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Oregon Business Energy Tax Credit 
 

Application for 
Preliminary Certification  

for Horizontal-Axis Washer Projects 
 

Oregon businesses and others that invest in horizontal-axis (front loading) washer projects can 
get a state tax credit. The tax credit for Horizontal-Axis Washer Projects is 35 percent of eligible 
project costs. You file the credit over five years: 10 percent in the first and second years and 5 
percent each year thereafter. For projects with eligible costs of $20,000 or less, the tax credit 
may be taken in one year. Unused credits can be carried forward up to eight years.  
 
Eligible Applicants 
An eligible applicant (a project owner) must meet the following three requirements:  
1. Be a trade, business or rental property owner with a business site in Oregon or  

Be an Oregon non-profit organization, tribe, or public entity that partners with an Oregon 
business or resident;  

2. Own or be the contract buyer of the project; and  
3. Use the equipment yourself or lease it to another person or business in Oregon.  
 

Pass-through Option 
Non-profit organizations, schools and other public entities that do not have an Oregon tax liability 
may participate in the Business Energy Tax Credit Program by using the Pass-through Option. 
Project owners may “pass-through” or transfer their 35 percent tax credit project eligibility to a 
pass-through partner in exchange for a lump-sum cash payment. The Oregon Department of 
Energy determines the rate that is used to calculate the cash payment. Both the project owner 
and pass-through partner must sign the Application for Final Certification for Pass-through 
Projects before a Final Certification is issued to the pass-through partner. The same review, rules 
and standards apply to projects approved under the Pass-through Option as those using the 
regular Business Energy Tax Credit Program. Please note: The Pass-through Option is also 
available to a project owner with an Oregon tax liability who chooses to transfer his or her tax 
credit. There may be tax implications to using the Pass-through Option. Please consult your tax 
preparer. 
 
Timing 
The Oregon Department of Energy must receive your Application for Preliminary Certification 
for Horizontal-Axis Washer Projects BEFORE you start your project. If you started your project 
within the past 90 days, you may request a waiver in writing. The waiver request must 
demonstrate an extenuating business circumstance that caused the delay in your application. 
Under extraordinary circumstances, the Department of Energy Director may extend the waiver 
period provided the project serves the aims of the program. 
To qualify for a Business Energy Tax Credit, work on the project must begin within three years 
of the approval date of the Preliminary Certificate or within three years of the approval date of 
any changes to the project. Projects that save energy must have a simple payback of more 
than one year. Projects with simple paybacks greater than 15 years will be prorated. You must 
receive a Final Certificate before the credit can be claimed on an Oregon tax return.  
                                                                        OVER 
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Confidential Information and Disclosure 
The State of Oregon's Public Records Law (ORS 192.410 et seq.) (PRL) applies to tax credit 
applications submitted to the Oregon Department of Energy. The law states every person has a 
right to inspect any public record of a public body, subject to certain exceptions.  
 
Trade secrets and confidential business records information may be exempt from disclosure. 
Certain information, including trade secrets (ORS 192.501(2) and confidential submissions 
(ORS 192.502(4)), may be exempt from disclosure under exemptions to the PRL.  Please 
consult your legal counsel to determine whether these or other exemptions could apply to your 
application.   
 
Mark on each page any information that you believe are trade secrets, business records or that 
is otherwise protected under the PRL and that you request to be kept confidential. Marking 
information does not guarantee that it will be kept confidential. The Director of the Oregon 
Department of Energy will make any decisions regarding public disclosure of information 
contained in this application in accordance with the Oregon Public Records Law.   
 
Under certain circumstances, as set out in ORS 192.445 (1), the personal safety exemption to 
the PRL, the Oregon Department of Energy is authorized to withhold your address, phone 
number and electronic mail address. If you want to claim this exemption under the PRL, please 
contact the Oregon Department of Energy prior to sending in your application for a Business 
Energy Tax Credit. Please consult your legal counsel to determine whether this exemption 
applies to you.  
 
The Oregon Department of Energy does not endorse any company that requests application 
information and does not sell this information as a mailing list. 
 

Before the project begins: 
 
1. A project owner must complete the Application for Preliminary Certification for Horizontal-

Axis Washer Projects. He or she must send the signed form, supporting documentation, and 
payment for review charges to the Oregon Department of Energy before the project begins. 
Incomplete applications will not be accepted. Note: If using Microsoft WORD version of the 
application, check the Web site to ensure the latest version is being used. (Dates are in the 
lower right-hand corner.) 

