Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

OWNER/MANAGING EMPLOYEE

GENERAL INFORMATION

If the owner of a landscape contracting business is NOT a licensed landscape construction professional then the business must have a designated owner/managing employee.  This owner or employee must take a 16 hour course and pass the Laws, Rules and Business Practices section of the exam.  The owner/managing employee must be actively involved in the day to day operations of the business.  The business may choose to designate a licensed landscape construction professional as the managing employee and the course would not be required. 

Back to Top

STEPS TO BECOMING A OWNER/MANAGING EMPLOYEE

  1. Complete required 16 hour course.
  2. Submit an application to the LCB office.  You will be required to submit the certificate of completion from the course with your application. Once the application has been approved by the LCB, you will be sent an letter of approval and an ID number that you may use to contact the exam company, PSI .
  3. Schedule your Laws, Rule & Business Practices section of the exam with PSI at www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.  Some information regarding the testing/exam process can be found in the candidate information bulletin.
  4. Once you have passed your exam, fill out the employment verification form, initial in the area stating you are the owner/managing employee and submit to the LCB office.

Back to Top

COURSE PROVIDERS

Superior Schools, Inc dba Pro-Studies
A Self Directed Learning Program
Call:  541-388-1021, toll free 1-888-903-1021
www.pro-studies.com
 
Clackamas SBDC
7736 SE Harmony Rd.
Milwaukie, OR 97222
Call: (503) 594-0738
email: bizcenter@clackamas.edu

COURSE PROVIDER APPLICATION FORM
If you would like to apply to be approved by the Oregon Landscape Contractors Board to provide this course, please use the following application.  This is NOT for those who are interested in taking the course, but only those who wish to teach the course.
 
Course Provider Approval Application Form

Back to Top

COURSE REQUIREMENTS

The course consists of 16 class room hours (or the approved equivalent) and covers all the laws and business practices for landscape construction work, including, but not limited to:
  • The Landscape Contractors Board;
  • Employer requirements and employee's rights;
  • Taxes, record keeping, accounting, budgeting and pricing;
  • Building codes;
  • Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division
  • Environmental practices and laws;
  • Contract law;
  • Oregon construction lien law;
  • Project management, estimating and scheduling; and
  • Business Practices.
 
The course and testing are valid for 24 months from the date the course was completed.  Testing that is past the 24-month period from the date of the completed course will  not be considered for the purposes of fulfilling this requirement.  The requirement can be met if the owner or managing employee shows they have completed the course and passed the test and have been the owner or managing employee of another licensed landscape contracting business within two years of the date of application of the new landscape contracting business, however the license of that previous landscape contracting business license has not expired or, if expired, has not been expired for more than 24 months.

Back to Top

STUDY MANUAL

A study manual has been developed for the test.  The manual will be available on line for free, but there is a cost associated with a printed version of the material.
 
$20 for a paper copy
 
Study Manual Download. pdf format
Back to Top