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HB4063 passed during the 2012 legislative session and requires licensing agencies to accept an 

applicant’s military training or experience as a substitute for required education or experience if 

the military training is substantially similar to the education and experience requirements of 

licensure, certification or registration. 

Also, OAR 259-020-0015 was recently updated to implement SB71, which was enacted during 

the 2011 legislative session. This bill allows individuals to meet the minimum education 

requirement for general polygraph examiner’s licensure if they have been awarded a GED 

certificate. It has been brought to the attention of the Department that the current organization 

of the education requirement in rule may be confusing. On the advice of legislative counsel, the 

rule is being re-organized to clarify that an individual applying for general polygraph licensure 

must either have received a baccalaureate degree OR have graduated from high school or 

received a GED and has at least five years of active investigative experience.  

259-020-0015 

Minimum Standards for a Polygraph Examiner  

(1) Any applicant for a license as a general polygraph examiner must: 

(a) Be at least 18 years of age;  

(b) Be a citizen of the United States;  

(c) Not have demonstrated a course of behavior in the preceding 10 years that would indicate the 

applicant is unable to perform the duties of a polygraph examiner in a manner that would serve 

the interests of the public. When the Department refuses to issue a license based upon an 

applicant's failure to meet this requirement, the Department must follow the procedures set forth 

in OAR 259-020-0030;  

(d) If previously convicted for a criminal offense, provide information relating to the 

circumstances of the conviction as required by the Department. ORS 670.280 is applicable when 

the Department considers information provided under this paragraph;  

(e) Be fingerprinted and submit one (1) completed fingerprint cards to the Department for 

subsequent submission to the Oregon State Police, Identification Services Section.  

(A) Appropriate fees must accompany the applicant's fingerprints to pay costs of the state and 

federal fingerprint background checks. No general license will be issued until the Department 

has received fingerprint clearance from the Oregon State Police Identification Services Section.  

(B) Currently employed corrections officers, parole and probation officers, or police officers, as 

defined in ORS 181.610, whose fingerprints are on file in accordance with OAR 259-008-0010, 

are exempt from this fingerprinting requirement.  

(f)(A) Have received a baccalaureate degree from an accredited college or university; or  
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(B) Have graduated from high school or have been awarded a General Educational Development 

(GED) certificate; and have 

(C) Have at least five years of active investigative experience before the date of the application.  

(i) Active investigative experience is acquired through full-time employment as an investigator. 

An investigator is a person whose primary assigned duty is the investigation of actual or 

suspected violations of law, either criminal or civil.  

(ii) Administering polygraph examinations will satisfy the investigative experience requirement 

of this section.  

(iii) The Department may, upon application of an individual polygraph examiner, accept the 

examiner's professional experience as being equal in professional value to the five years of active 

investigative experience required by this section.  

(g) Have graduated from a polygraph examiner's course approved by the Department and have 

completed at least 200 examinations, or have worked as a polygraph examiner for a period of at 

least five years for a governmental agency within the State of Oregon and have satisfactorily 

completed at least 200 examinations.  

(h) An applicant may meet the requirements of subsection (f) and (g) of this section if the 

applicant provides the Department with documentation of military training or experience 

that the Department determines is substantially equivalent to the education or experience 

requirements. 

(i) Have successfully completed an examination conducted by the Department in consultation 

with the Advisory Committee as defined in OAR 259-020-0055, to determine competency to act 

as a polygraph examiner. The Department, in consultation with the Advisory Committee, will 

prescribe the manner and contents of any examination conducted by the Department under 

provisions of the Act.  

(i j) Submit a fully-completed Application for Polygraph Examiner's License (DPSST Form F-

203) as prescribed by OAR 259-020-0060, accompanied by documentation of qualifications as 

required by the Department.  

(j k) Submit to the Department appropriate fees as prescribed by OAR 259-020-0035.  

(2) Any person who has held a trainee license for longer than 12 months and who has completed 

the 200 exams required under OAR 259-020-0015 must take the general license examination 

within 12 months of completing the required exams.  

(3) The Department in consultation with the advisory committee may prescribe requirements for:  

(a) The internship of an applicant who fails to pass the first or second oral or written part of the 

examination described in OAR 259-020-0015(1)(h);  
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(b) An applicant who resides in a state other than Oregon. The minimum requirements for an 

out-of-state examiner who does not qualify under ORS 703.130 must include:  

(A) Substantial compliance with the applicable requirements for in-state examiners;  

(B) A log meeting Oregon guidelines;  

(C) Passing the Oregon licensing examination;  

(D) Submitting at least 20 of the last 100 polygraph examinations conducted to a licensed 

Oregon general polygraph examiner for review. A Polygraph Review Critique (DPSST Form F-

203a) must be completed on the examinations and provided to the Department for review by the 

Polygraph Licensing Advisory Committee; and  

(E) Demonstrating proficiency in the field of polygraphy by an oral interview with the Polygraph 

Licensing Advisory Committee.  

(c) Any individual whose license has expired for a period of more than two years and who 

reapplies for licensure. These requirements may include, but are not limited to: 

(A) Documentation indicating any necessary training requirements have been met; and  

(B) Verification that the individual has the current knowledge, skills and ability to perform the 

duties of a polygraph examiner.  

(4) The Department will immediately suspend an applicant's trainee license if the applicant fails 

the third examination. The applicant may submit a new application for a general license only 

after retaking and successfully completing a polygraph examiner's course approved by the 

Department and meeting any additional requirements.  

(5) The Director, acting on the written recommendation of the Polygraph Examiners Licensing 

Advisory Committee, may require a licensed general polygraph examiner to appear for 

reexamination as directed.  

(a) In preparing its written recommendation, the Committee must identify the good cause reasons 

for its recommendation.  

(b) Based on the written recommendation, the reexamination may include the written 

examination, the oral examination, or both.  

(c) Failure of the licensee to comply with the directive to appear for reexamination will result in 

the suspension of the license by the Department, until the licensee appears as directed.  

(6) Every examiner must maintain basic records of examinations conducted. A numerical log or 

ledger (beginning with #1) will provide a brief record of the name of the person examined, date, 

time, type of examination, and results, as well as other information the examiner considers 
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pertinent. Folder or envelope "case" files containing all available test information, including 

notes, questions, charts, reports, and correspondence, must be maintained for a minimum of five 

years unless any applicable Oregon State Archives Records Retention Schedules require longer 

retention.  

(7) An examiner must not conduct more than five (5) completed examinations, of any type, in 

any one calendar day.  

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced are available from the agency.]  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 703.230  

Stats. Implemented: ORS 703.210, 703.230  

 


