OBMT Practical Exam Process Video
|License by Examination|
To qualify to become a massage therapist in Oregon an applicant must meet the educational requirements, pass the current Oregon Practical Exam, and pass a Board Approved Written Exam. Oregon requires a minimum 500 hours/20 quarter credit/13.34 semester credits of education, which must include:
- 200 hours/8 quarter credits/5.34 semester credits of health sciences consisting of Anatomy & Physiology, Pathology and Kinesiology; and
- 300 hours/12 quarter credits/8 semester credits of Massage Theory and Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, Communication, Ethics, and Sanitation.
- Applicants must complete required education before they will be approved to take the Oregon Practical Exam.
As of January 1, 2012 Hydrotherapy is no longer required, but may be included as part of the 300 hours/12 quarter credits/8 semester credit. If you are found to be lacking any hours or any subject matter, you will need to obtain that additional education before being approved for the Oregon Practical Exam.
To apply for Examination print and submit the following forms.
|License by State Endorsement|
State Endorsement applications are reviewed on an individual basis. The Board may grant a license by Endorsement without further examination to applicants who are currently licensed in another state. The state’s licensing requirements must be equivalent to or exceed Oregon’s. The applicant must have passed a written and practical examination, administered by the licensing authority, which is equivalent to or exceeds Oregon’s. Verification from the licensing agency and a copy of the current license must be submitted with application. Very few states qualify for State Endorsement. The following is a list of the only jurisdictions that might qualify for State Endorsement:
• New Hampshire, if you took the state-administered practical exam
• Washington State, if you took the state-administered practical exam
• Newfoundland & Labrador
• Vancouver BC
To apply for Examination print and submit the following forms.
|License by Health Endorsement|
|The Board may grant a license by Health Endorsement, after successful completion of Practical and Jurisprudence (law) examinations, to applicants who currently hold an Oregon license in an approved health related field. The applicant must provide transcripts for 300 hours/12 quarter credits/8 semester credits of Massage Theory and Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, Communication, Ethics, and Sanitation. As of January 1, 2012 Hydrotherapy is no longer required, but may be included as part of the 300 hours/12 quarter credits/8 hse. A copy of the current license and verification from the licensing agency must be submitted with the application. The following is a list of the professions that qualify: |
Assistants to these professions DO NOT qualify for Health Endorsement. (E.g. CCA, PTA, CNA)
|** EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012 ** |
The credentialing review and its additional $250 fee is only pertinent to those out of state applicants who have been legally practicing for many years and may not meet the traditional education requirement through certified class instruction.
Upon completion of a credentialing review the Board may grant a license to applicants who are or have legally practiced massage and/or bodywork outside of the State of Oregon; after successful completion of the practical, jurisprudence, and written examinations.
Official Transcripts or Certificates of Completion and Practical Work Experience must be documented on the Credentialing Review Application Addendum and Work Experience Verification Worksheet.
The applicant must provide transcripts for:
• 200 Anatomy and Physiology, Pathology and Kinesiology hours of this
120 hours minimum must be from certified class instruction with up to
80 contact hours of prior continuing education in subject areas may apply; and
• 300 Massage Theory and Practical Application, Clinical Practice,
Business Development, Sanitation, Communication and Ethics hours of this
140 hours minimum must be from certified class instruction with up to
120 contact hours of prior continuing education in subject areas, up to
40 hours of practical work experience may apply.
Oregon Administrative Rule 334-010-0009 (effective July 1, 2014)
|Board Approved Written Examinations|
The Board will accept one of the following approved written exams; the Massage & Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx) administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB), either the Therapeutic Massage (TM) or the Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (TMB) exams administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB), or the Certification Examination for Structural Integration (CESI) administered by the Certification Board for Structural Integration (CBSI).
The MBLEx exam is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards. The FSMTB can be contacted by phone at 866-962-3926 or online at http://fsmtb.org. Applications can be downloaded from the Web site. If you have further questions, please contact the FSMTB.
The National Certification Exam is administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork. The NCBTMB can be contacted by phone at 800-296-0664 or through their Web Site at www.ncbtmb.org Applications can be downloaded from the Web site. The OBMT does not require you to obtain or maintain National Certification for the purpose of licensure.
The Certification Examination for Structural Integration is administered by the Certification Board for Structural Integration (CBSI). The CBSI can be contacted by phone at 414-908-4947 or through their Web site at www.siexam.org. Applications and a study guide can be downloaded from their Web site. If you have further questions, please contact the CBSI.
