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Licensure Requirements 
 
License by Examination 

 
To qualify to become a Licensed Massage Therapist in Oregon, an applicant must: 

• meet specific education requirements 
• pass the Oregon practical exam and the Oregon jurisprudence (laws) exam, and 
• pass a Board approved written exam. 

 
Applicants may take the practical and written exams in any order, but must pass all exams to become licensed. 

 
Oregon requires a minimum 500 hours of education, which must include: 

• 200 hours of health sciences, consisting of Anatomy and Physiology, Pathology, and Kinesiology; and 
• 300 hours of Massage Theory and Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, 

Sanitation, Communication, and Ethics. 
 

Applicants must complete required education before they will be approved to take the Oregon practical exam. 
 
 
 
License by State Endorsement 

 
Applications for State Endorsement are reviewed on an individual basis. Applicants who are currently licensed 
to practice massage in another jurisdiction may be granted an Oregon license by State Endorsement if that 
jurisdiction’s licensing requirements, including education, written and practical examinations, meet or exceed 
Oregon’s. Verification from a licensing agency and a copy of the applicant’s current license must be submitted 
with the application. The following jurisdictions may qualify for State Endorsement: 

 
United States: 
• New Hampshire, if applicant passed state-administered practical exam 
• Washington State, if applicant passed state-administered practical exam 

 
Canada: 
• Newfoundland 
• Labrador 
• Ontario 
• British Columbia 

 
 
 
License by Health Endorsement 

 
Applicants who  currently hold  an Oregon license  in an approved  health-related field may be granted a 
massage license by Health Endorsement after successful completion of the practical and jurisprudence 
examinations. The applicant must provide transcripts for 300 hours of education in Massage Theory and 
Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, Sanitation, Communication, and Ethics; as well 
as verification from a licensing agency and a copy of their current license. The following professions qualify: 

 
• Medical Doctor (MD) 
• Occupational Therapist (OT) 
• Naturopathic Doctor (ND) 
• Registered Nurse (RN) 
• Physician Assistant (PA) 

• Doctor of Chiropractic (DC) 
• Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) 
• Physical Therapist (PT) 
• Licensed Acupuncturist (LAc) 
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License by Credentialing Review 
 
Applicants who have legally practiced massage therapy in another state may be granted a license by 
Credentialing Review after successful completion of the Oregon practical and jurisprudence exams and an 
approved written exam. Applicants must: 

• complete a practical exam application, 
• complete the credentialing review addendum, 
• pay the additional credentialing review fee of $250, and 
• provide official education transcripts and/or certificates of continuing education as follows: 

 
 

Of 200 Anatomy & Physiology, Kinesiology, and Pathology hours required: 
» a minimum of 120 hours must be from certified class instruction, and 
» up to 80 contact hours of continuing education may be counted. 

 
 

Of 300 Massage Theory and Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, 
Sanitation, Communication, and Ethics hours required: 

» a minimum of 140 hours must be from certified class instruction, and 
» up to 120 contact hours of continuing education may be counted. 
» up to 40 hours of verifiable practical work experience may also be counted. 

 
 
 
 
Board Approved Written Examinations 

 
The Board will accept any one of the following written exams: 

•   The Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx), 
•   The National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM), or 
•   The National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB). 

 
The Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx) 
The MBLEx is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB). Contact the 
FSMTB by phone at 866-962-3926, or online at http://fsmtb.org. Exam applications can be downloaded 
from the website. 

 
The National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) and 
The National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB) 
The National Certification Exams are administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic 
Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB). Either exam is approved by the Board. Contact the NCBTMB by 
phone at 800-296-0664, or online at  www.ncbtmb.org. Applications can be downloaded from the website. 
Oregon does not require National Certification for the purpose of licensure. 

 
The CESI 
The Certification Examination for Structural Integration is administered by the Certification Board for 
Structural Integration (CBSI). The CBSI can be contacted by phone at 414-908-4947 or through their Web 
site at www.siexam.org. Applications and a study guide can be downloaded from their Web site. If you 
have further questions, please contact the CBSI. 

 
The written exam may be taken before or after the practical exam; however, proof of passing a written exam 
must be submitted to the Board before a license can be issued. The Official Score Report is not necessary; a 
copy of the notification issued the day of the exam is acceptable. 

http://fsmtb.org/
http://www.ncbtmb.org/
http://www.siexam.org/
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Application Process 
 
Fees 

 
All applications must include payment of the $50 non-refundable application fee. Applicants applying to take 
the practical exam must also include payment of the $150 practical exam fee. Applicants applying for licensure 
by credentialing review must provide the $250 non-refundable credentialing review fee, in addition to both the 
$50 application fee and the $150 practical exam fee. 

 
 Application Fee 

$50 
Practical Exam Fee 

$150 
Credentialing Review Fee 

$250 
Applying for…    
Application Review/ 
State Endorsement 

 

   

Practical Exam/ 
Health Endorsement 

 

 
 

  

Credentialing Review    
 
Fees may be paid by credit card, cashier’s check, money order, or personal check and should be included with 
the application. Applications submitted without the application fee will not be processed. If the practical 
examination fee is not submitted, scheduling of the exam will be delayed. 

 
 
Applicants who require accommodations under ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) 

 
The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA). 
The Board will accommodate qualified applicants who have a diagnosed disability if their request for 
accommodation is reasonable, if their disability is properly documented, and if the accommodation does not 
fundamentally change the exam or jeopardize security. 

