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This article is all about continuing education 
for chiropractic physicians. I hope you find it 
helpful. 

Issue 1: During the recent OBCE CE audit it 
seemed that many licensees did not understand 
the timeframe within which continuing 
education is to be completed, especially in 
relation to Oregon’s birth month license 
renewal. The best way to say it is, ALL of a 
chiropractor’s CE hours for renewal MUST BE 
completed from birth month to birth month. 
If your birth month is May, then you must 
complete your CE hours between June 1 of 
the previous year and May 31. By keeping a 
folder of all your CE documentation with the 
appropriate date period on it you should be able 
to keep track of your hours. 

Issue 2: The chiropractic License Renewal 
Notice is also an Affidavit, a legal document. 
If you read the Notice/Affidavit, you will 
notice that it says, “I swear and affirm that 
during the previous license year (birth month 
to birth month), I have completed the required 
number of CE credits” … If you sign your 
Renewal Notice/Affidavit and you HAVE NOT 
completed your CE, you are risking disciplinary 
action and a heavy penalty from the OBCE.

Please DO NOT sign your Renewal Notice 
Affidavit until you have completed your 
CE hours. While there is no grace period for 
CE, there is a 30 day “grace” period after the 
renewal deadline in which the chiropractic 
license is still active until the license fee is 
received, however on the first day of the 30-
day grace period a $100 per week late penalty 
accrues up to a maximum of $500. 

Issue 3: Periodically, check the number of CE 
credits that you have completed during your 
license year. Some licensees were caught off 
guard when they received the CE Audit Request 
Letter from the Board. They lost track of the 
number of hours they had completed by their 
renewal date. They then needed to take the 
balance of hours at the last minute, plus expect 
a Board penalty. In addition, it is likely that the 
licensee had already signed their renewal notice 
that the hours were complete (a violation). 

New OBCE Board Member

Douglas Dick from Nehalem 
joined the OBCE as a public 
member in July 2008. He is 
a self employed building 
inspector and building official 
with extensive background 
in the building code process. 
In his application he stated, 
“I have used chiropractic 
care for almost 30 years. I believe I could be 
very objective and professional concerning this 
important business. As a small business owner 
I know that time to devote to this endeavor is a 
benefit to many people.” 

CONTINUED ON PAGE 4
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The mission of the Oregon Board  
of Chiropractic Examiners is to serve 
the public, regulate the practice of 
chiropractic, promote quality, and 
ensure competent ethical health care.

BackTalk is the official newsletter 
of the Oregon Board of Chiropractic 
Examiners. The Board’s next meeting 
is March 19, 2009 at the OBCE office 
in Salem. For information go to the 
OBCE web site at www.oregon.gov/
obce or call the Board office.

Board Members
Michael Vissers DC
President, Canby

Joyce McClure DC
Vice-President, Portland 

Michael Megehee DC
Secretary, Pendleton

Minga Guerrero DC 
Gresham

Steven Koc DC
Salem

Estelle Parker-Kent
Public member

Douglas Dick
Public member 

Staff Directory
Telephone: 503/378-5816

Email: oregon.obce@state.or.us
Dave McTeague (503) 373-1620
Executive Director
Administration
Legal questions
Board issues
Practice questions

Kelly Edmundson (503) 373-1573
Administrative Assistant
DC license renewal & information
CA certification, renewal & information
Continuing education
Practice questions	
 
Donna Dougan (503) 373-1579
Administrative Assistant
DC applicants
Examinations
Peer Review
Contracts

Michael Summers (503) 373-1615
Investigator
Complaints
Investigations

Katie Hambelton (503) 373-1614
Office Specialist I
DC lists, Record requests 
Meeting coordinator 
License verifications

I first want to thank Dr. Guerrero for her service on the board 
this past five plus years and as Board President for the last 
three. Her skill as an encourager and communicator is second 
only to her compassion and willingness to hear both sides of 
each issue. Her wisdom, leadership, and dedication to our 
profession are sincerely appreciated by the entire board. She is 
leaving behind some (figuratively speaking) big shoes to fill!

It’s an honor to serve as the new OBCE Board President for 
the coming year. Dr. Joyce McClure is our Vice-President, and 
Dr. Michael Megehee is our board Secretary. Dr. Megehee is 
our national FCLB Delegate and Dr. McClure is our NBCE 
Delegate (and the alternates respectively). Dr. Steve Koc has 
the lead on CE issues and is our liaison to the Rules Advisory 
Committee. Dr. Guerrero will continue with 
the ETSDP Committee. 

