E_J e
S e

Your Rights &
Responsibilities

You are legally responsible
for knowing the contents

of this book.

WORKSOURCE
OREGON







WorkSource Oregon is an equal opportunity
program and does not discriminate in
employment or the provision of public
services on the basis of race, color, religion,
sex, national origin, citizenship status, age,
disability, political affiliation or belief. The
following services are available free of cost,
upon request: Auxiliary aids or services,
alternate formats, such as Braille, large
print, audio CD or tape, oral presentation,
and electronic format to individuals with
disabilities, and language assistance to
individuals with limited English proficiency.
To request these services contact your local
WorkSource Oregon Center for assistance.

WorkSource Oregon es un programa que
respeta la igualdad de oportunidades y provee
empleo y servicios al publico sin discriminar
en base a raza, color, religién, sexo,
nacionalidad, estado de ciudadania, edad,
discapacidad, filiacién o creencia politica.
Disponemos de los siguientes servicios
a pedido y sin costo: Servicios o ayudas
auxiliares, formatos alternos para personas
con discapacidades y asistencia de idiomas
para las personas con conocimiento limitado
del inglés. Para solicitar dichos servicios,
contactese con el Centro WorkSource Oregon
mas cercano a su area.




Why do I need this hook?

This book contains general
instructions and basic informa-
tion to claim Ul benefits. As a
claimant, you have responsibili-
ties as well as rights. It is impor-
tant that you protect those rights
by reading and understanding

this information.



What is unemployment
insurance (UI)?

Unemployment insurance benefits replace
part of the income you lose if you become
unemployed. It is a benefit available to
workers who are out of work through no
fault of their own.

What should 1 expect from the
Employment Department?

You can expect speedy, courteous and pro-
fessional service. In return, the Employment
Department may need more information
from you. If you receive forms, question-
naires or phone calls asking for information
necessary to process your claim and ensure
proper payment of benefits, respond
immediately.

How do | qualify for a claim?

Your claim is based on a one-year period
known as the base year. Your base year is
established at the time you file by the quar-
ter in which you file your claim.
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The base year is the first four of the last five
calendar quarters completed at the time you
file your initial claim. For example, if you file
in May, your claim is based on your earnings
from all four quarters of the prior year.



There are two ways to qualify

1: You must have earned at least $1,000 in
wages from employment subject to Ul
law AND have total base year wages that
equal or exceed one and a half times
the wages you were paid in the highest
quarter (the quarter in which you were
paid the most money) of the base year.

-OR -

2: If you do not qualify the first way, you
may qualify for a valid claim if you have
wages and worked at least 500 hours
during the base year of employment
subject to Ul law.

How is my weekly amount
calculated?

Your benefit amount is set by law as a
percentage of the wages you received during
your base year. Your weekly amount is 1.25
percent of your total base year wages. Mini-
mum and maximum amounts are set by law.

What if my wages aren’t
reported correctly?

Review your Wage and Potential Benefit
Report carefully. If wages are missing or
incorrect, follow the instructions on the
form and call your Ul Center immediately.

If your benefit amount is based on wages
you did not earn, you will be responsible for
repaying money paid to you as a result of
these incorrect wages.

What if 1 don’t qualify?

If you don’t have enough wages and hours
to qualify, you may qualify if you file again
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in the next quarter when the base year
changes.

If you were unable to work due to injury or
illness for the major portion of any of the
base year quarters, call your Ul Center. It
may be possible to extend your base year to
include additional quarters.

How long do benefits last?

Your benefit year lasts for 52 weeks starting
with the first week you file. You may receive
up to 26 weeks of benefits during that time.
You cannot file another Oregon claim within
the 52 weeks of your benefit year even if
you receive all of your benefits.

Do I pay into unemployment
insurance?

No. The money for benefits is paid by em-
ployers through employer taxes.

What is the waiting week?

The waiting week is generally the first week
of your claim. You will not receive payment
for your waiting week.

To qualify for waiting week credit you must:

A) have a valid claim;

B) claim the week;

C) meet all eligibility requirements; and
D) be unemployed.

All claimants must serve one waiting week
per claim.

IMPORTANT: You must claim each week
that you wish to receive benefits or waiting
week credit. Claim either online or using
the Weekly Claim Line. No decisions or



payments will be made on your claim until
you claim at least one week of benefits.

How do I claim each week?

There are two automated ways to claim. You
may use our Online Claim System (OCS) at
www.WorkingInOregon.org/ocs.

