Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Temporary One Day Horse Sale License
Requirements
Temporary One-Day Horse Sale Licenses
A temporary one-day horse sale is one in which the public may consign horses for sale by auction open for public bidding, and where such sale does not exceed one calendar day. A person may make application to the Department for a temporary horse sale license.
 
Requirements for the license are listed under Oregon Revised Statute Chapter 599 and its administrative rule, and include:

  1. 1. An application approved by the Oregon Department of Agriculture (department).
    • The application must be made 30 days prior to the date of the sale.
  2. If the sale is to be held at a place not specifically constructed for the sale of animals, the facility must be inspected by a department representative. The minimum requirements for the facility are:
    • enclosures provided of such size and construction as to adequately restrain all animals congregated for sale.
    • separate pens provided for animals showing symptoms of infectious or contagious diseases.
    • stalls, pens and water tanks maintained in a sanitary condition.
  3. A deputy state veterinarian shall be employed by the licensee. The veterinarian shall be responsible for the direction and control of the sanitary practices and examinations of horses at the sale.
    • All horses sold at auction shall be examined for evidence of infectious and contagious disease.
    • Any horse showing symptoms of an infectious disease shall not be sold or offered for sale.
    • Diseased horses shall be immediately isolated from other livestock and shall be returned to the premises of origin.
  4. An approved bond, an irrevocable letter of credit issued by an insured institution or a cash deposit. The bond, letter of credit or cash deposit must be equal to the estimated gross dollars of sale, with a minimum of $25,000.
  5. A license fee of $25.
 
A separate application, license fee and adequate bond, letter of credit or deposit is necessary for each day the horses are sold.
 
A license is not required for the sale of horses by nonprofit breed or livestock associations or clubs, Future Farmer and 4-H groups, auction sales conducted in conjunction with county, state or private fairs or auction sales conducted by, or for a person where horses owned by that person are sold on the premises of that person.

Application
application  (in pdf format 45kB)