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Filing E911 Emergency Communication Returns	 Publication OR-E-911

How to file
You can complete your return electronically using Rev-
enue Online at www.oregon/gov/dor.

Revenue Online will calculate the tax you owe, allow 
for payment, and verify when we receive your filing 
and payment. Revenue Online also provides conve-
nient tools for managing your E911 tax account.

You can register with Revenue Online after completing 
your return. If this is not your first time filing an Ore-
gon E911 tax return, you’ll need the following informa-
tion to register:

•	An email address.
•	Your federal employer identification number (FEIN) 

[or Social Security number (SSN) if you file your 
business on a Schedule C].

•	Your business ZIP code.
•	Your business identification number (BIN).
•	A letter identification number or recent payment 

amount.

You can also file online for older quarters.

Retailers
Include the sales that were reported on your Oregon 
income or excise tax return. A transaction should be 
reported on this form if:

•	The purchase is made in person at an Oregon loca-
tion; or

•	The buyer’s address is in Oregon; or
•	The buyer’s phone number is associated with a loca-

tion in Oregon.

Telecommunications providers
Include sales if the subscriber’s place of primary use is 
within Oregon.

General information

Telecommunications provider services
The E911 tax rate is $0.75 monthly per subscriber of tele-
communications or interconnected Voice over Internet 
Protocol (VoIP) service with access to 911.

VoIP enables people to use the internet to make and 
receive phone calls by sending voice data in packets 
using Internet Protocol (IP). It means service that:

•	Enables real-time, two-way voice communications;

•	Requires a broadband connection from the user’s 
location;

•	Requires internet protocol-compatible customer
premises equipment; and

•	Permits users to receive calls from and terminate 
calls to the public switched phone network.

Retailer prepaid wireless services
The E911 tax rate for prepaid wireless services is $0.75 
per retail transaction.

A retail transaction is a purchase associated with an 
individual phone unless purchased for resale.

Example 1. Allen buys three phone cards with 50 min-
utes of service each and Ilsa buys one phone card with 
150 minutes of service. Because Allen purchased three 
separate phone cards, he will pay E911 tax of $2.25 
(three cards x $0.75 per card). Since Ilsa only bought one 
card, she will pay E911 tax of $0.75 (one card x $0.75).

Example 2. Aaron buys 150 minutes of service online 
for his phone, he will pay $0.75 in E911 tax (one sale x 
$0.75).

What is the applicable law? Oregon Revised Statute 
(ORS) 403.200–403.250

Form instructions
Name.

•	Businesses—Enter your business name as you filed 
it with the Oregon Secretary of State.

•	Individuals—Enter your legal name.

Business name. If you’re doing business under a dif-
ferent name than the name above, enter that name in 
this box.

FEIN. This is a nine-digit number assigned by the IRS. 
Enter your FEIN in this box.

SSN. If you don’t have an FEIN, enter your SSN.

Oregon Public Utility Commission (OPUC) identifi-
cation number. This is for telecommunications provid-
ers only. OPUC assigns a unique identification number, 
which doesn’t change when the company’s ownership 
or name changes. Enter this number in this box.

First time filers. If this is your first time filing an E911 
form, complete the “First time filer” section.

•	Indicate whether this is a new business or a successor 
to a previously existing business. If this is a successor 
business, enter the name, FEIN, and BIN of the previ-
ous business.



150-603-400 (Rev. 06-16)	 2

•	Include a listing of the names, addresses, and SSNs of 
each current owner, partner, or corporate officer.

•	If you’re a telecommunications provider, select which 
method you’ll use to determine your tax. Method 1 
reports accesses for which the tax has been collected. 
Method 2 reports accesses for which the tax has been 
billed. Once selected, the method of reporting can 
only be changed by contacting us in advance.

Final filing. Select whether this business is closed or 
has been merged or reorganized. If this business has 
been merged or reorganized, enter the name and FEIN 
of the merged or reorganized business.

Due date.

Filing due dates for quarterly reports
Quarter Quarter ending date Report due date

1st: Jan–Mar March 31 April 30

2nd: Apr–Jun June 30 July 31

3rd: Jul–Sep September 30 October 31

4th: Oct–Dec December 31 January 31

If the due date is on a weekend or holiday, the report is due the next 
business day.

Penalty. If you don’t pay the tax by the due date, you’ll 
be charged 5 percent of the unpaid tax. If you fail to file 
within 30 days of the due date, an additional penalty of 
20 percent of the unpaid tax will be due.

Interest. Interest is charged on any unpaid tax from the 
due date until the date payment in full is received. The 
current interest rate for 2015 is 4 percent annually. If the 
tax isn’t paid within 60 days of the date on our billing 
notice, the interest rate increases to 8 percent per year.

List A 
Entities exempt from E911 tax

•	Federal, state, and municipal government bodies 
or public corporations.

•	Counties and political subdivisions.
•	Federally chartered corporations specifically 

exempt from state excise taxes by federal law.
•	Regional housing authorities (ORS 307.092).
•	Federally recognized American Indian Tribes 

and tribal members who live within federally 
recognized American Indian country and are 
enrolled members of the tribe with sovereignty 
over that American Indian country.

•	Foreign government offices and representatives 
that are exempt from state taxation by treaty 
provisions.

Retain documentation for audit purposes.

Line instructions

Part I—Tax for prepaid transactions  
(retail sales)
Line 1. Enter the total number of retail transactions for 
the quarter.

Line 2. Enter the total number of retail transactions 
that qualify for exemption (see list A).

Line 3. Subtract line 2 from line 1.

Line 4. Multiply line 3 by $0.75.

Line 5. Multiply line 4 by 2 percent.

Line 6. Calculate the total tax for prepaid wireless due 
by subtracting line 5 from line 4.

Part II—Tax for telecom providers
Section A. Complete columns A through D providing 
total number of subscribers for each type of access you 
offer. Total all accesses in column E.

Section B. Select either Method 1 or 2. Once selected, 
the method of reporting can only be changed by con-
tacting us in advance.

Method 1

Line 7. Enter the total number of telecommunications 
accesses for the quarter from column E in section A.

Line 8. Enter the total number of accesses that qualify 
for exemption (see list A).

Line 9. Subtract line 8 from line 7.

Line 10. Multiply line 9 by $0.75 and enter the total.

Method 2

Line 7. Enter the total number of telecommunications 
accesses for the quarter from column E in section A.

Line 8. Enter the total number of accesses that qualify 
for exemption (see list A).

Line 9. Subtract line 8 from line 7.

Line 10. Enter the gross amount of E911 tax billed for 
the quarter.

Line 11. Enter adjustments for uncollectible accounts, 
refunds, incorrect billings, and other appropriate 
adjustments (retain documentation for audit purposes).

Line 12. Subtract line 11 from line 10 and enter the total.

Part III—Total due
Line 13. Calculate your total due by adding line 6 and 
line 10 (method 1) or line 12 (method 2).
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If you have questions about how to file, contact us at 
spa.help@oregon.gov or 503-945-8247.

Do you have questions or need help?

Emergency Communications Tax

	 spa.help​@​oregon.gov
	 (503) 945-8247
	 (503) 947-2255, fax

Don’t email your confidential information. We can’t guaran-
tee email security. Your general tax or policy questions may 
be emailed.

General

www.oregon.gov/dor
(503) 378-4988 or 1 (800) 356-4222
questions.dor@oregon.gov

Contact us for ADA accommodations or assistance in 
other languages.


