
The board has proposed the following changes to mod-
ify Oregon Administrative Rules on July 1, 2015: 

 Establishes the budget for the 2015-17 biennium  

 Increases board member stipends  

 Modifies definitions and defines Good Moral Char-
acter and Professional Fitness  

 Allows for electronic fingerprints to be used in addi-
tion to fingerprint cards  

 Exempts Biodynamic Craniosacral Therapy and 
Milne Institue Craniosacral Therapy from licensure 

 Reduces late fees to a maximum of $100 (from 
$250).  

 Removes the requirement to have a handwashing 
sign posted 

 Adds photographing or filming the body without a 
client’s consent to the discipline section. 

 

Read the entire proposed rules changes at http://
www.oregon.gov/OBMT/Pages/lawsrulespolicies.aspx 
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We value your feedback! Please take a 
moment to participate in our survey. 

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/
OBMTsurveyquestions 
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Feedback—OBMT Survey 

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/OBMTsurveyquestions
https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/OBMTsurveyquestions


The renewal cycle for your license is based on the month and year you were born.  If you were born in 

an odd year (1989), then your next renewal is due in an odd year (2015).  If you were born in an even 

year (1988), then your next renewal is due in an even year (2014).  To renew your license with no late 

fees it must be received by the 1st day of your birth month of even/odd year.     

Legislative Concept 706 

CEU Changes with a Proposed Effective  Date of  January 1, 2016  

 

  The board is proposing a bill that would 
increase the number of class hours to 
qualify for a massage license.  The cur-

rent statute requires an applicant to have 
500 contact hours of certified classes 
and most massage schools in Oregon 
exceed that requirement.  

In addition, this bill would include 
“Bodywork” in the title of the board, 
“Oregon Board of Massage and Body-
work”.  The addition of “Bodywork” to the 
board’s title would more appropriately 
reflect the practitioners that the board 
licenses as there are several practition-
ers who do not consider their technique 
to be massage.  
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When Should I Renew my License? 

After listening to a great deal of feedback 
from LMTs, school administrators, and oth-
ers, the Board is proposing to modify  Contin-
uing Education (CE) requirements. These pro-
posed rules would go in effect, if passed, on 
January 1, 2016. This gives schools and CE 
providers a chance to meet the specific re-
quirements. I encourage you to read the pro-
posed Rules changes at http://
www.oregon.gov/OBMT/Pages/
lawsrulespolicies.aspx  

 Here’s a quick summary: 

 The 25 CE hours each license renewal 
(except the first one) will require a mini-
mum of 15 contact hours. 

 Of the 15 contact hours, at least 4 hours 
must be in the area of Professional Eth-
ics, Boundaries and/or Communication. 

 Methods to obtain CE contact 
hours include classes from a 
massage school, university, mas-
sage professional organization, 
or OBMT registered CE provider 
as long as subject is listed in the 
Topics of OAR334-010-0050 (1). 

 Interactive distance learning 
cases may satisfy CE contact 
hours only in specific subject 
areas – Business, A & P, Kinesiol-
ogy, Pathology, Professional 
Ethics, Boundaries and/or Com-
munication, and Cultural Com-
petency. 

 CE Contact hours are also given 
to those who serve as a Peer 

Supervisor or Practical Examiner as 
well as to LMTs who attend Board 
meetings or serve on Board com-
mittees/task forces. 

The method to become an OBMT regis-
tered CE provider will be fairly 
straightforward – this will allow those 
providers who are not associated with a 
school or professional organization to 
share their knowledge in classes. This 
registration does not mean OBMT has 
approved the content or reviewed the 
instructor’s qualifications. It will still be 
your job as consumers to be sure the 
class you plan to attend will be delivered 
professionally. If you have questions 
about the proposed CE Rules Revision, 
don’t hesitate to contact the Board staff.  

– Lisa Barck Garofalo, Education Com-
mittee Chair.  

http://www.oregon.gov/OBMT/Pages/lawsrulespolicies.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/OBMT/Pages/lawsrulespolicies.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/OBMT/Pages/lawsrulespolicies.aspx


It was an honor and a privilege to be 
the OBMT delegate to the 2014 Feder-
ation of State Massage Boards (FSMTB) 
annual meeting in Tucson, Arizona.  
This was my fifth annual meeting in the 
seven years I have been serving on the 
Oregon Board of Massage Therapists as 
a Public Member.  