 
To request ADA accommodations, applicants must submit their request to the Board in writing and must 
include a recent professional diagnosis that explains the nature of the disability. This documentation must be 
provided before an applicant will be scheduled to take the Oregon practical exam. For additional information, or 
assistance with applying for ADA accommodations, please contact the Board office. 

 
Arrest Record/Sanctions 

 
Applicants must declare on the application whether they have ever been arrested for or convicted of a crime, 
excluding minor traffic violations, or if they have been sanctioned by any other licensing agency in any state or 
jurisdiction. This must be reported even if dismissed by diversion or charges were dropped. 

 
Applicants who have been arrested or sanctioned must provide: 

• copies of the any police reports, 
• a copy of the judgment, 
• a copy of the settlement of the judgment and/or the final order, and 
• a written summary, in the applicant’s own words, of each event – including a description of the event, 

what led up to the event, what they learned, and what they are doing to prevent further similar events. 
 
See Instructions for Completing the Application Form, Section 7 for more information. An arrest record and/or 
conviction will not result in an automatic denial of licensure.  Making a false statement on the license 
application may cause denial licensure. 
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Transcripts 
 
Applicants  must  provide  official  transcripts  in  sealed  envelopes  from  any  pertinent  schools  attended. 
Transcripts must be reported in clock hours, or a credit hour to clock hour conversion explanation from 
the school must be included. Applicants who attended schools/programs not certified by the Oregon Board 
of Massage must also provide detailed course descriptions. 

 
If a program or institution is no longer in business, the Board will accept a notarized copy of a certificate of 
completion, transcript, or diploma that indicates both subject matter and hours. Unofficial documentation must 
be accompanied by a letter from the Department of Education or accrediting body that verifies the school 
closure date. The Board may require additional information to verify the authenticity of such documents. 

 
Other Documents 

 
All applications must also include: 

• a photograph no larger than 2” X 2” (passport-sized) taken within the last 12 months, 
• a copy of a current CPR certification card (front and back), and 
• a copy of a valid government-issued picture ID, such as a driver’s license, passport, or military ID. 

 
Health and State Endorsement applicants must include: 
• a copy of their current license, and 
• a license verification form completed by the issuing licensing agency. 

 
Credentialing review applicants must include: 
• the Credentialing Review Addendum, 
• payment of the additional $250 credentialing review fee, 
• certificates of continuing education (contact hours), and 
• the work experience verification sheet, if applicable. 

 
 
Massage and Bodywork Demonstration Choice 

 
Applicants must choose the modality they prefer to demonstrate during the practical exam. If no modality is 
chosen, Swedish massage will be assigned. Because the Board is unable to provide an all-inclusive list of 
modalities, applicants must choose from the following: 

 
Acupressure 
Body Talk 
Bowen 
Cranial Sacral Therapy 
Deep Tissue 

Lomilomi 
Myofascial Release® 
Neuromuscular Therapy 
Polarity 
Postural Integration® 

Reflexology 
Rolfing® 
Rosen Method® 
Russian Massage 
Shiatsu 

Structural Integration 
Swedish 
Trager® Approach 
Trigger Point 

 
DISCLAIMER: The Board recognizes there are specialties that fall within the scope of practice of 
massage therapists in Oregon that are not listed. For the exam and licensing process, the Board may 
include a modality in a similar “family” of practice. Applicants may also petition the Board for 
acceptance of a modality that is not listed. 

 
**NOTE: Modalities demonstrated in the practical exam must include hands-on application. Energetic 
modalities that use no touch or static touch are not acceptable. 
Notification 
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When an application is approved, the applicant is scheduled for the next available exam date and time. 
Notification is mailed to the candidate at least 14 days prior to the scheduled exam time. 

 
Applicants may request to be placed on a cancellation list by completing the cancellation form and including it 
with their application. If an earlier exam date becomes available, the applicant waives their right to 14-day 
written notice and is contacted by telephone. Completing the cancellation form does not guarantee an earlier 
test date. 

 
Exams are held weekly, Mondays through Thursdays, but this schedule is subject to change. Requests for 
specific exam dates may be included with the application, and will be accommodated when possible. Exams 
are typically scheduled 30-45 days out but this waiting time depends on the number of applicants. Applicants 
should not submit the $150 practical exam fee until they are fully prepared to take the Practical Exam. 

 
A 25-question Jurisprudence (Law) Exam is sent to applicants with their exam appointment notification. This 
open book exam can be completed at home; it can be returned to the Board by mail, brought to the Practical 
Exam, or provided at the time of initial licensure. Applicants must pass the Jurisprudence Exam in order to be 
licensed. 

 
 
Refund of Examination Fee 

 
The examination fee may be refunded upon written request if an applicant does not qualify for the practical 
exam. The $50 application fee is non-refundable. 

 
 
Rescheduling of Examination Date (Fees Forwarded) 

 
An exam date may be rescheduled for individuals who have a documented and verifiable emergency. A written 
request as well as documentation that verifies the emergency must be provided. Only one extension is 
permitted and requests should be submitted as soon as the emergency presents itself. 
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The Day of the Exam 
 
Admission to the Exam 

 
Be sure to arrive on time; be prepared for traffic or other unexpected delays. Candidates arriving late to the 
exam may forfeit their exam appointment and fee. Candidates may not report to the exam site more than 10 
minutes before their scheduled exam. To check-in for the exam, candidates must present their notification 
letter and a valid government-issued picture ID, such as a driver’s license, passport, or military ID. Candidates 
will not be admitted without these documents. Expect to be at the exam site for up to one and a half hours. 

 
 
Apparel 

 
Please dress in clean, comfortable, and professional clothing for the exam. Shoes are required. Do not wear 
clothing marked with a school logo. 

