Table C-1. State Minimum Renewable Electricity Requirements (as of April 2006)

renewable energy sales by
minimum 1% annually until
they reach 20%. Must be at
20% by 2017.

3/03 — CEC order (Docket # 03-
RPS-1078) on RPS proceeding
and CPUC collaborative
guidelines

6/03 — CPUC Decision 03-06-071
initiating the implementation of
the RPS

4/04 — CPUC order instituting new
RPS Rulemaking 04-04-026
proceeding

5/04 — CEC adopts new
guidebooks for RPS eligibility
and criteria for subsidy awards
for above-market costs

6/04 and 7/04 — CPUC issues

thermal, wind,
biomass, landfill gas,
digester gas,
geothermal, and
ocean.

State Requirement Status Technology Comments
Eligibility
Arizona 0.2% in 2001 + 0.2%l/yr 1998 — Arizona Corporate 60% solar PV and Applies to all IOUs and Coops. ESPs included beginning in 2004.
1% by 2005 + 0.05%/yr to Commission (ACC) Decision solar thermal electric Extra credits for in-state development or content, manufacturing,
1.1% in 2007, through 2012 aEr|1d ;’-\.m%nded I_?’.;JJGS On by 2004 distributed solar, early installation, and green pricing programs.
ecific -ompetiion . Can use Environmental Portfolio Surcharge funds for compliance.
2/01 and 3/01 — ACC issues 40 /o_solar hot Wat.er Utility distribution companies may request waiver under “extreme
s and in-state landfill : ”
orders adopting final EPS rules, gas, wind and circumstances”.
Decision nos. 63364 and 63486 | . Based on results of 6/03 policy review, the ACC voted in 2/04 to
biomass by 2004 . ; . .
(Docket No. RE-00000C-00- allow the RES to continue increasing to 1.1% in 2007-2011, per the
0377) original ruling.
In 1/05, ACC staff issued a report on proposed changes to the EPS
6/03 — AC? cor_npleteg f EPS rules including recommendations to increase the total requirement
colr_npre ENSIVE TEVIEW O and extend the term to 15% by 2025, and making other
policy modifications to the EPS program. In 4/05 the ACC issued a draft
. rule based on these recommendations, and in 8/05, the ACC voted
2/Ori|;£§n% sr;afg::it:]e % to make changes to the draft rule. In 2/06, ACC staff released new
rule amendnpq)ents Ll draft EPS rules along with a report on the proposed amendments.
—_— In 3/06, the ACC voted to issue a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking
3/06 — ACC order issues for the new draft rules. A public hearing is scheduled for 5/06, and
Proposed Renewable Energy a final decision is expected later this summer.
Standard and Tariff Rules
(Docket RE-00000C-05-0030,
Decision No. 68566)
California Utilities increase total 9/02 — SB 1078 signed Solar PV, solar Applies to 3 largest IOUs. Direct access service providers included

beginning in 2006.

Authorizes CEC to use funds from the CA systems benefit charge
to buy down above-market costs of renewables. Exempts utilities
from requirement if sufficient funds are unavailable.

Legislation permits CPUC to issue penalties for non-compliance
through their general authority.

Small hydro (< 30 MW), geothermal in operation prior to 9/26/96,
and MSW (w/restrictions) can be used to determine utility’s
baseline level.

Minimum 10-year contracts required.

4/04 CPUC order sets baseline levels of RE generation for each
utility, sets their 2004 Annual Procurement Target (APT), identifies
outstanding issues to be resolved, and process for RES
implementation completion.

6/04 and 7/04 CPUC decisions (1) adopt standard contract terms
and conditions, ordering utilities to file renewable procurement
plans, and clarifying 2004 APT; (2) adopt methodology to
determine long-term market price of electricity; and (3) adopt
criteria for ranking “least cost and best fit” resources in utility RES

Source: Updated from Powerful Solutions: Seven Ways to Switch America to Renewable Electricity, Union of Concerned Scientists, January 1999, available on-line at

www.ucsusa.org/clean_energy (tables updated April 2006). Contact: Jeff Deyette at (617) 547-5552 or jdeyette@ucsusa.org.



http://www.cc.state.az.us/rules/elec.htm
http://www.cc.state.az.us/rules/elec.htm
http://www.cc.state.az.us/rules/elec.htm
http://www.cc.state.az.us/utility/electric/63364.pdf
http://www.cc.state.az.us/utility/electric/63486.pdf
http://www.cc.state.az.us/utility/electric/CostEvalRpt.pdf
http://www.cc.state.az.us/utility/electric/CostEvalRpt.pdf
http://www.cc.state.az.us/utility/electric/EPS-Rules-02-03-06.pdf
http://www.cc.state.az.us/utility/electric/EPS-Rules-02-03-06.pdf
http://www.cc.state.az.us/utility/electric/EPS-StaffRpt-02-03-06.pdf
http://www.cc.state.az.us/utility/electric/EPS-StaffRpt-02-03-06.pdf
http://www.cc.state.az.us/utility/electric/RES-03-14-06.pdf
http://www.cc.state.az.us/utility/electric/RES-03-14-06.pdf
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/01-02/bill/sen/sb_1051-1100/sb_1078_bill_20020912_chaptered.pdf
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/word_pdf/FINAL_DECISION/27360.pdf
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/WORD_PDF/FINAL_DECISION/36206.doc
http://www.energy.ca.gov/portfolio/documents/2004-05-10_RPS_ELIG_GUIDEBK.PDF
http://www.energy.ca.gov/portfolio/documents/2004-05-10_500-04-001F.PDF
http://www.energy.ca.gov/portfolio/documents/2004-05-10_500-04-001F.PDF

State Requirement Status Technology Comments
Eligibility
three implementation decisions solicitations.
Decision 04-06-014, Decision ¢ Renewable distributed generation (DG) can participate in the RPS,
04-06-015, Decision 04-07-029 subject to future ruling by the CPUC on issues relating to subsidies
. and measurement of electrical output. DG facility owners retain
5/05 _d'CItD'LtJ)Ct DC;ECISIOI’I 0t_5'05'011 ownership of associated RECs.
ggrtilcsgpr;tilgr? ing;rllzesra on e 11/05 CPUC decision (1) orders electric service providers (ESPs),
small regulated utilities, and “Community Choice Aggregators”
7/05 and 10/05 — CPUC Decisi (CCAs) to file historic and projected retail sales data for purposes
05:_387_039 approving ut”eiffyﬂ of establishing their RES obligations; and (2) states intent to further
renewables plans and explore the use of short-term contracts, third-party purchasing
solicitation protocols entities, and RECs toward RPS compliance.
e 12/05 CPUC decision revises the methodology and inputs used to
11/05 — CPUC Decision 05-11-025 calculate the Market Price Referent, which establishes the long-
establishing RPS rules for term market price for electricity by which above-market costs are
competitive electricity suppliers determined.
12/05 — CPUC implementation
Decision 05-12-042
Colorado 3% in 2007-2010 11/04 — Colorado Ballot Initiative Solar, wind, e Applies to all retail ESPs with more than 40,000 customers.

6% in 2011-2014

10% in 2015 and each year
thereafter

4% of total required
generation must come from
solar technologies (half of
the 4% must come from
customer-sited resources)

(Amendment) 37 — Renewable
Energy Standard (passed by
53% to 47% vote); amends
Article 2 of title 40, Colorado
Revised Statutes

4/05 — SB 05-143 signed

12/05 — PUC issues order (Docket
#05R-112E) adopting RES rules

geothermal, biomass
(includes co-firing,
landfill gas,
wastewater by-
products, and animal
wastes), hydro (new
<=10 MW or existing
<= 30 MW), fuel cells
using eligible
renewable resources

e Establishes RECs trading system for compliance. RECs are eligible
to meet requirements in the preceding compliance year, the current
compliance year, or banked for up to five years. RECs can be
borrowed forward for up to 2 years through 2010.

