
The following document contains proposed changes to the                         
Oregon Administrative Rules governing massage.  

Changes are indicated with bold for additions and strike through for deletions. 

A public hearing was held on June 19, 2008 and a second public hearing will be 
held on September 19, 2008 at 9:00 am.  Oral testimony may be given at the 

September hearing.  In addition, written testimony/comments may be submitted 
in lieu of oral testimony and should be directed to Oregon Board of Massage 

Therapists, attn: Patty Glenn, OBMT Executive Director via email at 
patty.glenn@state.or.us, fax at 503-385-4465 or mail at 748 Hawthorne Avenue 

NE, Salem OR, 97301.  

All written comments must be received by the close of the rules hearing on 
September 19, 2008 

The expected effective date is January 1, 2009. 

_______________________________________________________________ 

BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 1 

PROCEDURAL RULES 

  

334-001-0000  

Notice to Interested Persons 

(1) Prior to adoption, amendment or repeal of any rule relating to the practice of massage or bodywork, 
the Board shall give notice of the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal: pursuant to ORS 183.335 
of the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal: 

(a) In the manner established by rule adopted by the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists (Board) under 
ORS 183.341(4), which provides a reasonable opportunity for interested persons to be notified of the 
Board's proposed action; 

(b) In the bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360 at least 21 days prior to the effective date; and 

(c) At least 28 days before the effective date, to persons who have requested notice pursuant to su 
bsection (7) of this section and to the persons specified in subsection (14) of this section. 
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(1)(2) By mailing or delivering a copy of the notice to persons on the Board’s mailing list, established 
pursuant to ORS 183.335(7). 

(2)(3) By mailing or furnishing a copy of the notice to representatives of the: 

(a) Associated Press and United Press International; 

(b) Oregon Massage Technicians Therapists Association; 

(c) American Massage Therapy Association - Oregon Chapter; and 

(d) Certified Massage Schools in Oregon. 

(3) (4) By mailing or furnishing a copy of the notice to other persons, organizations, and publications 
that may have an interest in the subject matter of the proposal. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121 
Hist.: MTB 1-1978, f. & ef. 7-28-78; MTB 2-1982, f. & ef. 7-21-82; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92; 
BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BMT 1-2000, f. & cert. ef. 1-12-00 

334-001-0005  

Model Rules of Procedure 

The most current Model Rules of Procedure as promulgated by the Attorney General of the State of 
Oregon under the Administrative Procedures Act are by this reference adopted as the rules and 
procedures of the Board of Massage Technicians Therapists and shall be controlling except as 
otherwise required by statutes or rules. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121 
Hist.: MTB 1-1978, f. & ef. 7-28-78; MTB 1-1980, f. & ef. 2-26-80; MTB 1-1982, f. & ef. 2-4-82; MTB 
1-1985, f. & ef. 1-8-85; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98 

334-001-0012  

Budget  

The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists hereby adopts, and fully incorporates herein, the Oregon 
Board of Massage Therapists' 2007-2009 Biennium budget of $1,287,346.  

Stat. Auth.: SB 1127, ORS 183 & 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: Section 6, (1) & (2)  
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Hist.: BMT 2-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-17-99 thru 3-15-00; BMT 1-2000, f. & cert. ef. 1-12-00; 
BMT 2-2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-00; BMT 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 5-29-01; BMT 2-2003, f. & cert. ef. 6-17-
03; BMT 2-2005(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-24-05 thru 6-30-05; BMT 3-2005, f. 6-24-05, cert. ef. 7-1-05; 
BMT 1-2007, f. & cert. ef. 6-29-07; BMT 2-2007, f. & cert. ef. 7-3-07  

 
Contractual Agreements for Services 

334-001-0020 

Contracting 

(1) The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists adopts by reference the State of Oregon's contracting 
procedures. These rules are contained in the Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 125, Divisions 20, 
300, 310, 320, 330 & 360. 

(2) The Board intends to develop its own contracting rules, but until those are developed and adopted 
these rules are controlling. 

Stat. Auth.: SB 1127 
Stats. Implemented: Section 5(4) 
Hist.: MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BMT 3-1999(Temp), f. & 
cert. ef. 9-17-99 thru 3-15-00; BMT 1-2000, f. & cert. ef. 1-12-00 

 

334-001-0035 

Purchasing 

(1) The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists adopts by reference the State of Oregon's purchasing rules. 
These rules are contained in the Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 125, Division 30. The Board's 
one An exception to these rules will be with air travel. When travel by airplane is necessary for the 
business of the Board, the traveler will purchase tickets from the least expensive source that meets the 
traveler’s basic scheduling needs. In determining the least expensive source, the State of Oregon travel 
agent will be one of the sources checked. 

(2) The Board intends to develop its own purchasing rules, but until those are developed and adopted 
these rules are controlling. 

Stat. Auth.: SB 1127 
Stats. Implemented: Section 5(4) 
Hist.: BMT 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-17-99 thru 3-15-00; BMT 1-2000, f. & cert. ef. 1-12-00 
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334-001-0045  

Personnel Policies  

The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists hereby adopts its own personnel policies and, as such, are 
controlling. This policy is contained as an interagency working document. The Board intends to develop 
its own personnel policies, but until those are developed and adopted these rules are controlling.  

Stat. Auth.: SB 1127 
Stats. Implemented: Section 5(4) 
Hist.: BMT 3-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-17-99 thru 3-15-00; BMT 1-2000, f. & cert. ef. 1-12-00; 
BMT 3-2005, f. 6-24-05, cert. ef. 7-1-05  

334-001-0060 

Definitions 

(1) "Accountability" means the ability to acknowledge and evaluate one's choices and behaviors, and 
when necessary, to make changes in or amend professional relationships and practices. 

(2) "Actual conflict of interest" means any action or any decision or any recommendation by an L.M.T. 
within the context of professional activities which has the effect of benefiting the L.M.T. at the expense 
of the best interests of a client. 

(1) (3) "Agency" means the ability to exert personal power or produce an effect. 

(4) "Autonomy" means personal freedom or self-determination. 

(2) (5) "Barter" means partial or complete trade or exchange of massage or bodywork services for some 
other any type of goods or services other than money. 

(3) (6) "Board" means the State Board of Massage Therapists or its authorized representatives as 
provided by ORS 687.115. 

(4) “Bodywork” means the use on the human body, for the purpose of, but not limited to, 
maintaining good health and establishing and maintaining good physical condition, of: 

(a)  Pressure, friction, stroking, tapping, kneading, vibration or stretching by manual or 
mechanical means or gymnastics; 

(b) Appliances, tools or devices; 

(c) Topical preparations; or 

(d) Hot and cold applications. 
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(5) (7) "Boundary" means the limits in a professional relationship which allow for a safe connection 
based on the needs of the client. 

(6) (8) "Boundary violation" means an alteration or shift in the limits of a professional relationship so 
that what is allowed in the relationship becomes ambiguous and/or may not be based on the needs of the 
client. 

(7) (9) "Caring" means acting in a manner in which things, events, people or relationships matter. 

(8) (10) "Certified Class or program" means a class or program that is approved by the Board and is 
offered: 

(a) By a person or institution licensed as a career school under ORS 345.010 to 345.450; or 

(b) By a community college or university approved by the Department of Education; or  

(c) In another state and licensed or approved by the appropriate agency in that state. 

(9) (11) "Client" means any individual, group of individuals, or organization to whom an LMT provides 
massage for compensation and for purposes other than sexual contact, as defined in ORS 167.002(5). 
Client does not include the licensed massage therapist's family members or significant other. 

(10) (12) "Client vulnerability" means factors which diminish a client's ability to be self-determining. 

(13) "Compassion" means being genuinely empathic and sensitive toward others. 

(11) (14) "Compensation" means something given or received as payment including but not limited to 
bartering, tips, monies or donations. 

(12) “Conflict of interest” means any action or decision or recommendation by an LMT at the 
detriment of a client. 

(15) "Confidential information" means any public record that is exempt from disclosure under ORS 
192.410 to 192.505, and other state and federal laws. 

(13) “Contact hours” means actual hours in class under the instruction in the presence of an 
instructor. 

(14) (16) "Critical Reflection" means a process whereby knowledge and action are connected to each 
other through the application of careful, conscious, deliberate reflection on: 

(a) Personal practice (perceptions, assumptions, motivations, values, behaviors). 

(b) Assessment and understanding of a situation. 

(c) Likely or actual consequences or impact of one's actions. 
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(15) (17) "Dual Relationship" means any relationship of a personal or business nature with a client that 
is in addition to or concurrent with a professional relationship in which the LMT is providing or has 
provided massage or bodywork services to that same client. 

(16) (18) "Ethics" means a system of valued societal beliefs and behaviors that may be used to guide and 
evaluate conduct to ensure the protection of an individual's person and rights. 

(19) "Fraud or misrepresentation" means knowingly giving misinformation or a false impression through 
the intentional misstatement of, concealment of, or failure to make known a material fact or by other 
means. 

(17) (20) "Indorsement" means:  

(a) the process of evaluating and recognizing the credentials of a person licensed in Oregon in another 
health care specialty [that includes in] which may, as part of its scope of practice, engage in acts 
defined as massage; or 

(b) the process of evaluating and recognizing the credentials of a massage or bodywork practitioner 
authorized to practice massage or bodywork in another state, country, foreign territory, or District of 
Columbia jurisdiction. 

(18) (21) "Informed consent" means a process wherein clients have knowledge of what will occur, that 
participation is voluntary, and that the client is competent to give consent. 

(19) (22) "Licensee" means any person holding a license, permit, or certificate issued by this Board;  

(20) (23) "LMT" means a Licensed Massage Therapist. 

(24) "Manual" means the use of hands or the feet, or both, in the performance of massage. 

(25) "Massage" or "massage therapy" means the use on the body of pressure, friction, stroking, tapping 
or kneading, vibration or stretching by manual or mechanical means or gymnastics, with or without 
appliances such as vibrators, infrared heat, sun lamps and external baths, and with or without lubricants 
such as salts, powders, liquids or creams for the purpose of, but not limited to, maintaining good health 
and establishing and maintaining good physical condition. 

(26) "Massage or bodywork practice" means the activities related to the L.M.T.'s provision of massage 
or bodywork services in his or her capacity as a practitioner, teacher, supervisor, consultant, mentor or 
educator. 

(27) "Massage Therapist" means a person licensed under ORS 687 to practice massage. 