 
Please arrive  FREE OF ODORS.  If  you arrive with ANY noticeable odor (e.g.  body odor,  smoke, 
perfume, cologne, essential oils, etc.), you will NOT be admitted to the practical exam and you will 
forfeit the $150 exam fee. To ensure you are free of body odor, please do not exclude the use of proper 
hygiene products (e.g. deodorant, etc.). 

 
Supplies 

 
The Board will provide all supplies, including a lotion holster. The lotion holster is a standard size; if you are 
concerned that this may not meet your needs, please bring your own. 

 
 
Conduct during the Exam 

 
According to Oregon Administrative Rule 334-010-0010 (7): 
An examinee whose conduct interferes with the testing process or whose behavior violates ethical practices or 
jeopardizes the safety of another may be dismissed and disqualified from examination. Such conduct includes 
but is not limited to the following behaviors: 

(a) Giving or receiving exam data, either directly or indirectly, 
(b) Failure to follow written or oral instructions relative to conducting the exam, including termination times 

and procedures; 
(c) Endangering the life or health of others present 
(d) Introducing unauthorized materials during any portion of the examination; 
(e) Attempting to remove examination materials or notations from the testing site; or 
(f) Violating the credentialing process such as falsifying or misrepresenting educational credentials or other 

information required for admission to the examination, impersonating an examinee, or having an 
impersonator take the licensing examination on one's behalf. 
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The Examination 
 
Content Outline 
The exam is scored in three content areas: 

 
Communication and Assessment – Communication with the client examiner is evaluated throughout the 
exam, including initial assessment and exit interview skills. It is important to note that the client examiner 
may not be able to respond to your questions. 

 
Massage and Bodywork – The candidate will perform a 10-minute demonstration of their chosen modality. 
Sanitation, client safety, client interaction, body mechanics, draping, application of technique, and 
professionalism will be evaluated throughout the exam. (Please see Draping Rules). Remember, this 
demonstration represents only part of a typical session, not a full session. 

 
Kinesiology – The candidate will outline muscles, locating all attachments, and will name and demonstrate 
the actions. With the exception of Pectoralis Major, all outlining of muscles must be done on undraped 
(bare) skin. Outlining of Pectoralis Major may be done just above the drape. (Please see Draping Rules). 

 
Candidates will randomly select five (5) muscles to outline, identifying muscle attachments and naming and 
demonstrating the actions, AND two (2) muscles for demonstration of a stretched or shortened position. The 
muscles will be drawn from the following list: 

 
Abductor pollicis brevis 
Abductor pollicis longus 
Anconeus 
Adductor brevis 
Adductor longus 
Adductor magnus 
Adductor pollicis 
Biceps brachii 
Biceps femoris 
Brachialis 
Brachioradialis 
Coracobrachialis 
Deltoid 
Diaphragm 
Erector spinae 
Extensor carpi radialis brevis 
Extensor carpi radialis longus 
Extensor carpi ulnaris 
Extensor digitorum (communis) 
Extensor digitorum longus 
Extensor hallucis longus 
Extensor pollicis brevis 
Extensor pollicis longus 
External obliques 
Flexor carpi radialis 
Flexor carpi ulnaris 
Flexor digitorum longus 
Flexor digitorum profundus 
Flexor digitorum superficialis 

Flexor hallucis longus 
Flexor pollicis brevis 
Flexor pollicis longus 
Gastrocnemius 
Gemellus inferior 
Gemellus superior 
Gluteus maximus 
Gluteus medius 
Gluteus minimus 
Gracilis 
Iliacus 
Infraspinatus 
Intercostals 
Internal obliques 
Latissimus dorsi 
Levator scapula 
Masseter 
Obturator externus Obturator 
internus Occiputofrontalis 
(epicranius) Opponens 
pollicis 
Palmaris longus 
Pectineus 
Pectoralis major 
Pectoralis minor 
Peroneus (fibularus) brevis 
Peroneus (fibularus) longus 
Piriformis 
Plantaris 

Popliteus 
Pronator quadratus 
Pronator teres 
Psoas Major 
Quadratus femoris 
Quadratus lumborum 
Rectus abdominis 
Rectus femoris 
Rhomboids 
Sartorius Scalenes 
Semimembranosus 
Semitendinosus 
Serratus anterior 
Serratus Posterior Inferior 
Serratus Posterior Superior 
Soleus 
Splenius capitis 
Splenius cervicis 
Sternocleidomastoid 
Suboccipitals 
Subscapularis 
Supinator 
Supraspinatus 
Temporalis 
Tensor fascia latae 
Teres major 
Teres minor 
Tibialis anterior 
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Tibialis posterior 
Transverse abdominus 
Trapezuis 

Triceps brachii 
Vastus intermedius 
Vastus lateralis 

Vastus medialis 

 

 
NOTE: Muscles that attach on the pubic bone will NOT be eligible for outlining. They will still be eligible 
as demonstration of a stretch or shortening. 

 
Suggested Reference Texts 

 
The Oregon practical exam assesses a candidate’s ability to practice massage safely and competently. The 
following references may be helpful as you review: 

 
Trail Guide to the Body – Biel 

 

The Muscular System Manual – Muscolino 
 

Manual of Structural Kinesiology – Thompson 
 

Mosby’s Basic Essential Sciences for Therapeutic Massage – Fritz and Grosenbach 
 

The Massage Connection: Anatomy and  Physiology – Premkumar 
 

Pathology A to Z – Premkumar 
 
 
 

Practical Examination Procedure 
 
The practical exam is 50 minutes long. It is not meant to represent a one-hour massage and bodywork 
session, and many aspects of a session may not be a part of the exam. There are three examiners: a 
client examiner, a reading examiner, and an observing examiner. The exam is audio and video taped for 
integrity only, not for scoring. 