¢ New and existing renewable energy facilities are eligible. No in-
state deliverability of renewable generation is required, but a REC
multiplier of 1.25 is awarded for each kWh of renewable energy
that is generated in-state.

¢ 1 percent/month-rate cap for the avg. res. customer, as determined
by the net of new non-renewable alternatives. RES cost cap
applies to all customer classes.

e Requires competitive solicitations for supply and REC contracts,
minimum 20-year contracts, allows for full utility recovery of
prudently incurred costs. Annual compliance plans must be
submitted to the PUC for approval.

o Eligibility of resources used in green power programs shall be
granted by the PUC on a case by case basis.

e Munis and coops can opt-out by developing a similar RES, or by
affirmative vote from a utility’s customers. United Power and
Intermountain Rural Electric Association opted out of the RES by
vote in 2005.

e Establishes a solar rebate program of $2/watt (up to 100 kW per
installation), and net metering.

o Utilities must submit an annual compliance report to PUC.

o Establishes penalties for non-compliance.

Source: Updated from Powerful Solutions: Seven Ways to Switch America to Renewable Electricity, Union of Concerned Scientists, January 1999, available on-line at

www.ucsusa.org/clean_energy (tables updated April 2006). Contact: Jeff Deyette at (617) 547-5552 or jdeyette@ucsusa.org.



http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/WORD_PDF/FINAL_DECISION/37401.PDF
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/WORD_PDF/FINAL_DECISION/37383.PDF
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/WORD_PDF/FINAL_DECISION/37383.PDF
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/WORD_PDF/FINAL_DECISION/38287.DOC
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/WORD_PDF/FINAL_DECISION/46213.DOC
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/WORD_PDF/FINAL_DECISION/48266.DOC
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/WORD_PDF/FINAL_DECISION/48266.DOC
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/WORD_PDF/FINAL_DECISION/51414.DOC
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/WORD_PDF/FINAL_DECISION/52178.DOC
http://www.state.co.us/gov_dir/leg_dir/olls/sl2005a/sl_63.htm
http://www.dora.state.co.us/puc/decisions/2005/C05-1461_05R-112E.pdf
http://www.dora.state.co.us/puc/decisions/2005/C05-1461_05R-112E.pdf

0.5% annually to 2% in
2009; then increasing
0.75% annually to 8% in
2017; then increasing 1%
annually to 10% in 2019

The requirement in 2020
and there after to be

established by DE Public
Service Commission, but

12/05 — DE PSC issues draft RPS
rules and regulations (Docket
#56 - Order 6793). Final rules
are required by 7/06.

ocean, geothermal,
biomass, landfill gas,
co-firing, hydro (<30
MW), and fuel cells
powered by
renewable fuels.

State Requirement Status Technology Comments
Eligibility
e SB 05-143 modified several sections of Amendment 37 including
definition of eligible renewables, and the maximum cost cap.
IConnecticut Class | technologies 4/98 — H. 5005, Restructuring law | Class I: solar, wind, , | ¢ 6/03 revision to RPS (Public Act 03-135) closes standard offer
1% in 2004 +0.5%/yr to 2% signed (Public Act 98-28) landfill gas, new (non-switching) customers exemption loophole, adjusts targets,
by 2006 +1.5%/yr tq 5% by . (post 7/1/03) run of and adds new technologies to Class I.
2028th+1%/¥tr to 7% in 2010 12/&8(3;8%'325 ?Jggﬁcr)rllsssilﬁilvin Ir\I/IV\?Vr h]ydrlo (<"= S o Applies to investor owned utilities only.
and thereatter RPS ([gockget # 98-06-15) g ocea),n Etjheercn?al&wave ¢ Renewable generation from NEPOOL region, Northern Maine, and
' or tidal. low-e RE NY, PA, NJ, MD, and DE can be used to meet the requirements.
Class | or Il technologies . . | . . . .
3% in 2004 and thereafter 6/99 — H. 6621 signed (Public Act | conversion tech., low | ¢ Credit trading program implemented using New England Generator
of a ereafte 99-225), revises 1998 RPS law | NOx emitting, Information System (GIS).
_ su_stainable qurnass e 5.5 cents per kilowatt-hour penalty for non-compliance.
6/0133;)85%25 7%3@% (Biomass facilities e By 2007, utilities must file with DPUC long-term (not less than 10
+22) sighed, with quarterly avg. yrs.) contracts totaling at least 100 MW of Class 1 technologies that
7/03 — H. 6428 (Public Act 03- t‘_oé g%'slz'on rate receive money from the state Renewable Energy Investment Fund.
221) signed, makes further M_MB;TU E?isﬁ?r;g e DPUC regulates the program through the use of new dockets. In
minor modifications to RPS (pre 7/1/'03) biomass 6/04, DPUC Docket #04-01-12 determined that renewable
facilities <= 500 kW generation from northern Maine (NMISA), which is outside the
6/04 — DPUC order adopts new are exempt from NEPOOL region, is eligible to meet the RPS. In 9/04 DPUC Docket
RPS regulations, Docket #03- NOX emission #04-02-07 clarifies the definition of Class | and Il run of river hydro.
10-19 (previously Docket #02- requirement.) In 6/05 DPUC Docket #05-04-16 determined that existing biomass
04-14), and issues a decision ' facilities in ME and NH retrofitted to meet NOx emission
for Docket #04-01-12 Class II: MSW requirements qualify as Class | resources, which has flooded the
existing.(prior t‘o REC market with inexpensive RECs and resulted in a significant
9/04 — DPUC issues a decision for | 7/1/03) run of river drop in REC prices. In 11/05, DPUC
Docket #04-02-07 hydro (<= 5 MW), e Public Act 05-01 makes minor revisions to the existing RPS, but
) . other biomass also creates a separate Class Il requirement for combined heat
6/05 — DPUC issues a decision for | ¢5cilities must have and power and energy efficiency, of 1% of total output by 2007,
Docket #05-04-16 quarterly avg. NOx increasing to 4% by 2010 and thereafter.
emission rate <= 0.2
7/05 — H. 7501 signed (Public Act
05-01) Ibs. per MMBTU)
11/05 — DPUC issues a decision
for Docket #04-01-13
Delaware 1% in 2007, increasing 7/05 — Senate Bill 74, signed Solar electric, wind, | ® Applies to the total retail sales from all competitive electric

suppliers. Munis and RECs can exempt themselves from the
requirements provided they offer a voluntary green power program
and participate in a Green Energy Fund.

o Total retail sales excludes sales to large industrial customers (peak
load > 1,500 kW)

¢ No more than 1% of each year’s requirement can be met with
existing (pre-1998) renewable resources. Beginning in 2020,
existing resources are not RPS eligible.

¢ In-state customer-sited renewable generation after 5/31/06 may be
used toward RPS compliance.

Source: Updated from Powerful Solutions: Seven Ways to Switch America to Renewable Electricity, Union of Concerned Scientists, January 1999, available on-line at

www.ucsusa.org/clean_energy (tables updated April 2006). Contact: Jeff Deyette at (617) 547-5552 or jdeyette@ucsusa.org.