(28) "Morals" means standards of right and wrong usually acquired through social learning and normally 
based on cultural and religious beliefs. 
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(29) "Official transcript" means a transcript copy certified by an official seal of the program or 
institution or by a designated authority of the program or institution to be authentic and accurate. 

(21) (30) "Personal power" means recognizing and taking personal responsibility for the inherent power 
differential between the LMT and the client and recognizing and taking personal responsibility for the 
impact of professional decisions, actions, and behavior on the client. 

(31) "Potential conflict of interest" means any action or any decision or any recommendation by an 
L.M.T. within the context of professional activities which could have the effect of benefiting the L.M.T. 
at the expense of the best interests of a client. 

(22) (32) "Power differential" means the basic inequality inherent in the professional relationship 
between an LMT and a client in terms of who has the advantage in the relationship. The LMT is 
presumed to have the advantage by virtue of the authority which emerges from the role of professional 
and the vulnerability which is automatically part of the role of client. 

(33) "Practice of massage" means the performance of massage: 

(a) For purposes other than sexual contact, as defined in ORS 167.002(5); and 

(b) For compensation. 

(34) "Preceptor" means a licensed massage therapist who contracts with an approved school or program 
of massage to provide direct on-site clinical supervision of a massage student enrolled in a certified 
class. 

(23) (35) "Professional authority" means the power inherent in the professional role and which is derived 
from a combination of an LMT's specialized or expert knowledge, societal expectations, stated and 
unstated client expectations, and an LMT's personal power. 

(24) (36) "Professional relationship" means the relationship established when an LMT contracts with a 
client, verbally or in writing, to provide any service associated with the practice of massage or 
bodywork. 

(25) (37) "Professional role" means assuming the demands and responsibilities of professional authority 
by taking charge of the conditions which create and maintain client safety and trust in the professional-
client relationship.  

(38) "Reciprocity" means recognition and acceptance of credentials from another massage or bodywork 
licensing authority in any state, country, foreign territory, or District of Columbia as equivalent to or 
exceeding Oregon's requirements for licensure as an L.M.T. 

(39) "Respect" means the act of showing consideration or courteous regard toward an idea or person. 

(40) "Responsibility" means the ability to engage in appropriate action within the context of professional 
practice in response to diverse and changing situations and events. 
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(41) "Service" means making a free choice to be helpful and beneficial. 

(42) "Standard" means a quality or measure serving as a basis, example, or principle to which a licensed 
massage practitioner should conform. 

(43) "Supervision" means: 

(a) The process of overseeing and directing the training of massage students as set forth in the rules of 
the Board; 

(b) The process of overseeing and directing a licensee being disciplined by the Board; or 

(c) Voluntary consultation with, and education of, less experienced licensed massage therapists or 
practitioners in related fields. 

(44) "Therapeutic relationship" means an element of professional practice based on principles of caring, 
respect, appropriate boundaries, and appropriate use of personal power in the professional relationship 
of an L.M.T. and client. 

(45) "Treatment" means the selection, application and practice of massage or massage therapy essential 
to the effective execution and management of a plan of care. 

(46) "Unprofessional or dishonorable conduct" means behavior, practice or condition that is contrary to 
the ethical standards adopted by the Board as well as general society standards. 

(47) "Values" means concepts or ideals that provide a framework for making decisions and taking 
actions. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011 
Hist.: BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BMT 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-03  
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DIVISION 10 

MASSAGE LICENSING 

  

334-010-0005  

Applications  

(1) All applications for examinations, licensure, inactive status, renewal, or temporary permit shall be 
made on forms provided by the Board. Only applications that are completed and on Board approved 
forms, without alterations, will be accepted for filing and review by the Board.  

(2) All applications made to the Board shall be accompanied by the required fee.  

(3) Applicants for examination shall submit the following with their application:  

(a) A copy of a government issued a legal picture photo identification. This identification could be a 
valid driver's license, a current U.S. passport, immigration/naturalization papers, or a current, valid state 
identification card;  

(b) An official certificate or transcript from the administering institutions, instructors, or programs 
showing successful completion of study and practice in the required subject matter and hours required 
by the Board; or, for reciprocity applicants, verification from original licensing state of successful 
completion of a written examination and an active license in that state; or, for indorsement applicants, 
verification of current license from the state of licensing.  

(A) Official copies of transcripts or certificates presented to the Board in an envelope sealed by the 
program or institution or instructor and verified as sealed may be accepted directly from the applicant.  

(B) If a program or institution granting credit is no longer in business, the Board will accept for review a 
copy of a certificate of completion, or transcript or diploma in the required subject matter and hours. The 
Board may require additional information to verify the authenticity of such documents; or verification of 
licensure as a Licensed Massage Therapist.  

(c) Proof of current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR);  

(d) A current photograph of the applicant;  

(4) Transcripts must include a minimum of 500 hours of certified classes. The 500 hours must include 
the knowledge and skills identified in OAR 334-0010-0047 “Competencies” in the Entry Level 
Competency Document and shall be comprised of:  

(a) A minimum of 200 hours of health sciences to include Anatomy & Physiology, Pathology, and 
Kinesiology; and 
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(b) A minimum of 300 hours of Massage Theory and Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business 
Development, Communication and Ethics, Sanitation, and Hydrotherapy.; and  

(c) Content that incorporates the Entry Level Competencies established by the Board (334-010-0047).  

(5) If for any reason an applicant does not appear to be qualified for admission to take the examination, 
the applicant shall be so notified and invited to submit additional evidence that he/she is entitled to have 
his/her case considered or to be admitted to examination.  

(6) Documents in a Foreign Language All application documents for examination and licensure 
submitted in a language other than English shall be accompanied by:  

(a) Aan accurate translation of those documents into English;  

(b) Aa notarized affidavit certifying that the translator is competent in both the language of the 
document and the English language;  

(c) Aa notarized affidavit certifying that the translation is a true and complete translation of the foreign 
language original; and  

(d) Aany costs of translation of all documents required by the Board shall be at the expense of the 
applicant.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 687.121 & SB 1127 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121 
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0002; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 2-1985, 
f. & ef. 1-23-85; MB 3-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 9-20-85; MTB 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-29-86; MTB 1-1990, f. & 
cert. ef. 4-20-90; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92, Section (7)(d) Renumbered from 334-010-0036; 
BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BMT 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-02; BMT 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-
03; BMT 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-04  

334-010-0008 (renumbered and amended from 334-010-0041) 

Indorsement 

 (1) State Indorsement: The Board may grant a license by state indorsement, upon successful 
completion of the jurisprudence exam, without any additional examination to any applicant who 
holds a valid license or permit to practice massage from another jurisdiction if the requirements 
of that licensing authority meet or exceed the requirements established in Oregon.  

(2) Health Indorsement: The Board may grant a license by health indorsement, after successful 
completion of practical and jurisprudence examination, to any applicant currently holding an 
active Oregon license in good standing in a Board approved health related field who can document 
curriculum that includes a minimum of 300 hours comprised of Massage Theory & Practical 
Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, Communication, Ethics, Sanitation and 
Hydrotherapy.  Kinesiology may be included as part of the 300 hours.  
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334-010-0010  

Examination  

(1) The L.M.T. examination shall be held at least twice annually.  

(2) The applicant shall be notified by mail postmarked at least two weeks before the scheduled exam, 
unless otherwise waived by the applicant, of the time and place.  

(3) Applicants who have a documented and verifiable emergency may request to have their exam 
fee apply to a subsequent examination request an extension in writing to the Board postmarked 7 days 
in advance for the practical examination may have their examination fees apply to a subsequent 
examination so long as the applicant sits for the examination within a one year of the date of the 
extension. Only one extension shall be permitted. Exceptions will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis 
by the Board. Refund of the examination fee will be granted should the applicant request a refund in 
writing postmarked at least 7 days prior to the exam. 

(4) Refund of the examination fee may be granted upon written request should the applicant not 
qualify for examination.  Refunds may also be made for individuals who have a documented and 
verifiable emergency and are unable to sit for the exam provided the written request and 
associated documentation are received by the board at least 7 days prior to the exam.  

(5) (4) Applicants are required to take and pass a Board approved written exam and the Oregon practical 
examination, which includes a written test on Oregon statutes and administrative rules.    

(6) (5) Failure to Pass An applicant must pass the practical examination within 24 months of the initial 
date of application. examination with a maximum of three attempts. If the applicant fails to pass in three 
attempts, he/she must re-establish eligibility to apply and sit for the massage therapist licensing 
examinations by undertaking and satisfactorily completing a Board approved program of remedial study 
from a certified school and/or instructor(s).  The Board may require an applicant with 3 or more 
examination failures to undertake and satisfactorily complete a Board approved plan prior to reapplying 
for the examination.   

(6) Applicants for reciprocity or indorsement who are sitting only for the practical examination shall 
take the examination during the regularly scheduled examination dates.  

(7) The Board may elect to administer examinations at other than regularly scheduled times if such 
administration:  

(a) Does not interfere with the normal workload and work duties of the Board and its staff; and  

(b) Additional costs associated with administering an unscheduled examination are paid by the 
applicant.  
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(7) (8) Examinee Conduct An examinee, whose conduct interferes with the testing process or whose 
behavior violates ethical practices or jeopardizes the safety of another a volunteer subject, may be 
dismissed and disqualified from examination. Such conduct includes but is not limited to the following 
behaviors:  

(a) Giving or receiving examination data, either directly or indirectly, during the examination process;  

(b) Failure to follow written or oral instructions relative to conducting the examination, including 
termination times and procedures;  

(c) Endangering the life or health of others present a model, other examinees, or examination staff;  

(d) Introducing unauthorized materials during any portion of the examination;  

(e) Attempting to remove examination materials or notations from the testing site; or  

(f) (9) Violating the credentialing process such as falsifying or misrepresenting educational credentials 
or other information required for admission to the examination, impersonating an examinee, or having 
an impersonator take the licensing examination on one's behalf.  

(8) (10) Test questions, scoring keys, and other examination data used to administer the qualifying 
examination are exempt from disclosure under ORS 192.410 to 192.505 as amended.  

(9) (11) The Board may release statistical information regarding examination pass/fail rates by group, 
type of examination, school, year, and subject area to any interested party.  

(10) (12) All examinations are given in the English language. An applicant is presumed to possess 
sufficient sensory, visual, hearing and psychomotor skills to independently perform massage and 
bodywork skills.  

(11) (13) Applicants with Special Needs  An applicant is presumed to possess sufficient sensory, 
visual, hearing and psychomotor capabilities to independently perform massage and bodywork 
skills. An applicant with special needs may apply to the Board for the provision of special conditions to 
complete the examination. 