As the new OBCE Board President I’ll be 
reviewing our strategic plan to ensure 
progress on our key goals. The good news is 
that complaints received dropped 24% in 2008 
down to a level last seen in 2002. More good 
news is there are fewer boundary complaints 
too and the ones we did see are less egregious 
than some of our previous cases. 

In 2009 we will be revamping our Ethics and 
Jurisprudence state examination to make it 
an interactive learning experience in how 
to read and interpret our chiropractic laws 
and administrative rules. The Minnesota 
chiropractic board did this and believes it 
was a proactive measure that helped reduce 
complaints. 

The 2009 Oregon Legislature will keep us 
busy as we face numerous changes to our 
existing authority. One group of lawyers 
wants to take away the Board’s final decision 
making on complaints and delegate that to 

President’s
Report
Michael Vissers, DC 
OBCE Board President 

CONTINUED ON PAGE 3

Joyce McClure 
DC, OBCE  
Vice-President, 
NBCE Delegate

Michael Megehee 
DC, OBCE 
Secretary,  
FCLB Delegate

http://www.oregon.gov/obce
http://www.oregon.gov/obce
mailto:oregon.obce@state.or.us
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an Administrative Law Judge 
(who doesn’t have medical or 
chiropractic expertise). Then 
the OBCE would have to pay 
for an expensive appeal to the 
Oregon Court of Appeals if we 
believed that didn’t adequately 
protect the public. 

There’s a long list of other 
practice and policy issues to 
address such as:

Is CE compliance becoming •	
a problem? 
Should chiropractic assistant •	
licensing and education 
requirements be increased? 
(We’ve heard this may be 
necessary for insurance 
reimbursement in the 
future.)
How do we achieve greater •	
diversity on our OBCE 
committees and in the 
profession as mandated by 
Oregon law?
What kind of a guide •	
or matrix would ensure 
consistency with OBCE 
disciplinary actions?

We welcome the views of 
our licensees and other 
stakeholders. As a State of 
Oregon public agency we are 
directly accountable to the 
Governor and Legislature 
and through them the Oregon 
public. Our public meetings 
are advertised on the OBCE 
website (www.oregon.
gov/OBCE) along with 
our meeting minutes and a 
wealth of practice and policy 
information. 

President’s Report
CONTINUED FROM PAGE 2

Outgoing 
President’s 
Message 
Minga 
Guerrero, DC

My service 
on the OBCE has been an 
amazing journey.  I had no idea 
the professional education I’d 
receive when I submitted my 
application more than 6 yrs ago! 
Today, I believe we are more 
unified as a profession than 
ever before. 

I hope I’ve helped to demystify 
the board and made it more 
accessible to the profession 
when practice and scope 
questions arise. I’ve looked 
for issues where the OBCE’s 
public protection mission 
also supports and elevates 
the profession. It’s been my 
constant goal to combine justice 
with compassion.  

A few of our recent 
accomplishments have been:

Improving the timeliness •	
of our investigations and 
complaint resolution with a 
focus on consistency in our 
public protection actions. 
Adopted an administrative •	
rule listing the health 
professionals that may work 
as part of a chiropractic 
clinic’s services. This 
partially addressed the 
challenge of getting paid for 
chiropractic massage therapy 
services. 
Continued and improved •	
our New Doctor meetings 
(with board and peer review 
members) to address issues 
for new practices such as 
billing and advertising. 

(We’d like to think this has 
contributed to the 24% drop 
in complaints received in 
2008.)
Evaluated laser therapy and •	
other devices and techniques 
to provide guidance to the 
profession. 

Billing and coding issues is 
one area where our profession 
needs better support. When 
doctors informed us of a lack 
in billing and coding seminars, 
I researched, set up seminars 
and had links added to the 
state board website to include 
information on Medicare 
coding and billing seminars. 
However, this really needs to be 
addressed by the new Oregon 
Chiropractic Association as it 
affects not only the profession’s 
bottom line but our ability to 
serve patients. 
 
As the Oregon delegate to the 
Federation of Chiropractic 
Licensing Boards I’ve worked 
with chiropractic leaders from 
across our country and the 
world to address scope, politics 
and chiropractic philosophy.  
The energy I’ve felt from these 
exchanges has been food for my 
soul and energized my love of 
the profession. 
 