http://www.cga.ct.gov/ps98/Act/pa/1998PA-00028-R00HB-05005-PA.htm
http://www.dpuc.state.ct.us/dockhist.nsf/6eaf6cab79ae2d4885256b040067883b/dec52dc7fed071dd852567940053306b/$FILE/Final.doc
http://www.cga.ct.gov/ps99/Act/pa/1999PA-00225-R00HB-06621-PA.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/ps99/Act/pa/1999PA-00225-R00HB-06621-PA.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2003/act/Pa/2003PA-00135-R00SB-00733-PA.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2003/act/Pa/2003PA-00135-R00SB-00733-PA.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2003/act/Pa/2003PA-00221-R00HB-06428-PA.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2003/act/Pa/2003PA-00221-R00HB-06428-PA.htm
http://www.dpuc.state.ct.us/dockhist.nsf/6eaf6cab79ae2d4885256b040067883b/3d5c7931f450f2bb8525706500595314/$FILE/REGSFORM2.doc
http://www.dpuc.state.ct.us/dockhist.nsf/6eaf6cab79ae2d4885256b040067883b/3d5c7931f450f2bb8525706500595314/$FILE/REGSFORM2.doc
http://www.dpuc.state.ct.us/FINALDEC.NSF/2b40c6ef76b67c438525644800692943/cd99705d8e9e634285256ea90061a10a/$FILE/040112-060204.doc
http://www.dpuc.state.ct.us/FINALDEC.NSF/2b40c6ef76b67c438525644800692943/ddcdd150a82c641e85256f0e005208d4/$FILE/040207-091004.doc
http://www.dpuc.state.ct.us/FINALDEC.NSF/2b40c6ef76b67c438525644800692943/ba9e3635006190b18525703500660f54/$FILE/050416-063005.doc
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2005/ACT/Pa/pdf/2005PA-00001-R00HB-07501SS1-PA.pdf
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2005/ACT/Pa/pdf/2005PA-00001-R00HB-07501SS1-PA.pdf
http://www.dpuc.state.ct.us/FINALDEC.NSF/2b40c6ef76b67c438525644800692943/9ab396426cd4b833852570ba0074f0b1/$FILE/040113-110905.doc
http://www.legis.state.de.us/LIS/lis143.nsf/vwLegislation/SB+74/$file/legis.html?open
http://www.state.de.us/delpsc/orders/6793.pdf
http://www.state.de.us/delpsc/orders/6793.pdf

State

Requirement

Status

Technology
Eligibility

Comments

can be no less than 10%.

o Deliverability into the PJM region is required for renewable
generation to meet the RPS.

o Establishes REC trading system using the PJM Generation
Attributes Tracking System to track compliance.

e Credit multipliers include 300% for solar and fuel cells installed
through 2014, and 150% for in-state wind through 2012. RECs can
be banked for three years.

e Establishes an Alternative Compliance Payment system, with the
ACP set at $25/MWh for the first year, increasing to $35/MWh,
$45/MWh, and then $50/MWh for ACPs made in subsequent years.
ACPs go into DE Green Energy Fund.

¢ Rate recovery of all prudent incremental costs is permitted.
Recovery of ACP is permitted only if the ACP is the least cost
measure, or if insufficient resources are available.

e Retail electric suppliers must submit annual compliance reports.

e Beginning in 2010, the PSC may review the annual requirements
and make recommendations to the General Assembly to alter the
schedule. Beginning in 2014, the PSC may alter the schedule
under certain conditions.

Hawaii 7% in 2003 6/04 — Senate Bill 2474 S.D. 3 Wind, solar, hydro, » Applies to the net electricity sales by all utilities in the state.
8% in 2005-2009 H.D.2, signed landfill gas, MSW, o Electric utilities and their electric utility affiliates may aggregate
10% in 2010-2014 ' geothermal, ocean, their renewable portfolios in order to achieve the RES.
15% in 2015-2019. and Requires the PUC to develop and | biomass, hydrogen ¢ Allow PUC to relieve responsibility of utilities to meet the
o In »an to adopt rules and implement a | fuels, fuel cells requirements if they cannot be met in a cost-effective manner (i.e.
20% in 2020. ratemaking structure for “at or below avoided costs”).
meeting the RES by 12/31/06, Also eligible: ¢ New and existing renewables can count toward targets.
and to report on its impacts. electrical sa\./ings e Requires the PUC to evaluate and recommend changes to the
Second concept paper on RPS | ¢ 'a\wH energy RES in 2009, and every five years thereafter.
lations issued 7/05 .
regu conservation
measures, co-gen
and CHP
lowa 105 average MW 1983 — Alternate Energy Solar, wind, methane | e Applies to investor owned utilities only.
~ 2% of 1999 sales Production Law, revised (1991) | recovery, biomass o ~850 MW of mostly wind installed.
e 2003 revision to law allows I0OUs to own the generation required to
meet the standard.
Maine 30% of sales in 2000 (start 1997 — Restructuring law LD1804 | Fuel cells, tidal e Eligible renewables = over 50% of sales in 1998.

of competition) and
thereafter as a condition of
licensing.

and Public Law Chapter 316

5/99 — PUC issues final RPS
regulations (Docket #97-584)

6/03 — PUC amends RPS
regulations (Docket 2002-494,
Ch. 311)

power, solar, wind,
geothermal, hydro,
biomass, and MSW
(under 100 MW)

High efficiency
cogen. systems of
unlimited size

e ME PUC makes recommendations for changes to legislature no
later than 5 years after beginning of retail competition.

e Penalty for non-compliance.
e RES to be met on a product basis.

¢ Regulations amended by the PUC in 6/03 require that electricity
providers in the ISO-NE control area meet the targets by acquiring
GIS certificates. Electricity providers with contractual rights to

Source: Updated from Powerful Solutions: Seven Ways to Switch America to Renewable Electricity, Union of Concerned Scientists, January 1999, available on-line at

www.ucsusa.org/clean_energy (tables updated April 2006). Contact: Jeff Deyette at (617) 547-5552 or jdeyette@ucsusa.org.



http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2004/bills/sb2474_hd2_.htm
http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2004/bills/sb2474_hd2_.htm
http://www.hawaii.gov/budget/puc/energy/act95_second concept paper_2005-7-26.pdf
http://janus.state.me.us/legis/statutes/35-a/title35-asec3210.html
http://mainegov-images.informe.org/mpuc/doing_business/rules/part_3/ch-311.pdf
http://mainegov-images.informe.org/mpuc/doing_business/rules/part_3/ch-311.pdf

State

Requirement
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Technology
Eligibility

Comments

Regulations amended 10/04,
Docket 2004-505

certificates from PURPA QFs can use the contractual entitlements
to demonstrate compliance in the event that the QF does not
provide them with the associated GIS certificates. This new rule
creates the potential for double counting, wherever the certificates
are traded in the New England Power Pool.

¢ Regulations amended by the PUC in 10/04 to exempt electric sales
of certain businesses in the Pine Tree Development Zone from
having to meet the RES.

Maryland

Tier 1 Renewables: 1% in
20086, increasing 1%
biannually to 7% in 2018,
increasing to 7.5% in 2019,
and thereafter

Tier 1 or 2 Renewables:
2.5% 2006-2018, 0% in
2019 and thereafter

5/04 — House Bill 1308, signed
(Code of Maryland § 7-701 et
seq.)

10/05 — PSC order issues final
RES implementation rules
(PSC COMAR 20-61)

Tier 1: solar, wind,
biomass, landfill gas,
geothermal, ocean,
fuel cells (renewable
sources only), and
small hydro (< 30
MW)

Tier 2: hydro, MSW,
and incineration of
poultry litter

e Applies to all retail electricity sales, except annual sales in excess
of 300 mil kWh of industrial process load to a single customer.
Sales to rate-capped res. customers and coops with pre-10/04
power purchase contracts are also exempt until those agreements
expire.

¢ New and existing renewable facilities are eligible. Generation must
be delivered into PJM control area or come from a state that shares
a border with PJM or which PJM partially overlaps.

e PSC rule establishes REC-based compliance program using PJM
Generator Attributes Tracking System (GATS). Double credits are
given to solar, and extra credits (ranging 10-20%) are given to early
(pre-2009) development of wind and LFG facilities. RECs can be
banked for 3 yrs.

o Establishes alternate compliance mechanism (ACM). Credits prices
are capped at 2¢/kWh for Tier 1 renewables and 1.5¢/kWh for Tier
2. For all industrial process load sales, ACM credits for Tier 1 are
capped at 0.8¢/kWh in 2006 and gradually decline to 0.2¢/kWh in
2017 and later. Tier 2 renewables have a ACM credits price of 0.

e A renewable energy fund supports Tier 1 resources using the fees
collected through the ACM.

e Each electric supplier must submit annual report to PSC.

e Legislation instructs a tech. advisory group to recommend
regulations to the PSC for the siting of wind facilities, which must
be established by 7/1/06.