(a) The Board may require proof, provided by a qualified professional on letterhead, of the nature of the 
special need and type of special conditions recommended to complete the exam; [.] 

(b) A request for special conditions must be made to the Board in writing at the time of application. no 
later than three weeks prior to the date of the examination.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 687.121 & SB 1127  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0004; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 2-1982, 
f. & ef. 7-21-82; MTB 2-1985, f. & ef. 1-23-85; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92; BMT 2-1998, f. & 
cert. ef. 7-22-98, Renumbered from 334-010-0021 [Hist.: MTB 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; MTB 1-
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1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92, Sections (6) - (20)(h) Renumbered from 334-030-0020]; BMT 1-
1999(Temp), f. 6-14-99, cert. ef. 7-4-99 thru 12-31-99; BMT 1-2000, f. & cert. ef. 1-12-00; BMT 2-
2000, f. & cert. ef. 8-3-00; BMT 1-2002(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 1-9-02 thru 7-5-02; BMT 2-2002, f. & 
cert. ef. 5-8-02; BMT 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-03; BMT 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-04; BMT 4-
2005(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-19-05 thru 3-12-06; BMT 1-2006, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-06; BMT 2-2007, f. & 
cert. ef. 6-29-07; BMT 1-2007, f. & cert. ef. 6-29-07  

 

334-010-0012  

Examination Appeal  

Any applicant who takes the practical licensing examination approved by the Board and who fails to 
pass, may request review of the results of the examination by the Board.  

(a) The Board will not consider any challenges to examination scores unless the total of the potentially 
revised score would result in issuance of a license.  

(b) Examination results will not be modified unless the applicant presents clear and convincing evidence 
of error in the examination content or procedure, or bias, prejudice or discrimination in the examination 
process.  

(c) The Board should set forth standards for appointing a committee to review examination appeals and 
make recommendations to the Board.  

(1) (2) The following appeal process shall be utilized to request a Board review of examination results:  

(a) A request for appeal must be made by the applicant in writing and must be received in the Board 
office within thirty days of the date on the letter of notification of examination results sent to the 
applicant; and  

(b) In the written appeal the applicant must specifically state the reason for the appeal and why the 
applicant believes the results should be modified. The applicant [must] should identify the specific 
errors of content, procedure, bias, prejudice or discrimination[.] that the applicant feels are applicable to 
the appeal.  

(2) (3) The following appeal process shall be utilized to conduct a review of examination results:  

(a) During the review, the applicant will be identified only by the applicant's test number.  

(b) The Board's representative will review the examination results including any written materials, audio 
or videotapes related to the examinations, examiner comments, and information provided by the 
applicant related to examination results.  
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(c) The Board representative(s) will present its findings to the Board in executive session at a regularly 
scheduled meeting of the Board. (d) The Board will not consider oral arguments from the applicant 
regarding an examination appeal unless the Board determines that further information is required 
directly from the applicant. If such a determination is made, the applicant will be invited to meet in 
Executive session with the Board or Board representative(s).  

(d) (e) The Board will make a determination as to whether to grant the appeal and that the determination 
will become part of the public record.  

(3) (4) Granting aAn appeal may result in the following actions:  

(a) No action;  

(b) (a) Reversal of a failing score and issuance of a license; or  

(c) (b) Suspension of a failing score and opportunity for the applicant to retake the practical examination 
immediately.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 687.121 & SB 1127 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121 
Hist.: BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BMT 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-02  

334-010-0015  

Licensure  

(1) An applicant for an initial license or renewal of a license a renewal or initial massage 
therapist license shall complete, without alterations, an application furnished by the Board.  

(2) An applicant must provide written explanation and copies of all related documentation 
as requested by the board if: 
 
(a) Applicant has ever been investigated, disciplined or denied licensure by this agency or 
any other governmental agency in any state or jurisdiction of the United States or foreign 
country;  
 
(b) Applicant has surrendered a massage license or other professional license in any state 
or jurisdiction of the United States or foreign country;  
 
(c) Applicant has been arrested, charged or convicted of any type of violation of the law, 
including both misdemeanors or felonies, other than minor infraction tickets in any state or 
jurisdiction of the United States or foreign country;  
 
(d) Applicant has abused or been treated for the abuse of alcohol or controlled substances; 
or 
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(e) Applicant has suffered from and/or received treatment for a mental, physical or 
emotional condition, which could impede applicant’s ability to safely practice massage. 
 
2)  An Applicant who has ever been arrested or convicted of any crime other than a minor traffic 
violation or who has been sanctioned by any other licensing agency in any jurisdiction, must 
provide documentation as required on the application.  

(2) Application for a massage therapist license shall contain information stating whether the 
applicant has ever been arrested or convicted of a misdemeanor or crime and if so, stating the 
nature of the offense, the location of the arrest or conviction and the date(s) of occurrence(s).  

 (3) Applicants for renewal of licensure shall sign a statement of completion of 25 hours of 
continuing education.  

(3)(4) Applicants for initial licensure must apply within one year of the successful completion of 
the practical license examination.  

(a) If an applicant does not apply within one year, the applicant must retake the practical 
examination. then re-examination shall be required.  

(b) At the time of re-examination, the applicant must meet all current licensing requirements and 
submit original documents as required by the Board.  

4)  Licenses issued expire on the last day of the licensees’ birth month of even numbered years for 
licensees with even numbered birth years and odd numbered years for licensees with odd 
numbered birth years.  Thereafter, licenses may be renewed every other year upon completion of 
the application requirements.  The application must be returned to the Board postmarked no later 
than the 1st day of the month of expiration.  A delinquent fee shall be paid if the completed 
application and all requirements are not received by the due date.  
 
5) Applicants for the renewal of an active license shall sign a statement verifying completion of a 
minimum of 25 hours of continuing education. The Board may require proof of the continuing 
education hours. 

 
(6) Applications for renewal of an active license shall be accompanied by: 
 
(a) current licensing fee; 
 
(b) any applicable late fees;  
 
(c) proof of current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR);  
 
(d) proof of 25 hours of continuing education; and 
 
(e) any additional documentation required by the Board. 
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(7) (5) All applicants for initial, renewal, or reinstated license must sign a statement verifying 
that they have read, understand, and will comply with all current Oregon Revised Statutes 
(ORS 687), Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR 334), and policy statements of the Board.  

(8) (6) Licenses issued by the Board shall not be transferable. 
 
(9) A person licensed by the Board may move to an inactive status by completing the form 
provided by the Board. Upon payment of the appropriate fee, the applicant will be issued an 
inactive license.  During the period of inactive status, the licensee may not practice massage for 
compensation in the State of Oregon.  
 
(10) An application to reactivate an inactive license shall be accompanied by: 
 
a) Current licensing fee; 
 
b) Proof of current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR); and 
 
c) Proof of 25 hours of continuing education for each biennium or fraction of the biennium the 
license was inactive up to 50 hours; 
 
d) An individual who has been inactive or a combination of lapsed/inactive status for 6 
consecutive years or greater must, in addition, successfully pass the practical examination. 

 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121 & 687.051  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0006; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 
1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-
22-98; BMT 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-03; BMT 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-04; BMT 1-2006, f. 
& cert. ef. 1-5-06; BMT 2-2006(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-16-06 thru 8-7-06; Administrative 
correction 8-22-06  

 

334-010-0016  

Inactive Licenses  

(1) A person licensed by the State Board of Massage Therapists to practice massage may move to an 
inactive status by notifying the board in writing on a form provided by the Board. Following approval by 
the Board and upon payment of the appropriate fee, the applicant will be issued an inactive license. 
During the period of inactive status, no such person may practice massage for a fee in the State of 
Oregon.  
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(2) Application for reinstatement of an inactive license shall include sufficient information to assure the 
Board of current competency in the practice of massage and bodywork. Depending on the length of 
inactive status and evidence of the practice of massage in another legal jurisdiction, the Board may 
require additional continuing education and/or a period of supervised practice to assure that the applicant 
can safely and competently practice the profession of massage.  

(3) An application to reactivate a license shall be accompanied by:  

(a) Current licensing fee;  

(b) Proof of current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation;  

(c) Proof of 25 hours of continuing education for each biennium or fraction of the biennium the license 
was inactive; and  

(d) A statement indicating whether the applicant has engaged in the practice of massage and bodywork 
in another legal jurisdiction during the period of inactive status.  

(4) An individual who has held inactive status for greater than five years must:  

(a) Provide proof of clinical practice in another legal jurisdiction; or  

(b) Successfully complete a refresher course approved by the Board from a certified program of at least 
50 hours; or  

(c) Successfully pass the practical examination.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121 & 687.121 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121 
Hist.: MTB 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. 
ef. 7-22-98; BMT 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-03  

 

334-010-0017  

Lapsed License  

(1) The massage therapist license shall be considered lapsed if an individual fails to complete the 
renewal process prior to the expiration of license. pay the licensing fee when due or fails to meet 
continuing education requirements.  

(2) During the lapsed status, no such person shall practice massage in the State of Oregon.  

(3) A license in lapsed status shall not be placed in an inactive status.  
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(3) An applicant whose license is lapsed may return to active status by including the following with 
the completed application. 

(a) payment of the current fee for activation of the license; 

(b) payment of the licensing fee applicable for the period of the lapsed license; 

(c) late fee payment; 

(d) proof of 25 hours of continuing education for each biennium the license was lapsed and for the 
current licensing period; 

(e) proof of current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR); and 

(f) a statement indicating whether the applicant has engaged in the practice of massage and 
bodywork in another jurisdiction during the period of lapsed status. 

(4) All information required for restoring a lapsed license must be received while the license is in 
lapsed status. Thereafter, one must apply as a new applicant. 

(4) If the lapsed license is activated within the first two years of lapsed status, the following must be 
included with the completed application:  

(a) Late fee;  

(b) Current licensing fee;  

(c) Proof of 25 hours of continuing education.  

(5) An applicant whose license has been lapsed for more than two years but less than three years may 
reinstate by including the following with the completed application:  

(a) Payment of the licensing fee applicable for the two years of the lapsed license;  

(b) Payment of the current fee for activation of the license;  

(c) Late fee payment;  

(d) Proof of 25 hours continuing education for the two year lapsed period; and  

(e) Proof of 25 hours continuing education for the current licensing period.  