 
When candidates arrive (please, no more than 10 minutes early), they check-in at the front desk and present 
their notification letter and a valid government-issued picture ID. After checking in, candidates will randomly 
select the muscles they will be tested on. The candidate will be given an outline of the exam and informational 
materials to read prior to taking the exam. 

 
Next, the client examiner will greet the candidate, show them to the exam room, familiarize them with the room, 
and instruct the candidate to make necessary preparations. To prevent bias in the exam, candidates are 
known only by a candidate number and examiners are instructed not to converse with candidates.  Candidates 
will be asked if they have read and understood the exam instructions. This is for the exam record. 

 
Once the exam begins, a timer in the exam room will count down the minutes that remain in the exam. During 
the exam, the reading examiner will read instructions to the candidate and may repeat them as often as 
requested. Instructions cannot be explained or rephrased. The order of the exam cannot be changed. Once a 
task has been completed it cannot be revisited. A task may be skipped and returned to at the end of the exam 
if time permits. A task cannot be skipped once it has been started, and partially completed tasks may not be 
returned to. 

 
The candidate will be asked to explain considerations, techniques, and contraindications for a specified 
condition. The condition applies only to this portion of the exam. It is not a factor in any other part of the exam, 
nor does the client examiner actually have the condition. The condition will be assigned from the following list: 



 

Adhesive Capsulitis (Frozen 
shoulder) 
Allergic Reactions (hives, 
anaphylaxis) 
Alzheimer’s Disease/Dementia 
Ankylosing spondylitis 
Anxiety disorders and Depression 
Arteriosclerosis/Atherosclerosis 
Arthritis / septic / rheumatoid 
Artificial joints / plates / screws 
Asthma 
Bell’s Palsy 
Bleeding/Clotting Disorders - 
Thrombocytopenia/Thrombophilia 
Bunions 
Bursitis 
Carpal Tunnel Syndrome 
Cancer General 
Cellulitis 
Cerebral Palsy 
Chronic Fatigue Syndrome 
Common Cold/Flu 
Compartment Syndrome 
Congestive Heart Failure 
Contusions 
COPD (chronic bronchitis, 
emphysema) 
Crohn’s Disease 
Cruciate and Meniscal injuries 
Deep Vein Thrombosis 
Degenerative disc disease 
Dermatitis/Eczema 
Diabetes Mellitus 

Dislocations 
Edema 
Embolism, Thrombus 
Endometriosis 
Fever 
Fibromyalgia 
Fractures 
Fungal infections 
Gout 
Headaches 
Hematoma 
Hepatitis 
Hernia 
HIV/AIDS 
Hypertension/Hypotension 
Hypermobility/Hypomobility 
Inflammation 
Irritable Bowel Syndrome 
Lice and mites Low 
Back Pain Lupus 
(autoimmune) 
Lymphedema 
Multiple Sclerosis 
Myocardial Infarction (heart attack) 
Myofascial Pain Syndrome 
Osteoarthritis 
Osteoporosis Parkinson’s 
Disease Patellofemoral 
Syndrome Peripheral 
Neuropathy Piriformis 
Syndrome Plantar 
Fasciitis 
Pneumonia 

Postural Deviations 
Postoperative Situations 
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder 
Pregnancy/ Ectopic Pregnancy 
Psoriasis 
Raynaud’s Syndrome 
Scar tissue 
Sciatica 
Seizure Disorders 
Shingles – herpes zoster 
Shin Splints 
Skin Cancer 
Skin Conditions (Boils, Acne 
rosacea, acne vulgaris, herpes 
simplex, warts) 
Spasms, cramps 
Spondylosis 
Sprains/Strains 
Stroke 
Temporomandibular Joint Disorder 
Tendinopathies 
Tenosynovitis 
Thoracic Outlet Syndrome 
Thrombophlebitis 
Torticollis / Spasmodic Torticollis 
(dystonia) 
Traumatic Brain Injury 
Trigeminal Neuralgia 
Varicose Veins 
Whiplash 
Wounds and burns 

 
The candidate will be asked to demonstrate either an active or passive range of motion assessment on a 
particular area of the body, chosen by the Board. 

 
The candidate will instruct the client examiner to prepare for the massage and bodywork portion of the exam. If 
the client must undress, the candidate and the two other examiners will leave the room to allow the client 
examiner to disrobe and get onto the massage table. 

 
After returning to the room, the candidate will demonstrate their chosen modality for 10 minutes. They must 
show proficiency in the areas of: sanitation, client safety, client interaction, body mechanics, application of 
technique, and professionalism. 

 
The candidate will be asked to demonstrate a drape that exposed the abdomen without exposing breast 
tissue.   Breast tissue must remain covered regardless of the gender of the client examiner. If the client 
examiner has not yet undressed, the candidate and the two remaining examiners will leave the room to allow 
the client examiner to disrobe and get onto the massage table. 



 

The candidate will be asked to demonstrate muscle knowledge, including muscle attachments and location, 
muscle  actions,  and  safe  movement.  All  muscle  outlining  must  be  done  on  the  client  examiner’s 
undraped skin with the exception of Pectoralis Major, which may be outlined just above the drape. During 
muscle outlining, verbalization (the words the candidate uses) are not scored. During demonstration of actions, 
the candidate will be required to verbalize (name) and show the actions of the muscle. Actions must be 
demonstrated on the client’s body, unless instructed differently. 

