Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Registering feed products
Background
Registering feed products and licensing facilities
Oregon law requires that:
 
  • all commercial animal feeds must be registered with the department annually.
  • the facility manufacturing, wholesaling, or registering the commercial animal feed must be licensed with the department annually. (ORS 633.006)
Licenses and registrations are for the calendar year (January 1 through December 31). Fees are not prorated.
 
Definitions
A commercial feed is a formula sold to two or more end-users. It must be registered and labeled as a commercial feed.
 
A custom feed is a formula that only one end-user gets. Custom feeds are exempt from product registration. However, the feed mill producing custom-formula feeds must be licensed with the department each year. (See Facility Licensing below)

Facility license
  1. If you only wholesale products made and labeled by others, the annual facility license is $100.00.
  2. If you are a manufacturer or contract feeder, or if you are registering a product for a manufacturer, the fee is based on tons of product made, sold, or used in Oregon.
Estimated Annual TonnageAnnual Fee
Up to 5,000 tons $100
5,001 to 10,000 tons$200
10,001 to 20,000 tons$300
20,001 to 30,000 tons$400
over 30,000 tons$500
 
Out-of-state manufacturers and product registrants
Fee for out-of-state manufacturer´s is based on total tonnage sold in Oregon. Use chart above.


In- state manufactures, feeders, and product registrants.
 
Fee for instate manufactures, feeders, and product registrants is based on tonnage made, sold, or used per facility. (Use table below to calculate fee.)
Location
(city in Oregon)
Annual
Tonnage
Fee for this facility (from chart above)
a.  
b.  
c.  
d.  
e.  
Total In-State Facility Fee  







Instructions
Feed products are registered & facilities are licensed using the same form.

To register your product(s) and manufacturing facility:

1. print the application (application in pdf format )

2. complete all information requested, (see detailed instructions below)

3. list each product and attach a copy of its product tag or label,
4. enclose your check for the correct fee, and mail to:

Oregon Department of Agriculture
PO Box 4395, Unit 16
Portland OR 97208-4395

Product registration fee
Every brand and each formula of
 
  • commercial feeds,
  • ingredients for mixing in feeds for animal,
  • feed additive concentrates,
  • special mixes which move between industry manufacturers for further manufacturing,
  • supplements,
  • and premixes,

must be registered when manufactured, compounded, delivered, distributed, sold, offered or exposed for sale in Oregon.  The registration fee for each brand or formula is $20.00