(6) All information required for restoring a lapsed license must be received within three years of the date 
of expiration. Thereafter, one must apply as a new applicant.  
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(7) Inactive License Prior to Lapsed Status If the license was in an inactive status prior to the current 
lapsed status, the applicant shall provide the following with the completed application:  

(a) Payment of the current licensing fee for activation of the license;  

(b) If the license is in the third year of lapsed status but still eligible for reactivation, payment of the 
licensing fee applicable for the two years of the lapsed license and payment of the current licensing fee 
are both required;  

(c) Late payment fee;  

(d) Proof of 25 hours of continuing education for the two year inactive period; and  

(e) Proof of 25 hours of continuing education to activate the license; or  

(f) If in the third year of lapsed status, proof of an additional 25 hours of continuing education for the 
two years of lapsed status.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 687.121 & SB 1127 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121 
Hist.: BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BMT 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-02; BMT 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 
1-24-03; BMT 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-04; BMT 1-2006, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-06  

 

334-010-0025  

Practice of Massage  

(1) Massage treatment may include, but is not limited to: 

(a) client intake and assessment; 

(b) practice of massage or bodywork; 

(c) post massage assessment and recommendation; 

(d) documentation. 

(1) The practice of massage shall consist of applying pressure on, friction against, stroking, and 
kneading the body by manual or mechanical means, and gymnastics, with or without appliances such as 
vibrators, infrared heat, sun lamps, and external baths such as steam, tub, or shower baths for the 
purpose of maintaining good health and establishing and maintaining good physical condition as stated 
in ORS 687.011.  
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(a) Gymnastics is defined as: Exercise intended to stretch and strengthen soft tissues in a general 
fashion.  

(b) Massage is defined in part as treatment of soft tissue by means of manual techniques which include:  

(A) Applying pressure, holding, or causing movement to the body with hand, elbow, knee, or foot;  

(B) Passive, active, and resisted movement within the normal range of a client's physical capabilities;  

(C) External use of hot, cold, or topical preparations such as lubricants and other preparations available 
to the general public;  

(D) Application of any tool or device in common use which mimics or enhances the actions possible by 
the hands.  

(2) Massage treatment does not include:  

(a) the application of high velocity/low amplitude force further defined as thrust techniques directed 
toward joint surfaces;  

(b) The application of ultrasound, diathermy, and electrical neuromuscular stimulation or substantially 
similar modalities; the use of equipment or devices that require a prescription; or 

(c) Colonic irrigation;  

(d) making a medical diagnosis.  

(3) A massage therapist shall use safe and functional coverage/draping practices during the 
practice of massage.   

(a) Safe and functional coverage/draping means: 

(A) client gives informed consent; 

(B) LMT maintains and respects coverage/draping boundaries; 

(C) genitals and gluteal cleft are not exposed; 

(D) breast tissue is covered except when massaging the area; 

(E) massage or movement of the body does not expose genitals, gluteal cleft or breast tissue. 

(b) Exceptions to the rule may be made for LMTs who can document training in specific 
modalities 
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(4) A licensed massage therapist shall not perform or offer to perform any services for clients 
other than those connected with giving massage therapy treatments as defined in ORS 687, unless 
the LMT has additional training and/or licensure. 

(5) (3) A person represents himself or herself as a massage therapist when the person adopts or uses any 
word that implies a skill or application as defined by statute 687.011.  

(6) (4) Any person who holds a license as a massage therapist in this state may use the abbreviation 
"LMT" No other person(s) may assume such title or such abbreviation or any other word[s], letters, 
signs, or figures to indicate that the person using the title is a licensed massage therapist. 

(5) No licensed massage therapist shall perform or offer to perform any services for customers other 
than those incidental to or connected with the giving of massage treatments or rendered pursuant to a 
state issued license. 

(7) (6) All licensed massage therapists must notify the Board office in writing of any change of 
residence, business, email or mailing address within 30 days of change of address.  

(7) For purposes of ORS 687.031(1) the Board deems "direction" to mean massage performed on the 
written order of the licensee. The Board does not recognize any such "direction" unless it is under the 
specific sanction of a rule of the licensing agency defining the scope of the licensee's authority to 
delegate and the extent of supervision required of the licensee.  

(8) Active All licensed massage therapists must clearly display their license in a location clearly visible 
to their clients. at their place of business. 

(9) All Active licensed massage therapists are required to include their license number in all 
advertisements, including but not limited to: written, electronic, televised and audio.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 687.121 & SB 1127 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121 
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0010; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 2-1985, 
f. & ef. 1-23-85; MTB 3-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 9-20-85; MTB 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-29-86; MTB 1-1990, f. 
& cert. ef. 4-20-90; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BMT 3-
2002, f. 5-8-02, cert. ef. 1-1-03; BMT 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-03; BMT 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-04  

334-010-0031  

Outcall Massage  

(1) "Outcall massage" or "on-site massage" means massage performed at the location of the client.  

(2) When making outcalls, massage technicians must adhere to OAR chapter 334.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121 
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Hist.: MTB 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-29-86; MTB 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-
22-98  

 

334-010-0033  

Fees  

Licensure fees will not be refunded.  

(1) The fees are:for an initial and renewal license is $100 per biennium.  

(a) $100 per biennium for initial or active license; 

(b) $50 per biennium for inactive license; 

(c) $25 per week, up to a maximum of $250, for any late license renewal; 

(d) $50 for exam/endorsement application processing; 

(e) $150 for each practical examination; 

(f) $100 for mailing list; 

(g) $5 for license reprint; 

(h) $5 for license verification; and 

(i) other administrative fees as allowed by law. 

(2) Application and licensure fees are not refundable. 

(3) Examination fees will be refunded only when requested in writing and either: 

(a) the applicant is unqualified by Oregon statues, or 

(b) applicant requests refund postmarked at least 7 days prior to the exam.  

(2) The fee for inactive license is $50 per biennium.  

(3) The fee for the practical examination and retake is $150.  

(4) Application fee $50.  
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(5) Examination fee will be refunded only when the applicant is unqualified by Oregon statutes and no 
inquiry or investigation is initiated.  

(6) A $25 fee will be charged per week, to a maximum of $250, for any late license renewal.  

(7) The temporary license fee is $25.  

(8) The fee for mailing list is $100.  

(9) The fee for a license reprint is $5.  

(10) The fee for license verification is $5.00.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 687.121 & SB 1127 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121 
Hist.: MTB 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-29-86; MTB 1-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-27-89; MTB 1-1990, f. & cert. 
ef. 4-20-90; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92 (and corrected 8-6-92); BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-
98; BMT 1-2000, f. & cert. ef. 1-12-00; BMT 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 5-8-02; BMT 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-
24-03; BMT 4-2004, f. 10-22-04, cert. ef. 1-1-05; BMT 1-2006, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-06  

334-010-0041 (renumbered and amended to 334-010-0008) 

Reciprocity and Indorsement  

(1) Reciprocity: The Board may establish automatic licensure between the Board and another licensing 
authority of a state, territory, country, or District of Columbia if the requirements of that licensing 
authority meet or exceed the requirements established in Oregon.  

(2) The Board may grant a license by reciprocity without any additional examination to any applicant 
who holds a valid license or permit to practice from another state, territory, country or District of 
Columbia with which the state of Oregon has a reciprocal agreement  

(3) Indorsement: The Board may grant a license by indorsement, after successful completion of a 
practical exam, to any applicant currently holding a license in this state in a health related field whose 
curriculum includes a minimum of 300 hours of Massage Theory and Practical Application, Clinical 
Practice, Business Development, Communication and Ethics, Sanitation, and Hydrotherapy.  

(4) The Board may grant a license by indorsement, without any additional examination, to any applicant 
who:  

(a) Holds a valid L.M.T. license, permit, certificate, or registration from another state, territory, country 
or District of Columbia whose requirements are equivalent to or exceed those in effect in Oregon at the 
time of application and who have passed the licensing authority's examination or an examination 
accepted by the Oregon Board of Massage; or  
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(b) Holds a valid L.M.T. license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice from another state, 
territory, country or District of Columbia and can demonstrate through documentation of educational 
preparation, successful completion of massage and bodywork examinations accepted by the Board and 
work experience in the active practice of massage that they meet the requirements in effect in Oregon at 
the time of application.  

(5) The Board may grant a license by indorsement, after the successful completion of a practical 
examination, to any applicant who holds a license, permit, registration, or certificate from a state, 
country, territory or District of Columbia whose requirements are not equivalent to the State of Oregon.  

(6) All candidates for indorsement/reciprocity must sign a statement verifying that they have read all 
relevant and current Oregon statutes and regulations related to massage and have read all current 
policies and guidelines published by the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183, 687.121 & SB 1127 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121 
Hist.: MTB 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-29-86; MTB 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-
28-92; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BMT 3-2002, f. 5-8-02, cert. ef. 1-1-03  

 

334-010-0046  

Class Certification  

(1) A class or program certified under ORS 687.051 must be offered by: 

(a) A person or institution licensed as a private vocational school under ORS 345.010 to 345.074 or 
the equivalent licensing authority of another jurisdiction; or  

(b) By a community college and approved by the Division of Vocational Education or the 
Department of Education, or the appropriate agency of another jurisdiction; or 

(c) By a college or university accredited either by the Northwest Association of Secondary and 
Higher Schools or a like regional association or by a college or university in Oregon approved by 
the Oregon Office of Educational Policy and Planning for the purpose of granting degrees; and 

(d) Approved by the Board. 

(2) In order for a class or program to be approved, the person or institute offering the class or 
program shall apply to the Board. The application packet shall contain, but not be limited to: 

(a) A completed Board application; 

(b) Verification of content meeting the Model Curriculum; 
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(c) Course descriptions and syllabi; 

(d) The institution’s Code of Ethics and fraternization policy; 

(e) The method of evaluation to determine the student’s successful completion of a class; 

(f) The attendance requirements for students to successfully complete each class; 

(g) Minimum qualifications for selecting instructors. 

(3) The authorized representative of the certified class or program must notify the Board at least 
60 days prior to any significant changes to information provided in the application process. 

(4) A certified class or program shall renew their certification on a regular basis as determined by 
the Board. 

(5) Certification of the class or program may be revoked by the Board if it is determined that the 
requirements have not been or are no longer being met. 

(6) Denial or revocation of a class or program certification by the Board, if otherwise not resolved, 
shall be heard as a contested case by the Board. 

(1) Contact hours as used in ORS 687.051(1)(d) means actual hours of attendance in class under 
instruction in the presence of an instructor.  

(2) Credit hours will be converted to contact hours based on the number of class hours per week 
multiplied by the number of weeks of class attendance.  