 
2. A project owner may start the project when he or she receives a Preliminary Certificate. The 

Oregon Department of Energy usually takes four to six weeks to review an application 
provided all necessary information is submitted. Incomplete or inadequate information may 
result in a delay in approval or in denial of the application. Please note: A project owner may 
begin the project before receiving a Preliminary Certificate, however, there is no guarantee 
the project will be approved.  

 
3. If vital characteristics of the project change after receiving the Preliminary Certificate, the 

project owner should submit a signed, written, detailed description of the changes to the 
project and energy savings estimates. An increase in cost only does not qualify as a project 
change. If the Department of Energy approves a project change, a project owner may be 
required to pay an additional review cost. 
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After the project is complete: 
 
1. A project owner should apply to the Oregon Department of Energy for final certification when 

the project is completed. If project costs are $50,000 or more, an owner must send a letter 
from a certified public accountant (not employed by the project owner) stating that he or she 
has reviewed the project costs. If project costs are less than $50,000, the project owner 
should send copies of the dated invoices, canceled checks or receipts that are marked “paid.” 

 
2. The Oregon Department of Energy will review the final application and may issue a Final 

Certificate. Under no circumstances can the Oregon Department of Energy approve more 
than 10 percent above the amount of estimated project costs shown on the Preliminary 
Certificate unless the project was amended in writing and received approval before 
completion. The sum of all financial incentives and the tax credit may not exceed the total 
eligible project costs. 

 
3. A tax credit recipient may file the tax credit over five years (10 percent for years one and two; 

5 percent for years three, four and five). If the eligible project costs are $20,000 or less, a tax 
credit recipient may file for the tax credit in one year. A tax credit recipient may begin claiming 
the tax credit the year the project is finished or the year the Oregon Department of Energy 
issues the Final Certificate.  

 
Questions? For questions on claiming the tax credit, contact the Oregon Department of 
Revenue (www.oregon.gov/DOR) or call 1-800-356-4222. 
 
Call the Oregon Department of Energy at 1-800-221-8035 (toll-free in Oregon) or (503) 378-
4040 (Salem). Or visit our Web site (www.oregon.gov/energy). 
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Business Energy Tax Credit 
 

Application for Preliminary Certification 
 

Horizontal-Axis (Front-Loading) Washer Project 
 

Are you eligible?   For office use only 

Yes    No  
Application #: 

      Have you submitted this application before financially 
committing to start this energy project? (e.g. signing a 
contract, ordering equipment, etc.) 

 
      If no, have you attached a request for a waiver? 

 

 Date received: 

      Are you interested in using the Pass-through Option?* 
 
*The Pass-through Option will allow you to transfer your tax credit project 
eligibility to another business or individual (a pass-through partner) in 
exchange for a lump-sum payment. The payment amount is calculated using 
the pass-through rate. To use the Pass-through Option, check the Yes box 
above, complete this application form and send the form to the Oregon 
Department of Energy. There may be tax implications to using the Pass-
through Option. Please consult your tax preparer. 

  

  

1. Project owner information (We will send all correspondence to this person.) 

Project owner’s name: 

Tax I.D. # or SSN*: 

Phone: E-mail: 

Business name: 

Mailing address: 

City/state/zip:  

Principal business activity (or SIC, if known): 

Contact person for project (Who can  
answer technical questions about the project?) 
Title: Phone: E-mail: 
Company/organization CPA or CFO: 
(If interested in Pass-through Option) 
Title: Phone: E-mail: 
 *OAR 330-090-0130 authorizes the Oregon Department of Energy to use your federal tax identification or social security number 
as an identification number in maintaining internal records and may be shared with the Oregon Department of Revenue to establish 
the identity of an individual in order to administer state tax law. 

 
OVER 
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2. Vendor or contractor for project 

Firm name of vendor or contractor: 

Address:  Phone: 

City/state/zip: 

Contact person:  E-mail: 

 
3. Project site 

Site address: 

City: County: Zip: 

 

4. Estimated installation dates  

Estimated start date: Estimated completion date: 

 

5. May the Oregon Department of Energy publicize your project to promote efficiency to other 
businesses? 

 Yes       No 

 

6. How did you learn of the Business Energy Tax Credit Program? 

 Associate    Advertisement    Workshop    Utility    Vendor    Other: 
 
 

  7. Conservation requirement—You must check the requirement below to indicate your horizontal-
axis washer project qualifies for the Business Energy Tax Credit. Your washer must be listed on the 
qualifying commercial washer list on the Oregon Department of Energy’s Web site: 
http://oregon.gov/ENERGY/CONS/BUS/tax/commwasher.shtml 

       Save 10% of the energy used in a commercial system (e.g., clothes washing and drying)
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

