Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Oregon brucellosis laws and regulations

Administrative Rules Division 11 (entire text)

Back to Top

603-011-0263 Importation of Cattle; Out-of-State Grazing

(1)  For the purpose of this rule and OAR 603-011-0264, "Grazing Permit" means a document issued by the Department at or before the time an identified person moves a specific herd of cattle from this state to a specific location in another state for grazing as a usual part of the person´s ranching operations, which authorizes the re-entry of the same cattle herd to the place of origin in this state within a specified period of time without the need for an additional permit at the time of the re-entry.
 
(2)  In order to qualify for the issuance of a grazing permit, the following conditions shall be met  

(a)  The cattle shall be a part of an established breeding herd in this state which had been assembled (other than births in the herd) more than four months prior to the submission of an application for a grazing permit.
 
(b)  The cattle shall have been officially vaccinated against brucellosis if this would be required for entry of the cattle into this state, or officially tested negative for brucellosis, within 30 days prior to the submission of an application for a grazing permit, and if the alternative is testing, shall not have been exposed thereafter to any other cattle known to be infected with brucellosis; and

Back to Top

603-011-0270 Importation of Cattle: Brucellosis

(1) Definitions
As used in this rule:
 
(a) "Eligible Cattle" means those cattle required to be tested for brucellosis by virtue of their age or vaccination status, including springer heifers or those that have calved, of any breed, under the ages hereinafter set forth.
 
(b) "Unvaccinated" means all cattle over six months of age not brucellosis vaccinated.
 
(c-d) "Vaccinated" means all brucellosis vaccinated beef females over 24 months of age, dairy breeds over 20 months of age, which are therefore eligible to be tested.
 
(e) "Registered Dry Feedlot" means an area, approved and registered by the Department, surrounded by a cattle-tight fence in which livestock are confined and wherein they must be supplied both feed and water for their survival, but does not mean any pasture or corral wherein livestock are only fed occasionally or as a supplement to natural forage growing in the pasture or corral. 

(2)(a) All eligible cattle originating in a Class Free State from nonquarantined herds are
specifically exempt from brucellosis testing prior to entry into the State of Oregon; or

(b) All eligible cattle originating in a Class A State shall be tested negative to brucellosis within 30 days prior to entry into the State of Oregon; or
 
(e) All test eligible cattle imported from other states or Canada and consigned to a state-federal approved livestock market which upon sale are to go to ranches in the State of Oregon shall be tested for brucellosis upon arrival at the market.
 
(g) Cattle originating in Certified Free Herds, Class Free States or Class A States may enter Oregon directly to a licensed slaughtering establishment or to a specifically approved State-Federal Market and then to a licensed slaughter plant without a pre-entry test if identity to herd of origin or State of Origin is maintained.

(3)  Registered Dry Feedlot: Cattle may be imported into the State of Oregon, consigned to a registered feedlot subject to the following conditions:
 
(a)  Prior to entry, there are no test requirements for steers and spayed heifers, cattle (including bulls) under 18 months of age from nonquarantined herds;
 
(b)  Officially calfhood vaccinated dairy cattle under 20 months of age and officially calfhood vaccinated beef cattle under 24 months of age;
 
(c)  Negative brucellosis tests are required within 30 days of entry from Class Free, A and B States, and vaccinated cattle from Class C States, for non-vaccinated cattle (including bulls) over 18 months of age, officially calfhood vaccinated cattle of dairy breeds over 20 months of age and officially calfhood vaccinated cattle of beef breeds over 24 months of age;
 
(e)  On movement from feed lots there are no restrictions on steers and spayed heifers, officially calfhood vaccinated cattle of dairy breeds under 20 months of age and officially calfhood vaccinated cattle of beef breeds under 24 months of age, bulls under 18 months of age, or cattle going directly to slaughter. Non-vaccinated female cattle may move to slaughter or another registered feedlot only. Officially calfhood vaccinated dairy cattle over 20 months of age and officially calfhood vaccinated beef cattle over 24 months of age may be permitted to leave feedlot with Department approval and negative brucellosis test within30 days of movement. Bulls over 18 months of age may be permitted to leave feedlot with Departmental approval and negative brucellosis test prior to movement. No illegally imported cattle are permitted entry to feed lots. Records of cattle entering and leaving feedlot shall be available to Departmental personnel at all reasonable times.

