Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
General Tax Questions


Q. Does the Department of Revenue have an Accessibility Policy or Coordinator?
A. In accordance with the requirements of title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, we will not and do not discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities on the basis of disability in our services, programs or activities. Read the full ADA Policy and the Grievance Procedure to learn more, and to find contact information for our ADA Coordinator.

Change of Address

Q. How do I change my address?

A. There are four ways that you can update your address. Please choose the one that is most convenient for you: 
  1. Change your address online. Access your account details through our "Update Personal Info" account. Once you create an account you will be able to update mailing address, phone number, email address, and communication preferences. Learn more about "My Account" services.
  2. Fill out a paper form. You may fill out the Change of Address/Name form on your computer, print it, and send it to us; or you may print it, fill it out by hand, and mail or fax it to the Department of Revenue. For confidentiality reasons, we do not accept these forms by email at this time.
  3. Change your address on your next tax return. If you have a paper form with the old address, simply cross it out and clearly write the new address on your return. If you are using a new form, just include the correct address. Remember to chek the box next to the address to indicate that your address has changed. 
  4. Call our taxpayer services. To change your address immediately, call 503-378-4988 and speak with one of our representatives.
Back to Top

Payment Plans

Q. How do I sign up for a payment plan?

A. If you have an outstanding balance on any year's taxes, you may pay it in full at any time, plus penalties and interest. If you can't make lump sum payment, you may qualify for a payment plan. You can set up a payment plan online, or call and speak to a Tax Services representative.

Usually, payment plans must be paid within 12 months. For more information, call 503-945-8200

Read through Payment Plan FAQ
Set up a Payment Plan online
Back to Top

Power of Attorney

Q. Where is the Power of Attorney form?

A. You must submit a power of attorney form to:
  • allow us to share your confidential tax information with another person. This person won't receive any of notices we send to you.
  • authorize another person to represent you and act on your behalf. You may choose a family member, employer, lawyer, tax preparer or other individual. See the power of attorney form instructions for more information.
Download the Power of Attorney Form
Back to Top

Sign up for Alerts

Q. How do I sign up for email updates on tax law changes?
A. There are many ways you can receive information about updates from us.  Click on any of the links below to learn more about these programs:
Back to Top

Taxpayer Refunds

Q. Is there a kicker check/refund this year?

A. Personal Income Tax Refunds:
The Oregon Legislature decides how much money we need to fund our state resources and prepares biennial (two-year) budgets.

The 1979 Oregon Legislature passed the "2 percent kicker" law, requiring a refund of excess revenue to taxpayers when actual General Fund revenues are more than 2 percent above the forecasted amount. Refund checks are issued when this criteria is met.

Business/Corporation Tax Refunds:
The state surplus refund, or kicker also applies to businesses, though it's administered separately from the personal income tax kicker.

Additional information and historical facts about the Oregon surplus refund.
Back to Top

Report Tax Fraud

Q. How do I report tax fraud?
A. Please visit our Report Tax Fraud webpage for instructions on how to report suspected fraud. For additional information, read our tax fraud frequently asked questions.

Back to Top