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Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board 

 
MEMORANDUM 

_________________________________________________ 
 
TO:  BOARD MEMBERS 
 
FROM:  LYNNE NELSON, COMPLIANCE MANAGER  
  
DATE:  NOVEMBER 25, 2008 
 
RE:    LAPSED LICENSES - POLICY QUESTION  

__________________________________________________________ 
  

 
LAPSE OF PERSONAL LICENSE: 
 
A licensee (embalmer and funeral service practitioner for over eight years) had 
unintentionally allowed his license to expire, effective January 1, 2008. (He assumed the 
facility he worked at paid his renewal fee; the facility assumed the licensee paid his renewal, 
he worked eight months without a license for various facilities.)  
 
Statutes and rules allow him to become fully licensed again in one of three ways: 
 
1.   Complete 12 month practical apprenticeship for both licenses, which includes  
 a) Take one of the two FSP exams ($100) during the next year’s   
  apprenticeship 
 b) Turn in completion forms after 12 months for both FSP/Embalmer license. 
 
Or: 
 
2. Submit applications for both FSP/Embalming licenses based upon practical 
experience of being employed and practicing as a licensee for two of past 5 years. 
Application fee is $100. The applicant must then: 
 
 a) Takes FSP exam ($100) 
 b) Take and pass the practical Embalmer Exam ($400 or more).  
  
Or: 
 
3. Go work out of state for required amount of time, then submit applications for 
reciprocal licensure.  
 
Historical Information: 
Numerous persons over the years have allowed licenses to lapse, having left the industry. 
They all had to follow the above to obtain a license.  
 
One known individual submitted his applications based on two of the past five years -  and 
took both the funeral service practitioner exam and the embalmer practical exam and 
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obtained his license again. The Board believed the added expense of the applications and 
exams were sufficient penalty and did not take disciplinary action for practicing without a 
license for two years. 
 
During CRC it was discussed, could the Board take a position on their own rule whereby 
such a person could come in under “reciprocity”? The rule below states the person must 
have practiced in another state for two years immediately preceding the application date. 
Can the Board consider Oregon as ‘another state.’   
 
LEGAL AUTHORITIES: 
 

RECIPROCAL 
 
OAR 830-020-0030 Reciprocal Licensure  
(1) An applicant for reciprocal licensure shall apply to the Board on a form provided by the Board. The 
application shall be accompanied by the following: 

(a) The reciprocal fee as prescribed by OAR 830-020-0040; 
(b)  A certified copy of the applicant's birth certificate; 
(c) A certified copy of transcripts from a school accredited by a regional Association of 
Schools and Colleges demonstrating completion of an Associate of Arts degree or higher 
degree (for funeral service practitioner licensure)… 
(d) A certificate from the state(s) the applicant is licensed in which includes: Length of 
apprenticeship, examination score, date licensed, status of license at the present time, and 
whether the applicant's license has ever been suspended or revoked or other disciplinary 
action taken; 
(e) Proof that the applicant is licensed and has practiced as a funeral service practitioner 
or embalmer in another state for the two years immediately preceding the application date; 
and 
(f) An authorization signed by the applicant for the Board to perform a thorough background 
investigation as described in ORS 692.025(8). 

(2) An applicant for reciprocal funeral service practitioner license shall be required to pass the 
Board's funeral service practitioner examination as a means of providing satisfactory proof to the 
Board that the applicant has the requisite qualifications for licensing as a funeral service practitioner 
in this state...  
*** 
 

SATISFYING THE APPRENTICESHIP REQUIREMENT 
 

OAR 830-011-0020 Apprenticeship -- Generally  
*** 
(11) An applicant for Oregon funeral service practitioner or embalmer shall be deemed to have 
satisfied the apprenticeship requirement upon submitting proof satisfactory to the Board that the 
person has practiced as a licensed funeral service practitioner or embalmer  

(a) For two years of the past five years; or  
(b) For a total of ten years.  

*** 
(13) Funeral Service Practitioner applicants who meet the requirements set forth in section (11) of this 
rule shall be required to successfully complete a written examination and receive a score of not less 
than 75 percent, based on the total number of questions.  
 
ORS 692.045 Funeral service practitioner license; application; examination; experience.  
(1) The State Mortuary and Cemetery Board shall issue a license to an individual to practice as a 
funeral service practitioner if the individual meets the following requirements: 
 (a) The individual must apply to the board for a funeral service practitioner’s license on an 
application form provided by the board. 
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 (b) The individual must pass an examination conducted by the board under ORS 692.070 
following application for the funeral service practitioner’s license. 
 (c) The individual must successfully complete practical experience as a funeral service 
practitioner’s apprentice under ORS 692.190. 
(2) An individual may not take an examination under ORS 692.070 until the individual has provided 
written evidence of graduation from an associate degree program meeting the requirements 
established by board rule. 
(3) Notwithstanding subsection (2) of this section, an applicant with four years of experience as a 
licensed funeral service practitioner or embalmer in this state or in another state is not required to 
provide written evidence of graduation from an associate degree program in order to take the 
examination under ORS 692.070.   
 