Last and most important for 
my fellow doctors, please 
consider participating to help 
your profession and patients. 
It’ll inspire you to a greater love 
of this profession. Your new 
unified state association needs 
your support and help, as does 
the OBCE. The association’s role 
is to represent and promote the 
profession, while the OBCE’s 
role is public protection. Both 
need to be done well for the 
benefit of all patients. ■

http://www.oregon.gov/OBCE
http://www.oregon.gov/OBCE


BackTalk

4 ~ Oregon Board of Chiropractic Examiners ~ Winter 2009

Recently an Oregon Health 
Division x-ray inspection 
found a chiropractic assistant 
was operating a bone 
densitometry device without 
the required permit to do 
so. This was reported to the 
Oregon Board of Radiologic 
Technology who levied a 
$1,000 civil penalty against 
the chiropractic assistant. 
Subsequent discussions 
between the OBCE and the 

“Rad Tech” board highlighted 
a need to share information 
about this requirement. 

Despite the ease of use 
of a densitometry device, 
an operator other than a 
chiropractic physician is 
required to obtain a limited 
permit from the Oregon Board 
of Radiologic Technology. (A 
bone density test uses special 
X-rays to measure how many 

grams of calcium and other 
bone minerals are packed into 
a segment of bone.)

To apply one must first 
complete an approved course 
(OHSU has an accelerated 
weekend course). Then a 
Temporary Initial Limited 
Permit to practice Bone 
Densitometry is available for 
$24 for six months and may be 
renewed once. 

Action the board has been 
taking for failing to complete 
required CE hours: 

Licensees are assessed a flat •	
penalty of $250 for signing 
a false Renewal Notice 
Affidavit
Licensees are assessed a •	
penalty at $50 per credit for 
each hour NOT completed 
within their licensure year. 
Licensees are automatically •	
scheduled for audits for  
1-5 years.

Bottom line: The OBCE is 
serious about the annual CE 
requirement. We want you to 
meet this requirement, we do 
NOT want to assess these fines. 
However, if you fail to comply, 
a penalty will be assessed. 

Also, the CE audit is changing 
in two ways. First, the audit 
will be conducted throughout 
the year in conjunction with 
the birth month licensing 

cycle. Second, the percentage 
of those audited is going to 
increase from the current 10% 
to a higher percentage for a 
period of time. 

Some other CE facts to 
remember:

If the OBCE receives a •	
complaint about a CE course 
(quality or otherwise) we 
will make the appropriate 
inquiries and the issues will 
be brought to the attention 
of the board. 
There is a short list of •	
courses/activities that do 
not qualify for CE on our 
Web page (i.e. Emotional 
Freedom Technique, Basic 
Spiritual Response Therapy, 
attending an exercise 
class, traveling to another 
country, and reading a 
textbook by itself).

Continuing Education and Licensing
CONTINUED FROM PAGE 1

A CE hardship waiver •	
may be requested if truly 
needed. The request should 
be made as soon as the 
hardship is identified, and 
before the expiration of 
your current license. 

Please note that CAs also have 
renewals due each July 31st. 
Failure to renew in a timely 
fashion will require the CA 
to begin the process all over 
again, with $110 application 
and examination, etc. There is 
no grace period. 

If you have questions about 
CE, first check the information 
on the OBCE’s Web page 
http://www.oregon.gov/
OBCE/cont_ed.shtml, if you 
still have questions either call 
my direct line (503) 373-1573 
or send me an email Kelly.
edmundson@state.or.us ■

Bone Densitometry Alert

CONTINUED ON PAGE 5

http://www.oregon.gov/OBCE/cont_ed.shtml
http://www.oregon.gov/OBCE/cont_ed.shtml
mailto:Kelly.edmundson@state.or.us
mailto:Kelly.edmundson@state.or.us
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Continuing Education, OAR 
811-015-0025. The OBCE did 
not adopt the proposal for 
50% in person live courses or 
seminars. 

They did adopt two modest 
but important changes at their 
September 2008 meeting. First, 
the OBCE can now establish 
a specific course requirement 
at any time (for an upcoming 
year) as opposed to being 
limited to May. This fits with 
the recent changeover to birth 
month licensing. Second, the 
CE compliance audit may now 
be anywhere up to 100%, (most 
likely be less) and will be done 
as licensees renew each month. 
The most recent CE audit 
and other anecdotal reports 

informed the OBCE that 
increased compliance checks 
are needed, at least for a while.  

