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Department of Public Safety Standards and Training 

Memo 
 

 

Subject: OAR 259-060-0115 – Proposed Rule REPEAL #8 
Restrictions on Vehicles; Restrictions on Description of Security Services 
and Providers 

 

 

From:  Linsay Hale 
  Rules & Compliance Coordinator  
  (503) 378-2431 
  Linsay.Hale@state.or.us 
 

 
Issue: These proposed rule change repeals the obsolete rule dealing with restrictions on 
private security vehicles and impersonation of a peace officer. Penalties for these acts are 
found under OAR 259-060-0300 – Denial/Suspension/Revocation. 
 
The following revised language for OAR 259-060-0115 contains recommended additions 
(bold and underlined) and deletions (strikethrough text).    

259-060-0115  

Restrictions on Vehicles; Restrictions on Description of Security Services and 

Providers 

The Oregon Revised Statutes include restrictions that relate directly to the private 
security industry, such as criminal impersonation, criminal impersonation of a peace 
officer, copying or imitating the standard Oregon State Police uniform, knowingly 
falsifying any information pertinent to an application for private security certification, 
prohibited lighting on vehicles, misuse of the Oregon State Seal and providing security 
services as a professional without being certified to do so: 

(1) Criminal impersonation of a peace officer = Class C felony, up to five years and 
$100,000 fine;  

(2) Criminal impersonation of a public servant = Class A misdemeanor, up to one year 
and $5,000 fine;  

(3) Copy or imitate standard OSP uniform = Class A misdemeanor, up to one year and 
$5,000 fine;  

(4) Knowingly falsify private security provider application = Class A misdemeanor, up to 
one year and $5,000 fine; 
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(5) Misuse of the Oregon State Seal = civil penalty of up to $500;  

(6) Use of prohibited lighting equipment = Class C traffic violation; fines and 
assessments may vary. 

*** 