(3) In order for a class to be certified under ORS 687.051:  

(a) It must contain as a minimum the content stated in the Entry Level Competencies and must include a 
method of evaluation to determine the student's successful completion of class;  

(b) The person or institute offering the class shall apply to the Board with a written description of class 
content in sufficient detail to demonstrate that the class complies with the minimum content described in 
the Entry Level Competencies, the number of hours, and the successful completion of requirements.  

(4) Such classes certified under ORS 687.051 must be offered by:  

(a) A person or institution licensed as a private vocational school under ORS 345.010 to 345.074 or the 
equivalent licensing authority of another state; or  

(b) By a community college and approved by the Division of Vocational Education of the Department of 
Education, or the appropriate agency of another state; or  
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(c) By a college or university accredited either by the Northwest Association of Secondary and Higher 
Schools or a like regional association or by a college or university in Oregon approved by the Oregon 
Office of Educational Policy and Planning for the purpose of granting degrees.  

(5) Such a class must contain at least the content stated in the Entry Level Competencies and must 
include a method of evaluation to determine the student's successful completion of the class. 

(6) The application for approval of a class shall include, but not be limited to, the following information: 
completed application, written course outline including number of contact hours of instruction, 
attendance requirements for students, a sample copy of an examination, and qualifications of instructors. 

(7) The authorized representative of a certified class shall notify the Board of significant changes with 
respect to information provided in the application materials within 60 days.  

(8) Any person who has proof of successful completion of study in a skill or subject listed in the Entry 
Level Competencies which has not received certification from the Board may apply to the Board for 
specific evaluation and certification by the Board. In such a case, a transcript or a written presentation 
by the institution or the person giving the class as stated in subsection (3) of this rule shall be provided 
to the Board. (A list of current certified classes is available at the Board office.)  

(9) Although a class certification is not required in advance in order to ultimately qualify under ORS 
687.051, persons or institutions offering classes and persons taking classes which are not certified in 
advance do so at the peril of the class not being certified by the Board.  

(10) Certification may be revoked by the Board if they determine requirements have not been met.  

(11) Denials or revocations of certification of classes, if not disposed by informal processes, may be 
heard as a contested case by the Board.  

(12) The Entry Level Competency Document shall be reviewed and/or revised periodically by the 
Board. Prior to making any content revisions, the Board shall obtain input from Oregon certified 
massage schools regarding proposed changes. The Board will solicit input at least yearly from Oregon 
approved massage schools regarding their suggestions for alterations in the Entry Level Core 
Competencies.  

(13) The Board may establish a committee composed of no more than three Board members and no 
more than three representatives of Oregon approved massage schools to evaluate individual classes and 
make recommendations regarding their relevance to Entry Level Competency content.  

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121 
Hist.: MTB 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-29-86; MTB 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-
22-98  
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334-010-0047  

Competencies 

A Licensed Massage Therapist must establish by successful completion of Board approved written 
and/or practical exams, and maintain through Continuing Education, the knowledge and skills 
relevant to the practice of massage and bodywork as follows: 

(1) Knowledge of: 

(a) Massage and bodywork assessment and application; 

(b) Anatomy; 

(c) Physiology;  

(d) Kinesiology;  

(e) Pathology; 

(f) Legal and business requirements;  

(g) Ethical principles; and 

(h) Basic CPR. 

(2) Practical skills application of: 

(a) Fundamental techniques of soft tissue manipulation and treatment, and safe utilization of: 

(A) Thermal modalities;  

(B) Topical preparations;  

(C) Mechanical assistance devices and appliances;  

(D) Other applications available to the public; and 

(E) Movements and exercises that lengthen and shorten soft tissues within the normal range of the 
client; and 

(b) Fundamental principles of body mechanics in the application of massage and bodywork; and 

(c) Locating muscle attachments and bellies; and 

(d) Draping/coverage practices that address both function and safety. 
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(3) Demonstrating Treatment and Business skills in the following areas by: 

(a) Developing and utilizing treatment plans addressing client conditions and concerns by: 

(A) Identification of indications and contraindications, 

(B) Informing the client and obtaining informed consent regarding the risks and benefits of the 
treatment plan, and  

(C) Application and modification of the treatment plan as needed; 

(b) Using effective verbal and non-verbal interpersonal communication; 

(c) Tracking the client’s non-verbal communication and adjusting treatment plan as indicated;  

(d) Utilizing an ethical decision making process;  

(e) Establishing and maintaining a practice environment that provides for the client’s safety and 
comfort; and 

(f) Establishing and maintaining professional business records. 

Entry Level Competency Requirements  

At the completion of the educational program, the beginning massage and bodywork practitioner shall 
be able to:  

(1) Demonstrate knowledge of anatomy, physiology, kinesiology and pathology as outlined in the 
current Occupation Analysis.  

(2) Demonstrate palpation skills by:  

(a) Locating origin, insertion, and belly of major muscles;  

(b) Demonstrating lengthening, shortening; and  

(c) Demonstrating rudimentary knowledge of energy systems and pathways.  

(3) In developing a treatment plan for a client, identify indications for, contraindications to, risks, and 
benefits of all treatment options and use that knowledge to develop an appropriate age specific treatment 
plan.  

(4) Establish a client database consistent with the type of client concern or problem, type of services 
required, and level of services required by:  

(a) Obtaining client history, either verbal or written;  
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(b) Conducting physical assessment;  

(c) Conducting energy assessment.  

(5) Establishing a treatment approach or plan taking into consideration the presenting concern/problem, 
client profile, client preferences for treatment, and treatment effectiveness/outcome.  

(6) Reassess and update client data base and treatment approach/plan as indicated.  

(7) Inform client of outcome of assessment, treatment options, alternatives, risks, benefits, side effects 
and expected treatment outcomes as indicated.  

(8) Obtain verbal or written informed consent for treatment.  

(9) Consult, collaborate with, or refer clients to other health care providers when indicated by client 
condition or if desired by client.  

(10) Establish and maintain competence in basic techniques of soft tissue manipulation and treatment.  

(11) Apply passive, active, and resistive movement safely within normal range of client's capabilities.  

(12) When indicated, safely utilize external applications of heat, cold, topical preparaations, and other 
preparations available to the public.  

(13) When indicated, safely utilize mechanical assistive devices for massage/bodywork.  

(14) Practice effective interpersonal communications that take into consideration client's capabilities, 
boundaries and background and which demonstrate courtesy and respect.  

(15) Track nonverbal communication of client and, if needed, use it to enhance communication and 
adjust treatment plan.  

(16) Demonstrate knowledge base of professional and business records that might be needed for 
practice.  

(17) Establish and maintain an environment for practice that provides for the client's safety and comfort 
and meets basic requirements and occupational health standards in regard to sanitation, prevention of 
communicable disease, prevention of accidents, privacy, and sensory needs of client (temperature, 
sound, light, etc.).  

(18) Demonstrate basic knowledge of legal and business requirements for practice of massage and 
bodywork.  

(19) Demonstrate basic knowledge of ethical principles and decision-making relevant to practice of 
massage and bodywork.  
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(20) Demonstrate ability to apply massage and bodywork techniques in a manner congruent with basic 
principles of body mechanics for self and client.  

(21) Demonstrate basic knowledge of CPR by holding current CPR certificate.  

(22) Demonstrate awareness of a variety of massage and bodywork theories and techniques.  

(23) Implement the principles outlined in Division 30, Ethics.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 687.121 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121 
Hist.: BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  

 

334-010-0050  

Continuing Education  

The intent of Continuing Education is to protect the public by maintaining and enhancing competencies 
as defined in OAR 334-010-0047. licensees' professional knowledge and skills relating to massage and 
bodywork practice. 

(1) Each licensee shall complete 25 hours of continuing education in the competencies each renewal 
period. each biennium. At renewal time, each licensee shall sign and submit a Board supplied CE form 
indicating they have completed 25 hours the required hours of continuing education. The board may 
require proof of CE hours. At least 12 hours must be contact hours defined as instruction involving other 
massage and bodywork practitioners. The remaining 13 hours may be contact hours or in areas as 
defined on Board supplied CE form. 

(a) At least 12 hours must be contact hours defined as instruction involving other massage and 
bodywork practitioners.  

(b) The remaining 13 hours may be contact hours or in areas as defined on Board supplied CE 
form. 

(2) The continuing education requirement shall not apply to a licensee's first license renewal.  

(3) Continuing education must be completed within the renewal period. Contact hours taken in excess of 
the total number required may only be carried over to the next subsequent renewal period.  

(4) Continuing education records shall be maintained by each licensee for a minimum of five years.  

(5) If the Board finds indications of fraud or falsification of records, investigative action shall be 
instituted. Findings may result in disciplinary action including revocation of the licensee's license.  
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(6) Failure to complete continuing education hours by the time of renewal may result in revocation, 
suspension and/or denial of a license. Licensee has 30 days from date of notification of non-compliance 
to come into compliance. Failure to be in compliance may result in suspension of the license to practice 
massage.  

(7) Continuing education must be in areas related to the practice of massage or bodywork including 
theory, research, technique or business development.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.081, 687.121 & 687.122 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121 
Hist.: BMT 1-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-3-98 thru 7-31-98; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BMT 
1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-03; BMT 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-04; BMT 2-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-
16-04 thru 9-7-04; Administrative correction, 9-28-04; BMT 3-2004(Temp), f.& cert. ef. 10-22-04 thru 
4-19-05; BMT 1-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-05; BMT 1-2006, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-06  
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DIVISION 20  

SANITATION, FACILITY AND BUILDING REQUIREMENTS 

   

334-020-0005  

Equipment: Sanitation Rules  

(1) Cabinet, vapor, or steam baths; All establishments giving cabinet, vapor, or steam baths shall be 
equipped with adequate shower facilities.  

(2) All cabinets, showers, tubs, basins, massage or steam tables, combs, brushes, shower caps, and all 
other equipment used shall be cleansed and shall be rendered free from harmful organisms by the 
application of a bactericidal agent.  

(3) Equipment coming in contact with the client shall be cleansed with soap or detergent and water 
followed by sanitation prior to use on each individual client.  

(4) Impervious sheeting shall cover, full length, all tables, mattresses, or pads, and covered with clean 
linens or single service materials.  

(5) All equipment shall be clean and well maintained.  

(6) All electrical equipment used for client's care must be clean and well maintained and approved by a 
nationally recognized testing laboratory.  

(7) All ice cubes must be used only once and then disposed of properly. All ice pack equipment must be 
cleaned after each use and must be well maintained.  