 
NOTE: If an examiner observes behavior from the candidate during the exam that is a danger to the client 
examiner they may “pause” the exam. Areas of client endangerment may include, but are not limited to: poor 
hygiene or sanitation; unclear, non-existent, or inappropriate communication; unprofessional language; 
belligerent conduct; improper draping or exposure; inappropriate touch; unassisted or otherwise unsafe turns; 
insufficient warming of tissue; improper range of motion; jerking joints in a manner likely to cause injury; 
inappropriate depth of pressure and/or persistent failure to respond to client’s verbal and nonverbal cues. 
Under some circumstances this may result in termination of the exam. 

 
When the exam is complete, the candidate must check out and retrieve their belongings prior to departing the 
exam site. 

 
 
Results 

 
Notification of practical exam results is sent by mail within 30 days and typically much sooner. Failed exams 
are automatically reviewed a second time. Please do not call the Board office for your results; they cannot 
be given over the phone. 

 
A minimum score of 70% in each section of the Practical Exam is necessary to pass. If a candidate scores 
less than 70% on any part of the exam, they will be required to re-take the entire exam. The $150 exam fee 
must be paid again for all re-takes. 

 
 
Examination Appeals 

 
To appeal a failed exam, a candidate must do so in writing and the Board office must receive the appeal within 
30 days of the date on the candidate’s exam results notification letter. Appeals must identify the specific errors 
of content, procedure, bias, prejudice, or discrimination that the candidate believes are applicable. The Board 
will not consider oral arguments from the candidate unless the Board determines that further information is 
required directly from the candidate. Exam results will not be modified unless the Board is presented with 
clear and convincing evidence of an error in the exam process. 

 
 
Re-examination Information 

 
To re-take the practical exam, candidates must submit the Re-Exam Form supplied with their results letter, 
payment of the $150 examination fee, and proof of current CPR certification (if the CPR certification on file 
from a previous application remains current, there is no need to resubmit proof). Candidates must pass the 
practical exam within 24 months of the first attempt. If a candidate does not pass in three attempts, they must 
re-establish eligibility as determined by the Board. 
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Initial Licensure 
 
When a candidate receives notification that they have passed the practical exam, they will also receive an 
Application for Initial Licensure. This application, along with payment of the initial license fee and a candidate’s 
fingerprint card and fee (if not previously provided to the Board), must be received by the board office within 
one year of the date the exam was passed. A massage license will not be issued until a candidate has: 

 
• provided  verification  that  they  have  passed  a  Board  approved  written  exam  (or  in  the  case  of 

Endorsement, verification of licensure), 
• passed the Jurisprudence (law) exam, 
• submitted proof of current CPR certification, 
• provided a fingerprint card, with fee, and the results have been returned to the board office 
• satisfied any other outstanding issues, if applicable. 

 
 
 
 
National Criminal Background Check Information 

 
As of January 1, 2012, the Board requires that all new candidates provide fingerprints for a national criminal 
background check prior to issuance of a license. Please follow the instructions below. 

 
1.  Choose and contact a fingerprinting facility. Some facilities require appointments. Fingerprinting 

services are available at most law enforcement agencies and can also be found under “Fingerprinting” 
in   the   phone   book   or   online.   Fingerprint   facilities   generally   charge   a   fee   for   service. 

 
2.  When your fingerprints have been placed on a fingerprint card (Federal Form FD 258), fill in the 

following information in the appropriate boxes, using blue or black ink: 
» Name (last, first, middle) 
» Aliases, if any 
» Date of birth 
» Sex (M or F) 
» Race 
» Height (labeled “Hgt.”) 
» Weight (labeled “Wgt.”) 
» Eye color (labeled “Eyes”) 
» Natural hair color (labeled “Hair”) 
» Place of Birth 
» Social Security Number 
» Signature 

 
 

3.  Send  a  non-folded  fingerprint  card  in  a  sealed  envelope  to  the  Oregon  Board  of  Massage 
Therapists for processing, along with payment of the $47.25 criminal background processing fee. 
Please make checks or cashier’s checks out to the OBMT. This fee is non-refundable. 

 
 

You cannot advertise or practice massage until you have received your physical license! 
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Instructions for Completing the Application Form 
 
Section 1         Applicant Information: Fill in all boxes, using “N/A” where you have no response. Previous names must 

include maiden name, previous married name(s), or any alias used. 
 
Section 2         Application: Circle what you are applying for and the modality you will demonstrate in the practical exam, 

if applicable. 
 
Section 3         Special Accommodations: The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists complies with the Americans with 

Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA). To request ADA accommodations, applicants must submit their request to 
the Board in writing and must include a recent professional diagnosis (from, for example, a licensed 
physician, optometrist, social worker, psychologist, etc.) that explains the nature of the disability and the 
reason special testing arrangements are necessary. All documentation from a professional must be 
written on letterhead that includes their title, address, telephone number, and original signature. This 
documentation must be provided before an applicant will be scheduled to take the Oregon practical exam. 

 
Section 4         Voluntary Affirmative Action Information: It is your choice to provide this information. Mark only one box. If 

you identify with more than one ethnic background, you may choose “Other.” 
 
Section 5         Physical Description: Please list your height and weight, and your hair and eye color. Include a front-view 

photograph that is no larger than 2” X 2” and was taken within the last 12 months. You must also provide 
a copy of a valid government-issued picture ID, such as a driver’s license, passport, or military ID. 

