Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Chiropractic Assistants

Oregon Administrative Rule affecting Chiropractic Assistants

As an applicant (and soon licensed) Chiropractic Assistant, you are responsible to know and follow the rules and regulations affecting your licensure.  Click on this link Oregon Administrative Rule 811-010-0110 to read the specific rule guiding CAs.  This LINK will take you to the full text of the rule which also regulates your profession. 

Back to Top

Application Process for CA Licensure 

PLEASE READ ALL SECTIONS COMPLETELY (and the related links) AND the Administrative Rule above.   NOTE: IF your CA license expired within the last 12 months, you MAY be eligible to RE-NEW your license under the new rule with a late penalty; Read the rule above AND the section on this page titled "Annual CA License Renewal..." to find out (11/1/13).
  1. APPLICATION - Print your application forms (Find them in the Forms section below).
  2. TRAINING - Complete an initial training course (Find education options in Training section below)
  3. FEES - Submit total of 135 to OBCE (by check or credit card); Mailing information is below
  4. ONLINE EXAM - OBCE will initiate the online examination after review of the application materials and a background check (See the Exam information in the Online CA exam section below) 
  5. Upon successful completion of the exam, the OBCE will issue the license.

If you have questions after reading all sections, CONTACT

Kelly Beringer by email at kelly.beringer@oregon.gov  

Back to Top

Application Forms and Mailing Information Update 07-28-14

These forms will open with Adobe Reader and Internet Explorer ONLY; they will not open if your browser is Mozilla, etc.

Complete the above forms, and take your 12 hours of initial training.
Mail ALL of the following to the OBCE (address below):
  1. Completed application, including ALL supporting documentation for any YES answers
  2. SSN form 
  3. Diversity forms
  4. Proof (certificate) of initial training, and
  5. $135 payable to the OBCE  

Mail to:

Oregon Board of Chiropractic Examiners
3218 Pringle Road SE, Suite 150 
Salem Oregon 97302

Back to Top

TRAINING for Initial Licensure - Process and Resources 

Required Initial Training - ALL CA Initial training must follow the guidelines shown in this link minimum requirements for the 12 hours initial training


There are FOUR means of training - Pick ONE of the options below.

In ANY instance you should receive a certificate verifying your completion of the 12 hours training.

Board Approved trainers or employing Doctors of Chiropractic are the ONLY allowed trainers. Other CA or staff MUST NOT be delegated to train a CA Applicant.

If you attend a course which covers only the didactic (lecture) instruction, you must also complete the 4 hour practical (hands-on) training with one of the approved trainers or your employing chiropractor.

The time you take to complete your application forms, read the Physiotherapy Study Guide, take your examination does NOT count as part of your required 12 hours training.

AND finally, you MUST submit your completed application, forms, proof of training and fees to the OBCE within 60 days of completing your training.  If you do not, you will need to retake the 12 hours.

Training Options:

  1. Attend a scheduled initial training course; you will receive a Certificate of Completion from the trainer to submit with your application to the OBCE; OR
  2. Be trained by your employing chiropractor (DC).  S/He is responsible to log the specific hours trained as indicated on the enclosed “Supervising DC Guidelines and Log for CA Training.”  Both the DC and CA should follow these guidelines ​strictly; OR  
  3. NEW Register for this Board-approved online PACE program (8 hours lecture)
  4. Contact one of the OBCE’s pre-approved trainers. These trainers may provide the initial training on an as-needed basis.  

Exceptions to the required 12 Hour Initial Training:

  • Seventh quarter or above chiropractic students may show proof of attendance of Physiological Therapeutics in lieu of taking the Initial Training Course; they must still meet all other requirements for CA licensure. 
  • If you have a CA certificate/license from another state or adequate documentation of training, the Board may waive the requirements for the initial training course. Request a waiver PRIOR TO application.
  • If you are a Physical Therapy Assistant, and you took your PTA education within the past five years, you may submit proof of that education in lieu of the initial training.
NOTE:  Massage Therapists applying for certification are NOT exempt from the initial training  requirement since the LMT training does not include hydrotherapy and electrotherapy.  All LMT’s or massage therapy students must complete the twelve (12) hours initial training.  ​​
Back to Top

Online CA Examination

EXAM STUDY GUIDE - Contact the book store at University of Western States to purchase the Study Guide. (503) 251-5763. Request the "Physiotherapy Study Guide for Chiropractic Assistants" to use with the open book exam

EXAMINATION for Chiropractic Assistant Licensure  The OBCE has transitioned to using an ONLINE CA Examination. It is still an open-book examination, and the Study Guide will still be available (see information below to obtain the Guide)

1.     Each CA Applicant will need to have their OWN email address (FREE email accounts are available with Gmail, Yahoo, Hotmail, etc.). You may not use your supervising DC's, clinic staff's or clinic emails for this examination.  If you do not have a computer or email, visit your local library.

2.     A CA Applicant will only be assigned the CA exam (via email) once they have submitted, and met ALL of the CA application requirements, including all fees, forms, and responses to OBCE background check (if requested), etc. 

3.     OBCE staff will send an email to the eligible CA Applicant with instructions on how to access the test site; the CA Applicant will have 48 cumulative hours to complete the online examination (this allows you to log in and out as necessary - up to the total 24 hours). 