Minor Surgery CE Rule  
(OAR 811-015-0030).  
Currently, minor surgery/
proctology certified 
chiropractors are required to 
complete 12 related CE hours 
every three years. At their 
January 2009 meeting, the 
OBCE added an additional 
option. Now, in lieu of eight 
hours of the continuing 
education requirement, a 
chiropractic physician may 
document performance 
or observation of twelve 
minor surgery/proctology 
procedures every three years. 
They will also be given credit 
for instruction hours. 

Administrative Rule Changes 
Chiropractic Assistant 
Unprofessional Conduct 
Rules (OAR 811-010-0110). 
The Board received legal 
advice that the existing 
unprofessional conduct rules 
for chiropractic physicians 
may not apply to chiropractic 
assistants. After much debate, 
the OBCE amended the CA 
rule (OAR 811-010-0110) to be 
very similar. (See Chiropractic 
Assistant Corner on Page 9).
 
To stay current with existing 
proposed chiropractic 
administrative rules go to the 
OBCE’s Web page at http://
www.oregon.gov/OBCE ■

The Temporary Permit holder 
is expected to take and pass 
the Limited Scope Bone 
Densitometry Equipment 
Operator Examination (cost 
is $120). An applicant is 
then eligible to apply for a 

“Permanent Initial Limited 
Permit in Bone Densitometry” 
within a one‑year timeframe 
which begins on the date 
they completed their course 
in Bone Densitometry from 
an approved school. The 

Permanent Initial Limited 
Permit is based on a two year 
license and it is prorated at 
$4 per month from the first 
day of their birth month and 
where it falls in the licensing 
cycle. Two year renewals are 
currently $96.00.

The process is similar for other 
anatomical areas however 
the educational courses are 
much longer and there are 
specific examinations in the 

“Core Module” and various 

extremities that applicants 
must take and pass depending 
on what type of permit. Those 
examinations cost more to take 
as well.
 
For complete information go to 
the Oregon Board of Radiologic 
Technology web page at: www.
oregon.gov/RadTech, check on 

“Licensing Information” and 
then “Limited Permit Licensing 
Process.” Their phone number 
is 971-673-0215. ■

Bone Densitometry Alert
CONTINUED FROM PAGE 4

http://www.oregon.gov/OBCE
http://www.oregon.gov/OBCE
http://www.oregon.gov/RadTech
http://www.oregon.gov/RadTech
http://www.oregon.gov/RadTech/lplp.shtml
http://www.oregon.gov/RadTech/lplp.shtml
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Final Actions 

Richard Crokin DC. Stipulated 
Final Order. Nine month 
suspension (Three of which 
were stayed, he re-entered 
practice on Feb. 1, 2009), 
$7,500 Civil Penalty, five 
year probation, 10 hours of 
continuing education on billing 
and coding, prohibition on 
telemarketing to traffic crash 
victims. Violations: for taking 
an x-ray of a pregnant patient 
(ORS 684.100(1)(g)(A) and 
(B) and OAR 811-015-0010); 
misleading telemarketing 
advertising (OAR 811-015-
0045(1), (2) and (3)),  hiring 
telemarketers and paying 
them a fee per patient (ORS 
684.100(1)(g)(A) and OAR 
811-035-0015(24)); billing an 
insurance company for cervical 
x-rays that were not taken 
(ORS 684.100(1)(g)(A) and 
OAR 811-015-0005(1) and 811-
035-0015(5) and (7)); failure to 
document sufficient clinical 
justification for treatment (OAR 
811-015-0010(1)); inaccurate or 
insufficient documentation of 
examination procedures (OAR 
811-015-0005(1)); Evaluation 
and Management code levels 
billed to the insurer that 
are not substantiated by the 
records (ORS 684.100(1)(g)(A) 
and OAR 811-035-0015 (12)). 
(8/1/2008)

Thomas Bolera DC. Six 
month suspension, two year 
probation, $1,000 civil penalty. 
Violations of ORS 684.100 (1)
(d), OAR 811-035-0015 and 

pursuant to ORS 684.100 (1)(s) 
for federal felony conviction 
for securities fraud and 
subsequent disciplinary action 
against his Ohio chiropractic 
license. (7/25/2008)

Leslie Rutherford CA. 
Conditions on Chiropractic 
Assistant license to inform 
current and prospective 
chiropractic employers of 
his felony conviction for 
transporting quantities of 
marijuana over state lines and 
random UAs for two years. 
(6/25/2008) 