Massachusetts

1% of sales from new
renewables by 2003

+0.5%/yr. to 4% in 2009

+1% per year thereafter
until date determined by
Division of Energy
Resources.

Preliminary proposal does
not include standard for
existing renewables (~7%).

11/97 — Restructuring law
(Chapter 164 of the Acts of
1997) signed

4/02 — MA Division of Energy
Resources adopts final
regulations (225 CMR 14.00)

10/05 — MA DOER issues "Policy
Statement on the RPS
Eligibility of Retooled Biomass
Plants"

Solar, wind, ocean
thermal, wave, tidal,
landfill gas, and low-
emission advanced
biomass beginning
commercial
operation or
representing
increase in capacity
at existing facility
after 12/31/97. Hydro
and MSW qualify as
existing.

e Applies to investor owned utilities only.

¢ +1% new renewables requirement may start one year after any
renewable within 10% of avg. spot market price.

e Legislation does not explicitly require support for existing level of
renewables. MA DOER will consider a standard for existing
renewables if significant attrition occurs.

e Using the New England GIS to track REC trading and RES
compliance. Utilities can apply RECs to subsequent years, but not
for more than 30% of that year’s requirement.

e Alternative compliance mechanism allows utilities to pay 5¢/kWh
into the state Renewable Energy Trust Fund to meet its
requirements.

Source: Updated from Powerful Solutions: Seven Ways to Switch America to Renewable Electricity, Union of Concerned Scientists, January 1999, available on-line at

www.ucsusa.org/clean_energy (tables updated April 2006). Contact: Jeff Deyette at (617) 547-5552 or jdeyette@ucsusa.org.



http://mainegov-images.informe.org/mpuc/orders/2004/2004-505oaar.pdf
http://mlis.state.md.us/2004rs/bills/hb/hb1308e.rtf
http://www.psc.state.md.us/psc/electric/rps/RPSStatute.doc
http://www.psc.state.md.us/psc/electric/rps/RPSStatute.doc
http://www.psc.state.md.us/psc/electric/rps/COMAR20_61.doc
http://www.magnet.state.ma.us/legis/laws/seslaw97/sl970164.htm
http://www.magnet.state.ma.us/legis/laws/seslaw97/sl970164.htm
http://www.mass.gov/doer/rps/225cmr.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/doer/rps/rps-pol-stat-elig-biomass.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/doer/rps/rps-pol-stat-elig-biomass.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/doer/rps/rps-pol-stat-elig-biomass.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/doer/rps/rps-pol-stat-elig-biomass.pdf
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Eligibility

Comments

¢ Monies from the state trust fund are being used to stimulate RES-
eligible renewables by offering guaranteed contracts for RECs to
various developers.

e 10/05 DOER policy statement reverses initial decision to allow
existing biomass facilities re-tooled to have lower air emissions to
be eligible for MA RES compliance. Forthcoming revisions to RES
regulations will clarify that only generation in excess of historic
output will be eligible.

retail customers in 2008
and 2009,

10% from 2010-2014, and

15% in 2015, and each
year thereafter

For years 2010-2014, at
least 50 MW must come
from community renewable
energy projects, and from
2015 onward at least 75
MW must come from
community-based projects

Power Production and Rural
Economic Development Act”
(SB 415) signed

8/05 — PSC issues notice of
scoping document
(N2005.8.124) for RES
regulations. PSC required to
issue final regulations by 6/06.

geothermal, landfill
gas, hydro (< 10
MW), farm-based
methane,
wastewater
treatment gas,
biomass, fuel cells
from renewable
sources, and co-
firing.

Minnesota 425 MW of wind and 125 1994 — Radioactive Waste Original requirement: [ ¢ Xcel allowed to build temporary dry cask storage of nuclear waste
MW of biomass by 2002 Management Facility wind and biomass, at Prairie Island nuclear plant in exchange for renewable energy
Authorization Law (Minn. Stat. | with development.
400 MW more wind by 216B.2423) preference for in- e The 1999 PUC order determined 400 more MW of wind by 2012
2006 state projects was in the public interest, and the 2003 PUC order moved 400 MW
MNQZUB% order Docket E-002/RP- additional wind requirement up to 2006 from 2012.
10% by 2015 above 10% requirement: e Law amended in May 2003 making Xcel's 10% by 2015 renewable
existing requirements. 0.5% | 5/03 — Radioactive Waste solar, wind, small energy objective mandatory, and doubling its contribution to the
of this total must come from Management Facility hydro (< 60 MW), renewable energy fund. The 10% requirement is in addition to
biomass in 2005, increasing Authorization Law amended biomgss, MSW, Xcel's existing renewable energy obligations.
to 1% in 2010. (HF9, 2003 1% Special landfill gas, and e 10% requirement is subject to least cost planning criteria. If
Session, Chapter 11). hydrogebrI1 (from implementation affects reliability or is not economic, then the
~ , renewable sources requirement may be temporarily waived.
19% of Xcel's 2015 sales only after 2010) q y p y
Montana 5% of electricity sales to 4/05 — “Montana Renewable Wind, solar, ¢ Applies to all IOUs (munis and rural coops with > 5,000 customers

must implement their own RES based on the intent of SB 415)

¢ Only new renewable energy facilities (installed after 1/1/05) are
eligible to meet the RES, and electricity must be generated in—or
delivered into—Montana.

o Establishes REC trading system for compliance verification. RECs
can be banked for up to 3 years from the date of generation. A
three-month “true-up period” follows each compliance year. RECs
generated as part of a voluntary green power program cannot be
used to meet the RES.

e RECs prices are capped at or below the avoided costs for other
electricity supplies in a competitive bidding process under the same
contract terms.

o Establishes contract standards: minimum 10 yrs, preference for
MT-based employment, and wages for heavy construction.

e Establishes non-compliance penalty of $10/MWh, which is non-
recoverable in electricity rates and must be placed into a low-
income energy assistance program.

e Short-term compliance waivers can be granted to public utilities by
the PUC under certain circumstances.

e Public utilities must submit procurement plans to the PUC, which
has implementation and enforcement authority.

Source: Updated from Powerful Solutions: Seven Ways to Switch America to Renewable Electricity, Union of Concerned Scientists, January 1999, available on-line at

www.ucsusa.org/clean_energy (tables updated April 2006). Contact: Jeff Deyette at (617) 547-5552 or jdeyette@ucsusa.org.



http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?pubtype=SLAW_CHAP&year=2003&session_number=1&chapter=11
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?pubtype=SLAW_CHAP&year=2003&session_number=1&chapter=11
http://data.opi.state.mt.us/bills/2005/billhtml/SB0415.htm
http://www.psc.state.mt.us/eDocs/CurrentInterest/pdf/N20058124nosmoc.pdf

State Requirement Status Technology Comments
Eligibility
Nevada 6% of electricity sales to 6/01 — SB372 signed. SB 372 Wind, solar (PV, e SB 372 repeals previous RES of 1% by 2009 from 1997

retail customers in 2005 codified as Nevada Revised thermal, SWH), restructuring law (NRS 704.989).

and 2006, growing to .9% in Statutes 704.7801 — 704.7828 hydro (<30MW), o Applies to all retail electricity suppliers, but not coops, munis or

2007 and 2008, 12% in ) i geothermal, and general improvement districts.

2009 and 2010, 15% in 5/02 — PUC issues final order biomass (includes . . . o

2013 and 2014, and 20% in implementing RES regulations, | agricultural, wood, * Final !‘enewable credit trading program is in place, RECs began

2015, and thereafter. codified as NAC 704.8831— | animal waste, MSW, |  @ccruing 1/1/03, and can be banked for up to 4 years.

704.8893 and aquatic plants), |® AB 296 gives 2.4 times RECs for customer-sited solar PV, 1.15
Minimum 5% of total energy recovery times RECs for other onsite renewables generation, and 0.7 times
5/03 — RES amended by AB 296 facilities (<15 MW), RECs for waste tire facilities using “reverse polymerization”
renewables sold each year
must come from solar and energy technology.
' 6/03 — RES amended by AB 429 | efficiency measures | e Minimum 10-year contracts required.