 
(4) Vaccination: In addition to the permit requirements for importation of livestock into the State of Oregon, official vaccination for brucellosis is required for the importation of all female cattle over four months of age for any purpose other than directly to slaughter or to a feedlot. Evidence of such vaccination shall be by an official tattoo and an official vaccination tag in the right ear of the animal.

Back to Top

603-011-0500 Brucellosis Control

Definitions
As used in OAR 603-011-0500 to 603-011-0570:
 
(1) "State Classification" has the meaning set forth in the Uniform Methods and Rules (UM&Rs) determining the standards to be attained by each state for classification.
 
(2) "Beef Cattle" means all bovine animals which are not dairy cattle.
 
(3) "Dairy Cattle" means animals showing the predominant characteristics of the Ayrshire, Brown Swiss, Guernsey, Holstein, Jersey, Milking Shorthorn and crosses of such breeds; and all other cattle producing milk for human consumption.
 
(4) "Dairy Herd" is a herd consisting mainly of dairy cattle.
 
(5) "Beef Herd" means a herd consisting mainly of beef cattle.
 
(6) "Brucellosis-Free Herd" has the meaning set forth in the Uniform Methods and Rules (UM&Rs).
 
(7) "Brucellosis-Infected or Reactor Herd" has the meaning set forth in the Uniform Methods and Rules (UM&Rs).
 
(8) "Brucellosis Reactor" has the meaning set forth in the Uniform Methods and Rules (UM&Rs).
 
(9) "Brucellosis Suspect" has the meaning set forth in the Uniform Methods and Rules (UM&Rs).
 
(10) "Cattle of Unknown Status" means cattle, the brucellosis status of which cannot be readily or positively determined.
 
(11) "Eligible Cattle" shall include all cattle or bison over six months of age, except steers and spayed heifers, official calfhood vaccinates of the beef breeds or bison under 24 months of age (as evidenced by the presence of the first pair of permanent incisor teeth) which are not parturient (springers) or post-parturient.
 
(12) "Official Blood Test" means a test for brucellosis:
 
(a) Completed in the state animal health laboratory; or
 
(b) Completed in a laboratory approved by the Department.
 
(13) "Official Veterinarian" means a veterinarian employed by the Department, a veterinarian employed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture or a deputy state veterinarian.
 
(14) "Uniform Methods and Rules" or "UM&Rs" means the standards and procedures promulgated by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (and approved by the U.S. Animal Health Association) as in existence and amended as of the date of this order.
 
 
(15) "Current Classification" as used in OAR 603-011-0500 to 603-011-0570 means in existence and valid as of date of action to be taken.

Back to Top

603-011-0525 Brucellosis Vaccination Procedure

Allows healthy females of breeding age, which were not vaccinated as calves, to be lawfully held for breeding or dairy purpose lawfully in this state."Mature Vaccination" means brucellosis vaccination of female cattle over twelve months old. The USDA does not recognize Mature Vaccination as "official vaccination", however many states do.
 
(1)  Mature Vaccination In Oregon
Brucellosis vaccination of female cattle over the age of 12 months (ʻMature Vaccination") may be performed under the following stipulations:
 
 
If the cattle are coming from another, the Oregon buyer/owner must contact the State Veterinarian, or authorized veterinary agent, for permission to vaccinate them. Vaccination of out-of-state cattle may be allowed on a case-by-case basis.  
The veterinarian must follow the Mature Vaccination Protocol detailed below.
 
I. A blood sample shall be drawn at time of vaccination and sent to an official laboratory for brucellosis testing.
 
II. Mature vaccination dosage shall be 1ml of normally reconstituted RB51 Brucellosis vaccine.
 
III. An official USDA steel identification tag ("brite tag") shall be applied to the right ear of the vaccinated animal and the tag shall be recorded on the Brucellosis Vaccination Record form. Clearly indicate "Mature Vaccinates"on Vaccination Record and mail within five days to Oregon Department of Agriculture,635 Capitol Street NE, Salem, OR 97301-2532. Records of Mature Vaccinates will be kept separate from those of Calfhood Vaccinates.
 