4.     If the exam is NOT completed within the allowed time, you will lose access to the exam website, and you will need to request the OBCE to re-assign the test.

5.     Upon completion of the examination, the CA Applicant will be informed immediately online whether he/she passed or failed the exam.  The CA Applicant must initiate a transcript to be sent to the OBCE.

6.     Upon receipt of a transcript showing successful completion of the exam, OBCE staff will issue the CA license.

7.     IF a CA Applicant fails the examination, a $35 retake fee must be submitted and OBCE staff will re-assign the examination once again.

       These instructions and more will be available in the OBCE emails, and on the test website.

Back to Top

Annual CA License Renewal  -  Updated August 25, 2014

The renewal fee is $75.  A "grace period" with fines was adopted by rule.  Read the NEW language HERE.

The standard CA renewal period begins June 1 and ends July 31. No "early" renewals are accepted.

The Renewal Notice & CE Affidavit - ALL CA licenses expire July 31.
The OBCE mails the Chiropractic Assistant Renewal Notice and Affidavit to CAs by June 1 each year.  By default, the Notice is mailed to the last-known employment address; otherwise, if none is on file, it is mailed to the CA's home address. Keep the Board notified of your changes!
The Notice is an "Invoice to Pay" the $75 renewal fee to the OBCE and an affidavit which states that you, the CA, has completed your required hours of Continuing Education. The CA must complete the Affidavit prior to returning it and the payment to the OBCE; however, do NOT sign and date the Affidavit until you have completed your CE!
IF you misplace the Renewal Notice and Affidavit that was mailed to you, or you did not receive it all, you may download the form here:  Renewal Notice for CAs


Grace Period
A 30 day grace period now exists (August 1 through August 31) immediately following the July 31 expiration date whereupon the chiropractic assistant may continue to practice.  Any chiropractic assistant who has not renewed by September 1st, must cease practice. 

A certificate that is not renewed on time (by July 31) may not be renewed except:
(a) Upon written application and payment to the board of the renewal fee plus a delinquent fee of $25 for renewals submitted between August 1st and August 31st of each year;
(b) Upon written application and payment to the board of the renewal fee plus a delinquent fee of $50 for renewals submitted on September 1st or later; and
(c) Upon compliance with or exemption from the requirements of ORS 684.092. (Submit CE)
A chiropractic assistant has up to one year following their July 31 renewal date to renew and reinstate their certificate upon meeting the provisions of (a) through (c) above. After 12 months, a person must restart the application process. 


Continuing Education - SIX HOURS required
Remember, continuing education should be completed between August 1 (last year) and July 31 (this year). Do NOT wait until you receive your Renewal Notice & CE Affidavit to start looking for qualified seminars.  CAs who initially licensed between March 1 and May 31 of this same year are exempt from the CE requirement and their renewal notice will reflect this exemption; the $75 fee is still due!
ALWAYS get documentation verifying that you attended/completed the CE activity from the sponsor of the program.  
Throughout the year use the OBCE's website to find continuing education options. As noted on the site, the programs listed are not exclusive; if you find another program that interests you, feel free to contact the OBCE to find out if the program qualifies for CE credit (or read the Oregon 
Administrative Rule on CE 811-015-0025).     

Payment & Mailing 
Acceptable payment is by check, money order or cashier's check, or debit/credit card.  If paying by credit card (use this Credit Card Authorization form​

Send your payment AND your Renewal Notice & Affidavit to the OBCE's Administrative Office in Salem: 
                      OBCE, 3218 Pringle Road, SE, Suite 150 Salem, OR  97302-6311    

Back to Top

TIDBITS and FAQ Updated 11-1-13

Additional Duties Allowed or Disallowed for CAs  
In addition to the CA scope of practice which allows hydrotherapy, electrotherapy and physiotherapy, the Board has developed the policies and practices provided in the above link. 
Frequently Asked Questions          10-15-13
QUESTION:  My CA license expired  July 31, 2013, may I now (Nov. 2013) pay the late renewal fee and penalty cited in the new rule and renew my license? 
ANSWER:  YES!  With the payment of the new renewal fee, the late renewal penalty fee, and submission of CE. 

Questions related to a previous rule change....
QUESTION:  Can I complete the Initial Training through an "online" course? 
ANSWER:  Effective August 2012, webinars, that are PRE-approved by the OBCE for the "Initial  Training" are approved for the 8-hour didactic (lecture) portion of the Initial Training (four hour practical session must still be "live."  The Board adopted a policy (click HERE) that allows participation in the webinar. As of October 2012, an 8-hour webinar has been approved; the 4-hours practical session is presented live.  Refer to the list of approved trainers, or schedule of initial training courses. Videos or other online training are NOT approved for the Initial Training.
QUESTION:  May our long-time CA perform the practical portion of the 12 hours Initial Training for our new staff person? 
ANSWER:  NO. The administrative rule is clear that the hands-on (practical) training may ONLY be “administered by a healthcare provider licensed to independently provide those therapies.”  CAs may not perform any therapies without supervision of a DC, and therefore they are not allowed to administer the practical portion. 
QUESTION:   I will be renewing my CA license in July.  Do I need to complete six or 12 hours continuing education? 
ANSWER:  SIX. The rule change ONLY effects INITIAL training required to APPLY for licensure as a chiropractic assistant.  The rule change does NOT effect those CAs renewing their current license.

Back to Top