
 

                                                                                                                                                                        05/08 ODOE CF-191 1

Oregon Business Energy Tax Credit 
Application for 

Preliminary Certification  
for Renewable Energy Resource Equipment Manufacturing 

Facility 
 

Business owners of facilities used to manufacture equipment, machinery, or other products that 
will be used exclusively for renewable energy resource facilities may be eligible for a state tax 
credit. The tax credit is 50 percent of eligible facility costs. If issued, the tax credit is claimed over 
five years (10 percent per year).  
 
The maximum eligible system cost for a renewable energy manufacturing facility shall not exceed 
$40 million in a single calendar year. Eligible system costs will be determined by the Oregon 
Department of Energy.  
 

Eligible Applicants 
An eligible applicant (a facility owner) must meet the following three requirements:  
1. Be a trade, business or property owner of a business site in Oregon  

or  
2. Be the owner or be the contract buyer of the facility and  
3. Use the facility to manufacture equipment or materials that will be used exclusively for 

renewable energy resource generation/harvesting. 
 

Pass-through Option 
Facility owners may “pass-through” or transfer their 50 percent tax credit facility eligibility to a 
pass-through partner in exchange for a lump-sum cash payment. The Oregon Department of 
Energy determines the rate that is used to calculate the cash payment. Both the facility owner and 
pass-through partner must sign the Application for Final Certification for Pass-through Facilities 
before a Final Certification is issued to the pass-through partner. The same review, rules and 
standards apply to facilities approved under the Pass-through Option as those using the regular 
Business Energy Tax Credit Program.  Please note: There may be tax implications to using 
the Pass-through Option. Please consult your tax preparer. 
 

Timing 
The Oregon Department of Energy must receive the Application for Preliminary Certification for 
renewable energy manufacturing facilities BEFORE the facility owner financially commits to start 
the construction of the facility. For example, an owner must apply before purchasing equipment or 
signing a contract. If a facility owner starts a facility and then decides to apply for the tax credit, 
the owner must submit a written request for a waiver with the application. The waiver request and 
application must be sent within 90 days of the facility start date and must demonstrate an 
extenuating business circumstance that caused the delay in the application. Under extraordinary 
circumstances, the Director of the Department of Energy may extend the waiver period. 
 
Work on the facility must begin within five years of the approval date of the Preliminary Certificate 
or within five years of the approval date of any changes to the facility. A facility owner must 
receive a Final Certificate before the credit can be claimed on an Oregon tax return or a pass-
through option is exercised.  
 

OVER 
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Confidential Information and Disclosure 
The State of Oregon's Public Records Law (ORS 192.410 et seq.) (PRL) applies to tax credit 
applications submitted to the Oregon Department of Energy. The law states every person has a 
right to inspect any public record of a public body, subject to certain exceptions.  
 
Trade secrets and confidential business records information may be exempt from disclosure. 
Certain information, including trade secrets (ORS 192.501(2) and confidential submissions (ORS 
192.502(4)), may be exempt from disclosure under exemptions to the PRL.  Please consult your 
legal counsel to determine whether these or other exemptions could apply to your application.   
 
Mark on each page any information that you believe are trade secrets, business records or that 
is otherwise protected under the PRL and that you request to be kept confidential. Marking 
information does not guarantee that it will be kept confidential. The Director of the Oregon 
Department of Energy will make any decisions regarding public disclosure of information 
contained in this application in accordance with the Oregon Public Records Law.   
 
Under certain circumstances, as set out in ORS 192.445 (1), the personal safety exemption to 
the PRL, the Oregon Department of Energy is authorized to withhold your address, phone 
number and electronic mail address. If you want to claim this exemption under the PRL, please 
contact the Oregon Department of Energy prior to sending in your application for a Business 
Energy Tax Credit. Please consult your legal counsel to determine whether this exemption 
applies to you.  
 
