Petroleum Load Fee

CHAPTER 13. PETROLEUM LOAD FEE

The petroleum load fee is paid by importers of petroleum products into Oregon. The fee rate is set by the state
fire marshal and is currently $4.75 per load of 100 or more gallons. Products subject to the fee are any
petroleum products obtained from distilling and processing crude oil that are capable of being used as a fuel
for propulsion of a motor vehicle, including aircraft. Products excluded are propane, naphtha and kerosene
type jet fuels, products destined for chemical manufacturing or feedstock, or fuels sold to vessels engaged in
interstate or international commerce.

The fee began September 1, 1989. Its purpose is to protect Oregon’s environment; to carry out Oregon’s oil,
hazardous material, and hazardous substance Emergency Response Program; and to provide up to $1 million
each year to fund the Orphan Site Account. The Orphan Site Account is part of the Hazardous Substance
Remedial Action Fund established under ORS 465.381 and is used to clean up contaminated sites where the
responsible party is unknown, unwilling, or unable to undertake the cleanup. Revenues from the fee must be
used to clean up spills on the state’s roads and in roadside rest areas.

Receipts from the petroleum load fee are expected to be $2.4 million for the 2003—05 biennium and $2.5
million for the 2005-07 biennium.
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Petroleum Load Fee

13.001 PRODUCT PROHIBITED FROM TAX BY FEDERAL LAW

Oregon Statute: 465.111
Sunset Date: None
Year Enacted: 1989

2003-05 Revenue Impact: Not Available
200507 Revenue Impact: Not Available
DESCRIPTION: Oregon law states that “Any petroleum product which the Constitution or laws of the

United States prohibit the state from taxing” is exempt from the Petroleum Loading
Tax. It is not clear, however, whether the federal constitution or laws prohibit the
taxation of any specific petroleum product.

PURPOSE: To comply with federal law.
WHO BENEFITS: The federal government.
EVALUATION: Not evaluated.
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