OVER 
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8. Project description—Describe the project in detail, including present conditions and how the 

project will change them.  

a.  Describe equipment that will be replaced, if any: 

Quantity Manufacturer Model Number Age 

    

    

    

    

    

b.  Describe new equipment that will be installed: 

Quantity Manufacturer Model Number  

    

    

c.  Describe the facility where the equipment will be installed: 

Total number of washers at this site: ________ Total number of dryers at this site: ________ 

Average number of loads per washer per day: ___________ (typically 4 to 8) 

Fuel used to heat water:    Electricity Natural gas Propane 

Fuel used for dryers:    Electricity Natural gas Propane 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

OVER 
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9. Equipment specifications and estimated project cost—List the brand name, model and cost 
of each major piece of equipment. Attach performance specifications. 

Materials:  Estimated cost 

 

 

 

 

 

  $ 

Labor: 

 

 

 

Other: (do not include Business Energy Tax Credit fees) 

 

 

 

  $ 

Total estimated project cost: 

Deduct any federal grants: 

Note: OAR 330-090-0110 (19) (n) The sum of any rebates or cash payments under 
ORS 469.631 to 469.645, 469.649 to 469.659, 469.673 to 469.683, or 757.612(5)(a), or 
from a public purpose organization and the Business Energy Tax Credit may not exceed 
eligible costs. 

 

If the project is a new facility or if you’re replacing equipment that is more than  
7 years old, deduct the cost of standard (top-loading) washers with similar 
capacities. 

- 

Total eligible cost    $ 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

OVER 
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10. Current annual energy use — This is your annual fuel use prior to installing your project. 
Address all fuel usage impacted by this project. If your fuel type is “Other,” specify the type of 
fuel, the amount and units. Attach meter data, spreadsheet, energy model, or show in the space 
below how you calculated your answer(s). If more space is needed, attach a separate sheet. To 
complete this application, fuel types must be converted into the same measurement, MMBtu. A 
Btu is a British Thermal Unit, a standard unit of measurement used to denote both the amount of 
heat energy in fuels and the ability of systems to produce heating or cooling. MMBtu represents a 
thousand thousand Btu. To convert your fuel usage to MMBtu, multiply the annual energy use for 
each fuel type by the conversion factor and divide by 1,000,000. 

Natural gas utility:  Electric utility: 

Fuel 
A 

Annual Usage 

B 

X                   Conversion                    = 

C 

    Annual Usage in 
MMBtu 

Natural 
gas therms/yr X 100,000 Btu per therm ÷  1,000,000  = 

                                    MMBtu 

Electricity kWh/yr X 3,413 Btu per kWh ÷ 1,000,000        =   MMBtu

Oil (diesel 
#2 only) gal/yr X 138,800 Btu per gal ÷ 1,000,000       = 

MMBtu

Other* /yr  MMBtu

* Call the Oregon Dept. of Energy                                                    TOTAL MMBtu

 

11. Estimated annual energy use after project is installed — Show the project energy use per 
year after the project is installed. Show how you calculated your answer. Use the space below or 
attach separate pages. If your business had a utility energy audit, you may attach copies of 
relevant pages to support claimed energy savings. If your fuel type is “Other,” fill in the type of 
fuel and the amount in units. If more space is needed, attach a separate sheet. 

Natural gas: therms/year 

Electricity:   kWh/year  

Oil (diesel #2 only):         gallons/year 

Other:                                                                 _____/year  

 
 
 
 

OVER 
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12. Estimated annual energy use saved from the project – Calculate the estimated annual energy 
saved in MMBtu using the table below. Fill in amounts in column A; subtract amounts in column B; 
multiply results by conversion factor provided to get column D. 

A B C  D 

Fuel Annual energy use 
before project 

(See 10-A) 

     Estimated 
    energy use  
  after project  
    Installation 
    (See 11) 

Annual 
energy 
savings 

     Convert  
      annual  
X   energy  = 
      savings 
   to MMBtu 

 

Annual 
MMBtu 
saved  

Natural 
gas _______________therms  — 

therms therms

X 100,000 Btu 
per therm ÷  
1,000,000     = MMBtu

Electricity ________________kWh  — 
kWh kWh

X 3,413 Btu 
per kWh ÷ 
1,000,000     = MMBtu

Oil 
(diesel #2) _________________  gal — 

gal gal

X 138,800 Btu 
per gal ÷ 
1,000,000 = MMBtu

Other* ______________ units—    
MMBtu

* Call Oregon Dept. of Energy                                                                      TOTAL MMBtu

 
 

13. Calculate percentage of energy savings  
 
Total annual energy savings     ÷     Total current energy use before project    X 100 =      %  of  
     in MMBtu (See 12-D)                               in MMBtu (See 10-C)                               energy savings 
 

                                                  ÷                                                                      X 100 =                   % 

 
 
 
 
 

OVER
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14. Annual cost savings: Calculate the cost savings per year using the table below. 