Jorge Torres CA. Letter of 
Reprimand for inappropriate 
comments to and kissing a 
patient. Violations of ORS 
684.100(1)(g)(A); and OAR 
811-035-0015(1)(b)-(e) and 
OAR 811-010-0110(14)(a). His 
certificate has since lapsed. 
(6/30/2008)
 
Nelda Perez CA. Indefinite 
Suspension of CA certificate. 
Violations of ORS 684.100(1)
(g)(A) and (1)(d) for theft from 
her chiropractic employer and 
failure to cooperate with the 
board’s investigation.. OAR 
811-010-0110(14)(a), 811-035-
0015(20), and ORS 684.100(1)(g)
(A), (1)(d). Her certificate has 
since lapsed. (7/7/2008)

Dirk Friedt. CA applicant. 
Denial of CA application. 
Violations of OAR 811-010-
0100 (14) allows the Board to 
refuse to grant a license to any 
applicant upon a finding of 

unprofessional or dishonorable 
conduct. In addition, OAR 811-
010-0110 (14) also allows for 
refusal of a license for fraud or 
misrepresentation in applying 
for or procuring a certification. 
The Board found intentional 
misrepresentations in the 
application for the certification 
in terms of applicant’s arrest 
and conviction history. 
Applicant was convicted of 
driving while suspended in 
November 2006 and June 2007. 
Applicant had been arrested 
for assault 4 and harassment in 
March 1987 and pled guilty on 
April 24, 1987 to harassment in 
Washington County case No.: 
M 70681, and in March 1998, 
Applicant was arrested for 
resisting arrest and harassment 
and was convicted on August 
18, 2003 for harassment in 
Washington County Court 
Case No.: D9801164M. 
Applicant is a former licensed 
acupuncturist who was placed 
on indefinite suspension by 
the Oregon Medical Board. 
(10/3/2008)
 
Larry Fleetwood DC. 
Suspension and $2,000 Civil 
Penalty. Failure to cooperate 
with an investigation, 
failure to give prior notice to 
patients with the permanent 
or temporary closure of his 
practice, and failure to give 
reasonable access to records. 
Violations of OAR 811-035-
0015 (19), ORS 684.100(1)
(g)); OAR 811-035-0015 (20), 

CONTINUED ON PAGE 7

OBCE Public Protection Update
Final and Proposed actions May 22, 2008 to January 30, 2009
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OAR 811-015-0006 (1), ORS 
684.100(1)(q); ORS 684.100 (1)
(t). Failure to comply with 
CE requirements and signing 
a false affidavit attesting to 
completion of 20 hours CE, and 
failure to cooperate with an 
investigation. ($250 for signing 
a false affidavit and $750-$50 
per hour not completed and 
$750 for failure to cooperate 
with an investigation.) 
Violations of OAR 811-015-0025 
and ORS 684.092, OAR 811-035-
0015(16) and OAR 811-035-0015 
(20).  (1/6/2009)
 
Jonathan Hansel DC ND. 
Temporary suspension of 
chiropractic license (Interim 
Stipulated Order) for habitual 
or excessive use of controlled 
substances, intoxicants or 
drugs in violation of ORS 
684.100(1)(f) pending further 
investigation and evaluation. 
This follows similar action 
by the Naturopathic Board. 
(1/26/2009)
 
Deborah Hildebrandt DC. 
Stipulated Final Order. $250 
Civil Penalty ($125 stayed) 
for signing a false affidavit 
attesting to completion of 20 
hours CE. Licensee was also 
granted a CE hardship waiver 
and license status changed to 
Inactive. Violations of OAR 
811-015-0025. (1/30/2009)
 

Proposed Actions

Tuan Ahn Tran, proposed 
$226,500 Civil Penalty for 
extensive unlicensed practice, 
and ownership of Chiropractic 
Clinics at two locations; forging 
another doctor’s signature 
on chart notes, HCFA and 
insurance forms, making false 
referrals for x-rays; and not 
identifying one clinic as a 
chiropractic clinic. Violations of 
ORS 684.015 and OAR 811-010-
0120, ORS 676.110 and OAR 
811-015-0045, ORS 684.100 (1)
(a) fraud or misrepresentation, 
(c) the impersonation of 
another practitioner of like or 
different name, and OAR 811-
035-0015(12) perpetrating fraud 
upon patients or third party 
payors relating to the practice 
of chiropractic. (12/1/2008)

Case # 2008-5021. Proposed 
$650 for failure to complete 
8 hours of the 20 hour CE 
requirement during licensure 
year and signing a false 
affidavit. Violations of OAR 
811-015-0025 and ORS 684.092, 
OAR 811-035-0015(16). 
(1/23/2009) 