 
Section 6 Occupational Licenses: Please list any health licenses you have to practice in another field, in any state. 

 
Section 7         Arrests, Convictions and Sanctions: If you have ever been arrested and/or convicted of any crime, other 

than a minor traffic violation, or if you have been sanctioned by another licensing agency in any state or 
jurisdiction, even if dismissed by diversion or the charges were dropped, you must provide: 
• a written explanation, in your own words, describing the incident(s), including: what occurred, when it 

occurred, how it was resolved, and the steps you have taken to prevent reoccurrences in the future. 
•    all related official documentation, including: 

» copies of arrest/police report(s), 
» a copy of the judgment, 
» a copy of the settlement of the judgment, 
» a copy of any Board/Agency orders, 
» documentation from a treating physician documentation, etc. 

Any false claims may result in denial or revocation of licensure. Prior arrests and/or convictions will not 
automatically result in a denial. The Board has the right to request additional information and/or an 
informal meeting to discuss the matter. 

 
Section 8         Education: List  any colleges, universities, specialty schools, vocational schools, and/or professional 

schools you attended for massage training. 
 
Section 9 References: Provide a list of three references (not residing with you, yet may be relatives). 

 
Section 10       Release of Practical Exam Scores: Checking “Yes” will release your practical exam  date, pass/fail 

information, and score details to your primary massage training school. This helps schools evaluate their 
programs. 

 
Section 11       Certification: Your signature and the date are necessary to complete the application. Please note, you are 

certifying that all information you have provided is true and that you understand the laws and rules that 
govern the massage profession in Oregon. 

 
Section 12 Payment Information: Indicate the method of payment and provide any required information. 
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Completed applications must include the following: 
 
   Signed application form 
   Appropriate fees 
   Transcripts in a sealed envelope from each school 
   Front-view photograph no larger than 2” X 2” 
   Copy of a valid government issued photo ID, such as a passport, military ID or driver’s license 
   Copy of current CPR certification card (front and back) 
   Copy of passing notice for an OBMT approved written exam, if already completed (see candidate handbook) 
   List of educational information 
   List of references 
   License verification form from licensing agency, if applying for Endorsement 
   Completed credentialing review addendum and additional $250 fee, if applying for Credentialing Review 
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Height Weight  
Gender 

 
 Male   Female Hair Color Eye Color 

 

Oregon Board of Massage Therapists Licensure Application 
 
1. Applicant Information – please print or type 

 
Last Name First Middle Initial Date of Birth 

 
 

Address City State Zip Code 
 
 

Home Phone Cell Phone Social Security Number 
 
 

Mailing Address (if different) City State Zip Code 
 
 

List all previous names used (including maiden name and previous married names) E-mail (required) Driver’s License Number / State 
 
 
 

NOTICE: As part of your application for an initial or renewed occupational or professional license, certification, or registration issued by the Oregon Board of 
Massage Therapists, you are required to provide your Social Security Number. This is mandatory. The authority for this requirement is ORS 25.785, ORS 
305.385, 42 USC § 405 (c)(2)(C)(i), and 42 USC § 666 (a)(13). Failure to provide your Social Security Number is a basis for refusal to issue or renew the 
license, certification, or registration you seek. This record of your Social Security Number will be used for child support and tax administration purposes 
(including identification) only, unless you authorize other uses of the number. Although a number other than your Social Security Number appears on the face of 
the licenses issued by the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists, your Social Security Number will remain on file with the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists. 

 
2. Application 
What are you applying for? (circle one):   Practical Exam              Endorsement                Credentialing Review 

 
Circle the modality you will demonstrate during your practical exam. If no modality is selected, Swedish will be assigned. 

 
Acupressure 
Body Talk 
Bowen 
Cranialsacral Therapy 
Deep Tissue 

Lomilomi 
Myofascial Release® 
Neuromuscular Therapy 
Polarity 
Postural Integration® 

Reflexology 
Rolfing® 
Rosen Method® 
Russian Massage 
Shiatsu 

Structural Integration 
Swedish 
Trager® Approach 
Trigger Point 

 
Other:   _ (You must contact the OBMT office, in advance, for permission.) 

 
 
3. Special Accommodations 
Are you requesting special accommodations under the ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act)?    Yes*   No 

 
*NOTE, if you mark Yes: you will need to include current verification of your disability from a healthcare professional. 
See the Instructions for Completing the Application for information about how to qualify for special accommodations. 

 
4. Voluntary Affirmative Action Information: Ethnic Background 
Check only one:  Asian/Pacific Islander  African American  Caucasian 

 Hispanic  Native American/Alaskan Native  Other 
 
 

5. Physical 
Description 

 
 
 
6. Do you hold a license to practice in another field?   Yes   No 

 
Occupation(s)    

Occupation(s)    

 
 
Attach a FRONT-VIEW 
photograph, no larger 
than 2” x 2” in this box. 
 
 
Photo must have been 
taken within the last 12 
months (1 year). 
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7. Arrests, Convictions and Sanctions 
 

STOP! Read the instructions completely before answering the following questions. 
 

Making  a   FALSE  STATEMENT  in   this  application  may  result  in   deferral  or   denial  of   your  license. 
It is always better to disclose and explain events that the Board may find relevant, than to conceal information. 

 
Please NOTE: If you answer “No” to Question 4 because you believe an expungement order, or a setting aside or sealing 
of your conviction, has cleared your record, you must personally verify with the court that the expungement, setting aside, 
or sealing has actually taken place. The incorrect belief that a conviction has been expunged, set aside, or sealed, when 
in fact it has not, is treated by the Board as if you have made a false statement.* 

 
Read each question completely. You must answer each question with “Yes” or “No”, whichever is true. 

