Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Sending livestock or pets to Oregon
State regulations
Sending or bringing livestock or pets into Oregon. There are both state and federal regulations regarding shipment of livestock and other animals across state lines. Most regulations are related to efforts to prevent, control, or eradicate animal diseases. Some are to prevent livestock theft.
The animal owner is responsible for being aware of, and complying with, the regulations when taking animal(s) into another state. Your veterinarian can help you with this process.

 
Import requirements
Oregon's animal import requirements
animal import basics
dogs and cats
cattle
horses and other equidae
llama, alpaca, camel
poultry and pet birds
exotic, non-traditional, and wildlife species
sheep and goats
deer and elk
swine
 

Until further notice livestock species coming from New Mexico and Colorado are restricted. More information.

 
International pet entry
Oregon ’s import requirements for healthy dogs or cats entering Oregon from outside the US are:
  1. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (“health certificate”) issued no more than 30 days prior to entry, and
  2. vaccination status must be current for rabies
No formal quarantine period is required in most instances. For more information call 1-503-986-4680.  
 

 
Exit requirements cattle
Just visiting? Here are the exit requirements:  
If you bring cattle into Oregon for show or breeding or any other "non-permanent" reason, you must have an ownership inspection before leaving Oregon.
 
Ownership inspection (sometimes called "Brand Inspection") is required by Oregon law for all cattle (and equidae) leaving the state. This applies whether the animals are branded or not. The purpose is to make sure the cattle are owned by or in the lawful possession of the person presenting the livestock for inspection.
 
Call the Livestock ID office at 503-986-4681 for the name and phone number of the Brand Inspector nearest your location. Please schedule inspections at least 24 hours in advance.

 
Pasture permits
Pasture permits  to move cattle to Oregon