Case # 2008-5022. Proposed 
$450 for failure to complete 
4 hours of the 20 hour CE 
requirement during licensure 
year, signing a false affidavit, 
and failure to complete 
the Pain Management and 
Evidence-Based Outcomes 

OBCE Public Protection Update
CONTINUED FROM PAGE 6

Management CE prior to the 
January 1, 2008 deadline. 
Violations of OAR 811-015-0025 
and ORS 684.092, OAR 811-035-
0015(16). (1/23/2009) 
 
Case # 2009-5001. Proposed 
$850 for failure to complete 
12 hours of the 20 hour 
CE requirement during 
licensure year and signing a 
false affidavit. Violations of 
OAR 811-015-0025 and ORS 
684.092, OAR 811-035-0015(16). 
(1/26/2009) 

Dismissed Complaints

For this reporting period 
there were findings of 10 
No Statutory Violation 
(N.S.V.), 20 Case Closed, 6 
Letters of Concern, and 2 
Insufficient Evidence (I.E.) 
all of which included Letters 
of Concern. There was one 
Consent Agreement where the 
chiropractor accepted a Board 
appointed observer and agreed 
to a follow up evaluation to 
monitor his recovery from a 
series of minor strokes. A total 
of 54 cases were closed during 
this period. ■
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Child Abuse Reporting 
Chiropractors observe and treat children on a 
regular basis. A chiropractor, having reasonable 
cause to believe any child with whom the 
chiropractor comes in contact has suffered abuse 
or any person with whom the chiropractor 
comes in contact has abused a child, is required 
by Oregon Law (ORS 419b.010) to report by 
telephone or otherwise to the local office of 
the State Office for Services to Children and 
Families (SCF) or to a law enforcement agency. 
Any report made is confidential and the person 
making the report may not be sued.

Abuse can be classified into four basic 
categories:

physical abuse;•	
neglect;•	
mental injury or emotional maltreatment;•	
sexual abuse.•	

ORS 419B.005 defines child abuse as:
“Any assault, as defined in ORS chapter 163, 
of a child and any physical injury to a child 
which has been caused by other than accidental 
means, including any injury which appears to 
be at variance with the explanation given of 
the injury.” This does not include reasonable 
discipline. ■

Elder Abuse Reporting
(persons 65-years of age or older)

Abuse in its various forms affects our society 
from children to the elderly. It is estimated that 
approximately 2.5 million older people are 
abused each year; however, only about 10% of 
the cases are reported. Elderly victims of abuse 
“often have low self-esteem, blame themselves 
for the abuse, and do not want to admit their 
vulnerabilities or betray their families,” and are 
usually abused by those with whom they live. 
Neglect of, or ridicule toward, an elderly person 
can frequently be an indicator of elder abuse.

Comparatively, the definitions of abuse for older 
people are very similar to those for children. As 
with child abuse, chiropractors have a legal and 
ethical obligation to report any suspected elder 
abuse with confidentiality to the local office of 
the Senior and Disabled Services Division or to a 
law enforcement agency. They may not be sued 
for such reporting. ■

Don Ferrante DC, Oregon Chiropractic Association  
Co-President addresses CE issues at the OBCE’s  
September meeting. 

Dr. Steve Koc reads the OBCE’s Mission 
Statement at the beginning of every board 
meeting. 
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Digitized 
X-rays

Recently, the OBCE has received 
numerous questions regarding 
the use of digitized x-rays. The 
board investigated the process of 
creating digitized films, pricing 
and the diagnostic information 
produced by this product. We 
offer the following comment to the 
profession and other stakeholders 
following this review:

Doctors would be wise to 1.	
inform their patients of 
the cost differential when 
ordering digitized films. 
Because the cost far exceeds 
plain film reads, the patient 
may have to bear the burden 
of any payment not covered 
by insurance reimbursement. 
Doctors should be aware that 2.	
the number one complaint 
filed by patients falls in 
the category of billing and 
treatment. 
According to the American 3.	
Chiropractic College of 
Radiology, current literature 
shows no difference in 
“digitized” computer analysis 
vs. plain film reads by trained 
practitioners.