 
1. Have you EVER been required to register as a sex offender in this or any other state?  

2. Have you EVER been investigated, disciplined, or denied licensure by any governmental licensing agency?  
3. Have you EVER surrendered any professional license in any state, territory, or jurisdiction?  

 

 
4. 

Have you EVER been arrested or convicted for: (a) a felony; (b) a misdemeanor; or (c) any major traffic violation, such 
as driving under the influence of intoxicants? 

 

*STOP: Major traffic violations, such as tickets received for driving under the influence of drugs or intoxicants (DUI, 
DUII, DWI), MUST BE REPORTED – even if you went through a diversion program. 

 

5. Have you EVER abused, or received treatment for abusing, alcohol or controlled/mind-altering substances?  
 

6. Have you EVER received inpatient mental healthcare for a psychological condition, addiction, or chemical dependency 
that may affect your ability to safely practice? 

 

 

If you answer “Yes” to any of these questions, YOU MUST attach a detailed written explanation of the circumstances 
that led to, and the outcome of, all relevant events. YOU MUST ALSO provide copies of related official documentation, 
including but not limited to: police reports, court records, final actions and/or orders, records of a treating physician, etc. 

 

By my signature below, I hereby certify that information submitted on or relating to this form is true and correct, and grant 
the Board permission to examine civil or criminal records to verify any statement made on this application. I understand 
that providing incomplete or inaccurate information WILL result in a deferral or denial of my license. 

 
 

8. Educational Information 
On a separate sheet of paper, list all the schools you attended for massage training. Print and sign your name. 

 

 
9. References 
On a separate sheet of paper, list three references (not living with you, yet can be relatives). Print and sign your name. 

 
10. Release of Practical Exam Scores 
I authorize the Board to release my practical exam date, pass/fail status, and score details to my primary massage 
training school, for the purpose of program evaluation.  Yes   No 

 
11. Certification 
By my signature below, I certify that: I have read and will comply with the current** Oregon Revised Statutes 
(ORS) and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) that govern massage; and that all information provided is true, 
accurate, and complete to the best of my knowledge. I understand that falsification of any information or materials 
may result in denial, suspension, and/or revocation of licensure. 

 
 

Signature of the Applicant Date 
 
 

*To receive a current copy of the Rules and Statutes, please visit our website – www.oregon.gov/OBMT – or contact the office at 503-365-8657. 

http://www.oregon.gov/OBMT
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CHECK 
(Make checks payable to OBMT) 

CREDIT/DEBIT  Visa   MasterCard 

Card Number: 

V-Code: 

  
Expiration: 

   
(Visa only; see reverse side of card) 

   
Authorized Amount for debit:  

  
 

Billing Address Street Number: 
 

Zip Code: 
 

12. Payment Information 
 

Fees 
• Non-refundable Application fee: $50 
• Practical Exam fee: $150 
• Credentialing Review fee (if applicable): $250 

 
 
 

FOR CREDIT/DEBIT CARD PAYMENT: 
By my signature below, I authorize the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists to debit my credit card or debit 
card the indicated authorized amount. 

 
 
 

Signature Date 
 
 
 

Note: Once payment has been processed, this section is removed and shredded 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Check Number: 
 

Amount: 
 
 
 
 

(For example, for 748 Hawthorne Ave, you would enter “748” above) 
 
 
 

Complete and Return to: 
OBMT 748 Hawthorne Ave NE, Salem, OR 97301 

 
 
 

Please note: Sending your application by certified mail may delay processing 
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Oregon Board of Massage Therapists 
748 Hawthorne Ave NE 

Salem, OR 97301 
Phone: (503) 365-8657 

Fax: (503) 385-4465 
www.oregon.gov/OBMT 

 

 

 
 

CANCELLATION LIST 
Revised 2/2/2009 

 
 
 
 
Per OAR 334-010-0010 2) The applicant shall be notified by mail, postmarked at least two weeks before the 
scheduled exam, unless otherwise waived by the applicant, of the time and place. 

 
 
 
If you agree to waive your 14-day notice and be placed on a cancellation list, please complete this form and 
submit it with your application for examination. 

 
 
 
You will automatically be scheduled for the next available exam date and written notification of that date will be 
mailed.  If a date prior to your scheduled exam date should become available you will receive a telephone call 
asking about your availability and confirming your acceptance or denial of the new date and time.  Please do 
not call our office to check on availability. 

 
 
 
I,                                                              , waive my right to 14-day notice and wish to be placed on the 

(Print Name) Practical Exam Cancellation List. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Applicant’s Signature Date 
 
 
 
 
Please note: 

 
Signing this waiver does not guarantee an earlier exam date. 

http://www.oregon.gov/OBMT
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Communicable Disease Guidelines* 
Adopted June 12, 1998 

 
 

There are  a  number of  infectious agents causing disease, which can  be  transmitted in  person-to-person contact. 
Massage therapists work in close physical contact with their clients and thus are potentially at risk for both contacting and 
transmitting disease-causing organisms. Transmission routes are numerous and an organism can be conveyed from one 
person to another by more than one route.  The examples listed below describe common disease entities and modes of 
transmission. The examples do not represent an all-inclusive list. 

 
 

ROUTE OF TRANSMISSION DISEASE 
Skin to skin contact Staphylococcal  infection;  Streptococcal  infection; 

Lice; Scabies; Herpes 

Skin contact with object contaminated with 
infectious agents (i.e. clothing, handles on faucets, 
doorknobs, etc.) 

