Petroleum Loading Tax

CHAPTER 14. PETROLEUM LOADING TAX

The petroleum loading tax is paid by in-state distributors of petroleum products. The tax rate is set by
the State Fire Marshal and is currently $4.75 per load of 100 or more gallons. Products subject to the tax
are petroleum products obtained from distilling and processing crude oil and capable of being used as a fuel
for propulsion of a motor vehicle, including aircraft. Products excluded are propane, naphtha and kero-
sene type jet fuels, products destined for chemical manufacturing or feedstock, or fuels sold to vessels en-
gaged in interstate or international commerce.

The tax began September 1, 1989. Its purpose is to protect Oregon’s environment, to carry out Ore-
gon’s oil, hazardous material and hazardous substance emergency response programs, and to provide up
to $1 million each year to fund the Orphan Site Account. The Orphan Site Account is part of the Haz-
ardous Substance Remedial Action Fund established under ORS 465.381 and is used to clean up contami-
nated sites where the responsible party is unknown, unwilling, or unable to undertake the cleanup.
Revenues from the tax must be used to clean up spills on the state’s roads and in roadside rest areas.

Receipts from the petroleum loading tax were $2.5 million for the 1997-99 biennium.
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Petroleum Loading Tax

14.001 PRODUCT PROHIBITED FROM TAX BY FEDERAL LAW

Oregon Statute: 465.111
Sunset Date: None
Year Enacted: 1989

1999-01 Revenue Impact: Not Available
2001-03 Revenue Impact: Not Available

DESCRIPTION: Oregon law states that “Any petroleum product which the Constitution or laws of the
United States prohibit the state from taxing” is exempt from the Petroleum Loading
Tax. It is not clear, however, whether the federal constitution or laws prohibit the
taxation of any specific petroleum product.

PURPOSE: To comply with federal law.
WHO BENEFITS: The federal government, and by extension, taxpayers.
EVALUATION: Not Evaluated.
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