OAR 830-020-0030 Reciprocal Licensure  
(1) An applicant for reciprocal licensure shall apply to the Board on a form provided by the Board. The 
application shall be accompanied by the following: 

(a) The reciprocal fee as prescribed by OAR 830-020-0040; 
(b)  A certified copy of the applicant's birth certificate; 
(c) A certified copy of transcripts from a school accredited by a regional Association of 
Schools and Colleges demonstrating completion of an Associate of Arts degree or higher 
degree (for funeral service practitioner licensure) or proof of passing an accredited course of 
funeral service education (for embalmer licensure); 
(d) A certificate from the state(s) the applicant is licensed in which includes: Length of 
apprenticeship, examination score, date licensed, status of license at the present time, and 
whether the applicant's license has ever been suspended or revoked or other disciplinary 
action taken; 
(e) Proof that the applicant is licensed and has practiced as a funeral service practitioner or 
an embalmer in another state for the two years immediately preceding the application date; 
and 
(f) An authorization signed by the applicant for the Board to perform a thorough background 
investigation as described in ORS 692.025(8). 

(2) An applicant for reciprocal funeral service practitioner license shall be required to pass the Board's 
funeral service practitioner examination as a means of providing satisfactory proof to the Board that 
the applicant has the requisite qualifications for licensing as a funeral service practitioner in this state. 
The examination shall include Oregon and federal laws, rules and regulations relating to the care, 
preparation, disposition and transportation of human remains and to survivor death benefits. 
Reciprocal applicants for funeral service practitioner license shall be required to receive a score of not 
less than 75 percent, based on the total number of questions, in order to pass the examination. 
Reciprocal applicants shall be eligible to take the examination at the regularly scheduled examination 
dates if their applications are received at least 30 days prior to the examination date. 
*** 
 
OAR 830-020-0000 Applications and Examinations for Funeral Service Practitioner and 
Embalmer Licenses  
(1) All applications for funeral service practitioner and embalmer licenses by examination, 
accompanied by the examination fee prescribed by ORS Chapter 692, must be received in the office 
of the Board at least 30 days before the examination is held, or be postmarked before midnight of that 
date. 
*** 
(3) Upon successful completion of the funeral service practitioner's examination, an appropriate 
license for the current year will be issued to the examinee after fulfilling the apprenticeship and upon 
payment of the annual license fee prescribed by ORS Chapter 692… 
 

APPRENTICESHIP: 
 

ORS 692.190 Application for and issuance of apprentice registration; conditions and duration 
of apprenticeship; rules.  



Lapsed Licenses, Policy Question                                                                       Page 4 of 4 

(1) An individual who wishes to engage as an apprentice shall apply to the State Mortuary and 
Cemetery Board for registration as a funeral service practitioner apprentice or an embalmer 
apprentice upon a form provided by the board….  
*** 
(4) The duration of an apprenticeship required for licensure is: 
 (a) Twelve months for a funeral service practitioner apprentice. 
 (b) Twelve months for an embalmer apprentice. 
*** 
 
ORS 692.025 License required for funeral service practitioner, embalmer, funeral 
establishment operator, cemetery or crematory operator.  
(1) An individual may not practice as a funeral service practitioner unless the individual is licensed as 
a funeral service practitioner under ORS 692.045. An individual practices as a funeral service 
practitioner if the individual for payment is engaged directly or indirectly in supervising or otherwise 
controlling the transportation, care, preparation, processing and handling of dead human bodies 
before the bodies undergo cremation, entombment or burial, or before the bodies are transported out 
of the State of Oregon. 
*** 
(3) A person may not operate a funeral establishment unless the establishment meets the 
requirements under this subsection. A place is a funeral establishment if the place is used for the care 
and preparation of dead human bodies before the bodies undergo cremation, entombment or burial, 
or before the bodies are transported out of the State of Oregon. A funeral establishment must: 
 (a) Be licensed by the State Mortuary and Cemetery Board under ORS 692.146; 
 (b) Be operated by a funeral service practitioner; 
 (c) Have on the premises embalming facilities or holding room facilities meeting requirements 
established by the board; and 
 (d) Have access to hospital or mortuary refrigeration. 
 
 
 
 
 