Energy efficiency measures | 4/04 — PUC issues regulations for * NV PUC may impose financial penalties for non-compliance.

are limited to meeting 25% REC trading program, codified e AB 429 adds hydro (<30MW) and qualified energy recovery

of annual requirements, as NAC 704.8901 — 704.8939 processes to eligible resources list.

and at least 50% of all EE e A 9/04 PUC order established a Temporary Renewable Energy

measures must be installed | 6/05 — RES amended by AB 3 Development Program. TRED places a surcharge on electricity

at service locations of customers to generate funds which are then used to guarantee

residential customers, 1/06 — PUC amends RES revenues for renewable energy developers who were having

unless otherwise stated by regulations NV PUC Docket # difficulty securing long-term contracts from un-creditworthy utilities.

the PUC. 05-7050 e AB 3 delays the RES schedule by 2 years, increases the
percentage requirements, adds energy efficiency measures to the
list of eligible resources, and codifies the PUC’s TRED program. To
be RES eligible, energy efficiency measures must be installed on
or after 1/1/05.

e PUC amendment of RES regulations (1/06) incorporates changes
mad by the legislature with AB 3, including addressing the energy
efficiency requirement.

New Jersey Class | or Il Technologies: 2/99 — Restructuring law (The Class I: solar, wind, [e Applies to retail and basic generation suppliers.

2.5% by 2004-2008.

Class | technologies: 0.74%
in 2004; 0.983% in 2005;
2.037% in 2006; 2.924% in
2007; and 3.84% in 2008.

Solar Electric: 0.01% in
2004; 0.017% in 2005;
0.0393% in 2006; 0.0817%
in 2007; and 0.16% in
2008.

NJBPU sets requirements
for 2009 and after, but must

Electric Discount And Energy
Competition Act) signed.

6/01 — NJBPU issues interim RES

regulations (Subchapter 8,
N.J.A.C. 14:4-8)

4/03 — Renewable Energy Task
Force Report released.

6/04 — NJBPU adopts final RES
regulations (N.J.A.C. 14:4-8)

3/05 — NJBPU makes minor
changes to RES regulations
(N.J.A.C. 14:4-8)

geothermal, wave,
tidal energy, landfill
gas, fuel cells,
sustainable biomass

Class Il: MSW or
hydro (<30 MW) that
meets high
environmental
standards

NJBPU issues final regulations in March 2004 that accelerates the
Class 1 requirement by 4 years to 4% in 2008, and creates a solar
electric tier, which could stimulate as much as 90 MW of new solar
PV by 2008.

Establishes a system of tradable RECs for RES compliance. RECs
will be tracked by a regional tracking system, once it is finalized
and approved by the NJBPU.

Establishes an alternative compliance mechanism for Class |, I,
and solar requirements. Through 2007, the ACP and SACP prices
are set at $50/MWh and $300/MWh respectively. Prices shall be
reviewed annually, and adjusted as necessary. ACP monies will
support renewable energy through the NJ Clean Energy Program
(CEP), with SACP monies strictly for solar energy projects.
Penalties for non-compliance.

Electricity generated through renewable energy projects funded by

Source: Updated from Powerful Solutions: Seven Ways to Switch America to Renewable Electricity, Union of Concerned Scientists, January 1999, available on-line at

www.ucsusa.org/clean_energy (tables updated April 2006). Contact: Jeff Deyette at (617) 547-5552 or jdeyette@ucsusa.org.



http://www.leg.state.nv.us/71st/bills/SB/SB372_EN.html
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-704.html
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-704.html
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-704.html
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-704.html
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/72nd/bills/AB/AB296_EN.pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/72nd/bills/AB/AB429_EN.pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-704.html
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/22ndSpecial/bills/AB/AB3_EN.pdf
http://www.puc.state.nv.us/Renewable/dkt_05-7050/R167-05_V5.pdf
http://www.puc.state.nv.us/Renewable/dkt_05-7050/R167-05_V5.pdf
http://www.bpu.state.nj.us/wwwroot/energy/Dereglaw.pdf
http://www.bpu.state.nj.us/wwwroot/energy/Dereglaw.pdf
http://www.bpu.state.nj.us/wwwroot/energy/Dereglaw.pdf
http://www.bpu.state.nj.us/wwwroot/energy/portfoliostands.pdf
http://www.bpu.state.nj.us/wwwroot/energy/portfoliostands.pdf
http://www.bpu.state.nj.us/renewEnergy/renEnergyReport.pdf
http://www.bpu.state.nj.us/renewEnergy/renEnergyReport.pdf
http://www.bpu.state.nj.us/wwwroot/secretary/RPSrules_20040419.pdf
http://www.bpu.state.nj.us/wwwroot/secretary/RPS_050215.pdf

State

Requirement

Status

Technology
Eligibility

Comments

be at or above 2008 levels
(see comments regarding
proposed RES
requirements through 2020.

10/05 — NJBPU issues Proposed
New Rules: N.J.A.C. 14:8

the NJ Societal Benefits Charge or the CEP is eligible to meet RES
requirements.

In 12/05, NJ BPU voted in favor of adopting proposed new rules to
extend and increase RES to 22.5% by 2020. Final approval of
increase is expected in April 2006.

New Mexico

5% of retail sales in 2006 +
1%l/yr. to 10% in 2011, and
thereafter.

12/02 — PRC issues final RES rule
(17.9.573 NMAC)

3/04 — SB 43 signed
12/04 — PRC issues revised rule

based on SB 43 (17.9.572
NMAC)

Wind, solar,
biomass,
geothermal, hydro (5
MW or less), landfill
gas, fuel cells

12/02 PRC RES ruling repeals RES rule from October 2000
(NMPRC Rule 591, 17 NMAC 9.591), which established 5% of
standard offer service RPS by 2002.

Applies to all retail electricity suppliers under PRC jurisdiction (not
coops or munis). Texas-New Mexico Power Company is exempt
until their all-requirements contract expires or is renegotiated.

Establishes credit-trading program with 1 REC/kWh for wind &
hydro, 3 RECs for solar, and 2 RECs for all other renewables.

Preference given to in-state resources, requires minimum 10-year
procurement contracts.

Requires PRC to undergo a biannual (starting in 2005) review to
examine utility progress & impact on customers.

SB 43 places the 12/02 PRC ruling in statute and establishes
additional requirements, including: Caps RES costs for large-scale
customers (> 10 million kWh) at $49,000 in 2006, rising $10,000
annually to $99,000 in 2011.

RECs must represent generation delivered into NM and can be
banked for 4 years. RECs generated by PURPA QFs are the
property of the purchasing utility.

On 12/3/04, the PRC established a reasonable cost threshold
(Case No. 04-00253-UT), above which a public utility will be
exempt from meeting its requirement. It is set at an overall
customer rate increase of no more than 1% in 2006, and no more
than an additional 0.2% per year until capped at 2% for each year
beginning in 2011 and beyond. There is also a cap on the price of
resources by type: $.049/kWh for wind and hydro resources;
$.06254/kWh for biomass and geothermal resources; and
$.15/kWh for solar projects sized at < 10 kW, and $.10/kWh for
solar projects > 10 kW. The PRC will revisit the appropriateness of
the reasonable cost threshold in 2007.

New York

New renewable energy
requirement: 0.8% in 2006,
increasing ~0.8%/yr to
6.56% in 2013.

Customer-sited tier is 2% of
total annual RES targets.

With existing baseline

9/04 — PSC issues final rule (Case
03-E-0188)

4/05 — PSC order approves RES
implementation plan

10/05 — PSC order approves
minor changes to the
maintenance resource
category

Main Tier: wind,
solar, ocean,
biomass, biogas, fuel
cells, incremental
hydro, and low-
impact run-of-river
hydro > 30 MW

Customer Tier: solar,

RES applies to I0Us only; NYPA and LIPA are encouraged to
participate.

