Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Latest News Releases
Approaching deadline to apply for disaster unemployment benefits
Media Contact:  Tom Fuller
WorkSource Oregon Employment Department
 Craig Spivey
 WorkSource Oregon Employment Department
In December 2008, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) approved Clatsop, Columbia, Polk, Tillamook, Washington and Yamhill counties for disaster unemployment assistance as a result of the wind storm in early December. 

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is a federal program that provides financial assistance to individuals whose employment or self-employment has been lost or interrupted as a direct result of a major disaster. The Oregon Employment Department administers the DUA program for the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration, on behalf of FEMA. 

Individuals eligible for regular unemployment benefits are not eligible for DUA.
DUA is available to individuals beginning the week of December 2, 2007.  The final dates for applying are as follows:

 Clatsop, Columbia, Tillamook:   January 11, 2008
 Yamhill, Polk:     January 17, 2008
 Washington     January 25, 2008 

To file a Disaster Unemployment Assistance claim, individuals need to contact Oregon Employment Department Unemployment Insurance Center at 1-877-877-1781.  When contacting the UI Center, individuals need to have their social security number and recent work history available.