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How Ul Tax Rates
Are Determined

Unemployment Tax Rates are assigned in accordance
with Oregon Law.

New employers are assigned a "base rate" until they
have had sufficient "experience" to qualify for an
"experience rate" based tax rate. This usually takes
about three years.

Taxable payroll includes payroll for a maximum of
12 calendar quarters proceeding July 1 of each year.
The first two quarters the employer is subject are not
included in this computation.

Taxable payroll and the amount of unemployment
benefits paid directly affect the tax rate. Each time a
former employee collects unemployment insurance
benefits, the account is charged, unless charges are
"relieved." Lower tax rates are assigned to employers
whose unemployment charges are low in comparison
to taxable payroll. A quarterly statement of charges
may be requested from the Employment Department
by calling (503) 947-1488, opt. 4.

An employer's experience rate may include the
charges and payroll of any business the employer
acquired. Tax rates from a former business are
transferred to the new owner if the new owner
obtains the previous owner's entire "employing
enterprise.” New owners may also qualify for partial
transfer of experience rating if they acquired an
identifiable and segregable portion of another
employing unit's employees.

FORMULA

The formula used to calculate the tax rate for a
business is shown below. The ratio of charges to
taxable payroll is called the "benefit ratio.” It is
determined by dividing charges by the taxable payroll
for the specified three year period. This division is
carried to six decimal points and becomes the
"benefit ratio." The closer the benefit ratio is to
0.000000 the lower the tax rate.
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Once calculated, these ratios are arrayed from lowest
to highest. We use schedules as defined in the law
(ORS 657.462) to assign rates.

The formula used to determine a benefit ratio:

Total Charges to the Account = Benefit Ratio
Total Taxable Payroll (carried to
six digits)

All employers are notified of their rate for the next
calendar year by November 15. The employer's
unemployment insurance tax rate is also preprinted
on the Oregon Quarterly Tax Report (Form OQ) sent
in February of each year.

There are two components to the tax rate:

e The Experience Tax Rate -- The total tax rate
less the Special Payroll Tax Offset

e The Special Payroll Tax Offset -- Offset of
tax amounts authorized by the Oregon
legislature to be collected during the first
calendar quarter of each odd-numbered year
using the unemployment insurance tax
system.

DETERMINING CHARGES

Whenever an employer's account might be charged
for benefits paid a former employee, the Employment
Department sends a Notice of Claim Determination
(Form 197) showing the amount of potential charges.
Each employer is charged only for benefits paid.

If an unemployment insurance claimant worked for
several employers, the charges to each employer are
in proportion to the wages paid by each. For
example:

e |If total wages paid were $12,000, all from the
same employer, and benefits paid were



$1,200, all the charges would be charged to
the one employer.

o If total wages were $12,000, $8,000 from one
employer and $4,000 from another employer,
with $1,200 in benefits paid, the first
employer's charges would be $800 (2/3 of the
total charges) and the other employer would
be charged $400 (1/3 of the total charges).

RELIEVING CHARGES

If the employer does not agree with the potential
charges shown on Form 197, the employer may
request relief of charges by responding to the Form
197 within 30 days. When charges are relieved they
will not be used in the computation of the benefit
ratio.

Charges are relieved if:

e The employee was discharged for misconduct
connected with work.

QUESTIONS

e The employee voluntarily left work without
good cause or for reasons not attributable to
the employer.

e The employee worked in part-time
employment under some circumstances. If an
employee works part time, but qualifies for
benefits because of the loss of another job, the
employer may request relief of charges.
Charges may be relieved if the work provided
to the employee during the qualifying period
is substantially the same as is now provided.

e The employee could not satisfy job
prerequisite required by law or administrative
rule.

In some cases, an employer's account is relieved of
charges automatically without any advance notice.

For additional information concerning tax rates and
chargeability please contact us at (503) 947-1488 or
by email at taxinfo@emp.state.or.us

If you have questions or need additional information, please contact the Employment Department tax
representative in your area or call 503-947-1488; TDD/Nonvoice Users 711 or by email at
taxinfo@emp.state.or.us You may also visit our web site at www.Oregon.gov/employ/tax

The Employment Department is an equal opportunity program and provides services to the public on an
equal opportunity basis and does not discriminate in employment or the provision of public services on
the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, political affiliation or belief,
citizenship or marital status. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with
disabilities or individuals with limited proficiency in English. Contact your nearest Employment

Department office for assistance.
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