
Your appeal rights
The appeal information in this pamphlet is 
a general description of your rights and the 
appeals process. It does not cover all situations.

If you don’t agree with a department action, 
you have the right to appeal.

The time limits explained are important. 
They cannot be extended. You must appeal 
within the proper time, or your case may not 
be considered. The postmark is used as the 
filing date for appeals.

Appealing to the  
Oregon Department of Revenue
You must file a written objection or request 
a conference within 30 days from the date of 
our notice.

•	 If you file a written objection, tell us why 
you disagree. We will send you a written 
response. 

•	 If you request a conference, a conference 
officer will contact you. Your conference can 
be held by phone or in one of our offices. 
The conference must be held within one 
year from the date of our notice.

There is no special form for a written objec-
tion or requesting a conference. To do either, 
you must write a letter. Be sure to include:
•	 Your name(s), address, Social Security 

number(s), daytime phone, and tax year(s) 
at issue.

•	 A statement explaining why you disagree 
with the department.

•	 A statement explaining whether you are 
filing a written objection or requesting a 
conference. 

It also helps to attach a copy of the notice or 
decision you are appealing. Send your letter to:

Oregon Department of Revenue 
955 Center Street NE 
Salem OR 97301-2555

Appealing to the Oregon Tax Court
Magistrate Division

If you disagree with the decision from the 
written objection or conference, or you did 
not appeal within the 30-day appeal period, 
you may appeal to the Magistrate Division 
of the Oregon Tax Court. You must appeal in 
writing within 90 days after the date on the 
written objection decision, conference deci-
sion letter, or notice of assessment. 

If you do not appeal within the 90 days, you 
can appeal within two years after you pay 
the tax, penalty, and interest. If you did not 
appeal a refund adjustment within 30 days, 
you may appeal to the Magistrate Division 
within 120 days from the date of our notice.

To appeal to the Magistrate Division, you 
must file a form and pay a filing fee. Forms 
are available from the Tax Court.

For more information about Magistrate 
appeals, contact: 

Oregon Tax Court
Magistrate Division
1163 State Street
Salem OR 97301-2563
(503) 986-5650
www.courts.oregon.gov/tax

Regular division

If you disagree with the Magistrate decision, 
you may appeal within 60 days to the regular 
division of the Oregon Tax Court.

To appeal a Magistrate decision, you must file a 
complaint in the regular division of the Oregon 
Tax Court. For more information, contact:

Oregon Tax Court
Regular Division
1163 State Street
Salem OR 97301-2563
(503) 986-5650
www.courts.oregon.gov/tax

How to request a copy  
of your tax return
If you need a copy of your original return, 
write to: 

Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555

Be sure to include the following in your 
request:

•	 The name(s) and address shown on your 
return.

•	 Your current address.
•	 The tax year(s) involved.
•	 The Social Security number(s) and signa-

tures of the person(s) who filed the return.
•	 $4 for the first 20 pages plus $0.25 for each 

additional page on each return ordered.

How to get state tax forms
Oregon tax forms are available on the inter-
net at www.oregon.gov/dor. Or, write to: 

Forms
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999
Salem OR 97309-0990

Have questions? Need help?
General tax information.... www.oregon.gov/dor
Salem.....................................................(503) 378-4988
Toll-free from an Oregon prefix....1 (800) 356-4222

Asistencia en español:
En Salem o fuera de Oregon....... (503) 378-4988
Gratis de prefijo de Oregon..... 1 (800) 356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
Salem area or outside Oregon......... (503) 945-8617
Toll-free from an Oregon prefix....1 (800) 886-7204

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one 
of the help numbers above for information in 
alternative formats.
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As a taxpayer, you are entitled to fair, 
professional, prompt, and courteous 

treatment. Oregon law ensures this treatment 
at each step of the tax process.

Your right to confidentiality
The law requires Department of Revenue 
employees to keep your tax information 
private. We must keep your information 
confidential whether we got this information 
from your state tax returns, letters, or any 
meetings with you. In some cases, the law 
allows us to share information with govern-
ment agencies, such as the Internal Revenue 
Service and certain state and local agencies.

Payment of your tax
You have the right to pay only your fair share 
of Oregon tax. We will work with you to 
apply the law consistently and fairly so you 
pay the correct amount of tax. You have the 
right to appeal when you disagree with:

• An additional amount we say you owe;
•	An adjustment we make to your refund;
•	How we figured your tax; or
•	Our interpretation of tax law.

