Higher Education Coordinating Commission

Current members of the Higher Education Coordinating Commission 14-member state board are listed below:


Neil Bryant–Chair
Shareholder in the firm of Bryant, Lovlien & Jarvis in Bend, Oregon. Former Oregon State Senator (1993-2001), director of Government Relations for Oregon University System (2004-2009) . Chair of the Cultural Advocacy Coalition. Member and past president of the Rotary and the Bend Chamber of Commerce.
David Rives–Vice Chair
President of the American Federation of Teachers-Oregon. Instructor of English for Speakers of Other Languages.  Former advisor to the State Board of Education. Officer on the Oregon Education Investment Board.  AFT Higher Education Program Policy Council.

Betty Duvall  
Professor Emeritus, Oregon State University, former Community College Liaison, USDOE and community college administrator.

Terry Cross
Mr. Cross is founding executive director-- now serving as senior advisor-- of the National Indian Child Welfare Association (NICWA), a policy and advocacy organization for Indian children and their families. He is an author and national expert on child welfare issues, and served on the faculty of Portland State University School of Social Work for fifteen years.

Ramon Ramirez
President of Pineros y Campesinos Unidos del Noroeste, PCUN. President and member of the Board of Directors of the Farmworker Housing Development Corporation. President and member of the Board of Directors of CAUSA. Member of the Board of Directors of the United Farmworkers of America Foundation.
Larry Roper
Larry Roper has served as Vice Provost for Student Affairs and Professor of Ethnic Studies at Oregon State University since 1995. He previously served six years as a Commissioner with the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.
Carmen Rubio
Executive Director of the Latino Network, Oregon. Board member and Past President of All Hands Raised. Board Member, Social Venture Partners Portland. Board Member, University of Oregon Alumni Asociation. Board Member, ColorPAC. Marshall Memorial Fellow and American Leadership Forum of Oregon Fellow.​
Duncan Wyse
President of the Oregon Business Council.   Member of the Oregon Community Foundation Board.  Former Member and Chair of the Oregon Board of Education.
Lee Ayers-Preboski (University Faculty, non-voting member)
Associate Professor and past chair Criminology & Criminal Justice Department Southern Oregon University. Commissioner, Oregon Criminal Justice Commission; Board of Directors Community Works; Jackson County Public Safety Coordinating Council, and former K-12 teacher.
Rob Fullmer (College/University staff, non-voting member)
In charge of IT support and planning for the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences at PSU. Member of SEIU Local 503.  Served on the PSU Financial Futures committee. Member of the City Club Advocacy Board and the City of Portland Budget Advisory Committee. 
Frank Goulard (Community College Faculty, non-voting member)
Mathematics faculty member at Portland Community College. PCC's faculty union president. Member of the PERS deferred compensation advisory board and the Oregon community college essential budget level committee.

Claire McMorris (Student, non-voting member)
Student in the Honors College at Oregon State University, pursuing a BA in Political Science with an emphasis in Law, Policy, and Society, and minors in Music and Spanish. ​
Student, non-voting member
Public Meeting Notices
To receive HECC public meeting notices, announcements, and newsletters by email, sign up for the HECC mailing list here. ​​

Public Input to Commission
If you wish to send public correspondence to the Commission, please contact Commissioner.HECC@state.or.us. Correspondence sent to this address is shared with commissioners on a regular basis​.

If you have a logistical question regarding Commission meetings, please contact Kelly Dickinson, Commission Administrator, Kelly.Dickinson@state.or.us.

General Info 
For general information requests on the work of the Higher Education Coordinating Commission, contact info.HECC@state.or.us or 503-378-5690.

Media Requests
For media requests, please contact Endi Hartigan, Communications and Policy Specialist at Endi.Hartigan@state.or.us,  503-378-6769 (office), or 971-701-4032 (cell).