
 

 
 

 You are ensured that educational and 
testing requirements have been met 
and that professional competency 
standards are maintained by Licensed 
Tax Consultants and Licensed Tax 
Preparers. 

 
 Licensed Tax Consultants and 

Licensed Tax Preparers agree by law 
to conduct their professional practices 
according to the Code of Professional 
Conduct written by the Board of Tax 
Practitioners. 

 
 Licensed Tax Consultants and 

Licensed Tax Preparers must 
acknowledge responsibility for 
preparing a tax return by signing in the 
“Paid Preparer” space on the return. 

 
 Original documents must be returned 

by a Licensed Tax Consultant or 
Licensed Tax Preparer if a client 
requests them. 

 
 A year-around address and telephone 

number where clients can contact 
them must be maintained by Licensed 
Tax Consultants and Licensed Tax 
Preparers. 

 
 You can contact the Board of Tax 

Practitioners for assistance if you have 
questions or a problem with a 
Licensed Tax Consultant or Licensed 
Tax Preparer. 
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Oregon law provides for two licensing levels: 
 
TAX PREPARER 
At this apprentice level, the Tax Preparer must 
work under the supervision of a Licensed Tax 
Consultant and have successfully completed the 
following: 
 

 An 80 hour course on basic tax law and 
practice. 

 

 Must pass the Board’s preparer 
examination on state and federal income 
tax law. 

 

 Must complete a minimum of 30 hours of 
professional continuing education annually 
for license renewal. 

 
TAX CONSULTANT 
At this advanced level, the Tax Consultant must 
have all the qualifications listed above, plus the 
following: 
 

 A minimum of 780 work experience hours 
within two (2) of the last five (5) years as a 
Licensed Tax Preparer. 

 

 Must pass the Board’s consultant 
examination on advanced state and 
federal income tax law. 

 

 Must complete a minimum of 30 hours of 
professional continuing education annually 
for license renewal. 

 
We hope this brochure has answered many of 
your questions. For more information please 
contact the Board at:   
 

Board of Tax Practitioners 
3218 Pringle Road S.E. #120 
Salem, Oregon  97302 
Telephone:  (503) 378-4034 
Website:  www.oregon.gov/OTPB  
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Need help 
preparing 
your taxes? 
 
 
 

 
In Oregon, qualified 
licensed tax professionals 
offer the services you 
need. 
 
 
 
 
 

     Oregon Board of 
              Tax Practitioners 
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How does Oregon’s law 
benefit and protect 

consumers? 

What are the qualifications of 
licensed tax professionals? IMPORTANT 

CONSUMER 
INFORMATION 



 
 
Why must tax professionals be 
licensed in Oregon? 
 
Oregon is the only State that sets competency 
and ethics standards for tax professionals and 
regulates them through a licensing agency.  
The purpose of the law is to protect you from 
untrained and unethical practitioners. Take 
advantage of this important consumer 
protection by making sure the tax professional 
you choose is licensed and in good standing 
with the Board of Tax Practitioners. 
 
Who must be licensed as a tax 
professional in Oregon? 
 
Any person who prepares personal income 
tax returns for compensation must be licensed 
by the Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners. 
 
The only persons exempted from this law are: 
 

• Certified Public Accountants and Public 
Accountants licensed by the Oregon 
Board of Accountancy, or their employees 
 

• Attorneys at Law who are members of the 
Oregon State Bar Association and prepare 
returns for their law client’s in the course 
of their duties as an attorney  

 
How do I find a licensed tax 
professional to prepare my personal 
income tax return? 
 
Many licensed professionals advertise in the 
telephone book yellow pages under “tax 
preparation.” Referral by a friend or business 
associate, especially one with similar income 
sources, is also an avenue to consider. 
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How much will it cost and what 
additional services are offered by 
licensed tax professionals? 
 
Fees will vary. The complexity of your return 
and the organization of your materials may 
affect the cost of preparing your income tax 
return. Most tax professionals can estimate 
the costs after reviewing your particular 
circumstances. Some practitioners will include 
services, such as accompanying you to an 
audit, in the original preparation cost. Other 
practitioners will charge an additional fee. Be 
sure to ask these types of questions during 
your interview with the licensed tax 
professional.  
 
 
When should I schedule my 
appointment with a licensed tax 
professional? 
 
Schedule your appointment early in the year, 
as soon as you have received your income 
statements and other tax information.  This 
gives you and your tax professional the time 
to resolve any questions and ensures your 
return(s) are completed accurately. Tax firms 
get very busy as the April 15th deadline nears. 
 
 
What records and documents should 
be taken to my appointment with a 
licensed tax professional? 
 
When you call for an appointment, ask what 
information you should bring, and in what 
form you should bring it in. Usually, this will 
include your income and withholding 
statements, interest statements and proof of 
deductible expenses. Timely preparation of an 
accurate return depends on the information 
you provide. 
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What should I do when I receive my 
completed income tax return? 
 
Be sure your licensed tax professional has 
signed in the “Paid Preparer” space located 
on the last page of your return. Review all 
information on the returns to make sure it is 
accurate and complete. Mail the complete 
returns to the I.R.S. and the Oregon 
Department of Revenue as directed on the 
returns. Be sure to keep a complete copy of 
your return, including all forms, statements 
and schedules for your records. Remember, 
you as the taxpayer, are ultimately 
responsible for the return that is filed. 
 
Will I receive my refund check directly? 
 
Yes! Your licensed tax professional is 
prohibited from receiving or cashing a tax 
refund check issued in your name. 
 
What if I have a problem later in the 
year after my return is filed? 
 
If you discover information that would change 
your return, or if you are audited, you will be 
able to reach your licensed tax professional 
by contacting the Board office. Licensed tax 
professionals are required by the Board of 
Tax Practitioners to maintain a year-around 
address and telephone number where they 
can be contacted. 
 
What is the Board of Tax Practitioners? 
 
The Board licenses and regulates Tax 
Consultants and Tax Preparers operating in 
the State of Oregon. Contact the Board at the 
address, telephone number and/or Web site 
listed on the last page of this brochure. We 
welcome any inquiries you may have.   
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Questions and answers about 
working with a tax 

professional. 