The Oregon Department of Energy does not endorse any company that requests application 
information and does not sell this information as a mailing list. 

 
 

Before the facility begins: 
 
1. A facility owner must complete the Application for Preliminary Certification for Renewable 

Energy Manufacturing Facility. The applicant must send the signed form, supporting 
documentation, and payment for review charges to the Oregon Department of Energy before 
the project begins. Incomplete applications will not be accepted. Note: If using Microsoft WORD 
version of the application, check the Web site to ensure the latest version is being used. (Dates 
are in the lower right-hand corner.) 

 
2. A facility owner may start construction of the facility when they receive a Preliminary 

Certificate. A facility owner may start construction of the facility before receiving a Preliminary 
Certificate, however, there is no guarantee the facility will be approved.  

 
3. If vital characteristics of the facility change after receiving the Preliminary Certificate, the facility 

owner should submit a signed, written, detailed description of the changes to the facility and 
energy savings estimates. An increase in cost only does not qualify as a facility change. If the 
Oregon Department of Energy approves a facility change, a facility owner may be required to 
pay an additional review charge. 

 
OVER
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After the facility is complete: 
 
1. A facility owner should apply to the Oregon Department of Energy for final certification when 

the facility is completed. If facility costs are $50,000 or more, an owner must send a letter from 
a certified public accountant (not permanently employed by the facility owner) stating that the 
CPA has reviewed the facility costs. If facility costs are less than $50,000, the facility owner 
should send copies of the dated invoices, canceled checks or receipts that are marked “paid.” 

 
2. The Oregon Department of Energy will review the final application and may issue a Final 

Certificate. Under no circumstances can the Oregon Department of Energy approve more than  
10 percent above the amount of estimated facility costs shown on the Preliminary Certificate 
unless the preliminary certificate was amended in writing and received approval before 
completion of the facility. The sum of all financial incentives and the tax credit may not exceed 
the total eligible facility costs. 

 
3. A tax credit recipient may file the tax credit over five years (10 percent per year). If the eligible 

facility costs are $20,000 or less, a tax credit recipient may file for the tax credit in one year. A 
tax credit recipient may begin claiming the tax credit the year the facility is finished or the year 
the Oregon Department of Energy issues the Final Certificate.  

 
Questions? For questions on claiming the tax credit, contact the Oregon Department of 
Revenue (www.oregon.gov/DOR) or call 1-800-356-4222. 
 
For questions concerning a facility, call the Oregon Department of Energy at 1-800-221-8035 
(toll-free in Oregon) or (503) 378-4040 (Salem), or visit our Web site (www.oregon.gov/energy). 
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Business Energy Tax Credit 

Application for Preliminary Certification 
   

Renewable Energy Resource Equipment Manufacturing Facility 
 

Are you eligible?   For office use only 

Yes  No  Application #: 
  Have you submitted this application before 

financially committing to start this energy 
facility? (e.g. signing a contract, ordering 
equipment, etc.)  

    If no, did you attach a request for a waiver 
 

 Date received: 

  Do you intend to use the Pass-through  
Option? 

 
*The Pass-through Option will allow you to transfer your tax 
credit facility eligibility to another business or individual (a pass-
through partner) in exchange for a lump-sum payment. The 
payment amount is calculated using the pass-through rate. To 
use the Pass-through Option, check the Yes box above, 
complete this application form and send the form to the Oregon 
Department of Energy. There may be tax implications to using 
the Pass-through Option. Please consult your tax preparer. 

  
 
 
 
 
 

  

1. Facility owner information (We will send all correspondence to this person.) 

Facility owners name:   

Tax I.D. # or SSN*: 

Facility/project name: 

Phone:  E-mail:  
Mailing address: 

City/state/zip:  

Business activity or SIC: 

Contact person for facility (Who can 
answer technical questions about the facility?) 
Title: Phone:  E-mail: 
Company/organization CPA or CFO: 
(If interested in Pass-through Option) 
Title: Phone:  E-mail: 
*OAR 330-090-0130 authorizes the Oregon Department of Energy to use your federal tax identification or social 
security number as an identification number in maintaining internal records and may be shared with the Oregon 
Department of Revenue to establish the identity of an individual in order to administer state tax law. 