Facilities and sanitation 

(1) Permanent and Mobile structures: 

(a) All permanent structures and mobile facilities where a LMT routinely conducts massage and 
bodywork must: 

(A) Be established and maintained in accordance with all local, state and federal laws, rules & 
regulations;  

(B) Provide a finished lavatory that 

(i) is well maintained,  
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(ii) provides a system for sanitary disposal of waste products,  

(iii) is capable of being fully closed and locked from the inside, 

(iv) supplies hot and cold running water, 

(v) is supplied with liquid soap and single use towels,  

(vi) is supplied with toilet paper at each toilet, and 

(vii) has a poster prominently displayed encouraging hand washing;  

(C) Dispose of refuse sewage in the manner described by local and state law; and 

(D) Follow applicable laws pertaining to public spas, pools, baths and showers. 

(b) All treatment spaces must: 

(A)Provide for client privacy, both in-house and on-site;  

(B) Be designated as used only for massage at the time of service;  

(C) Provide for sufficient heating, cooling and ventilation for client comfort; and 

(D) Provide illumination during cleaning. 

(c) The facility and treatment space must be: 

(A) Cleaned regularly and kept free of clutter, garbage or rubbish;  

(B) Maintained in a sanitary manner; and 

(C) Maintained free from flies, insects, rodents and all other types of pests. 

(2) Outcall/On-site 

(a) Any temporary location where the LMT conducts massage and bodywork, the LMT must 
provide and utilize: 

(A) Safe, sanitized and well-maintained equipment, tools and preparations;  

(B) Sanitary linen practices; and 

(C) Client privacy practices. 
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334-020-0015  

Communicable Disease Control  

(1) All licensed massage technicians are required to have knowledge of communicable diseases for the 
protection of clients and the massage technicians.  

(2) Any massage technician or massage business owner or manager who has reason to suspect that any 
employee or client may have a communicable disease should suggest that the individual have an 
examination by his/her licensed health-care provider. A written statement from a licensed health care 
provider verifying that the licensed massage technician is in compliance with the communicable disease 
guidelines is required prior to resumption of massage practice by that particular licensed massage 
technician.  

(3) LMT's are required to follow the communicable disease guidelines as adopted by the Board. 
(Communicable Disease Guidelines adopted June 12, 1998, are included as an attachment to these 
rules.)  

[ED. NOTE: The Guidelines referenced in this rule is not printed in the OAR Compilation. Copies are 
available from the agency.]  

Equipment 

(1) All equipment and tools used in conjunction with a treatment on a client must: 

(a) Be approved by a nationally recognized testing laboratory when applicable; 

(b) Be maintained on a regular basis; and 

(c) Be cleaned between each use. 

(2) Cushions on tables and chairs, as well as bolsters and pillows, must be covered with impervious 
material that is cleaned after every use. 

(3) Topical preparations will be: 
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(a) Stored in a manner that maintains the integrity of the product and prevents spoilage and 
contamination;  

(b) Dispensed in a manner that prevents contamination of the unused portion; and 

(c) Dispensed in a manner that prevents cross-contamination between clients. 

(4) Topical preparations such as ice cubes, plasters, herbal wraps and any other similar product 
that comes into contact with the client must be used only once and then disposed of in a sanitary 
manner.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0016; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 1-1986, 
f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0040; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92 (and corrected 8-
6-92); BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  

 334-020-0020  

Massage Lubricants, Dispensers and Storage  

(1) Massage lubricants include but are not limited to the following: oils, soaps, alcohol, powders, 
lotions, shampoos and salts.  

(2) Massage lubricants shall be dispensed from suitable containers to prevent contamination.  

(3) Massage lubricants shall be stored to prevent contamination.  

(4) Massage lubricants shall be stored separately from cleaning supplies.  

(5) Massage lubricants shall be stored so as to preserve their integrity.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0018; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 1-1986, 
f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0045; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  

334-020-0025  

Doors and Windows  

(1) Doors and windows opening to the outside air shall be tight fitting and exclude flies, insects, rodents, 
or other vermin.  
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(2) The massage room shall provide client privacy.  

(3) No room shall be used simultaneously for massage and any domestic purposes.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0020; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 1-1986, 
f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0050; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92; BMT 2-1998, f. 
& cert. ef. 7-22-98  

334-020-0030  

Floors  

(1) Floors shall be kept clean and well maintained.  

(2) Floors in toilet rooms shall be made of an impervious material that is smooth and easily cleaned.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0022; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 1-1986, 
f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0055; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  

334-020-0035  

Furniture  

(1) Furniture shall be kept clean and well maintained.  

(2) Massage tables shall be covered with impervious material that is easily cleaned. They shall be kept 
clean and well maintained.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0024; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 1-1986, 
f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0060; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  

 334-020-0040  

Garbage and Refuse Disposal  

(1) Lavatory and toilet rooms shall be equipped with fly-tight containers for garbage and refuse.  
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(2) Garbage and refuse containers shall be easy to clean and well maintained.  

(3) Garbage and refuse shall be disposed of in a sanitary manner.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Transferred from 333-035-0026; MTB 2-1982, f. & ef. 7-21-82; MTB 1-1986, 
f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0065; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  

334-020-0045  

Heating, Ventilation, and Lighting of Massage Rooms  

All rooms in which massage is practiced shall:  

(1) Have the capability of heating and maintaining room air to a temperature of 75 degrees Fahrenheit at 
a point 24 inches above the floor.  

(2) Have sufficient ventilation and circulation to prevent objectionable odors.  

(3) Have lighting fixtures' capable of providing a minimum of five (5) foot-candles of light at floor level 
and shall be used during cleaning operation.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Transferred from 333-035-0028; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 1-1986, 
f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0070; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  

 

334-020-0050  

Linens  

(1) When linens are used they must be routinely cleaned and stored in a manner which reasonably 
assures the sanitary use for each client. 

(2) The use of soiled linens is prohibited. 

(3) All soiled linens must be: 

(a) immediately placed in a receptacle that closes and prevents cross-contamination;  

(b) handled as little as possible;  
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(c) laundered in a manner that eliminates the risk of spreading parasites, communicable diseases and 
infections; and 

(d) laundered in a manner that removes all residue of topical preparations.  

(1) The use of soiled linens is prohibited.  

(2) All single-service materials and clean linens shall be stored at least four inches off the floor in 
shelves, compartment, or cabinets used for that purpose only.  

(3) All single-service materials and linens (such as sheets, towels, gowns, pillow cases) used in the 
practice of massage, shall be furnished clean and fresh for the use of each individual patron.  

(4) All soiled linens shall be immediately placed in a covered receptacle.  

(5) All soiled linens shall be washed with bleach in a clothes washing machine which provides a hot 
water temperature of at least 140 degrees Fahrenheit.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Transferred from 333-035-0030; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 1-1986, 
f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0075; MTB 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; BMT 2-1998, f. 
& cert. ef. 7-22-98  

 

334-020-0055 

Communicable Disease Control 

(1) All therapists must always practice communicable disease prevention and control. 

(2) LMT’s are required to follow the communicable disease guidelines as adopted by the Board. 

Personnel  

Massage technicians shall wear clean clothing and practice high standards of personal hygiene.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Transferred from 333-035-0032; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 1-1986, 
f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0080; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92 (and corrected 8-
6-92); BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  
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334-020-0060  

Plumbing  

All interior water distribution piping shall be installed and maintained in conformance with the local 
Plumbing Code.  

[Publications: The publication(s) referred to or incorporated by reference in this rule are available from 
the agency.]  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Transferred from 333-035-0034; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 1-1986, 
f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0085; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  

334-020-0065  

Sewage Disposal  

All sewage and liquid waste shall be disposed of in a Municipal Sewage System where such facilities 
are available. If a Municipal Sewage System is not available, sewage and liquid waste shall be collected, 
treated and disposed of in compliance with the rules and regulations of the Department of 
Environmental Quality governing sub-surface sewage disposal.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 182 & ORS 687  

Stats. Implemented:  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0036; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 1-1986, 
f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0090  

334-020-0070  

Toilets and Lavatory Facilities  

(1) Every massage business shall be provided with a sanitary toilet.  

(2) Lavatories with adequate supply of hot and cold water under pressure shall be conveniently located 
for use by the employees and patrons.  

(3) Toilet room doors shall be capable of being fully closed and locked from the inside and the rooms 
shall be kept clean, in good repair, and free from flies, insects, and vermin.  

(4) A supply of soap in a covered dispenser and single-use sanitary towels in a dispenser shall be 
provided at each lavatory installation with waste receptacle for proper disposal; a supply of toilet paper 
on a dispenser shall be available for each toilet installation.  
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 182, ORS 183 & ORS 687.121  

Stats. Implemented:  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0038; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 3-1982, 
f. & ef. 10-6-82; MTB 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0095; MTB 1-1990, f. & 
cert. ef. 4-20-90; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92  

334-020-0075  

Walls and Ceilings  

Walls and ceilings shall be kept clean and well maintained.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 182 & ORS 687  

Stats. Implemented:  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0040; MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 1-1986, 
f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0100  

334-020-0080  

Water Supply  

The water supply shall be adequate, safe, and sanitary.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: HB 88, f. 3-16-56; Renumbered from 333-035-0042; MTB 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered 
from 334-010-0105; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  

334-020-0085  

Housekeeping  

The premises of all massage businesses shall be kept clean and free of litter or rubbish. The massage 
business shall be maintained in a neat and orderly manner.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 182 & ORS 687  

Stats. Implemented:  
Hist.: MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-29-86; Renumbered from 334-010-0110  

334-020-0090  

External Baths  
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(1) External baths are defined as, but not limited to, spa pools, showers, tub baths, saunas and steam 
baths.  

(2) Spa pool means any pool of water designed primarily to direct water or air-enriched water under 
pressure onto the bather's body with the intent of producing relaxing or therapeutic effects.  

(3) Showers mean baths where the bather's body is sprayed with a fine stream of water from small jets.  

(4) Tub baths mean where the bather's body is dipped or soaked in a body of water.  

(5) Sauna means the application of dry heat and/or water vapor.  

(6) Steam bath means the application of water vapor.  

(7) All spa pools and tub baths which are intended for recreational bathing shall be licensed and 
operated in accordance with the Oregon State Health Division rules and regulations for Public 
Swimming Pools and Bathhouses.  

(8) External baths where used shall:  

(a) Be separate from massage room;  

(b) Have floors which are slip-resistant, easily cleaned and coved to a height of four inches (10 cm);  

(c) Have interior walls and ceiling finishes which are easily cleaned and impervious to water;  

(d) Where rubber or impervious mats are used, have such mats cleaned and dried between usage;  

(e) An effective water-tight joint between wall and floor shall be maintained;  

(f) Where resilient artificial recreational surfaces are used, they shall comply with the National 
Sanitation Foundation Standard #39 or its equivalent, and be vacuumed with a wet vacuum frequently to 
keep them clean and free from accumulated moisture.  

