Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Cattle ownership inspection fees
Brand inspection
Ownership inspection (also called "brand inspection") is required by Oregon Law for cattle, whether they are branded or not, to verify ownership in the following instances:
  • Whenever a change of ownership occurs (with few exceptions)
  • Before shipment out of state
  • Before sale at auction
  • Before slaughter at a slaughterhouse

Cattle inspection fees
Base cattle inspection fees:
  • Brand inspection = $ 1.00 per head. Required for change of ownership or interstate shipment.
  • Beef Council = $ 1.50 per head. Required for change of ownership, except as noted below.
  • If the brand inspector travels to your place for inspection, there is a travel fee of $25 per trip.

Cattle brand fee examples
Fee structure for change of ownership
(Fee per animal x number inspected) + travel fee
1. If cattle sold will remain in Oregon, both brand inspection and Beef Council will be charged.
($ 2.50 per head x number inspected)
+ $ 25 travel fee per trip if inspector travels to you
Except: If cattle sold will remain in Oregon are under 30 days of age no brand inspection fee will be charged but Beef Council is charged.
($ 1.50 per head x number inspected)
2. If cattle sold will be shipped out of state, both brand inspection and Beef Council are charged.
($ 2.50 per head x number inspected)
Fee structure if there is no change of ownership
(Fee per animal x number inspected) + travel fee
3. If cattle are to be shipped out of state, with no change of ownership, Beef Council fee will not be charged.
($ 1.00 per head x number inspected)
+ $ 25 travel fee per trip if inspector travels to you

Livestock brands
Livestock brands (For cattle, horses, or sheep)
To record a new brand
Renewal notices have been mailed. If you have not received your renewal notice, please call Donna at 503-986-4681. Don´t let your brand lapse.
To change ownership of a brand
Ownership inspection (also called "brand inspection") is required by Oregon law to confirm proper ownership of cattle and horses, whether they are branded or not, in certain circumstances.
 
when is ownersip inspection required for cattle
when is ownership inspection required for horses

Local brand inspectors
To obtain an inspection, please call your local brand supervisor for a brand inspector in your area as listed below. (Please schedule inspections at least 24 hours in advance.)
Brand Supervisor Telephone Number County
Les Barlow 541-882-0793 Curry, Harney, Jackson, Josephine, Klamath and Lake
Rodger Huffman 541-562-9169 Baker, Malheur, Union and Wallowa
Kim Hug 503-881-7708 Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Douglas, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington & Yamhill
Derald McCall 541-475-0314 Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Hood River, Jefferson, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Wasco and Wheeler