OVER 
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2. Architect, engineer, contractor for facility 

Firm name: 

Contact person: E-mail 

Address Phone: 

City/state/zip 
 

3. Facility site 

Site address:  

City:  County: Zip: 

Total square footage of this facility 
 

 

4. Estimated construction or installation dates  

Estimated start date:  Estimated completion date: 

 

5. May the Oregon Department of Energy publicize your facility? 

 Yes       No     

 

6. How did you learn of the Business Energy Tax Credit Program? 

 Associate    Advertisement    Workshop    Utility    Vendor    Other: ODOE Staff 

 

7. Renewable Energy Manufacturing Category 

What renewable energy resource will your product be used exclusively for: 

  Solar    Wind     Hydro       Biomass     Ocean wave   Geothermal    Alternative fuels 

8.  Tax credit essential to the facility 

Is the allowance of the tax credit essential to your decision to expand or locate your facility in Oregon? 

 Yes 

  No 

 

 

 

OVER 
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9. Facility or Project Description 

Attach a document that describes in detail your project. The attached document should contain the 
following sections in narrative form: 

1. Overview – Describe in general what your company intends to do. Include 

    a) An overview of the facility  
    b) The timeline and critical path actions  
    c) Quantity of materials produced 
    d) Resources needed, and 
    e)  Long-term project plans for expansion or further development.  

2.  Product and facility – Describe in detail what will be manufactured, researched, or developed 
and why the product will be used exclusively for a renewable energy resource facility. Describe in 
detail why the facility is used solely for renewable energy manufacturing.  

3. Jobs –Describe the minimum level of direct employment that will be provided by the facility 
during each of the tax years in which the tax credit will be claimed and describe the anticipated 
average annual direct employment during each of those years, including the number of average 
hourly and annual wages of employees by employment classifications by geographic location. 
The applicant must also describe actions it will take to achieve cultural diversity in its work force.  

4. Financial viability– Identify the projected facility construction costs. Break this down in by 
project appropriate components (e.g. design, construction, equipment, training, research, start-
up, land, etc.) Demonstrate your financial ability to construct and operate the proposed facility 
through documentation such as independent credit ratings; credit references, including letters 
from banks or other financial institutions attesting to the applicant’s credit worthiness; and other 
documentation. 

5. Likelihood of success –Demonstrate that the facility will achieve long-term success by 
documenting the qualifications, capabilities and experience of the applicant in the construction 
and operation of such facilities and the long-term commercial viability of the renewable energy 
resource equipment that will be manufactured. 

6.  Essential characteristics – If an applicant is applying for a preliminary certification for a 
facility qualifying under the same specific facility definition under OAR 330-090-0110 as any other 
facility which the applicant has received preliminary or final certification, the applicant must 
demonstrate that the facility has distinct essential characteristics or the facility will be considered 
as one facility subject to the facility cost limitation imposed under OAR 330-090-0150 (1)(a). 
Address the essential characteristics of the manufacturing facility including, but not limited to the 
following criteria:  

a)  How is the land, structures, buildings, installations, excavations, machinery, equipment or 
devices that have been subject in whole or in part to the facility cost limitation of OAR 330-
090-0150 (1)(a)(A) distinct from a facility that has received preliminary or final certification? 

b) What is the purpose or end-use product of the facilities and how are those purposes or end-
use applications distinct? 

c) What are the applicable permits, licenses or site certificates and will those permits, licenses 
or site certificates and how are those permits, licenses or site certificates distinct? 

d) Where and how closely are the facilities located, including supporting facilities such as 
access roads, substations, water or discharge lines, perimeter fencing, storage or parking 
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areas, and how are the facilities distinct? 

e) What will be the construction agreements or arrangements and how are those agreements 
or arrangements distinct construction agreements?  

f) What are the operating characteristics and will the facilities have distinct operating 
characteristics? 

g) What will be the financing arrangements and how are the financing arrangements distinct? 

