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RULEMAKING ACTION
Secure approval of rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.
ADOPT:
AMEND:

811-010-0085 Application and Examination of Applicants

REPEAL:

RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

AMEND AND RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

Statutory Authority:
ORS 684

Other Authority:

Statutes Implemented:
ORS 684.040, 684.155

RULE SUMMARY

The amendment removes the fee inserted into rule (which is outdated) and proposed generic language requires the applicant to pay the
"current" background check fee.

The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing negative

economic impact of the rule on business.

03-12-2015 3:30 p.m. Kelly J. Beringer kelly.beringer@state.or.us
Last Day (m/d/yyyy) and Time Rules Coordinator Name Email Address
for public comment

*The Oregon Bulletin is published on the 1st of each month and updates the rule text found in the Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation.
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In the Matter of:

Amendment to 811-010-0085 Application and Examination of Applicants

Statutory Authority:
ORS 684

Other Authority:

Statutes Implemented:
ORS 684.040, 684.155

Need for the Rule(s):
To come into compliance with state policy

Documents Relied Upon, and where they are available:
State rules and regulations state that an agency should only collect the amount required to process the OSP/FBI background checks

Fiscal and Economic Impact:

Insignificant.

Statement of Cost of Compliance:
1. Impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public (ORS 183.335(2)(b)(E)):

None. Money paid to agency will be used to offset the expense of the OSP/FBI checks
2. Cost of compliance effect on small business (ORS 183.336):
a. Estimate the number of small business and types of businesses and industries with small businesses subject to the rule:
None

b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for compliance, including costs of
professional services:
None

c. Equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for compliance:
None

How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule?
There is was no involvement

Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?: Yes
If not, why?:
The Administrative Rule Advisory Committee is scheduled to meet in February 2015

03-12-2015 3:30_p.m. Kelly J. Beringer kelly.beringer@state.or.us

Last Day (m/d/yyyy) and Time Printed Name Email Address
for public comment

Administrative Rules Unit, Archives Division, Secretary of State, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. ARC 925-2007
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Application and Examination of Applicants

811-010-0085 (1) Applicants shall be examined according to ORS 684.050 or 684.052.

(2) The Board shall issue a Candidate’s Guide, which contains all necessary examination
information. The Guide shall be mailed to each applicant, along with other examination information
for a fee of $10.

(3) Fee and application deadlines are as follows:

(@) Application and $150 fee for chiropractic exams must be postmarked no later than 30
days prior to the first exam day.

(b) Request for retake of any section of the exam must be submitted in writing with a $100
reexamination fee postmarked no later than 30 days prior to the first exam day.

(c) Supporting documentation must be postmarked no later than 30 days prior to the first
exam day.

(d) Deadlines may be waived by the Board for good cause.

(e) A complete set of fingerprints obtained from any state or local law enforcement agency,
or from any other agency approved by the Board. Applicants shall use forms prescribed by the
Board.

(f) -Applicant must pay to the Board the current actual cost of conducting the State and
Federal background check

(g) Criminal background check fee-results ef$4#25-must be postmarked no later than 30
days prior to the first exam day.

(4) Documents to be submitted prior to approval to take the Oregon Specifics
Examinations:

(a) A completed, official application including a recent photograph and fingerprints;

(b) Evidence of the applicant's good moral character on the letterhead stationary of a
Chiropractic physician;

(c) A signed affidavit attesting to successful completion of at least two years of liberal
arts and sciences study in an accredited college. Original transcripts must be provided if
requested by the Board; and

(d) A transcript certified by the registrar, from an approved chiropractic college,
including transcripts of coursework as required by OAR 811-020-0006 (minimum Educational
Requirements for physiotherapy and minor surgery/ proctology). A transcript of grades is
necessary from each chiropractic college attended.

(e) An official transcript of passing grades from the National Board of Chiropractic
Examiners on Part I, Il and 111 and physiotherapy.

(5) Documents and fee to be submitted prior to licensure include:

(a) $100 initial license fee.

(b) A diploma or other evidence of graduation certified by the registrar from an approved
Chiropractic college.

(c) An official transcript of passing grades from the National Board of Chiropractic
Examiners Part IV.

(6) All applicants must take and pass the Oregon Specifics Examination consisting of
written examination in ethics and jurisprudence, obstetrics and gynecology, minor surgery and
proctology. Applicants who have previously taken and passed obstetrics and gynecology, and/or
minor surgery and proctology within the last five years from the date of application as received
by the Board are not required to retake these tests, however all applicants must take and pass
ethics and jurisprudence.
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(7) Oregon Specifics Examination Grades:

(@) The Board shall determine the passing scores. Each section of the examination shall be
graded separately using the Angoff Method, a criterion referenced model. Passing scores fluctuate
between sections and between examinations. All examinations are designed to test minimal
competency to protect the public health and safety.

(b) Examination grades will be released within 30 days of the examination date.

(8) Regrades: any request for regrade must be submitted in writing to the Board no later than
45 days after the date of the examination. A regrade involves a manual tally of points earned for the
specific examination requested.

(9) An applicant failing to achieve a passing grade, as determined by the Board for each
examination section, may make application to the Board for a re-examination in the failed sections .

(10) An applicant must take at least one of the failed section(s) within 13 months following
the date when the applicant took the entire examination. If the applicant fails to re-test on at least
one failed section within 13 months of the last examination, the file shall become inactive and the
applicant must re-apply and take the entire examination.

(11) An applicant attempting to give aid or accepting aid from another while examinations
are in progress shall fail the examination and will not be allowed to take the examination for a
period of five (5) years.

(12) Refunds:

(@) The application fee is non-refundable; and

(b)The retake fee can be refunded until 10 days prior to the test date.

(c) The background check fee is non-refundable.

(13) The Board may reject applications for good cause, including evidence of unprofessional
behavior.

(14) Effective June 1, 2001 applicants who have completed all requirements for licensure,
including passage of all required examinations, must submit the initial license fee to obtain license
within one year from the date they completed all the requirements. An applicant’s initial license
will be valid for a minimum of 180 days. However, if the applicant’s next birth date is within the
180 days, the initial license will be valid for an additional 12 months beyond the applicant’s birth
date.

Statutory Auth.: ORS 684
Stats. Implemented: ORS 684.050; 684.052
Adopted Eff. 11-30-07



