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Corporation excise and income calculated tax and minimum tax  
 
Purpose: To highlight the upcoming 2013 corporation calculated tax rate change and to outline previous 
corporation calculated tax and minimum tax changes. 
 
Tax program: Corporation excise and income tax. 
 
Statutes: ORS 317.061 and 317.090 
 
Issue: Corporation calculated tax and minimum tax. 
 
Background: 

• Corporation excise tax filers pay the greater of calculated tax or minimum tax.  
• Corporation income tax filers pay calculated tax. Income tax filers are not subject to minimum tax. 
• S corporations without federal taxable income, built-in gains, or excess net passive income generally have 

-0- calculated tax. These corporations pay minimum tax if they are excise tax filers.  
 

Calculated Tax 
 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2013  

• If Oregon taxable income is $10 million or less, multiply Oregon taxable income by 6.6% (not below 
zero).  

• If Oregon taxable income is more than $10 million, multiply the amount that is more than $10 million by 
7.6%, and add $660,000. 

 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2011 and before January 1, 2013 

• If Oregon taxable income is $250,000 or less, multiply Oregon taxable income by 6.6% (not below zero). 
• If Oregon taxable income is more than $250,000, multiply the amount that is more than $250,000 by 

7.6%, and add $16,500. 
 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009 and before January 1, 2011 

• If Oregon taxable income is $250,000 or less, multiply Oregon taxable income by 6.6% (not below zero). 
• If Oregon taxable income is more than $250,000, multiply the amount that is more than $250,000 by 

7.9%, and add $16,500. 
 
For tax years beginning before January 1, 2009  

• Multiply Oregon taxable income by 6.6%. 
 

Minimum Tax 
 
Note: Income tax filers pay only calculated tax. They are not subject to minimum tax. 
 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009 

• S corporation minimum tax is $150 for excise tax filers.  
• C corporations use the table below. 

This ORB has been modified and superseded by ORB 2013-02. 
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MINIMUM TAX TABLE - C corporations only 
     Oregon sales of filing group  Minimum tax 

 
Under $500,000  $150 
$500,000 to $999,999  500 
$1,000,000 to $1,999,999  1,000 
$2,000,000 to $2,999,999  1,500 
$3,000,000 to $4,999,999  2,000 
$5,000,000 to $6,999,999  4,000 
$7,000,000 to $9,999,999  7,500 
$10,000,000 to $24,999,999  15,000 
$25,000,000 to $49,999,999  30,000 
$50,000,000 to $74,999,999  50,000 
$75,000,000 to $99,999,999  75,000 
$100,000,000 and above  100,000 

 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006 and before January 1, 2009 

• Corporation minimum tax is $10 for excise tax filers.  
• Note: the minimum tax for an affiliated group of corporations filing a consolidated return is $10 

multiplied by the number of corporations in the group that are doing business in Oregon. 
 
For tax years beginning before January 1, 2006 

• Corporation minimum tax is $10 for excise tax filers.  
• Note: the minimum tax for an affiliated group of corporations filing a consolidated return is $10. The $10 

minimum tax due for each affiliate included in the consolidated return doing business in Oregon is 
cancelled. This determination is made under the authority of ORS 305.145(3).  

 
Effect of this document: ORBs provide general information to the public and don’t replace the need for 
competent legal or accounting advice. ORBs don’t have the force or effect of law and are not binding. 
 
Anyone using these publications should be alert for changes that may result from legislative action, court 
decisions, Attorney General opinions, or from enactments or amendments to Oregon Revised Statutes or Oregon 
Administrative Rules. 
 
For more information, visit www.oregon.gov/dor. 
 
Do you have a suggestion for a future ORB topic? Let us know at corp.tax.library@state.or.us. 
 
Issued:  December 31, 2012 