7.  Other – Provide any additional information which you believe will aid in the Oregon 
Department of Energy in favorably reviewing the application. 

10. Business Energy Tax Credit review charge 
 
Applications will not be reviewed until the review charge is paid in full. 
 
Eligible Project Cost (From your budget narrative #9) ____________x .0060  =  $________________ 
 
Minimum payment required is $30; the maximum payment required is $75,000. Make check payable 
to the Oregon Department of Energy and include with this application. You may also pay by Visa or 
MasterCard.  
 

 I want to pay by Visa/MasterCard. Please contact me at this phone number: _________________. 
 
If all or a portion of your application is denied, or if a change in your project results in lower costs, a 
portion up to 75 percent of this payment may be refunded within two years of pre-certification. If you 
add to your approved project, you must send a written description of the additions and the costs to be 
eligible for a tax credit. If the Oregon Department of Energy approves the additional eligible costs, an 
additional payment may be required. For more information, see Oregon Administrative Rule  
330-90-0150(2). 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

OVER 
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11. Project Owner Preliminary Statement 

1. I understand that Oregon Department of Energy approval and certification of my project is for  
tax credit purposes only. The Oregon Department of Energy does not guarantee or in any way 
ensure the performance of any equipment, the quality of any system or the reliability of any dealer.  

2. I agree that the project will comply with all local, state and federal requirements. I will obtain all 
necessary permits. 

3. I will permit the Oregon Department of Energy or its agents to inspect the project at its discretion to 
make sure the project qualifies for the tax credit. I understand that if I give false information about the 
project, or if I refuse to permit the Oregon Department of Energy to inspect the project, I will not get 
the tax credit. 

4. I understand that this tax credit application is a public record and that the Oregon Department of 
Energy may be required by law to disclose information in this tax credit application to the public on 
request. I have marked any information that I request be kept confidential. I understand that marking 
information does not guarantee that it will be kept confidential and that the Director of the Oregon 
Department of Energy will make any decisions regarding public disclosure of information contained 
in this application in accordance with the Oregon Public Records Law.   

5. I understand that the Oregon Department of Energy does not endorse any company that requests 
information on this application and does not sell information as a mailing list. 

6. I hereby release the State of Oregon and its commissions, agencies, officers, employees, 
contractors, and agents, and agree to defend and indemnify the foregoing from and against any 
claims, demands, or costs (including attorney and expert witness fees at trial and on appeal) arising 
from or in any way related to the Oregon Department of Energy’s issuance or failure to issue any 
pre-certification or final certification for a Business Energy Tax Credit, or any party’s inability to 
obtain a Business Energy Tax Credit.  

7. I understand that the sum of all financial incentives and the tax credit can not exceed the total 
eligible project cost.  

8. I have enclosed a check to the Oregon Department of Energy or will pay by Visa or MasterCard for 
the review charge. 

9. I verify that the project owner does not restrict membership, sales, or services on the basis of race, 
color, creed, religion, national origin, sexual preference or gender. 

10. I have completed this form to the best of my knowledge.  

11. I certify that I am the project owner or the authorized agent.  
 

  I have read and agree with the terms, conditions of the Project Owner Preliminary Statement. 
 
Signature: ____________________________________________Title: ____________________ 
Print Name:___________________________________________ Date: ___________________ 
 
Send completed application with payment to:  Oregon Department of Energy, 625 Marion St. NE 
Salem, OR 97301-3737. If you have questions, call: 1-800-221-8035 (toll-free in Oregon). 
  

 
 
 