Fuel type 

              A                                          B                                               C 
Energy savings per year    X      Cost per unit           =        Annual cost savings 
        (See 12-C)                    (See your utility bill) 

Natural gas  therms X $                                    = $ 

Electricity                                   kWh X $                                   =   $ 

Oil (#2 diesel) gal X $                                    =   $ 

Other   X $                                    =   $ 

                                        TOTAL cost savings per year $ 

 
 
 

15. Payback period—Calculate the project simple payback period (how long the project will take to 
pay for itself through its energy savings). To qualify, the payback must be between 1 year and the 
expected life of the equipment installed. Projects with simple payback over 15 years will have 
eligible costs prorated accordingly. 

15a. Total eligible cost (see 9)   $ 

15b. Total cost savings per year (see 14-C)   $                                  /year 

Simple payback (15a divided by 15b)                                      years 
‘ 

16. Business Energy Tax Credit review charge 
 
Applications will not be reviewed until the review charge is paid in full. 
 
Eligible Project Cost (See 9) ___________________x .0060  =  $______________________ 
 
Minimum payment required is $30; the maximum payment required is $35,000. Make check payable 
to the Oregon Department of Energy and include with this application. You may also pay by Visa or 
MasterCard.  
 

 I want to pay by Visa/MasterCard. Please contact me at this phone number: _________________. 
 
If all or a portion of your application is denied, or if a change in your project results in lower costs, a 
portion up to 75 percent of this payment may be refunded within two years of pre-certification. If you 
add to your approved project, you must send a written description of the additions and the costs to be 
eligible for a tax credit. If the Oregon Department of Energy approves the additional eligible costs, an 
additional payment may be required. For more information, see Oregon Administrative Rule  
330-90-0150(2). 
 

 
 

 
OVER 
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17. Project Owner Preliminary Statement 

1. I understand that Oregon Department of Energy approval and certification of my project is for  
tax credit purposes only. The Oregon Department of Energy does not guarantee or in any way 
ensure the performance of any equipment, the quality of any system or the reliability of any dealer.  

2. I agree that the project will comply with all local, state and federal requirements. I will obtain all 
necessary permits. 

3. I will permit the Oregon Department of Energy or its agents to inspect the project at its discretion to 
make sure the project qualifies for the tax credit. I understand that if I give false information about 
the project, or if I refuse to permit the Oregon Department of Energy to inspect the project, I will not 
get the tax credit. 

4. I understand that this tax credit application is a public record and that Oregon Department of Energy 
may be required by law to disclose information in this tax credit application to the public on request. I 
have marked any information that I request be kept confidential. I understand that marking 
information does not guarantee that it will be kept confidential and that the Director of the Oregon 
Department of Energy will make any decisions regarding public disclosure of information contained 
in this application in accordance with the Oregon Public Records Law.   

5. I understand that the Oregon Department of Energy does not endorse any company that requests 
information on this application and does not sell information as a mailing list. 

6. I hereby release the State of Oregon and its commissions, agencies, officers, employees, 
contractors, and agents, and agree to defend and indemnify the foregoing from and against any 
claims, demands, or costs (including attorney and expert witness fees at trial and on appeal) arising 
from or in any way related to the Oregon Department of Energy’s issuance or failure to issue any 
pre-certification or final certification for a Business Energy Tax Credit, or any party’s inability to 
obtain a Business Energy Tax Credit.  

7. I understand that the sum of all financial incentives and the tax credit can not exceed the total 
eligible project cost.  

8. I have enclosed a check to the Oregon Department of Energy or will pay by Visa or MasterCard for 
the review charge. 

9. I verify that the project owner does not restrict membership, sales, or services on the basis of race, 
color, creed, religion, national origin, sexual preference or gender. 

10. I have completed this form to the best of my knowledge.  

11. I certify that I am the project owner or the authorized agent.  
 

  I have read and agree with the terms, conditions of the Project Owner Preliminary Statement. 

 
Signature: ____________________________________________Title: _____________________ 

Printed Name:__________________________________________Date:_____________________ 

Send completed application with payment to:                              Oregon Department of Energy 
                                                 625 Marion St. NE 

                                                                                                    Salem, OR 97301-3737 
If you have questions, call: 1-800-221-8035 (toll-free in Oregon) or (503) 378-4040 

 