 

The FSMTB was formed in 2005 with 
the mission “to support it Member 
Boards in their work to ensure that the 
practice of massage therapy is provid-
ed t the public in a safe and effective 
manner.”  As a non-profit, the revenue 
collected by the organization helps pro-
vide support to its Members in fulfilling 
their responsibility of protecting the 
public from unsafe practice, enhance 
FSMTB programs and improve the 
quality of its examination and services.  
The Federation developed and admin-
isters the MBLEx pre-licensure exam. 

 

The two-day annual meeting was very 
informative but, in my opinion, the 
highlight of the two days happened 
within the first hour of the annual 
meeting when the Executive Director 
of the Federation, Debra Persinger and 
the National Certification Board (NCB) 
CFO made this announcement. 

 

“The Federation of State Massage 
Therapy Boards (FSMTB) and the Na-
tional Certification Board for Therapeu-
tic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) 
have worked cooperatively to reach an 
agreement that the NCBTMB will no 
longer provide examinations for licen-
sure purposes and will now focus ex-
clusively on delivering quality certifica-

tion programs. This supports the com-
mon goal of the FSMTB, Associated 
Bodywork and Massage Professionals 
(ABMP), American Massage Therapy 
Association (AMTA) and the Alliance 
for Massage Therapy Education 
(AFMTE), for the Massage & Bodywork 
Licensing Examination (MBLEx) to be 
utilized as the sole licensure exam for 
the profession, thus facilitating licen-
sure portability for therapists.” (NCB 
website)  

 

I attended my first FSMTB annual 
meeting in 2007, at that time, it 
seemed to me that the regulation of 
the massage profession was so differ-
ent in all of the states that portability 
would never happen. Just a short sev-
en years later, I left this annual 
meeting believing that the states  are 
more similar than different and porta-
bility MAY be possible. 

— Kathy Calise, Vice Chair. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FSMTB ANNUAL MEETING 
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Case:  1529 – Lihong Guan ($1000 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1544 – Johnny Ruezell Russell JR ($1000 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1561 – Lihong Guan (Denial of Application for Licensure) 

Case:  1568 – Jason M. Myers (Voluntary Surrender of Licensure) 

Case:  1574 – Randy Anderson ($3000 Civil Penalty) (Is currently licensed) 

Case:  1594 – Roman Pervushin ($750 Civil Penalty) (is currently licensed) 

Case:  1597 – Amanda N. Allan ($250 Civil Penalty) (is currently licensed) 

Case:  1599 – Reimi Zaccone ($1000 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1608 – Angelin Maria Camacho ($1000 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1609 – Scott E. Williams ($2000 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1610 – Sodey Bright A. Philips ($1000 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1611 – Andy Baker (Consent Order) 

Case:  1618 – Bryce D. Cioffi (Voluntary Surrender of Licensure) 

Case:  1620 – Guan Pin Zhou ($500 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1621 – Xuan Hong Hu ($500 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1625 – Thomas Westran (Probation/Monitoring) 

Case:  1626 – Aaron J. Sanne (Consent Order) 

Case:  1630 – Wen Jiang ($1000 Civil Penalty) 
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Oregon Board of Massage Therapists, Disciplinary 

Action Report 2014 

***ORS Chapter 368 provides for transparency within State Government.   The following disciplinary 
report is included in the BOARDerline as to allow transparency of all disciplinary actions taken by the 
Oregon Board of Massage Therapists during January 2014 through August 2014.*** 



Case:  1631 – Yun Wu Anderson ($3000 Civil Penalty) (is currently licensed) 

Case:  1634 – Niimei E. Mehr ($2000 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1636 – Christina M. Vance ($2000 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1638 – David C. Common (Suspended) 

Case:  1639 – Rui Yun Fu ($1500 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1640 – Yaohun Duan ($1000 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1645 – Xtnwen Tang ($1000 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1646 – Lijing Huang ($1000 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1653 – Stephanie A. Dagostino ($1000 Civil Penalty) (is currently licensed) 

Case:  1657 – Guohui Yang ($500 Civil Penalty) 

Case:  1673 – Mary E. Lanning (Probation/Monitoring) 

Oregon Board of Massage Therapists, Disciplinary 

Action Report 2014 Continue  
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