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334-010-0015  
Licensure  
(1) An applicant for an initial license or renewal of a license must complete, in its entirety, an original 

application furnished by the Board.  
(2) An applicant for an initial license and all lapsed and inactive licensees applying for reactivation must    
submit a completed fingerprint cards electronic fingerprints for a criminal background check.  
(3) All applications for licensure must be accompanied by proof of current certification in cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation (CPR). 
(4) An applicant must provide written explanation and copies of all related documentation as requested by 

the board if:  
(a) Applicant has ever been investigated, disciplined or denied licensure by this agency or any other 

governmental agency in any state or jurisdiction of the United States or foreign country;  
(b) Applicant has surrendered a massage license or other professional license in any state or 

jurisdiction of the United States or foreign country;  
(c) Applicant has been arrested, charged or convicted of any type of violation of the law, including both 

misdemeanors or felonies, other than minor traffic infractions in any state or jurisdiction of the 
United States or foreign country;  

(d) Applicant has abused or been treated for the abuse of alcohol, controlled or mind altering 
substances; or  

(e) Applicant has suffered from and/or received treatment for a mental, physical or emotional condition, 
which could impede applicant’s ability to safely practice massage.  

(5) Applicants for initial licensure must apply within one year of the successful completion of the practical 
examination.  
(a) If an applicant does not apply within one year, the applicant must retake the practical examination.  
(b) At the time of re-examination, the applicant must meet all current licensing requirements and submit 

original documents as required by the Board.  
(6) Licenses issued expire on the last day of the licensees’ birth month of even numbered years for 

licensees with even numbered birth years and odd numbered years for licensees with odd numbered 
birth years. Thereafter, licenses may be renewed every other year upon completion of the application 
requirements. The application must be returned to the Board postmarked no later than the 1st day of 
the month of expiration. A delinquent fee must be paid if the completed application and all 
requirements are not received by the due date.  

(7) Applicants for the renewal of an active license must sign a statement verifying completion of a minimum 
of 25 hours of continuing education. The Board may require proof of the continuing education hours.  

(8) Applications for renewal of an active license must be accompanied by:  
(a) Current licensing fee;  
(b) Any applicable late fees;  
(c) Proof of current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR);  
(d) Proof of 25 hours of continuing education as required in OAR 334-010-0050(1)(b); and  
(e) Any additional documentation required by the Board.  

(9) All applicants for initial, renewal, or reinstated license must sign a statement verifying that they have 
read, understand, and must comply with all current Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS 687), Oregon 
Administrative Rules (OAR 334), and policy statements of the Board.  

(10) Licenses issued by the Board must not be transferable.  
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(11) A person licensed by the Board may move to an inactive status by completing the form provided by the 

Board. Upon payment of the appropriate fee, the applicant will be issued an inactive license. During the 
period of inactive status, the licensee may not practice massage for compensation in the State of 
Oregon. 

(12) An application to reactivate an inactive license:  
(a) must be accompanied by:  

(A) Current licensing fee;  
(B) Verification of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR);  
 (C) Verification of 25 hours of continuing education for each biennium or fraction of the biennium 
the license was inactive, up to 50 hours. Of the 25 hours, at least 15 must be contact hours of 
continuing education training or Board approved activities. At least 4 contact hours must be in 
Professional Ethics, Boundaries and/or Communication. The remaining 10 of 25 hours may be 
contact or noncontact hours. 
(D) Verification of 50 hours of continuing education for the reactivation of inactive 
license more than 1 biennium must be submitted to the Board. Of the 50 hours, at least 30 
must be contact hours of continuing education training or Board approved activities. At least 8 
contact hours must be in Professional Ethics, Boundaries and/or Communication. The remaining 
20 of 50 hours may be contact or noncontact hours; and  

(DE) Completed fingerprint card electronic fingerprints for criminal background check.  
 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121 & 687.051  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0006; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92; 
BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BMT 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-03; BMT 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-04; BMT 1-2006, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-06; BMT 2-2006(Temp), f. 
& cert. ef. 2-16-06 thru 8-7-06; Administrative correction 8-22-06; BMT 1-2009, f. 2-13-09, cert. ef. 3-1-09; BMT 4-2011, f. 12-1-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12 