Despite their higher cost, many 
digitized reads do not contain 
any information regarding gross 
osseous pathologies or other 
evident pathology, such as cancer, 
metabolic disease or fracture. If the 
read is a singularly biomechanical 
report, the responsibility remains 
with the ordering practitioner to 
rule out pathology visible on  
these films.■

Chiropractic Assistant 
Corner

Nationally, there is a discussion as to whether there is 
sufficient mandated training for chiropractic assistants. 
This is driven in part by the possibility that third 
party payers will refuse to reimburse for CAs who 
lack a specified level of training. This is on the OBCE’s 
strategic planning list of issues for further discussion.

Iontophoresis and phonophoresis. Chiropractic 
assistants may perform iontophoresis or phonophoresis 
under the doctor’s supervision as a form of 
physiotherapy. (11/20/2008)

Chiropractic Assistant terminology. The OBCE 
reviewed a case of a chiropractic clinic referring to their 
chiropractic assistants as “massage therapists” or just 
“therapist.” The Board determined this is misleading 
advertising and may not be used (unless of course the 
CA is also a licensed massage therapist). Also, the CA 
rule was changed and the term “Certified” has now 
been dropped.  The designation “CA” is also acceptable. 
(11/20/2008)

Unprofessional Conduct Rules Adopted. The Board 
received legal advice that the existing unprofessional 
conduct rules for chiropractic physicians may not apply 
to chiropractic assistants. After much debate, the OBCE 
amended the CA rule (OAR 811-010-0110) to be very 
similar. 

In particular, there was spirited debate under what 
conditions a CA could establish a personal relationship 
with a patient. Many felt the CA-patient relationship 
was different from the doctor’s. Ultimately, the OBCE 
found that a significant fiduciary relationship does exist. 

The OBCE also discussed that a CA (with the 
supervising DC’s consent) may be allowed to terminate 
the treating relationship and access to a patient’s 
personal information, thus in some cases allowing the 
CA to be free of this restraint. A close reading of the 
rule’s parameters (see definition of “current patient”) 
would be necessary in this situation. ■
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Question (from a DC):  I type each day’s 
notes at the time of service into my computer. 
When I finish out a chart note each day, I initial 
them with a computer generated note. This is 
not an actual written signature, but they are my 
initials and signify who made the note. Would 
this satisfy the requirement to sign each chart 
note entry?

Answer: Yes. You can use typed initials or 
signatures for computer generated chart notes. 

Question: Is treatment of migraine headaches 
within the Oregon chiropractic scope of practice? 

Answer: Yes, absolutely.

Question: May a chiropractor write a 
prescription/referral for colonic therapy?  

Answer: Yes, this used to be taught at WSCC 
and is still considered within the Oregon DC 
scope of practice 

Question (from a medical testing 
service): May Oregon chiropractors order, 
collect and receive medical laboratory test 
results for pap smears?  

Answer: Yes. DCs in Oregon have a 
very broad scope of practice in the area of 
diagnostics. They were also trained in ob-gyn 
and female health issues in chiropractic 
college.  

Question (from a DC): May chiropractic 
assistants do postural screenings at an event 
without the chiropractor present?  

Answer: No. The doctor must be present 
when the CA is providing this service. 

Question (from a chiropractic clinic 
manager): We have been approached by a 
Naturopath who would like to work for us in our 
clinic. Is it possible to bill under our tax ID # for 
a Naturopath?  

Answer: In 2006 the OBCE adopted 
the following rule: OAR 811-010-0130, 
Other Licensed Health Care Providers. A 
chiropractic business entity or chiropractic 
physician, in accordance with decades long 
accepted scope of practice, may employ or 
contract for the services of other health care 
providers as part of their chiropractic practice 
for the purpose of providing care to patients, 
to the extent this does not conflict with 
other applicable state or federal laws. Other 
health care providers may include, but are 
not limited to, licensed massage therapists, 
physical therapists, athletic trainers, nurses, 
acupuncturists, naturopathic physicians, and 
physicians licensed under ORS 677. 
 
So the OBCE has no issue with this, but we 
don’t claim to be the authoritative source for 
all billing issues. 

Question (from an East Coast DC): The 
doctor is coming to Oregon with a Trailblazer 
player who is his patient. Can he treat his 
patient while in Oregon? 

Answer: Yes, under the Travel to Treat 
law for up to 15 days for a specific cultural, 
educational or sporting event. 

Question: May a chiropractor tell a  
patient with diffuse muscular pain to stop 
taking Lipitor?

Answer: It could be interpreted to be out 
of scope to do so that bluntly. It could be 
considered the practice of medicine. It would 
be appropriate to share information and 
concerns with the patient (which the DC did) 
and/or the DC should share his concerns 
with the prescribing doctor since they are 
co-treating this patient. 
 