Lice (clothing); Measles; Upper respiratory; Viruses 
(i.e. cold); Conjunctivitis 

Skin  contact  with  infected  secretions  (i.e.  runny 
noses, rubbing eyes  or  skin  when  an  infectious 
agent is present) 

Upper respiratory; Viruses (i.e. cold); Conjunctivitis; 
Streptococcal infection 

Fecal contamination of food/fluids followed by oral 
ingestion (i.e. failure to wash hands after using the 
toilet followed by food handling) 

Hepatitis A; Candida (yeast) 

Inhalation of airborne organisms Many  bacteria  and  viruses  (i.e.  cold,  whooping 
cough) 

Impaired skin integrity or mucosal skin exposure to 
infected body fluids (i.e. contact with infected body 
fluids allow organisms to enter the body through a 
break in the skin such as a cut or through mucous 
membranes such as found in the mouth and 
genitalia) 

Hepatitis B (saliva, semen, blood, vaginal fluids); 
Human  immunodeficiency  virus  (H.I.V.)  (blood, 
semen, vaginal fluids); Herpes 

 
 

In the vast majority of instances transmission is preventable with the use of basic hygienic practices available to anyone. 
The following guidelines were developed to address such concerns: 

 
General Recommendations 
A.   Give  rigorous  attention  to  hand-washing  practices.    Washing  is  the  primary  protection  against  acquiring  and 

transmitting infectious organisms.  Wash fingertips to elbows prior to and after every massage activity.  Use warm 
water with single use soap and paper towels or a personal cloth towel that no one else uses. 
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B.   Provide single use soap and paper towels for client use in the restrooms. 
 

C.  Encourage client hand-washing after use of the toilet via signs in the restrooms. 

D.  Practice hand-washing after personal use of the toilet 

E.   Practice, and encourage client practice, of turning off water taps with a paper towel after washing and drying hands. 
 

F.   Follow guidelines detailed in administrative rules regarding proper care and cleaning of equipment and linen. 
 

G.  Seek health care attention for diagnosis and treatment of symptoms that indicate an infectious process in the LMT. 
 

H.  Encourage client to seek health care attention for diagnosis treatment of symptoms that indicate an infectious 
process. 

 
I. Conduct verbal and/or written assessments of client’s health and presence of symptoms of possible infectious 

conditions that are transmissible through ordinary massage activities, especially respiratory or skin conditions (i.e. 
coughing, sneezing, severe itching of scalp or other area, rashes, wounds, skin lesions).  Ask the client if he/she has 
a known communicable disease. 

 
J. If in doubt about potential for transmission, refrain from massage and request client to obtain evaluation of health from 

a licensed health-care provider.  Do not risk infecting yourself or transmitting infection to another client.  Use good 
judgment based on principles of healthful living, sanitation, and disease control. 

 
 

Specific Recommendations 
 

A.   If an LMT is displaying symptoms of an upper respiratory infection (fever, coughing, sneezing, green or yellow nasal 
discharge), refrain from massage until the symptoms are controlled.  Wash your hands frequently, especially after 
blowing           your           nose           or           covering           you           mouth           with           your           hand. 

 
B.   If an LMT has an infectious skin rash, lesions, or an open wound of any kind on the hands or arms, do not massage 

until skin integrity is restored. 
 

C.  If an LMT has an infectious body rash, do not massage until the infection is absent. 
 

D.  If an LMT has an infectious lesion or wound present on body areas other than hands and forearms, adequately 
bandage the area so no infective secretions come into contact with clothes or hands.   Be thorough about hand 
washing after bandaging and before massaging. 

 
E.  Individual LMTs who are carriers of Hepatitis B, H.I.V., or any other infectious organisms transmitted by body fluids 

must refrain from giving massages if there are any areas of the hands or forearms which, for any reason, are subject 
to bleeding or have open and/or draining areas in the skin.  The practice of massage may be resumed once skin 
integrity is restored to the hands and arms. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

* The OBMT has adopted various policies/guidelines to provide additional clarification and information for both licensees and the 
general public.  This policy is supplemental to the Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules and as such does not 
supersede or replace information contained in the Statutes or Rules that govern massage.  Should you have any questions regarding 
this policy please contact the Board office. 
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Oregon 
 

 
 
 
 
 

Topical Preparations Policy* 
Adopted March 9, 2006 

 
Board of Massage Therapists 

748 Hawthorne Ave NE 
Salem, OR 97301 

Phone: (503) 365-8657 
Fax: (503) 385-4465 

www.oregon.gov/OBMT 

 
 
 
Topical preparations may be used for the purposes of massage as defined in ORS 687.011 (5). Topical 

preparations are used for but not limited to: 
 

• lubricating and minimizing friction, 
 
 

• warming or cooling an area, 
 
 

• minimizing pain, 
 
 

• addressing inflammation, 
 
 

• promoting the healthy function of organs and systems of the body. 
 

 
 
 
 
The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists expects that any LMT using a topical preparation understand the 

safe application, indications, and contraindications as they apply to each client. Informed consent protocol 

must be followed. 
 
LMTs are reminded that they need appropriate knowledge and education that may be beyond their initial 

training when utilizing topical preparations. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

* The OBMT has adopted various policies/guidelines to provide additional clarification and information for both licensees and the 
general public.  This policy is supplemental to the Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules and as such does not 
supersede or replace information contained in the Statutes or Rules that govern massage.  Should you have any questions regarding 
this policy please contact the Board office. 

http://www.oregon.gov/OBMT