(9) Showers where used shall:  

(a) Have compartments which are impervious to water to a height of six (6) feet (1.83 m) above the 
floor;  

(b) Have shower stall floors that are furnished with non-slip impervious surface;  

(c) Where glass bath or shower doors are used, the doors shall be made of safety glass.  

(10) External baths, equipment and rooms shall be kept in good operating condition.  
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: MTB 1-1979, f. & ef. 5-22-79; MTB 3-1982, f. & ef. 10-6-82; MTB 1-1986, f. & ef. 1-29-86; 
Renumbered from 334-010-0115; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  
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DIVISION 30  

ETHICAL STANDARDS  

FINES AND PENALTIES   

334-030-0001  

Preamble and Fundamental Canon 

(1) In order to safeguard the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Oregon and to establish and 
maintain a high standard of integrity and practice, the following Standards of Professional Conduct shall 
be binding on every person holding a license to practice massage in this state.  

(2) The Standards of Professional Conduct as promulgated herein are an exercise of the authority vested 
in the Board by acts of the legislature.  

(3) All persons licensed under ORS 687 are charged with having knowledge of the existence of these 
Standards of Professional Conduct and shall be deemed to be familiar with their provisions and to 
understand them. Such knowledge shall encompass the understanding that the practice of massage is a 
privilege as opposed to a right.  

(4) The Board may establish guidelines for ethical decision-making that are congruent with the standards 
of professional conduct promulgated by the Board. Such guidelines may be modified or revised at the 
Board's discretion. The Board will use current standards of practice and codes of ethics in the field of 
massage and bodywork as well as relevant statutes and regulations in establishing guidelines for ethical 
decision-making. A copy of any such guidelines or change shall be published in the Board's newsletter 
and relevant professional publications in the field of massage and bodywork. A single copy shall be 
provided to anyone requesting a copy. A charge for the cost of copying and distributing the document 
shall be made for any copies requested in excess of one.  

(5)  All LMTs, in the fulfillment of their professional duties, shall comply with the Standards and 
Objectives of Professional Conduct.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.011 & ORS 687.081  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  
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334-030-0002  

Fundamental Canons  

(1) Licensees, in the fulfillment of their professional duties, shall hold paramount the safety, health and 
welfare of the public in the performance of their professional duties; adhere to the Standard of 
Professional Conduct adopted by the Board; and strive, to the best of their ability, to uphold the highest 
practices of ethical conduct and integrity in the performance of their duties.  

(2) It shall be the duty of every licensee having knowledge of any reasonably suspected violation of the 
rules or statues governing massage to cooperate with the Board in furnishing such information or 
assisting the Board, as may be required, in order that appropriate investigative and corrective or 
disciplinary action may be taken.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  

   

334-030-0005  

Standards of Professional Conduct  

(1) Standard I: Responsibility:  

(a) The LMT acquires, maintains and improves professional knowledge and competence.  

(b) The LMT uses scientific, clinical, technical, psychosocial and governmental sources of information 
and knowledge as the foundation for professional practices.  

(c) The LMT plans and provides care and services in partnership with the client based on client needs.  

(d) The LMT considers factors related to safety, effectiveness, and cost in planning and providing care 
and services.  

(e) The LMT represents all aspects of his or her professional capabilities and services honestly and 
accurately.  

(2) Standard II: Accountability:  

(a) The LMT is accountable to his or her clients for the quality and effectiveness of care and services 
and for creating the basic conditions and boundaries necessary to foster safety and trust in the client-
professional relationship.  
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(b) The LMT, using experience, professional education, and available resources, is accountable to his or 
her profession for establishing the quality and effectiveness of care and services.  

(c) The LMT is accountable for his or her actions and commitments and assumes personal and 
professional responsibility to do his or her best.  

(3) Standard III: Therapeutic Relationship:  

(a) The LMT's actions with a client are based on understanding and implementing the core values of 
caring, respect, compassion, appropriate boundaries, and appropriate use of personal power.  

(b) The LMT develops alliances with the client, colleagues, other health care providers and the 
community to provide care and services that are safe, effective and appropriate to the clients' needs.  

(c) The LMT establishes relationships with other massage, bodywork or healthcare professionals to 
collaborate with, to offer or to receive consultation in the provision of services.  

(d) The LMT develops and incorporates respect for diverse client backgrounds in regard to a client's 
clinical diagnosis, lifestyle, sexual orientation, race, gender, ethnicity, religion, age, and socioeconomic 
background when planning and providing services.  

(4) Standard IV: Critical Reflection:  

(a) The LMT uses critical reflection in the assessment of professional and clinical situations for the 
development and provision of care and services.  

(b) The LMT evaluates the quality and effectiveness of his or her professional practice activities.  

(c) The LMT modifies and adapts professional practice activities, consistent with current professional 
standards and practices, in response to client needs, advancing knowledge and research, and social 
expectations.  

(5) Standard V: Agency and Autonomy:  

(a) The LMT is an autonomous agent in planning and providing care and services to individuals, groups 
and the community.  

(b) The LMT acts within the context of professional practice standards, codes of ethics, and relevant 
statutes and regulations.  

(c) The LMT acts as an advocate for clients and clients' needs.  

(d) The LMT supports and respects the client's right and responsibility for self-determination in making 
health care choices.  
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(e) The LMT bases decisions and actions on behalf of a client on sound ethical reasoning and current 
principles of practice.  

334-030-0005  

Standards and Objectives of Professional Conduct  

(1) Standard I: Responsibility – the relationship between the LMT and the profession. The LMT 
shall:  

(a) acquire, maintain and improve professional knowledge and competence using scientific, 
clinical, technical, psychosocial and governmental sources of information;  

(b) act within the context of professional practice standards, codes of ethics, and relevant statutes 
and regulations;  

(c) consider factors related to safety, effectiveness, and cost in planning and providing care and 
services;  

(d) represent all aspects of his or her professional capabilities and services honestly and 
accurately;  

(e) be accountable to his or her profession for establishing the quality and effectiveness of care and 
services, using their experience, professional education, and available resources;  

(f) establish relationships with other massage, bodywork or healthcare professionals to collaborate 
with, and to offer or receive consultation in the provision of services; and 

(g) be accountable for his or her actions and commitments and assume personal and professional 
responsibility to do his or her best. 

 (2) Standard II: Therapeutic Relationship – the relationship between the LMT and the client. The 
LMT shall:  

(a) be accountable to his or her clients for the quality and effectiveness of care and services and for 
creating the basic conditions and boundaries necessary to foster safety and trust in the client-
professional relationship;  

(b) plan and provide care and services to the best of his or her abilities, in partnership with the 
client, based on client needs;  

(c) ensure that their actions with a client are based on understanding and implementing the core 
values of caring, respect, compassion, appropriate boundaries, and appropriate use of personal 
power;  
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(d) develop alliances with the client, colleagues, other health care providers and the community to 
provide care and services that are safe, effective and appropriate to the client’s needs;  

(e) develop and incorporate respect for diverse client backgrounds in regard to a client's clinical 
diagnosis, lifestyle, sexual orientation, race, gender, ethnicity, religion, age, and socioeconomic 
background when planning and providing services;  

(f) act as an advocate for client and client’s needs;  

(g) support and respect the client's right and responsibility for self-determination in making 
health care choices; and  

(h) base decisions and actions on behalf of a client on sound ethical reasoning and current 
principles of practice.  

(3) Standard III: Critical Reflection – the relationship of LMT to self. The LMT shall:  

(a) use critical reflection in the assessment of professional and clinical situations for the 
development and provision of care and services;  

(b) evaluate the quality and effectiveness of his or her professional practice activities;  

(c) modify and adapt professional practice activities, consistent with current professional 
standards and practices, in response to client needs, advancing knowledge and research, and 
social expectations; and 

(d) be an autonomous agent in planning and providing care and services to individuals, groups 
and the community. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.081 & ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  

334-030-0010  

Complaints  

The Board will process complaints as follows:  

(1) Anyone may submit a complaint against a licensed or unlicensed person. A complaint may be 
submitted anonymously; however, this seriously hinders any investigation by the Board.  

(2) A preliminary review of the complaint will be made by the Board or its representative, to assure 
there is sufficient evidence to justify proceeding and that the allegations against the Respondent are such 
that, if proven, could result in disciplinary action being imposed by the Board.  
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(3) If the complaint is considered to be valid, the Board will then proceed as follows:  

(a) The Board or its representative will notify the Respondent of the allegations by mail and request 
written comments. Written comments must be received by the Board within two weeks after the 
notification was first mailed, unless an extension is authorized by the Board, or the Board will evaluate 
the complaint using available evidence; or  

(b) The Board or its representative will refer the complaint to the Board's designated authority for 
additional investigation. This will be determined on a case-by-case basis.  

(4) The Board shall evaluate all evidence obtained, including any documents or comments received from 
the Respondent, Board investigators (volunteer or paid), Board staff or a committee of the Board. The 
Board will then proceed as follows:  

(a) If the evidence is insufficient to show cause of action, the complainant and resondent will be so 
notified in writing.  

(b) If the evidence is sufficient to show cause for action, the Board will consider and take appropriate 
action at a regular or special meeting.  

Stat. Auth: ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: MTB 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. 
ef. 7-22-98  

   

334-030-0015 [Renumbered to 334-030-0002]  

334-030-0025  

Discipline  

The Board may refuse to grant, may suspend or revoke a license, impose probation, reprimand, censure, 
impose remedial eduction or corrective actions, and/or impose a civil penalty for any of the following 
reasons:  

(1) Practicing massage or representing one's self as a massage technician without being licensed by the 
Board.  

(2) Knowingly or recklessly making any false statement to the Board.  

(3) Suspension or revocation of a license to practice massage in another state, territory, or country based 
upon acts by the licensee similar to acts described in this section.  
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(4) Conviction of a crime in this state, or any other state, or conviction of a federal crime which 
demonstrably relates to the practice of massage.  

(5) False, deceptive, or misleading advertising, which includes but is not limited to, advertising massage 
using the term massage or any other term that implies a massage technique or method in any private or 
public communication or publication by a person licensed or not licensed by the Board as a massage 
technician. For the purpose of the subsection, "advertise" includes telephone directory listings.  

(6) Allowing the use of a license by an unlicensed person.  