RES is administered by NYSERDA using a central procurement
model. A RES surcharge is collected from customers by utilities
and passed on to NYSERDA who will distribute funds in a
competitively neutral manner to secure enough renewable
generation to meet annual RES targets.

Facilities commencing operation after 1/1/03 are eligible for the
RES. “Maintenance resource” exceptions for existing small hydro

Source: Updated from Powerful Solutions: Seven Ways to Switch America to Renewable Electricity, Union of Concerned Scientists, January 1999, available on-line at

www.ucsusa.org/clean_energy (tables updated April 2006). Contact: Jeff Deyette at (617) 547-5552 or jdeyette@ucsusa.org.



http://www.bpu.state.nj.us/wwwroot/secretary/14-8.pdf
http://www.bpu.state.nj.us/wwwroot/secretary/14-8.pdf
http://www.nmprc.state.nm.us/utility/pdf/3619finalrule.pdf
http://legis.state.nm.us/Sessions/04 Regular/final/SB0043.pdf
http://www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/nmac/parts/title17/17.009.0572.htm
http://www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/nmac/parts/title17/17.009.0572.htm
http://www.dps.state.ny.us/03e0188.htm
http://www.dps.state.ny.us/03e0188.htm
http://www3.dps.state.ny.us/pscweb/WebFileRoom.nsf/Web/693BA731DC65F39885256FE2006D52D6/$File/03e0188.ord.04.14.05.pdf?OpenElement
http://www3.dps.state.ny.us/pscweb/WebFileRoom.nsf/Web/503A2451EB87C4E3852570A5005762EF/$File/366_03e0188_10_31_05.pdf?OpenElement

State

Requirement

Status

Technology
Eligibility

Comments

renewable energy, and
generation expected from
state purchase
requirement, renewable
energy increases from
19.45% in 2003 to 24% in
2013 (an additional 1% is
expected to come from
voluntary green pricing
programs).

11/05 — PSC order approves
methane digester systems as
eligible under customer tier

1/06 — PSC order authorizes
additional main tier solicitations
and modifies RES program
(see comments)

wind (>300kW), fuel
cells, and methane
digesters

(>5MW), wind, and biomass facilities will be granted based on a
case-by case demonstrated need to receive RES support.

¢ Renewable energy must be delivered into the New York control
area to count toward RES.

¢ Facilities that count toward the RES must forego funds from the NY
systems benefits funds.

e A full review of the RES program is required in 2009.

e The RES surcharge commenced on 10/1/05, and the RES began
on 1/1/06.

e 1/05 - First round “fast track” procurement solicitation was
completed, resulting in contracts with seven projects.

e 1/06 PSC order authorized a second round of main tier
procurement solicitations for 2006 and 2007, and modifies the RES
program in the following ways: requires 10-year contracts;
establishes methodologies for determining eligible biomass
technologies; requires RES-funded projects to make 5% of
generation available for green pricing programs; allows bilateral
contracts; allows for unbundling of environmental attributes from
power supply; and authorizes the development of a certificate-
based tracking system.

Pennsylvania

Tier | technologies: 1.5% by
2007; 2% by 2008;
increasing by 0.5%
annually to 8% by 2020,
remaining at 8% each year
thereafter.

Tier Il technologies: 4.2%
from 2007-2009; 6.2% from
2010-2014; 8.2% from
2015-2019; 10% in 2020;
remaining at 10% each
year thereafter.

Solar PV set-aside:
0.0013% in 2007-2009;
0.0203% in 2010-2014;
0.25% in 2015-2019; 0.5%
in 2020; remaining at 0.5%
each year thereafter.

12/04 — Act 213, Alternative
Energy Portfolio Standards
(SB 1030) signed

3/05 — PUC issues AEPS
Implementation Order (Docket
No. M-00051865)

7/05 — PUC issues AEPS
Implementation Order Il
(Docket No. M-00051865),
amending original 3/05 order

10/05 — PUC issues order
implementing AEPS standards
for the participation of EE/DSM
resources (Docket No. M-
00051865)

11/05 — PUC issues proposed
rules for AEPS customer
generators on net metering
(Dockets No. L-00050174 &
No. M-00051865) and
interconnection standards
(Dockets No. L-00050175 &

Tier 1: Solar PV,
solar thermal, wind,
low-impact hydro,
geothermal, LFG,
biomass, fuel cells,
and coal mine
methane

Tier 2: Waste coal,
distributed
generation systems,
demand-side
management, large-
scale hydro/pumped
storage, MSW, wood
manufacturing and
pulping process by-
products, and IGCC
technologies

e SB 1030 replaces renewable energy requirements on several
utilities established as a result of settlement cases in 1998
following a utility restructuring law in 1996.

e Applies to IOUs only. Rural coops are exempt, but must offer
energy efficiency programs to customers. Electric distribution
companies (Discos) and sales from electric generation suppliers
within Disco territory are exempt from the AEPS until they reach
the end of their cost-recovery period established during
restructuring.

¢ Renewable energy generation from new or existing facilities counts
toward AEPS, except MSW (existing only).

o Establishes alternative energy credit trading program to track
AEPS compliance. Credits can be banked for up to two years. An
alternative compliance payment (ACP) of $45/MWh (or 200% of
avg. market value for solar credits) can also be made to meet
AEPS requirements.

e ACP monies are placed in a newly established Sustainable Energy
Fund, to be used for increasing alternative energy resources.

¢ Includes force majeure language allows PUC to modify a utility’s
requirement if resources are not reasonably available in the
market. The PUC is considering the development of rules for a
force majeure mechanism.

o Allows for full utility cost recovery of prudently incurred expenses.
However, the 7/05 PUC order found that ACPs are not recoverable

Source: Updated from Powerful Solutions: Seven Ways to Switch America to Renewable Electricity, Union of Concerned Scientists, January 1999, available on-line at

www.ucsusa.org/clean_energy (tables updated April 2006). Contact: Jeff Deyette at (617) 547-5552 or jdeyette@ucsusa.org.



http://www3.dps.state.ny.us/pscweb/WebFileRoom.nsf/Web/47AF8DEC4F18F34A852570A500577C80/$File/368_03e0188_11_02_05.pdf?OpenElement
http://www3.dps.state.ny.us/pscweb/WebFileRoom.nsf/Web/E40551ACEFCA335C852570FC006E957C/$File/377_03e0188rev.pdf?OpenElement
http://www2.legis.state.pa.us/WU01/LI/BI/BT/2003/0/SB1030P1973.pdf
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/534798.doc
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/534798.doc
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/547870.doc
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/547870.doc
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/569133.doc
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/569133.doc
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/569133.doc
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/568424.doc
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/587885.doc

State Requirement Status Technology Comments
Eligibility
No. M-00051865) from ratepayers.
) ) Requires PUC to conduct a comprehensive review of AEPS in 6
1/02 - ,PUCt,'SSU?S flrzja}tl order ?n years, with recommendations for adjusting targets beyond 2020.
esignation of credits registry . . .
for AEPS; and tentative order AEPS is effective starting February 2005.
on standards for alternative 1/06 PUC order establishes PJM GATS as the credits registry for
energy system qualification AEPS compliance.
and credit certification (Docket
No. M-00051865)
Rhode Island 3% by 2007, increasing 7/04 — Renewable Energy Solar, wind, ocean, Applies to all utilities except Block Island Power Company and the
0.5%l/yr. to 4.5% in 2010, Standard law (H 7375) signed, geothermal, Pascoag Utility District.
then increasing by 1%/yr. to and codified as Rl Gen. Laws § | biomass, co-firing, RES to be met on a product basis and voluntary green power
.8-5% in 2014, theon 39-26-1 et seq. hydro (< 30 .MW)‘ purchases by end-use customers cannot be applied to a utility’s
increasing by 1.5%lyr. to , fuel cells using requirement. Projects supported by the RI SBC can be used to
16% in 2019. 9/05 — PUC issues proposed draft | renewable resources meet the RES
RES impl tati I )
) . MPeMentation ILes No more than 2% of each year’s requirement can be met with
nguilrr]ezf?g&t ari??r']r:r::ﬂer 11/05 — PUC adopts order existing (pre-1998) renewable resources.
unleoss the PUC determines (Docket # 3659) implementing Deliverability into the NEPOOL region is required for renewable
o final RES implementation rules generation to meet the RES.
it is no longer necessary. . . .
) ] Establishes REC trading system using the New England Generator
12/05 — PUC issues final report Information System to track compliance. RECs can be banked for
(Order No. 18485) on comments up to two years (with a 30% cap).
received on proposed RES rules Establishes an Alternative Compliance Payment system. The price
of the ACP is set at $50/MWh (adjusted by inflation), with the
money going into a newly created renewable energy development
fund, administered by the RI Economic Development Corporation.
Rate recovery of all prudent incremental costs is permitted.
HB 7375 also establishes energy source disclosure requirements
for RI utilities.
The PUC must conduct a review of the RES in 2010 and 2014.
Texas 1280 MW by 2003 6/99 — Restructuring law (SB 7) Solar, wind, hydro, Rule establishes credit trading program, administered by ERCOT

