Hazardous Substances Fee

CHAPTER 11. HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES FEE

A variable fee is imposed on the possession of hazardous substances at business facilities in Oregon,
including substances manufactured, stored, or used at the facility. Any chemical substance or waste for which
a material safety data sheet is required by Department of Consumer and Business Services is considered a
hazardous substance. Excluded from this category are crude oil and petroleum products, solid waste, or
hazardous waste under ORS 466.005. The fee is based upon the type and quantity of the hazardous chemical,
and the rate is set by the state fire marshal, subject to a statutory maximum.

The hazardous substance fee began in 1989. Its purpose is to provide community planners, emergency
responders, and the public with information on hazardous substances in their communities; to minimize the
use and dangers of hazardous substances; to fund the Oregon Community Right to Know programs; and to
provide funding for the Orphan Site Account. The Orphan Site Account is part of the Hazardous Substance
Remedial Action Fund established under ORS 465.381 and is used to clean up contaminated sites where the
responsible party is unknown, unwilling, or unable to undertake the cleanup.

The level of the fee is set each year by the state fire marshal based on guidelines established in law (ORS
453.402). For funding the Community Right to Know and Protection Act, the fee can range from $25 to
$2,000 per site. For funding the Toxics Use Reduction and Hazardous Waste Reduction Act, the fee can
range from $25 to $2,000 per site. For funding the Orphan Site Account, the fee can range from $25 to
$9,000 per site but not more than $25,000 for a single company. The collections for the Orphan Site Account
cannot exceed $1 million per year.

Total receipts from the tax are forecasted to be $4.9 million for the 2003—05 biennium and $5.3 million for
the 2005—07 biennium.
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Hazardous Substance Fee

11.001 STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT PROPERTY

Oregon Statute: 453.402(4)(e)
Sunset Date: None
Year Enacted: 1989

2003-05 Revenue Impact: Not Available
200507 Revenue Impact: Not Available
DESCRIPTION: State and local government property is exempt from paying the hazardous substances

fee. This fee contributes to the Orphan Site Account, which is used to finance the
cleanup of contaminated sites where the responsible party is unknown, unwilling, or
unable to undertake the cleanup.

PURPOSE: To compensate for the fact that the Orphan Site Account may not be used to pay the
state’s remedial action costs at facilities owned by the state.

WHO BENEFITS: State and local governments.

EVALUATION: This exemption is to recognize that the Orphan Site Account is not used to clean up
hazardous substances on property owned by state or local governments. [Evaluated
by the Department of Revenue.]

11.002 SUBSTANCE PROHIBITED FROM TAX BY FEDERAL LAW

Oregon Statute: 453.402(4)(d)
Sunset Date: None
Year Enacted: 1989

2003-05 Revenue Impact: Not Available
200507 Revenue Impact: Not Available
DESCRIPTION: Oregon law states that “Any substance or activity which the Constitution or laws of

the United States prohibit the state from taxing” are exempt from the Hazardous
Substances Tax. It is not clear, however, whether the federal constitution of laws
prohibit the taxation of any specific substance or activity.

PURPOSE: To comply with federal law.
WHO BENEFITS: The federal government.
EVALUATION: Not evaluated.
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