(7) Presenting as one's own license, the license of another.  

(8) Practicing massage under a false or assumed name without notification to the Board.  

(9) Impersonating another massage technician.  

(10) Assisting, employing, or permitting an unlicensed person to practice massage.  

(11) Using or attempting to use a license that has been revoked or suspended, lapsed or inactive.  

(12) Practicing or offering to practice beyond the scope permitted by law.  

(13) Habitual intemperance in the use of intoxicants, drugs, or controlled substances to such an extent as 
to impair the licensee's abilities to perform professional duties in a safe manner.  

(14) Knowingly or willfully practicing massage with a physical or mental condition that makes the 
technician unable to safely conduct the practice of massage.  

(15) Failing to keep the equipment and premises of the massage establishment in a clean and sanitary 
condition as required by rules of the Board.  

(16) Refusing to permit the Board or its representatives to inspect the business premises of the licensee 
during regular business hours.  

(17) Failing to cooperate with the Board in any licensing action or disciplinary proceeding. Such acts 
include but are not limited to:  

(a) Not furnishing any requested papers or documents;  

(b) Not furnishing in writing a full and complete explanation covering the matter contained in the 
complaint filed with the Board;  

(c) Not responding to subpoenas issued by the Board whether or not the recipient is accused in the 
proceeding.  
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(18) Failing to comply with an order issued by the Board or an assurance of discontinuance entered into 
with the Board.  

(19) Unprofessional or dishonorable conduct which includes but is not limited to:  

(a) Any conduct or practice contrary to recognized standards of ethics of the massage profession which 
includes:  

(A) Sexual abuse which is conduct which constitutes a violation of any provision of ORS 163.305 
through 163.465, Criminal Sexual Offenses, if proven by at least. a preponderance of the evidence in 
any criminal, civil, or administrative litigation, or admitted to or stipulated by the professional.  

(B) Sexual violation which is sex between the lmt and the client, whether initiated by the client or not, 
engaging in any conduct with a client that is sexual, or may be reasonably interpreted as sexual, 
including, but not limited to: sexual intercourse; genital to genital contact; oral to genital contact; oral to 
anal contact; oral to oral contact except cardiopulmonary resuscitation; touching breasts or genitals or 
any sexualized body part for any purpose other than appropriate examination or treatment or where the 
client has refused or withdrawn consent; encouraging the client to masturbate in the presence of the 
professional or masturbation by the professional while the client is present. (Board Breast Policy 
adopted June 12, 1998, is included as an attachment to these rules.)  

(C) Sexual impropriety which is any behavior, gestures, or expressions that are seductive or sexually 
demeaning to a client; inappropriate procedures, including, but not limited to, disrobing or draping 
practices that reflect a lack of respect for the client's privacy, deliberately watching a client dress or 
undress for self gratification instead of providing privacy for disrobing; subjecting a client to an 
examination in the presence of students, assistants, or other parties without the explicit consent of the 
client or when consent has been withdrawn; an examination or touching of genitals; inappropriate 
comments about or to the client, including but not limited to, making sexual comments about a client's 
body or clothing, making sexualized or sexually-demeaning comments to a client, comments on the 
client's or professional's sexual orientation (homosexual or heterosexual or bisexual), and making a 
request to date; initiation by the professional of conversation regarding the sexual problems, preferences 
or fantasies of the professional; kissing of a sexual nature.  

(b) Violating the rights of privacy, confidentiality of information, or knowledge concerning the client 
required by law to disclose such information or, if permitted to do so, on the written consent of the 
client.  

(c) Intentionally harassing, abusing, or intimidating a client either physically or verbally.  

(d) Any conduct or practice which could endanger the health or safety of a client or the public.  

(e) Any conduct or practice which impairs a massage technician's ability to safely and skillfully practice 
massage.  
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(f) Exercising undue influence on a client, including promotion or sale of services, goods, or appliances 
in such a manner as to exploit the client for the financial gain or self-gratification of the massage 
technician.  

(g) Practicing in an incompetent manner.  

(h) Conduct which would also constitute a violation of the Oregon Unlawful Trade Practices Act.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.081 & ORS 687.121  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, ORS 687.051, ORS 687.057, ORS 687.061, ORS 687.081, ORS 
687.086 & ORS 687.121  
Hist.: MTB 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 4-20-90; MTB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-92; Sections (6) - (20)(h) 
Renumbered from 334-030-0020; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98  
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DIVISION 40 

COMPLAINTS AND DISCIPLINE 

334-040-0001 

Complaints  

(1) Every licensee having information regarding a possible violation of the rules or statutes 
governing massage shall cooperate with the Board in furnishing such information and shall assist 
the Board, in order that appropriate investigative, corrective or disciplinary action may be taken. 

(2) Anyone may submit a complaint against a licensed or unlicensed person. A complaint may be 
submitted anonymously. Complainants are kept confidential.  

(3) A preliminary review of the complaint shall be made by the Board or its representative, to 
assure there is sufficient evidence to justify proceeding to investigate and to determine if the 
allegations against the Respondent are such that, if proven, could result in disciplinary action 
being imposed by the Board. 

(4) If the complaint is considered to be valid, the Board will then proceed as follows: 

(a) The Board or its representative may notify the Respondent of the allegations by mail and 
request written response. Written responses must be received by the Board within two weeks after 
the notification was first mailed, unless an extension is authorized by the Board. In the event no 
written response is received the Board may evaluate the complaint using available evidence; or 

(b) The Board or its representative may refer the complaint to the Board's designated authority 
for additional investigation.  

(5) The Board shall evaluate all evidence obtained; including any documents or comments 
received from the Respondent and the Board shall proceed as follows: 

(a) If the evidence is insufficient to justify further proceedings, the Complainant and Respondent 
will be so notified in writing. 

(b) If the evidence is sufficient to justify further proceedings, the Board will consider and take 
appropriate action at a regular or special meeting. 
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334-040-0010  

Discipline  

The Board may deny, conditionally grant, restrict, suspend or revoke a license, impose probation, 
reprimand, censure, impose remedial education or corrective actions, and/or impose a civil 
penalty for any of the following reasons: 

(1) Practicing massage or representing one's self as a massage therapist without a current active 
license issued by the Board;  

(2) Knowingly or recklessly making any false statement to the Board;  

(3) Suspension or revocation of a license to practice massage in another jurisdiction based upon 
acts by the licensee similar to acts described in this section;  

(4) Conviction of a crime in this state, or jurisdiction;  

(5) The use of false, deceptive, or misleading advertising, which includes but is not limited to, 
advertising massage using the term “massage” or any other term that implies a massage technique 
or method in any private or public communication or publication by a person licensed or not 
licensed by the Board as a massage therapist;  

(6) Allowing the use of a license by an unlicensed person;  

(7) Presenting as one's own license, the license of another;  

(8) Practicing massage under a false or assumed name without notification to the Board;  

(9) Impersonating another massage therapist;  

(10) Assisting, employing, or permitting an unlicensed person to practice massage;  

(11) Practicing or purporting to practice massage when the license has been revoked or 
suspended, lapsed or inactive;  

(12) Practicing or offering to practice massage beyond the scope permitted by law;  

(13) The use of intoxicants, drugs, or controlled substances to such an extent as to impair or 
potentially impair the licensee's abilities to perform professional duties in a safe manner;  

(14) Practicing massage with a physical or mental impairment that renders the therapist unable or 
potentially unable to safely conduct the practice of massage;  

(15) Failing to keep the equipment and premises of the massage establishment in a clean and 
sanitary condition as required by rules of the Board;  
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(16) Refusing to permit the Board or its representatives to inspect the business premises of the 
licensee during regular business hours;  

(17) Failing to cooperate with the Board in any licensing action or disciplinary proceeding, 
including but not limited to: 

(a) Failure to furnish any requested papers or documents, 

b) Failure to provide in writing a full and complete explanation covering the matter contained in 
the complaint filed with the Board, 

(c) Failure to respond to subpoenas issued by the Board whether or not the recipient is accused in 
the proceeding; 

(18) Failing to comply with an order issued by the Board;  

(19) Unprofessional or dishonorable conduct which includes but is not limited to: 

(a) Any conduct involving inappropriate physical contact or sexual misconduct which includes: 

(A) Sexual abuse which is conduct which constitutes a violation of any provision of ORS 163.305 
through 163.465;  

(B) Sexual violation which is sex between the LMT and the client, whether initiated by the client 
or not, engaging in any conduct with a client that is sexual, or may be reasonably interpreted as 
sexual, including, but not limited to:  

(i) sexual intercourse;  

(ii) genital to genital contact;  

(iii) oral to genital contact; oral to anal contact;  

(iv) oral to oral contact except cardiopulmonary resuscitation; touching breasts or genitals or any 
sexualized body part for any purpose other than appropriate examination or treatment or where 
the client has refused or withdrawn consent; or 

(v) encouraging the client to masturbate in the presence of the LMT or masturbation by the LMT 
while the client is present.  

(C) Sexual impropriety which is any behavior, gestures, or expressions that are seductive or 
sexually demeaning to a client; inappropriate procedures, including, but not limited to,  

(i) disrobing or draping practices that reflect a lack of respect for the client's privacy, deliberately 
watching a client dress or undress for self gratification instead of providing privacy for disrobing;  
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(ii) subjecting a client to an examination in the presence of students, assistants, or other parties 
without the explicit consent of the client or when consent has been withdrawn;  

(iii) an examination or touching of genitals;  

(iv) inappropriate comments about or to the client, including but not limited to, making sexual 
comments about a client's body or clothing, making sexualized or sexually-demeaning comments 
to a client, comments on the client's or LMT’s sexual orientation and making a request to date;  

(v) initiation by the LMT of conversation regarding the sexual problems, preferences or fantasies 
of the LMT; or 

(vi) kissing of a sexual nature. 

(b) Violating the client’s rights of privacy, and confidentiality.  

(c) Failure to disclose or release information about a client if required by law or on written 
consent of client. 

(d) Intentionally harassing, abusing, or intimidating a client either physically or verbally. 

(e) Any conduct or practice which could endanger the health or safety of a client or the public. 

(f) Any conduct or practice which impairs the massage therapist’s ability to safely and skillfully 
practice massage. 

(g) Exercising undue influence on a client, including promotion or sale of services, goods, or 
appliances in such a manner as to exploit the client for the financial gain or self-gratification of the 
massage therapist. 

(h) Routinely practicing in an incompetent manner. 

(i) Conduct which would also constitute a violation of the Oregon Unlawful Trade Practices Act. 
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