You may take the written before or after your practical exam; however, proof of passing the written exam must be submitted before a license can be issued. It is not necessary to send the Official Score Report. A copy of the passing notification issued the day of the exam is acceptable.
|Jurisprudence (Law) Examination |
|A twenty-five question written jurisprudence exam will be included with the exam appointment notification or mailed directly in the event that the exam requirement is waived. This open book law exam can be completed at home and either returned by mail or delivered to the Board office. A minimum 70% score is necessary to pass. Should you fail the law exam a retake exam will be mailed with the exam notification. There is no cost to retake the jurisprudence exam. |
|Practical Examination Information |
All applications must include a $50 non-refundable application fee. Candidates applying for examination or health endorsement must also include a $150 examination fee. Fees may be paid by credit card, cashiers check, money order, or check and should be included with your application.
An applicant who chooses to withdraw from the exam can request a refund of the examination fee. The request must be made in writing and be postmarked at least 7 days prior to the scheduled exam appointment. This request must be made in writing via mail, fax, or e-mail. The application fee is non-refundable.
OBMT complies with the Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), and will accommodate requests from qualified candidates with a diagnosed disability for accommodations to take the OBMT Practical Examination if the request is reasonable and properly documented and does not fundamentally alter the examination or jeopardize exam security.
A request for ADA accommodations must be made to the Board in writing and include a recent diagnosis from a qualified professional explaining the nature of the disability. Documentation must be provided before you can be scheduled for the Oregon Practical Exam. For additional information or assistance with applying for ADA accommodations, please contact the Board office.
Notification of Approval and Date of Practical Examination
Once the application is approved, applicant will be scheduled for the next available examination date and time. Notification will be mailed to the applicant at least 14 days before the exam. Applicants may request a waiver of the 14-day notice by signing the waiver form included in the application packet. Exams are held weekly on Tuesday and Wednesday but are subject to change. Requests for specific exam dates can be included with the application, and will be accommodated schedule permitting. Applications should not be submitted until the applicant is fully prepared to take the Practical Exam.
Results of Practical Examination
Notification of results will be sent within 30 days. Please do not call the board office for your results. Notification will include a pass/fail designation as well as a numeric score. Any failing score is automatically reviewed twice.
Applicants who fail the practical examination must reapply. To reapply the applicant will submit the re-take application form and $150 exam fee. CPR must be current. Applicants must pass the practical examination within 24 months of the first attempt. If the applicant fails the exam more than twice they must reestablish eligibility as determined by the Board.
|Arrest Records & Fingerprints|
|Arrest Records |
An applicant must state on the application whether he/she has ever been arrested for or convicted of a crime exclusive of minor traffic offenses. Those who have been arrested must provide a copy of the arrest record, a copy of the judgment, a copy of the settlement of the judgment and a statement of explanation. An arrest record and/or conviction may result in denial of licensure.
As of January 1, 2012 all new applicants applying for their initial license, all licensees applying to reinstate a lapsed license, all licensees applying to reactivate an inactive license, and all licensees under investigation are required to submit a fingerprint card for a criminal background check. Below are the steps you will want to follow:
Choose and contact a fingerprinting facility. Some facilities require appointments to create a set of prints. Fingerprinting services are available from most law enforcement agencies and also can be found under “Fingerprinting” in the yellow pages. Fingerprint facilities generally charge a fee for the service.
Once you have your fingerprints placed on a fingerprint card (Federal Form FD 258), complete the necessary fingerprint card field in blue or black ink. Necessary fields to be completed on fingerprint cards in addition to prints are the following:
|Name (Last, First, Middle)
||Natural Hair Color |
|Aliases, including Maiden Name
||Date of Birth |
|Social Security Number
||Place of Birth |
||Natural Eye Color
Send the Non-folded fingerprint card in a sealed envelope directly to the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists for processing along with the $47.25 criminal background processing fee prior to becoming licensed. Payment should be to the OBMT. This fee is non-refundable.
|Additional Licensing Information|
Applications must include original transcripts in a sealed envelope from the school. Transcripts must be stated in classroom hours or equivalent credit hours as defined by your education institution. If a program or institution granting credit is no longer in business, the Board will accept for review a copy of a certificate of completion or transcript or diploma in the required subject matter and hours. The Board may require additional information to verify the authenticity of such documents.
All applications must also include; a passport style photograph, a copy of current CPR certification (both front and back of card), and a copy of a government issued picture ID (e.g. driver's license, passport, military ID).
Health and State Endorsement applicants must include a copy of their current license and a license verification form completed by the issuing licensing agency.