Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Cattle, bison, and other bovidae
Bringing cattle into Oregon
There are both state and federal regulations regarding shipment of livestock and other animals across state lines. Most regulations are related to efforts to prevent, control, or eradicate animal diseases. Some are to prevent livestock theft.
 
As the animal owner, you are responsible for being aware of, and complying with, the regulations when you take your animal(s) into another state. Your veterinarian can help you with this process.
There are special requirements owners should be aware of before bringing cattle into Oregon for any reason.

Buffalo, bison requirements
There are special requirements that owners should be aware of before bringing bison or buffalo into Oregon for any reason.
  • A Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (abbreviated CVI, sometimes incorrectly called a 'health certificate') is required. It must be issued no more than 30 days prior to entry and is valid only to the destination(s) indicated on the certificate.
  • Oregon law requires a permit for all livestock entering the state. Your veterinarian should call for the permit prior to entry: 503-986-4680.
  • Other requirements:
    1. Brucellosis test: Required, regardless of status or origin, less than 30 days prior to entry for non-vaccinated bison (male or female) greater than eight months old and for vaccinated females over 24 months old.
    2. Tuberculosis test: If not coming from a "TB- Free" state, the testing may be required.  Your veterinarian should check with this office (503-986-4680) for our current import requirements from your state.

Cattle entry requirements
There are special requirements that owners should be aware of before bringing cattle into Oregon for any reason.
  • A Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI) is required. Veterinarians must complete the CVI within the 30 days before entry. CVI is valid only to the destination indicated on the certificate.
  • Oregon law also requires a permit for all livestock entering the state. Veterinarians should call for the permit before entry: 503-986-4680.
  • Other requirements:
  1. Brucellosis vaccination is required for all sexually intact female cattle over four months old and they must have a legible vaccination tattoo.
  2. If cattle are coming from a Class-A brucellosis status area, testing may be required. Please call our office (503-986-4680) for current import requirements for cattle from your state.
  3. A negative TB test result is required for all dairy breeds over 2 months of age.
  4. TB testing is required for all beef breeds that are over 6 months of age, intended for breeding purposes and imported from a state that is less than Accredited Free.
  5. TB testing is not required for intact beef feeder heifers that are less than 18 months of age imported from a state that is less than Accredited Free if imported into feeding channels that lead only to slaughter.
  6. TB Testing is not required for spayed heifers and beef or dairy steers.
  7. TB testing may be required for cattle from Mexico. Addistional restrictions may also apply. Please contact our office (503-986-4680) for specific information.
  8. TB testing is required for certain rodeo stock. Please contact our office (503-986-4680) for specific information.
  9. A negative test for trichomaniasis is required for all bulls over 12 month of age within the 60 days before coming into Oregon and they may not have mixed with cows since the test. Addistional testing is required for bulls exposed to infection during the previous two years.


Importation of Canadian cattle
1. Animal identification requirements
a. Canadian cattle imported into Oregon must be born after March 1, 1999.
b. They must be individually identified by an official Canadian ear tag applied before the animal's arrival at the port of entry into the United States
c. The ear tag number must be traceable to the premises of origin of the animal and listed on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.
d. They must have a hot iron brand of CΛN properly applied and easily visible on the live animal and on the carcass before skinning.
e. The CΛN brand must be not less than two inches nor more than four inches high, and must be applied to each animal's right hip, high on the tail-head (over the junction of the sacral and first cocygeal vertebrae).
2. All imported Canadian cattle must have an import permit
a. Complete name and contact phone number of shipper.
b. Physical address of origin location of cattle.
c. Complete name and contact phone number of receiver.
d. Physical address of Oregon destination location of cattle.
e. Number and kind of livestock.
f. Purpose of shipment.
g. Proposed date of shipment.
3. All imported Canadian cattle must have a certificate of Veterinary Inspection
a. Complete name, address and phone number of shipper.
b. Complete physical address of origin location of cattle
c. Complete name, address and phone number of receiver.
d. Complete physical address of Oregon destination for cattle.
e. Shipping date.
f. Individual official identification number, age, sex and breed for each animal.
g. TB and/or brucellosis test results as appropriate.
h. Printed name of veterinarian, address and phone number.
i. Veterinarian's signature and date of inspection.
4. Brucellosis testing and vaccination requirements
a. Imported Canadian cattle sent directly to slaughter or to a registered dry feedlot and then directly to slaughter from there are exempt from brucellosis vaccination requirements.
b. Brucellosis vaccination is required for all female cattle over four months old unless exempted in (4) (a) above. Evidence of such vaccination is a brucellossis vaccination tattoo in the right ear of that animal.
c. Oregon allows mature vaccinated female cattle, over 12 months old, to be imported from other states and Canada as such vaccination is authorized by the state veterinarian or chief provincial veterinarian in that state or province.
d. The state veterinarian may exempt purebred cattle from brucellosis vaccination requirements, based on superior genetics, on a case-by-case basis.
e. For older cattle entering a registered dry feedlot, negative brucellosis test results are required within 30 days of entry for non-vaccinated cattle over 18 months of age, officially calfhood vaccinated cattle of dairy breeds over 20 months of age and officially calfhood vaccinated cattle of beef breeds over 24 months of age.

Exit requirements
If you bring cattle into Oregon for show or breeding or any other "non-permanent" reason, you must have an ownership inspection before leaving Oregon.
 
Ownership inspection (sometimes called "brand inspection") is required by Oregon law for all cattle leaving the state. This applies whether the animals are branded or not. The purpose is to make sure the cattle are owned by or in the lawful possession of the person presenting the livestock for inspection.
 
Call the Livestock ID Office at 503-986-4681 for the name and phone number of the brand inspector nearest your location. Please schedule inspections at least 24 hours in advance.

Pasture permit
A "Pasture-to-Pasture" Program exists for cattle shipped to another state for grazing purposes. All cattle moved on the Pasture-to-Pasture permit must be returned to the state of origin after the grazing season without a change of ownership.

TB testing required for dairy
A negative TB (tuberculosis) test is now required for imported dairy breeds over 2 months of age within 60 day period before entering Oregon.
 

If TB testing cannot be done before arrival for animals under six months, please call the state veterinarian at 503-986-4680 for approval before shipment.