You may claim by phone using the Weekly
Claim Line (WCL). WCL numbers are at the
back of this book.

When do I get my PIN?

You create a four-digit personal identification
number (PIN) the first time you use one of
our automated systems. Pick a number that
you will remember, but others cannot guess.
If you filed your initial claim online or by
phone, you have already selected a PIN.

Use your PIN when filing weekly claims.

DO NOT GIVE YOUR PIN TO ANYONE.
DO NOT LET ANYONE USE THE
AUTOMATED SYSTEMS FOR YOU.

No one at the Employment Department has
access to your PIN. If you forget your pin or
need to change it, call your Ul Center to have
it reset.

When do I claim?

You claim a week after it ends. The Employ-
ment Department uses a calendar week of
Sunday through Saturday. After a week ends
at midnight on Saturday, you may claim

for that week. You have until the following
Saturday to claim that week. You will answer
questions about your activity during the
entire week.



The WCL is available 24 hours a day, seven
days a week. The Online Claims System
(OCS) is shut down from 1 AM to 2:30 AM
each night.

What must I do to be
eligible each week?

You must be unemployed, physically and
mentally able to work, available for work and
actively seeking work. You must be willing
and able to work all of the days and hours
normal for the type of work you are seeking.
You must stay in your geographic area unless
you are seeking work elsewhere.

Are benefits taxable?

Yes. Ul benefits are fully taxable if you are
required to file a tax return. You may need
to make estimated tax payments. For more
tax information, consult IRS publication 505
Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax and the
Oregon Department of Revenue.

At the end of January, the Employment De-
partment will send a Form 1099-G (Statement
for Recipients of Unemployment Compen-
sation) to your last known address. Please
call to change your address even if you stop
claiming. You may view the information at
www.WorkingInOregon.org/ocs .

You can choose to have 10 percent withheld
for federal taxes and/or 6 percent withheld for
state taxes. Changing your tax status requires
a signature. You can download an Authoriza-
tion for Tax Withholding (1040WH) online or
call your Ul Center to have one sent.



How are benefits paid?

Benefits are paid one of three ways:
1) Electronic Deposit:
With electronic deposit, we transfer your
weekly payment to your checking or
savings account at your bank, credit
union or savings and loan.

Follow these steps to authorize Electronic
Deposit:
1. Complete the Authorization for
Electronic Deposit form in this book.
2. Include a voided check if you want
benefits deposited into a checking
account, or a deposit slip for deposit
into a savings account.
3. Mail or fax the completed form to:

Employment Department

Records & Redeterminations-Rm #105
875 Union St NE, Salem OR 97311
Fax: 503-947-1335

2) ReliaCard Visa:
The U.S. Bank® ReliaCard® Visa® is a
prepaid debit card. No credit check or bank
account is required. Rather than a check,
your funds will be deposited onto the card.

This card can be used everywhere Visa
debit cards are accepted. You will not be
charged a fee for the first two cash access
transactions per month, whether they oc-
cur at a VISA/Plus-branded ATM or at the
teller of a financial institution that pro-
cesses VISA cash advance transactions.
The owner of the ATM may assess a fee.

After your first two cash access transac-
tions each month, U.S. Bank will charge
$1.50 for additional ATM withdrawals
and $3.00 for additional VISA cash ad-
vances from a teller.



Additional fees apply to overdrafts, ex-
pedited card replacements and inactive
accounts.

Follow these steps to use the ReliaCard

option:

1. Complete the Authorization for
ReliaCard Visa form in this book.

2. Mail or fax the completed form to:
Employment Department
Records & Redeterminations-Rm #105
875 Union St NE, Salem OR 97311
Fax: 503-947-1335
This permits us to load your benefits to
the ReliaCard Visa.

3. Activate the card when you receive it
by calling the toll-free number listed
on the back.

3) Payment by Check:
Checks are printed Monday through
Friday and mailed the following weekday.
If a holiday falls on a weekday, the check
process is delayed for one day.

What if |1 leave the area?

If you leave the area where you usually look
for work and still want to receive benefits,
you must:

¢ Keep looking for work in the other area
and keep track of your job contacts on
your work search record, and

¢ Be willing, ready and able to take a job in
the new area.

This requirement applies to everyone, even
those on a temporary layoff or who get all
work through a union hiring hall.

Leaving town for a day or two won’t usually
stop your benefits unless you miss an
opportunity to work. If you are on a vacation
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or traveling for reasons other than seeking
work, you will not be eligible for benefits for
that week.

