Chiropractor License Renewal
Back to Top
The OBCE has gone LIVE with its NEW Online License Renewal application for DCs! CLICK HERE for more information, OR if you want to go straight to the application follow this link: https://apps.oregon.gov/application/OBCE/elicense.
BONUS! The application is also a means to change any or all of your addresses - at ANY time, not just at renewal time!
Back to Top
- Senior Active status – To qualify for this status you must be at least 60 years of age, AND have actively practiced for 25 years or more); this status requires $262.50 and six (6) hours CE annually. When a licensee qualifies for Senior Active, the OBCE will mail with the Renewal Notice/Affidavit a Senior Active application form.
- Regular Active status– all other licensees who wish to practice in Oregon. The license fee is $350 and the annual CE requirement is 20 hours
- Inactive status – licensee pays $175; no CE required annually. Licensee may NOT practice to any degree in Oregon while maintaining an inactive license.
Other Important Terms:
- License Year – a 12-month period running from birth month to birth month
- Renewal Notice/Affidavit – your “invoice” to pay, and your affirmation that you have completed the required continuing education
- Renewal Date – the last day of your birth month
- Grace Period – the 30 days immediately following your license Renewal Date (Read important information in the section below titled, "The Grace Period and Renewal Penalty").
- Late Renewal Penalty - a $100 per week, or partial week penalty fee (Maximum: $500)
- Expiration Date – 30 days after your Renewal Date
- Lapsed License – 12 months after the Renewal Date. In order to practice in Oregon now, a person must re-apply (meet all current application requirements) and re-test (Oregon Specifics, and possibly National exams).
Back to Top
- The OBCE mails to the licensee's designated "official mailing address" a Reminder Notice approximately 45 days prior to the monthly Renewal Date
- Renewal is now available ONLINE; an official Renewal Notice & CE Affidavit form will still be mailed to you through one year's renewal cycle. After that, only Reminders will be mailed.
- For licensees unable to renew online, or who do not have debit/credit cards, a paper form is still available from our website under Forms and Publications.
- Once the licensee has submitted the Renewal online or in paper format, the OBCE will print and mail the renewed certificate.
Back to Top
Upon receipt of the Reminder Notice, the licensee is responsible visit the OBCE's Online License Renewal application - https://apps.oregon.gov/application/OBCE/elicense
and complete the process prior to the expiration/Renewal Date.
Each Licensee is responsible to:
- Verify/change ALL addresses on file with the OBCE
- Provide a valid email address
- Complete and verify completion of all CE requirements
- Truthfully answer each of the questions regarding any charges, arrests, convictions, other agency disciplinary action, or malpractice claims.
- Digitally sign and date the Renewal Notice/Affidavit
- Payment: Online licensees may pay with VISA or Mastercard. IF a licensee renews with paper, include a Check or Money Order (See Payments below)
- Print your Confirmation from the Online Renewal Application website, and keep in your files. Again, IF you must renew with paper, mail both the Renewal Notice & CE Affidavit form and your payment so it is received by the OBCE prior to your Renewal Date. (A penalty fine is assessed for mailings after the Renewal Date)
- If you have NOT completed your CE by your Renewal Date, DO SO before you attempt to renewal and be prepared to pay the Late Renewal Penalty with your license renewal fee.
- IF you want to change your License Status, READ the section below "Changing your License Status." If afterward you have additional questions, call the OBCE at (503) 373-1573.
Back to Top
License Renewal payments will be accepted online now through the OBCE's Online License Renewal application - https://apps.oregon.gov/application/OBCE/elicense
with VISA or Mastercard.
Payments made by check, money order, or cashier's check should be
1. Made payable to the OBCE, and
2. Mailed to the following address - WITH the completed Renewal Notice & Affidavit:
Oregon Board of Chiropractic Examiners
3218 Pringle Road SE, Suite 150
Salem, OR 97302
Back to Top
Changing your license status is allowed. For multiple reasons licensees leave the state to practice elsewhere. Please consider initially changing your license status to Inactive (with a $175 fee and no CE) rather than dropping it completely (letting it lapse). If you drop your Oregon license, you will be required to re-apply and re-test after 12 months lapsed. A change TO Inactive
A change from Inactive TO Active
- Online, you will be asked a) whether you have completed the appropriate CE (for an active license), or b) whether you are maintaining an Inactive license, or c) whether you wish to forfeit your license (let lapse). The $175 Inactive fee will be reflected as you check out.
- With any change to Inactive or Lapse, please provide a valid mailing address, telephone number, and email (not required for forfeits)
- The $175 Inactive fee will be reflected as you check out.
- IMPORTANT: Provide additional written notice to the OBCE as to how patients may access their files. (The OBCE is not a repository, but a resource for the patient.)
(IF less than five years inactive, or practicing in another state) *
- Online verifying that you have completed the appropriate CE will change your license status to Active/Senior Active (read terminology above); the appropriate fee will be applied on check out.
- In addition, you must submit to the OBCE:
- Proof of CE hours (including any specific hrs the OBCE may have designated in the previous 12 months); the number of hours are determined by the active status for which you qualify, and
- A license verification from another state where you may have practiced at least one of the past five years while you maintained your Inactive Oregon license. The verification must state whether the license was active, is in good-standing and whether there is, or has been, any disciplinary action against your license prior to the date of your status change.
Any license status change from inactive to active during
your license year (not at renewal time) requires you to pay the full active license fee, not the difference of the two fees.
For example, in January 2014 (your renewal month) you paid $175 for an inactive license. In March of the same year, you want to change to an active license; you must pay the FULL $350 active fee, not merely the difference between the $175 and the $350.
* If a licensee has maintained an Oregon Inactive license for five or more years, he/she must submit proof of competence prior to the issuance of an active license. Please read the OBCE's Inactive to Active Policy
(five or more years inactive).
Back to Top
As defined in the Terminology above, the Grace Period is the 30 days immediately following your Renewal Date.
The "grace" given to you by the Board is that you MAY practice during this period, however, for failing to renew in a timely manner, you will be assessed the $100 late renewal fee per week, or partial week,. The fee begins at the 1st day of the Grace Period; the fee will accrue until the maximum of $500 is reached.
IF you are submitting your Renewal Notice & CE Affidavit during the Grace Period, you will automatically be assessed the Late Renewal Penalty. Your license will not be issued until the full payment is received.
Back to Top
If a licensee has misplaced his/her OBCE issued Renewal Notice/Affidavit, the blank Renewal Notice/Affidavit form below may be used.
If not completing the fillable form online, PLEASE PRINT your answers. You must fill in all the blanks on the forms or indicate "N/A" (not applicable).