
Frequently Asked Questions
Criminal History Registry

Criminal History Registry Frequently Asked Questions:
1.
Q:
Where can I get more information or get my questions answered?

A:
Call the Child Care Division (CCD) toll free at 1-800-556-6616 or locally (Salem) 503-947-1400.

2.
Q:
Why does every agency have their own criminal background check?

A:
Each agency is guided by Oregon Administrative Rules.  These rules specify the information that can be looked at and how eligibility will be determined and often does not match the requirements of other agencies.  

Even if you have completed a background check or fingerprints for another agency, you will be required to complete the process for CCD.

3.
Q:
Why don’t they share their status with other agencies?

A:
Information is gathered from several different sources and belongs to the source, not the agency gathering the information.  For confidentiality reasons, contracts and inter-governmental agreements and statutes strictly prohibit sharing of information gathered from other sources.
4.
Q:
If I make a mistake on the crime(s) information section of my application, what do I do?
A:
Contact CCD toll free at 1-800-556-6616 or local 503-947-1400.
5.
Q:
Why must I be fingerprinted?

A:
Applicants may be fingerprinted for a number of different reasons.  Among those are:

· If the applicant lived outside the State of Oregon anytime during the last 18 months;

· If there is an indication of an out of state or federal criminal record

· If there is a need for positive identification


RULE:  According to OAR 414-061-0080(1), “An FBI criminal records check will be done on a subject individual whose OSP CCH record shows multi-state offender status, who has lived in Oregon less than 18 months or when CCD has information that the individual has committed a crime in another state.”

6.
Q:
What is the cost to be fingerprinted?

A:
The fingerprint fees include:

· The cost of the card is typically $5 to $15, depending on where the prints are taken.

· A fee of $62 is paid to CCD to pay the FBI charges for processing the prints.
· Additional fees may be incurred if prints are rejected or additional information is requested, based on FBI results.

RULE:  According to OAR 414-061-0080(5), “CCD will charge the subject individual $62 for an FBI records check, to be paid at the time of the request.”

7.
Q:
What should I do if I can’t afford to be fingerprinted at this time?


A.
Contact CCD toll free at 1-800-556-6616 or locally (Salem) 503-947-1400.  You can request a form to withdraw your application.  However you will not be able to work in a child care facility until you complete the enrollment process.  If you don’t respond or return your card, a legal process to deny your application will be initiated.  
8.
Q:
How long does it take to process my application?

A:
Once CCD receives the completed criminal history application form and fee, processing time is normally 3 to 5 business days.

9.
Q:
If my application is denied, is my fee refunded?

A:
No.  All fees specifically state they are non-refundable.

10.
Q:
If I overpay my fee, is the difference refunded.

A:
If you are not sure of the fee, please contact CCD toll free at 
1-800-556-6616 or locally (Salem) 503-947-1400 before making the payment.  
11.
Q:
What is a conviction?

A:
A conviction means an adjudication of guilt upon a plea, verdict or finding in a criminal proceeding in a court, but does not include an adjudication which has been expunged by pardon, reversed, set aside or otherwise rendered nugatory.
12.
Q:
What does diversion mean?

A:
A diversion means a referral of a defendant in a criminal case to a supervised performance program or probation prior to adjudication.
13.
Q:
How do I get copies of the associated legal and court proceedings?

A:
Your legal and court proceedings may be obtained by contacting the court clerk’s office where the court proceedings took place.  If you had an attorney for the proceedings you may be able to obtain a copy from your attorney.
14.
Q:
What does “conditional” enrollment mean?

A:
An individual is conditionally enrolled in the Criminal History Registry if he/she has been approved through Oregon State Police and the Department of Human Services (child protective services) but needs an FBI check because of the residency requirement.  Once the individual submits the completed fingerprint materials (but before the FBI results are known), the individual is conditionally enrolled and can function at a licensed facility without restrictions.
15.
Q:
My child was charged with a crime.  Do I have to report it?

A:
Yes.  For further information contact CCD toll free at 1-800-556-6616 or locally (Salem) 503-947-1400.  
16.
Q:
I applied for enrollment in the Criminal History Registry but was denied.  When can I try again?

A:
If your denial does not have the three year preclusion, you can reapply immediately.  For further information contact CCD toll free at 1-800-556-6616 or locally (Salem) 503-947-1400.  
17.
Q:
My enrollment in the Criminal History Registry was suspended?  Can I reapply?

A:
You must first deal with the issues of the suspension.  If you do, the suspension will be lifted and your enrollment will continue through the expiration date.  If your license has expired by the time you have resolved your issues, you can immediately submit a new application.

18.
Q:
My enrollment in the Criminal History Registry was revoked?  Can I reapply?

A:
If your revocation does not have the three year preclusion, you can apply immediately.  For further information contact CCD toll free at 1-800-556-6616 or locally (Salem) 503-947-1400.  
19.
Q:
Should I notify CCD when I move?
A:
Yes.  It is important to notify CCD, in writing, if you move, change your name or if you have a new phone number so further correspondence with you is ensured.

Child Care Facilities - Frequently Asked Questions

1.
Q:
The person I want to hire is not yet in the Registry.  In order to hurry the process, can I have the person go to CCD’s Central Office to complete an enrollment application in person and receive and return an FBI fingerprint card right away?

A:
An individual can complete and submit their enrollment application in person in CCD’s central office in Salem rather than mailing it, or applying on-line.  However, it will not “rush” the process.  It will save mailing time only.  

The FBI fingerprint packet will NOT be given to the applicant, it is mailed to them following the receipt of their enrollment application and when local background checks have been completed.  After the FBI packet has been completed, the applicant can return the packet to CCD’s central office to again save on mailing time.

2.
Q:
When I call CCD to confirm that an individual is enrolled in the Registry, what information do I need to give CCD?

A:
CCD will need the individual’s name, date of birth, and perhaps an address.  A social security number is confidential and cannot be used as an identifier.

3.
Q:
If I rehire an individual, do I need to make a second call to the Child Care Division to check on his/her enrollment?

A:
Yes.  Each time you are considering someone for employment, you must check with CCD.  This is to ensure that we know where the individual is working and you know that the individual has not been removed from the Criminal History Registry since the last time you called.

4.
Q:
Do volunteers need to be enrolled in the Registry?

A:
Many volunteers do need to be enrolled in the Registry.  Check with the facility you want to volunteer for or contact the certifier assigned to the specific facility.

5.
Q:
If I hire a 17 year old as an assistant or aide, or have a 17 year old son/daughter in my facility, what is required when the child turns 18?

A:
Four to six weeks before his/her 18th birthday, the individual must submit an application for enrollment in the Criminal History Registry.  If an individual turns 18 years and is NOT enrolled in the Registry, he/she cannot continue to work in a center or to live in a certified or registered family child care facility.

6.
Q:
My relatives come to visit for a couple of weeks.  Do I need to put them on the registry?

A:
Contact CCD toll free at 1-800-556-6616 or locally (Salem)   503-947-1400 to be directed to the licensing specialist for your facility for specific information.
7.
Q:
The father of my children does not live with us but he comes to pick the children up every Friday.  Do I have to put him on the Criminal History Registry?

A:
No.  He would be considered a parent picking up children from your facility.
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