1730 MW by 2005
2280 MW by 2007
3272 MW by 2009
4264 MW by 2011
5256 MW by 2013
5880 MW by 2015
(existing = 880 MW)
~4.2% of 2015 sales

After 9/1/05, at least 500
MW of new renewables
must come from non-wind

12/99 — PUC issues order
implementing final RES rule

(§25.173)

2/03 — PUC issues order
amending RES rule (Project No.
26848)

1/04 — PUC issues order
amending RES rule (Project No.
24708)

8/05 — RES amended by SB 20

geothermal, wave,
tidal, biomass,
biomass-based
waste products,
including landfill gas

ISO. RECs have a compliance life of 3 years.

Munis and co-ops subject to requirement if they opt in to retail
competition.

PUC rule translates capacity targets into energy-based standard.
Conversion factor set at 35% for 2002-2005, and can be readjusted
every two years.

Out of state generation is not eligible unless there is a dedicated
transmission line into the state.

Penalty for non-compliance is set at $50/MWh.

2/03 PUC order amends the banking deficit allowance for 2002-
2003 from 5% to 10%, and extended the 2002 compliance period
by three months.

Source: Updated from Powerful Solutions: Seven Ways to Switch America to Renewable Electricity, Union of Concerned Scientists, January 1999, available on-line at

www.ucsusa.org/clean_energy (tables updated April 2006). Contact: Jeff Deyette at (617) 547-5552 or jdeyette@ucsusa.org.
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http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/584771.doc
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/584771.doc
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/589323.doc
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/589323.doc
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/PcDocs/589323.doc
http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Billtext/BillText04/HouseText04/H7375Aaa.pdf
http://www.ripuc.org/eventsactions/docket/3659-RES-ProposedRules(9-22-05).pdf
http://www.ripuc.org/eventsactions/docket/3659-RES-ProposedRules(9-22-05).pdf
http://www.ripuc.org/eventsactions/docket/3659-RES-FinalRules(12-7-05).pdf
http://www.ripuc.org/eventsactions/docket/3659-RES-Ord18485(12-28-05).pdf
http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/
http://www.puc.state.tx.us/rules/subrules/electric/25.173/20944adt.pdf
http://www.puc.state.tx.us/rules/subrules/electric/25.173/26848adt.pdf
http://www.puc.state.tx.us/rules/subrules/electric/25.173/26848adt.pdf
http://www.puc.state.tx.us/rules/subrules/electric/25.173/28407adt.pdf
http://www.puc.state.tx.us/rules/subrules/electric/25.173/28407adt.pdf
http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/data/docmodel/791/billtext/pdf/SB00020F.PDF

by 2010; and 6% above
2004 levels by 2015.

The average renewable
energy percentage for all
electric providers must be
at least 10% by 2015.

10/99 — Reliability 2000 (1999
Wisconsin Act 9) signed,

encoded as Wis. Stat. §
196.378

4/01 — PSC order issues rules for
credit trading program (Admin.
code, Ch.118)

3/06 — 2005 SB 459 signed.

geothermal, tidal, a
fuel cell that uses a
renewable fuel,

hydro under 60 MW

State Requirement Status Technology Comments
Eligibility
resources. e 1/04 PUC order amends the formula for calculating RECs, and
other minor changes to the REC trading system.

Establishes non-binding e SB 20 increases the renewable energy requirements from 2880 by
renewable energy target of 2009 to 5,880 by 20215, and includes provisions to increase
10,000 MW by 2025. transmission and create competitive renewable energy zones.

o City of Austin, TX adopted a 20% by 2020 RES.

Washington, Tier 1 Renewables: 1.5% in | 1/05 — Renewable Energy Tier 1: solar, wind, e Applies to all retail electricity sales.

D.C. 2007, increasing 0.5% per Portfolio Standard Act of 2004 | qualifying biomass o New and existing renewables count toward Tier 1 requirements
year to 7.5% in 2001_9’ (B15-747) signed (including co-firing), Tier 2 requirements are for existing (pre-2004) resources only. Tier
increasing to 8.5% in 2020, , landfill gas, 1 resources can also be used to meet Tier 2 requirements.

9.5% in 2021, and 11% in 9/05 — PSC issues Order No. geothermal, ocean, Deli bility into the PJM ion f facility in PJM . tat
2022 and thereafter 13766 (FC 945) and fuel cells (from * eliverability Into the region from a factiity in , Or'in a state
- . or control area adjacent to PJM, is required for renewable
Tier 1 sources only) )
Tier 1 or 2 Renewables: 11/05 — PSC issues Order No. generatlon to meet the RES- _ .
13804 (FC 049 e iydromd |* PS0 TAIeG 0 enabieh 8 R e g e e
decreasing by 0.5% per : MSW. MSW can not g : " 9%y X nging
t0 0% i 20'20 d 12/05 — PSC issues Order No. b : dt ¢ 20%) are given to early (pre-2009) development of wind, solar and
year 1o V7 In an 13840 (FC 945), interim rules € used lo mee LFG facilities. RECs can be banked for 3 years.
thereafter for the RES more than 20% of . . .
orthe the annual o Establishes alternate compliance payment mechanism (ACM).
; ; Credits prices are capped at 2.5¢/kWh for Tier 1 renewables,
Acide- requirements, and is X
Solar PViset-aside: 1 406 _ PSC issues Order No. ineligible aftr 2012, 1¢/kWh for Tier 2, and 30¢/kWh for solar.
0.005% in 2007; Increasing 13860 (FC 945)  Establishes a renewable energy development fund to support new
gradually to 0.028% in solar resources in D.C. using the fees collected through the ACM.
2010; 0.128% in 2015; Al for full util f orudently i d
0.329% in 2020: 0.386% in . ows for full utility cost recovery of prudently incurred expenses.
2022 and thereafter. e 9/05 PSC order creates a public working group to discuss various
implementation issues, and provide recommendations to the PSC.
e 11/05 PSC order established method for certifying eligible RE
facilities, and denied the use of retroactive RECs for compliance.
e 12/05 PSC order established interim RES rules.
e 1/06 PSC order established a streamlined process for eligible out
of district facility certification.

Wisconsin 2% above 2004 renewable | 4/98 — 1998 Reliability Act (1997 Wind, solar, e 50 MW new renewables by 2000 included in 1998 Reliability Act is

energy percentage levels Wisconsin Act 204) signed biomass, eligible for RES.

IOUs, munis and co-ops subject to requirement. Xcel Energy
already meets requirement.

First state to adopt RES without retail competition.

Credits awarded to electric providers only for eligible generation in
excess of minimum requirement. Credits can be traded to other
providers. Credits generated to meet the 1999 RES cannot be used
after 2011. Credits generated under SB 459 are can be banked for
up to four years.

Fines up to $500,000 for non-compliance.

