to 59.

Credit for income tax paid to another state must be taken
on the non-resident return if income is taxed by Oregon
and one of the following: Arizona, California, Indiana, or
Virginia.

Three credits included as “Other Credits” were revised:

0 Disabled child was expanded to include serious emo-
tional disturbance and traumatic brain injury.

O Rural medical practice no longer has a required three-
year period.

O Crop gleaning was extended indefinitely.



Minimum amount for a refund check increased to $5.

Requirements for computing estimated tax for 1994
have changed.

Tax year 1994:

The thresholds for federal limitations for itemized
deductions were increased to $111,800 or $55,900 if
married filing a separate return.

The thresholds for limiting federal personal exemption
deductions were increased to: joint returns, $167,700;
single returns, $111,800; head of household returns,
$139,750; and married filing separate returns,
$83,850.

Capital gain distributions were reported with capital
gains rather than on a separate line.

The federal deduction for 25 percent of health insur-
ance costs of self-employed individuals that expired
December 31, 1993, was retroactively reinstated and
made permanent in April 1995. On 1994 returns, Ore-
gon allowed this deduction under a separate law.

Moving expenses were changed from an itemized de-
duction to an adjustment, and some of the require-
ments were made more stringent. For 1994 returns,
Oregon followed prior federal law until the Legisla-
ture reconnected to federal law as of April 15, 1995.

Other federal law provisions affected by the reconnect
are:

O employer-provided educational assistance
deductions.

depreciation of non-residential real property.
amortization of goodwill and related intangibles.

business meals and entertainment.

O o o o

and the election to expense certain tangible prop-
erty (Section 179 expenses).

Tax year 1995:

The thresholds for federal limitations for itemized
deductions were increased to $114,700 or $57,350 if
married filing a separate return.

The thresholds for limiting federal personal exemption
deductions were increased to: joint returns, $172,050;
single returns, $114,700; head of household returns,
$143,350; and married filing separate returns,
$86,025.

Oregon law follows federal law as of April 15, 1995.
Most items are treated the same on Oregon returns
and federal returns. Unused business credits that may
be taken as a deduction on the federal return, how-

ever, are not allowed on the Oregon return. They require
an Oregon addition.

e Military active duty pay continues to be subtracted from
Oregon income if it was earned outside Oregon.

e The minimum age requirement for retirement income
credit and special Oregon medical deduction is 60.

Tax year 1996:
e Oregon law follows federal law as of April 15, 1995.

Federal law:

O Federal tax rates were 15, 28, 31, 36, and 39.6 percent
except for capital gains, which were taxed at 28 per-
cent.

O Federal personal exemptions were $2,550. The phase-
out thresholds were $176,950 for joint returns,
$147,450 for head of household returns, $117,950 for
single returns, and $88,475 for married filing separate
returns.

O The thresholds for federal limitations for itemized de-
ductions were increased to $117,950 or $58,975 if
married filing a separate return.

Oregon Law:

O Certain depreciation differences due to the Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993 require a one-time
adjustment on the 1996 tax return or an amended 1993
or 1994 return. If an Oregon addition or subtraction
was taken for 1993 or 1994 for Section 179 expense,
the taxpayer may either amend the 1993 or 1994 re-
turn or take a one-time adjustment on the 1996 Oregon
return. For assets placed in service between 1981 and
1985 (ACRS assets), the taxpayer must make a one-
time adjustment on the 1996 return to align the Ore-
gon basis with the federal basis. The one-time
adjustment does not apply to depreciation of non-
residential real property placed in service in 1993 or
1994. Instead, the 1993 or 1994 return must be

O %TSPndn‘?ﬂg in 1996, gain on the sale of certain business
assets may be deferred if the proceeds are reinvested
in qualifying business assets within six months. The
“Oregon deferral of reinvested gain” subtraction was
added to form 40.

O The addition for the “federal election on interest and
dividends of a minor child” was combined with other
additions on Oregon Form 40.

0 The minimum age requirement for retirement income
credit and special Oregon medical deduction is 60.

Tax year 1997:

e Oregon law is now permanently tied to federal law. Most
items are treated the same way on Oregon and federal re-
turns.
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Federal law:

O

Federal tax rates were 15, 28, 31, 36, and 39.6
percent except for capital gains. For individuals,
the maximum long-term capital gain tax rates for
sales or exchanges of property after May 6, 1997,
were 20 percent for taxpayers in the 28 percent or
greater tax bracket, and 10 percent for taxpayers in
the 15 percent tax bracket.

Standard deductions were $4,150 for single filers,
$6,900 for joint returns, $3,450 for married filing
separate returns, and $6,050 for head of house-
hold. Additional standard deductions for those
over age 65 or blind were $1,000 for single or
head of household filers and $800 for married fil-
ing either joint or separate returns. For filers with
zero exemptions, the standard deduction was the
larger of $650 or the amount of earned income up
to the amount of the appropriate standard
deduction based on filing status.

Itemized deductions were limited for taxpayers
with adjusted gross income over $121,200,
($60,600 if married filing a separate return).

Deductions for personal exemptions increased to
$2,650. The deduction is phased out for high in-
come taxpayers with adjusted gross income over
$181,800 for joint returns, $151,500 for head of
household returns, $121,200 for single returns, or
$90,900 for separate returns.

Medical savings are a new federal adjustment al-
lowed to persons covered only under a high de-
ductible health plan.

169

0 The maximum individual retirement arrangement
(IRA) for a spouse with little or no income has been
increased to $2,000.

O A new tax credit may be claimed for qualified adop-
tion expenses paid in 1997. The maximum credit is
$5,000, ($6,000 for a child with special needs).

Oregon law:

O The standard deduction for a person who can be
claimed on another’s tax return was increased to the
greater of $650 or the amount of earned income up to
the standard deduction for the person’s filing status.

O Two new credits began in 1997, the earned income
credit and the working family credit. The earned in-
come credit is equal to 5 percent of the federal earned
income credit. The amount of working family credit
depends upon household size and adjusted gross in-
come. Both new credits may be taken together with
the child care credit, but the total of all Oregon credits
cannot exceed the Oregon tax.

0 The minimum age requirement for the retirement in-
come credit and special Oregon medical deduction is
61. Effective January 1, 1996, the credit is figured on
pension income only if it is included in Oregon tax-
able income. Prior to 1996, the credit was figured on
pension income included in federal taxable income.
Taxpayers may need to amend their 1996 returns due
to this tax law change.