ORS 684.015 specifically prohibits DCs from 
administering or writing prescriptions for 
medications.  ORS 684.035 Chapter not 
applicable to other methods of healing, says, 

Policy & Practice Questions

CONTINUED ON PAGE 11



BackTalk

Winter 2009 ~ Oregon Board of Chiropractic Examiners ~ 11

OBCE Policy Updates
Blood pressure checks. Can any trained person 
perform blood pressure checks? The Board 
determined they can. The Board approved the 
following policy change:

Any Trained Person (including CAs) may 
perform the following: Clarify initial patient 
intake history, which includes recording or 
performing height, weight, blood pressure, 
temperature, and pulse rate. (11/20/2008)

Oxygen Concentration The Oregon Board of 
Pharmacy considers USP (medical) Oxygen 
(100%) a prescription drug. However oxygen 
concentrated at a lower percentage (90 to 95%) 
does not require a prescription. With that 
understanding, the OBCE does not prohibit 
oxygen concentration or the devices which 
produce this by chiropractic physicians.  
However, it would be inaccurate for anyone to 
represent that the Board has “approved” the use 
of oxygen concentration. Similar precautions as 
indicated for emergency medical oxygen must 
be observed. (11/20/2008) ■

“Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to 
interfere with any other method or science of 
healing in this state.”

Question:  A chiropractor is purchasing another 
clinic. Is it necessary for him to get a written 
consent for the seller to pass on the patient 
file and information to me, the buyer, from the 
seller’s patients? In other words, do the existing 
patients need to give permission to transfer their 
health information to me?

Answer: Not in this case. This situation is 
covered in the OBCE Records rule (OAR 811-
015-0005 (5), which states, “The responsibility 
for maintaining original patient records may 
be transferred to another chiropractic business 
entity or to another chiropractic physician 
as part of a business ownership transfer 
transaction.”

Question: Is there a requirement to obtain and 
keep a patient’s specific date of birth and their 
social security number? The concern is about 
possible identify theft if the information was 
stolen. 

Answer: There is no specific OBCE rule or 
policy which requires this. ■ 

OBCE January 2009 
meeting in WSCC’s 
Hampton Hall. Left to 
right: public member 
Cookie Parker-Kent, 
Drs. Michael Megehee, 
Joyce McClure, Steve 
Koc, Michael Vissers, 
Minga Guerrero; Kelly 
Edmundson, Donna 
Dougan, Michael 
Summers, Assistant 
Attorney General Lori 
Lindley; and public 
member Douglas Dick.

Dr. Koc (seated) and Dr. Vissers (standing) talked with 50 
new DC at the October New Doctors Meeting with board 
and peer review members.

Policy & Practice Questions
CONTINUED FROM PAGE 10
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New Licensees
May 21, 2008 to January 26, 2009

Andrew E. Alvis
John P. Archer

Venessa C. Bartholomew
Kenneth S. Bishop

Timothy R. Bradford
Christina M. Brogna
Jason M. Bussanich
Brenton T. Cheng

Neal A. Craig
Jerome G. Craig

Michael A. Crampton
Brent A. Dixson
John Doucette
Brad P. Farra

Jeffrey A. Finnigan
Michelle M. Gerbi
Jeffrey S. Hembree
Matthew Hemsley

Michael B. Herb

Margaret L. Hoecker
Drew A. Hohensee
Ben A. Hokenson

Bronwyn L. Illingworth
Kim A. Jameson

Keith H. Johnston
Tobias D. Joyce

Jonathan T. Kinney
Ryan G. Lambert
Gregory J. Lekas
Peter G. Macris

Carole K. Martin
Inna Mayrkovich

Kevin A. Misenheimer
Kimberly A. Mullen

Alexis T. Nguyen
Ashley R. Nunley

Kelly S. Otto
Angela D. Ozeruga

Jooae Park
Rusty J. Roberts
Anna L. Rossi

Dane A. Roubos
Linda M. Rowe

Mark M. Saccoman
Kris A. Sasaki

Nicole M. Schmidt
Michael J. Sorensen

Daniel P. Stambaugh
Thu Nga Tran

Todd A. Turnbull
Brad M. Vollmer

Brandon J. Wenger
Steven J. Wilson

Ginger L. Winebrenner
D’Anira Wiseman
Dekebo M. Yadeto

Please share BackTalk with your Chiropractic Assistants and Staff.

www.oregon.gov/obce