SB 459 amends Wis. Stat. § 196.378 by increasing the RES

Source: Updated from Powerful Solutions: Seven Ways to Switch America to Renewable Electricity, Union of Concerned Scientists, January 1999, available on-line at

www.ucsusa.org/clean_energy (tables updated April 2006). Contact: Jeff Deyette at (617) 547-5552 or jdeyette@ucsusa.org.
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http://www.austinenergy.com/About Us/Newsroom/Reports/strategicPlan.pdf
http://www.dccouncil.washington.dc.us/images/00001/20050105125710.pdf
http://www.dccouncil.washington.dc.us/images/00001/20050105125710.pdf
http://www.dcpsc.org/pdf_files/commorders/orderpdf/orderno_13766_FC945.pdf
http://www.dcpsc.org/pdf_files/commorders/orderpdf/orderno_13766_FC945.pdf
http://www.dcpsc.org/pdf_files/commorders/orderpdf/orderno_13804_FC945.pdf
http://www.dcpsc.org/pdf_files/commorders/orderpdf/orderno_13804_FC945.pdf
http://www.dcpsc.org/pdf_files/commorders/orderpdf/orderno_13840_FC945.pdf
http://www.dcpsc.org/pdf_files/commorders/orderpdf/orderno_13840_FC945.pdf
http://www.dcpsc.org/pdf_files/commorders/orderpdf/orderno_13860_FC945.pdf
http://www.dcpsc.org/pdf_files/commorders/orderpdf/orderno_13860_FC945.pdf
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/1997/data/acts/97Act204.pdf
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/1997/data/acts/97Act204.pdf
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/1999/data/acts/99Act9.pdf
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/1999/data/acts/99Act9.pdf
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/statutes/Stat0196.pdf
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/statutes/Stat0196.pdf
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code/psc/psc118.pdf
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code/psc/psc118.pdf
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/2005/data/SB-459.pdf

State

Requirement

Status

Technology
Eligibility

Comments

requirements from 2.2% by 2011 to 10% by 2015; lifting the
restrictions on the amount of hydro permitted to meet the
requirements; and instructing the PSC to make changes to the
renewable resource credit program. SB 459 also establishes a goal
for state agencies to achieve 20% renewable energy use by 2011.

Source: Updated from Powerful Solutions: Seven Ways to Switch America to Renewable Electricity, Union of Concerned Scientists, January 1999, available on-line at

www.ucsusa.org/clean_energy (tables updated April 2006). Contact: Jeff Deyette at (617) 547-5552 or jdeyette@ucsusa.org.
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Table C-1A. State Minimum Renewable Electricity Goals (as of April 2006)

State Goal* Status Technology Comments
Eligibility
lowa 1,000 MW by 2010 Governor Vilsack “Condition of the | Solar, wind, biomass ¢ Voluntary renewable energy goal to be funded in part by
State” address January 2003 the $500 million owa Values Fund, a public/private
partnership.
e More than 900 MW of renewable energy capacity installed
through 2005.
lllinois 2% in 2007, increasing 1% lllinois Commerce Commission Wind, solar PV, solar e Goals apply to the bundled retail load of IOUs and certified
annually until reaching Resolution 05-0437, Response to | thermal, energy crops, alternative retail electric providers (ARES).
8% in 2013, Governor’s Sustainable Energy | organic waste biomass, | New and existing resources are eligible, and the power
and staying at 8% each year Plan, 7/19/05 landfill gas, existing and should be generated in lllinois or in an adjacent serious or
thereafter incremental hydro, and severe NAAQS non-attainment area.
ICC Staff Report, lllinois Scz)t:recressugp alternative * Does not preclude utilities from recovering prudently
75% of the annual targets Sustainable Energy Initiative, environmentall incurred cost, and caps the maximum rate increase for
should be met with wind 7/7/05 y meeting the requirement across all ICC-regulated utilities at
' preferable energy’ o o ;
power (subject to future re- 0.5% in per year (for new contracts) and 2% cumulatively.
examination by the ICC) . e Requires that renewable energy be acquired by utilities
Pogs noF 'nC|Ude, through a competitive procurement process managed by
|nC|nferat|on, heating, independent third parties.
burning of waste wood, . .
tires, garbage, . Su.st_alnable energy plan also establls_hes. an energy
household, commercial, efficiency standard seF at 10°/_o reduction in Ioaq grgwth in
landscape wastes, or 2007-2908, gradually increasing to 25% reduction in load
construction or demolition growth in 2015 and thereafter.
debris e Requires the ICC to review the RES each year to assess
progress toward meeting the goals.
e Requires the ICC to appoint an IL Sustainable Energy
Advisory Council, Utilities and ARES agree to file an
implementation plan within 30 days of adoption.
Minnesota 1% of consumer sales by MSL Chapter 212-S.F.No. 722 SF Includes Wind, solar, ° Each Utlllty must make a HQOOd faith effort” to meet the

2005 rising 1% annually to
10% in 2015%

(of this total 0.5% must come
from biomass in 2005 and 1%
in 2010)

0722 signed by Governor 5/01
Radioactive Waste Management
Facility Authorization Law
amended in May 2003 (HF9,
2003 1% Special Session).
MN PUC Order Docket # E-999/CI-
03-869 issued on 6/1/04

geothermal, hydro (< 60
MW), trees or other
vegetation, hydrogen fuel
cells or landfill gas

renewable energy goal through generation or
procurement.

e Law amended in June 2003 requiring utilities to report to
the PUC every two years on their plans and activities
toward meeting the goal.

e 6/04 PUC order details criteria and standards for
measuring electric utilities’ good faith efforts in meeting
the goal.

e  6/04 order also states the PUC’s intention to develop a
renewable energy tracking system to certify and verify
compliance.

e Renewable energy procured for green power programs
can be used to meet a utility’s goal, as long as consumers
are notified.

Source: Updated from Powerful Solutions: Seven Ways to Switch America to Renewable Electricity, Union of Concerned Scientists, January 1999, available on-line at
www.ucsusa.org/clean_energy (tables updated April 2006). Contact: Jeff Deyette at (617) 547-5552 or jdeyette@ucsusa.org.
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http://eweb.icc.state.il.us/e-docket/reports/view_file.asp?intIdFile=148072&strC=bd
http://eweb.icc.state.il.us/e-docket/reports/view_file.asp?intIdFile=148072&strC=bd
http://eweb.icc.state.il.us/e-docket/reports/view_file.asp?intIdFile=148072&strC=bd
http://eweb.icc.state.il.us/e-docket/reports/view_file.asp?intIdFile=148072&strC=bd
http://eweb.icc.state.il.us/e-docket/reports/view_file.asp?intIdFile=148072&strC=bd
http://eweb.icc.state.il.us/e-docket/reports/view_file.asp?intIdFile=148072&strC=bd
http://eweb.icc.state.il.us/e-docket/reports/view_file.asp?intIdFile=148072&strC=bd
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/docs/en/050713ecEnergyRpt.pdf
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?pubtype=SLAW_CHAP&year=2001&session_number=0&chapter=212
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?pubtype=SLAW_CHAP&year=2001&session_number=0&chapter=212
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?pubtype=SLAW_CHAP&year=2001&session_number=0&chapter=212
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?pubtype=SLAW_CHAP&year=2001&session_number=0&chapter=212
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?pubtype=SLAW_CHAP&year=2001&session_number=0&chapter=212
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?pubtype=SLAW_CHAP&year=2001&session_number=0&chapter=212
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/bldbill.php?bill=H0009.2.html&session_year=2003&session_number=1
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/bldbill.php?bill=H0009.2.html&session_year=2003&session_number=1
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/bldbill.php?bill=H0009.2.html&session_year=2003&session_number=1
http://www.puc.state.mn.us/docs/orders/04-0075.pdf
http://www.puc.state.mn.us/docs/orders/04-0075.pdf
http://www.puc.state.mn.us/docs/orders/04-0075.pdf
http://www.puc.state.mn.us/docs/orders/04-0075.pdf
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