
Oregon Protects Consumers from Fraud by 
Requiring Tax-Preparer Licensing 

 

Tax time can be stressful, and harried taxpayers may not think to ask if a tax preparer is licensed, 
as required by state law. 

The Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners is working to change that. 

“If taxpayers don’t take advantage of the protections we offer,” said OBTP Executive Director Ron 
Wagner, “the damage may be done before we find out they’ve been defrauded. We not only 
license tax practitioners but also investigate individuals who pass themselves off as tax 
practitioners, but who are actually committing tax fraud. We look for these folks, but we also rely 
on the public to help us find them.” 

People offering income-tax preparation for a fee (with the exception of CPAs, lawyers and their 
employees) must possess a license issued by the Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners, and it must 
be posted in their place of business – whether that is in their home or a more traditional office. 

As clients of the unlicensed Lane County tax preparer now know, they should have ensured that 
the woman they entrusted their tax business to held an active license. The woman prepared 
taxes for as many as 400 individuals over a decade, taking illegal deductions that eventually put 
the tax returns she filed into audit status. 

It only takes a minute to check the Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners’ online Licensee Look-Up, 
which is easy and free to use. Those who don’t have computers can always call the Board at 
(503) 378-4034, and ask if the person they are considering using is licensed. 

A tax preparer license indicates tax practitioners have successfully completed at least 80 hours of 
tax law and ethics instruction from a qualified provider (sponsor) and passed a rigorous five-hour 
exam. It also means he or she gets at least 30 hours each year of additional training on tax-law 
changes. 
 
Licensed tax preparers work for licensed tax consultants, who must have 1100 hours of work 
experience before they can sit for the exam to become licensed tax consultants. Licensed tax 
preparers and consultants are required by law to follow an ethical code of conduct outlined in 
Oregon rules and statute. 

Tips to help consumers protect themselves at tax time 
 Make certain the preparer is licensed. 
 Never agree to pay a percentage of your refund as the preparer’s fee. Request a fee 

schedule that lists tax-preparation fees separate from other services. 
 Never allow your refund to be mailed to the tax preparer. 
 If you owe taxes, make your payments directly to the IRS or Oregon Department of 

Revenue. 
 Make certain the tax preparer returns all of your paperwork (W-2s, receipts, and other 

information) to you. 
 Never sign a blank return; tax professionals must sign any tax returns they prepare (and 

provide a copy to you). 
 Because the taxpayer is responsible for information entered on tax filings, always review 

your preparer’s work before you sign. 
 Report unlicensed income-tax preparers by calling the Board at (503) 378-4034. 