IV. A brucellosis vaccination tattoo shall be applied to the right ear of the vaccinated animal. The tattoo shall be the letter "M" followed by the official USDA vaccination shield {V}followed by the last digit of the year of vaccination. (example M{V}1 for 2001)
 
 
(2)  Sending Mature Vaccinated Female Cattle to Other States
(a) Few states allow Mature Vaccination and some may not accept Mature Vaccinates from other states.
(b)  Before sending Mature Vaccinated cattle interstate, check with the state of destination to determine their policy on Mature Vaccinates.
 
Notes: "Adult Vaccination" is an official USDA term and has commonly been used to describe vaccination of a brucellosis infected or exposed herd. ∞It is important to use the term "Mature Vaccination" when dealing with normal vaccination of cattle over twelve months of age.
 
For further information, please call the State Veterinarian, at (503) 986-4680.



Back to Top

Revised Statutes, Chapter 596 (entire text)

Back to Top

596.331 Prohibition against disposing of diseased livestock

596.331  Prohibition against disposing of diseased livestock, parts of quarantined livestock or unvaccinated female cattle; exceptions.
  
(3)  A person may not sell or offer for sale, for any purpose other than slaughter or to a feedlot or other normal and usual feeding facility for slaughter within 12 months of sale, any female cattle of a beef breed that have not been vaccinated against brucellosis as evidenced by an official vaccination tattoo in the right ear of each animal.
  
(4)  A person may not sell or offer for sale, for any purpose other than slaughter, any female cattle of a dairy breed that have not been vaccinated against brucellosis as evidenced by an official vaccination tattoo in the right ear of each animal.

Back to Top

596.341 Examination of livestock before entry into state

596.341  Examination, testing or treatment of livestock before entry into state; permit requirements; conditions and exemptions.
 
(2)  The department shall require a written permit authorizing entry into this state of any livestock or other animals subject to the disease control law and not exempt under
subsection (3) of this section. The permit shall be issued upon condition that:
 
(d)  If the imported livestock are female cattle that are being imported for any purpose other than slaughter or to a registered dry feedlot, the animals have been vaccinated against brucellosis as evidenced by an official vaccination tattoo in the right ear of each animal.
 
(3) The department may exempt the following classes of livestock or other animals subject to the disease control law from the requirements of this section:
 
(c)  Except for the requirements of subsection (2)(d) of this section, livestock consigned to an Oregon auction market licensed under ORS chapter 599 where approved veterinary inspection is in force.
 
(d)  Brucellosis nonvaccinated female cattle of proven genetic advantage for purposes of preserving or developing breeding improvements. Those cattle may be admitted on a case by case basis with specific approval of, and under conditions deemed appropriate by, the State Veterinarian. Breed registration papers or other documentation of improved genetics may be required for the approval. The cattle shall be exempt from ORS 596.331 (3) and (4) and 596.460 (2) and (3) and subsection (2)(d) of this section.
 
(4)  As used in subsection (2)(d) of this section, “registered dry feedlot” means a cattle feeding operation that is approved and registered by the department and that has facilities surrounded by permanent fencing wherein all feed and water are artificially supplied.

Back to Top

596.351 Prohibited acts relating to livestock importation.

No person shall:
 
(4)  Import or bring into this state any female cattle unless the animals have been vaccinated as required by ORS 596.341 (2)(d). (596.341, 596.351 and 596.361 enacted in lieu of 596.350); 1973 c.2 §2; 1985 c.91 §3; 2001 c.22 §4]

Back to Top

596.460 Duty to separate and confine diseased animals

596.460  Duty to separate and confine diseased animals; vaccination; evidence of vaccination.
 
(2)  A person may not maintain or control female cattle of a beef breed for breeding purposes unless the animals have been vaccinated against brucellosis as evidenced by an official vaccination tattoo in the right ear of each animal.
 
(3)  A person may not maintain or control female cattle of a dairy breed for breeding or dairy purposes unless the animals have been vaccinated against brucellosis as evidenced by an official vaccination tattoo in the right ear of each animal.

Back to Top