What if | move out of state?

If you relocate outside of Oregon, contact
the Oregon Interstate Claims Unit at

(877) 877-9996 for instructions on reporting
and to change your address. Keep this book;
the same rules apply to out-of-state and
in-state claimants.

Can I work and receive
unemployment?

Possibly. If you are working part time
and earning less than your weekly benefit
amount, you may be eligible to receive
benefits. You must seek and be willing to
accept full-time, part-time and temporary
work each week claimed.

You must report all work and earnings
when claiming benefits.

How do I report my earnings?

You report your earnings when you file your
weekly claim. Keep track of your hours
and earnings for each week. Report your
earnings for the week you do the work, not
the week you are paid. Report all earnings
before any deductions.

What earnings do I have
to report?

You must report any payments you receive
in exchange for any services you provide
or products you sell. This includes cash
and non-cash payments such as room and
board. Call your Ul Center if you have

10
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questions about what to report or how to
report non-cash earnings.

You do not need to report weekend
drill pay or jury duty pay.

What are my Work Search
requirements?

You must be able to work, available for work
and actively seeking work during each week
claimed. This includes being available for
and actively seeking full-time, part-time,
permanent and temporary work. This applies:

e if you do not expect to return to work for
your last employer, or

e if you expect to return to work for your
last employer, but not within four weeks
of your last day of work, or

e if you are unsure of when you will return
to work with your last employer.

If you are temporarily laid off and have a
definite date to return to work within four
weeks of your last day of work for your
regular employer, you are considered to be
actively seeking work if you stay in touch
with your employer. If your return to work
date changes, you must advise your Ul
Center immediately and you must begin
seeking work immediately.

Union Members:

e If you are affiliated with a closed referral
union (one that does not allow its mem-
bers to seek work on their own) and get
all your work through a union hiring hall;
then you seek work by being a member
in good standing with the union.

e If you are affiliated with a union that
allows its members to seek work on their
own, you must seek work by contacting
employers within your trade.
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How do | seek work?

You must seek work immediately. Apply
each week to employers who hire people
with your experience, training and skills.
You must actively seek and be available for
full-time, part-time, permanent and tempo-
rary work.

To receive benefits, you must fully register
for work in our electronic job match system
(iMatchSkills) except if you have a return to
work date within four weeks of your last day
of work or are union attached.

You can register for work using iMatchSkills
at www.WorkingInOregon.org from any
Internet access location. If you do not have
Internet access, you can register in person at
the local Employment Office. It is not pos-
sible to register by phone.

Contact new employers each week. You
may also contact former employers if you
have reason to believe they may rehire you.
File written applications when possible,
even if there are no current job openings.

Keep good written records of your work
search. This means:

e Employer names,

o Addresses,

e Phone numbers,

e Dates,

e Names of individuals contacted, and
¢ Type of work sought.

We may require you to provide
this information.
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What should I do when I
get a job?
When you return to full-time work or earn

more than your weekly benefit amount,
simply stop claiming weekly benefits.

How do I restart my claim?

If you earn more than your weekly benefit
amount, work full time or stop claiming for
one week or more, you must restart your
claim. You can restart by using the Online
Claim System or by calling your Ul Center.

Restart your claim during the week you want
to begin claiming. Be prepared to provide
employer information if you have worked
since you last claimed.

If 1 don’t get a payment,
what do I do?

If you have claimed a week but have not
received payment, check the status of your
payment using the Online Claim System at
www.WorkingInOregon.org/ocs or by
calling the Weekly Claim Line. Follow the
instructions for checking the status of a
weekly report.

Either claim system will tell you if the week
has been paid. If the system confirms it was
paid, please allow four business days from
the day you claimed the week before calling
your Ul Center about a late payment.

How do I change my mailing
address?

Call your Ul Center.

17



What could stop or deny

my benefits?

Some situations require the Employment
Department to examine claims, determine
eligibility and issue decisions. They include:

e quitting a job,

e being fired,

¢ being unable to work,

¢ being out of the labor market,

e attending school,

¢ being incarcerated,

® missing an opportunity to work,
e turning down a job,

* not seeking work,

® receiving retirement pay,

e failing to participate in Worker Profiling
activities,

e turning down a referral to work, and

e failing to complete a full iMatchSkills
registration.

What if 1 disagree with a decision?

You can appeal the decision and request
a hearing.