You will find more information about your 
appeal rights in this pamphlet.

Your payment responsibilities

You are responsible for paying the full amount 
of tax, penalty, and interest you owe. We 
won’t take action to collect an amount you 
owe until you have had a chance to pay. We 
prefer to work with you so you can pay your 
tax voluntarily and on time. It is important 
for you to respond promptly when we try to 
contact you. If you don’t respond, we may 
use collection action.

Payment arrangements
It is best to pay your taxes when you file 
your return or when you receive a bill from 
us. If you can’t pay in full, we may be able to 
make other arrangements. Where a proven 
financial hardship exists, we may accept 
installment payments. If such a hardship 
exists, we may require you to provide infor-
mation about your financial condition. If 
your information shows that you can pay in 
full, we will require you to do so. Please note 
that financial hardship and financial incon-
venience are not the same. In some cases, we 
may ask you to obtain a commercial loan if 
we determine that you can qualify.

Collection actions
If you don’t pay your taxes or make accept-
able payment arrangements, we will collect 
the money you owe. We may garnish your 
wages or bank account, file a tax lien against 
your property, seize your property, or apply 
a future tax refund to your debt.

Tax liens
A tax lien is a public notice of debt. It attaches 
to your property and your rights to property. 
Once a tax lien is filed, it becomes a matter of 
public record and may harm your credit rating.

Garnishments and seizures
A garnishment is the taking of your property 
held by others to satisfy your debt. A seizure 
is the taking of property directly from you. 

We may garnish your property in the control 
of others (such as employers and banks) or 
seize property in your possession (such as 
automobiles and boats). We may garnish 
contractual payments others owe to you. 

Certain income, such as Social Security or 
disability payments, are protected from gar-
nishment. Contact us if you think you have 
protected income. We will not take on the 

responsibility of collecting your accounts 
receivable. If we garnish your wages or other 
property, you have a right to challenge the 
garnishment. 

We may seize and sell most types of real or 
personal property you may own or have an 
interest in to satisfy your debt. If we seize 
your property, you have the right to a con-
tested case hearing. At the hearing you can 
present your case to show why we should 
not sell your property to satisfy your tax 
debt. You may redeem your property at any 
time before it is sold by paying the tax, penal-
ties, interest, and any expenses we incurred 
in seizing and storing the property.

Penalties and interest
You have the right to ask us to cancel certain 
penalties if you can show reasonable cause 
for the failure to comply that led to the pen-
alty. However, it is our general policy not to 
cancel interest, because interest represents 
a charge for your use of the money. Interest 
is figured from the due date of your return.

Refunds of overpaid tax
You may file a refund claim up to (a) three 
years from the due date of your original 
return or the date you filed your tax return or 
(b) two years from the date you paid your tax 
or a portion of your tax, whichever is later. 

If you amend your return after the three-
year period, your refund can’t exceed the 
tax you paid during the two years before the 
date you filed your amended return. We will 
compare your amended return with your 
original return, then process it. Please allow 
three to four months to process your refund 
claim. Interest on your refund is paid during 
this time.

Your rights during an audit
We accept most tax returns as filed. But if 
we select your return for audit, you have 
the right to a fair examination and a written 
explanation of any changes we make to your 
tax return because of the audit.

During an audit, we will ask you to show 
proof of amounts on your return. You have 
the right to know why we are asking for 
information, how we will use that informa-
tion, and what will happen if you don’t pro-
vide the information.

We complete some audits entirely through the 
mail. We do other audits in person. We try to 
schedule audit appointments at your conve-
nience. The audit may be held at your home 
or office, at your representative’s office, or at 
one of our offices. When the appointment is 
made, the auditor will tell you which docu-
ments you should have available for review.

Throughout the audit, you can represent 
yourself, have someone else accompany you, 
or, with your written permission, have some-
one represent you in your absence.

You may make a sound recording of the 
audit, but let the auditor know in advance. If 
we record the meeting, you may have a copy 
of the recording. A fee is charged for copies 
of recordings.

After the audit
After the audit, we will:
•	 Accept the tax return as filed; or
•	 Issue a notice of deficiency and auditor’s 

report that shows the additional amount 
you must pay and why; or

•	 Issue an auditor’s report that shows you 
are entitled to a refund and why.

We will give explanations for any proposed 
changes to your return. Please ask us about 
anything that is unclear to you.