You can appeal by calling your Ul Center,

or mailing or faxing a letter to the address
shown on the administrative decision. Your
letter must specifically state that you request
a hearing. To protect your rights, follow the
instructions for requesting a hearing, included
with each decision. Your request must include
your Social Security number and the date of
the decision you are appealing.

Continue to claim benefits for each
week you are unemployed.

18



All parties involved will be notified by mail
of the date and time of the hearing. You will
get information about how to prepare

your case.

Can an employer retaliate against
an employee for testifying at a
hearing?

No. It is an unlawful employment practice
to retaliate against an employee who has
testified at an unemployment compensation

hearing or other hearings conducted
pursuant to ORS Chapter 657.
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WARNING

(Unemployment Insurance FRAUD)

Frau d is the intentional

misreporting or withholding of
information in order to get benefits.
If you know you are reporting incor-
rect information or hiding informa-
tion, it is probably fraud. It is against
the law and you will likely be caught
and punished.

If prosecuted and found guilty, you
could be fined, jailed or both.

If you have information about un-
employment fraud, please contact
your Ul Center, email
fraud_hotline@emp.state.or.us,
or call the Fraud Hotline toll free
at (877) 668-3204.

All information is confidential.
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WorkSource Oregon Offices

Office addresses are available online at
www. WorkingInOregon.org/offices
or in your local phonebook.

How can the Employment
Department help me find a job?

The Employment Department is a partner of
WorkSource Oregon, a network of local and
state service providers assisting job seekers
with a comprehensive array of employment
and training services. Help is available at no
charge at WorkSource Oregon Centers and
Employment Department offices statewide.

Visit: www.WorkingInOregon.org
-0or-
www.WorkSourceOregon.org

EiMatchSkills

Where
Job Seekers & Employers

Connect

iMatchSkills

This online matching tool uses your skills
and work history to find work. The more
detail you supply, the better iMatchSkills
can assist you. Find iMatchSkills at
www.WorkingInOregon.org.

AMERICA'S

JOBBANK+A=

SERIOUS NETWORKING

America’s Job Bank

This online national job and talent bank lets
you post your electronic résumé and search
job listings anywhere: www.ajb.org.
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Oregon Labor Market Information System
(OLMIS)

e Find career, wage, occupational
and industry information at:
www.QualityInfo.org .

e Access job listings.

e Search businesses and industries in five
western states at the Info USA employer
database.

Job Search Assistance
e Assistance for military veterans
e Résumé and cover letter resources
* Interview and job search information

e Books, self-help guides and videotapes

Career Exploration Tools

¢ Oregon Labor Market Information
System (OLMIS)

e Career Information System (CIS)

e Workforce and Economic Research
publications

Incentive Programs
e Work Opportunity Tax Credit
¢ Welfare-to-Work Tax Credit

Local Resources
e Local training providers and support
e Skill and career assessment
e Services for people with disabilities

e Help for workers unemployed as a
result of increased competition of
foreign countries.
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Weekly Claim Line Numbers

Albany Medford
(541) 928-6575 (541) 479-0105
Ashland Newberg
(541) 479-0105 (503) 224-0405
Bend Oakridge

(541) 388-4066

(541) 686-3482

Corvallis
(541) 928-6575

Portland Metro Area
(503) 224-0405

Dallas Prineville
(503) 375-7900 (541) 388-4066
Drain Redmond
(541) 686-3482 (541) 388-4066
Eugene/ Roseburg

(541) 686-3482

(541) 673-3976

Grants Pass
(541) 479-0105

Salem
(503) 375-7900

Lebanon Springfield
(541) 928-6575 (541) 686-3482
Madras Woodburn

(541) 388-4066

(503) 224-0405

All other locations and Interstate
(800) 982-8920

TTY Relay Service - 711
www.sprintrelayonline.com

Online Claim System
www.WorkingInOregon.org/ocs
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Metro Ul Center

PO Box 14135

Salem, OR 97309 - 5068
Fax: (503) 653-3114

Eugene Ul Center

PO Box 14518

Salem, OR 97309 - 0433
Fax: (541) 686-7828

Bend Ul Center

PO Box 14130

Salem, OR 97309 - 5046
Fax: (541) 388-6027

Metro / NW Oregon
Portland (503) 451-2400
Toll Free: 877-877-1781

SW Oregon
Eugene (541) 686-7800
Toll Free: 877-728-7970

Bend (541) 388-6207
Toll Free: 800-663-7914

d

Interstate
(877) 877-9996

WorkSource Oregon
Employment Department
www.WorkingInOregon.org
Ul PUB 350 (0806)



